About Olivia

2043 S Lamar Blvd
Austin, TX 78704
View Larger Map

Rich in European and Southern influences, the menu changes daily to reflect the season and goods of local farmers & ranchers.


Cancellation Policy:
For parties of 10 or more, a $100 charge will be incurred if the reservation does not cancel within 24 hours or does not show up on the day of the reservation. The $100 charge will go towards a gift card that can be used at a later date.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Global, International, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm;
Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm;

Brunch: Saturday: 10:00am - 2:30pm;
Sunday: 10:00 am - 4:00pm

Cross Street:
Oltorf

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 804-2700

Website:
http://www.olivia-austin.com/

Executive Chef:
James Holmes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Olivia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Austin
Great for Brunch
Austin
Best Restaurants in South Austin ›

great for brunch (77)
fit for foodies (67)
special occasion (49)
See All
great for outdoor dining (41)
neighborhood gem (38)
romantic (31)
notable wine list (20)
great for lunch (20)
good for groups (18)
hot spot (11)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
564 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food and a fun atmosphere. Good ser ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Good food and a fun atmosphere. Good service as well. This is a good date place or for smaller parties.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Left lacking

Dined on May 21, 2016

I'd been to Olivia for brunch, and thoroughly enjoyed it. But this special dinner was a bit of a bust. Not only did the chef over-rely on potatoes, but they were so salty that I could not eat them - why? My fish was cooked beautifully, but it was served solely with those salty potatoes. My daughter's steak, bland, came with french fries, bland. Simply not impressive, especially at the price.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid Place to dine

Dined on May 15, 2016

Olivia has always been a favorite of mine. The service is great, the ambiance is wonderful, the food is fantastic. If there is an issue, the servers are so gracious and help out without making you feel regretful if you have an issue with the food. This is a great place to take people that are from out of town, great Austin vibe. Make reservations though!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food okay, very pricey

Dined on May 15, 2016

Olivia was recommended by some foodie friends. We were, however, disappointed. The staff was very friendly and the atmosphere was fine, but the food quality did not match the exorbitant price. We would not recommend this place to others.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best tasting menu in town. T ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

One of the best tasting menu in town. The wine pairings were equally delightful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Decent

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was decent but overpriced for the quality and quantity. The price for drinks is a bit high, as well. If you're charging $20 for small brunch entrees, make mimosas a bit cheaper like every other restaurant in Austin.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous as Always!

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food and service at Olivia are outstanding. Portions are generous; usually enough for two to share. The restaurant is modern and clean. A great place for Saturday or Sunday brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Olivia twice. If you want ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I've been to Olivia twice. If you want a pancake, I suggest ordering just one or you will be eating the stack for days. Everything is delicious. Just go.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful Clark's

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Always love the food and atmosphere at Clark's! The oysters were perfect and my wife loved her crab cake. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2
value4

The food was ok

Dined on May 7, 2016

The ambiance was great, cool, modern place to try. However the food was underwhelming and extremely bland.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

this was our first time back in about a year.

Dined on May 7, 2016

We forgot how good the food is here. i can't believe this would not be one of the better restaurants in Austin.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4

For a brunch that had gotten great revie ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

For a brunch that had gotten great reviews, the omelets where bland and the potatoes soggy. Not terrible but just bleh.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, and great food!

Dined on April 30, 2016

The wait staff was very quick and friendly. The food was fresh and well priced.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food4
ambience3
service5

Nicest staff in town. Food is always goo ...

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Nicest staff in town. Food is always good, but you feel like family here, Olivia does staffing very well.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Want to love

Dined on April 21, 2016

Farm to table concept found in architecturally-pleasing renovation/new build home on Lamar Boulevard just north of Oltorf. The menu was engaging and the wine choices were interesting and covered the essentials. And the wait staff was superb. But my ultimate experience lacked the exhilaration of my expectation. Some examples. The cheese plate lacked a fourth cheese for a party of four. And the carb option dominated the plate. But the selections were delightful. The honey presentation was a table favorite. The fries were plentiful to the point the full party could never find the bottom of the bowl. But it lacked somethink (seasoning?) if I need to nickpik. Our largest complaint was that the same fries repeated on the steak option two of our diners selected. There should be a distinction between the appetizer and the side. This menu result exemplified strategic failure. All four of us expressed pleasure without conviction with their dinner choices (two steak, one salmons, and one duck confit gnocchi). My gnocchi was seasoned with duck confit for a filling dish. I love duck and gnocchi. The presentation was southern and filling. But the heaviness was not balanced with a corresponding flavor profile. It was what it was. Not bad, but not inspiring (for this price point). I felt it could have been a brunch option complete with warming flames underneath. And I so wanted to love it. I feel my opinions and those of my clients were shared by locals since we were mostly alone at this restaurant on a busy and gorgeous Thursday evening. Never a good sign. The owners and management clearly want to deliver a sophisticated urban local food concept. They have all the ingredients. But the plate refuses to cooperate at least to this reviewer's one night escapade down Lamar with out of state clients. But I also want to be wrong so please try for yourself and make your own judgements.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Atmosphere cute & vibrant, food too salty.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Atmosphere was very cute and vibrant. Food was way too salty.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tried & True

Dined on April 8, 2016

Austin is full of wonderful restaurants, but none are as dependable as Olivia. It can always be counted on for a delicious menu of locally sourced foods, great wines and the best service in Austin." Don't go changing Olivia, we love you just the way you are!"

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Olivia was good

Dined on April 8, 2016

The restaurant space is nice, food was pretty good and the menu provided great options. I would recommend Olivia to friends as a place definitely worth trying.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Disappointed

Dined on April 3, 2016

Perhaps it was the search engine that misled me. I was looking for a good Northern Italian restaurant while staying in Austin and this came up. There was only one pasta offering and one risotto offering on the menu which was disappointing considering I thought it was an Italian restaurant. The cocktails also left something to be desired. Although the food was good and seemingly innovative and the service was pleasant, this was not what I was looking for.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious lunch at Olivia's

Dined on April 2, 2016

My partner and I had a great time dining at Olivia's this Saturday. While they offer some great breakfast choices during brunch, we usually prefer lunch entrees. I was extremely pleased with my lamb sandwich, while my partner enjoyed the room temperature fried chicken, with potato salad. The portions are very generous, so you might have leftovers, hooray!! I strongly suggest reservations, as they are extremely busy on weekends, especially with large groups. I love the high windows, which let's in a lot of light. The tables are very close together, so it seems very crowded in the restaurant. Hence, the noise level is quite high. Still, the great food will bring us back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The occasion was out anniversary . We en ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

The occasion was out anniversary . We enjoyed the meal and the evening.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

Olvia was 5 star for Easter. Everyone loved it. Food, service, and especially the chickens were perfect!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Brunch. Sit outside. Order Lots of Drinks.

Dined on March 26, 2016

Love Olivia. I love it. It's finer dining without the snobbery. I go every chance I get. Thanks for another great meal.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Missing The Spark

Dined on March 23, 2016

This place felt a little musty. I know that's a strange way of positioning the word 'musty,' because it didn't smell and it wasn't damp, but it lacked a liveliness. It was the middle of the week, however. It was also half-past 8 (still not too late). You would think that my date and I would have liked this, but it didn't feel intimate or cozy in the stillness. The fried brussels sprouts were tasty and our waiter was spunky (not sure he knew much about wine though...he said many words, but they weren't received well). Something was just off. The vibe didn't work? I say again the food was solid (not a very dairy-free-friendly place), but I won't be itching to return. I'd rather spend $125 at a place with warmth!

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious and service outstandi ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Food was delicious and service outstanding

food3
ambience3
service3
value4

B Overall

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Two of us had brunch. Overall the food, service, and atmosphere was good. Nothing real fancy but overall good.

food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best brunches in town and the ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

One of the best brunches in town and the patio is amazing this time of year!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Olivia.

Dined on March 6, 2016

Not my first visit to Olivia. Won't be my last. Try to visit each time I'm in Austin. Consistently wonderful food, excellent service. So glad I made reservations.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Tremendous dinner.

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

Tremendous dinner. The 10 course tasting was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love the Bacon

Dined on February 28, 2016

I have been to Olivia many times for brunch. I have tried many things on the menu but my overall favorite is the BACON!! No matter what I order, I always get a side of their bacon!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and experience

Dined on February 27, 2016

I have been to Olivia a number of times, and this was as wonderful as ever. Great food - exceptionally fresh. We were able to go as a group of 4 and share all the plates amongst everyone. The coconut curry muscles were an highlight, as was the cheese plate served with fresh local honeycomb.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brunch Hot Spot

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

I do not have enough nice words to say about this little gem of an eatery! The food was plated well, coursing was great, taste was wonderful, and selection was plentiful without being overwhelming. Most surprising, for being so busy on a Sunday, our group could still carry a conversation without background noise being overwhelming.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

First time in: a hit and a miss

Dined on February 21, 2016

Trying to clock through all the newer places in downtown Austin. Olivia was on the list so we locked a brunch reservation and did it. Prompt and friendly seating. Crowded but table spacing is just right. Orange juice and coffee were perfect, especially the OJ. Wife ordered the Benedict Florentine and I got the Olivia Benedict with a side of bacon. The bacon and my Benedict were actually cool to the touch - the egg and hollandaise were a bit warm but the meat and the whole plate of bacon were actually cool to the touch. My wife's was warm and super tasty though. I was going to eat mine anyhow but my wife told the waitress on me and they were very quick to replace the plate - second time around was actually warm. Noticed they don't have any heat lamps in the serving area so figure hers and mine were just out of sequence. No big deal but would have been perfect without that once hiccup which again, they quickly and with a smile remedied. We're going to go back and give dinner a try - def reco the place though - cool vibe.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Serendipitous find in Austin

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

I had a conference near the Austin airport and booked dinner for five at Olivia pretty much by chance. I was delighted. It sounds snobbish to say so, but it was like finding a little sliver of New York or San Francisco (foodie capitals) in Austin. All five guests were delighted with the cuisine. Lovely cheese tray, garlic fries and olives for starters. I had a stunning dish of gnocchi and lamb shoulder for main dish. The desserts were amazing. We ordered a reasonably priced Pinot Noir from Western Sonoma (from Fort Ross Winery in Jenner) which they served cool (not room temperature). Service was attentive. The scene was vibrant, yet classy and noise was reasonable. A wonderful dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day Meal to Remember

Dined on February 15, 2016

I took my fiancé to Olivia for Valentine's Day. They had a 4 course prix fixe menu, with optional wine pairings, specially made for the day. The food was to die for, we opted to include the wine pairings which truly enriched the meal, and their music selection was on point (lots of classic Al Green, Marvin Gaye, etc). It was my first time eating here, but won't be my last. Side note: whoever makes their cocktails is possibly the best bartender in town. I ordered a manhattan before the meal, it is the best manhattan in Austin.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

The menu selections and food were outsta ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The menu selections and food were outstanding. Our waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable, but the service was quite slow, likely due to the Valentine's lunch crowd that descended on the restaurant Sunday. Regardless we would definitely return. The Willie Nelson chicken fried steak dish was adored all around, my son said the pancakes were the best he's had, and my root vegetable quiche and salad were perfect. Our new favorite Austin brunch spot.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing staff and wonderful food!

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Amazing staff and wonderful food!

food4
ambience5
service4

Awesome brunch! Another group was havin ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Awesome brunch! Another group was having issues with their reservation when we got there but we were able to be seated right away. Can't wait to go back!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious Brunch!

Dined on February 13, 2016

Olivia had delicious food and great menu variety - there is something for everyone. They also featured some fun brunch drinks, most notably their $30 champagne bottle deal. Although there were only 2 of us, Olivia would also be a great place to gather with several friends.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

2 Thumbs Up

Dined on February 13, 2016

Reserved a table for Valentines Day. The atmosphere and food was very good. The oysters were amazing. The lamb and red snapper were really good. Overall satisfied. Picked this restaurant due to my gf favorite being farm to table kind of restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.