Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Olio e Limone Ristorante

Olio e Limone Ristorante, located in downtown Santa Barbara's historic arts district, serves artisanal Zagat-rated Italian cuisine. Meaning “oil and lemon” in Italian, their restaurant’s name reflects husband-wife team Alberto and Elaine Morello’s philosophy: rely on the integrity of the ingredients and quality of the preparation to provide Santa Barbara diners “simply sophisticated” Italian cuisine served in an inviting atmosphere with European hospitality. Start with burrata salad or white Mediterranean anchovies, then tuck into a plate of house-made ravioli filled with roasted eggplant and goat cheese, topped with a fresh tomato and basil sauce and shaved ricotta salata. And be sure to take home a bottle of their own olio, an organic extra-virgin olive oil made from Sicilian olive varieties. Private dining in the Cucina Room for up to 40 guests. Bonus: their pizza bar, salumi bar, wine bar and full bar next door at Olio Pizzeria, with private dining for up to 32 guests.

11 W Victoria St, Ste 17
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Lunch

Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:00pm

Dinner

Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm -10:00pm

Cross Street:
State

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(805) 899-2699 ext. 1

Website:
http://www.olioelimone.com/

Catering:
Whether you are planning a wedding, birthday or holiday event, or perhaps a family, social, business or philanthropic gathering, our experienced kitchen and wait staff will help make your special event memorable.
We custom-create catering menus for each of our guest's events to accommodate various needs, tastes, and budgets. Contact Olio e Limone Ristorante Events Coordinator at info@olioelimone.com or (805) 899-2699, Option 3.

Parking Details:
Lot Parking:
Santa Barbara City Parking Lot #5 (first 75 minutes free/paid for by downtown merchants, then $1.50/hr).

Executive Chef:
Alberto Morello

Private Party Facilities:
Olio e Limone Ristorante provides exclusive authentic Italian Private Dining in the Cucina Room for up to 40 guests. Casual Italian private dining available next door at Olio Pizzeria (Terrazza Room and Taverna Room) for up to 32 guests.

Private Party Contact:
Events Coordinator: (805) 899-2699 ext. 3

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Olio e Limone Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Romantic (51)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
See All
Good for a Date (46)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Authentic (34)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Cozy (26)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Business Meals (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Local Ingredients (19)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Private Room (10)
Fun (6)
Healthy (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Casual (5)
People Watching (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great Beer (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Family Style (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
718 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Great service and variety on the menu. Excellent wine offering also. The food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Simply excellent food and service. Engaged and knowledgeable wait staff, very helpful with menu selection and wine pairing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Really wanted some seafood for appetizer so they brought us the Crudo menu. Had fantastic hamachi carpaccio. One of us had the Dover sole special, the other the corvina special. Both were excellent. The third diner had the tenderloin medallions which were reportedly great. Really sad that the closer Olio in Westlake closed and we have to go to Santa Barbara.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent service, food and ambiance. Loved Pesto pasta. Waiter from Sardinia outstanding service

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

An excellent restaurant, with delicious food and impeccable staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Our five-member Common Ground Botanical Art Group has lunch at Olio e Limone every month or two as a special treat. The food is SUPERB! The setting is comfortable and quiet: how nice it is to talk and be able to hear each other! And the service is excellent.

It is a delight to return again and again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 14, 2017

We loved our meal at Olio e Limone! My wife had the sea bass and I had the seafood fettuccine - both were excellent. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a place to eat in Santa Barbara,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We've had some memorable dinners at the restaurant, but I would not be in a rush to eat there again. Our latest visit was decidedly disappointing on virtually every count.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

One of the best Italian restaurant that I have ever experienced. Good food and smbiance . Congrats

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent as always, great Italian Cuisene! Our Brazilian/Italian waitress was awesome as there was only a 2 person wait staff w/3 bussers. Even though the house got packed all at 6:30-6:45 pm & there was also an impropmtu last minute private pharmasutical party that the manager was tending to she made sure to give us excellent service.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Absolutely a gem! Authentic Italian fare with great service and ambiance. Can't go wrong with olio- they are consistently excellent! Alberto and Elaine love you with their food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 9, 2017

after two wonderful dinners, a disappointing third. The server refused to substitute mashed potatoes with a side of plain pasta without a surcharge (as if a handful of pasta was worth its weight in truffles). My creme brûlée was horrible (eggy, ice cold, soft crust) and left uneaten, with no apparent interest from him or anyone else as to why. The carpaccio pear salad and insulate primaverile were only fair this time, and the duck ravioli was good, but not nearly as delicious as before. A note to the restaurant about the substitution charge went unanswered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Olio is consistently excellent! Their food is always perfect as are their severs! Will always go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Olio must of had a off night. From the time we walked in No one noticed us at the door so we sat at a table and waited about five minutes before anyone arrived at the table the service us. The dishes were not exceptional like usual. It seemed like they had their B team Working the restaurant. Usually they're very good but not this night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Always a good choice especially for a cool downtown, SB meal with friends. Inventive menu and really zest and passion by the owner/wait staff about the menu, food etc... Recommend

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 7, 2017

The best Italian we've had in ages!! It is a MUST if you are in SB.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great place! Great food! I would recommend this place for anyone that loves authentic italian food

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent meal. Inviting atmosphere. Attentive service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Lovely dinner for my husband's birthday evening.
Veal carpaccio for an appetizer then shared sole filet and angel hair pasta.
Very friendly and knowledgeable service.
Complimentary Tira Misu for dessert.
Lovely decor and ambiance.
We will return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Olio and Limone holds out a promise of superior Italian fare that it does not quite fulfill, especially given the exorbitant prices. A spare, lively, and crowded dining room greeted us as we walked in and were guided to our table in the back. I've sat at diner stools that had more distance between customers. Service was brisk, efficient, and friendly, but the food does not live up to the expectations implied by its prices. A mixed green salad with sliced pears and gorgonzola for $15? An arugula salad for the same price? I had the Tagliata di bue and my companion the fish special the Dover Sole. My steak was expertly cooked and placed on top of a thinly sliced potato they called a "tart," though bore a striking resemblance to a potato chip. It was $36. My date's sole was good, but somewhat unimaginatively sautéed in butter and lemon. Two salads, two entrees, and two glasses of wine ran $183 with the tip. Spend half as much and go to Milk and Honey for better food, or spend just as much and go to the Lark for a meal you'll never forget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Food and service can't be beat in Santa Barbara. Their food is excellent and authentic Italian.
It is also consistently wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Boise)·Dined on March 1, 2017

This is an incredible meal experience. Very healthy and it's as if you are in Italy! Don't miss this gem!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Delicious Italian cuisine with a fresh local twist. Lively, authentic atmosphere and great service by knowledgable wait staff.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 26, 2017

consistently superb dining experience. Duck ravioli with porcini cream sauce, carpaccio pear salad, fresh dover sole, tiramisu, all wonderful. Top-notch restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The best of six restaurants that we dined at during our week in Santa Barbara and Paso Robles. Started with a wonderful artichoke appetizer that is not on the regular menu. It was superb. For an entree, I had the Fettuccine con Spugnole e Asparagi - a awesome combination of ribbon pasta, morel mushrooms, asparagus, and cream. Just bursting with flavor, and I'm a meat and potatoes guy. My date had a ravioli special stuffed with sausage and basil in a delicious tomato sauce. Another superb dish and to top it off they carry one of my favorite wines - a bottle of 2004 Il fauna Di Arcana Toscana. Highly recommend!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Veal was tough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Best restaurant experience in Santa Barbara. Giselle provided outstanding service.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Everything was very nice...including the Larkmead Cabernet...it was excellent!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was amazing. Very authentic and delicious! The cocktails and wine were fabulous, and we loved our server. The only negative was that our table was not ready when we arrived (even though we had reservations). We were made to wait almost 30 minutes and we were asked to wait outside where it was freezing cold! We subsequently came back inside and stood awkwardly by the annoyed hostess who wasn't nearly as annoyed as we were. Overall, outstanding experience. Some of the best food I have ever tasted !

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Olio never disappoints. Their fish, fresh ingredients like fresh sliced artichoke hearts and sauces are so beautifully complimentary. Olio is a class A restaurant and I always enjoy my meals.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Even with the theater rush, our service was amazing as was the food. Always great.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 18, 2017

All was good except the pasta we ordered was way too tomato-y. Everything else was great. Requested a quite table near the wall. Got it in a perfect location for friends that have never been there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were so excited for a special romantic evening. Seated at the table right by the door. All night incoming guests stood right over our table. I had made a reservation. A month in advance. Service was rushed. Waiter never stopped by to check on us. Courses came out too quickly. Yet our Desserts were served 10 minutes apart. No offer for coffee. It was a very expensive menu. We were visiting from out of town excited about a Valentines meal at an outstanding, well reviewed restaurant. What a huge disappointment. The food was delicious, but every other aspect of the dining experience was sub par. Clearly the restaurant was working hard to make as much money as possible rushing guests through their meals.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A friendly atmosphere to eat and enjoy the company of friends. Fix fare menu (Valentine's Day) had three courses with nine choices each - portions were adequate. Overall, a very enjoyable experience on a busy evening. Very expertly managed dining room.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Lovely food, and wonderful service. It was our Valentines Day dinner, and the selection was amazing!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent Valentine's Day date night! Great cocktails, good Italian wines, wonderful 3 course meal. Olio e limone never disappoints! Always a great variety to choose from.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We live a hundred miles from Santa Barbara but will drive there for special occatios to eat at Ollio e Lemone. Its at the top of our price range but well worth it. The best thing is THE FOOD and everything else is very good too.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our favorite place in Santa Barbara. Always great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was great as usual. lovely environment, nice buzz, but not too noisy.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Olio e Limone is now one of my favorite Santa Barbara restaurants. Service is attentive, the food and drink menus are extensive, and the tastes...well, they are delicious.

Our server this evening was informative and helpful as we sought to make wine and meal decisions. The meal started out with a basket of bread and olive oil, and the olive oil is exceptionally good (and sold by the bottle!). We also shared a bufffalo mozzarella, tomato and fresh basil appetizer.

We each chose pasta dishes, with me ordering the tagliolini al pesto (spinach ribbon pasta with garlic, tiny bites of green beans and cubed potatoes, pine nuts and Parmesan cheese), and my dining companion ordering a carbonara pasta dish. The tastes were very different, but both were very, very good (we just had to share!)

Need to return again soon with even bigger appetites, to have room for another course and also dessert!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.