About Old Surrey Restaurant

13483 72 Ave
Surrey, BC V3W 2N7
View Larger Map

The Old Surrey Restaurant is Surrey’s best well- kept secret. Built in 1918, it was the residence of Lou Jack and his household until it was converted into a restaurant in 1974.

The interior has a crisp, clean aesthetic that is enhanced by hardwood floors and the enlarged photos of historic Surrey that adorn the walls. There are five distinct dining areas on the top floor (including a cozy library) and a banquet facility downstairs. The cuisine is French with a splash of West Coast flare. A treat for new and seasoned guests alike are the signature dishes that are prepared and flambeed tableside.

The restaurant is family owned and operated since 1975. Since 1984 the restaurant has entered into a partnership with the family farm in Ryder Lake overlooking Chilliwack from the nearby mountains. The Old Surrey is well known for its free-range lamb and veal allowing customers to enjoy fresh organic ingredients.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
134th street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 596-2313

Website:
http://www.oldsurreyrestaurant.ca/

Executive Chef:
Philip Aguirre

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant is split into five distinct rooms with a variety of sizes. Room capacities are 10, 16, 32, 14, 10. Please phone the restaurant directly to book any private function.

Private Party Contact:
Philip Aguirre: (604) 596-2313

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Old Surrey Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (54)
Special Occasion (51)
Quiet Conversation (45)
See All
Romantic (44)
Good for a Date (39)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Cozy (31)
Worth the Drive (30)
Local Ingredients (30)
Historic (25)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Authentic (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Private Room (13)
Seasonal (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Family Style (6)
Healthy (6)
Business Meals (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Fireplace (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Casual (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fun (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
838 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I went with friends to celebrate my birthday. It was on a Sunday so we had a quiet room to ourselves with music in the background. The service was exceptional as was the food. A lot of drama with the table side caesar salad and the delicious chateaubriand. The seafood platter was one of the best I have ever had. We love this place and have been going there for years for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

We arrived ten minutes early for our reservation and were promptly greeted and seated by a wonderful gentleman. We were immediately given a wine list and had the evening's specials related to us. The menu had a great selection, and the food was just perfect, and arrived just in the right amount of time allowing us to get settled, enjoy some conversation and the ambiance.

We had a wonderful meal, had very attentive staff, and were entertained several times by the spectacle of the waiter making the ice-cream desert. A great place, with great staff, and great food. We will be back...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

The clatter of someone in the kitchen unloading and dropping the cutlery into the

rack was not conducive to quiet conversation or enjoyment of our meal. An easy

fix for you and we will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

Ambience was excellent. Food was perfect. Service is impeccable. Will attend again.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Another perfect evening at the Old Surrey. I think this place is wonderful. The service was fantastic, the food was perfect (We all had the steak and lobster), and the ambiance was lovely. Thanks to all who work there for a fantastic evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

As always, absolutely delicious food, lovely atmosphere and very enjoyable!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This is a quiet historic restaurant with very good food. We were a bit disappointed that there were not more choices in wine by the glass.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

First time visit and will not be our last. From the time we entered the front door until we left the service was impeccable ie maitre d took our coats when we arrived and assisted us with our jackets when we left. Also offered to help me down the stairs since I was on crutches. Our servers were helpful with choosing wine and described the dishes with panache. My husband had the lamb. I had the seafood platter which included the best lobster I have ever had and the garlic prawns were amazing. My husband thought the lamb was done to perfection. We enjoyed crepes Suzette cooked table side which was delicious and entertaining to watch. Just sorry we took so long to discover this real gem in Surrey.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Restaurant could do with some new decor. Service was incredibly slow and I am regretting the tip I left. Took about 20 min just to order a bottle of wine. Tried to get the head servers attention to order, but he just walked right by me. In all, I expected more from a $300 dinner for 2.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The meals were delicious, the service was quick and attentive and the ambiance was very romantic. This is one of our favorite places to eat and would recommend this to anyone looking for a cozy, romantic place to have a great meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent restaurant for all occasions, especially a quiet romantic dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food and service was exceptional. Best restaurant in lower mainland !!!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The service and the food was fantastic. Enjoyed watching the server make a Caesar salad and cherries jubilee table side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Another fabulous experience. Great food great environment wonderful people.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

A hidden gem. Great wine list and old school table side presentation

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

First class service and first class food as always! My favorite restaurant EVER!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This is my 3rd time and it never disappoints . Love the ambiance and the food is fantastic. The staff are wonderful and attentive.

Will definitely recommend and come back again !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

2nd time we have visited the Old Surrey Restaurant and one again dinner was perfect right down to the Ice cream prepared table side made with liquid nitrogen .

We will return again for sure.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Overall quite enjoyable ambiance.

2 food issues.

While the Caesar salad tasted fantastic. Make sure you define how much oil you want.

Make sure you and the wait staff/chef understand how you want your steak. I asked for medium well and described a thin layer of pink. I got back what I would call rare. All red. I even sent it back and when it was returned it was forcefully put in front of me stating it was medium well. It was medium rare. I ate it but wasn't impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The quality of our evening was very good. Everything about it went very well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I have been meaning to book a reservation at the restaurant for a long time. I live in Vancouver so driving to Surrey to meet a friend made it an easy choice. The food was good and the service was great. Had a wonderful time with my friend and would go again.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were there for Valentines day....we were put in a corner two seated table were I got seated and the table was pushed so I was locked in....I felt cluster phobic. Our server wasn't overly friendly. There was a waitress who had messy long hair not brushed wet and nothe tied back. we ordered steak and asked for medium and got almost blood rare.....we could have complained however it was a special occasion....we tiped the waiter and left.....I love to cook and am a foodie....This was not the food or quality I expected.....Will not return.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I have been going to the Surrey house Restaurant for more then more then 10 years. I have traveled many place and this is one of my top 3 restaurents on the planet. Don't let it's location scare you from going. It's well worth the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food.

Table side preparation.

Seasoned professional wait staff.

High quality. Strongly recommend this restaurant. Been there a dozen times and has never let me down.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great food. Great service. And a quiet ambiance that allowed for good conversations, with our party of four! We will definitely do this again, even though we drive in from White Rock/ South Surrey.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food was excellent, service started off great but deteriorated after main course. Busy is not an excuse for total lack of attention while waiting for coffee and/or the opportunity to order desert.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This is my favourite restaurant! The food, service, and ambience were perfect. We had the set menu. Caesar salad was to die for, steak was cooked perfectly, and the nitro ice cream was amazing. I cannot recommend this place enough. Thanks for a wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

All four of us had a different meal and each one of

us loved our meal, wine and service. Odd location and parking can be challenging but still well worth the drive. Will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always wonderful food, amazing service, delightful ambience. Enjoyed the four course special very much. Really good value, presented with great flair!

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Overall one of the best restaurants I have been to because of the overall expericance.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Amazing food and fantastic service. I love table side service, Caesar salad made fresh at table, crepes suzette made to order table side, even the special coffee was made table side. It is dinner and a show. Just be sure to order the cherries jubilee in advance. They sold out. That was our only disappointment. Will be going back for sure for future special events.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Best food and service I've had in a long time .

Would definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Consistently good food, service and ambience. Always great value for money.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 19, 2017

My favourite restaurant. I always come here for special occasions.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

What a wonderful discovery in the heart of Newton. Who knew such a gem existed? Absolutely loved it and plan to make it my go to restaurant!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We have been to this restaurant many times our latest visit was lacking in the service department. The food was amazing but we felt like we were forgotten by the staff. We had to ask for our menus, no one came to top up wine and no one came to check and see how our meal was. Any other time we have had impeccable service and no complaints. We will come back but do hope that the service will be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very consistent and extremely satisfying. Good portion sizes and fun tableside service. Best restaurant in Surrey by far.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We always enjoy our experiences at the Old Surrey Restaurant, we've been numerous times over the years. My beef fillet was exquisite, perfectly done. My friends were there for the first time and they were extremely impressed. My husband's lamb chops were overly done but the server ordered it again with no hesitation and the second order of lamb was great. Thank you so much for being in Surrey where we don't have to drive into Vancouver for the same service and food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

In the past server not very personable. On this occasion the service was very good and the food amazing. Owners were present on this evening and really could not do enough to make us feel welcome. A great dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very good but pricy. Oh well it was New Years Eve. Very good staff that are efficient and cheerful without being overly involved in your meal. Food of a very good quality and focus on local products.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A pleasant surprise to find a restaurant of this calibre in this particular area. The food and service was fantastic and well worth the visit. Great value considering we went there for New Years Eve, Excellent!

We will be returning often for our special occasions and will have to try this for lunch some day.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Dinner was awesome once again, the steak and lobster were excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Six years ago My Boyfriend went online to find a " Nice Romantic " restaurant to take me to for our first Anniversary . We google restaurants once a week cause we have a date night . I have to say this restaurant is my absolute favorite . From the minute you walk in the door you feel the ambience ! The staff are personable , knowledgeable and efficient nothing is to much trouble . The food was beautifully presented, fresh and cooked to perfection . I would highly recommend this restaurant . We now go every year for our anniversary, buy gift certicates for our family and friends and not one of us have ever been disappointed .

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The Old Surrey House restaurant is a favourite of mine. Everything about it is quite lovely. The 'house-like' atmosphere; crisp linens, comfy chairs, at your table service, wonderful locally sourced food, beautifully prepared. Be prepared to spend a couple of hours enjoying the ambiance, food, and great service!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We have gone to the restaurant many times for family get togethers and are always happy .

The staff are very accommodating and the food great. Also great value.

We will continue to visit them as often as possible!!

Especially enjoy their seasonal 'special menus'

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very friendly staff..nice food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It was a beautiful time for our family Christmas dinner. The staff is so professional, the service is amazing, food to die for. We've heard good things about this restaurant, but this was our first time going. Also, not a noisy place at all, we were a group of 5 and it is cozy, but would be nice place for an intimate dinner for 2 as well. We will definitely be returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This has been my favourite restaurant for years. The ceasar salad for two was made at our table and to this day the best ceasar salad I have had. The chateau Breand is my favourite course there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Was surprised that the wine I ordered (that tasted "off"?) was not listed on the wine list so it was returned for one that was listed - no problem.

Lamb ordered was very nice, possibly overcooked hence not very tender, but was barely lukewarm when served. Veggies on plate were warm but cooked. Presentation was very nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Wonderful amazing service, food and all around ambience!!! We Love It here!!

Happy Holidays To Everyone :-)

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.