Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

About Old Surrey Restaurant

The Old Surrey Restaurant is Surrey’s best well- kept secret. Built in 1918, it was the residence of Lou Jack and his household until it was converted into a restaurant in 1974.

The interior has a crisp, clean aesthetic that is enhanced by hardwood floors and the enlarged photos of historic Surrey that adorn the walls. There are five distinct dining areas on the top floor (including a cozy library) and a banquet facility downstairs. The cuisine is French with a splash of West Coast flare. A treat for new and seasoned guests alike are the signature dishes that are prepared and flambeed tableside.

The restaurant is family owned and operated since 1975. Since 1984 the restaurant has entered into a partnership with the family farm in Ryder Lake overlooking Chilliwack from the nearby mountains. The Old Surrey is well known for its free-range lamb and veal allowing customers to enjoy fresh organic ingredients.

13483 72 Ave
Surrey, BC V3W 2N7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
134th street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 596-2313

Website:
http://www.oldsurreyrestaurant.ca/

Executive Chef:
Philip Aguirre

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Old Surrey Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Quiet Conversation (33)
See All
Romantic (30)
Good for a Date (28)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Cozy (26)
Worth the Drive (24)
Local Ingredients (22)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Authentic (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Notable Wine List (12)
Seasonal (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fun (5)
Healthy (5)
Business Meals (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
937 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

Service and food Excellent on each visit I make here!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Wonderful service - server was attentive but we didn't feel crowded. The food is divine and as good if not better than many fine dining restaurants in Vancouver. The ambiance could use some freshening up, but I did enjoy how quiet it is.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Old Surrey House still delivers great cuisine and French service ,reminiscent of fine dining experienced four decades ago. This family business delivers every time I've had occasion to dine there. A true diamond in the rough and well worth a visit.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Expensive but excellent service and delicious food. Very nice atmosphere. However when the waiters are doing a Caesar salad or searing the food at other tables it tends to distract from the ambience of the occasion. But overall angood experience

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 30, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants to go to for a special occasion .... never disappoints.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

This truly a place to go for a special occasion. The food is excellent! The
preparation and presentation of some menu items tableside definitely makes you feel like a celebrity.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We have been to the Old Surrey Restaurant three times in the last two months. Each visit we were never disappointed with the food, service or atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

The season special was so good! And at a great price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Best Caesar salad ever! Great selection on the four course dinner. Lamb and beef Wellington were incredible and the brownie served with flambaied berries in Amaratto with pistachio ice cream was an incredible finish to an excellent meal!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

We had not been to the Old Surrey in a very long time. I took my husband there for his Birthday and we were definitely very impressed. The food was 5 star as was the service. A lovely place to go for a special dining experience. The atmosphere is quiet, fine dining and worth it to try.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food was excellent. The setting is very nice, and very relaxed. The staff is very polite. If you're looking for fast this is not the place for you, it's a slow leisurely enjoyed the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner and the service was great.
We will be back

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Too noisy for intimate dinning, crepe suzzette was too salty and bland.

Caesar salad for 2 was beyond excellent (previous visit) but a single Caesar was a sub par.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Quite good food, uneven service, dirty floor. On the night we visited, there were two or more large parties there, and the smaller tables were essentially ignored. This used to be my local restaurant of choice - I stopped going a few years back because of poor service - but decided to try them again because the chateaubriand special is so good. It seems as though they do not assign a designated server to a specific table and consequently, several servers try to "fit" the smaller tables in when s/he can. If they expect to keep their customer base, they need to pick up their game regarding the service flow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Always a great time with exceptional food and service, a gem in the heart of surrey.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Came with my family for my moms birthday. Love the heritage building. They flambé things at the table which is fun. The food was all really good. They have lots of great BC wines-- Although slightly over priced(it's general practice at restaurants to charge double what they pay for a wine but here it was a bit higher.) at least the wine list doesn't suck like most places in Surrey. It was cute in there and my mom really liked it which when you boil it down if the birthday girl is happy then you're all happy. Goodnight over all.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

We had our 11th wedding anniversary. I requested the library as I had eaten there before many years ago.
The service was friendly and professional without being intrusive. We chose the briand for two which was superb. Next time we are going to have the lamb from their farm in Chilliwack.
Yum.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 26, 2017

I have been enjoying the menu at the Old Surrey Restaurant together with my wife, family, and friend for years. I have no recollection of a disappointing meal ever. The serving staff are plentiful, attentive, and amazing. Spiros is a gem. He always make the evening perfect. The food is pricey, but always amazing. Made perfectly, and always consistently good. It is at this restaurant that I don't mind spending a premium for a good meal; I am never disappointed. The wine menu is varied and interesting, though, I do have my go to favorites. If I do feel a little adventurous and feel a need to experiment with a new wine, then I can always depend on knowledge and experience of the Old Surrey Restaurant staff to recommend the perfect wine. I would recommend that if you are interested in experiencing this restaurant that you don't do it during their special occasions like Mothers Day or Valentines. The staff handles these special dates like pros, but it is during the quieter evenings while sitting in the library room that you will truly experience this restaurant at its best.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Great dinners in a relaxing atmosphere, thank you Spiro.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This is our go to place for special occasions, the food is always very good , you can't beat the ambiance, always polite talk with neighbouring tables ... a must do in my opinion , service is fantastic as well ...

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Love the experience. Highly recommended. Pricier but worth it. Love the option where food is prepare directly in front of us. Staff always attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

The restaurant had a beautiful decor, the service was fantastic and the food was outstanding. I couldn't get over how generous the portions were as well. Would highly recommend it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Fantastic food with amazing presentation! Great service! Highly recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We visited Old Surrey for an anniversary dinner. The atmosphere is cozy, comfortable, but formal enough to be special. We had the Chateaubriand. Prawns Provencal to start, Ceaser salad were both amazing. The tableside service is wonderful, and the staff charming and professional without being stuffy. Cherries Jubilee to top it off - yum. Tip - try the Burrowing Owl Pinot Noir.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

This is a first class restaurant where you are treated like royalty from the moment you arrive until your last cup of coffee. You are never rushed, courses are served with great timing, and everyone makes you feel important.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Went here last Saturday night for our anniversary dinner and were disappointed with the very average food and the heightened pricing for such mundane dishes!The chateaubriand special was ordered by us and we found the appetizer of prawns to be nicely done ,but the Caesar salad was overly wet and too much vinegar was used that drowned out any other flavours in the salad itself.
The chateaubriand was stringy and lacking in a nice taste of beef,though perfectly done to our taste.Vegetables were adequate and the potato croquettes were fine.
Just not enough taste in the cherries jubillie to finish off a fine dining experience.
Not a dinner with finesse and value.Won't return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

The Old Surrey Inn is always a favourite. The food is incredible and the service is excellent. The Old Surrey Inn takes pride in the food they serve and the service they provide. I enjoyed my dinner and will return again soon!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

The Chateaubriand special was unbelievably good.
Would definitely have it again except I will not fill up on the bread first.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

I would not recommend this restaurant. We ordered our foor which was an hour and half late which came cold. When we complained they said they would throw in the coffee for free. Our bill was $250.00. Terrible service..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

While there certainly is charm in the "old" surroundings I think there is room for an upgrade to the quality of the restrooms, flooring, paint, etc.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 9, 2017

A "must go" restaurant at least once, esp during their prix-fixed 5 course- Chateaubriand dining special. Best bargain in town. Only held from July-early September this year. Been twice already. Old school dining, the best!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Top notch white table cloth place. Great service. In the middle of Surrey where no-one can find it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Took my daughter and her boyfriend for dinner with my wife, it's the second time I've been there in a couple of months and again great service and the food was excellent. Highly recommend as a go to place for a nice evening out

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Had the Seafood Platter and was not disappointed. Excellent meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Best restaurant in lower mainland!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

This is our go to restaurant. We have celebrated 2 weddings here,and many other special occasions. The staff is wonderful, especially fond of Spiros. The food is outstanding. One of a very few places to get a real Caesar salad.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food and service are out of this world, everything about this place is perfect. Highly recommend it to everyone to try at least once.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 30, 2017

My wife and try to make it to the Old Surrey Restaurant every now and then for a special treat . The Old Surrey is easily one of the best dining values if you are looking for a great food and exceptional service . There is nothing else like it in the Surrey area . Great wine list too!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed a rare date night here recently. We hadn't been for a few years and decided it was time to go back. Old Surrey is a diamond in the rough. The service and food is impeccable. They don't try too hard like a lot of trendy Vancouver restaurants but hit the mark with their fresh, local ingredients finished French style.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Organic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Our Anniversary dinner. Everyone gave exceptional service and the Caesar salad and seafood platter were to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.