About Olio e Limone Ristorante

11 W Victoria St, Ste 17
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Olio e Limone Ristorante, located in downtown Santa Barbara's historic arts district, serves artisanal Zagat-rated Italian cuisine. Meaning “oil and lemon” in Italian, their restaurant’s name reflects husband-wife team Alberto and Elaine Morello’s philosophy: rely on the integrity of the ingredients and quality of the preparation to provide Santa Barbara diners “simply sophisticated” Italian cuisine served in an inviting atmosphere with European hospitality. Start with burrata salad or white Mediterranean anchovies, then tuck into a plate of house-made ravioli filled with roasted eggplant and goat cheese, topped with a fresh tomato and basil sauce and shaved ricotta salata. And be sure to take home a bottle of their own olio, an organic extra-virgin olive oil made from Sicilian olive varieties. Private dining in the Cucina Room for up to 40 guests. Bonus: their pizza bar, salumi bar, wine bar and full bar next door at Olio Pizzeria, with private dining for up to 32 guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm -10:00pm

Cross Street:
State

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 899-2699 ext. 1

Website:
http://www.olioelimone.com/

Catering:
Whether you are planning a wedding, birthday or holiday event, or perhaps a family, social, business or philanthropic gathering, our experienced kitchen and wait staff will help make your special event memorable.
We custom-create catering menus for each of our guest's events to accommodate various needs, tastes, and budgets. Contact Olio e Limone Ristorante Events Coordinator at info@olioelimone.com or (805) 899-2699, Option 3.

Parking Details:
Lot Parking:
Santa Barbara City Parking Lot #5 (first 75 minutes free/paid for by downtown merchants, then $1.50/hr).

Executive Chef:
Alberto Morello

Private Party Facilities:
Olio e Limone Ristorante provides exclusive authentic Italian Private Dining in the Cucina Room for up to 40 guests. Casual Italian private dining available next door at Olio Pizzeria (Terrazza Room and Taverna Room) for up to 32 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: (805) 899-2699 ext. 3

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Olio e Limone Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Romantic (44)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
See All
Good for a Date (39)
Authentic (35)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Notable Wine List (24)
Business Meals (23)
Cozy (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Great for Lunch (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Private Room (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Fun (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Casual (4)
Healthy (4)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Organic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
688 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was amazing. Very authentic an ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was amazing. Very authentic and delicious! The cocktails and wine were fabulous, and we loved our server. The only negative was that our table was not ready when we arrived (even though we had reservations). We were made to wait almost 30 minutes and we were asked to wait outside where it was freezing cold! We subsequently came back inside and stood awkwardly by the annoyed hostess who wasn't nearly as annoyed as we were. Overall, outstanding experience. Some of the best food I have ever tasted !

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

All was good except the pasta we ordered ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 3 days ago

All was good except the pasta we ordered was way too tomato-y. Everything else was great. Requested a quite table near the wall. Got it in a perfect location for friends that have never been there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We were so excited for a special romanti ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

We were so excited for a special romantic evening. Seated at the table right by the door. All night incoming guests stood right over our table. I had made a reservation. A month in advance. Service was rushed. Waiter never stopped by to check on us. Courses came out too quickly. Yet our Desserts were served 10 minutes apart. No offer for coffee. It was a very expensive menu. We were visiting from out of town excited about a Valentines meal at an outstanding, well reviewed restaurant. What a huge disappointment. The food was delicious, but every other aspect of the dining experience was sub par. Clearly the restaurant was working hard to make as much money as possible rushing guests through their meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

A friendly atmosphere to eat and enjoy t ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

A friendly atmosphere to eat and enjoy the company of friends. Fix fare menu (Valentine's Day) had three courses with nine choices each - portions were adequate. Overall, a very enjoyable experience on a busy evening. Very expertly managed dining room.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely food, and wonderful service. It w ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

Lovely food, and wonderful service. It was our Valentines Day dinner, and the selection was amazing!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Valentine's Day date night! Gr ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent Valentine's Day date night! Great cocktails, good Italian wines, wonderful 3 course meal. Olio e limone never disappoints! Always a great variety to choose from.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We live a hundred miles from Santa Barba ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We live a hundred miles from Santa Barbara but will drive there for special occatios to eat at Ollio e Lemone. Its at the top of our price range but well worth it. The best thing is THE FOOD and everything else is very good too.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, , Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our favorite place in Santa Barbara. Alw ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our favorite place in Santa Barbara. Always great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Food was great as usual. lovely environ ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was great as usual. lovely environment, nice buzz, but not too noisy.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, , Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Olio e Limone is now one of my favorite ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Olio e Limone is now one of my favorite Santa Barbara restaurants. Service is attentive, the food and drink menus are extensive, and the tastes...well, they are delicious.

Our server this evening was informative and helpful as we sought to make wine and meal decisions. The meal started out with a basket of bread and olive oil, and the olive oil is exceptionally good (and sold by the bottle!). We also shared a bufffalo mozzarella, tomato and fresh basil appetizer.

We each chose pasta dishes, with me ordering the tagliolini al pesto (spinach ribbon pasta with garlic, tiny bites of green beans and cubed potatoes, pine nuts and Parmesan cheese), and my dining companion ordering a carbonara pasta dish. The tastes were very different, but both were very, very good (we just had to share!)

Need to return again soon with even bigger appetites, to have room for another course and also dessert!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Once again a superb meal, from butter to ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Once again a superb meal, from butter to dessert. Service was prompt and graciously included some special requests. The grilled vegetable appetizer: richly caramelized with fennel, radicchio, tomato,red onion and asparagus, was enough for four of us. The duck ravioli was as wonderful as I remembered, and the veal scallopini was both tender and well flavored. I had a not-too-sweet chocolate bread pudding topped with banana, and tasted the cannoli and the mixed berry sorbetto. I wish I lived closer so I could enjoy this place more often

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quiet, classy place with excellent food ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Quiet, classy place with excellent food and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I didn't like the room in the back. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I didn't like the room in the back. Last time a window table was spectacular in dining room. Our hotel car arrived and the server still had not brought the check; found him where staff gathers placing his wine glass to a high shelf. Otherwise he was quite great but it was like he forgot to deliver the check. Food wonderful. We'll be back :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

low-key, charming, and romantic Italian ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 8, 2017

low-key, charming, and romantic Italian restaurant. Carpaccio pear salad was perfectly understated, and the insulate primaverile delicious. The choices for the main course were wonderfully plentiful, making a decision difficult. My girlfriend had the evening special, a pasta with mixed seafood in a subtly spicy sauce. I tried the spaghetti allo Scoglio, Both were top-notch, with my only complaint being that the prawn was a tad undercooked. Two desserts, the tiramisu and a pastry shell with fruit and gelato likewise were gems. The meal was accommpanied by a young but smooth Brunello. The finest meal, thus far, in our six week stay in Santa Barbara.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I usually try to order the special at th ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 7, 2017

I usually try to order the special at this restaurant and it never disappoints. I ordered the Dover Sole and it was so delicious that I went back a few days later and ordered it again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved every single bite! The service was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Loved every single bite! The service was wonderful and the food was beyond amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always loved this restaurant. Sa ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We have always loved this restaurant. Sad to hear their location in Thousand Oaks closed, but thankfully Santa Barbara is still serving delicious food! Some of the best Italian dishes I've ever eaten.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite Santa Barbara restaur ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

One of my favorite Santa Barbara restaurants. Healthy choices. Fresh well prepared fish, salads, vegetables and pasta. Large parking lot behind restaurant. Not inexpensive, but well worth the price.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Italian find. All dishes were tast ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great Italian find. All dishes were tasty and creative. We went with another couple. Ambiance and lighting was perfect. Quaint restaurant. Will be back

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service and quieter t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent food and service and quieter than most restaurants of similar quality.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant in Santa Barbara. ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 1, 2017

My favorite restaurant in Santa Barbara. Lunch was amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal, great wine, great se ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Another great meal, great wine, great service. Love this place. Recommend it to all!

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place! From start to finish ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We love this place! From start to finish, the food is excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We came from LA and it was just lovely. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We came from LA and it was just lovely. The food as usual was exceptional and we also went to the bar next door which was equally as fabulous. Will definitely come back when we visit Santa Barbara. Great place!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have been returning to Oli ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My wife and I have been returning to Olio e Limone every year for our anniversary dinner for 14 years. It is our favorite Italian restaurant bar none. We travel 120 miles to celebrate, so you know it's not just a run of the mill eatery.

This time I had the roasted quails on a bed of polenta, with a melange of vegetables. The quails (2) were excellent, a very substantial amount of meat, to be sure. The polenta was good, noit exceptional, but more than adequate. I really liked the vegetable medley.

My wife opted for veal scalloppine, with shaved artichoke and steamed (?) spinach. It was served in a lemony sauce, very tasty.

We told the maitre d'hotel that this was a special occasion, and the restaurant comped a dessert, which was unexpected and quite a treat. I can recommend Olio e Limone for any occasion, be it formal or casual.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

None finer in Santa Barbara. Our waiter ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 27, 2017

None finer in Santa Barbara. Our waiter was on the job...knowledgeable, helpful and attentive. Very nice dining room and excellent food. Not too many tables so the noise is minimal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very tasty, and portions qu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was very tasty, and portions quite good sized. the cocktail with basil and olive oil was different, but good!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Olio is our favorite restaurant for spec ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Olio is our favorite restaurant for special occasions. It never fails to please. It is one of the few restaurants that boasts a stable, professional wait staff of longstanding. And the difference shows in the service and attention to detail. The food, as always, is delicious.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent wine list- more European wines ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent wine list- more European wines, Italian in particular is no surprise. The service was a little overwhelmed as we were having a special dinner before a performance and so were a bunch of other folks. We got to the performance in plenty of time despite the one hole bathroom; only one bathroom by the way.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food was very good. The menus was e ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The food was very good. The menus was extensive and the service was also very good. We enjoyed our dinner very much.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A friend recommended while visiting Sant ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 15, 2017

A friend recommended while visiting Santa Barbara. Absolutely excellent Italian food and dining experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Noisy; Too many tables are jammed in too ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Noisy; Too many tables are jammed in too close together. Our server made us feel like he was doing us a big favor by waiting on us. Our vegetables and potatoes were served after our main course (we had to ask for them) and we're cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Lovely restaurant. Old world ambiance ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Lovely restaurant. Old world ambiance and service. Excellent Italian food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Friends birthday dinner Excellent device ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Friends birthday dinner

Excellent device and food plus a really good wine list

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dishes are reflective of the finest dini ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Dishes are reflective of the finest dining options of Italy and specifically Sicily. The tagliatelle with baby scallops, asparagus in a lemon cream Parmesan sauce is spectacular. The Wine Soectator award-winning wine list has some gems from Italy that are hard to find elsewhere.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This is one of my favorite restaurants i ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Santa Barbara. The food is always delicious and the service is usually very attentive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Please keep in mind that this is a revie ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Please keep in mind that this is a review of the restaurant on New Year's Eve and may not reflect on a typical evening at Olio e Limone. We arrived on time for our reservation and were not acknowledged for about 1o minutes. The dining room was very crowded and tables for two were (are?) very small and about two feet from each other. We spent the evening unavoidably listening to our neighbors' discussion on what to order and they, undoubtedly, listened to ours. The food was good, I couldn't finish most of the plates in the prix fixe menu. Our waiter seemed annoyed with us from the moment we sat down~ especially when he cleared my plates with over half the portion still there. As the evening went on, the staff turned up some faster paced music seemingly to clear out the patrons. We felt we had to leave 15 minutes before New Year and ended up on State Street alone when the ball dropped. I did not feel the restaurant lived up to the hype surrounding the name. I have thoroughly enjoyed Olio Crudo every time I have been there and recommend it to anybody trying to decide between the two.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Went for NYE, it was buzzy and food real ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for NYE, it was buzzy and food really tasty, as usual!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for New Year's Eve and the Prix ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for New Year's Eve and the Prix Fixe menu was varied, with lots of choices for each course. The food was outstanding, and the service was impeccable. Also, we were able to eat each course in a leisurely manner. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great but tables are too close t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food is great but tables are too close together so it is hard to have a conversation with your guests. There are several "bad tables" up front & not much flexibility in requesting alternate seating.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.