About Oleana

134 Hampshire St.
Cambridge, MA 02139
View Larger Map

Oleana is a neighborhood restaurant with a strong focus on flavors and comfort. The cuisine centers on the Arabic influenced foods of the Mediterranean with a strong lean towards Turkish fare. Winter months feature a roaring fireplace and in the warm weather the gorgeous garden is open for dinner.


** Please note that we do not reserve tables on -- or take requests for -- the garden patio. Patio tables are seated on a first come, first served basis and are weather dependent. All Opentable reservations are for indoor tables only. **

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Turkish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner:

** Please note that we do not reserve tables on -- or take requests for -- the garden patio. Patio tables are seated on a first come, first served basis and are weather dependent. All Opentable reservations are for indoor tables only. **

Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm,

Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Btw. Prospect & Columbia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 661-0505

Website:
http://www.oleanarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
live Turkish musicians Tuesday nights on the outdoor patio, weather permitting

Parking Details:
There are two lots available for guest parking after 5:30pm. One is directly across the street from the restaurant. The other is diagonally across the street at the E.L.I./Fitness Together lot.

Executive Chef:
Ana Sortun

Private Party Facilities:
Offered during daytime hours, 11:30am - 3:00pm

Private Party Contact:
Janice Goldsmith: 6176610505x17

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Spinach falafel, tahini sauce, beet yogurt, watercress (Middle Eastern, mezes)
Whipped fava, beet tabbouleh, radicchio, green olives, pinenuts (Middle Eastern, mezes)
Fried cauliflower, beirut-style coleslaw, pickles, tahini (Middle Eastern, mezes)
Avocado and dukkah, olive oil, pomegranate (Middle Eastern, mezes)
Frozen Olive Oil Soufflé with Dark Chocolate Crémeux, Roasted Figs & Vin Cotto
Fried mussels, hot peppers, Turkish tarator sauce (Middle Eastern food, mezes)
Chickpea terrine, apricot, pistachio, tahini sauce (Middle Eastern, mezes)
Spinach Falafel
Whipped feta with sweet and hot peppers (Middle Eastern, mezes)
Sultan's delight, tamarind beef, smokey eggplant puree, pinenuts (Middle Eastern, mezes)
Muhlama, Turkish-style fondue, crispy brussels sprouts, fried pickles (Middle Eastern food, mezes)
Deviled Eggs with Tuna and Black Olives
Warm butter hummus with basturma and tomato (Middle Eastern food, mezes)
Azuluna Pork
Lamb
Sfela Cheese
Lafah
Octopus Shish
Sesame Crusted Zucchini
Warm Buttered Hummus
Grilled Ribeye With Crispy Chanterelle Mushrooms And A Corn Bechamel Berekt
Wild Salmon With Tunisian-Style Corn Chowder And Merguez Beignets With Green Beans
Pancetta-Wrapped Figs With Faro Corn Salad And Summer Melon
Baked alaska
Salmon With Orange Infused Potato Puree & Crispy Sweet Potato Over Roasted Asparagus, Prosciutto, & Melon
Cacik – garlic yogurt, cucumber, spinach, mint (Middle Eastern foods, mezes)
Lemon chicken, za'atar, Turkish cheese pancake (Middle Eastern foods, mezes)
Lamb shish kebab, freekah, radish, hot pepper labne yogurt (Middle Eastern food, mezes)
Mushroom musakhan, leeks, chestnuts, sumac (Turkish, MIddle Eastern food, mezes)
Vegetables
Deviled Eggs
Ground Lamb with Turkish Spices
Kohlrabi & Radicchio Pancake with Haloumi Cheese, Mint & Nigella Seed
Carrot Puree and Dukkah
Almond Cremollata and Chocolate Panino
Fatoush Salad
Spicy Fideos and Chickpeas with Green Chard and Orange Aioli
Salted Butter Ice Cream and Pumpkin Crepe
Flattened Lemon Chicken with Za’atar & Turkish Cheese Pancake
Sultan's Delight
Striped Bass Over Corn Chowder With Corn Fritters
Quail Kebob
Potato And Cheese Dumplings In Saffron Broth
Olives
Turkish Coffee
Flattened Potatoes With Lemon And Oregano
Grilled Haloumi Cheese & Peaches With Chard Rib Salad, Sundried Olive & Sweet Pepper Broth
The Paopao
Chicken Bisteeya
Bread Pudding
Whipped Feta Dip
Vermont Quail
Cod With Polenta Torta

Oleana Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mediterranean
Boston / New England
Best Food
Boston
Fit for Foodies
Boston
Best Restaurants in Cambridge ›

fit for foodies (221)
special occasion (168)
neighborhood gem (158)
See All
romantic (114)
great for outdoor dining (112)
hot spot (60)
notable wine list (54)
good for groups (41)
kid-friendly (11)
late-night find (8)
great for lunch (8)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (1)
good vegetarian options (1)
pre/post theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3721 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

food was terrific! order many dishes to ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

food was terrific! order many dishes to share so you can enjoy all the flavors and

tastes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I went here for a lovely dat ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I went here for a lovely date night after a stressful week. We sat in the patio out back on a warm summer night. The food was tremendous (and there were plenty of options for us as vegetarians), the service was impeccable, and the price was right. Oleana was and remains one of our favorite places to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing but service was lacking

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was amazing but service was lacking

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

One great find in the Boston area. The s ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined 6 days ago

One great find in the Boston area. The service and the food were impeccable.

Prices were very reasonable and the atmosphere (we ate outside under the small roof at sunset) priceless. Fantastic place where we meet fantastic people.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, creative food! Menu is creative a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great, creative food! Menu is creative and provides a more vegetarian friendly focus which distinguishes it from most other Boston area restaurant options. Service was good. They let me be seated alone (and early) and order while I waited for my other party as he was delayed by work. Sultans delight and the moussaka were wonderful as raved about online! Moussaka was definitely our favorite app. The new duck entree was phenomenal and by far the best duck entree I've ever had! This was a must hit spot for me for a while and a bucket list spot now that I'm moving to another state. Definitely worth the hype!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I had Oleana on my food bucket list for ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I had Oleana on my food bucket list for years. Mostly for the patio but unfortunately it was too hot last night to sit outside. We still had an amazing experience though. Our server was fabulous. I am usually a big downer because of certain uncommon food allergies but our server and clearly the kitchen staff was so great about letting me know what did and didn't have that item in it - believe me it was hard it was in almost everything! I was so touched by their concern for my health and my experience.

I always hate to tell people about my allergy because it is so uncommon and I know the pains they have to go through the minute someone says they have an allergy. I usually keep it to myself and avoid foods I know contain that item, however Oleana thrives on it. In fact our server said it was 1 of the chef's 2 things she couldn't live without. Despite all of that though we still had a great time and were able to enjoy the food immensely. I highly recommend anyone who LOVES Mediterranean food (and lemon - told you it was uncommon) to make sure you go to Oleana. It's an experience & a food journey unlike any other.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

a nice dinner on the patio; have to get ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

a nice dinner on the patio; have to get there early to sit on the patio or it will be a long wait - they do not take reservations for the patio and you cannot be seated unless the complete party is there. Service was fairly attentive but cool. i think the wine list is on the expensive side with by the glass wine at around $15 a less expensive option would be nice, the portions can be small for some dishes - e.g., the whipped feta also not served with bread or crackers had to ask for house bread. but overall interesting and good food...

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Oceana is good, sure, but come on, we ar ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Oceana is good, sure, but come on, we are all mere mortals. The service is so precious, and really, sometimes we just want to go out to grab a good meal with friends. This isn't the place for that, apparently, you need to be ready to 'experience' the place. We were left with the menus for about 40 minutes, then the server extolled the virtues of our choices, as though we were determining the name of our first born. Picky, perhaps, but again, sometimes you just want a restaurant, not a Broadway show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

What an amazing restaurant. We are outs ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

What an amazing restaurant. We are outside on the patio and shared the chefs choice vegetable meal plus several small plates. The combination was divine. Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious, varied, superb. Tamarind beef ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Delicious, varied, superb. Tamarind beef, grilled broccoli and lamb just perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hands down the best Mediterranean food I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Hands down the best Mediterranean food I have ever had!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Usually everything is great, but this ti ...

 
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Usually everything is great, but this time was a little strange. They took my plate away, leaving me to eat off a slate serving plate. It was so weird that I didn't want to keep eating and they took my meal away without offering to let me take it home.

Not the best night I've had there.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The food at Oleana is exceptional. Every ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food at Oleana is exceptional. Everything else about the restaurant could be improved. The seating is not very comfortable. The environment is cold in winter and hot in summer. The service is attentive and knowledgeable, but not easy to get. The dishes are not served in any logical order. So if you can tolerate the imperfections, enjoy the food, which is delicious and creatively prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Wonderful service and everything from th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Wonderful service and everything from the Sangria , the lamb and special fish dish was seasoned beautifully - perfectly cooked and the vegetables added to the overall greatness of the dishes. A tast sensation!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Staff was lovely - the hostess staff and ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Staff was lovely - the hostess staff and servers were all terrific!

Thank you,

Joyce Klein

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Do not take Meze chosen by the Chef. The ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Do not take Meze chosen by the Chef. The food is not worth the price.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

We were immediately seated and have been ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We were immediately seated and have been to Oleana many times before. Two of us got the vegetarian tasting menu and my daughter got a lamb stew and a broccoli maze. I would say that the tasting menu hasn't changed in years, so there is nothing special for us to look forward to. As for the lamb, it came without any lamb and my daughter had to hunt into it and call the waiter to show him. He said it must have been switched with another order. It was promptly replaced. I don't think that Oleana has stayed current and inventive as it used to be. I won't be returning again unless others in my family really push me to it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding food. Amazing outdoor seati ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Outstanding food. Amazing outdoor seating. Wine list with many moderately priced wines. Excellent value for the money.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Oleana consistently has some of the most ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Oleana consistently has some of the most exciting food in Boston and a deeply knowledgeable serving staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Oleana is a special place to eat. Wonde ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Oleana is a special place to eat.

Wonderful food, drink and excellent service.

Looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always interesting and tasty ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The food is always interesting and tasty. Our server was great, however the hostesses and manager could use some tips on costumer service. They were both rude and dismissive about outdoor area. Unapologetic about the al fresco dining rules. I specifically booked the restaurant to take an out-of-town guest there to dine in their garden. It should be stated in the online booking about outdoor seating rules. I was truly embarrassed in front of my guest at the way we were treated by the hostesses and manager. The food isn't that great to be treated so poorly.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Sorry to say the food did in no way live ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Sorry to say the food did in no way live up to the hype that I have heard about Oleana. Mediocre at best.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

this was our first time to Oleana, a muc ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

this was our first time to Oleana, a much heralded restaurant. we came with high expectations and were really looking forward to celebrating my wife's birthday there. we had our little daughter with us, therefor were seated in the very back corner away from the main dining room.

service was just ok, I suppose it is meant to be between formal and casual. The food was kind of underwhelming given the praise it receives in many publications. highlights were the short rib and the falafel. all the dishes had similar flavor and texture. dishes like the borek and the moussaka are presented different from what one would expect, while it is most likely intentionally, just ask what you are getting before ordering. prices are a little high for what you are getting. calculate $40-+per person without drinks. if timing is your concern, don't worry; we were in and out in just over one hour. we had an early reservation though

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Oleana is always a special experience. T ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Oleana is always a special experience. The food is absolutely delicious and the service matches the food. I only wish that I could go more often!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lived up to the considerable hype. Wonde ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Lived up to the considerable hype. Wonderful service, fantastic food at a very reasonable price for the quality. An all around great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This restaurant has been on my bucket li ...

 
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This restaurant has been on my bucket list for quite some time. I own and love Sortun's cookbook "Spice," so, as soon as we firmed up plans to be in Boston for an evening, I made a reservation. Service was warm, well-timed and helpful. Everything we tried was fantastic and above expectations. Prices are outstanding for the quality, imagination and execution of the food. Standouts included a pulled lamb mezze special, falafel, quail kebob and lemon chicken. We will certainly return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Some of the best food in Boston. The fal ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Some of the best food in Boston. The falafel and the quail are absolutely fantastic. Unfortunately the service was subpar. We felt rushed through literally the entire meal. Things came out so fast to the point that we'd gotten our entrees before they'd even brought us the bottle of wine we had ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Amazing food and wonderfully attentive s ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Amazing food and wonderfully attentive service. I would consider going back just for the falafels.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent service. inventive and innova ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

excellent service. inventive and innovative food. good portion size. very good wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

After over a decade, Oleana somehow find ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

After over a decade, Oleana somehow finds a way to stay new. The inventiveness of the menu, the freshness of the ingredients, and the friendliness of the staff keeps me coming back. The only downside is that many, many others have discovered this previously hidden gem... so reserve well in advance... it's well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two of us there for a birthday dinner - ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Two of us there for a birthday dinner - shared 3 apps - moussaka, sultan's delight and spinach falafel. All three excellent. We both had the lamb for dinner - very good, altho lamb a tad dry. Service was excellent. Dessert was orange blossom baba - fantastic! They put a candle in it for me. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Dining at Oleana is truly a special expe ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Dining at Oleana is truly a special experience. The Mezes are unique and amazing. We often end up ordering many for the table and sharing as a meal. I highly recommend this neighborhood gem, especially if you can sit outside!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great choice of meze, but too many had t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great choice of meze, but too many had too much cinnamon. Overdoing it.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We asked to be seated outside (5:45 rese ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We asked to be seated outside (5:45 reservation) and were told that there was no room. Nevertheless we waited as other deuces were seated there behind us. The seating in the main restaurant is a long banquette with small 2-person tables packed tightly next to each other. You quickly get to know your "neighbors." The restaurant is especially full of attitude, even for Cambridge. The small plates were varied and somewhat interesting until the same spices began to reappear in different dishes. The best dishes of the night were the quail and the moussaka (not your mother's presentation). The next time I want to spend $200.00 on small plates, however, I'll head to Tapestry in the Fenway where the food is much more creative and the staff less "professional."

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food and service - we will be back ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food and service - we will be back!

I wish we would be able to enjoy outdoor dining, but there are always next time...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

Ted was my server, and he was outstandin ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Ted was my server, and he was outstanding. I heard that he will be moving to NYC soon and that will be unfortunate for Oleana.

I had several small plates, including 2 of the specials and then had the baked Alaska for dessert. I had the Halumi and braised Lambchops specials, and then the grilled broccoli and a side of dressed greens. I also had my first bottle of orange wine, which I highly recommend (the Torrontes one). So different, but juicy with delicate bright notes but almost a port-like mouth feel. Everything was exceptional. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Helpful and professional staff. Creativ ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Helpful and professional staff. Creative interpretation. Electric beer list, which goes well with food.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the money the portions were very sma ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

For the money the portions were very small in the entree category.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The food was tasty, although some dishes ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The food was tasty, although some dishes were overly salty, to the point of masking any subtlety in the taste.

Waited an hour for main course to arrive and communication about the delay was disingenuous.

Truly disappointing based on the reviews we had read and a $250 bill for 4 was truly not justified.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Lovely anniversary evening--outdoor seat ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Lovely anniversary evening--outdoor seating by the fountain, nice summer evening, wonderful food. The only minor annoyance was a waitress determined to upsell us at every turn, but we were in such a good mood we hardly noticed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.