About Old Hickory Steakhouse at the Gaylord Texan

1501 Gaylord Trail
Gaylord Texan
Grapevine, TX 76051-1945
View Larger Map

Dine in the warm, rich atmosphere of a Texas wine cellar while savoring the finest cuts of beef and seafood paired with an artisanal cheese display and an extensive wine list. The upstairs Wine Bar hosts the unique Enomatic Wine Tasting System, allowing guests to sample a variety of rare wines from around the world in one, three, and five ounce pours.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gaylord Trail/State Highway 26

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 778-2215

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotels/hotel-information/restaurant/dalgt-gaylord-texan-resort-and-convention-center/

Parking Details:
Local day guests of Gaylord Texan Resort who spend $25 or more in Old Hickory will receive complimentary validated temporary valet parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Journey down the winding staircase to experience the old-world charm of Old Hickory Steakhouse located inside Gaylord Texan Resort. Tantalize your taste buds with savory dishes featuring a rich depth of flavor in every delectable bite. Gorgeous private dining rooms host intimate group dinners. The upstairs Wine Bar’s unique Enomatic Wine Tasting System allows guests to sample

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Old Hickory Steakhouse at the Gaylord Texan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Dallas - Fort Worth
Notable Wine List
Dallas Suburbs
Romantic
Dallas Suburbs
1 More
Special Occasion
Dallas Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Grapevine ›

Special Occasion (62)
Romantic (44)
Notable Wine List (34)
See All
Good for Groups (31)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Kid-friendly (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Cozy (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Private Room (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Fun (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fireplace (2)
Authentic (2)
Scenic View (2)
People Watching (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
369 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service and food was also exce ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service and food was also excellent. Really enjoyed the dinner. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really some of the best most friendly an ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Really some of the best most friendly and attentive service I've ever had at a steakhouse. Expertly prepared steaks and great sides. The selection of cheeses could be improved.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It was a great meal, and very romantic, ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was a great meal, and very romantic, but I think the food and wine was definitely over priced!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was my wife Birthday , and when I mad ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was my wife Birthday , and when I made the Reservation I let them knew it, My waiter brought her a specialty desert without him or me ever mentioning it was her birthday, that made her night. My waiter was excellent

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Old Hickory for their steaks...b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We love Old Hickory for their steaks...but had gotten a little tired of their sides and desserts. They never changed and just got a little old. We are SO glad that we went back recently. My wife and I were celebrating an important event and we decided to go to Old Hickory. We were excited to see several new side dishes (the smashed red potatoes were outstanding ) and very happy to hear their new chef was making some seasonal changes and including local produce in his selections. Now he just needs to work the same magic with the dessert menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at Old Hickory. It was obvious that several large groups were at the restaurant at the same time we were there, but our Server, Jessica, did an outstanding job taking care of us as if we were her only customers. The food was delicious, and the wine was wonderful. It was everything I would expect of a Prime Steakhouse. They did a Splendid job, and my wife and I had a very nice, relaxing evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

What a great restaurant. The service, b ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

What a great restaurant. The service, by far, was one of the highlights of the evening. Our waitress took great care of our group of 6. We ordered appetizers, dinner as well as dessert and cocktails. Food was very good and our group enjoyed every minute. Will definitely go back when I'm in the area again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome as always. Service is above and ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Awesome as always. Service is above and beyond. The food is always great! We had our two young granddaughters with us-temperature was a little cool for them. Hostess Tracy brought them each an oversized wrap to use til

Dinner was complete.like I said above and beyond

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service here was much bette ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The food and service here was much better than I expected being that it is in a hotel. This is a special place and food (steaks especially) was exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server suprised with a "Happy Annive ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The server suprised with a "Happy Anniversary" creme brûlée & candle.

+++

Great steaks, and the HABANERO SWEET CORN is to die for!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent. The waiter kn ...

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The service was excellent. The waiter knew the menu and wine list. The food did not disappoint. However, it was so noisy that my husband and I could not enjoy a conversation sitting directly across from each other without shouting. So much so that we skipped desert and coffee just to get out of there and away from the noise!

Not exactly how I imagined celebrating our wedding anniversary dinner when I booked the dinner reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

May have been understaffed, but service ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

May have been understaffed, but service was lacking for the price and caliber of this restaurant. Crab cakes-cold, steak-cold, asked for bread 3 times, check came with charges that were not ours to name a few issues. Just not what we planned for the evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our experience with this restaurant has ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our experience with this restaurant has been outstanding. That is why I recommended it to our group during our stay at The Gaylord. Service was excellent as always and the food for everyone but myself was outstanding. My steak was not good. About as bad as I have ever had in a restaurant of this quality and calibre. However, everyone had a great meal together and it was a hit for our guest.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Old Hickory was amazing. Everything tast ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Old Hickory was amazing. Everything tasted delicious. Only complaint- the sides are family style (more than 5 people could share a single side- so much wasted food).

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The service and food were both fantastic ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The service and food were both fantastic. Definitely a wonderful place to share an evening for a special occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Old Hickory has been a favorite. They'v ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Old Hickory has been a favorite. They've changed up a few things about the menu. I was disappointed in steak for the first time ever. However, I will try them again because their track record is strong.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

I love this place. It's my favorite. The ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I love this place. It's my favorite. The food and customer service is excellent!

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable evening with family celeb ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Very enjoyable evening with family celebrating a family member's birthday.

Good food, great atmosphere !

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here many times and find it to be c ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Been here many times and find it to be consistently excellent. Highlights are the Habanero cream corn and sourdough bread. They have a great winelist and the filet is one of the best pieces of meat you'll ever put in your mouth. Severs have always been on top of things but not around when you don't need them.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The steaks were excellent! The wine was ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The steaks were excellent! The wine was exceptional. I would definitely recommend Old Hickory for a special night out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was excellent and the service was s ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was excellent and the service was special. Young lady who assisted us was knowledgeable of the food and provided the extra touch of quality in her service. Steak was cooked exactly to our request and you could taste the quality of meat. When it came to sides she answered our questions and you could tell she enjoys what she is serving. When it came to the dessert again it was a pleasure just listing to the descriptions provided and enjoyed our conversation just how special a good dessert can be.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dining experience was wonderful! Ou ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The dining experience was wonderful! Our server made the evening memorable and the food was prepared well. Wine pairings were delicious. Very good way to spend the evening with a spouse!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service took too long! Just to even get ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Service took too long! Just to even get our water was long. The food was not worth the monies we paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We knew it would be expensive, so that w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We knew it would be expensive, so that wasn't a problem. My filet was not very flavorful. Our waiter, Aaron, was outstanding. We will be back. Other family members frequent the place, so we went on their recommendation. Also, I forgot my reading glasses and was provided a complimentary pair. For my birthday was given complimentary creme brûlée, which was delicious. I had a Kir Royal and questioned whether the cassis was mixed with champagne & was told it was. Did not taste as though mixed with champagne, nor was it bubbly. Tasted more like a Royal, cassis with white wine. Still not convinced.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food and service!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The BEST Lobster Bisque soup! Filet & L ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The BEST Lobster Bisque soup!

Filet & Lobster were perfect !

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Shared the bone ribeye with DW. It was ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Shared the bone ribeye with DW. It was one of my top 3 steaks of the past 12 months. I never said a word as to preparation. The chef cooked it to perfection carved it off the bone but left the bone the plate for discrete gnawing. The he sliced it for serving. The steak still looked intact.

I don't really remember the rest great steak trumps all.

Waiter was top notch as well his bright and pretty Russian assistant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food. Notable wine lis ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great service and food. Notable wine list. Always a pleasure. Never dissappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sherif our waiter was WONDERFUL! Probabl ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Sherif our waiter was WONDERFUL! Probably one of the best steaks I've had as well. All around a wonderful place..... P.s. Try the corn!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the wait on a sunday morning, we l ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Worth the wait on a sunday morning, we loved it so much that we came again Monday morning! The scout French toast was amazing! Perfect!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I cannot say enough great things about t ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I cannot say enough great things about this restaurant. I wish it was in my neighborhood instead of in DFW area.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner for 14 for my ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner for 14 for my dad's 85th birthday. The food was delicious and our waiter did a wonderful job!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We chose Old Hickory for convenience whi ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We chose Old Hickory for convenience while at a conference for convenience. But it was so much more!

Great service, cool steakhouse feel, above average wine and a GREAT bone in ribeye. The maque choux corn, augratin potatoes and truffle fries--all worth a try--we will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

The steak I ordered was a "premium cut" ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The steak I ordered was a "premium cut" of some sort and it tasted awful; I sent it back and it was replaced with their grass fed filet which wasn't much better. I had a better steak a couple of weeks ago at Texas Road house! (And it didn't cost $42.00) The lobster bisque was not bisque at all; it was very watery. The lobster tail was very good and they have an awesome wine list.

The service was excellent! Very lovely ambiance. A little pricey.

I would try the restaurant again, but be much more forceful in my decisions about keeping my mouth shut about bad tasting food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Our service was perfect! Our server was ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our service was perfect! Our server was very kind, knowledgeable about the menu and wine list, quick and funny. The food was very good! I had the filet and lobster, which was cooked perfectly with flavor and lobster was not overdone. We enjoyed the creamed corn with our meal and chocolate cake for dessert. Great wine list too. Would definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The scallops weren't seared properly (bl ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The scallops weren't seared properly (bless Gordon Ramsay for teaching the world about proper scallop searing)... Essentially only go for the steak; everything else was overrated and overpriced.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

As with every aspect of the Gaylord Texa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

As with every aspect of the Gaylord Texan Resort, the service was excellent! Old Hickory Steakhouse featured very good steaks, the sides were good, as well as the dessert and wine list. Our server was an exchange student from Eastern Europe who is involved in a summer program here and she was a very delightful person! Overall, a good place to be if you are staying at the Gaylord Texan!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Servers brought food to table very rapid ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Servers brought food to table very rapidly before previous courses were finished. When I complained, she blamed it on the kitchen, but I think it had to do with when the orders were placed. My complaint made no difference. It continued to happen. I felt very rushed. The restaurant was not particularly busy. This should not happen at a fine dining establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The food here is AMAZING. I had the sca ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food here is AMAZING. I had the scallops and lobster bisque and it was the BEST I have had in a long time if not ever. The service was great as always. Cannot say enough about the food at Old Hickory Steakhouse. We didn't have the steak because we are seafood eaters but the seafood was delicious. The only issue I have is every time I book here via OPEN TABLE this restaurant cannot find my reservation even though I called The Gaylord the same morning as our reservation and the customer svc person on the phone found it and confirmed. This has happened TWICE now. When we got to the restaurant for dinner they could not find my name or reservation. Luckily we were seated and have a fabulous dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was great!

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.