About Oleana

134 Hampshire St.
Cambridge, MA 02139
View Larger Map

Oleana is a neighborhood restaurant with a strong focus on flavors and comfort. The cuisine centers on the Arabic influenced foods of the Mediterranean with a strong lean towards Turkish fare. Winter months feature a roaring fireplace and in the warm weather the gorgeous garden is open for dinner.


** Please note that we do not reserve tables on -- or take requests for -- the garden patio. Patio tables are seated on a first come, first served basis and are weather dependent. All Opentable reservations are for indoor tables only. **

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Turkish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

** Please note that we do not reserve tables on -- or take requests for -- the garden patio. Patio tables are seated on a first come, first served basis and are weather dependent. All Opentable reservations are for indoor tables only. **

Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm,

Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Btw. Prospect & Columbia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 661-0505

Website:
http://www.oleanarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
live Turkish musicians Tuesday nights on the outdoor patio, weather permitting

Parking Details:
There are two lots available for guest parking after 5:30pm. One is directly across the street from the restaurant. The other is diagonally across the street at the E.L.I./Fitness Together lot.

Executive Chef:
Ana Sortun

Private Party Facilities:
Offered during daytime hours, 11:30am - 3:00pm

Private Party Contact:
Janice Goldsmith: 6176610505x17

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Spinach falafel, tahini sauce, beet yogurt, watercress (Middle Eastern, mezes)
Whipped fava, beet tabbouleh, radicchio, green olives, pinenuts (Middle Eastern, mezes)
Fried cauliflower, beirut-style coleslaw, pickles, tahini (Middle Eastern, mezes)
Avocado and dukkah, olive oil, pomegranate (Middle Eastern, mezes)
Frozen Olive Oil Soufflé with Dark Chocolate Crémeux, Roasted Figs & Vin Cotto
Fried mussels, hot peppers, Turkish tarator sauce (Middle Eastern food, mezes)
Chickpea terrine, apricot, pistachio, tahini sauce (Middle Eastern, mezes)
Spinach Falafel
Whipped feta with sweet and hot peppers (Middle Eastern, mezes)
Sultan's delight, tamarind beef, smokey eggplant puree, pinenuts (Middle Eastern, mezes)
Muhlama, Turkish-style fondue, crispy brussels sprouts, fried pickles (Middle Eastern food, mezes)
Deviled Eggs with Tuna and Black Olives
Warm butter hummus with basturma and tomato (Middle Eastern food, mezes)
Azuluna Pork
Lamb
Sfela Cheese
Lafah
Octopus Shish
Sesame Crusted Zucchini
Warm Buttered Hummus
Grilled Ribeye With Crispy Chanterelle Mushrooms And A Corn Bechamel Berekt
Wild Salmon With Tunisian-Style Corn Chowder And Merguez Beignets With Green Beans
Pancetta-Wrapped Figs With Faro Corn Salad And Summer Melon
Baked alaska
Salmon With Orange Infused Potato Puree & Crispy Sweet Potato Over Roasted Asparagus, Prosciutto, & Melon
Cacik – garlic yogurt, cucumber, spinach, mint (Middle Eastern foods, mezes)
Lemon chicken, za'atar, Turkish cheese pancake (Middle Eastern foods, mezes)
Lamb shish kebab, freekah, radish, hot pepper labne yogurt (Middle Eastern food, mezes)
Mushroom musakhan, leeks, chestnuts, sumac (Turkish, MIddle Eastern food, mezes)
Vegetables
Deviled Eggs
Ground Lamb with Turkish Spices
Kohlrabi & Radicchio Pancake with Haloumi Cheese, Mint & Nigella Seed
Carrot Puree and Dukkah
Almond Cremollata and Chocolate Panino
Fatoush Salad
Spicy Fideos and Chickpeas with Green Chard and Orange Aioli
Salted Butter Ice Cream and Pumpkin Crepe
Flattened Lemon Chicken with Za’atar & Turkish Cheese Pancake
Sultan's Delight
Striped Bass Over Corn Chowder With Corn Fritters
Quail Kebob
Potato And Cheese Dumplings In Saffron Broth
Olives
Turkish Coffee
Flattened Potatoes With Lemon And Oregano
Grilled Haloumi Cheese & Peaches With Chard Rib Salad, Sundried Olive & Sweet Pepper Broth
The Paopao
Chicken Bisteeya
Bread Pudding
Whipped Feta Dip
Vermont Quail
Cod With Polenta Torta

Oleana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mediterranean
Boston / New England
Best Food
Boston
Fit for Foodies
Boston
Best Restaurants in Cambridge ›

fit for foodies (191)
special occasion (141)
neighborhood gem (131)
See All
romantic (91)
great for outdoor dining (83)
hot spot (50)
notable wine list (47)
good for groups (37)
kid-friendly (8)
great for lunch (8)
late-night find (7)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3674 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely terrific. Every course on the ...

Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely terrific. Every course on the tasting menu was memorable. The atmosphere was relaxed and the pacing was perfect. We've rarely had such an enjoyable meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Their combinations of meat and of game w ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Their combinations of meat and of game with vegetables, legumes and spices was outstanding.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The dishes were delicious, however, one ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

The dishes were delicious, however, one of the dishes we ordered was never delivered, and we waited more than 1 hour to receive the appetizer. Also - the portions of the main dishes were too small.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is on of our favorite restaurants t ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

This is on of our favorite restaurants to go to for a celebration. The food is intensely flavorful, the service is impeccable and when the weather permits, the outdoor garden is beautiful. Oleana never disappoints us.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must book early to avoid disappointment. ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Must book early to avoid disappointment. Tasting menu was great. Meat or veg options. Wonderful flavors. Great with knowledgeable staff. Will definitively return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service. Mere and in tree ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food and service. Mere and in tree pricing means you could eat for as little as $15-20pp or splurge. Wine list is the same, great bargains and some bigger splashes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely food - supurb taste and quality, ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Lovely food - supurb taste and quality, our waitress set the perfect ambience - attentive but not over bearing. food presented excellently. Shame we only spotted the cute patio at the end of the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We loved the food and but dinner took ov ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We loved the food and but dinner took over two hours, a little slow. We will return but not if we have any other plans for the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good food and good service. Wish we ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Very good food and good service. Wish we had chose an outside table- inside not that special.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service, presentation was amaz ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The food, service, presentation was amazing! Overall experience was incredible. Next time we are back in Boston we will definitely dine at Oleana!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As Awesome As Ever

Dined on June 9, 2016

We have been going to Oleana for over a decade. I am amazed that the quality of the food seems to only increase over time. The only downside is having to reserve far in advance.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience. The food is d ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Always a great experience. The food is delicious. And the service is superb. I just wish it was a bit more GF friendly. Is it really that hard to have a second frier so that bravas and other yummy can be eaten by the celiac?same for bread and pita?

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding Food.

Dined on June 6, 2016

Monday nite meal out with the wife and we just did meza and dessert, I know Mediterranean food and you can't get better in Boston. The waitress was Amazing, food runners couldn't be more helpful. All around experience a 10.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Too little for too much

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Some of the dishes are extremely good and inventive but the dining area is too small for the number of people they are serving as well as the tables are just too small. I could not get out of my seat without asking the gentleman at the next table to get out of his. Our server talked too much and it was just a general unpleasant experience. We had been once before and had a great night but comfort is all a part of the dining experience and Oleanna is not comfortable which is too bad. We won't be returning anytime soon.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent, service attentiv ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was excellent, service attentive and ambience pleasant. Standout dishes were the Sultan's Delight and Nettle Borek. Note that tables are very close to each other so private conversation is non-existent. Will be back again!

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Fusion mediterranean cuisine

Dined on June 3, 2016

Small sizes and high prices. Interesting fusion but I think a bit overestimated.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicous

Dined on June 2, 2016

Wonderful dinner from start to finish! Reservations online are easy, host lively, great service with support from wine specialist and wide array of exotic flavored on the menu. Guests can always count on attention to detail and warm service to complement stunning food preparation and display. Five stars in all categories!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Still Amazing at Every Level...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

We hadn't been for a few years, but it's still amazing flavors of beautiful food served professionally on a patio that's a true urban oasis. The cocktail improvisations and the wines by the glass remain inspired. The Baked Alaska is still my favorite dessert in the entire area, but the Profiteroles remain terrific as well. Asparagus was really a standout along with the Sultan's Delight (tamarind glazed, slow-cooked short rib) - the bread is good, but I think it could be more interesting and given the amount of dipping necessary, the bread bowl should be refilled without waiting for the request in my opinion. There is a reason the entire place is pretty much always completely full - and the prices are high but very fair relative to other comparable options at this level of high quality and super flavors.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great food. Nice staff. Can be a bit of ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Great food. Nice staff. Can be a bit of wait even with reservation. A bit pricey but interesting and seasonal food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food but tight squeeze.

Dined on May 29, 2016

Love the food here but tables are very close and very noisy when we were there. Had a hard time hearing my companion across the table.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Vegetarian tasting menu was very good!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Vegetarian tasting menu was very good!

food5
ambience4
service1

Excellent modern interpretations on trad ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Excellent modern interpretations on traditional Turkish/Middle Eastern messes - small plate format allows diners to share lots of delicious appetizers. Our waitress was very unpleasant - dismissive, curt, didn't seem to care whether we were having an enjoyable meal or not - based on the hostesses and what we could observe of others, we do not believe she was representative of the other wait staff. Will definitely done here again - and hope for better waitress service - because the food is exceptional!

food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing each time we've been

Dined on May 27, 2016

Amazing each time we've been

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food in this carefully appoint ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Wonderful food in this carefully appointed Cambridge neighborhood restaurant. Tapas style allows experiencing a delicious variety of sophisticated and delicate flavors.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service, initiative and tasty ap ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Amazing service, initiative and tasty appetizer and main courses. I would recommend the special of the day. The baked Alaska is amazing but its yuge, so split it with your date.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a lovely dinner. All our needs we ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

We had a lovely dinner. All our needs were met and our meal was timed perfectly. We left content in stomach and in spirit.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Successful early evening birthday celebr ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Successful early evening birthday celebration. Good and interesting food. Amiable staff - patient with boisterous kid and delicious kid's lemon chicken. Lovely garden.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food is UNBELIEVABLE. Best middle easte ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Food is UNBELIEVABLE. Best middle eastern cuisine ever had, hands down. Took my Fiancee for her birthday; only problem was (and this isn't the restaurant's fault) was that the place can get really loud! Would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating a new job and had th ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We were celebrating a new job and had the best night! One of us has severe dairy and sesame allergies, but once we told our server, Ted, he adjusted the menu to avoid both. We were able to have a fantastic assortment of mezes ( our favorites were the fried mussels and the deviled egg --- and the asparagus, and the olives!!!) And we shared the perfected halibut and the amazing scallops. We almost got another order of scallops but instead moved to dessert. Once again, our server suggested a perfect dairy free dessert. Just a wonderful delicious night!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My college roommate came to town from Ca ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My college roommate came to town from California, and we needed a special restaurant to celebrate his visit. Oleana seemed up to the task, given the reviews and the fascinating menu. While Oleana has a few entrees, why would you commit to one taste experience when you can have many? Their speciality is mezze - think Middle Eastern tapas. The range of offerings and flavors is wonderful. Our party of four has eaten in fine-dining spots all around the world, and we still were met with delicious new experiences here. Oleana is truly unique and excellent. Our servers were attentive and extremely helpful and well-versed when explaining the dishes. I was so impressed with the tastes that I purchased both za'atar and sumac (spices) the next day, so that I can try to0 capture some of the essence of this restaurant in my home kitchen. The only downside is that seating is a bit cramped, at least where we were. They have a very nice looking patio area, but they do not accept reservations for it, and we were not fortunate enough to be seated there, hence my ambiance and overall ratings or four stars.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Spectacular food!

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Every time I go to this restaurant, I wonder why I don't go more often. The food is consistently fantastic, hitting your tastebuds on several different levels. My husband ordered the meze tasting menu and it was nice to have each dish come as a surprise. I am a falafel fanatic (read snob) and this was the best I have ever had!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiting for a table (with a reservation) ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Waiting for a table (with a reservation) got extremely better. Excellent food with a menu that's evolving, surprising and delighting.

food4
ambience3
service4
value2

$100 for two people - included one glass ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

$100 for two people - included one glass of wine and one non-alcoholic beer. Coffee delicious, and the Sultan's mezze was almost fatally delicious. If you like beef, don't fail to order that dish. Description of desserts so complicated we weren't tempted.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

It never disappoints. I was so glad to b ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

It never disappoints. I was so glad to be able to enjoy not only the food but the patio!

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Cute restaurant!

Dined on May 17, 2016

We came here for dinner and enjoyed our time. The food was delicious- we had the sultans delight and octopus. The sultans delight was more unique and flavorful- highly recommended. For our entrees we tried the lamb with garbanzo beans and also bass with lentils. Both were wonderful. The only drawback was the service- the servers were not very friendly when introducing the dishes. But overall, a good place to go for a nice meal!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food. Many new wonderful tastes. G ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great food. Many new wonderful tastes. Great presentation, Great service. Not cheap.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

not impressed. water had wine taste as t ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

not impressed. water had wine taste as the glass was not cleaned . not a lot of space to eat. food unequal.

food5
ambience5
service4

We've been here several times and contin ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

We've been here several times and continue to love our experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

I really enjoyed the food in this place, reservations are hard to find sometimes but I highly recommend to get a reservation because you definitely wont find a table. My recommendations: The Falafel Quail Sultani Delight Finish it all up with the Baked Alaskan dessert and turkish coffee (no sugar)

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service1

Waiting is VERYYYYYYY LOOOOOONG when hav ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Waiting is VERYYYYYYY LOOOOOONG when having an order in advance.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.