About Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort

6000 W Osceola Pkwy
Kissimmee, FL 34746
View Larger Map

Take a path through the mysterious Everglades to our rustic steakhouse retreat, Old Hickory Steakhouse. Offering charmingly sophisticated cuisine in a striking regional setting, Old Hickory Steakhouse features Certified Black Angus Beef, handcrafted artisanal cheeses and a Wine Spectator award-winning wine list. Our chefs partner with local artisans and farmers to source the finest regional products whenever available.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
West Osceola Parkway and International Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 586-1600

Website:
http://www.gaylordhotels.com/gaylord-palms/kissimmee-orlando-dining-activities/kissimmee-orlando-re

Parking Details:
Self Parking and Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
JR Morgan

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Gioia: x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort
  • Chocolate Souffle
  • New York Strip
  • Shrimp Cocktail
  • Lobster Bisque
Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort
Chocolate Souffle
New York Strip
Shrimp Cocktail
Lobster Bisque

Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Romantic (34)
Good for Groups (20)
See All
Scenic View (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Late-night Find (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
297 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Hostesses messed up our reservation so w ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Hostesses messed up our reservation so we waited 45 minutes for a table of 6, when they sat us there was at least a dozen Empty tables. That was frustrating but our server and the food made it right. Wine, food were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

WE take clients as often as we can, very ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

WE take clients as often as we can, very proud of having such a great restaurant in our destination. The food is always excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful ambiance and amazing steaks. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Beautiful ambiance and amazing steaks. I would highly recommend it for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Javier offered excellent service. He we ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Javier offered excellent service. He went over and above to see that my husbands birthday celebration was outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal. Superior service and hi ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent meal. Superior service and highest quality food. Relatively expensive but overall a very nice experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent experience! We have been going ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Excellent experience! We have been going to the Old Hickory on our anniversary for 6 years now.

We love the artisan cheese selection and the steaks are by far the best around. The price point to very good. Overall the Old Hickory is an exceptional dining experience!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I ate here with some friends while stayi ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I ate here with some friends while staying at the hotel. I was pleasantly surprised. This gem will give any steakhouse a run for their money. I would say that this place is as good or better than any of the high dollar stand alone places. Next time I'm in Orlando, I will visit reguardless of my hotel choice.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must try!!! We come everything we are ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

A must try!!! We come everything we are in town! Service is top notch! Food is to die for! Steaks, roasted mushrooms and cream spinach out if this world!!

Ask to be seated with Javier!!! He is awesome!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great experience and one reason ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had a great experience and one reason was our server, Lynette. She was outstanding.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner and excellent service b ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Wonderful dinner and excellent service by Ron. It was so good that we returned a few days later and enjoyed cheese cart and wine. Love this restaurant!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Would give more stars, if available . Fo ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Would give more stars, if available .

Food service excellent!

Highly recommend .

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The cheese cart was excellent. The stea ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The cheese cart was excellent. The steak was just OK, cooked wrong and then cold in the middle when the second one came out. I would not recommend this place for steak. The sides were ok, though they were just like box sides from a grocery store. Our credit card was charged twice so the dinner was over $1,500. It took 6 calls before the problem was fixed by reversing the double charge. The billing dept never answered the phone, but I left a detailed message and they fixed it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Service was probably inside the top 1 % ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Service was probably inside the top 1 % of restaurants I've dined in. Cheese tray was Outstanding and the meal was flavorful. However the price was as extravagant as the service was good. While I expected to pay a premium I was a little disappointed in the cost. Even-though I enjoyed the meal, the price was prohibitive and it is not likely I would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Lynett our hostess was outstanding and m ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Lynett our hostess was outstanding and made an excellent meal an even more enjoyable experience.

Would highly recommend!!!!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our second time eating there. F ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our second time eating there. First was 11+ years ago when we didn't have children. Excellent food then. This time was not as good as the first. My son and I got filet suppose to be medium well and there was no pink at all. He think of himself as a food critic was very disappointed in his steak especially for the price. We should have been able to cut it with a fork however couldn't. My other son got the kids filet which was good. My husband got the Cowboy and he said it was very good. Salad and dessert we great. Next time no butterfly to our steak and cooked medium. Would eat there again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Ireallyenjoyedmyself. . Theservicewasgre ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Ireallyenjoyedmyself. . Theservicewasgreat. Kaii wasthebest, he made great suggestionsandwhen Idecidedontheshortribshe suggestedthebestwine. He knew his wines also.

Thanksfor.agreatevening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I spent the weekend at th ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My husband and I spent the weekend at the Gaylord with our two grown children and their spouses and two teenage granddaughters. We own and operate, as a family, a restaurant in Brandon FL. It was a much needed getaway!

When we had dinner at the Old Hickory on our last night, we could not have been more pleased with the food and the service (I believe her name was Sharon) was perfection. She actually turned us on to a Cabernet Sauvignon we had never tried and loved it. (in fact we now have it on our wine list!). She guided us through our meal expertly, but not hovering. Perfect! We've been there before and we will definitely come back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steaks were just ok, I expected bett ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The steaks were just ok, I expected better. Don't feel we received value for our money.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Best restaurant in Orlando. Hidden gem. ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Best restaurant in Orlando. Hidden gem. Cheese plate. Gotta get 12. 3 or 6 not enough. Fresh honeycomb. Steaks always cooked perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed our dinner experience at The ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner experience at The Old Hickory Steakhouse. The food was excellent and the staff was very attentive to our party of 4. I would highly recommend this restaurant, but share some of the portions as it is a little pricey!! They were very happy to do that for us as a 20oz. ribeye was way too much for just one of us!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I spent his 36th birthday ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

My husband and I spent his 36th birthday at the Gaylord Palms and his birthday dinner at Old Hickory Steakhouse; couldn't have picked a better spot. Ambiance, food and service were all absolutely perfect! Adelle and Javier made the birthday dinner perfect and deserve to be recognized.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Porterhouse steak ever. Ordered it ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Best Porterhouse steak ever. Ordered it Pittsburg and waitress knew exactly what I wanted. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was all great. The crab cake ha ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The food was all great. The crab cake had a lot of crab meat. My only critiques are that my lobster bisque only had 1 piece of lobster and the passion fruit ice cream that went with the creme brûlée didn't compliment it. Service was great, as was the atmosphere. It is very pricey though!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I thought the prices at the lounge were ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I thought the prices at the lounge were pricey. Conversely, I felt the prices for our dinners were on par with other fine dining restaurants we have been to. The food was excellent as were the ambience and service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What was not to like other than the pric ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

What was not to like other than the price. Everybody was great and took very good care of us. They mafethe night feel very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were not happy with the Mac and chees ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We were not happy with the Mac and cheese selection, but the steaks, salad, and mushrooms were great.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

A wonderful meal, fabulous service and a ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

A wonderful meal, fabulous service and a lovely setting. Perfect for our special occasion. Pricey but worth it

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a party of four and two out of th ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had a party of four and two out of the four steaks we ordered were great. One was a bit tough and my brother-in-laws was pretty raw even though he ordered medium. Why he didn't complain, I don't know. The waiter also forgot his soup but we all forget. He did bring it out when he was reminded.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Lobster Tail was tough. Too expensive fo ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Lobster Tail was tough. Too expensive for the ambiance. Tasted more like a fast food alternative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

I've stayed at the Gaylord Palms several ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I've stayed at the Gaylord Palms several times, but this was my first time dining at this restaurant. The service was excellent while things went smoothly. When things began to decline, the server, almost embarrassed, became scarce. I had several issues, but primarily, I have a problem when a place that specializes in steaks can't get the correct cook temperature of the steak. It took 4 attempts and almost 2 hrs to get a "medium" steak to be medium and not rare or well done. It was frustrating. My husband had finished his dinner and I was still waiting to get my steak. Also, while the flavor is there, sadly, the value is not. The steaks are not a premium cut and have a lot of grizzle. Even the filet had a little fat on it. There are no sides at all with the steak dish and it's presented as an a la carte for sides. It starts to add up and the portions are not large at all. Overall, the ambiance was nice. We sat indoor and it was a slow/quiet night. The manager was excellent and truly did make every effort to correct the situation. At this price point, I expected a flawlessly cooked steak and a pleasant experience overall. Sadly, that wasn't the case.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Service and quality of food has declined ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Service and quality of food has declined and prices have gone up in the 10 plus years we have visited Gaylord Palms. Service was OK but maybe better suited for an Outback Restaurant. Food and service used to be outstanding and that is why we went there once a year at the Dental Meeting. I can't believe they call there emplyees "Stars". Sound demeaning. No more. Capital Grill blows this place away

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

More than a pleasant experience

 
·Dined on June 10, 2016

When you first sit down you are met by a server that gets you water and takes a drink order. The busboy then brings you the bread selection (which is abundant and tasty). The steaks are great. The porterhouse was cooked to perfection (I ordered it rare +). My wife had the fillet which was also cooked perfectly. The porterhouse was seasoned with a slight touch of garlic butter that added more flavor to an otherwise flavorful steak. All in all a pleasant experience. Bring you wallet. Its around $80.00 per person with a drink and a starter. BUT don't miss it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

Excellent place...excellent location. O ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Excellent place...excellent location. Our server Brian was a pleasure!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always fantastic. Took kids tonight. The ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Always fantastic. Took kids tonight. They loved it as much as we do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Only improvement would be the sides. Mas ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Only improvement would be the sides. Mashed potatoes and mushrooms were only okay. Truffle & parm fries were excellent however.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

family group

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We had a great experience at Old Hickory. Four adults and two children . No children's menu but very accommodating to children. Best part was the delicious food and the melt-in-your mouth steak!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the Filet, it was very good, cooke ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I had the Filet, it was very good, cooked just how I wanted it (medium). Buttery mashed potatoes were delicious too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The service from Kain was exceptional wh ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The service from Kain was exceptional which matched the food. Great bottle of Chianti Classico two fantastic centre cut filets and chocolate shuffle to finish. Pricey at $230 but it was our anniversary so fine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A unique restaurant. However, with steak ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

A unique restaurant. However, with steaks priced at $65 I would describe it as being overrated and overpriced.I prefer my own grilled ribeyes.having to purchase sides at $10 plus adds insult to the injury.I will definitely order the short rib next time.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value1

The food and service is outstanding, mak ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The food and service is outstanding, making the price in line with any five star restaurant. We were there to celebrate my 84th birthday and our 60th wedding anniversary. It was fantastic Thank you.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.