About Old Hickory Steakhouse at the Gaylord Texan

1501 Gaylord Trail
Gaylord Texan
Grapevine, TX 76051-1945
View Larger Map

Dine in the warm, rich atmosphere of a Texas wine cellar while savoring the finest cuts of beef and seafood paired with an artisanal cheese display and an extensive wine list. The upstairs Wine Bar hosts the unique Enomatic Wine Tasting System, allowing guests to sample a variety of rare wines from around the world in one, three, and five ounce pours.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gaylord Trail/State Highway 26

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 778-2215

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotels/hotel-information/restaurant/dalgt-gaylord-texan-resort-and-convention-center/

Parking Details:
Local day guests of Gaylord Texan Resort who spend $25 or more in Old Hickory will receive complimentary validated temporary valet parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Journey down the winding staircase to experience the old-world charm of Old Hickory Steakhouse located inside Gaylord Texan Resort. Tantalize your taste buds with savory dishes featuring a rich depth of flavor in every delectable bite. Gorgeous private dining rooms host intimate group dinners. The upstairs Wine Bar’s unique Enomatic Wine Tasting System allows guests to sample

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Old Hickory Steakhouse at the Gaylord Texan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Dallas Suburbs
Romantic
Dallas Suburbs
Special Occasion
Dallas Suburbs
1 More
Steakhouse
Dallas Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Grapevine ›

special occasion (62)
romantic (48)
good for groups (33)
See All
notable wine list (33)
fit for foodies (25)
neighborhood gem (6)
kid-friendly (4)
late-night find (4)
hot spot (3)
scenic view (3)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
333 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The scallops weren't seared properly (bl ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

The scallops weren't seared properly (bless Gordon Ramsay for teaching the world about proper scallop searing)... Essentially only go for the steak; everything else was overrated and overpriced.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

As with every aspect of the Gaylord Texa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

As with every aspect of the Gaylord Texan Resort, the service was excellent! Old Hickory Steakhouse featured very good steaks, the sides were good, as well as the dessert and wine list. Our server was an exchange student from Eastern Europe who is involved in a summer program here and she was a very delightful person! Overall, a good place to be if you are staying at the Gaylord Texan!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Servers brought food to table very rapid ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 5 days ago

Servers brought food to table very rapidly before previous courses were finished. When I complained, she blamed it on the kitchen, but I think it had to do with when the orders were placed. My complaint made no difference. It continued to happen. I felt very rushed. The restaurant was not particularly busy. This should not happen at a fine dining establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The food here is AMAZING. I had the sca ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food here is AMAZING. I had the scallops and lobster bisque and it was the BEST I have had in a long time if not ever. The service was great as always. Cannot say enough about the food at Old Hickory Steakhouse. We didn't have the steak because we are seafood eaters but the seafood was delicious. The only issue I have is every time I book here via OPEN TABLE this restaurant cannot find my reservation even though I called The Gaylord the same morning as our reservation and the customer svc person on the phone found it and confirmed. This has happened TWICE now. When we got to the restaurant for dinner they could not find my name or reservation. Luckily we were seated and have a fabulous dinner.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was great!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious dinner! Beautiful dining room! ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Delicious dinner! Beautiful dining room! My strawberry martini was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Family vacation with young children and ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Family vacation with young children and were a little nervous about them joining us . They really enjoyed the food as well as the adults.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very impressive location and ambience. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very impressive location and ambience. A little low on the beer selection...but overall a great dinning experience.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I took my wife here for our 25th wedding ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I took my wife here for our 25th wedding anniversary dinner to celebrate our special occasion. I was shocked that there was a not a dress code and people were wearing shorts and flip flops.

$42 for an eight ouch filet is excessive as the cut was average and sides were extra. Our mashed potatoes weren't even warm!

The service was good and they did do a nice gesture by giving us a free crème brulee to celebrate our milestone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Disappointed. The dress code was unenfo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Disappointed. The dress code was unenforced. Told business casual which I guess means flip flops and t shirts. How can one spend this much while children roam and everyone dresses as if it is a beach.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

I enjoyed a fantastic birthday dinner at ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I enjoyed a fantastic birthday dinner at the Old Hickory Steakhouse! The food, wine list and service were outstanding! Thanks to everyone at Old Hickory for such a wonderful birthday dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our fourth visit to this restaurant. Ha ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Our fourth visit to this restaurant. Has been on the decline since the last time we dined. The dress code is not enforced. Payed a good amount of money for great service, well compared food to other fine steak restaurants. Were pained by the lack of management in enforcing proper restaurant attire and enabling families with ill behaved children. For a pretty simple dinner at over $300, I do not think is crude to say: no running children in dinning area, no cut off shorts, flip flops and tasteless t-shirts. We have enjoyed our stays at this resort on special occasions and holidays. However, this will be the last time at the Old Hickory Steak House.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I had an amazing time at the Old Hickory ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I had an amazing time at the Old Hickory Steakhouse with my family. The food was fabulous and the service remarkable. I would highly recommend going with your family or for a date night with your special someone.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food. Great atmosphere. We alway ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Awesome food. Great atmosphere. We alway eat there when we are at the Gaylord. A great place and great food.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very expensive for average food. First t ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Very expensive for average food. First they never explained that each side had to be purchased desperately so you have a $12 salad, $40-60 entree, $24 for two sides, separate for drinks.... and then the food was average at best. I have eaten at high end (Wolfgang puck, etc.) restaurants and know why they charge so much. I would never recommend this place based on my experience. You'd be better off going to Saltgrass and saving $200.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

we have been going there for years for o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

we have been going there for years for our anniversary. The food is always for good and the steak are so tender. Always good!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just overall awesome! Ambiance was exce ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Just overall awesome! Ambiance was excellent, dark, woodsy place with the best food ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service and wonderful food. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Exceptional service and wonderful food. Very accommodating to my dairy allergy and made sure that I was able to eat almost everything that was placed on the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We started at the bar and ordered a bott ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We started at the bar and ordered a bottle of wine to bring to the table and had appetizers. Matthew was great at the bar. When we were seated for dinner the waiter seemed disappointed that we already had wine and apps at the bar and I think the service reflected that attitude. the food was very good except several of the tomatoes in my Caprese salad seemed to be frozen or on the verge of being frozen-extremely cold. Despite these minor negatives we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent service and food. One of the ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent service and food. One of the best steaks ever, I had never heard of a "bone-in filet". Superb wine list. An excellent night.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On two previous occasions I had excellen ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

On two previous occasions I had excellent dining experiences at Old Hickory, however this visit was completely unremarkable. Two attempts to cook our Wagyu strip steak were unsuccessful, server was inconsistent, and although the lobster tail and scallops were good they were certainly nothing special. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was outstanding. I look forwar ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was outstanding. I look forward to any stay at the Gaylord just to eat at Old Hickory. Sherif is an outstanding waiter. He offered wine suggestions and brought over samples to make sure we were pleased with our selection. He is incredibly intuitive and attentive. Don't rush your event here. Take your time, enjoy every part of the meal from appetizers to dessert.

There was a large rowdy crowd near our table. That is why I gave it a moderate for noise level.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Prices were exorbitant but the food was ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Prices were exorbitant but the food was very good. Location in the Gaylord Hotel made this a convenient choice for having a steak in Texas. Would not return.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

I was very impressed by the service and ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I was very impressed by the service and the food was excellent. I was from out of the area, but my friends are local. They had not eaten here before, but plan to return again!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I expected high end service

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

It was our after wedding meal at 9:30 PM on June 6th. Greeting was great!

Scott was our server.

I had to ask for water continually from other staff walking by, had to ask them for more butter and bread. I asked Scott for lemon... never came. I had to track someone down.

I don't know what he was doing all night. But for the price and all the hype I was not impressed!

I know it was the end of the night but every customer should get the same excellent service all the time.

We stayed at the hotel on June 6 &7

Thanks,

Diane Bayliff

8175213831

6520 Constitution Dr

Fort Worth, TX 76148

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Wine Tasting was fantastic

 
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Chose this hotel for my 1st anniversary. Amazing experience in Old Hickory. My wife and I did a wine tasting upstairs before dinner and the gentlemen who assisted us was knowledgeable of local wines as well as the more conventional regions. Dinner atmosphere was well mediated between finding a slow corner for couples and large areas for families. I wouldn't recommend it for parties with large groups of children but adults will enjoy the menu items and the service was exceptional. I felt the lobster bisque was a bit salty and it was removed from my bill, this is expected. The true treat though is the waiter used this knowledge of my preferences to make mention of specific options he felt I would enjoy.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Old Hickory fully met expectations. Wen ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Old Hickory fully met expectations. Went with a group of friends from out of town, and everyone loved the meal and location. Steaks were delicious, and the wine list had my favorite malbec from Mendoza (Achaval Ferrer). Prices were steep, but that was consistent with expectations. Didn't give 5 stars because that's for restaurants that exceed expectations. Of course expectations for Old Hickory were high and thus more difficult to exceed, but that's as it should be given the price level.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service, wonderful food. Steaks c ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great service, wonderful food. Steaks cooked perfectly! We loved the mushrooms as a side dish, went great with the steaks.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waiter

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Waiter offered special without saying price. Was very shocked my special cost more than your high class steak you offered. Disappointed. Waiter should to open and honest with all cost.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We were a group of 8, our server was exc ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We were a group of 8, our server was excellent. The meal was unrushed and excellent as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I almost never order steak because over ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

I almost never order steak because over the years it seems like the quality and taste I remember has vanished. I live on the east coast so when I was in Texas I thought I would give it one more chance. This was the best steak I have ever tasted. Cooked to perfection and full of the steak flavor I remember from days gone by. Service and ambiance was excellent. Some what on the pricey side, but on occasion I am willing to spend a little more for an excellent meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious Steaks

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We had wonderful experience at Old Hickory. Overall, I wouldn't say that it's the BEST food we have ever had, but pretty exceptional. We started with the crab cakes. They were extremely tender, cooked to perfection, but they could have been seasoned a little more for my taste. My boyfriend had the grilled ceasar salad and it was to die for! Then, we both got the special 16 oz. bone-in filets (he got scallops Oscar, I got bearnase) with the habanero corn and whipped potatoes. Everything was very good. The steaks were so tender you almost didn't even need a knife! We finished with the creme brule, which was 5 stars - never had one better. The service was outstanding as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First time won't be the last

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Old Hickory steakhouse was fantastic. The food and especially the service was exceptional. We had reservations for mother's day dinner and the restaurant didn't disappoint. We had the pork chops (very tender) and served with green beans and mac/cheese, salmon and Prime Ribeye. The ribeye was amazing, cooked medium rare and to perfection. While on the fairly expensive side I highly recommend the Old Hickory Steakhouse.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Birthday dinner shared

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Friends and I got together for two birthdays that night. Food was excellent as always. My wife had steak and I had lamb chops, both were superb.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Celebrated our anniversary there. From t ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary there. From the hostess to the waiter the service was excellent. Our waiter Matthew was the best. He took excellent care of us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is good. The service is excelle ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The food is good. The service is excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was amazing.

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The service was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wowed Us!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Outstanding food, service and atmosphere.

We went for our 24th anniversary and were impressed.

Thank you.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Superb service. Beautiful restaurant. G ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Superb service. Beautiful restaurant. Good food - strong drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The Old Hickory did not seem excessively ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The Old Hickory did not seem excessively busy but our service was terrible. We had to seek out our waitress multiple times for drink refills etc. For an expensive restaurant this is unacceptable. We will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.