About Olio Pizzeria

11 W. Victoria St., Ste. 21
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Olio Pizzeria, opened in July 2010, is a causal pizza bar/salumi bar/wine bar/full bar which was inspired by the myriad neighborhood pizzerie and enoteche (wine bars) found around the corner from just about every piazza in Italy. This idea began to take shape before Alberto and Elaine Morello even opened Olio e Limone Ristorante, their fine dining Italian restaurant next door, in 1999. Wine bars serving boutique salumi and formaggi are all the rage in Italy, as is a new regionalism which they are excited to share with you. Sicily is an emerging powerhouse, and touches of Sicilian food and wine delight their guests. You’ll also find exciting tastes from Campania and other emerging regions on their menus, wine and beer lists. Join Olio Pizzeria for private dining for up to 32, group dining, or send an inquiry regarding catering. Buon appetito!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Brunch & Lunch

Daily: 11:30am - 3:30pm

Dinner

Daily: 11:30am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
State

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 899-2699 ext. 2

Website:
http://www.oliopizzeria.com/

Catering:
Contact our Events Coordinator to plan your next catered event. Our pizzaioli (pizza cooks) will make Olio Pizzeria pizzas in your own outdoor wood-burning oven! Antipasti, salads, salumi, formaggi, dolci and more available as well.

Parking Details:
Lot Parking:
Santa Barbara City Parking Lot #5 (first 75 minutes free/paid for by downtown merchants, then $1.50/hr).

Street Parking:
After 6PM and all day Sunday, there is free street parking on Victoria Street in the green curb areas.

Alternate parking available at the Granada Garage (Anacapa x E. Anapamu Streets) and Teen Center lot (Chapala x W. Victoria Streets).

Executive Chef:
Alberto Morello

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining at Olio Pizzeria for up to 22 guests in the Terrazza Room and for up to 32 guests in the Taverna Room. Inquire at http://www.oliopizzeria.com/privategroup-dining/.

Fine Italian private dining for up to 40 guests in the Cucina Room next door at sister restaurant Olio e Limone Ristorante.

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: (805) 899-2699 ext. 3

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Olio Pizzeria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (26)
Authentic (21)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Wood Oven (20)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Fun (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Cozy (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Family Style (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Romantic (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Business Meals (4)
People Watching (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great Beer (3)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Organic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Historic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
532 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 3 days ago

We have been to this restaurant many times and are never never disappointed.

The food is outstanding. It is authentic Italian as is the ambience .

Our favorite foods are the chopped salad, the shrimp in marinara sauce with sliced potatoes on top, and the octopus salad.

The service is always wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

It was our first time at the Pizzeria. We are coming back tonight with friends. The food was exceptional and the restaurant was attractive. However, it was noisy. We asked to sit upstairs, and it was better there, but still noisy. This is the only negative comment I will make. Otherwise, we enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

The pizza is like the one you can have at one of the best pizzerias in Italy. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Absolutely delicious. Great atmosphere. Felt like we were in a very popular spot when we were there.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very busy. Staff wonderful and friendly.

Recommend making reservations

The Lasagna is my favorite!

Tags: Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Casual, Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Without a doubt "dove gusto e piacere si incontrano!" is a good description of Olio e Limone Pizzeria. Wishing to have a relaxed Valentine's Day dinner, we chose Olio Pizzeria. Having made reservations several days earlier, on Monday I needed to change the time. Jennifer was absolutely terrific in handling the switch and was even nicer and effective in person as, upon our arrival, she handled our seating with calmness and caring. We spent a bit of time at the bar prior to the seating and found the bartenders very friendly and attentive despite being slammed with orders. Our waitperson, Roxanne was most hospitable and one of the best we have experienced. We made a point of speaking with the general manager and owner to express our admiration for the restaurant, the excellent food preparation and, most of all, the staff. We have traveled the world and eaten in some of the best restaurants, and while Olio isn't, and doesn't pretend to be, cuisine competitive, they are at the top of the class for what they do. BUT their staff's caring and service surpass most!

This is a terrific little restaurant!

Tags: Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Pizza and salumi were all great and perfect for sharing but the salads were very skimpy. Good wine/beer options and friendly service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Best pizza in Santa Barbara, great salads, fantastic wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Wood Oven, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great menu, including the wine list. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Fun, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Split a cesar salad and veggie pizza and both were excellent!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Very satisfying, delicious food and the service is always great. All of that makes Olio Pizza one of our top 5 places. You can't go wrong, unless you don't go!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food and great service. We are glad we tried it and can see why it is so popular.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 16, 2017

We had a reservation and only waited a few minutes. When we were seated at the Pizza bar the host was very unprofessional. It was extremely loud with 2 speakers blairing right over head. A table was available near the front door. I asked if we could take that instead. It was fine but when I sat on the tall chair it was very wobbly to the point that it was scary and seemed to be very dangerous. The same man who had seated us originally argued with us that it was not dangerous and would not break but it definitely felt that way to us. There was an empty tall chair right next to the door that was not being used so we just exchanged it ourselves.

Our waitress Bernadett was Wonderful!!! What a great gal - so much going for her!!! We loved her!!!

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Olio pizza is always delicious. It's not just ordinary pizza... it's interesting pizza. They put together ingredients that are different, and wonderful. I would highly recommend, but only if you don't want an "ordinary" pizza!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Our favorite pizza spot in Santa Barbara. Always great food and ambience but the middle of the dining room is a bit loud with tight tables and a low ceiling. I would suggest sound-proofing the middle walls and ceiling with soft liner to dampen sound. It's really loud in the center and hard to carry a conversation without yelling over other diners yelling. Everything else is A+

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Again, an excellent meal. Pizza terrific, salad excellent plus a nice glass of wine.

Rounded the evening off with a delicious dessert of poached peaches with ice cream.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had a focaccia appetizer which was melt in your mouth. The pizza was delicious and it was hard to decide on which to order. We'll be back. The menu items are endless!

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great atmosphere. Great for conversation amongst ourselves, but tables are situated so conversations begin with adjacent tables.

Busy place, friendly servers, but service quality decreases as restaurant gets busy around 7pm.

Tags: Wood Oven, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Always a blast with friends and great food. The service varies but is usually really terrific. I've learned not to get seated up in the mezzanine, nor in the banquet room. Too isolated. Main open floor area or outside are the only place I'll sit and olio staff knows this ahead of time now which I really appreciate. Love it!

Tags: Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Wood Oven, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Romantic, People Watching, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Cozy, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Restaurant was packed on a holiday night, but we got excellent service nonetheless. We were going light after a big lunch, so just salad, meat, and cheese. All superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best pizza place in town! Great service, friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve was a busy night but they did an excellent job with service and had plenty of staff to serve customers. We've eaten here several times and the quality and consistency has always been high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The highlight ....I love their Insalata Carciofi - a true treat of shaved raw artichoke with Arugula, topped with Parmesan, tossed in a light lemon based dressing - addicting!!!! My steak was over cooked - yet still delicious. The service was thoughtful and prompt - I appreciate their wide offering of Red Italian wine, by the glass.

Tags: Wood Oven, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Always delicious! One of our favorite spots for a quick pizza.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (München)·Dined on December 29, 2016

one of the most authentic pizza places I have been to in CA.. we come from Europe and spent many vacation days in Italy ..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great Salumi e formaggi plate, feeds 6. The calamari al Nero was fried to perfection with the lemon aioli delicious. Pizza crust thin and toppings delicious. Wine list perfectly priced for pizza dinner. Noisy in the front room so go to the back if you want to have a conversation.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Delicious pizza and cocktails and wine. We stopped by Crudo next door for buffalo tartare and the beet/prosciutto/burrata salad which was super delish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had a great dinner! The gnocchi was excellent. Love the cocktails - very creative and delicious. We do love dining at Olio and will return again and again.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Two years without a meal at Olio Pizza...we can't figure out how that happened and how we survived! Everything tasted better than ever, thank you so much. We won't let more than a month go by before we make it back there!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Wood Oven, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 20, 2016

One of my favorites! Thin pizza is so yummy - I love the Parma!

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

As always an outstanding authentic pizzeria! The chef's antipasto tray is always a delight.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Wood Oven, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Chopped salad was very good. Margharita Pizza was a bit overdone. Overall was ok.

Tags: Comfort Food, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We enjoyed it very much. Love dining in the little courtyard but heaters would be nice. Good wine list. The Umbra pizza is to die for.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 8, 2016

This was our second dinning experience here in less than a week. So, to say we really enjoyed this restaurant would be an understatement. We again had a great server. Jeny May was very attentive without being bothersome. We knew what we wanted to eat and Jeny May was great at agreeing with our choices. She provided a great insight into the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Always an excellent time at Olio Pizzeria. Service and food are absolutely excellent. It is my go-to restaurant when I have guests in town.

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Everything was very good. I can not think of any portion of our experience that could be improved. Our serve, Roxanne, was very helpful in making decisions and knew the menu very well. She was attentive without being over bearing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Umbra pizza (mushroom and truffle oil) is divine and really good cocktails. Best manhattan in town!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great food! Great pre-theater meal. Loved it!

Highly recommend

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Horrible experience- very rude manager that should be fired! Beware he was very prejudice!

The manager said to seat anywhere and when we were deciding to sit he came chasing us and said u have to only sit in a table for two! This was 4:00 pm and he said the tables were going to fill up fast. Seriously at 4:00 the restaurant was empty at 4 pm! All the other tables were available!

We like to reach out to the owner of the restaurant to address this manager who was completely out of line and was rude to my husband who is a senior and has lived in SB for 40 years!

There was no reason that why we could not sit where we wanted at 4 pm!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Pizza is outstanding. Crust has some crunch all the way through so no limp center. The tomato sauce was really authentic and tomato-y. Grew up on Chicago thin crust pizza whose crust is wonderfully cooked all the way through and this was a treat. Wine list is good and we ate outside in their courtyard which was nice a cozy.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.