Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About Old Stein Inn

IN 1983, Karl & Ursula Selinger of Neustadt an der Weinstrasse, Germany in the Rhineland Pfalz opened The Old Stein Inn to serve the finest German cuisine. They decided to locate in Anne Arundel County just 8 miles south of Annapolis in Edgewater Maryland. The Old Stein has a traditional Biergarten to give neighbors a place to enjoy al fresco dining with friends and family. The ten German taps pour an unparalleled selection of beer. The Old Stein has been featured on "The Best Of Show" on the Food Network and has won multiple awards for the Munster Cheese & Crab Soup and the Apple Cheesecake.
The Old Stein is no run-of-the-mill chain restaurant. Diners come from all over the Mid-Atlantic (or right around the corner) to this family-owned, Maryland gem to enjoy fun, food, friends—and, or course, a cold brew in a gemütlichkeit atmosphere. Eins, Zwei, Drei, G"suffa!

1143 East Central Ave.
Edgewater, MD 21037
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
German, Gastro Pub, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Wed-Thursday 4pm to 9pm
Saturaday 4-10pm; Bar open until 11pm
Sunday NOON to 9pm *Please contact the restaurant for outdoor Biergarten seating.

Cross Street:
just past Turkey point Road on right hand side

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 798-6807

Website:
http://www.oldstein-inn.com/

Entertainment:
The Old Stein Oktoberfest style Biergarten has become a Maryland tradition. People come—from near and far—to gather in the Biergarten and enjoy the beautiful Fall weather while drinking the best German beers and tasting the finest German cuisine. Visit the Old Stein during Oktoberfest and you"re sure to have a blast singing along to German drinking songs while sampling traditional German fare. Check our web site www.oldstein-inn.com to see when you might catch Silvia strolling with her accordian or Heidi and the Helmut Echo with their alpenhorn. Prost!

Catering:
Please contact for your specific needs.

Parking Details:
large onsite parking lot

Executive Chef:
Jason Howard

Private Party Facilities:
We have inside seating up to 64 persons and outdoor Biergarten to 120 persons

Private Party Contact:
Hostess: (410) 798-6807

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Old Stein Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (50)
Authentic (42)
Fun (36)
See All
Good for Groups (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Worth the Drive (29)
Casual (29)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Comfort Food (24)
Live Music (24)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Good for a Date (19)
Seasonal (16)
Kid-friendly (15)
Cozy (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Happy Hour (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
People Watching (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Business Meals (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Romantic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1107 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Old Stein Inn's German Food is a bit pricey for what you get. Most dishes are $19 and up. I found my favorite thing so far on this last visit. The Chicken Schnitzel Sandwich on a Pretzel Roll. $16. Included a large serving of hand cut fries and cucumber cabbage slaw. It was a full size chicken cutlet folded in half - nice serving! I do not recommend the smoked trout spread appetizer - a bit strong and not much flavor otherwise.

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Great Beer, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and beer always great at Old Stein. Beautiful afternoon and evenings outside with the band and always a great place for groups!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent Octoberfest food & drinks!! We have been coming here for years and they never let us down!! Highly recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 7 days ago

We had reservations, and still had to wait 30 to 45 minutes for our table....we had two waiters, but still had to wait.....just returned from a trip to Germany(Deutschland) and their restaurant prices we considerably lower? I was able to buy dinner including several beers and wine for 6 people for under 155 euros(rounded up). I did enjoy the music.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

For some of the best authentic German food this side of the pond, try Old Stein Inn. In addition to the favorites like at least 9 versions of schnitzel they have saurbraten and schweine haxe and many kinds of wurst. Everything we had was well prepared and delicious. We especially enjoyed the soft pretzel appetizer and the wurst and cheese plate.

They also have a great selection of imported German beers both on tap and in bottles as well as a fine selection of wines.

Although the place was packed the service was great.

They have a big outdoor biergarten too.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 7 days ago

The service was impeccable! Friendly, attentive but not cloying. Seated right away (we had reservations), bier garden is great, love the accordion music, and the food is amazing! I had the pork shank-delicious!!, my husband had the steak & frites-he loved it, and my son LOVES the Bavarian soft pretzels here. I'd highly recommend this neighborhood gem to everyone!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Had reservation for 6:45 PM and didn't get seated until after 7PM. Great beer, great food so you just have to wait a little for it!

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Old Stein Inn is one of our favorite places to good for good food and excellent German beer. Service is always great and they usually have some fun music on the weekends. The biergarten is where we always sit. It is a great local place to take out of town guests.

Tags: Great Beer, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food is authentic German. The pork shank is our favorite. The meat falls right off the bone. Huge selection of beer. The beer garden is fun an lively. Sylvia and her accordion are an extra treat.
If you want a quieter dinner, head inside to the restaurant

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Very disappointed that on a Saturday night at 6 they were out of sauerbraten. That is the only entree I have ever ordered and I was looking forward to it . The waitress recommended fish & chips but it wasn't very good . First time in 15 years of eating dinner there that I've been disappointed.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

We had really good food and drink at the outside bier garden. The service was excellent!

Tags: Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

We enjoy the Octoberfest food and the German beer. Wait staff are very friendly and your web site and making reservations are very easy to do.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 30, 2017

The our server was amazing!!! He was friendly and knowledgeable. The food was delicious and authentic. We will definitely be back for the whole roasted pig!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 30, 2017

This might have been our fifth or sixth time at The Old Stein Inn. It is always a wonderful dining experience. We came in on a Saturday afternoon and sat out in the bier garden, and had a fantastic meal. Our server was a bit overly attentive, but otherwise everything was fantastic. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Beer, food and ambiance were great for our big group. Sylvia on accordion made for a lively Oktoberfest celebration! Prost!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Fun time. But Tried calling for 2 days ahead of time to request a patio table. No answer either day in multiple calls. Then when we asked about sitting on terrace we caught some attitude, being told " you need to reserve a table out there "". But fun time

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The food here is always good, and we had a very nice waitress. We were a bit put off by the $2 charge to substitute the vegetable of the day for red cabbage -- it's not as if it cost them anything. Even worse, they wanted to charge $4 more to have a sauce put on the side on a dessert. Not very customer friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Came for authentic German food and beer and was not disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 24, 2017

I was very impressed with the quality of the food. Service was very good. The outdoor area was also very nice and large.

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Fantastic as it always is! Great food, great atmosphere

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 22, 2017

I've dined at Old Stein Inn off and on for 20 years. Authentic German cuisine and wonderful beer selection. Try the light and dark flights. Service is great.

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Great Beer, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Enjoyed sitting out in the beer garden, watching little kids dance and roam around, the accordion player, who was very friendly. Crab soup and apple strudel excellent, but the rest of the food ordinary, and expensive.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Seasonal, Fun, Casual, Great Beer, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Good, traditional German food. Excellent Biergarten.

Tags: Great Beer, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Fun, Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

An excellent interpretation of a German Gasthaus with very good food, ten on-tap German draft beers, dozens of bottled beers, wine, plus great German food selections from simple sausages (wurst) to fancy schnitzels, delicious appetizers, and tasty desserts.

Dine inside for comfort and more intimacy; dine outside for a German festival atmosphere in a weather protected biergarten!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Authentic German food and several German beers on tap as well as in bottles. Best German restraunt in the DC/MD area. They do have a band in the Bier Garden, which can be noisy, but it does make it authentic German! Make a reservation, though!!!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Cozy, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We hadn't been to the Old Stein Restaurant for over a year and found it as good as ever. The pork schnitzel, weiswurst and bratwurst were excellent as was the red cabbage, potato pancakes and sauerkraut. Potato salad was a little bland but the wine (Geverstiminer) and beer were very good. Service was perfect. A dinner roll would have been a nice addition. Can't wait to go back again!
Beth

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

You can never go wrong with The Old Stein Inn. Makes you feel as though you are in Germany and dining with family. Great food, plentiful portion sizes, live music on most weekend nights in the Bier Garden ... Just lots of fun!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

The appetizer sampler platter was okay. The chicken pate was way too sweet. the meats were okay. One pickle was very spicy (scharf) and not fitting for a German meal.
The schnitzel sandwich was horrible - did not work and the chicken was tasteless.
The sour beef was okay, the red cabbage was weird. I have to say, many of the flavors overall were weird, just off. I have much experience with German food and this was disappointing.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 9, 2017

If you enjoy authentic German food and a large selection of kegged and bottled beer imported from Germany there's no other place anywhere in the metro area that can compare. The biergarten is a great place on an autumn evening with live music on the weekends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Casual, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

This was my second trip to the Old Stein Inn. As the last time the food was amazing and we had a great time. If you don't like German food, this isn't for you, but who doesn't like German food? Service was excellent and the band was fun! I highly recommend a reservation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Overall our experience was very good. I was a little disappointed in the food this time - no veal on the menu so I had to settle for pork schnitzel. The atmosphere was quieter than usual - perhaps because it is the end of the summer season. A great place, however, to gather with friends and family

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The host said I reserved an inside table, which I did not. He said we could sit outside at a pub table near the bar. Walked outside and there were at least 8 tables for 4 open. No one else came in for another hour. It was weird. Not sure what his problem was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Pork schnitzel was good as well as the spaetzle. The red cabbage needs to be improved. Didn't have any real flavor. Will give it another try.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Today I had the Gemuse Spaetzle. I've had every entree on the menu and just tried this. It is my new favorite. The seasonal vegetables are so fresh and seasoned so nice. It was a delicious mix of corn, peppers and grated carrots. MY spouse had the bratwurst, red cabbage and spaetzle. A regular favorite. We also tried the fried pickles. They changed them up since last time we had them. They are now about the size of French fries, crispy and salty. Beer was nice and cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Visited the Old Stein Inn for a Birthday with a group of Germans! The beer selection was great and the food was tasty. The menu isn't as big as I expected, but everyone was very happy with it! Well worth a visit. We tried a few beer flights, the crab soup, schnitzel and special of the day. Service was on point and we sat outside on the patio. Great atmosphere!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

There was a lunatic lady dancing table to table and at one time she got on the floor and she was lying down with a strange customers dogs. Then she started dancing with the strangers dogs. This was very odd behavior and she should have been reigned in but the management let her do whatever. The customer with the dogs left then she started dancing our way so we paid our checkand left too. The manager should have called the police and had the drunk removed. This place is very expensive so for them to let this go on it's insane. Whatever rathole!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

We were regulars but the last two times, the meals were very bland and lacked seasoning. My wife had to change her meal selection after trying the red cabbage.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food is consistent and always very good, planning on going back next week

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent food as always! A little disappointed that no recognition was made of the TWO birthdays we were celebrating that I specified in my reservation. Oh well, we'll still be back.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.