About Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort

6000 W Osceola Pkwy
Kissimmee, FL 34746
View Larger Map

Take a path through the mysterious Everglades to our rustic steakhouse retreat, Old Hickory Steakhouse. Offering charmingly sophisticated cuisine in a striking regional setting, Old Hickory Steakhouse features Certified Black Angus Beef, handcrafted artisanal cheeses and a Wine Spectator award-winning wine list. Our chefs partner with local artisans and farmers to source the finest regional products whenever available.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
West Osceola Parkway and International Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 586-1600

Website:
http://www.gaylordhotels.com/gaylord-palms/kissimmee-orlando-dining-activities/kissimmee-orlando-re

Parking Details:
Self Parking and Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
JR Morgan

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Gioia: x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (59)
romantic (43)
scenic view (24)
See All
notable wine list (20)
fit for foodies (18)
good for groups (14)
great for outdoor dining (12)
hot spot (5)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (4)
neighborhood gem (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
258 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service is outstanding, mak ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The food and service is outstanding, making the price in line with any five star restaurant. We were there to celebrate my 84th birthday and our 60th wedding anniversary. It was fantastic Thank you.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Scallops were very tasty.

Dined on May 12, 2016

Scallops were very tasty.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gem.

Dined on May 10, 2016

My expectations for hotel restaurants is generally low, but this exceeded most experiences of destination restaurants. Amazing cheese, steaks, seafood and service. One of the best experiences ever, without exception.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service4

Checking in and getting seated was lengt ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Checking in and getting seated was lengthy and chaotic. Our waiter Thomas was friendly and seemed to serve as quickly as he could considering the number of tables he had. The ribeye was tough and not at all the type you would expect for $48.00. Serious gristle and low quality, I would not grade it as "choice".

food5
ambience5
service5

Abdell, was the best waiter ever! This d ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Abdell, was the best waiter ever! This dinner was in honor of my son's undergraduate graduation and commissioning as a 2nd Lieutenant in the US Army. The waitstaff made him feel honored and appreciated. Thank you Old Hickory for an awesome experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dinner

Dined on May 5, 2016

The food and service was amazing. Definitely worth the trip. Our server was Kain and he was the best server I've ever had. Simply amazing service and the food was fantastic. We had the cheese platter to start, which was great to taste new cheeses and the flavors were amazing. Steak for dinner, which was cooked to perfection, and chocolate soufflé for dessert, which was delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner is always good! A little pricy b ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Dinner is always good! A little pricy but very good

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and great service!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Stayed at the Gaylord before and this is the second time dining at this restaurant. Just like the first time, it did not disappoint. The food is delicious and the services is spectacular. Had the steak tartare and the ribeye and it was phenominal. The new york strip was also a favorite at our table, along with the rack of lamb. Service was over the top. Would highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

High quality service. The meat is exqui ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

High quality service. The meat is exquisite. Well prepare. The service excellent. Wine list very good. The soufflé wonderful.

food5
ambience5
service5

It was such a romantic feeling for us we ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

It was such a romantic feeling for us we had a table that was off in a area with very little foot traffic. Our server was fantastic, and the steaks were of perfection. It was my wife's birthday and they brougt out a piece of blackberry cheesecake for her with happy birthday written on the plate..

food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Nice ambience high prices.

Dined on April 13, 2016

The ambience of the lobby of the Gaylord hotel is stunning. The restaurant,build as an old hickory swap house is very nice. The food is average at most. They charge you way too much when you take the quality of the food into account. The service however was excellent. Bottom line: for a really good steak or seafood find another location

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Anniversary night

Dined on April 11, 2016

Old Hickory Steakhouse was fantastic. The food was excellent, the service was phenomenal, and you cannot beat the ambiance of the Gaylord Palms! I enjoyed in the best NY Strip I've ever had! I highly recommend Old Hickory Steakhouse for anyone celebrating a special occasion such as an anniversary like us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EJP

Dined on April 10, 2016

This is the best place for a great meat lovers meal!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service! Great ambien ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Excellent food and service! Great ambience! Went with group and only ordered soup, salad and appetizers! All were great! Loved the lobster bisque and Brussels Sprouts!

food2
ambience5
service5
value2

It Ends with the Atmosphere

Dined on April 7, 2016

Overall, our first experience at this hotel and restaurant was disappointing. Arrival at front desk of hotel wasn't very accommodating, nor was check-out a pleasurable experience. Our guest room was exceedingly cold, and we could not get the A/C to warm the room. We requested additional duvet inserts. Now to the Hickory Steak House itself: hostess was very welcoming and pleasant; Lynette, our server went above and beyond; nevertheless, my fatty lamb was deplorable (I did not complain, because it was my nephew's birthday); the chocolate mousse cake and the ambiance of the restaurant was the best part of the entire dinner experience. After finishing dinner and while leaving, we walked by the kitchen area in passing; I attempted to "thank" the cooking staff with a smile, in spite of my dislike for my lamb--however, the same welcoming hostess abruptly cut me off and discourteously rushed me along. Of course we will give the hotel, as well as the restaurant, another opportunity to meet our rather simple expectations.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is amazing! Best server in the wor ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Food is amazing! Best server in the world! gotta ask for Brian!!

food4
ambience4
service2
value1

Old Hickory - Orlando

Dined on April 1, 2016

We had 10 people and were all staying at the Gaylord on vacation. We had 4 children total. We felt that the children and the fact that only 1 person drank alcohol caused us to get lesser service as we were originally assigned 2 waiters but one was reassigned. The food was pretty good, the pepper on the steak even though no topping was chosen was very spicy. The shrimp cocktail and caesar salad were delicious. The sides were a bit small but still good. Prices were pretty high which is to be expected at steakhouse but porterhouse was a bit tough while filet mignon cut like butter.

food1
ambience2
service2
value2

The steaks were very expensive and not good at all

Dined on March 31, 2016

The steaks were dried and not juicy as most good steaks. Highly disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and great food. A very un ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Great service and great food. A very unique setting for a restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Ron was very attentive. Excellent servic ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Ron was very attentive. Excellent service

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Server was to inrerested in expressing her life

Dined on March 25, 2016

I was not impressed by the service as my meal was cold and server never came to check on us.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Just ok

Dined on March 24, 2016

My husband chose this restaurant for his birthday. The dining room is lovely, the service was exceptional, the food, in my opinion, was good...not great, but good. It was WAY OVERPRICED. You want blue cheese on your $55 steak, that's another $13. I had salmon, it was dry, came with flavorless lentils, and was $37. I don't mind paying this kind of money for a unique dining experience but when I do I want the food to be phenomenal and this just wasn't. They did bring my husband a complementary dessert for his birthday, which was nice. I just wasn't impressed with the food for the price we paid. If you're staying at the resort certainly give it a try but as locals we will not be back.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great food and service

Dined on March 22, 2016

The food and service were excellent and could not have been any better. However, the least expensive champagne was $125.00. The steaks were very good but also started at 48.00. Everything was very good and really do not want to talk too much about price, but be ready for a large bill. We will come back but for only special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service

Dined on March 18, 2016

Abdel and Sally were great. Fun ambiance. Great as always

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again....

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

We returned for the 3rd year in a row with our grandchildren and family although we we were a week earlier than usual. The whole evening was outstanding- once again! I think everyone ordered the same meal as last year- they especially loved the seafood platter, the cheese cart, the dry aged steaks, and the hot soufflés! My 10 year old grandson asked that we continue the tradition for the rest of our lives - and we all agreed! The service was so fabulous - even our waiter from last year came over to say hello! We celebrated 2 birthdays with candlelight desserts- loved it all! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service4

Capital Grill prices without the Capital ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Capital Grill prices without the Capital Grill food. Caesar salad dressing thick and creamy like cheap out of the bottle style. Took a bite and sent back. My 8oz filet was closer to 4 oz and 1 oz of that was fat. Never bit into a decent filet, let alone a $53 filet, and chewed fat. Sides were ok. Mushrooms very good, brussel sprouts undercooked and hard. Don't recommend and won't go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great steaks - great atmosphere

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Most of our party had steals cooked perfectly with a variety of sauces. One had a lobster tail and it was a meal. Also many great sues to choose from. And the setting of outdoor dining while still indoors guarantees a great at atmosphere and no bugs!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The pork belly appetizer was beyond any ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

The pork belly appetizer was beyond any we have had. Sorry Barcelonetta and/or Yard House

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Not prime

Dined on February 27, 2016

My husband and I both ordered prime steaks; they were very disappointing. We eat at many high-end restaurants, and have previously enjoyed Old Hickory in Orlando as well as in Nashville. My husband's steak was very tough; mine was ok, but certainly not prime. The flavor of my steak was better than my husband's, but both were inferior to a steak from Publix (which we do not like). We grill better steaks at home, so we won't be returning to Old Hickory.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

NASSP Conference

Dined on February 26, 2016

The dining experience at Old Hickory Steakhouse was outstanding. I had the Cowboy Ribeye and it was cooked to perfection. Their wine list was very extensive and I settled on a Pinot Noir from California that enhanced the dinner quite well.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for a romantic valentines dinner. I ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Went for a romantic valentines dinner. It was fantastic. Great service, great wine, nice ambience. Very romantic. Will go there again.

food5
ambience5
service5

The steaks and breads are amazing. Worth ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The steaks and breads are amazing. Worth every dollar.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and service. We had one mi ...

Dined on February 11, 2016

Awesome food and service. We had one minor hiccup with the check it was corrected and taken care of within moments.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place.

Dined on February 8, 2016

Lennaie was my server.. great. I love the staff here. Sharon is awesome. Cheese cart was amazing as always. Solmeier was very knowledgeable and helped us pick a great wine for the cheese and meal. Filet with berbaise was killer. Great job

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time to Old Hickory. Has been on ...

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

First time to Old Hickory. Has been on our list for a very long time, so my husband made a reservation to celebrate my birthday. Did not disappoint. Will definitely return.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The GREATEST dining experience ever!

Dined on January 31, 2016

The Old Hickory Steakhouse was the BEST dining experience I have ever had. From the menu selection, to the wonderful staff, this place seriously is all about CLASS! Our server Ron, and partner Ladell, where the GREATEST and MOST KNOWLEDGEABLE staff members ever experienced. Even the Gaylord Palms Resort, that it is located at, was absolutely beautiful, and upscale! It's really no wonder why Old Hickory Steakhouse is one of Kissimmee's best kept secrets, because if you are NOT looking for the FINER things Kissimmee has to offer...you simply will not come accross it. If you want a HIGH CLASS dining experience...OLD HICKORY STEAKHOUSE!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality justifies price

Dined on January 30, 2016

This restaurant achieves first class cuisine in conjunction with excellent service and surroundings. The whole family enjoyed the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A must go when at the Gaylord Palms

Dined on January 30, 2016

Excellent place: wonderful meat cuts (high quality) for all tastes and with a vibrant selection of side dishes. Starters (tartare and pork) are a recommendation. Try the Porterhouse and the truffle fries...

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience5
service3
value1

Pleasant meal marred by inability to get it right

Dined on January 30, 2016

Pleasant meal marred by an inability to cook steak to correct temperature. It never ceases to amaze me how steak houses, who cook little else, are able to incorrectly cook a steak. Requested 8oz Fillets with minimal or no fat, I know that sometimes it's the luck of the draw and many people prefer some fat in their steak but we do not. Two out of 5 fillets were riddled with fat and one was sent back and credited. Two steaks were cooked incorrectly, one overdone and the other under. Staff handled it professionally (although management did not come to talk to us) but it soured our experience. French Onion Soup and bread was good, Chocolate Soufflé was OK but far from the best we have had elsewhere locally. Excellent ambience. Certainly not a bad experience but we felt it was overpriced due to the overall disappointing experience.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A nice steak dinner

Dined on January 27, 2016

This was a very nice meal. It is all a la carte so it ends up a little pricey. The steak was quite delicious and the chocolate souffle was excellent!

Tags: romantic

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.