About Old Stein Inn

1143 East Central Ave.
Edgewater, MD 21037
View Larger Map

IN 1983, Karl & Ursula Selinger of Neustadt an der Weinstrasse, Germany in the Rhineland Pfalz opened The Old Stein Inn to serve the finest German cuisine. They decided to locate in Anne Arundel County just 8 miles south of Annapolis in Edgewater Maryland. The Old Stein has a traditional Biergarten to give neighbors a place to enjoy al fresco dining with friends and family. The ten German taps pour an unparalleled selection of beer. The Old Stein has been featured on "The Best Of Show" on the Food Network and has won multiple awards for the Munster Cheese & Crab Soup and the Apple Cheesecake.
The Old Stein is no run-of-the-mill chain restaurant. Diners come from all over the Mid-Atlantic (or right around the corner) to this family-owned, Maryland gem to enjoy fun, food, friends—and, or course, a cold brew in a gemütlichkeit atmosphere. Eins, Zwei, Drei, G"suffa!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
German, Gastro Pub, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Wed-Thursday 4pm to 9pm
Saturaday 4-10pm; Bar open until 11pm
Sunday NOON to 9pm

Cross Street:
just past Turkey point Road on right hand side

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 798-6807

Website:
http://www.oldstein-inn.com/

Entertainment:
The Old Stein Oktoberfest style Biergarten has become a Maryland tradition. People come—from near and far—to gather in the Biergarten and enjoy the beautiful Fall weather while drinking the best German beers and tasting the finest German cuisine. Visit the Old Stein during Oktoberfest and you"re sure to have a blast singing along to German drinking songs while sampling traditional German fare. Check our web site www.oldstein-inn.com to see when you might catch Silvia strolling with her accordian or Heidi and the Helmut Echo with their alpenhorn. Prost!

Catering:
Please contact for your specific needs.

Parking Details:
large onsite parking lot

Executive Chef:
Jason Howard

Private Party Facilities:
We have inside seating up to 64 persons and outdoor Biergarten to 120 persons

Private Party Contact:
Hostess: 4107986807x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Wurstplatte With Cheese
Wiener Schnitzel
Potato Pancakes
Gemuse Spatzle
Black Forest Salad
sauerbraten
Jaeger Schnitzel
Metzgers Leibspeise
Pork Shank
Cheese And Crab Soup
First Two Official Beers Served At The Warm Opening After The Fire
Liverwurst
Weiss Wurst Sandwich

Old Stein Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Baltimore / Maryland
Outdoor Dining
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Greater Annapolis
4 More
Best Food
Greater Annapolis
Best Ambiance
Greater Annapolis
Best Value
Greater Annapolis
Neighborhood Gem
Greater Annapolis
Best Restaurants in Edgewater ›

great for outdoor dining (79)
good for groups (74)
neighborhood gem (68)
See All
special occasion (52)
fit for foodies (43)
kid-friendly (38)
great for lunch (16)
vibrant bar scene (8)
romantic (7)
great for brunch (6)
notable wine list (6)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
804 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waiter Riley was outstanding. He was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our waiter Riley was outstanding. He was knowledgable about the beverages, and menu. Recommend top favorites which we tried and were extremely satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a very nice evening outside in the B ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Had a very nice evening outside in the Biergarten. All of the beers in the beer flights were very good. The food was also very good and plentiful.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cool German restaurant with outdoor seat ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Cool German restaurant with outdoor seating and great beer. We were there during the day, but I would like to come back on a Friday or Saturday evening when there are more people. It was a fun, relaxing vibe. The service was wonderful. Glad to have a place like this outside of the city. Reminds me of Germany!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We were searching for a seafood restaura ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We were searching for a seafood restaurant, not sure how or why a mostly German food menu was in the list. After reviewing posts and the menu online we decided to give it a try. Extensive Beir and Wine list, plenty of room for indoor or outdoor covered dining. Service was excellent, food was very good although it came out a bit to fast after appetizer was delivered. Not all items from the online menu are available, not a seasonal thing as we asked about the hungarian goluash for example. Simply told we don't make that any more and have not updated the site. Other than that if you like German food, a wandering acordian player in a relaxing atmosphere this is a great choice

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We get to Old Stein Inn 2-3 times per ye ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We get to Old Stein Inn 2-3 times per year. It rarely disappoints. This visit was no exception. The outdoor patio is still one of the best in the area. Recent upgrades make this space useable in almost all weather and this has not diminished its charm.

I would prefer more than one "rotating" beer, but overall, they still have an excellent selection of German (and other) beers.

Thee food is just adequate. Germans are not known for their fine cuisine, so this is no big surprise.

We come for the beer and the atmosphere.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The suerbraten was excellent as usual. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The suerbraten was excellent as usual. I was very disappointed though that the "little dish rags" given to as napkins was the same as last time. They are NOT proper napkins. I even went to the trouble of BRINGING MY OWN NAPKINS just in case the "little dish rags" were on the dining table again. Those little rags are totally inappropriate for proper dining. I hope the person/persons responsible for them being there changes their mind and puts out a proper dining service. If they don't, or won't, I have one thing to say to them - "A pox on your house!"

Joe Scholle

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our reservation was for Sunday 5:30pm an ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our reservation was for Sunday 5:30pm and we expected the crowd to be light. Inside this appeared to be the case, but The Continentals were playing in the garden and that seemed the place to be. Our group of six secured the last open table, received menus immediately, and we sat back to enjoy the music and make our beer and food selections. After 25 minutes our waitstaff still hadn't appeared to take our order, so we went to the bar to request at least our beers. From then on the evening improved, and a lovely young woman named Carrie cheerfully and accurately made sure to deliver all the food and drink we requested. The band was entertaining and the saxophone player even serenaded a 'happy birthday' to our special guest, capping off the event with style and more than just a little laughter on our part.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This is a great place to meet up with fr ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This is a great place to meet up with friends and enjoy some great entertainment by Mike and the Continentals out in the beer garden. Great wait staff.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great German Food and fabulous beer opti ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great German Food and fabulous beer options. The samplers are wonderful.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Uber Uber burger and Soft Shell BLT ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The Uber Uber burger and Soft Shell BLT were excellent. The Old Stein Inn is a favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We really enjoyed my husband's birthday ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We really enjoyed my husband's birthday dinner. They have a really nice "outdoor" area that's under cover and we thoroughly our food and drinks!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Friendly and efficient service. Food was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Friendly and efficient service. Food was good but rather over priced.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We were seated outside on the patio on a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We were seated outside on the patio on a slow Thursday night. Food was great, but service could be improved. Waiter was not very attentive. We will definitely go back, but I guess we'll allow more time for less than optimal service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

The Old Stein in is a very nice German ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The Old Stein in is a very nice German restaurant. Great selection of beer. Fun beer garden. And very tasty German food.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great German food in a wonderful beer ga ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great German food in a wonderful beer garden setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The best German restaurant in the Washin ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The best German restaurant in the Washington-Baltimore-Annapolis area!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Interesting ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent food and service. Interesting German sausages, great shell fish and delicious soft pretzels and pretzel rolls.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious and creative dishes in a casua ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Delicious and creative dishes in a casual atmosphere. Good service.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always a great, dependable place for ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

As always a great, dependable place for very good german food. One of our favorite places

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good is pretty good -- the beer list is ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good is pretty good -- the beer list is what draws us again and again, plus the outdoor dining and polite service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful German food, great beer, and m ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful German food, great beer, and music to boot!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took 4 of our kids and had a wonderfu ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We took 4 of our kids and had a wonderful time! Live entertainment, outdoor dining, great service...the only additional thing I could wish for was it to be free!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated 30 minutes after our rese ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were seated 30 minutes after our reservation time. The customer service still has not returned to what it was before the fire. Feels like my business is not necessary.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Love it!!! Very nice to have a place t ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Love it!!! Very nice to have a place that makes you feel like back in Germany growing up. Brings back great memories and the food is awesome.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great beer, good food, and friendly serv ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great beer, good food, and friendly service. Get a seat outside if the weather is nice.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Amazing in every way. Outside biergarde ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Amazing in every way. Outside biergarden made us feel like we were in Germany. Top restaurant, who cares about a little drive.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic ethnic cuisine, well prepared, ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Authentic ethnic cuisine, well prepared, which was confirmed by German friend who dined with us. Loved the accordionist.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was great. We did have reservat ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was great. We did have reservations and I would recommend that for a Saturday night. It is usually crowded. We have dined there a number of times in the past and never have been disappointed. A situation did occur after we paid our bill. The server asked us to move outside to the bar area or a table outside because they were busy and wanted to seat a party at our table. I have never had this happen before. We finished our drinks and quickly left. Upon leaving I noticed there was no one waiting. I called later and talked to the manager about the situation. She stated it was their policy to ask patrons to leave when they were done if it was busy and they had a reservation waiting. She also said the patrons with the reservation weren't there yet but we're expected soon. I won't be going back. There are far too many restaurants in the area.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Old Faithful

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

The Old Stein is a tired-and-true destination for German food that is really good, but really bad for you. No nouvelle cuisine here. The only distraction is the uneven service from the staff -- they appeared to be overwhelmed with the crowd, but were charming as usual.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Good Food, service not so good

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The service was very slow. I believe our waitress was also bar tending. Food was good.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Night out with Friends

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This was only the second time we were at the restaurant, but the food was great and our server Lauren was awesome. We will definitely be coming back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic German cuisine and beers!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Fantastic German cuisine and beers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic ... again. Old Stein is a gem ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Fantastic ... again. Old Stein is a gem. The food is always terrific. The service is always cordial. The entire dining experience is a treat that I brag about to friends, family and folks visiting the Annapolis area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We love the Old Stein Inn; have been com ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We love the Old Stein Inn; have been coming here for years and love sitting out in the garden. The atmosphere is always upbeat and celebratory. Great beer selection; the spaten optimator on tap is smooth and rich. They also have special monthly beer selections that are worth trying. We always start with the wurstplatte appetizer. I often order one of the old stein wursts for the main course, but this visit had one of the specials - salmon on a plank - which was moist and flavorful, and included tasty sides of spätzle and grilled asparagus. My son loves the sauerbraten and the kassler rippchenone chop (grilled smoked pork chop) is another favorite. Save room for the apple cheesecake dessert; it's delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This is one of our favorite places for c ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

This is one of our favorite places for casual dining with fantastic food, and the beer of course! The wurst plate or the potato pancakes are great starters. Try the steak frites or the salmon if German dishes aren't your thing. But if they are, there isn't a bad choice on the menu. Try the Jagerschnitzel or, if you are really hungry, the pork shank. The meat just falls off the bone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was quite good and authentic. Servi ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was quite good and authentic. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We went to Old Stein Inn just for a nigh ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We went to Old Stein Inn just for a night out with family. We arrived early but didn't have to wait long for our table. Our waiter, Greg, was very good. Service couldn't have been any better. The food was awesome--as always.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed an impromptu night out for dinne ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Enjoyed an impromptu night out for dinner and enjoyed the food and ambiance. Wait staff were attentive and very friendly. We have eaten here before and always have a nice evening. Wine was a bit pricey for the venue.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great beer garden out standing German fo ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great beer garden out standing German food. Staff outstanding our server Abby your the best !

Recommend this place to many people everyone loves it.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Best German food I'v ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was excellent. Best German food I've found outside of Germany! The braised pork, sauerbraten, spaetzle, and homemade pretzels are to die for. Oh, and the beer, great selection. Thanks so much for a wonderful evening with friends and relatives.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.