Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

About Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort

Take a path through the mysterious Everglades to our rustic steakhouse retreat, Old Hickory Steakhouse. Offering charmingly sophisticated cuisine in a striking regional setting, Old Hickory Steakhouse features Certified Black Angus Beef, handcrafted artisanal cheeses and a Wine Spectator award-winning wine list. Our chefs partner with local artisans and farmers to source the finest regional products whenever available.

6000 W Osceola Pkwy
Kissimmee, FL 34746
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
West Osceola Parkway and International Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 586-1600

Website:
http://www.gaylordhotels.com/gaylord-palms/kissimmee-orlando-dining-activities/kissimmee-orlando-re

Parking Details:
Self Parking and Valet Parking; validated following dinner.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.6

noise

Quiet

73% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Romantic (15)
Business Meals (12)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Scenic View (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Casual (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Authentic (4)
Cozy (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Waterfront (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
480 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

My husband and I have taken our kids here in the past and had fabulous food and a wonderful experience. The waiter was so kind and attentive, the atmosphere was so unique and the food was delicious. We couldn't wait to go again. We wanted to share that experience with more of our family members. The second experience was nothing like the first time, and left me feeling like I wish we hadn't come again. The steak was severely undercooked, the waiter wasn't around to check on us often enough and didn't seem to care when he did come to the table. He never brought the cheese cart out to ask us which cheeses we would like on the cheese platter, but instead chose the cheeses for us, which I did not appreciate.

I was embarrassed that we brought our family here and completely disappointed in my meal and the fact that I wasn't able to eat along with my family as my steak had to be sent back. When it came back to the table, it still wasn't done, but the rest of the family had already finished eating. It surprised me to get such a poorly prepared steak when we had no problems the previous time.

It saddens me to say that not only do I not look forward to another meal here, but I would not recommend this restaurant based on the inconsistency in service and food preparation.

Cordially,

Kris Wachter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The NY strip was the best I've ever tasted by far. It was much better than some filet I've eaten at decent restaurants. The server was excellent and the lobster bisque was very tasty. The restaurant itself is a bit unusual, trying to put a fine dinning steakhouse set in an old everglades theme. However I doubt you will find a similar place anywhere in the US.

Now the only real downside. In a nice hotel I knew the prices would be high but the restaurants at the Gaylord are a bit ridiculous. Markup prices 10-15% not 25-30%. One of the restaurants actually wanted $8.00 for a strawberry lemonade. The cost for a family of 4, kids are very small ages 6 and 7 and weigh about 40 lbs, was $145 which did include tip. This did not include any alcohol or desserts and kids just split a shareable plate of mac'n cheese.

Conclusion, if you have money to burn enjoy a great server and very very good food. If you are like the majority of the middle class take out a loan or go to the sports bar restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The service was great outlet waiter Tom was superb and is very detailed . My main complaint was that the steak that's supposed to be the best ribeye ($65) they have tasted like a ribeye from Longhorn.
All ribeye lovers go with the filet at this restaurant, other than that everything was pretty good . Oh and it's pricey so go ready to spend $$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The food was horrible! Anything we ordered. The shrimp cocktail- it was frozen and mushy put on ice. Disgusting!
The steak, we ordered medium and came like sof, steamed, no crust, no taste like st steak whatsoever. Muschrooms were full size and black, no taste, so was asparagus.
I would never recommend this place to anyone!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Enjoyed our meal. Disappointed that they didn’t do anything for my husband’s birthday, which they knew we were celebrating.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent ambiance,great food, prime Delmonico steak was amazing

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 12, 2017

One of our favorite steak places in Orlando! The food and service NEVER disappoint! Our server Sally was the absolute best!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Everything tasted so delicious. We sampled the filet, NY Strip, mac and cheese, Brussels sprouts and cheese grits. Enjoyed a bottle of Rapasso as well. Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Wow! Best meal and service I have ever had. Our server Kyan(sp) was personable and very good st his job. We started with the cheese platter. Our server brought a huge cart of cheeses and explained each type and then we chose 3 cheeses with honey, guava paste and figs. It was perfect for sharing. We then ordered the wedge salad which was outstanding. Not as large as other restaurants. Perfect size For my entree I ordered the cowboy ribeye medium rare Cooked to perfection. Lots of marbling and so flavorful.. my husband had the fillet medium well and prepared to his specifications exactly. Sides are for sharing so we had the creamed corn and mashed potatoes. Because it was our 25th anniversary our server prepared a beautiful chocolate soufflé which was beautiful, delicious and on the house
I would definitely return here when we stay at the gaylord palms again but please not, it's pricey. Our bill was 250.00
Very high end steakhouse

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 8, 2017

I have to say I was deeply disappointed in this place. While it was not my first time here it will be my last! Before writing this bad review I did give the hotel and restaurant a chance to rectify the matter. However they failed! I had reservations for 8 for my birthday. Before my guests arrived the hostess was very snarky with me when I asked if my table was set up she advised they do not start that until all guests arrive. So me and one of my other early guests went to wait in the bar area. When we sat down we immediately had a dark brown sticky substance quickly stick to our arms and clothes. Apparently it was deep dark wood stain that was on ALL the tables. Whomever applied it forgot to perhaps rub it in and let it dry? It left deep long brown stains down my arms and hands and sadly new white jacket. The manager stood there and did not aid me despite my inability to move. The sweet bar did help with a water rag that did not work to get the ugly stains off. She took me to the restroom for soap that didn't work either. I scrubbed til I was red & raw but it still remained. No apology nor did the manager check on me! Then about 15 mins after reservation time & 45 minutes there the table was still not set up. The hostess ignored me despite my request to be sat ASAP: not going back into the bar where the tables are sticky! A waiter stood up for me and set the table & he seemed to be the only helpful attitude. A waitress however took my soup after only two bites and we were rushed the whole time despite the restaurant not being packed! My rice was crunchy & it took so long for the food to come out. Other than a good waiter & bar back that rushed to my aid. everyone else at this restaurant was just terrible to me. The next day I took my stained jacket to the Concierge Alana, she said it would be dry cleaned and mailed to me. Well a few weeks now and the Jacket is missing an no further call of apology or to offer to replace it. My yearly stay ends now!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2017

When we visited Orlando we enjoyed a family dinner at the Old Hickory steakhouse. Our food and service was great. The filet and manhattan cut sirloin steak entrees were excellent. Sharon our server provided attentive and friendly service. The wine and cocktails were good as well. The location within the Gaylord Palms was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great service and good. Shout out to Nick, Adell & Sally for making a great evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Dining at the Old Hickory was a delightful experience starting with a visit to their bar. The bar person, Tianna was absolutely wonderful, great sense of humor, and a joy to talk to. She found out it was my Birthday and let our waiter know so I could get a "free" dessert. She started the night on a high note. Our waiter was also terrific. Highly knowledgeable about the menu and his recommendations were spot on. We were undecided on whether to choose macaroni and cheese or cream spinach so he brought us a half order of each. We had the steak tartare and the filet mignon and they were both outstanding. And, yes, he did bring the "free' dessert. A great Birthday evening

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Very accommodating restaurant. Food and ambiance was wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

I enjoyed the way you feel like you are dining outside but actually you are in a beautiful atrium. Our steaks were outstanding along with the service. They even have decent value for bottles of wine which is not common for a nice steak house. I love this hotel and this restaurant only adds to the stay.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Our experience started off with a visit to the before our reservation where a service was quick but unfriendly. We were seated on time and quickly greeted by our server but the rest went down hill from there. It took close to 3 hours to finish dinner and half of the meals were served incorrectly, (one person got my steak, I got theirs situation). We were there for business so no one complained we just suffered through and no one asked how the meal was until the end. After dinner we went back to the bar where our party was asked to be quiet several times as to not ruin the other patrons dining experience. The staff was very rude, they seemed understaffed and unappreciative of our patronage. The manager apologized only after being confronted but the damage was done. I wouldn't recommend this "overpriced, under delivered" steakhouse

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 24, 2017

It was a lovely dinner all around. We got a reasonably priced bottle of wine, appetizer, salad and entree. We had the shrimp cocktail, he had the Cesar and I loved my lobster bisque. We both got the 8 oz filet. Mine was over cooked but my husband and I ended up splitting each so I didn't send it back. It was delicious, even the over cooked one! We got the mashed potatoes to share and they were delicious but pretty runny. We had soufflé for dessert and I wished I had room to eat it all!
Cheryl was our server and she was amazing. Really, really great. There was beautiful ambiance and it was a delightful experience. Also, if you eat in this restaurant they comp your valet parking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Everything was fine until the vallet misplaced our car and we had to wait 20 minutes for it before we could leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Delicious food. Absolutely best steak and sauces on side. Definitely Worth the higher price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Nice place...but they have you captive and charge way too much for what you get. You can tell that they assume most will be on expense account.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Steak was cooked at too low of temperature, almost steamed no crust.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We were a bit disappointed in the steakhouse. I had made reservations and let them know it was our 27th anniversary. They didn't so much as wish us happy anniversary! We had been to Moor for our anniversary and they went out of their way to make it a special night. Not so much here.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We all had an excellent dinner. Our server, Brian, was terrific. We were celebrating a birthday and had a very enjoyable time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The service was excellent, the kitchen was slow. The food was delicious. The value of the meal was about right. I'd refer others for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

My party of six did not have a good experience overall.
Started out great with seafood tower, cheese and wine. Went down hill after that. It was approx. 1 hr until our meals arrived.
Server disappeared during this period. Ran out of wine, 3 of six meals were cold 2 steaks weren't cooked correctly. Spoke to Ryan on the way out to give him this news.
He was polite but mentioned he was short staffed that night and several large parties received service ahead of us. Disappointing, very disappointing
Multi year platinum elite customer
Don Kudlak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The food and service were excellent but WAY overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food was good but service was very poor. Went with my girlfriend for her birthday and though we are both still in college we were treated like we were 12. Overall the food was great but I guess our particular waitress left a bad taste in our mouth. Things ranging from "I hope you brought yalls IDs cause you look too young to serve alcohol to." to asking if we wanted dessert on four separate occasions and requesting the check multiple times just didn't seem like something I should encounter at a nice steakhouse. Not saying I wouldn't recommend it based on food but I won't be returning.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Food was very good but very small portions for the price paid. Over all good experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Scenic View, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The only decent food we had was the cheese platter at appetizer. The steaks were aweful. Dry, over cooked and sour tasting. The service was terribly slow so by the time they tried to correct the problem, we had been waiting 30+ minutes.
Do not spend your money here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Good food, service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great food, great service, just excellent. Could very well be best ribeye l've ever eaten.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food and service were both excellent, the setting was quiet and pleasant.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 22, 2017

This place is in the Gaylord Resort so it was nice to be able to stay on site. This place is known as a "steak house" with prices to match. However, on our particular night, both of our "medium rare" steaks were over cooked to medium or medium well. It would have taken another 20-30 minutes to re-cook another steak. One of our steaks was the porterhouse - probably their biggest steak - how do you over cook that?! And unacceptable to have a mistake like that at a place known for steaks. We were satisfied with the managerial solution to comp our meal, but I would say that a place like that should be accustomed to adapting to customer volume and getting the steaks done right!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Excellent meal, special occasion because so pricey not sure I would do it again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2017

I am never disappointed with Old Hickory Steakhouse, the service and food are exceptional. The décor is beautiful and the tables are large, room for everyone. The only downfall, its under lit, so I had to use my cell phone's bright glaring flash light to read the menu, but I am in the 50+ crowd who can't see anyway!
Definitely order the Chocolate Soufflé with a shot of Gran Marnier on the side, take a spoon and drizzle the liquor over the top, very yummy.
I had the short rib, beyond delicious, my daughter had the special ginger fish, she cleaned the plate! My husband had the Delmonico steak, cooked to perfection.
Wonderful experience, will go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Very good food and good service. Great setting. Compared to other steak houses felt it was a bit overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The food and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

My husband and I were staying at the Gaylord Palms hotel and chose this restaurant for our anniversary celebration. The ambiance is so nice, feeling like you're eating outdoors while under the beautiful glass dome of the hotel. The service was top-notch and the food was delicious! Recommend the Brussel sprouts and wedge salad as sides!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great food and great service at this resort steakhouse! Wouldn't hesitate to eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Everything was spectacular from the waiter Ron to the delicious food! My husband and I had the best time! Thanks for making our night so special!
P.S. Ron deserves a raise! What a great guy!
Truly,
Nicole and Jeff Mier

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.