About Olio Pizzeria

11 W. Victoria St., Ste. 21
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Olio Pizzeria, opened in July 2010, is a causal pizza bar/salumi bar/wine bar/full bar which was inspired by the myriad neighborhood pizzerie and enoteche (wine bars) found around the corner from just about every piazza in Italy. This idea began to take shape before Alberto and Elaine Morello even opened Olio e Limone Ristorante, their fine dining Italian restaurant next door, in 1999. Wine bars serving boutique salumi and formaggi are all the rage in Italy, as is a new regionalism which they are excited to share with you. Sicily is an emerging powerhouse, and touches of Sicilian food and wine delight their guests. You’ll also find exciting tastes from Campania and other emerging regions on their menus, wine and beer lists. Join Olio Pizzeria for private dining for up to 32, group dining, or send an inquiry regarding catering. Buon appetito!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Brunch & Lunch

Daily: 11:30am - 3:30pm

Dinner

Daily: 11:30am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
State

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 899-2699 ext. 2

Website:
http://www.oliopizzeria.com/

Catering:
Contact our Events Coordinator to plan your next catered event. Our pizzaioli (pizza cooks) will make Olio Pizzeria pizzas in your own outdoor wood-burning oven! Antipasti, salads, salumi, formaggi, dolci and more available as well.

Parking Details:
Lot Parking:
Santa Barbara City Parking Lot #5 (first 75 minutes free/paid for by downtown merchants, then $1.50/hr).

Street Parking:
After 6PM and all day Sunday, there is free street parking on Victoria Street in the green curb areas.

Alternate parking available at the Granada Garage (Anacapa x E. Anapamu Streets) and Teen Center lot (Chapala x W. Victoria Streets).

Executive Chef:
Alberto Morello

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining at Olio Pizzeria for up to 22 guests in the Terrazza Room and for up to 32 guests in the Taverna Room. Inquire at http://www.oliopizzeria.com/privategroup-dining/.

Fine Italian private dining for up to 40 guests in the Cucina Room next door at sister restaurant Olio e Limone Ristorante.

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: 8058992699x3

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Parma Ham Pizza
Pizza!
Squash Blossoms
Carmel Dessert
Fried Zuccini
Parma Pizza
Margherita Pizza with Burrata
Pizza rustica con cipolla di Tropea e olive siciliane
Asperagus
Margarita Pizza
Pizza Margherita
Margherita Pizza
Budino di Zuccehero di Canna
Margherita Pizze
Umbra pizza with black truffles
Americana Pizza- Hotdog Sausage, Fries And Cheese

Olio Pizzeria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

Fit for Foodies (36)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Great for Lunch (24)
See All
Good for Groups (23)
Kid-friendly (20)
Special Occasion (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Hot Spot (13)
Romantic (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Late-night Find (10)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
458 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I've never been to a restaurant where mo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I've never been to a restaurant where more things went wrong! First we were stopped on our way to sit by the bartender talking to the hostess which seemed like a long time...then we were seated by the back door which was propped open showing the alley. We sat for 20 minutes before anyone came to take drink order. When we did place our order we were brought the wrong drinks, then we ordered food, we were brought the wrong salad, when the bill came we given the wrong bill which was put through before we caught it which required another transaction to credit, then were brought the "correct" bill only it had about 3 items on there that we didn't have, waitress supposedly corrected mistake and husband signed the corrected bill only to see our statement this am that we were charged the original amount for the things we didn't eat! Now I'm going to have to call them and get it all straightened out. Food was good but not worth this hassle!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

In terms of pizza quality this restauran ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

In terms of pizza quality this restaurant is hit or miss. This time the hostess was incompetent. We had our name on her list but she just forgot us and we waited an hour for a table even though several were available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Great, fresh food that is not salty and ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great, fresh food that is not salty and meant to be enjoyed. Love the spicy olives!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We read the reviews and went to Olio Piz ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We read the reviews and went to Olio Pizzeria with our two ten year old children and all of us had a wonderful time! The place is absolutely charming, the wait staff (Alessio) was wonderful and the food was delicious. It's a home run.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place for great authentic Ital ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Love this place for great authentic Italian food, pizza and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I grew up in Italy and have a pretty hig ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I grew up in Italy and have a pretty high standard for pizza. I'd give this a 3 out 5 however this is as good as pizza can get in Santa Barbara. Yet, I find it pretty hard to justify spending $20 for 1 pizza (for 1 person). Staff is friendly and they have a really nice outdoor area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great pizzas! Fantastic service

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great pizzas!

Fantastic service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Very nice place with a good choice of pi ...

 
 (Wales)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Very nice place with a good choice of pizzas. Overall a bit pricey but good quality. Would have expected some more pasta dishes on the menu.

Tags: Child Friendly, Neighbourhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I am native Italian and Olio Pizzeria ha ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I am native Italian and Olio Pizzeria has the best pizza I have ever eaten in over 20 years I have been living here in USA. Cooked at perfection, without parts that are burned and parts that are soggy. I love the pizza "con vegetali" and the veggies are fresh, tasty, cooked "al dente".

Their beer "rosa" is outstanding and the ambience of the main floor is very cozy and with character. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We sat in the back patio -- stunning ven ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We sat in the back patio -- stunning venue.

But...

We had to wait 20 minutes for our drinks. 50 minutes after arriving our food order had not been taken. Waitress was very nice but extremely busy. we saw her twice in the first 30 minutes of our visit.

It's a shame because the food is great and we had been bragging to our family member visiting from out of town about Olio's excellence.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Love going here and we do go often. Very ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Love going here and we do go often. Very consistent with food and service. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Everything was fantastic. We started wit ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Everything was fantastic. We started with the calamari and ordered three pizzas. We shared the pizzas because we couldn't decide who had the best one.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is excellent for a Pizzeria Highly ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Food is excellent for a

Pizzeria

Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We were still talking about how good our ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We were still talking about how good our meal was the next day. On a whim I had ordered the tomato break soup which was amazing. The pizzas were very authentic Italian style and the room made us feel like we were in a little Italian hideaway. We will definitely eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Looking for the wonderful and tasty thin ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Looking for the wonderful and tasty thin crust pizza that one can eat all over Italy and found it here! Have been here many times and always enjoyed the salads and especially the pizzas. The crust is thin and has a great flavor and the toppings are outstanding. There is a generous wine and cocktail list--I recommend the Olio Margarita! Coming back with a large party to celebrate a big birthday!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great service, decent prices ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great food, great service, decent prices, and wonderful ambiance. The main improvement they could do is improve the air conditioning as during the summer it can get hot in there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pizza was good, not over the top gre ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The pizza was good, not over the top great. The carpaccio was the same. The service is hard to fairly rate because we were seated (at our request) out on the patio and turned out to be the only ones out there. So our service was not that good. We had to go in the restaurant to ask for things. But we know it is hard to maintain good service with a lone table out in the north forty. Our server was very nice and friendly though. Based on the food alone, we would give the place another try, but wouldn't rush back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Warm but with a cool vibe. Friendly hos ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Warm but with a cool vibe. Friendly host staff. The calamari is spectacular, the hype is real. Scott at the bar was very helpful and makes great drinks. I have already recommended Olio Pizzeria to friends visiting Santa Barbara.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all enjoyed the food, service, ambian ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We all enjoyed the food, service, ambiance - great night. Thanks

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was our second visit to OP and we c ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was our second visit to OP and we continue to be impressed, particularly with the service. Although I think their drink pours are a bit stingy, the bartender, as before, was pleasant and accommodating. I guess in SB if you want a real drink, go to Harry's. The food was excellent. Zucchini flowers molto bene! The menu stresses pizza and they do it well. Our server was most attentive and efficient. Overall, our dining experience started off a very nice evening at the symphony.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a very good restaurant with terr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

This is a very good restaurant with terrific pizza. Service is good and it has a casual and cheerful ambiance. The wine markup is very high, even by Santa Barbara standards. It makes a casual evening out a more expensive meal than it ought to be. Terrific food but more expensive overall than I thought it would be, especially as it's an alternative to the pricy Olio e Limone next door. As long as you know, you won't be surprised. Overall, great food and fun atmosphere. A real find.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Pizza here is very good, thin crust and ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Pizza here is very good, thin crust and well prepared. Prices for pizza are $15 - $21 range

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great pizza...best in Santa Barbara. Ni ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great pizza...best in Santa Barbara. Nice, relaxed ambiance with great salads, vino & good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and even greater food. Piz ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great service and even greater food. Pizza was amazing! Will be going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I've been here with friends, on date nig ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I've been here with friends, on date night, girls' night, and with my baby. It's accommodating for everyone. It's trendy and romantic. A bit loud inside sometimes but they have a new outdoor patio. The wine list is long and has some great options, especially some great Italian wines. There's also a delicious specialty cocktail list with barrel aged liquor. The pizzas are so good. Our favorites are the umbra and the carbonara but every one is good. The salads are light and fresh and they have wonderful appetizers. The shrimp is my favorite. The meatballs are also very good and my toddler liked them too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I went for dinner with two couples. Ther ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I went for dinner with two couples. There was a melon and prociutto appetizer on a bed of arugula that was outstanding! I wish they would make it a regular item on the menu!

We shared the Umbra pizza and the four cheese pizza. Delicious as always. I was pleasantly surprised to be seated outside! I never knew Olio had outdoor dining!

Loved it all from start to finish!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to OP with the intention of havi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We went to OP with the intention of having a small meal before attending a local concert. We started with drinks at the bar and especially commend the bartenders not only for their expertise in mixology but their easy manner with their customers! Our meal was a pizza, prepared very nicely, prefaced with baked artichoke hearts. Unfortunately, the hearts came with an unexpected human hair accoutrement. We brought this to the attention of our server who, very professionally, recognized it immediately, apologized, offered a replacement and, in lieu of that, an adjustment to our bill. Even with this slight inconvenience, we found OP a definite place to which we will return regularly and recommend it highly to fellow Open Table members.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Best pizza in town, the "Umbra" is a spe ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Best pizza in town, the "Umbra" is a special treat with black truffles...most authentic Italian food you'll find! One of the very few places to serve rapini (a bitter green in the broccoli family) - one of my favorite foods. Take it from a food snob - you won't be disappointed with anything on their menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is the second time we have been in ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This is the second time we have been in Santa Barbara and the second for Olio.

There's no disappointment in this little gem.

The place is always vibrant and the food is exactly what you want for casual Italian dining.

Staff is attentive, fun and if you like, a little sassy in a nice way.

The wine list is just a nice size with a perfect selection of treats to tempt you.

The GM even stopped by to say hello.

Make a reservation and put Olio pizzeria on your list. You won't regret it .

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pizza is delicious!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The pizza is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This a great spot. Love the food that i ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

This a great spot. Love the food that is very creative in a casual atmosphere. Relax and enjoy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our waiter, Alessio, was great. The pizz ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Our waiter, Alessio, was great. The pizza was amazing. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid gourmet pizzeria

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

No real complaints about the place. Food, service, and prices were all on point without being either remarkable or disappointing. I would definitely recommend this as a reasonably-priced spot to take a date or family for dinner when on State Street for the night!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent pizza and wonderful service.

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Excellent pizza and wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tasty and a bit chilly

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We paired a fun pizza combo of mozzarella, parmesan and pancetta on a tasty thin artisanal crust along with a chopped antipasto salad. We also enjoyed a bottle of Italian red wine.

On the downside we were seated next to the patio door which constantly welcomed gusts of cold, damp air. Also, it is loud and crowded- not good for low level conversations at all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I had the gluten free pizza - it was jus ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

I had the gluten free pizza - it was just ok. Certainly not worth $5 extra.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Our favorite pizza place. The best crust ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our favorite pizza place. The best crust. Great flavor and love the extra cup of oregano and crushed red pepper. Great wine choices. Love for lunch with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food and wine was excellent, but th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Good food and wine was excellent, but the service was just okay. Our waitress only checked on us twice throughout the meal and my husband even asked our friends once, "Have you seen the waitress lately?" His drink had run dry. An otherwise perfect experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fast service, great food!

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Fast service, great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent, authentic Italian cuisine. L ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Excellent, authentic Italian cuisine. Lively atmosphere and great choices of beers and wines.

Staff is attentive and service is very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.