About Olio Pizzeria

11 W. Victoria St., Ste. 21
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Olio Pizzeria, opened in July 2010, is a causal pizza bar/salumi bar/wine bar/full bar which was inspired by the myriad neighborhood pizzerie and enoteche (wine bars) found around the corner from just about every piazza in Italy. This idea began to take shape before Alberto and Elaine Morello even opened Olio e Limone Ristorante, their fine dining Italian restaurant next door, in 1999. Wine bars serving boutique salumi and formaggi are all the rage in Italy, as is a new regionalism which they are excited to share with you. Sicily is an emerging powerhouse, and touches of Sicilian food and wine delight their guests. You’ll also find exciting tastes from Campania and other emerging regions on their menus, wine and beer lists. Join Olio Pizzeria for private dining for up to 32, group dining, or send an inquiry regarding catering. Buon appetito!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Pizzeria, Italian, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Brunch & Lunch

Daily: 11:30am - 3:30pm

Dinner

Daily: 11:30am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
State

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 899-2699 ext. 2

Website:
http://www.oliopizzeria.com/

Catering:
Contact our Events Coordinator to plan your next catered event. Our pizzaioli (pizza cooks) will make Olio Pizzeria pizzas in your own outdoor wood-burning oven! Antipasti, salads, salumi, formaggi, dolci and more available as well.

Parking Details:
Lot Parking:
Santa Barbara City Parking Lot #5 (first 75 minutes free/paid for by downtown merchants, then $1.50/hr).

Street Parking:
After 6PM and all day Sunday, there is free street parking on Victoria Street in the green curb areas.

Alternate parking available at the Granada Garage (Anacapa x E. Anapamu Streets) and Teen Center lot (Chapala x W. Victoria Streets).

Executive Chef:
Alberto Morello

Private Party Facilities:
Private dining at Olio Pizzeria for up to 22 guests in the Terrazza Room and for up to 32 guests in the Taverna Room. Inquire at http://www.oliopizzeria.com/privategroup-dining/.

Fine Italian private dining for up to 40 guests in the Cucina Room next door at sister restaurant Olio e Limone Ristorante.

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: 8058992699x3

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Parma Ham Pizza
Pizza!
Fried Zuccini
Squash Blossoms
Carmel Dessert
Parma Pizza
Margherita Pizza with Burrata
Pizza rustica con cipolla di Tropea e olive siciliane
Asperagus
Margarita Pizza
Pizza Margherita
Margherita Pizza
Budino di Zuccehero di Canna
Margherita Pizze
Umbra pizza with black truffles
Americana Pizza- Hotdog Sausage, Fries And Cheese

Olio Pizzeria Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

fit for foodies (38)
neighborhood gem (23)
good for groups (21)
See All
great for lunch (18)
kid-friendly (16)
notable wine list (16)
hot spot (15)
vibrant bar scene (11)
special occasion (10)
late-night find (10)
romantic (7)
great for outdoor dining (7)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
432 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to OP with the intention of havi ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

We went to OP with the intention of having a small meal before attending a local concert. We started with drinks at the bar and especially commend the bartenders not only for their expertise in mixology but their easy manner with their customers! Our meal was a pizza, prepared very nicely, prefaced with baked artichoke hearts. Unfortunately, the hearts came with an unexpected human hair accoutrement. We brought this to the attention of our server who, very professionally, recognized it immediately, apologized, offered a replacement and, in lieu of that, an adjustment to our bill. Even with this slight inconvenience, we found OP a definite place to which we will return regularly and recommend it highly to fellow Open Table members.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best pizza in town, the "Umbra" is a spe ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Best pizza in town, the "Umbra" is a special treat with black truffles...most authentic Italian food you'll find! One of the very few places to serve rapini (a bitter green in the broccoli family) - one of my favorite foods. Take it from a food snob - you won't be disappointed with anything on their menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time we have been in ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

This is the second time we have been in Santa Barbara and the second for Olio. There's no disappointment in this little gem. The place is always vibrant and the food is exactly what you want for casual Italian dining. Staff is attentive, fun and if you like, a little sassy in a nice way. The wine list is just a nice size with a perfect selection of treats to tempt you. The GM even stopped by to say hello. Make a reservation and put Olio pizzeria on your list. You won't regret it .

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The pizza is delicious!

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

The pizza is delicious!

food4
ambience4
service4

This a great spot. Love the food that i ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

This a great spot. Love the food that is very creative in a casual atmosphere. Relax and enjoy.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter, Alessio, was great. The pizz ...

vip
Dined on June 8, 2016

Our waiter, Alessio, was great. The pizza was amazing. Love this place!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Solid gourmet pizzeria

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

No real complaints about the place. Food, service, and prices were all on point without being either remarkable or disappointing. I would definitely recommend this as a reasonably-priced spot to take a date or family for dinner when on State Street for the night!

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent pizza and wonderful service.

Dined on June 3, 2016

Excellent pizza and wonderful service.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Tasty and a bit chilly

Dined on June 3, 2016

We paired a fun pizza combo of mozzarella, parmesan and pancetta on a tasty thin artisanal crust along with a chopped antipasto salad. We also enjoyed a bottle of Italian red wine. On the downside we were seated next to the patio door which constantly welcomed gusts of cold, damp air. Also, it is loud and crowded- not good for low level conversations at all.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2

I had the gluten free pizza - it was jus ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

I had the gluten free pizza - it was just ok. Certainly not worth $5 extra.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite pizza place. The best crust ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Our favorite pizza place. The best crust. Great flavor and love the extra cup of oregano and crushed red pepper. Great wine choices. Love for lunch with friends.

food5
ambience4
service4

Good food and wine was excellent, but th ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Good food and wine was excellent, but the service was just okay. Our waitress only checked on us twice throughout the meal and my husband even asked our friends once, "Have you seen the waitress lately?" His drink had run dry. An otherwise perfect experience!

food5
ambience5
service5

Fast service, great food!

Dined on May 26, 2016

Fast service, great food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, authentic Italian cuisine. L ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Excellent, authentic Italian cuisine. Lively atmosphere and great choices of beers and wines. Staff is attentive and service is very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Was fantastic

Dined on May 9, 2016

Was fantastic

food4
ambience2
service3
value4

The Noise Level is Insane!

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food is very good. However, I've just about had it with the noise level. It is the noisiest restaurant I have ever been in, bar none. In some areas of the place it is almost impossible to carry on a conversation across a small table. I have eaten here several times and it's ok at lunch but in the evening, the noise makes it impossible to have a relaxing, convivial dinner. The noise is the result of ordinary conversations conducted at ordinary levels, not music. Over time, people are just going to stop going there if this situation isn't corrected somehow.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Italian style pizza. Thin crust, c ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great Italian style pizza. Thin crust, cooked right. Umbra was yummy though I prefer with a little marinara, which they were happy to bring to the table.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious pizza and great ambiance

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Delicious pizza and great ambiance

food3
ambience1
service2
value3

Don't dine upstairs!

Dined on April 28, 2016

Love the atmosphere of this place, the lively, energetic vibe.... that is unless they seat you upstairs. It is deadly dull. Despite making a reservation a week in advance we were told there was nothing available on the main floor and quickly hustled upstairs to the attic-like space..... where only one other unlucky party was dining the entire night. It is not a very inviting, invigorating space to say the least. On top of that, the server seemed to be in a rush to get us out of there. Definitely not the typical enjoyable dining experience we've come to enjoy here.

food5
ambience5
service5

Lots to choose from and very good

Dined on April 10, 2016

Lots to choose from and very good

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great gourmet pizza

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Delicious as always...great appetizers, gourmet pizza and all around authentic Italian flavors & preparation

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

Dined on April 4, 2016

Loved the pizza. Also order the squid ink calamari and butterscotch pudding. Yum!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Really outstanding

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great pizza, the best seafood pizza ever found in US, really outstanding place and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Midiocre food nothing special

Dined on March 25, 2016

Pizzas we ordered were midiocre and octopus appetizer was fishy. Red wind I ordered was cold and crape I ordered was only split of Nutella with nothing else on it, but they charge $9 for that. Service was ok. I would not go back. This place is not Itlaian restaurant enough and I think they are way too expensive.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. They were accomm ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Great food and service. They were accommodating to a party of 8 last minute. Loved every bit of the experience. Glad we came.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellllllent!

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Excellent every time. The best pie in town, and that butter scotch pudding is a dream come true...ammmmmazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Best Pizza Crust Ever!

Dined on March 19, 2016

My wife and I found this restaurant last December and now whenever we visit Santa Barbara we make sure it is on our list of "must go" eating establishments. They have excellent salads and the pizza has the BEST crust I have ever had. Our personal favorite is the "Diavola pizza." YUM! It's a little noisier than I like for dinner, but it is a great venue for lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome pizza

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

We've come back several times since moving to Santa Barbara and the flavor, quality and consistency of the pizza and salads is fantastic...about as authentic as you can get! Their wine selection for the type of food served is easy & affordable.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

Dined on March 14, 2016

Great service, we were seated immediately upon arriving for our reservation and the food was terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service3

Good was great! Service was ok.

Dined on March 7, 2016

Good was great! Service was ok.

food5
ambience4
service4

The ambiance and the service were great. ...

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

The ambiance and the service were great. The pizza was really good!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Awesome Pizza

Dined on March 6, 2016

We have been to Olio many times and the pizza is always good. This time tried the carbonara pizza and it was especially great! Normally get the tropea pizza and that is our favorite. The classic bruschetta and squid ink calamari are our favorite appetizers. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Expensive and poor quality

Dined on February 28, 2016

We had the Calamari al nero, two pizzas and three beers and the bill came to over 80 dollars. The quality of the food was low, the buffalo mozarella pizza was suppose to have 'fresh buffalo mozzarella', but whatever cheese it came on it certainly was not 'fresh buffalo mozzarella'. The calamari al nero just tasted of deep-fried, there was no taste of the cuttlefish whatsoever. We will not be returning.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not your average pizza joint

Dined on February 28, 2016

If you're looking for a typical pizza place, this is not where you should go. Their pizzas have unusual topping combinations, but they ARE delicious. they also have wonderful salads & appetizers.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy Pizza

Dined on February 26, 2016

Pizza is delicious, as well as their calamari appetizer. Great service and food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Pizzeria

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

I was in the mood for something other than pizza so I tried the fried cauliflower with aioli to start followed by the rotolo di spinaci e fontine. Both were GREAT! The rotolo absolutely melted in my mouth. One of the best pasta dishes I have had ever. (And that's saying a lot since I love Italian food!) Also they have Amorone by the glass which is hard to find. Wonderful, wonderful dinner. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The Pizza was some of the best! Don't dr ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

The Pizza was some of the best! Don't drink the water!

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service4

Consistently great food!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Consistently great food!

food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Great Go-to Restaurant

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food and service is great at this restaurant. It's a nice place to take vistors too. The tables are a bit close together and you can readily hear the conversation at the next table without trying.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We were there during a busy time. SBIF s ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

We were there during a busy time. SBIF so I expected it to be a little chaotic. Otherwise we love and enjoy every time at Olio Pizzeria

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.