About Old Stein Inn

1143 East Central Ave.
Edgewater, MD 21037
View Larger Map

IN 1983, Karl & Ursula Selinger of Neustadt an der Weinstrasse, Germany in the Rhineland Pfalz opened The Old Stein Inn to serve the finest German cuisine. They decided to locate in Anne Arundel County just 8 miles south of Annapolis in Edgewater Maryland. The Old Stein has a traditional Biergarten to give neighbors a place to enjoy al fresco dining with friends and family. The ten German taps pour an unparalleled selection of beer. The Old Stein has been featured on "The Best Of Show" on the Food Network and has won multiple awards for the Munster Cheese & Crab Soup and the Apple Cheesecake.
The Old Stein is no run-of-the-mill chain restaurant. Diners come from all over the Mid-Atlantic (or right around the corner) to this family-owned, Maryland gem to enjoy fun, food, friends—and, or course, a cold brew in a gemütlichkeit atmosphere. Eins, Zwei, Drei, G"suffa!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
German, Gastro Pub, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Wed-Thursday 4pm to 9pm
Saturaday 4-10pm; Bar open until 11pm
Sunday NOON to 9pm

Cross Street:
just past Turkey point Road on right hand side

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 798-6807

Website:
http://www.oldstein-inn.com/

Entertainment:
The Old Stein Oktoberfest style Biergarten has become a Maryland tradition. People come—from near and far—to gather in the Biergarten and enjoy the beautiful Fall weather while drinking the best German beers and tasting the finest German cuisine. Visit the Old Stein during Oktoberfest and you"re sure to have a blast singing along to German drinking songs while sampling traditional German fare. Check our web site www.oldstein-inn.com to see when you might catch Silvia strolling with her accordian or Heidi and the Helmut Echo with their alpenhorn. Prost!

Catering:
Please contact for your specific needs.

Parking Details:
large onsite parking lot

Executive Chef:
Jason Howard

Private Party Facilities:
We have inside seating up to 64 persons and outdoor Biergarten to 120 persons

Private Party Contact:
Hostess: 4107986807x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Wurstplatte With Cheese
Wiener Schnitzel
Potato Pancakes
Black Forest Salad
sauerbraten
Gemuse Spatzle
Jaeger Schnitzel
Metzgers Leibspeise
Pork Shank
Cheese And Crab Soup
Liverwurst
First Two Official Beers Served At The Warm Opening After The Fire
Weiss Wurst Sandwich

Old Stein Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Greater Annapolis
Best Food
Greater Annapolis
3 More
Best Ambiance
Greater Annapolis
Best Value
Greater Annapolis
Neighborhood Gem
Greater Annapolis
Best Restaurants in Edgewater ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (80)
Good for Groups (68)
Neighborhood Gem (62)
See All
Special Occasion (50)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Kid-friendly (35)
Great for Lunch (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Romantic (5)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
824 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was excellent, the ambiance ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

The service was excellent, the ambiance was good. Unfortunately, the food was not up to par, Very bland and not worth the money

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Old Stein Inn has been a favorite for ma ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

Old Stein Inn has been a favorite for many years. It is more than just a meal, from the food, beer and ambience, it is an experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant. I have never had a ba ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great restaurant. I have never had a bad meal in all the times I have dined here.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite German restaurant. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is our favorite German restaurant. We come here almost once a month. The food and the beer is just amazing! We can't get enough.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My wife & I had dinner at The Old Stein ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My wife & I had dinner at The Old Stein Inn last night, and we were a bit disappointed. I ordered their famous Beef Rouladen for the first time since the Dec. 2010 fire (since they are no longer a regular feature on the menu -- you have to catch them as a special), and they were definitely not as good as I remember them from before the fire: the preparation & presentation were very different, and the filling had an "off" flavor to it. My wife ordered the smoked pork sausages, and they were way too salty for her. Additionally, the service was very inattentive. In fact, a couple of times, were actually had to grab/call other servers to help us since our waiter seemed to have disappeared. (I think that it may have been because we were seated next to a very large group, and, as is usually the case in situations like that, the large group was getting the majority of his attention [because that's where the biggest tip will supposedly come from].) On a positive note, the live music by Sylvia on accordion was a nice treat (and a pleasant distraction while we were waiting for service . . . ).

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Generally I love Old Stein Inn and have ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Generally I love Old Stein Inn and have been there many times. It seems though the food was not as good as in the past. Specifically the Chicken Jaeger Schnitzel had by multiple people in our party.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Beer selection and quality is great. How ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Beer selection and quality is great. However, food is not close to that. Although, it seems (reads) authentic from the menu, the quality is not quite there. Few items are home made and you can really tell which ones they are by the look and taste. Or you can even ask and they will tell you, no, we buy it. This restaurant has the potential to be a great one, but food needs a major overhaul.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious food and well presented. Tad b ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Delicious food and well presented. Tad bit noisy but the service, selections and service more than made up. Definitely returning, well worth the hour drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

If you want Schnitzel and beer. This is ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

If you want Schnitzel and beer. This is the place. Casual and yummy. The service is great. It gets crowded fast so reservations are recommended.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This use to be our favorite special occa ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This use to be our favorite special occasion place to go. But since our last visit about 6 months ago the taste and quality of the food has changed, the flavor is gone. The staff there is very nice and did listen to our complaints. However I was very dissatisfied when I asked if they had tried any of the dishes, they both replied no. One had food allergies not sure about the other manager. I really liked this restaurant I will go back to give it another try...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

No German bread was offered this time an ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

No German bread was offered this time and my meal was bland tasting. My wife really enjoyed hers though. We come on our anniversary yearly and this is the first time this has happened. The service was without fault.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

When I made the reservation I noted in t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

When I made the reservation I noted in the occasion section that our guest was from Muenster, Germany. I was hoping that this would be passed on to the wait staff, it was not.

Our server was attentive and helpful. Our college age granddaughter and her friends enjoyed the food and the outdoor dining

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was somewhat disappointed by our dinne ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I was somewhat disappointed by our dinner here, especially as I had lived in Germany when I was assigned there in the Army. The service was average, and the appearance of the Inn was rather grungy. I ordered a pork cordon bleu, with spaetlze. I have NEVER had a cordon bleu where the cheese and ham were simply laid on top of the schnitzel! The schnitzel itself was not up to snuff. The breading was damp, not crisp, and they did not appear to have tenderized the meat by pounding it out. I can and often do make my own spaetzle at home with a maker my German land lady gave us. It is miles beyond what I was served. It had no gravy, was not even buttered, and I couldn't even salt it, because the salt shaker was clogged. It appeared that letting one side of the mass of noodles char was the sole effort to affect the flavor at all...but it remained bland and tasteless. My son had a plain schnitzel, and my wife a jaegerschnitzel...and neither was happy with theirs either. And we spent over $130 for this meal??!! I could not in good conscience recommend this establishment, and plan not to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Great German Retaurant, my first time th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great German Retaurant, my first time there, but we will be returning

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good food, real German flair. A bit nois ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good food, real German flair. A bit noisy but overall pretty good. Always better when our accordion player is there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

excellent taste of Germany. A slightly l ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

excellent taste of Germany. A slightly less greasy, less heavy schnitzel than what we ate while living in the Rheinland-Pfalz 20 years ago. good selection of german beers too. I liked the sampler, we could try several without having to drink so much. Was a little noisy when full, like a bierhall.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great, large portions and fanta ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was great, large portions and fantastic service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our favorite restaurant. The fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant. The food is always great, and the service attentive. Our server was very friendly, knowledgeable of the menu, and could make good recommendations for what to order.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been wanting to visit for years. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I have been wanting to visit for years. Maybe our night was the wrong night. I had to send my first order back because it was burned on the underneath. My waitress asked if I would like to get another to which I replied affirmatively. My friend was finished her meal before the replacement arrived. My greatest disappointment is that for YEARS I have heard glowing things from fellow restaraunt goers about TOS. Feel like I got cheated from enjoying a great meal with a great friend. Bummer

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We've been wanting to go here for years ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We've been wanting to go here for years and glad we finally made it. Didn't realize it was so close to Washington DC. Enjoyed the drive too.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waiter Riley was outstanding. He was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Our waiter Riley was outstanding. He was knowledgable about the beverages, and menu. Recommend top favorites which we tried and were extremely satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a very nice evening outside in the B ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Had a very nice evening outside in the Biergarten. All of the beers in the beer flights were very good. The food was also very good and plentiful.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cool German restaurant with outdoor seat ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Cool German restaurant with outdoor seating and great beer. We were there during the day, but I would like to come back on a Friday or Saturday evening when there are more people. It was a fun, relaxing vibe. The service was wonderful. Glad to have a place like this outside of the city. Reminds me of Germany!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We were searching for a seafood restaura ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were searching for a seafood restaurant, not sure how or why a mostly German food menu was in the list. After reviewing posts and the menu online we decided to give it a try. Extensive Beir and Wine list, plenty of room for indoor or outdoor covered dining. Service was excellent, food was very good although it came out a bit to fast after appetizer was delivered. Not all items from the online menu are available, not a seasonal thing as we asked about the hungarian goluash for example. Simply told we don't make that any more and have not updated the site. Other than that if you like German food, a wandering acordian player in a relaxing atmosphere this is a great choice

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We get to Old Stein Inn 2-3 times per ye ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We get to Old Stein Inn 2-3 times per year. It rarely disappoints. This visit was no exception. The outdoor patio is still one of the best in the area. Recent upgrades make this space useable in almost all weather and this has not diminished its charm.

I would prefer more than one "rotating" beer, but overall, they still have an excellent selection of German (and other) beers.

Thee food is just adequate. Germans are not known for their fine cuisine, so this is no big surprise.

We come for the beer and the atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The suerbraten was excellent as usual. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The suerbraten was excellent as usual. I was very disappointed though that the "little dish rags" given to as napkins was the same as last time. They are NOT proper napkins. I even went to the trouble of BRINGING MY OWN NAPKINS just in case the "little dish rags" were on the dining table again. Those little rags are totally inappropriate for proper dining. I hope the person/persons responsible for them being there changes their mind and puts out a proper dining service. If they don't, or won't, I have one thing to say to them - "A pox on your house!"

Joe Scholle

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our reservation was for Sunday 5:30pm an ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our reservation was for Sunday 5:30pm and we expected the crowd to be light. Inside this appeared to be the case, but The Continentals were playing in the garden and that seemed the place to be. Our group of six secured the last open table, received menus immediately, and we sat back to enjoy the music and make our beer and food selections. After 25 minutes our waitstaff still hadn't appeared to take our order, so we went to the bar to request at least our beers. From then on the evening improved, and a lovely young woman named Carrie cheerfully and accurately made sure to deliver all the food and drink we requested. The band was entertaining and the saxophone player even serenaded a 'happy birthday' to our special guest, capping off the event with style and more than just a little laughter on our part.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This is a great place to meet up with fr ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This is a great place to meet up with friends and enjoy some great entertainment by Mike and the Continentals out in the beer garden. Great wait staff.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great German Food and fabulous beer opti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great German Food and fabulous beer options. The samplers are wonderful.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Uber Uber burger and Soft Shell BLT ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The Uber Uber burger and Soft Shell BLT were excellent. The Old Stein Inn is a favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We really enjoyed my husband's birthday ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We really enjoyed my husband's birthday dinner. They have a really nice "outdoor" area that's under cover and we thoroughly our food and drinks!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Friendly and efficient service. Food was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Friendly and efficient service. Food was good but rather over priced.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We were seated outside on the patio on a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We were seated outside on the patio on a slow Thursday night. Food was great, but service could be improved. Waiter was not very attentive. We will definitely go back, but I guess we'll allow more time for less than optimal service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

The Old Stein in is a very nice German ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The Old Stein in is a very nice German restaurant. Great selection of beer. Fun beer garden. And very tasty German food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great German food in a wonderful beer ga ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great German food in a wonderful beer garden setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The best German restaurant in the Washin ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The best German restaurant in the Washington-Baltimore-Annapolis area!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Interesting ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent food and service. Interesting German sausages, great shell fish and delicious soft pretzels and pretzel rolls.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious and creative dishes in a casua ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Delicious and creative dishes in a casual atmosphere. Good service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always a great, dependable place for ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

As always a great, dependable place for very good german food. One of our favorite places

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good is pretty good -- the beer list is ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good is pretty good -- the beer list is what draws us again and again, plus the outdoor dining and polite service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.