About Old Surrey Restaurant

13483 72 Ave
Surrey, BC V3W 2N7
View Larger Map

The Old Surrey Restaurant is Surrey’s best well- kept secret. Built in 1918, it was the residence of Lou Jack and his household until it was converted into a restaurant in 1974.

The interior has a crisp, clean aesthetic that is enhanced by hardwood floors and the enlarged photos of historic Surrey that adorn the walls. There are five distinct dining areas on the top floor (including a cozy library) and a banquet facility downstairs. The cuisine is French with a splash of West Coast flare. A treat for new and seasoned guests alike are the signature dishes that are prepared and flambeed tableside.

The restaurant is family owned and operated since 1975. Since 1984 the restaurant has entered into a partnership with the family farm in Ryder Lake overlooking Chilliwack from the nearby mountains. The Old Surrey is well known for its free-range lamb and veal allowing customers to enjoy fresh organic ingredients.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
134th street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 596-2313

Website:
http://www.oldsurreyrestaurant.ca/

Executive Chef:
Philip Aguirre

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant is split into five distinct rooms with a variety of sizes. Room capacities are 10, 16, 32, 14, 10. Please phone the restaurant directly to book any private function.

Private Party Contact:
Philip Aguirre: 6045962313x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • mixed seafood platter
mixed seafood platter

Old Surrey Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Food
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Value
Vancouver / British Columbia
11 More
Romantic
Vancouver / British Columbia
Special Occasion
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Vancouver Suburbs
Best Food
Vancouver Suburbs
Best Service
Vancouver Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Vancouver Suburbs
Best Value
Vancouver Suburbs
Fit for Foodies
Vancouver Suburbs
Neighborhood Gem
Vancouver Suburbs
Romantic
Vancouver Suburbs
Special Occasion
Vancouver Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Surrey ›

Special Occasion (68)
Romantic (54)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
See All
Fit for Foodies (31)
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for Groups (16)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
717 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time at the Old Surrey Restaurant ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 3 days ago

First time at the Old Surrey Restaurant and it was outstanding. TripAdvisor was how i found the Restaurant and i wanted a new place to try for our Anniversary. Great food made in front of you, We had the Chateaubriand Special, top notch service from everyone and great value. We will be back and looking forward to trying the next menu special in September.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a fabulous meal. Table side service ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Had a fabulous meal. Table side service great food and show combined!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was our 34th wedding anniversary. We ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

It was our 34th wedding anniversary. We went there when we were dating and have been many many times over the years. The food and service has always been outstanding. We will continue to go to the Old Surrey as long as it remains.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I tend to go for our anni ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My husband and I tend to go for our anniversary every year. It's an old house so they have different rooms where you can sit, I especially like the library, very cozy and only 4 tables in the room. We had the chateaubriand 4 course meal and it was excellent, quite generous portions. If you don't like one of the courses, they are always willing to substitute with something else. Everytime we've gone, the chef has a special complimentary bite-sized appie that is served before your meal and it's always tasty. As well, they make the Caesar salad right in front of you, they finish the chateaubriand off with alcohol and light it in front of you and if you take the Cherries Jubilee, it's also prepared at your table. All this makes it a wonderful dinner. They also know how to pace your meal so you don't feel rushed at all, in fact don't plan on going anywhere afterwards, it takes about 2 hours. We always enjoy ourselves.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little gem of Surrey with exquisite a ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

A little gem of Surrey with exquisite ambiance, excellent service, and sensational delivery and show of French-inspired cuisine. An extrodinary dinning experience unlike any other that can be found in the city of Surrey.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This popular annual Chateaubriand specia ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This popular annual Chateaubriand special is one that my husband an I look forward to. We have enjoyed this for his birthday for many years and we have never been disappointed. Three out of five delicious dishes are prepared in front of you by their experienced and professional waiters. The service is bar none. We have taken our friends on occasion and recommend this dining experience to everyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Anniversary dinner has been here num ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Our Anniversary dinner has been here numerous times and we are never disappointed. The quality of food, service (never feel rushed), and overall ambiance make this a very special Restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We celebrated our25th wedding anniversar ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We celebrated our25th wedding anniversary here and it was perfect! The service, the quiet and intimacy of the space and the food were wonderful. We enjoyed the table side service which has become a lost art and adds so much class and pleasure to an evening. The Chateaubriand was delicious and beautifully presented table side.

Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the second time in 6 weeks for u ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This is the second time in 6 weeks for us to have dinner at Old Surrey Restaurant. This time we brought our great friend with us to celebrate her birthday. And we all dined on the Chateaubriand Dinner special. And was it ever special! Every course was impeccably prepared and presented. The combination of the excellent food, the theatrical table-side preparation and the ambience of this great old house make this a very special place. Can't wait to go back again. Go yourself, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What an amazing place, the staff are gr ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

What an amazing place, the staff are great and the table food prep puts it over the top, can't wait for the next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Birthday dinner especially with the ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Best Birthday dinner especially with the Chateaubriand special

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was number 1, the best in ma ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The service was number 1, the best in many years.

The food was fantastic with table service was a nice change and special on our 35th Anniversay.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We have never had a bad meal here. We h ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We have never had a bad meal here. We have been coming several times per year for almost 10 years. We have introduced many friends to the restaurant. We love the ambience, farmhouse coziness, and convenient location.

The food is always flavourful, fresh, and beautifully presented, especially tableside.

The service is impeccable.

We love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been going to the Old Surrey for ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We have been going to the Old Surrey for over 35 years. It is one of our favorite places.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spiro is training new servers and they a ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Spiro is training new servers and they are all doing well. A great restaurant to dress up for a nice night out. Old world charm for romantic dinners. I went with my niece as annual treat for ourselves, there was a man with his very young daughter and another couple meeting for a first date. All kinds of options for dining here.

Food well prepared and presented, service never overbearing and your wine glass is never empty when you have ordered a 1/2 or full bottle and you really don't see them refill it for you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This restaurant is like visiting old fri ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This restaurant is like visiting old friends you've not seen in a while. The whole experience was beyond expectation, and our expectation were very high.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The servers were great.Food was prepared ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The servers were great.Food was prepared just right. Always have a great meal when we go there.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going here for many years . ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We have been going here for many years . Always have had very good service. The servers are very friendly and go overboard to make your evening very enjoyable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining here, we will be back. ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

First time dining here, we will be back.

Pro- Best caesar salad we have had in many years! Steak cooked as ordered, to perfection. Rack of lamb was amazing.

Service was excellent, server was friendly and has decades of experience at this restaurant.

Usually have to drive to Vancouver to find a gem like Old Surrey Restaurant.

Con- wine list a little short for BC VQA reds.

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The meal was exceptional in every respec ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The meal was exceptional in every respect. Every item was prepared and served perfectly. The Caesar salad and chateaubriand was amazing. Great service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great fine dining at a fair price. Every ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great fine dining at a fair price. Everything was great except the hair on my steak.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Classic high end dining experience ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great Classic high end dining experience.

Very classy waiters.

It can get a little warm in hot weather.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Family, friends and I have been regulars ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Family, friends and I have been regulars literally since the beginning. Only one disappointing evening in over a generation, and that says something. Love the specials and the Caesar salad - one of the few restaurants still preparing it correctly and at the table as well. Moreover the staff is superb. Food and fine service are celebrated and well worth a visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hadn't been to the Old Surrey for a whil ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Hadn't been to the Old Surrey for a while and had forgotten just how good it is.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very nice Steak. Nice looking tables, ve ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Very nice Steak. Nice looking tables, very romantic.

Was a great dinner night.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding table side meal, old school ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Outstanding table side meal, old school dining, superb! Felt like I was at Hy's in the early years. The food was fabulous and the service as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing, the best filet I h ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was amazing, the best filet I have ever had. The service was outstanding. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Old Surrey Restaurant offered a uniq ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The Old Surrey Restaurant offered a unique dining experience. I highly recommend the set menu to any first time diners. The ambiance was perfect for date night!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our experience was very enjoyable and we ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Our experience was very enjoyable and we would definitely make a return visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We found the food exceptionally good, an ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We found the food exceptionally good, and the ambiance in the 'library' area was just right. I shall just have to go back and try some of the other dishes offered on their menu!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was exceptional, servers were very ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was exceptional, servers were very pleasant, however very slow. 1 hour between appetizers and the dinner. Total time at the restaurant 3 hours. Should have been 2 hours at the most.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

The service was excellent. Our waiter w ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The service was excellent. Our waiter was helpful & attentive. We did not feel at all rushed.

We had time to relax & unwind and enjoy our meal . My only complaint would be that the beans

served with our main course were too crisp...maybe could have been cooked a little longer.

Overall it was a very pleasant experience and we will look forward to another dinner at the

Old Surrey again sometime.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

First time dining at Old Surrey. Readin ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

First time dining at Old Surrey. Reading so many positive online reviews had me wanting to go. All I can say is everything I read was spot-on. An excellent dining experience. Not eating. Dining. No big screen tvs, no people tweeting, no loud music or taking pictures of food - just old school dining. We had the chateaubriand for two, finished table side. Perfection, and a very sizable portion. So, to all those folks in South Surrey who don't venture north of Highway 10, get over to the Old Surrey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special occasion

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Three of us went there to celebrate my son's 40th birthday! My grandson came too ( a mature 15 year old). Although our tastes varied, all our meals were superb and each of us came away feeling full and happy! A wonderful special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Gem in the City

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We went here after visiting the Bistro below a few times. We were impressed with the service and food. The restaurant was very quiet as we had an early reservation. The decor was classy and well laid out. Prompt service was also noted. However, the food was excellent. We had the spring special, which included an appetizer, salad or soup, entree and dessert for a great price. The star of the meal with the nitro ice cream prepared tableside. Liquid nitrogen was used to make the vanilla ice cream, which was topped with strawberries. We were so full, we had to stay sitting up for a few hours after we got home! Will be coming back to this restaurant again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Business dinner gone wrong

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

ambience but it does have that old house scent. Steak was over done. Dessert overpriced for the side table presentation. Mussels was rubbery, approx 8 pcs for $15 worth of overcooked appy. Loved the blue cheese salad. Tenderloin Steak dish is lacking presentation and looks to plain and unappetizing. Dessert is overpriced for a side table presentation, strawberry with the spot whip cream presentation. Service was excellent. For what ive read on the reviews for me to pick this restaurant, it was disappointing. For $120 i spent for 2 people, there is so much better places out there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Sunday Date Night

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We both ordered the Spring Menu and everything was excellent. You have to order the Nitro Ice cream-. It is made tableside and is quite an event. Dinner and a show !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I'm sure every review starts with "What ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I'm sure every review starts with "What an odd place for a French restaurant" Don't let that stop you.

This was a very enjoyable night out in a casual but proper French meal. The wine list is brief but well chosen. The BC wines offered are excellent and some of the less expansive wine offerings are quite good.

As usual, the service wasn't fussy, just attentive and friendly, moving us through our meal effortlessly.

We had the spring menu with Caesar salad prepared tableside (ask for no garlic if you are out for romance). The Halibut was amazing. And the Gâteau Basque (lemon cream pound cake) is simple and delicious over a closing cup of rich coffee.

Highly recommended for special occasions. I have visited twice a year. The price is moderate for French dining, and after sitting for 2.5 hours over amazing food, and a good wine $75 - $100 per person isn't unreasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Romantic and Reliable! The Old Surrey R ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Romantic and Reliable!

The Old Surrey Restaurant has been a local stand-by for decades. I recall my parents taking me there as a teenager and now that I'm almost sixty, I still love going to this restaurant. Fabulous service, great food, and a quiet, relaxing atmosphere make this one of my favorite places. I highly recommend this fabulous get-away!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, the Old Surrey Resta ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE, the Old Surrey Restaurant. My daughter brought me there for Mother's Day and I couldn't wait to share it with out of town guests over the weekend. The food is Amazing and the service is outstanding. Will be a Favourite for years to come!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.