About Olivia

2043 S Lamar Blvd
Austin, TX 78704
View Larger Map

Rich in European and Southern influences, the menu changes daily to reflect the season and goods of local farmers & ranchers.


Cancellation Policy:
For parties of 10 or more, a $100 charge will be incurred if the reservation does not cancel within 24 hours or does not show up on the day of the reservation. The $100 charge will go towards a gift card that can be used at a later date.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;

Brunch: Saturday: 10:00am - 2:30pm;
Sunday: 10:00 am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Oltorf

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 804-2700

Website:
http://www.olivia-austin.com/

Executive Chef:
James Holmes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

fried chicken
Bruleed Grapefruit
"Dandy Don Meredith" Chili-Frite Pie
Broiled Salmon
Pancake
Bison Burg
Chai Tea French Toast
Tile Fish
Smoked Gouda Grits
Eggs Florentine
Fried Oysters Eggs Benedict
Eggs Beneduck
Duck Egg Creme Brulee
S.O.S.
Pommes Frites
South Austin Omelette
Cobia With Quinoa, Brussel Sprouts And Carrot Puree
Tuna Tartare With Watermelon Gazpacho
Olivia Benedict
Buttermilk Pancakes
Banana Semifreddo Dessert
Scallops
Berries Dessert
Macdaddy
Saffron mussels
Bacon wrapped lamb heart
Frites
Antelope Chop
Amuse-Frozen Blackberry Foam, Foie Gras Snow
Quail
Malpeque Oysters
Amuse Gueule
Mussels
Biscuits And Country Gravy
Apple Pie
512 IPA
Caffenated Cochon
Eggs Benedict
Wagyu Tri Tip And Frites
BBQ Shrimp With Grits
Willie Nelson Chicken Fried Steak
Whiskey Burger
Grilled Scallops with Prosciutto
Quail With Gnocchi
Oysters
Scallops and risotto
Lamb Liver with Pears and Mashed Potatoes
Mushroom Risotto Balls
Foie Gras Panna Cotta, Monastrell Dulce Gelee,& Basil Ice.
Milk Choco-Foie Gras Tart, Foie Gras Cookie Dough Icecream, Aerated Strawberry, Maple Syrup, Cadied Flaxseed, Angelfood Crouton
Foie Gras Cereales,Malted Milk Powder, Brioche, Dried Fruit&Grain
Gouda Grits
Pork Belly With Apple Butter And Grafton Cheddar Fondue
Country Fried Steak and Eggs
Foie Gras And Grits
BBQ Shrimp and Grits
Pan Roasted Quail with Pancetta
Fried Chicken and Biscuits
Hamachi
Whisky Burger
Lamar Mac Daddy Muffin
Pickled Pigs Ear Sandwich
Taff's Southern Sticky Bun
Cheese Plate
Shrimp and Grits
Sos 2012
Hoecakes
Tagliatelle With Wild Boar
Ginger cake
Tagliatelle With Yolk
Foie Gras plate w/
Lamb T-bone With Polenta And Lamb Bacon
Local Kobe Tri Tip And Frittes
Pan Seared Quail Over Lemon Vinaigrette Quinoa Argula Salad, Topped With Fredericksburg Peaches And Candied Hazelnut Praline
Sunday Brunch
Burger
12 Oz Burger
Headcheese Sandwich
Country Fried Willie
Salad Gourmande
Scallop, Foie Gras Risotto, Corn Sabayon, Vegies And Duck Consomme
Homemade Brownie
Mimosa Trio!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Olivia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Austin
Great for Brunch
Austin
Best Restaurants in South Austin ›

Great for Brunch (61)
Fit for Foodies (59)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
See All
Special Occasion (36)
Romantic (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Good for Groups (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Great for Lunch (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Authentic (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Casual (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Healthy (2)
Cozy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Business Meals (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Scenic View (1)
Fun (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
Newest
619 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing farm to table food. Loved the ga ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing farm to table food. Loved the garden and chicken coop. The eggs were so light and fluffy. The juices were fresh squeezed. The sausage was homemade. Even the jam was homemade. Loved it all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I love to eat out. I go to at least 6 to ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I love to eat out. I go to at least 6 to 8 restaurants per month. This food at Olivia was flawless!! Amazing!!! Super clean place. Plenty of parking. Great place to eat. I took my sweetie for date night. She loved it too!!! I scored big.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Had Sunday brunch and thought the food w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had Sunday brunch and thought the food was very good. The ambiance is very modern - a lot of glass, which made it a tad noisy - but we enjoyed it and will go back for dinner or lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely place for brunch!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Lovely place for brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall, Olivia was okay. Reviews sugges ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Overall, Olivia was okay. Reviews suggested it would be one of the best brunches I've ever had, however it fell a bit short of that promise. The prices were a bit high, but for a spectacular brunch, I would pay it. That said, the food fell WAY short given how high their prices were. My omelet was easily one of the smallest, most bland omelets I have ever had. A "South Austin" omelet with literally cheese and dry chorizo inside. It was so bland, and it cost a pretty penny ($13+). Others in my party got the French toast, which they said was very delicious. That said, the low quality of their egg dish, along with their high prices, deters me from wanting to branch out at this restaurant again.

Tags: Quick Bite, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Delicious brunch!!! Great ambiance, exce ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Delicious brunch!!! Great ambiance, excellent service, and most importantly, delicious and quality food!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Olivia's a few times now ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I have been to Olivia's a few times now and each time I am impressed with the staff and of course the quality of the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Brunch option!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great Brunch option!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was decent Service was ok But prob ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was decent

Service was ok

But problem was the noise level

You can hardly have a conversation without shouting and that is what everybody is doing

Also the place has tooo crowded tables are jammed in every inch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

What a surprise! We had brunch and licke ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

What a surprise! We had brunch and licked our plates. Lean. The Shrimp and Grits was tasty. My daughter had Olivia Benedict and devoured it. The Keesha Lorainne was scrumptious, too. Oh yah, check out blood orange mimosas that are not sweet like the OJ usuals. Highly recommend Olivia's.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Olivia brunch is always Delightful...gre ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Olivia brunch is always Delightful...great indoor/outdoor seating. Food is fresh and delicious and the service is always great. Love Olivia.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my parents for when they came to ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I took my parents for when they came to visit and we had a great time. The food was yummy, the portions were generous, and the service was excellent!

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Parking was ridiculous! Vehicles backin ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Parking was ridiculous! Vehicles backing up trying to turn around because no spaces were available. VERY LOUD!!! Had to send pancake back because it was undercooked. Waited 15 more minutes for a cooked pancake to re-arrive. Had to ask the waitress twice for salt/pepper....it wasn't on the table. Had to ask waitress for re-fill on ice tea. $55.00+ for two adults and one child for brunch....not worth the money for the food & service & lousy parking! Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

We had Sunday brunch on the patio. We t ...

 
 (Springfield)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We had Sunday brunch on the patio. We thoroughly enjoyed the meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice venue, but prices are high, even fo ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Nice venue, but prices are high, even for trendy Austin. I guess they have to pay for the new digs. Chicken was underwhelming, while the scallops were cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Went to Olivia for brunch/lunch on Sunda ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Went to Olivia for brunch/lunch on Sunday - fantastic place with modern atmosphere and delicious food. I would definitely go again, but the dishes were slightly dainty and more suited for me and my girlfriends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent spot for dinner or brunch. The ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent spot for dinner or brunch. The cuisine style is modern meets delicious. I really enjoyed the fettucine with pine nuts entree for dinner, and the cocktails are excellent. If you go for brunch, it's a can't-miss experience whether you go savory with an omelette and bacon or sweet with the pancakes. We heart Olivia.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic brunch! Superb service! Will ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fantastic brunch! Superb service! Will definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The ambiance at Olivia is perfect for da ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The ambiance at Olivia is perfect for date night or a meal with friends. Amazing food - redsnapper was delicious!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Went to Sunday brunch. Was exceptional. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Went to Sunday brunch. Was exceptional. Highly recommend the Mimosa Trio. Noise level was rather high. Service was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The pancakes with the coffee syrup were ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The pancakes with the coffee syrup were delicious and perfectly sweet! Although it wasn't the main course for my meal, it was a great addition! Having a reservation made our Sunday brunch very easy, especially since normal wait times can be over an hour on a Sunday anywhere else you go. Will definitely visit again!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff is very good! Food is excellent t ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Staff is very good! Food is excellent too! The pancakes were perfect!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed brunch at Olivia. The ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We really enjoyed brunch at Olivia. The dishes were well priced, delicious and abundant. I appreciate the nice chairs with backs, not making me shout at the table by muting the sound, taking reservations and free parking. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I LOVE Olivia's! Everytime a special mo ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I LOVE Olivia's! Everytime a special moment comes around to celebrate I search high and low for a place to eat but always circle back around to Olivia's! I can't get enough of this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A completely wonderful experience from m ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

A completely wonderful experience from my husband's steak frites to my scallops! One of the highlights of the meal was the desert - parsley panna cotta with banana ice cream and pistachio crumble - AWESOME!!!! The restaurant itself is sleak and modern looking with a really nice ambience. I knew it was going to be a great evening when we parked and saw they have their own garden and chicken coop in the back! Could not recommend this restaurant more.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding from start t ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The service was outstanding from start to finish. The food was fresh a very flavorful. Because I don't like blackeye peas they substituted corn with my quail and it was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Chicken gnocchi was a small portion but ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Chicken gnocchi was a small portion but fantastic. All the food was extremely high quality.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Olivia; went there with my ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

First time at Olivia; went there with my girlfriend for brunch on a busy Sunday. We were seated immediately and our server paid very close attention to us the entire time. She made excellent recommendations on cocktails and on our food as well. The meal was very very enjoyable; we will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Terrific experience from beginning to en ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Terrific experience from beginning to end. Good was outstanding and service was stellar. This will definitely be a new regular for my wife and I.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Try the scallops..they were delicious.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Try the scallops..they were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved Olivia's brunch! So glad it's near ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Loved Olivia's brunch! So glad it's near our house and will definitely be back with friends!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place..parking lot is small though. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Nice place..parking lot is small though...had to park at office depot

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Although our food was absolutely delicio ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Although our food was absolutely delicious, we felt extremely rushed. We were there to celebrate a special occasion and that was why we chose Olivia. As soon as we were finishing up our food someone, who was not our server, came to our table to ask if we needed anything. She was polite but obviously trying to move us out to get the table available for another party. For me, this ruined my experience. I had just announced to my husband that we were going to have a baby. I wanted to have time to talk and enjoy the moment but instead we were whisked out the door. That is a precious moment we can never get back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Clearly this restaurant is building a fo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Clearly this restaurant is building a foodie reputation, this was our second visit and there is measurable growth in professionalism and style. South Austin is a potpourri of cultures, cuisines and tastes, Olivia's sits on a higher level than most and does so very well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service - as usua ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Outstanding food and service - as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved dining at Olivia this past week. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I loved dining at Olivia this past week. It was my first time there! I am from Wisconsin in Austin for a conference downtown, but Olivia was recommended to me. I was NOT disappointed!!! It was one of the best meals I had during my stay, if not the best for flavor, variety, and overall excellent service! We loved the risotto, scallops, steak frites, and the Olivia salad had a surprise burst of flavor with the pecans! Can't describe how wonderful it was!!! If I lived in Austin, I would make Olivia one of my all time go-to restaurants....and I eat out a lot!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's been a while since we've eaten at O ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It's been a while since we've eaten at Olivia, and the quality wasn't there this past Sunday. The prosciutto was as tickly cut as bacon and not edible (eggs Florentine) and our meals were served lukewarm at best. Not the high quality experience I remember from such an award winning restaurant. I hope it was a fluke...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent Brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent Brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It would have been nice if the hostess h ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It would have been nice if the hostess had told me when I called to confirm my reservation that Olivia's air conditioner was not working. When we asked for the A/C to be adjusted, the staff told us that the repair people had been out three times and couldn't diagnose the problem. I can. Get a new A/C. In addition, our food was barely warm when we received it. Our waiter replaced it immediately - good service there -- but the replacement food was only slightly warmer and the biscuit under the eggs was not fresh. We did receive a credit on the bill, which we appreciated. Still, Olivia's appears to be past its prime and shouldn't have been open in 100 degree weather with no functioning A/C.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Loved everything

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Loved everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.