About Olio e Limone Ristorante

11 W Victoria St, Ste 17
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Olio e Limone Ristorante, located in downtown Santa Barbara's historic arts district, serves artisanal Zagat-rated Italian cuisine. Meaning “oil and lemon” in Italian, their restaurant’s name reflects husband-wife team Alberto and Elaine Morello’s philosophy: rely on the integrity of the ingredients and quality of the preparation to provide Santa Barbara diners “simply sophisticated” Italian cuisine served in an inviting atmosphere with European hospitality. Start with burrata salad or white Mediterranean anchovies, then tuck into a plate of house-made ravioli filled with roasted eggplant and goat cheese, topped with a fresh tomato and basil sauce and shaved ricotta salata. And be sure to take home a bottle of their own olio, an organic extra-virgin olive oil made from Sicilian olive varieties. Private dining in the Cucina Room for up to 40 guests. Bonus: their pizza bar, salumi bar, wine bar and full bar next door at Olio Pizzeria, with private dining for up to 32 guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm -10:00pm

Cross Street:
State

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 899-2699 ext. 1

Website:
http://www.olioelimone.com/

Catering:
Whether you are planning a wedding, birthday or holiday event, or perhaps a family, social, business or philanthropic gathering, our experienced kitchen and wait staff will help make your special event memorable.
We custom-create catering menus for each of our guest's events to accommodate various needs, tastes, and budgets. Contact Olio e Limone Ristorante Events Coordinator at info@olioelimone.com or (805) 899-2699, Option 3.

Parking Details:
Lot Parking:
Santa Barbara City Parking Lot #5 (first 75 minutes free/paid for by downtown merchants, then $1.50/hr).

Executive Chef:
Alberto Morello

Private Party Facilities:
Olio e Limone Ristorante provides exclusive authentic Italian Private Dining in the Cucina Room for up to 40 guests. Casual Italian private dining available next door at Olio Pizzeria (Terrazza Room and Taverna Room) for up to 32 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: 8058992699x3

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Carbonara
Risotto Nero With Squid And Squid Ink
Burrata salad
Wide ribbon pasta with fresh Dungeness crabmeat, prawn and spicy tomato sauce
Tagliolini Aglio Olio
Chocolate Banana Bread Pudding
Sliced beef tenderloin over thin potato tart with arugula, shaved parmesan and truffle oil
Lemon Tarte
Chocolate Banana Bread Pudding With Vanilla Gelato
Pizza
Fiorellini Di Melanzane
Fruit And Cheese Plate

Olio e Limone Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
California Central Coast
Fit for Foodies
Santa Barbara
Notable Wine List
Santa Barbara
2 More
Special Occasion
Santa Barbara
Most Booked
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

special occasion (86)
fit for foodies (83)
romantic (56)
See All
notable wine list (52)
neighborhood gem (42)
good for groups (27)
great for lunch (25)
hot spot (7)
kid-friendly (4)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
566 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of the best in Santa Barbara. Many g ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined a day ago

One of the best in Santa Barbara. Many great choices. Pricey wine list so bring you own. The waitress was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Lamb chops were incredible

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined a day ago

Lamb chops were incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had five entries which ranged from fa ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had five entries which ranged from fair to very good. However the staff rushed us as they were not busy and wanted to close. Our reservation was for 800pm, not very late. Staff could have been friendlier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Condescending server-possibly because we ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Condescending server-possibly because we were 2 middle aged women and a teenage girl.

Never checked on our water, or how we were enjoying the food.

Varied menu, but three of us were really not impressed with food quality/flavor.

Atmosphere was very nice......

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

May be it was a substitute chef that nig ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

May be it was a substitute chef that night but what is for sure , is that the meal we had was not worth the price we paid. We were a party of three and none of us liked our meal . My pasta was too bland, my friend's pasta was so spicy you could not taste the seafood and our other companion's pasta was so rich she could only eat a bite or two. The salad was wilted and the chocolate bread pudding had a weird consistency and was pretty tasteless. This is an expensive restaurant and I would not go there again at any price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Consistent food !!! consistent service o ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Consistent food !!! consistent service one of the best *3* restaurants in California!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Outstanding food and impeccable service. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Outstanding food and impeccable service.

We ordered tomato basil and mozzarella salad, special pasta with short rib ragu and the salmon special all done to perfection. Our waiter was both helpful and knowledgeable with our selections.

Our only complaint was the cramped size of tables for two. It is definitely a return destination for my wife and me.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, service and atmosphere . ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent food, service and atmosphere ... highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service. We went not knowing ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent service. We went not knowing what to expect. What a pleasant surprise! This is the kind of place we like to celebrate birthdays at. While it was an expensive "Friday night dinner with friends,". We now feel Ike we have a new special occasion restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been going there for over 15 yea ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We have been going there for over 15 years and has never had a bad meal!

Thank you to Elaine and Alberto and all the wonderful Staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorites. The food ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This is one of our favorites. The food is consistently great !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality and preparation are outstanding. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Quality and preparation are outstanding........per usual.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a magnificent meal and their menu ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had a magnificent meal and their menu is extensive with many rare items. and various pasta and meat dishes. The service was good, but we were next to a rather noisy group of 6 and it was hard to chat over their volume. Great location to eat before theatre performances in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Olio e Limone is my favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Olio e Limone is my favorite restaurant in Santa Barbara. I love bringing people here who have never been because it is very unassuming from the outside, the inside is very simple with white table clothes then you taste the food which is neither-the food is amazing! The servers are attentive without hovering and the presentation is gorgeous. This is the kind of place you tend to linger over coffee and dessert because it is that good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our friends loved their meal. My wife an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our friends loved their meal. My wife and I did not. Salad was so so. Our entre of crab/prawn spicy tomato sauce over pasta was too dry. Deserts were fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Very nice atmosphere. It did take a long ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very nice atmosphere. It did take a long time to be served we noticed. The pumpkin ravioli very small portion. My special of squid ink pasta and seafood was perfect. Very lovely evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Visiting Santa Barbara on business and v ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Visiting Santa Barbara on business and vacation.

Pricing is too high for the quality of food. $16 basic salads (non-entree) and $25 pasta (tagliatelle) make the bill quite expensive. Salads are average quality; nothing special. Tagliatelle pasta tastes like raw tomato paste. Bill before tax was $150+, with only 2 glasses of Chardonnay.

We at at Ca' Dario the next day for lunch. What a fabulous place! Costs much less for well made food. Spend your money at Ca' Dario. You will not be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Great Place for Graduation Dinner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We enjoyed a lovely graduation celebration dinner with our family and friends at Olio e Limone Restaurant. The staff was attentive, service was excellent and food was delicious! The prix fixed menu for that evening had ample choices for all of our varying tastes and each course was delightful. Proportions were ample as well - we left the restaurant fully satiated!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful family dinner to celebra ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Had a wonderful family dinner to celebrate my daughter's graduation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great restaurant to come to. Gr ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Always a great restaurant to come to. Great service and delicious food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food great service we love this Resteraunt

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The most amazing Resteraunt we love it. It is a must we you visit Santa Barbara.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bad choice

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I had a nepia risotto that was terrible. It was supposed to have plenty of seafood but I could only find calamaris. It tasted like fish scales and gave me lots of gasese. The waiters noticed that I did not eat my meal but did not care. Its a very expensive place and definitely not worthy to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Great xperience

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

terrific wait staff handled our orders with professionalism and good humor. Our waitress did an excellent job describing menu items, and we were not disappointed. The panna cotta with fig and balsamic reduction was fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Night at Olie E Limone!!!!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Outstanding food preparation. I am from Naples Italy and it captures the taste of the region. Wonderful customer service form start to finish. If your desire a before dinner drink they have a great bar that is part of the restaurant and well as a dedicated pizza shop as well. I have to try the pizza next time.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful experience. Food is a ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Always a wonderful experience. Food is always quality and prepared well. We eat here often and have never left unsatisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been a customer for years. Love their p ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Been a customer for years. Love their pasta and risotto dishes !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Service & Ambience

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We were in Santa Barbara for our honeymoon. I mentioned this on our reservation and the hostess made sure we received a special dessert :) The service and food were outstanding.

WIll definitely be back and recommend to friends.

The following day we cam back and the Olio e Limone Pizzeria also fixed us up a perfect picnic lunch for our road trip home!

Both places are great!

Grazi!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and authentic Italian food. W ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Delicious and authentic Italian food. Wonderful fish. Desserts are too good for my waistline.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding sevice by Giselle!

vip
 (Boise)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

This is undoubtably one of the best restaurants I've eaten in. The veal parmigiana was superb! The Venica Jesera Collio Pinot Grigio was the perfect suggestion and it was kept cool through the whole meal. The atmosphere is quiet and the wait staff was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite Italian restaurant in Santa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

My favorite Italian restaurant in Santa Barbara. The ingredients are fresh and the food is consistently excellent. The wine list has a wide variety of Italian and California wines. Finally the service is superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nicer than expected for a touristy area. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Nicer than expected for a touristy area. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

very disappointing. Poor service, ridic ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

very disappointing. Poor service, ridiculously small portions on one and way too large on another. It didn't live up to my expectations or some of the reviews that I'd read.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

In decline? We used to think this was a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

In decline? We used to think this was a top place for a professional

Italian experience. But not on this showing. Dismissive service fromthe greeting through departure. Pasta fishes were amateurishly cooked (uneven,

tasteless) and drably presented. Even the quantities were small - lind of requiring you to

order a secondi. Meanwhile the prices have risen to big city levels. Many better options in town these days.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent Italian in Santa Barbara

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We went there on Saturday April 30, 2016. Easy to make the 8 pm reservation on OpenTable.

We were promptly seated. The 2-top we were initially seated was reserved for a larger group that came in later. We were moved to a 4-top of our choice.

The bread was fresh, and the signature Sicilian olive oil (chef is from Sicily), and three different olives cured with garlic and a unique touch of lemon peel was superb!

We ordered two signature vodka cocktails - a Peach Punch for my wife, and a Capolavora (blood orange) for me. Both were good.

We split all our dishes (a practice that served us well in Italy in 2014). There are additional charges for split dishes, but well worth the prices ($2 on appetizers, $5 on pastas and secondis).

Our first dish was the warm seafood salad in lemon white wine sauce. The seafood (shrimp, mussels, clams, calamari, and scallops) was well cooked, and the vegetables had the crunch of gherkins. Just the dish that needs to be sopped up with bread!

Our primi was the homemade garganelli pasta in a lamb ragu! Superb! The lamb taste was there in the front, but not overwhelming. It was suffused with a tangy essence of tomato in every bite. One of the best pasta dishes we have had in a while. Going to Union in Pasadena for Mothers Day - will compare with this dish!

For our secondi we had pork tenderloin in green peppercorn mustard sauce, with pureed potatoes and garlic sauteed spinach. The tenderloin was good (though one piece on my plate had a little grist that was hard to chew), the sauce was excellent, and there was a shower of thin crisp fried onion threads that really enhanced the potato puree. Good idea to provide some contrast for this accompaniment.

We were planning to walk down to McConnell's for ice cream, and were so full we skipped any coffee and dessert.

Overall an excellent dinner. Will surely visit on our next trip to SB.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Back room blues

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

If you are seated in the front room, the experience and ambience are fine. The back room is less good, the service slower and generally you receive less attention. The food is excellent no matter where you sit, but for a special occasion insist on the front room.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

wonderful evening

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Delicious and unique pasta dishes. Classic yummy desserts. Could make a meal on appetizers and desserts alone. Great wait staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

My mom and I go on a weekend get away for Mother's Day every year and this year we went to Santa Barbara (my alma mater). My mother is very picky and absolutely loved it here! Our food was delicious, I highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a great Italian spot there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Favorite Santa Barbara restaurant!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We live in Southern California and only get to Santa Barbara occasionally, but we always eat at our favorite restaurant Olio e Limone. We enjoyed a cocktail at the Crudo Bar, then had a fabulous meal at the restaurant. The food is incredible, and the ambience and service are excellent. We look forward to dining there later this summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed the food. Very authent ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

We really enjoyed the food. Very authentic Italian. The spinach tortelloni was excellent! Loved the brown butter sage sauce. Wish it had more of it and no tomato sauce. The caprese was outstanding. Pasta with sausage was delicious. Service was wonderful. Wine by the glass is pricey. Tables are tight so you can hear other conversations but it is not loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Over rated food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Over rated food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.