HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Ole Saint Kitchen and Tap

3.4
53 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Creole / Cajun / Southern
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups
  • Great for Lunch
  • Vibrant Bar Scene

Similar Restaurants

About

Ole Saint Kitchen & Tap combines the culinary expertise of Executive Alfred Singleton with legendary New Orleans Saints running back Deuce McAllister. Located inside the Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter at 132 Royal Street, Ole Saint is just a few steps off historic Canal Street in the French Quarter.

Designed to capture the warm ambiance of New Orleans, the decor embraces the essence of the city while featuring the memorabilia of Deuce McAllister's career with the New Orleans Saints and Ole Miss Rebels. "I think this is the perfect place where friends can gather to watch games, or where people can relax and unwind after work, whether wearing their favorite team jersey or a suit and tie," says McAllister.

Executive Chef Alfred Singleton features Southern Coastal Cuisine, such as Gulf Fish Amandine, Pecan Wood Smoked Baby Back Ribs, and a Soft Shell Crab BLT.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Creole / Cajun / Southern, Contemporary American, Southern
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: 6:30am - 10:0am; Lunch/Dinner: 11:00am - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(504) 309-4797
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Alfred Singleton
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 53 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.4  based on all time ratings
3.4
food
3.5
service
3.2
ambience
3.2
value
Noise · Moderate
68% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipKirasmom (Baltimore)
1.0  Dined on August 4, 2017

So disappointed in this restaurant. We were seated quickly despite arriving late for our reservation, I tried to call to say I was late but no one answered the phone, should have took the hint and gone elsewhere.

Service was awful. Our waiter was so slow, took forever for drinks. Appetizers arrived with our meals. I noticed others leaving lots on their plates, again should have took hint and left. Food was not good. Shrimp and grits had chemical taste, waiter took forever tookreturntoaskabout food.

Do yourself a favor andnever eat here.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Las Vegas)
1.0  Dined on June 23, 2017

Awful, the only good thing about this place is the beer selection. The service was terrible and the food had no taste. The worst of it was there weren't even 20 people in the entire place and it seemed like there was a line down the block with the wait. Definitely do not recommend.

Report
Helpful
KandB (Dallas)
5.0  Dined on May 20, 2017

A great place for our group of friends. Great food and service!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Diego)
3.0  Dined on April 10, 2017

Crab BLT average. Waiter matter-of -fact and lack of being friendly.

Report
Helpful
Sandtropez (Chicago)
4.0  Dined on April 7, 2017

Didn't make it for my dinner reservation but did hit happy hour a couple times. Great beers on tap and good two for 1 pricing . Decent bar food.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New York Area)
1.0  Dined on March 27, 2017

The hostess was very pleasant and welcoming. That's all I can say positive about our experience. Everything else went wrong.
We were a party of seven. First were our drink orders. Three people order sparkling water: two wanted bottled Perrier, one from the bar tap. Ten minutes later, they came out with three glasses from the tap. My beer wasn't served for 20 minutes. When we were ready to order, someone ordered one of the several oyster items on the menu but the waiter informed us they had no oysters. Really? A restaurant in the French Quarter with a half dozen oyster menu items had no oysters!
When the food came, one order was completely wrong. Someone ordered the "Sausage Assortment" (2 sausages with two bready pretzel sticks) but it came out with only one piece of sausage which looked like it had been left in the oven about an hour too long. The worst was one of us ordered the catfish. It did not come out with all the other orders. We kept asking when it was coming out and the waiter kept reassuring is out would be right out. The rest of us were all finished with our meals and we asked again. Finally it came out. When he served it, the waiter said the bill would be adjusted. When the bill came, the catfish order was doubled!
The manager came over and said that he'd give us a discount and took 20% off.
And the food quality was just edible.
What a disappointment.

Report
Helpful
MeadowG (Dallas)
4.0  Dined on March 17, 2017

Loved the servers! Have to have the half chicken & dirty rice....just like home.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on March 12, 2017

Great live jazz. Good was good. Service slow. Could have been cleaner.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Naples)
5.0  Dined on March 10, 2017

Took my team out for lunch! This has been the best food I have had in NOLA in the past 3 days! I highly recommend it!

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (Phoenix)
5.0  Dined on December 6, 2016

Great place to stop in for a bite, and they have a huge selection of beers on tap!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New Orleans)
5.0  Dined on December 2, 2016

This was the first restaurant I tried in New Orleans, and I was extremely glad that I did. I had the Shrimp Poboy and it was delicious. That, along with the service being great, and a great selection of local beers turned out to be an amazing experience. Will definitely look to go back the next time I'm in town.

Report
Helpful
JENW (Cleveland)
1.0  Dined on November 2, 2016

I was shocked that our concierge recommended this to me. Although our waiter was cordial he was not attentive. It was not very clean and the food selection was very limited. Our food was bland and just overall, I was unimpressed.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
2.0  Dined on September 14, 2016

Food was pretty gross. The only thing that was good was the side of Brussel sprouts. Wouldn't recommend. There are much better places to eat in New Orleans.

Report
Helpful
quarterrenter (New Orleans)
2.0  Dined on June 11, 2016

The food here is alw.ays good!! The issue is the service! We've eaten here three times and every time it is always ten minutes before a server comes to our table. It is laughable since we know how bad the service is, we watch other customers try to find their server for assistance, even walking around with their wallet in their hand. They've got to figure this out! Somebody make some changes!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New Orleans)
2.0  Dined on June 4, 2016

Somewhat disappointing. It took the wait staff several minutes to seat us and there were plenty of tables. It was almost like they were confused. The remaining of the service was just ok and the food was average. Nothing special. Probably wouldn't recommend or return.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Louisville)
3.0  Dined on April 4, 2016

The food was a happy surprise. The space wasn't at all supportive of the menu. We almost left before *seeing* the menu, thinking it wasn't for us.

Nice surprise, I guess?

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New Orleans)
3.0  Dined on March 23, 2016

Service was slow. It was my husbands BDay and he did not like his food. He had fish and white beans. White beans were bland.

Report
Helpful
Will (San Antonio)
2.0  Dined on March 19, 2016

Server was very nice, food was meh.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on March 13, 2016

Our food was delicious especially the flash fried oysters! They also have a great selection of craft beers from local NOLA breweries and other parts of the country.

Report
Helpful
MyGalSal (New Orleans)
4.0  Dined on January 20, 2016

We enjoyed the casual feel of the restaurant as well as the food which was perfect for lunch. I have enjoyed dinner at Ole Saint before and was surprised how quiet it was for lunch as it was very "vibrant" at night. I would recommend the restaurant to friends and will return again.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New Orleans)
5.0  Dined on December 25, 2015

we ate our Christmas Dinner here this year, and it was really great! My husband and I got the Christmas dinner; ham, turkey, dressing, gravy, mashed potatoes, bread pudding, all was great! My boys ordered off the menu, and their food was also good. The service was great, and the beer menu extensive! I can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
IslandLocal (Orlando)
5.0  Dined on December 10, 2015

Amazing...great bartender...big plus that it is owned by Deuce McAllister...loved SEC and Saints memorabilia. huge portions, great for sharing...In NOLA for 5 days, went back 4 times!!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on November 27, 2015

Sitting next to street watching crowd was nice. Typical sport bar food - great beer selection.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Las Vegas)
4.0  Dined on November 8, 2015

I had a group of almost 40 come in on Sunday, November 8. I will admit that I was worried about not being able to get seated but Ole Saint Kitchen & Tap came through for us. Granted, we did make a reservation on OpenTable.com but the restaurant admitted that they usually didn't do this during football season. We just got lucky.

The restaurant was ready for us. They had tables set up for us and the two servers were on top of it. The server that I had basically gave everyone a number and that was how she kept tabs. For example, my husband and I were number 5. When we asked for something she said, "What's your number?" Boom, she was able to add it and kept tabs. She had not issue when she gave everyone their bills, as well. Right on!

As Randi, in the review below mentioned, breakfast ended too early! We actually had a few of my friends leave because there was no breakfast. I was told that they would have it until 11:30. I wish I had gotten the name of the person who told me this so that when the restaurant called to confirm I could have sent them, but honestly, I just assumed (bad me) that there would be no issue with breakfast.

The breakfast fiasco was disappointing. I was more embarrassed than anything because I told everyone that this would be a brunch (not lunch) based on what I was told. Once I saw that my friends were content and ordering, I was able to relax. I ordered the Crab Maison BLT. YUM! It was delicious!

I would definitely recommend this place for large parties.

Report
Helpful
vipJRPjr (Houston)
3.0  Dined on August 28, 2015

The staff was VERY friendly. The service was good. The food was good. Really good fries. Shrimp and grits was good but I'm a fan of this and it wasn't my favorite. Great beer selection.

Report
Helpful
vipLunch (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on July 27, 2015

1st trip to New Orleans - food was great. Would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
vipOpenTable Diner (New Orleans)
4.0  Dined on May 27, 2015

The seafood Cobb salad was a hit, and the fried shrimp flavorful

Report
Helpful
vipiheartdiningout (Baltimore)
1.0  Dined on April 27, 2015

If you want to catch a game & just hang at the bar for drinks, sure go ahead. I'd never eat here again nor would I recommend it due to their service (or lack of. )and low quality for food. There are far too many great places to go for food in NOLA.

Report
Helpful
MikeyrInKY (Indiana)
5.0  Dined on April 8, 2015

We tried the place because it's connected to the Wyndham French Quarter and was convenient. The restaurant/bar looks directly onto Royal Street. The bar features a sort of grownup sports bar meets old world charm ambiance with multiple flat screens and 50 craft beers on tap. The service was excellent but the biggest surprise was the food. We had one of the best pork chops we've enjoyed since the Varanese on Frankfort Ave in Louisville. We'll come back even if we're staying elsewhere in the Quarter.

Report
Helpful
vipjessie (St. Louis)
5.0  Dined on March 29, 2015

Went here because of beer list - sent friends here because of the food!
After eating here have recommended it mulitple times and everyone has loved.

Report
Helpful
1
2