Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 1.22mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.11mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.82mi
  4. Distance: 1.22mi

About Olive B's Big Sky

OLIVE B’s BIG SKY BISTRO: serving lunch and dinner Monday thru Saturday. Continental offerings include roast duck, Asian calamari, French onion soup, fresh fish & seafood ,steak and game. Noteworthy wine list, crafted cocktails. Unrivaled views of lone mountain.

151 Center Lane
Big Sky, MT 59716
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Sunday: Closed

Cross Street:
Lone Mountain Trail & Little Coyote

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 995-3355

Website:
http://www.olivebsbigsky.com/

Parking Details:
We have ample parking in a well lit lot front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Public Transportation is available to the Meadow Village on the Skyline Shuttle the new Big Sky area bus service that also provides the Link between Bozeman and Big Sky. It is a short walk from the bus stop across the parking lot to Olive B's.

Executive Chef:
Warren Bibbins

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wine

Olive B's Big Sky Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (30)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Fit for Foodies (29)
See All
Special Occasion (29)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Local Ingredients (20)
Open Kitchen (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Romantic (15)
Casual (14)
Cozy (14)
Authentic (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Healthy (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Fun (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Seasonal (8)
Scenic View (8)
Happy Hour (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Family Style (4)
Fireplace (4)
Great Beer (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
206 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Best restaurant in Montana...and we've tried a lot!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined 3 days ago

It was excellent - as usual. What I value most is - the great food and service is Consistent. There is the same high quality Every Time!

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Business Meals, Fun, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Casual, Family Style, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

One of our very favorites in Big Sky! Food is outstanding and the service is wonderful! Game dishes are delicious--along with the seafood!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

We really loved Olive B's! The food and service were great! We have been coming to Big Sky for the past few years to ski. Each year there seems to be a few new restaurant options for us to choose from. We definitely recommend driving into Town Center to enjoy a meal at Olive B's!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Great time. Waiter was like Jared from Silicon Valley. Super helpful and polite. Warm fun ambiance. Very good food. One of best in Big Sky.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Excellent food! Lovely menu and half a dozen specials. We were a group of four and loved the mushroom, spinach and artichoke appetizer. My huge butterflied shrimp scampi with a cheesy risotto with spinach was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Our yearly visit during ski season was great again. Never disappoints. Can't wait until next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Olive B's is our go to restaurant in Big Sky. Never miss a chance to eat there when in town. Bibber's hospitality and attention to food detail makes each visit memorable. Solid wine list with reasonable prices. Great service from wait staff who have been there for many years. Highly recommend!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Third time eating here and definitely best restaurant in big sky area

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We love Olive B's and visit every time we are in Big Sky - 4-5 times a year.
This visit something was a little bit off. Our waiter was very friendly and accommodating, but the service was slower than usual.
The bacon wrapped scallops appetizer was extraordinary, and as usual the truffle mashed potatoes were delicious.
The portions were noticeably smaller and the prices noticeably higher.
The crab cakes were smaller, greasy and tasteless. I usually order them, but this is my last time.
My husband enjoyed his steak, but I couldn't believe how small it was. He got home and instantly started snacking.
My daughter had elk which was ordered 'medium' and came out bloody red. She said it had a weird texture and was tasteless. She had to request it to be cooked more, which they gladly did. We weren't in a hurry so it was a minor inconvenience, just awkward waiting for someone to get food while you either eat your food, or wait for it to get cold. It was better after a little more cooking, but I could tell she wasn't enjoying it like other things we have had there.
She had the creme brulee which she loved.

Hopefully this restaurant is not heading in the wrong direction. We have been going there for years, and this was our least favorite visit. Usually we come out very happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I would have given this all 5 stars except our appetizer (bacon wrapped scallops) was seriously over cooked and gummy. But I had a bison Wellington that was a perfect med rare. Rick had a ribeye that was also perfect.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food and service were fantastic

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Wonderful mushroom/cheese/spinach appetizer followed by a fabulous duck entree. The best ever! Beautiful view of the nearby mountains and a very nice, friendly staff. We'll definitely eat here again on our next trip to Big Sky.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 24, 2017

OliveB's is one of the best restaurants in Big Sky. It ALWAYS has amazing food and great service. The specials are always something to look forward to as well. We go there as often as we can.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Fun, Casual, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 22, 2017

The appetizers were a little bit on the heavy side. Especially Oyster dish was laden with cheese. The mushroom gratinee was also heavy but portion controlled. The New England clam chowder was great. Entrées of elk in a wine sauce was fantastic, Wallete was out standing light and delicious, the osso Buco was slightly different in the risotto was with mushrooms and greens instead of the usual heavy risooto. The major drawback was desserts. Flourless chocolate cake with pistachio ice cream was is if it came out of the freezer directly. The was Rockhard. The fruit crisp could've used more crunch topping.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Mussels were amazing, as was the veal and venison. Olive B's is a must when in town. Great place to meet locals and have a drink at the small bar. .

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Never a disappointment and ALWAYS marvelous and creative cuisine!! Olive's is that perfect spot for foodie snobs and comfort foodies alike!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent, as always. This place is run with a lot of care, and it shows.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a wonderful Valentine's Day dinner!The Appetizers were delicious, oysters and blue cheese cream brûlée duck. We also had their Bison Wellington which was perfectly cooked and nicely presented. Our waitress Mel was great, all the staff were very attentive. Don't miss Olive B's if you are in Big Sky!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This is the best restaurant. The bison wellington was flavorful, tender & delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

A terrific restaurant in Big Sky that we have dined at on many occasions.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Awesome as always
60th Bday celebration
Wouldn't go anywhere else!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great food , great service - perfect apres ski dinning

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Love this restaurant! Great food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The very best in Big Sky Great food great service unpretentious they pay attention to the details

Tags: Healthy, Comfort Food, Casual, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 2, 2017

One of my fAvorite restaurants in Big Sky. Food is always fresh and delicious. Menu doesn't vary much but it doesn't matter to us. I find a degree of comfort when I go because I know it's consistently good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The food was really excellent. I had the swordfish special which was tender and deliciously coated with an herb and caper butter glaze. The only complaint is that I think server forgot to put in my entre order. After my salad he asked whether I wanted to see the dessert menu! After that I took some time before my entre was served

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Our food was excellent except the mud pie was just ordinary

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Dine here when we are in Big Sky usually after skiing. Always a great meal. Great service. Our favorite restaurant in Big Sky. Scallop appetizer is great, have it with salad and it makes a great dinner. Clam chowder is a must.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Open Kitchen, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Excellent service and delicious food. Wish we lived nearby. We would take advantage of visiting this wonderful restaurant often. Loved the fish taco!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Delicious food, beautifully presented. Our favorite restaurant for food and ambience.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Spent the week vacationing in Big Sky. Ate at multiple restaurants, by far the worst restaurant. All of the others had outstanding food but at Olive B's the food poorly prepared to begin with but adding cold food temperatures and finding hair in the food put our evening on a sour note. Would definitely not recommend ! One star is being generous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was prepared perfectly. Services was accommodating so I could order exactly what I wanted. Had the pork chop with the lobster mashed potatoes and asparagus. The pork was so tender I cut it with the butter knife. For dessert was a heavenly banana bread pudding and I switch out the coconut ice cream with peanut chocolate chip. Perfect combination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Good food. Good drinks and great service. After having some poor service on The Mountain, this was by far a highlight.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Potent cocktails; gourmet food; attentive, unobtrusive service; sophisticated, unpretentious atmosphere. Terrific all around.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We had an amazing meal. Olive B's is a surprisingly good restaurant in Big Sky. The menu is original. The chefs are on point. The service was stellar. I recommend this restaurant to anyone, especially foodies with discerning taste.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Loved our server(Mel) but they seemed understaffed the evening we were there. Really think she did the best she could. Wanted to order apps but by the time we were asked to place our order, we had waited too long. Food was very good and it's a lovely, small restaurant with nice atmosphere. Will go again - it's probably the best in Big Sky.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great dinner in Big Sky. Excellent food and ambiance. Waiter very professional. Would definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Olive B's was an amazing spot in Big Sky! The food was delicious, staff friendly and it was a soy space!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Montana)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great night out. I love thier oysters I get them everytime!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.