Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.80mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

About Old Mill Toronto

The Old Mill Toronto, a unique setting, is the perfect place to celebrate that special occasion... an anniversary, birthday, engagement, a special get-together, Valentine's Day, Mother's Day - or just to say "I Love You". The original flagstone floors, beamed ceilings and glowing fireplaces create a warm and relaxed atmosphere, the perfect place for a romantic evening. * Creative fine dining and wines * Wednesday to Saturday in a historical setting * Cozy settings for your group celebrations * Sunday is Family Day with Brunch and Dinner Buffet * Savour special moments with Afternoon Tea in our Tea Room*Live Jazz every Thursday, Friday and Sarturday in our HomeSmith Bar.

21 Old Mill Road
Toronto, ON M8X 1G5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, International

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST: Monday to Saturday: 7:00am - 10:30am

BRUNCH: Sunday: 10:30am - 3:00pm

LUNCH: Monday to Friday: 12:00pm - 2:30pm Saturday: 12:00pm - 2:30pm

AFTERNOON TEA: MONDAY TO FRIDAY: 3:00PM - 5:00PM SATURDAY: 2:00PM - 4:00PM SUNDAY: 3:30PM - 5:00PM.**
**No afternoon tea every Sunday for the month of December.
**It is not possible to make afternoon tea reservations online, Please call us directly: 416 207 2020

DINNER: Wednesday to Friday: 6:00pm - 9:00pm Saturday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm Sunday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
South Kingsway and Bloor

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 207-2020

Website:
http://www.oldmilltoronto.com/

Entertainment:
Pricing:
Mon & Tue Lunch Buffet $20.95 Wed-Fri Lunch Buffet $26.95+
Sunday Brunch Buffet $34.95 +& Sunday Dinner Buffet $37.95+
Wed - Sat Evenings A La Carte Menu

Catering:
Create wonderful lasting memories in our beautifully decorated banquet rooms, many with wood burning fireplaces, picture windows and walk out patios. 300 seat landmark Dining Room opened the first day of World War 1, 1914. 16 distinctly decorated meeting & conference rooms ranging from 540 - 8,000 square feet

Parking Details:
On site parking is available.
Parking is $2.00/hour.

Public Transit:
The Old Mill Toronto is adjacent to the OLD MILL Subway Station

(OLD MILL subway station is located on the Bloor West subway line)

Executive Chef:
Martin Buehner

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
LUNCH BUFFET: Mon & Tue: $20.95 & Wed - Fri. $26.95+ (menu also available)

SATURDAY LUNCH: A la Carte menu

SUNDAY BRUNCH: $34.95+



DINNER: Wed.- Sat. evenings A la carte


SUNDAY DINNER BUFFET: $37.95+

Old Mill Toronto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (21)
Special Occasion (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
See All
Sunday Lunch (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Cozy (13)
Romantic (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Business Meals (8)
Scenic View (8)
Afternoon Tea (8)
Authentic (7)
Casual (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Healthy (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Fun (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Waterfront (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vegan (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort by
S
1338 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

Never been disappointed and I nice quiet spot for lunch. Service was terrific.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

Great evening with friends-REALLY enjoyed the food. If there was any disappointment it would be in the way people dressed when going out to a nice restaurant (slovenly).

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 30, 2017

Quaint and historical. Wonderful ambience. A great special occasion restaurant..

Tags: Cozy, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

Love the ambiance of the Old Mill. Service was fantastic! I made a note on my online reservation that it was our wedding anniversary and our waiter made it a point to acknowledge the occasion a couple of times .

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2017

This place is just awesome. The food is fantastic and well worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Everything was very good for Sunday Brunch, from the food to the service and ambience on the Terrace. We will be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Great selectiom of food, good ambiance and a favorite place for brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2017

The place was so beautiful and the brunch was just amazing. Enjoyed it Very much.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 22, 2017

An excellent lunch. Good food, good wine, good ambience. My friends were from out of town. They enjoyed it completely and will return when they come back in the new year.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 18, 2017

We meet monthly for the lunch buffet. The selection os excellent, and is well presented.

Staff members are friendly and efficient. Always worth a return visit.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

My husband and I married at Old Mill Inn two years ago, so we made reservation every year on our wedding day to celebrate it. We always choose Sunday dinner buffet, the food is fabulous and dining environment is friendly and romantic. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Great food and ambiance. Will definitely refer and will go back

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Our family went to this restaurant for the Thanksgiving buffet. The most notable thing about our experience was the chaos at the restaurant. We had reservations for 7:30 and dutifully arrived at 7:25 only to find a very long line into the restaurant. We waited more than 45 minutes before we were seated. All of the people in the line had reservations. We all waited. It seems as tho they overbooked. The ambience in the restaurant was one of an organization that is overwhelmed.

The food was good for buffet food. There was a good assortment and everything was prepared satifactorily.

The Old Mill itself, aside from the restaurant is quite nice looking. It seems like it would be a good place to begin a hike.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Wonderful Thanksgiving dinner. Staff was super pleasant.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Unfortunately there were just too many people there at the same time so the line up for food was very long. People let there children go to the chocolate fountain by themselves so chocolate is drizzled everywhere. The food ran out so you have to wait for them to bring more. Overall would never go back for thanksgiving.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

My husband and I enjoyed a delicious Sunday brunch with a large selection of dishes to choose from. Excellent atmosphere and friendly, prompt service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2017

This was a great spot for a Sunday brunch. They make your special occasions really special with a personalized dessert for the occasion you are celebrating. The staff were friendly and very attentive. The food was delicious and there was a huge variety. It probably isn't a great place for people with mobility issues as the buffet tables are quite close together. Overall it is a really nice spot.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Since we got married at your venue my husband and I decided to celebrate our 10th year wedding anniversary there with our 2 children, so we brought our special glasses and a bottle of champagne to make a special toast... However we were very disappointed when we were told that it could not to be served to us since you don't a liquor license...
We were also disappointed with the service, I asked for simple things such as coffee and milk and it took for ever for someone to bring us coffee, so I think that your service staff is in need of much improvement.
Thank you.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 12, 2017

This was a great place for a goodbye lunch for a friend going to live overseas. As always the buffet was plentiful and delicious ... no one felt rushed or pressured to leave. A lovely experience!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

I have lived in toronto for 55 years and can't believe I waited this long for my first visit. I will return for sure as everything about this place is amazing. The food selection was beyond incredible. Thanks to all for a remarkable luncheon.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

A wonderful place for friends spending time together. Had the Buffet for lunch . So any choices! We did our best but we were unable to clear even one table. Service was super but not intrusive. The building and gardens added to our time there.

I enjoyed our afternoon together and am thrilled I chose The Okd Mill to feed us.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for a Date, Cozy, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Vegan, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

Our recent visit to the Old Mill was a great disappointment. An open buffet is an outdated concept and is lazy catering. As we were dining with an older friend with mobility issues for whom walking around with a plate would be difficult, we chose to eat from the menu. What a boring unimaginative list of options. A winter soup, Caesar salad, Cobb salad, a burger, wings, fish and chips....you get the picture. This is food from the 60s. I would not eat here again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Come here often!
Food, ambience and staff can always be counted on.
Love their buffet!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

I just want to say the music was not appropriate for the ambiance and time of the day.It was not loud which was great.Other that that everything was great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Gorgeous setting. Food is great. Well organized, good quality.

Don't get me wrong, service was really good but they had some technical issues with the register and our bill took long to arrive.

Don't get me wrong, food was exquisite. Fancy by everyone's opinions, tasty, but my stomach was a bit off after (do you know what I mean?). I didn't overeat. I just ate something that tasted good, but did not sit right in my stomach.
My daughter complained separately about not feeling well (stomach ached), but did not have any bowel issues.

Despite all tempting options around, my 5 year old still ate like a mouse. Glad kids 5 and under eat free.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 23, 2017

This is the second time I went for the Sunday buffet. All the dishes are excellent. I especially liked the cold dishes. Staff is very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 16, 2017

When I made my reservation for Sunday evening I did not realize the meal would be a buffet. You need to make this clear on your website and when making a reservation on OpenTable.
We stayed anyway and the food was moderately good for a buffet. Our dinner was intended to be a romantic date, quiet and private - the atmosphere at the buffet evening was to the contrary. We loved the historic decor and character of the room and would like to return- but not for a buffet.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Celebrated our 7 year wedding anniversary. Same place we had our reception at the Old Mill. Always nice to come back. We enjoyed the Sunday brunch. It's our yearly eatery, Sunday brunch on our Anniversary.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The Old Mill has been our family's favourite dining venue for over 40 years.

On Sunday morning, it was just my wife and myself. We were coming to kick off a fun-filled day and begin to celebrate her 65th birthday; a definite milestone in one's life.

When I asked my wife early Sunday morning, "Where would you like to go for brunch?" I knew her answer would be, "The Old Mill". I wasn't disappointed by her response. There was no other choice anyway, since I had made the reservation earlier in the week.

As usual. everything at The Old Mill was fantastic. We couldn't have been more pleased.

Thank you for making my wife's special day, even better.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 6, 2017

Awesome lunch buffet, quiet elegant atmosphere. Don't bring small kids, please.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Dark and gloomy room as I remember it from 1970s.
There was not a large gathering that day in the dining room. Yet my friend and I were seated by a pillar with my chair partially in the main aisle. Why cram a table in this tiny space? One person stumbled on my chair during our stay. The chair was pulled in as much as possible to the table. Dark room, dark beams, décor.

Food was disappointing. Fish and Chips. Fish was too well done.

Too many interruptions from servers, particularly at the beginning. Such a rush.

I also am disappointed we saw no on site nod to the past history of the 1800s grist mill itself (the 1800s building integrated with the more recently built hotel), other than a plaque we saw outside.

Disappointing experience. We will not be returning.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 25, 2017

My wife and I had a lovely anniversary brunch at The Old Mill with our son. The food was excellent and the selection of breakfast items, pastries, cheeses, lunch entrees and desserts was tantalizing! We look forward to returning in the near future.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Overall I don't think we will be returning for the Brunch at Old Mill. The entire experience was very off putting from the beginning. It was our first time at Old Mill for Brunch and I guess regulars would know the line up process but since it was our first time we simply went up to the desk and said we had a reso and were treated rather rudely and told to line up...while other people were casually sitting and no formal line was created. Then we were told to stand specifically behind a table which one of the servers set up . The experience left a lot to be desired. Then When we were finally taken to our table, the table wasn't ready and tall stalks of chairs were next to the table (very unkept and unprofessional) so the same hostess left us standing in the middle of the dinning room while she went to figure out another table. She sat us next to our original table at a ready table set for 5 (we were 4) and within 5 minutes another server rudely told us we can't sit there as it's a table for 5 and had a reso and we have to move BACK to the table which wasn't ready set for 4 at which point she and two other bussers changed our seats and moved stuff around and made us move seats. Just as an FYI the two tables were the same size! Why move already seated patrons when you could simply add an extra table setting at a vacant table while you sort it out. It honestly felt like we were in the way and weren't really made to feel welcome. The pros were that the actual two servers who took over once we were seated were lovely, the coffee was delicious and the food was pretty good. But saying all that when I'm spending $200 on Brunch my expectations are higher than this. C- overall and I'm being generous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Went for Father's Day dinner buffet... Great selections of salads, cold dishes and deserts. However I was disappointed with the hot food options... I mean burgers and hot dogs do not belong in a $44 buffet, and only one soup option...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Our families have had a long association with the Old Mill beginning with our parent's 1939 wedding reception. We are pleased to see that the main dining room retains much of its original charm.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 14, 2017

My husband, my two adult daughters and myself had a weekday brunch recently which was perfect for the occasion. It was my daughters' birthdays. One of my daughters is deaf/autistic and we could tell that she enjoyed the restaurant setting and surroundings.

We have been to the Old Mill quite a few times and we enjoy the scenic atmosphere and just walking around within the building was a delight.

Thank you for your hospitality.

Tags: Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Live Music, Disabled Access, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 8, 2017

It was our 43 Anniversary. Our wedding reception June 8 1974 was at the Old Mill in the Portage room. I made this known when I made the reservation. Ours was the only table in the room without flowers. A little disappointing......

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Nice atmosphere and food, family friendly, very good service

Tags: Fun, Casual, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 4, 2017

No matter how many times specific seating requests are made in advance, the Old Mill just can't seem to get this service down. This is a consistent problem. I heard other patrons complaining of the same issue while there. We've been to The Old Mill a number of times and the one common issue is "inconsistent service". Yesterday? Not so lucky unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Food was great! Huge selection of Sunday brunch items and all items were delicious (especially the carving stations). Ambiance was great and we didn't feel rushed to eat and leave our table, restaurant is very nicely decorated. However, we were dissatisfied with the service. Ladies upon check in to our reservations were rude and unfriendly. We had booked our reservations 2 months in advance and had requested a window seat or by a fireplace. We were NOT granted this request and lady at the front check in did not go out of her way to see if there was someway to make this possible. She was rude and bluntly said that we wouldn't be seated there. We were sat at a table that was slanted and was not even set for us (had lots of extra tableware placed randomly on the table, We had to wait in the isle as the waiter quickly tried to remove tableware and set it for our group of 6). We did not enjoy sitting at this table as it would not stop wobbling. It took the waiting staff a while to change us to a different table. The waiting staff was much friendlier there, greeting us with smiles (the first smiles we saw from any staff members) and always taking away plates when finished and refilling coffee and water. We did notice however that many tables beside fireplaces remained empty for the duration of our brunch and did not understand why our request to be seated there wasn't accommodated. From an elegant place like the Old Mill, for a fine dining bunch experience, we would have expected much better service (especially for the price). The better service would have added to a more enjoyable dinning experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.