Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland

A nod to President Andrew Jackson’s nickname, Old Hickory Steakhouse harnesses the charm of Antebellum-style architecture with the finest in sophisticated dining for a truly unforgettable experience. Overlooking the meandering river in our 4.5 acre Delta Atrium, Old Hickory Steakhouse—Gaylord Hotels' signature restaurant—features 1855 Black Angus Beef seared to perfection, artisan cheeses and an extensive wine list.

2800 Opryland Drive
Nashville, TN 37214
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
McGavock Pike

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 458-6848

Website:
http://www.gaylordopryland.com/Dining

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (85)
Romantic (73)
Good for Anniversaries (72)
See All
Good for a Date (65)
Scenic View (47)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Notable Wine List (26)
Worth the Drive (26)
Business Meals (24)
Good for Groups (18)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Cozy (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Waterfront (13)
Authentic (11)
People Watching (9)
Casual (9)
Seasonal (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Historic (8)
Private Room (8)
Fun (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Family Style (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Healthy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
688 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Our waitress, Sunny, went above and beyond. Best service you could ask for.
Food was fabulous, just found it a bit loud.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Really disappointing and very expensive. The service was poor. After being served they never came back to check on us. One person's meat was raw. We finally flagged someone down but everyone was eaten. The manager came over and said he'd take it off the bill but for a restaurant like this, we should not have had this experience. Then they brought out a huge selection of desserts, which nobody really wanted. Limited food choices. Definitely wouldn't go back or recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good quality food . Nice service , respectful and yet friendly ! Great date night!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Dinner was excellent. The gentleman outside, when we arrived was less than friendly. Rachel, who was the Fromager was outstanding and by far the friendliest person we encountered during our meal. She was truly the highlight of the dining experience. The steaks were amazing and the Bone Marrow butter was great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was very good. Only thing that could have been better was if the waiter would have pointed out the free dessert for hotel guest (perk of the resort fee) instead of us just happening to notice it at the end of our dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The charm of Old Hickory Steakhouse is undeniable, it is a romantic and realistic blend of southern charm. The lobster bisque is amazing and highly recommended. The disappointment came with the steaks not being cooked properly and being a little salty. The waiter acknowledged the error and made the gesture of free dessert. This was fine, but when you are paying $45 for the steak only you expect it to be as ordered. Our other disappointment came when they gave us a validation card for parking that didn't work so we ended up paying an additional $28 on top of the $200 we spent for dinner. The staff was quite friendly and attentive, we just expected a little better from such a place. I would recommend it on the virtues of the ambiances and the desserts in any case!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It is the little things that can bug you... We were guests at Gaylord Opryland Hotel so we charged the meal to our room. In so doing, the waiter surely should have known that we were entitled to a complimentary desert, something we noticed after the fact on a small folded card located in the room pass envelope. We could have ordered the desert "to go" and enjoyed it later in our room. And this happening after we had conversation about the wonderful meal and the beautiful deserts we saw being delivered. A wonderful meal and experience soured a little...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Very convenient since we were staying at the Gaylord Opryland Resort. The ambiance was great as a thunder and lightning storm moved in while we were dining under the glass dome. Steaks were prepared to perfection and presented in a timely fashion. Our side dishes were delicious...all recommendations made by our server were spot on.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Food was phenomenal! Steaks were the best we have had in a long time. Service was the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was good. Very overpriced, the server Amir was too busy socializing at other tables and rarely came to our table. Two other tables that came in after us with the same or more people in their parties were finished with their food before we got ours. They were out of stock on the wine we wanted and had to get a more expensive bottle. Very over priced but you get that at a resort style place. Honestly while the steaks were good, I have had better at Longhorn steak houses.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Food was excellent. However, the service was a little slow. It took over an hour to get our food.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My wife and I have a tradition of dining here on our anniversary. This year, as with the others, the entire experience was fantastic! The food, preparation, service and setting are all spectacular. Treat yourself to a meal here. You won't be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The entire experience was pleasant. I suprised the wife with a visit to the hotel for cocktails and dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Impeccable service and fantastic food, even for local Nashvillians. Worth the money and drive for a finer didning experience (long as you get your parking validated). Drinks were well crafted and delectable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 24, 2017

This was my third meal at the Old Hickory.
Twice when staying at the Gaylord and this last time we were actually staying in town at the Union Station and drove out to the Gaylord just for dinner.
Each time I've been here has been amazingly good.
They have a great wine selection, food is wonderful and service has been great each time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Our $110 Tomahawk filet was overcooked.... Well done instead of Medium. The server simply said it would get pinker towards the center, which it did... but that wasn't really the point. For $110, I don't want half of my steak to be burned and inedible.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Absolutely first rate, fantastic on all counts. You couldn't make a mistake here if you tried.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was impeccable the service was outstanding and the overall dining experience was first class. I am a silvery elite Marriott member and was treated as if I were platinum. I will be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great steak, Great service, peter & Roger were awesome. Ambiance is the best!!!! Highly recommend the new York strip, mashed potatoes, macaroni and cheese, & scallops! Bread is wonderful & they are wonderful for special occasions.

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Well to be honest, first, I was shocked at how many empty tables there were. I had quite a bit of difficulty getting a reservation (open table was telling me there was nothing, the restaurant doesn't open to take reservations - based on the website - till 5 pm, so I kept trying till something 'seemed' to open up) and I thought that the place would be packed. Even checking in ( I got there 15 mins early) was told I had to wait bc they weren't seating 'my time slot' and to have a seat. (That guy needs to be friendlier!!!) Yet when we walked in there was practically no one there! And it remained the same all night long - maybe 50% of the restaurant was full between 5-8 pm.
Second, the server was pretty nice although considering the lack of tables, I'd have expected her to visit a few more times.
And last but not least, for the price, I wasn't that impressed. I've certainly had better, more tender steak. One glass of wine (in total) was ordered and the bill before tip was $320 for 4 people. To be honest, I've given this a place a try 3x hoping it'd get better but don't think I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Service and food are definitely worth the pricey menu! 8 people in our party and not one had something they didn't like!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Business Meals, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We love this restaurant when we stay at Opryland Hotel. We made a reservation on Open Table and it is so convenient. The steak was large enough to share and the lobster bisque was outstanding!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Must dine here if in the area... Everything was wonderful

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Very nice experience for our 20th anniversery evening. Great food, great staff as you would expect .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Hostess, servers, and staff were very friendly.... especially our waiter Bryan Valeriano and the cheese woman. they are very passionate about there work. They know every item in the menu and are very courteous and soft spoken. Bryan was really good with the types of wine that should be paired with our main course. all in all we were very impressed.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Historic, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent, our waiter helped us enjoy the experience even more!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

One of the best porterhouse steaks we have ever had! The mash potatoes were awesome as well. Wayne, our waiter, was fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This has always been our "go to" for special occasions & Old Hickory Steakhouse did not disappoint for Valentines Day! Food was excellent as usual and the ambiance is always amazing. Thank you for another wonderful meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Best place for date night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I would never recommend this restaurant, in fact, we were highly disappointed as we chose it because it was our anniversary. My husbands steak, the first time it was brought out was too rare, the second time it was brought out it was very stringy and difficult to cut. Our waiter had a royal attitude and scoffed at us when we complained about the cut of meat. He removed the steak and came back 10 min. later saying he gave it to the chef and yes it was terrible and then said "At first I just thought you had a few glasses of wine before you got here, then had another one here and didn't know what you were talking about." Really?!?!? This is NO WAY to treat a customer. We were appalled! The chef NEVER came out to apologize. They also knew it was our anniversary and didn't offer anything to make our night special. We won't ever go there again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful dinner, service, food, everything was awesome!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was great, atmosphere was inviting. I would recommend a try. However don't forget your wallet.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service given to us by our waiter, Wayne, made this dinner an unbelievable experience! Our food was perfection. We had several questions and needed modifications to our meal. Wayne was prompt with his service and accommodated us with each request. It is pricey but when one experiences such delightful service, lovely setting and fine food .... the price is worth it!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This place was absolutely beautiful and delicious. The prices were on the high end but it's worth it. I ate here with my now fiance before I proposed to her. It was a perfect romantic dinner. The steak is 10/10 tasty.

Tags: Spicy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Fun, Cozy, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband and I had a wonderful meal Friday night during our stay at The Opryland Hotel. We loved the scallops. We both agreed that they were the best that we've ever had. We both ordered the filet mignon. Wonderful! Mashed potatoes were also great. Salads and bread were also good. We even tried the carrot cake and the caramel cheesecake. We both liked the cheesecake the best. The whole meal was very good. We will be back for sure! Excellent service. Never ran out of drinks or wanted a thing. Love seeing the water show while dining!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Outstanding food and ambiance. Emile was a great waiter.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was fantastic and Andrew gave us excellent service! What else could you ask for?

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food is great and the staff is amazing. Well worth the price!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 4, 2017

One of the best meals we have ever tasted at a restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.