About Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland

2800 Opryland Drive
Nashville, TN 37214
View Larger Map

A nod to President Andrew Jackson’s nickname, Old Hickory Steakhouse harnesses the charm of Antebellum-style architecture with the finest in sophisticated dining for a truly unforgettable experience. Overlooking the meandering river in our 4.5 acre Delta Atrium, Old Hickory Steakhouse—Gaylord Hotels' signature restaurant—features 1855 Black Angus Beef seared to perfection, artisan cheeses and an extensive wine list.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
McGavock Pike

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 458-6848

Website:
http://www.gaylordopryland.com/Dining

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Nashville
Special Occasion
Nashville
Romantic
Nashville
1 More
Special Occasion
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Nashville ›

special occasion (90)
scenic view (68)
romantic (67)
See All
fit for foodies (42)
notable wine list (31)
great for outdoor dining (31)
good for groups (25)
late-night find (7)
hot spot (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
neighborhood gem (3)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
424 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Made my reservations for 7:30 and was se ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined a day ago

Made my reservations for 7:30 and was seated right on time.

Servers were very informative And polite.

Ordered the bone marrow app and OMG was it delish !

Had the 24 oz porterhouse with with asparagus for my main meal.

Steak cooked perfectly at medium .

Only think is they seat you out side and the water noise can be annoying.

Other than that,was a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The steak and lobster bisque are the be ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

The steak and lobster bisque are the best but trout was very salty

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful meal and great service

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful meal and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dinner and service. Always com ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent dinner and service. Always come back here on vacation

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Words cannot describe how great everythi ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Words cannot describe how great everything was. From the lobster bisque to the chocolate cake we had for dessert. I highly recommend having dinner at Old Hickory Steakhouse.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a very nice dinner ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

My husband and I had a very nice dinner here. We were staying at the site so we just had to walk to the restaurant inside the Gaylord Opryland complex. The hotel and grounds inside are amazing. We mentioned at the end of the meal that it was our anniversary and soon after the waiter brought over strawberries dipped in chocolate with happy anniversary written in chocolate on the plate. Very nice. Meal was excellent, service excellent. Highly recommend.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and great atmosphere!

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food and great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing. Great experience.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food was amazing. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was fantastic, but my salmon ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The service was fantastic, but my salmon from Scotland was dry and overcooked. Both of my clients had steak and thought it was mediocre. Pea side was the highlight of the dinner. I have dined at the Old Hickory at National and it was head and shoulders over this food, but that was 3 years ago. This Gaylord's food is mediocre at best! Sorry!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Great dining experience all around. Hope ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great dining experience all around. Hope to return in the futue.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very beautiful experience. Under a huge ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Very beautiful experience. Under a huge dome surrounded by waterfalls and, flowers, and bushes. The lamb was supurb, and service was very southern.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Sigh...here's another gorgeous space wit ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Sigh...here's another gorgeous space with a great story behind their theme, but lacking follow-through.

Our wait staff was great, especially Roger, who brought water and levity to the table.

The food was at times spectacular and at other times pedestrian...gosh, I hate writing that. Even more shocking were the price points of the market price items. We're well-versed in restaurants and price points as we've lived and dined all over while we lived in New York, Las Vegas, and various parts of California. These were not in line, shockingly out of line.

The house cocktails are fun and inventive, especially the fruitful Old Beauregard and citrus-highlighted Miss Scarlett.

Though we mentioned several times we were hotel guests, our bill did not reflect the complimentary desserts we were supposed to be given.

In the end, we felt the price was not worth the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The appetizers, ribeye, lamb chops, side ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The appetizers, ribeye, lamb chops, sides, and wine were well-prepared and excellent. Service was excellent with the wait-staff doing their tasks efficiently and with finesse. The only issue was that people, including families and groups, would enter the restaurant through one of the rear walkways as they were viewing the tropical scenery. Their path went through the middle of the dining area where they would stop to look around. It caused distractions and interruptions to dining customers.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wayne our maitre de was informative, att ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Wayne our maitre de was informative, attentive, and hospitable.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We came in a small group to celebrate my ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We came in a small group to celebrate my birthday. Our server, Sunny was outstanding. The venue is great and we love the resort as a whole. The food, on the other hand, was nothing to write home about. The only notable dishes were the scallop appetizer and the mac and cheese. The wines were mediocre at best and the fact that 2 of the 4 people in our party got sick immediately after dinner speaks volumes. I would go for drinks at the hotel, but I would not go back for dinner.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

4th time at Old Hickory and must say tha ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

4th time at Old Hickory and must say that I was a little disappointed. Our server, Anthony, was a very nice man, but he keyed our order incorrectly. My steak was overdone and my son's steak was 10 mins delayed. I would have preferred a discount, but instead received 2 free desserts, which we couldn't enjoy because we were full from dinner and headed to the grand ole opry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The Old Hickory Steakhouse in the Gaylor ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The Old Hickory Steakhouse in the Gaylord Opryland was awesome.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff was extremely helpful and att ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Wait staff was extremely helpful and attentive and made great suggestions off the menu. Chocolate mousse cake was delicious but definitely enough for all 4 of us to share. The 8 oz filet melted in your mouth. Crab cake appetizer was one of the better ones I have had. Had an enjoyable dinner then went to Grand Ole Opry show. Wonderful evening and would definitely do it again.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, service was outstanding. ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Excellent food, service was outstanding. Overall a great dining experience!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was more than I expected! The service ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

It was more than I expected! The service was genuinely kind and we never felt rushed at all. Our meals were very tasty and prepared to our liking. My only disappointment was that we were to full for dessert:)

Next time we will order dessert first!

Thank you for the pleasure of dining with you, and for Michael Nahat's recommendation about Babe's in Texas! A great manager he is!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The chef didn't know how to cook my husb ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The chef didn't know how to cook my husband's steak 'Pittsburgh Rare' and it was overdone. I would recommend you order rare instead. Other than that, the dinner was great!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Would have preferred to eat inside inste ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Would have preferred to eat inside instead of on the veranda, due to noise level. I was never asked where I would like to sit and I had reservations. The food was good, but the steak was too salty. Macaroni and lobster was excellent.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Took a friend and a customer there for d ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Took a friend and a customer there for dinner. Neither had ever been to the Opryland Hotel so thought it a nice place to have dinner. Everyone enjoyed it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Marty was a fantastic host. Great servic ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Marty was a fantastic host. Great service by the whole team.

Tags: special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The steaks were bland and over-cooked as ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The steaks were bland and over-cooked as well as the side dish. Completely different experience from a year ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Our party of four had tickets for a 7 pm ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Our party of four had tickets for a 7 pm Grand Ole Opry show----so we arrived at 5 pm for dinner. We parked at the mall to avoid the high parking prices and walked over. Not a long walk, but once we entered the Gaylord it was a major pain trying to find the restaurant. I had run out an enlarged copy of the whole Gaylord complex and it was no help at all in finding the restaurant. There were no signs pointing us to the "Old Hickory Steakhouse" until we were halfway there. We asked many employees along the way if they knew how to get there and none of them knew. Once we arrived we told them they needed to have signs back at the rear entrance of the Delta area. They just smiled and said "well you're here now." Our waitperson seemed more concerned with all the persnickety details than helping us make a few substitutions. I am on a lo-carb diet. I ordered the lamb entree at $46 which came with mashed potatoes and a pea/lamb belly ragout (which was outstanding). I simply asked if the potatoes could be swapped out for any vegetables they had on hand that night. Answer: "No." One of our friends asked about a substitution also. Answer: "No." I ordered the bone marrow appetizer. I love marrow! There were way too many breakcrumbs and there was hardly any marrow at all. The bones were huge and as it was being served to me I thought "OMG, this is going to be almost as decadent as foie gras; but no, it was mostly 'show' and almost no marrow. My husband got the 8 oz filet. Both my lamb and his filet were cooked to perfection and excellent cuts of meat. The atmosphere was a little sterile, but I can see where it could be romantic. The food was great quality and prepared wonderfully, but I don't feel it's worth the hassle of walking forever up and down brick stairs trying to find the place again, especially when the restaurant staff seemed more concerned with being uppity, than helping us feel welcome and making a few minor substitutions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

A great meal: amazing bone-in filet (th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

A great meal: amazing bone-in filet (the special that night) and lobster bisque. Wine list was extensive, although we usually order by the glass. Our waiter was very attentive, and knowing it was our anniversary, he delivered a free dessert customized for us. My only complaint is the price--$300 for a dinner for two is pretty steep, even for a very romantic anniversary dinner. Oh, and the free cheesecake dessert was still slightly frozen. Anyway, we were able to wrap up our dinner with plenty of time to walk over to the Grand Ole Opry for the early show. Very fun experience overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved it. Bone marrow was not good. Love ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Loved it. Bone marrow was not good. Loved everything else.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We began in the bar and our waiter was v ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We began in the bar and our waiter was very knowledgeable and prompt with his service.

Our waiter during our meal was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable about the dishes and gave excellent suggestions. It was a great experience and we will definitely visit again when in Nashville.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was very nice setting, I perposed outsid ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Was very nice setting, I perposed outside by the bar😀

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Little on the higher price since everyth ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Little on the higher price since everything is Ala Cart but it was all well worth it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Have eaten here several times and experi ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Have eaten here several times and experience had always been excellent. Would recommend this place to anyone

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good especially my fathers ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The food was good especially my fathers filet. I am not able to eat much at one sitting and since we were out of towner's. I asked if I could have a smaller filet. Originally the waiter said no, but I asked if I could have a child's meal. He was able to accommodate me. I was very pleased as I hate to waist food. However, I got my steak and instead of being think. It looked like a flat iron steak and was cooked through most of it. When I first cut in it was rare. Flavor was adequate. We were celebrating my birthday on vacation. We did get a huge piece of cake!! thank you!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the best restaurants I have ever ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

One of the best restaurants I have ever been to. Beautiful, impeccable and enjoyable service with delicious and unique food. Don't miss the bone marrow butter on your steak!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a beautiful restaurant and our se ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

It was a beautiful restaurant and our server was outstanding! He was so attentive and really helped make our Bachelorette's special day even better. However, my medium-rare steak was overcooked and chewy. I was really disappointed with the steak but everything else was great.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

The service was impeccable, Sheba just p ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The service was impeccable, Sheba just put the service over the top, the new summer menu was amazing!!! We had escargot and scallops as an appetizer then lemon zest asparagus as a side with a NY strip with marrow butter which was AMAZING and my wife had the lamb. Everything was absolutely perfect!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Appetizer of shrimp cocktail was just OK ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Appetizer of shrimp cocktail was just OK. The restaurant was out of the Porterhouse, so my husband suggested that they just serve up a filet and ?(the other side) without the bone to create a Porterhouse. They did. My trout was tasty and no problems there. Did not stay for dessert.

This restaurant was in the hotel we stayed in but other restaurants in the hotel were better and less expensive.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Good steaks!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The steaks at Old Hickory were awesome. My wife had the filet with the lump crab oscar topping, It was the most tender steak she has probably ever had. I had the NY Strip and it was just the right texture and very flavorful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A real treat!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We had dinner here on our way though to California , a bit of a special occasion, and the staff really was nice about it! Easy to book, easy to adjust a later time, and a delicious dinner to boot. Fun and unique place to dine. Only downside is it was a little loud, and hard to hear others at the table, but all in all wonderful.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious, but terribly overpriced.

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The ambiance was wonderful. The food was delicious, but grossly overpriced. The servers were just wonderful.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.