Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.41mi
  3. Distance: 1.37mi
  4. Distance: 1.41mi

About Old Surrey Restaurant

The Old Surrey Restaurant is Surrey’s best well- kept secret. Built in 1918, it was the residence of Lou Jack and his household until it was converted into a restaurant in 1974.

The interior has a crisp, clean aesthetic that is enhanced by hardwood floors and the enlarged photos of historic Surrey that adorn the walls. There are five distinct dining areas on the top floor (including a cozy library) and a banquet facility downstairs. The cuisine is French with a splash of West Coast flare. A treat for new and seasoned guests alike are the signature dishes that are prepared and flambeed tableside.

The restaurant is family owned and operated since 1975. Since 1984 the restaurant has entered into a partnership with the family farm in Ryder Lake overlooking Chilliwack from the nearby mountains. The Old Surrey is well known for its free-range lamb and veal allowing customers to enjoy fresh organic ingredients.

13483 72 Ave
Surrey, BC V3W 2N7
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm - 8:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
134th street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 596-2313

Website:
http://www.oldsurreyrestaurant.ca/

Executive Chef:
Philip Aguirre

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant is split into five distinct rooms with a variety of sizes. Room capacities are 10, 16, 32, 14, 10. Please phone the restaurant directly to book any private function.

Private Party Contact:
Philip Aguirre: (604) 596-2313

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Old Surrey Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (45)
Romantic (41)
Good for a Date (37)
See All
Special Occasion (34)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Local Ingredients (29)
Cozy (29)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Historic (24)
Worth the Drive (19)
Authentic (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Good for Groups (9)
Business Meals (8)
Fireplace (6)
Private Room (5)
Healthy (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Casual (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Seasonal (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Family Style (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
862 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

Went for Birthday, Spiro served us, as usual the service was excellent, we had the steak lobster special, it was fantastic! Great value, food , service, and ambience. I have recommended this restaurant to many friends for a fine dining experience!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

Superb in every sense of the word except that it is a. It expensive to purchase a bottle of wine. It would be nice to have a $30 option but the cheapest I saw was $45. But the meal special that was offered was a great price and made up for it! Lovely place, lovely owners.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Historic, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The restaurant was very busy, service was so slow. They were apologetic and did offer us extra drinks at no cost. The dessert that was supposed to be included in the set menu Big Red wasn't available. The food was amazing, 10/10

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Fantastic fine dining restaurant. The food is amazing. They prepare fresh salads, desserts, and special coffees right at your table, which we thought was a really nice, personal touch. I can't say enough about this restaurant. I absolutely loved it, and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Favorite restaurant. Recommended to two people after leaving

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 12, 2017

My 26th anniversary , what a complete disappointment
The Caesar Salad was awful, the steak was perfection
They had a conference in next room about cancer and disgusting medical conversation not appropriate for dining , we complained chef/owner would not come out to address the problem
They comped the meal, we left 60 dollars for the wait staff, I would never recommend or go back to this place again
It seems to be trying to be high end, but it falls short on so many levels.
I would suggest they close

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Had a great meal and had wonderful service for my birthday

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 7, 2017

As usual, excellent food and service. We keep coming back!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 3, 2017

This was our first time at the restaurant. We ordered the Big Red lobster & steak promo at the time. Everything was so delicious and what makes this place special was the tableside serives. Fresh ingredients were made at the table. You can't get it anywhere else. We had the flambeed crepe for desserts and it was fascinating to watch! We were recommended by our friend about this place. It didn't disappoint and we would definitely love to come again!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food and service was wonderful and the table side preparation was great. We go a few times a year and it never disappoints. I dream of the Caesar salad cart rolling up to me at night. We had a lovely fruit and custard dessert made table side that was to die for. one of my all time favourite places for a quiet meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This is my second time at Old Surrey and I can't believe I didn't go earlier. Fantastic place. It's like you are in a quaint inn in Europe, not downtown Surrey. Love it!

Lisa

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with old school white linen and a perfect single red rose on each table. The staff are discreet and gracious. The food was wonderful as we expected it would be and given the great reviews we've noted. The four of us thoroughly enjoyed our meals which were prepared flawlessly. The handcrafted martinis are spectacular. This is a great restaurant for a romantic evening or catching up with friends in a cozy, inviting atmosphere. The pre-fixed menu which was available when we dined on March 18 was exceptionally good value, including perfectly done steak and lobster tail. We enjoyed watching the tableside preparation of caesar salad and the nitro ice cream. The nitro ice cream was lovely and tasted exactly as ice cream should.

It was busy when we visited and parking can be a bit tricky, subsequently we ended up parking in the Enterprise lot next door to the restaurant. Despite the busy-ness of the restaurant and noting a few larger groups, it still felt intimate. Plan to spend a few hours; this is a restaurant that encourages leisurely dining and great food does take some time to prepare. The rooms are nicely partitioned and tables appropriately spaced. Well worth the drive from Vancouver for a lovely meal and impeccable service in elegant surroundings. I am so pleased that we finally tried this restaurant as I have missed the availability of restaurants in the Lower Mainland area that used to provide classic dining experiences. We are looking forward to returning soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great food, reasonably priced and great wine selection. Only issue I had was several items on the menu were out of stock.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Amazing food served with expert style and aplomb. We dined well, we were not just out for dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was outstanding and the servers were very attentive. Several staff came to ask how thinks were as well as moving finished plates, glasses, wine bottles etc at appropriate times. Felt like everyone cared and wanted to make it a special dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great service, great food with great staff! The ceaser salad is always a crowd favourite.
We have never had a bad meal there.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Romantic, Historic, Casual, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great food and amazing service. Love this restaurant

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Hadn't been to this restaurant in about 4 years, but were remembered by the staff.
Food and ambience are first class. Best restaurant in Surrey bar none!

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Out for thank you dinner with the parents and our two children (who are well behaved, yay,& are becoming foodies). Nice dinner. Owner made outstanding fresh caesar salads tableside. Also made tableside was the Nitro icecream, very interesting. Husband asked for special appetizer which they were able to accommodate. Very nice evening overall. Servers very attentive, everyone enjoyed themselves.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food, ambience and service! The home made caesar salad at the table was fantastic, the nitro ice cream is great finale to dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This restaurant is 5/5 and the fact it's been in the same location for 42 years attests to its outstanding reputation of excellent food and service!
Two in our party had beef filet and the third guest had the seafood platter which he claimed was delicious. I will definitely try that on my next visit. I don't think you'll be disappointed with anything you order here. I highly recommend The Old Surrey Restaurant. *

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 1, 2017

This has been my favourite restaurant for thirty years I would recommend Old Surrey for any occasion

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I really like going here although I live a bit of a distance from the restaurant. It is quiet and the food is great. The staff always treats me and my guest well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We all enjoyed the Big Red special. The food was tasty and delicious. Enjoyed having the salad and ice cream done at the table. The service was excellent. Each course was delivered perfectly. Nice that they were able to accommodate making a special meal for one person who could not eat anything off the menu. The price was reasonable. The wine was excellent.

We will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Casual, Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 20, 2017

My husband and I went with friends to celebrate my birthday. It was on a Sunday so we had a quiet room to ourselves with music in the background. The service was exceptional as was the food. A lot of drama with the table side caesar salad and the delicious chateaubriand. The seafood platter was one of the best I have ever had. We love this place and have been going there for years for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We arrived ten minutes early for our reservation and were promptly greeted and seated by a wonderful gentleman. We were immediately given a wine list and had the evening's specials related to us. The menu had a great selection, and the food was just perfect, and arrived just in the right amount of time allowing us to get settled, enjoy some conversation and the ambiance.
We had a wonderful meal, had very attentive staff, and were entertained several times by the spectacle of the waiter making the ice-cream desert. A great place, with great staff, and great food. We will be back...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The clatter of someone in the kitchen unloading and dropping the cutlery into the
rack was not conducive to quiet conversation or enjoyment of our meal. An easy
fix for you and we will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Ambience was excellent. Food was perfect. Service is impeccable. Will attend again.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Another perfect evening at the Old Surrey. I think this place is wonderful. The service was fantastic, the food was perfect (We all had the steak and lobster), and the ambiance was lovely. Thanks to all who work there for a fantastic evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

As always, absolutely delicious food, lovely atmosphere and very enjoyable!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This is a quiet historic restaurant with very good food. We were a bit disappointed that there were not more choices in wine by the glass.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

First time visit and will not be our last. From the time we entered the front door until we left the service was impeccable ie maitre d took our coats when we arrived and assisted us with our jackets when we left. Also offered to help me down the stairs since I was on crutches. Our servers were helpful with choosing wine and described the dishes with panache. My husband had the lamb. I had the seafood platter which included the best lobster I have ever had and the garlic prawns were amazing. My husband thought the lamb was done to perfection. We enjoyed crepes Suzette cooked table side which was delicious and entertaining to watch. Just sorry we took so long to discover this real gem in Surrey.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Healthy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Restaurant could do with some new decor. Service was incredibly slow and I am regretting the tip I left. Took about 20 min just to order a bottle of wine. Tried to get the head servers attention to order, but he just walked right by me. In all, I expected more from a $300 dinner for 2.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The meals were delicious, the service was quick and attentive and the ambiance was very romantic. This is one of our favorite places to eat and would recommend this to anyone looking for a cozy, romantic place to have a great meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent restaurant for all occasions, especially a quiet romantic dinner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food and service was exceptional. Best restaurant in lower mainland !!!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The service and the food was fantastic. Enjoyed watching the server make a Caesar salad and cherries jubilee table side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Another fabulous experience. Great food great environment wonderful people.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

A hidden gem. Great wine list and old school table side presentation

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

First class service and first class food as always! My favorite restaurant EVER!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.