Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi

About Old Hickory Steakhouse at the Gaylord Texan

Dine in the warm, rich atmosphere of a Texas wine cellar while savoring the finest cuts of beef and seafood paired with an artisanal cheese display and an extensive wine list. The upstairs Wine Bar hosts the unique Enomatic Wine Tasting System, allowing guests to sample a variety of rare wines from around the world in one, three, and five ounce pours.

1501 Gaylord Trail
Gaylord Texan
Grapevine, TX 76051-1945
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gaylord Trail/State Highway 26

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 778-2215

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotels/hotel-information/restaurant/dalgt-gaylord-texan-resort-and-convention-center/

Parking Details:
Local day guests of Gaylord Texan Resort who spend $25 or more in Old Hickory will receive complimentary validated temporary valet parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Journey down the winding staircase to experience the old-world charm of Old Hickory Steakhouse located inside Gaylord Texan Resort. Tantalize your taste buds with savory dishes featuring a rich depth of flavor in every delectable bite. Gorgeous private dining rooms host intimate group dinners. The upstairs Wine Bar’s unique Enomatic Wine Tasting System allows guests to sample

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Old Hickory Steakhouse at the Gaylord Texan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Quiet

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Romantic (40)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Business Meals (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Cozy (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Authentic (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Casual (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Fun (4)
Organic (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Comfort Food (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
People Watching (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
605 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service! We took the whole family and the kids enjoyed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 7 days ago

Food wasn't that good this time around. Way over priced for the quality of service and food we received 🤷🏼‍♀️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Everything was great, but you pay for an excellent night.. Very expensives..

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

The lettuce was dry & wilted with my Wedge. Did not feel the food justified the high price

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Food was excellent. One mishap during the evening, but management handled it graciously.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Usually awesome. Send lamb back It was over cooked. Second time around, perfect . $$$

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great service. Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 10, 2017

My 4 girlfriends and I went to Old Hickory for a friend's birthday. The staff was friendly, engaging and VERY attentive. If they overheard us talking about how much we liked something, another portion appeared on the table. The food was outstanding. The bread was warm, steaks were cooked as requested, side dishes were yummy and our waiter was wonderful, even when my friend spilled a full cocktail right on the table. I didn't know what wine to order, so I told him what I liked and he brought me the perfect pairing for my steak. Everyone at the table enjoyed the meal and was very complimentary. It was pretty pricey, but when you go to a high quality steakhouse in Dallas, it's to be expected and we felt it was worth the price. I will definitely recommend it to my friends.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Had a great steak with outstanding service. Well worth the price and I would definitely recommend this restaurant if you want a premium steak.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 5, 2017

We came to celebrate our anniversary and had a great time. We shared the burrata and shrimp cocktail. Both were tasty. I had the lamb saddle w/chimichurri and my husband had the filet mignon. His filet was so tender and buttery! Our server Matt was awesome and treated us to an awesome cheesecake dessert in a chocolate bowl. The cocktails were good too!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Great service. Food was good. Overpriced IMO for what you get. Lamb was incredible. Carrots were undercooked and hard. Good wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Took the family to the Gaylord for a "staycation" and dined at Old Hickory. The service was outstanding (our server was Zeke) and the food was amazing. In addition, the Sommellier/Manager, Anthony Martinez, stopped by our table several times to ensure that we were enjoying our dining experience. He was warm, genuine, friendly and engaging. I can't say enough about the wonderful experience we had dining at Old Hickory and would recommend it to anyone that enjoys a great steak paired with a notable wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Overall good experience. Felt rushed, but we were not overly bothered by that. For the pricing, I have had better steak experiences, but will still come back to Old Hickory as it is a fun spot.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Service was exceptional

Well done by all . We will be back for our Anniversary next year

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Just ok. Expensive and a very limited menu with poor variety. Mashed potatoes were watery and not appetizing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Lobster bisque was recommended and was lukewarm temp. Two of the three steaks were not cooked as we ordered. When we brought this up with the waiter, she said "Ok, would you like to see the dessert menu?" Disappointing for all the money we spent. Feels like a waste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Very nice place. My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and chose to eat here. Pretty pricey and a little loud from one group behind us. Other than that it was very nice

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

We visit Old Hickory Steakhouse every time we are in Dallas. There are only 2 places that we would absolutely refer all of our friends and family to enjoy and Old Hickory is definately one of them. We have lived all over the US having served in the Air Firce for 30 plus years. We cannot wait to return for the great food and outstanding service and atmosphere . Well done.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fun, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We had Matthew as our server who suggested the best Cod dish and Cowboy steak that was tender, full of flavor and cooked perfect. We started with the cheese cart that had great choices of different cheeses. The corn side was excellent. Smokey was our bartender that had great suggestions of wine. We would highly recommend Old Hickory

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Chose this place for our anniversary. We celebrated our anniversary here a few years ago and had a wonderful experience. Well, a lot has changed since then. We asked for a quiet/romantic table since it was our anniversary (which I also requested through OpenTable and the hostess had no knowledge of) and the staff looked completely disiniterested in us. The place was half empty yet it still took them 15 minutes to seat us (with a reservation). They put us in a quiet corner table near the bar (which was pretty much empty). Someone brought us a drink menu and walked away leaving us for over 15 minutes. I went back to the hostess and asked if a waiter would be helping us. She told us our waiter would be the bartender, which I should have taken as a sign to be relocated. But, I went with the flow. The waiter (bartender) had zero personality and again, made us feel more like an inconvenience than a valued customer. We had to ask for menus and when asked if he had any special entree features, he just quipped back about salmon without any description. We could not decide on a wine so we requested the sommelier who was mildly helpful. We ended up just selecting a wine we were familiar with. We knew the restaurant was expensive, which is okay with us, but the food was average at best. We both had the lobster bisque and enjoyed it. We both ordered filets and they were dry and lacked any kind of flavor. The side of mashed potatoes tasted like they came from a box. Needless to say we did not stay for dessert. The experience was a total disappointment, and we will not be going back to this restaurant. There are too many better choices in the Grapevine area to get a great steak, excellent customer service and a better experience, for half the price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

This was our 50th Wedding Anniversary...everything and everybody was excellent...!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food and table service was very good. Biggest issue was we had a reservation but still had to wait 30 minutes for our table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Food was consistently amazing. From the crab cakes and the carpaccio, to the steaks and salmon, to the deserts, everything was excellent. Top notch service and ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great food and service! We will go back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Very good meal. Steaks were cooked to perfection and everyone was happy. Prices were higher than comparable steakhouse but Everything in the hotel is more expensive. Barbara was an excellent server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Outstanding filet mignon along with bread, wedge salad, cheese plate, corn, mashed potatoes, and unique dessert.
Service was prompt and very professional, drink glasses constantly topped and each course delivered just as the previous was finished. Look forward to comeing back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 15, 2017

One of the best meals I have ever had... the steak was out of this world, great service, amazing wine list. Definitely pricey but if you are going to drop $2-300 on dinner for a couple this is the right place to do it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We come to the Gaylord Old Hickory always for my birthday and usually at Christmas because that's all we can afford. I wish it was like it use to be as far as a dress up place with less kids and them being loud. People showing up in shorts & all there loud conversations annoy those of us who truly want a quiet, intimate evening out!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Best steak I have ever had in my life!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Romantic, Casual, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was amazing, albeit a little pricey. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Amazing as always! And we always have the friendliest service! We go every time we stay at the Gaylord Texan...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Love the food! The steaks are always perfectly prepared, melt in your mouth. The sides are so flavorful. Detail in ever dish. And of course, the desserts are to die for. We will continue to eat here and recommend it often.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Wonderful food served by wonderful people! It was a 3 hour drive we will make as often as possible !

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Great food, wonderful ambiance but way too expensive. The Gaylord resort has taken advantage of the fact that you are staying there to overprice the restaurants.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great service and it was a nice for occasion - expensive - the food is good but not great . Make sure you have reservations .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 29, 2017

service was good and restaurant is neat as well but the food (steaks) did not live up to our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Food was good. Ambiance was very good and the service was great. The sides were not that good. Price is expensive but not prohibitive. Cowboy steak is worth the money

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Having gone here every year for our anniversary we stopped going 3 or 4 years ago when they changed ownership and the last dinner we had was not up to what we had come to expect. This year we decided to give it a fresh start. It was an improvement from our last visit but not quite what we remembered. We always enjoyed the cheese plate and having the different cheese choices explained to us. the person knew the cheeses but did not do much of a 'sell'. The steak was a great cut and cooked perfect. The habenaro corn was always a must. It was good but was a little 'too hot'. Overall a good meal but pricey

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Barbara took great care of us and the food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The Filet was outstanding and the service was amazing. A special fine dining place within the Gaylord.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.