Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.86mi
  4. Distance: 0.88mi

About Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort

Take a path through the mysterious Everglades to our rustic steakhouse retreat, Old Hickory Steakhouse. Offering charmingly sophisticated cuisine in a striking regional setting, Old Hickory Steakhouse features Certified Black Angus Beef, handcrafted artisanal cheeses and a Wine Spectator award-winning wine list. Our chefs partner with local artisans and farmers to source the finest regional products whenever available.

6000 W Osceola Pkwy
Kissimmee, FL 34746
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
West Osceola Parkway and International Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(407) 586-1600

Website:
http://www.gaylordhotels.com/gaylord-palms/kissimmee-orlando-dining-activities/kissimmee-orlando-re

Parking Details:
Self Parking and Valet Parking; validated following dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Jeanna Ayers: (407) 586-1304

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Old Hickory Steakhouse-Gaylord Palms Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Romantic (21)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
See All
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Scenic View (13)
Business Meals (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Casual (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Authentic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Cozy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Waterfront (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
461 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

It was a lovely dinner all around. We got a reasonably priced bottle of wine, appetizer, salad and entree. We had the shrimp cocktail, he had the Cesar and I loved my lobster bisque. We both got the 8 oz filet. Mine was over cooked but my husband and I ended up splitting each so I didn't send it back. It was delicious, even the over cooked one! We got the mashed potatoes to share and they were delicious but pretty runny. We had soufflé for dessert and I wished I had room to eat it all!
Cheryl was our server and she was amazing. Really, really great. There was beautiful ambiance and it was a delightful experience. Also, if you eat in this restaurant they comp your valet parking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was fine until the vallet misplaced our car and we had to wait 20 minutes for it before we could leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious food. Absolutely best steak and sauces on side. Definitely Worth the higher price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 7 days ago

Nice place...but they have you captive and charge way too much for what you get. You can tell that they assume most will be on expense account.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Steak was cooked at too low of temperature, almost steamed no crust.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We were a bit disappointed in the steakhouse. I had made reservations and let them know it was our 27th anniversary. They didn't so much as wish us happy anniversary! We had been to Moor for our anniversary and they went out of their way to make it a special night. Not so much here.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We all had an excellent dinner. Our server, Brian, was terrific. We were celebrating a birthday and had a very enjoyable time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The service was excellent, the kitchen was slow. The food was delicious. The value of the meal was about right. I'd refer others for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

My party of six did not have a good experience overall.
Started out great with seafood tower, cheese and wine. Went down hill after that. It was approx. 1 hr until our meals arrived.
Server disappeared during this period. Ran out of wine, 3 of six meals were cold 2 steaks weren't cooked correctly. Spoke to Ryan on the way out to give him this news.
He was polite but mentioned he was short staffed that night and several large parties received service ahead of us. Disappointing, very disappointing
Multi year platinum elite customer
Don Kudlak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The food and service were excellent but WAY overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food was good but service was very poor. Went with my girlfriend for her birthday and though we are both still in college we were treated like we were 12. Overall the food was great but I guess our particular waitress left a bad taste in our mouth. Things ranging from "I hope you brought yalls IDs cause you look too young to serve alcohol to." to asking if we wanted dessert on four separate occasions and requesting the check multiple times just didn't seem like something I should encounter at a nice steakhouse. Not saying I wouldn't recommend it based on food but I won't be returning.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Food was very good but very small portions for the price paid. Over all good experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Scenic View, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The only decent food we had was the cheese platter at appetizer. The steaks were aweful. Dry, over cooked and sour tasting. The service was terribly slow so by the time they tried to correct the problem, we had been waiting 30+ minutes.
Do not spend your money here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Good food, service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food and service were both excellent, the setting was quiet and pleasant.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 22, 2017

This place is in the Gaylord Resort so it was nice to be able to stay on site. This place is known as a "steak house" with prices to match. However, on our particular night, both of our "medium rare" steaks were over cooked to medium or medium well. It would have taken another 20-30 minutes to re-cook another steak. One of our steaks was the porterhouse - probably their biggest steak - how do you over cook that?! And unacceptable to have a mistake like that at a place known for steaks. We were satisfied with the managerial solution to comp our meal, but I would say that a place like that should be accustomed to adapting to customer volume and getting the steaks done right!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Excellent meal, special occasion because so pricey not sure I would do it again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 15, 2017

I am never disappointed with Old Hickory Steakhouse, the service and food are exceptional. The décor is beautiful and the tables are large, room for everyone. The only downfall, its under lit, so I had to use my cell phone's bright glaring flash light to read the menu, but I am in the 50+ crowd who can't see anyway!
Definitely order the Chocolate Soufflé with a shot of Gran Marnier on the side, take a spoon and drizzle the liquor over the top, very yummy.
I had the short rib, beyond delicious, my daughter had the special ginger fish, she cleaned the plate! My husband had the Delmonico steak, cooked to perfection.
Wonderful experience, will go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Very good food and good service. Great setting. Compared to other steak houses felt it was a bit overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The food and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

My husband and I were staying at the Gaylord Palms hotel and chose this restaurant for our anniversary celebration. The ambiance is so nice, feeling like you're eating outdoors while under the beautiful glass dome of the hotel. The service was top-notch and the food was delicious! Recommend the Brussel sprouts and wedge salad as sides!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Great food and great service at this resort steakhouse! Wouldn't hesitate to eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Everything was spectacular from the waiter Ron to the delicious food! My husband and I had the best time! Thanks for making our night so special!
P.S. Ron deserves a raise! What a great guy!
Truly,
Nicole and Jeff Mier

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great meal. Wonderful service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 5, 2017

I have had better and less expensive steaks at chain restaurants. When you are at the resort for business - you have a limited choice.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great surroundings and very good food and quite near to us We will be back again! Nice cocktail bar as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Wonderful steak house. We were a group of 6 and had great apps, a wonderful cheese board, and amazing steaks. I had the bone in Berkshire pork chop and it was also amazing. Our waiter (cannot remember his name) was flawless with his service and he made the evening even better.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 26, 2017

The ambience was the best part of the experience, next was the service. The simple truth is that the quality of the food was not nearly worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We come every time we are in Orlando. This is my favorite restaurant by far.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 21, 2017

At first I was a bit skeptical as I had read some of the reviews that stated having a poor experience with service. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. Our server, Sally was phenomenal. She was almost overly attentive if there is such a thing. The food was second to none. We have visited several steakhouses in the disney area and this one did not disappoint.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 20, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 25th anniversary and chose this restaurant. We both ordered steak which were awesome. I have to be honest and say our bread was tough and our Brussels sprout were hard. We both ordered mixed drinks which tasted watered down. When you pay those priced you do expect perfection.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day dinner was a great success thanks to the great staff and chefs at Old Hickory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Awesome service! Staff was very attentive, made great suggestions on the food, drinks, openers, etc. nice atmosphere. Prefect for a romantic or cozy family dinner. Definitely worth the drive and every dollar! Kain service was excellent

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The ambience was very nice and the steaks and wine were great.

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Ambiance is always great at this restaurant! The bar staff was amazing! We decided to do the cheese plate, which is always good and fun to due. Things after the cheese plate went down hill. My husbands food was very good. I ordered my steak rare, which I was reminded would be a cool red center, I received my streak medium to medium well. Luckily the bearnaise sauce was good so I was able to eat my steak. My mom has had steak issues before coming to this restaurant so, she decided to go with their fish special. The fish special was Grouper for the night. It was beautifully presented but, it was completely raw inside. And no, we did not send them back. We ordered our soufflés at the same time as dinner because we were told they take 30 minutes to prepare. No big deal, we had had them before and lived them. An hour after our dinner concluded we received our soufflés. Mine was good, a little burnt on top, my moms was served room temperature. They are supposed to be served warm. Our reservations were at 6:30pm and we did not walk out of the restaurant till 9:45. All in all a very disappointed. Not sure if we will be back. Which is a shame because we love the atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Had a dinner party with 11 people and we all had a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The food was outstanding. The steak, brussel sprouts and fries were wonderful. Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Wonderful experience! Exceptional service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was wonderful but service was the worst I have ever had. We were there 90 minutes and only had water, a cup of soup and MR steaks. We celebrated a milestone birthday and nothing. We had to ask the server to go over the menu when she approached us to take our order. We watched our empty soup dirty dishes sit on a bus tray the entire time. Manager stayed at the podium and did not greet any tables in the dining room or greet as we exited just past him. We called after leaving and spoke to manager to express concerns. Compensation was promised but not delivered. We waited over 45 minutes for an A la carte $53 Medium Rare Strip Steak. It's one thing to write a review and not reach out to management... but we did and it fell on deaf ears. So sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our first visit to celebrate our 51st anniversary was perfect! The food and service were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.