About Old Hickory Steakhouse at the Gaylord Texan

1501 Gaylord Trail
Gaylord Texan
Grapevine, TX 76051-1945
View Larger Map

Dine in the warm, rich atmosphere of a Texas wine cellar while savoring the finest cuts of beef and seafood paired with an artisanal cheese display and an extensive wine list. The upstairs Wine Bar hosts the unique Enomatic Wine Tasting System, allowing guests to sample a variety of rare wines from around the world in one, three, and five ounce pours.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gaylord Trail/State Highway 26

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 778-2215

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotels/hotel-information/restaurant/dalgt-gaylord-texan-resort-and-convention-center/

Parking Details:
Local day guests of Gaylord Texan Resort who spend $25 or more in Old Hickory will receive complimentary validated temporary valet parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Journey down the winding staircase to experience the old-world charm of Old Hickory Steakhouse located inside Gaylord Texan Resort. Tantalize your taste buds with savory dishes featuring a rich depth of flavor in every delectable bite. Gorgeous private dining rooms host intimate group dinners. The upstairs Wine Bar’s unique Enomatic Wine Tasting System allows guests to sample

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Old Hickory Steakhouse at the Gaylord Texan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (57)
Romantic (48)
Good for a Date (43)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Notable Wine List (28)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Business Meals (25)
Cozy (19)
Worth the Drive (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Fireplace (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Modern Decor (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Fun (9)
Authentic (9)
Seasonal (9)
Casual (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Family Style (7)
Historic (6)
Private Room (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Wood Oven (4)
People Watching (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (3)
Great Beer (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dancing (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
486 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

The food, service and ambiance were wonderful! We arrived almost 30 minutes for our reservation and they were very accommodating and sat us early. Our table was never left in need of anything!

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food. A surprise when I got my bill and my steak was $120. It was a wygu beef special. Guess I should have asked

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

I feel the quality has not been as good the last couple of times we have come. The steak did not have any char, the lobster was overcooked, & too much cauliflower with the Brussels sprouts. This used to be out favorite steak house, but for the cost for the quality is really not worth it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

This used to be my favorite at the Gaylord. NO More! My medium steak arrived RARE. The server never came back to check. After over 20 minutes the hostess noticed that I was not eating and came over. Her comment , "Oh, My!" The manager did bring me a complementary cheese tray so I would have something to eat. But, the bus boy took it away about 2 minutes later. The candied pecan I got to eat was yummy. I don't mind paying $50 for a good steak, but I much prefer it to be edible.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

This was my first time here I took my wife for our anniversary and it was an awesome experience for both of us the waiters were always attendant the food was delicious worth every penny.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

The pace of the meal was perfect. Our steaks could not have been cooked anymore perfect. The sides are excellent. Our waiter (Aaron) was friendly, timely and the engaging in good conversation. Try the bone-in ribeye if you want a very flavorful steak. Try the filet if you want a steak that melts in your mouth. It was a little noisy that night due to a woman with a loud irritating voice. (Not her fault or the steak houses fault but people like that should learn to talk in a lower volume in restaurants) Sorry if that sounds snooty, I'm really not. They took the creme brolee of the menu😬. Please bring it back! You can't go wrong eating there for any special occasion 👍😃

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

It was absolutely wonderful as always. Old Hickory is one of our favorites and would highly recommend!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Best steak you will ever eat in your life! A little pricey but worth every penny.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Not that great this time. Couldn't understand the waiter, food was subpar. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Outstanding in every way. Beautiful restaurant with great ambiance in the Gaylord Hotel in Grapevine, Texas. Our server was perfect in every way. The lobster bisque appetizer was delicious, a variety of salads was enjoyed by each of us, and the Wagyu steak that I had was so good that I really find it hard to describe. I can only say that you must try it if you ever get the opportunity. Truly the evening was a memorable experience for our family.

Tags: Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Good wine list. Took advantage of wine bar upstairs to sample potential wines for dinner.

Service was great!

Food is always good. Tenderness of steak on this visit was only ok. Steakhouse beef needs to make me go "WOW!" and that didn't happen.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

New chef, some iTems r cently changed on the menu.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

i've dined her often, usually impeccable but this recent visit was very disappointing ... steak (tomahawk ribeye) was subpar - nowhere near the standard i am use to enjoying at Old Hickory, sides (habenero corn and squash) were not up to the usual flavor standard and the dessert (apple tart) was absolutely terrible - had to send it back - the waiter insisted on replacing so we had the white chocolate cake (pretty tasty)

i'll go back again, but was very disappointed in that our $250 dinner was not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Would have been all 5 star rating but they were closing for renovations and started removing tables, chairs etc whilst we were still dining, and as a final push to make stragglers leave flashed on the full lighting. Very tacky for a fantastic restaurant. I would point out that we dined there the previous evening, and it was a wonderful experience, the general manager, Andrew, with whom we had had very cordial relationship on that occasion was NOT on duty when the premature clearing of the restaurant occurred.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great service and great food. The waiter was very friendly and gave great recommendations. It is a great place for casual dining and you are able to have conversations without raised voices. I would recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Decent food. Great ambiance. Good service. I got the Cowboy Ribeye. Good value for a big piece of steak.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 16, 2017

This was my second visit and it was not as good an experience as my first. We were not informed of the price of the special prior to ordering. It was Wagu beef and at $120 I considered too expensive. Won't be in a hurry to go back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This restaurant is an awesome place. Staff curteous and knowledgeable. Amazing food and great wine list. The server was very helpful with his recommendations.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Service is great. Food is just ok.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Service was fabulous...food was ok. very overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Eating at the Old Hickory is a lot less trouble than getting in your car and leaving the Gaylord. The food is good, but not great and the price is reflective of the outstanding service.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Fabulous evening for our party of 15. The staff was very accommodating, giving us a private dining room. Our out-of-town relatives were staying at the Gaylord, which is why we chose Old Hickory; we were glad we did. The waitstaff, especially Steve, took great care of us all night. Loved the fromage option (a cheese expert) - a fun touch. Food standouts were beef filet, scallops, mushroom side dish, and the cheese cart appetizer. The only small recommendations that I'd make - the sommelier could be friendlier; the shared, family-style side dishes were small portions, plus we had to serve ourselves (difficult for our elderly parents). Also, the food and wine prices are unreasonably high. But I'd love to eat there again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had heard great things about Old Hickory, so we decided to try it out for New Year's Eve. I was underwhelmed. The food was just ok, but the service was impeccable. I wish I could leave higher marks for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was by far the best filet mignon I've ever had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Binh was a very good waiter. He was very attentive and deserves a raise.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I asked for a medium steak for both of my kids, they were brought out raw and cold in the center. The waiter took them back and instead of cooking new steaks, they cut our steaks in half (filets) and basically burned them. The sides were bland. Our meals were slightly better, but all in all, at $300 it was definitely NOT worth it. They are charging fine dining prices for chain restaurant quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Was very disappointed overall. Our waiter acted as though he could care less about us. My wife loved her scallops, but my steak was average at best. Not worth the money I paid for sure. The artisan cheeses were 1/2 good and 1/2 very bland and flavorless. We dined here for our anniversary several years ago and obviously had a better experience because we RETURNED for another anniversary dinner, but we will NOT be returning again... EVER. We absolutely LOVED the Gaylord Hotel and we had top-notch experience with hotel staff and service. I think the Old Hickory Steakhouse has "grown too big for it's britches" as my daddy used to say. Way too pricey... made even worse by lack-luster service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Absolutely delicious and delightful! Excellent steaks and informed, courteous, attentive service. For an intimate dinner or group event - Old Hickory never disappoints!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Sharif did a great job. He's to be commended for his patience and knowledge.

Being a local, we dine here 2-3 times per year. One of our favorite items THAT USED TO BE AVAILABLE were the truffle fries. They've now been discontinued on the menu. QUITE THE DISAPPOINTMENT!! Sharif did well to get them for us. We really do appreciate him working hard for us. Additionally, they've removed the grilled asparagus from the menu. Family favorites - both the fries and grilled asparagus will be missed. There are some staples should be considered mainstays on a menu and I ask that the truffle fries and grilled asparagus be returned as menu options. I don't know if this will sway our decision to return, or not, but if they're not available, even as "off menu" items, we'll certainly be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food and great service just like the last time we were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Steak was disappointing for a steakhouse. For the cost to dine here would not recommend.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Love coming to the restaurant for special occasions. Just wish it was a little quieter, less kids with parents !

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

It was great!! Try the cheese selections

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent food and service. Excellent wine selection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We used to go there quite a bit before the hotel was bought by Marriott. The menu, the quality of the food and the 'down home' friendly service is no longer present. Too many other good steakhouses in the area to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The cheese tray option is always one of our favorites and the staff is always outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I was disappointed. Steak itself was great but everything else was very over priced for the taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We were very pleased with the timely manner we were greeted and seated. We were not told anything about the specials or the menu at all really. My husband and I both ordered a ribeye which lacked in flavor and was comparable to a Texas roadhouse or saltgrass. The sides for the table hardly fed myself my husband and our 6 year old. Very expensive and just ok.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Service was good.

Food was mediocre

Prices extremely high for quality of food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The seafood tower wasva highlight as well as the delicous porterhouse and habenara corn, mushrooms and grilled brusselsprouts and cauliflower side dishes we all split (3 of us) It was an exellent meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had the buffet (unexpected) and the food was very good. Unfortunately we had reservations at 2:30 and the food on the buffet was pretty much gone. We had to stand in the buffet room and wait for them to bring more for the few stragglers that that were also a late seating. We had previously called with concern about the late seating and asked them if this was a problem concerning the buffet, they said there would be no problem with food at the buffet, but I would book a lot earlier next time!!! So because of the wait our meal took a lot longer than normal. Long enough that a manager came to our table and told us to leave because they needed to reset the table for dinner. Our server was already preparing our check at that time. Originally when we booked we had no idea we'd be at a buffet. Not until receiving a call from the restaurant saying our hot food would be off a menu and cold and dessert would be buffet, did we realize this was a buffet. We would go back as the food was very good, but if anyone wants the buffet, I would have reservations to be seated at least 1.5 hours before the end of the buffet, if you don't want the annoyance of standing in a room holding an empty plate for 10 minutes waiting for them to bring more food. I personally would not do the buffet again, but would go back for off the menu. I gave them 5 stars because the food was very good and our server was very nice. Ambiance was very nice also. We did feel that the manager should have checked with the server about the check before telling us to leave. I think she would have been upset in the long run, had we left as she told us to, before paying our bill! Fortunately she backed off once she realized we were waiting on them. Not our fault we were still there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was very good. The service was excellent. But I thought it was a bit over-priced. Part of the reason being... We were not allowed to take our leftovers home because it was an "all-you-can-eat" Christmas Brunch. However, since it was served family style, a lot of great left-over food went to waste. That was a terrible shame!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Décor, food, and service were all outstanding. We went back the next night.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food don't worth, the steak (Ribaye and Filet) was very dry and tasteless shouted for a sauce. My daughter got chicken and was not delicious or taste, also the side table enough for 3 servings was very tasteless (mushroom and Brussels sprouts) - decent mashed potato but nothing fancy for the price. Poor menu option for the day (Christmas eve). The lobster biscuit was ok but again nothing special. Everything is very priced so you expect more. Ridiculous dessert menu. I had to ask something out of the menu. Overall many other steak house on same level is better than old hickory at Gaylord hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

What a disappointment! I made the reservation over 4 months ago, but our table wasn't ready. We were seated in a small room next to the bar that felt like we were an afterthought. Food was ok but not spectacular. Limited menu. Service was not great. This was not our first time at this restaurant so our expectations were high.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

BUYER BEWARE!!! Watch your bill. They automatically over charge tips (22%). They also charge full tip amount (22%) on wine. The bill shows tips as service charge then they summarize food, beverage, no title line with tip amount, tax, and total. Below this they show a line for gratuity (already been charged but labeled differently) and a place for you to total. Not labeling thing correctly or consistently on the bill appears to be an attempt to rip off the buyer. After a wonderful meal, even with high prices, they then screw you on the tip. BUYER BEWARE!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Exceeded our expectations. The steak and scallops were great, but the most impressive course was the dessert- beautiful, a true work of art.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was excellent and staff was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Steaks were mediocre , wait staff could not remember orders and was not around much, certainly not worth the 20% gratuity. The only person that was very good was Bryan who served our water and tea.

I was very disappointed in the restaurant as there are many others in the Dallas area that are better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.