About Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort

Take a path through the mysterious Everglades to our rustic steakhouse retreat, Old Hickory Steakhouse. Offering charmingly sophisticated cuisine in a striking regional setting, Old Hickory Steakhouse features Certified Black Angus Beef, handcrafted artisanal cheeses and a Wine Spectator award-winning wine list. Our chefs partner with local artisans and farmers to source the finest regional products whenever available.

6000 W Osceola Pkwy
Kissimmee, FL 34746
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
West Osceola Parkway and International Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 586-1600

Website:
http://www.gaylordhotels.com/gaylord-palms/kissimmee-orlando-dining-activities/kissimmee-orlando-re

Parking Details:
Self Parking and Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
JR Morgan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Old Hickory Steakhouse
Valentine’s Day Menu
Dinner | $222 per couple, plus tax and gratuity |Valet parking included in price

Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (35)
Special Occasion (32)
Romantic (28)
See All
Good for a Date (25)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Scenic View (19)
Worth the Drive (15)
Business Meals (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Cozy (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Seasonal (6)
People Watching (5)
Authentic (5)
Family Style (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Casual (3)
Organic (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Fireplace (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
384 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding staff and cuisine! Highly re ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Outstanding staff and cuisine! Highly recommended!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was awesome! From the time we c ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Service was awesome! From the time we came in until we left we were made to feel welcome and that our enjoyment was at the top of the list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was ok and the table service wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 9, 2017

The food was ok and the table service was adequate. We had a reservation and arrived 5 minutes before the time and were seated 40 minutes later only after approaching the podium for a second time. Would have been ok if the bartender wasn't robotic and unattentive. After paying check, never saw a server again.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Dinner was excellent. Our server did an ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Dinner was excellent. Our server did an awesome job. We were very pleased.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner! Our waitress, Sally, ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Wonderful dinner! Our waitress, Sally, was just great! She was so attentive. The food tasted so good. We split the wedge salad and each had a steak, which were too large for us to finish. We would have liked to have sampled the beautiful cheese trolley, but we didn't have room. We considered eating here the next night, but they were full. Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good staff but extremely overpriced. Sp ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good staff but extremely overpriced. Special occasion only.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

My husband and I went here for New Year' ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My husband and I went here for New Year's Eve. We had an excellent experience. My Bass was perfectly cooked and nicely seasoned with risotto that had a nice flavor. My husband's steak was outstanding. Our sides of mashed potatoes and asparagus were tasty. The service was attentive, informative and pleasant. We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was not able to eat the ribeye steak bec ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Was not able to eat the ribeye steak because it was full of gristle. My wife ordered the filet and it was fine. I was not charged for the ribeye which was, in my opinion, the right way to handle the unfortunate situation. The service was excellent and so was the rest of the food, as well as, a wonderful white sangria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

So much fun to welcome in the new year w ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 31, 2016

So much fun to welcome in the new year with special friends 🎉

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was just so so for the price po ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was just so so for the price point. My wife and I split the cowboy ribeye which we've enjoyed at another restaurant in Jacksonville FL. But the one we shared at Old Smokehouse Gaylord Palms was bland and chewy; the tomato salad thing should be taken off the menu. Oh the breadsticks needn't be served with butter since they are hard and dry. The service was excellent that was the high point of the evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Best steaks and the mashed potatoes are ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Best steaks and the mashed potatoes are awesome. Our server was amazing. Nice quiet dinner

Tags: Scenic View, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I feel that after the experience with Ju ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I feel that after the experience with Juan not only should our meal be refunded actions should be taken against him. I hope that the couple he was so rude and insulting to, also reported him that evening. I would back their story 1000%. Juan accused the couple of wanted to charge their meal to someone else's room when they asked if they could put their charges on their room. The couple responded that they would never do that and he could verify the information, he accused them of being liars. He raised his voice stating that he would not pay for the couples check if they indeed gave a wrong room number. He continued to arguing with them and walked away saying he doesn't have time for them. I felt it that Juan is extremely prejudice, since I was a table of a women with 2 children and they were a black couple. Juan was nice to the other tables in the room. One big a larger party when we first arrived and the other a family. Juan even apologized to the family for loosing his temper to the couple however he NEVER apologized to me and my girls nor the couple. I was extremely embarrassed to have had such server or should I say LACK of service and for my children to hear someone treat other customers the way in which Juan did. Juan was rude from the moment we walked in when I asked if there was any specials, he immediately said no and said what do you want. He was insulting when I asked what kind of Cab's did they offer, stating I would want the Rodney because it was cheaper. One should NEVER assume who they have a table and what that person could afford or not afford.... hans the fact I truly believe he is prejudice. He did not attend to our table and just left us there. He poured the sauce on our steaks which I asked for on the side. He never checked to see if they were good, which mine was extremely uncooked and should have been taken back. Having to leave it because I couldn't eat it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

My sister and I had Christmas Day Dinner ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 26, 2016

My sister and I had Christmas Day Dinner at the restaurant and it was lovely. We started with Wine at the bar while we waited to be seated.

Our waiter was very helpful in picking cheeses for our appetizer tray. Of course we ordered steak and it was cooked to perfection. We ended with a wonderful dessert and a memorable Christmas Day dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I food was really good but not for the p ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I food was really good but not for the price. My husband and I went for Christmas dinner. Our meal was $200 for one appetizer, 2 steaks, 2 sides, 2 desserts and two lattes. Water to drink and no alcohol. We could go to another comparable restaurant for $150.00.

We charged to the room. When we went to check out we had been charged the before we left a tip and then the after we left tip totals. The front desk corrected, but if I had not gone over the bill we would have paid $549.00 for that meal. I am disappointed in that.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our waitress was excellent & even offere ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our waitress was excellent & even offered me a shawl because I commented that it was so cold in the restaurant. Our food was very good and a very nice menu also. Wine was excellent but a bit overpriced.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Everything was fine, except that the air ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Everything was fine, except that the air conditioning seems to fall right on the restaurant. I had to wear my husband's jacket.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

My experience at Old Hickory was interes ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My experience at Old Hickory was interesting. The food and service and atmosphere was great. I only wondered when I made the reservation that the only time available close to what I wanted was at 5P.M. I wanted to eat at 6-6:30 but no tables were available. When I arrived the restaurant was empty. When I left at about 6:30P.M. it was still very empty. Couldn't understand why I was given such an early reservation.

Yes I would return for another Christmas dinner.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We stayed at the Gaylord Palms for the I ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We stayed at the Gaylord Palms for the Ice show and Christmas. Went to Old Hickory Steakhouse because it was on site. Read good reviews beforehand. Our server Brian was excellent. Very friendly, and knowledgeable. This was a one time event. Even if we stayed at the Palms again we will eat off site. The food was good, atmosphere was nice but the prices were extremely high. But like I said, this was Christmas and we treated ourselves.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good evening with very good service ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very good evening with very good service. I will defenitly love to go again

Tags: Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Dancing, Authentic, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is very original in it's ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This restaurant is very original in it's design and location. We were seated on the patio and were looking forward to a great evening. Unfortunately my wife felt ill just before dinner arrived. Our servers very quickly boxed our dinners and we brought them back to our room.

The food was excellent and my steak was the best I have ever had, that includes many fine steak houses all over this great country. It is expensive, however for a special occasion I would highly recommend it. The service was terrific!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very quiet environment - exceptional wai ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Very quiet environment - exceptional wait staff - timing and delivery of drinks, food etc...

Perfect evening

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The dry aged center cut filet was tender ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The dry aged center cut filet was tender with a mild rub, and grilled to perfection.

The chocolate soufflé was light with a rich chocolate sauce that was plenty for 2.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing. The service was gr ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The food was amazing. The service was great and the ambiance was lovely

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lot of kids.

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Lot of kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great restaurant. Little pricey. Quiet ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great restaurant. Little pricey. Quiet, great service

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. Food and service w ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Wonderful experience. Food and service was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere and service staff were be ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The atmosphere and service staff were beyond great. One of the best steaks I have had (ever) and I am an entrepreneur of food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Cozy, Authentic, Modern Decor, , Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was bad, there were so many empt ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Service was bad, there were so many empty tables in the place but still had to wait 15 minutes after my reservations time to be seated. Food is way overpriced and not that good. Will not be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Always first class, make you feel like f ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Always first class, make you feel like family and the food is amazing

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Enjoyable atmosphere. St ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Excellent food. Enjoyable atmosphere. Staff wonderful.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food just wasn't very good. The chicken ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food just wasn't very good. The chicken dish, in particular, was not tasty - Tough, stringy chicken with no flavor. The filet was OK, but I've had much better in that price range.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

We own a small company and we took our e ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We own a small company and we took our employees and their guest to Old Hickory Steakhouse for our Christmas dinner. The entire experience was AWFUL!!!!! If I could rate the food and service as less than poor, I would. The restaurant took our waiter and put him on a larger table and never gave us another waiter!!! We had to ask where our food was and by the time we got it, it was cold!!! This is supposed to be a high end steak house. We complained, but nothing was done to change our steaks or heat them! AWFUL service. We had to ask to get more drinks, and to order desert. We finally asked to speak to the manager and the only thing they were willing to do was to take off the sides and desserts!!! Our sides and desserts were not the problem, it was over a $1000 in steaks (we had a large group) that were cod that was the problem. We are not talking about just one steak that was cold, everyone had cold steaks. 2 1/2 hours later we left the restaurant. To put the icing in the cake, my husband and I asked to speak to the General Manager. She was not there but they promised to give her our name and number and she would contact us. Today is 1/1/2017. It has been almost a month and no one has called. We will NEVER go back and we are telling all our friends and family not to go there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The Food was phenomenal and the service ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The Food was phenomenal and the service was excellent!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Seemed like a Ponderosa Steakhouse setti ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Seemed like a Ponderosa Steakhouse setting in the middle of a swamp! Over rated ,over priced , and under impressive. When I want fine dining I would not chose there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

We have been to the Old Hickory 4 times ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 13, 2016

We have been to the Old Hickory 4 times over the past 3 years. Brian has always been our waiter. Brian has been on the staff now for 13 years. 5 Star waiter with a 5 star knowledge of the foods served and wine available.

The perfect evening for us and friends.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First impression was not good with hoste ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 11, 2016

First impression was not good with hostess. We called the restaurant to explain we were in the hotel and would be 15 minutes late. They said no problem. They cancelled our reservation when we did not arrive on time and then we had to wait an additional 20 minutes for our table to be ready. Once inside it was not full at all. Request table if you have large/tall men in your party, booths are tight. Now about dinner, it is a typical steakhouse menus, food was very good. Atmosphere is the best, request a table outside (even though the whole restaurant is inside). Wish I had known this as it would have added to the ambiance. Grand Marnier souffle was wonderful. We had 2 table sides and they were enough for 4 people.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

All dishes we had were properly done and ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 11, 2016

All dishes we had were properly done and had very good taste. Our server was excellent and helped put the meal over the top for us. He was extremely knowledgeable about food prep, and his suggestion on how to cook the well-marbled ribeye (medium instead of our usual medium rare) was 100% correct. The steak was tender, juicy, and NOT overdone as we would have feared with a medium-cooking choice.

Tags: Disabled Access, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very pricey- limited entrees-sat out on ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Very pricey- limited entrees-sat out on porch which was nice-filet over $60!!!- ordered burgers for $18-drinks were delicious- lobster bisque was fantastic. Would go again if I win the lottery.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Old Hickory Steakhouse is always outstan ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Old Hickory Steakhouse is always outstanding. The service is detailed, well timed and friendly. One of my favorite things is the cheese cart. Cheese may seem simple, but the options they offer are very different then your everyday cheese selection. Pairing it with local honeycomb is delicious. I highly recommend this. Steaks are done to melt in your mouth perfection. They offer a variety of sauces as well, although they are not needed as the steak has wonderful flavor all on its own. Nice wine list and a beautiful atmosphere. We always ask to dine 'outside' on the deck so we really feel like we are in some exotic place. Dining here is an experience, and one I think should not be missed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating my birthday and Chri ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We were celebrating my birthday and Christmas, we were shocked when we had seen the menu and prices. Family wanted to go to a steak house but had no Idea that it was going to be very pricey and very few things on the menu that we liked. My husband had very bad Indigestion after eating what he had ordered told the waiter no mushrooms or sauce on his meat but came out with it on his dish, didn't have much time because we had reservations for a show so he pushed the mushrooms and sauce off as much as he could. While we eating a family came in sat for a few minutes and left my husband asked if they were ok they said nothing on the menu was good and there was nothing really for the kids. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.