About Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland

2800 Opryland Drive
Nashville, TN 37214
View Larger Map

A nod to President Andrew Jackson’s nickname, Old Hickory Steakhouse harnesses the charm of Antebellum-style architecture with the finest in sophisticated dining for a truly unforgettable experience. Overlooking the meandering river in our 4.5 acre Delta Atrium, Old Hickory Steakhouse—Gaylord Hotels' signature restaurant—features 1855 Black Angus Beef seared to perfection, artisan cheeses and an extensive wine list.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
McGavock Pike

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 458-6848

Website:
http://www.gaylordopryland.com/Dining

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Nashville
Special Occasion
Nashville
Romantic
Nashville
1 More
Special Occasion
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Nashville ›

Special Occasion (87)
Romantic (67)
Scenic View (58)
See All
Fit for Foodies (30)
Notable Wine List (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Good for Groups (23)
Hot Spot (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
459 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I went here for the first ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I went here for the first time because it was our first year anniversary and we wanted to do something special. Our wait staff Emeel and Paul were wonderful and took very good care of us. We were not disappointed with anything. Thank you old hickory for making our evening special.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and excellent food. Waiter ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great service and excellent food. Waiter was very friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Old Hickory Steak House is wonderful and ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Old Hickory Steak House is wonderful and a very nice location for a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

All went well! The water park was loud t ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

All went well! The water park was loud tho.

The drinks and food were good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our experience at Old Hickory Steakhouse ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our experience at Old Hickory Steakhouse was exceptional. The server and all wait staff were extremely attentive and exceptionally friendly.

The food was outstanding. Steak was cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I had a wonderful evening ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I had a wonderful evening celebrating our 50 th Anniversary. The

Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland made it very memorable for us. As soon as we were seated our Waiter Wayne brought a red rose to the table to honor our anniversary. I ordered the filet which was cooked perfect, my husband ordered the Lamb which he said was very good. Wayne surprised us with dessert, Creme Brûlée with Happy 50th Anniversary written in Chocolate across the plate, that was the best Creme Brûlée I had ever eaten.

It was a fantastic meal and a wonderful memory.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a fabulous server, Sheba, with an ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had a fabulous server, Sheba, with an attentive assistant. Sheba sought information about gluten-free options and answered all our questions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Here's the positives: the lobster bisque ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Here's the positives: the lobster bisque was divine. The sides were excellent. But this is a steakhouse, and unfortunately my steak didn't deliver. I ordered the 60 day dry aged New York strip steak; the cut of meat was excellent, but it was not prepared well. I ordered the steak medium rare, but it arrived severely overcooked on the outside and equally undercooked on the inside--almost a "black and blue" prep. Just poor method and execution on cooking an otherwise nice cut of meat. I know what a good steak tastes like, and I also know how to cook it...this was not it. For an $80 steak, I expected more. Much more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

My new husband and I had many special re ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

My new husband and I had many special requests on this day that were all very well met, including that we be able to make an appointment by finishing our dinner within an hour and a half at the very most as well as gluten/sugar/egg sensitive.

We had the wonderful Bone Marrow appetizer which we highly recommend, and they accommodated us with some yummy gluten free toasted bread to go with the cherry butter that was amazing. Our server was kind enough to snag an extra ramekin of that cherry butter much to our delight. I had the lovely lamb porterhouse which was flavorful and done to perfection, whilst hus-bee had scrumptious and generous portion of salmon.

The only negative was that they stated that they no longer offer grass-fed beef and then explained how much better the 'other stuff' was. I cannot be sold on that because I simply know better, so we opted for the lamb and salmon, but our whole original intent was to sample their grass-fed beef since they had been held out by the resort to be the only restaurant there that offered it. :( Still a great experience, but would be perfect if they'd get the grass-fed beef back IMHO.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

A quiet atmosphere... It is a good place ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

A quiet atmosphere... It is a good place for a date night. Great steak and salmon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Delicious! A must try... They made our s ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Delicious! A must try... They made our special occasion even more memorable! ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I chose Old Hickory Steakhou ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My wife and I chose Old Hickory Steakhouse to celebrate our 19th Anniversary and we were very impressed with how beautiful everything was and how great the food was. Our server Allen, was the most knowledgeable server I had experienced other than being funny, attentive and suggestive to our inquiring minds. "THANK YOU" Old Hickory Steakhouse.....You will definitely see us again with friends.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filet was awesome. Only negative is the ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Filet was awesome. Only negative is the first one was overdone, but Waiter took care of it.

Ambience was unbeatable. Service exceptional. Very relaxing dinner

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I had an amazing dinner on S ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My wife and I had an amazing dinner on Saturday night. The marrow butter on top of the porterhouse was an amazing combination. Flavor explosion! Peter and Sheba, our servers, were amazing. We were treated like a king and queen. I highly recommend the Old Hickory Steakhouse.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic atmosphere with Excellent dinin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Romantic atmosphere with Excellent dining

& professional, friendly service.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is fantastic particularly the s ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food is fantastic particularly the selection of cuts and the OH chocolate cake is to die for!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a highlight to our vacation in Nash ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

What a highlight to our vacation in Nashville!

Drinks in the library, romantic atmosphere, amazing food , superb service. Loved every moment of the evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Medium rare steak was burnt ; prices on ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Medium rare steak was burnt ; prices on bill were higher than prices listed on the menu

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value2

This is our 3rd trip. The last 3 times ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This is our 3rd trip. The last 3 times we have visited Nashville we make this our go to place for great steaks, dining atmosphere. Service was very attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't beat the ambiance of the beautiful ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Can't beat the ambiance of the beautiful Opry hotel gardens. The food was incredible. Bread basket was a sculpture. Would absolutely come back on our next trip.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we were celebrating our 60th wedding ann ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

we were celebrating our 60th wedding anniversary and they really made it special.

Our waiter was Amari and he really did a great job.

He brought a rose to the table for my wife.

He brought a 60th anniversary desert to the table.

He made several great recommendations which turned out wonderful.

He is a true asset the establishment.

My wife was greatly pleased so that made the evening perfect.

Thanks.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter/sommelier did a great job of ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

The waiter/sommelier did a great job of recommending wines within our taste and price range. He did a great job of describing dishes. We had a wonderful anniversary meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Let's start with tossing words like "val ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Let's start with tossing words like "value" and "budget" out. We came here for our anniversary and I don't mind spending money on special occasions like this. Not sure I would come for a regular vacation.

We had no budget for this dinner, so with that in mind... we truly enjoyed the experience. I'm not particularly fancy myself, but I can certainly appreciate some luxury and this place put it on thick (in a good way)!

Our waiter Amir was great and looked like classy father straight out of a Bollywood movie. He was knowledgeable and super accommodating. We started with escargot, which we've had a few times over the past few years, and it was probably the best I've ever had. We opted for the cheese plate which was a great experience since they had a dedicated employee to describe, deliver, and care over the cheese. Getting a cheese plate is certainly a neat novelty for the experience, but not something I'd do again here.

I opted for the 16 oz New York Strip done medium and the outsides of the steak were amazing, the inner 4 ounces were a tad too rare for me, but this phenomenon is common with me and large steaks.

My wife had a delicious lobster bisque that I would certainly order again.

To sum it all up...

- Expensive? definitely.

- Great food? no doubt.

- Would I come again? maybe after a decade or so just for the nostalgia.

My advice? Drop everything by 25% and you'd earn some "value" points.

I have no issue giving this place 5 stars overall though.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Best food with excellent service.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Best food with excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and atmosphere was outstanding! ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food and atmosphere was outstanding! I can honestly say that the filet was the BEST steak I have ever eaten. I will most certainly return to and recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Drinks in the library were delicious and ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Drinks in the library were delicious and skillfully crafted. The ambience of the bar would have been amazing had it not allowed children in the parlor. A child was throwing a tantrum for 15 min before the family finally left. Cowboy ribeye medium, tender and flavorful. Mac and cheese creamy. Seafood app (crab cakes, shrimp cocktail and scallop) good. The creme Brule fresh peaches scrumptious! Service attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is outstanding. The food ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The restaurant is outstanding. The food was amazing. The steaks were prepared perfectly and were excellent cuts of meat. The homemade lobster Mac and cheese was delicious. The ceasar salad and the wedge lettuce salad were also good. Paul our server was very attentive and personable. He is a nice guy. The restaurant is located in a huge atrium. While dining we were surrounded by cascading waterfalls, a river and gorgeous plants and flowers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My childhood girlfriends and I celebrate ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

My childhood girlfriends and I celebrated our 60th birthday's together at Old Hickory. The steak was the best I've ever eaten. Our waiter (Wayne) gave us a total rundown of the history and was an excellent server. He surprised us with a piece of cake and candles. It was a most excellent visit and we will return as soon as we can.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing, the best steak I h ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was amazing, the best steak I have ever had. The food was amazing! Our waiter was great and had a great personality!! My husband and I celebrated our one week anniversary of being married and could have not picked a better place. When we come back to Nashville we will for sure come back to Old Hickory!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed or dinner. Great food, ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We really enjoyed or dinner. Great food, service and atmosphere.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The steak was good but it had a huge vei ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The steak was good but it had a huge vein or something in it that was really unappetizing. When we were first seated I was directly in the sun but then we were kind of placed behind a bush so I couldn't see the scenery. Very over priced in my opinion.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Food was great, but it was definitely pr ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was great, but it was definitely pricey. Would only go for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and great service. A good pl ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food and great service. A good place to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Made my reservations for 7:30 and was se ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Made my reservations for 7:30 and was seated right on time.

Servers were very informative And polite.

Ordered the bone marrow app and OMG was it delish !

Had the 24 oz porterhouse with with asparagus for my main meal.

Steak cooked perfectly at medium .

Only think is they seat you out side and the water noise can be annoying.

Other than that,was a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Stick with the steak always had good luc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Stick with the steak always had good luck with the steak I decided to try the chicken and it wasn't good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The steak and lobster bisque are the be ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The steak and lobster bisque are the best but trout was very salty

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful meal and great service

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Wonderful meal and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dinner and service. Always com ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Excellent dinner and service. Always come back here on vacation

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Words cannot describe how great everythi ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Words cannot describe how great everything was. From the lobster bisque to the chocolate cake we had for dessert. I highly recommend having dinner at Old Hickory Steakhouse.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a very nice dinner ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

My husband and I had a very nice dinner here. We were staying at the site so we just had to walk to the restaurant inside the Gaylord Opryland complex. The hotel and grounds inside are amazing. We mentioned at the end of the meal that it was our anniversary and soon after the waiter brought over strawberries dipped in chocolate with happy anniversary written in chocolate on the plate. Very nice. Meal was excellent, service excellent. Highly recommend.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.