About Old Stein Inn

1143 East Central Ave.
Edgewater, MD 21037
View Larger Map

IN 1983, Karl & Ursula Selinger of Neustadt an der Weinstrasse, Germany in the Rhineland Pfalz opened The Old Stein Inn to serve the finest German cuisine. They decided to locate in Anne Arundel County just 8 miles south of Annapolis in Edgewater Maryland. The Old Stein has a traditional Biergarten to give neighbors a place to enjoy al fresco dining with friends and family. The ten German taps pour an unparalleled selection of beer. The Old Stein has been featured on "The Best Of Show" on the Food Network and has won multiple awards for the Munster Cheese & Crab Soup and the Apple Cheesecake.
The Old Stein is no run-of-the-mill chain restaurant. Diners come from all over the Mid-Atlantic (or right around the corner) to this family-owned, Maryland gem to enjoy fun, food, friends—and, or course, a cold brew in a gemütlichkeit atmosphere. Eins, Zwei, Drei, G"suffa!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
German, Gastro Pub, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Wed-Thursday 4pm to 9pm
Saturaday 4-10pm; Bar open until 11pm
Sunday NOON to 9pm

Cross Street:
just past Turkey point Road on right hand side

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 798-6807

Website:
http://www.oldstein-inn.com/

Entertainment:
The Old Stein Oktoberfest style Biergarten has become a Maryland tradition. People come—from near and far—to gather in the Biergarten and enjoy the beautiful Fall weather while drinking the best German beers and tasting the finest German cuisine. Visit the Old Stein during Oktoberfest and you"re sure to have a blast singing along to German drinking songs while sampling traditional German fare. Check our web site www.oldstein-inn.com to see when you might catch Silvia strolling with her accordian or Heidi and the Helmut Echo with their alpenhorn. Prost!

Catering:
Please contact for your specific needs.

Parking Details:
large onsite parking lot

Executive Chef:
Jason Howard

Private Party Facilities:
We have inside seating up to 64 persons and outdoor Biergarten to 120 persons

Private Party Contact:
Hostess: 4107986807x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Wurstplatte With Cheese
Wiener Schnitzel
Potato Pancakes
Black Forest Salad
sauerbraten
Gemuse Spatzle
Jaeger Schnitzel
Metzgers Leibspeise
Pork Shank
Cheese And Crab Soup
Liverwurst
First Two Official Beers Served At The Warm Opening After The Fire
Weiss Wurst Sandwich

Old Stein Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Ambiance
Greater Annapolis
Neighborhood Gem
Greater Annapolis
Best Restaurants in Edgewater ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (73)
Good for Groups (57)
Neighborhood Gem (53)
See All
Special Occasion (46)
Kid-friendly (29)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Authentic (17)
Great Beer (15)
Casual (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Fun (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Live Music (8)
Family Style (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Seasonal (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Romantic (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Cozy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Historic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
845 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything was great, but bring back the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was great, but bring back the live band, please.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very pleasant place with nice selection ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Very pleasant place with nice selection of beers. Some good traditional German food. Nothing great, but food is solid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Really enjoy the Old Stein. Really like ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

Really enjoy the Old Stein. Really like the addition of the outside bar.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Old Stein Inn provides great beer and Ge ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Old Stein Inn provides great beer and German food. A nice place to meet with old friends and catch up in a casual atmosphere!

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Live Music, Great Beer, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Old Stein Inn is a terrific traditio ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The Old Stein Inn is a terrific traditional German restaurant. I've eaten there twice. The sauerbraten was delicious and very tender. The pork schnitzel was great too. The ambience evokes many of the Biergartens I've visited in Germany.

All in all a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was disappointing. The red cabb ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food was disappointing. The red cabbage was very lackluster. Just didn't seem worth it. Won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Loved the food and German music... Food ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Loved the food and German music...

Food was great! Wait staff was super nice.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner with friends. Waiter was v ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great dinner with friends. Waiter was very attentive. Enjoyed outdoor seating on a beautiful evening.

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Happy Hour, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This was my 4th time and enjoyed it as m ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This was my 4th time and enjoyed it as much as first. Since fire 2 yrs. ago, the renovations are an improvement on outdoor dining.

Food was a good as it always is.

Tags: Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was very good. A bit disappoint ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Service was very good. A bit disappointed that at 6:30, when 4 of the 6 of us ordered one of the specials, rouladin, they were OUt???? .. alternative options were delicious.. but.. disappointing that the specials were out so early. Very warm to the point of uncomfortable.. inside???

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great restaurant. The food was excellen ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great restaurant. The food was excellent!

Will definitely visit again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service only exceeded by their foo ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great service only exceeded by their food! I highly recommend this establishment and their varied selection of German beers.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable evening of outdoor dining ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Very enjoyable evening of outdoor dining and music!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

By far my husband's favorite restaurant. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

By far my husband's favorite restaurant. We eat here as often as possible. Love the outdoor patio. Several hand crafted cocktails for the non-beer lovers in the group. You must try the fried pickles and the Watermelon salad was so refreshing and a lovely surprise on a otherwise traditional German menu.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Maitre de (female with glasses) was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The Maitre de (female with glasses) was a bit stern with us and another group. Later, she seemed more socialble with the band as they setup. staff was short due to a few callouts. Didn't need to know that. Our waitress did her best and provide ok service. The sausage and schnitzel were fine, but the sides (potato salad / sauerkarut) were a miss. Parking is a little strange (not well thought out). Might try again.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

I visit Old Stein Inn for authentic Germ ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I visit Old Stein Inn for authentic German food and ambience every time I am in the local area. Their new outdoor dining patio is comfortable, mostly shaded, and very pleasant.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always love coming back to the Old Stei ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Always love coming back to the Old Stein Inn. Everything we had was great. Wait staff was very friendly and patient with our group.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Historic, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I LOVE the Old Stein Inn! For this parti ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I LOVE the Old Stein Inn! For this particular occasion, I invited five friends who had never been before. The food and ambiance were absolutely lovely; I really enjoy the Alpine/German atmosphere and authentic feel. The food is yummy (although German food certainly isn't for everyone; it's quite meat/sausage heavy but there are good vegetarian options as well. Our only vegetarian had the vegetarian spaetzle which he liked quite a bit). Best of all, the Old Stein Inn's own Sylvia came over to our table and performed a couple of sets of old German/Austrian music, including some yodeling. It was such a treat, especially right before we had dessert. The Old Stein Inn is an absolute gem!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservation's and still waited fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had reservation's and still waited for over 18 mins. while a table of 8 with no reservations was seated. We sat in the garden for over 15 mins. before the waiter came to take our drink order. We gave him our drink order and app.'s and it took 20 mins.. my friends mom is 91 so we got her food with the app.s.. I asked for ketchup to be brought and he said he would be right back. He didn't come with our food for 15 more mins. and didn't bring the ketchup. We asked for 2 more drinks and the ketchup again. We finished our food and he finally come back and asked if we wanted anything else. ugh...we asked for check. It was so loud out there that we could hardly hear each other without hollering. Not a good experience..

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

I had the pork cutlet, which was well do ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I had the pork cutlet, which was well done and had been cook probably a few hours earlier and was mildly warm. As I do not openly complain at restaurants, I ate what I could, enjoyed another Bitburger bier, paid the tab and took my wife home. She, however enjoyed her Sauerbraten, white wine and was happy to be out for the evening. James

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Loved the service, appetizer , food and ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Loved the service, appetizer , food and the beer.

Wlll definitely come back

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was excellent, the ambiance ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The service was excellent, the ambiance was good. Unfortunately, the food was not up to par, Very bland and not worth the money

Tags: Quick Bite, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Old Stein Inn has been a favorite for ma ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Old Stein Inn has been a favorite for many years. It is more than just a meal, from the food, beer and ambience, it is an experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant. I have never had a ba ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great restaurant. I have never had a bad meal in all the times I have dined here.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is our favorite German restaurant. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is our favorite German restaurant. We come here almost once a month. The food and the beer is just amazing! We can't get enough.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My wife & I had dinner at The Old Stein ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My wife & I had dinner at The Old Stein Inn last night, and we were a bit disappointed. I ordered their famous Beef Rouladen for the first time since the Dec. 2010 fire (since they are no longer a regular feature on the menu -- you have to catch them as a special), and they were definitely not as good as I remember them from before the fire: the preparation & presentation were very different, and the filling had an "off" flavor to it. My wife ordered the smoked pork sausages, and they were way too salty for her. Additionally, the service was very inattentive. In fact, a couple of times, were actually had to grab/call other servers to help us since our waiter seemed to have disappeared. (I think that it may have been because we were seated next to a very large group, and, as is usually the case in situations like that, the large group was getting the majority of his attention [because that's where the biggest tip will supposedly come from].) On a positive note, the live music by Sylvia on accordion was a nice treat (and a pleasant distraction while we were waiting for service . . . ).

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Generally I love Old Stein Inn and have ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Generally I love Old Stein Inn and have been there many times. It seems though the food was not as good as in the past. Specifically the Chicken Jaeger Schnitzel had by multiple people in our party.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Beer selection and quality is great. How ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Beer selection and quality is great. However, food is not close to that. Although, it seems (reads) authentic from the menu, the quality is not quite there. Few items are home made and you can really tell which ones they are by the look and taste. Or you can even ask and they will tell you, no, we buy it. This restaurant has the potential to be a great one, but food needs a major overhaul.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious food and well presented. Tad b ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Delicious food and well presented. Tad bit noisy but the service, selections and service more than made up. Definitely returning, well worth the hour drive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

If you want Schnitzel and beer. This is ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

If you want Schnitzel and beer. This is the place. Casual and yummy. The service is great. It gets crowded fast so reservations are recommended.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This use to be our favorite special occa ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

This use to be our favorite special occasion place to go. But since our last visit about 6 months ago the taste and quality of the food has changed, the flavor is gone. The staff there is very nice and did listen to our complaints. However I was very dissatisfied when I asked if they had tried any of the dishes, they both replied no. One had food allergies not sure about the other manager. I really liked this restaurant I will go back to give it another try...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

No German bread was offered this time an ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

No German bread was offered this time and my meal was bland tasting. My wife really enjoyed hers though. We come on our anniversary yearly and this is the first time this has happened. The service was without fault.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

When I made the reservation I noted in t ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

When I made the reservation I noted in the occasion section that our guest was from Muenster, Germany. I was hoping that this would be passed on to the wait staff, it was not.

Our server was attentive and helpful. Our college age granddaughter and her friends enjoyed the food and the outdoor dining

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was somewhat disappointed by our dinne ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I was somewhat disappointed by our dinner here, especially as I had lived in Germany when I was assigned there in the Army. The service was average, and the appearance of the Inn was rather grungy. I ordered a pork cordon bleu, with spaetlze. I have NEVER had a cordon bleu where the cheese and ham were simply laid on top of the schnitzel! The schnitzel itself was not up to snuff. The breading was damp, not crisp, and they did not appear to have tenderized the meat by pounding it out. I can and often do make my own spaetzle at home with a maker my German land lady gave us. It is miles beyond what I was served. It had no gravy, was not even buttered, and I couldn't even salt it, because the salt shaker was clogged. It appeared that letting one side of the mass of noodles char was the sole effort to affect the flavor at all...but it remained bland and tasteless. My son had a plain schnitzel, and my wife a jaegerschnitzel...and neither was happy with theirs either. And we spent over $130 for this meal??!! I could not in good conscience recommend this establishment, and plan not to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Great German Retaurant, my first time th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great German Retaurant, my first time there, but we will be returning

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good food, real German flair. A bit nois ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good food, real German flair. A bit noisy but overall pretty good. Always better when our accordion player is there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

excellent taste of Germany. A slightly l ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

excellent taste of Germany. A slightly less greasy, less heavy schnitzel than what we ate while living in the Rheinland-Pfalz 20 years ago. good selection of german beers too. I liked the sampler, we could try several without having to drink so much. Was a little noisy when full, like a bierhall.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great, large portions and fanta ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was great, large portions and fantastic service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our favorite restaurant. The fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant. The food is always great, and the service attentive. Our server was very friendly, knowledgeable of the menu, and could make good recommendations for what to order.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been wanting to visit for years. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

I have been wanting to visit for years. Maybe our night was the wrong night. I had to send my first order back because it was burned on the underneath. My waitress asked if I would like to get another to which I replied affirmatively. My friend was finished her meal before the replacement arrived. My greatest disappointment is that for YEARS I have heard glowing things from fellow restaraunt goers about TOS. Feel like I got cheated from enjoying a great meal with a great friend. Bummer

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.