HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

Old Surrey Restaurant

4.6
1027 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Romantic
The Old Surrey Restaurant is Surrey’s best well- kept secret. Built in 1918, it was the residence of Lou Jack and his household until it was converted into a restaurant in 1974.

The interior has a crisp, clean aesthetic that is enhanced by hardwood floors and the enlarged photos of historic Surrey that adorn the walls. There are five distinct dining areas on the top floor (including a cozy library) and a banquet facility downstairs. The cuisine is French with a splash of West Coast flare. A treat for new and seasoned guests alike are the signature dishes that are prepared and flambeed tableside.

The restaurant is family owned and operated since 1975. Since 1984 the restaurant has entered into a partnership with the family farm in Ryder Lake overlooking Chilliwack from the nearby mountains. The Old Surrey is well known for its free-range lamb and veal allowing customers to enjoy fresh organic ingredients.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(604) 596-2313
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Philip Aguirre
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
134th street
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 1027 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6  based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
Dalecat1 
4.0  Dined 3 days ago

Our waiter was a bit too chatty but everything else was spot on!

Report
Helpful
UdoS 
4.0  Dined 5 days ago

Very nice ambience. Waiters have all been quiet attentive. Very friendly staff. Our food was well prepared and presented. Have come here twice now and will definitely come again. Good wine list but the price per glass is somewhat over priced in my opinion. Hard liquor prices are reasonable.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined 5 days ago

We always enjoy our evenings at The Old Surrey. Wonderful service, delicious food and the special four course menus they put together are a great value. Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
DickB (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined 7 days ago

Plan to take family and friends back.

one of the best we have been to in years.
Not your standard chain operations.

Report
Helpful
cinmit (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined 7 days ago

Always enjoy this place. Love how they prepare some food and beverage in front of you

Report
Helpful
BarbaraJ 
4.0  Dined on February 16, 2018

The candlelight and roses were very romantic. The service was great. Food was great. Really enjoyed the quiet intimate atmosphere. We will be back and have recomended to friends.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

The Old Surrey Restaurant has been a favourite for years. The quality of the food and the outstanding service has not wavered. I know that a meal there will be outstanding each and every time.

Report
Helpful
yvettea (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on February 15, 2018

Love this place always fun times vey romantic in the library

Report
Helpful
Valentine (Orlando)
3.0  Dined on February 14, 2018

Slightly disappointed based on reviews. Should have been better but limited Valentine menu. Will try again. Service needs improvement.

Report
Helpful
kpmsd (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

Amazing place! Definitely a hidden treasure of Surrey. Great hosts, great food, great atmosphere. Would definitely come again.

Report
Helpful
Jean (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on February 13, 2018

Food and service is great. The table side service is a special treat. Dinning room is nicely decorated but is still comfortable.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Heard it was good and it certainly was. The steak melted in your mouth, Cesar salad delicious it is made in front of you and good portion. Would definitely return.

Report
Helpful
Isabella (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Very good first experience at old surrey restaurant. The service was wonderful and the food was delicious. Caesar salad was by far the best I’ve ever had. Would definitely go back!

Report
Helpful
whiterockmom (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Superb food and attentive staff
Every time we go we are not disappointed!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2018

Great!! Love this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
renukap (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on February 7, 2018

Excellent atmosphere for a romantic night out. Food was superb and service very attentive.

We had the special beef appetizer. It was tender and very tasty.

I had the seafood platter. It had the best salmon I have ever tasted, shrimp, scallops and lobster were delicious. My husband had the rack of lamb. It was perfectly done. Good portions. Topped off with cherries jubilee done at the table. Perfect end off to a perfect dinner!!!

Report
Helpful
Moon (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined on February 3, 2018

It is a very good restaurant that I have not tried it before. It’s very interesting and fun , when the server made ice cream and wine coffee in front of you. Thanks for the server (elder gentleman)-Good service, Fresh food and tasty. Price is fair for the four courses set dinner. I will try again and recommend my friend.

Report
Helpful
PatN (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on February 2, 2018

We went to the restaurant to celebrate two family birthdays and we had a lovely evening.
I particularly like the separate rooms in the old house. It allows for easy conversation and room to move about and visit with everyone.
The food was excellent as always and the service was perfect.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
4.0  Dined on February 1, 2018

The Old Surrey always prepares and presents as delicious meal. The Caesar salad prepared at the table is delicious and massive.

Report
Helpful
Food2love (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on January 31, 2018

Always an enjoyable evening. Service impeccable, Caesar salad made at the table, as well as dessert and specialty drinks...love the fire show! Very reasonably priced.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on January 30, 2018

One of our favourite restaurants . Can't beat the combination of great food and service for the value

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on January 27, 2018

It was one of the most enjoyable dining experiences I have ever had. Curtis our waiter was exceptional. I have never had shoo many delicious flavors on one plate before. I will definately come again.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on January 26, 2018

Excelant food service and ambience will recomend to all my friends.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

First time there and it's definitely not my last!! Food was amazing, the staff was friendly and attentive. Parking is hard to find but let's be honest, a place this good why wouldn't it be busy!!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

I have enjoyed eating out at Old Surrey Restaurant for many years. The food never disappoints and the staff is always professional and helpful/

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on January 20, 2018

Tableside service, outstanding menu, and great value. Old Surrey never disappoints.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Seattle)
5.0  Dined on January 19, 2018

We asked for a quiet table..they appeared to only be seating in two of the five rooms, and our room had every table filled. The other room had twice as many tables and only half were filled. At the table next to ours were four loud people..the other two parties were parties of two and were not obnoxiously loud. Even the kid across he hall in the other room wasn't as noisy as the people at the table next to us. Other than that, the presentation was lovely. Good portions.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined on January 16, 2018

Our go to Restaurant in Surrey. This old house has been in the city for many years and for good reason. We can always count on excellence.

Report
Helpful
JandJ (Vancouver)
5.0  Dined on January 14, 2018

We moved to North Delta in 1975 one year after the Old Surrey opened and have been there constantly over the years for birthdays, anniversaries and other special occasions as a couple and with all our growing up family who still visit on their own. It is the premier restaurant in our area that can be compared to any premier restaurant in Vancouver with the benefit of no bridges to cross. Great food, service and ambience.

Report
Helpful
RKVancouver (Vancouver)
4.0  Dined on January 13, 2018

A Precious Gem in the Heart of Newton
My husband and I have passed this restaurant on numerous occasions, without ever having tried it. One thing to note, is that the parking is on the Enterprise side of the restaurant. We ended up doing a bit of a neighbourhood tour because we missed the parking lot the first time round, thinking it belonged to Enterprise.

Overall, we were very pleased with the quality and flavour of the dishes we ordered. We started with the sautéed shrimp, which was served deliciously hot and fragrant. This was followed by lamb for me and salmon for him. He was not that pleased with the amount of sweetness in the maple soy sauce, which he found reminiscent of eating a pancake vs. salmon, but I didn't try it, so I can't vouch for it myself. The plates arrived hot, the food was fresh and well presented. The rack of lamb was tender and plentiful. I enjoyed the potato croquets and the roasted beets, with the crunchy green beans.

We're trying to stay away from dessert, but the choices looked great - all veritably soaked in some sort of liqueur. It's been years since I've enjoyed a good cherries jubilee but I didn't try it. The thought of trying it will probably draw me back to this new old favourite sooner rather than later.

We didn't order wine, enjoying sparkling water instead. Due to having two attentive servers, our glasses did get filled with still water, but the server was very quick to bring a replacement bottle to fill our glasses up again. It's a nice old world touch when they brush up the crumbs between courses.

I found the old world charm and the delicious food well worth the higher than-Surrey-usual prices and would be happy to bring family and friends back again.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
35