Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About Old Stein Inn

IN 1983, Karl & Ursula Selinger of Neustadt an der Weinstrasse, Germany in the Rhineland Pfalz opened The Old Stein Inn to serve the finest German cuisine. They decided to locate in Anne Arundel County just 8 miles south of Annapolis in Edgewater Maryland. The Old Stein has a traditional Biergarten to give neighbors a place to enjoy al fresco dining with friends and family. The ten German taps pour an unparalleled selection of beer. The Old Stein has been featured on "The Best Of Show" on the Food Network and has won multiple awards for the Munster Cheese & Crab Soup and the Apple Cheesecake.
The Old Stein is no run-of-the-mill chain restaurant. Diners come from all over the Mid-Atlantic (or right around the corner) to this family-owned, Maryland gem to enjoy fun, food, friends—and, or course, a cold brew in a gemütlichkeit atmosphere. Eins, Zwei, Drei, G"suffa!

1143 East Central Ave.
Edgewater, MD 21037
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
German, Gastro Pub, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Wed-Thursday 4pm to 9pm
Saturaday 4-10pm; Bar open until 11pm
Sunday NOON to 9pm

Cross Street:
just past Turkey point Road on right hand side

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 798-6807

Website:
http://www.oldstein-inn.com/

Entertainment:
The Old Stein Oktoberfest style Biergarten has become a Maryland tradition. People come—from near and far—to gather in the Biergarten and enjoy the beautiful Fall weather while drinking the best German beers and tasting the finest German cuisine. Visit the Old Stein during Oktoberfest and you"re sure to have a blast singing along to German drinking songs while sampling traditional German fare. Check our web site www.oldstein-inn.com to see when you might catch Silvia strolling with her accordian or Heidi and the Helmut Echo with their alpenhorn. Prost!

Catering:
Please contact for your specific needs.

Parking Details:
large onsite parking lot

Executive Chef:
Jason Howard

Private Party Facilities:
We have inside seating up to 64 persons and outdoor Biergarten to 120 persons

Private Party Contact:
Hostess: (410) 798-6807

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Old Stein Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (44)
Authentic (36)
Worth the Drive (31)
See All
Casual (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Comfort Food (26)
Good for Groups (24)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Live Music (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Family Style (17)
Fun (17)
Outstanding Value (14)
Cozy (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Seasonal (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Historic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fireplace (4)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Romantic (2)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Business Meals (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1007 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Had another great lunch at Old Stein Inn! Great German food and beer! We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Just like Germany. Good stuff.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Always a fun spot!
Good food and friendly service.
Staff does not rush you to leave.
Love the soft pretzels for an appetizer.
Nice casual comfortable spot.

Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Had a great time. Great food with great portions. Great selections for beers. Would recommend to friends

Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere and excellent service. We had a pleasant visit here.

Tags: Great Beer, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Had wanted to try this "Authentic German Restaurant" for years. Came at 7:30 on a Sunday night: just a few table downstairs, ours the only one upstairs. The staff was very much in a hurry to get rid of us. We were in the middle of eating our appetizers when the entrées arrived. When I commented to the staff that we were still eating and that there was no room on the table, the food runner just replied "and the sampler platter is for?". We scrambled to consolidate the appetizers onto 1 plate while the entrées were literally shoved in front of us. We still had one of the appetizers platters in the middle of the table when desserts were brought.
The food was generally good: sample platter, beef rib, schnitzel. Jäger sauce was quite good. The only really bad thing was the Apfel Strudel: soggy, pasty and tasteless with very little apple, in other word: microwaved.
I'll try it again on a different night, hopefully soon.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Absolutely delicious! They were able to accommodate my allergies which made it even better!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was fresh and delicious. Great beer selection. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We always have my son's birthday celebration at the Old Stein Inn as it reminds us of our travels in Bavaria. The food is excellent and the beer is authentic! The Old Stein Inn is a must place to visit for anyone in the Annapolis/Edgewater area.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The waitress was very personable and attentive despite having many tables, one of which was 8+ people and turned over twice. A nice touch was a strolling female accordion player that shared selected German tunes as she worked the entire restaurant. However, it would be nice for this ethnic restaurant to play German folk songs quietly in the background when the accordion player was on break or in parts of the restaurant where she could not be heard, to add to the ambiance of the meal experience.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Hadn't been in a very long time, so we were happy that it was still the same as we remembered!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food and service awesome!! Always a great meal! Fried pickles care a must!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Outstanding, authentic German dining experience. This is the real deal folks. Great decor, food, service , ambience and beer! Live accordion music adds the perfect flair, without squelching conversation with your friends. Great job, guys!!

Tags: Authentic, Great Beer, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was our first time back to Old Stein Inn since the fire. Missed out on the old hominess that existed in the place. The décor is nice and they are extremely busy so we are glad we had a reservation. Parking can be a problem. But the food didn't disappoint. Potato pancakes , sauerbraten and sausages were all tasty. The sauerbraten sourness is primarily accomplished by the gravy so it did not seem like old school sauerbraten but it still tasted good. Worth the drive for an experience but not for a regular haunt. Service and beer were also acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Always a great experience! Really enjoy the food and the atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I have been dining at Old Stein 3 or 4 times a year for the last 4 or 5 years. The food has always been excellent and the service has always been friendly and very good. My personal recommendation is the pork jagerschnitzel with the bacon mushroom gravy; it is heavenly delicious. The beer selection is plentiful. It can get a bit loud in the main dining area, so this is not a good place for cozy, intimate and quiet conversation and it is not a "fine dining" experience; this is a casual restaurant with great, authentic German atmosphere, beer and food. The recently enclosed outdoor biergarten is really nice too! Old Stein is one of my all time favorite restaurants. I wish I lived closer than the 30 miles that I do... I would be here more often.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Live Music, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Always good food, great German beers, service was prompt and friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

First time going there even though lots about it. Will definitely be returning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Thank you again for another amazing meal! We came down with 6 people 3 dogs and a baby and our waitress managed it all wonderfully including surprising us and the birthday girl with.a cake (made of milk bones because the birthday girl was a 9 year old dog). One of my favorite places near annapolis.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Our favorite hangout! The restaurant staff is always welcoming, and the food is consistently good!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Amazing German food, great beer list, fun atmosphere and we'll be back to eat outside in the biergarten!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Always reliable for traditional German gastropub dishes deftly prepared. Even though it was a busy Saturday night, service was warm and efficient, and the food just what we were craving. There is always a happy vibe there, a mix of families, couples of all ages, friends out for beer and a bite. Live music is always fun.
My spouse is from Philly, and this is his go-to place when he wants a real German pretzel to start. I love the thin, crispy potato pancakes and homemade applesauce to start. All the traditional sides are delicious. The schnitzels are thin, crispy, juicy and tender, the sausages just right.
Worth the drive if you haven't been there!

Tags: Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Fun, Great Beer, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Dropped in for appetizers and beer. Had the dark sampler....all good. Tried one of the seasonal choices, elk meatballs. Very tasty. Also had the always excellent wurst and cheese platter, potato pancakes, pretzel and bread. Thanks to the staff for accommodating an additional diner not listed on our original reservation.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Food is always great. Server was friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always a good meal and fun experience at Old Stein!

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Another great experience at Old Stein!! Staff is always wonderful.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food and service were very good. Cheese soup delicious. Large entree portions. Very loud and crowded so Not a great choice for a romantic date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our waitress Abby was amazing!!! Great food and wonderful ambience. We had our service dog with us and we really appreciated NOT being questioned about her.
Well worth the over 1 hour drive and we will be back for sure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We went to the Old Stein Inn for our anniversary with our little one in toe. The staff we interacted with were all incredibly friendly and the food was fantastic. The atmosphere was laid back and relaxed. We had a great experience and highly recommend the Old Stein Inn to anyone looking for delicious German food and a top notch drink selection.

Tags: Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food and the atmosphere were excellent! Went here for our 1st wedding anniversary. I recently had jaw surgery and had to eat through a syringe. The waiter was very polite and accommodating. The soup was the only thing that I could have, and it didn't work out so well with the syringe, but it tasted good! It was my wife's first time having German food, and she absolutely loved everything! She couldn't get over how great the food was! Will definitely come back when I'm eating normally and not through a syringe!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Real fun seasonal menu - great German staples and the big boys of Germany on tap.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

First class dining experience with fantastic authentic German food and German beer. The German band was a real treat to listen to as well. By far the best dining experience I've had in years. You must try the German beers...SO GOOD! Worth every penny I spent!

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food was good. A bit out of our normal palette but would go back to explore other menu items. Our server was great. Very prompt and professional and willing to provide a guide to the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent German food, we go as often as possible. Pork shank and German Sampler platter are the favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 22, 2017

First time, pleasantly surprised. Hubby liked the beer flights. Had a great warm grog with fruit. Tried the potato pancakes with apple sauce. Did not like the fried pickles, too greasy. Hubby had venison goulash which he liked. I had the ribeye over spring mix, steak was stringy and fatty. Showed it to waitress, like half the steak. Seated upstairs in a booth so did not hear the music.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Our waitress Sara was amazing. She knew what we needed before we could even ask for it. She was friendly, knowledgable and very accommodating

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Live Music, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The Old Stein Inn is fantastic! the good is always fantastic and they always treat you like family. Even with three small children with us at lunch, our waitress was quick, accommodating, and sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Always a great night out. Best German dining in the area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Best German food in Maryland! Service is always stellar.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 4, 2017

This is one of our family's favorite restaurants. The German food is authentic and also experimental. This week we got the whiskey flight, which is a great idea. The potato pancakes are perfect and served with the best apple sauce I've ever had. The jugersnitzle comes with tons of mushrooms. The new enclosed patio was a visual treat warm and cozy even in Jan., with a nice view of the garden. The desserts were also wonderful, or you can have shot of apfelkorn if you like to drink your desserts.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.