Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is permanently closed. Find a similar spot.
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

VOX TableVOX Table
(328)
$$$$
Contemporary American | South Austin, Austin
Booked 25 times today
CANTINE Italian Cafe & BarCANTINE Italian Cafe & Bar
(135)
$$$$
Italian | South Austin, Austin
Booked 4 times today
AlcomarAlcomar
(345)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, Austin
Booked 13 times today
Barlata Tapas BarBarlata Tapas Bar
(611)
$$$$
Tapas / Small Plates | Downtown, Austin
Booked 4 times today
UchiUchi
(1950)
$$$$
Sushi | Downtown, Austin
Booked 58 times today
Lenoir RestaurantLenoir Restaurant
(532)
$$$$
Contemporary American | South Austin, Austin
Booked 3 times today
EberlyEberly
(177)
$$$$
American | Downtown, Austin
Booked 45 times today
June's All DayJune's All Day
(36)
$$$$
Contemporary American | South Austin, Austin
Booked 6 times today
Central StandardCentral Standard
(107)
$$$$
American | Downtown, Austin
Booked 12 times today
Café No SéCafé No Sé
(73)
$$$$
American | Downtown, Austin
Booked 6 times today
El Alma Cafe y CantinaEl Alma Cafe y Cantina
(304)
$$$$
Mexican | Downtown, Austin
Booked 24 times today
Perla's Seafood and Oyster BarPerla's Seafood and Oyster Bar
(1829)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, Austin
Booked 55 times today
Aroma Italian RestaurantAroma Italian Restaurant
(140)
$$$$
Italian | South Austin, Austin
Booked 2 times today
Flour and Vine Restaurant & Wine BarFlour and Vine Restaurant & Wine Bar
(396)
$$$$
American | Central Austin, Austin
Booked 5 times today
South Congress CafeSouth Congress Cafe
(16)
$$$$
Contemporary American | South Austin, Austin
Booked 4 times today

About Permanently Closed - Olivia

2043 S Lamar Blvd
Austin, TX 78704
View Larger Map

This restaurant is permanently closed.

In Austin, the Olivia is a farm to table American restaurant specializing in breakfast, brunch and lunch with a dedicated wine bar to accompany dinner. Olivia employs a �waste not; want not� philosophy on all incoming produce and meats, using as much as possible from each item when creating beautiful and delicious food. An on premises smoke house allows the restaurant to cure bacon, sausages and hams to use in the house made pasta.

Olivia�s menu is a combination of gourmet and classic creations such as butternut squash risotto, pork shank with farro and smoked tomato, quail with Carolina gold rice or tri tip steak with fries.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;

Brunch: Saturday: 10:00am - 2:30pm;
Sunday: 10:00 am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Oltorf

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 804-2700

Website:
http://www.olivia-austin.com/

Executive Chef:
James Holmes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Sort By:
S
646 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We tried a bunch of stuff off the menu because they were closing for good. Sadness

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This was a great place for brunch! It's not closed

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Divine. My daughter has been asking for months and months to go to Olivia for dinner because she absolutely loves her 3rd grade teacher and, Olivia being his favorite Austin restaurant, she wanted to experience it, too. We had an early dinner at 5:30, and this restaurant is everything we've heard and more. Modern interior decor, bright and cozy - so welcoming, and my daughter LOVED that we had to make a reservation. In her words, "oh my gosh, mom, sooooo fancy!" She had the steak tips and frités, and I had the pan-seared half chicken. The absolute BEST chicken I've ever had, and my daughter LOVED her meal. Note: I read about Olivia set to "close " (owner changing concept)on Oct. 9 which is what prompted me to hurry up and take her, but I wish I would have gone sooner. It's perfection on a plate! No doubt why it was named 1 of the 10 best restaurants in the COUNTRY.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Best Hollandaise sauce I've ever had - sad to see them go!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This was our first time dining at Olivia's. We'd always heard it was terrific for brunch, so one Sunday we decided to go. We had made reservations online in advance, which was very convenient and helpful. The restaurant has good parking for Austin. The restaurant is beautiful. The decor is modern elegance yet casual. We weren't prepared for the food portions - they were big! The blueberry pancake was absolutely huge. But delicious. Everything was wonderfully good. The service was great. We definitely recommend Olivia's.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Olivia is so loud I couldn't hear my friend, who was sitting right next to me. I hate that about Olivia (and many restaurants in Austin). I hope the owner will take this into consideration when designing his new restaurant. There are many restaurants in Austin that where I do not dine for the simple reason that the room is too loud to enjoy my friends, regardless of the quality of the food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This place was great! So sad it closed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Olivia's has been a favorite brunch spot of ours for a couple of years, and this was our first dinner -- we thought we'd dine there one last time before it goes away. We're sad to see it closing, but excited to see what its proprietors come up with next.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 25, 2016

delicious food, good variety, friendly service, nice atmosphere

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Our server was so fantastic. I cant remember her name, but she wore red pants and was absolutely stellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Very delicious for a special family dinner. Attentive staff, calm atmosphere, comfortable seating, delicious food and drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great place! Thanks for a good meal and visit. Love the smoked gouda grits.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Amazing farm to table food. Loved the garden and chicken coop. The eggs were so light and fluffy. The juices were fresh squeezed. The sausage was homemade. Even the jam was homemade. Loved it all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I love to eat out. I go to at least 6 to 8 restaurants per month. This food at Olivia was flawless!! Amazing!!! Super clean place. Plenty of parking. Great place to eat. I took my sweetie for date night. She loved it too!!! I scored big.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had Sunday brunch and thought the food was very good. The ambiance is very modern - a lot of glass, which made it a tad noisy - but we enjoyed it and will go back for dinner or lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Lovely place for brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Overall, Olivia was okay. Reviews suggested it would be one of the best brunches I've ever had, however it fell a bit short of that promise. The prices were a bit high, but for a spectacular brunch, I would pay it. That said, the food fell WAY short given how high their prices were. My omelet was easily one of the smallest, most bland omelets I have ever had. A "South Austin" omelet with literally cheese and dry chorizo inside. It was so bland, and it cost a pretty penny ($13+). Others in my party got the French toast, which they said was very delicious. That said, the low quality of their egg dish, along with their high prices, deters me from wanting to branch out at this restaurant again.

Tags: Quick Bite, Afternoon Tea, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Delicious brunch!!! Great ambiance, excellent service, and most importantly, delicious and quality food!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I have been to Olivia's a few times now and each time I am impressed with the staff and of course the quality of the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great Brunch option!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was decent

Service was ok

But problem was the noise level

You can hardly have a conversation without shouting and that is what everybody is doing

Also the place has tooo crowded tables are jammed in every inch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Olivia brunch is always Delightful...great indoor/outdoor seating. Food is fresh and delicious and the service is always great. Love Olivia.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

What a surprise! We had brunch and licked our plates. Lean. The Shrimp and Grits was tasty. My daughter had Olivia Benedict and devoured it. The Keesha Lorainne was scrumptious, too. Oh yah, check out blood orange mimosas that are not sweet like the OJ usuals. Highly recommend Olivia's.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 4, 2016

I took my parents for when they came to visit and we had a great time. The food was yummy, the portions were generous, and the service was excellent!

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Parking was ridiculous! Vehicles backing up trying to turn around because no spaces were available. VERY LOUD!!! Had to send pancake back because it was undercooked. Waited 15 more minutes for a cooked pancake to re-arrive. Had to ask the waitress twice for salt/pepper....it wasn't on the table. Had to ask waitress for re-fill on ice tea. $55.00+ for two adults and one child for brunch....not worth the money for the food & service & lousy parking! Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Springfield)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We had Sunday brunch on the patio. We thoroughly enjoyed the meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Nice venue, but prices are high, even for trendy Austin. I guess they have to pay for the new digs. Chicken was underwhelming, while the scallops were cooked perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Went to Olivia for brunch/lunch on Sunday - fantastic place with modern atmosphere and delicious food. I would definitely go again, but the dishes were slightly dainty and more suited for me and my girlfriends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent spot for dinner or brunch. The cuisine style is modern meets delicious. I really enjoyed the fettucine with pine nuts entree for dinner, and the cocktails are excellent. If you go for brunch, it's a can't-miss experience whether you go savory with an omelette and bacon or sweet with the pancakes. We heart Olivia.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fantastic brunch! Superb service! Will definitely visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The ambiance at Olivia is perfect for date night or a meal with friends. Amazing food - redsnapper was delicious!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Went to Sunday brunch. Was exceptional. Highly recommend the Mimosa Trio. Noise level was rather high. Service was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The pancakes with the coffee syrup were delicious and perfectly sweet! Although it wasn't the main course for my meal, it was a great addition! Having a reservation made our Sunday brunch very easy, especially since normal wait times can be over an hour on a Sunday anywhere else you go. Will definitely visit again!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Staff is very good! Food is excellent too! The pancakes were perfect!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We really enjoyed brunch at Olivia. The dishes were well priced, delicious and abundant. I appreciate the nice chairs with backs, not making me shout at the table by muting the sound, taking reservations and free parking. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 7, 2016

I LOVE Olivia's! Everytime a special moment comes around to celebrate I search high and low for a place to eat but always circle back around to Olivia's! I can't get enough of this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 6, 2016

A completely wonderful experience from my husband's steak frites to my scallops! One of the highlights of the meal was the desert - parsley panna cotta with banana ice cream and pistachio crumble - AWESOME!!!! The restaurant itself is sleak and modern looking with a really nice ambience. I knew it was going to be a great evening when we parked and saw they have their own garden and chicken coop in the back! Could not recommend this restaurant more.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The service was outstanding from start to finish. The food was fresh a very flavorful. Because I don't like blackeye peas they substituted corn with my quail and it was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Chicken gnocchi was a small portion but fantastic. All the food was extremely high quality.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 31, 2016

First time at Olivia; went there with my girlfriend for brunch on a busy Sunday. We were seated immediately and our server paid very close attention to us the entire time. She made excellent recommendations on cocktails and on our food as well. The meal was very very enjoyable; we will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Terrific experience from beginning to end. Good was outstanding and service was stellar. This will definitely be a new regular for my wife and I.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Try the scallops..they were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Loved Olivia's brunch! So glad it's near our house and will definitely be back with friends!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Nice place..parking lot is small though...had to park at office depot

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Although our food was absolutely delicious, we felt extremely rushed. We were there to celebrate a special occasion and that was why we chose Olivia. As soon as we were finishing up our food someone, who was not our server, came to our table to ask if we needed anything. She was polite but obviously trying to move us out to get the table available for another party. For me, this ruined my experience. I had just announced to my husband that we were going to have a baby. I wanted to have time to talk and enjoy the moment but instead we were whisked out the door. That is a precious moment we can never get back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Clearly this restaurant is building a foodie reputation, this was our second visit and there is measurable growth in professionalism and style. South Austin is a potpourri of cultures, cuisines and tastes, Olivia's sits on a higher level than most and does so very well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Outstanding food and service - as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 7, 2016

I loved dining at Olivia this past week. It was my first time there! I am from Wisconsin in Austin for a conference downtown, but Olivia was recommended to me. I was NOT disappointed!!! It was one of the best meals I had during my stay, if not the best for flavor, variety, and overall excellent service! We loved the risotto, scallops, steak frites, and the Olivia salad had a surprise burst of flavor with the pecans! Can't describe how wonderful it was!!! If I lived in Austin, I would make Olivia one of my all time go-to restaurants....and I eat out a lot!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 3, 2016

It's been a while since we've eaten at Olivia, and the quality wasn't there this past Sunday. The prosciutto was as tickly cut as bacon and not edible (eggs Florentine) and our meals were served lukewarm at best. Not the high quality experience I remember from such an award winning restaurant. I hope it was a fluke...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent Brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.