About Olive and June

3411 Glenview Ave
Austin, TX 78703
View Larger Map

A southern Italian restaurant by Chef Shawn Cirkiel of parkside & the backspace, and bullfight. Serving shareable plates, daily homemade pastas, entrées grilled over Texas oak, contorni, Italian dolci and the largest list of Italian wine, amari, and grappa in the city. Olive and June reserves a portion of seating for walk-in guests each night. Seating is done on a first-come, first serve basis. All parties must be complete before being seated.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Bar open at 4:30p. Dinner service starts at 5:00p. Happy Hour Monday-Friday until 6:30 pm- featuring 1/2 Shared Plates, beer, and liquor... available in the whole restaurant. Sunday night, in addition to our regular menu, we offer a $36 three course prix fixe sunday dinner menu.

For your convenience, our family-styled large party menu is available for all parties of 8 or more guests, seated 6:30pm or after, and priced at $39 per person. All items on the large party menu are family-styled and shareable amongst the table. Allergy exceptions can be made. A la carte items are also available, if desired.

Cross Street:
38 1/2th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 467-9898

Website:
http://www.oliveandjune-austin.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Shawn Cirkiel & Justin Rupp

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining space options available indoor and outdoor for 8-150 people.

Private Party Contact:
Allison Guelli: 5124679898x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
olive & june has many private dining options, from smaller groups of 12 up to 100. please email events@oliveandjune-austin.com for availability & pricing!

Restaurant Photos

Olive and June
Olive and June
Olive and June
Olive and June
Olive and June
Olive and June
Olive and June
Olive and June
Olive and June
Linguine With Clams
Meat & Cheese Plate
Swordfish Spiedini
Pork Meatballs
Panelle
Viola Fiori
Farm Egg
Chicken Spiedini
Seafood Misto
Pisa Pumpkin Martini
Cacio e Pepe
Salmon Crostini
Capellini
Luxardo Abano
Scallop crudo
Focaccia
Ricotta
Squash Ravioli
zeppole
Grilled Cauliflower
Fried Ravioli
Spaghetti alla Carbonara
Bruschetta
Beef Carpaccio
New York Strip With Balsamic Mint Roasted Red Peppers
Zucchini Coponata With Anchovy Olives And Capers
Bomboloni With Peaches And Caramel Sauce
bomboloni
Arugula With Meyer Lemon And White Truffle Oil
Olive Oil Semifreddo
Corn Fritters And Pomodoro
Peaches And Cream
Mona Lisa
Polenta With Mushrooms & Farm Fresh Egg
Garganega White Wine
In-House Baked Bread With Olive Oil
Tomato Crostini With Basil And Garlic
White Bean Puree and Green Olive Bruschetta
dalwhinnie 15 yr scotch
Sgroppino
Hibiscus Melonade
Poached Baccala
Arugula Salad
pan roasted striped bass
Pork Chop Special
lasgna
Braised Lamb And Roasted Brussel Sprouts
Zucchini Involtini
Mezzalune
Cannoli With Pistachio Gelato
Cavatelli
Yellowfin Tuna Crudo
Moscow Mule
Old Fashioned
Bistecca a la Fiorentina
Heirloom Tomato Salad
Pork & Veal Meatballs
Braised Short Rib Ravioli
Bomboloni With Valencia Oranges & Dark Chocolate Custard
Pasta (Don't Remember)
Whole Wheat Ravioli

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Olive and June Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Austin
Outdoor Dining
Austin
Romantic
Austin
5 More
Italian
Austin
Neighborhood Gem
Austin
Outdoor Dining
Austin
Romantic
Austin
Italian
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (63)
Fit for Foodies (59)
Great for Outdoor Dining (53)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Romantic (50)
Notable Wine List (36)
Good for Groups (25)
Scenic View (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Kid-friendly (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Cozy (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fun (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Authentic (4)
Casual (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Private Room (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
People Watching (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Business Meals (2)
Family Style (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1028 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love Olive and June's and go fairly re ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 3 days ago

I love Olive and June's and go fairly regularly.

This last trip disappointed me as I had gone online to check out the Pre Fixe menu and chose to go for this menu, having shared it with all of my guests. We had 7:30 reservations and the Pre Fixe menu was already gone. Very disappointed!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Deliciously prepared food. Very knowledg ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Deliciously prepared food. Very knowledgeable waitress. Both combine for a pleasurable dinning experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was exceptional. Our waitres ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

The service was exceptional. Our waitress was knowledgeable and very pleasant. The chef was accommodating to a special request and even visited the table. Very professional and friendly staff. The food was better than the reviews (and the reviews set a high mark). Great experience.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food and fantastic service. Our ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Fabulous food and fantastic service. Our waitress was Nicole, and she had some great drink and food selections . Try the cheese plate and watermelon salad and we had four different pasta dishes and all were excellent .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was outstanding and our waiter ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food was outstanding and our waiter was very helpful with recommendations and provided us with excellent service. We'll definitely be back and we have already recommended Olive & June to friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We ordered pasta and requested to add sh ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We ordered pasta and requested to add shrimp. Pasta was delicious but for 3 shrimp, they charged us $12 per person! This is crazy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Good food and service. The noise in the ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Good food and service. The noise in the room was very loud. It would be helpful to add some sound observing finish-outs. It was freezing in there as well! ;/

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Nice place. Eclectic. Food portions smal ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Nice place. Eclectic. Food portions small but tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Olive&June continues to exceed our expec ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Olive&June continues to exceed our expectations. If you are just looking to "give them a try" go to Happy Hour. Great value and there some exceptional items on the HH menu. Outside of the HH menu, I cannot recommend the Farm Egg highly enough - IT IS FABULOUS!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been to this restaurant before a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We have been to this restaurant before and enjoyed it at that time too. The food is very good and the staff helpful and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Tasty food. Portions are small and choic ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Tasty food. Portions are small and choices are very limited. Thy have a good wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Visiting Austin from NYC and hoping to f ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Visiting Austin from NYC and hoping to find excellent northern Italian. This was it. We all loved it and it's close to residential neighborhoods. Everyone was lovely and most of all the food and wine were all fantastic!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Olive and June before and ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I have been to Olive and June before and the meal was good.

This dinner was a birthday celebration for my husband. when we arrived, I told the hostess that it was his birthday and picked a dessert I knew he liked.and she failed to tell the waiter. He asked for our dessert order at the end of the meal. I had to track him down so we could get the cake I had requested. He brought us some gelato to make up for the dessert confusion.

The entree for one of our guests was not correct and she did not receive her dinner until after we had all eaten. The wine selection was really good and the waiter was very knowledgeable about the selection. The wine he recommended was very good.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The sommelier is excellent! Helped us c ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The sommelier is excellent! Helped us choose a great bottle. Enjoyed chatting with he and the server. Shared some nice wine. Food was excellent. Anxious to get back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I booked a table for 16 for my birthday ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I booked a table for 16 for my birthday and had a great experience leading up to the event. I was informed ahead of time that a "family style" menu would be mandatory, which I wasn't too excited about (was skeptical of the quality) but agreed to. Our waiter didn't do the best job at walking us through the menu, and when the food started coming out, people were clearly still wanting more at the end of each course. Considering we were 15, the amount of food was not enough, which is very disappointing since nobody was given an option to order their own meal but having to pay the steep price of $40 without drinks or dessert. I hope that going forward you will do a better job of accommodating big groups. Olive and June is one of my favorite restaurants, but I was really embarrassed for some of my friends to walk away with empty wallets and hungry stomachs.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

I went to Olive and June for a birthday ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I went to Olive and June for a birthday date with my boyfriend and our waitress made it a very special night. The service was amazing and we loved the food. Would definitely recommend!!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful experience on a perfect nigh ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

A wonderful experience on a perfect night in Austin. Food is very well presented and is wonderful in taste. If any comment needed, food is on the heavy side. None of us could finish our meal.

We chose to sit outside on the patio deck, adorned with misting fans under a 200-year-old Oak tree; an incredible site. Service was overwhelmingly excellent by our server.

Yes, put Olive & June on your Austin "must" list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My first time here. Started with the Ch ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My first time here. Started with the Cheese Platter. Then moved on to the Farm Egg and it was amazing! Not into pasta too much and the GF option was nice but I think next time I'll try something not pasta. The sauce was really good though. Our waiter was very helpful with the menu, making suggestions and helping with decision making and just overall fantastic!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Olive & June was fantastic! Wanted a ni ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Olive & June was fantastic! Wanted a nice dinner with a good friend to catch up and they didn't disappoint. Great recommendations from the Server (Stephen) on food, and the Sommelier (Chantel) was right on the money for what we were looking for. The space, the service, the food & wine was all awesome. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, People Watching, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful meal and excellent servi ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Had a wonderful meal and excellent service. It was a little louder than when I've been there other times due to a group of about 100 women at the upper deck.

The server was very knowledgeable about all the items on the menu, and just the right amount of attentiveness.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Olive and June is the Riggs and Murtaugh ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Olive and June is the Riggs and Murtaugh of casual fine dining. Justin Rupp's food is truly a Lethal Weapon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

With all the great choices for dining in ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

With all the great choices for dining in the ATX, we chose Olive and June for our 19th Wedding Anniversary dinner because we knew we'd have a great experience and a great meal at a fair price. Even the valet offered to let us know "if we needed anything". :-) Nicole our server was wonderful and the whole staff takes care of your every need. That's service, the setting is quiet and cozy--we dined inside, even with the misters and fans, we'll wait till fall--I said 19 years and we're not youngsters. The food is the real draw for us, always fresh, fun and creative with a variety of flavors, colors and textures in every dish, plus they have a great wine list and Amaro. They comp'd us dessert and a glass of bubbly for the LoveOfMyLife to cap off a great evening.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, fresh pasta. Farm egg was fan ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Delicious, fresh pasta. Farm egg was fantastic and special pork loin melted in your mouth. Butterscotch tarte for dessert topped off a superb meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service was very attentive. The fo ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great service was very attentive. The food was excellent. I have enjoyed this place for years and the food is still delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a treat to eat at this nice Itali ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Always a treat to eat at this nice Italian spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

All good;ambiance, bar, seating,service, ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

All good;ambiance, bar, seating,service,cocktails,wine list, of course the menu and resultant food choices. We enjoyed our visit to Olive &June

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was very good. Service from waiter ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was very good. Service from waiter and bar was slow, careless and disinterested. Finished plates were not cleared from the table after numerous trips by by the waiter. Drink orders were slow to be taken and slower to arrive. Water glasses were only refilled after the check was taken. Waitress was more interested in chatting at the bar than taking care of the table. We would've stayed longer and ordered more if we'd gotten any service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Lovely evening! From the moment our ser ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Lovely evening! From the moment our server Maryosha introduced herself to the end of the evening this meal was perfect. The food was served promptly and she was sure to describe the dishes she placed in front of, us. I started with the sublime farm egg polenta, the followed that up with one of the specials from the evening, a DIVINE ricotta gnocchi.

When you do go, please ask for Maryosha as your server, she was an absolute delight and quite knowledgable about the menu and wines!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We love Olive and June every time is alw ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We love Olive and June every time is always in experience. Best place for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service started slow, but picked up. All ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Service started slow, but picked up. All dishes were unusual, interesting and delicious. Portions slightly on the small side. Reasonably priced wine. Bring your taste buds and a moderate appetite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Made reservation purposefully at 6:15pm ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Made reservation purposefully at 6:15pm so we could sneak in some happy hour items - waitress did not seem to like that idea. other than that food was great and ambiance was exquisite. will say every single item (meatballs, steak, pasta) was WAYYYYYY over salted. We had to drink a lot of water but overall it was still good. Just the chef needs to take it easy on the salt or at least sample his stuff before sending it out. Fast service. Nice place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

for some reason I can not get my compute ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

for some reason I can not get my computer to respond to the above ratings, food was great, service was great, ambiance and value perfect

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The best restaurant in Austin. Our serve ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The best restaurant in Austin. Our server, Maryosha was fantastic, all of the food was expertly prepared (compliments to Chef Rupp and the entire boh staff from the entire party), and the cocktails were perfect. An excellent experience through and through.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to this place several times. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I have been to this place several times. And have had the same issue. In my defense, It's close by and I know other people have approached the management and owners with the same issues. I keep thinking they will address. On the plus side, their bartenders know how to mix a fantastic cocktail. Truly some of the best in town. I'm not a big drinker but I do like a good cocktail now and then. Another plus, always great hostess. Ours was Maddie I think. On the negative side, the wait staff (other than the tall s/p haired guy) are so incredibly interruptive. It's almost as if they purposefully show up at key points of conversation to interrupt. Very rude. Additionally, very limited menu choices. Add some frickin meat people or be vegan. Seriously, choices include a steak, plain pasta or clams or rock shrimp? Where's the food. Portion size? I really expected more than 10 angel hair noodles for my entree. And forget dessert. We had a choice of gelatos. Seriously, that's it. We said screw it and went to Teo's. These complaints go for Parkside too. These people do not know how to run a restaurant. Find another place if you want to be able to have a conversation, a meal or dessert. Not worth wasting a rare evening out for this crap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Incredible place to dine for a semi-spec ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Incredible place to dine for a semi-special occasion or nice dinner date. Don't be afraid to ask questions as the menu can be a little confusing but overall wonderful place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were dining very early (6 pm) and we ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were dining very early (6 pm) and we were the first ones seated on the patio. It was a lovely environment and evening. I would definitely recommend highly to anyone looking for a beautiful and hip place to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and friendly service for our ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food and friendly service for our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was a birthday celebration and it w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This was a birthday celebration and it was on a Monday night. It was not extremely crowded because it was a Monday night so the service was outstanding and the value was excellent because on Mondays the wine is half price. The food was cooked perfect to everyone's satisfaction. It was not very noisy however I could see on a weekend night when the place is crowded it could get noisy. There are three levels of seating and I believe the third level would have a nice view at night. At the completion of the meal, they provided one of their deserts with a lit candle to honor the birthday which was nice as not all place would do that.

It appears there is only valet parking as I did not see anywhere to park unless you are willing to park in the adjoining neighborhood and walk a distance. It was a lovely dinning experience and I would recommend this place to everyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Olive and June's doesn't disappoint. The ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Olive and June's doesn't disappoint. The cheese board had a great variety of local and house-made cheeses and accompaniments. Bread had great texture and chew without hurting your mouth on the crust. Coconut sorbet was subtle and really refreshing. Service was well spaced never leaving us without refills and a quick checkup and not being in our face. Very nice and courteous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my parents there while they were ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I took my parents there while they were visiting Austin & it happened to be my birthday. From the drink we had outside on the deck, the ambiance inside, the appetizers (pork meatballs were amazing!!!), and then the entree, everything was so yummy and a perfect fit for the evening. Our waitress was lovely, helpful, and attentive. Overall, it was a great evening/experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.