Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.86mi
  3. Distance: 0.88mi
  4. Distance: 1.11mi

About Old Hickory Steakhouse at the Gaylord Texan

Dine in the warm, rich atmosphere of a Texas wine cellar while savoring the finest cuts of beef and seafood paired with an artisanal cheese display and an extensive wine list. The upstairs Wine Bar hosts the unique Enomatic Wine Tasting System, allowing guests to sample a variety of rare wines from around the world in one, three, and five ounce pours.

1501 Gaylord Trail
Gaylord Texan
Grapevine, TX 76051-1945
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gaylord Trail/State Highway 26

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 778-2215

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotels/hotel-information/restaurant/dalgt-gaylord-texan-resort-and-convention-center/

Parking Details:
Local day guests of Gaylord Texan Resort who spend $25 or more in Old Hickory will receive complimentary validated temporary valet parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Journey down the winding staircase to experience the old-world charm of Old Hickory Steakhouse located inside Gaylord Texan Resort. Tantalize your taste buds with savory dishes featuring a rich depth of flavor in every delectable bite. Gorgeous private dining rooms host intimate group dinners. The upstairs Wine Bar’s unique Enomatic Wine Tasting System allows guests to sample

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Old Hickory Steakhouse at the Gaylord Texan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Romantic (40)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
See All
Good for a Date (27)
Notable Wine List (23)
Business Meals (22)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Good for Groups (15)
Cozy (15)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Authentic (7)
Fireplace (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Fun (5)
Private Room (5)
Organic (3)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Casual (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (0)
Sort By:
S
565 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Barbara took great care of us and the food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The Filet was outstanding and the service was amazing. A special fine dining place within the Gaylord.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great meal and wonderful service. The 🐙 was extremely tender with nice char. Columbia River salmon was perfect. Steak was good too. Interesting desert and desert wine flight.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 15, 2017

It was a little loud and extremely casual for such a high-priced venue. However, our waiter, Sharif, did an excellent job.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Best service of all restaurants in resort; also most expensive. Food also best in resort. Portions smaller than expected. Our 8 oz filet was probably really 5 1/2 oz at most. A la cart sides were abundant and tasty.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Wedge salad needed salt...none on table...very little dressing so most of salad was eating unseasoned iceberg lettuce. Was afraid $65 lobster was done adequately...had a rubbery texture...not done enough, overdone? Just not tender. My husband had the Caesar salad and ribeye...very bland but very tender. The mashed potatoes were probably the best item we ordered...which is kind of sad since the meal with tip was almost $300. We each had two glasses of wine...no dessert. The service was perfect and ambiance spot on.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Disappointed in the quality of filet Minon. 8oz for $48 should've been a better tasting meat. Plus the lobster tail was over cooked and hard. Server and hostess were amazing. Prob gonna go to bobs next time or papas bros.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2017

I first like to start by clarifying that upon arrival, the hostess was not able to find our reservation. So, I want to ensure that everyone knows we were there and we did dine. Luckily, there was a table available. In fact, we were seated in a nice private room. There ended up being seven of us and the room was very nice and allowed for great conversation. The food was well prepared and included generous portions albeit a bit pricey. This was a business dinner so luckily we will be reimbursed for a portion of the overall cost.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This restaurant had a great ambiance for my wife and I celebrating our 12th wedding anniversary. The chef prepared some great appetizers for our celebration and also a great dessert that had a balm size cheesecake dish inside a half size chocolate egg and the waitress poured some hot melting chocolate inside the dish. The salad, steak(filet mignon), mashed potatoes, and habanero corn was cooked the right temperature and with great flavor.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We loved this place!!! The food was awesome, the service was the best.

Tags: Organic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 7, 2017

I was aware walking into The Old Hickory that it was part of the Gaylord resort. My family wanted to try it out and the ambience was great. Relaxed lighting, great aroma, fairly attentive staff. The food how ever was a disappointment. The bone-in steak was poor quality and was neither moist nor flavorful. Even my 15 y.o. boys who normally eat everything and in great quantity left the majority of the meat on their plates. They "didn't like the taste and how it felt chewing it". The lobster bisque was too salty (and without sherry) when delivered to the table. The lamb I selected had a nice crust from the grill but was tough toward the bone. Too much work trying to separate meat from the bone to enjoy. I left more than half behind on the plate.

The only thing that was not disappointing was the BILL. It was HIGH and SHOCKINGLY HIGH, to say the least. We left with 1/3 full appetites and less than 1/3 left in our wallet. We will neither return nor recommend this place.

There are much better steaks and far better pricing just down the street. Jump in the car and go for a short drive! It will be worth the few minutes travel. Your belly, and your wallet, will appreciate it!

tdb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This was our first occasion to dine at Old Hickory. It was our anniversary and we decided to stay at the Gaylord Texan hotel and try Old Hickory. It came highly recommended and did NOT disappoint. Our waiter, Sherif, was a true professional and took a great deal of time explaining the menu. Both of our steaks were cooked to perfection and we received complimentary dessert and soft drinks. The ambiance was elegant but not stuffy. Service was impeccable. The Chef is to be applauded. Highly recommend.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Well prepared steak, the desserts were very impressive and quite different from regular dessert, worth a try!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 4, 2017

My 3rd time at Old Hickory and it never disappoints!!!! I had the seared scallops dish and it was AWESOME!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 4, 2017

The meal
Was memorable, you can cut steak with a fork! Wonderful service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 4, 2017

My wife's birthday

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 4, 2017

The only issue was I doubled up the tip, I did not realize the tip was included with the meal. So tip was 40%. I believe the waiter should have told us. Possibly my part for not reading more carefully, but am old and eyesight is not that good in dim lit surroundings.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Service great; food high quality, but slightly over-cooked. Desserts uninspired.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 1, 2017

As ALWAYS this place is amazing. Changed the menu a bit since last time we were there. Still amazing and we love the new items on the menu. Our service was exceptional and food was amazing

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We had gotten married earlier in day, staff was aware of that very complimentary! Our waiter was hard to understand, however His assistant wait staff made up for it! Food was perfect! Appreciate the special dessert that was provided a very enjoyable event!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Fine dining as expected comes with small portions and big prices, so I knew what I was getting into. I would rather go to the Keg, and get great food for less.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food was incredible! A little pricey. But the atmosphere was great, service was great, and I will go back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We went to Old Hickory for a guys night of Steaks and Whiskey. The cut selection was great and the sides were filling. You won't leave hungry after having a meal here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 23, 2017

we had a great meal and our wonderful sever Barbara changed the event frorm a dinner to a dining experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Excellent atmosphere
Excellent food
Excellent service
Our waitress was Mary and she went out of her way to take care of us!
Lovely evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 22, 2017

everything was good, my steak was undercooked and I just did not want to complain and wait for them to re do my food, so I just ate it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We had Jessica and she was superb. She made sure everything was perfect. The food was excellent. I will definitely recommend and return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food was great, the service exceptional and the ambience was upscale but relaxed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The dinner was nice but they charged our room the dinner amount four times and charged our bank account three times. So a dinner that was $250 ended up showing 7 times that amount. It was quite the hassle to get it taken off our hotel bill and our bank card!!! Not worth the headache!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We stayed at the Gaylord for our 15th wedding anniversary. I was told that Old Hickory was a great choice. I mentioned in my reservation that it was our anniversary and at the end of the meal they provided a complimentary dessert! The meal and dessert was beyond delicious.. Probably the best NY Strip I have ever consumed. Wife said the filet was also the best. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Everything was a 10!!! Food, Service and Establishment.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Old Hickory was, as always, absolutely fantastic! The service was impeccable with just the right amount of attention. And, as always, the food was wonderful. This is definitely the right place for a special occasion dinner.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We've been Old Hickory about 20 times since it opened, usually for special occasions, and it never disappoints. Great food, service and atmosphere. The sommelier was invaluable and chose a marvelous wine for our dinner. The 'Piedmontese' ribeye was extraordinary and my wife's Lamb 'saddle' it's equal. Can't wait until we go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 30, 2017

My wife and I had an excellent Anniversary dinner. We were seated promptly after arrival and offered menu's. We were given ample time to read the menu and told of the specials. We were having wine, so we declined a pre-dinner beverage. The starter choice's (a different salad for each of us) we each made were excellent and the proper portion to start our meal. We both chose the Filet for our main course and very pleased with the presentation. The Filet's were prepared exactly as we requested. The side dishes (creamed corn & sauteed greens) were good, but the portions could have been for several more people. And we only had the half orders of each. The dessert (chocolate frangipane) was excellent and went very well with the wine we had chosen.

Our Server, Alynn, did an excellent job of answering our questions, assisting us with our choices and making sure that everything was the way we requested.

It was a very good evening

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Very nice dining experience for special occasion or weekend dining experience!

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Food was great. Only part of the meal we didn't care for was the salad. House dressing was very salty(we did not complain to be fair) We had the surf and turf for two. It was lots of food! Three could share this meal. Dessert was awesome! Atmosphere is perfect for date night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Beautiful place to have a nice formal dinner with delicious food! The ambience is romantic and elegant and the wait staff is stupendous!!!! Well worth the cost.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The Overall experience was very good. Dislikes-The waitress only recommended the highest priced glass of wine, bread was cold when it arrived, was not asked if we wanted crab,shrimp,caviar pallet cleaner, which we did not, was a waste of food. Would like a dessert chose item that was not all chocolate. Steak were great. We will come again with knowledge of what to expect.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The service was outstanding and the food was amazing. The cost was steep and added up quickly. Would be outstanding for an anniversary dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Have only eaten at Ild Hickory a handful of times, but the food has always been excellent and the wait staff very attentive and sociable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.