About Old Hickory Steakhouse at the Gaylord Texan

1501 Gaylord Trail
Gaylord Texan
Grapevine, TX 76051-1945
View Larger Map

Dine in the warm, rich atmosphere of a Texas wine cellar while savoring the finest cuts of beef and seafood paired with an artisanal cheese display and an extensive wine list. The upstairs Wine Bar hosts the unique Enomatic Wine Tasting System, allowing guests to sample a variety of rare wines from around the world in one, three, and five ounce pours.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gaylord Trail/State Highway 26

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 778-2215

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotels/hotel-information/restaurant/dalgt-gaylord-texan-resort-and-convention-center/

Parking Details:
Local day guests of Gaylord Texan Resort who spend $25 or more in Old Hickory will receive complimentary validated temporary valet parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Journey down the winding staircase to experience the old-world charm of Old Hickory Steakhouse located inside Gaylord Texan Resort. Tantalize your taste buds with savory dishes featuring a rich depth of flavor in every delectable bite. Gorgeous private dining rooms host intimate group dinners. The upstairs Wine Bar’s unique Enomatic Wine Tasting System allows guests to sample

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Old Hickory Steakhouse at the Gaylord Texan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (49)
Good for a Date (41)
Romantic (40)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Business Meals (21)
Notable Wine List (18)
Cozy (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Fireplace (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Private Room (9)
Seasonal (9)
Fun (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Authentic (7)
Casual (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Family Style (5)
Historic (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Great Beer (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
People Watching (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dancing (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
465 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This restaurant is an awesome place. Sta ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 2 days ago

This restaurant is an awesome place. Staff curteous and knowledgeable. Amazing food and great wine list. The server was very helpful with his recommendations.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Eating at the Old Hickory is a lot less ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Eating at the Old Hickory is a lot less trouble than getting in your car and leaving the Gaylord. The food is good, but not great and the price is reflective of the outstanding service.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous evening for our party of 15. Th ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Fabulous evening for our party of 15. The staff was very accommodating, giving us a private dining room. Our out-of-town relatives were staying at the Gaylord, which is why we chose Old Hickory; we were glad we did. The waitstaff, especially Steve, took great care of us all night. Loved the fromage option (a cheese expert) - a fun touch. Food standouts were beef filet, scallops, mushroom side dish, and the cheese cart appetizer. The only small recommendations that I'd make - the sommelier could be friendlier; the shared, family-style side dishes were small portions, plus we had to serve ourselves (difficult for our elderly parents). Also, the food and wine prices are unreasonably high. But I'd love to eat there again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had heard great things about Old Hickory ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had heard great things about Old Hickory, so we decided to try it out for New Year's Eve. I was underwhelmed. The food was just ok, but the service was impeccable. I wish I could leave higher marks for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

This was by far the best filet mignon I' ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This was by far the best filet mignon I've ever had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Binh was a very good waiter. He was ver ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Binh was a very good waiter. He was very attentive and deserves a raise.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I asked for a medium steak for both of m ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I asked for a medium steak for both of my kids, they were brought out raw and cold in the center. The waiter took them back and instead of cooking new steaks, they cut our steaks in half (filets) and basically burned them. The sides were bland. Our meals were slightly better, but all in all, at $300 it was definitely NOT worth it. They are charging fine dining prices for chain restaurant quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Was very disappointed overall. Our wait ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Was very disappointed overall. Our waiter acted as though he could care less about us. My wife loved her scallops, but my steak was average at best. Not worth the money I paid for sure. The artisan cheeses were 1/2 good and 1/2 very bland and flavorless. We dined here for our anniversary several years ago and obviously had a better experience because we RETURNED for another anniversary dinner, but we will NOT be returning again... EVER. We absolutely LOVED the Gaylord Hotel and we had top-notch experience with hotel staff and service. I think the Old Hickory Steakhouse has "grown too big for it's britches" as my daddy used to say. Way too pricey... made even worse by lack-luster service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Absolutely delicious and delightful! Ex ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Absolutely delicious and delightful! Excellent steaks and informed, courteous, attentive service. For an intimate dinner or group event - Old Hickory never disappoints!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sharif did a great job. He's to be comm ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Sharif did a great job. He's to be commended for his patience and knowledge.

Being a local, we dine here 2-3 times per year. One of our favorite items THAT USED TO BE AVAILABLE were the truffle fries. They've now been discontinued on the menu. QUITE THE DISAPPOINTMENT!! Sharif did well to get them for us. We really do appreciate him working hard for us. Additionally, they've removed the grilled asparagus from the menu. Family favorites - both the fries and grilled asparagus will be missed. There are some staples should be considered mainstays on a menu and I ask that the truffle fries and grilled asparagus be returned as menu options. I don't know if this will sway our decision to return, or not, but if they're not available, even as "off menu" items, we'll certainly be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service just like t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great food and great service just like the last time we were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Steak was disappointing for a steakhouse ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Steak was disappointing for a steakhouse. For the cost to dine here would not recommend.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Love coming to the restaurant for specia ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Love coming to the restaurant for special occasions. Just wish it was a little quieter, less kids with parents !

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was great!! Try the cheese selections

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

It was great!! Try the cheese selections

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Excellent wi ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent food and service. Excellent wine selection.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We used to go there quite a bit before t ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We used to go there quite a bit before the hotel was bought by Marriott. The menu, the quality of the food and the 'down home' friendly service is no longer present. Too many other good steakhouses in the area to choose from.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The cheese tray option is always one of ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The cheese tray option is always one of our favorites and the staff is always outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was disappointed. Steak itself was gre ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I was disappointed. Steak itself was great but everything else was very over priced for the taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We were very pleased with the timely man ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We were very pleased with the timely manner we were greeted and seated. We were not told anything about the specials or the menu at all really. My husband and I both ordered a ribeye which lacked in flavor and was comparable to a Texas roadhouse or saltgrass. The sides for the table hardly fed myself my husband and our 6 year old. Very expensive and just ok.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Service was good. Food was mediocre Pr ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Service was good.

Food was mediocre

Prices extremely high for quality of food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

The seafood tower wasva highlight as wel ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The seafood tower wasva highlight as well as the delicous porterhouse and habenara corn, mushrooms and grilled brusselsprouts and cauliflower side dishes we all split (3 of us) It was an exellent meal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the buffet (unexpected) and the f ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had the buffet (unexpected) and the food was very good. Unfortunately we had reservations at 2:30 and the food on the buffet was pretty much gone. We had to stand in the buffet room and wait for them to bring more for the few stragglers that that were also a late seating. We had previously called with concern about the late seating and asked them if this was a problem concerning the buffet, they said there would be no problem with food at the buffet, but I would book a lot earlier next time!!! So because of the wait our meal took a lot longer than normal. Long enough that a manager came to our table and told us to leave because they needed to reset the table for dinner. Our server was already preparing our check at that time. Originally when we booked we had no idea we'd be at a buffet. Not until receiving a call from the restaurant saying our hot food would be off a menu and cold and dessert would be buffet, did we realize this was a buffet. We would go back as the food was very good, but if anyone wants the buffet, I would have reservations to be seated at least 1.5 hours before the end of the buffet, if you don't want the annoyance of standing in a room holding an empty plate for 10 minutes waiting for them to bring more food. I personally would not do the buffet again, but would go back for off the menu. I gave them 5 stars because the food was very good and our server was very nice. Ambiance was very nice also. We did feel that the manager should have checked with the server about the check before telling us to leave. I think she would have been upset in the long run, had we left as she told us to, before paying our bill! Fortunately she backed off once she realized we were waiting on them. Not our fault we were still there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good. The service was ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food was very good. The service was excellent. But I thought it was a bit over-priced. Part of the reason being... We were not allowed to take our leftovers home because it was an "all-you-can-eat" Christmas Brunch. However, since it was served family style, a lot of great left-over food went to waste. That was a terrible shame!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Décor, food, and service were all outsta ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Décor, food, and service were all outstanding. We went back the next night.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food don't worth, the steak (Ribaye ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The food don't worth, the steak (Ribaye and Filet) was very dry and tasteless shouted for a sauce. My daughter got chicken and was not delicious or taste, also the side table enough for 3 servings was very tasteless (mushroom and Brussels sprouts) - decent mashed potato but nothing fancy for the price. Poor menu option for the day (Christmas eve). The lobster biscuit was ok but again nothing special. Everything is very priced so you expect more. Ridiculous dessert menu. I had to ask something out of the menu. Overall many other steak house on same level is better than old hickory at Gaylord hotel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

What a disappointment! I made the reser ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

What a disappointment! I made the reservation over 4 months ago, but our table wasn't ready. We were seated in a small room next to the bar that felt like we were an afterthought. Food was ok but not spectacular. Limited menu. Service was not great. This was not our first time at this restaurant so our expectations were high.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

BUYER BEWARE!!! Watch your bill. They au ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

BUYER BEWARE!!! Watch your bill. They automatically over charge tips (22%). They also charge full tip amount (22%) on wine. The bill shows tips as service charge then they summarize food, beverage, no title line with tip amount, tax, and total. Below this they show a line for gratuity (already been charged but labeled differently) and a place for you to total. Not labeling thing correctly or consistently on the bill appears to be an attempt to rip off the buyer. After a wonderful meal, even with high prices, they then screw you on the tip. BUYER BEWARE!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Exceeded our expectations. The steak and ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Exceeded our expectations. The steak and scallops were great, but the most impressive course was the dessert- beautiful, a true work of art.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was excellent and staff was perfect ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was excellent and staff was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steaks were mediocre , wait staff could ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Steaks were mediocre , wait staff could not remember orders and was not around much, certainly not worth the 20% gratuity. The only person that was very good was Bryan who served our water and tea.

I was very disappointed in the restaurant as there are many others in the Dallas area that are better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

We ate here last year and had a wonderfu ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We ate here last year and had a wonderful experience. This year was a little disappointing. The service was slow, the food was average (for the price), and the steak was overcooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Everything was amazing, EXCEPT for the s ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Everything was amazing, EXCEPT for the steak. The cheese board was fantastic, highly recommend it!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Wonderful restaurant. My husband and I c ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Wonderful restaurant. My husband and I come to the Gaylord every Christmas and this was the first time to eat here. Enjoyed our meal very much. Will return.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the price there are many better opti ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 22, 2016

For the price there are many better options around Dallas. Food was good not great. I had rib eye which had no real flavor. Everything thing is ala carte so bill adds up very quickly. Also around the holidays tons of very noisy kids which is understandable given Christmas decorations but again for the price I would choose somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent food! Great service and really ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Excellent food! Great service and really nice hostess!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I absolutely cannot say enough good thin ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I absolutely cannot say enough good things about our experience. The food was incredible and the service was some of the best we've ever had at a restaurant. We definetly will return and would recommend The Old Hockory Steakhouse to anyone desiring a memorable dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This is one of the finest steakhouses in ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 20, 2016

This is one of the finest steakhouses in Texas. I live in Houston but make an effort to eat here at least twice a year. The ambiance, service, and food are top notch. Be sure to try the habanero corn.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The beautifully decorated Old Hickory St ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

The beautifully decorated Old Hickory Steakhouse provided a quiet, relaxing spot amid the Christmas bustle at the Gaylord Texan. Food was excellent: I had scallops and my husband, the prime ribeye. I particularly enjoyed the heirloom tomato salad. An unusual and tempting dessert selection provided a perfect end to the meal. Service was attentive and friendly but unobtrusive. We loved it and would certainly recommend it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were excellent. Has be ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Has become an annual family holiday event.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.