About Old Surrey Restaurant

13483 72 Ave
Surrey, BC V3W 2N7
View Larger Map

The Old Surrey Restaurant is Surrey’s best well- kept secret. Built in 1918, it was the residence of Lou Jack and his household until it was converted into a restaurant in 1974.

The interior has a crisp, clean aesthetic that is enhanced by hardwood floors and the enlarged photos of historic Surrey that adorn the walls. There are five distinct dining areas on the top floor (including a cozy library) and a banquet facility downstairs. The cuisine is French with a splash of West Coast flare. A treat for new and seasoned guests alike are the signature dishes that are prepared and flambeed tableside.

The restaurant is family owned and operated since 1975. Since 1984 the restaurant has entered into a partnership with the family farm in Ryder Lake overlooking Chilliwack from the nearby mountains. The Old Surrey is well known for its free-range lamb and veal allowing customers to enjoy fresh organic ingredients.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
134th street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 596-2313

Website:
http://www.oldsurreyrestaurant.ca/

Executive Chef:
Philip Aguirre

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant is split into five distinct rooms with a variety of sizes. Room capacities are 10, 16, 32, 14, 10. Please phone the restaurant directly to book any private function.

Private Party Contact:
Philip Aguirre: 6045962313x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • mixed seafood platter
mixed seafood platter

Old Surrey Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Food
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Service
Vancouver / British Columbia
12 More
Best Value
Vancouver / British Columbia
Romantic
Vancouver / British Columbia
Special Occasion
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Vancouver Suburbs
Best Food
Vancouver Suburbs
Best Service
Vancouver Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Vancouver Suburbs
Best Value
Vancouver Suburbs
Fit for Foodies
Vancouver Suburbs
Neighborhood Gem
Vancouver Suburbs
Romantic
Vancouver Suburbs
Special Occasion
Vancouver Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Surrey ›

Special Occasion (70)
Romantic (55)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
See All
Fit for Foodies (30)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for Groups (15)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Cozy (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Historic (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Authentic (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Private Room (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (3)
Family Style (2)
Fireplace (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Casual (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
729 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

awesome as always will always keep going ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 4 days ago

awesome as always will always keep going back the pricing food service is second to none always enjoy going here

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at the Old Surrey Restaurant. ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

First time at the Old Surrey Restaurant. Excellent place I never knew was there.

Great ambiance, and even better service and food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Private Room, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The Old Surrey Restaurant Bistro was a v ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The Old Surrey Restaurant Bistro was a very pleasant, delicious lunch experience a few months ago so I was anticipating a delicious dinner to celebrate my husband's birthday recently. The ambience was lovely and we were greeted warmly, but then we were placed on the outskirts of one of the rooms and ignored for awhile while people bustled about. We ordered some wine but then felt forgotten. It became apparent that the staff were run off their feet. Eventually we requested a different table and then were well looked after. The warm bread was nice but unnecessary, the olives on toast were a nice touch but too salty. The steak I ordered was perfectly done and absolutely delicious with mushrooms and veg. The 4 course meal was good but not delicious! We will go there again but not on a Sunday evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Family Style, Cozy, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Very disappointing; food was appalling! ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very disappointing; food was appalling! Was taken in by OUTSTANDING reviews online yet failed to see why when I started eating. Service was poor - was like we was forgotten, not to forget rude staff. The best part of the meal was ice cream at the end, that's saying something! Neither me or my friend enjoyed our food with him left feeling physically ill afterwards. Please do not waste your time and money going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Nice atmosphere and good food. Overall d ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Nice atmosphere and good food. Overall dining experience was very decent. The only 2 complaints I have about this particular restaurant are firstly, my waiter made me feel somewhat unimportant and at times completely neglected. We were seated immediately which was nice, however, it took us at least 10 minutes to receive our menus and another 15 for him to come back and see if we were ready to order. We were ready in less than 5 minutes, closed the menus and patiently looked at the waiter to notice us. Secondly, we decided to go with their 4 course dinner, and after getting the first course, we then waited intervals of 30+ minutes between each course. Our dinner was 2 hours and 40 minutes to complete. I do love a nicely paced, unhurried dining out experience, but have never had to go hungry in between each course.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

The food was delicious and the server wa ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was delicious and the server was very welcoming, The only disappointment was they ran out of the crusted halibut dish .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for the Chateaubriand special an ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We went for the Chateaubriand special and it was excellent. Presentation for Caesar salad and the Chateaubriand at the table was very nice and rare to find these days. The restaurant needs a bit of updating though...for a restaurant that advertises fine dining, you don't expect to be seated at a fold-up utility table. That aside, everything was very nice.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Always enjoy this restaurant. Great food ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Always enjoy this restaurant. Great food, ambience and service. One of my favourite restaurants.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was a friends get together for the $5 ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

It was a friends get together for the $55.00 four course dinner Special. It was very enjoyable by all. We had the Caesar Salad, the entrée and desert prepared by our table which was great. The servers and service was excellent. We didn't have to ask for anything as it was all on our table. We were even given an extra appetizer compliments of the chef. We were treated well and felt very special.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always have a great experience when I ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

I always have a great experience when I go there. It is my favourite restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been going to this place for many ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We've been going to this place for many years.Both with family and friends.We have never been disappointed. The food is always good and we especially enjoy their Caesar salad prepared at the table as with the main course and dessert.Spiro the head waiter holds it all together.Without him the place would not be the same.The wine prices are a bit high though.

Overall an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time at the Old Surrey Restaurant ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

First time at the Old Surrey Restaurant and it was outstanding. TripAdvisor was how i found the Restaurant and i wanted a new place to try for our Anniversary. Great food made in front of you, We had the Chateaubriand Special, top notch service from everyone and great value. We will be back and looking forward to trying the next menu special in September.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a fabulous meal. Table side service ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Had a fabulous meal. Table side service great food and show combined!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was our 34th wedding anniversary. We ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It was our 34th wedding anniversary. We went there when we were dating and have been many many times over the years. The food and service has always been outstanding. We will continue to go to the Old Surrey as long as it remains.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I tend to go for our anni ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My husband and I tend to go for our anniversary every year. It's an old house so they have different rooms where you can sit, I especially like the library, very cozy and only 4 tables in the room. We had the chateaubriand 4 course meal and it was excellent, quite generous portions. If you don't like one of the courses, they are always willing to substitute with something else. Everytime we've gone, the chef has a special complimentary bite-sized appie that is served before your meal and it's always tasty. As well, they make the Caesar salad right in front of you, they finish the chateaubriand off with alcohol and light it in front of you and if you take the Cherries Jubilee, it's also prepared at your table. All this makes it a wonderful dinner. They also know how to pace your meal so you don't feel rushed at all, in fact don't plan on going anywhere afterwards, it takes about 2 hours. We always enjoy ourselves.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little gem of Surrey with exquisite a ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

A little gem of Surrey with exquisite ambiance, excellent service, and sensational delivery and show of French-inspired cuisine. An extrodinary dinning experience unlike any other that can be found in the city of Surrey.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This popular annual Chateaubriand specia ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This popular annual Chateaubriand special is one that my husband an I look forward to. We have enjoyed this for his birthday for many years and we have never been disappointed. Three out of five delicious dishes are prepared in front of you by their experienced and professional waiters. The service is bar none. We have taken our friends on occasion and recommend this dining experience to everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Anniversary dinner has been here num ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our Anniversary dinner has been here numerous times and we are never disappointed. The quality of food, service (never feel rushed), and overall ambiance make this a very special Restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We celebrated our25th wedding anniversar ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We celebrated our25th wedding anniversary here and it was perfect! The service, the quiet and intimacy of the space and the food were wonderful. We enjoyed the table side service which has become a lost art and adds so much class and pleasure to an evening. The Chateaubriand was delicious and beautifully presented table side.

Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the second time in 6 weeks for u ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This is the second time in 6 weeks for us to have dinner at Old Surrey Restaurant. This time we brought our great friend with us to celebrate her birthday. And we all dined on the Chateaubriand Dinner special. And was it ever special! Every course was impeccably prepared and presented. The combination of the excellent food, the theatrical table-side preparation and the ambience of this great old house make this a very special place. Can't wait to go back again. Go yourself, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an amazing place, the staff are gr ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

What an amazing place, the staff are great and the table food prep puts it over the top, can't wait for the next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Birthday dinner especially with the ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Best Birthday dinner especially with the Chateaubriand special

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was number 1, the best in ma ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The service was number 1, the best in many years.

The food was fantastic with table service was a nice change and special on our 35th Anniversay.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We have never had a bad meal here. We h ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We have never had a bad meal here. We have been coming several times per year for almost 10 years. We have introduced many friends to the restaurant. We love the ambience, farmhouse coziness, and convenient location.

The food is always flavourful, fresh, and beautifully presented, especially tableside.

The service is impeccable.

We love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

the food was incredible, the table side ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

the food was incredible, the table side service was very entertaining, and engaging, and did i mention delicious?? two kinds of flambe, and a great night, too much food, but the best leftovers i have had ever

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to the Old Surrey for ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We have been going to the Old Surrey for over 35 years. It is one of our favorite places.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spiro is training new servers and they a ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Spiro is training new servers and they are all doing well. A great restaurant to dress up for a nice night out. Old world charm for romantic dinners. I went with my niece as annual treat for ourselves, there was a man with his very young daughter and another couple meeting for a first date. All kinds of options for dining here.

Food well prepared and presented, service never overbearing and your wine glass is never empty when you have ordered a 1/2 or full bottle and you really don't see them refill it for you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This restaurant is like visiting old fri ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This restaurant is like visiting old friends you've not seen in a while. The whole experience was beyond expectation, and our expectation were very high.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The servers were great.Food was prepared ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The servers were great.Food was prepared just right. Always have a great meal when we go there.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going here for many years . ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We have been going here for many years . Always have had very good service. The servers are very friendly and go overboard to make your evening very enjoyable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining here, we will be back. ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

First time dining here, we will be back.

Pro- Best caesar salad we have had in many years! Steak cooked as ordered, to perfection. Rack of lamb was amazing.

Service was excellent, server was friendly and has decades of experience at this restaurant.

Usually have to drive to Vancouver to find a gem like Old Surrey Restaurant.

Con- wine list a little short for BC VQA reds.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The meal was exceptional in every respec ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The meal was exceptional in every respect. Every item was prepared and served perfectly. The Caesar salad and chateaubriand was amazing. Great service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great fine dining at a fair price. Every ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great fine dining at a fair price. Everything was great except the hair on my steak.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Classic high end dining experience ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great Classic high end dining experience.

Very classy waiters.

It can get a little warm in hot weather.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Family, friends and I have been regulars ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Family, friends and I have been regulars literally since the beginning. Only one disappointing evening in over a generation, and that says something. Love the specials and the Caesar salad - one of the few restaurants still preparing it correctly and at the table as well. Moreover the staff is superb. Food and fine service are celebrated and well worth a visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hadn't been to the Old Surrey for a whil ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Hadn't been to the Old Surrey for a while and had forgotten just how good it is.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice Steak. Nice looking tables, ve ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Very nice Steak. Nice looking tables, very romantic.

Was a great dinner night.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding table side meal, old school ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Outstanding table side meal, old school dining, superb! Felt like I was at Hy's in the early years. The food was fabulous and the service as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing, the best filet I h ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was amazing, the best filet I have ever had. The service was outstanding. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Old Surrey Restaurant offered a uniq ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The Old Surrey Restaurant offered a unique dining experience. I highly recommend the set menu to any first time diners. The ambiance was perfect for date night!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.