About Olivia

2043 S Lamar Blvd
Austin, TX 78704
View Larger Map

Rich in European and Southern influences, the menu changes daily to reflect the season and goods of local farmers & ranchers.


Cancellation Policy:
For parties of 10 or more, a $100 charge will be incurred if the reservation does not cancel within 24 hours or does not show up on the day of the reservation. The $100 charge will go towards a gift card that can be used at a later date.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;

Brunch: Saturday: 10:00am - 2:30pm;
Sunday: 10:00 am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Oltorf

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 804-2700

Website:
http://www.olivia-austin.com/

Executive Chef:
James Holmes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

fried chicken
Bruleed Grapefruit
Olivia Benedict
Scallops
Cobia With Quinoa, Brussel Sprouts And Carrot Puree
Tuna Tartare With Watermelon Gazpacho
"Dandy Don Meredith" Chili-Frite Pie
Broiled Salmon
Pancake
Bison Burg
Chai Tea French Toast
Tile Fish
Smoked Gouda Grits
Eggs Florentine
Fried Oysters Eggs Benedict
Eggs Beneduck
Duck Egg Creme Brulee
S.O.S.
Pommes Frites
South Austin Omelette
Buttermilk Pancakes
Banana Semifreddo Dessert
Berries Dessert
Macdaddy
Bacon wrapped lamb heart
Frites
Saffron mussels
Malpeque Oysters
Mussels
Amuse Gueule
Quail
Amuse-Frozen Blackberry Foam, Foie Gras Snow
Antelope Chop
Biscuits And Country Gravy
Caffenated Cochon
512 IPA
Apple Pie
Eggs Benedict
Wagyu Tri Tip And Frites
BBQ Shrimp With Grits
Willie Nelson Chicken Fried Steak
Whiskey Burger
Grilled Scallops with Prosciutto
Quail With Gnocchi
Oysters
Scallops and risotto
Lamb Liver with Pears and Mashed Potatoes
Foie Gras Panna Cotta, Monastrell Dulce Gelee,& Basil Ice.
Mushroom Risotto Balls
Milk Choco-Foie Gras Tart, Foie Gras Cookie Dough Icecream, Aerated Strawberry, Maple Syrup, Cadied Flaxseed, Angelfood Crouton
Foie Gras Cereales,Malted Milk Powder, Brioche, Dried Fruit&Grain
Gouda Grits
Pork Belly With Apple Butter And Grafton Cheddar Fondue
Country Fried Steak and Eggs
Foie Gras And Grits
BBQ Shrimp and Grits
Fried Chicken and Biscuits
Pan Roasted Quail with Pancetta
Hamachi
Whisky Burger
Lamar Mac Daddy Muffin
Pickled Pigs Ear Sandwich
Taff's Southern Sticky Bun
Cheese Plate
Shrimp and Grits
Sos 2012
Tagliatelle With Wild Boar
Hoecakes
Tagliatelle With Yolk
Foie Gras plate w/
Ginger cake
Lamb T-bone With Polenta And Lamb Bacon
Local Kobe Tri Tip And Frittes
Pan Seared Quail Over Lemon Vinaigrette Quinoa Argula Salad, Topped With Fredericksburg Peaches And Candied Hazelnut Praline
Sunday Brunch
Burger
Headcheese Sandwich
12 Oz Burger
Mimosa Trio!
Scallop, Foie Gras Risotto, Corn Sabayon, Vegies And Duck Consomme
Homemade Brownie
Salad Gourmande
Country Fried Willie

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Olivia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Austin
Great for Brunch
Austin
Best Restaurants in South Austin ›

great for brunch (71)
fit for foodies (57)
special occasion (45)
See All
neighborhood gem (33)
great for outdoor dining (31)
romantic (28)
good for groups (19)
notable wine list (19)
great for lunch (13)
hot spot (6)
kid-friendly (6)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
574 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wait staff were very professional an ...

Dined 6 days ago

The wait staff were very professional and the food was cooked perfectly

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent - the service exc ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

The food was excellent - the service exceptional. Staff is friendly and engaging. Ambiance perfect for any night of the week. Dress up for a special occasion or sit at the bar for happy hour. Either way - the whole experience is guaranteed to leave you satisfied.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a very pleasant, enjoyable brunch ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a very pleasant, enjoyable brunch. The food looked awesome, but was not up to par with the taste we have experienced dining here in the evenings.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

My husbands eggs Florentine were decent ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

My husbands eggs Florentine were decent tasting and beautiful, though bogged down with chewy prosciutto. My broiled grapefruit was good. The pork belly sandwiches were awful. Th e pork belly itself was fine. The English muffins were soft despite toasting marks. The sandwiches were heavy and looked unappetizing. Everything was undersalted to the point where the meal was generally flavorless. I didn't eat most of it. The french toast was fine. Hot and humid inside the restaurant. I overheard someone who appeared to be a manager telling a table of acquaintances the AC was broken. The service was literally the only satisfying aspect of the entire meal.

food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Biscuits were made too far ahead of time ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Biscuits were made too far ahead of time and they got stale. Same with the poached eggs. This was our go-to spot for brunch, and for some reason it really missed the mark this time. Maybe just a bad day.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great New Twist on Traditional Brunch Dishes

Dined on June 5, 2016

We were seven for a Sunday brunch, six of whom were recovering from a bachelor party the night before and needed a Bloody Mary before they could focus on the menu. On the clever menu, however, were a number of tradition dishes, but with a new twist and savory flair. For example, Olivia's version of Eggs Benedict used braised beef tips instead of Canadian bacon, and they served their own version of SOS and a Willie Nelson Chicken Fried Steak, etc. Anyway, they were packed after about 11 am, so either go at their opening at 10 am or get a reservation. Fun time, good food, great service, a little pricey.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Olivia Brunch

Dined on June 5, 2016

Its very nice light place. Garden is great too. service was very fast and we had great eggs for brunch!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always

Dined on May 29, 2016

Olivia has been extremely consistent through the years and I always enjoyed.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Farm to Table Dining Experience

Dined on May 29, 2016

This was my first dining experience at a Farm to Table restaurant. WOW, what a difference we could taste in the food. I had a pork chop that was a very close tie to Perry's in downtown Austin. Both our dishes were incredible. The bread was so fresh is seemed like it had just been baked. The Olive Oil for dipping was definitely a step up from our normal dinners. We love to cook, we are pretty good at it and we usually buy higher end cuts of meat and fish. So, we are not chefs but enjoy a great meal. Olivia's was just an outstanding meal, ambiance and dining experience. It was also my first time using Open Table to book a reservation. That was so easy and very beneficial. Would do both again for sure!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food and a fun atmosphere. Good ser ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Good food and a fun atmosphere. Good service as well. This is a good date place or for smaller parties.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Left lacking

Dined on May 21, 2016

I'd been to Olivia for brunch, and thoroughly enjoyed it. But this special dinner was a bit of a bust. Not only did the chef over-rely on potatoes, but they were so salty that I could not eat them - why? My fish was cooked beautifully, but it was served solely with those salty potatoes. My daughter's steak, bland, came with french fries, bland. Simply not impressive, especially at the price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid Place to dine

Dined on May 15, 2016

Olivia has always been a favorite of mine. The service is great, the ambiance is wonderful, the food is fantastic. If there is an issue, the servers are so gracious and help out without making you feel regretful if you have an issue with the food. This is a great place to take people that are from out of town, great Austin vibe. Make reservations though!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food okay, very pricey

Dined on May 15, 2016

Olivia was recommended by some foodie friends. We were, however, disappointed. The staff was very friendly and the atmosphere was fine, but the food quality did not match the exorbitant price. We would not recommend this place to others.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best tasting menu in town. T ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

One of the best tasting menu in town. The wine pairings were equally delightful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Decent

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was decent but overpriced for the quality and quantity. The price for drinks is a bit high, as well. If you're charging $20 for small brunch entrees, make mimosas a bit cheaper like every other restaurant in Austin.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous as Always!

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food and service at Olivia are outstanding. Portions are generous; usually enough for two to share. The restaurant is modern and clean. A great place for Saturday or Sunday brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Olivia twice. If you want ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I've been to Olivia twice. If you want a pancake, I suggest ordering just one or you will be eating the stack for days. Everything is delicious. Just go.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful Clark's

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Always love the food and atmosphere at Clark's! The oysters were perfect and my wife loved her crab cake. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

The food was ok

Dined on May 7, 2016

The ambiance was great, cool, modern place to try. However the food was underwhelming and extremely bland.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this was our first time back in about a year.

Dined on May 7, 2016

We forgot how good the food is here. i can't believe this would not be one of the better restaurants in Austin.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4

For a brunch that had gotten great revie ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

For a brunch that had gotten great reviews, the omelets where bland and the potatoes soggy. Not terrible but just bleh.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, and great food!

Dined on April 30, 2016

The wait staff was very quick and friendly. The food was fresh and well priced.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food4
ambience3
service5

Nicest staff in town. Food is always goo ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Nicest staff in town. Food is always good, but you feel like family here, Olivia does staffing very well.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Want to love

Dined on April 21, 2016

Farm to table concept found in architecturally-pleasing renovation/new build home on Lamar Boulevard just north of Oltorf. The menu was engaging and the wine choices were interesting and covered the essentials. And the wait staff was superb. But my ultimate experience lacked the exhilaration of my expectation. Some examples. The cheese plate lacked a fourth cheese for a party of four. And the carb option dominated the plate. But the selections were delightful. The honey presentation was a table favorite. The fries were plentiful to the point the full party could never find the bottom of the bowl. But it lacked somethink (seasoning?) if I need to nickpik. Our largest complaint was that the same fries repeated on the steak option two of our diners selected. There should be a distinction between the appetizer and the side. This menu result exemplified strategic failure. All four of us expressed pleasure without conviction with their dinner choices (two steak, one salmons, and one duck confit gnocchi). My gnocchi was seasoned with duck confit for a filling dish. I love duck and gnocchi. The presentation was southern and filling. But the heaviness was not balanced with a corresponding flavor profile. It was what it was. Not bad, but not inspiring (for this price point). I felt it could have been a brunch option complete with warming flames underneath. And I so wanted to love it. I feel my opinions and those of my clients were shared by locals since we were mostly alone at this restaurant on a busy and gorgeous Thursday evening. Never a good sign. The owners and management clearly want to deliver a sophisticated urban local food concept. They have all the ingredients. But the plate refuses to cooperate at least to this reviewer's one night escapade down Lamar with out of state clients. But I also want to be wrong so please try for yourself and make your own judgements.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old Faithful

Dined on April 17, 2016

We've been to Olivia a few times over the years, although this was our first time coming for dinner (we are HUGE fans of Olivia's brunch and have brought many out of town visitors for it). Well, like their famous brunch, dinner was just as delicious. I got a duck main dish, and it was delish. My husband ordered the steak frites and liked them. You must get their pommes frites. Not the healthiest option, but they are so crispy and delish. Plus, they make their own ketchup rather than serving that funky bottled stuff. Yum!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Atmosphere cute & vibrant, food too salty.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Atmosphere was very cute and vibrant. Food was way too salty.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried & True

Dined on April 8, 2016

Austin is full of wonderful restaurants, but none are as dependable as Olivia. It can always be counted on for a delicious menu of locally sourced foods, great wines and the best service in Austin." Don't go changing Olivia, we love you just the way you are!"

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Olivia was good

Dined on April 8, 2016

The restaurant space is nice, food was pretty good and the menu provided great options. I would recommend Olivia to friends as a place definitely worth trying.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Disappointed

Dined on April 3, 2016

Perhaps it was the search engine that misled me. I was looking for a good Northern Italian restaurant while staying in Austin and this came up. There was only one pasta offering and one risotto offering on the menu which was disappointing considering I thought it was an Italian restaurant. The cocktails also left something to be desired. Although the food was good and seemingly innovative and the service was pleasant, this was not what I was looking for.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious lunch at Olivia's

Dined on April 2, 2016

My partner and I had a great time dining at Olivia's this Saturday. While they offer some great breakfast choices during brunch, we usually prefer lunch entrees. I was extremely pleased with my lamb sandwich, while my partner enjoyed the room temperature fried chicken, with potato salad. The portions are very generous, so you might have leftovers, hooray!! I strongly suggest reservations, as they are extremely busy on weekends, especially with large groups. I love the high windows, which let's in a lot of light. The tables are very close together, so it seems very crowded in the restaurant. Hence, the noise level is quite high. Still, the great food will bring us back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The occasion was out anniversary . We en ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

The occasion was out anniversary . We enjoyed the meal and the evening.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Olvia was 5 star for Easter. Everyone loved it. Food, service, and especially the chickens were perfect!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Brunch. Sit outside. Order Lots of Drinks.

Dined on March 26, 2016

Love Olivia. I love it. It's finer dining without the snobbery. I go every chance I get. Thanks for another great meal.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Missing The Spark

Dined on March 23, 2016

This place felt a little musty. I know that's a strange way of positioning the word 'musty,' because it didn't smell and it wasn't damp, but it lacked a liveliness. It was the middle of the week, however. It was also half-past 8 (still not too late). You would think that my date and I would have liked this, but it didn't feel intimate or cozy in the stillness. The fried brussels sprouts were tasty and our waiter was spunky (not sure he knew much about wine though...he said many words, but they weren't received well). Something was just off. The vibe didn't work? I say again the food was solid (not a very dairy-free-friendly place), but I won't be itching to return. I'd rather spend $125 at a place with warmth!

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious and service outstandi ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Food was delicious and service outstanding

food3
ambience3
service3
value4

B Overall

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Two of us had brunch. Overall the food, service, and atmosphere was good. Nothing real fancy but overall good.

food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best brunches in town and the ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

One of the best brunches in town and the patio is amazing this time of year!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Olivia.

Dined on March 6, 2016

Not my first visit to Olivia. Won't be my last. Try to visit each time I'm in Austin. Consistently wonderful food, excellent service. So glad I made reservations.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Tremendous dinner.

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

Tremendous dinner. The 10 course tasting was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love the Bacon

Dined on February 28, 2016

I have been to Olivia many times for brunch. I have tried many things on the menu but my overall favorite is the BACON!! No matter what I order, I always get a side of their bacon!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.