About Olio Pizzeria

11 W. Victoria St., Ste. 21
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Olio Pizzeria, opened in July 2010, is a causal pizza bar/salumi bar/wine bar/full bar which was inspired by the myriad neighborhood pizzerie and enoteche (wine bars) found around the corner from just about every piazza in Italy. This idea began to take shape before Alberto and Elaine Morello even opened Olio e Limone Ristorante, their fine dining Italian restaurant next door, in 1999. Wine bars serving boutique salumi and formaggi are all the rage in Italy, as is a new regionalism which they are excited to share with you. Sicily is an emerging powerhouse, and touches of Sicilian food and wine delight their guests. You’ll also find exciting tastes from Campania and other emerging regions on their menus, wine and beer lists. Join Olio Pizzeria for private dining for up to 32, group dining, or send an inquiry regarding catering. Buon appetito!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Brunch & Lunch

Daily: 11:30am - 3:30pm

Dinner

Daily: 11:30am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
State

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 899-2699 ext. 2

Website:
http://www.oliopizzeria.com/

Catering:
Contact our Events Coordinator to plan your next catered event. Our pizzaioli (pizza cooks) will make Olio Pizzeria pizzas in your own outdoor wood-burning oven! Antipasti, salads, salumi, formaggi, dolci and more available as well.

Parking Details:
Lot Parking:
Santa Barbara City Parking Lot #5 (first 75 minutes free/paid for by downtown merchants, then $1.50/hr).

Street Parking:
After 6PM and all day Sunday, there is free street parking on Victoria Street in the green curb areas.

Alternate parking available at the Granada Garage (Anacapa x E. Anapamu Streets) and Teen Center lot (Chapala x W. Victoria Streets).

Executive Chef:
Alberto Morello

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining at Olio Pizzeria for up to 22 guests in the Terrazza Room and for up to 32 guests in the Taverna Room. Inquire at http://www.oliopizzeria.com/privategroup-dining/.

Fine Italian private dining for up to 40 guests in the Cucina Room next door at sister restaurant Olio e Limone Ristorante.

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: 8058992699x3

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Parma Ham Pizza
Pizza!
Fried Zuccini
Squash Blossoms
Carmel Dessert
Parma Pizza
Margherita Pizza with Burrata
Pizza rustica con cipolla di Tropea e olive siciliane
Asperagus
Margarita Pizza
Pizza Margherita
Margherita Pizza
Budino di Zuccehero di Canna
Margherita Pizze
Umbra pizza with black truffles
Americana Pizza- Hotdog Sausage, Fries And Cheese

Olio Pizzeria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

fit for foodies (36)
neighborhood gem (26)
good for groups (20)
See All
great for lunch (18)
hot spot (17)
notable wine list (15)
vibrant bar scene (14)
kid-friendly (13)
special occasion (13)
great for outdoor dining (11)
late-night find (10)
romantic (10)
Sort By:
Newest
443 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, great service, decent prices ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, great service, decent prices, and wonderful ambiance. The main improvement they could do is improve the air conditioning as during the summer it can get hot in there.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pizza was good, not over the top gre ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The pizza was good, not over the top great. The carpaccio was the same. The service is hard to fairly rate because we were seated (at our request) out on the patio and turned out to be the only ones out there. So our service was not that good. We had to go in the restaurant to ask for things. But we know it is hard to maintain good service with a lone table out in the north forty. Our server was very nice and friendly though. Based on the food alone, we would give the place another try, but wouldn't rush back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Warm but with a cool vibe. Friendly hos ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Warm but with a cool vibe. Friendly host staff. The calamari is spectacular, the hype is real. Scott at the bar was very helpful and makes great drinks. I have already recommended Olio Pizzeria to friends visiting Santa Barbara.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all enjoyed the food, service, ambian ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We all enjoyed the food, service, ambiance - great night. Thanks

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was our second visit to OP and we c ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was our second visit to OP and we continue to be impressed, particularly with the service. Although I think their drink pours are a bit stingy, the bartender, as before, was pleasant and accommodating. I guess in SB if you want a real drink, go to Harry's. The food was excellent. Zucchini flowers molto bene! The menu stresses pizza and they do it well. Our server was most attentive and efficient. Overall, our dining experience started off a very nice evening at the symphony.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a very good restaurant with terr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is a very good restaurant with terrific pizza. Service is good and it has a casual and cheerful ambiance. The wine markup is very high, even by Santa Barbara standards. It makes a casual evening out a more expensive meal than it ought to be. Terrific food but more expensive overall than I thought it would be, especially as it's an alternative to the pricy Olio e Limone next door. As long as you know, you won't be surprised. Overall, great food and fun atmosphere. A real find.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Pizza here is very good, thin crust and ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Pizza here is very good, thin crust and well prepared. Prices for pizza are $15 - $21 range

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great pizza...best in Santa Barbara. Ni ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great pizza...best in Santa Barbara. Nice, relaxed ambiance with great salads, vino & good service.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and even greater food. Piz ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great service and even greater food. Pizza was amazing! Will be going back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I've been here with friends, on date nig ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I've been here with friends, on date night, girls' night, and with my baby. It's accommodating for everyone. It's trendy and romantic. A bit loud inside sometimes but they have a new outdoor patio. The wine list is long and has some great options, especially some great Italian wines. There's also a delicious specialty cocktail list with barrel aged liquor. The pizzas are so good. Our favorites are the umbra and the carbonara but every one is good. The salads are light and fresh and they have wonderful appetizers. The shrimp is my favorite. The meatballs are also very good and my toddler liked them too.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I went for dinner with two couples. Ther ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I went for dinner with two couples. There was a melon and prociutto appetizer on a bed of arugula that was outstanding! I wish they would make it a regular item on the menu!

We shared the Umbra pizza and the four cheese pizza. Delicious as always. I was pleasantly surprised to be seated outside! I never knew Olio had outdoor dining!

Loved it all from start to finish!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to OP with the intention of havi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We went to OP with the intention of having a small meal before attending a local concert. We started with drinks at the bar and especially commend the bartenders not only for their expertise in mixology but their easy manner with their customers! Our meal was a pizza, prepared very nicely, prefaced with baked artichoke hearts. Unfortunately, the hearts came with an unexpected human hair accoutrement. We brought this to the attention of our server who, very professionally, recognized it immediately, apologized, offered a replacement and, in lieu of that, an adjustment to our bill. Even with this slight inconvenience, we found OP a definite place to which we will return regularly and recommend it highly to fellow Open Table members.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Best pizza in town, the "Umbra" is a spe ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Best pizza in town, the "Umbra" is a special treat with black truffles...most authentic Italian food you'll find! One of the very few places to serve rapini (a bitter green in the broccoli family) - one of my favorite foods. Take it from a food snob - you won't be disappointed with anything on their menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is the second time we have been in ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This is the second time we have been in Santa Barbara and the second for Olio.

There's no disappointment in this little gem.

The place is always vibrant and the food is exactly what you want for casual Italian dining.

Staff is attentive, fun and if you like, a little sassy in a nice way.

The wine list is just a nice size with a perfect selection of treats to tempt you.

The GM even stopped by to say hello.

Make a reservation and put Olio pizzeria on your list. You won't regret it .

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pizza is delicious!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The pizza is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This a great spot. Love the food that i ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

This a great spot. Love the food that is very creative in a casual atmosphere. Relax and enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our waiter, Alessio, was great. The pizz ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Our waiter, Alessio, was great. The pizza was amazing. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid gourmet pizzeria

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

No real complaints about the place. Food, service, and prices were all on point without being either remarkable or disappointing. I would definitely recommend this as a reasonably-priced spot to take a date or family for dinner when on State Street for the night!

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent pizza and wonderful service.

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Excellent pizza and wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tasty and a bit chilly

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We paired a fun pizza combo of mozzarella, parmesan and pancetta on a tasty thin artisanal crust along with a chopped antipasto salad. We also enjoyed a bottle of Italian red wine.

On the downside we were seated next to the patio door which constantly welcomed gusts of cold, damp air. Also, it is loud and crowded- not good for low level conversations at all.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I had the gluten free pizza - it was jus ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I had the gluten free pizza - it was just ok. Certainly not worth $5 extra.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Our favorite pizza place. The best crust ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our favorite pizza place. The best crust. Great flavor and love the extra cup of oregano and crushed red pepper. Great wine choices. Love for lunch with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and wine was excellent, but th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Good food and wine was excellent, but the service was just okay. Our waitress only checked on us twice throughout the meal and my husband even asked our friends once, "Have you seen the waitress lately?" His drink had run dry. An otherwise perfect experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fast service, great food!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Fast service, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent, authentic Italian cuisine. L ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Excellent, authentic Italian cuisine. Lively atmosphere and great choices of beers and wines.

Staff is attentive and service is very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was fantastic

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Noise Level is Insane!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The food is very good. However, I've just about had it with the noise level. It is the noisiest restaurant I have ever been in, bar none. In some areas of the place it is almost impossible to carry on a conversation across a small table. I have eaten here several times and it's ok at lunch but in the evening, the noise makes it impossible to have a relaxing, convivial dinner. The noise is the result of ordinary conversations conducted at ordinary levels, not music. Over time, people are just going to stop going there if this situation isn't corrected somehow.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Great Italian style pizza. Thin crust, c ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great Italian style pizza. Thin crust, cooked right. Umbra was yummy though I prefer with a little marinara, which they were happy to bring to the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious pizza and great ambiance

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Delicious pizza and great ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't dine upstairs!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Love the atmosphere of this place, the lively, energetic vibe.... that is unless they seat you upstairs. It is deadly dull. Despite making a reservation a week in advance we were told there was nothing available on the main floor and quickly hustled upstairs to the attic-like space..... where only one other unlucky party was dining the entire night. It is not a very inviting, invigorating space to say the least. On top of that, the server seemed to be in a rush to get us out of there. Definitely not the typical enjoyable dining experience we've come to enjoy here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

Lots to choose from and very good

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Lots to choose from and very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great gourmet pizza

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Delicious as always...great appetizers, gourmet pizza and all around authentic Italian flavors & preparation

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Loved the pizza. Also order the squid ink calamari and butterscotch pudding. Yum!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really outstanding

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Great pizza, the best seafood pizza ever found in US, really outstanding place and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Midiocre food nothing special

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Pizzas we ordered were midiocre and octopus appetizer was fishy. Red wind I ordered was cold and crape I ordered was only split of Nutella with nothing else on it, but they charge $9 for that. Service was ok. I would not go back. This place is not Itlaian restaurant enough and I think they are way too expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food and service. They were accomm ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Great food and service. They were accommodating to a party of 8 last minute. Loved every bit of the experience. Glad we came.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellllllent!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Excellent every time. The best pie in town, and that butter scotch pudding is a dream come true...ammmmmazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Best Pizza Crust Ever!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

My wife and I found this restaurant last December and now whenever we visit Santa Barbara we make sure it is on our list of "must go" eating establishments. They have excellent salads and the pizza has the BEST crust I have ever had. Our personal favorite is the "Diavola pizza." YUM! It's a little noisier than I like for dinner, but it is a great venue for lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Awesome pizza

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

We've come back several times since moving to Santa Barbara and the flavor, quality and consistency of the pizza and salads is fantastic...about as authentic as you can get! Their wine selection for the type of food served is easy & affordable.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Great service, we were seated immediately upon arriving for our reservation and the food was terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.