About Old Stein Inn

1143 East Central Ave.
Edgewater, MD 21037
View Larger Map

IN 1983, Karl & Ursula Selinger of Neustadt an der Weinstrasse, Germany in the Rhineland Pfalz opened The Old Stein Inn to serve the finest German cuisine. They decided to locate in Anne Arundel County just 8 miles south of Annapolis in Edgewater Maryland. The Old Stein has a traditional Biergarten to give neighbors a place to enjoy al fresco dining with friends and family. The ten German taps pour an unparalleled selection of beer. The Old Stein has been featured on "The Best Of Show" on the Food Network and has won multiple awards for the Munster Cheese & Crab Soup and the Apple Cheesecake.
The Old Stein is no run-of-the-mill chain restaurant. Diners come from all over the Mid-Atlantic (or right around the corner) to this family-owned, Maryland gem to enjoy fun, food, friends—and, or course, a cold brew in a gemütlichkeit atmosphere. Eins, Zwei, Drei, G"suffa!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
German, Gastro Pub, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Wed-Thursday 4pm to 9pm
Saturaday 4-10pm; Bar open until 11pm
Sunday NOON to 9pm

Cross Street:
just past Turkey point Road on right hand side

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 798-6807

Website:
http://www.oldstein-inn.com/

Entertainment:
The Old Stein Oktoberfest style Biergarten has become a Maryland tradition. People come—from near and far—to gather in the Biergarten and enjoy the beautiful Fall weather while drinking the best German beers and tasting the finest German cuisine. Visit the Old Stein during Oktoberfest and you"re sure to have a blast singing along to German drinking songs while sampling traditional German fare. Check our web site www.oldstein-inn.com to see when you might catch Silvia strolling with her accordian or Heidi and the Helmut Echo with their alpenhorn. Prost!

Catering:
Please contact for your specific needs.

Parking Details:
large onsite parking lot

Executive Chef:
Jason Howard

Private Party Facilities:
We have inside seating up to 64 persons and outdoor Biergarten to 120 persons

Private Party Contact:
Hostess: 4107986807x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Old Stein Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Baltimore / Maryland
Neighborhood Gem
Greater Annapolis
Best Restaurants in Edgewater ›

neighborhood gem (64)
good for groups (62)
great for outdoor dining (58)
See All
fit for foodies (51)
special occasion (44)
kid-friendly (43)
great for lunch (15)
vibrant bar scene (11)
notable wine list (10)
hot spot (7)
great for brunch (7)
romantic (7)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
767 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was quite good and authentic. Servi ...

Dined 4 days ago

Food was quite good and authentic. Service was great.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed an impromptu night out for dinne ...

Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed an impromptu night out for dinner and enjoyed the food and ambiance. Wait staff were attentive and very friendly. We have eaten here before and always have a nice evening. Wine was a bit pricey for the venue.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great beer garden out standing German fo ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great beer garden out standing German food. Staff outstanding our server Abby your the best ! Recommend this place to many people everyone loves it.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Best German food I'v ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was excellent. Best German food I've found outside of Germany! The braised pork, sauerbraten, spaetzle, and homemade pretzels are to die for. Oh, and the beer, great selection. Thanks so much for a wonderful evening with friends and relatives.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for lunch on our way to Annapoli ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for lunch on our way to Annapolis and we encountered great food and service. Highly recommend!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old Stein Inn

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was fresh and excellent. The service was quick and excellent. Our server, Carrie was friendly, attentive, and a joy with a good sense of humor. Very professional as well. We enjoyed the accordion music and singing which was an added plus. The atmosphere was friendly with the typical German ambiance. Very enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Always delicious

Dined on May 7, 2016

While a bit noises, and definitely not an appropriate pick for a romantic night out, I am always very happy with both the food and the service. And, for beer lovers, their selection is very nice.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old Stein Inn

Dined on May 6, 2016

Always have a great time, food and service are great

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

We had an enjoyable evening with 2 other ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

We had an enjoyable evening with 2 other couples. Our waitress was friendly and helpful. She brought out a taste of the sauce used in the sauerbraten so we could taste it and see if it would be too spicy, which it wasn't. She was attentive throughout the evening and gave recommendations for dessert. We all enjoyed our meals. The food was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Cabbage and more

Dined on May 5, 2016

At least a week in advance of our visit, I begin to salivate over the thought of red cabbage and sauerbraten. My husband always selects the smoked pork chop and enjoys the extensive beer list. The dessert, the May special, needs to be a permanent addition to the already yummy choices.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very authentic German food with an impre ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Very authentic German food with an impressive beer and wine list. Everyone had a wonderful time and we really enjoyed the variety of dishes. Something for everyone. The service was excellent, with very good attention to the customers, but not too much where they catch you with your mouth full and make a pest of themselves. The server was very knowledgeable about the different dishes and what drinks would go well with them. A little pricey for an everyday type of meal, but well worth the price. We stayed for hours and never felt rushed, even with it being a Friday night and packed. Do recommend reservations. It was a little chilly to sit in the Biergarten that night, but we noticed they did have patio heaters and, I believe, a fire pit. Will try out the Biergarten next time...and there will definitely be a next time.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service

Dined on April 29, 2016

Had a reservation for Friday night. Arrived a little early and was quickly seated in the main dining room. There was also an outside beer garden but was a little chilly so went with inside. The waiter was great, very knowledgeable and friendly. Provided some great recommendations. Beer selection was fantastic and food was delicious, from appetizer to desert. Would gladly come again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Service was strange

Dined on April 24, 2016

We have been to the Old Stein Inn several times and always enjoy the food, although I did not enjoy the asparagus dish I had this past time. There was little to no asparagus in it. I'm not a big German food fan anyway, but the service was terrible in that we were rushed the entire meal. No one wants to be ignored in a restaurant, but they also don't want to be interrupted by the waiter constantly. I felt like we were rushed through dinner right to dessert and then we decided to talk a while after we ate, but the waiter and two other restaurant workers kept hounding us for the check. It was VERY irritating and it wasn't because the restaurant was so crowded that they had to get people out to seat more people. There were plenty of tables. We were very disappointed in this behavior. I hope they don't do that again!!!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Germany comes to Maryland

Dined on April 23, 2016

Had a work colleague from Germany and we always talked about having a meal in Germany well I retired and we never that chance. On Saturday we met here with his family and had a great meal and a wonderful time While it may not have been in Germany it certainly felt like it. A great meal and time was had by all

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good German Fare

Dined on April 22, 2016

We have been to The Old Stein Inn many times. We enjoyed the indoor atmosphere when it was a house. When they remodeled after a fire, the indoor part lost a lot of charm. The outdoor dining is still very pleasant. The German food and beer are what we go there for. It's not a fancy place, and is better for groups of people.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it!!

Dined on April 10, 2016

I love the Old Stein Inn! Go frequently... esp since they opened the Beir Bar!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Eating at Old a Stein Inn

Dined on April 3, 2016

Although the waitress was very attentive, the timeliness of the food was atrocious. The waitress apologized twice for the delay in delivering our entree which did not come for at least 40 minutes after our appetizer. She said a large order was put in just before us. I do not see this as an excuse. Large and small orders are coming into the kitchen all the time if the restaurant is busy.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Nice outside - kitchen was a bit backed up

Dined on April 3, 2016

This a one of our favorite places! Suspect that the sunshine brought out more people than the kitchen was staffed for and our food was a bit slow in arriving.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistent Winner

Dined on April 1, 2016

It delivers everytime! The food is great, beer fantastic, and great friendly vibe!

Tags: kid-friendly, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We just keep going back! Food is outsta ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

We just keep going back! Food is outstanding, beer is old country, Silvia can really play that squeeze box. Life is good!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent German Food

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Excellent German food and an even better German beer selection. Best German restaurant in Annapolis area

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Average Dining

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Been to this place several times...and this was the worst...potato pancakes were good as always...schnitzel was fair...ordered pork and they brought chicken...an honest mistake and they adjusted the bill...sides were okay...seemed rushed and thrown on the plate...the veggie dish (only on on the menu) was very salty...overall average dinner...waitress was fair, but nervous about everything...maybe she was new...will come back again, but wont be coming back many more times if this is the new constant...

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Great Atmosphere

Dined on March 12, 2016

First time we visited, we ended up sitting at the tiny bar in the front since we had no reservations. Now we know. Food was EH, ok, at best. We decided to give it another try. This time, made reservations on open table, showed up 45 min before our time we chose (took a chance), and was seated right away. We chose the biergarten instead of the cramped looking inside. The biergarten has another bar and is heated. There are hi top tables and wrought iron outdoor tables n chairs. The whole atmosphere out there was Great! Service was Great! Food was, well, just barely OK. And pretty expensive for the quality. We have spent 7 total years living and working in Germany and we don't expect it to be at that level, but we do expect much better. We've had the goulash, schnitzels, liver wurst, schweinhaxe and sauerbraten. (The Fries are tasty) Not sure we'll go back for food, but we'll go back for drinks and atmosphere.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

March 2016 visit

Dined on March 11, 2016

This is our third visit to the restaurant and as always, the food was good. There is always plenty of food.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I think their good is authentic. I love ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

I think their good is authentic. I love the atmosphere and the staff is great.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love the Old Stein

Dined on February 28, 2016

Great food, outstanding German beer. What more could you ask for. Love this place.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Food

Dined on February 28, 2016

The food was awesome, however very pricey and still worth it. The service was good and I recommend eating in the patio area. It's warm and a little quieter there.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Nice Evening!

Dined on February 27, 2016

The four of us enjoyed ourselves again at our favorite restaurant. The server was attentive and amiable, and the food was great, as usual.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Incredible food and service. The people ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Incredible food and service. The people are simply amazing. I am going to return soon. You cant beat traditional German food at an amazing price.

food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Poor Service

Dined on February 21, 2016

Food was excellent. Unique dining experience. Service was poor and ruined the meal.

food5
ambience2
service3
value5

Great food, but . . .

Dined on February 21, 2016

The dining area has been updated, but I don't think that the wait area and bar have been well planned I know that space is limited and designing solutions for this area is not easy, but it will impact my decision to return there in the future. Weekend trips will not be done by my family. On the positive side, the food and pricing will keep me interested for weekday trips!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Restaurant for Asking Someone to Marry You

Dined on February 15, 2016

My significant other and I have eaten several times at the Old Stein Inn on Valentine's Day to celebrate the anniversary of our engagement. The food is consistently good year after year. Most recently we had the fried pickles, cream of crab soup, veal sausages, and pork chops. I had a craft beer, Bell's Expedition, which was tasty and as thick as coffee. We also had the pretzel bread pudding for dessert. This is a meal I would definitely order again.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating our 40th Anniversary

Dined on February 15, 2016

We love the Old Stein Inn! The food is always wonderful, great wine and beer choices, and always a great atmosphere. We loved coming here to celebrate our 40th Anniversary!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Not the prettiest, but always delicious!

Dined on February 14, 2016

A perfect stop for a Bier und a Wurst, so on the VERY Cold Valentine's Day, hubby and I stopped by for a Bier und a Wurst. Imagine our delight when we saw Valentine's Day specials (we had the short rib Sauerbraten). Delicious and I didn't have to spend 4 days preparing it!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

good German food

Dined on February 13, 2016

We have been going there for many years for special occasions! Good food. Good beer.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

What happened to customer service ?

Dined on February 13, 2016

You get a lot of "no" at the Old Stein these days. Been a fan for over 18 years and now a bit disappointed. The chef has made changes to the menu - removing favorites like Bier Fries ("our distributor doesn't carry the cheese ); the cinnamon pretzel with cinnamon ice cream - it was there for awhile, then gone .... Yet soft pretzels are still on the menu. At our recent visit asked to have one dessert modified and was willing to pay for the change - and the answer was no. When your check is over $300, you need to give some thought to what it will take to get me back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Annapolis Family

Dined on February 13, 2016

The restaurant is incredible. I lived in Germany for two years and the food and atmosphere is authentically Bavarian. Our waitress was top-notch. The accordionist was delightful and fascinated all of us. It was great to hear the German songs. The restaurant needs another hostess, however. The girl last Saturday was horrible. She was rude, and lectured us on making sure we add a person to our party when making a reservation if we want a high chair or booster seat. She loudly told us how awful that is to do and related stories of how some people bring TWO children! People were looking at us as we stood there being scolded. Our waitress, however, was a true delight! She was fun and very efficient.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great German food & beer

Dined on February 13, 2016

Been here several times for the traditional German fare (not unfriendly to vegetarians, but come on--it's German). They have a good number of beers on tap as well as bottled. There are other beverages, but come on--it's German. The food on my latest visit seemed to have bumped up a notch. It was cooked perfectly and even the simple chicken shnitzel had great flavor. It's not a quiet place, but they have sound baffling that makes the noise level bearable. You don't have to shout to be heard (and you won't be subjected to listening to someone else's shouted conversation). Sylvia the accordion player provides music and song on weekends, going from table to table to play requests.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Every plate ordered was delicious. Wait ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Every plate ordered was delicious. Wait staff attentive. Accordion player br I ugh some fun and authenticity to the meal. Great beer!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great traditional German Bier Garten

Dined on January 31, 2016

We go to the Old Stein frequently for a bier und a wurst. They never let us down. Sometimes we enjoy a schnitzel, a black forest salat, or whatever. We are always happy. Excellent Bier Bar!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.