About Old Surrey Restaurant

13483 72 Ave
Surrey, BC V3W 2N7
View Larger Map

The Old Surrey Restaurant is Surrey’s best well- kept secret. Built in 1918, it was the residence of Lou Jack and his household until it was converted into a restaurant in 1974.

The interior has a crisp, clean aesthetic that is enhanced by hardwood floors and the enlarged photos of historic Surrey that adorn the walls. There are five distinct dining areas on the top floor (including a cozy library) and a banquet facility downstairs. The cuisine is French with a splash of West Coast flare. A treat for new and seasoned guests alike are the signature dishes that are prepared and flambeed tableside.

The restaurant is family owned and operated since 1975. Since 1984 the restaurant has entered into a partnership with the family farm in Ryder Lake overlooking Chilliwack from the nearby mountains. The Old Surrey is well known for its free-range lamb and veal allowing customers to enjoy fresh organic ingredients.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
134th street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 596-2313

Website:
http://www.oldsurreyrestaurant.ca/

Executive Chef:
Philip Aguirre

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant is split into five distinct rooms with a variety of sizes. Room capacities are 10, 16, 32, 14, 10. Please phone the restaurant directly to book any private function.

Private Party Contact:
Philip Aguirre: 6045962313x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • mixed seafood platter
mixed seafood platter

Old Surrey Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Food
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Value
Vancouver / British Columbia
11 More
Romantic
Vancouver / British Columbia
Special Occasion
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Vancouver Suburbs
Best Food
Vancouver Suburbs
Best Service
Vancouver Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Vancouver Suburbs
Best Value
Vancouver Suburbs
Fit for Foodies
Vancouver Suburbs
Neighborhood Gem
Vancouver Suburbs
Romantic
Vancouver Suburbs
Special Occasion
Vancouver Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Surrey ›

special occasion (63)
romantic (51)
neighborhood gem (38)
See All
fit for foodies (30)
good for groups (19)
notable wine list (15)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for lunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
696 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great Classic high end dining experience ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great Classic high end dining experience.

Very classy waiters.

It can get a little warm in hot weather.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Family, friends and I have been regulars ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Family, friends and I have been regulars literally since the beginning. Only one disappointing evening in over a generation, and that says something. Love the specials and the Caesar salad - one of the few restaurants still preparing it correctly and at the table as well. Moreover the staff is superb. Food and fine service are celebrated and well worth a visit.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hadn't been to the Old Surrey for a whil ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Hadn't been to the Old Surrey for a while and had forgotten just how good it is.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice Steak. Nice looking tables, ve ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Very nice Steak. Nice looking tables, very romantic.

Was a great dinner night.

Tags: romantic, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding table side meal, old school ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Outstanding table side meal, old school dining, superb! Felt like I was at Hy's in the early years. The food was fabulous and the service as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing, the best filet I h ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was amazing, the best filet I have ever had. The service was outstanding. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Old Surrey Restaurant offered a uniq ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The Old Surrey Restaurant offered a unique dining experience. I highly recommend the set menu to any first time diners. The ambiance was perfect for date night!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our experience was very enjoyable and we ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Our experience was very enjoyable and we would definitely make a return visit.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We found the food exceptionally good, an ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We found the food exceptionally good, and the ambiance in the 'library' area was just right. I shall just have to go back and try some of the other dishes offered on their menu!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was exceptional, servers were very ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was exceptional, servers were very pleasant, however very slow. 1 hour between appetizers and the dinner. Total time at the restaurant 3 hours. Should have been 2 hours at the most.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The service was excellent. Our waiter w ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The service was excellent. Our waiter was helpful & attentive. We did not feel at all rushed.

We had time to relax & unwind and enjoy our meal . My only complaint would be that the beans

served with our main course were too crisp...maybe could have been cooked a little longer.

Overall it was a very pleasant experience and we will look forward to another dinner at the

Old Surrey again sometime.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining at Old Surrey. Readin ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

First time dining at Old Surrey. Reading so many positive online reviews had me wanting to go. All I can say is everything I read was spot-on. An excellent dining experience. Not eating. Dining. No big screen tvs, no people tweeting, no loud music or taking pictures of food - just old school dining. We had the chateaubriand for two, finished table side. Perfection, and a very sizable portion. So, to all those folks in South Surrey who don't venture north of Highway 10, get over to the Old Surrey.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special occasion

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Three of us went there to celebrate my son's 40th birthday! My grandson came too ( a mature 15 year old). Although our tastes varied, all our meals were superb and each of us came away feeling full and happy! A wonderful special occasion.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Gem in the City

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We went here after visiting the Bistro below a few times. We were impressed with the service and food. The restaurant was very quiet as we had an early reservation. The decor was classy and well laid out. Prompt service was also noted. However, the food was excellent. We had the spring special, which included an appetizer, salad or soup, entree and dessert for a great price. The star of the meal with the nitro ice cream prepared tableside. Liquid nitrogen was used to make the vanilla ice cream, which was topped with strawberries. We were so full, we had to stay sitting up for a few hours after we got home! Will be coming back to this restaurant again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Business dinner gone wrong

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

ambience but it does have that old house scent. Steak was over done. Dessert overpriced for the side table presentation. Mussels was rubbery, approx 8 pcs for $15 worth of overcooked appy. Loved the blue cheese salad. Tenderloin Steak dish is lacking presentation and looks to plain and unappetizing. Dessert is overpriced for a side table presentation, strawberry with the spot whip cream presentation. Service was excellent. For what ive read on the reviews for me to pick this restaurant, it was disappointing. For $120 i spent for 2 people, there is so much better places out there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Sunday Date Night

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We both ordered the Spring Menu and everything was excellent. You have to order the Nitro Ice cream-. It is made tableside and is quite an event. Dinner and a show !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I'm sure every review starts with "What ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I'm sure every review starts with "What an odd place for a French restaurant" Don't let that stop you.

This was a very enjoyable night out in a casual but proper French meal. The wine list is brief but well chosen. The BC wines offered are excellent and some of the less expansive wine offerings are quite good.

As usual, the service wasn't fussy, just attentive and friendly, moving us through our meal effortlessly.

We had the spring menu with Caesar salad prepared tableside (ask for no garlic if you are out for romance). The Halibut was amazing. And the Gâteau Basque (lemon cream pound cake) is simple and delicious over a closing cup of rich coffee.

Highly recommended for special occasions. I have visited twice a year. The price is moderate for French dining, and after sitting for 2.5 hours over amazing food, and a good wine $75 - $100 per person isn't unreasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Romantic and Reliable! The Old Surrey R ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Romantic and Reliable!

The Old Surrey Restaurant has been a local stand-by for decades. I recall my parents taking me there as a teenager and now that I'm almost sixty, I still love going to this restaurant. Fabulous service, great food, and a quiet, relaxing atmosphere make this one of my favorite places. I highly recommend this fabulous get-away!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, the Old Surrey Resta ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, the Old Surrey Restaurant. My daughter brought me there for Mother's Day and I couldn't wait to share it with out of town guests over the weekend. The food is Amazing and the service is outstanding. Will be a Favourite for years to come!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the charm of the home. Food is fabu ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Love the charm of the home. Food is fabulous and the show of the preparation of salad and dessert coffee is outstanding.

Definitely a great place for romantic dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been coming to your restaurant s ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I have been coming to your restaurant since you opened . With both my first and second husband . Moved to the Okanagan for 20 years and now I have moved back to Surrey I will be coming in more frequentlynow. Always verygood!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, great food.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Was there for mothers day brunch. Wonderful experience!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

High end dining experience

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Amazing food. Great service. Definitely will return in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The old Surrey Restaraunt is our favouri ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The old Surrey Restaraunt is our favourite by far. We have been going for years and we will continue to go there. Thank you

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surrey's most underrated restaurant

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

My first time to the Old Surrey Restaurant and it won't be the last. Great food and the restaurant is cozy and warm. Dont come here if your looking for a quick bite. The service and delivery of food is paced to allow for an old school dining experience. I've heard people say the service is slow. It's not slow it's just the way this restaurant operates. They dont want you to feel rushed out the door so they take the time to prepare the food and serve it in an atmosphere that allows you to enjoy it and to also have time to socialize. Best overall meal I've had in awhile !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Need to get proper serving glasses when ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Need to get proper serving glasses when serving high balls. the glasses used you see at cheap motels/hotels. the glasses down in the bistro where nicer.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was excellent, the ambiance ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The service was excellent, the ambiance was perfect and the food was absolutely delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The very best dining in Surrey

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We have been to the Old Surrey Restaurant about 100 times in the last 13 years. We have been there for Birthdays, Anniversaries and other special occasions and never once had a bad meal or service. We would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone that wants to have a great dining experience.

Jim

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Special

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Booked this as our top choice for our wedding anniversary meal. Never a disappointment, the food is locally sourced, fresh, and masterfully prepared. Service is A-1 and the price-point is a bonus. Always look forward to a return visit.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We held our wedding reception there. We ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

We held our wedding reception there. We return on our anniversary (last 5 years). Very professional staff, delicious & well prepared food. Quiet and relaxed ambience. It's located in a restored heritage home.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family get togethers

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We have been going to the Old Surrey restaurant for years, mostly for family get togethers.

their special menu are always great.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food, disconnected service

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

My family and I recently dined here for my Mom's birthday, and were incredibly impressed with the food. The Chef sent out an amuse bouche which was a nice touch, and everything we ordered came out hot and was delicious. The service however left something to be desired; our servers weren't necessarily rude but rather seemed disinterested. That being said we would still go back and give them another try.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Wonderful Evening Celebrating a 65th Anniversary!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

We were celebrating a 65th birthday and 85th birthday. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner with fantastic food, great ambiance and great company.

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Oldie

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

We went to the Old Surrey Restaurant for my wife's birthday. It was the first time in a couple of decades since we've been.

It was as good as we remembered it. What we liked best then was the taste of the food and isn't that the most important thing? The restaurant has been owned by the same family since it came into being in 1975.

Found out they have a farm in Chilliwack and they what they can't source there, they find most of their ingredients in BC.

We both had lamb Wellington (they breed their own lambs on their farm) and it was wonderful. I had had beef Wellington, but never lamb and was considering rack of lamb instead until I discussed it with the waiter.

I'm sure the rack of lamb would have been great too, but I couldn't have been happier with my choice and my wife seconded me.

We won't wait so long for our next visit, I'll definitely say that!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My thoughts

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

A very good experience. The service was excellent and the staff attentive. We ordered the specials for two at $60.00 each and the food was really good especially the dessert ice cream made at the table. My only concern was the choice of steak, a porterhouse which was good just not my personal favorite.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Good bang for the buck!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

It'll cost you a pretty penny to go here for dinner & drinks, but you'll get your money's worth. Gorgeous ambiance, wonderful food, and a complimentary amuse-bouche and freshly baked bread to start your evening with.

(The background music could have been a little quieter - was occasionally hard to hear our conversations.)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Stand out!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

This restaurant is absolutely amazing for a romantic dinner! Three out of the four dishes were made table side, something I haven't seen in a very long time. Our server, Kurt, was amazing and he made us feel so comfortable and welcomed. I would highly, highly recommend this incredible restaurant to anyone. Thank you Kurt!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Celebration at Old Surrey!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We were a party of 8 including my 2 children for a birthday dinner for my dad who turned 80. I haven't been to the Old Surrey maybe 6 years so I made the reservation based on these reviews. I brought a cake and the staff was able to store in for me. As we entered the host took our coats and hung them for us. We were seated right away. The decor is lovely with cloth napkins, candlelight. My drink (the Green Timber) was very tasty. We ordered a variety of appetizers (mussels, shrimp bisque, Caesar salads) that were all well received. The salads are made table side on a cart which was a nice touch. There was fresh bread, whipped butter and a meatball sample provided also. The regular menu isn't kid friendly really and the waitress explained that they can also make pizza, chicken strips and pastas. This was appreciated by my 10 year old who chose pizza with chorizo. The rest of us thoroughly enjoyed our entrees. I had the steak which was cooked perfectly!! Others had chicken, salmon and lamb. We all were so pleased! Service was attentive and friendly. They came out with my dad's cake and the staff all came over and sang to him. They then cut the cake and served it. I was so happy with the evening and the Old Surrey Restauarant really made it special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Excellent as always, the crab was to die for, very fresh!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great evening

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

I ordered the scallops that were amazing. My colleagues had a Caesar salad that was beautifully prepared at the table. For my entree I had chicken that was extremely tasty. The others had the lamb special which they found delicious.

For dessert we had the crepes Suzette prepared at the table, again. Food preparation is truly an art form, served impeccably by someone who is well versed in the preparation of these delicacies.

We went on a Tuesday and enjoyed the uncrowded, quiet atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.