About Old Hickory Steakhouse at the Gaylord Texan

1501 Gaylord Trail
Gaylord Texan
Grapevine, TX 76051-1945
View Larger Map

Dine in the warm, rich atmosphere of a Texas wine cellar while savoring the finest cuts of beef and seafood paired with an artisanal cheese display and an extensive wine list. The upstairs Wine Bar hosts the unique Enomatic Wine Tasting System, allowing guests to sample a variety of rare wines from around the world in one, three, and five ounce pours.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gaylord Trail/State Highway 26

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 778-2215

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotels/hotel-information/restaurant/dalgt-gaylord-texan-resort-and-convention-center/

Parking Details:
Local day guests of Gaylord Texan Resort who spend $25 or more in Old Hickory will receive complimentary validated temporary valet parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Journey down the winding staircase to experience the old-world charm of Old Hickory Steakhouse located inside Gaylord Texan Resort. Tantalize your taste buds with savory dishes featuring a rich depth of flavor in every delectable bite. Gorgeous private dining rooms host intimate group dinners. The upstairs Wine Bar’s unique Enomatic Wine Tasting System allows guests to sample

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Old Hickory Steakhouse at the Gaylord Texan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Food
Dallas Suburbs
Best Ambiance
Dallas Suburbs
3 More
Notable Wine List
Dallas Suburbs
Romantic
Dallas Suburbs
Steakhouse
Dallas Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Grapevine ›

special occasion (80)
romantic (61)
good for groups (41)
See All
notable wine list (41)
fit for foodies (27)
neighborhood gem (6)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (4)
kid-friendly (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (3)
great for lunch (3)
hot spot (3)
Sort By:
Newest
315 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just overall awesome! Ambiance was exce ...

Dined 5 days ago

Just overall awesome! Ambiance was excellent, dark, woodsy place with the best food ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We started at the bar and ordered a bott ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

We started at the bar and ordered a bottle of wine to bring to the table and had appetizers. Matthew was great at the bar. When we were seated for dinner the waiter seemed disappointed that we already had wine and apps at the bar and I think the service reflected that attitude. the food was very good except several of the tomatoes in my Caprese salad seemed to be frozen or on the verge of being frozen-extremely cold. Despite these minor negatives we will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food. One of the ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent service and food. One of the best steaks ever, I had never heard of a "bone-in filet". Superb wine list. An excellent night.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

On two previous occasions I had excellen ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

On two previous occasions I had excellent dining experiences at Old Hickory, however this visit was completely unremarkable. Two attempts to cook our Wagyu strip steak were unsuccessful, server was inconsistent, and although the lobster tail and scallops were good they were certainly nothing special. We will not be returning.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was outstanding. I look forwar ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was outstanding. I look forward to any stay at the Gaylord just to eat at Old Hickory. Sherif is an outstanding waiter. He offered wine suggestions and brought over samples to make sure we were pleased with our selection. He is incredibly intuitive and attentive. Don't rush your event here. Take your time, enjoy every part of the meal from appetizers to dessert. There was a large rowdy crowd near our table. That is why I gave it a moderate for noise level.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Prices were exorbitant but the food was ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Prices were exorbitant but the food was very good. Location in the Gaylord Hotel made this a convenient choice for having a steak in Texas. Would not return.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very impressed by the service and ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

I was very impressed by the service and the food was excellent. I was from out of the area, but my friends are local. They had not eaten here before, but plan to return again!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

I expected high end service

Dined on June 7, 2016

It was our after wedding meal at 9:30 PM on June 6th. Greeting was great! Scott was our server. I had to ask for water continually from other staff walking by, had to ask them for more butter and bread. I asked Scott for lemon... never came. I had to track someone down. I don't know what he was doing all night. But for the price and all the hype I was not impressed! I know it was the end of the night but every customer should get the same excellent service all the time. We stayed at the hotel on June 6 &7 Thanks, Diane Bayliff 8175213831 6520 Constitution Dr Fort Worth, TX 76148

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wine Tasting was fantastic

Dined on May 29, 2016

Chose this hotel for my 1st anniversary. Amazing experience in Old Hickory. My wife and I did a wine tasting upstairs before dinner and the gentlemen who assisted us was knowledgeable of local wines as well as the more conventional regions. Dinner atmosphere was well mediated between finding a slow corner for couples and large areas for families. I wouldn't recommend it for parties with large groups of children but adults will enjoy the menu items and the service was exceptional. I felt the lobster bisque was a bit salty and it was removed from my bill, this is expected. The true treat though is the waiter used this knowledge of my preferences to make mention of specific options he felt I would enjoy.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Old Hickory fully met expectations. Wen ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Old Hickory fully met expectations. Went with a group of friends from out of town, and everyone loved the meal and location. Steaks were delicious, and the wine list had my favorite malbec from Mendoza (Achaval Ferrer). Prices were steep, but that was consistent with expectations. Didn't give 5 stars because that's for restaurants that exceed expectations. Of course expectations for Old Hickory were high and thus more difficult to exceed, but that's as it should be given the price level.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, wonderful food. Steaks c ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great service, wonderful food. Steaks cooked perfectly! We loved the mushrooms as a side dish, went great with the steaks.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Waiter

Dined on May 21, 2016

Waiter offered special without saying price. Was very shocked my special cost more than your high class steak you offered. Disappointed. Waiter should to open and honest with all cost.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a group of 8, our server was exc ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We were a group of 8, our server was excellent. The meal was unrushed and excellent as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I almost never order steak because over ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

I almost never order steak because over the years it seems like the quality and taste I remember has vanished. I live on the east coast so when I was in Texas I thought I would give it one more chance. This was the best steak I have ever tasted. Cooked to perfection and full of the steak flavor I remember from days gone by. Service and ambiance was excellent. Some what on the pricey side, but on occasion I am willing to spend a little more for an excellent meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious Steaks

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had wonderful experience at Old Hickory. Overall, I wouldn't say that it's the BEST food we have ever had, but pretty exceptional. We started with the crab cakes. They were extremely tender, cooked to perfection, but they could have been seasoned a little more for my taste. My boyfriend had the grilled ceasar salad and it was to die for! Then, we both got the special 16 oz. bone-in filets (he got scallops Oscar, I got bearnase) with the habanero corn and whipped potatoes. Everything was very good. The steaks were so tender you almost didn't even need a knife! We finished with the creme brule, which was 5 stars - never had one better. The service was outstanding as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

First time won't be the last

Dined on May 8, 2016

Old Hickory steakhouse was fantastic. The food and especially the service was exceptional. We had reservations for mother's day dinner and the restaurant didn't disappoint. We had the pork chops (very tender) and served with green beans and mac/cheese, salmon and Prime Ribeye. The ribeye was amazing, cooked medium rare and to perfection. While on the fairly expensive side I highly recommend the Old Hickory Steakhouse.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Birthday dinner shared

Dined on May 7, 2016

Friends and I got together for two birthdays that night. Food was excellent as always. My wife had steak and I had lamb chops, both were superb.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated our anniversary there. From t ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary there. From the hostess to the waiter the service was excellent. Our waiter Matthew was the best. He took excellent care of us!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food is good. The service is excelle ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food is good. The service is excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5

The service was amazing.

Dined on April 30, 2016

The service was amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wowed Us!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Outstanding food, service and atmosphere. We went for our 24th anniversary and were impressed. Thank you.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Superb service. Beautiful restaurant. G ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Superb service. Beautiful restaurant. Good food - strong drinks!

food4
ambience3
service1

The Old Hickory did not seem excessively ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

The Old Hickory did not seem excessively busy but our service was terrible. We had to seek out our waitress multiple times for drink refills etc. For an expensive restaurant this is unacceptable. We will not return.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Meal

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great ambiance. Great food. A little pricey but to be expected in an upscale hotel. Definitely worth going back. Steaks were great!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice but expensive

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

These are at the Gaylord Resorts and if you don't have a car, you are held captive at the resort. The restaurant is nice but quite expensive. The food was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food & Service!

Dined on April 3, 2016

I don't know which is better here-the food or the service! They are both excellent & I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a grown-up night without kids. It is elegant and sophisticated without being pretentious. It is my favorite place and I bring both my family (My kids are in their 20s) and I bring my industry guests who come from out of town. I am never disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent experience all around. The at ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Excellent experience all around. The atmosphere is nice feels like you are in a winery. The steak (filet) was THE Best I have ever had. Cooked perfectly - med rare and unbelievable tender. We also had Oysters Rockefeller that were phenomenal. Service was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Located in Gaylord Texan...convenient if you are staying there. Worth the drive if you are not. Excellent steaks...more than ample portions (may want to think about sharing an entree). It was my son's birthday and I bought cupcakes for us all. Diane (waitress) went out of her way to bring the cupcakes with one candle lit for my son to enjoy. Thank you! Very accommodating.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for family dinner or romantic date night!

Dined on March 26, 2016

We ate here for my daughters 7th bday because she is a huge steak lover. She enjoyed the kids filet and ate every bite! I was very impressed with the cheese tray options and how knowledgeable our server was on all the cheeses, he even brought back a list of the ones we liked, so we can enjoy them back home. Wine list is great and an array of prices depending on what your budget is. Food was perfect and my daughter loved her bday dessert of the creme brulee. We will def come back on our next visit. Thanks!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service2

Outdated interiors and a wait staff not ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Outdated interiors and a wait staff not matching the price of the food that makes you want to walk out until you get the food—and then, you stop complaining and indulge. Too bad the whole experience did not match the food or we would go back all the time.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good Food; A Little Pricey

Dined on March 24, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at the Old Hickory Steakhouse. It was not very busy on a Thursday night. We had a quiet booth at first, but shortly after sitting down, a group of 3 was seated in the adjoining booth with little or no privacy thereafter. The food was good, but a little pricey in my opinion. The service from Diane was very attentive. We enjoyed the experience.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Great food and service and resonably priced. Highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Extremely attentive wait staff! I don't ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Extremely attentive wait staff! I don't think my water glass was ever less than half full. They try to time coming up to your table in a way that won't call for an abrupt halt to whatever conversation you're having. The bone in Filet Mignon was incredible. A word of warning about the Truffle Fries... they are addicting and the portion is huge. Don't say you weren't warned.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super Filet!

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

My date and I both had the filet. We agreed it was one of the best steaks we have ever eaten - good flavor, tender, and cooked to perfection. And the habenero corn was so good. This has to be one of the really outstanding restaurants in Texas. I have eaten there many times and never been disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Husband

Dined on March 13, 2016

Took my wife for her birthday and she loved it, the food was great and the service was great too. Will go back in the future

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was amazing, food was incredible ...

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

Service was amazing, food was incredible. Highly recommend this place

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent!

Dined on February 20, 2016

We eat at the Old Hickory everytime we stay at the Gaylord. It is always excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service!!!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food, great service!!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The special was awesome

Dined on February 14, 2016

We ordered the bone-in filet. It was fork tender with full flavor. We shared it and my husband enjoyed picking up the bone and taking care of it "cave man style". Our server was personable and helped with explaining the size of the dishes we were interested in. It was really busy....valentine's day weekend so it may have been a bit noisier that I prefer.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Becoming my new favorite....

Dined on February 14, 2016

I have absolutely loved my past couple dining experiences at Old Hickory. It has become one of my husband and I's favorite special occasion spots. He always gets the Cowboy Ribeye and raves about it -- I switch around between the filet and lobster...both are phenomenal. Their wedge and caesar salads are delicious and all of the sides we have tried have been SO good.... I especially like their mushrooms. The ambiance is wonderful...very swanky old-school Cowboy...it is perfect! The service is always top-notch and I feel like our money is well-spent when we go there. I can't wait for our next trip to Old Hickory!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.