About Olive B's Big Sky

151 Center Lane
Big Sky, MT 59716
View Larger Map

OLIVE B’s BIG SKY BISTRO: serving lunch and dinner Monday thru Saturday. Continental offerings include roast duck, Asian calamari, French onion soup, fresh fish & seafood ,steak and game. Noteworthy wine list, crafted cocktails. Unrivaled views of lone mountain.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Sunday: Closed

Cross Street:
Lone Mountain Trail & Little Coyote

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 995-3355

Website:
http://www.olivebsbigsky.com/

Parking Details:
We have ample parking in a well lit lot front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Public Transportation is available to the Meadow Village on the Skyline Shuttle the new Big Sky area bus service that also provides the Link between Bozeman and Big Sky. It is a short walk from the bus stop across the parking lot to Olive B's.

Executive Chef:
Warren Bibbins

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Wine

Olive B's Big Sky Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montana
Best Food
Montana
Best Service
Montana
11 More
Best Ambiance
Montana
Best Value
Montana
Fit for Foodies
Montana
Neighborhood Gem
Montana
Best Overall
Bozeman
Best Food
Bozeman
Best Service
Bozeman
Best Ambiance
Bozeman
Best Value
Bozeman
Fit for Foodies
Bozeman
Most Booked
Bozeman
Best Restaurants in Big Sky ›

fit for foodies (26)
special occasion (23)
notable wine list (12)
See All
romantic (11)
neighborhood gem (11)
scenic view (10)
good for groups (9)
great for lunch (5)
hot spot (5)
kid-friendly (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
124 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The best in Montana

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

We live here, eat here, take friends here and love OliveB's. Consistently good and fresh food prepared with care and attention. Quality place that you can go to often as you want to try everything they offer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on April 1, 2016

I ordered from the nightly special's and was not disappointed. Bacon wrapped scallops were to die for. Must try

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bibber Nev'ah Fails to Please!

Dined on March 31, 2016

What's to say about Olive B's, Besides 'It Rocks da Food'! Regardless of the Goodies they Serve, 'Delighted' will be yer Mood!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Taking Big Sky dining to another level.

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Back to Big sky and back to Olive B's. Every bit as good as before. Great food, service and ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always great!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Before you arrive at Big Sky, make sure you have secured your reservation for this restaurant. The food is creative, high quality and delicious. You will not be disappointed. Reservations are a must!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a good meal

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

We have been to Big Sky several times and always try to enjoy a meal at Olive B's. Always a favorite with the family.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

Dined on March 23, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner! The hard part was deciding what to order as there were so many delicious and unique preparations. Everything from the cocktails to the appetizers, the entrees to the desserts were delicious. And our waitress Mel was great! Can hardly wait to go back next year and wished we had found Olive B's sooner!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Don't miss it!

Dined on March 20, 2016

Our party of seven adults thoroughly enjoyed our recent dinner at Olive B's. Our server, Josh, was one of the best ever. The food was excellent. We tried lamb chops, elk, tuna, chicken, pasta and all were Delicious. Would return in a heartbeat!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated a family birthday (St. Pat ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

We celebrated a family birthday (St. Patrick's Day) on the final day of a great ski holiday. Olive B's was the perfect place: full but not crowded and lively but not rowdy. One of our group is Australian, so we enjoyed chatting with our server about her upcoming trip to Canberra. Thanks for a great way to leave Big Sky.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Half good food half average

Dined on March 17, 2016

We have been to this restaurants a few times and we always have great service! The food however is a little inconsistent- sometimes good but the past 2 visits the food lacked on taste and fell flat. It seems like it used to be better than it is now as we had some very delicious meals there last year. We would give it a grade of B-

food3
ambience4
service3

We have been going there over last 3 yea ...

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

We have been going there over last 3 years while skiing at Big Sky. This year was disappointing compared to previous and we most likely won't return.

food5
ambience5
service5

Every dish we had was delicious! I love ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Every dish we had was delicious! I love Olive B's! Consistent quality.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on March 11, 2016

An absolutely amazing dining experience in a laid back, comfortable, friendly environment. The food is expensive but worth every penny and the portion sizes are more than adequate. You will receive your main dish with sides at no extra cost. If you find yourself in Big Sky, treat yourself to a fabulous dinner at Olive B's!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious food!

Dined on March 11, 2016

We have been to Olive B's twice and the food has been amazing both times. The flavors are outstanding, especially the truffled mashed potatoes. The choices of entrees are varied: chicken, seafood, bison ribs, for example. The desserts are generous and delicious. We had the brownie sundae and the fruit crisp-both were perfectly prepared. Olive B's is located in the Meadow Village in Big Sky in a small building. The bar is on one end and because of this the noise level is a bit higher. It didn't bother me, but my husband noticed it. One wall has a large picture window with a great view of the mountain, if you get there before dark. The servers are great people. The know the menu and take the time to explain items. Both times we have been there I have seen the chef come out of the kitchen to talk with diners. I love dining at Olive B's and hope to be there again.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

North Dakota

Dined on March 10, 2016

Great food, excellent service I have zero complaints.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience in Big Sky

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

From the hostess to the waitress to the bartender, the front of the house experience was awesome! The food experience was great as well. Highlights were the entrees and the dessert. Highly recommend this restaurant during a visit to Big Sky.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant evening

Dined on March 5, 2016

Great variety on menu. Food was tasty. Waitress was attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Olive B's has been great the many times ...

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

Olive B's has been great the many times we have eaten there. The food on this visit was less imaginative and flavorful. Still the best Big Sky has to offer. Service excellent and friendly. Our table in the corner felt removed from the activity, liveliness of the restaurant. We will definitely go back as we have had some of the best meals ever in ski country at Olive B's.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best food in Big Sky!

Dined on February 28, 2016

The food here is delicious - Fresh and creative. The view of Lone Peak is beautiful and the outdoor dining is nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our Favorites in Big Sky

Dined on February 27, 2016

Service and ambiance at Olive B's are both very good, and there are excellent food choices on the menu, but we almost always end up ordering the delicious daily specials. Great place to dine in Big Sky, MT.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, service and overall experien ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

Great food, service and overall experience. The best steak - ribeye - I had in a week at Big Sky. Also ate at Bucks T-4, and Lone Mountain Ranch.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent place to eat in Big Sky.

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

Some local and organic choices on menu. Excellent wine list and best huckleberry martini around. Not particularly a place I'd bring young kids to. Big Sky prices abound here. Have eaten here's several time and never been disappointed. Great servers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great date night out with the hubby!

Dined on February 25, 2016

Great date night out with the hubby!

food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Great Dinner In Big Sky Village

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

Olive B's was one of the better restaurants that we went to during our week in Big Sky. Our party of eight were seated quickly and service was good, not excellent. What was excellent was the bread, salads and entrees. We split a few desserts and the entire night was a success.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great find in big sky

Dined on February 24, 2016

we always go to olive b's when we are in big sky, sometimes twice on the same trip. food is very good and drinks are yummy. huckleberry martini awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

I ordered the veal parmigiana and the ve ...

Dined on February 23, 2016

I ordered the veal parmigiana and the veal was very dry. I expected more tomato sauce with the veal. Noodles did not have sauce or if they did, not near enough to notice. I would not order it again. Husband ordered a nightly special; Elk (and another meat) bouillabaisse, and found the meat was shredded into the sauce, not in chunks. Therefore the two meats were not decipherable. He would have like to compare the two tastes. Our guests both had the tuna and ate all of it, so I surmise they were pleased with the dish.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best food I have ever had

Dined on February 20, 2016

Excellent. The lamb chops were quite possible the best thing I have ever had at a restaurant. Drinks were out of this world too. Go with the white Russians,you wont be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dinner

Dined on February 20, 2016

We had an excellent meal. Highly recommend to try the bison wellington!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service!

Dined on February 16, 2016

Definitely would go back and recommend it to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant place

Dined on February 15, 2016

We drove down from Big Sky base village for Valentine's Day and were glad that we did. The ambiance was pleasantly nouveau-cowboy, the food was very good and the 2004 Montelena Estate Cab was drinking right where it should have been at a very fair price. Certainly worth a stop if you're in Big Sky and clearly cuts above the restaurants that Boyne's base village has to offer.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience at Olive B's!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a great dining experience at Olive B's! We started our meal off with a special "gift" from the chef (a salami roll with hummus and arugula). Warm, fresh bread with whipped butter came next. They had a great wine selection, by the glass or bottle. Would like to see a local favorite draft beer from Beehive Basin Brewery on tap next time we go! Our meals were delicious - Elk tenderloin, Salmon special, and the Ribeye. We finished the night with full bellies and the brownie sundae, everything you could imagine in one chocolate dish. Would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very exciting menu that offers alternati ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very exciting menu that offers alternatives for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5

Waiter Jeremy was awesome.

vip
Dined on February 10, 2016

Waiter Jeremy was awesome.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food,great service. Best resta ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Fantastic food,great service. Best restaurant in Big Sky.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great night to go to Olive B's

vip
Dined on February 5, 2016

Plan ahead, make a reservation, enjoy the wonderful menu and go back. Olive B's is our local favorite and go-to whenever we have guests in town or want a super meal in a great space.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Definitely recommend

vip
Dined on February 2, 2016

We were told about this restaurant by another skiier, whilst on the 'Mountain Tour'. We booked a table and it did NOT disappoint. The service was so friendly, prompt, knowledgable. A little disappointing that nothing on the menu came from Montana itself, but tbh the food was just amazing, delicious, great value. Highly recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner at Olive B's exceeded our exp ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Our dinner at Olive B's exceeded our expectations. The restaurant is a great find and we will be going back again. Our server Claire was exceptional. She provided great suggestions, was knowledgeable about the menu and made great suggestions. To say our food was amazing is an understatement. We had the bison short ribs and the lobster mac and cheese. I don't think I have ever had better short ribs in my life. We cannot wait to go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Service

Dined on January 16, 2016

Wonderful dinner. Food was great and Josh our server was outstanding (coming from someone who enjoys fine dining and has serving experience).

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The Lobster Mac & Cheese Disappointed

Dined on January 7, 2016

Great table, service, ambiance, cocktails, and salad. The Lobster Mac & Cheese not so much. Although it was generous, it was dry (probably over baked) and the lobster certainly wasn't tail, maybe not even lobster. There was a lot of it and it was tough and a little "fishy". I would have complained if I was a regular. My wife's filet was great and I should have done the ribeye.

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Good food, strong drinks-what more do you want?

Dined on January 5, 2016

We always stop in Olive B's when in Big Sky. Their prices have gone up since our last visit in the Fall. Our server was pretty slow, and seemed nervous, maybe she was new. She was friendly. They don't get huffy about substitutions. My husband is very allergic to gluten and they are careful with that -much appreciated! Overall, I highly recommend this place. As I titled this review, the food is consistently good, and the drinks are delicous and strong, you cant ask for much more than that.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.