About Olympia Grill at Pier 21

100 21st Street
#28
Galveston, TX 77550
View Larger Map

Welcome to Olympia Grill at Pier 21, "Restaurant of the Year" 2014 & 2015
Located on a working harbor with a great view of vessels going up and down the channel and dolphins frolicking in the bay. The best seafood and view of the sunset in Galveston. We offer private dining for between 10 and 300, and have accommodated many large functions such as the Commemoration of the USS Fort Worth, many weddings, bachelorette parties and rehearsal dinners.
The Kriticos Family

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Greek, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Saturday - Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm< Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Harborside Drive

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 765-0021

Website:
http://www.olympiapier21.com/

Entertainment:
Belly dancer to perform on Friday and Saturday night in the dining room from 7:00-7:30PM

Catering:
We offer full service event planning, from parties of 10 - 300.

Parking Details:
Public parking lot directly in front of the restaurant. 3 hour validation for all guests

Public Transit:
Cool Tour Stops

Executive Chef:
Tikie Kriticos, Larry Kriticos, Ector Moreno

Private Party Facilities:
The Compass Room: A perfect place for meetings, anniversary parties and intimate wedding rehearsal dinners, etc. The room accommodates up to 60 guests for seated dinner or 75 guests for cocktail parties.
The Top Gallant Room: Situated in the heart of the historical downtown Strand District, the Top Gallant room overlooks Sangerfest Park from the 3rd floor of the Thomas Jefferson Building. It is a perfect location for a wedding receptions, reunions, holiday parties, awards banquets, etc. This room accommodates up to 250 guests. Whether for a plated dinner or buffet, our staff will surely make your party a success.
The Patio: This is where guests come to relax and enjoy the sunset over the Pelican Island Bridge and watch the hustle and bustle of the harbor. With a sunken full bar for your drinking pleasures, this is a perfect place to have a leisure luncheon or dinner parties with friends and family.

Private Party Contact:
Wendy Hsu: 4097650021x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Start the year with a Great Food!

Olympia Grill at Pier 21 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Houston
Best Value
Galveston
Seafood
Galveston
Best Restaurants in Galveston ›

Waterfront (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Scenic View (8)
See All
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Casual (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Romantic (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Fun (3)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Bar Seating (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Cozy (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Healthy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Authentic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Historic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
148 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was the second time we visited: 1. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 22, 2016

This was the second time we visited:

  1. Ambience: we sat outside. It was a nice evening.

  2. Portions: very large for us. We basically have lunch for next day. Lentil soup is like a meal by itself. The side Greek salad is easily twice as big as any side salad in other restaurants. Fried sweet potato side can be shared between two to three people. Dolmeh side has four small pieces.

  3. Quality: my fish was good and the white crab topping was as heavenly as before. Asparagus was as overcooked before. And my daughter, once again had to look for the seafood in her dish. This time it was mussels. Just a bunch of empty shells. She said she found one piece of mussel in her food.

  4. Wine list was OK. The Greek wines "*featured in July's Galveston" something magazine were mediocre.

So sadly I have to drop one star (from 4 to 3)

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Waterfront, Scenic View, Cozy, Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

A group of five ladies for dinner Saturd ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A group of five ladies for dinner Saturday Night. Service was good, Food was average. Ethnic dish OK, Filet steak overcooked, was gladly replaced by properly cooked meat, but not very tender, and no sauce options offered. Meal of variety of Shrimp quite good, and Chicken Picatta generous serving with lots of veggies, but not very tasty.. Apple Pie a-la-mode did not have hardly any cinnamon seasoning in the few apples in it and only one small scoop of ice cream. Maybe a better place for lunch than dinner.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We were a group of approximately 15. Ev ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We were a group of approximately 15. Everyone said the food was just "ok". Service was below expectations, especially when it came time to receive check and pay. Although a large group we have had much better service at previous visits and other local eating establishments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Olympia Grill at Pier 21 is the best pla ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Olympia Grill at Pier 21 is the best place to dine in Galveston. J.R., Manager, always provides outstanding service and care to his customers! Thank you, J.R.! Katrina

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to the restaurant specifically for ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Went to the restaurant specifically for the Octopus and they were out. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing to write home about. They were ...

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Nothing to write home about. They were highly rated for Galveston. From our experience, that's probably right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Gyros was made from minced meat, which i ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Gyros was made from minced meat, which is unfortunatly very common in the US but not authentic at all ... and not tasty!

One waiter tried to serve appetizer and main course together. Another disease in food cultur in this country. The main server chased him back, but the main course was then considerably kept warm.

Very noisy on the terrace, due to ventilation.

Unusually few typical Greek meat courses on the menue.

Restaurant can be confused with the other restaurant in the building right at the entrance.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Magical evening, thanks to fans powering ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Magical evening, thanks to fans powering the breeze, a gorgeous sunset, and dolphins playing in full view. The food was good, but we over spent for what we had, so we have to keep it for special occasions. Wish we could enjoy the dishes we enjoy more often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

We were seated promptly on the deck, whi ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We were seated promptly on the deck, which we had requested. The owner, Larry, manager, Wendy and manager, JR, all made a point of coming by our table. Our waiter, Cody, remembered my prior special request cocktail. Food and drinks were all excellent and we had a great time.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went for lunch and enjo ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 2, 2016

My husband and I went for lunch and enjoyed the Greek avocado salad with chicken (large portion that I took home for a second meal!) as the seafood sampler. Service was very good. We sat outside looking over the pier to the side of the building as it was quite windy in the main porch area. No problem changing tables! A favorite on Galveston Island!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food a bit pricey. Kids menu and ki ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Good food a bit pricey. Kids menu and kid friendly. Beautiful patio on the port. Happy hour menu 4-7pm. Good service. Local beer was pretty tasty. Seafood platter very good. Filet minon was average not outstanding.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Family Style, Great Beer, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Tatiana was quite attentive and friendly ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Tatiana was quite attentive and friendly. The Greek salad with gyro meat added was ENORMOUS and delicious. The chicken soup had a great deal of chicken in it and was also great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Seeing the harbor was nice. Love a water ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Seeing the harbor was nice. Love a water view. The food fell short, although the stuffed shrimp are fabulous. I would go for a drink and a nibble for the view.

Tags: Vegan, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

our groups first happy hour at this loca ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2016

our groups first happy hour at this location. We will return.

Tags: Healthy, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

From cocktails to coffee, the food and s ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 12, 2016

From cocktails to coffee, the food and service were excellent. Our server, Irina, was attentive but not bothersome, and very pleasant. Highly recommend for couples.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and ambiance. We sat on the pa ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Good food and ambiance. We sat on the patio. Inside is very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is time to improve the menu. The dres ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

It is time to improve the menu. The dressing is oily and does not taste vinaigrette at all. It seemed made of cheap ingredients.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

We were meetung & visiting with a friend ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 24, 2016

We were meetung & visiting with a friend from Colorado we hadnt seen in several years.... therefore, our lunch turned into an extended 3-4hr visit. Our waitress was very patient with us as we started with cocktails....then apps...and took a long time to even order our lunch. She never made us feel rushed.

The food was perfection and our guest was happy we our choice for lunch! Y'all became our family FAVE several years ago, although we live in FAR NorthWest Houston (by Woodlands)!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent, especially th ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 22, 2016

The service was excellent, especially the waitress. She was extremely nice to all of our guests and provided very prompt, courteous service for a table of 12. The menu offers a wide variety, and the food quality was excellent and tasty! We'll be back again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining overlooking the Galveston h ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great dining overlooking the Galveston harbor. It is a Greek seafood restaurant, but we always have their "Taste of Olympia" Greek sampler dinner. Excellent. One negative, we have always enjoyed having Greek wines with our meal at Olympia. But, they recently changed their wine list and removed all but 4 Greek wines, 2 white and 2 red. They should bring back more reek wine choices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We love dining at this Olympic Grill. Th ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 9, 2016

We love dining at this Olympic Grill. The food is always terrific and the scenery is nice. We usually like to sit outside, but this time we chose inside with air conditioning. We find the waitstaff pretty good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose to sit outside. The manager ins ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 4, 2016

We chose to sit outside. The manager insisted on pulling up the shades to watch the sunset which required us to wear sunglasses and made it very uncomfortable for about 20 minutes.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The brunch was great, especially the bra ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 26, 2016

The brunch was great, especially the bran cakes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We were in a large group (10) with many ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were in a large group (10) with many dietary issues. The server was knowledgeable and thorough, and made even a challenging service look easy. We had a great time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Manager was RUDE.... Will NOT go back!

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Large group in the restaurant making so much noise we could not even carry on a conversation. When the manager was approached he was simply RUDE...we will NOT be going back. When we tried to speak with someone higher up about how we were treated no one called us back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value4

Love this place.

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food is always great! My son just finished Medical School in Galveston and we always come here to eat when we are in town visiting because we love it! We had a big party to celebrate his graduation and we were by a very busy door that kept opening so it was very busy around us. Our waiter was great and even though we had a big group, he kept up with everything. Everyone loved what they ordered.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Everything was wonderful.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Everything was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great freak food!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 25, 2016

Great freak food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

When our reservation for 20 people expan ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2016

When our reservation for 20 people expanded to 30 +, J.R. and the staff were great at

bringing in extra seating for the party. Bravo!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

DD (Disappointing Dinner)

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2016

On vacation with my husband in Galveston and we decided to try this restaurant. We both ordered fish dishes, red snapper and salmon, and both were a bit dry. My side dish (asparagus) was so overcooked, the fork couldn't even pick it up. Appetizer seared tuna, however, was excellent. Our server seemed a little poky and distant at times, and asked us if we wanted to go boxes when my husband was clearly still working on his meal. The view was a little too "industrial" for our taste, but the water is always nice to look at. Our check was a few dollars short of a hundred (this is without alcoholic drinks), and we didn't feel we got our $$ worth. I read many good reviews about this restaurant and was disappointed when our experience was just the opposite. We probably would not be going back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The snapper with crab was excellent as w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2016

The snapper with crab was excellent as was the Greek salad. All foods needed more seasoning and we typically don't add salt. The chicken soup especially needed something. Overall meal was great. Crab stack appetizer was very good. Our server, Jesse, was excellent. Very attentive and great recommendations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We love this restaurant

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 10, 2016

We dine at the Olympic Grill quite frequently as we love the menu and love the view. We try and sit outside where you can see the people, water and the cruise ships go by. The Greek food is awesome and a special treat for us. Waitstaff always attentive and friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Typical mediocre Galveston upscale resta ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 1, 2016

Typical mediocre Galveston upscale restaurant. Lovely view of the channel and the boat.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Sweet Potato Fries and Fish Tacos

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 30, 2016

The Sweet Potato Fries and Fish Tacos were delicious! It was the first time there and wasn't sure what to get. It was 3 Fish Tacos that was about a 1 1/2 fishes total. Will be going back to try more.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Favorite Galveston Restaurant!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 27, 2016

We had Easter Brunch at the Olympia Grill. The food was delicious, we sat outside on the harbor and our waiter was great. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Galveston's Gem : As Always, PERFECT!

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 27, 2016

This is our go-to restaurant whenever we visit Galveston.

The seafood is always perfect, never too fishy or overcooked.

The presentation is always appetizing.

The drinks and wine are very pleasing, esp the Destiny Moscato!

Our server Johnathan was one of the best we have ever had.

He went out of his way to make us welcome and feel catered to.

He was friendly, witty and by the end of the meal he was practically our friend!

Do not skip the bread pudding dessert. It is the absolute best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Weekend Lunch

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 26, 2016

My family of seven ate lunch here on Easter weekend. We ate inside but still had a nice view of the water. Our food was great! All of my kids loved it, which doesn't happen often. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 21, 2016

We arrived a little after 11am on a Sunday and were promptly seated. We selected outdoor seating for a better view- it was okay. The food was AMAZING! I ordered the seafood omelet and my girlfriend had the crab cake benedict...... they were both AWESOME. Mimosas were great also, but a bit pricey compared to other places. We plan on going back, overall it was a great experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Lovely Valentine's dinner at the Olympia Grill.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Great dining experience. Wonderful food, good wine, great view, and really good service by Dimitris. Hats off and Cheers!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food choices were excellent. The se ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food choices were excellent. The seafood dishes were served with an impressive twist. I enjoyed the stuffed shrimp and would highly recommend it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.