Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi

About Old Hickory Steakhouse at the Gaylord Texan

Dine in the warm, rich atmosphere of a Texas wine cellar while savoring the finest cuts of beef and seafood paired with an artisanal cheese display and an extensive wine list. The upstairs Wine Bar hosts the unique Enomatic Wine Tasting System, allowing guests to sample a variety of rare wines from around the world in one, three, and five ounce pours.

1501 Gaylord Trail
Gaylord Texan
Grapevine, TX 76051-1945
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gaylord Trail/State Highway 26

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 778-2215

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotels/hotel-information/restaurant/dalgt-gaylord-texan-resort-and-convention-center/

Parking Details:
Local day guests of Gaylord Texan Resort who spend $25 or more in Old Hickory will receive complimentary validated temporary valet parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Journey down the winding staircase to experience the old-world charm of Old Hickory Steakhouse located inside Gaylord Texan Resort. Tantalize your taste buds with savory dishes featuring a rich depth of flavor in every delectable bite. Gorgeous private dining rooms host intimate group dinners. The upstairs Wine Bar’s unique Enomatic Wine Tasting System allows guests to sample

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Old Hickory Steakhouse at the Gaylord Texan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (33)
Special Occasion (33)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
See All
Notable Wine List (23)
Good for a Date (20)
Business Meals (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Fireplace (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Cozy (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Private Room (9)
Fun (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Authentic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Historic (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (3)
Family Style (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Scenic View (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
People Watching (2)
Casual (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
530 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Very nice dining experience for special occasion or weekend dining experience!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was great. Only part of the meal we didn't care for was the salad. House dressing was very salty(we did not complain to be fair) We had the surf and turf for two. It was lots of food! Three could share this meal. Dessert was awesome! Atmosphere is perfect for date night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Beautiful place to have a nice formal dinner with delicious food! The ambience is romantic and elegant and the wait staff is stupendous!!!! Well worth the cost.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The Overall experience was very good. Dislikes-The waitress only recommended the highest priced glass of wine, bread was cold when it arrived, was not asked if we wanted crab,shrimp,caviar pallet cleaner, which we did not, was a waste of food. Would like a dessert chose item that was not all chocolate. Steak were great. We will come again with knowledge of what to expect.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The service was outstanding and the food was amazing. The cost was steep and added up quickly. Would be outstanding for an anniversary dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Have only eaten at Ild Hickory a handful of times, but the food has always been excellent and the wait staff very attentive and sociable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Let me start by saying that I have very high expectatations.
My husband and I were staying at the resort and booked reservations in advance, celebrating our 20th anniversary.
The experience started out with the host attempting to seat us in the bar area, which is unacceptable to us. We requested a different table. We were then taken to a two-top table in the very far corner of the restaurant, seated up against the drapes of the window. This again was unacceptable, considering the fact that we passed multiple open tables and booths to get to this corner table location. The restaurant was only filled to about 30-40% capacity, so we would expect better seating, given our reservation and anniversary dinner.
The host was very accommodating and seated us at a booth, which was finally acceptable.
Our waitress was attentive, but neglected to serve our sides and didn't check to make sure our steaks were cooked to order, (luckily, they were cooked to our medium-rare preference.)
The sommelier recommended a good (not great) wine at the price point we were looking for, and was extremely attentive throughout the dinner.
Food was excellent. Cocktails were great. Wine was good. Dessert options left much to be desired. I would recommend this steakhouse if you were staying at the resort, or close to DFW.
Otherwise, there are better steakhouses at the same price point. Our dinner was 400 dollars with tip. Bob's Chophouse and lll Forks have superior service and experience overall. Honestly, overall, 3.5 stars at the most.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The waiters were friendly and very accommodating. Beautiful setting, ambiance was fabulous! Food incredibly delicious and presentation was very nice!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Booked our anniversary dinner 1 month in advance. After 20 minutes of sitting at our table with no service I went and spoke with the hostess. I told her it was our anniversary and asked if she could send us our server. Needless to say we were sitting at the table for about an hour before we got service..so we left and my wife and I spend our anniversary dinner at the sports bar at the hotel...and the service was awesome there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Came here with a friend to celebrate her new job and the staff was absolutely wonderful. I forgot our server's name (she was a very sweet girl, blonde), but she was able to describe everything on the menu and give us recommendations based on our personal preferences. One of the managers, Kayla was amazing as well!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food as always. We ate late so the restaurant was not too busy, however the food took awhile to come out. Our server must have been having a bad day I think. First she got one of the entrees incorrect, then brought the wrong bill and finally she misplaced my credit card. Fortunately, a patron picked it up off the floor and returned it to the host stand. Food was still delicious.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great Dinner, Great Evening, Great Food. Really a wonderful place

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Best steak I ever had. . . staff was outstanding! No wait, seated right away. Atmosphere was quiet, lights dim, very romantic.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

At the Gaylord for a hair show. Loved our dinner at the steakhouse

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Business dinner. Good service. Steak was great

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Had a great time. Wife enjoyed it for her birthday. Service was great, along with great food and atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner, the Gaylord was a great place to stay and this restaurant did not disappoint. We had a super suggestions for wine, a great red! I had the lobster bisque and my husband started with a ceaser salad. Both wonderful! My husband loved the white anchovies... We both got filets and ordered spinach and mushrooms as a side. The filets were cooked perfectly! The spinach was terrible.. Just FYI. We ordered the chocolate bowl dessert, it was fab! Pricey, but we knew that.. We would eat here again, for dinner or special occasion if we were in the area. Thanks for a great experience .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Although the Gaylord has few chooses for restaurants we were able to get a reservation for 7 people two days prior to our dinner. We were very fortunate that we were placed in a quiet , private wine room and except for the occasional staff coming in to retrieve wine, it was a perfect setting for our dinner with close friends. It gave us a chance to talk without yelling. It did seem the outside the room that might have been a lot more difficult but our experience was special. The food was excellent with the focus being on steak. We did have two younger people and the menu was limited for them.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Enjoyed it so much l tried to go back the very next night but couldn't the hour I needed

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Outstanding as always. Perfectly cooked steaks, great sides, great desserts. Service was exceptional. Well worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our waiter was amazing. He made celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary with them a pleasure. He top our date off with a supprise dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 14, 2017

It was very nice. The waiter was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Dinner was superb. Michael, our waiter, great suggestions and service. Wonderful wine list. Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Very disappointed in the quality of the steak. I have eaten there once before and it was very good. Maybe my expectations were to high but the food quality was average at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Have dined at the Old Hickory Steakhouse at both the Nashville and Texan Gaylord resorts. Both are different in décor but food quality is excellent.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Outstanding experience. Wife said she had the best cocktail she's ever had.
Waiter promised a perfect steak and they delivered.
Top notch across the board. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Loud and over priced fare for hotel tourist. Should have gone to Bob's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 24, 2017

superb dining experience...........I will be back; the atmosphere dynamic and food excellent; pricey but worth it for sure.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 21, 2017

What a great steak and seafood restaurant. The service was wonderful and the food was great. It was my husbands birthday so we were celebrating and prepared to pay a little more. Joseph was the most excellent waiter.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Great food, service & atmosphere. 10/10 would come back!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 20, 2017

I always love this place. It never disappoints and the customer service is unbeatable!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was not done the way I asked. I asked for med well and got med rare. The prices was way to expensive for what we got. Also the food that we had the next day at the keystone end of show dinner was better than the steak I had!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Go let Chef Nic show you his culinary pickling techniques. All natural deliciousness!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Old Hickory delivered a great experience. The food was delicious. When setting up the reservation through Open Table, I had a special request. The staff at Old Hickory delivered and made us feel special. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Always great food, a little dissappointed that they cut their menu back (less options) than what they used to have available.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Jaime was an amazing server and thank you for making my 40th birthday so spectacular. Excellent meal and will return soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Private Room, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Let me start by saying this has been a favorite of my family for several years. We have been here on numerous occasions and have never had a bad experience until now. I booked the reservation through Open Table and had asked for special touches for the table for my son's birthday when we got there. To my surprise, when we arrived nothing had been done. When I asked why the hostess told me they don't do that. I made the reservation early enough in the day and she had the notes in her hand with my phone number. I feel like they could have called to let me know instead of us expecting it and be extremely disappointed when we arrived. I had also called and asked if we could bring in a very small cake and was told we could, but it would be taken to the back when we arrived and we would be charged $3 per person to cut it. We opted to do the cake at home. Our waiter was the only positive experience of our night. He was friendly and pleasant and tried to recover the mood as best he could. I have nothing but good to say about him.
Our drinks were not the usual standard quality. We noticed the menu looked a little different when we ordered. I've always ordered the shrimp cocktail for an appetizer. This time I got three small shrimp on a plate with lettuce and a smear of sauce. My son ordered a wedge salad and it was a very small wedge. It took a lot longer than usual to get our food and when we did it was AWFUL. There was no seasoning or flavor at all. I asked for medium and I got extremely well done. My steak was grey and very dry. The crab on top of my husband's steak had a very large shell still on it. I have never been so disappointed in a meal. I won't say my son's birthday was ruined but the meal was definitely not worth the $500+ we spent to make it special. I could have gone to Roadhouse, had a better steak and $450 leftover to give him for a gift. If this is the new direction of Old Hickory, I think I'll pass.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fabulous, simply fabulous! Consumerism is so important and creating a great experience is #1 on the top of everyone's list. You did it! We reserved for my husbands birthday. Our waiter knew our names and the occasion and he created a phenomenal experience right down to the dessert. So very thankful! We will return very soon! Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Great food and service! excellent quality overall. best spot in the Gaylord Texan.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Great place for dinner

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.