About Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland

2800 Opryland Drive
Nashville, TN 37214
View Larger Map

A nod to President Andrew Jackson’s nickname, Old Hickory Steakhouse harnesses the charm of Antebellum-style architecture with the finest in sophisticated dining for a truly unforgettable experience. Overlooking the meandering river in our 4.5 acre Delta Atrium, Old Hickory Steakhouse—Gaylord Hotels' signature restaurant—features 1855 Black Angus Beef seared to perfection, artisan cheeses and an extensive wine list.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
McGavock Pike

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 458-6848

Website:
http://www.gaylordopryland.com/Dining

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Nashville
Best Ambiance
Nashville
Romantic
Nashville
5 More
Special Occasion
Nashville
Best Service
Nashville
Best Ambiance
Nashville
Romantic
Nashville
Special Occasion
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Nashville ›

Special Occasion (100)
Romantic (71)
Scenic View (66)
See All
Notable Wine List (33)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Business Meals (10)
Worth the Drive (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Cozy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Historic (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Waterfront (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fun (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Casual (2)
Authentic (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
485 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

While this restaurant is at a price poin ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 3 days ago

While this restaurant is at a price point that makes it too pricey to visit regularly, both the food quality and service make it worth every penny. Everything was delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed the roasted chicken breast, the NY strip steak, arugula and grilled peach salad, and creamed spinach side. My husband claims that the steak was the best he's ever had. We can't even imagine how wonderful the desserts must be, but we were so stuffed that it wasn't possible for us to even entertain the thought of ordering dessert.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have eaten here 3 other times, includi ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

I have eaten here 3 other times, including once when we were not even staying at the hotel!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is my second trip to Old Hickory, a ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 5 days ago

This is my second trip to Old Hickory, and it was for my 32nd wedding anniversary. As with the first trip, the ambience is terrific, the wait staff is on top of things, and the food is outstanding. I've had steaks at a lot of touted 5 star steak houses, and I've yet to find one that has been as tender, or grilled to perfection, as Old Hickory. This is an authentic steak house-medium rare means medium rare-complete with a cool center. Be aware of that when ordering.

The side dishes are huge, so be aware of that before ordering. One side is easily enough for two-four people, depending on appetites. I suspect your server will make this known. That being said, it is possible to get a half order, which is still enough for 2 people! Our server, Wayne, made that known, and I'm glad he did. I ordered peas with goat cheese and lamb bacon. Oh my! If that's on the menu, and you enjoy unique flavors, you must order it. My wife, being a chef, is able to deconstruct it and you can be sure we'll enjoy this dish again. It was superb!

For dessert, we were brought a creme brulee that was to die for. I don't like overly sweet desserts, and this was amazing. It was very well balanced and the carmelized sugar was perfection. If there was one drawback, the french whipped cream on the side was too sweet for me but, as I said, I don't like real sweet things. I'm sure it would be fine for most everyone else.

Overall, I highly recommend spending an evening at Old Hickory if you're in Nashville and want a 5 star dining experience. Be prepared to drop a few bucks, but for a wonderful dining experience or special occasions, it's well worth it. If you tend to count pennies when dining, do yourself a favor and don't visit, because it isn't cheap.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I have traveled many countries and place ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 5 days ago

I have traveled many countries and places. Old Hickory by far has the best atmosphere, service and food of anywhere I have eaten. Definitely is worth the price you spend. They have set a new standard in a dining experience. It will be hard for me to find another restaurant that will compare to Old Hickory. Outstanding!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding steaks and dessert. No reas ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding steaks and dessert. No reason to leave the Gaylord for a great meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best Filet I have ever had. Server was g ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Best Filet I have ever had. Server was great and was on top of everything.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was quality, but nothing special fo ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was quality, but nothing special for this price point. Atmosphere was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

We were delighted that this restaurant h ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were delighted that this restaurant held our table, given our delay in traffic. Servers were friendly and professional and responsive to our need for attentive service, given plans to attend the Grand Ole' Oprey show that evening. Meal was delicious, hot and well presented.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server, Andrew, was amazing and his ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Our server, Andrew, was amazing and his wine knowledge along with his suggestions were spot on to my pallet. He was also very helpful in assisting us with our food choices. All in all, it was a fantastic experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We nice. Expensive.

 
 (Tulsa)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We nice. Expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic meal! We had friends visiting ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Fantastic meal! We had friends visiting from out of the state and planning to go to Grand Ole Opry. Classy dinner before their show.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is very nice, the food was ex ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

This place is very nice, the food was excellent and the service was also top notch. One thing to keep in mind, this is a REAL steak house, not a Texas Road House or Logan's. The meat is cooked to real steak house standards. For example medium is pink center cool to touch, keep that in mind when ordering, if you normally get medium I would suggest medium well. The side are shareable and plentiful, we got the shareable mushrooms and between two of us we could not finish them. We also got the shrimp cocktail appetizer, they are HUGE, you only get 4 but they are three times the size of your normal shrimp you see in other restaurants. The staff is super, they know your name when you arrive at the table and great you as Mr Mrs .... like they know you, that was cool. This is very nice place but expect to drop $100+ on dinner for two but I can tell you, worth every penny. Great for date nights or special occasions. They also have a huge wine selection if you into that, if not they also have Bud Light, and it was COLD. Will be back someday.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was so ordinary. We split a steak ( ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Food was so ordinary. We split a steak (not the most expensive), one creamed spinach, one glass of wine, one martini. The bill was $109.00, before tip. Waitstaff very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Delicious food, friendly staff. Save roo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Delicious food, friendly staff. Save room for dessert! ($$$$)

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was OK but not worth the price. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The food was OK but not worth the price. The waiter was rude and took issue with one in our party when she complained about the way the steak was cooked. I would not go back there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Lovely dining experience! Beautiful sur ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Lovely dining experience! Beautiful surroundings. Food was excellent. Our waitress, Sunny, was so friendly and nice. We had steaks, which were done to perfection.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding meal, service, ambiance. On ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Outstanding meal, service, ambiance. On the expensive side, however, it was well worth it as the last dinner of our vacation. Highly recommend.

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was staying at this hotel for a nurses c ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Was staying at this hotel for a nurses conference. Went to Grand Ole Opry and made reservations here for after the show. Lovely atmosphere waiters were very attentive. The asparagas was amazing Done perfectly! Firm and crunchy with a light lemon buttery sauce. My coworkers ordered the lobster mac and cheese and loved it! For a hotel restaurant we really enjoyed it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

All staff have a great attention to deta ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

All staff have a great attention to detail. We were able to dine not just eat. Great Food. Great Service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service and atmosphere, but th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Excellent service and atmosphere, but the chef was a bit heavy-handed with the salt (is creamed spinach supposed to be salty?). Waitstaff were very attentive while remaining unobtrusive. All of the fountains and waterfalls provided a backdrop that allowed for intimate conversation without letting your dining neighbors listen in. Overall, a very pleasant dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Last experience was two years ago. I wou ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Last experience was two years ago. I would have rated food five star. This visit rate a two. Hopefully it is because it was the day after Labor Day and all the good chefs had the day off. I will probably try another restaurant, before I return to Old Hickory.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I heard great things about the Old Hicko ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I heard great things about the Old Hickory. I was with a party of 4, and all of our steaks were to the wrong doneness. I order medium rare, and got rare. The other people I was with received medium well (ordered rare), medium (ordered rare), and medium well (ordered medium). For a renowned steak house, this was very disappointing. We told our server, but we were in a hurry to make a 7:30 appointment, and it took so long to get our steaks, (we sat down at 5:30), there was no time to redo them. The mushrooms and scallops were excellent though. Service was great. Just very disappointed in the steaks.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Just an amazing place food and service. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Just an amazing place food and service. I would highly recommend it to people

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Of the above.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Of the above.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My husband and I went here for the first ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

My husband and I went here for the first time because it was our first year anniversary and we wanted to do something special. Our wait staff Emeel and Paul were wonderful and took very good care of us. We were not disappointed with anything. Thank you old hickory for making our evening special.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and excellent food. Waiter ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great service and excellent food. Waiter was very friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Old Hickory Steak House is wonderful and ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Old Hickory Steak House is wonderful and a very nice location for a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

All went well! The water park was loud t ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

All went well! The water park was loud tho.

The drinks and food were good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our experience at Old Hickory Steakhouse ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Our experience at Old Hickory Steakhouse was exceptional. The server and all wait staff were extremely attentive and exceptionally friendly.

The food was outstanding. Steak was cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I had a wonderful evening ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful evening celebrating our 50 th Anniversary. The

Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland made it very memorable for us. As soon as we were seated our Waiter Wayne brought a red rose to the table to honor our anniversary. I ordered the filet which was cooked perfect, my husband ordered the Lamb which he said was very good. Wayne surprised us with dessert, Creme Brûlée with Happy 50th Anniversary written in Chocolate across the plate, that was the best Creme Brûlée I had ever eaten.

It was a fantastic meal and a wonderful memory.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a fabulous server, Sheba, with an ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We had a fabulous server, Sheba, with an attentive assistant. Sheba sought information about gluten-free options and answered all our questions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Here's the positives: the lobster bisque ...

 
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Here's the positives: the lobster bisque was divine. The sides were excellent. But this is a steakhouse, and unfortunately my steak didn't deliver. I ordered the 60 day dry aged New York strip steak; the cut of meat was excellent, but it was not prepared well. I ordered the steak medium rare, but it arrived severely overcooked on the outside and equally undercooked on the inside--almost a "black and blue" prep. Just poor method and execution on cooking an otherwise nice cut of meat. I know what a good steak tastes like, and I also know how to cook it...this was not it. For an $80 steak, I expected more. Much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Tony was wonderful and made the dinner f ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Tony was wonderful and made the dinner feel personal and special. His helper was right on time with his clean up and very engaged with us. I loved the night so much , didn't want it to end. The prices are well worth the experience and the view. Thank you Tony!!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My new husband and I had many special re ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

My new husband and I had many special requests on this day that were all very well met, including that we be able to make an appointment by finishing our dinner within an hour and a half at the very most as well as gluten/sugar/egg sensitive.

We had the wonderful Bone Marrow appetizer which we highly recommend, and they accommodated us with some yummy gluten free toasted bread to go with the cherry butter that was amazing. Our server was kind enough to snag an extra ramekin of that cherry butter much to our delight. I had the lovely lamb porterhouse which was flavorful and done to perfection, whilst hus-bee had scrumptious and generous portion of salmon.

The only negative was that they stated that they no longer offer grass-fed beef and then explained how much better the 'other stuff' was. I cannot be sold on that because I simply know better, so we opted for the lamb and salmon, but our whole original intent was to sample their grass-fed beef since they had been held out by the resort to be the only restaurant there that offered it. :( Still a great experience, but would be perfect if they'd get the grass-fed beef back IMHO.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

A quiet atmosphere... It is a good place ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

A quiet atmosphere... It is a good place for a date night. Great steak and salmon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious! A must try... They made our s ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Delicious! A must try... They made our special occasion even more memorable! ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I chose Old Hickory Steakhou ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My wife and I chose Old Hickory Steakhouse to celebrate our 19th Anniversary and we were very impressed with how beautiful everything was and how great the food was. Our server Allen, was the most knowledgeable server I had experienced other than being funny, attentive and suggestive to our inquiring minds. "THANK YOU" Old Hickory Steakhouse.....You will definitely see us again with friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filet was awesome. Only negative is the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Filet was awesome. Only negative is the first one was overdone, but Waiter took care of it.

Ambience was unbeatable. Service exceptional. Very relaxing dinner

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I had an amazing dinner on S ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My wife and I had an amazing dinner on Saturday night. The marrow butter on top of the porterhouse was an amazing combination. Flavor explosion! Peter and Sheba, our servers, were amazing. We were treated like a king and queen. I highly recommend the Old Hickory Steakhouse.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic atmosphere with Excellent dinin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Romantic atmosphere with Excellent dining

& professional, friendly service.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.