Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi

About Old Hickory Steakhouse at the Gaylord Texan

Dine in the warm, rich atmosphere of a Texas wine cellar while savoring the finest cuts of beef and seafood paired with an artisanal cheese display and an extensive wine list. The upstairs Wine Bar hosts the unique Enomatic Wine Tasting System, allowing guests to sample a variety of rare wines from around the world in one, three, and five ounce pours.

1501 Gaylord Trail
Gaylord Texan
Grapevine, TX 76051-1945
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gaylord Trail/State Highway 26

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 778-2215

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotels/hotel-information/restaurant/dalgt-gaylord-texan-resort-and-convention-center/

Parking Details:
Local day guests of Gaylord Texan Resort who spend $25 or more in Old Hickory will receive complimentary validated temporary valet parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Journey down the winding staircase to experience the old-world charm of Old Hickory Steakhouse located inside Gaylord Texan Resort. Tantalize your taste buds with savory dishes featuring a rich depth of flavor in every delectable bite. Gorgeous private dining rooms host intimate group dinners. The upstairs Wine Bar’s unique Enomatic Wine Tasting System allows guests to sample

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Old Hickory Steakhouse at the Gaylord Texan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Romantic (45)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
See All
Good for a Date (37)
Notable Wine List (25)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Business Meals (21)
Cozy (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Fireplace (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Modern Decor (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Authentic (8)
Seasonal (8)
Family Style (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Casual (7)
Fun (7)
Private Room (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Historic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Wood Oven (2)
People Watching (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Dancing (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
503 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 2 days ago

Loud and over priced fare for hotel tourist. Should have gone to Bob's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

What a great steak and seafood restaurant. The service was wonderful and the food was great. It was my husbands birthday so we were celebrating and prepared to pay a little more. Joseph was the most excellent waiter.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, service & atmosphere. 10/10 would come back!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

I always love this place. It never disappoints and the customer service is unbeatable!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was not done the way I asked. I asked for med well and got med rare. The prices was way to expensive for what we got. Also the food that we had the next day at the keystone end of show dinner was better than the steak I had!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Go let Chef Nic show you his culinary pickling techniques. All natural deliciousness!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Old Hickory delivered a great experience. The food was delicious. When setting up the reservation through Open Table, I had a special request. The staff at Old Hickory delivered and made us feel special. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Always great food, a little dissappointed that they cut their menu back (less options) than what they used to have available.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Jaime was an amazing server and thank you for making my 40th birthday so spectacular. Excellent meal and will return soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Private Room, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Let me start by saying this has been a favorite of my family for several years. We have been here on numerous occasions and have never had a bad experience until now. I booked the reservation through Open Table and had asked for special touches for the table for my son's birthday when we got there. To my surprise, when we arrived nothing had been done. When I asked why the hostess told me they don't do that. I made the reservation early enough in the day and she had the notes in her hand with my phone number. I feel like they could have called to let me know instead of us expecting it and be extremely disappointed when we arrived. I had also called and asked if we could bring in a very small cake and was told we could, but it would be taken to the back when we arrived and we would be charged $3 per person to cut it. We opted to do the cake at home. Our waiter was the only positive experience of our night. He was friendly and pleasant and tried to recover the mood as best he could. I have nothing but good to say about him.
Our drinks were not the usual standard quality. We noticed the menu looked a little different when we ordered. I've always ordered the shrimp cocktail for an appetizer. This time I got three small shrimp on a plate with lettuce and a smear of sauce. My son ordered a wedge salad and it was a very small wedge. It took a lot longer than usual to get our food and when we did it was AWFUL. There was no seasoning or flavor at all. I asked for medium and I got extremely well done. My steak was grey and very dry. The crab on top of my husband's steak had a very large shell still on it. I have never been so disappointed in a meal. I won't say my son's birthday was ruined but the meal was definitely not worth the $500+ we spent to make it special. I could have gone to Roadhouse, had a better steak and $450 leftover to give him for a gift. If this is the new direction of Old Hickory, I think I'll pass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fabulous, simply fabulous! Consumerism is so important and creating a great experience is #1 on the top of everyone's list. You did it! We reserved for my husbands birthday. Our waiter knew our names and the occasion and he created a phenomenal experience right down to the dessert. So very thankful! We will return very soon! Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great food and service! excellent quality overall. best spot in the Gaylord Texan.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great place for dinner

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The service was superb, the food was delicious and exactly as ordered and the atmosphere was so inviting.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Historic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This place is absolutely wonderful. Great food and service. This is one of the best places to have steak and scallops in Dallas Fort Worth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Fantastic food and service! Jessica and Brian were superb! Never rushed - sooo paced to our night out! Will be back!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Fantastic, favorite restaurant in texas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food, service and ambiance were wonderful! We arrived almost 30 minutes for our reservation and they were very accommodating and sat us early. Our table was never left in need of anything!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great food. A surprise when I got my bill and my steak was $120. It was a wygu beef special. Guess I should have asked

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I feel the quality has not been as good the last couple of times we have come. The steak did not have any char, the lobster was overcooked, & too much cauliflower with the Brussels sprouts. This used to be out favorite steak house, but for the cost for the quality is really not worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This used to be my favorite at the Gaylord. NO More! My medium steak arrived RARE. The server never came back to check. After over 20 minutes the hostess noticed that I was not eating and came over. Her comment , "Oh, My!" The manager did bring me a complementary cheese tray so I would have something to eat. But, the bus boy took it away about 2 minutes later. The candied pecan I got to eat was yummy. I don't mind paying $50 for a good steak, but I much prefer it to be edible.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was my first time here I took my wife for our anniversary and it was an awesome experience for both of us the waiters were always attendant the food was delicious worth every penny.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The pace of the meal was perfect. Our steaks could not have been cooked anymore perfect. The sides are excellent. Our waiter (Aaron) was friendly, timely and the engaging in good conversation. Try the bone-in ribeye if you want a very flavorful steak. Try the filet if you want a steak that melts in your mouth. It was a little noisy that night due to a woman with a loud irritating voice. (Not her fault or the steak houses fault but people like that should learn to talk in a lower volume in restaurants) Sorry if that sounds snooty, I'm really not. They took the creme brolee of the menu😬. Please bring it back! You can't go wrong eating there for any special occasion 👍😃

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 18, 2017

It was absolutely wonderful as always. Old Hickory is one of our favorites and would highly recommend!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Best steak you will ever eat in your life! A little pricey but worth every penny.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Not that great this time. Couldn't understand the waiter, food was subpar. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Outstanding in every way. Beautiful restaurant with great ambiance in the Gaylord Hotel in Grapevine, Texas. Our server was perfect in every way. The lobster bisque appetizer was delicious, a variety of salads was enjoyed by each of us, and the Wagyu steak that I had was so good that I really find it hard to describe. I can only say that you must try it if you ever get the opportunity. Truly the evening was a memorable experience for our family.

Tags: Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Good wine list. Took advantage of wine bar upstairs to sample potential wines for dinner.
Service was great!
Food is always good. Tenderness of steak on this visit was only ok. Steakhouse beef needs to make me go "WOW!" and that didn't happen.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

New chef, some iTems r cently changed on the menu.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

i've dined her often, usually impeccable but this recent visit was very disappointing ... steak (tomahawk ribeye) was subpar - nowhere near the standard i am use to enjoying at Old Hickory, sides (habenero corn and squash) were not up to the usual flavor standard and the dessert (apple tart) was absolutely terrible - had to send it back - the waiter insisted on replacing so we had the white chocolate cake (pretty tasty)

i'll go back again, but was very disappointed in that our $250 dinner was not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Would have been all 5 star rating but they were closing for renovations and started removing tables, chairs etc whilst we were still dining, and as a final push to make stragglers leave flashed on the full lighting. Very tacky for a fantastic restaurant. I would point out that we dined there the previous evening, and it was a wonderful experience, the general manager, Andrew, with whom we had had very cordial relationship on that occasion was NOT on duty when the premature clearing of the restaurant occurred.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great service and great food. The waiter was very friendly and gave great recommendations. It is a great place for casual dining and you are able to have conversations without raised voices. I would recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Decent food. Great ambiance. Good service. I got the Cowboy Ribeye. Good value for a big piece of steak.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 16, 2017

This was my second visit and it was not as good an experience as my first. We were not informed of the price of the special prior to ordering. It was Wagu beef and at $120 I considered too expensive. Won't be in a hurry to go back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This restaurant is an awesome place. Staff curteous and knowledgeable. Amazing food and great wine list. The server was very helpful with his recommendations.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Service is great. Food is just ok.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Service was fabulous...food was ok. very overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Eating at the Old Hickory is a lot less trouble than getting in your car and leaving the Gaylord. The food is good, but not great and the price is reflective of the outstanding service.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Fabulous evening for our party of 15. The staff was very accommodating, giving us a private dining room. Our out-of-town relatives were staying at the Gaylord, which is why we chose Old Hickory; we were glad we did. The waitstaff, especially Steve, took great care of us all night. Loved the fromage option (a cheese expert) - a fun touch. Food standouts were beef filet, scallops, mushroom side dish, and the cheese cart appetizer. The only small recommendations that I'd make - the sommelier could be friendlier; the shared, family-style side dishes were small portions, plus we had to serve ourselves (difficult for our elderly parents). Also, the food and wine prices are unreasonably high. But I'd love to eat there again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.