About Old Surrey Restaurant

13483 72 Ave
Surrey, BC V3W 2N7
View Larger Map

The Old Surrey Restaurant is Surrey’s best well- kept secret. Built in 1918, it was the residence of Lou Jack and his household until it was converted into a restaurant in 1974.

The interior has a crisp, clean aesthetic that is enhanced by hardwood floors and the enlarged photos of historic Surrey that adorn the walls. There are five distinct dining areas on the top floor (including a cozy library) and a banquet facility downstairs. The cuisine is French with a splash of West Coast flare. A treat for new and seasoned guests alike are the signature dishes that are prepared and flambeed tableside.

The restaurant is family owned and operated since 1975. Since 1984 the restaurant has entered into a partnership with the family farm in Ryder Lake overlooking Chilliwack from the nearby mountains. The Old Surrey is well known for its free-range lamb and veal allowing customers to enjoy fresh organic ingredients.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
134th street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 596-2313

Website:
http://www.oldsurreyrestaurant.ca/

Executive Chef:
Philip Aguirre

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant is split into five distinct rooms with a variety of sizes. Room capacities are 10, 16, 32, 14, 10. Please phone the restaurant directly to book any private function.

Private Party Contact:
Philip Aguirre: 6045962313x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Old Surrey Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Value
Vancouver / British Columbia
Romantic
Vancouver / British Columbia
8 More
Special Occasion
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Vancouver Suburbs
Best Food
Vancouver Suburbs
Best Service
Vancouver Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Vancouver Suburbs
Best Value
Vancouver Suburbs
Romantic
Vancouver Suburbs
Special Occasion
Vancouver Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Surrey ›

special occasion (76)
romantic (64)
neighborhood gem (46)
See All
fit for foodies (38)
notable wine list (23)
good for groups (21)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (4)
hot spot (3)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
678 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, the Old Surrey Resta ...

Dined 3 days ago

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, the Old Surrey Restaurant. My daughter brought me there for Mother's Day and I couldn't wait to share it with out of town guests over the weekend. The food is Amazing and the service is outstanding. Will be a Favourite for years to come!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the charm of the home. Food is fabu ...

Dined 4 days ago

Love the charm of the home. Food is fabulous and the show of the preparation of salad and dessert coffee is outstanding. Definitely a great place for romantic dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been coming to your restaurant s ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have been coming to your restaurant since you opened . With both my first and second husband . Moved to the Okanagan for 20 years and now I have moved back to Surrey I will be coming in more frequentlynow. Always verygood!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, great food.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Was there for mothers day brunch. Wonderful experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

High end dining experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

Amazing food. Great service. Definitely will return in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The old Surrey Restaraunt is our favouri ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The old Surrey Restaraunt is our favourite by far. We have been going for years and we will continue to go there. Thank you

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surrey's most underrated restaurant

Dined on May 1, 2016

My first time to the Old Surrey Restaurant and it won't be the last. Great food and the restaurant is cozy and warm. Dont come here if your looking for a quick bite. The service and delivery of food is paced to allow for an old school dining experience. I've heard people say the service is slow. It's not slow it's just the way this restaurant operates. They dont want you to feel rushed out the door so they take the time to prepare the food and serve it in an atmosphere that allows you to enjoy it and to also have time to socialize. Best overall meal I've had in awhile !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Need to get proper serving glasses when ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Need to get proper serving glasses when serving high balls. the glasses used you see at cheap motels/hotels. the glasses down in the bistro where nicer.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent, the ambiance ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

The service was excellent, the ambiance was perfect and the food was absolutely delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The very best dining in Surrey

Dined on April 24, 2016

We have been to the Old Surrey Restaurant about 100 times in the last 13 years. We have been there for Birthdays, Anniversaries and other special occasions and never once had a bad meal or service. We would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone that wants to have a great dining experience. Jim

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Special

Dined on April 23, 2016

Booked this as our top choice for our wedding anniversary meal. Never a disappointment, the food is locally sourced, fresh, and masterfully prepared. Service is A-1 and the price-point is a bonus. Always look forward to a return visit.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We held our wedding reception there. We ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

We held our wedding reception there. We return on our anniversary (last 5 years). Very professional staff, delicious & well prepared food. Quiet and relaxed ambience. It's located in a restored heritage home.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Family get togethers

Dined on April 16, 2016

We have been going to the Old Surrey restaurant for years, mostly for family get togethers. their special menu are always great.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Outstanding food, disconnected service

Dined on April 10, 2016

My family and I recently dined here for my Mom's birthday, and were incredibly impressed with the food. The Chef sent out an amuse bouche which was a nice touch, and everything we ordered came out hot and was delicious. The service however left something to be desired; our servers weren't necessarily rude but rather seemed disinterested. That being said we would still go back and give them another try.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Evening Celebrating a 65th Anniversary!

Dined on April 8, 2016

We were celebrating a 65th birthday and 85th birthday. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner with fantastic food, great ambiance and great company. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Oldie

Dined on March 20, 2016

We went to the Old Surrey Restaurant for my wife's birthday. It was the first time in a couple of decades since we've been. It was as good as we remembered it. What we liked best then was the taste of the food and isn't that the most important thing? The restaurant has been owned by the same family since it came into being in 1975. Found out they have a farm in Chilliwack and they what they can't source there, they find most of their ingredients in BC. We both had lamb Wellington (they breed their own lambs on their farm) and it was wonderful. I had had beef Wellington, but never lamb and was considering rack of lamb instead until I discussed it with the waiter. I'm sure the rack of lamb would have been great too, but I couldn't have been happier with my choice and my wife seconded me. We won't wait so long for our next visit, I'll definitely say that!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My thoughts

Dined on March 16, 2016

A very good experience. The service was excellent and the staff attentive. We ordered the specials for two at $60.00 each and the food was really good especially the dessert ice cream made at the table. My only concern was the choice of steak, a porterhouse which was good just not my personal favorite.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Good bang for the buck!

Dined on March 12, 2016

It'll cost you a pretty penny to go here for dinner & drinks, but you'll get your money's worth. Gorgeous ambiance, wonderful food, and a complimentary amuse-bouche and freshly baked bread to start your evening with. (The background music could have been a little quieter - was occasionally hard to hear our conversations.)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Stand out!

Dined on March 9, 2016

This restaurant is absolutely amazing for a romantic dinner! Three out of the four dishes were made table side, something I haven't seen in a very long time. Our server, Kurt, was amazing and he made us feel so comfortable and welcomed. I would highly, highly recommend this incredible restaurant to anyone. Thank you Kurt!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Celebration at Old Surrey!

Dined on March 5, 2016

We were a party of 8 including my 2 children for a birthday dinner for my dad who turned 80. I haven't been to the Old Surrey maybe 6 years so I made the reservation based on these reviews. I brought a cake and the staff was able to store in for me. As we entered the host took our coats and hung them for us. We were seated right away. The decor is lovely with cloth napkins, candlelight. My drink (the Green Timber) was very tasty. We ordered a variety of appetizers (mussels, shrimp bisque, Caesar salads) that were all well received. The salads are made table side on a cart which was a nice touch. There was fresh bread, whipped butter and a meatball sample provided also. The regular menu isn't kid friendly really and the waitress explained that they can also make pizza, chicken strips and pastas. This was appreciated by my 10 year old who chose pizza with chorizo. The rest of us thoroughly enjoyed our entrees. I had the steak which was cooked perfectly!! Others had chicken, salmon and lamb. We all were so pleased! Service was attentive and friendly. They came out with my dad's cake and the staff all came over and sang to him. They then cut the cake and served it. I was so happy with the evening and the Old Surrey Restauarant really made it special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always!

Dined on March 5, 2016

Excellent as always, the crab was to die for, very fresh!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great evening

Dined on March 2, 2016

I ordered the scallops that were amazing. My colleagues had a Caesar salad that was beautifully prepared at the table. For my entree I had chicken that was extremely tasty. The others had the lamb special which they found delicious. For dessert we had the crepes Suzette prepared at the table, again. Food preparation is truly an art form, served impeccably by someone who is well versed in the preparation of these delicacies. We went on a Tuesday and enjoyed the uncrowded, quiet atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wine Snobs Stamp of Approval!!!

Dined on February 29, 2016

The Old Surrey House provided me with the best dining experience of my life. Quality French Cuisine, french waiter and a fabulous wine list. Yes it was quite pricey but when you compare it to the Keg that is the same price range; every bit of our experience was better at The Old Surrey Restaurant than it ever would have been at the Keg. I will most definately dine there again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect experience

Dined on February 28, 2016

It was a perfect experience. Took my friend there to celebrate her birthday and they never disappoint.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Restaurant

Dined on February 27, 2016

I enjoyed very much and definitely recommend it.Food quality and ambiance is good.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

It was such a lovely experience. So roma ...

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

It was such a lovely experience. So romantic. It is perfect for any special occasion. Such a gem to have in Surrey. The food was amazing. The best bruschetta I've had to date!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great French!

Dined on February 22, 2016

My wife and I's heartfelt thanks for our dinner to Mike And Kurt- and of course the Chef. Waited to long for our first visit- big mistake. Thanks guys- will be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Best of Times...

Dined on February 21, 2016

We went to the Old Surrey Restaurant last December (2015) to celebrate my parents 65th Anniversary. We were given the "library room" and it was an intimate and wonderful venue. The food was delicious, the service excellent, and all eight of us had a fantastic time. Sadly my Father passed away on February 9th. We knew that he would want his "Celebration of Life" dinner held at the same restaurant. So on Feb. 20th 2016 we did just that. My Mom and all her ten guests had a wonderful experience. The staff could not have been more helpful and compassionate. Two separate "Celebrations" . one happy, the other bittersweet, but both with the same result. Great memories for all. I would strongly recommend this wonderful restaurant for ANY type of celebration or special event. By far the BEST restaurant in Surrey! Thanks again to the Staff & Management!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food, service & ambiance is always very ...

Dined on February 18, 2016

Food, service & ambiance is always very good. On my previous visit I ordered the 4 course dinner for $45. The last visit the 4 course dinner cost $60 and I feel that is just too expensive. I can accept $45 but not $60. The 4 course dinner was a set menu, no choice! I think this restaurant is going to have to become a "very special occasion" destination only.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Pleasant Evening

Dined on February 15, 2016

Took a chance on this restaurant for Valentines day. We were very pleased that we made this choice. The food was good the service was good even though a little slow, but this was due to them being very busy. We will certainly visit again and will recommend to our friends.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

horrible

Dined on February 15, 2016

Valentine's day, it was so loud I could not hear or talk to my husband. Food was just ok and expensive.

food3
ambience1
service1

I came here with high expectations with ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

I came here with high expectations with the excellent reviews left by other members. Appetizers were not good. Filet Mignon was nice but the lobster was overly salty. Service took forever but i guess it's understandable since its Valentine's Day. I won't be returning 1.5/5

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great menu on Valentine's Day!

Dined on February 15, 2016

The menu was fix prix for the occasion and we found it to be delightful There were 8 in our party and the choices for all the courses, 3, were many. We all had the steak and lobster and enjoyed it immensely. All of the appetizers were interesting and some very unique. Everyone was happy with their choices. We had varied choices for dessert as well and there wasn't a complaint amongst us. After making the reservation they called to let us know that there would only be a prix fix menu for that night and the price. We all felt we got our monies worth. Our waitress was a bit curt but most accurate with our choices and the other staff were more than helpful and friendly. Overall, a most wonderful experience and would happily recommend it to all.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual, the food at The Old Surrey Res ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

As usual, the food at The Old Surrey Restaurant was completely amazing :-) (I told my hubby that the filet mignon steak had ruined me for any other steak, for months ;-) ) Also as usual, the service was wonderful, even on this busiest night of the year :-) Always a pleasure to go to The Old Surrey Restaurant :-)

food4
ambience4
service2

have heard of old surrey for years but d ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

have heard of old surrey for years but dont find myself in the area often so its out of my way. valentines was the perfect occasion to try it out. cant comment on the normal menu cause we got the set menu for 70 a person. the food was good but we both felt everything was a tad underseasoned. service was ok. its a beautiful restaurant and feels warm amd quaint but the parking can be a bit of a challenge cause the lot is so small. overall we enjoyed our time and would be back to try some other dishes

food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Very Quiet food was excellent.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Overall great place for a romantic dinner, food is great,presetation is great and the service is good just make sure you have a snack before you go as the portion size is small.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great quality/value

Dined on February 14, 2016

Last minute reservation luck for day before Valentine's day. There set menu is outstanding, as always. The quantity and quality of the meal is always enjoyable, given that one would pay at least a third more for similar fare in Vancouver. Haven't tried their rack of lamb prior to this, as I don't appreciate paying for ~3-4 ribs at most places. Won't miss out on this again - 6 large, perfectly cooked, portions.....and locally raised as well. As always, a restaurant not to be missed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

We went for the Valentine's Day special, ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We went for the Valentine's Day special, and were very pleased with our experience. The restaurant feels like a home, with many rooms having 5 - 6 tables each. We were very well attended to by the waiter(s) and the food was delicious. It was a little awkward that the waiters would always be watching your table or hovering around you - a little too much in my opinion. Also, the Valentine's special was very expensive at $70/person, for what it was I think $60 or $50 would have been appropriate (no drinks included).

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

great place for a special dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and myself have been here many times. Be it a special occasion or just for dinner. We have never been disappointed and I would recommend this restaurant to everyone. it has something for everyone. The service is great and the food is exceptional. In the middle of surrey is this hidden gem.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner with friends.

Dined on February 6, 2016

We totally enjoyed our dining experience at The Old Surrey House. Our waiter was tremendous, very accommodating. The food was well prepared and very tasty. We definitely will be back. No complaints from our group.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.