Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Olio e Limone Ristorante

Olio e Limone Ristorante, located in downtown Santa Barbara's historic arts district, serves artisanal Zagat-rated Italian cuisine. Meaning “oil and lemon” in Italian, their restaurant’s name reflects husband-wife team Alberto and Elaine Morello’s philosophy: rely on the integrity of the ingredients and quality of the preparation to provide Santa Barbara diners “simply sophisticated” Italian cuisine served in an inviting atmosphere with European hospitality. Start with burrata salad or white Mediterranean anchovies, then tuck into a plate of house-made ravioli filled with roasted eggplant and goat cheese, topped with a fresh tomato and basil sauce and shaved ricotta salata. And be sure to take home a bottle of their own olio, an organic extra-virgin olive oil made from Sicilian olive varieties. Private dining in the Cucina Room for up to 40 guests. Bonus: their pizza bar, salumi bar, wine bar and full bar next door at Olio Pizzeria, with private dining for up to 32 guests.

11 W Victoria St, Ste 17
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm -10:00pm

Cross Street:
State

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 899-2699 ext. 1

Website:
http://www.olioelimone.com/

Catering:
Whether you are planning a wedding, birthday or holiday event, or perhaps a family, social, business or philanthropic gathering, our experienced kitchen and wait staff will help make your special event memorable.
We custom-create catering menus for each of our guest's events to accommodate various needs, tastes, and budgets. Contact Olio e Limone Ristorante Events Coordinator at info@olioelimone.com or (805) 899-2699, Option 3.

Parking Details:
Lot Parking:
Santa Barbara City Parking Lot #5 (first 75 minutes free/paid for by downtown merchants, then $1.50/hr).

Executive Chef:
Alberto Morello

Private Party Facilities:
Olio e Limone Ristorante provides exclusive authentic Italian Private Dining in the Cucina Room for up to 40 guests. Casual Italian private dining available next door at Olio Pizzeria (Terrazza Room and Taverna Room) for up to 32 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: (805) 899-2699 ext. 3

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Olio e Limone Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Romantic (25)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Authentic (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Cozy (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Business Meals (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Comfort Food (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Casual (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
People Watching (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort by
S
906 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

All was good as usual but our waiter was fairly dismissive, not particularly kind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

This place is normally one of our favorites but should be avoided on V day. It was crowded, super noisy, the service was poor and the meal was overpriced. But I guess we should expect this on such a holiday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

We were there on Valentines with a fixed menu. Although what we received was delicious, I also felt it was quite overpriced. Because it was Valentines I wish they had made a little more effort to make the atmosphere romantic. Decor maybe? Free glass of champagne? I had pre requested a "Quiet table" however was given a seat right by the front door which kept being thrown open with cold air pouring in and people standing around waiting for the hostess to get to them. Service was good. It's a nice spot but they could try just a bit harder to make it more special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

Decent Italian restaurant which did not have either of the wines we wanted although on their wine list. Food was good but not exceptional, service seemed tired or bored.
I suspect there are other better Italian restaurants to try.
Won’t go back not because anything was wrong just because there are so many other places to try

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on February 11, 2018

We had a great time here. The food was awesome and the WAITER was really good and on top of things. He knew the menu front to back and took really good care of us.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2018

Absolutely excellent food and service!!! I would suggest making a reservation as the place is very quaint. You will love the food and ambiance when you go.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 10, 2018

We come here every year that we visit Santa Barbara. Best barrel-aged Negroni ever! The staff is warm & friendly - no attitude. Delicious food and bonus that they support the local arts scene.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 6, 2018

Fantastic food made with care! The fresh fish came with this amazing tomato sauce. Really interesting specials - we tried the fresh porcini mushrooms from California sautéed in olive oil and served on freshly toasted bread. Delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 4, 2018

Olio e Limone is one of those restaurants that consistently lives up to the good reputation it has maintained for so many years. The owner Elaine is a fantastic host, the food is fresh and wonderful and it's right in the heart of everything good happening in Santa Barbara. I really should go more often!

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 4, 2018

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2018

Olio e Limone remains one of my favorites again and again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 3, 2018

We first ate at O & L on our honeymoon 16 years ago, and we have returned almost every year since. The food is classic N. Italian, with a number of specials that are very well-chosen. This year, I had the potato and spinach gnocchi, but if I had to do it over again, I would have picked the corbina, a fish that isn't offered much anywhere. Oh, well. My wife had the spring chicken with roasted potatoes and spinach. She thought that the dish came with mashed potatoes and told the waiter, who brought a side for which we were not charged.

I can recommend O & L for any occasion. It's white tablecloths but not stuffy. The menu is pretty extensive, something for everyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 2, 2018

We had a delightful experience! Our server was delightful and very helpful! Thank you very much

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 1, 2018

I am Italian who moved to the US twenty years ago, and I found Olio e Limone to be one of the most authentic Italian restaurant I have tried in the United States.
The food is always exceptional and the wine selection is great.
It is not cheap, which is somewhat to be expected for such quality.
The hostess is delightful, and the overall service impeccable.
I bring people to Olio e Limone when I have to impress them.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 1, 2018

Once again a great experience for our entire group prior to the opening of the Santa Barbara Film Festival.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 31, 2018

Lovely table, impeccable service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 24, 2018

Olio E Limone is truly ALWAYS an amazing dining experience! The wait staff is perfection! Every single dish they have is chock full with beautiful, fresh ingredients. And I’ve literally never had anything here that did not taste incredible! I will go back over and over and over again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 23, 2018

Loved it!! Great food , love the servers!! A favorite!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 23, 2018

Outstanding food as always. One of the best restaurants in Santa Barbara. Has been consistently outstanding for the past 20 years. After a brief period of off service, service is back up to standards with new wait staff.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Lovely restaurant, very nice staff! It was a delightful dinner, would certainly recommend.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 17, 2018

Our food was very good, especially the risotto. Our overall experience was not. The dining room and our table were small and very crowded. The restaurant was understaffed and service was fair/poor. 3 of us sent our drinks back and reordered. Perhaps the regular bartender was not there. It may have been an off night for this restaurant, but I wouldn't rush to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2018

The food is excellent and the service is old-time Italian, meaning they serve you well, but with attitude. When I pointed out that two things I ordered didn't not come as described in the menu, and I was pretty much told I was wrong. One of their "signature cocktails", a Manhattan, was really an Old Fashion. I pointed out that the drink had an orange peel and no cherry which would indicate I'm correct, but the waiter said I was wrong which means he didn't know the difference. Then, for dessert, the waiter described a chocolate bread pudding. What came out was a molten chocolate cake. I like molten chocolate cake, so I ate it, and it was good, but it wasn't the dessert that was described. Other than that, the food was great and was served in perfect timing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 5, 2018

The fresh pasta was delicious and the chocolate banana bread pudding was amazing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2017

It was my parent’s 23rd wedding anniversary and they made it beyond special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 13, 2017

What you would call neuvo Italian, all the dishes were well prepared and presented. The Mediterranean Sea Bas special with a cherry tomato sauce stuffed with sauteed spinach and capers was delightful. Wouldn't hesitate to order again. The butternut squash ravioli were good, but not "oh my god", the tomato sauce tasted like a bland tomato sauce. The pear salad is ample for two and outstanding. The olives put on the table are excellent along with the bread. The menu is creative and doesn't have the expected normal Italian dishes, all are uniquely done. The drink menu is creative and the good. The wine list is well balanced with a good selection of wines, though it tends to be on the higher priced end with a corkage fee of $20. Our waiter was excellent, knew the dishes and could explain them clearly, he was also adept with the wine list, though we brought our own, a unique Italian white, Grechetto. We did offer the waiter a taste, which he appreciated. Is this my go-to Italian restaurant in the Santa Barbara area, no, but it is a good solid restaurant that deserves another reservation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Best Italian food in SB. Sicilian cuisine at its best. Interesting cocktails too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Really enjoyed our meal at Olio e Limone! The food was excellent, the ambiance was warm and the service was top notch! We will most definitely be returning.

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Had dinner for five, a quiet gathering. The menu was wonderful, the service exceptional and the food was prepared incredibly. We enjoyed three courses with accompanying wine. I highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 29, 2017

We have been going to Olio for about 12 years. Haven't written a review in ages. It is the most consistent high quality authentic Italian restaurant in the whole area and did not disappoint during our most recent visit. The Stuffed Quails were delicious, meaty and very hot when served. Many restaurants can't seem to manage that. Excellent Pinot Noir by the glass also at a 'correct' price. Clearly for people with more taste and wanting a quality environment with professional service. We are all lucky that Olio y Limone is here in SB.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2017

LDelicious food and great service. Definately would return for great Italian food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 27, 2017

As always....excellent food, excellent wine and excellent service.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2017

The fantastic food is only matched by their service with a lovely ambiance. The homemade pasta was delicious (the fettecini with peas and mushrooms and the ravioli with sage). Our waiter, and all of the waiters there go out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful evening. Thank you so much

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Incredible! I recommend it highly!! The ambience was perfect and the food was phenomenal. Homemade from scratch and tastes like heaven. It’s a must try!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Beautiful decor and very good food. Had the special pasta - short rib ragu on pasta. Very good flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 22, 2017

I have eaten here many tines and enjoyed it. This time no one liked their meal: the ravioli was underdone, squid ink pasta was awful, 3 people because somewhat ill after the meal. Not sure what happened this time. There were kind enough to not charge us for the squid ink risotto. I will go back but will try to order more judiciously.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 22, 2017

Always a favorite for a special occasion. Great for business lunches too when you want to impress.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 19, 2017

always great! we go there for special occasions as well as when we want to treat ourselves! food is always great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 18, 2017

My wife and I eat at restaurants regularly: 3-5 times per week. This experience was a severe disappointment. The ambience and noise level were very acceptable. The receptionist was appropriate and friendly. The waiter however was extremely arrogant/condescending. More disappointing however was the entrée: sole which was absolutely tasteless. In addition the accompanying broccoli was undercooked/stringy/tasteless. To charge $45 for this entree is criminal! We were visiting from out of town and this restaurant and Janes we're recommended in Santa Barbara. The meal at Janes was outstanding as was the ambience and service. There was no comparison between the two restaurants: like night and day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 18, 2017

On the way back to LA from Solvang, got hungry and stopped for lunch in SB. OH MY GOODNESS! This place was spectacular. Food was magnificent - the 4 of us had pork chops milanesa, Italian sausage & polenta, spaghetti w/ crab & shrimp & sausage ravioli - and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their food. Cocktails were great and servers very attentive without pushing us. We had a leisurely 2 hour lunch and had to roll to our cars because we were so full.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 11, 2017

The ambience was very inviting and the food was delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.