About Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort

6000 W Osceola Pkwy
Kissimmee, FL 34746
View Larger Map

Take a path through the mysterious Everglades to our rustic steakhouse retreat, Old Hickory Steakhouse. Offering charmingly sophisticated cuisine in a striking regional setting, Old Hickory Steakhouse features Certified Black Angus Beef, handcrafted artisanal cheeses and a Wine Spectator award-winning wine list. Our chefs partner with local artisans and farmers to source the finest regional products whenever available.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
West Osceola Parkway and International Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 586-1600

Website:
http://www.gaylordhotels.com/gaylord-palms/kissimmee-orlando-dining-activities/kissimmee-orlando-re

Parking Details:
Self Parking and Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
JR Morgan

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Gioia: x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort, Kissimmee, FL
  • Chocolate Souffle - Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort, Kissimmee, FL
  • New York Strip - Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort, Kissimmee, FL
  • Shrimp Cocktail - Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort, Kissimmee, FL
  • Lobster Bisque - Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort, Kissimmee, FL
Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort, Kissimmee, FL
Chocolate Souffle - Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort, Kissimmee, FL
New York Strip - Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort, Kissimmee, FL
Shrimp Cocktail - Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort, Kissimmee, FL
Lobster Bisque - Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort, Kissimmee, FL

Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Orlando / Central Florida East
Best Ambiance
Orlando
Romantic
Orlando
1 More
Steakhouse
Orlando
Best Restaurants in Kissimmee ›

Special Occasion (24)
Romantic (18)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Business Meals (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Scenic View (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Cozy (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fun (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Historic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Authentic (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
332 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Lobster Bisque was lacking flavor an ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The Lobster Bisque was lacking flavor and was runny. The French Onion Soup did not have any onion pieces in it. They Bacon and Brussel Sprouts had 1 inch junks of Bacon... the flavor was not dispersed through the brussel sprouts. The Steaks were excellent and served exactly as ordered.No comment on the Grand Marnier Souffle as the waiter forgot to place the order that was given before ordering any appetizer to allow time for cooking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Once again we were very pleased with our ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Once again we were very pleased with our experience. Brian was a knowledgeable server and our friends were there for the first time and loved it as well. Food was amazing and the feeling of being outside without all of the elements makes this a fun unique place to enjoy your dining experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was cold when served and had to be ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Food was cold when served and had to be re-fired and recooked. Waiter was great and food actually tasted good. Just expensive for what we got.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

For such a high end and expensive restau ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 20, 2016

For such a high end and expensive restaurant I was surprised they could not deliver all entrees at the same time for a table of four.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

Steaks cooked to perfection, excellent w ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Steaks cooked to perfection, excellent wine selection. Sides a la carte served family style. Great for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I stayed at a Gaylord Pal ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 17, 2016

My husband and I stayed at a Gaylord Palme for our wedding anniversary. The old hickory steakhouse was recommended by a friend. We were extremely pleased with the service, the steak was absolutely amazing (one if the best I have ever eaten) and the relaxing atmosphere on the back patio was the icing on the cake. A special thank you to our waiter - he was extremely pleasant and cordial

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated in a small room which was ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We were seated in a small room which was very loud with two other large tables. We asked to be moved to a quieter room as this is Avery expensive place and we wanted to enjoy our meal. They were eventually able to accomodate us but it took a while. Other than that a nice experience

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Our waiter, Brian, was amazing. He was w ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our waiter, Brian, was amazing. He was well versed in the menu - he introduced us to the best cheeses. He recommended great compliments to our main entrees. Very attentive but let us enjoy the wonderful meal. We both had steak and we wished we could've eaten more but we were so full!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a reservation for 5 people howeve ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We had a reservation for 5 people however, when we arrived, it appeared they were not ready for us. We waited about 7-8 minutes before we were taken to a table for 8 people. Upon arriving at the table, the extra place setting were removed. The table was way to large for our group. The lighting was horrible and some of our group at to use cell phone lights to see the menu. The service was slow and the restaurant was not busy. 4 of the 5 people ordered steaks. We were never asked to cut into our steaks to see if the temperature was satisfactory. This is standard in a nice steak restaurant. The waiter never came back to inquire how our meal was. The couple next to us was very loud and describing what they were going to do when they got back to the bed in the hotel room after dinner. This was very disrupting. With all the empty seating in the restaurant, patrons could have been spread out. Maybe this couple should have gotten room services. We have another business meeting at the Gaylord in January and probably will NOT eat at the Old Hickory Steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Food was excellent. Our server, Cain, w ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was excellent. Our server, Cain, was exceptional! Wonderful experience. We were celebrating our 1st wedding anniversary and they brought us out a dessert dish on the house.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was excellent, just unfortuna ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Everything was excellent, just unfortunate the prices are exceptionally high especially the wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

For the price, the food could have been ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 5, 2016

For the price, the food could have been better. We did love the atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was delicious and our waiter Javier ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was delicious and our waiter Javier was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

A tad overpriced even at the outstanding ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 3, 2016

A tad overpriced even at the outstanding quality level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Could be the best meal I've ever eaten i ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Could be the best meal I've ever eaten in my life. Just amazing!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything as great from the time we ent ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Everything as great from the time we enter til the time we left

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server Sally was wonderful food was ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Our server Sally was wonderful food was well prepared and presented beautifully little expensive but still a wonderful dinner

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent steak. It lived up to my expe ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Excellent steak. It lived up to my expectations. The mashed potatoes were excellent also. Enjoyed the ginger beer - love it. Wait staff were attentive and informative. Perfect business dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not enough diabetic choices. Too many c ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Not enough diabetic choices. Too many cream sauces, not enough salad choices. Should have an option to add chicken or shrimp to a larger salad, things like that. I am only saying, add another salad and less cream sauces or let them be 'on the side'.

My chicken breast over the small veggies was good but chicken was cooked too much.

I will go again if at your hotel. I live in California!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Our meal was good but not excellent cons ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Our meal was good but not excellent considering the prices. We actually enjoyed the hotel buffet, Villa de Flora, over the Old Hickory Steakhouse.

Service was good but we were seated by the kitchen so we kept hearing the staff slinging food around and yelling.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Old Hickory Steakhouse never disappoints ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Old Hickory Steakhouse never disappoints! The service and food are always 5 star. Anytime we plan to be in Orlando, we always make time to go to here for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was great. Server was very atte ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Service was great. Server was very attentive and pleasant. It was our anniversary and we had a delicious chocolate dessert. We plan on coming back very soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food, excellent steak, excelle ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Excellent food, excellent steak, excellent wait staff - our server Lanette was sweet as could be and very attentive!! We loved everything about our dinner at Old Hickory!!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Without any notification the restaurant ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Without any notification the restaurant closed and did not inform me

Very embarrassing to say the least as this was an important dinner meeting and my party of 8 had to find transportation and an alternate restaurant

The restaurant is located in a hotel complex and we were told they decided to close due to low occupancy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We went for our anniversary and we're no ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We went for our anniversary and we're not disappointed. The staff was attentive, but not the point of being bothersome. The attitude of ALL the staff (waiter, bartender, others) were of the highest caliber. The food from presentation to taste was excellent. I definitely recommend them as a go place specially for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a fan of large portions for multiple ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Not a fan of large portions for multiple people. Not appropriate for fine dining. No Baked potato at a steak house? Sent back steak twice to continue cooking. Gave up after second time and ate around edges. Not your best effort.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Perfect service, fantastic food! Beautif ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Perfect service, fantastic food! Beautiful surroundings! Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of the steaks and salad was ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 27, 2016

The quality of the steaks and salad was quite low. Especially the steaks ... for the price it should be prime beef, it definitely was just choice. Also our steaks were not cooked correctly. Ingredients and preparation need to improve.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

Great foot, steak cooked perfect.

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great foot, steak cooked perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my third visit to a Hickory Ste ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 20, 2016

This was my third visit to a Hickory Steakhouse in a Gaylord hotel and it did not disappoint! Service was attentive and balanced -- very smooth without interruptions of conversation but the water and wine glasses were appropriately refilled. Steak was OUTSTANDING in terms of texture, taste, temperature and preparation. Sides were also very, very good we had the asparagus, mushrooms and potatoes. They did not disappoint. Great overall experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, waited almost 2 hou ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was excellent, waited almost 2 hours for it though, I won't go again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Exelent Services kind and friendly !!!! ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Exelent Services kind and friendly !!!! Take his time to explaint the way our Food Was make it and also very parientes with the kids

Tags: Comfort Food, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, very polite staff, great ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Wonderful food, very polite staff, great ambiance, even the gluten free rolls didnt taste dried out like most gf breads

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Late-night Find, Fun, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stayed at the Gaylord Palms and dined ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We stayed at the Gaylord Palms and dined at Old Hickory Steakhouse for our 50th wedding anniversary. Our waiter was excellent - I wish I could remember his name. Such a pleasant dining experience - not rushed. Our entree was short ribs of beef which was delicious. We mentioned that we were celebrating our anniversary and our waiter brought us a dessert to share with Happy Anniversary written on the plate. A very nice gesture from Old Hickory and disappointingly, one that we did not receive from the Gaylord Palms although we did mention we were celebrating a special anniversary. We have heard conflicting reviews about Old Hickory but our experience was excellent and we would definitely return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hostesses messed up our reservation so w ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Hostesses messed up our reservation so we waited 45 minutes for a table of 6, when they sat us there was at least a dozen Empty tables. That was frustrating but our server and the food made it right. Wine, food were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

wonderful dinner wait staff was exceptio ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 18, 2016

wonderful dinner wait staff was exceptional food was great a bit pricy but it was worth it

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE take clients as often as we can, very ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 9, 2016

WE take clients as often as we can, very proud of having such a great restaurant in our destination. The food is always excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful ambiance and amazing steaks. ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Beautiful ambiance and amazing steaks. I would highly recommend it for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Javier offered excellent service. He we ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Javier offered excellent service. He went over and above to see that my husbands birthday celebration was outstanding.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal. Superior service and hi ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent meal. Superior service and highest quality food. Relatively expensive but overall a very nice experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.