Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

About Old Surrey Restaurant

The Old Surrey Restaurant is Surrey’s best well- kept secret. Built in 1918, it was the residence of Lou Jack and his household until it was converted into a restaurant in 1974.

The interior has a crisp, clean aesthetic that is enhanced by hardwood floors and the enlarged photos of historic Surrey that adorn the walls. There are five distinct dining areas on the top floor (including a cozy library) and a banquet facility downstairs. The cuisine is French with a splash of West Coast flare. A treat for new and seasoned guests alike are the signature dishes that are prepared and flambeed tableside.

The restaurant is family owned and operated since 1975. Since 1984 the restaurant has entered into a partnership with the family farm in Ryder Lake overlooking Chilliwack from the nearby mountains. The Old Surrey is well known for its free-range lamb and veal allowing customers to enjoy fresh organic ingredients.

13483 72 Ave
Surrey, BC V3W 2N7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
134th street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 596-2313

Website:
http://www.oldsurreyrestaurant.ca/

Executive Chef:
Philip Aguirre

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant is split into five distinct rooms with a variety of sizes. Room capacities are 10, 16, 32, 14, 10. Please phone the restaurant directly to book any private function.

Private Party Contact:
Philip Aguirre: (604) 596-2313

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Old Surrey Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (53)
Romantic (46)
Special Occasion (45)
See All
Quiet Conversation (45)
Good for a Date (40)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Local Ingredients (32)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Worth the Drive (29)
Cozy (28)
Historic (25)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Authentic (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Groups (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Private Room (13)
Business Meals (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fireplace (6)
Seasonal (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Family Style (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Healthy (4)
Casual (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
851 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful restaurant with old school white linen and a perfect single red rose on each table. The staff are discreet and gracious. The food was wonderful as we expected it would be and given the great reviews we've noted. The four of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals which were prepared flawlessly. The handcrafted martinis are spectacular. This is a great restaurant for a romantic evening or catching up with friends in a cozy, inviting atmosphere. The pre-fixed menu which was available when we dined on March 18 was exceptionally good value, including perfectly done steak and lobster tail. We enjoyed watching the tableside preparation of caesar salad and the nitro ice cream. The nitro ice cream was lovely and tasted exactly as ice cream should.

It was busy when we visited and parking can be a bit tricky, subsequently we ended up parking in the Enterprise lot next door to the restaurant. Despite the busy-ness of the restaurant and noting a few larger groups, it still felt intimate. Plan to spend a few hours; this is a restaurant that encourages leisurely dining and great food does take some time to prepare. The rooms are nicely partitioned and tables appropriately spaced. Well worth the drive from Vancouver for a lovely meal and impeccable service in elegant surroundings. I am so pleased that we finally tried this restaurant as I have missed the availability of restaurants in the Lower Mainland area that used to provide classic dining experiences. We are looking forward to returning soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great food, reasonably priced and great wine selection. Only issue I had was several items on the menu were out of stock.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Amazing food served with expert style and aplomb. We dined well, we were not just out for dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was outstanding and the servers were very attentive. Several staff came to ask how thinks were as well as moving finished plates, glasses, wine bottles etc at appropriate times. Felt like everyone cared and wanted to make it a special dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great service, great food with great staff! The ceaser salad is always a crowd favourite.
We have never had a bad meal there.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Romantic, Historic, Casual, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great food and amazing service. Love this restaurant

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Hadn't been to this restaurant in about 4 years, but were remembered by the staff.
Food and ambience are first class. Best restaurant in Surrey bar none!

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Out for thank you dinner with the parents and our two children (who are well behaved, yay,& are becoming foodies). Nice dinner. Owner made outstanding fresh caesar salads tableside. Also made tableside was the Nitro icecream, very interesting. Husband asked for special appetizer which they were able to accommodate. Very nice evening overall. Servers very attentive, everyone enjoyed themselves.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food, ambience and service! The home made caesar salad at the table was fantastic, the nitro ice cream is great finale to dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This restaurant is 5/5 and the fact it's been in the same location for 42 years attests to its outstanding reputation of excellent food and service!
Two in our party had beef filet and the third guest had the seafood platter which he claimed was delicious. I will definitely try that on my next visit. I don't think you'll be disappointed with anything you order here. I highly recommend The Old Surrey Restaurant. *

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 1, 2017

This has been my favourite restaurant for thirty years I would recommend Old Surrey for any occasion

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I really like going here although I live a bit of a distance from the restaurant. It is quiet and the food is great. The staff always treats me and my guest well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We all enjoyed the Big Red special. The food was tasty and delicious. Enjoyed having the salad and ice cream done at the table. The service was excellent. Each course was delivered perfectly. Nice that they were able to accommodate making a special meal for one person who could not eat anything off the menu. The price was reasonable. The wine was excellent.

We will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Casual, Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 20, 2017

My husband and I went with friends to celebrate my birthday. It was on a Sunday so we had a quiet room to ourselves with music in the background. The service was exceptional as was the food. A lot of drama with the table side caesar salad and the delicious chateaubriand. The seafood platter was one of the best I have ever had. We love this place and have been going there for years for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We arrived ten minutes early for our reservation and were promptly greeted and seated by a wonderful gentleman. We were immediately given a wine list and had the evening's specials related to us. The menu had a great selection, and the food was just perfect, and arrived just in the right amount of time allowing us to get settled, enjoy some conversation and the ambiance.
We had a wonderful meal, had very attentive staff, and were entertained several times by the spectacle of the waiter making the ice-cream desert. A great place, with great staff, and great food. We will be back...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The clatter of someone in the kitchen unloading and dropping the cutlery into the
rack was not conducive to quiet conversation or enjoyment of our meal. An easy
fix for you and we will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Ambience was excellent. Food was perfect. Service is impeccable. Will attend again.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Another perfect evening at the Old Surrey. I think this place is wonderful. The service was fantastic, the food was perfect (We all had the steak and lobster), and the ambiance was lovely. Thanks to all who work there for a fantastic evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

As always, absolutely delicious food, lovely atmosphere and very enjoyable!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This is a quiet historic restaurant with very good food. We were a bit disappointed that there were not more choices in wine by the glass.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

First time visit and will not be our last. From the time we entered the front door until we left the service was impeccable ie maitre d took our coats when we arrived and assisted us with our jackets when we left. Also offered to help me down the stairs since I was on crutches. Our servers were helpful with choosing wine and described the dishes with panache. My husband had the lamb. I had the seafood platter which included the best lobster I have ever had and the garlic prawns were amazing. My husband thought the lamb was done to perfection. We enjoyed crepes Suzette cooked table side which was delicious and entertaining to watch. Just sorry we took so long to discover this real gem in Surrey.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Restaurant could do with some new decor. Service was incredibly slow and I am regretting the tip I left. Took about 20 min just to order a bottle of wine. Tried to get the head servers attention to order, but he just walked right by me. In all, I expected more from a $300 dinner for 2.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The meals were delicious, the service was quick and attentive and the ambiance was very romantic. This is one of our favorite places to eat and would recommend this to anyone looking for a cozy, romantic place to have a great meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent restaurant for all occasions, especially a quiet romantic dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food and service was exceptional. Best restaurant in lower mainland !!!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The service and the food was fantastic. Enjoyed watching the server make a Caesar salad and cherries jubilee table side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Another fabulous experience. Great food great environment wonderful people.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

A hidden gem. Great wine list and old school table side presentation

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

First class service and first class food as always! My favorite restaurant EVER!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

This is my 3rd time and it never disappoints . Love the ambiance and the food is fantastic. The staff are wonderful and attentive.
Will definitely recommend and come back again !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

2nd time we have visited the Old Surrey Restaurant and one again dinner was perfect right down to the Ice cream prepared table side made with liquid nitrogen .
We will return again for sure.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Overall quite enjoyable ambiance.
2 food issues.
While the Caesar salad tasted fantastic. Make sure you define how much oil you want.
Make sure you and the wait staff/chef understand how you want your steak. I asked for medium well and described a thin layer of pink. I got back what I would call rare. All red. I even sent it back and when it was returned it was forcefully put in front of me stating it was medium well. It was medium rare. I ate it but wasn't impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The quality of our evening was very good. Everything about it went very well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I have been meaning to book a reservation at the restaurant for a long time. I live in Vancouver so driving to Surrey to meet a friend made it an easy choice. The food was good and the service was great. Had a wonderful time with my friend and would go again.

Tags: Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were there for Valentines day....we were put in a corner two seated table were I got seated and the table was pushed so I was locked in....I felt cluster phobic. Our server wasn't overly friendly. There was a waitress who had messy long hair not brushed wet and nothe tied back. we ordered steak and asked for medium and got almost blood rare.....we could have complained however it was a special occasion....we tiped the waiter and left.....I love to cook and am a foodie....This was not the food or quality I expected.....Will not return.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I have been going to the Surrey house Restaurant for more then more then 10 years. I have traveled many place and this is one of my top 3 restaurents on the planet. Don't let it's location scare you from going. It's well worth the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food.
Table side preparation.
Seasoned professional wait staff.
High quality. Strongly recommend this restaurant. Been there a dozen times and has never let me down.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great food. Great service. And a quiet ambiance that allowed for good conversations, with our party of four! We will definitely do this again, even though we drive in from White Rock/ South Surrey.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food was excellent, service started off great but deteriorated after main course. Busy is not an excuse for total lack of attention while waiting for coffee and/or the opportunity to order desert.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This is my favourite restaurant! The food, service, and ambience were perfect. We had the set menu. Caesar salad was to die for, steak was cooked perfectly, and the nitro ice cream was amazing. I cannot recommend this place enough. Thanks for a wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.