About Olivia

2043 S Lamar Blvd
Austin, TX 78704
View Larger Map

Rich in European and Southern influences, the menu changes daily to reflect the season and goods of local farmers & ranchers.


Cancellation Policy:
For parties of 10 or more, a $100 charge will be incurred if the reservation does not cancel within 24 hours or does not show up on the day of the reservation. The $100 charge will go towards a gift card that can be used at a later date.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;

Brunch: Saturday: 10:00am - 2:30pm;
Sunday: 10:00 am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Oltorf

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 804-2700

Website:
http://www.olivia-austin.com/

Executive Chef:
James Holmes

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

fried chicken
Bruleed Grapefruit
Olivia Benedict
"Dandy Don Meredith" Chili-Frite Pie
Broiled Salmon
Pancake
Bison Burg
Chai Tea French Toast
Tile Fish
Smoked Gouda Grits
Eggs Florentine
Fried Oysters Eggs Benedict
Eggs Beneduck
Duck Egg Creme Brulee
S.O.S.
Pommes Frites
South Austin Omelette
Cobia With Quinoa, Brussel Sprouts And Carrot Puree
Tuna Tartare With Watermelon Gazpacho
Buttermilk Pancakes
Banana Semifreddo Dessert
Scallops
Berries Dessert
Macdaddy
Saffron mussels
Bacon wrapped lamb heart
Frites
Antelope Chop
Amuse-Frozen Blackberry Foam, Foie Gras Snow
Quail
Malpeque Oysters
Amuse Gueule
Mussels
Biscuits And Country Gravy
Apple Pie
512 IPA
Caffenated Cochon
Eggs Benedict
Wagyu Tri Tip And Frites
BBQ Shrimp With Grits
Willie Nelson Chicken Fried Steak
Whiskey Burger
Grilled Scallops with Prosciutto
Quail With Gnocchi
Oysters
Scallops and risotto
Lamb Liver with Pears and Mashed Potatoes
Mushroom Risotto Balls
Foie Gras Panna Cotta, Monastrell Dulce Gelee,& Basil Ice.
Milk Choco-Foie Gras Tart, Foie Gras Cookie Dough Icecream, Aerated Strawberry, Maple Syrup, Cadied Flaxseed, Angelfood Crouton
Foie Gras Cereales,Malted Milk Powder, Brioche, Dried Fruit&Grain
Gouda Grits
Pork Belly With Apple Butter And Grafton Cheddar Fondue
Country Fried Steak and Eggs
Foie Gras And Grits
BBQ Shrimp and Grits
Pan Roasted Quail with Pancetta
Fried Chicken and Biscuits
Hamachi
Whisky Burger
Lamar Mac Daddy Muffin
Pickled Pigs Ear Sandwich
Taff's Southern Sticky Bun
Cheese Plate
Shrimp and Grits
Sos 2012
Hoecakes
Tagliatelle With Wild Boar
Ginger cake
Tagliatelle With Yolk
Foie Gras plate w/
Lamb T-bone With Polenta And Lamb Bacon
Local Kobe Tri Tip And Frittes
Pan Seared Quail Over Lemon Vinaigrette Quinoa Argula Salad, Topped With Fredericksburg Peaches And Candied Hazelnut Praline
Sunday Brunch
Burger
12 Oz Burger
Headcheese Sandwich
Country Fried Willie
Salad Gourmande
Scallop, Foie Gras Risotto, Corn Sabayon, Vegies And Duck Consomme
Homemade Brownie
Mimosa Trio!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Olivia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (71)
Fit for Foodies (68)
Special Occasion (47)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Romantic (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Good for Groups (25)
Notable Wine List (18)
Great for Lunch (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Kid-friendly (7)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
603 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went to Olivia for brunch/lunch on Sunda ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

Went to Olivia for brunch/lunch on Sunday - fantastic place with modern atmosphere and delicious food. I would definitely go again, but the dishes were slightly dainty and more suited for me and my girlfriends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic brunch! Superb service! Will ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fantastic brunch! Superb service! Will definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The ambiance at Olivia is perfect for da ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The ambiance at Olivia is perfect for date night or a meal with friends. Amazing food - redsnapper was delicious!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Went to Sunday brunch. Was exceptional. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Went to Sunday brunch. Was exceptional. Highly recommend the Mimosa Trio. Noise level was rather high. Service was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The pancakes with the coffee syrup were ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The pancakes with the coffee syrup were delicious and perfectly sweet! Although it wasn't the main course for my meal, it was a great addition! Having a reservation made our Sunday brunch very easy, especially since normal wait times can be over an hour on a Sunday anywhere else you go. Will definitely visit again!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff is very good! Food is excellent t ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Staff is very good! Food is excellent too! The pancakes were perfect!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed brunch at Olivia. The ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We really enjoyed brunch at Olivia. The dishes were well priced, delicious and abundant. I appreciate the nice chairs with backs, not making me shout at the table by muting the sound, taking reservations and free parking. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I LOVE Olivia's! Everytime a special mo ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I LOVE Olivia's! Everytime a special moment comes around to celebrate I search high and low for a place to eat but always circle back around to Olivia's! I can't get enough of this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A completely wonderful experience from m ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

A completely wonderful experience from my husband's steak frites to my scallops! One of the highlights of the meal was the desert - parsley panna cotta with banana ice cream and pistachio crumble - AWESOME!!!! The restaurant itself is sleak and modern looking with a really nice ambience. I knew it was going to be a great evening when we parked and saw they have their own garden and chicken coop in the back! Could not recommend this restaurant more.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding from start t ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The service was outstanding from start to finish. The food was fresh a very flavorful. Because I don't like blackeye peas they substituted corn with my quail and it was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Chicken gnocchi was a small portion but ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Chicken gnocchi was a small portion but fantastic. All the food was extremely high quality.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Olivia; went there with my ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

First time at Olivia; went there with my girlfriend for brunch on a busy Sunday. We were seated immediately and our server paid very close attention to us the entire time. She made excellent recommendations on cocktails and on our food as well. The meal was very very enjoyable; we will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Terrific experience from beginning to en ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Terrific experience from beginning to end. Good was outstanding and service was stellar. This will definitely be a new regular for my wife and I.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Try the scallops..they were delicious.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Try the scallops..they were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved Olivia's brunch! So glad it's near ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Loved Olivia's brunch! So glad it's near our house and will definitely be back with friends!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place..parking lot is small though. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Nice place..parking lot is small though...had to park at office depot

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Although our food was absolutely delicio ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Although our food was absolutely delicious, we felt extremely rushed. We were there to celebrate a special occasion and that was why we chose Olivia. As soon as we were finishing up our food someone, who was not our server, came to our table to ask if we needed anything. She was polite but obviously trying to move us out to get the table available for another party. For me, this ruined my experience. I had just announced to my husband that we were going to have a baby. I wanted to have time to talk and enjoy the moment but instead we were whisked out the door. That is a precious moment we can never get back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Clearly this restaurant is building a fo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Clearly this restaurant is building a foodie reputation, this was our second visit and there is measurable growth in professionalism and style. South Austin is a potpourri of cultures, cuisines and tastes, Olivia's sits on a higher level than most and does so very well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service - as usua ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Outstanding food and service - as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved dining at Olivia this past week. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I loved dining at Olivia this past week. It was my first time there! I am from Wisconsin in Austin for a conference downtown, but Olivia was recommended to me. I was NOT disappointed!!! It was one of the best meals I had during my stay, if not the best for flavor, variety, and overall excellent service! We loved the risotto, scallops, steak frites, and the Olivia salad had a surprise burst of flavor with the pecans! Can't describe how wonderful it was!!! If I lived in Austin, I would make Olivia one of my all time go-to restaurants....and I eat out a lot!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's been a while since we've eaten at O ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It's been a while since we've eaten at Olivia, and the quality wasn't there this past Sunday. The prosciutto was as tickly cut as bacon and not edible (eggs Florentine) and our meals were served lukewarm at best. Not the high quality experience I remember from such an award winning restaurant. I hope it was a fluke...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent Brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent Brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It would have been nice if the hostess h ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It would have been nice if the hostess had told me when I called to confirm my reservation that Olivia's air conditioner was not working. When we asked for the A/C to be adjusted, the staff told us that the repair people had been out three times and couldn't diagnose the problem. I can. Get a new A/C. In addition, our food was barely warm when we received it. Our waiter replaced it immediately - good service there -- but the replacement food was only slightly warmer and the biscuit under the eggs was not fresh. We did receive a credit on the bill, which we appreciated. Still, Olivia's appears to be past its prime and shouldn't have been open in 100 degree weather with no functioning A/C.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Loved everything

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Loved everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Lively brunch scene, solid menu, good se ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Lively brunch scene, solid menu, good service, and delicious food and drinks. Decent value as well

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tomato salad was delicious!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Tomato salad was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Olivia never fails to disappoint! We ord ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Olivia never fails to disappoint! We ordered the 6-course tasting menu and everything was wonderful, as usual. For this meal, we got an oyster amuse-bouche (bonus!), followed by the 1) tomato farro salad, 2) a choice of delicious miyake risotto (me) & some amazing vichyssoise (him), 3) seared scallops with creamed corn & arugula, 4) potato gnocchi w/roasted chicken, blistered heirloom tomato & spicy sauce, 5) fresh purple-hulled peas with quail, and 6) pound cake with fresh peaches and bourbon ice cream. The service was accommodating and attentive, the drinks were refreshing & perfectly chilled, and affordable because of happy hour. Worth every single penny.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The wait staff were very professional an ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The wait staff were very professional and the food was cooked perfectly

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent - the service exc ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was excellent - the service exceptional. Staff is friendly and engaging. Ambiance perfect for any night of the week. Dress up for a special occasion or sit at the bar for happy hour. Either way - the whole experience is guaranteed to leave you satisfied.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very pleasant, enjoyable brunch ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a very pleasant, enjoyable brunch. The food looked awesome, but was not up to par with the taste we have experienced dining here in the evenings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

My husbands eggs Florentine were decent ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

My husbands eggs Florentine were decent tasting and beautiful, though bogged down with chewy prosciutto. My broiled grapefruit was good. The pork belly sandwiches were awful. Th e pork belly itself was fine. The English muffins were soft despite toasting marks. The sandwiches were heavy and looked unappetizing. Everything was undersalted to the point where the meal was generally flavorless. I didn't eat most of it. The french toast was fine. Hot and humid inside the restaurant. I overheard someone who appeared to be a manager telling a table of acquaintances the AC was broken. The service was literally the only satisfying aspect of the entire meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Biscuits were made too far ahead of time ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Biscuits were made too far ahead of time and they got stale. Same with the poached eggs. This was our go-to spot for brunch, and for some reason it really missed the mark this time. Maybe just a bad day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Great New Twist on Traditional Brunch Dishes

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We were seven for a Sunday brunch, six of whom were recovering from a bachelor party the night before and needed a Bloody Mary before they could focus on the menu. On the clever menu, however, were a number of tradition dishes, but with a new twist and savory flair. For example, Olivia's version of Eggs Benedict used braised beef tips instead of Canadian bacon, and they served their own version of SOS and a Willie Nelson Chicken Fried Steak, etc.

Anyway, they were packed after about 11 am, so either go at their opening at 10 am or get a reservation. Fun time, good food, great service, a little pricey.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Olivia Brunch

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Its very nice light place. Garden is great too. service was very fast and we had great eggs for brunch!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

As always

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Olivia has been extremely consistent through the years and I always enjoyed.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our Farm to Table Dining Experience

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This was my first dining experience at a Farm to Table restaurant. WOW, what a difference we could taste in the food. I had a pork chop that was a very close tie to Perry's in downtown Austin. Both our dishes were incredible. The bread was so fresh is seemed like it had just been baked. The Olive Oil for dipping was definitely a step up from our normal dinners. We love to cook, we are pretty good at it and we usually buy higher end cuts of meat and fish. So, we are not chefs but enjoy a great meal. Olivia's was just an outstanding meal, ambiance and dining experience. It was also my first time using Open Table to book a reservation. That was so easy and very beneficial. Would do both again for sure!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and a fun atmosphere. Good ser ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Good food and a fun atmosphere. Good service as well. This is a good date place or for smaller parties.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Left lacking

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I'd been to Olivia for brunch, and thoroughly enjoyed it. But this special dinner was a bit of a bust. Not only did the chef over-rely on potatoes, but they were so salty that I could not eat them - why? My fish was cooked beautifully, but it was served solely with those salty potatoes. My daughter's steak, bland, came with french fries, bland. Simply not impressive, especially at the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Solid Place to dine

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Olivia has always been a favorite of mine. The service is great, the ambiance is wonderful, the food is fantastic. If there is an issue, the servers are so gracious and help out without making you feel regretful if you have an issue with the food. This is a great place to take people that are from out of town, great Austin vibe. Make reservations though!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food okay, very pricey

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Olivia was recommended by some foodie friends. We were, however, disappointed. The staff was very friendly and the atmosphere was fine, but the food quality did not match the exorbitant price. We would not recommend this place to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.