About Olive B's Big Sky

151 Center Lane
Big Sky, MT 59716
View Larger Map

OLIVE B’s BIG SKY BISTRO: serving lunch and dinner Monday thru Saturday. Continental offerings include roast duck, Asian calamari, French onion soup, fresh fish & seafood ,steak and game. Noteworthy wine list, crafted cocktails. Unrivaled views of lone mountain.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Continental, American

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Sunday: Closed

Cross Street:
Lone Mountain Trail & Little Coyote

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 995-3355

Website:
http://www.olivebsbigsky.com/

Parking Details:
We have ample parking in a well lit lot front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Public Transportation is available to the Meadow Village on the Skyline Shuttle the new Big Sky area bus service that also provides the Link between Bozeman and Big Sky. It is a short walk from the bus stop across the parking lot to Olive B's.

Executive Chef:
Warren Bibbins

Additional:
Bar Dining, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Wine

Olive B's Big Sky Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montana
Best Food
Montana
Best Service
Montana
9 More
Best Ambiance
Montana
Best Value
Montana
Neighborhood Gem
Montana
Most Booked
Montana
Best Overall
Bozeman
Best Food
Bozeman
Best Service
Bozeman
Best Ambiance
Bozeman
Most Booked
Bozeman
Best Restaurants in Big Sky ›

Fit for Foodies (20)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Scenic View (11)
Good for Groups (8)
Romantic (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Brunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
140 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This restaurant is great for meat eaters ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined 2 days ago

This restaurant is great for meat eaters but not for vegetarian or modified vegetarian. Even some of the fish dishes had sausage in them. Our family included twin 10 year olds who are vegetarian. There is no kids menu and modifications aren't easily accomplished. We ordered them seafood fettucine with no seafood. We were charge full price ($28).

One item on the menu was a standout and should be ordered and that's the mushroom gratin appetizer.

We thought this restaurant would be more kid friendly because some of the reviews said good for kids. But unless the kid eats venison or veal, I'd find another restaurant instead.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Delicious! Appetizer, entrées and desse ...

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Delicious! Appetizer, entrées and dessert were all delicious! Best food in Big Sky!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Always Perfect

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Always Perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had seen the great reviews and been r ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had seen the great reviews and been recommended to have lunch at Olive B's and we really enjoyed it! We sat outside and enjoyed a bison burger and salad special and the soup specials and it was all wonderful! The service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everyone at our table was delighted with ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Everyone at our table was delighted with their meal. Personally, I have never had a better salmon dish.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants in Big Sky. ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Big Sky. Always excellent!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The recommendation came from our fly fis ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The recommendation came from our fly fishing guide and we trusted his judgement since he took such good care of us on the river.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Varied, imaginative menu by a superb che ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Varied, imaginative menu by a superb chef. Something for everyone, from beef to elk to lamb, salmon, and halibut in season. Chef was willing to customize my wife's menu choice to her satisfaction - no problem. Wines were excellent and staff was knowledgeable. A fine, fine choice if you are dining in Gallatin River/Big Sky area. Some outdoor seating available with beautiful view of Lone Mountain. We will go to this restaurant every time we are in SW Montana.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great evening - will return oft ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Always a great evening - will return often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal, our best while in Big Sk ...

 
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Wonderful meal, our best while in Big Sky. We had the oysters & scallop special appetizers which were delicious. The shrimp & grits were possibly the best I have ever had

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience. Knowledgeable, at ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Excellent experience. Knowledgeable, attentive staff. High-quality food prepared with care. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a gem! Service was excellent, and ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

What a gem! Service was excellent, and the food was delicious. The restaurant is situated at the end of a strip mall with stunning views of Lone Peak at Big Sky and neighboring mountains. Try the Mud Pie -- features Wilcoxson's Chocolate Runs Through It...mmmmm!

We will definitely go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a very nice dinner at Olive B's. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had a very nice dinner at Olive B's. Service was great and food was very inventive and delicious. We will be back for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Olive B's is a MUST dining experience ev ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Olive B's is a MUST dining experience every time we visit Big Sky! The food and service are consistently excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I enjoyed a good meal and gr ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed a good meal and great experience at Olive B's. The drinks were well prepared and promptly served. The service was nearly perfect, even though they were quite busy. The meal was exceptionally good, and reasonably priced considering the quality. Highly reccommended. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

In the area on vacation and made reserva ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

In the area on vacation and made reservations at Olive B's and we were so glad we did! Lovely atmosphere, view of the mountains,huge wine and spirits menu, excellent service and very tasty dinner! The Olive B salad is a must, and the elk was so tender, my husband loved his lamb chops, our son ate his entire prime rib pork chop! The chef/owner Warren, came over to our table and chatted with us adding to the welcoming vibe. This is not a rustic mountain diner....this is upscale all the way that just happens to have some of the best Big Sky views ever!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best in Montana

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

We live here, eat here, take friends here and love OliveB's. Consistently good and fresh food prepared with care and attention. Quality place that you can go to often as you want to try everything they offer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

I ordered from the nightly special's and was not disappointed. Bacon wrapped scallops were to die for. Must try

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bibber Nev'ah Fails to Please!

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

What's to say about Olive B's,

Besides 'It Rocks da Food'!

Regardless of the Goodies they Serve,

'Delighted' will be yer Mood!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Taking Big Sky dining to another level.

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Back to Big sky and back to Olive B's. Every bit as good as before. Great food, service and ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Always great!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Before you arrive at Big Sky, make sure you have secured your reservation for this restaurant. The food is creative, high quality and delicious. You will not be disappointed. Reservations are a must!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a good meal

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

We have been to Big Sky several times and always try to enjoy a meal at Olive B's. Always a favorite with the family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner! The hard part was deciding what to order as there were so many delicious and unique preparations. Everything from the cocktails to the appetizers, the entrees to the desserts were delicious. And our waitress Mel was great! Can hardly wait to go back next year and wished we had found Olive B's sooner!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't miss it!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Our party of seven adults thoroughly enjoyed our recent dinner at Olive B's. Our server, Josh, was one of the best ever. The food was excellent. We tried lamb chops, elk, tuna, chicken, pasta and all were Delicious. Would return in a heartbeat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We celebrated a family birthday (St. Pat ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

We celebrated a family birthday (St. Patrick's Day) on the final day of a great ski holiday. Olive B's was the perfect place: full but not crowded and lively but not rowdy. One of our group is Australian, so we enjoyed chatting with our server about her upcoming trip to Canberra. Thanks for a great way to leave Big Sky.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Half good food half average

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

We have been to this restaurants a few times and we always have great service! The food however is a little inconsistent- sometimes good but the past 2 visits the food lacked on taste and fell flat. It seems like it used to be better than it is now as we had some very delicious meals there last year.

We would give it a grade of B-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We have been going there over last 3 yea ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

We have been going there over last 3 years while skiing at Big Sky. This year was disappointing compared to previous and we most likely won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Every dish we had was delicious! I love ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Every dish we had was delicious! I love Olive B's! Consistent quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

An absolutely amazing dining experience in a laid back, comfortable, friendly environment. The food is expensive but worth every penny and the portion sizes are more than adequate. You will receive your main dish with sides at no extra cost. If you find yourself in Big Sky, treat yourself to a fabulous dinner at Olive B's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

We have been to Olive B's twice and the food has been amazing both times. The flavors are outstanding, especially the truffled mashed potatoes. The choices of entrees are varied: chicken, seafood, bison ribs, for example. The desserts are generous and delicious. We had the brownie sundae and the fruit crisp-both were perfectly prepared. Olive B's is located in the Meadow Village in Big Sky in a small building. The bar is on one end and because of this the noise level is a bit higher. It didn't bother me, but my husband noticed it. One wall has a large picture window with a great view of the mountain, if you get there before dark. The servers are great people. The know the menu and take the time to explain items. Both times we have been there I have seen the chef come out of the kitchen to talk with diners. I love dining at Olive B's and hope to be there again.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

North Dakota

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Great food, excellent service I have zero complaints.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining experience in Big Sky

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

From the hostess to the waitress to the bartender, the front of the house experience was awesome! The food experience was great as well. Highlights were the entrees and the dessert.

Highly recommend this restaurant during a visit to Big Sky.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant evening

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Great variety on menu. Food was tasty. Waitress was attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Olive B's has been great the many times ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

Olive B's has been great the many times we have eaten there. The food on this visit was less imaginative and flavorful. Still the best Big Sky has to offer. Service excellent and friendly. Our table in the corner felt removed from the activity, liveliness of the restaurant. We will definitely go back as we have had some of the best meals ever in ski country at Olive B's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Best food in Big Sky!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The food here is delicious - Fresh and creative. The view of Lone Peak is beautiful and the outdoor dining is nice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of our Favorites in Big Sky

 
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Service and ambiance at Olive B's are both very good, and there are excellent food choices on the menu, but we almost always end up ordering the delicious daily specials. Great place to dine in Big Sky, MT.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, service and overall experien ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Great food, service and overall experience. The best steak - ribeye - I had in a week at Big Sky. Also ate at Bucks T-4, and Lone Mountain Ranch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent place to eat in Big Sky.

vip
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Some local and organic choices on menu. Excellent wine list and best huckleberry martini around. Not particularly a place I'd bring young kids to. Big Sky prices abound here. Have eaten here's several time and never been disappointed. Great servers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great date night out with the hubby!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Great date night out with the hubby!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Dinner In Big Sky Village

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Olive B's was one of the better restaurants that we went to during our week in Big Sky. Our party of eight were seated quickly and service was good, not excellent. What was excellent was the bread, salads and entrees. We split a few desserts and the entire night was a success.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.