About Old Stein Inn

1143 East Central Ave.
Edgewater, MD 21037
View Larger Map

IN 1983, Karl & Ursula Selinger of Neustadt an der Weinstrasse, Germany in the Rhineland Pfalz opened The Old Stein Inn to serve the finest German cuisine. They decided to locate in Anne Arundel County just 8 miles south of Annapolis in Edgewater Maryland. The Old Stein has a traditional Biergarten to give neighbors a place to enjoy al fresco dining with friends and family. The ten German taps pour an unparalleled selection of beer. The Old Stein has been featured on "The Best Of Show" on the Food Network and has won multiple awards for the Munster Cheese & Crab Soup and the Apple Cheesecake.
The Old Stein is no run-of-the-mill chain restaurant. Diners come from all over the Mid-Atlantic (or right around the corner) to this family-owned, Maryland gem to enjoy fun, food, friends—and, or course, a cold brew in a gemütlichkeit atmosphere. Eins, Zwei, Drei, G"suffa!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
German, Gastro Pub, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Wed-Thursday 4pm to 9pm
Saturaday 4-10pm; Bar open until 11pm
Sunday NOON to 9pm

Cross Street:
just past Turkey point Road on right hand side

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 798-6807

Website:
http://www.oldstein-inn.com/

Entertainment:
The Old Stein Oktoberfest style Biergarten has become a Maryland tradition. People come—from near and far—to gather in the Biergarten and enjoy the beautiful Fall weather while drinking the best German beers and tasting the finest German cuisine. Visit the Old Stein during Oktoberfest and you"re sure to have a blast singing along to German drinking songs while sampling traditional German fare. Check our web site www.oldstein-inn.com to see when you might catch Silvia strolling with her accordian or Heidi and the Helmut Echo with their alpenhorn. Prost!

Catering:
Please contact for your specific needs.

Parking Details:
large onsite parking lot

Executive Chef:
Jason Howard

Private Party Facilities:
We have inside seating up to 64 persons and outdoor Biergarten to 120 persons

Private Party Contact:
Hostess: 4107986807x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Wurstplatte With Cheese - Old Stein Inn, Edgewater, MD
Wiener Schnitzel - Old Stein Inn, Edgewater, MD
Potato Pancakes - Old Stein Inn, Edgewater, MD
Black Forest Salad  - Old Stein Inn, Edgewater, MD
sauerbraten - Old Stein Inn, Edgewater, MD
Gemuse Spatzle - Old Stein Inn, Edgewater, MD
Jaeger Schnitzel - Old Stein Inn, Edgewater, MD
Metzgers Leibspeise - Old Stein Inn, Edgewater, MD
Pork Shank - Old Stein Inn, Edgewater, MD
Cheese And Crab Soup - Old Stein Inn, Edgewater, MD
Liverwurst - Old Stein Inn, Edgewater, MD
First Two Official Beers Served At The Warm Opening After The Fire - Old Stein Inn, Edgewater, MD
Weiss Wurst Sandwich - Old Stein Inn, Edgewater, MD

Old Stein Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (68)
Authentic (46)
Worth the Drive (41)
See All
Casual (40)
Fun (40)
Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
Comfort Food (32)
Special Occasion (30)
Good for Groups (29)
Good for a Date (28)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Family Style (26)
Live Music (25)
Seasonal (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Kid-friendly (20)
Cozy (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
People Watching (7)
Historic (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Romantic (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Fireplace (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Organic (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Dancing (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
967 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Old Stein Inn is fantastic! the good ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

The Old Stein Inn is fantastic! the good is always fantastic and they always treat you like family. Even with three small children with us at lunch, our waitress was quick, accommodating, and sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great night out. Best German d ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Always a great night out. Best German dining in the area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best German food in Maryland! Service is ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Best German food in Maryland! Service is always stellar.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our family's favorite res ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 4, 2017

This is one of our family's favorite restaurants. The German food is authentic and also experimental. This week we got the whiskey flight, which is a great idea. The potato pancakes are perfect and served with the best apple sauce I've ever had. The jugersnitzle comes with tons of mushrooms. The new enclosed patio was a visual treat warm and cozy even in Jan., with a nice view of the garden. The desserts were also wonderful, or you can have shot of apfelkorn if you like to drink your desserts.

Tags: Worth the Drive, , Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent time and meal for New Years ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

An excellent time and meal for New Years Eve dinner. Considering this dinner we did make a reservation. Service was very attentive. We ordered multiple dishes that were brought to our table in a very timely manner. We have been here before and have never been disappointed with the service or meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time here, grandsons birthday. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our first time here, grandsons birthday. Family celebration. They brought out a candle on his dessert. Good food. Look forward to returning

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Plans were canceled for my mother in law ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Plans were canceled for my mother in law she had with a friend for dinner so the wife and I decided to finally take her to The Old Stein Inn which we had been once before and loved. We traveled from Columbia, MD (about 50 minutes) to get our table which we had reserved @ 7:30 through Open Table. When we arrived there was a sign on the door which indicated Cash Only. I dropped the girls off and drove 10 miles west to the nearest ATM I could locate. While waiting to be seated I overheard the hostess telling a patron on the phone about the cash situation. I really wish we would have been given a heads up over the phone as well.

30 minutes later we were enjoying our entrees. The food is amazing. Having spent 2 weeks in Germany earlier in the month I can say that the OSI has got the authentic down pat. Our service was so-so, the waitress seemed annoyed the time we were there. Towards the end of the meal , she dropped to-go containers and a dessert menu on the table without any word and walked away.

Would definitely go back even with the small inconveniences and mediocre service.

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Great Beer, Casual, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Never, ever a let down. Got exactly the ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Never, ever a let down. Got exactly the table I asked for when making a reservation. The hostess called to confirm she could accommodate my request.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Slight glitch with app. Didn't hold Rez ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Slight glitch with app. Didn't hold Rez for 7pm. "Server down". Really wanted the venison. It was only available in carpaccio. I asked if they could throw it on a pan with butter. Answer back was "there's no room in the kitchen". What is that? Had a bad experience from there on out. Legit German food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Excellent German food with the oomp-pa-p ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent German food with the oomp-pa-pa atmosphere. Excellent beer list with creative martinis.

Tags: Live Music, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Casual, Fun, Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our meal, great family place dur ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Enjoyed our meal, great family place during the holidays

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

It's a nice restaurant. Food is very goo ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 18, 2016

It's a nice restaurant. Food is very good although a little heavy. Live music is a plus. Service is great- good for a variety of occasions.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Service, wine and food were outstanding ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Service, wine and food were outstanding at a good value. The 2-piece band on the 17th was really entertaining and played Holiday, German and requested music; albeit generally a little on the fast side. Our waiter was knowledgeable about the menu and wine as well as very attentive during our stay. Been coming here for over 20 years; will continue to patronize in the future.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Fun, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The manager was excellent about seating ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The manager was excellent about seating us earlier than our reservation which was greatly appreciated. Our server was Riley. The guy is absolutely awesome! Ask for him. Service was fast, yet not rushed. His beer knowledge is solid. The selection is great. I highly recommend.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Long time patron. Saurbraten and dumpl ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Long time patron. Saurbraten and dumplings are not what they used to be. A bit fatty and tough on the meat. Dumplings too peppery, not so traditional. Everything else was very good. Service a bit show on this occasion, but very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

We will never go back there. They did no ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We will never go back there. They did not offer us bread or water. The price of the meal was $ 93.00. For that price you would think the service would be better. We go to a German Restaurant in Playa del Carmen Mexico. The food is great, prices are better and they give us bread. We go there four or five time a year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

We were there to celebrate my brother's ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We were there to celebrate my brother's birthday. Olde Stein Inn is his favorite! We get the Schweinhoxe and it is always tender and delicious. I have enough left over for lunch the next day. The staff is friendly. They have outdoor heated tables. And they have live music on some nights.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Service was impeccable and the food was ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Service was impeccable and the food was delicious. Our server was just wonderful and took good care of us. We will definitely be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The family had a great time on the enclo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The family had a great time on the enclosed patio with the band. It was cold outside, but warm inside. Loved the Christmas music and the tuba with the holiday lights. My son ordered a flight of light beer and I ordered a flight of dark beer. Then we shared and compared.

We tried some dishes that we have not had before and were not disappointed. Great food. Very tasty and plenty of it. Lots to box up and take home for an extra meal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Live Music, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is amazing! We loved the German Ho ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food is amazing! We loved the German Horns band!!!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maybe it was because it's the beginning ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Maybe it was because it's the beginning of winter. The old stein inn isn't what it used to be. Still edible but not what it used to be.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

First time there, Great discovery. Enj ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 9, 2016

First time there, Great discovery. Enjoyable German food and ambiance

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Authentic German food served in a friend ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Authentic German food served in a friendly, boisterous atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We make an annual trip to the Old Stein ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We make an annual trip to the Old Stein Inn, usually to celebrate a birthday. The staff is always pleasant, and the food is quite good. If you order beer and appetizers and dessert, the bill can be fairly steep, but the price is worth it. If you skip the beer (but, why would you?) it's really reasonably priced.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Easy drive from Northern Virginia - Outs ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Easy drive from Northern Virginia - Outstanding food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite restaurants! ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants! Great German beer and food. At times they have traditional German bands which just adds the dining experience. We enjoy eating in at the booths or outside in the beer garden. We highly recommend to our friends.

Tags: Live Music, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

As always the food was excellent. Not cr ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 20, 2016

As always the food was excellent. Not crazy about the napkins. To small

Tags: Special Occasion, Great Beer, Family Style, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love our experience at the Old ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We always love our experience at the Old Stein Inn. People are friendly, service is excellent, and the food is good. Can't go wrong enjoying an evening at the Old Stein Inn!

Tags: Cozy, , Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoy the Old Stein Inn throughout th ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We enjoy the Old Stein Inn throughout the year. Great for Oktoberfest, the Biergarten is wunderbar, they have great staff and the food is always good. We often celebrate our birthdays and there. 🍻

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Comfort Food, Authentic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to take visiting family an ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2016

A great place to take visiting family and friends. Always impresses.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Parking lot was packed - that tells you ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Parking lot was packed - that tells you something. Excellent service. Excellent beer selection. Obviously a favorite for locals.

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This was not what we expected. It was w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was not what we expected. It was written up in The Washingtonian, but what we got wasn't anything to rave about. My wife and I had Chicken and Pork Schnitzel. The breading wasn't a good flavor and wasn't at all crisp. The potato salad was lacking flavor and the potatoes weren't cooked properly. The only thing that was good was the red cabbage and beer. For the price we paid, I expected better. Would never return or recommend friends to dine there. We drove from Woodbridge, VA to eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

This was the first time in a long time t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was the first time in a long time that I have been to the Old Stein Inn. The food was delicious, the range of beers and wines was impressive, and the atmosphere was cozy, if not a little loud. We ate in the main area, not the bier garden, which had a live band at the time. Our waiter was a bit harried because there were a lot of large parties the night we went, but he was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fun, People Watching, Live Music, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Olga our server was fantastic. Despite ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Olga our server was fantastic. Despite being a very busy Saturday Night, every course came out quickly and the food was excellent as always.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We sat inside on this visit as we weren' ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We sat inside on this visit as we weren't real interested in being outside with the live band. Not a fan of live music at restaurants.

Everything we ordered was very good. It appears that no matter how crowded they get, they are able to handle things well.

It took a little while to get waited on at first but once the ball started rolling, things were very good.

Highly recommend making a reservation no matter what night you plan to visit. This place gets very busy and without a reservation, you could be in for a long wait, especially if you have a larger group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Old Stein Inn does a great job of bringi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Old Stein Inn does a great job of bringing Old Europe to modern day. Their outdoor bier garten has been expanded and with it, so have the seasons in which you can enjoy it! Outdoor heaters are more than ample to keep the area comfortable. The band is always a great touch to complete a nice German dinner experience. Enjoy!

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We got jagerfrites for the table that we ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We got jagerfrites for the table that were amazing! I got the steak which was cooked perfectly and delicious. My husband was impressed with the extensive beer collection, they also were doing a tap takeover

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I truly love this restaurant - especiall ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I truly love this restaurant - especially when in need of comfort food and wheat beer. However, the service was absolutely abysmal. On three separate occasions, we needed to ask someone to please find our waiter so we could request a second glass of wine, dessert menu, water refill and finally the check.

No refills for coffee were offered.

Still intend to continue to visit, but will refuse service from this waiter.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

We always enjoy the Old Stein. The staff ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We always enjoy the Old Stein. The staff is friendly, welcoming, and helpful. The kitchen is developing new dishes all he time. Half the fun is trying new ideas. I also want to highlight the fact that they have a large garden plot less than twenty five yards from the kitchen. The Old Stein is destination dinning that retains it's neighborhood charm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We love the Old Stein Inn! Great beer, ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We love the Old Stein Inn! Great beer, great food, great staff! I love that we can make online reservations! Food is just like my German grandmother's food! Yummo! Thanks for the experience. Will be back for Wild Game Month!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.