About Olympia Grill at Pier 21

100 21st Street
#28
Galveston, TX 77550
View Larger Map

Welcome to Olympia Grill at Pier 21, "Restaurant of the Year" 2014 & 2015
Located on a working harbor with a great view of vessels going up and down the channel and dolphins frolicking in the bay. The best seafood and view of the sunset in Galveston. We offer private dining for between 10 and 300, and have accommodated many large functions such as the Commemoration of the USS Fort Worth, many weddings, bachelorette parties and rehearsal dinners.
The Kriticos Family

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Greek, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm< Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Harborside Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 765-0021

Website:
http://www.olympiapier21.com/

Entertainment:
Belly dancer to perform on Friday and Saturday night in the dining room from 7:00-7:30PM

Catering:
We offer full service event planning, from parties of 10 - 300.

Parking Details:
Public parking lot directly in front of the restaurant. 3 hour validation for all guests

Public Transit:
Cool Tour Stops

Executive Chef:
Tikie Kriticos, Larry Kriticos, Ector Moreno

Private Party Facilities:
The Compass Room: A perfect place for meetings, anniversary parties and intimate wedding rehearsal dinners, etc. The room accommodates up to 60 guests for seated dinner or 75 guests for cocktail parties.
The Top Gallant Room: Situated in the heart of the historical downtown Strand District, the Top Gallant room overlooks Sangerfest Park from the 3rd floor of the Thomas Jefferson Building. It is a perfect location for a wedding receptions, reunions, holiday parties, awards banquets, etc. This room accommodates up to 250 guests. Whether for a plated dinner or buffet, our staff will surely make your party a success.
The Patio: This is where guests come to relax and enjoy the sunset over the Pelican Island Bridge and watch the hustle and bustle of the harbor. With a sunken full bar for your drinking pleasures, this is a perfect place to have a leisure luncheon or dinner parties with friends and family.

Private Party Contact:
Wendy Hsu: 4097650021x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Olympia Grill at Pier 21 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Houston
Scenic View
Houston
Seafood
Houston
7 More
Best Overall
Galveston
Best Food
Galveston
Best Ambiance
Galveston
Best Value
Galveston
Fit for Foodies
Galveston
Scenic View
Galveston
Most Booked
Galveston
Best Restaurants in Galveston ›

scenic view (33)
great for outdoor dining (31)
good for groups (29)
See All
fit for foodies (16)
great for lunch (15)
special occasion (13)
hot spot (11)
neighborhood gem (10)
kid-friendly (10)
romantic (8)
great for brunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
notable wine list (3)
Sort By:
Newest
130 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was excellent, especially th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

The service was excellent, especially the waitress. She was extremely nice to all of our guests and provided very prompt, courteous service for a table of 12. The menu offers a wide variety, and the food quality was excellent and tasty! We'll be back again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining overlooking the Galveston h ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great dining overlooking the Galveston harbor. It is a Greek seafood restaurant, but we always have their "Taste of Olympia" Greek sampler dinner. Excellent. One negative, we have always enjoyed having Greek wines with our meal at Olympia. But, they recently changed their wine list and removed all but 4 Greek wines, 2 white and 2 red. They should bring back more reek wine choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We love dining at this Olympic Grill. Th ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We love dining at this Olympic Grill. The food is always terrific and the scenery is nice. We usually like to sit outside, but this time we chose inside with air conditioning. We find the waitstaff pretty good.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose to sit outside. The manager ins ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We chose to sit outside. The manager insisted on pulling up the shades to watch the sunset which required us to wear sunglasses and made it very uncomfortable for about 20 minutes.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The brunch was great, especially the bra ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The brunch was great, especially the bran cakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We were in a large group (10) with many ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were in a large group (10) with many dietary issues. The server was knowledgeable and thorough, and made even a challenging service look easy. We had a great time!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Manager was RUDE.... Will NOT go back!

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Large group in the restaurant making so much noise we could not even carry on a conversation. When the manager was approached he was simply RUDE...we will NOT be going back. When we tried to speak with someone higher up about how we were treated no one called us back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value4

Love this place.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food is always great! My son just finished Medical School in Galveston and we always come here to eat when we are in town visiting because we love it! We had a big party to celebrate his graduation and we were by a very busy door that kept opening so it was very busy around us. Our waiter was great and even though we had a big group, he kept up with everything. Everyone loved what they ordered.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Everything was wonderful.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Everything was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great freak food!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Great freak food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When our reservation for 20 people expan ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

When our reservation for 20 people expanded to 30 +, J.R. and the staff were great at

bringing in extra seating for the party. Bravo!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

DD (Disappointing Dinner)

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

On vacation with my husband in Galveston and we decided to try this restaurant. We both ordered fish dishes, red snapper and salmon, and both were a bit dry. My side dish (asparagus) was so overcooked, the fork couldn't even pick it up. Appetizer seared tuna, however, was excellent. Our server seemed a little poky and distant at times, and asked us if we wanted to go boxes when my husband was clearly still working on his meal. The view was a little too "industrial" for our taste, but the water is always nice to look at. Our check was a few dollars short of a hundred (this is without alcoholic drinks), and we didn't feel we got our $$ worth. I read many good reviews about this restaurant and was disappointed when our experience was just the opposite. We probably would not be going back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The snapper with crab was excellent as w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

The snapper with crab was excellent as was the Greek salad. All foods needed more seasoning and we typically don't add salt. The chicken soup especially needed something. Overall meal was great. Crab stack appetizer was very good. Our server, Jesse, was excellent. Very attentive and great recommendations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We love this restaurant

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We dine at the Olympic Grill quite frequently as we love the menu and love the view. We try and sit outside where you can see the people, water and the cruise ships go by. The Greek food is awesome and a special treat for us. Waitstaff always attentive and friendly.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Typical mediocre Galveston upscale resta ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Typical mediocre Galveston upscale restaurant. Lovely view of the channel and the boat.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Sweet Potato Fries and Fish Tacos

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

The Sweet Potato Fries and Fish Tacos were delicious! It was the first time there and wasn't sure what to get. It was 3 Fish Tacos that was about a 1 1/2 fishes total. Will be going back to try more.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Favorite Galveston Restaurant!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We had Easter Brunch at the Olympia Grill. The food was delicious, we sat outside on the harbor and our waiter was great. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Galveston's Gem : As Always, PERFECT!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

This is our go-to restaurant whenever we visit Galveston.

The seafood is always perfect, never too fishy or overcooked.

The presentation is always appetizing.

The drinks and wine are very pleasing, esp the Destiny Moscato!

Our server Johnathan was one of the best we have ever had.

He went out of his way to make us welcome and feel catered to.

He was friendly, witty and by the end of the meal he was practically our friend!

Do not skip the bread pudding dessert. It is the absolute best!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Weekend Lunch

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

My family of seven ate lunch here on Easter weekend. We ate inside but still had a nice view of the water. Our food was great! All of my kids loved it, which doesn't happen often. We will definitely be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We arrived a little after 11am on a Sunday and were promptly seated. We selected outdoor seating for a better view- it was okay. The food was AMAZING! I ordered the seafood omelet and my girlfriend had the crab cake benedict...... they were both AWESOME. Mimosas were great also, but a bit pricey compared to other places. We plan on going back, overall it was a great experience.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Lovely Valentine's dinner at the Olympia Grill.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Great dining experience. Wonderful food, good wine, great view, and really good service by Dimitris. Hats off and Cheers!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food choices were excellent. The se ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food choices were excellent. The seafood dishes were served with an impressive twist. I enjoyed the stuffed shrimp and would highly recommend it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wish i had gone sooner!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Tried the Olympia Grill on the pier and was pleasantly suprised . The crabcake benedict was incredible!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our group of 12 had an excellent time at ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Our group of 12 had an excellent time at Olympia during Mardi Gras weekend. Our service was some of the best I have had in recent memory and the food was fantastic. They even split checks, which most places tend to shy away from with such big groups. The location on Pier 21 is beautiful. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, nice atmosphere.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

I had a good experience here, I was a little upset I reserved a table and got sat behind a staircase, limiting my 'view' to the fire exit. Maybe next time the stars will align. Wife enjoyed her Mango-tini(s).

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful food and a great location

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

We eat here ALOT and have never had a bad meal. We love the food. Since the weather was so cold this past weekend we ate inside the restaurant which was fine. Unfortunately this was the first time we did not have a good waiter. He messed up from the get go. My dinner came and I reminded him I had a salad so they brought out the salad . Not a good thing. My wine took forever to come as well. No time for dessert as we had tickets to The Grand.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

NOT GOOD

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

I ORDERED MEDITERAIAN GROUPER. IT DID NOT TASTE FRESH AT LL. IT WAS HARD. ALSO ORDERED THE SPINACH OYSTERS AND THEY WERE COLD

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Excellent romantic spot with excellent food!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

This restaurant was magnificent and exceeded our expectations. It was a great way to spend a relaxing Friday night with the woman I love! The service was great, and it was such a fantastic atmosphere.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was fantastic, cordial and co ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

Our waiter was fantastic, cordial and comfortable without being overly attentive. The bar drinks were well mixed and a good selection. The food was okay ... nothing special, but not bad. We all preferred our appetizers over our entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Good food, good views, and good atmosphere

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on October 12, 2015

Make sure you go to the Olympia Grill on the North-side, totally different experience than the one on the south-side.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great greek food

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on October 10, 2015

Excellent food! Really good greek in the Galveston area!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Romantic Dinner

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

Nice romantic dinner, beautiful sunset on the pier and nice weather for waterside dining. Waitstaff was attentive. Will definitely be back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Olympia Grill has it all

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

Olympia Grill has it all - great food, great waiters and beautiful views. We started off with appetizers - Calamari and the Tuna. Both perfect. I had the Grilled Salmon and steamed vegetables - done perfect. My husband had the Tuna and daughter had one of the Greek dishes on the back of the menu. All loved their food. Definitely get the dessert that has all of the desserts small bites but perfect for the group to try and enjoy.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I had a great experience at the Olympia ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 12, 2015

I had a great experience at the Olympia Grill. I took my boyfriend here to meet my parents for the first time. The service was expedient and courteous, and the food was fantastic! All around, a terrific experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambient place

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2015

The place is great with your friends and loved ones. The outdoor and indoor environment are equally nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waitress was sweet but clueless.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

Aspergus tough & under cooked, very bland. Lamb & shrimp were great. I was embarrassed for guest next to us. His foot space was covered with the remains of previous guests whose cute 2 year old had mac-cheese...and shared much of it with the floor. I even told the very aloof hostess and she seemed clueless as well. Sunset was lovely even with the oil platforms silouetted.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Great 1st Impression

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 1, 2015

First time dining at Olympia Grill at Pier 21. It was a work related lunch. The menu was good - had a nice variety - yet stayed within its wheelhouse of experience.

Fantastic Crab Cakes - I tried them other places and have not been a fan - but I loved these ones!!

Our server was energetic, friendly and very accomodating. She was a pleasure!

Our colleagues from Germany were very satisfied with there selections - Crab Cakes, Chicken Picatta, Salmon and Gulf shrimp were the big hits! Great Job Olympia GRill!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great location

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

Great food, try the green platter, but share with at least a couple of friends!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

VERY POOR SERVICE

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

Table by the window was requested at time reservations were made. We were initially seated by the serving window to the kitchen. We never received our salads, we had to get the manager to get the wine we ordered. Upon leaving we requested our parking ticket validated. When we tried to leave the parking area, the ticket had not been validated. The food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

You can't be all things to all people

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2015

Maybe the menu is too extensive bc other than the crab stack appetizer & the desert sampler, I don't feel this restaurant is worthy of a second trip. Even the saltines given with the appetizer were stale! Due to a busy travel schedule for work, I eat out A LOT all over the country. Due to a Mediterranean family heritage, I know food from that region. I was overall disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.