Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

About Old Surrey Restaurant

The Old Surrey Restaurant is Surrey’s best well- kept secret. Built in 1918, it was the residence of Lou Jack and his household until it was converted into a restaurant in 1974.

The interior has a crisp, clean aesthetic that is enhanced by hardwood floors and the enlarged photos of historic Surrey that adorn the walls. There are five distinct dining areas on the top floor (including a cozy library) and a banquet facility downstairs. The cuisine is French with a splash of West Coast flare. A treat for new and seasoned guests alike are the signature dishes that are prepared and flambeed tableside.

The restaurant is family owned and operated since 1975. Since 1984 the restaurant has entered into a partnership with the family farm in Ryder Lake overlooking Chilliwack from the nearby mountains. The Old Surrey is well known for its free-range lamb and veal allowing customers to enjoy fresh organic ingredients.

13483 72 Ave
Surrey, BC V3W 2N7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
134th street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 596-2313

Website:
http://www.oldsurreyrestaurant.ca/

Executive Chef:
Philip Aguirre

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant is split into five distinct rooms with a variety of sizes. Room capacities are 10, 16, 32, 14, 10. Please phone the restaurant directly to book any private function.

Private Party Contact:
Philip Aguirre: (604) 596-2313

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Old Surrey Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (30)
Special Occasion (28)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Local Ingredients (20)
Cozy (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Authentic (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Historic (11)
Business Meals (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Seasonal (7)
Private Room (6)
Casual (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fireplace (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
878 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

Four of us had the special four course meal and it was great. Dinner and conversation lasted three hours.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Surrey)·Dined 5 days ago

My visit to the Old Surrey was as expected. Great food and value. The cooks making our salad and dessert at the table was outstanding. The menu had a nice variety as well as a special that was outstanding.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Authentic, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

Birthday, Spiro created the Caesar salad again!! Great job!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

Good food, good service as always. Time to introduce gourmet vegetarian/vegan options

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

2 Birthday celebrations turned out pretty good. Food were excellent, service is good except we have to ask for water refill instead of providing us pitchers. All in all it was a wonderful evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Good overall experience. Was chosen by the client as he had a good family dinner previously. Very traditional menu and good wine list. Portions sizes are average. Worth a look if you have not been.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Have gone to restaurant since1976. Still maintains its quality. Food /Ambiance is great. Owners and staff great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great classic French dining for special occasions, service was awesome!
One of the last establishments keeping with the traditions of fine dining.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 31, 2017

I have been to Old Surrey Restaurant twice before this most recent trip and every time I go, I am more and more impressed. They brought my daughter's food first, understanding that children lack the same level of patience adults have, and we enjoyed a superb meal and my daughter was happy to stay on her best behavior. I love that the food is locally sourced and that whenever we go we're supporting a long-standing locally-owned family run business. I recommend this restaurant to everyone I can.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Organic, Healthy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal here. Many dishes are prepared tableside which is rare for restaurants in Vancouver area. Dishes were served promptly, but we were not rushed to leave. Charming ambience and great service. We will come back for sure.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We had a wonderful time as always at Old Surrey. The food and service were both very good indeed. We are regulars and will be coming back for years to come.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great as always. Love having some of the food prepped right at your table. Classy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We had an amazing meal right from the appetizers to the main coarse and the service was GREAT! Will be going there again soon

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Scallop appy over-sauced and spiced which took away the flavor of the scallop which were smaller than expected for $17 appetizer. Ryder Chicken entree should have less sauce and cheesy stuffing as it was very rich. Chicken was chewy rather than tender. Quality with Ryder chicken? Suggest simplifying the ingredients and recipes to meet more modern palates. Good server.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food was excellent. Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable. Definitely will go back again

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Was great!! Lots of food!! Will go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Went for Birthday, Spiro served us, as usual the service was excellent, we had the steak lobster special, it was fantastic! Great value, food , service, and ambience. I have recommended this restaurant to many friends for a fine dining experience!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Superb in every sense of the word except that it is a. It expensive to purchase a bottle of wine. It would be nice to have a $30 option but the cheapest I saw was $45. But the meal special that was offered was a great price and made up for it! Lovely place, lovely owners.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Historic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The restaurant was very busy, service was so slow. They were apologetic and did offer us extra drinks at no cost. The dessert that was supposed to be included in the set menu Big Red wasn't available. The food was amazing, 10/10

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Fantastic fine dining restaurant. The food is amazing. They prepare fresh salads, desserts, and special coffees right at your table, which we thought was a really nice, personal touch. I can't say enough about this restaurant. I absolutely loved it, and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Favorite restaurant. Recommended to two people after leaving

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 12, 2017

My 26th anniversary , what a complete disappointment
The Caesar Salad was awful, the steak was perfection
They had a conference in next room about cancer and disgusting medical conversation not appropriate for dining , we complained chef/owner would not come out to address the problem
They comped the meal, we left 60 dollars for the wait staff, I would never recommend or go back to this place again
It seems to be trying to be high end, but it falls short on so many levels.
I would suggest they close

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Had a great meal and had wonderful service for my birthday

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 7, 2017

As usual, excellent food and service. We keep coming back!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 3, 2017

This was our first time at the restaurant. We ordered the Big Red lobster & steak promo at the time. Everything was so delicious and what makes this place special was the tableside serives. Fresh ingredients were made at the table. You can't get it anywhere else. We had the flambeed crepe for desserts and it was fascinating to watch! We were recommended by our friend about this place. It didn't disappoint and we would definitely love to come again!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food and service was wonderful and the table side preparation was great. We go a few times a year and it never disappoints. I dream of the Caesar salad cart rolling up to me at night. We had a lovely fruit and custard dessert made table side that was to die for. one of my all time favourite places for a quiet meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This is my second time at Old Surrey and I can't believe I didn't go earlier. Fantastic place. It's like you are in a quaint inn in Europe, not downtown Surrey. Love it!

Lisa

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with old school white linen and a perfect single red rose on each table. The staff are discreet and gracious. The food was wonderful as we expected it would be and given the great reviews we've noted. The four of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals which were prepared flawlessly. The handcrafted martinis are spectacular. This is a great restaurant for a romantic evening or catching up with friends in a cozy, inviting atmosphere. The pre-fixed menu which was available when we dined on March 18 was exceptionally good value, including perfectly done steak and lobster tail. We enjoyed watching the tableside preparation of caesar salad and the nitro ice cream. The nitro ice cream was lovely and tasted exactly as ice cream should.

It was busy when we visited and parking can be a bit tricky, subsequently we ended up parking in the Enterprise lot next door to the restaurant. Despite the busy-ness of the restaurant and noting a few larger groups, it still felt intimate. Plan to spend a few hours; this is a restaurant that encourages leisurely dining and great food does take some time to prepare. The rooms are nicely partitioned and tables appropriately spaced. Well worth the drive from Vancouver for a lovely meal and impeccable service in elegant surroundings. I am so pleased that we finally tried this restaurant as I have missed the availability of restaurants in the Lower Mainland area that used to provide classic dining experiences. We are looking forward to returning soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great food, reasonably priced and great wine selection. Only issue I had was several items on the menu were out of stock.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Amazing food served with expert style and aplomb. We dined well, we were not just out for dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was outstanding and the servers were very attentive. Several staff came to ask how thinks were as well as moving finished plates, glasses, wine bottles etc at appropriate times. Felt like everyone cared and wanted to make it a special dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great service, great food with great staff! The ceaser salad is always a crowd favourite.
We have never had a bad meal there.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Romantic, Historic, Casual, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great food and amazing service. Love this restaurant

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Hadn't been to this restaurant in about 4 years, but were remembered by the staff.
Food and ambience are first class. Best restaurant in Surrey bar none!

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Out for thank you dinner with the parents and our two children (who are well behaved, yay,& are becoming foodies). Nice dinner. Owner made outstanding fresh caesar salads tableside. Also made tableside was the Nitro icecream, very interesting. Husband asked for special appetizer which they were able to accommodate. Very nice evening overall. Servers very attentive, everyone enjoyed themselves.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food, ambience and service! The home made caesar salad at the table was fantastic, the nitro ice cream is great finale to dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This restaurant is 5/5 and the fact it's been in the same location for 42 years attests to its outstanding reputation of excellent food and service!
Two in our party had beef filet and the third guest had the seafood platter which he claimed was delicious. I will definitely try that on my next visit. I don't think you'll be disappointed with anything you order here. I highly recommend The Old Surrey Restaurant. *

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 1, 2017

This has been my favourite restaurant for thirty years I would recommend Old Surrey for any occasion

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I really like going here although I live a bit of a distance from the restaurant. It is quiet and the food is great. The staff always treats me and my guest well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We all enjoyed the Big Red special. The food was tasty and delicious. Enjoyed having the salad and ice cream done at the table. The service was excellent. Each course was delivered perfectly. Nice that they were able to accommodate making a special meal for one person who could not eat anything off the menu. The price was reasonable. The wine was excellent.

We will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Casual, Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.