About Olio e Limone Ristorante

11 W Victoria St, Ste 17
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Olio e Limone Ristorante, located in downtown Santa Barbara's historic arts district, serves artisanal Zagat-rated Italian cuisine. Meaning “oil and lemon” in Italian, their restaurant’s name reflects husband-wife team Alberto and Elaine Morello’s philosophy: rely on the integrity of the ingredients and quality of the preparation to provide Santa Barbara diners “simply sophisticated” Italian cuisine served in an inviting atmosphere with European hospitality. Start with burrata salad or white Mediterranean anchovies, then tuck into a plate of house-made ravioli filled with roasted eggplant and goat cheese, topped with a fresh tomato and basil sauce and shaved ricotta salata. And be sure to take home a bottle of their own olio, an organic extra-virgin olive oil made from Sicilian olive varieties. Private dining in the Cucina Room for up to 40 guests. Bonus: their pizza bar, salumi bar, wine bar and full bar next door at Olio Pizzeria, with private dining for up to 32 guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm -10:00pm

Cross Street:
State

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 899-2699 ext. 1

Website:
http://www.olioelimone.com/

Catering:
Whether you are planning a wedding, birthday or holiday event, or perhaps a family, social, business or philanthropic gathering, our experienced kitchen and wait staff will help make your special event memorable.
We custom-create catering menus for each of our guest's events to accommodate various needs, tastes, and budgets. Contact Olio e Limone Ristorante Events Coordinator at info@olioelimone.com or (805) 899-2699, Option 3.

Parking Details:
Lot Parking:
Santa Barbara City Parking Lot #5 (first 75 minutes free/paid for by downtown merchants, then $1.50/hr).

Executive Chef:
Alberto Morello

Private Party Facilities:
Olio e Limone Ristorante provides exclusive authentic Italian Private Dining in the Cucina Room for up to 40 guests. Casual Italian private dining available next door at Olio Pizzeria (Terrazza Room and Taverna Room) for up to 32 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: 8058992699x3

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Carbonara
Risotto Nero With Squid And Squid Ink
Burrata salad
Wide ribbon pasta with fresh Dungeness crabmeat, prawn and spicy tomato sauce
Tagliolini Aglio Olio
Chocolate Banana Bread Pudding
Sliced beef tenderloin over thin potato tart with arugula, shaved parmesan and truffle oil
Chocolate Banana Bread Pudding With Vanilla Gelato
Lemon Tarte
Pizza
Fiorellini Di Melanzane
Fruit And Cheese Plate

Olio e Limone Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
California Central Coast
Italian
California Central Coast
Best Overall
Santa Barbara
6 More
Best Service
Santa Barbara
Fit for Foodies
Santa Barbara
Notable Wine List
Santa Barbara
Romantic
Santa Barbara
Special Occasion
Santa Barbara
Most Booked
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

Fit for Foodies (69)
Special Occasion (67)
Romantic (61)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Notable Wine List (39)
Good for Groups (23)
Great for Lunch (21)
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Cozy (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Business Meals (4)
Authentic (3)
Casual (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Historic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Scenic View (1)
Private Room (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
591 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A wonderful dining experience. Fantastic ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

A wonderful dining experience. Fantastic service, ambience, food and drink. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an excellent dining experience. ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had an excellent dining experience. The food and service was first rate as was the location and ambiance of this romantic, friendly restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I have visited Olio a number ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My wife and I have visited Olio a number of times, both the restaurant and the pizzeria. We have always been pleased by the choice. We recently celebrated my wife's birthday. As usual the meal was superb. We chose from the daily specials as well as the regular menu. Great attention was paid to everything from the complimentary bread/oil/olives to the main courses. I had let the restaurant know of the special occasion and their attention (and dessert) made it so. I do need to point out that the service was extraordinary

I should note that a few years ago my wife and I chose Olio to host a dinner for 10 friends when we were celebrating another special occasion. We will no doubt do the same at some point in future.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best veal Marsala I have ever eaten. ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The best veal Marsala I have ever eaten. Absolutely delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I asked for a substitute risotto instead ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I asked for a substitute risotto instead of potatoes. They brought me undercooked risotto and forgot the other vegetables that were included in the dinner. I've always had a stellar experience here until recently. I'll opt for another standby quality restaurant instead from now on. When I told the waiter about the crunchy risotto he did offer to bring me something else, but we were all finished with our meals by that time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value5

Beautiful room. Food mediocre and overpr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Beautiful room. Food mediocre and overpriced. Very disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

I guess I must be missing something beca ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I guess I must be missing something because this restaurant seems like a lot of pomp and hype but fell a little flat. Not in the service and the ambiance, mind you. They were on point. The food seemed a little too old school Italian for the price. The ingredients weren't given a chance to shine in a few of these dishes. Before you go on about "authentic" etc, understand that it's 2016, not 1978. Classic Italian specialties don't need to be so heavy that you'll only dine with friends in the medical professions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

This is our favorite restaurant in Santa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in Santa Barbara. The food is always great as is the service. It's quite cute, great wine. Fabulous desserts. I'm a pasta lover but my husband had the veal chop and loved it and our two friends enjoyed their loupe de mer and another pasta dish.

Try it, you'll love it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We escaped a hectic work day and used Ub ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We escaped a hectic work day and used Uber to the restaurant. The excellent service wand hitch allowed us to linger over every course was a great blend with the excellent h housemate ravioli. The wine was Louie good and affordable. It was a lovely 3 hour dinner that let us relax and forget our day.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent meal and attentive, personal s ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Excellent meal and attentive, personal service made for a memorable dining experience. Really enjoyable evening.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stayed at the Lavendar Inn and Peter ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We stayed at the Lavendar Inn and Peter recommended Olio e Limon and Toma. We decided on Olio since our friends we were with tried Toma last time. We were very happy with the location, service, ambiance and most importantly...the food! We had the duck ravioli's in mushroom sauce and they were excellent. We took our own bottle of wine and they kindly corked it for us. Overall a great dining experience and will definitely go back again

Tags: Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pricy and excellent restaurant. A specia ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Pricy and excellent restaurant. A special dining experience. You won't find quail, duck filled ravioli, or the excellent gnocchi just anywhere! We brought our own wines so we didn't try the wine list. The food is excellent and the service was fantastic. Very attentive waiter who brought different wine glasses for our pairings. Don't go expecting a bargain, but go to enjoy amazing food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was top quality as was the serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was top quality as was the service......this is a fun restaurant and one where can count on a delicious dinner.........truely Italian!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Restrained pleasant ambience, , multiple ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Restrained pleasant ambience, , multiple glasses and white tablecloths on view. Well sourced and authentic ingredients simply but skillfully prepared, just what an Italian restaurant should be. Service was attentive and not intrusive.Started next door at their crudo bar to enjoy an aperitif and a beautifully prepared sashimi style appetiser. A wonderful evening!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Another wonderful meal at Olio, everythi ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Another wonderful meal at Olio, everything was perfect as usual, and pretty quick considering it was a Saturday night!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great and to quote my husband t ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was great and to quote my husband the pork loin dish was the best he had in a long while. We also loved the deserts (pana cota and the pear tart with icecream). We will definitely return when we get back in town.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of Santa Barbara's finest re ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This is one of Santa Barbara's finest restaurants! Incredible menu, wine list, and special details like a variety of olives that compliment your crusty Italian bread and olive oil.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing experience. The special fi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Disappointing experience. The special fish Branzini came filleted with bones in every bite. The special pasta was a mini ravioli that had so filling just hard little bits of dough. The salad was perfect but all the main courses were expensive and seriously flawed. Will not repeat the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5

food is as good as being in Italy, excel ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

food is as good as being in Italy, excellent in every way!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service at Olio e Limone is ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food and service at Olio e Limone is always great. What is not so great is their policy of not quoting prices on their specials when they describe them to you and which turn out to be grossly overpriced relative to similar on-menu items. This is laid on you as a "surprise" when you get the bill. This is a very customer-unfriendly practice. You should not be put in an embarrassing position of having to ask what the price is on a special; they should simply state it.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife's glass of wine was served with ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

My wife's glass of wine was served with two flies taking a swim. Although the server replaced the wine there was not even an apology. The food was mediocre and far too spicy. The service was substandard, and the value for money was simply not worth it. We felt the reviews were far too generous for this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Some of the best food I've ever eaten. O ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Some of the best food I've ever eaten. OUTSTANDING!!! Absolutely fantastic wine list and their cocktails are second to none.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the best in Santa Barbara. Many g ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

One of the best in Santa Barbara. Many great choices. Pricey wine list so bring you own. The waitress was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Lamb chops were incredible

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Lamb chops were incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had five entries which ranged from fa ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We had five entries which ranged from fair to very good. However the staff rushed us as they were not busy and wanted to close. Our reservation was for 800pm, not very late. Staff could have been friendlier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Condescending server-possibly because we ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Condescending server-possibly because we were 2 middle aged women and a teenage girl.

Never checked on our water, or how we were enjoying the food.

Varied menu, but three of us were really not impressed with food quality/flavor.

Atmosphere was very nice......

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Overall good. We were the only table the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Overall good. We were the only table there at 9:30pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

May be it was a substitute chef that nig ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

May be it was a substitute chef that night but what is for sure , is that the meal we had was not worth the price we paid. We were a party of three and none of us liked our meal . My pasta was too bland, my friend's pasta was so spicy you could not taste the seafood and our other companion's pasta was so rich she could only eat a bite or two. The salad was wilted and the chocolate bread pudding had a weird consistency and was pretty tasteless. This is an expensive restaurant and I would not go there again at any price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Consistent food !!! consistent service o ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Consistent food !!! consistent service one of the best *3* restaurants in California!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Outstanding food and impeccable service. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Outstanding food and impeccable service.

We ordered tomato basil and mozzarella salad, special pasta with short rib ragu and the salmon special all done to perfection. Our waiter was both helpful and knowledgeable with our selections.

Our only complaint was the cramped size of tables for two. It is definitely a return destination for my wife and me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, service and atmosphere . ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent food, service and atmosphere ... highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service. We went not knowing ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent service. We went not knowing what to expect. What a pleasant surprise! This is the kind of place we like to celebrate birthdays at. While it was an expensive "Friday night dinner with friends,". We now feel Ike we have a new special occasion restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been going there for over 15 yea ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We have been going there for over 15 years and has never had a bad meal!

Thank you to Elaine and Alberto and all the wonderful Staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorites. The food ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This is one of our favorites. The food is consistently great !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality and preparation are outstanding. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Quality and preparation are outstanding........per usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a magnificent meal and their menu ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had a magnificent meal and their menu is extensive with many rare items. and various pasta and meat dishes. The service was good, but we were next to a rather noisy group of 6 and it was hard to chat over their volume. Great location to eat before theatre performances in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Olio e Limone is my favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Olio e Limone is my favorite restaurant in Santa Barbara. I love bringing people here who have never been because it is very unassuming from the outside, the inside is very simple with white table clothes then you taste the food which is neither-the food is amazing! The servers are attentive without hovering and the presentation is gorgeous. This is the kind of place you tend to linger over coffee and dessert because it is that good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our friends loved their meal. My wife an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our friends loved their meal. My wife and I did not. Salad was so so. Our entre of crab/prawn spicy tomato sauce over pasta was too dry. Deserts were fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Very nice atmosphere. It did take a long ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very nice atmosphere. It did take a long time to be served we noticed. The pumpkin ravioli very small portion. My special of squid ink pasta and seafood was perfect. Very lovely evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.