About Olio e Limone Ristorante

11 W Victoria St, Ste 17
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Olio e Limone Ristorante, located in downtown Santa Barbara's historic arts district, serves artisanal Zagat-rated Italian cuisine. Meaning “oil and lemon” in Italian, their restaurant’s name reflects husband-wife team Alberto and Elaine Morello’s philosophy: rely on the integrity of the ingredients and quality of the preparation to provide Santa Barbara diners “simply sophisticated” Italian cuisine served in an inviting atmosphere with European hospitality. Start with burrata salad or white Mediterranean anchovies, then tuck into a plate of house-made ravioli filled with roasted eggplant and goat cheese, topped with a fresh tomato and basil sauce and shaved ricotta salata. And be sure to take home a bottle of their own olio, an organic extra-virgin olive oil made from Sicilian olive varieties. Private dining in the Cucina Room for up to 40 guests. Bonus: their pizza bar, salumi bar, wine bar and full bar next door at Olio Pizzeria, with private dining for up to 32 guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm -10:00pm

Cross Street:
State

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 899-2699 ext. 1

Website:
http://www.olioelimone.com/

Catering:
Whether you are planning a wedding, birthday or holiday event, or perhaps a family, social, business or philanthropic gathering, our experienced kitchen and wait staff will help make your special event memorable.
We custom-create catering menus for each of our guest's events to accommodate various needs, tastes, and budgets. Contact Olio e Limone Ristorante Events Coordinator at info@olioelimone.com or (805) 899-2699, Option 3.

Parking Details:
Lot Parking:
Santa Barbara City Parking Lot #5 (first 75 minutes free/paid for by downtown merchants, then $1.50/hr).

Executive Chef:
Alberto Morello

Private Party Facilities:
Olio e Limone Ristorante provides exclusive authentic Italian Private Dining in the Cucina Room for up to 40 guests. Casual Italian private dining available next door at Olio Pizzeria (Terrazza Room and Taverna Room) for up to 32 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: 8058992699x3

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Carbonara
Risotto Nero With Squid And Squid Ink
Burrata salad
Wide ribbon pasta with fresh Dungeness crabmeat, prawn and spicy tomato sauce
Tagliolini Aglio Olio
Chocolate Banana Bread Pudding
Sliced beef tenderloin over thin potato tart with arugula, shaved parmesan and truffle oil
Lemon Tarte
Chocolate Banana Bread Pudding With Vanilla Gelato
Pizza
Fiorellini Di Melanzane
Fruit And Cheese Plate

Olio e Limone Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
California Central Coast
Notable Wine List
Santa Barbara
Special Occasion
Santa Barbara
1 More
Most Booked
Santa Barbara
Best Restaurants in Santa Barbara ›

special occasion (97)
fit for foodies (88)
romantic (61)
See All
notable wine list (52)
neighborhood gem (40)
great for lunch (26)
good for groups (23)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
553 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Olio e Limone is my favorite restaurant ...

Dined 3 days ago

Olio e Limone is my favorite restaurant in Santa Barbara. I love bringing people here who have never been because it is very unassuming from the outside, the inside is very simple with white table clothes then you taste the food which is neither-the food is amazing! The servers are attentive without hovering and the presentation is gorgeous. This is the kind of place you tend to linger over coffee and dessert because it is that good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Our friends loved their meal. My wife an ...

Dined 3 days ago

Our friends loved their meal. My wife and I did not. Salad was so so. Our entre of crab/prawn spicy tomato sauce over pasta was too dry. Deserts were fabulous

food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Very nice atmosphere. It did take a long ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Very nice atmosphere. It did take a long time to be served we noticed. The pumpkin ravioli very small portion. My special of squid ink pasta and seafood was perfect. Very lovely evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Visiting Santa Barbara on business and v ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Visiting Santa Barbara on business and vacation. Pricing is too high for the quality of food. $16 basic salads (non-entree) and $25 pasta (tagliatelle) make the bill quite expensive. Salads are average quality; nothing special. Tagliatelle pasta tastes like raw tomato paste. Bill before tax was $150+, with only 2 glasses of Chardonnay. We at at Ca' Dario the next day for lunch. What a fabulous place! Costs much less for well made food. Spend your money at Ca' Dario. You will not be disappointed!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place for Graduation Dinner

Dined on June 11, 2016

We enjoyed a lovely graduation celebration dinner with our family and friends at Olio e Limone Restaurant. The staff was attentive, service was excellent and food was delicious! The prix fixed menu for that evening had ample choices for all of our varying tastes and each course was delightful. Proportions were ample as well - we left the restaurant fully satiated!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful family dinner to celebra ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Had a wonderful family dinner to celebrate my daughter's graduation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great restaurant to come to. Gr ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Always a great restaurant to come to. Great service and delicious food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food great service we love this Resteraunt

Dined on June 11, 2016

The most amazing Resteraunt we love it. It is a must we you visit Santa Barbara.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Bad choice

Dined on June 8, 2016

I had a nepia risotto that was terrible. It was supposed to have plenty of seafood but I could only find calamaris. It tasted like fish scales and gave me lots of gasese. The waiters noticed that I did not eat my meal but did not care. Its a very expensive place and definitely not worthy to go.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great xperience

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

terrific wait staff handled our orders with professionalism and good humor. Our waitress did an excellent job describing menu items, and we were not disappointed. The panna cotta with fig and balsamic reduction was fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Night at Olie E Limone!!!!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Outstanding food preparation. I am from Naples Italy and it captures the taste of the region. Wonderful customer service form start to finish. If your desire a before dinner drink they have a great bar that is part of the restaurant and well as a dedicated pizza shop as well. I have to try the pizza next time.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a wonderful experience. Food is a ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Always a wonderful experience. Food is always quality and prepared well. We eat here often and have never left unsatisfied.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been a customer for years. Love their p ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

Been a customer for years. Love their pasta and risotto dishes !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Service & Ambience

Dined on May 29, 2016

We were in Santa Barbara for our honeymoon. I mentioned this on our reservation and the hostess made sure we received a special dessert :) The service and food were outstanding. WIll definitely be back and recommend to friends. The following day we cam back and the Olio e Limone Pizzeria also fixed us up a perfect picnic lunch for our road trip home! Both places are great! Grazi!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious and authentic Italian food. W ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Delicious and authentic Italian food. Wonderful fish. Desserts are too good for my waistline.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding sevice by Giselle!

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

This is undoubtably one of the best restaurants I've eaten in. The veal parmigiana was superb! The Venica Jesera Collio Pinot Grigio was the perfect suggestion and it was kept cool through the whole meal. The atmosphere is quiet and the wait staff was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My favorite Italian restaurant in Santa ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

My favorite Italian restaurant in Santa Barbara. The ingredients are fresh and the food is consistently excellent. The wine list has a wide variety of Italian and California wines. Finally the service is superb.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Nicer than expected for a touristy area. ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Nicer than expected for a touristy area. Service was excellent.

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

very disappointing. Poor service, ridic ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

very disappointing. Poor service, ridiculously small portions on one and way too large on another. It didn't live up to my expectations or some of the reviews that I'd read.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

In decline? We used to think this was a ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

In decline? We used to think this was a top place for a professional Italian experience. But not on this showing. Dismissive service fromthe greeting through departure. Pasta fishes were amateurishly cooked (uneven, tasteless) and drably presented. Even the quantities were small - lind of requiring you to order a secondi. Meanwhile the prices have risen to big city levels. Many better options in town these days.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent Italian in Santa Barbara

Dined on May 1, 2016

We went there on Saturday April 30, 2016. Easy to make the 8 pm reservation on OpenTable. We were promptly seated. The 2-top we were initially seated was reserved for a larger group that came in later. We were moved to a 4-top of our choice. The bread was fresh, and the signature Sicilian olive oil (chef is from Sicily), and three different olives cured with garlic and a unique touch of lemon peel was superb! We ordered two signature vodka cocktails - a Peach Punch for my wife, and a Capolavora (blood orange) for me. Both were good. We split all our dishes (a practice that served us well in Italy in 2014). There are additional charges for split dishes, but well worth the prices ($2 on appetizers, $5 on pastas and secondis). Our first dish was the warm seafood salad in lemon white wine sauce. The seafood (shrimp, mussels, clams, calamari, and scallops) was well cooked, and the vegetables had the crunch of gherkins. Just the dish that needs to be sopped up with bread! Our primi was the homemade garganelli pasta in a lamb ragu! Superb! The lamb taste was there in the front, but not overwhelming. It was suffused with a tangy essence of tomato in every bite. One of the best pasta dishes we have had in a while. Going to Union in Pasadena for Mothers Day - will compare with this dish! For our secondi we had pork tenderloin in green peppercorn mustard sauce, with pureed potatoes and garlic sauteed spinach. The tenderloin was good (though one piece on my plate had a little grist that was hard to chew), the sauce was excellent, and there was a shower of thin crisp fried onion threads that really enhanced the potato puree. Good idea to provide some contrast for this accompaniment. We were planning to walk down to McConnell's for ice cream, and were so full we skipped any coffee and dessert. Overall an excellent dinner. Will surely visit on our next trip to SB.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Back room blues

Dined on May 1, 2016

If you are seated in the front room, the experience and ambience are fine. The back room is less good, the service slower and generally you receive less attention. The food is excellent no matter where you sit, but for a special occasion insist on the front room.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

wonderful evening

Dined on May 1, 2016

Delicious and unique pasta dishes. Classic yummy desserts. Could make a meal on appetizers and desserts alone. Great wait staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

My mom and I go on a weekend get away for Mother's Day every year and this year we went to Santa Barbara (my alma mater). My mother is very picky and absolutely loved it here! Our food was delicious, I highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a great Italian spot there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Santa Barbara restaurant!

Dined on April 30, 2016

We live in Southern California and only get to Santa Barbara occasionally, but we always eat at our favorite restaurant Olio e Limone. We enjoyed a cocktail at the Crudo Bar, then had a fabulous meal at the restaurant. The food is incredible, and the ambience and service are excellent. We look forward to dining there later this summer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

We really enjoyed the food. Very authent ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

We really enjoyed the food. Very authentic Italian. The spinach tortelloni was excellent! Loved the brown butter sage sauce. Wish it had more of it and no tomato sauce. The caprese was outstanding. Pasta with sausage was delicious. Service was wonderful. Wine by the glass is pricey. Tables are tight so you can hear other conversations but it is not loud.

food2
ambience3
service4

Over rated food

Dined on April 19, 2016

Over rated food

food2
ambience5
service5
value5

Just ok.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great service, coffe and desserts, food was just ok. I expected more.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3

Only complaint was that it took way too ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Only complaint was that it took way too long for our food to come out.

food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrating my birthday. Couldn't decide ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Celebrating my birthday. Couldn't decide on a dish, so they made a dual dish. They made desserts for me and treated all of us special. Have been there a couple times before and will continue to go there every time we come to Santa Barbara.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Used to be better ...

Dined on April 12, 2016

This was our "must" restaurant in Santa Barbara for each of the last five years. This time it simply was not as good as it used to be. The food wasn't up to previous standards (there were five of us ... no one's was a stand out.) Service was awkward and not particularly welcoming. This was probably the last trip we'll do there.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Italian food

Dined on April 7, 2016

Great dinner. The pasta is very good, and lots of choices. The service was very good. The place is small so seating is very tight.

Tags: kid-friendly, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stunning meal, wine, dessert at Olio E Limone

Dined on April 7, 2016

Olio E Limone is unequivocally among the top 3 restaurants in Santa Barbara. Each dish is prepared with such exquisite attention to detail, generous portions, and perfect service. I love this place! The Olio pizzeria next door is ideal if you're in the mood for a younger, high energy, loud, bring the kids, delicious wood-fired gourmet scene. But if you want delicious, graceful, no-snobs, white tablecloth, quiet dining elegance, Olio E Limone is the BEST.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

We had a great time at this place for ou ...

Dined on April 4, 2016

We had a great time at this place for our date night in SB. We started next door at the bar and got some fancy cocktails (which were amazing). For dinner, we shared the asparagus appetizer (day's special), carbonara, and veal saltimboca. The asparagus didn't quite meet my expectations but both entrees were fabulous.

food4
ambience4
service4

I'm Italian, so I'm quite picky with Ita ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

I'm Italian, so I'm quite picky with Italian restaurants. This is what I'd call a good Italian/American restaurant. Some dishes are really Italian style (prosciutto, tagliolini al pesto) others aren't (cavatielli with sausage). Interesting wine selection, very good service. Fair price being in downtown Santa Barbara

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Balance

Dined on April 2, 2016

The food can be summed up in just a few words, nothing overpowering and everything in perfect harmony to create delicious food. Fresh, beautiful food, complemented by a perfect Wine list that was as well balanced as the food. Service was excellent, not too much attention, just enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice.

Dined on April 2, 2016

Second visit to this restaurant pre-concert at the Arlington Theater. Consistently good service and food. I look forward to visiting again, next time I am in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Something for everyone

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

From appetizers to pastas to secondi (meat or fish or veggie) and on to dessert, I cannot add a negative remark. And I am a VERY critical diner.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great evening

Dined on March 13, 2016

Everything is so very special at this restaurant. Always a first class meal. Our first choice for a special dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Italian Food!

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Delicious food, attentive service. Tables are pretty close together unfortunately. (Four tops in the center of the restaurant are better than the ones on the edges). Really enjoyable meal.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.