About Olio e Limone Ristorante

11 W Victoria St, Ste 17
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Olio e Limone Ristorante, located in downtown Santa Barbara's historic arts district, serves artisanal Zagat-rated Italian cuisine. Meaning “oil and lemon” in Italian, their restaurant’s name reflects husband-wife team Alberto and Elaine Morello’s philosophy: rely on the integrity of the ingredients and quality of the preparation to provide Santa Barbara diners “simply sophisticated” Italian cuisine served in an inviting atmosphere with European hospitality. Start with burrata salad or white Mediterranean anchovies, then tuck into a plate of house-made ravioli filled with roasted eggplant and goat cheese, topped with a fresh tomato and basil sauce and shaved ricotta salata. And be sure to take home a bottle of their own olio, an organic extra-virgin olive oil made from Sicilian olive varieties. Private dining in the Cucina Room for up to 40 guests. Bonus: their pizza bar, salumi bar, wine bar and full bar next door at Olio Pizzeria, with private dining for up to 32 guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm -10:00pm

Cross Street:
State

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 899-2699 ext. 1

Website:
http://www.olioelimone.com/

Catering:
Whether you are planning a wedding, birthday or holiday event, or perhaps a family, social, business or philanthropic gathering, our experienced kitchen and wait staff will help make your special event memorable.
We custom-create catering menus for each of our guest's events to accommodate various needs, tastes, and budgets. Contact Olio e Limone Ristorante Events Coordinator at info@olioelimone.com or (805) 899-2699, Option 3.

Parking Details:
Lot Parking:
Santa Barbara City Parking Lot #5 (first 75 minutes free/paid for by downtown merchants, then $1.50/hr).

Executive Chef:
Alberto Morello

Private Party Facilities:
Olio e Limone Ristorante provides exclusive authentic Italian Private Dining in the Cucina Room for up to 40 guests. Casual Italian private dining available next door at Olio Pizzeria (Terrazza Room and Taverna Room) for up to 32 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: (805) 899-2699 ext. 3

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Carbonara - Olio e Limone Ristorante, Santa Barbara, CA
Risotto Nero With Squid And Squid Ink - Olio e Limone Ristorante, Santa Barbara, CA
Burrata salad - Olio e Limone Ristorante, Santa Barbara, CA
Wide ribbon pasta with fresh Dungeness crabmeat, prawn and spicy tomato sauce - Olio e Limone Ristorante, Santa Barbara, CA
Tagliolini Aglio Olio - Olio e Limone Ristorante, Santa Barbara, CA
Chocolate Banana Bread Pudding - Olio e Limone Ristorante, Santa Barbara, CA
Sliced beef tenderloin over thin potato tart with arugula, shaved parmesan and truffle oil - Olio e Limone Ristorante, Santa Barbara, CA
Chocolate Banana Bread Pudding With Vanilla Gelato - Olio e Limone Ristorante, Santa Barbara, CA
Lemon Tarte - Olio e Limone Ristorante, Santa Barbara, CA
Pizza - Olio e Limone Ristorante, Santa Barbara, CA
Fiorellini Di Melanzane  - Olio e Limone Ristorante, Santa Barbara, CA
Fruit And Cheese Plate - Olio e Limone Ristorante, Santa Barbara, CA

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Our sumptuous $79 per person 3-course prix fixe Festa di San Valentino dinner menu will be served all evening on Valentine's Day, Tues 02/14/17. No regular or open menu will be available. $50/pp cancellation fee if cancellation not confirmed by 5PM Sun 02/12. Grazie mille e arrivederci!

Olio e Limone Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (38)
Romantic (35)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
See All
Good for a Date (33)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Business Meals (28)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Authentic (27)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Notable Wine List (21)
Local Ingredients (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Cozy (16)
Great for Lunch (14)
Private Room (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Seasonal (4)
Casual (4)
Fun (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Organic (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
659 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was very good. The menus was e ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was very good. The menus was extensive and the service was also very good. We enjoyed our dinner very much.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A friend recommended while visiting Sant ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 7 days ago

A friend recommended while visiting Santa Barbara. Absolutely excellent Italian food and dining experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Noisy; Too many tables are jammed in too ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined 7 days ago

Noisy; Too many tables are jammed in too close together. Our server made us feel like he was doing us a big favor by waiting on us. Our vegetables and potatoes were served after our main course (we had to ask for them) and we're cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Lovely restaurant. Old world ambiance ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Lovely restaurant. Old world ambiance and service. Excellent Italian food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Friends birthday dinner Excellent device ...

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Friends birthday dinner

Excellent device and food plus a really good wine list

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dishes are reflective of the finest dini ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Dishes are reflective of the finest dining options of Italy and specifically Sicily. The tagliatelle with baby scallops, asparagus in a lemon cream Parmesan sauce is spectacular. The Wine Soectator award-winning wine list has some gems from Italy that are hard to find elsewhere.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This is one of my favorite restaurants i ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants in Santa Barbara. The food is always delicious and the service is usually very attentive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Please keep in mind that this is a revie ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Please keep in mind that this is a review of the restaurant on New Year's Eve and may not reflect on a typical evening at Olio e Limone. We arrived on time for our reservation and were not acknowledged for about 1o minutes. The dining room was very crowded and tables for two were (are?) very small and about two feet from each other. We spent the evening unavoidably listening to our neighbors' discussion on what to order and they, undoubtedly, listened to ours. The food was good, I couldn't finish most of the plates in the prix fixe menu. Our waiter seemed annoyed with us from the moment we sat down~ especially when he cleared my plates with over half the portion still there. As the evening went on, the staff turned up some faster paced music seemingly to clear out the patrons. We felt we had to leave 15 minutes before New Year and ended up on State Street alone when the ball dropped. I did not feel the restaurant lived up to the hype surrounding the name. I have thoroughly enjoyed Olio Crudo every time I have been there and recommend it to anybody trying to decide between the two.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Went for NYE, it was buzzy and food real ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went for NYE, it was buzzy and food really tasty, as usual!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for New Year's Eve and the Prix ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for New Year's Eve and the Prix Fixe menu was varied, with lots of choices for each course. The food was outstanding, and the service was impeccable. Also, we were able to eat each course in a leisurely manner. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great but tables are too close t ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food is great but tables are too close together so it is hard to have a conversation with your guests. There are several "bad tables" up front & not much flexibility in requesting alternate seating.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Overall great experience! Staff was nice ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Overall great experience! Staff was nice, informative when asked a question about the menu and the food was delicious! We are not from the area so didn't know what to expect but were happy that this place was recommended to us ! I love their creative drink menu as well. I am a tequila girl and was happy to see a different tequila than patron. I think I found my new favorite drink spot. Also Rich came by to talk to us and made sure our drinks were up to par! Great service!

** I took off stars because there was no hostess at the front and we had to wait about 5 minutes before a waiter greated us and sat us. Other than that everything was wonderful from start to finish.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is a real qualified Italian restaur ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This is a real qualified Italian restaurant, served Italian food and fine wine. The waiter is Italian accent English. The only thing I think is not perfect is the bread is not hot and crisp. The appetizer olive is amazing. Here also have the special Italian wine, Amarone, Barolo, Gaja... the price is reasonable. Five stars

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a lovely place to enjoy lunch with ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Such a lovely place to enjoy lunch with a friend! Wonderful food & service! We thoroughly enjoyed the olives, beef carpaccio, asparagus soup and mushroom risotto. And the wine was delish! Service was excellent allowing us to linger and enjoy without constant interruption. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

SLOW service. Average food.

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

SLOW service. Average food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

VERY authentic Italian fare, with severa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

VERY authentic Italian fare, with several Italians working there. Owned by a Napolitano, it is the most authentic taste I've had here. We DEFINITELY recommend it! We went for our anniversary and they treated us SO WELL!!!

Thanks Olio!

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family of four dined there on Dec 26 ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Our family of four dined there on Dec 26. all the food we ordered was good except the pasta with dungeness crab meat. It was salty and the sauce was too strong. Services were hurried and almost rude. When we asked about the fish of the day, the waiter was almost scolding by saying "wait until I finish myntoday's special list" Also when he wanted to check my children's ID, he just said, show me your ID. I know it was a busy night, but the abruptness and rushed services should not be part of this elegant and expensive restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

We love your ristorante and have been re ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We love your ristorante and have been return guests for a decade!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Perfect spot for Christmas Eve! The atm ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Perfect spot for Christmas Eve! The atmosphere was festive and the food delicious. We will definitely return for both special evenings and the occasional family meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb in every respect, as always. We' ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Superb in every respect, as always. We've eaten there countless times, and it's by far our favorite restaurant in Santa Barbara and one of our favorites in the world. Again on this occasion, every single morsel of food was perfection. We love this restaurant (and its Pizzeria next door) and can't wait for our next opportunity to dine there.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Italian and mixed Mediterranea ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Excellent Italian and mixed Mediterranean menu. Excellent professional wait staff. Food can not be beat. Definitely a first class experience at a reasonable price. Wine list is top shelf. Cocktails are also very good. It is a bit crowded, but for me that added to the pleasant atmosphere. I've been there many times, and I always come away happy.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding culinary delight! From th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Outstanding culinary delight! From the moment we walked in, our experience at Olio e Limone was a pleasure. The service was impeccable, the food was absolutely delicious, and the ambience was romantic, quiet, and added to our wonderful dining experience. We will always return to Olio e Limone when we visit Santa Barbara.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After at least 100 visits to this excell ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 19, 2016

After at least 100 visits to this excellent restaurant over past 11 years, the food was not hot at delivery, the service was very spotty and clearly not 'on par' with many previous occasions. Maybe Monday night staff issues??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good food and service. The muserela (? ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Good food and service. The muserela (?) / tomato salad was excellent. The spare ribs were only "good". Overall, a very good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We had dinner at Olio e Limone to celebr ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had dinner at Olio e Limone to celebrate our anniversary. The restaurant has a cozy atmosphere and we were seated at a quiet table near the window. The hostess dropped by with a card wishing us a happy anniversary. Our waiter was excellent and very aware of the table. We felt well taken care of throughout the evening. The food was delicious and prepared to our liking. I had the quail salad and seafood pasta, my husband the short ribs. The pasta was a little salty, but still very good. The short ribs, my husband reported, were delicious. We were surprised at the end of the meal with a complimentary dessert and more good wished. Our entire experience helped make our celebration a memorable one. We will definitely return and would recommend the restaurant without reservation.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

superb cuisine. A friend recommended oli ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 6, 2016

superb cuisine. A friend recommended olio to us as his favorite and it is now ours. Exceptional level of cooking and quality of ingredients. The black risotto was so yummy I will be back soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

First class dining in every respect....a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 6, 2016

First class dining in every respect....always reliable, professional and tasty

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't get more authentic than Olio! Best ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Can't get more authentic than Olio! Best Italian Restaurant in SB

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

One of our favorite restaurants. Any tim ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 4, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants. Any time we have company we try and make it to Olio. The staff are always friendly and responsive, as are the owners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were excellent. The ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The food and service were excellent. The tables were a little cramped and the noise level was perhaps a little high. Overall it was a fine night of dining.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved the service and the food! Will rep ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Loved the service and the food! Will repeat, for sure.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect dinner delicious pasta great wa ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Perfect dinner delicious pasta great waiters friendly and very knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is amazing and delicious, yum!! ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food is amazing and delicious, yum!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was excellent as always. Service ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Dinner was excellent as always. Service was prompt and with a smile. But you always forget to bring butter to my wife 😎

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Healthy, Organic, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Private Room, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our second time and it was excellent. W ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our second time and it was excellent. We had Beef Shortribs which were perfect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb food, great service, comfortable ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Superb food, great service, comfortable setting. How lovely it is to meet with friends over great food and be able to hear each other talk!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family took me to Olio e Limone for m ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 10, 2016

My family took me to Olio e Limone for my birthday. It is my favorite restaurant in Santa Barbara. We were seated in the window, which I loved! Our waiter was Italian and that added a nice touch. The mushroom risotto was heavenly as were the appetizers we ordered. They have an extensive wine list and we treated ourselves to a wonderful Brunello di Montalcino. My daughter and I are gluten-free and the waiter was very knowledgeable about the accommodating menu. He brought us extra olives since we couldn't enjoy the bread and an incredible dessert with a candle. There is a reason Julia Childs loved this gem of a restaurant. You are transported to another place in a tranquil yet relaxed atmosphere where you get to slip away and just enjoy it all.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently excellent Italian food. Fl ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Consistently excellent Italian food. Flavors are intense. Professional and friendly service. A 'must' when you're in Santa Barbara.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always delicious. Beautiful restaurant a ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Always delicious. Beautiful restaurant and accommodating staff. A Santa Barbara must-do.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner. The Dover so ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner. The Dover sole was perfection. The porcini mushroom risotto was just OK though. It seemed to lose something midway through, and I like when it's still savory and delicious by the last bite. The warm frutti di mare salad could have used more "frutti" if you know what I mean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.