Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Fri, 5/25
Time
9:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 31 times today

Old Hickory Steakhouse at the Gaylord Texan

4.6
788 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for a Date
Dine in the warm, rich atmosphere of a Texas wine cellar while savoring the finest cuts of beef and seafood paired with an artisanal cheese display and an extensive wine list. The upstairs Wine Bar hosts the unique Enomatic Wine Tasting System, allowing guests to sample a variety of rare wines from around the world in one, three, and five ounce pours.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(817) 778-2215
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Journey down the winding staircase to experience the old-world charm of Old Hickory Steakhouse located inside Gaylord Texan Resort. Tantalize your taste buds with savory dishes featuring a rich depth of flavor in every delectable bite. Gorgeous private dining rooms host intimate group dinners. The upstairs Wine Bar’s unique Enomatic Wine Tasting System allows guests to sample
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Gaylord Trail/State Highway 26
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Local day guests of Gaylord Texan Resort who spend $25 or more in Old Hickory will receive complimentary validated temporary valet parking.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine
What 788 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
82% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

I have eaten at Old Hickory several times and have never been disappointed. The server knew the menu and wine list, which was refreshing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Great ambiance. Hubby really enjoys the restaurant and food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 15, 2018

I had high expectations based on the rating they have. Disappointed with the Octopus and even more disappointed with the recommended dry aged steak which is supposedly the specialty of the house.

I made prior plans to make multiple visits being a hotel guest - i ended up enjoying other options outside the hotel - ratings at par with this but the food, ambience and overall satisfaction were just way better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

The service and food were five star. I was a guest at the Gaylord and heard great things about this steakhouse and it did not disappoint.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Tremendous service by the staff. We arrived about an hour earlier than planned and they were able to seat us in about 15 minutes. Wine, cheese and appetizers were phenomenal. I'm not a big steak person, so I opted for the pork chop & it was quite tasty. Highly recommend this restaurant for a business dinner, or a for a nice evening with friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Mother’s Day dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Everything was very good. It was for anniversary and it met our expectations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We had an absolutely delicious meal from start to finish, and the service was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

When you don’t get to spend a night away from home often, you hope for the perfect evening. Our experience was just that and so much more. Old Hickory Steakhouse delivered an evening to my husband and I that we will not forget. The food was amazing and the staff took care of everything. The platter of dry aged beef with assorted cheeses and olives was an unexpected surprise. The surf and turf was cooked to perfection and was almost matched by the pork chop. To finish off the night, we could not decide which dessert we loved most. Truly, an evening and dinner that was absolutely perfect in every way. Thank you Chef and Co.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Wonderful experience. Brian on the wait staff assisting the waiter took great care of us! Always made sure our every need was taken care.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

One of our guests was pregnant and wanted something different. They got us menus from other Restaurants close by and brought her a burger. The rest of us had steak. Really impressed with the customer service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Very nice atmosphere and service the only thing I didn’t care for was the Caesar salad it’s not a traditional Caesar salad it’s made with kale instead of Romain

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

My husband and I had a wonderful dining experience, the food was delicious and plentiful.
We had the seafood tower and lobster bisque appetizer, my husband had the aged ribeye, I had the filet mignon, both delicious. We had the shareable habanero corn and roasted mushrooms.
Dessert (we shared), the cafetero cheesecake which was a work of art that is prepared tableside.
The BEST part for us, was the service! Our server, Barbara was outstanding, you can tell she really knows the menu, how things should be cooked, what foods pair well and delightful fun personality.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Food and service was exquisite

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

My family and I visited Old Hockory for the first time during our stay at the Gaylord Texan resort. Our family was gathering for my mother’s birthday and being that we are a military family we are stationed all over the map and Dallas is the halfway point. Old Hickory was the most memorable part of our stay. Every service member from the greeting of the hostesses to our servers Aaron and Bryan were absolutely outstanding. My mother had the most amazing birthday because of their amazing service and we truly appreciate it. The food was mouthwatering everyone thouroughly enjoyed the meal. We cannot wait to go back as a family and eat there once again. Special special thank you to our waiters they laughed and had a great time with as well as being courteous and top of things! Thank you Aaron and Bryan for your service! Thank you Old Hickory Staff you were outstanding!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Absolutely incredible experience. The food was fantastic, and the service was truly exceptional. We will definitely return!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Service was great! Food was tasty but a bit pricey! Overall it was a great evening out! Wine selection was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Beautiful ambiance, awesome food. Highly recommend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

The food was wonderful, service excellent, and location inside the Gaylord (with complementary valet parking) was special, but the live jazz music and the musician was the cherry on the top of a lovely romantic evening!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Very good, just pricey and we did not drink just two meals two salads and one side.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Superb night. They already knew it was our anniversary because with my reservation it was asked if we were celebrating a special occasion and they made it special for sure. From the hostess know it was our anniversary to the waiter. The service was awesome and the food was spectacular. They even gave us dessert on them for our anniversary. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

I was looking for a special place to celebrate a friends birthday, and this place was incredible. Treat yourself to the cheese tray it’s worth it. The cocktails were wonderful and the service exceptional. Staff made the experience memorable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Great services, fair prices, food was very good! Steaks were awesome. The sides were delicious. Our guests were delighted.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Very nice overall experience. Good food, our server was very accommodating, atmosphere was most pleasant......

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Dining at Old Hickory was quite enjoyable. The downside was the noise level and the wait to get seated despite being timely for our reservations. The tables are close together. The food was excellent. The filet was cooked perfectly and the beets and greens paired well with the steak.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Octopus appetizer lacked crispness; not sure it was fresh as consistency a little mealy; filet was tasty, New York steak a little fibrous and likely not Prime cut. Overall average experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Excellent meal overall but expensive. Recommend any of the steaks. Really enjoyed the selection of artisans cheese. Extensive wine selection but not much as I would have expected from TX hill country.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 18, 2018

I was there a year and a half ago and enjoyed it much better the steaks were better than then now my wife’s they came out cold.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Scrumptious! Great steaks

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Always a great dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Best steak in Texas!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Our waiter Zeke was awesome. He was very friendly and very attentive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 5, 2018

Steak was not high quality for $50 a ribeye. I will not be going again. 1/3 price at longhorn or lone star for better quality.
The sides were good but can’t salvage the steak problem. Many unchewable pieces of meat in 20oz bone in ribeye.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

Filet was cooked perfect! I recommend the charred brussel sprouts as your side. Server was very attentive and accommodating to my diet restrictions. Beautiful atmosphere. Highly recommended it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 1, 2018

Our evening at this restaurant was nothing but first class. The service was great and we received service from several different folks. Each one was friendly and seemed to really care about us having a great experience.
Our food was very good and we did experience a special evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Went for our wedding anniversary great food, great service loved our waitor Jaime. Cocktails were made really well by the bar man while waiting for our table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

had a great time, ribeye was the best nice anniversary dinner and never had a cheese cake in a chocolate dinosaure egg 😁😉😁😁

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Simply elegant, yet wonderful cuisine. We will return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Food was just OK compared to other steak restaurants in the area of similar price. Steak had a good flavor, but nothing special. Cooked in oven broiler, no charring on the outside. Lobster bisque had decent flavor with chunks of lobster meat, but soup was way too thin. Not a thicker cream soup that I expected. Overall, restaurant was good, but not outstanding, which it should be for the price. Service was good, but we were sat in a corner next to a wall. I kept hitting the wall with my elbow while I was eating.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2018

We ordered the Farms 44 cowboy ribeye, med with a pittsburg or charred exterior.

The meat was overcooked and we suspect because of the requested pittsburg charring.

the meat was tough and hard to eat.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
20

Tweets by Old Hickory Steakhouse at the Gaylord Texan