About Olive and June

3411 Glenview Ave
Austin, TX 78703
View Larger Map

A southern Italian restaurant by Chef Shawn Cirkiel of parkside & the backspace, and bullfight. Serving shareable plates, daily homemade pastas, entrées grilled over Texas oak, contorni, Italian dolci and the largest list of Italian wine, amari, and grappa in the city. Olive and June reserves a portion of seating for walk-in guests each night. Seating is done on a first-come, first serve basis. All parties must be complete before being seated.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Bar open at 4:30p. Dinner service starts at 5:00p. Happy Hour Monday-Friday until 6:30 pm- featuring 1/2 Shared Plates, beer, and liquor... available in the whole restaurant. Sunday night, in addition to our regular menu, we offer a $36 three course prix fixe sunday dinner menu.

For your convenience, our family-styled large party menu is available for all parties of 8 or more guests, seated 6:30pm or after, and priced at $39 per person. All items on the large party menu are family-styled and shareable amongst the table. Allergy exceptions can be made. A la carte items are also available, if desired.

Cross Street:
38 1/2th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 467-9898

Website:
http://www.oliveandjune-austin.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Shawn Cirkiel & Justin Rupp

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining space options available indoor and outdoor for 8-150 people.

Private Party Contact:
Allison Guelli: 5124679898x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
olive & june has many private dining options, from smaller groups of 12 up to 100. please email events@oliveandjune-austin.com for availability & pricing!

Restaurant Photos

Olive and June
Olive and June
Olive and June
Olive and June
Olive and June
Olive and June
Olive and June
Olive and June
Olive and June
Linguine With Clams
Meat & Cheese Plate
Swordfish Spiedini
Pork Meatballs
Panelle
Viola Fiori
Farm Egg
Chicken Spiedini
Seafood Misto
Pisa Pumpkin Martini
Cacio e Pepe
Salmon Crostini
Capellini
Luxardo Abano
Scallop crudo
Focaccia
Ricotta
Squash Ravioli
zeppole
Grilled Cauliflower
Fried Ravioli
Spaghetti alla Carbonara
Bruschetta
Beef Carpaccio
New York Strip With Balsamic Mint Roasted Red Peppers
Zucchini Coponata With Anchovy Olives And Capers
Bomboloni With Peaches And Caramel Sauce
bomboloni
Arugula With Meyer Lemon And White Truffle Oil
Olive Oil Semifreddo
Corn Fritters And Pomodoro
Peaches And Cream
Mona Lisa
Polenta With Mushrooms & Farm Fresh Egg
Garganega White Wine
In-House Baked Bread With Olive Oil
Tomato Crostini With Basil And Garlic
White Bean Puree and Green Olive Bruschetta
dalwhinnie 15 yr scotch
Sgroppino
Hibiscus Melonade
Poached Baccala
Arugula Salad
pan roasted striped bass
Pork Chop Special
lasgna
Braised Lamb And Roasted Brussel Sprouts
Zucchini Involtini
Mezzalune
Cannoli With Pistachio Gelato
Cavatelli
Yellowfin Tuna Crudo
Moscow Mule
Old Fashioned
Bistecca a la Fiorentina
Heirloom Tomato Salad
Pork & Veal Meatballs
Braised Short Rib Ravioli
Bomboloni With Valencia Oranges & Dark Chocolate Custard
Pasta (Don't Remember)
Whole Wheat Ravioli

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $36.00

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $36.00

Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $36.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Sunday Dinner menu's change regularly and can be found on our website!. Special valid May 19, 2016 - Sep 19, 2016 on Sundays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Olive and June Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Austin
Italian
Austin
Outdoor Dining
Austin
1 More
Italian
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (74)
Great for Outdoor Dining (72)
Fit for Foodies (69)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (64)
Romantic (61)
Notable Wine List (39)
Good for Groups (32)
Scenic View (16)
Hot Spot (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Great for Lunch (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1005 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

With all the great choices for dining in ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 4 days ago

With all the great choices for dining in the ATX, we chose Olive and June for our 19th Wedding Anniversary dinner because we knew we'd have a great experience and a great meal at a fair price. Even the valet offered to let us know "if we needed anything". :-) Nicole our server was wonderful and the whole staff takes care of your every need. That's service, the setting is quiet and cozy--we dined inside, even with the misters and fans, we'll wait till fall--I said 19 years and we're not youngsters. The food is the real draw for us, always fresh, fun and creative with a variety of flavors, colors and textures in every dish, plus they have a great wine list and Amaro. They comp'd us dessert and a glass of bubbly for the LoveOfMyLife to cap off a great evening.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, fresh pasta. Farm egg was fan ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious, fresh pasta. Farm egg was fantastic and special pork loin melted in your mouth. Butterscotch tarte for dessert topped off a superb meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service was very attentive. The fo ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great service was very attentive. The food was excellent. I have enjoyed this place for years and the food is still delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a treat to eat at this nice Itali ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Always a treat to eat at this nice Italian spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

All good;ambiance, bar, seating,service, ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

All good;ambiance, bar, seating,service,cocktails,wine list, of course the menu and resultant food choices. We enjoyed our visit to Olive &June

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was very good. Service from waiter ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was very good. Service from waiter and bar was slow, careless and disinterested. Finished plates were not cleared from the table after numerous trips by by the waiter. Drink orders were slow to be taken and slower to arrive. Water glasses were only refilled after the check was taken. Waitress was more interested in chatting at the bar than taking care of the table. We would've stayed longer and ordered more if we'd gotten any service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

Lovely evening! From the moment our ser ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Lovely evening! From the moment our server Maryosha introduced herself to the end of the evening this meal was perfect. The food was served promptly and she was sure to describe the dishes she placed in front of, us. I started with the sublime farm egg polenta, the followed that up with one of the specials from the evening, a DIVINE ricotta gnocchi.

When you do go, please ask for Maryosha as your server, she was an absolute delight and quite knowledgable about the menu and wines!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We love Olive and June every time is alw ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We love Olive and June every time is always in experience. Best place for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service started slow, but picked up. All ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Service started slow, but picked up. All dishes were unusual, interesting and delicious. Portions slightly on the small side. Reasonably priced wine. Bring your taste buds and a moderate appetite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Made reservation purposefully at 6:15pm ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Made reservation purposefully at 6:15pm so we could sneak in some happy hour items - waitress did not seem to like that idea. other than that food was great and ambiance was exquisite. will say every single item (meatballs, steak, pasta) was WAYYYYYY over salted. We had to drink a lot of water but overall it was still good. Just the chef needs to take it easy on the salt or at least sample his stuff before sending it out. Fast service. Nice place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

for some reason I can not get my compute ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

for some reason I can not get my computer to respond to the above ratings, food was great, service was great, ambiance and value perfect

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The best restaurant in Austin. Our serve ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The best restaurant in Austin. Our server, Maryosha was fantastic, all of the food was expertly prepared (compliments to Chef Rupp and the entire boh staff from the entire party), and the cocktails were perfect. An excellent experience through and through.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to this place several times. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I have been to this place several times. And have had the same issue. In my defense, It's close by and I know other people have approached the management and owners with the same issues. I keep thinking they will address. On the plus side, their bartenders know how to mix a fantastic cocktail. Truly some of the best in town. I'm not a big drinker but I do like a good cocktail now and then. Another plus, always great hostess. Ours was Maddie I think. On the negative side, the wait staff (other than the tall s/p haired guy) are so incredibly interruptive. It's almost as if they purposefully show up at key points of conversation to interrupt. Very rude. Additionally, very limited menu choices. Add some frickin meat people or be vegan. Seriously, choices include a steak, plain pasta or clams or rock shrimp? Where's the food. Portion size? I really expected more than 10 angel hair noodles for my entree. And forget dessert. We had a choice of gelatos. Seriously, that's it. We said screw it and went to Teo's. These complaints go for Parkside too. These people do not know how to run a restaurant. Find another place if you want to be able to have a conversation, a meal or dessert. Not worth wasting a rare evening out for this crap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Incredible place to dine for a semi-spec ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Incredible place to dine for a semi-special occasion or nice dinner date. Don't be afraid to ask questions as the menu can be a little confusing but overall wonderful place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were dining very early (6 pm) and we ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were dining very early (6 pm) and we were the first ones seated on the patio. It was a lovely environment and evening. I would definitely recommend highly to anyone looking for a beautiful and hip place to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and friendly service for our ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food and friendly service for our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was a birthday celebration and it w ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This was a birthday celebration and it was on a Monday night. It was not extremely crowded because it was a Monday night so the service was outstanding and the value was excellent because on Mondays the wine is half price. The food was cooked perfect to everyone's satisfaction. It was not very noisy however I could see on a weekend night when the place is crowded it could get noisy. There are three levels of seating and I believe the third level would have a nice view at night. At the completion of the meal, they provided one of their deserts with a lit candle to honor the birthday which was nice as not all place would do that.

It appears there is only valet parking as I did not see anywhere to park unless you are willing to park in the adjoining neighborhood and walk a distance. It was a lovely dinning experience and I would recommend this place to everyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Olive and June's doesn't disappoint. The ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Olive and June's doesn't disappoint. The cheese board had a great variety of local and house-made cheeses and accompaniments. Bread had great texture and chew without hurting your mouth on the crust. Coconut sorbet was subtle and really refreshing. Service was well spaced never leaving us without refills and a quick checkup and not being in our face. Very nice and courteous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my parents there while they were ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I took my parents there while they were visiting Austin & it happened to be my birthday. From the drink we had outside on the deck, the ambiance inside, the appetizers (pork meatballs were amazing!!!), and then the entree, everything was so yummy and a perfect fit for the evening. Our waitress was lovely, helpful, and attentive. Overall, it was a great evening/experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. Staff was amazing. P ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food was very good. Staff was amazing. Patio is pet friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous three course tasting menu. Wel ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Fabulous three course tasting menu. Well priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My wife, a neighbor couple and I all enj ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

My wife, a neighbor couple and I all enjoyed our drinks and meals prior to attending a Zach Scott play. We arrived early and the dining room was not open so spent time upstairs in the bar enjoying cocktails. Alexander, the bar tender, attended to our every need and was very efficient and personable. Everyone enjoyed the food, some of which was predictably good but other dishes were exciting, different, surprising and excellent. We do not normally order desert but Alex made a recommendation that we all enjoyed very much.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice surprise while going through Yelp f ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Nice surprise while going through Yelp for suggestions. Our trip to Austin was complete by having dinner here. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food and presentation. Great ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Incredible food and presentation. Great for a date/special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always enjoy ourselves at Olive&June ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We always enjoy ourselves at Olive&June and this visit was no different. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable. Food and drinks were wonderful! We particularly enjoyed the Sicilian Pesto with the Arancini.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Be aware there is virtually no parking c ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Be aware there is virtually no parking close to the restaurant. Much of what should be available is dedicated to valet parking. Why the valet has to have parking spaces NEXT TO the front door is beyond me. Inconvenient for the patrons and a red flag on how hard the parking valet has to work on a quiet evening.

I don't think I saw one glass of wine by the glass for less than $10. I felt like it was a second gouge at my pocket book. There should have been a broader offering. It's not like I was overlooking the Mediterranean sea and was expecting to pay for the privilege.

The crostini with grilled blueberries was an unexpected delight, albeit expensive at $5 each. The Linguini Nero was delightful as was the chocolate roulade.

Overall, it was a lovely dining experience, albeit expensive for the many offerings in Austin. I'll try them for lunch one day, but dinner... maybe sometime later.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Overall average restaurant with few good ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Overall average restaurant with few good options. The ricotta cheese was the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

I have some pretty picky friends and the ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

I have some pretty picky friends and they are still raving about O&J. It's a hidden gem, but probably not for long. Our waitress was attentive and knowledgeable. Better though, was the food. Drinks were ample and quickly served. The highlight, though, was the presentation, taste and quality of the appetizers, main courses and desserts. All raved about their selections and appointed me to select future restaurants. So, that was easy, we're going back to O&J.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice revisions to the menu, reflecting t ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Nice revisions to the menu, reflecting the current hot summer months. Creative selections. Solid wine and cocktail menu. Service is fine but not stellar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was our first Sunday dinner at Oliv ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

This was our first Sunday dinner at Olive & June. Each course was beautiful and delicious. I wish we could have eaten outside, but it was just too hot out! The interior is quiet and intimate. We had a great view of the 200-year-old tree in the central courtyard.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great service. The only th ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food, great service.

The only thing I would change is that they seated us next to the elevator. We had a 6:45 reservation & we arrived about 15 minutes early. There were several tables available on the second floor and they stayed open during our entire meal… not sure why we were seated there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delish!!!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Sunday dinner was superb. Well imagined dishes with complex, interesting flavors. The wine list was interesting and the waitstaff helped by recommending a perfect pairing for the group's diverse entrees

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Let Paul Ozbirn Make Your Night

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

If you dine at Olive & June and you love food and wine, be sure to ask Paul Ozbirn to guide you from start to finish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So good

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great food, awesome outdoor dining, romantic, good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great find!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Went with friends for a fun night out, Great food and great atmosphere!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Impressed Despite Changes

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I love Olive and June. Everything always tastes wonderful and the service is always fantastic. We went there for my boyfriend's birthday and we were really looking forward to the Sunday Dinner set menu. I even made reservations for Sunday night on purpose so we could get a chance to try the menu. However by the time we got there at 7, the menu was apparently "sold out" which I thought was a little odd and honestly a bit disappointing. No where on their website did they say that it was a first come first serve kind of menu. A little bummed out, we ordered off of the regular menu, but we still had a beautiful evening with crostini that was to die for and delicious ravioli and new york strip. I absolutely would still recommend Olive and June, but maybe a little heads up about the menu change would be nice!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Incredible food..very informative server

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Incredible food..very informative server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Limited menu

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Some interesting pasta choices, but limited options for Secondi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We came here last night with some friend ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We came here last night with some friends. The ambiance was very fancy, and all of us loved our food. Our only complaint is that we were seated next to such a loud table that it was hard to hear each other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had we been seated outdoors, it would ha ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Had we been seated outdoors, it would have been the night I had really hoped for, in celebration of my daughter receiving her PhD. Instead, it was so loud that even our 26 yr old said she basically read lips all night. We left early and had coffee and dessert elsewhere. The outside seating is spectacular. Such a missed, once in a lifetime opportunity for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.