Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.43mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.70mi
  4. Distance: 0.71mi

About Old Stein Inn

IN 1983, Karl & Ursula Selinger of Neustadt an der Weinstrasse, Germany in the Rhineland Pfalz opened The Old Stein Inn to serve the finest German cuisine. They decided to locate in Anne Arundel County just 8 miles south of Annapolis in Edgewater Maryland. The Old Stein has a traditional Biergarten to give neighbors a place to enjoy al fresco dining with friends and family. The ten German taps pour an unparalleled selection of beer. The Old Stein has been featured on "The Best Of Show" on the Food Network and has won multiple awards for the Munster Cheese & Crab Soup and the Apple Cheesecake.
The Old Stein is no run-of-the-mill chain restaurant. Diners come from all over the Mid-Atlantic (or right around the corner) to this family-owned, Maryland gem to enjoy fun, food, friends—and, or course, a cold brew in a gemütlichkeit atmosphere. Eins, Zwei, Drei, G"suffa!

1143 East Central Ave.
Edgewater, MD 21037
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
German, Gastro Pub, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Wed-Thursday 4pm to 9pm
Saturaday 4-10pm; Bar open until 11pm
Sunday NOON to 9pm

Cross Street:
just past Turkey point Road on right hand side

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 798-6807

Website:
http://www.oldstein-inn.com/

Entertainment:
The Old Stein Oktoberfest style Biergarten has become a Maryland tradition. People come—from near and far—to gather in the Biergarten and enjoy the beautiful Fall weather while drinking the best German beers and tasting the finest German cuisine. Visit the Old Stein during Oktoberfest and you"re sure to have a blast singing along to German drinking songs while sampling traditional German fare. Check our web site www.oldstein-inn.com to see when you might catch Silvia strolling with her accordian or Heidi and the Helmut Echo with their alpenhorn. Prost!

Catering:
Please contact for your specific needs.

Parking Details:
large onsite parking lot

Executive Chef:
Jason Howard

Private Party Facilities:
We have inside seating up to 64 persons and outdoor Biergarten to 120 persons

Private Party Contact:
Hostess: (410) 798-6807

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Old Stein Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (45)
Authentic (36)
Casual (34)
See All
Good for Groups (29)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Worth the Drive (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Comfort Food (22)
Fun (21)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Live Music (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Kid-friendly (16)
Seasonal (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Good for a Date (11)
Cozy (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Great for Lunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Romantic (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Family Style (4)
People Watching (3)
Healthy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Business Meals (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Fireplace (1)
Historic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
1074 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined a day ago

Today I had the Gemuse Spaetzle. I've had every entree on the menu and just tried this. It is my new favorite. The seasonal vegetables are so fresh and seasoned so nice. It was a delicious mix of corn, peppers and grated carrots. MY spouse had the bratwurst, red cabbage and spaetzle. A regular favorite. We also tried the fried pickles. They changed them up since last time we had them. They are now about the size of French fries, crispy and salty. Beer was nice and cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined a day ago

Great food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Visited the Old Stein Inn for a Birthday with a group of Germans! The beer selection was great and the food was tasty. The menu isn't as big as I expected, but everyone was very happy with it! Well worth a visit. We tried a few beer flights, the crab soup, schnitzel and special of the day. Service was on point and we sat outside on the patio. Great atmosphere!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

There was a lunatic lady dancing table to table and at one time she got on the floor and she was lying down with a strange customers dogs. Then she started dancing with the strangers dogs. This was very odd behavior and she should have been reigned in but the management let her do whatever. The customer with the dogs left then she started dancing our way so we paid our checkand left too. The manager should have called the police and had the drunk removed. This place is very expensive so for them to let this go on it's insane. Whatever rathole!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

We were regulars but the last two times, the meals were very bland and lacked seasoning. My wife had to change her meal selection after trying the red cabbage.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food is consistent and always very good, planning on going back next week

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent food as always! A little disappointed that no recognition was made of the TWO birthdays we were celebrating that I specified in my reservation. Oh well, we'll still be back.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great food, one of my favorite places to go !! I have been going there for at least 10 years.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Yummy as always! The artichoke hush puppies were an excellent appetizer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Service at Old Stein was very pleasant and accommodating. We were seated promptly and given a choice between outside and indoor. The waiter patiently explained the menu and various alcoholic options. The restaurant was not crowded on the night we visited and so we did not feel hurried during the meal. Unfortunately the food itself was a disappointment. The pork schnitzel was rather bland and a bit tough. The Jagerschnitzel sauce (mushroom and bacon) just did not taste right to me. Likewise the smoked pork chops were not enjoyable--too much of a smokey flavor. Perhaps we were just unlucky and ordered dishes not to our taste.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

Excellent food (especially the Schnitzel), nice selection of beers, fast & friendly service! We've been here before and plan to come again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Great band, the Continentals, beer, and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 29, 2017

My family has been coming to the Old Stein Inn for many years. It is a family favorite. The food, service, and ambiance are wonderful. We lived in Germany and find the Inn authentically recreates the experience of dining in a German county inn.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Food was great, service good. It was a very hot day and the air-con wasn't keeping up. Otherwise it was a nice evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Casual, Great Beer, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This was our first visit to Old Stein Inn. The food was very authentic. We loved, loved loved it.
The restaurant was very clean and the wait staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely
eat there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Fun, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was delicious authentic German with a great atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Very authentic feel! Good beer selection, plus other drinks if beer is not the way for you to go. Had the schnitzel --- someone at the table had chicken, someone else had pork -- both were quite tasty, along with the spatzel and pickled cabbage. A fun night out!

Tags: Live Music, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Old Stein Inn is one of my favorite restaurants of all time. I go there for date with my husband, birthdays, and "just because". The german food is authentic and amazing, great atmosphere, service, and the live music is the icing on the cake

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The Old Stein Inn is always worth the drive. We enjoy the great food and festive atmosphere. Check it out.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Great Beer, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We were seated right away with a choice of inside or outside. Our server was excellent! All our food came out in a timely manner and was delicious.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Second time here and not sure what was going on this time around. Restaurant wasn't busy - took forever to get drink order in. Food took a long time considering the low volume. Lukewarm jaeger sauce and served cold soup. One of the drinks ordered was just below room temperature.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Always good food and service, makes feel that we are back in Germany

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Everything was great except the 3 year old running thru the restaurant.

Tags: Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Average German Food, no greatness here. Popular Biergarten atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We were celebrating my son's birthday. The food and service were both outstanding! We sat on the patio however it was rather warm and the fans were not keeping it cool when the patio filled up. The hostess had offered us inside seating when we arrived so we chose to sit outside which would have been perfect on a cooler evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Love this place! Great German Beer Bar atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Reminded me and the wife of our trip to Germany and Austria. The food was authentic and delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 18, 2017

This place is usually very reliable. We had a 1:30pm reservation on a very hot Sunday afternoon. As soon as we walked in we noticed that it was very hot inside like the air conditioning had not been turned on all day. We sat down and ordered some beer and some appetizers. It took between 5 and 10 minutes to get our beer and we ordered our main dishes. Ten minutes later our mains show up with our appetizers and by that time we had finished our beer and had our food without drinks. It look another 5 minutes to get more drinks. Luckily, the food was great as always. But the service and setting was horrendous and I left the restaurant covered in sweat it was so hot.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 17, 2017

It was way to hot inside the restraint. The air was not cooling the inside down due too the door being open for the outside patio.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Amazing food. Great service!
We love it!
Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Business Meals, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This was our first time eating at the Old Stein Inn and we had a great experience. The menu is very German! The servers were very helpful in explaining the menu and offering guidance. The food was DELICIOUS. Big portions too. We were painfully full when we left, and it was so worth it. The beer menu is great too. We'll be back!

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We enjoyed the outdoor bar and dining area. Food and service was Very good.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We drove from Northern Delaware because my husband and I have wanted to try this restaurant for a few months. My husband is German/Swiss, so we knew what we were looking for in a German Restaurant. I was greeted nicely at the reception area by Sonja, whom I had spoken to over the phone. We sat outside even though it was extremely warm. A few more fans would have been nice.Our server Dani was a very sweet and kind young woman, eager to serve and keep her customers happy. The food was quite good and plentiful. We had the nice appetizers of potato pancakes, which was fresh and tasty and homemade applesauce to accompany them. The sampler platter of landjager, gurkens and three types of mustards were also good. My entrée of short rib sauerbraten with potato dumplings and red cabbage was quite lovely. One exception, the ribs could have been more tender had they braised them a while longer to break down the tendons. The dumplings were really nice and the flavors stood out well.

My husband brought home kassler ripchen (smoked pork chops). They were huge! The sauerkraut was not so good and the potato salad was just okay. The apfelstrudel was nice and tasty.

All in all, there was a nice German atmosphere, as far as that goes being in America. It was worth the drive, but cannot be done often, as it is a bit far. We would recommend this restaurant to friends and acquaintances. By the way, they are a pet-friendly restaurant (we brought along our Teckel) as long as the pet is well behaved! Thank you everyone. We will go back again.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

While the food was alright, our server was absolutely terrible. He was quite rude and standoffish. He didn't once smile, didn't thank us for coming, offered no help with menu questions. I wouldn't return because of him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This was the second time and bothwere for an anniversary. The waitress was friendly and made sure everything was to our liking. The food was excellent and quick to the table. Hope to bring friends there and plan in many more visits

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Romantic, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Peach salad excellent, red cabbage was best in quite some time...

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I LOVE THE OLD STEIN GRILL IT FEELS GOOD AND I LOKE GERMAN FOOD.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We brought friends from Virginia to eat dinner at the Old Stein. We usually get the delicious bratwurst. We tried a new asparagus appetizer, which was wonderful! And we tried a new dessert--chocolate raspberry creme brûlée. Out of this world!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great German food and beer! The schnitzel and spatzle were delicious. The shrimp and asparagus from the Bier Bar Menu was a generous portion and very tasty!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Only and 3 of 5. The food was okay, as was the seating and the drinks. The issue is it's not a German restaurant, it is a German themed restaurant. The difference is in the feeling of the place. When you go to the Europa Grill in Georgetown, it feels like German; with food, music, wait staff... Germany!!!!. The Old Stein Grill... probably an American that lived in Germany and wanted to create the experience. Will I go again, yes. I stated the food is fine (beer is great); I no longer live in Germany and I for a good bier (beer), I guess I can accept a waiter with a southern accent.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.