About Old Hickory Steakhouse at the Gaylord Texan

1501 Gaylord Trail
Gaylord Texan
Grapevine, TX 76051-1945
View Larger Map

Dine in the warm, rich atmosphere of a Texas wine cellar while savoring the finest cuts of beef and seafood paired with an artisanal cheese display and an extensive wine list. The upstairs Wine Bar hosts the unique Enomatic Wine Tasting System, allowing guests to sample a variety of rare wines from around the world in one, three, and five ounce pours.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gaylord Trail/State Highway 26

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 778-2215

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotels/hotel-information/restaurant/dalgt-gaylord-texan-resort-and-convention-center/

Parking Details:
Local day guests of Gaylord Texan Resort who spend $25 or more in Old Hickory will receive complimentary validated temporary valet parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Journey down the winding staircase to experience the old-world charm of Old Hickory Steakhouse located inside Gaylord Texan Resort. Tantalize your taste buds with savory dishes featuring a rich depth of flavor in every delectable bite. Gorgeous private dining rooms host intimate group dinners. The upstairs Wine Bar’s unique Enomatic Wine Tasting System allows guests to sample

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wine

Old Hickory Steakhouse at the Gaylord Texan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Dallas - Fort Worth
Steakhouse
Dallas - Fort Worth
Best Food
Dallas Suburbs
5 More
Best Ambiance
Dallas Suburbs
Notable Wine List
Dallas Suburbs
Romantic
Dallas Suburbs
Special Occasion
Dallas Suburbs
Steakhouse
Dallas Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Grapevine ›

special occasion (88)
romantic (70)
notable wine list (47)
See All
good for groups (43)
fit for foodies (27)
late-night find (5)
neighborhood gem (4)
scenic view (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
hot spot (3)
kid-friendly (3)
great for brunch (3)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
304 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Old Hickory fully met expectations. Wen ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Old Hickory fully met expectations. Went with a group of friends from out of town, and everyone loved the meal and location. Steaks were delicious, and the wine list had my favorite malbec from Mendoza (Achaval Ferrer). Prices were steep, but that was consistent with expectations. Didn't give 5 stars because that's for restaurants that exceed expectations. Of course expectations for Old Hickory were high and thus more difficult to exceed, but that's as it should be given the price level.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service, wonderful food. Steaks c ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great service, wonderful food. Steaks cooked perfectly! We loved the mushrooms as a side dish, went great with the steaks.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Waiter

Dined on May 21, 2016

Waiter offered special without saying price. Was very shocked my special cost more than your high class steak you offered. Disappointed. Waiter should to open and honest with all cost.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a group of 8, our server was exc ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We were a group of 8, our server was excellent. The meal was unrushed and excellent as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious Steaks

Dined on May 14, 2016

We had wonderful experience at Old Hickory. Overall, I wouldn't say that it's the BEST food we have ever had, but pretty exceptional. We started with the crab cakes. They were extremely tender, cooked to perfection, but they could have been seasoned a little more for my taste. My boyfriend had the grilled ceasar salad and it was to die for! Then, we both got the special 16 oz. bone-in filets (he got scallops Oscar, I got bearnase) with the habanero corn and whipped potatoes. Everything was very good. The steaks were so tender you almost didn't even need a knife! We finished with the creme brule, which was 5 stars - never had one better. The service was outstanding as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

First time won't be the last

Dined on May 8, 2016

Old Hickory steakhouse was fantastic. The food and especially the service was exceptional. We had reservations for mother's day dinner and the restaurant didn't disappoint. We had the pork chops (very tender) and served with green beans and mac/cheese, salmon and Prime Ribeye. The ribeye was amazing, cooked medium rare and to perfection. While on the fairly expensive side I highly recommend the Old Hickory Steakhouse.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated our anniversary there. From t ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Celebrated our anniversary there. From the hostess to the waiter the service was excellent. Our waiter Matthew was the best. He took excellent care of us!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food is good. The service is excelle ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food is good. The service is excellent!

food5
ambience5
service5

The service was amazing.

Dined on April 30, 2016

The service was amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wowed Us!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Outstanding food, service and atmosphere. We went for our 24th anniversary and were impressed. Thank you.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Superb service. Beautiful restaurant. G ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Superb service. Beautiful restaurant. Good food - strong drinks!

food4
ambience3
service1

The Old Hickory did not seem excessively ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

The Old Hickory did not seem excessively busy but our service was terrible. We had to seek out our waitress multiple times for drink refills etc. For an expensive restaurant this is unacceptable. We will not return.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Meal

Dined on April 9, 2016

Great ambiance. Great food. A little pricey but to be expected in an upscale hotel. Definitely worth going back. Steaks were great!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice but expensive

Dined on April 7, 2016

These are at the Gaylord Resorts and if you don't have a car, you are held captive at the resort. The restaurant is nice but quite expensive. The food was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food & Service!

Dined on April 3, 2016

I don't know which is better here-the food or the service! They are both excellent & I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a grown-up night without kids. It is elegant and sophisticated without being pretentious. It is my favorite place and I bring both my family (My kids are in their 20s) and I bring my industry guests who come from out of town. I am never disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent experience all around. The at ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Excellent experience all around. The atmosphere is nice feels like you are in a winery. The steak (filet) was THE Best I have ever had. Cooked perfectly - med rare and unbelievable tender. We also had Oysters Rockefeller that were phenomenal. Service was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Located in Gaylord Texan...convenient if you are staying there. Worth the drive if you are not. Excellent steaks...more than ample portions (may want to think about sharing an entree). It was my son's birthday and I bought cupcakes for us all. Diane (waitress) went out of her way to bring the cupcakes with one candle lit for my son to enjoy. Thank you! Very accommodating.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for family dinner or romantic date night!

Dined on March 26, 2016

We ate here for my daughters 7th bday because she is a huge steak lover. She enjoyed the kids filet and ate every bite! I was very impressed with the cheese tray options and how knowledgeable our server was on all the cheeses, he even brought back a list of the ones we liked, so we can enjoy them back home. Wine list is great and an array of prices depending on what your budget is. Food was perfect and my daughter loved her bday dessert of the creme brulee. We will def come back on our next visit. Thanks!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service2

Outdated interiors and a wait staff not ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Outdated interiors and a wait staff not matching the price of the food that makes you want to walk out until you get the food—and then, you stop complaining and indulge. Too bad the whole experience did not match the food or we would go back all the time.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good Food; A Little Pricey

Dined on March 24, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at the Old Hickory Steakhouse. It was not very busy on a Thursday night. We had a quiet booth at first, but shortly after sitting down, a group of 3 was seated in the adjoining booth with little or no privacy thereafter. The food was good, but a little pricey in my opinion. The service from Diane was very attentive. We enjoyed the experience.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Great food and service and resonably priced. Highly recommend.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Extremely attentive wait staff! I don't ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Extremely attentive wait staff! I don't think my water glass was ever less than half full. They try to time coming up to your table in a way that won't call for an abrupt halt to whatever conversation you're having. The bone in Filet Mignon was incredible. A word of warning about the Truffle Fries... they are addicting and the portion is huge. Don't say you weren't warned.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super Filet!

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

My date and I both had the filet. We agreed it was one of the best steaks we have ever eaten - good flavor, tender, and cooked to perfection. And the habenero corn was so good. This has to be one of the really outstanding restaurants in Texas. I have eaten there many times and never been disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Husband

Dined on March 13, 2016

Took my wife for her birthday and she loved it, the food was great and the service was great too. Will go back in the future

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was amazing, food was incredible ...

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

Service was amazing, food was incredible. Highly recommend this place

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent!

Dined on February 20, 2016

We eat at the Old Hickory everytime we stay at the Gaylord. It is always excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great service!!!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food, great service!!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The special was awesome

Dined on February 14, 2016

We ordered the bone-in filet. It was fork tender with full flavor. We shared it and my husband enjoyed picking up the bone and taking care of it "cave man style". Our server was personable and helped with explaining the size of the dishes we were interested in. It was really busy....valentine's day weekend so it may have been a bit noisier that I prefer.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Becoming my new favorite....

Dined on February 14, 2016

I have absolutely loved my past couple dining experiences at Old Hickory. It has become one of my husband and I's favorite special occasion spots. He always gets the Cowboy Ribeye and raves about it -- I switch around between the filet and lobster...both are phenomenal. Their wedge and caesar salads are delicious and all of the sides we have tried have been SO good.... I especially like their mushrooms. The ambiance is wonderful...very swanky old-school Cowboy...it is perfect! The service is always top-notch and I feel like our money is well-spent when we go there. I can't wait for our next trip to Old Hickory!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, always good service and ver ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great place, always good service and very quiet even when full

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Old Hickory Steakhouse is Exceptional!!!

Dined on February 13, 2016

An extensive wine list. The Sommelier was well educated and attentive. The Hostess, the Waiter, the Busboy, the Bartender all greeted us and made us feel welcome as soon as we descended the spiral staircase. The lighting is warm, the atmosphere is relaxing. The appetizer, soup, entrée and desert were perfection. The food items that needed to be hot were hot. Those needing to be cold were cold. A culinary journey of mouth watering flavor, perfectly seasoned. We never felt rushed. We will definitely return. I give it 5 stars. For those of you who have never dined at the Old Hickory Steakhouse, you don't know what you are missing. Bon Appetit!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Our waiter, Jaime, was fantastic. This w ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Our waiter, Jaime, was fantastic. This was our second time dining with him and he absolutely makes the dining experience. He assisted us with choosing a wonderful wine, as well as our dinner and dessert. I will request his service in the future! Very enjoyable!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

$$$$ - But you're getting the best

Dined on February 13, 2016

It's a little pricey. Count on $75 per head incl. tip, and light on the alcohol. The Ribeye was excellent & cooked perfectly. The Habanero Cream Corn is to die for. Don't eat at Old Hickory without having Habanero Creamed Corn!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Anniversary Dinner

Dined on February 7, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 19th anniversary one Saturday evening and thoroughly enjoyed every facet of our dining experience. We keep coming back to the Old Hickory every year for this anniversary celebration; it is our very favorite SPECIAL place to dine. The cheese and wine selections are second to none and the ribeye steak is exquisite, cooked to perfection, and so tender that you can cut it with a fork if you choose! The wait staff is so friendly and they made us feel special, catering to our every want or need. We highly recommend the Old Hickory Steakhouse!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Cook time needs improvment

Dined on February 7, 2016

My rib eye steak was over cooked. The ability of hitting a medium rare at a fine steakhouse is a requirement.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on February 7, 2016

Old Hickory is a place to take special guests or for special occasions. Food and service is always outstanding. The wine list is impressive. It is not an inexpensive meal but well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food is excellent!!

Dined on February 6, 2016

Everything from the bread, to the entree was fabulous! Cooked just how I wanted it. Best steak in town!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We went the the Gaylord for our wedding ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

We went the the Gaylord for our wedding anniversary and enjoyed dinner at the old hickory. Our table was ready at our exact reservation time. Our waiter came over as soon as we were seated. Everything was wonderful and they treated us to a surprise anniversary dessert. Can't wait to go back

food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Atmosphere, Service, STEAK

Dined on February 6, 2016

Atmosphere, service, and main course were unbeatable. Cheese tray was fun and delicious, and the portions were generous. The only piece that seemed to be lacking were the sides. The sides were what they were and really didn't have any original spin to them. We ordered the mushrooms and the asparagus, and that's what we got, boiled asparagus with a little cheese and mushrooms in a sauce that didn't really go with the steak.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner for Two

Dined on February 6, 2016

We had a delicious dinner with perfectly cooked filets being the star. We then shared the Grand Marnier Souffle, which was the most fabulous dessert that we have ever had. The French press coffee was also perfect. A very romantic evening!

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.