Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Olio e Limone Ristorante

Olio e Limone Ristorante, located in downtown Santa Barbara's historic arts district, serves artisanal Zagat-rated Italian cuisine. Meaning “oil and lemon” in Italian, their restaurant’s name reflects husband-wife team Alberto and Elaine Morello’s philosophy: rely on the integrity of the ingredients and quality of the preparation to provide Santa Barbara diners “simply sophisticated” Italian cuisine served in an inviting atmosphere with European hospitality. Start with burrata salad or white Mediterranean anchovies, then tuck into a plate of house-made ravioli filled with roasted eggplant and goat cheese, topped with a fresh tomato and basil sauce and shaved ricotta salata. And be sure to take home a bottle of their own olio, an organic extra-virgin olive oil made from Sicilian olive varieties. Private dining in the Cucina Room for up to 40 guests. Bonus: their pizza bar, salumi bar, wine bar and full bar next door at Olio Pizzeria, with private dining for up to 32 guests.

11 W Victoria St, Ste 17
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm -10:00pm

Cross Street:
State

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 899-2699 ext. 1

Website:
http://www.olioelimone.com/

Catering:
Whether you are planning a wedding, birthday or holiday event, or perhaps a family, social, business or philanthropic gathering, our experienced kitchen and wait staff will help make your special event memorable.
We custom-create catering menus for each of our guest's events to accommodate various needs, tastes, and budgets. Contact Olio e Limone Ristorante Events Coordinator at info@olioelimone.com or (805) 899-2699, Option 3.

Parking Details:
Lot Parking:
Santa Barbara City Parking Lot #5 (first 75 minutes free/paid for by downtown merchants, then $1.50/hr).

Executive Chef:
Alberto Morello

Private Party Facilities:
Olio e Limone Ristorante provides exclusive authentic Italian Private Dining in the Cucina Room for up to 40 guests. Casual Italian private dining available next door at Olio Pizzeria (Terrazza Room and Taverna Room) for up to 32 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: (805) 899-2699 ext. 3

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Olio e Limone Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Good for a Date (43)
Fit for Foodies (38)
See All
Romantic (35)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Authentic (30)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Notable Wine List (25)
Business Meals (24)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Cozy (21)
Good for Groups (18)
Worth the Drive (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Casual (9)
Comfort Food (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Private Room (5)
Seasonal (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Fun (3)
Great Beer (3)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vegan (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
780 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Here they have an absolutely wonderful wine list with lots of varieties. As for the food, I want to say the bread is very good because even my 8 month old baby enjoys it :) but the spotlight is my squid ink risotto, tasty, yummy, very homy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Delicious! Found a winner! Gourmet!
Will be back again and again !

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Awesome food and great service. A must go to for a fantastic meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Olio e limone never disappoints. Been coming here for 8 years, never anything but spectacular. I only go to restaurant that can prepare food better than me and I was raised in a foodie family. Doesn't matter what pasta you order, always amazing. Fish and chicken the same. Try it all. Can't go wrong.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Always a lovely experience, although it was more memorable last time. Could have been because it was a holiday weekend and very crowded.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Food is always excellent and so is the service. Our 1st choice for special occasions!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Exceptional food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 29, 2017

This establishment has it all together. Beautiful atmosphere, friendly and attentive service, a wonderfully varied menu and excellent food preparation. Did I mention reasonable prices?!? We met friends that we had not seen for some time and spent nearly three hours having a wonderful meal with a server who thoughtfully recognized that we needed little attention but definitely appreciated getting our water glasses refilled. My wife commented that her pasta, a spinach and cheese ravioli was the best she had ever tasted. All of us loved the flavor of the food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Very disappointed in the quality of the food and the service. Our meals looked unappetizing and tasted mediocre. Hard to get a waiter's attention even though the restaurant was not even a third filled. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Its a very comfortable space; can accommodate groups and couples without having tables too close together. The special cod dish was fresh and delicious with asparagus and a very light lemon sauce. The veal chop is both large and flavorful. We enjoyed the service which was not rushed, especially nice when you are celebrating.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Unique southern Italian cuisine that is sure to please. Fresh and delicious entrees that have the highest quality ingredients that are well crafted and beautifully presented.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Very nice, elegant, simple, small restaurant. Excellent staff and service, wonderful dishes for many tastes. Celebrated father's day here, but it's a great place for a date or any other occasion, including everyday dining, depends what you like and can afford. I would come back here another time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had reservations for 5 on Saturday evening during UCSB graduation weekend. Seated promptly; the restaurant was very crowded but service excellent. Our waiter was very charming and knowledgeable. This is more of an old fashioned spot--more traditional Italian. Everyone enjoyed their meals (we had a vegetarian and some other food allergies in our group) and there was more than plenty to choose from. Excellent wines; we had a CA pinot and an Italian Barolo, both excellent. Desserts (which we rarely order when dining out) were special--creme brulee was perfect and a very generous portion; lemon tart excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had a lovely dinner after UCSB graduation. These are pros, who enjoy what they do. Be prepared to drop some dollars, then relax and have fun.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Vegan, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We went to Olio e Limone to celebrate my son's graduation from UCSB. I was not disappointed! The service was top notch, atmosphere classy yet lively, and the dishes nicely presented. The food was very good, but didn't knock our socks off - which was fine, as everything else was great!

We started our evening off with beer/cocktails in their bar/pizzeria next door. Italian beers on tap and a nice assortment of craft cocktails.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Very nicely decorated Restaurant serving very nice authentic and sophisticated Italian food. Perfect for larger groups as we were celebrating our son's graduation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Another great meal at Olio e Limone! We always put this on our dining list when we drive up from L.A. to Santa Barbara. We have never been disappointed, and, in fact, have been delighted with the ambiance, service and the food.

I had my favorite pasta dish with fettucine, morel mushrooms, asparagus and light cream. I look forward to ordering it whenever we dine here. Highly recommend to all locals and visitors.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great food with wonderful service. Charming, intimate ambiance with excellent service and delicious food. I couldn't decide between a yummy ravioli dish and pasta carbonara, so our fab waiter suggested a combo of both. What a great idea and both dishes really hit the spot . Yum! My sister had short ribs and raved about how tender and delicious they were. We shared cannoli for dessert, which had two huge cannoli and, though we were pretty full already, we scarfed them up. Highly recommend Olio e Limone.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 12, 2017

The restaurant is top notch. Our waiter was fantastic. He was engaging and helped us to understand the menu and specials and guided us through a wonderful evening.
Very good wine list especially Italian Wines.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Margaret Singer a dear, dear friend, celebrated her 96th Birthday, at Olio, June 11th! She is a vegetarian and they fixed her a feast. The vegies were roasted to perfection! The waiters are personable and kind. Lucky for us we had Dan, Refugio, and Cleo. It was a magical night for her. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We all had 'happy plates' - very delicious. Our first time there - for some unknown reason we had never been

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Loved the authentic Italian flavors and the great ambiance at this little gem. The wine list was accessible and fun, and it was a delight to see my two favorites (Gavi and Soave) on the menu. We split pastas and main dishes at our table and were thrilled with portions, quality, and taste. The steak and roasted potatoes and quail were particular standouts. The lemon tart for dessert though... a little one note. BUT... I will be back and will always recommend this lovely restaurant!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 5, 2017

This was always our go-to for special or any occasions. But the food quality has diminished exponentially in recent years, maybe since owner Elaine left the front and back of the house? Veal was over salted (poor baby calf), Pasta Carbonara was pleasant but under-seasoned. Complimentary olives and burata & prosciutto appetizer were good. But not worth a revisit. Very Sad, after all these loyal years.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food was hit or miss - the carbonara was excellent but the cavatelli and sausage was very average. Our waiter also had a bad attitude but overall the place was super cute and we had a nice meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Always excellent food. A bit noisy.
Quality food and wine

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 2, 2017

This is a wonderful restaurant with authentic Italian food!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Fabulous authentic Italian cuisine. Service is outstanding. Highly recommend!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Food is excellent and place is very nice. Price is a bit on the high side.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Very overrated. Limited menu, average Italian. They were overbooked and the waiter was stressed. They charge $5 to split a meal which to me, signifies poor service. Any fine dining restaurant will do this for me. I will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 28, 2017

My in laws gave us a gift card. We went befor a concert at the bowl and it was fabulous! The bar menu is spectacular. Service was wonderful. Appetizer and meals were delicious. They recognized we were going to a concert so they didn't rush us, but kept us as a good pace to make sure we left in a timely manner and had plenty of time to make the show. It was a keen awareness many places lack. We appreciated it!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

This is our favorite place to dine when we're in Santa Barbara. Just love the whole feel... and we've tried a lot of SB restaurants!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Delicious as always! Great service, excellent food and wine.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants to go to. Sadly on Mother's Day they dropped the ball. Probably the worst service we have ever ever had! We will probably go there again but it was unfortunate as we had brought family from out of town to dine there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wonderful food, attentive staff. Authentic Italian.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was very good. But the service, especially for the prices, was abominabily slow and the servers were haughty. The last time we ate there we had the same experience, but we thought we would give it another chance. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner for our anniversary. The food and service were up to the usual high standard. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

2nd visit to Olio e Limone. Very impressive again . We took our college junior there for the second time in three years. Outstanding food and service. I would go there again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Good Italian cuisine. Solid execution. A little heavy on the tomato side. Seafood dishes excellent. Pasta cooked so dente. Service excellent. Wine list good not great.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Good food- service is ok but a bit stiff- very noisy and tight seating but still a great place to eat

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Best Italian food we've had in a very long time. We especially loved the the grilled endive, eggplant salad and the chocolate bread pudding dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.