About Old Stein Inn

1143 East Central Ave.
Edgewater, MD 21037
View Larger Map

IN 1983, Karl & Ursula Selinger of Neustadt an der Weinstrasse, Germany in the Rhineland Pfalz opened The Old Stein Inn to serve the finest German cuisine. They decided to locate in Anne Arundel County just 8 miles south of Annapolis in Edgewater Maryland. The Old Stein has a traditional Biergarten to give neighbors a place to enjoy al fresco dining with friends and family. The ten German taps pour an unparalleled selection of beer. The Old Stein has been featured on "The Best Of Show" on the Food Network and has won multiple awards for the Munster Cheese & Crab Soup and the Apple Cheesecake.
The Old Stein is no run-of-the-mill chain restaurant. Diners come from all over the Mid-Atlantic (or right around the corner) to this family-owned, Maryland gem to enjoy fun, food, friends—and, or course, a cold brew in a gemütlichkeit atmosphere. Eins, Zwei, Drei, G"suffa!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
German, Gastro Pub, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Wed-Thursday 4pm to 9pm
Saturaday 4-10pm; Bar open until 11pm
Sunday NOON to 9pm

Cross Street:
just past Turkey point Road on right hand side

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 798-6807

Website:
http://www.oldstein-inn.com/

Entertainment:
The Old Stein Oktoberfest style Biergarten has become a Maryland tradition. People come—from near and far—to gather in the Biergarten and enjoy the beautiful Fall weather while drinking the best German beers and tasting the finest German cuisine. Visit the Old Stein during Oktoberfest and you"re sure to have a blast singing along to German drinking songs while sampling traditional German fare. Check our web site www.oldstein-inn.com to see when you might catch Silvia strolling with her accordian or Heidi and the Helmut Echo with their alpenhorn. Prost!

Catering:
Please contact for your specific needs.

Parking Details:
large onsite parking lot

Executive Chef:
Jason Howard

Private Party Facilities:
We have inside seating up to 64 persons and outdoor Biergarten to 120 persons

Private Party Contact:
Hostess: 4107986807x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Wurstplatte With Cheese - Old Stein Inn, Edgewater, MD
Wiener Schnitzel - Old Stein Inn, Edgewater, MD
Potato Pancakes - Old Stein Inn, Edgewater, MD
Black Forest Salad  - Old Stein Inn, Edgewater, MD
sauerbraten - Old Stein Inn, Edgewater, MD
Gemuse Spatzle - Old Stein Inn, Edgewater, MD
Jaeger Schnitzel - Old Stein Inn, Edgewater, MD
Metzgers Leibspeise - Old Stein Inn, Edgewater, MD
Pork Shank - Old Stein Inn, Edgewater, MD
Cheese And Crab Soup - Old Stein Inn, Edgewater, MD
Liverwurst - Old Stein Inn, Edgewater, MD
First Two Official Beers Served At The Warm Opening After The Fire - Old Stein Inn, Edgewater, MD
Weiss Wurst Sandwich - Old Stein Inn, Edgewater, MD

Old Stein Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Greater Annapolis
Best Restaurants in Edgewater ›

Great Beer (67)
Great for Outdoor Dining (52)
Authentic (50)
See All
Casual (44)
Fun (41)
Special Occasion (40)
Good for Groups (39)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Worth the Drive (36)
Comfort Food (30)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Good for a Date (28)
Kid-friendly (26)
Family Style (24)
Live Music (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Seasonal (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Cozy (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Historic (8)
People Watching (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Romantic (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Organic (2)
Business Meals (2)
Fireplace (2)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
911 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is one of our favorite restaurants! ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants! Great German beer and food. At times they have traditional German bands which just adds the dining experience. We enjoy eating in at the booths or outside in the beer garden. We highly recommend to our friends.

Tags: Live Music, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

As always the food was excellent. Not cr ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 20, 2016

As always the food was excellent. Not crazy about the napkins. To small

Tags: Special Occasion, Great Beer, Family Style, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love our experience at the Old ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We always love our experience at the Old Stein Inn. People are friendly, service is excellent, and the food is good. Can't go wrong enjoying an evening at the Old Stein Inn!

Tags: Cozy, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoy the Old Stein Inn throughout th ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We enjoy the Old Stein Inn throughout the year. Great for Oktoberfest, the Biergarten is wunderbar, they have great staff and the food is always good. We often celebrate our birthdays and there. 🍻

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Comfort Food, Authentic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to take visiting family an ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 19, 2016

A great place to take visiting family and friends. Always impresses.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Parking lot was packed - that tells you ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Parking lot was packed - that tells you something. Excellent service. Excellent beer selection. Obviously a favorite for locals.

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This was not what we expected. It was w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was not what we expected. It was written up in The Washingtonian, but what we got wasn't anything to rave about. My wife and I had Chicken and Pork Schnitzel. The breading wasn't a good flavor and wasn't at all crisp. The potato salad was lacking flavor and the potatoes weren't cooked properly. The only thing that was good was the red cabbage and beer. For the price we paid, I expected better. Would never return or recommend friends to dine there. We drove from Woodbridge, VA to eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

This was the first time in a long time t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This was the first time in a long time that I have been to the Old Stein Inn. The food was delicious, the range of beers and wines was impressive, and the atmosphere was cozy, if not a little loud. We ate in the main area, not the bier garden, which had a live band at the time. Our waiter was a bit harried because there were a lot of large parties the night we went, but he was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fun, People Watching, Live Music, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Olga our server was fantastic. Despite ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Olga our server was fantastic. Despite being a very busy Saturday Night, every course came out quickly and the food was excellent as always.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Old Stein Inn does a great job of bringi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Old Stein Inn does a great job of bringing Old Europe to modern day. Their outdoor bier garten has been expanded and with it, so have the seasons in which you can enjoy it! Outdoor heaters are more than ample to keep the area comfortable. The band is always a great touch to complete a nice German dinner experience. Enjoy!

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We got jagerfrites for the table that we ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We got jagerfrites for the table that were amazing! I got the steak which was cooked perfectly and delicious. My husband was impressed with the extensive beer collection, they also were doing a tap takeover

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I truly love this restaurant - especiall ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I truly love this restaurant - especially when in need of comfort food and wheat beer. However, the service was absolutely abysmal. On three separate occasions, we needed to ask someone to please find our waiter so we could request a second glass of wine, dessert menu, water refill and finally the check.

No refills for coffee were offered.

Still intend to continue to visit, but will refuse service from this waiter.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

We always enjoy the Old Stein. The staff ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We always enjoy the Old Stein. The staff is friendly, welcoming, and helpful. The kitchen is developing new dishes all he time. Half the fun is trying new ideas. I also want to highlight the fact that they have a large garden plot less than twenty five yards from the kitchen. The Old Stein is destination dinning that retains it's neighborhood charm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We love the Old Stein Inn! Great beer, ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We love the Old Stein Inn! Great beer, great food, great staff! I love that we can make online reservations! Food is just like my German grandmother's food! Yummo! Thanks for the experience. Will be back for Wild Game Month!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was awesome, but the server was les ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was awesome, but the server was less than adequate. He barely looked at us and made us feel like each time he came to the table was only a drive-by on the way to something better. We had to shout loudly to ask for drink refills and enough bread for everyone at our table. This was my second time at Old Stein, and first time bringing friends, so I was a little embarrassed that I raved about the awesome service (I had the first time). Now I'm not so sure if I'd return again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Old Stein inn was a great meal. My husba ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Old Stein inn was a great meal. My husband loved the raspberry lambic and my waitress recommended a nice beer for me as well. Highly recommend the sausage and cheese appetizer, it was the best I've ever had.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Have enjoyed every time we have gone. Fo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Have enjoyed every time we have gone. Food is always delicious, servers are friendly and knowledgeable about beer and wine. One of Edgewater's best kept secrets!

Tags: Great Beer, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the multiple "October - Fest Beers" ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Love the multiple "October - Fest Beers". Service is excellent with great booths!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this German themed restaurant. The ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Love this German themed restaurant. The sausages, meats, and specialties are awesome. We have eaten here several times with friends we have traveled to Germany with and we have not been disappointed. Great beer menu and good wine list - there is something for everyone. There wasn't any music when we were there but when it is, it just adds to the evening's enjoyment.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took some friends to the Old Stein Inn ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I took some friends to the Old Stein Inn for their wedding anniversary, and in addition to the food being very good, the best part of our dining experience was our waiter, Riley. He was a most personable and energetic young man who seemed to take great pleasure in making sure that we were completely satisfied. Thank you, Riley.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been going to Old Stein for year ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We have been going to Old Stein for years and have had great food and service until this past Sunday! The service staff were hard to find and less than upbeat, after all, it was Octoberfest at a German restaurant. The beer was served semi cool. The wine special was sour, along with the veal schnitzel which was sour and heavily breaded in Panko breadcrumbs??!

The appetizers were the highlight. Had hoped that the dessert would be good, but the check was presented to us without being asked if we would like to try some. So we left, definitely with a bad taste overall.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

The Old Stein was authentic German food ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The Old Stein was authentic German food that lived up to every expectation. The truly authentic German Beer selection was outstanding. We had the wurst plate - like a sampler of the different sausages, a bowl of the Munster cheese crab soup; the jaegersnitztel with veal, and the pork shank. All were outstanding. We dined inside but they also have a patio type area that had a live band and plenty of happy patrons dancing and drinking the great beers! We will make the 1 hour drive again for sure.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We received a call the day of our reserv ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We received a call the day of our reservation asking if we wanted to sit outside or inside. I chose outside. I wish the person would have explained that our table would be right next to the band! We were there with friends who we don't see very often and were unable to have any conversation at all. Thankfully, we asked if we could be moved inside and we were accomodated.

That saved the evening.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Hands-down one of the best restaurants w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Hands-down one of the best restaurants we've been to in Maryland. The food was outstanding the beer was amazing and the service was excellent. They had a live band outside that you can hear which was wonderful. Kind of pricey but that's just because we had beer and appetizers. Jager schnitzelwas perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious, atmosphere friendly ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Food was delicious, atmosphere friendly but not too loud. Very enjoyable.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful. Our waitress was ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The food was wonderful. Our waitress was exceptional - very friendly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Kassler Ripshen was awesome, and the oth ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Kassler Ripshen was awesome, and the other 6 entrees too but potato salad off.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our first visit ...and by no me ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 28, 2016

This was our first visit ...and by no means our last...the food was OUTSTANDING !! The portion sizes were large. The best German food I have ever had. I recommend the potato pancakes and applesauce as a starter. The Sauerbraten was awesome! Can't wait to return. I do recommend reservation ...Friday night was very busy which in understandable since the food is so good. Parking can be a little tricky so if you can car pool do so. if you have to park off the lot don't bring a lowrider.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Authentic, Disabled Access, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great and the food was d ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The service was great and the food was delicious.We will be back. The only draw aback was the traffic next time we will come later on a Friday n ite

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I love the sauer beef. I'm a bourbon dr ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I love the sauer beef. I'm a bourbon drinker (which of course, they have) but I am "game" to try the beer on tap. They have a fun variety. It's especially fun to sit out back and listen to the music. I learned a german drinking song the last time I was there.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Good generally good. Schnitzel and sauer ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Good generally good. Schnitzel and sauerbraten very good. Potato dumplings had too much nutmeg. Beer selection great.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Never fails to disappoint! Food was s ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Never fails to disappoint! Food was spectacular! Brought my boyfriend who had never been before and he enjoyed himself as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lively beirgarten and table-side min ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The lively beirgarten and table-side minstrel sets the Oktoberfest tone for a relaxed, authentic German meal. Not cheap, but a well-heeled place to enjoy friends, great beer, and to let your hair down a little. Go with a big crowd and add to the energy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We always enjoy the food and the atmosph ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We always enjoy the food and the atmosphere at the Old Stein Inn. Reminds us very much of our travels to Bavaria.

Tags: Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was amazing and did not disappoint. ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Food was amazing and did not disappoint. A bit pricey but worth it. Prost!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Live Music, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

live music is a must and wonderful potat ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

live music is a must and wonderful potato pancakes

Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We used to love this restaurant but this ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We used to love this restaurant but this last time the food was awful. Totally tasteless. They did offer a free dessert but honestly it wasn't that great either. For really great German food visit cafe Mozart in downtown D.C. It is fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Excellent German food as if we were in D ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Excellent German food as if we were in Deutschland!

Tags: Kamin, Besondere Anlässe, Degustationsmenü, Gut für Jahrestage, Gut für eine Verabredung, Zwanglos, Ausgezeichnetes Bier, Kinderfreundlich
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and attentive staff. Enj ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Very good food and attentive staff. Enjoyed music in the covered beer garden

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

food very, very poor. German in name on ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

food very, very poor. German in name only! Will never go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.