Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland

A nod to President Andrew Jackson’s nickname, Old Hickory Steakhouse harnesses the charm of Antebellum-style architecture with the finest in sophisticated dining for a truly unforgettable experience. Overlooking the meandering river in our 4.5 acre Delta Atrium, Old Hickory Steakhouse—Gaylord Hotels' signature restaurant—features 1855 Black Angus Beef seared to perfection, artisan cheeses and an extensive wine list.

2800 Opryland Drive
Nashville, TN 37214
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
McGavock Pike

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 458-6848

Website:
http://www.gaylordopryland.com/Dining

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (73)
Good for a Date (70)
Good for Anniversaries (62)
See All
Romantic (60)
Scenic View (53)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Business Meals (32)
Notable Wine List (30)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Cozy (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Authentic (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
People Watching (10)
Casual (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fun (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Waterfront (6)
Live Music (6)
Seasonal (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
894 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great, Great, Great Food and Drinks. Service is Wonderful. Will be back Again and Again

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 4 days ago

Old Hickory was everything we wanted for our last honeymoon meal. Great food, fantastic service, they even gave us a piece of cake specially decorated for the occasion. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Fantastic. We Thoroughly enjoyed your night at the Old Hickory. Food,service,Atmosphere were fantastic. It’s pricey but still a good value.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

Fantastic food and service. We had the early dinner special, which was a perfect amount of food.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

probably better local options. my lobster tail was awful and timing of meal was completely off. not worth the lofty prices.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

As always, Old Hickory Steakhouse hit the mark. Their food is consistently amazing, drinks are on point, and the service is impeccable. Every Nashvillian need to engine once and come visit the Steakhouse...and the bars around it beforehand!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Wonderful, great wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Our steaks we both agreed were not as expected! Steaks that a person pays such a high price for should at the least be better than I personally can grill myself. I am not a chef at all but I have purchased steaks at our local market which were much better. The service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Disconnected service. Ordered ice tea 3 times. Finally arrived when half way thru meal. After salads. Kept trying to get me to order wine. Friend with had wine anf kept her filled.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 4, 2017

The view is spectacular everywhere inside Opryland Hotel, so there are really no bad seats. The fillet was as good as I have ever had. We were celebrating our anniversary and they presented my wife with a rose upon arrival and then provided a complimentary dessert for us to enjoy. A very nice evening with great food and service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Service and atmosphere are always good.
The cost of our salads compared to their size was so disappointing that we didn’t order anything else.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Excellent service and excellent food. I would definitely go back again.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Loved the elegance of a throwback to the oldfashioned steakhouse. White linens, impeccable service, aged beef, fine wines; it doesn't get any better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

The service for our event was outstanding and the attention to detail remarkable. The steaks were also some of the best tasting steaks I have ever had.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tulsa)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The restaurant was terrific! The food, service, and ambiance was amazing!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Excellent service and top notch attention to the guest's needs

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Food was excellent but rather expensive, as was the wine.
Lamb Porterhouse was particularly good.
Service, however, left a bit to be desired.
Nice location inside the atrium, but water features were a little noisy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

The wait staff was very friendly. The food was delicious and was served in a timely manner.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Great steak! Amir, our server, made it a great experience. Picked our apps, recommended wine, coached us on which steaks to order. Everything was great!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Thank you for a lovely birthday dinner .. Andrew was fantastic and we will return next visit.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great atmosphere, great service, great scenery! The food was only average for this quality of restaurant. I would go to Ruth's Chris for a steak. Old Hickory for the setting and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

The servers were pleasant and attentive but a little over worked for a not so busy time. Food was overly expensive for medium quality fair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Fabulous ambiance. One of the best steaks I have ever eaten.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We are early. They had a price fixe offering during the time we were there but they didn't tell us about it. It wasn't until we left that we saw it on a sign. Our food was good but nothing extraordinary. They did validate parking so that was a plus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 20, 2017

very disappointing. the kitchen was not on its A Game. the wait between salad and entree was over 40 minutes. totally unacceptable. then when the filet finally arrived it was RAW. the manager said it looked medium rare. think a new pair of glasses are in order.
the salads were delicious
yes, the steak was taken off the bill, that is not the point.
the waiter ignored us for the 40 minutes, the manager Actually said the steak Looked medium rare.
A steak which is grey on the outside and is soft in the middle, is definitely RARE
Don't make the customer feel like they are stupid or are hard to please.
We were there for a nice evening.....that did not happen

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Took my wife here for her birthday last weekend, the place was amazing! Great customer service, we were more than pleased with our meal. We will definitely be back in the near future!

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We had a birthday celebration with a group of eight ladies on a Saturday evening. Everything about this restaurant was perfect. The sommelier helped us pick the perfect wine. Every dish was cooked to perfection and the service was top notch.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

A steak house that can't cook a steak and for price the meat sucked

The waiter was great but the food was a joke at $80+ per person

Two times in 6 months and the meat was like a burger at Macdonald

Don't go unless the expense account is paying

It sucked

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Went for my fiancés birthday before going to the Opry.
Service was great, he asked if we were going to the Opry and then kept track of the time thru out the meal so we would arrive on time.
My filet was cooked perfectly, my fiancés lamb was delicious.
It obviously is not a cheap meal for two but if you are willing to splurge some its well worth it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Our experience was wonderful. Our waiter was exceptional! Really enjoyed our dinner there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Our server Amir was most attentive and made our anniversary dinner fun. Roger kept our glasses full and table cleared without being obtrusive; nice. Kimberly, the cheese cart expert was personable and very knowledgeable. Be sure to try the cheese cart! By the way, our meal was totally awesome!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

We have been here several times....... Birthdays, Anniversary and other special events.... Love the quite romantic setting... the last few time we have had the same waiter... who always is very attentive and accommodating,,, food is Five Star....Will continue to dine there.... Thank You

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great food and great service provided by our waiters Alan and Francis made for a memorable evening @ Old Hickory Steakhouse. First impression of the restaurant did not disappoint, really quite impressive from the gentleman who greeted us at the door to the last sip of wine.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

This restaurant located in the Gaylord Opryland Hotel exceeded our expectations. The food was absolutely delicious with gourmet choices. We both had steaks and they were cooked perfectly with our choice of toppings - -Lobster Tail and Crab Oscar. The sides are sharing size which we did not catch and we both ordered a side - - which was way too much food --- but we highly recommend the creamed spinach and the best baked potato I have ever eaten. It was our anniversary and they surprised us with a spectacular dessert for free!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The quality of the steak was not as good as described. The price didn't go with the steak received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner. The service was excellent. Our waitress Sheba went above and beyond to assure that we had a great experience. The food was phenomenal. We were pleasantly surprised with all aspects of dining at the old hickory steakhouse.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 6, 2017

The food was phenomenal. The atmosphere was very nice. We chose this restaurant last minute and are very glad we did. Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

The staff were very professional and helpful. The 16oz strip was delicious. We actually shared the meal and were both satisfied. So much so we went back the following evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

This was an experience, not just a meal and it will be remembered for years to come. Our server Amir was extremely personable and professional. The food was delicious, portions large and super savory. The atmosphere was perfect for our special anniversary celebration. The scenery made us feel like we were eating outdoors and we were never rushed. We will certainly return to the Old Hickory on our next visit to the Gaylord.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.