About Olio Pizzeria

11 W. Victoria St., Ste. 21
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Olio Pizzeria, opened in July 2010, is a causal pizza bar/salumi bar/wine bar/full bar which was inspired by the myriad neighborhood pizzerie and enoteche (wine bars) found around the corner from just about every piazza in Italy. This idea began to take shape before Alberto and Elaine Morello even opened Olio e Limone Ristorante, their fine dining Italian restaurant next door, in 1999. Wine bars serving boutique salumi and formaggi are all the rage in Italy, as is a new regionalism which they are excited to share with you. Sicily is an emerging powerhouse, and touches of Sicilian food and wine delight their guests. You’ll also find exciting tastes from Campania and other emerging regions on their menus, wine and beer lists. Join Olio Pizzeria for private dining for up to 32, group dining, or send an inquiry regarding catering. Buon appetito!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Brunch & Lunch
Daily: 11:30am - 3:30pm
Dinner
Daily: 11:30am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
State

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 899-2699 ext. 2

Website:
http://www.oliopizzeria.com/

Catering:
Contact our Events Coordinator to plan your next catered event. Our pizzaioli (pizza cooks) will make Olio Pizzeria pizzas in your own outdoor wood-burning oven! Antipasti, salads, salumi, formaggi, dolci and more available as well.

Parking Details:
Lot Parking: Santa Barbara City Parking Lot #5 (first 75 minutes free/paid for by downtown merchants, then $1.50/hr). Street Parking: After 6PM and all day Sunday, there is free street parking on Victoria Street in the green curb areas. Alternate parking available at the Granada Garage (Anacapa x E. Anapamu Streets) and Teen Center lot (Chapala x W. Victoria Streets).

Executive Chef:
Alberto Morello

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining at Olio Pizzeria for up to 22 guests in the Terrazza Room and for up to 32 guests in the Taverna Room. Inquire at http://www.oliopizzeria.com/privategroup-dining/. Fine Italian private dining for up to 40 guests in the Cucina Room next door at sister restaurant Olio e Limone Ristorante.

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: 8058992699x3

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Olio Pizzeria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

fit for foodies (45)
neighborhood gem (24)
good for groups (23)
See All
great for lunch (19)
kid-friendly (18)
hot spot (17)
notable wine list (15)
special occasion (14)
late-night find (12)
romantic (9)
vibrant bar scene (8)
great for brunch (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
420 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Fast service, great food!

Dined 6 days ago

Fast service, great food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, authentic Italian cuisine. L ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Excellent, authentic Italian cuisine. Lively atmosphere and great choices of beers and wines. Staff is attentive and service is very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Was fantastic

Dined on May 9, 2016

Was fantastic

food4
ambience2
service3
value4

The Noise Level is Insane!

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food is very good. However, I've just about had it with the noise level. It is the noisiest restaurant I have ever been in, bar none. In some areas of the place it is almost impossible to carry on a conversation across a small table. I have eaten here several times and it's ok at lunch but in the evening, the noise makes it impossible to have a relaxing, convivial dinner. The noise is the result of ordinary conversations conducted at ordinary levels, not music. Over time, people are just going to stop going there if this situation isn't corrected somehow.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Italian style pizza. Thin crust, c ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great Italian style pizza. Thin crust, cooked right. Umbra was yummy though I prefer with a little marinara, which they were happy to bring to the table.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious pizza and great ambiance

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Delicious pizza and great ambiance

food3
ambience1
service2
value3

Don't dine upstairs!

Dined on April 28, 2016

Love the atmosphere of this place, the lively, energetic vibe.... that is unless they seat you upstairs. It is deadly dull. Despite making a reservation a week in advance we were told there was nothing available on the main floor and quickly hustled upstairs to the attic-like space..... where only one other unlucky party was dining the entire night. It is not a very inviting, invigorating space to say the least. On top of that, the server seemed to be in a rush to get us out of there. Definitely not the typical enjoyable dining experience we've come to enjoy here.

food5
ambience5
service5

Lots to choose from and very good

Dined on April 10, 2016

Lots to choose from and very good

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great gourmet pizza

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Delicious as always...great appetizers, gourmet pizza and all around authentic Italian flavors & preparation

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

Dined on April 4, 2016

Loved the pizza. Also order the squid ink calamari and butterscotch pudding. Yum!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Really outstanding

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great pizza, the best seafood pizza ever found in US, really outstanding place and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Midiocre food nothing special

Dined on March 25, 2016

Pizzas we ordered were midiocre and octopus appetizer was fishy. Red wind I ordered was cold and crape I ordered was only split of Nutella with nothing else on it, but they charge $9 for that. Service was ok. I would not go back. This place is not Itlaian restaurant enough and I think they are way too expensive.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. They were accomm ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Great food and service. They were accommodating to a party of 8 last minute. Loved every bit of the experience. Glad we came.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellllllent!

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Excellent every time. The best pie in town, and that butter scotch pudding is a dream come true...ammmmmazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Best Pizza Crust Ever!

Dined on March 19, 2016

My wife and I found this restaurant last December and now whenever we visit Santa Barbara we make sure it is on our list of "must go" eating establishments. They have excellent salads and the pizza has the BEST crust I have ever had. Our personal favorite is the "Diavola pizza." YUM! It's a little noisier than I like for dinner, but it is a great venue for lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome pizza

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

We've come back several times since moving to Santa Barbara and the flavor, quality and consistency of the pizza and salads is fantastic...about as authentic as you can get! Their wine selection for the type of food served is easy & affordable.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

Dined on March 14, 2016

Great service, we were seated immediately upon arriving for our reservation and the food was terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service3

Good was great! Service was ok.

Dined on March 7, 2016

Good was great! Service was ok.

food5
ambience4
service4

The ambiance and the service were great. ...

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

The ambiance and the service were great. The pizza was really good!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Awesome Pizza

Dined on March 6, 2016

We have been to Olio many times and the pizza is always good. This time tried the carbonara pizza and it was especially great! Normally get the tropea pizza and that is our favorite. The classic bruschetta and squid ink calamari are our favorite appetizers. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Expensive and poor quality

Dined on February 28, 2016

We had the Calamari al nero, two pizzas and three beers and the bill came to over 80 dollars. The quality of the food was low, the buffalo mozarella pizza was suppose to have 'fresh buffalo mozzarella', but whatever cheese it came on it certainly was not 'fresh buffalo mozzarella'. The calamari al nero just tasted of deep-fried, there was no taste of the cuttlefish whatsoever. We will not be returning.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not your average pizza joint

Dined on February 28, 2016

If you're looking for a typical pizza place, this is not where you should go. Their pizzas have unusual topping combinations, but they ARE delicious. they also have wonderful salads & appetizers.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy Pizza

Dined on February 26, 2016

Pizza is delicious, as well as their calamari appetizer. Great service and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Pizzeria

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

I was in the mood for something other than pizza so I tried the fried cauliflower with aioli to start followed by the rotolo di spinaci e fontine. Both were GREAT! The rotolo absolutely melted in my mouth. One of the best pasta dishes I have had ever. (And that's saying a lot since I love Italian food!) Also they have Amorone by the glass which is hard to find. Wonderful, wonderful dinner. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The Pizza was some of the best! Don't dr ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

The Pizza was some of the best! Don't drink the water!

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service4

Consistently great food!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Consistently great food!

food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Great Go-to Restaurant

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food and service is great at this restaurant. It's a nice place to take vistors too. The tables are a bit close together and you can readily hear the conversation at the next table without trying.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We were there during a busy time. SBIF s ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

We were there during a busy time. SBIF so I expected it to be a little chaotic. Otherwise we love and enjoy every time at Olio Pizzeria

food5
ambience3
service3
value5

always a SB favorite

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Have been to Olio maybe 10 times in the past couple of years. Pro's…Best charcuterie selection and value we have had. Most places think charcuterie is a variety of bologna's and hard and common cheese. The bresola, speck and Prosciutto are terrific! they also have La tur and a fine robiola on the menu which are both rarities on many charcuterie menus. The appetizer menu is also very good for both quality and value…black ink calamari is a favorite. Pizza's are made in a wood fire oven which is actually gas powered which takes away a little of the flavor and crispness for the pizza's. Flavor combinations and ingredient quality is excellent! Must try the truffle oil dousing on any pizza ordered. Save room for the nutella crepes. Con's…the waitstaff has always been a little slow and not as crisp as it should be. had to repeatedly ask for server for additional drinks, and additional ordering. It always is far to hot inside. summer months are quite hot inside and our visit this past weekend also was very warm even given the 50 degree outside temp. Overall it is a favorite of ours while in SB.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Great food, bad service

Dined on February 6, 2016

I finally figured out why we don't come here more often. The food is fantastic -- we love the prosciutto/buffalo mozzarella app, and we've never had a pizza that wasn't right on point! This is Italian fare done right, and the authentic recipes and products impress. But why must the service always be so underwhelming? These guys act like they're too cool for school -- like you're holding them up -- making the overall experience feel rushed and generally unpleasant. They also do a poor job at explaining the menu and wine list. Too bad, because we love the chef/owners and because the caliber of the food demands it be served by much more competent people.

Tags: late-night find
food3
ambience3
service3

In the past tomatoe basil soup outstandi ...

vip
Dined on February 3, 2016

In the past tomatoe basil soup outstanding, not so this time-way too salty. Also, we would have had plenty of time to get to our performance had we been served in a timely manner. The pasta was cold, obviously done and waiting to be served.... They ended up coming one of two pastas.

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Less than mediocre experience

Dined on January 31, 2016

I have been here dozens of times. My parents like coming here when they visit. We are 100% Italian and fickle Italian food eaters but they enjoy this place. This time around was a huge disappointment. We were the 'forgotten' clients. Even though we were early to our 8 pm reservation they said they would call us when our table was ready at 8:20 PM we approached the hostess stand having noticed walk ins after us had been seated. They had forgotten about us. They said they were cleaning our table and within 7 minutes sat us upstairs at the corner table furthest from everything and table still being wiped down. Even though we ordered a starter, all our food arrived at the same time The pizza was soggy and just not a great experience overall.. My parents said that we should explore another place for their future visit.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Always Good

vip
Dined on January 26, 2016

This is the place for the best pizza in Santa Barbara. And practically everything else. Always good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service1

Been here several times and each time le ...

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

Been here several times and each time leave wanting to like it more than I actually have reason to... Food is good - not great - but solidly good. Wine list is good. Cocktails are good. But the room is hard and loud and always smells of bleach. Service is lackadaisical, at best. Actually got up from my table and walked over to the waiter (who was watching tv) to place a wine order... I think I'm ready to let this place go.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always Good

vip
Dined on January 21, 2016

Always delicious .....a salad, a carbonara pizza and a beer hit the spot every time. The dishes have very simple fresh ingredients and everything is very well prepared. This is a place I look forward to with every visit to Santa Barbara.

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was so so. The server was so so ...

Dined on January 21, 2016

The food was so so. The server was so so and more apt to say no to requests than yes. There was no NA beer. Come on now. Have some options for the non-drinkers. Beck's NA perhaps?

food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Great food

Dined on January 17, 2016

Delicious pizza, can't go here without ordering the Umbra. Always a good time.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect every time.

Dined on January 17, 2016

This is the fourth time I have visited Olio's Pizzeria in the last two years, 3 times for dinner and once for lunch. The food is always high quality and consistent with texture and flavor. The drinks are fantastic and don't forget about the desserts, they are so good. Sitting is tight and always make sure you make a reservation on the weekends. The price matches the quality of food your served. 2 bar drinks, one glass of wine, 2 hors d'oeuvres, one pizza, one dessert, two, very good, cappuccino's. about $95. All of it,,,,, wonderful.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Well worth the awkward introduction

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

The receptionist was absent for several minutes when we arrived (on time) for our reservation and the reception area was extremely chaotic and crowded, but once we got seated we had a very good experience. Our server, Nikki, was friendly and as sweet as could be, suggested a wine we were very happy with, and provided very good service. Salad and the sausage pizza were as advertized and terrific. All in all, very good quality and well prepared food and great table service at a fair price.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Authentic Italian Brick Oven Pizza and More!

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

Olio Pizzeria's food is delicious, the service excellent and the ambiance warm and inviting! The menu is authentic and the appetizers are amazing! We had traditional bruschetta and buratta with prociutto to start with then a margarita and tropea pizza for our entree. Fabulous!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.