About Old Hickory Steakhouse at the Gaylord Texan

1501 Gaylord Trail
Gaylord Texan
Grapevine, TX 76051-1945
View Larger Map

Dine in the warm, rich atmosphere of a Texas wine cellar while savoring the finest cuts of beef and seafood paired with an artisanal cheese display and an extensive wine list. The upstairs Wine Bar hosts the unique Enomatic Wine Tasting System, allowing guests to sample a variety of rare wines from around the world in one, three, and five ounce pours.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gaylord Trail/State Highway 26

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 778-2215

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotels/hotel-information/restaurant/dalgt-gaylord-texan-resort-and-convention-center/

Parking Details:
Local day guests of Gaylord Texan Resort who spend $25 or more in Old Hickory will receive complimentary validated temporary valet parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Journey down the winding staircase to experience the old-world charm of Old Hickory Steakhouse located inside Gaylord Texan Resort. Tantalize your taste buds with savory dishes featuring a rich depth of flavor in every delectable bite. Gorgeous private dining rooms host intimate group dinners. The upstairs Wine Bar’s unique Enomatic Wine Tasting System allows guests to sample

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Old Hickory Steakhouse at the Gaylord Texan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Dallas Suburbs
Special Occasion
Dallas Suburbs
Steakhouse
Dallas Suburbs
1 More
Most Booked
Dallas Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Grapevine ›

Special Occasion (45)
Romantic (30)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Notable Wine List (19)
Business Meals (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for Groups (14)
Cozy (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Fireplace (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Private Room (10)
Fun (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Authentic (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Historic (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
People Watching (3)
Healthy (3)
Family Style (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Casual (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Waterfront (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
401 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Amazing! Food and service!! Beautiful ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing! Food and service!! Beautiful atmosphere!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good, appetizer plenty for ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was very good, appetizer plenty for three, great wine, suggested by the somm, pleasant atmosphere. Also, the wine bar on the top floor was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food and service were very good. Ou ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The food and service were very good. Our waiter, Joseph, did an excellent job and maintained good attention without being intrusive.

I was disappointed that Salmon was not on the menu on Monday night. It was on the menu on the Gaylord website, but unfortunately not that night. The organic chicken was not a good substitute for the Salmon, but my wife's scallops were very good, and that's important.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A beautiful classy steak house with very ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 27, 2016

A beautiful classy steak house with very professional staff and fantastic food. Of course, inflated hotel prices.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Steak was pre cooked and felt as if it w ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Steak was pre cooked and felt as if it was laying around for some time. Employees where in a rush and made us feel as we where a burden. Staffing told us they where tired and could not wait till they got home. Didn't even tell us what the special was found out from table next door. I do not recommend. Eat out of the Hotel!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

Perfect alternative to our traditional T ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Perfect alternative to our traditional Thanksgiving dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Each year the Thanksgiving brunch at the ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Each year the Thanksgiving brunch at the Gaylord just keeps getting better.Thank you Old Hickory as this years was even better the just eating in the Ballroom, with the addition of the mouthwatering chilled seafood & the addition of the lobster tails & scallops.

Tags: Fireplace, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Romantic, Family Style, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chess tray was great, meals were good. T ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Chess tray was great, meals were good. Time to be seated took 15 min pass reservation time. Had to cancell food to get out in time to make next appointment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was good but the apple pie was ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The food was good but the apple pie was disappointing. It wasn't traditional and I would have liked for the waiter to have explained that. He (waiter) was complaining about the tip amount my business associate left. Very unusual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Definitely

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Definitely

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good and service was impecc ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was good and service was impeccable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Really enjoyed the service and the waite ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Really enjoyed the service and the waiter; impressed by grass fed beef and hope you eventually offer a wider selection of cuts

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

It was really nice. We have been before, ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

It was really nice. We have been before, several times. All have been special occasions. Food is excellent. Atmosphere is great. Very Texas!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Atmosphere was nice. Food was good but i ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Atmosphere was nice. Food was good but in general over-priced. $200 for 2 adults and a child with one alcoholic beverage. Included one app, one split salad and two vegetables with steaks. Child only ordered a salad. Fairly ridiculous pricing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Outstanding food and service! Our waite ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Outstanding food and service! Our waiter was the best! Joel Painter also went above and beyond to help our stay be unforgettable. Since it was our wedding day, our waiter served us a congrats desert that words can't explain! Please find him and thank him, we most certainly will! They are examples of true excellence. Outstanding!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, People Watching, Casual, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Fun, Great Beer, Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Family Style, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Historic, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steaks were excellent and among the ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The steaks were excellent and among the best I have had. All other appetizers, side dishes and desserts were great as well.

The service was good, but not quite what I would expect for the price range, and not as good as I have had a comparable priced restaurants.

The atmosphere was nice, but the open room is very loud and makes it hard to converse with the rest of your party.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Exceptional service only accentuates the ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Exceptional service only accentuates the delicious cuisine and ambiance. Hidden in the lovely Gaylord Texan Resort, this restaurant should be a dining selection for any special event or a relaxing, enjoyable meal while visiting the Dallas area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Stayed the night with my Mom and 2 siste ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Stayed the night with my Mom and 2 sisters, celebrating my sisters birthday, we had a great time and everything was very nice. We will defiantly come again

Tags: Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was very kind. Our son had a ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Our waiter was very kind. Our son had a broken collar bone. The waiter offered to have his meat cut ahead of time. Greatly appreciated. The food was wonderful.

Tags: Organic, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointed in seating arrangement. Not ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Disappointed in seating arrangement. Not even enough room on table to accommodate our cheeseboard. Small corner table literally in the draperies with my head inches from the fire alarm. My mistake was sitting down at the table in the first place without asking to be moved. Had reservations for days and restaurant was no where near full. We were moved over one table and observed that the staff continued to attempt to seat people there. They all asked to be moved. The food was very good. Our waiter was very good. However that despot table made our $300 meal for two feel like it was worth a $50 trip to Pizza Hut. Seriously. No comparison to the Old Hickory in Orlando which is exceptional on all accounts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We have had the pleasure of eating there ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We have had the pleasure of eating there several times and it is always executional! My only complaint is the noise level. Food and service are exceptional. Beautiful place. But, you can't hear your own conversation. Great for a business meeting but for a date, I would rather be somewhere a little less loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoy both the food and cocktails ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Really enjoy both the food and cocktails which are top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was fantastic! Also our waiter Zek ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was fantastic! Also our waiter Zeke was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food, great service.

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Delicious food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I wish the waitor explained exactly what ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I wish the waitor explained exactly what was included in the meal. I had no clue.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

So much better than we expected! Our se ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 15, 2016

So much better than we expected! Our server Matthew and his assistant server Brian were ridiculously helpful; I mean honestly probably the best server pair we've ever had at a high-end restaurant! Definitely ask for them...you won't be sorry! We started with the chilled seafood tower, which consisted of a split lobster tail, two full king crab legs and a ton of shrimp (as we don't like oysters). It was $35 pp, which was much more reasonable and fresher than the one we got at Pappas Bros! We shared a lovely bottle of Daou Cab, which had a great price point thanks to recommendation of the Som. We then moved onto the Cowboy Ribeye, which we split as we were so full from the seafood tower, and the habanero creamed corn (and Brian gave me the recipe...shhhh!). I had no room for dessert, but decided to have an after dinner hazelnut coffee with three different liquors in it. My husband had espresso and that was delicious as well. It's funny, we've lived in Flower Mound for 13 years and have never come here as we just assumed it was overpriced and not very good, since it's part of a resort. Boy were we wrong! The food is great, the prices are reasonable and the service was top notch. You need to forget about Bob's on Main Street and head over to the Gaylord! They also comp your parking, so that's a plus as well. Don't forget to ask for Matthew and Brian...what a pair! Thanks again for the wonderful service! Oh, and last but not least, Mari at the bar is AWESOME!! She makes one of the best martinis we've ever had. The Texas Pepper Martini is amazing...spicy but so good! We are going to become regulars here that's for sure!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

party of 10, business meal, great tastin ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 14, 2016

party of 10, business meal, great tasting food, recommend the seafood sample appetizer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent, cooked to perfec ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food was excellent, cooked to perfection, and the service was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and wonderful meal. Excell ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Great service and wonderful meal. Excellent wine selections.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great experience here at old hi ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We had a great experience here at old hickory steakhouse. First time for our 7 year old granddaughter to experience a nice restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food was also exce ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Excellent service and food was also excellent. Really enjoyed the dinner. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really some of the best most friendly an ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Really some of the best most friendly and attentive service I've ever had at a steakhouse. Expertly prepared steaks and great sides. The selection of cheeses could be improved.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It was a great meal, and very romantic, ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was a great meal, and very romantic, but I think the food and wine was definitely over priced!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was my wife Birthday , and when I mad ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was my wife Birthday , and when I made the Reservation I let them knew it, My waiter brought her a specialty desert without him or me ever mentioning it was her birthday, that made her night. My waiter was excellent

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Old Hickory for their steaks...b ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We love Old Hickory for their steaks...but had gotten a little tired of their sides and desserts. They never changed and just got a little old. We are SO glad that we went back recently. My wife and I were celebrating an important event and we decided to go to Old Hickory. We were excited to see several new side dishes (the smashed red potatoes were outstanding ) and very happy to hear their new chef was making some seasonal changes and including local produce in his selections. Now he just needs to work the same magic with the dessert menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on September 15, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at Old Hickory. It was obvious that several large groups were at the restaurant at the same time we were there, but our Server, Jessica, did an outstanding job taking care of us as if we were her only customers. The food was delicious, and the wine was wonderful. It was everything I would expect of a Prime Steakhouse. They did a Splendid job, and my wife and I had a very nice, relaxing evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

What a great restaurant. The service, b ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 15, 2016

What a great restaurant. The service, by far, was one of the highlights of the evening. Our waitress took great care of our group of 6. We ordered appetizers, dinner as well as dessert and cocktails. Food was very good and our group enjoyed every minute. Will definitely go back when I'm in the area again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome as always. Service is above and ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Awesome as always. Service is above and beyond. The food is always great! We had our two young granddaughters with us-temperature was a little cool for them. Hostess Tracy brought them each an oversized wrap to use til

Dinner was complete.like I said above and beyond

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service here was much bette ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 8, 2016

The food and service here was much better than I expected being that it is in a hotel. This is a special place and food (steaks especially) was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server suprised with a "Happy Annive ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The server suprised with a "Happy Anniversary" creme brûlée & candle.

+++

Great steaks, and the HABANERO SWEET CORN is to die for!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.