Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland

A nod to President Andrew Jackson’s nickname, Old Hickory Steakhouse harnesses the charm of Antebellum-style architecture with the finest in sophisticated dining for a truly unforgettable experience. Overlooking the meandering river in our 4.5 acre Delta Atrium, Old Hickory Steakhouse—Gaylord Hotels' signature restaurant—features 1855 Black Angus Beef seared to perfection, artisan cheeses and an extensive wine list.

2800 Opryland Drive
Nashville, TN 37214
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
McGavock Pike

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 458-6848

Website:
http://www.gaylordopryland.com/Dining

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (85)
Good for Anniversaries (81)
Good for a Date (80)
See All
Scenic View (68)
Romantic (62)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Business Meals (37)
Notable Wine List (30)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Cozy (22)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Fun (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Seasonal (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Authentic (10)
Casual (10)
People Watching (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Waterfront (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (2)
Live Music (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort by
S
960 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

We really enjoyed our dinner experience at Old Hickory Steakhouse. The service was so professional and the pace was perfect. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

The restaurant dining experience was phenomenal. Had the 6oz filet and among the best that has ever hit my lips. Service was top notch throughout! On the flip side, we waited in the restaurant bar while our table was being set up and the bartender and two waitstaff were cold, inattentive and quite simply snobby. Otherwise a can’t miss!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

Worst service ever for an upscale restaurant!! Food was well below average at a premium price.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Great ambience, stayed at the hotel for my hubby's 40th birthday. Booked this restraunt, he loves steak! Cooked to perfection, perfect location very romantic! Oh and the chocolate cake💗

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 5 days ago

Food and service was spectacular. Would recommend for anyone staying at Opryland

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and place to be - Christmas time at Opry Land. Special for the evening was very good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Everything went fine until after waiting over 30 for the entrees, the manager came out and told us that our order had gotten "misplaced" and would take a while longer. No problem for a normal evening but we had tickets to the show next door and had to eat and run after finally getting our food. Food was great though.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

I had dinner at the Old Hickory Steakhouse on Friday, December 8, 2017. The ambiance, especially at Christmastime, was truly beautiful. I had noted that dress for this upscale restaurant was "smart casual" yet at the table next to me were young men dressed in jeans, t-shirts and sneakers. I ordered their special menu offering of a 6 oz. filet, mashed potatoes, asparagus and a cheesecake dessert. The steak came out perfect (I ordered it medium) but both the potatoes and the asparagus were only luke warm. I suspect they sat and cooled off while the steak was being cooked. Not once during my meal did anyone stop to ask how my meal was - somewhat disappointing in a restaurant of this caliber.

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 7, 2017

Our dining experience was wonderful. The food was great but even better was the service! Amir provided amazing service and delicious recommendation for the meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 7, 2017

Wonderful food and service. Was our favorite dining spot at the Gaylord.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 6, 2017

Our waiter WAYNE was TERRIFIC!!!!!!!! Such a joy and a complete walking encyclopedia. We asked numerous questions about the area and the Gaylord Opry Land complex ..... his knowledge was truly amazing! We will be back and we will ask for Wayne to be our server.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 1, 2017

Good steak and lobster bisque. I was disappointed there was mushrooms on the lobster thermidor.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 28, 2017

It was amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 27, 2017

Waited 50 minutes for luke warm food. Got a desert to go & the cheesecake & salad were good. Scallops& fillet were cold to like warm & nothing special for the really high prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined on November 27, 2017

waited for a long time between appetizer and meal to arrive. steak was overcooked and nothing special

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on November 27, 2017

Excellent restaurant with delicious food. One of my favorites.

Tags: Fun, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Always incredible. Don't let the "hotel restaurant" fool you... this is one of the finest steakhouses ANYwhere. Impeccable service as well. Worth a visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Delicious food, unique atmosphere! The steaks were prepared perfectly, the scallops and lobster tail decadent! Perfect location to walk around before and after your meal!

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

Dinner and the ambiance was great, always enjoy a great meal at the hickory house.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

This was a great dining experience. Ambience was nice. Staff was attentive. Food was superb. One of the best steak houses I have been too!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Our annual holiday meal was perfect and the cheese cart is my favorite part of the meal. It is more than worth it to go in the hotel and enjoy the sights and this wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fun, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 26, 2017

The service was excellent... but how could a big restaurant be out of my favorite steak??? Porterhouse!

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Seated quickly. Wait staff was very attentive and made the experience very enjoyable. Food was well prepared and brought out hot and within a reasonable time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

Great service. Even better food. The New York strip was amazing. We enjoyed dining al fresco even though we were still inside. An all around great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 24, 2017

Wonderful meal!!! It would be hard to find a better steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 23, 2017

The food was fabulous. The servers were very pleasant and professional but they have not been taught how to properly serve. They often reached across the table to pour water, remove dishes and the like.
The parking sticker didn't work resulting in an unnecessary $29.00 parking fee. That was very aggravating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on November 22, 2017

Waiter affixed a bar-coded stamp to our receipt to validate our parking. Surprise, as we attempted to leave the scanner refused to read the barcode after many attempts. We also tried to call for help from the machine on site to receive help probably 6 times and no answer. Finally ended up having to pay for the parking to reduce the pain to others wanting to exit the premise.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

Very nice Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

I was nervious about this place after reading Google reviews. After being greeted by Andrew and his serving team, my GF and I felt top notch. I can not say enough about this team and this restaurant. Thank you so much for making our 1 year anniversary so so so specail.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

Very good meal and setting. Anthony and Rany(?) did a great job

Only negative was we could not use valet as we are local residents and we had to park way out in the parking lot across the street in the wind and rain. Should have better facilities to support local patrons. A shuttle would help. Our pant legs and shoes were wet whic made celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary a bit uncomfortable until we dried out.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

Good food, great service. The surrounding hotel environment was just a little bit louder than I would have liked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Food was excellent. My date had the lamb and I had the NY Strip....both were excellent. The wine list was outstanding and we had a bottle of the VML Pinot Noir which was absolutely wonderful. Our server, I think his name was Peter (he was from Rhode Island), was superb. Definitely will come back and highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

We had a fabulous dinner here on Friday. The food and service were top notch with a nice selection of wines. A great steakhouse

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

The food was great, we went here for our 2 year anniversary. The only thing that went wrong was a random lady came and sat down, while we were trying to enjoy are steak. She began to tell us her entire life story . Well with the being said , we had to eat a lukewarm steak ( don’t recommend a cold steak ). The server Anthony was fantastic. Just wish we could have enjoyed our night a little more

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 17, 2017

Took my wife there for our anniversary. The food was excellent and our server (Tim) made the night with his service and personality he was very knowledgeable of the menu and recommendations . For an upscale restaurant it was very down to earth, laid back, casual and enjoyable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 17, 2017

We had a fabulous dinner! Service was great and the view of the new light and fountain show
was beautiful and entertaining. We enjoyed our evening very much.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 14, 2017

Excellent food and drinks. Service was very slow at times. Ambiance was perfect.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

We had a dinner party of 11 and everything was perfect from the moment we sat down all the way to the very end of the night! Our waiter was very knowledgeable, attentive, and overall just a very friendly guy. Drinks were perfect, as were the appetizers, steaks, and family style sides. To top it off, they brought us beautiful desserts as 2 of the couples were celebrating 25th wedding anniversaries, 2 birthdays in the group, and a reuniting of 3 Army buddies from 25 years past. It was one of the best meals and times that we've had in a very long time! Excellent!!!

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Excellent from start to finish!
We were running a few minutes late but our table was ready when we arrived. The staff were all amazing and the food was delicious! We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 11, 2017

The food was very good, especially the cheese course. But it took way too long between our appetizers and the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.