About Olivia

2043 S Lamar Blvd
Austin, TX 78704
View Larger Map

Rich in European and Southern influences, the menu changes daily to reflect the season and goods of local farmers & ranchers.


Cancellation Policy:
For parties of 10 or more, a $100 charge will be incurred if the reservation does not cancel within 24 hours or does not show up on the day of the reservation. The $100 charge will go towards a gift card that can be used at a later date.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;

Brunch: Saturday: 10:00am - 2:30pm;
Sunday: 10:00 am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Oltorf

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 804-2700

Website:
http://www.olivia-austin.com/

Executive Chef:
James Holmes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

fried chicken
Bruleed Grapefruit
Olivia Benedict
"Dandy Don Meredith" Chili-Frite Pie
Broiled Salmon
Pancake
Bison Burg
Chai Tea French Toast
Tile Fish
Smoked Gouda Grits
Eggs Florentine
Fried Oysters Eggs Benedict
Eggs Beneduck
Duck Egg Creme Brulee
S.O.S.
Pommes Frites
South Austin Omelette
Cobia With Quinoa, Brussel Sprouts And Carrot Puree
Tuna Tartare With Watermelon Gazpacho
Buttermilk Pancakes
Scallops
Banana Semifreddo Dessert
Berries Dessert
Macdaddy
Bacon wrapped lamb heart
Frites
Saffron mussels
Malpeque Oysters
Mussels
Amuse Gueule
Quail
Amuse-Frozen Blackberry Foam, Foie Gras Snow
Antelope Chop
Biscuits And Country Gravy
Caffenated Cochon
512 IPA
Apple Pie
Eggs Benedict
Wagyu Tri Tip And Frites
BBQ Shrimp With Grits
Willie Nelson Chicken Fried Steak
Whiskey Burger
Grilled Scallops with Prosciutto
Quail With Gnocchi
Oysters
Scallops and risotto
Lamb Liver with Pears and Mashed Potatoes
Foie Gras Panna Cotta, Monastrell Dulce Gelee,& Basil Ice.
Mushroom Risotto Balls
Milk Choco-Foie Gras Tart, Foie Gras Cookie Dough Icecream, Aerated Strawberry, Maple Syrup, Cadied Flaxseed, Angelfood Crouton
Foie Gras Cereales,Malted Milk Powder, Brioche, Dried Fruit&Grain
Gouda Grits
Pork Belly With Apple Butter And Grafton Cheddar Fondue
Country Fried Steak and Eggs
Foie Gras And Grits
BBQ Shrimp and Grits
Fried Chicken and Biscuits
Pan Roasted Quail with Pancetta
Hamachi
Whisky Burger
Lamar Mac Daddy Muffin
Pickled Pigs Ear Sandwich
Taff's Southern Sticky Bun
Cheese Plate
Shrimp and Grits
Sos 2012
Tagliatelle With Wild Boar
Hoecakes
Tagliatelle With Yolk
Foie Gras plate w/
Ginger cake
Lamb T-bone With Polenta And Lamb Bacon
Local Kobe Tri Tip And Frittes
Pan Seared Quail Over Lemon Vinaigrette Quinoa Argula Salad, Topped With Fredericksburg Peaches And Candied Hazelnut Praline
Sunday Brunch
Burger
Headcheese Sandwich
12 Oz Burger
Mimosa Trio!
Scallop, Foie Gras Risotto, Corn Sabayon, Vegies And Duck Consomme
Homemade Brownie
Salad Gourmande
Country Fried Willie

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Olivia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Austin
Great for Brunch
Austin
Best Restaurants in South Austin ›

great for brunch (71)
fit for foodies (61)
special occasion (42)
See All
neighborhood gem (35)
great for outdoor dining (28)
romantic (26)
good for groups (22)
notable wine list (16)
great for lunch (10)
hot spot (10)
kid-friendly (6)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
591 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Terrific experience from beginning to en ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 3 days ago

Terrific experience from beginning to end. Good was outstanding and service was stellar. This will definitely be a new regular for my wife and I.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Try the scallops..they were delicious.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Try the scallops..they were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved Olivia's brunch! So glad it's near ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 4 days ago

Loved Olivia's brunch! So glad it's near our house and will definitely be back with friends!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice place..parking lot is small though. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Nice place..parking lot is small though...had to park at office depot

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Although our food was absolutely delicio ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Although our food was absolutely delicious, we felt extremely rushed. We were there to celebrate a special occasion and that was why we chose Olivia. As soon as we were finishing up our food someone, who was not our server, came to our table to ask if we needed anything. She was polite but obviously trying to move us out to get the table available for another party. For me, this ruined my experience. I had just announced to my husband that we were going to have a baby. I wanted to have time to talk and enjoy the moment but instead we were whisked out the door. That is a precious moment we can never get back.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Clearly this restaurant is building a fo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Clearly this restaurant is building a foodie reputation, this was our second visit and there is measurable growth in professionalism and style. South Austin is a potpourri of cultures, cuisines and tastes, Olivia's sits on a higher level than most and does so very well.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service - as usua ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Outstanding food and service - as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I loved dining at Olivia this past week. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I loved dining at Olivia this past week. It was my first time there! I am from Wisconsin in Austin for a conference downtown, but Olivia was recommended to me. I was NOT disappointed!!! It was one of the best meals I had during my stay, if not the best for flavor, variety, and overall excellent service! We loved the risotto, scallops, steak frites, and the Olivia salad had a surprise burst of flavor with the pecans! Can't describe how wonderful it was!!! If I lived in Austin, I would make Olivia one of my all time go-to restaurants....and I eat out a lot!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's been a while since we've eaten at O ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It's been a while since we've eaten at Olivia, and the quality wasn't there this past Sunday. The prosciutto was as tickly cut as bacon and not edible (eggs Florentine) and our meals were served lukewarm at best. Not the high quality experience I remember from such an award winning restaurant. I hope it was a fluke...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent Brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent Brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It would have been nice if the hostess h ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It would have been nice if the hostess had told me when I called to confirm my reservation that Olivia's air conditioner was not working. When we asked for the A/C to be adjusted, the staff told us that the repair people had been out three times and couldn't diagnose the problem. I can. Get a new A/C. In addition, our food was barely warm when we received it. Our waiter replaced it immediately - good service there -- but the replacement food was only slightly warmer and the biscuit under the eggs was not fresh. We did receive a credit on the bill, which we appreciated. Still, Olivia's appears to be past its prime and shouldn't have been open in 100 degree weather with no functioning A/C.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Loved everything

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Loved everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Lively brunch scene, solid menu, good se ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Lively brunch scene, solid menu, good service, and delicious food and drinks. Decent value as well

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tomato salad was delicious!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Tomato salad was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Olivia never fails to disappoint! We ord ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Olivia never fails to disappoint! We ordered the 6-course tasting menu and everything was wonderful, as usual. For this meal, we got an oyster amuse-bouche (bonus!), followed by the 1) tomato farro salad, 2) a choice of delicious miyake risotto (me) & some amazing vichyssoise (him), 3) seared scallops with creamed corn & arugula, 4) potato gnocchi w/roasted chicken, blistered heirloom tomato & spicy sauce, 5) fresh purple-hulled peas with quail, and 6) pound cake with fresh peaches and bourbon ice cream. The service was accommodating and attentive, the drinks were refreshing & perfectly chilled, and affordable because of happy hour. Worth every single penny.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The wait staff were very professional an ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The wait staff were very professional and the food was cooked perfectly

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent - the service exc ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was excellent - the service exceptional. Staff is friendly and engaging. Ambiance perfect for any night of the week. Dress up for a special occasion or sit at the bar for happy hour. Either way - the whole experience is guaranteed to leave you satisfied.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very pleasant, enjoyable brunch ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a very pleasant, enjoyable brunch. The food looked awesome, but was not up to par with the taste we have experienced dining here in the evenings.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

My husbands eggs Florentine were decent ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

My husbands eggs Florentine were decent tasting and beautiful, though bogged down with chewy prosciutto. My broiled grapefruit was good. The pork belly sandwiches were awful. Th e pork belly itself was fine. The English muffins were soft despite toasting marks. The sandwiches were heavy and looked unappetizing. Everything was undersalted to the point where the meal was generally flavorless. I didn't eat most of it. The french toast was fine. Hot and humid inside the restaurant. I overheard someone who appeared to be a manager telling a table of acquaintances the AC was broken. The service was literally the only satisfying aspect of the entire meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Biscuits were made too far ahead of time ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Biscuits were made too far ahead of time and they got stale. Same with the poached eggs. This was our go-to spot for brunch, and for some reason it really missed the mark this time. Maybe just a bad day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Great New Twist on Traditional Brunch Dishes

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We were seven for a Sunday brunch, six of whom were recovering from a bachelor party the night before and needed a Bloody Mary before they could focus on the menu. On the clever menu, however, were a number of tradition dishes, but with a new twist and savory flair. For example, Olivia's version of Eggs Benedict used braised beef tips instead of Canadian bacon, and they served their own version of SOS and a Willie Nelson Chicken Fried Steak, etc.

Anyway, they were packed after about 11 am, so either go at their opening at 10 am or get a reservation. Fun time, good food, great service, a little pricey.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Olivia Brunch

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Its very nice light place. Garden is great too. service was very fast and we had great eggs for brunch!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

As always

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Olivia has been extremely consistent through the years and I always enjoyed.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our Farm to Table Dining Experience

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This was my first dining experience at a Farm to Table restaurant. WOW, what a difference we could taste in the food. I had a pork chop that was a very close tie to Perry's in downtown Austin. Both our dishes were incredible. The bread was so fresh is seemed like it had just been baked. The Olive Oil for dipping was definitely a step up from our normal dinners. We love to cook, we are pretty good at it and we usually buy higher end cuts of meat and fish. So, we are not chefs but enjoy a great meal. Olivia's was just an outstanding meal, ambiance and dining experience. It was also my first time using Open Table to book a reservation. That was so easy and very beneficial. Would do both again for sure!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and a fun atmosphere. Good ser ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Good food and a fun atmosphere. Good service as well. This is a good date place or for smaller parties.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Left lacking

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I'd been to Olivia for brunch, and thoroughly enjoyed it. But this special dinner was a bit of a bust. Not only did the chef over-rely on potatoes, but they were so salty that I could not eat them - why? My fish was cooked beautifully, but it was served solely with those salty potatoes. My daughter's steak, bland, came with french fries, bland. Simply not impressive, especially at the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Solid Place to dine

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Olivia has always been a favorite of mine. The service is great, the ambiance is wonderful, the food is fantastic. If there is an issue, the servers are so gracious and help out without making you feel regretful if you have an issue with the food. This is a great place to take people that are from out of town, great Austin vibe. Make reservations though!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food okay, very pricey

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Olivia was recommended by some foodie friends. We were, however, disappointed. The staff was very friendly and the atmosphere was fine, but the food quality did not match the exorbitant price. We would not recommend this place to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

One of the best tasting menu in town. T ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

One of the best tasting menu in town. The wine pairings were equally delightful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was decent but overpriced for the quality and quantity. The price for drinks is a bit high, as well. If you're charging $20 for small brunch entrees, make mimosas a bit cheaper like every other restaurant in Austin.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Fabulous as Always!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The food and service at Olivia are outstanding. Portions are generous; usually enough for two to share. The restaurant is modern and clean. A great place for Saturday or Sunday brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been to Olivia twice. If you want ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I've been to Olivia twice. If you want a pancake, I suggest ordering just one or you will be eating the stack for days. Everything is delicious. Just go.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Clark's

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Always love the food and atmosphere at Clark's! The oysters were perfect and my wife loved her crab cake. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was ok

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The ambiance was great, cool, modern place to try. However the food was underwhelming and extremely bland.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

this was our first time back in about a year.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We forgot how good the food is here. i can't believe this would not be one of the better restaurants in Austin.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For a brunch that had gotten great revie ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

For a brunch that had gotten great reviews, the omelets where bland and the potatoes soggy. Not terrible but just bleh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Great service, and great food!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The wait staff was very quick and friendly. The food was fresh and well priced.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nicest staff in town. Food is always goo ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Nicest staff in town. Food is always good, but you feel like family here, Olivia does staffing very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Want to love

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Farm to table concept found in architecturally-pleasing renovation/new build home on Lamar Boulevard just north of Oltorf. The menu was engaging and the wine choices were interesting and covered the essentials. And the wait staff was superb.

But my ultimate experience lacked the exhilaration of my expectation. Some examples. The cheese plate lacked a fourth cheese for a party of four. And the carb option dominated the plate. But the selections were delightful. The honey presentation was a table favorite.

The fries were plentiful to the point the full party could never find the bottom of the bowl. But it lacked somethink (seasoning?) if I need to nickpik. Our largest complaint was that the same fries repeated on the steak option two of our diners selected. There should be a distinction between the appetizer and the side. This menu result exemplified strategic failure.

All four of us expressed pleasure without conviction with their dinner choices (two steak, one salmons, and one duck confit gnocchi). My gnocchi was seasoned with duck confit for a filling dish. I love duck and gnocchi. The presentation was southern and filling. But the heaviness was not balanced with a corresponding flavor profile. It was what it was. Not bad, but not inspiring (for this price point). I felt it could have been a brunch option complete with warming flames underneath. And I so wanted to love it.

I feel my opinions and those of my clients were shared by locals since we were mostly alone at this restaurant on a busy and gorgeous Thursday evening. Never a good sign.

The owners and management clearly want to deliver a sophisticated urban local food concept. They have all the ingredients. But the plate refuses to cooperate at least to this reviewer's one night escapade down Lamar with out of state clients. But I also want to be wrong so please try for yourself and make your own judgements.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Old Faithful

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We've been to Olivia a few times over the years, although this was our first time coming for dinner (we are HUGE fans of Olivia's brunch and have brought many out of town visitors for it). Well, like their famous brunch, dinner was just as delicious. I got a duck main dish, and it was delish. My husband ordered the steak frites and liked them. You must get their pommes frites. Not the healthiest option, but they are so crispy and delish. Plus, they make their own ketchup rather than serving that funky bottled stuff. Yum!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.