About Old Hickory Steakhouse at the Gaylord Texan

1501 Gaylord Trail
Gaylord Texan
Grapevine, TX 76051-1945
View Larger Map

Dine in the warm, rich atmosphere of a Texas wine cellar while savoring the finest cuts of beef and seafood paired with an artisanal cheese display and an extensive wine list. The upstairs Wine Bar hosts the unique Enomatic Wine Tasting System, allowing guests to sample a variety of rare wines from around the world in one, three, and five ounce pours.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gaylord Trail/State Highway 26

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(817) 778-2215

Website:
http://www.marriott.com/hotels/hotel-information/restaurant/dalgt-gaylord-texan-resort-and-convention-center/

Parking Details:
Local day guests of Gaylord Texan Resort who spend $25 or more in Old Hickory will receive complimentary validated temporary valet parking.

Private Party Facilities:
Journey down the winding staircase to experience the old-world charm of Old Hickory Steakhouse located inside Gaylord Texan Resort. Tantalize your taste buds with savory dishes featuring a rich depth of flavor in every delectable bite. Gorgeous private dining rooms host intimate group dinners. The upstairs Wine Bar’s unique Enomatic Wine Tasting System allows guests to sample

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Old Hickory Steakhouse at the Gaylord Texan Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Dallas Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Grapevine ›

Special Occasion (71)
Romantic (51)
Notable Wine List (41)
See All
Good for Groups (37)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Late-night Find (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Scenic View (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
351 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Been here many times and find it to be c ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Been here many times and find it to be consistently excellent. Highlights are the Habanero cream corn and sourdough bread. They have a great winelist and the filet is one of the best pieces of meat you'll ever put in your mouth. Severs have always been on top of things but not around when you don't need them.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The steaks were excellent! The wine was ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The steaks were excellent! The wine was exceptional. I would definitely recommend Old Hickory for a special night out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was excellent and the service was s ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was excellent and the service was special. Young lady who assisted us was knowledgeable of the food and provided the extra touch of quality in her service. Steak was cooked exactly to our request and you could taste the quality of meat. When it came to sides she answered our questions and you could tell she enjoys what she is serving. When it came to the dessert again it was a pleasure just listing to the descriptions provided and enjoyed our conversation just how special a good dessert can be.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dining experience was wonderful! Ou ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The dining experience was wonderful! Our server made the evening memorable and the food was prepared well. Wine pairings were delicious. Very good way to spend the evening with a spouse!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service took too long! Just to even get ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Service took too long! Just to even get our water was long. The food was not worth the monies we paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

We knew it would be expensive, so that w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We knew it would be expensive, so that wasn't a problem. My filet was not very flavorful. Our waiter, Aaron, was outstanding. We will be back. Other family members frequent the place, so we went on their recommendation. Also, I forgot my reading glasses and was provided a complimentary pair. For my birthday was given complimentary creme brûlée, which was delicious. I had a Kir Royal and questioned whether the cassis was mixed with champagne & was told it was. Did not taste as though mixed with champagne, nor was it bubbly. Tasted more like a Royal, cassis with white wine. Still not convinced.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent food and service!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The BEST Lobster Bisque soup! Filet & L ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The BEST Lobster Bisque soup!

Filet & Lobster were perfect !

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Shared the bone ribeye with DW. It was ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Shared the bone ribeye with DW. It was one of my top 3 steaks of the past 12 months. I never said a word as to preparation. The chef cooked it to perfection carved it off the bone but left the bone the plate for discrete gnawing. The he sliced it for serving. The steak still looked intact.

I don't really remember the rest great steak trumps all.

Waiter was top notch as well his bright and pretty Russian assistant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food. Notable wine lis ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great service and food. Notable wine list. Always a pleasure. Never dissappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sherif our waiter was WONDERFUL! Probabl ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Sherif our waiter was WONDERFUL! Probably one of the best steaks I've had as well. All around a wonderful place..... P.s. Try the corn!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the wait on a sunday morning, we l ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Worth the wait on a sunday morning, we loved it so much that we came again Monday morning! The scout French toast was amazing! Perfect!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I cannot say enough great things about t ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I cannot say enough great things about this restaurant. I wish it was in my neighborhood instead of in DFW area.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner for 14 for my ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner for 14 for my dad's 85th birthday. The food was delicious and our waiter did a wonderful job!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We chose Old Hickory for convenience whi ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

We chose Old Hickory for convenience while at a conference for convenience. But it was so much more!

Great service, cool steakhouse feel, above average wine and a GREAT bone in ribeye. The maque choux corn, augratin potatoes and truffle fries--all worth a try--we will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

The steak I ordered was a "premium cut" ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The steak I ordered was a "premium cut" of some sort and it tasted awful; I sent it back and it was replaced with their grass fed filet which wasn't much better. I had a better steak a couple of weeks ago at Texas Road house! (And it didn't cost $42.00) The lobster bisque was not bisque at all; it was very watery. The lobster tail was very good and they have an awesome wine list.

The service was excellent! Very lovely ambiance. A little pricey.

I would try the restaurant again, but be much more forceful in my decisions about keeping my mouth shut about bad tasting food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Our service was perfect! Our server was ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our service was perfect! Our server was very kind, knowledgeable about the menu and wine list, quick and funny. The food was very good! I had the filet and lobster, which was cooked perfectly with flavor and lobster was not overdone. We enjoyed the creamed corn with our meal and chocolate cake for dessert. Great wine list too. Would definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The scallops weren't seared properly (bl ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The scallops weren't seared properly (bless Gordon Ramsay for teaching the world about proper scallop searing)... Essentially only go for the steak; everything else was overrated and overpriced.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

As with every aspect of the Gaylord Texa ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

As with every aspect of the Gaylord Texan Resort, the service was excellent! Old Hickory Steakhouse featured very good steaks, the sides were good, as well as the dessert and wine list. Our server was an exchange student from Eastern Europe who is involved in a summer program here and she was a very delightful person! Overall, a good place to be if you are staying at the Gaylord Texan!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Servers brought food to table very rapid ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Servers brought food to table very rapidly before previous courses were finished. When I complained, she blamed it on the kitchen, but I think it had to do with when the orders were placed. My complaint made no difference. It continued to happen. I felt very rushed. The restaurant was not particularly busy. This should not happen at a fine dining establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The food here is AMAZING. I had the sca ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food here is AMAZING. I had the scallops and lobster bisque and it was the BEST I have had in a long time if not ever. The service was great as always. Cannot say enough about the food at Old Hickory Steakhouse. We didn't have the steak because we are seafood eaters but the seafood was delicious. The only issue I have is every time I book here via OPEN TABLE this restaurant cannot find my reservation even though I called The Gaylord the same morning as our reservation and the customer svc person on the phone found it and confirmed. This has happened TWICE now. When we got to the restaurant for dinner they could not find my name or reservation. Luckily we were seated and have a fabulous dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was great!

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Delicious dinner! Beautiful dining room! ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Delicious dinner! Beautiful dining room! My strawberry martini was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Family vacation with young children and ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Family vacation with young children and were a little nervous about them joining us . They really enjoyed the food as well as the adults.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very impressive location and ambience. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very impressive location and ambience. A little low on the beer selection...but overall a great dinning experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I took my wife here for our 25th wedding ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I took my wife here for our 25th wedding anniversary dinner to celebrate our special occasion. I was shocked that there was a not a dress code and people were wearing shorts and flip flops.

$42 for an eight ouch filet is excessive as the cut was average and sides were extra. Our mashed potatoes weren't even warm!

The service was good and they did do a nice gesture by giving us a free crème brulee to celebrate our milestone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Disappointed. The dress code was unenfo ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Disappointed. The dress code was unenforced. Told business casual which I guess means flip flops and t shirts. How can one spend this much while children roam and everyone dresses as if it is a beach.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

I enjoyed a fantastic birthday dinner at ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

I enjoyed a fantastic birthday dinner at the Old Hickory Steakhouse! The food, wine list and service were outstanding! Thanks to everyone at Old Hickory for such a wonderful birthday dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our fourth visit to this restaurant. Ha ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Our fourth visit to this restaurant. Has been on the decline since the last time we dined. The dress code is not enforced. Payed a good amount of money for great service, well compared food to other fine steak restaurants. Were pained by the lack of management in enforcing proper restaurant attire and enabling families with ill behaved children. For a pretty simple dinner at over $300, I do not think is crude to say: no running children in dinning area, no cut off shorts, flip flops and tasteless t-shirts. We have enjoyed our stays at this resort on special occasions and holidays. However, this will be the last time at the Old Hickory Steak House.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I had an amazing time at the Old Hickory ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

I had an amazing time at the Old Hickory Steakhouse with my family. The food was fabulous and the service remarkable. I would highly recommend going with your family or for a date night with your special someone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food. Great atmosphere. We alway ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Awesome food. Great atmosphere. We alway eat there when we are at the Gaylord. A great place and great food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very expensive for average food. First t ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Very expensive for average food. First they never explained that each side had to be purchased desperately so you have a $12 salad, $40-60 entree, $24 for two sides, separate for drinks.... and then the food was average at best. I have eaten at high end (Wolfgang puck, etc.) restaurants and know why they charge so much. I would never recommend this place based on my experience. You'd be better off going to Saltgrass and saving $200.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

we have been going there for years for o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

we have been going there for years for our anniversary. The food is always for good and the steak are so tender. Always good!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just overall awesome! Ambiance was exce ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Just overall awesome! Ambiance was excellent, dark, woodsy place with the best food ever!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service and wonderful food. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Exceptional service and wonderful food. Very accommodating to my dairy allergy and made sure that I was able to eat almost everything that was placed on the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We started at the bar and ordered a bott ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We started at the bar and ordered a bottle of wine to bring to the table and had appetizers. Matthew was great at the bar. When we were seated for dinner the waiter seemed disappointed that we already had wine and apps at the bar and I think the service reflected that attitude. the food was very good except several of the tomatoes in my Caprese salad seemed to be frozen or on the verge of being frozen-extremely cold. Despite these minor negatives we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent service and food. One of the ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent service and food. One of the best steaks ever, I had never heard of a "bone-in filet". Superb wine list. An excellent night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On two previous occasions I had excellen ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

On two previous occasions I had excellent dining experiences at Old Hickory, however this visit was completely unremarkable. Two attempts to cook our Wagyu strip steak were unsuccessful, server was inconsistent, and although the lobster tail and scallops were good they were certainly nothing special. We will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The food was outstanding. I look forwar ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was outstanding. I look forward to any stay at the Gaylord just to eat at Old Hickory. Sherif is an outstanding waiter. He offered wine suggestions and brought over samples to make sure we were pleased with our selection. He is incredibly intuitive and attentive. Don't rush your event here. Take your time, enjoy every part of the meal from appetizers to dessert.

There was a large rowdy crowd near our table. That is why I gave it a moderate for noise level.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Prices were exorbitant but the food was ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Prices were exorbitant but the food was very good. Location in the Gaylord Hotel made this a convenient choice for having a steak in Texas. Would not return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.