About Old Surrey Restaurant

13483 72 Ave
Surrey, BC V3W 2N7
View Larger Map

The Old Surrey Restaurant is Surrey’s best well- kept secret. Built in 1918, it was the residence of Lou Jack and his household until it was converted into a restaurant in 1974.

The interior has a crisp, clean aesthetic that is enhanced by hardwood floors and the enlarged photos of historic Surrey that adorn the walls. There are five distinct dining areas on the top floor (including a cozy library) and a banquet facility downstairs. The cuisine is French with a splash of West Coast flare. A treat for new and seasoned guests alike are the signature dishes that are prepared and flambeed tableside.

The restaurant is family owned and operated since 1975. Since 1984 the restaurant has entered into a partnership with the family farm in Ryder Lake overlooking Chilliwack from the nearby mountains. The Old Surrey is well known for its free-range lamb and veal allowing customers to enjoy fresh organic ingredients.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
134th street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 596-2313

Website:
http://www.oldsurreyrestaurant.ca/

Executive Chef:
Philip Aguirre

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant is split into five distinct rooms with a variety of sizes. Room capacities are 10, 16, 32, 14, 10. Please phone the restaurant directly to book any private function.

Private Party Contact:
Philip Aguirre: (604) 596-2313

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Old Surrey Restaurant, Surrey, BC
  • mixed seafood platter - Old Surrey Restaurant, Surrey, BC

Report a photo problem

mixed seafood platter - Old Surrey Restaurant, Surrey, BC

Old Surrey Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
Quiet Conversation (35)
See All
Good for a Date (35)
Romantic (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Worth the Drive (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Cozy (23)
Local Ingredients (23)
Historic (22)
Good for Groups (19)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Authentic (15)
Private Room (14)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Seasonal (11)
Outstanding Value (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Family Style (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Casual (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Business Meals (6)
Healthy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Organic (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
805 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My favourite restaurant. I always come ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

My favourite restaurant. I always come here for special occasions.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful discovery in the heart ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

What a wonderful discovery in the heart of Newton. Who knew such a gem existed? Absolutely loved it and plan to make it my go to restaurant!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to this restaurant many tim ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

We have been to this restaurant many times our latest visit was lacking in the service department. The food was amazing but we felt like we were forgotten by the staff. We had to ask for our menus, no one came to top up wine and no one came to check and see how our meal was. Any other time we have had impeccable service and no complaints. We will come back but do hope that the service will be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Very consistent and extremely satisfying ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very consistent and extremely satisfying. Good portion sizes and fun tableside service. Best restaurant in Surrey by far.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We always enjoy our experiences at the O ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We always enjoy our experiences at the Old Surrey Restaurant, we've been numerous times over the years. My beef fillet was exquisite, perfectly done. My friends were there for the first time and they were extremely impressed. My husband's lamb chops were overly done but the server ordered it again with no hesitation and the second order of lamb was great. Thank you so much for being in Surrey where we don't have to drive into Vancouver for the same service and food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

In the past server not very personable. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

In the past server not very personable. On this occasion the service was very good and the food amazing. Owners were present on this evening and really could not do enough to make us feel welcome. A great dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Very good but pricy. Oh well it was New ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very good but pricy. Oh well it was New Years Eve. Very good staff that are efficient and cheerful without being overly involved in your meal. Food of a very good quality and focus on local products.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Dinner was awesome once again, the steak ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Dinner was awesome once again, the steak and lobster were excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

A pleasant surprise to find a restaurant ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A pleasant surprise to find a restaurant of this calibre in this particular area. The food and service was fantastic and well worth the visit. Great value considering we went there for New Years Eve, Excellent!

We will be returning often for our special occasions and will have to try this for lunch some day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Six years ago My Boyfriend went online t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Six years ago My Boyfriend went online to find a " Nice Romantic " restaurant to take me to for our first Anniversary . We google restaurants once a week cause we have a date night . I have to say this restaurant is my absolute favorite . From the minute you walk in the door you feel the ambience ! The staff are personable , knowledgeable and efficient nothing is to much trouble . The food was beautifully presented, fresh and cooked to perfection . I would highly recommend this restaurant . We now go every year for our anniversary, buy gift certicates for our family and friends and not one of us have ever been disappointed .

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Old Surrey House restaurant is a fav ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The Old Surrey House restaurant is a favourite of mine. Everything about it is quite lovely. The 'house-like' atmosphere; crisp linens, comfy chairs, at your table service, wonderful locally sourced food, beautifully prepared. Be prepared to spend a couple of hours enjoying the ambiance, food, and great service!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly staff..nice food.

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very friendly staff..nice food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have gone to the restaurant many time ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We have gone to the restaurant many times for family get togethers and are always happy .

The staff are very accommodating and the food great. Also great value.

We will continue to visit them as often as possible!!

Especially enjoy their seasonal 'special menus'

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a beautiful time for our family C ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It was a beautiful time for our family Christmas dinner. The staff is so professional, the service is amazing, food to die for. We've heard good things about this restaurant, but this was our first time going. Also, not a noisy place at all, we were a group of 5 and it is cozy, but would be nice place for an intimate dinner for 2 as well. We will definitely be returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This has been my favourite restaurant fo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This has been my favourite restaurant for years. The ceasar salad for two was made at our table and to this day the best ceasar salad I have had. The chateau Breand is my favourite course there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was surprised that the wine I ordered (t ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Was surprised that the wine I ordered (that tasted "off"?) was not listed on the wine list so it was returned for one that was listed - no problem.

Lamb ordered was very nice, possibly overcooked hence not very tender, but was barely lukewarm when served. Veggies on plate were warm but cooked. Presentation was very nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Wonderful amazing service, food and all ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Wonderful amazing service, food and all around ambience!!! We Love It here!!

Happy Holidays To Everyone :-)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, good service, good value, wha ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Good food, good service, good value, what more could you ask for?

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was delicious and very nicely p ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food was delicious and very nicely presented. I don't have anything more to say to fulfill the 50 character requirement (which seems to me ridiculous).

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to Old Surrey Rest ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My husband and I went to Old Surrey Restaurant last year for the first time and we decided to take my parents this year when they came up from Colorado to visit for Christmas. They were very impressed with everything, the service, food, ambiance. We were having a wonderful time until a 4 top was seated behind us and those people almost ruined our evening. They were loud and disrespectful of the other diners. No one said anything to them and I guess we all just figured we would have to put up with the obnoxious customers. I refused to have my dinner ruined, especially since I knew it wasn't a cheap meal, and asked them nicely if they would be quieter. They got up and moved to another part of the restaurant. I assumed they must be more regular customers but I didn't care. After that, it was much more pleasant and we all went back to enjoying our evening. :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our third time at the Old Surre ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 19, 2016

This was our third time at the Old Surrey Restaurant and it's always a great experience. The atmosphere, service, food and beverages are excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating my birthday. Driven by for ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Celebrating my birthday. Driven by for years and finally took a chance. Fantastic find, so sorry I waited so long to discover this gem of a dining experience. Excellent food, service, and ambience, all without paying high end prices. Definitely on my top 5 list of restaurants in lower mainland.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We go every year for my Mom's Birthday. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We go every year for my Mom's Birthday. Always have great food and a wonderful time. Never rushed.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Ambiance is great, food was delicious! S ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Ambiance is great, food was delicious! Service was a tad slow, but we had a large group of 14 people.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very nice restaurant, with excellent Fre ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Very nice restaurant, with excellent French food ! Would definitely recomment.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

A lovely dinner, very attentive and know ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

A lovely dinner, very attentive and knowledgeable service. There is a large wine selection and fixed and a la carte menu. Ample parking and an intimate, romantic atmosphere. We thoroughly enjoyed it and will certainly be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Gem of a restaurant with high quality fo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Gem of a restaurant with high quality food and old fashioned great service.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The most wonderful dinner yet once again ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The most wonderful dinner yet once again. Never had a disappointing dinner in all the many years going there. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a fantastic meal and evening ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We enjoyed a fantastic meal and evening once again! Spiros our waiter created a wonderful Caesar Salad at table side--- something that is becoming a lost art as well as a sweet and delicious Cherries Jubilee at the end of the meal!

Our meals were generous, beautifully presented and delicious in their preparation and quality of products used. The halibut with hazelnut crust, the steak poivre and beef Wellington perfect.

The Old Surrey Restaurant never disappoints with value and service. Its long standing reputation in the community has been well earned and still meets all expectations!

A great evening with friends becomes a celebration at this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been wanting to go for a long time, ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Have been wanting to go for a long time, wish I had gone sooner. An amazing experience had their 4 course meal for $45, would be over $100 downtown. Quality of food and portions are incredible. Already looking to book again for winter menu. Attention to detail and very personal attention. Caesar salad prepared at your table , their specialty coffee drinks prepared on special dining cart also at your table makes it an entertaining experience as well.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Historic, Private Room, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The elderly gentleman and I very much en ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The elderly gentleman and I very much enjoyed our delicious meal, great service and the overall experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our servers were very friendly and profe ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Our servers were very friendly and professional, I was thoroughly satisfied with the service and the delicious food! Certainly looking forward to dining here next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the lamb was not very good unfortunately ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 23, 2016

the lamb was not very good unfortunately.a little .tough and not very tasty..ambience was terrific! service was charming and very fun!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Private Room, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a fabulous romantic anniversary d ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We had a fabulous romantic anniversary dinner. The food and the service was awesome. This is our choice restaurant for our special occasions.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to this restaurant on a num ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We have been to this restaurant on a number of occasions 7/8 and have generally been very happy with the service and food however our last visit was not up to the standard we have come to expect. One of the servers (Female)was moody and not very service friendly. She took away my plate before I was finished even though my cutlery was not in the finished position. And when I commented that I was not done she said "Oh do you want desert" Not the right answer. The food was also bland, except the desert, which is unusual as generally that is one of the strengths of this establishment.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

It was a perfect restaurant to celebrate ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 9, 2016

It was a perfect restaurant to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as always!! Old Surrey can't ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Wonderful as always!! Old Surrey can't be beat! Great service and very good food. So much value. We used to be able to eat the specials dinners without any problem but we are older now and it is just too much. We enjoy all that we do eat. Like I said. It's wonderful!!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place. Never judge a book by ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Love this place. Never judge a book by it's cover definitely applies to this restaurant. Don't be fooled by the location or the outside appearance. The food is top notch and for a French restaurant, very well portioned. Highly Recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food and excellent service. P ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service. Plan to spend some time and money, but worth it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The best restaurant in Surrey, and one o ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The best restaurant in Surrey, and one of the best in all of Greater Vancouver. The food, service, and evening was amazing. I could not think of a way to make it better!

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.