About Olive and June

3411 Glenview Ave
Austin, TX 78703
View Larger Map

A southern Italian restaurant by Chef Shawn Cirkiel of parkside & the backspace, and bullfight. Serving shareable plates, daily homemade pastas, entrées grilled over Texas oak, contorni, Italian dolci and the largest list of Italian wine, amari, and grappa in the city. Olive and June reserves a portion of seating for walk-in guests each night. Seating is done on a first-come, first serve basis. All parties must be complete before being seated.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Bar open at 4:30p. Dinner service starts at 5:00p. Happy Hour Monday-Friday until 6:30 pm- featuring 1/2 Shared Plates, beer, and liquor... available in the whole restaurant. Sunday night, in addition to our regular menu, we offer a $36 three course prix fixe sunday dinner menu.

Cross Street:
38 1/2th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 467-9898

Website:
http://www.oliveandjune-austin.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Shawn Cirkiel & Justin Rupp

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining space options available indoor and outdoor for 8-150 people.

Private Party Contact:
Allison Guelli: 5124679898x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
olive & june has many private dining options, from smaller groups of 12 up to 100. please email events@oliveandjune-austin.com for availability & pricing!

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Olive and June Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Austin
Italian
Austin
Outdoor Dining
Austin
1 More
Italian
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

great for outdoor dining (84)
fit for foodies (77)
special occasion (71)
See All
neighborhood gem (67)
romantic (66)
notable wine list (43)
good for groups (39)
hot spot (19)
scenic view (14)
great for brunch (13)
great for lunch (8)
kid-friendly (8)
vibrant bar scene (5)
late-night find (5)
Sort By:
Newest
962 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Fantastic food and atmosphere at a rathe ...

Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic food and atmosphere at a rather high price point, but very worth the splurge for special events. The butterscotch torte(?) was the best dessert I have ever eaten and I will recommend this location for that alone!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for cocktail connoisseurs

Dined on May 16, 2016

Excellent bartenders! I asked the bartender to make a blue moon cocktail and even though she was not familiar with the drink, she made the best blue moon cocktail I've ever had and one of the other bartenders took the time to explain an interesting cocktail recipe to me. Great for cocktail connoisseurs

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

While the menu is not extensive, it is v ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

While the menu is not extensive, it is very special. The choices are interesting and creative. My pasta, which is prepared fresh daily was superb and perfectly cooked al dente. The seven or eight distinct ingredients in my kale salad were complementary and had my taste buds tingling. The gorgeous tree in the courtyard creates an ambiance that makes Olive and June ideal for outdoor dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

Busy on Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

I was really looking forward to Olive and June, as I'd heard great things. Unfortunately, they were really busy and understandably, its hard to scale the same level and quality of service when their are more people for the same staff to handle than typical. There were a few highlights that contributed to my review: First, after 10 minutes without meeting the waiter, I had to ask the Maitre'd to take our drink order. Next, when they brought us wine, we tried to order appetizers, but the waiter was already on her way to help the other tables, and I guess she did not hear us (we felt we had to go out of our way to get attention). Finally when the food arrived, my pasta dish was either undercooked or just cold, as it had to be reheated. Overall the food was delicious so i want to give the place another chance, and I understand that they were busy so i don't hold a grudge with the service. I think it really was due to the holiday--and i definitely want to give them another shot.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Quaint restaurant with great food and drinks

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

I love the atmosphere at Olive and June. It's great for a drink at the bar, a romantic dinner, or girl's night. The tree that the building makes the environment extra special. I love to take people here from out of town.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Husband and kids took me here for Mother's Day. The service was top notch and the food was exquisite! It was a set menu for Mother's Day, but not being a picky person I enjoyed every item that was offered. The cocktails were super good too. My kids loved it too and want to go back again. Very lovely ambiance. Relaxing and super enjoyable.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect for Sunday dinner.

Dined on May 2, 2016

My two friends and I went for a special Sunday dinner. Our server, Courtney, was absolutely phenomenal. She suggested we try the prix fixe meal (available on Sundays), as well as whatever other entrees we wanted so we could share everything; what a great idea! She also helped us select two amazing bottles of wine (and dessert). Her recommendations were spot-on. Every dish was prepared perfectly. We especially loved the Braised Texas Lamb Shoulder, although everything was amazing. You really can't go wrong with any selection on their menu. The service was perfect and the ambiance was beautiful as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

Great Food, Great Service, but Watch Out

Dined on May 1, 2016

I went here with my wife for our 6 year wedding anniversary. The food was awesome. Our server was excellent. I wish we would have known that there was going to be a DJ'd event on the third level of the restaurant. The outdoor seating is visually beautiful, but the atmosphere felt off and very non romantic when dance party music is thumping overhead. I would go again, but if you want to have a romantic, outdoor experience, call ahead and ask if there's going to be an event that night. It totally kills the mood. I felt like I was at someone's party, not my own anniversary dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Off night

Dined on April 30, 2016

Unfortunately, the restaurant seemed very understaffed for the number of parties including a wedding reception and prom party (I think). Our server was very nice and initially everything ran smoothly. As the restaurant became more busy the service became very spotty. Cheese ravioli was delivered and was meat filled. We were told it was a kitchen error. We had to ask for water refills and other things. A birthday cake that we brought took about 30 minutes to return to us once we said we were ready for it and no silverware was brought out until we asked for it. Overall, food was good and the setting outdoors was nice as well.

food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Olive and June is slipping

Dined on April 25, 2016

For the second visit in a row, the restaurant did not have the wine we requested and upsold us to a more expensive wine at a preposterous markup. A vegetarian dish accidentally came with meatballs in it and a polite apology.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful neighborhood gem

Dined on April 24, 2016

The three story indoor/outdoor patio gorgeous wrought iron railings structured an enormous 200 year old tree is truly a hidden gem. Complimentary valet, large wine list, pleasant servers. Very good food. We loved the farm egg polenta starter. Desserts seemed an afterthought but we were quite full.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and ambiance

Dined on April 24, 2016

I'll start with the only negative first, one bartender could not keep up with the restaurant demands and serve those at the bar. We arrived early and went to the bar to have drinks. Ten minutes later, we left without a drink. However, everything else was excellent. A knowledgeable waiter whose recommendations were spot on, the quick bar service, and the food!!! Both quality and presentations were fantastic. And, even with background music,we were easily able to hear each other. If not for the initial bar service, I would have rated bar service five stars. A hidden gem and we will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful patio dining+excellent service ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Beautiful patio dining+excellent service+amazing food and drinks=many return visits.

food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Bad Experience, will not return

Dined on April 24, 2016

We visited Olive and June for my wife's birthday recently with another couple and will not be returning. I made a reservation a week ahead of time, expecting a decent table and good service for a special evening. Our experience was the opposite. We were seated in a tiny booth that barely fit our party of four making the eating situation difficult. Next, we were ignored by our waitress until about 20 minutes into the reservation. I expected that having made a reservation we would have been treated a little nicer. I chose this restaurant because we came a couple of years back for another friends's birthday and the experience was amazing. When we visited last, we sat upstairs with lots of room and a twinkly ambiance. This time, we were seated downstairs in what felt like a basement which I could see on my wife's face was not her idea of a nice birthday dinner. Our meal was Okay, nothing like what I remember from our last visit a couple of years back. It's safe to say that this visit was a disappointment and we won't be returning because there are other restaurants in ATX that will ensure a better experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nicely done!

Dined on April 22, 2016

Great service of which were very accommodating to my friend even when an item was not on the menu. This kind of service is appreciated and will keep patrons coming time and again. Beautiful atmosphere and amazing food. I don't usually eat Italian food out because generally its bland and safe. Olive and June does it right. Thanks so much.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this place. The happy hour is not ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

I love this place. The happy hour is not to be missed.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Another wonderful time...

Dined on April 12, 2016

We went here to celebrate our anniversary and had a wonderful time. We sat inside and enjoyed a couple glasses of wine (which were 1/2 price on Mondays), 3 apps, 1 pasta dish, and a side. The food was excellent with some creative dishes like the use of strawberries with prosciutto and scallions. We also enjoyed the seafood crostini. The pasta was cooked to perfection. They also comped us a dessert for the occasion.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food had great use of flavor layerin ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

The food had great use of flavor layering. The server wasn't impressive. Not bad mind you, just not impressive. For a $100+ meal I want an impressive server as well as great food. The chef was great. He saw my wife's food get served incorrectly and immediately changed it out.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Limited menu-

Dined on April 3, 2016

The menu was very limited; only one fish and one pasta (if one does not eat meat). Wine was significantly more expensive than at comparable restaurants. Food was good, but not great. Best part of the meal was our waiter- he was very good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was perfect!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Everything was perfect!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Evening

Dined on April 2, 2016

Olive and June was a great find! After finding them from an instagram foodie feed, I knew I had to try it out. Overall the wine was fantastic, the appetizers and entrees were delicious, and when there was a problem with the dessert they fixed it right away. Enjoy a fun night out with friends or a loved one. Their garden and upstairs floor are a treat!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service2

I enjoyed my meal, as did my guests, but ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

I enjoyed my meal, as did my guests, but the noise level in the downstairs room where we were seated was almost unbearable. A six-top of giddy, drinking, screaming women didn't help. Try to sit outside on a nice evening!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great outdoor space for HH food and drinks

Dined on March 30, 2016

My mom, sister, friend, and 3 month baby had a lovely dinner on a Tuesday night. Our wait staff was a bit slow, but overall attentive. Only bad news: the only bar was understaffed, so we didn't have our second glass of wine delivered in time when our entrees arrived.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Easter brunch

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

The food was beautiful and delicious and was served so professionally and gracefully. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Will look forward to a return trip.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Apps and main dishes!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Our out of town friends also enjoyed the food and great outdoor setting. Friendly staff from greeter to server!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

The risotto & chicken special were fanta ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The risotto & chicken special were fantastic, and the dessert doughnuts were the best part of the meal!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Really Surprised!

Dined on March 25, 2016

My wife and only went here because we were given a gift certificate. I will have to say that both of us thought it was probably one of the best meals we have had at a restaurant in years. Absolutely wonderful food and very good service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Good food/ Exceptional Wine

Dined on March 18, 2016

Excellent wine list. Food is good. Antipasti menu has some delicious choices. Nice spot not excessively priced.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall Great Experience As Usual

Dined on March 12, 2016

I have been to Olive and June 4 or 5 time and have had amazing experiences every time. The food is unique, the menu is always changing, the cocktails and wine recommendations were delicious, the service was great, and the atmosphere is great. Only complaints: if you're going to spend this much on a dinner it would be nice to not have to valet or park way down the straight, but I understand the location was an old house and is a neighborhood so no real big deal here. They did allow us to sit outside when our original reservation was for indoors, which was great but they did tell us our table was reserved for someone else coming in 1.5 hours so we had to be out by then. I didn't really appreciate this sentiment. We were out in time with no issues, but skipped dessert - their loss. Overall great experience and I would highly recommend this restaurant to any for a special occasion.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always great!

Dined on March 6, 2016

Olive and June is our go-to spot. The food and drinks are always great. First time we sat outside and it was a perfect night. Service was a little slower than normal but our guests loved everything.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating friendship!

Dined on March 3, 2016

O&J does not disappoint! Had dinner with friends to catch up and ambience was vibrant and engaging. The meatballs appetizer was exceptional with its well blended seasonings and just the right degree of spice that makes you want "just one more". And so we kept going thru the appetizers and main courses. Highly recommend the quail, too! Can't wait to return to enjoy the outside deck with a nice bottle of wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Good Vibe

Dined on February 27, 2016

Good Vibe on a Friday night. Beautiful outdoor setting if weather is good. Inside too noisy for our group. Quality of service declined as the restaurant got busier. I think too many tables, etc... for our waiter. Did not receive all of our drink orders following dinner. The Waiter was very pleasant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was great, but the dessert was so bad

Dined on February 20, 2016

The place was very nice and the food was good, just the right amount. The drinks were good too but we were all very disappointed in the dessert. We got one of each to share, and none of them was good.

food4
ambience5
service3

This is a beautiful restaurant space. If ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant space. If you can be seated in a cozy corner, the noise level shouldn't affect your experience. Portions are small, prices are high, and menu is limited, but the flavors of most dishes are pretty good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a great choice!!!

Dined on February 19, 2016

This has to be my new favorite spot in Austin! Such a fun and romantic choice for a late Valentine's Day dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was fantastic.. Food was delicio ...

Dined on February 18, 2016

Service was fantastic.. Food was delicious.. And the scenery/ambiance was very pleasing. I will definitely be going back!

food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Odd experience

vip
Dined on February 17, 2016

Have dined here previously. This time, service was extremely poor and very little done to mitigate the experience. Also, food was off -- all very salty. I'm hopeful this was just a bad night, and not a sign of general decline.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentine's Day dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

We arrived for our evening reservation and were promptly seated near the kitchen inside. The only other time we had been there we were seated outside but the interior decor was great. The wait staff were very attentive and when my lamb took a bit longer to prepare they were able to update us on when to expect the food. The ricotta and olive oil with bread served complimentary was a nice touch as opposed to just using butter. The menu is great overall as well as the drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Valentines Dinner Ever

Dined on February 15, 2016

I'd like to start by saying that this is the first time I have gone to a nice restaurant on Valentine's Day and felt like the place cared more about me than the money I was paying them. Normally when restaurants that know they are going to sell out, they will pack extra tables in, sit people close together, whatever it takes for them to max out there profit... NOT HERE. Each table was always taken or turned over, but they were very well spaced so each couple got their own private dining experience. They definitely could have fit twice as many people in that space if they wanted to. Our server was paying extra attention to making sure we were happy and taken care of. All the food was AMAZING, after each course, I thought they couldn't out-do themselves, but they did. You have to get the "farm egg" primi, we weren't going to until our server recommended it, and it was probably my favorite thing all night (close call with the braised lamb). All in all, this was one of the best meals of my life, Olive and June definitely cares a lot about their customers, and I will definitely be returning as well as recommending to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Always great food! We love the outside d ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Always great food! We love the outside deck.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.