About Old Stein Inn

1143 East Central Ave.
Edgewater, MD 21037
View Larger Map

IN 1983, Karl & Ursula Selinger of Neustadt an der Weinstrasse, Germany in the Rhineland Pfalz opened The Old Stein Inn to serve the finest German cuisine. They decided to locate in Anne Arundel County just 8 miles south of Annapolis in Edgewater Maryland. The Old Stein has a traditional Biergarten to give neighbors a place to enjoy al fresco dining with friends and family. The ten German taps pour an unparalleled selection of beer. The Old Stein has been featured on "The Best Of Show" on the Food Network and has won multiple awards for the Munster Cheese & Crab Soup and the Apple Cheesecake.
The Old Stein is no run-of-the-mill chain restaurant. Diners come from all over the Mid-Atlantic (or right around the corner) to this family-owned, Maryland gem to enjoy fun, food, friends—and, or course, a cold brew in a gemütlichkeit atmosphere. Eins, Zwei, Drei, G"suffa!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
German, Gastro Pub, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Wed-Thursday 4pm to 9pm
Saturaday 4-10pm; Bar open until 11pm
Sunday NOON to 9pm

Cross Street:
just past Turkey point Road on right hand side

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 798-6807

Website:
http://www.oldstein-inn.com/

Entertainment:
The Old Stein Oktoberfest style Biergarten has become a Maryland tradition. People come—from near and far—to gather in the Biergarten and enjoy the beautiful Fall weather while drinking the best German beers and tasting the finest German cuisine. Visit the Old Stein during Oktoberfest and you"re sure to have a blast singing along to German drinking songs while sampling traditional German fare. Check our web site www.oldstein-inn.com to see when you might catch Silvia strolling with her accordian or Heidi and the Helmut Echo with their alpenhorn. Prost!

Catering:
Please contact for your specific needs.

Parking Details:
large onsite parking lot

Executive Chef:
Jason Howard

Private Party Facilities:
We have inside seating up to 64 persons and outdoor Biergarten to 120 persons

Private Party Contact:
Hostess: 4107986807x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Wurstplatte With Cheese
Wiener Schnitzel
Potato Pancakes
Gemuse Spatzle
Black Forest Salad
sauerbraten
Jaeger Schnitzel
Metzgers Leibspeise
Pork Shank
Cheese And Crab Soup
First Two Official Beers Served At The Warm Opening After The Fire
Liverwurst
Weiss Wurst Sandwich

Old Stein Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Baltimore / Maryland
Outdoor Dining
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Overall
Greater Annapolis
2 More
Best Food
Greater Annapolis
Neighborhood Gem
Greater Annapolis
Best Restaurants in Edgewater ›

great for outdoor dining (68)
good for groups (64)
neighborhood gem (61)
See All
fit for foodies (44)
special occasion (44)
kid-friendly (38)
great for lunch (15)
vibrant bar scene (8)
romantic (7)
notable wine list (6)
hot spot (5)
great for brunch (5)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
787 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious and creative dishes in a casua ...

Dined 6 days ago

Delicious and creative dishes in a casual atmosphere. Good service.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always a great, dependable place for ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

As always a great, dependable place for very good german food. One of our favorite places

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good is pretty good -- the beer list is ...

Dined 6 days ago

Good is pretty good -- the beer list is what draws us again and again, plus the outdoor dining and polite service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful German food, great beer, and m ...

Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful German food, great beer, and music to boot!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took 4 of our kids and had a wonderfu ...

Dined 7 days ago

We took 4 of our kids and had a wonderful time! Live entertainment, outdoor dining, great service...the only additional thing I could wish for was it to be free!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

We were seated 30 minutes after our rese ...

Dined 7 days ago

We were seated 30 minutes after our reservation time. The customer service still has not returned to what it was before the fire. Feels like my business is not necessary.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Love it!!! Very nice to have a place t ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Love it!!! Very nice to have a place that makes you feel like back in Germany growing up. Brings back great memories and the food is awesome.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great beer, good food, and friendly serv ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great beer, good food, and friendly service. Get a seat outside if the weather is nice.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing in every way. Outside biergarde ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Amazing in every way. Outside biergarden made us feel like we were in Germany. Top restaurant, who cares about a little drive.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Authentic ethnic cuisine, well prepared, ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Authentic ethnic cuisine, well prepared, which was confirmed by German friend who dined with us. Loved the accordionist.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

The food was great. We did have reservat ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

The food was great. We did have reservations and I would recommend that for a Saturday night. It is usually crowded. We have dined there a number of times in the past and never have been disappointed. A situation did occur after we paid our bill. The server asked us to move outside to the bar area or a table outside because they were busy and wanted to seat a party at our table. I have never had this happen before. We finished our drinks and quickly left. Upon leaving I noticed there was no one waiting. I called later and talked to the manager about the situation. She stated it was their policy to ask patrons to leave when they were done if it was busy and they had a reservation waiting. She also said the patrons with the reservation weren't there yet but we're expected soon. I won't be going back. There are far too many restaurants in the area.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Old Faithful

Dined on June 9, 2016

The Old Stein is a tired-and-true destination for German food that is really good, but really bad for you. No nouvelle cuisine here. The only distraction is the uneven service from the staff -- they appeared to be overwhelmed with the crowd, but were charming as usual.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Good Food, service not so good

Dined on June 4, 2016

The service was very slow. I believe our waitress was also bar tending. Food was good.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Night out with Friends

Dined on May 29, 2016

This was only the second time we were at the restaurant, but the food was great and our server Lauren was awesome. We will definitely be coming back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic German cuisine and beers!

Dined on May 28, 2016

Fantastic German cuisine and beers!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic ... again. Old Stein is a gem ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Fantastic ... again. Old Stein is a gem. The food is always terrific. The service is always cordial. The entire dining experience is a treat that I brag about to friends, family and folks visiting the Annapolis area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We love the Old Stein Inn; have been com ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

We love the Old Stein Inn; have been coming here for years and love sitting out in the garden. The atmosphere is always upbeat and celebratory. Great beer selection; the spaten optimator on tap is smooth and rich. They also have special monthly beer selections that are worth trying. We always start with the wurstplatte appetizer. I often order one of the old stein wursts for the main course, but this visit had one of the specials - salmon on a plank - which was moist and flavorful, and included tasty sides of spätzle and grilled asparagus. My son loves the sauerbraten and the kassler rippchenone chop (grilled smoked pork chop) is another favorite. Save room for the apple cheesecake dessert; it's delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of our favorite places for c ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

This is one of our favorite places for casual dining with fantastic food, and the beer of course! The wurst plate or the potato pancakes are great starters. Try the steak frites or the salmon if German dishes aren't your thing. But if they are, there isn't a bad choice on the menu. Try the Jagerschnitzel or, if you are really hungry, the pork shank. The meat just falls off the bone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was quite good and authentic. Servi ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Food was quite good and authentic. Service was great.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Old Stein Inn just for a nigh ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We went to Old Stein Inn just for a night out with family. We arrived early but didn't have to wait long for our table. Our waiter, Greg, was very good. Service couldn't have been any better. The food was awesome--as always.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed an impromptu night out for dinne ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Enjoyed an impromptu night out for dinner and enjoyed the food and ambiance. Wait staff were attentive and very friendly. We have eaten here before and always have a nice evening. Wine was a bit pricey for the venue.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great beer garden out standing German fo ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great beer garden out standing German food. Staff outstanding our server Abby your the best ! Recommend this place to many people everyone loves it.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Best German food I'v ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was excellent. Best German food I've found outside of Germany! The braised pork, sauerbraten, spaetzle, and homemade pretzels are to die for. Oh, and the beer, great selection. Thanks so much for a wonderful evening with friends and relatives.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for lunch on our way to Annapoli ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for lunch on our way to Annapolis and we encountered great food and service. Highly recommend!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old Stein Inn

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was fresh and excellent. The service was quick and excellent. Our server, Carrie was friendly, attentive, and a joy with a good sense of humor. Very professional as well. We enjoyed the accordion music and singing which was an added plus. The atmosphere was friendly with the typical German ambiance. Very enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Always delicious

Dined on May 7, 2016

While a bit noises, and definitely not an appropriate pick for a romantic night out, I am always very happy with both the food and the service. And, for beer lovers, their selection is very nice.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old Stein Inn

Dined on May 6, 2016

Always have a great time, food and service are great

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

We had an enjoyable evening with 2 other ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

We had an enjoyable evening with 2 other couples. Our waitress was friendly and helpful. She brought out a taste of the sauce used in the sauerbraten so we could taste it and see if it would be too spicy, which it wasn't. She was attentive throughout the evening and gave recommendations for dessert. We all enjoyed our meals. The food was excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Red Cabbage and more

Dined on May 5, 2016

At least a week in advance of our visit, I begin to salivate over the thought of red cabbage and sauerbraten. My husband always selects the smoked pork chop and enjoys the extensive beer list. The dessert, the May special, needs to be a permanent addition to the already yummy choices.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very authentic German food with an impre ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Very authentic German food with an impressive beer and wine list. Everyone had a wonderful time and we really enjoyed the variety of dishes. Something for everyone. The service was excellent, with very good attention to the customers, but not too much where they catch you with your mouth full and make a pest of themselves. The server was very knowledgeable about the different dishes and what drinks would go well with them. A little pricey for an everyday type of meal, but well worth the price. We stayed for hours and never felt rushed, even with it being a Friday night and packed. Do recommend reservations. It was a little chilly to sit in the Biergarten that night, but we noticed they did have patio heaters and, I believe, a fire pit. Will try out the Biergarten next time...and there will definitely be a next time.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service

Dined on April 29, 2016

Had a reservation for Friday night. Arrived a little early and was quickly seated in the main dining room. There was also an outside beer garden but was a little chilly so went with inside. The waiter was great, very knowledgeable and friendly. Provided some great recommendations. Beer selection was fantastic and food was delicious, from appetizer to desert. Would gladly come again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyable, but...

Dined on April 28, 2016

We live about 40 miles from this restaurant. Consequently, we have dined here only about 2 or 3 times a year for the past 5 or 6 years. We have always had excellent meals here. Tonight it was not quite up to their high standard. I can't explain exactly what was wrong, but it just wasn't as good as usual. I'm hoping it was just an off-night. We'll be back to try them again and report back then.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Service was strange

Dined on April 24, 2016

We have been to the Old Stein Inn several times and always enjoy the food, although I did not enjoy the asparagus dish I had this past time. There was little to no asparagus in it. I'm not a big German food fan anyway, but the service was terrible in that we were rushed the entire meal. No one wants to be ignored in a restaurant, but they also don't want to be interrupted by the waiter constantly. I felt like we were rushed through dinner right to dessert and then we decided to talk a while after we ate, but the waiter and two other restaurant workers kept hounding us for the check. It was VERY irritating and it wasn't because the restaurant was so crowded that they had to get people out to seat more people. There were plenty of tables. We were very disappointed in this behavior. I hope they don't do that again!!!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Germany comes to Maryland

Dined on April 23, 2016

Had a work colleague from Germany and we always talked about having a meal in Germany well I retired and we never that chance. On Saturday we met here with his family and had a great meal and a wonderful time While it may not have been in Germany it certainly felt like it. A great meal and time was had by all

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Good German Fare

Dined on April 22, 2016

We have been to The Old Stein Inn many times. We enjoyed the indoor atmosphere when it was a house. When they remodeled after a fire, the indoor part lost a lot of charm. The outdoor dining is still very pleasant. The German food and beer are what we go there for. It's not a fancy place, and is better for groups of people.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it!!

Dined on April 10, 2016

I love the Old Stein Inn! Go frequently... esp since they opened the Beir Bar!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Eating at Old a Stein Inn

Dined on April 3, 2016

Although the waitress was very attentive, the timeliness of the food was atrocious. The waitress apologized twice for the delay in delivering our entree which did not come for at least 40 minutes after our appetizer. She said a large order was put in just before us. I do not see this as an excuse. Large and small orders are coming into the kitchen all the time if the restaurant is busy.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Nice outside - kitchen was a bit backed up

Dined on April 3, 2016

This a one of our favorite places! Suspect that the sunshine brought out more people than the kitchen was staffed for and our food was a bit slow in arriving.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistent Winner

Dined on April 1, 2016

It delivers everytime! The food is great, beer fantastic, and great friendly vibe!

Tags: kid-friendly, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We just keep going back! Food is outsta ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

We just keep going back! Food is outstanding, beer is old country, Silvia can really play that squeeze box. Life is good!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.