Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About Old Stein Inn

IN 1983, Karl & Ursula Selinger of Neustadt an der Weinstrasse, Germany in the Rhineland Pfalz opened The Old Stein Inn to serve the finest German cuisine. They decided to locate in Anne Arundel County just 8 miles south of Annapolis in Edgewater Maryland. The Old Stein has a traditional Biergarten to give neighbors a place to enjoy al fresco dining with friends and family. The ten German taps pour an unparalleled selection of beer. The Old Stein has been featured on "The Best Of Show" on the Food Network and has won multiple awards for the Munster Cheese & Crab Soup and the Apple Cheesecake.
The Old Stein is no run-of-the-mill chain restaurant. Diners come from all over the Mid-Atlantic (or right around the corner) to this family-owned, Maryland gem to enjoy fun, food, friends—and, or course, a cold brew in a gemütlichkeit atmosphere. Eins, Zwei, Drei, G"suffa!

1143 East Central Ave.
Edgewater, MD 21037
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
German, Gastro Pub, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Wed-Thursday 4pm to 9pm
Saturaday 4-10pm; Bar open until 11pm
Sunday NOON to 9pm

Cross Street:
just past Turkey point Road on right hand side

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 798-6807

Website:
http://www.oldstein-inn.com/

Entertainment:
The Old Stein Oktoberfest style Biergarten has become a Maryland tradition. People come—from near and far—to gather in the Biergarten and enjoy the beautiful Fall weather while drinking the best German beers and tasting the finest German cuisine. Visit the Old Stein during Oktoberfest and you"re sure to have a blast singing along to German drinking songs while sampling traditional German fare. Check our web site www.oldstein-inn.com to see when you might catch Silvia strolling with her accordian or Heidi and the Helmut Echo with their alpenhorn. Prost!

Catering:
Please contact for your specific needs.

Parking Details:
large onsite parking lot

Executive Chef:
Jason Howard

Private Party Facilities:
We have inside seating up to 64 persons and outdoor Biergarten to 120 persons

Private Party Contact:
Hostess: (410) 798-6807

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Old Stein Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (39)
Authentic (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
See All
Casual (28)
Worth the Drive (27)
Good for Groups (26)
Comfort Food (24)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for a Date (21)
Fun (18)
Live Music (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Family Style (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Cozy (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Historic (5)
People Watching (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Fireplace (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Romantic (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Business Meals (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
1019 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding service excellent food, a good evening out with the family

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything was fantastic. The food was authentic, it was just like the food we had in Germany.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Brought friends with us for Easter Sunday dinner. As always, we were VERY Pleased!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Family Style, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food with generous portions. Excellent beer choices

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Fun, Family Style, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Wonderful selection of German Beers. The menu was not overwhelming, filled with German staples and done well. Plan to come again on weekends and when weather is warmer to really enjoy the beer garden atmosphere. Restrooms very clean, the whole place was clean and tidy. Wait staff very friendly

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had a great time at the Old Stein Inn. Our service was great, the food was served quickly and the beer selection was impressive! I highly recommend a beer with the delicious appetizers, what a great way to start the meal! We will return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent food. Delish beer. Attentive service. Terrific dining experience.

Tags: Family Style, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Authentic German food and beers at their best! The covered, heated biergarten is awesome.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great and authentic German food. We went with friends and had a wonderful dinner. Our portions were enormous and we had to take half of our dinner home! Service was very attentive, even though they were quite busy.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The German food is so delicious we ordered a take out entre to enjoy at home the next day. Loved the strawberry creme brulee. Definitely will return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Old Stein did not disappoint on the food or the beer and wine, per usual. Our waitress was nice until she brought a third glass of wine to the table I didn't order. My husband had ordered another beer and even though I shook my head no on another glass of wine, she brought me one. Misunderstandings occur, but when I told her I didn't order it, I received a really negative response from her. That kind of soured the evening. As a former waitress, I always make sure to tip 20% or more, and we did so that night... but I didn't feel good about it.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Had another great lunch at Old Stein Inn! Great German food and beer! We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Just like Germany. Good stuff.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We've been going to the Old Stein Inn for their excellent German food for several years. It never disappoints. The food is always delicious and satisfies our hankerin' for schnitzel and spaetzle. The only complaint is we think it's slightly overpriced. That said, we'll continue to go because it's one of the few German restaurants in the Baltimore/D.C. area.

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Always a fun spot!
Good food and friendly service.
Staff does not rush you to leave.
Love the soft pretzels for an appetizer.
Nice casual comfortable spot.

Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Had a great time. Great food with great portions. Great selections for beers. Would recommend to friends

Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere and excellent service. We had a pleasant visit here.

Tags: Great Beer, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Had wanted to try this "Authentic German Restaurant" for years. Came at 7:30 on a Sunday night: just a few table downstairs, ours the only one upstairs. The staff was very much in a hurry to get rid of us. We were in the middle of eating our appetizers when the entrées arrived. When I commented to the staff that we were still eating and that there was no room on the table, the food runner just replied "and the sampler platter is for?". We scrambled to consolidate the appetizers onto 1 plate while the entrées were literally shoved in front of us. We still had one of the appetizers platters in the middle of the table when desserts were brought.
The food was generally good: sample platter, beef rib, schnitzel. Jäger sauce was quite good. The only really bad thing was the Apfel Strudel: soggy, pasty and tasteless with very little apple, in other word: microwaved.
I'll try it again on a different night, hopefully soon.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Absolutely delicious! They were able to accommodate my allergies which made it even better!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was fresh and delicious. Great beer selection. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We always have my son's birthday celebration at the Old Stein Inn as it reminds us of our travels in Bavaria. The food is excellent and the beer is authentic! The Old Stein Inn is a must place to visit for anyone in the Annapolis/Edgewater area.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The waitress was very personable and attentive despite having many tables, one of which was 8+ people and turned over twice. A nice touch was a strolling female accordion player that shared selected German tunes as she worked the entire restaurant. However, it would be nice for this ethnic restaurant to play German folk songs quietly in the background when the accordion player was on break or in parts of the restaurant where she could not be heard, to add to the ambiance of the meal experience.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Hadn't been in a very long time, so we were happy that it was still the same as we remembered!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food and service awesome!! Always a great meal! Fried pickles care a must!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Outstanding, authentic German dining experience. This is the real deal folks. Great decor, food, service , ambience and beer! Live accordion music adds the perfect flair, without squelching conversation with your friends. Great job, guys!!

Tags: Authentic, Great Beer, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This was our first time back to Old Stein Inn since the fire. Missed out on the old hominess that existed in the place. The décor is nice and they are extremely busy so we are glad we had a reservation. Parking can be a problem. But the food didn't disappoint. Potato pancakes , sauerbraten and sausages were all tasty. The sauerbraten sourness is primarily accomplished by the gravy so it did not seem like old school sauerbraten but it still tasted good. Worth the drive for an experience but not for a regular haunt. Service and beer were also acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Always a great experience! Really enjoy the food and the atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I have been dining at Old Stein 3 or 4 times a year for the last 4 or 5 years. The food has always been excellent and the service has always been friendly and very good. My personal recommendation is the pork jagerschnitzel with the bacon mushroom gravy; it is heavenly delicious. The beer selection is plentiful. It can get a bit loud in the main dining area, so this is not a good place for cozy, intimate and quiet conversation and it is not a "fine dining" experience; this is a casual restaurant with great, authentic German atmosphere, beer and food. The recently enclosed outdoor biergarten is really nice too! Old Stein is one of my all time favorite restaurants. I wish I lived closer than the 30 miles that I do... I would be here more often.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Live Music, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Always good food, great German beers, service was prompt and friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

First time going there even though lots about it. Will definitely be returning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Thank you again for another amazing meal! We came down with 6 people 3 dogs and a baby and our waitress managed it all wonderfully including surprising us and the birthday girl with.a cake (made of milk bones because the birthday girl was a 9 year old dog). One of my favorite places near annapolis.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Our favorite hangout! The restaurant staff is always welcoming, and the food is consistently good!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Amazing German food, great beer list, fun atmosphere and we'll be back to eat outside in the biergarten!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Always reliable for traditional German gastropub dishes deftly prepared. Even though it was a busy Saturday night, service was warm and efficient, and the food just what we were craving. There is always a happy vibe there, a mix of families, couples of all ages, friends out for beer and a bite. Live music is always fun.
My spouse is from Philly, and this is his go-to place when he wants a real German pretzel to start. I love the thin, crispy potato pancakes and homemade applesauce to start. All the traditional sides are delicious. The schnitzels are thin, crispy, juicy and tender, the sausages just right.
Worth the drive if you haven't been there!

Tags: Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Fun, Great Beer, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Dropped in for appetizers and beer. Had the dark sampler....all good. Tried one of the seasonal choices, elk meatballs. Very tasty. Also had the always excellent wurst and cheese platter, potato pancakes, pretzel and bread. Thanks to the staff for accommodating an additional diner not listed on our original reservation.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Food is always great. Server was friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always a good meal and fun experience at Old Stein!

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Another great experience at Old Stein!! Staff is always wonderful.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food and service were very good. Cheese soup delicious. Large entree portions. Very loud and crowded so Not a great choice for a romantic date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Our waitress Abby was amazing!!! Great food and wonderful ambience. We had our service dog with us and we really appreciated NOT being questioned about her.
Well worth the over 1 hour drive and we will be back for sure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.