Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 27 times today

Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland

4.5
1170 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for a Date
A nod to President Andrew Jackson’s nickname, Old Hickory Steakhouse harnesses the charm of Antebellum-style architecture with the finest in sophisticated dining for a truly unforgettable experience. Overlooking the meandering river in our 4.5 acre Delta Atrium, Old Hickory Steakhouse—Gaylord Hotels' signature restaurant—features 1855 Black Angus Beef seared to perfection, artisan cheeses and an extensive wine list.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(615) 458-6848
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
McGavock Pike
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1170 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.7
service
4.7
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Enjoyed every minute of it. We had guests from the New York City and all of us had a great time. Food was absolutely delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

A must have dining experience. The service, food and ambience were all exceptional. My thanks to Amir for making it a truly delightful evening.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and service. When dining here, need to ensure you have a table 'outside'overlooking the fantastic water views. We chose the fillet 8oz., this was cooked to perfection and tasted wonderful. My only criticism was that choice of wines was limited and somewhat expensive. Reservations are essential.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

There was a wedding at the hotel, they were allowed to have a noisy band which could be heard everywhere in the atrium. This probably ruined everyones evening who was not at the wedding. It was so loud , echoed from the ceiling. How awful for the hotel to not have put that in an enclosed area. I would never go here again for that reason. The hotel has no concern for anyone else.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Good service,great food,quiet,dessert too.
Asked about any time restraints so we could get on our way on time. I loved how quiet it was. I really hate loud music or music I do not care for.
Our waiter was attentive but not over our shoulder.
Nice place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 4 days ago

Have been here several times and always enjoy it. This time my wife and I both ordered the 8 oz fillet Oscar style. We wanted them cooked medium rare and they came out overly done. Probably more like medium WELL. Huge disappointment as far as that. Everything else was fantastic. The artisan cheeses are mind blowing. But the main reason we keep coming back is the LOBSTER bisque! Out of this world!! Just correct the steak temperature and it would easily be a 4 start to 5 star dining experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed an early dinner before a show at the Grand Ole Opry. Wine list was extensive and the server was friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was very enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful restaurant, great service, didn’t give 5 stars because my scallop appetizer was quite under cooked and not hot,
Or seared as was stated on the menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Just an overall wonderful night.

The food was excellent, timing impeccable and my wife got a free dessert of her choice for her birthday.

I’d recommend without hesitation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Noise level was too high. Hard to hear other people at the table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

The food is fantastic. It was a fairly expensive restaurant but there was something in the mid price range as well. I would recommend eating here.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Steak was good but horribly expensive! And you have to pay extra for sides!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

It was a wonderful dining experience. Steaks were cooked perfectly, required no extra seasoning. We had the crab topping, which was awesome. Service was impeccable! Great drinks and the desserts are over the top! We ate outside and enjoyed the ambiance of the Opryland Hotel. A little pricey but was well worth the splurge.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Food was delicious. Great atmosphere. All sides are extra. Great dessert selection.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Food was outstanding and wait staff was super friendly. Not a cheap meal but well worth it.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 4, 2018

For the price we paid the food was not so good. We waited a long time for the food and was cold.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We can't say enough GREAT WORDS about this restaurant. We visited from the Chicago Area to Nashville for an Adult Getaway. This restaurant was ABOVE and BEYOND all expectations. The friendly staff; fantastic seating options and FABULOUS Food. The Person that really made our experience PERFECT was Jorge! He was the best waiter we have had in years; attentive to EVERY detail so passionate and truly loved his job. His passion showed and made our experience a memorable one. We know the chefs too played a big part in our Great Filet Dinners, can't wait to come back and visit again!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Great atmosphere the food was amazing! I ordered 8 oz Filet and it was the best steak I have ever had!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Great service, great food, great ambiance. Would come back again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

I enjoyed my dinner at the Old Hickory Steak House. Everything was top notch, the food I don't remember my waiter name he was very good, very professional and knew the menu. We will be coming back to the Steak House soon. I hope I get the same waiter.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

On time reservation. Hung out at the bar a bit early. Great ambiance, quiet and great mixed drinks. After being seated, we were greeted by Amin who would be our server for the evening. Amin knew the menu, explained dishes in detail, made suggestions, and was overall a "nice guy" . Would ask for him again when dining at Old Hickory. Our entrees ranged from seafood to steak. All was good and portions were satisfying. Although a bit pricey, Old Hickory definitely stands out as one of the better steak houses in Nashville as we have been to most of them. Nice Job!! p.s. love the free recipes!!!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Our meal was incredible and the waiter was very experienced. The light/water show was also very entertaining.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Steaks were only warm, not hot. Overpriced. Service was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Truly outstanding. Our waiter and water server were both very sweet and helpful. The food was phenomenal. We had a party of 8, most had the ribeye. We would go back in a heartbeat!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Seated us twenty minutes after the (8:30pm) reservation. Food and service thereafter were very good. Seems they’re struggling to keep up with demand. Pricing is steep, but not atypical for an a la carte steakhouse.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Great for special occasions. Our server was super nice and very accommodating to our party.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

The food was excellent and I loved hearing the waterfalls.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

My husband and I spent several days at the Gaylord Opryland Resort with my brother-in-law and sister-in-law celebrating a milestone birthday, touring Nashville and, of course, going to the Grand Ole Opry. We were finally able to get reservstions at the Old Hickory Steakhouse for a time that worked for us. That dinner was the highlight meal of the trip. We had over-eaten throughout the stay, enjoying lots of the area's specialities, so we ate mostly appetizers and salads at Old Hickory Steakhouse. This is the fine dining restaurant in the massive Gaylord resort, complete with linens and sometimes piano accompaniment. The service (Wayne) was impeccable, showcasing his decades at the restaurant. The setting was lovely. We were seated on the balcony extending into the atrium, so the noise of the waterfalls was pretty loud, and a private event at the nearby gazebo included bagpipes! However, we enjoyed it all. Wine and cocktails were a wonderful start. The shrimp cocktail was great, as was the crab cake appetizer. Among our group we sampled the Caesar, chop and beet salads and also enjoyed the filet, cooked just as ordered. Wayne and his assistant, Malad, kept our water glasses, cocktails and wine glasses filled, as well as giving complete descriptions of menu ingredients, preparations and breads. Wayne even explained the free dessert perk associated with staying at the resort. We had no idea! So we shared the cheesecake and Creme brûlée desserts. It was a lovely evening. The Library was the perfect spot for after dinner drinks and quiet conversation. We highly recommend the Old Hickory Steakhouse

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

We ate all our evening meals at Old Hickory! The Gaylord has a special Maker's Mark blend so be sure to ask for it in The Library Bar. The bone marrow appetizer is a must try. The guys in the bar are great and the servers see to all your requests.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

This was our fourth time and it was good as usual. The lobster bisque was amazing and we love the views.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Overpriced. Steak was good. Not phenomenal. Ordered a glass of the featured wine. Got the bill.... $32 for a 6 oz pour. A bottle of that wine is $24. Complete rip-off. Three of us, only two glasses of wine, three filets and two sides was $278. And not worth it. I won’t go back at my next stay at the Gaylord.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Great atmosphere for a date or for a family dinner

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 21, 2018

I should’ve heeded the reviews I read about the poor quality of the food ay this restaurant, but I didn’t. The atmosphere & ambiance is very nice & the service is excellent but the food is just not good. Both my wife’s steak & my steak were very over cooked. The Mac & cheese was bland & the scallops were just ok. The best part of the meal was the salad & rolls but I’m not paying $200 a meal for a good salad & rolls. I would think for $55-65 a steak that it would at least be close to the quality you would get from a Ruth’s Chris, Morten’s, Fleming’s, or a Capital Grill, but it’s not even close. I wouldn’t recommend this place for anyone.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The best steak ever. Wonderful ambiance. An experience that will be remembered for years.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

We had such a great time. This place is great. We try to come here a few times a month.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Overpriced. Not all steaks are prime? For the price I was surprised.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Made Reservations for 10:00 pm and resceived conformation. Arrived at 9:30 pm and was told they were closed. Asked if we could something to go and was told that the kitchen closed at 9:00. Did not seem to care that I had made reservations and had a confirmation #. Disappointing to say the least....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Wonderful Experience! The staff was friendly and very knowledgeable, made excellent recommendations! We will be going back again and the steak was top notch. Get the marrow butter- it is heaven!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Jesse was awesome! Ask him what the two top AVA's in Washington are! Not many in Nashville know that, i bet!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great ambience with the rushing water and observatory greenery all around us. There was piano music, also. The lamb chops were just okay, I had them in the past, and they weren’t as well seasoned this time. My fiancé’ said his steak had no seasoning, so he asked for steak sauce. He wasn’t impressed. The cream spinach and Mac and cheese was great.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
30

Tweets by Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland