Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

About Old Surrey Restaurant

The Old Surrey Restaurant is Surrey’s best well- kept secret. Built in 1918, it was the residence of Lou Jack and his household until it was converted into a restaurant in 1974.

The interior has a crisp, clean aesthetic that is enhanced by hardwood floors and the enlarged photos of historic Surrey that adorn the walls. There are five distinct dining areas on the top floor (including a cozy library) and a banquet facility downstairs. The cuisine is French with a splash of West Coast flare. A treat for new and seasoned guests alike are the signature dishes that are prepared and flambeed tableside.

The restaurant is family owned and operated since 1975. Since 1984 the restaurant has entered into a partnership with the family farm in Ryder Lake overlooking Chilliwack from the nearby mountains. The Old Surrey is well known for its free-range lamb and veal allowing customers to enjoy fresh organic ingredients.

13483 72 Ave
Surrey, BC V3W 2N7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
134th street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 596-2313

Website:
http://www.oldsurreyrestaurant.ca/

Executive Chef:
Philip Aguirre

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant is split into five distinct rooms with a variety of sizes. Room capacities are 10, 16, 32, 14, 10. Please phone the restaurant directly to book any private function.

Private Party Contact:
Philip Aguirre: (604) 596-2313

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Old Surrey Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (38)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Romantic (31)
See All
Quiet Conversation (27)
Good for a Date (25)
Cozy (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Worth the Drive (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Authentic (18)
Notable Wine List (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Seasonal (9)
Tasting Menu (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Casual (5)
Fun (5)
Business Meals (5)
Healthy (5)
Organic (2)
Private Room (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Music (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
912 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic food with amazing presentation! Great service! Highly recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

We visited Old Surrey for an anniversary dinner. The atmosphere is cozy, comfortable, but formal enough to be special. We had the Chateaubriand. Prawns Provencal to start, Ceaser salad were both amazing. The tableside service is wonderful, and the staff charming and professional without being stuffy. Cherries Jubilee to top it off - yum. Tip - try the Burrowing Owl Pinot Noir.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The Chateaubriand special was unbelievably good.
Would definitely have it again except I will not fill up on the bread first.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

I would not recommend this restaurant. We ordered our foor which was an hour and half late which came cold. When we complained they said they would throw in the coffee for free. Our bill was $250.00. Terrible service..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

While there certainly is charm in the "old" surroundings I think there is room for an upgrade to the quality of the restrooms, flooring, paint, etc.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 9, 2017

A "must go" restaurant at least once, esp during their prix-fixed 5 course- Chateaubriand dining special. Best bargain in town. Only held from July-early September this year. Been twice already. Old school dining, the best!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Top notch white table cloth place. Great service. In the middle of Surrey where no-one can find it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Took my daughter and her boyfriend for dinner with my wife, it's the second time I've been there in a couple of months and again great service and the food was excellent. Highly recommend as a go to place for a nice evening out

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Had the Seafood Platter and was not disappointed. Excellent meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Best restaurant in lower mainland!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

This is our go to restaurant. We have celebrated 2 weddings here,and many other special occasions. The staff is wonderful, especially fond of Spiros. The food is outstanding. One of a very few places to get a real Caesar salad.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food and service are out of this world, everything about this place is perfect. Highly recommend it to everyone to try at least once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 30, 2017

My wife and try to make it to the Old Surrey Restaurant every now and then for a special treat . The Old Surrey is easily one of the best dining values if you are looking for a great food and exceptional service . There is nothing else like it in the Surrey area . Great wine list too!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed a rare date night here recently. We hadn't been for a few years and decided it was time to go back. Old Surrey is a diamond in the rough. The service and food is impeccable. They don't try too hard like a lot of trendy Vancouver restaurants but hit the mark with their fresh, local ingredients finished French style.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Organic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Our Anniversary dinner. Everyone gave exceptional service and the Caesar salad and seafood platter were to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food was fabulous....can't say enough about the scallop appetizer and the seafood platter. We found the lamb to be delicious, but too much meat...not enough room for dessert! The service was attentive and quick. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Thank you.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food was amazing staff were great watching the waiter prepare the salad with all fresh ingredients was interesting using old school ways ....

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Excellent food and service!! Great place to go for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 17, 2017

A great place to treat yourself for great food. The staff work well as a team on the prep of the food and clean up.
Again each course was excellent, your have to try the Caesar salad.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We visited the Old Surrey Restaurant on July 15, 2017 in celebration of a friend’s birthday. This was our second visit and we found the experience flawless. The restaurant itself is charming and reminds me of “old-school” dining experiences I’ve enjoyed in the past with white linen, roses in bud vases, candlelight, etc. Well worth the drive in from Vancouver. The restaurant staff is, by and large, mature career restaurant/hospitality professionals. I find this a treat and immensely reassuring when enjoying an evening out dining. The handcrafted martinis are wonderful and not to be missed. Caesar salad prepared tableside was very tasty and generous in portion.

Our group enjoyed the chateaubriand, lamb and medallions of beef. All were excellent and I was thrilled with my medallions of beef with a lovely hollandaise and nicely-grilled prawns. I am addicted to the wonderful potato puffs served with the main course. Dessert was lovely, some of us had the cherries jubilee which were prepared with just the right amount of showmanship and were nicely “boozy” and we also enjoyed the crème brulee, which was outstanding.

This is a great place to enjoy an evening of fine dining and great service. All in our group had a wonderful time and we were amazed to note that we actually were the last to leave the restaurant! Time certainly flies when you’re having a great experience!

You can’t go wrong with this restaurant either as an intimate and romantic dining experience or enjoying with friends and family for a special occasion. We’re planning to come back for my husband’s birthday early August and looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Old European/ Continental style food , presentation and service. Very blended flavours , subtle vs pungent. Reliable and consistent.

With the old European style, some food is prepared at table , as with Caesar salad, Chateau Briand , a male only position. Time for females to be included in this ritual!

Would come back again and again, especially for the summer seasonal all inclusive! 4 courses for 60 per is exceptional pricing.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Took my Adult Grandchildren for dinner for the summer special. They loved it! It was their first time and it will not be their last :)

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 11, 2017

We went for their anniversary special and everything was wonderful as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Excellent, as usual!!
We will return again very soon!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Casual, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 6, 2017

An absolute must try! Been twice and have loved it both times. This is the way dining should be.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 4, 2017

This is a wonderful place, great food, great service. The best Caesar salad in the world... prepared at your table.
They have Gluten Free (GF) options that make sure you don't feel deprived.
Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We chose Old Surrey for our 57th anniversary dinner and were not disappointed. The service was good and the food was outstanding. We will definitely be going there again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This was our first time here. We were celebrating our 44th anniversary with our daughter & son-in-law. The service was excellent & the presentation was good. There is a varied menu with a good price range. One of our party had the chicken & another had the lamb. Both joyed their choice. They also had the scallops which they felt were undercooked.
My wife & I had the seafood platter. Both the lobster & the scallops, again were undercooked, which was a real "turnoff".
There was no recognition that we were celebrating a special occasion, even though it was mentioned to the waiter.
All in all, we were disappointed with our dining experience & will no return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Great place for a quiet dinner with friends and family or special occasion.
Food is always excellent and the service is fantastic.
Have been going there for 30 years, never a bad experience.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We've always enjoyed Old Surrey Restaurant..so chose it to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary. Was not disappointed! Enjoyed the four course dinner,complements to the chef!
Made our Anniversary a memorable occasion...will be back for sure. Highly recommend to give it a try! Thank you for an awesome evening🥂

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food and presentation were fabulous. All the wait staff were wonderful, professional and friendly. The only con was that we were not asked if we wanted another drink and the table was cleared very slowly. I sat with an empty plate for quite a while. And the wait staff were continually walking back and forth so could have taken it away fairly easily.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Cozy, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Four of us had the special four course meal and it was great. Dinner and conversation lasted three hours.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Surrey)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My visit to the Old Surrey was as expected. Great food and value. The cooks making our salad and dessert at the table was outstanding. The menu had a nice variety as well as a special that was outstanding.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Authentic, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Birthday, Spiro created the Caesar salad again!! Great job!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Good food, good service as always. Time to introduce gourmet vegetarian/vegan options

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 9, 2017

2 Birthday celebrations turned out pretty good. Food were excellent, service is good except we have to ask for water refill instead of providing us pitchers. All in all it was a wonderful evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Good overall experience. Was chosen by the client as he had a good family dinner previously. Very traditional menu and good wine list. Portions sizes are average. Worth a look if you have not been.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Have gone to restaurant since1976. Still maintains its quality. Food /Ambiance is great. Owners and staff great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great classic French dining for special occasions, service was awesome!
One of the last establishments keeping with the traditions of fine dining.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.