About Oleana

134 Hampshire St.
Cambridge, MA 02139
View Larger Map

Oleana is a neighborhood restaurant with a strong focus on flavors and comfort. The cuisine centers on the Arabic influenced foods of the Mediterranean with a strong lean towards Turkish fare. Winter months feature a roaring fireplace and in the warm weather the gorgeous garden is open for dinner.


** Please note that we do not reserve tables on -- or take requests for -- the garden patio. Patio tables are seated on a first come, first served basis and are weather dependent. All Opentable reservations are for indoor tables only. **

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Turkish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

** Please note that we do not reserve tables on -- or take requests for -- the garden patio. Patio tables are seated on a first come, first served basis and are weather dependent. All Opentable reservations are for indoor tables only. **

Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm,

Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Btw. Prospect & Columbia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 661-0505

Website:
http://www.oleanarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
live Turkish musicians Tuesday nights on the outdoor patio, weather permitting

Parking Details:
There are two lots available for guest parking after 5:30pm. One is directly across the street from the restaurant. The other is diagonally across the street at the E.L.I./Fitness Together lot.

Executive Chef:
Ana Sortun

Private Party Facilities:
Offered during daytime hours, 11:30am - 3:00pm

Private Party Contact:
Janice Goldsmith: 6176610505x17

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Oleana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mediterranean
Boston / New England
Best Food
Boston
Fit for Foodies
Boston
Best Restaurants in Cambridge ›

fit for foodies (189)
special occasion (139)
neighborhood gem (129)
See All
romantic (102)
great for outdoor dining (64)
hot spot (53)
notable wine list (50)
good for groups (25)
great for lunch (8)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3646 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food in this carefully appoint ...

Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food in this carefully appointed Cambridge neighborhood restaurant. Tapas style allows experiencing a delicious variety of sophisticated and delicate flavors.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service, initiative and tasty ap ...

Dined 4 days ago

Amazing service, initiative and tasty appetizer and main courses. I would recommend the special of the day. The baked Alaska is amazing but its yuge, so split it with your date.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a lovely dinner. All our needs we ...

Dined 4 days ago

We had a lovely dinner. All our needs were met and our meal was timed perfectly. We left content in stomach and in spirit.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Successful early evening birthday celebr ...

Dined 4 days ago

Successful early evening birthday celebration. Good and interesting food. Amiable staff - patient with boisterous kid and delicious kid's lemon chicken. Lovely garden.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food is UNBELIEVABLE. Best middle easte ...

Dined 6 days ago

Food is UNBELIEVABLE. Best middle eastern cuisine ever had, hands down. Took my Fiancee for her birthday; only problem was (and this isn't the restaurant's fault) was that the place can get really loud! Would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My college roommate came to town from Ca ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My college roommate came to town from California, and we needed a special restaurant to celebrate his visit. Oleana seemed up to the task, given the reviews and the fascinating menu. While Oleana has a few entrees, why would you commit to one taste experience when you can have many? Their speciality is mezze - think Middle Eastern tapas. The range of offerings and flavors is wonderful. Our party of four has eaten in fine-dining spots all around the world, and we still were met with delicious new experiences here. Oleana is truly unique and excellent. Our servers were attentive and extremely helpful and well-versed when explaining the dishes. I was so impressed with the tastes that I purchased both za'atar and sumac (spices) the next day, so that I can try to0 capture some of the essence of this restaurant in my home kitchen. The only downside is that seating is a bit cramped, at least where we were. They have a very nice looking patio area, but they do not accept reservations for it, and we were not fortunate enough to be seated there, hence my ambiance and overall ratings or four stars.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Spectacular food!

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Every time I go to this restaurant, I wonder why I don't go more often. The food is consistently fantastic, hitting your tastebuds on several different levels. My husband ordered the meze tasting menu and it was nice to have each dish come as a surprise. I am a falafel fanatic (read snob) and this was the best I have ever had!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

$100 for two people - included one glass ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

$100 for two people - included one glass of wine and one non-alcoholic beer. Coffee delicious, and the Sultan's mezze was almost fatally delicious. If you like beef, don't fail to order that dish. Description of desserts so complicated we weren't tempted.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

It never disappoints. I was so glad to b ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

It never disappoints. I was so glad to be able to enjoy not only the food but the patio!

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Cute restaurant!

Dined on May 17, 2016

We came here for dinner and enjoyed our time. The food was delicious- we had the sultans delight and octopus. The sultans delight was more unique and flavorful- highly recommended. For our entrees we tried the lamb with garbanzo beans and also bass with lentils. Both were wonderful. The only drawback was the service- the servers were not very friendly when introducing the dishes. But overall, a good place to go for a nice meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food. Many new wonderful tastes. G ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great food. Many new wonderful tastes. Great presentation, Great service. Not cheap.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

not impressed. water had wine taste as t ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

not impressed. water had wine taste as the glass was not cleaned . not a lot of space to eat. food unequal.

food5
ambience5
service4

We've been here several times and contin ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

We've been here several times and continue to love our experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

I really enjoyed the food in this place, reservations are hard to find sometimes but I highly recommend to get a reservation because you definitely wont find a table. My recommendations: The Falafel Quail Sultani Delight Finish it all up with the Baked Alaskan dessert and turkish coffee (no sugar)

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service1

Waiting is VERYYYYYYY LOOOOOONG when hav ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Waiting is VERYYYYYYY LOOOOOONG when having an order in advance.

food5
ambience5
service4

Did not disappoint! It was almost imposs ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Did not disappoint! It was almost impossible for Oleana to meet the very high expectations we had for it, but it did ! The spinach falafel, the mfatoush salad, the moussaka and the striped bass were the standouts, but everything was very good.

food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Come for the food

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was excellent as always. The servers were all friendly and knew the dishes and wines well. This was our second visit to Oleana, the first was much more impressive. The first time we came, the Meze were paced and the experience was once in a lifetime. During this visit I don't think we went >30 seconds without 1 or two Meze being placed on our table. Long story short instead of a special occasion relaxing evening to slowly enjoy food, our night lasted ~90 minutes for 4 people which for a fine dining experience with as many different meze we tried just seemed rushed. I'd be willing to go back again, but next time not considering it a "special night out".

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We love Oleana. We have been there many ...

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

We love Oleana. We have been there many times. However, we sat at the bar (which we have done before) and they had way too many bar stools -- it was not very relaxing being elbowed all night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rare Gem

Dined on May 4, 2016

It doesn't happen that often that I dine out somewhere and find myself savoring EVERY SINGLE BITE! A friend and I were hungry as we sat down to celebrate her birthday. We shared two "meze" one entree and one dessert. We left the restaurant happy and satisfied. A meal here is special, and it doesn't have to cost a lot. Our tab (with wine) was under $100 before tips. Service was friendly, gracious, and unobtrusive, despite a completely full restaurant at 5:30 midweek.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was good, but very fussy

Dined on May 2, 2016

They take good solid Mediterranean dishes and try to elevate them to a different level - it works for some dishes and not for other. The falafel and fartouch were by far the best dishes.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We got 5 meze dishes for two people, out to dinner for my birthday. All were wonderful and bread in the basket was awesome too. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Oleana

Dined on May 1, 2016

The appetizers were fantastic. My chicken main dish was extremely salty as were the greens we ordered for a side dish. We both found the desserts a bit too sweet

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

The food was good but portions were smal ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

The food was good but portions were small. In addition, we had to wait ~ 45 minutes before the main courses were delivered. It was a frustatrating experience.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious, interesting food

Dined on April 26, 2016

Took mom for her birthday dinner (85th!) and she loved it. Food was great as was service and the food is always so interesting here. Was my third time here and each time has been great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In a word: sublime.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Phenomenal food, amazing menu of meze served by a very attentive, informed server. Suggested a very affordable and delicious wine that paired perfectly with our food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Devour the Deliciousness!

Dined on April 22, 2016

I've eaten at other Mediterranean restaurants in the greater Boston area and this was by far the best! The servers were attentive, the food was glorious, and the experience very memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't wait to go back to Oleana soon. D ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Can't wait to go back to Oleana soon. Delicious food, great service, awesome time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

What's up with Oleana?

Dined on April 20, 2016

After an absence of several years, my wife and I decided to give Oleana a try recently (we've been Anna S. fans since her days at Aigo). We were disappointed. Seating was cramped and uncomfortable; acoustics were bad; we ordered a handful of small plates that unfortunately were overwhelmed by their supporting elements. I'm sure a smoky octopus and potato dish would have been lovely had it contained at least a few more bites of octopus. When you order octopus you want octopus! Ditto for a lamb "kabob" and couscous special. One needed a magnifying glass to locate the kabob in the couscous. Some advice for those wanting a glass or two of wine -- buy a bottle because the wines by the glass are so parsimoniously poured that you'll end up ordering several. Other small plates failed to impress, as was the fate of dessert. But the Turkish coffee is still a delight. Service was polite and professional so no fault there. We left feeling full but not in a good way -- too much filling starch -- and with the vague sensation that the high cost of living in Cambridge has taken its toll on this restaurant, even as it has been renovated recently. We are going to give it one more try, to see whether any of the old magic can be rekindled, but only when we can sit out in the back patio. And we will order very carefully. Too bad that seems necessary and that we're not feeling more optimistic.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is a wonderful restaurant. Our serv ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

This is a wonderful restaurant. Our server was awesome as she really knew the menu and wine list. The food was wonderful and great for a group to go and try a ton of their mezze dishes. I would definitely go back and eat here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meze all the way

Dined on April 15, 2016

Their small plates (meze) were heaven - I'd recommend skipping the larger entrees, and just ordering a bunch of their meze plates to share. MUST ORDER: spinach falafel and the octopus, but can't go wrong with any of the options.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

Unbelievable food and beautiful presenta ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Unbelievable food and beautiful presentation. Best meal I've had in a while.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oleana

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

My new favorite restaurant- interesting flavors, plenty of vegetarian options, great service and ambiance. A real treat!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Reliably Great

Dined on April 4, 2016

Oleander never disappoints. from appetizer to dessert, the food was imaginative, tasty, and great presentation. I have an allergy to eggs and they did a good job accommodating my sensitivity without denying me a great dining experience. I especially appreciated that they had an egg- free dessert. I usually have to forego dessert because everything has eggs. What a nice surprise! Our server was great, making suggestions when we asked.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very tasty meal

Dined on April 4, 2016

We had a very tasty meal for two here. Shared the veggie meze tasting menu plus a couple of other mezes. All was delicious. Service attentive. I'd love to go back in summer, the patio looks lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Can't go wrong with anything on the menu ...

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

Can't go wrong with anything on the menu, everything is delicious. Favorites include: spinach falafel, hot pepper labne, octopus w patatas bravas. Save room for dessert, you must get the baked Alaska.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious and original

Dined on April 3, 2016

We've been meaning to go to Oleana for ages, having enjoyed dinner at Sarma a while ago. We were not disappointed. We stuck with small plates which we shared, and everything was amazing. The flavor combinations were so original but all of them worked perfectly. Every ingredient was there for a good reason - and not just to be clever. Our waiter was great, making suggestions and recommendations when asked, but never intrusive. The desserts were good, but we would have appreciated small plate versions. The baked Alaska (excellent) in particular was very large! The only down side was that the check was produced without us requesting it while we were still eating dessert. No offer of coffee. We asked if they were in a hurry and our server was extremely apologetic for rushing us. He explained that was just house policy, to produce the check at that stage, but to us it felt like a clear signal to leave, and was a poor note to end on.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience2
service3

I felt rushed. They were bringing out al ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

I felt rushed. They were bringing out all the small plates at once. Also not a fan of the seating. Felt very cramped. I had been to oleana many years ago and the good felt abundant and awesome. Which is just like middle eastern good should be. The food now was middle eastern sushi instead of meze. Didn't work ! Also I would appreciate the waitress not saying to me "are you throwing in the towel " when I had finished eating. I am not in a cafeteria but in a very high priced restaraunt. I expected the service and ambience to match the food

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is superb. Must try their desserts!

Dined on April 1, 2016

Their meze-style dishes are wonderful to share between 2 people. Everything is created thoughtfully and harmoniously. You can also order entree sized dishes, but if you are real foodie meze-style is the way to go. You don't get stuffed but left with a wonderful sense of satisfaction, happiness and craving to come back. If you are thinking between ordering an extra dish or saving space for dessert, take the dessert. Their olive oil cheesecake is amazing!!! they also have a nice variety of wines and beer to go with your dinner. Overall, this is a special place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious spinach falafal and fried mussels!

Dined on March 30, 2016

The presentation and sauces were incredible! Loved the delicious spinach falafal and fried mussels. Everything was perfect! All the flavors complimented one another well. Can't wait to go back and try more dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the commotion

Dined on March 30, 2016

I had to book almost 3 weeks in advance to get a mid-week 8 o'clock seating. My girlfriend and I were greeted with smiling faces at the front door and offered drinks for our short wait. Our waiter was extremely friendly and knowledgeable of the menu and had just the right sense of the pace of our dinner. We were unsure if we were going to stick with small plate or have entrees but after the first round of entrees we decided to continue sampling. Everything was perfect: the flavors were immense and new, each plate was unique and perfectly cooked and garnished. We aren't usually dessert people but we had the aleppo peanut tart with pineapple and left with happy stomachs and memories of a great restaurant experience. This was a "splurge" night for us and we are already looking forward to our next excuse to celebrate at Oleana.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.