Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 1.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 1.22mi

About Olive B's Big Sky

OLIVE B’s BIG SKY BISTRO: serving lunch and dinner Monday thru Saturday. Continental offerings include roast duck, Asian calamari, French onion soup, fresh fish & seafood ,steak and game. Noteworthy wine list, crafted cocktails. Unrivaled views of lone mountain.

151 Center Lane
Big Sky, MT 59716
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Sunday: Closed

Cross Street:
Lone Mountain Trail & Little Coyote

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 995-3355

Website:
http://www.olivebsbigsky.com/

Parking Details:
We have ample parking in a well lit lot front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Public Transportation is available to the Meadow Village on the Skyline Shuttle the new Big Sky area bus service that also provides the Link between Bozeman and Big Sky. It is a short walk from the bus stop across the parking lot to Olive B's.

Executive Chef:
Warren Bibbins

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Olive B's Big Sky Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
See All
Special Occasion (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Open Kitchen (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Casual (13)
Authentic (12)
Romantic (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Cozy (10)
Healthy (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Scenic View (8)
Fun (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Seasonal (5)
Business Meals (5)
Family Style (4)
Organic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
People Watching (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My Fave Bistro in the Bozeman-Big Sky area. Never been disappointed!!

Tags: Seasonal, Organic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Our favorite Big Sky Restaurant. Always a delicious meal.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Another excellent meal at Olive B's. They provide consistently creative, well-prepared meals with superior service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Excellent food, service and ambience. Portions are generous and presentation is appealing.
We love a good French onion soup and Olive B's offer is superb.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Great find in Big Sky. Casual, fun dining experience with first rate ingredients and presentation. From the amuse-bouche to the dessert, each course was prepared and presented perfectly. Chef Warren is as comfortable welcoming guests in the dining room as he is directing his very capable team behind the scenes. You'll find locally-sourced favorites like elk on the menu, but the restaurant also uses the purveyors from around the country (e.g. Hudson Valley and Maple Farms) to create first class renditions of New England favorites with a gentle bias for seafood. If you're a foodie, this is as good as it gets in SW Montana.

Tags: People Watching, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We always make a point of eating at Olive Bs when we are in Big Sky. Wait staff is super friendly and the food is amazing!

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We travel and dine all over the world . When we return to Big Sky for the winter ski season we always look forward to lunch at Olive Bs. It is by far our favorite restaurant in Big Sky. Our friends and family request dinner there when they visit . Make reservations early ! You won't be sorry !

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Fun, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Excellent restaurant!! Jeremy was great as our waiter! We will be back again soon! The halibut was amazing!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Always solid food and friendly service. Chef/Owner Warren Bibbins and his great team have made Olive B's a Big Sky institution in just a few years.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Best restaurant in Montana...and we've tried a lot!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on March 26, 2017

It was excellent - as usual. What I value most is - the great food and service is Consistent. There is the same high quality Every Time!

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Business Meals, Fun, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual, Family Style, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2017

One of our very favorites in Big Sky! Food is outstanding and the service is wonderful! Game dishes are delicious--along with the seafood!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We really loved Olive B's! The food and service were great! We have been coming to Big Sky for the past few years to ski. Each year there seems to be a few new restaurant options for us to choose from. We definitely recommend driving into Town Center to enjoy a meal at Olive B's!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great time. Waiter was like Jared from Silicon Valley. Super helpful and polite. Warm fun ambiance. Very good food. One of best in Big Sky.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Excellent food! Lovely menu and half a dozen specials. We were a group of four and loved the mushroom, spinach and artichoke appetizer. My huge butterflied shrimp scampi with a cheesy risotto with spinach was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our yearly visit during ski season was great again. Never disappoints. Can't wait until next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Olive B's is our go to restaurant in Big Sky. Never miss a chance to eat there when in town. Bibber's hospitality and attention to food detail makes each visit memorable. Solid wine list with reasonable prices. Great service from wait staff who have been there for many years. Highly recommend!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Third time eating here and definitely best restaurant in big sky area

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We love Olive B's and visit every time we are in Big Sky - 4-5 times a year.
This visit something was a little bit off. Our waiter was very friendly and accommodating, but the service was slower than usual.
The bacon wrapped scallops appetizer was extraordinary, and as usual the truffle mashed potatoes were delicious.
The portions were noticeably smaller and the prices noticeably higher.
The crab cakes were smaller, greasy and tasteless. I usually order them, but this is my last time.
My husband enjoyed his steak, but I couldn't believe how small it was. He got home and instantly started snacking.
My daughter had elk which was ordered 'medium' and came out bloody red. She said it had a weird texture and was tasteless. She had to request it to be cooked more, which they gladly did. We weren't in a hurry so it was a minor inconvenience, just awkward waiting for someone to get food while you either eat your food, or wait for it to get cold. It was better after a little more cooking, but I could tell she wasn't enjoying it like other things we have had there.
She had the creme brulee which she loved.

Hopefully this restaurant is not heading in the wrong direction. We have been going there for years, and this was our least favorite visit. Usually we come out very happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I would have given this all 5 stars except our appetizer (bacon wrapped scallops) was seriously over cooked and gummy. But I had a bison Wellington that was a perfect med rare. Rick had a ribeye that was also perfect.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food and service were fantastic

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Wonderful mushroom/cheese/spinach appetizer followed by a fabulous duck entree. The best ever! Beautiful view of the nearby mountains and a very nice, friendly staff. We'll definitely eat here again on our next trip to Big Sky.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 24, 2017

OliveB's is one of the best restaurants in Big Sky. It ALWAYS has amazing food and great service. The specials are always something to look forward to as well. We go there as often as we can.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The appetizers were a little bit on the heavy side. Especially Oyster dish was laden with cheese. The mushroom gratinee was also heavy but portion controlled. The New England clam chowder was great. Entrées of elk in a wine sauce was fantastic, Wallete was out standing light and delicious, the osso Buco was slightly different in the risotto was with mushrooms and greens instead of the usual heavy risooto. The major drawback was desserts. Flourless chocolate cake with pistachio ice cream was is if it came out of the freezer directly. The was Rockhard. The fruit crisp could've used more crunch topping.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Mussels were amazing, as was the veal and venison. Olive B's is a must when in town. Great place to meet locals and have a drink at the small bar. .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Never a disappointment and ALWAYS marvelous and creative cuisine!! Olive's is that perfect spot for foodie snobs and comfort foodies alike!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent, as always. This place is run with a lot of care, and it shows.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a wonderful Valentine's Day dinner!The Appetizers were delicious, oysters and blue cheese cream brûlée duck. We also had their Bison Wellington which was perfectly cooked and nicely presented. Our waitress Mel was great, all the staff were very attentive. Don't miss Olive B's if you are in Big Sky!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is the best restaurant. The bison wellington was flavorful, tender & delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A terrific restaurant in Big Sky that we have dined at on many occasions.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Awesome as always
60th Bday celebration
Wouldn't go anywhere else!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great food , great service - perfect apres ski dinning

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Love this restaurant! Great food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The very best in Big Sky Great food great service unpretentious they pay attention to the details

Tags: Healthy, Comfort Food, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 2, 2017

One of my fAvorite restaurants in Big Sky. Food is always fresh and delicious. Menu doesn't vary much but it doesn't matter to us. I find a degree of comfort when I go because I know it's consistently good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The food was really excellent. I had the swordfish special which was tender and deliciously coated with an herb and caper butter glaze. The only complaint is that I think server forgot to put in my entre order. After my salad he asked whether I wanted to see the dessert menu! After that I took some time before my entre was served

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Our food was excellent except the mud pie was just ordinary

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Dine here when we are in Big Sky usually after skiing. Always a great meal. Great service. Our favorite restaurant in Big Sky. Scallop appetizer is great, have it with salad and it makes a great dinner. Clam chowder is a must.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Open Kitchen, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Excellent service and delicious food. Wish we lived nearby. We would take advantage of visiting this wonderful restaurant often. Loved the fish taco!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Delicious food, beautifully presented. Our favorite restaurant for food and ambience.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.