Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Olympia Grill at Pier 21

Welcome to Olympia Grill at Pier 21, "Restaurant of the Year" 2014 & 2015
Located on a working harbor with a great view of vessels going up and down the channel and dolphins frolicking in the bay. The best seafood and view of the sunset in Galveston. We offer private dining for between 10 and 300, and have accommodated many large functions such as the Commemoration of the USS Fort Worth, many weddings, bachelorette parties and rehearsal dinners.
The Kriticos Family

100 21st Street
#28
Galveston, TX 77550
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Greek, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm< Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Harborside Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 765-0021

Website:
http://www.olympiapier21.com/

Entertainment:
Belly dancer to perform on Friday and Saturday night in the dining room from 7:00-7:30PM

Catering:
We offer full service event planning, from parties of 10 - 300.

Parking Details:
Public parking lot directly in front of the restaurant. 3 hour validation for all guests

Public Transit:
Cool Tour Stops

Executive Chef:
Tikie Kriticos, Larry Kriticos, Ector Moreno

Private Party Facilities:
The Compass Room: A perfect place for meetings, anniversary parties and intimate wedding rehearsal dinners, etc. The room accommodates up to 60 guests for seated dinner or 75 guests for cocktail parties.
The Top Gallant Room: Situated in the heart of the historical downtown Strand District, the Top Gallant room overlooks Sangerfest Park from the 3rd floor of the Thomas Jefferson Building. It is a perfect location for a wedding receptions, reunions, holiday parties, awards banquets, etc. This room accommodates up to 250 guests. Whether for a plated dinner or buffet, our staff will surely make your party a success.
The Patio: This is where guests come to relax and enjoy the sunset over the Pelican Island Bridge and watch the hustle and bustle of the harbor. With a sunken full bar for your drinking pleasures, this is a perfect place to have a leisure luncheon or dinner parties with friends and family.

Private Party Contact:
Wendy Hsu: (409) 765-0021

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Olympia Grill at Pier 21 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Scenic View (12)
See All
Casual (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Fun (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Special Occasion (7)
People Watching (6)
Romantic (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Authentic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Healthy (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Historic (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Tapas (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Cozy (2)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
175 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Always the perfect spot on a pleasant night! Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We were lucky enough to sit outside on a glorious day - we enjoyed the view of the sunset over the harbor. I try to avoid sitting indoors here because the acoustics are horrendous, so if you have a large party you cannot hear those further from you at the table - parties of 4 or fewer are fine. Outdoors that difficulty evaporates and you can enjoy the experience. The servers work hard and are attentive. The food is solid and good but definitely a bit overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We stopped in for dinner and loved it. We have a child with severe food allergies and they were very accommodating. Also everyone wanted a different type of food and we were able to all find something we really liked. Gumbo, burgers and gyro plate were excellent!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Fun, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Late-night Find, Tapas, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Vegan, Quick Bite, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food and service is always good- atmosphere is just very loud.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Great food and service! We tried the Happy Hour menu and it was a hit. What a bargin. Both appetizers and drink menu had a very nice variety of things to choose from.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We researched the menu on our ferry ride coming from Bolivar.
Disappointed that the lunch menu was not in effect when we tried to order from it, we missed it by
45 minutes. Asked about happy hour and was told "nope not until 4:00". Our waiter was not friendly, acted like he had no conversation skills. The bees swarmed us at the outside table. When we obviously were swatting them unable to finish our meal, our waiter was called over and he said "I heard the bees don't bite". No offer of agreeing that our lunch was being ruined by having a dozen bees swarm around us or even moving inside until we asked directly and carried our own plates and drinks inside to finish.
I expected more, wanting to please a patron attitude would have been nice. Rather we were offered only how we had missed lunch and happy hour and fought with bees. The food was delicious, even though our waiter got the order down wrong and seemed to be unaware that he missed the opportunity to make us feel welcome. I think that a $54 lunch with water to drink is too much these days to have so many issues. If we return we will make sure to check the timing very carefully and hope for a friendly waiter.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The hostess was an absolute witch. I made a reservation for 2:30 on a Wednesday during spring break the morning of the meal. We have eaten there, happily, many times before and I requested a table outside in a specific location in the sun. When we checked in with the hostess, she was curt and could not find the OT reservation and then clearly hadn't looked at it to see the requests. They've accommodated requests before at much busier times of the year. This more senior hostess placed us away from the heat lamps, not in the sunny area requested and next to the closed bar. It was windy and cold. The server volunteered to have us sit in the sunny area even though it wasn't her section and then the hostess came out and argued with her in front of us. We were seated at that point so the hostess went off in a huff. I still gave service 3 stars because the server took great care of us. The food is healthy, fresh and always terrific but this woman needs to realize people make reservations with open table!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Great food. Great service. We had a big group and we were taken care of.

Tags: Waterfront, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent food and service! We had calamari and a split Greek salad to start, both delicious and appropriately portioned, split a inexpensive ($39) bottle of wine, and absolutely demolished the shrimp lover's and mixed grill kabob plates. The side items were also quite tasty (rice, steamed, and grilled veggies). No room in our full and satisfied bellies for desert, but they have quite the selection, so your sure to find a few options which would easily leave you waddling out. This is my parter' and my favorite Galveston restaurant and we can't wait to come back!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The food, wine, and service were all excellent. We especially appreciated the waitress's advice to wait until we saw the size of our appetizers before ordering our entries. It turned out that one of the appetizers that we ordered was quite large, and we subsequently decided to order only one entre instead of two. We wouldn't have been able to eat the extra food, and, since we were in town on vacation, it would have just gone to waste.

On the downside, we were unpleasantly surprised about having to pay $12 for parking, considering how much we spent at the restaurant. If there was dedicated restaurant parking, we sure didn't see it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was amazing. You can not beat the value the kids meals were on the high side but came with enough food for kids to split. The wait staff was attentive and knowledgeable. The atmosphere on the water was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great Happy Hour nibbles. Fun scene and views. Food was awesome. Beautiful belly dancer during Mardi Gras! Run don't walk!

Tags: Happy Hour, Paleo Friendly, Tapas, Historic, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We love Olympia on Pier 21! Service and food are always wonderful! Thank you, J.R. for managing such a special place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We enjoyed a great family lunch/brunch on first Mardi Gras weekend. We sat on the outdoor patio. As the golf cart parade and art car parade assemble on pier 21 we got to see them gather for the parades. Service was top notch and everyone found something to enjoy.

Tags: Scenic View, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was phenomenal, service was a bit slower than normal, was a little disapointed that they brought the appetizers just moments before the meal, would have liked a little space of time between them abs the entrees

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very accommodating as I added people to our reservation twice. The food was tasty - especially the sweet potato fries and the stuffed shrimp. Our waitstaff was attentive. There were ten of us at a long table, which made it hard to have one conversation, but that may be the nature of a table for ten.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Very good food and outstanding service! However, the place is VERY noisy...! Could hardly hear myself think!

Tags: Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Good place but not up to expectations. The décor was nice - casual, with a waterfront motif. Our server was pleasant but not terribly attentive, and the food was only ok. We had the misfortune of sitting near a large group of 20 or so people who were very loud and at times we had trouble hearing each other across the table. I'd go back, but probably not for dinner and with a different set of expectations.

Tags: Hot Spot, Waterfront, Casual, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Service was efficient and friendly. View of the harbor was wonderful at sunset. Cauliflower chowder was excellent and desserts of bread pudding and tres leches were uniquely delicious and beautifully presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food in a really cool location. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and service. Menu with gluten free items is great. Drinks were good and prices for everything were reasonable. We will be back again.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 8, 2016

My review MUST be at least 50 characters.. WELL - Since I seriously believed you were asking me for my opinion, and I was, in fact, doing you a favor by responding, I have decided to NOT write a review.. - Although - the food was Wonderful - AND our server, Cody, did an exemplary job.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 22, 2016

This was the second time we visited:
1. Ambience: we sat outside. It was a nice evening.
2. Portions: very large for us. We basically have lunch for next day. Lentil soup is like a meal by itself. The side Greek salad is easily twice as big as any side salad in other restaurants. Fried sweet potato side can be shared between two to three people. Dolmeh side has four small pieces.
3. Quality: my fish was good and the white crab topping was as heavenly as before. Asparagus was as overcooked before. And my daughter, once again had to look for the seafood in her dish. This time it was mussels. Just a bunch of empty shells. She said she found one piece of mussel in her food.
3. Wine list was OK. The Greek wines "*featured in July's Galveston" something magazine were mediocre.

So sadly I have to drop one star (from 4 to 3)

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Waterfront, Scenic View, Cozy, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A group of five ladies for dinner Saturday Night. Service was good, Food was average. Ethnic dish OK, Filet steak overcooked, was gladly replaced by properly cooked meat, but not very tender, and no sauce options offered. Meal of variety of Shrimp quite good, and Chicken Picatta generous serving with lots of veggies, but not very tasty.. Apple Pie a-la-mode did not have hardly any cinnamon seasoning in the few apples in it and only one small scoop of ice cream. Maybe a better place for lunch than dinner.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We were a group of approximately 15. Everyone said the food was just "ok". Service was below expectations, especially when it came time to receive check and pay. Although a large group we have had much better service at previous visits and other local eating establishments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Olympia Grill at Pier 21 is the best place to dine in Galveston. J.R., Manager, always provides outstanding service and care to his customers! Thank you, J.R.! Katrina

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Went to the restaurant specifically for the Octopus and they were out. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Nothing to write home about. They were highly rated for Galveston. From our experience, that's probably right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Gyros was made from minced meat, which is unfortunatly very common in the US but not authentic at all ... and not tasty!
One waiter tried to serve appetizer and main course together. Another disease in food cultur in this country. The main server chased him back, but the main course was then considerably kept warm.
Very noisy on the terrace, due to ventilation.
Unusually few typical Greek meat courses on the menue.
Restaurant can be confused with the other restaurant in the building right at the entrance.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Magical evening, thanks to fans powering the breeze, a gorgeous sunset, and dolphins playing in full view. The food was good, but we over spent for what we had, so we have to keep it for special occasions. Wish we could enjoy the dishes we enjoy more often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Service was average. Food was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We were seated promptly on the deck, which we had requested. The owner, Larry, manager, Wendy and manager, JR, all made a point of coming by our table. Our waiter, Cody, remembered my prior special request cocktail. Food and drinks were all excellent and we had a great time.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 2, 2016

My husband and I went for lunch and enjoyed the Greek avocado salad with chicken (large portion that I took home for a second meal!) as the seafood sampler. Service was very good. We sat outside looking over the pier to the side of the building as it was quite windy in the main porch area. No problem changing tables! A favorite on Galveston Island!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Good food a bit pricey. Kids menu and kid friendly. Beautiful patio on the port. Happy hour menu 4-7pm. Good service. Local beer was pretty tasty. Seafood platter very good. Filet minon was average not outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Family Style, Great Beer, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Tatiana was quite attentive and friendly. The Greek salad with gyro meat added was ENORMOUS and delicious. The chicken soup had a great deal of chicken in it and was also great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Seeing the harbor was nice. Love a water view. The food fell short, although the stuffed shrimp are fabulous. I would go for a drink and a nibble for the view.

Tags: Vegan, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2016

our groups first happy hour at this location. We will return.

Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 12, 2016

From cocktails to coffee, the food and service were excellent. Our server, Irina, was attentive but not bothersome, and very pleasant. Highly recommend for couples.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Good food and ambiance. We sat on the patio. Inside is very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

It is time to improve the menu. The dressing is oily and does not taste vinaigrette at all. It seemed made of cheap ingredients.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.