Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About Old Stein Inn

IN 1983, Karl & Ursula Selinger of Neustadt an der Weinstrasse, Germany in the Rhineland Pfalz opened The Old Stein Inn to serve the finest German cuisine. They decided to locate in Anne Arundel County just 8 miles south of Annapolis in Edgewater Maryland. The Old Stein has a traditional Biergarten to give neighbors a place to enjoy al fresco dining with friends and family. The ten German taps pour an unparalleled selection of beer. The Old Stein has been featured on "The Best Of Show" on the Food Network and has won multiple awards for the Munster Cheese & Crab Soup and the Apple Cheesecake.
The Old Stein is no run-of-the-mill chain restaurant. Diners come from all over the Mid-Atlantic (or right around the corner) to this family-owned, Maryland gem to enjoy fun, food, friends—and, or course, a cold brew in a gemütlichkeit atmosphere. Eins, Zwei, Drei, G"suffa!

1143 East Central Ave.
Edgewater, MD 21037
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
German, Gastro Pub, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Wed-Thursday 4pm to 9pm
Saturaday 4-10pm; Bar open until 11pm
Sunday NOON to 9pm

Cross Street:
just past Turkey point Road on right hand side

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 798-6807

Website:
http://www.oldstein-inn.com/

Entertainment:
The Old Stein Oktoberfest style Biergarten has become a Maryland tradition. People come—from near and far—to gather in the Biergarten and enjoy the beautiful Fall weather while drinking the best German beers and tasting the finest German cuisine. Visit the Old Stein during Oktoberfest and you"re sure to have a blast singing along to German drinking songs while sampling traditional German fare. Check our web site www.oldstein-inn.com to see when you might catch Silvia strolling with her accordian or Heidi and the Helmut Echo with their alpenhorn. Prost!

Catering:
Please contact for your specific needs.

Parking Details:
large onsite parking lot

Executive Chef:
Jason Howard

Private Party Facilities:
We have inside seating up to 64 persons and outdoor Biergarten to 120 persons

Private Party Contact:
Hostess: (410) 798-6807

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Old Stein Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (49)
Casual (40)
Authentic (38)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Worth the Drive (31)
Good for Groups (31)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Comfort Food (27)
Good for a Date (22)
Fun (20)
Live Music (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Family Style (13)
Cozy (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Seasonal (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Historic (5)
Romantic (4)
People Watching (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Fireplace (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Business Meals (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1035 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We brought friends from Virginia to eat dinner at the Old Stein. We usually get the delicious bratwurst. We tried a new asparagus appetizer, which was wonderful! And we tried a new dessert--chocolate raspberry creme brûlée. Out of this world!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Only and 3 of 5. The food was okay, as was the seating and the drinks. The issue is it's not a German restaurant, it is a German themed restaurant. The difference is in the feeling of the place. When you go to the Europa Grill in Georgetown, it feels like German; with food, music, wait staff... Germany!!!!. The Old Stein Grill... probably an American that lived in Germany and wanted to create the experience. Will I go again, yes. I stated the food is fine (beer is great); I no longer live in Germany and I for a good bier (beer), I guess I can accept a waiter with a southern accent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent food and quick service! We tried this place last minute (just happened to be in the general area) on Mothers Day. They were busy but the service didn't lack because of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food and good service! Had fun at Mothers day and family loved the meal! Would recommend to anyone!

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Highly recommend this authentic German restaurant with great schnitzel and a wide selection of German beer. The Staff was quite attentive and accommodating. We arrived thirty minutes early for our reservation and the Staff found us a table immediately. This is definitely a keeper--we will be coming back time and again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food is always delicious. Service was excellent! And the outdoor bar area was great for a Mother's Day afternoon. Love the German food and beer!
Worth the 70 mile drive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I love this place. Authentic German cuisine and some of my favorite beers from Germany. This time around the service was a little slow but that won't stop me from going back.

Tags: Great Beer, Seasonal, Casual, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

All the food was great!! Good beer list and good menu options. We are inside at a booth (which we were very excited to get). We had a view of the outside areas that looked very cool. Will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We had a wonderful time and our waiter was super patient and attentive. Thank you!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Inattentive waiter, menu changes were subtle but very noticeable...what was tenderloin medallions became flank steak...and not very well prepared. Sat dry without refills for the meal...not good. Made specific request and waiter ignored them. Very poor! Do not be a waiter if you do not like people.

Disappointing overall, it was like the A team was on vacation....

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We were describing the food we'd just had in Germany to our friends and decided to show them what we were talking about at Old Stein. Love the beer choices-plenty on offer. My husband had the Schweinehaxe which was very tender and better than the one he'd had in Rothenburg last month. Old Stein is an occasional treat though as it can be expensive-twice what you'd pay in Germany. But we'll keep coming back. Our server, Ariadne, was great and the food arrived fairly quickly.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

It was a good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Need to indicate seasonal nature of menu. No veal schnitzel or goulash soup although on internet menu. The food is good although a little pricey but comparable to other German restaurants in a 50 mile radius of DC. Not the German gastatte ambience we expected.

Tags: Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I went to Old Stein Inn with my family at the recommendation of my dad's girlfriend and we were all thrilled! The food was delicious and the beer list was long. My dad used to live in Germany, and he said it was the closest he'd had to authentic German food since he left. It was a bit of a drive for us, but well worth it!

Tags: Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Someone recommended this place to us. We came on a Sunday afternoon for a birthday celebration and sat in the biergarten. We were very disappointed about the whole experience. The lighting was nice but the decor and service was average. There were a couple of dogs in the biergarten. Our food order was incorrect and bland and they were running out of items on the menu. The menu prices are high for what you get. The soft pretzel appetizer was small and had three sauces with it. One was a buttery spicy sauce with little flavor, sour cream, which could have been a cheese sauce, and a brown mustard. It was over-priced and not very good. For a German restaurant, it was pretty boring and had no entertainment when we were there. The German beer (Kosch) was good.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Outstanding service excellent food, a good evening out with the family

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Casual, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The beer was excellent. So we're the fried pickles. The potato salad was awful and the sauerkraut was just ordinary. We wanted to order short ribs but there were none left.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything was fantastic. The food was authentic, it was just like the food we had in Germany.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Brought friends with us for Easter Sunday dinner. As always, we were VERY Pleased!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Family Style, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Authentic, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food with generous portions. Excellent beer choices

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Fun, Family Style, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Wonderful selection of German Beers. The menu was not overwhelming, filled with German staples and done well. Plan to come again on weekends and when weather is warmer to really enjoy the beer garden atmosphere. Restrooms very clean, the whole place was clean and tidy. Wait staff very friendly

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had a great time at the Old Stein Inn. Our service was great, the food was served quickly and the beer selection was impressive! I highly recommend a beer with the delicious appetizers, what a great way to start the meal! We will return soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent food. Delish beer. Attentive service. Terrific dining experience.

Tags: Family Style, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Authentic German food and beers at their best! The covered, heated biergarten is awesome.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Great and authentic German food. We went with friends and had a wonderful dinner. Our portions were enormous and we had to take half of our dinner home! Service was very attentive, even though they were quite busy.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Bar Seating, People Watching, Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 25, 2017

The German food is so delicious we ordered a take out entre to enjoy at home the next day. Loved the strawberry creme brulee. Definitely will return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Old Stein did not disappoint on the food or the beer and wine, per usual. Our waitress was nice until she brought a third glass of wine to the table I didn't order. My husband had ordered another beer and even though I shook my head no on another glass of wine, she brought me one. Misunderstandings occur, but when I told her I didn't order it, I received a really negative response from her. That kind of soured the evening. As a former waitress, I always make sure to tip 20% or more, and we did so that night... but I didn't feel good about it.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Had another great lunch at Old Stein Inn! Great German food and beer! We'll be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Just like Germany. Good stuff.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We've been going to the Old Stein Inn for their excellent German food for several years. It never disappoints. The food is always delicious and satisfies our hankerin' for schnitzel and spaetzle. The only complaint is we think it's slightly overpriced. That said, we'll continue to go because it's one of the few German restaurants in the Baltimore/D.C. area.

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Always a fun spot!
Good food and friendly service.
Staff does not rush you to leave.
Love the soft pretzels for an appetizer.
Nice casual comfortable spot.

Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Had a great time. Great food with great portions. Great selections for beers. Would recommend to friends

Tags: Kid-friendly, Cozy, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere and excellent service. We had a pleasant visit here.

Tags: Great Beer, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Had wanted to try this "Authentic German Restaurant" for years. Came at 7:30 on a Sunday night: just a few table downstairs, ours the only one upstairs. The staff was very much in a hurry to get rid of us. We were in the middle of eating our appetizers when the entrées arrived. When I commented to the staff that we were still eating and that there was no room on the table, the food runner just replied "and the sampler platter is for?". We scrambled to consolidate the appetizers onto 1 plate while the entrées were literally shoved in front of us. We still had one of the appetizers platters in the middle of the table when desserts were brought.
The food was generally good: sample platter, beef rib, schnitzel. Jäger sauce was quite good. The only really bad thing was the Apfel Strudel: soggy, pasty and tasteless with very little apple, in other word: microwaved.
I'll try it again on a different night, hopefully soon.

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Absolutely delicious! They were able to accommodate my allergies which made it even better!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was fresh and delicious. Great beer selection. Overall a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We always have my son's birthday celebration at the Old Stein Inn as it reminds us of our travels in Bavaria. The food is excellent and the beer is authentic! The Old Stein Inn is a must place to visit for anyone in the Annapolis/Edgewater area.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The waitress was very personable and attentive despite having many tables, one of which was 8+ people and turned over twice. A nice touch was a strolling female accordion player that shared selected German tunes as she worked the entire restaurant. However, it would be nice for this ethnic restaurant to play German folk songs quietly in the background when the accordion player was on break or in parts of the restaurant where she could not be heard, to add to the ambiance of the meal experience.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Hadn't been in a very long time, so we were happy that it was still the same as we remembered!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food and service awesome!! Always a great meal! Fried pickles care a must!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.