About Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort

6000 W Osceola Pkwy
Kissimmee, FL 34746
View Larger Map

Take a path through the mysterious Everglades to our rustic steakhouse retreat, Old Hickory Steakhouse. Offering charmingly sophisticated cuisine in a striking regional setting, Old Hickory Steakhouse features Certified Black Angus Beef, handcrafted artisanal cheeses and a Wine Spectator award-winning wine list. Our chefs partner with local artisans and farmers to source the finest regional products whenever available.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
West Osceola Parkway and International Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 586-1600

Website:
http://www.gaylordhotels.com/gaylord-palms/kissimmee-orlando-dining-activities/kissimmee-orlando-re

Parking Details:
Self Parking and Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
JR Morgan

Private Party Contact:
Melissa Gioia: x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort
  • Chocolate Souffle
  • New York Strip
  • Shrimp Cocktail
  • Lobster Bisque
Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort
Chocolate Souffle
New York Strip
Shrimp Cocktail
Lobster Bisque

Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (42)
romantic (30)
scenic view (22)
See All
good for groups (22)
fit for foodies (21)
notable wine list (17)
great for outdoor dining (13)
neighborhood gem (6)
kid-friendly (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
hot spot (2)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
282 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lynett our hostess was outstanding and m ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Lynett our hostess was outstanding and made an excellent meal an even more enjoyable experience.

Would highly recommend!!!!!!!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was our second time eating there. F ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our second time eating there. First was 11+ years ago when we didn't have children. Excellent food then. This time was not as good as the first. My son and I got filet suppose to be medium well and there was no pink at all. He think of himself as a food critic was very disappointed in his steak especially for the price. We should have been able to cut it with a fork however couldn't. My other son got the kids filet which was good. My husband got the Cowboy and he said it was very good. Salad and dessert we great. Next time no butterfly to our steak and cooked medium. Would eat there again.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Ireallyenjoyedmyself. . Theservicewasgre ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Ireallyenjoyedmyself. . Theservicewasgreat. Kaii wasthebest, he made great suggestionsandwhen Idecidedontheshortribshe suggestedthebestwine. He knew his wines also.

Thanksfor.agreatevening.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I spent the weekend at th ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My husband and I spent the weekend at the Gaylord with our two grown children and their spouses and two teenage granddaughters. We own and operate, as a family, a restaurant in Brandon FL. It was a much needed getaway!

When we had dinner at the Old Hickory on our last night, we could not have been more pleased with the food and the service (I believe her name was Sharon) was perfection. She actually turned us on to a Cabernet Sauvignon we had never tried and loved it. (in fact we now have it on our wine list!). She guided us through our meal expertly, but not hovering. Perfect! We've been there before and we will definitely come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steaks were just ok, I expected bett ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The steaks were just ok, I expected better. Don't feel we received value for our money.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We enjoyed our dinner experience at The ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner experience at The Old Hickory Steakhouse. The food was excellent and the staff was very attentive to our party of 4. I would highly recommend this restaurant, but share some of the portions as it is a little pricey!! They were very happy to do that for us as a 20oz. ribeye was way too much for just one of us!!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I spent his 36th birthday ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

My husband and I spent his 36th birthday at the Gaylord Palms and his birthday dinner at Old Hickory Steakhouse; couldn't have picked a better spot. Ambiance, food and service were all absolutely perfect! Adelle and Javier made the birthday dinner perfect and deserve to be recognized.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Porterhouse steak ever. Ordered it ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Best Porterhouse steak ever. Ordered it Pittsburg and waitress knew exactly what I wanted. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was all great. The crab cake ha ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The food was all great. The crab cake had a lot of crab meat. My only critiques are that my lobster bisque only had 1 piece of lobster and the passion fruit ice cream that went with the creme brûlée didn't compliment it. Service was great, as was the atmosphere. It is very pricey though!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I thought the prices at the lounge were ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I thought the prices at the lounge were pricey. Conversely, I felt the prices for our dinners were on par with other fine dining restaurants we have been to. The food was excellent as were the ambience and service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What was not to like other than the pric ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

What was not to like other than the price. Everybody was great and took very good care of us. They mafethe night feel very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were not happy with the Mac and chees ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We were not happy with the Mac and cheese selection, but the steaks, salad, and mushrooms were great.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

A wonderful meal, fabulous service and a ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

A wonderful meal, fabulous service and a lovely setting. Perfect for our special occasion. Pricey but worth it

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a party of four and two out of th ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We had a party of four and two out of the four steaks we ordered were great. One was a bit tough and my brother-in-laws was pretty raw even though he ordered medium. Why he didn't complain, I don't know. The waiter also forgot his soup but we all forget. He did bring it out when he was reminded.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Lobster Tail was tough. Too expensive fo ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Lobster Tail was tough. Too expensive for the ambiance. Tasted more like a fast food alternative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

I've stayed at the Gaylord Palms several ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I've stayed at the Gaylord Palms several times, but this was my first time dining at this restaurant. The service was excellent while things went smoothly. When things began to decline, the server, almost embarrassed, became scarce. I had several issues, but primarily, I have a problem when a place that specializes in steaks can't get the correct cook temperature of the steak. It took 4 attempts and almost 2 hrs to get a "medium" steak to be medium and not rare or well done. It was frustrating. My husband had finished his dinner and I was still waiting to get my steak. Also, while the flavor is there, sadly, the value is not. The steaks are not a premium cut and have a lot of grizzle. Even the filet had a little fat on it. There are no sides at all with the steak dish and it's presented as an a la carte for sides. It starts to add up and the portions are not large at all. Overall, the ambiance was nice. We sat indoor and it was a slow/quiet night. The manager was excellent and truly did make every effort to correct the situation. At this price point, I expected a flawlessly cooked steak and a pleasant experience overall. Sadly, that wasn't the case.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Service and quality of food has declined ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Service and quality of food has declined and prices have gone up in the 10 plus years we have visited Gaylord Palms. Service was OK but maybe better suited for an Outback Restaurant. Food and service used to be outstanding and that is why we went there once a year at the Dental Meeting. I can't believe they call there emplyees "Stars". Sound demeaning. No more. Capital Grill blows this place away

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

More than a pleasant experience

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

When you first sit down you are met by a server that gets you water and takes a drink order. The busboy then brings you the bread selection (which is abundant and tasty). The steaks are great. The porterhouse was cooked to perfection (I ordered it rare +). My wife had the fillet which was also cooked perfectly. The porterhouse was seasoned with a slight touch of garlic butter that added more flavor to an otherwise flavorful steak. All in all a pleasant experience. Bring you wallet. Its around $80.00 per person with a drink and a starter. BUT don't miss it.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value1

Excellent place...excellent location. O ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Excellent place...excellent location. Our server Brian was a pleasure!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Only improvement would be the sides. Mas ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Only improvement would be the sides. Mashed potatoes and mushrooms were only okay. Truffle & parm fries were excellent however.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

family group

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We had a great experience at Old Hickory. Four adults and two children . No children's menu but very accommodating to children. Best part was the delicious food and the melt-in-your mouth steak!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the Filet, it was very good, cooke ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

I had the Filet, it was very good, cooked just how I wanted it (medium). Buttery mashed potatoes were delicious too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The service from Kain was exceptional wh ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The service from Kain was exceptional which matched the food. Great bottle of Chianti Classico two fantastic centre cut filets and chocolate shuffle to finish. Pricey at $230 but it was our anniversary so fine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A unique restaurant. However, with steak ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

A unique restaurant. However, with steaks priced at $65 I would describe it as being overrated and overpriced.I prefer my own grilled ribeyes.having to purchase sides at $10 plus adds insult to the injury.I will definitely order the short rib next time.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value1

The food and service is outstanding, mak ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The food and service is outstanding, making the price in line with any five star restaurant. We were there to celebrate my 84th birthday and our 60th wedding anniversary. It was fantastic Thank you.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scallops were very tasty.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Scallops were very tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Gem.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

My expectations for hotel restaurants is generally low, but this exceeded most experiences of destination restaurants. Amazing cheese, steaks, seafood and service. One of the best experiences ever, without exception.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Checking in and getting seated was lengt ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Checking in and getting seated was lengthy and chaotic. Our waiter Thomas was friendly and seemed to serve as quickly as he could considering the number of tables he had. The ribeye was tough and not at all the type you would expect for $48.00. Serious gristle and low quality, I would not grade it as "choice".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Abdell, was the best waiter ever! This d ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Abdell, was the best waiter ever! This dinner was in honor of my son's undergraduate graduation and commissioning as a 2nd Lieutenant in the US Army. The waitstaff made him feel honored and appreciated. Thank you Old Hickory for an awesome experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing dinner

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

The food and service was amazing. Definitely worth the trip. Our server was Kain and he was the best server I've ever had. Simply amazing service and the food was fantastic. We had the cheese platter to start, which was great to taste new cheeses and the flavors were amazing. Steak for dinner, which was cooked to perfection, and chocolate soufflé for dessert, which was delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner is always good! A little pricy b ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Dinner is always good! A little pricy but very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and great service!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Stayed at the Gaylord before and this is the second time dining at this restaurant. Just like the first time, it did not disappoint. The food is delicious and the services is spectacular. Had the steak tartare and the ribeye and it was phenominal. The new york strip was also a favorite at our table, along with the rack of lamb. Service was over the top. Would highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High quality service. The meat is exqui ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

High quality service. The meat is exquisite. Well prepare. The service excellent. Wine list very good. The soufflé wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

It was such a romantic feeling for us we ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

It was such a romantic feeling for us we had a table that was off in a area with very little foot traffic. Our server was fantastic, and the steaks were of perfection. It was my wife's birthday and they brougt out a piece of blackberry cheesecake for her with happy birthday written on the plate..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice ambience high prices.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

The ambience of the lobby of the Gaylord hotel is stunning. The restaurant,build as an old hickory swap house is very nice. The food is average at most. They charge you way too much when you take the quality of the food into account.

The service however was excellent. Bottom line: for a really good steak or seafood find another location

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Excellent Anniversary night

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Old Hickory Steakhouse was fantastic. The food was excellent, the service was phenomenal, and you cannot beat the ambiance of the Gaylord Palms! I enjoyed in the best NY Strip I've ever had! I highly recommend Old Hickory Steakhouse for anyone celebrating a special occasion such as an anniversary like us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EJP

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

This is the best place for a great meat lovers meal!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service! Great ambien ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Excellent food and service! Great ambience! Went with group and only ordered soup, salad and appetizers! All were great! Loved the lobster bisque and Brussels Sprouts!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It Ends with the Atmosphere

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Overall, our first experience at this hotel and restaurant was disappointing. Arrival at front desk of hotel wasn't very accommodating, nor was check-out a pleasurable experience. Our guest room was exceedingly cold, and we could not get the A/C to warm the room. We requested additional duvet inserts.

Now to the Hickory Steak House itself: hostess was very welcoming and pleasant; Lynette, our server went above and beyond; nevertheless, my fatty lamb was deplorable (I did not complain, because it was my nephew's birthday); the chocolate mousse cake and the ambiance of the restaurant was the best part of the entire dinner experience.

After finishing dinner and while leaving, we walked by the kitchen area in passing; I attempted to "thank" the cooking staff with a smile, in spite of my dislike for my lamb--however, the same welcoming hostess abruptly cut me off and discourteously rushed me along.

Of course we will give the hotel, as well as the restaurant, another opportunity to meet our rather simple expectations.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Food is amazing! Best server in the wor ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Food is amazing! Best server in the world! gotta ask for Brian!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.