About Olive and June

A southern Italian restaurant by Chef Shawn Cirkiel of parkside & the backspace, and bullfight. Serving shareable plates, daily homemade pastas, entrées grilled over Texas oak, contorni, Italian dolci and the largest list of Italian wine, amari, and grappa in the city. Olive and June reserves a portion of seating for walk-in guests each night. Seating is done on a first-come, first serve basis. All parties must be complete before being seated.

3411 Glenview Ave
Austin, TX 78703
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Contemporary American, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Bar open at 4:30p. Dinner service starts at 5:00p. Happy Hour Monday-Friday until 6:30 pm- featuring 1/2 Shared Plates, beer, and liquor... available in the whole restaurant. Sunday night, in addition to our regular menu, we offer a $36 three course prix fixe sunday dinner menu.

Cross Street:
38 1/2th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 467-9898

Website:
http://www.oliveandjune-austin.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Shawn Cirkiel & Brian Moses

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining space options available indoor and outdoor for 8-150 people.

Private Party Contact:
Allison Guelli: (512) 467-9898

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
olive & june has many private dining options, from smaller groups of 12 up to 100. please email events@oliveandjune-austin.com for availability & pricing!

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Linguine With Clams - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Meat & Cheese Plate - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Swordfish Spiedini - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Pork Meatballs - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Panelle - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Viola Fiori - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Farm Egg - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Chicken Spiedini - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Seafood Misto - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Pisa Pumpkin Martini - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Cacio e Pepe - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Salmon Crostini - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Capellini - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Luxardo Abano - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Scallop crudo - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Focaccia - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Ricotta - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Squash Ravioli - Olive and June, Austin, TX
zeppole - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Grilled Cauliflower - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Fried Ravioli - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Spaghetti alla Carbonara - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Bruschetta - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Beef Carpaccio - Olive and June, Austin, TX
New York Strip With Balsamic Mint Roasted Red Peppers - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Zucchini Coponata With Anchovy Olives And Capers - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Bomboloni With Peaches And Caramel Sauce - Olive and June, Austin, TX
bomboloni - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Arugula With Meyer Lemon And White Truffle Oil - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Olive Oil Semifreddo - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Corn Fritters And Pomodoro - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Peaches And Cream - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Mona Lisa - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Polenta With Mushrooms & Farm Fresh Egg - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Garganega White Wine - Olive and June, Austin, TX
In-House Baked Bread With Olive Oil - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Tomato Crostini With Basil And Garlic - Olive and June, Austin, TX
White Bean Puree and Green Olive Bruschetta - Olive and June, Austin, TX
dalwhinnie 15 yr scotch - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Sgroppino - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Hibiscus Melonade  - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Poached Baccala - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Arugula Salad - Olive and June, Austin, TX
pan roasted striped bass - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Pork Chop Special - Olive and June, Austin, TX
lasgna - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Braised Lamb And Roasted Brussel Sprouts - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Zucchini Involtini - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Mezzalune - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Cannoli With Pistachio Gelato - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Cavatelli - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Yellowfin Tuna Crudo - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Moscow Mule - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Old Fashioned - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Bistecca a la Fiorentina - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Heirloom Tomato Salad - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Pork & Veal Meatballs - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Braised Short Rib Ravioli - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Bomboloni With Valencia Oranges & Dark Chocolate Custard - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Pasta (Don't Remember) - Olive and June, Austin, TX
Whole Wheat Ravioli - Olive and June, Austin, TX

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

A credit card is required for Valentine's Day. This card will not be charged unless any cancellations or changes to the reservation are not made aware to us at least 24 hours in advance. Olive & June will offer our regular menu, plus prix fixe options.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Olive and June Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Special Occasion (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Romantic (23)
Notable Wine List (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Cozy (16)
Authentic (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Local Ingredients (9)
Fun (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Business Meals (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Scenic View (7)
Family Style (6)
People Watching (6)
Casual (6)
Historic (5)
Tapas (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Private Room (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1116 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We've been going to O&J for some time no ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

We've been going to O&J for some time now and love it. I took my brother and his wife for a special birthday celebration and it was one of the best dining experiences that we've ever had. The food and service are consistently top shelf.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent! Great waiter. Great food. ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent! Great waiter. Great food. We will be back soon!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for a birthday with a large group. ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Went for a birthday with a large group. They were very accommodating with seating arrangements and reservations even through last minute. All in all nice outdoor/indoor seating, good food. A little difficult to parse menu wise according to some. On the pricey side. Good drinks / bar.

When you have 9 or more you have the option to order courses from a pre fixe menu for 39 bucks a person. Can be hard with that many people to do so we opted out. But seems like a good option if you have people who have the same tastes.

We had cocktails before hand which were all very good and got compliments all around. The bar staff was very nice. Average price for an upper scale dining place l, 9-12 bucks.

Service in the dining room was ok. Our server was nice, but didn't know much detail about the menu. That normally isn't a big deal but more than one person we're confused about how certain dishes came out and vegetarians who had questions and she wasn't aware. She didn't explain the family style stuff, only to one person so that also made for some confusion. On the plus side she was very attentive to drinks and to making sure everyone was comfortable. They asked to take bags and some birthday flowers to the office for us which was very helpful!

The portions are modest, which I think was good here. I recommend grabbing a few sides to share. They're delicious (kale and Brussels sprouts were great) and good compliments to the dinner portions.

We sat inside but the tented outdoor patio and second floor bar looked like very good places to sit, all in all, great ambience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

It's always an awesome experience when I ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 12, 2017

It's always an awesome experience when I go here. The chef changes the menu often but the staff is very knowledgeable of the menu and is able to make great suggestions. Food is amazing and drinks are great. Definitely this is a place to try in Austin.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the server was very good and informative ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 8, 2017

the server was very good and informative. The food was very good. Portions were just the right size. italian food, but different from your normal italian restaurant. different drink cocktails than you'd normally see.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVE THIS PLACE! ALL DELISH! Can't wait ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

LOVE THIS PLACE! ALL DELISH! Can't wait to visit Austin again and enjoy another great meal here.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time for our anniversary her ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Had a great time for our anniversary here! The food was wonderful and our waiter was awesome. Will definitely be returning!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for NYE dinner. Was not blown away ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for NYE dinner. Was not blown away by any of the food options and for the price we paid ($90/person) for the NYE special, I expected to have a great dinner. Out of the 6 of us, none of us really enjoyed this 5 course meal. Even the desserts were disappointing which is usually hard to do

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

This was the 4th year our family has cel ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was the 4th year our family has celebrated New Year's Eve at Olive & June. Exceptional food and service. We will be back again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

$90 per person was total rip off. waitre ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

$90 per person was total rip off. waitress herself thought menu was very hard to understand.

very frustrated in food quality and lack of value

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Very good service. Waiter made the eveni ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very good service. Waiter made the evening. Food creative and well executed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Horrible service with drinks not deliver ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Horrible service with drinks not delivered on time, waiter was told there was a birthday and promised a freer desert with candle---never happened. We reserved days in advance and were seated by the front door on a cold night. When we made a remark all they said was "yes it is cold isn't it?". The waiter was awkward and when I chose the least expensive wine on the menu he made a comment about the low cost. Awkward x 10. The food was pretty good but overall the restaurant left me with a bad taste in my mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

Great service and good place to spend qu ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great service and good place to spend quality time with special someone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Organic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service and on the spot recommenda ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great service and on the spot recommendations. Not rushed and relaxed atmosphere. Sommelier extremely knowledgeable but not ostentatious. Have been here on several occasions and it has always been perfect

Tags: Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Place was great!

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Place was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Cozy atmosphere, good food, great servic ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Cozy atmosphere, good food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server, Bryn, was outstanding. Epit ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Our server, Bryn, was outstanding. Epitome of a perfect server. Knowledgeable on the menu, not overly attentive like most servers but checked up on us often enough. Made us feel very welcome.

Food was also great, my wife and I had a great date night. I know this isn't much of a place to go for beer, we're more beer people than wine or cocktail, but still would like a slightly larger beer menu. But that didn't take away from our great night. We will have to return on a warmer day (temp was about 40 degrees) when we can sit outside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything we ordered was delicious! Win ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Everything we ordered was delicious! Wine, apps, pastas, desserts. Service was excellent! We will definately go back!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun time for a special occasion. The ser ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Fun time for a special occasion. The service was very good and the food was well prepared and presented. We had a group of six and everyone tried something different. All enjoyed their choices. We will definitely be back the next time we are in Austin.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This is by far the best restaurant in Au ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This is by far the best restaurant in Austin. Excellent date stop. Get the Farm Egg and Arancini, take their wine recommendations and get Nicole as your server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was perfect. Great service, ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Everything was perfect. Great service, excellent food, and great ambiance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Place was beautiful, but the food was di ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Place was beautiful, but the food was disappointing. Ordered the Rye Lumache and was underwhelmed. The meatballs were good and the appetizer special was okay. The food just didn't live up to the ambiance.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Came on a date to celebrate a special oc ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Came on a date to celebrate a special occasion. We ordered two pastas, a side of the crispy eggplant, and an appetizer. The entire meal was incredible and they brought out an additional order of the pork meatballs on the house. They actually brought out the wrong vegetable side (brussel sprouts instead of the eggplant), but they left it and brought the original order free of charge. The brussel sprouts ended up being really good too so I can't complain. Our waiter was very nice and attentive and all of the food was exceptional. The entrees are a pretty small so you do need a few extra dishes which can add up on price. You'll want to try as many things as possible though so a little extra cash makes it worth it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ordered lamb that was overcooked and dry ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Ordered lamb that was overcooked and dry. Took awhile to receive food and I didn't want to wait so I didn't ask for do-over.

Waitstaff was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Service was terrible! We had a party of ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Service was terrible! We had a party of 8 ppl. The waiter figures he is going to get his 18% gratuity regardless. Therefore, he was not attentive and provided poor service. The pasta was under cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

Great food , service and time with frien ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great food , service and time with friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place in north central Austin with ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great place in north central Austin with high quality food that is exceptionally well prepared. Service is top notch with a very knolagable staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The flavors and offerings are unique and ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The flavors and offerings are unique and pleasing to the palate. This time, we had a wonderful table on the indoor first floor. I really love this setting the best - view of glassed-in kitchen and a limited number of tables. As usual, our waiter offered excellent service and was very knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food overall not good--charcuterie under ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food overall not good--charcuterie under cured and overly fatty, cheese selection odd (why would a good restaurant serve Parmesan as a selection...), pastas had sat under a heat lamp too long and they were dry and gummy, meatballs had an extremely strange texture (like the were industrially produced, frozen too long, or had way too much bread in them). Service was extremely slow due to a large party--management needs to look at how they map out their servers to be more efficient. The table next to ours was getting the 5 star treatment w champagne to start comped by the house while our table sat for a good 20 minutes without a greeting from our server because he was too busy w the large table. I was throughly disappointed overall and expected way more from this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Was very impressed. Food was amazing, p ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Was very impressed. Food was amazing, people were a little uptight, but overall very happy with the dinner and will certainly be back,

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations notifying the restaura ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Made reservations notifying the restaurant that this was an engagement dinner and very special occasion. Please a quiet table. Again we told the hostess and she acknowledged the occasion and offered congratulations and proceeded to sit us at a very bright table in the middle of the restaurant dining room. Hardly quiet or special. Then a large group with children were sat directly next to us with the kids leaning over our booth during dinner.

And the food was just not good. We had a pasta with an extremely overpowering pepper sauce and a butternut squash ravioli. Very small portion and only average. Would expect that at Olive Garden. The service was excellent. The restaurant was anything but. Don't have any idea how this was rated a top romantic place. It wasn't for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

No one in our party knew exactly how to ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 5, 2016

No one in our party knew exactly how to order, or navigate the menu. However, wth the guidance and patience of our server, every single member came away loving their choice. Great experience! I look forward to a return visit!

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding experience. Jared guided us ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Outstanding experience. Jared guided us knowledgeably through our menu selections. Wine list was ample and value priced. Fabulous!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, , Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is one HUGE problem with Olive and ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 3, 2016

There is one HUGE problem with Olive and June that might well prevent me from going back. It is WAY too loud. We sat downstairs and a large group was seated at a long rectangular table. We needed to shout at each other to be heard and it was mighty unpleasant.

Others have started to talk about this problem as well.

Isn't there SOMETHING that can be done to keep down the noise level?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Pricey but a beautiful restaurant inside ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Pricey but a beautiful restaurant inside and out. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We heard great things and booked online. ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We heard great things and booked online. We were excited the weather was so nice as we wanted to dine outside. We arrived a bit early and planned on having a drink while waiting for our table. When we indicated we wanted to eat outside, we were told we had to request that when making the reservation. We were promptly walked to a third floor table directly in front of the staff elevator. Then a party of 8 was seated next to us, adding to the already loud din of the room. Our waiter was very nice, but a sweaty mess because he was taking care of at least all but one of the tables in our section. He consistently forgot to bring our drinks, and the hostesses who were doubling as bus boys kept cutting between our table and the one next to us instead of walking around our table. The food was very good, but for the price we should have been able to enjoy our experience a little more. The restaurant seems to be better suited to larger parties than couples looking for a nice evening out.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Really cool building(s) and layout. Exc ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Really cool building(s) and layout. Excellent food, cocktails.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Lamb was chewy and not good, accordi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The Lamb was chewy and not good, according to my grown son. I received 8 1.5 inch vegetarian raviolis with a small amount of sauce for $18. Very good, but not much food. The calamari and shrimp appetizer was good. The Bread and oil were also good. I'm from a large town known for wonderful food of all types, this place would not make it there. Pretty outdoor setting, but would be hot in the summer or miserable when humidity is present. Contrary to other reviews, we had friendly and prompt service.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Olive & June is a FINE restaurant: the b ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Olive & June is a FINE restaurant: the best we ate in during an 8-night trip to Texas, good enough that after eating there one night we cancelled a reservation at another place and came back 2 nights later. This is really good food in a lovely enclosed patio on a mild autumn night (there is inside seating as well).

Both nights I started with the Linguine Nero: black pasta with rock shrimp, thinly sliced calamari, arugula, olive oil, garlic and bread-crumbs. This was perfectly cooked, both nights, and is "as good as it gets". Rock shrimp is a bit stronger shrimp flavor that "regular" shrimp and it paid off in this dish. For a main, another fish, loud du mer ("wolf of the sea" in english), skin on, cooked over charcoal, with sweet scarlet (really pink) turnips an herb broth and pesto....also excellent both nights. My wife had Gulf black drum both nights and also loved it.

Cocktails are excellent, wines by the glass good from an extensive list, beer list pretty limited. This is a really, really good restaurant. Go. Have the Linguine Nero.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great. I had spicy bucatini and ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was great. I had spicy bucatini and a salad - both wonderful. He had calamari and shrimp in a very light batter. Service was attentive and pleasant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.