Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland

A nod to President Andrew Jackson’s nickname, Old Hickory Steakhouse harnesses the charm of Antebellum-style architecture with the finest in sophisticated dining for a truly unforgettable experience. Overlooking the meandering river in our 4.5 acre Delta Atrium, Old Hickory Steakhouse—Gaylord Hotels' signature restaurant—features 1855 Black Angus Beef seared to perfection, artisan cheeses and an extensive wine list.

2800 Opryland Drive
Nashville, TN 37214
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
McGavock Pike

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 458-6848

Website:
http://www.gaylordopryland.com/Dining

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

SpecialOccasions (61)
Romance (50)
Anniversaries (48)
See All
ScenicView (41)
GoodForDates (39)
BusinessMeals (21)
Birthdays (19)
NotableWineList (18)
WorthTheDrive (17)
OutdoorDining (17)
QuietConversation (16)
Foodies (14)
Groups (13)
Casual (9)
Authentic (9)
Cozy (7)
PrePostTheatre (7)
LateNightFind (6)
HandcraftedCocktails (6)
CreativeCuisine (6)
Fun (6)
PeopleWatching (4)
NeighborhoodGem (4)
Historic (4)
ModernDecor (4)
HotSpot (3)
PrivateRoom (3)
Waterfront (3)
ComfortFood (3)
TastingMenu (3)
DisabledAccess (3)
Healthy (2)
LocalIngredients (2)
PaleoFriendly (2)
BarSeating (2)
ChildFriendly (1)
VegetarianOptions (1)
Lunch (1)
MolecularGastronomy (1)
FamilyStyle (1)
GlutenFree (1)
Vegan (1)
VibrantBarScene (1)
Sort By:
S
766 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

Beautiful surroundings, nice atmosphere, wonderful service and great food! Would highly recommend this restaurant!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Frankly - owners should be ashamed of this place. Behind beautiful decor hiding an abysmal quality of food and scarcity of (good/any) menu.

While the service was good (it's the people that make the difference, right?) most dessert wines were missing, bone marrow was covered in overly salty crumbs, seafood "tower" looked like two plates of ice, with accidentally lost lonely representatives of seafood population.

Culmination was the "apple strudel cheese cake" that could proudly honor any neighborhood gas station in the Sara Lee isle - both by taste and look.

Having dined before in Marriott-owned establishments, this one definitely established an unusual low.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

The steak was the absolute best I have ever had!!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Our experience at Old Hickory was outstanding in terms of the food, presentation, ambiance and service. Our server was amazing and a true ambassador of the establishment. The only negative is that it is difficult to find in the hotel. There could be better signage.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Wonderful food great wait staff would go back any time!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Waiter and table staff were very professional and gracious. The food was excellent and perfectly prepared and displayed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Everything was great except for the older of the gentleman working reservations, an unpleasant and unfriendly greeting. Waiter was very efficient, but needs to lighten up a bit---way to serious.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Best steak I've ever had hands down. Worth the money.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Very expensive, but food and service is just excellent! Top notch! The setting is hard to beat, it's like eating outdoors but with climate control and no bugs. This is a great place to get fancy and enjoy some of the best food you will ever experience. We loved it! We were too far away to hear the live pianist due to the water fountains, but there was one!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Food was ok . Don't know how this place got such high ratings . Service was good but staff is creepy.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Food was great. Expected a bit quieter setting for an expensive restaurant. The wine and cheese flight before dinner was exceptional.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Made the reservation for my friends Bachelorette Party and we all had such a great dinner experience!! Our server Derek, was very knowledgeable and helpful throughout our entire meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We were in Nashville for our forty-fourth anniversary. Our dinner was delicious. Steaks were cooked to perfection.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great ambiance. Reservation process very accommodating. Service was excellent. Ordered Cheese plate, Caesar salad, filet and baked potato. Food a B. Favorites were the cheese plate and baked potato.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Awesome place, tasty ribeye!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Absolutely outstanding. Exceeded expectations. Can't wait to go back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Get the lamb chops and the cheese appetizer!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Outstanding food. Outstanding service. Great atmosphere. Highly recommend!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Ate here last year and came back again. From the service to the food, everything was impeccable. Had Tony as our waiter both years. He is awesome! Great service; very attentive; interacted with us about why we were there, where we were from, etc. Great to have someone who clearly enjoys his job. Both years also got the Artisan Cheese Selection. The Maître d' Fromager is AMAZING! So passionate about her job! Awesome selection and so knowledgeable!! A great great experience from start to finish!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Beautiful steakhouse with very helpful wait staff all made for an amazing pre-Opryland dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 25, 2017

I was sadly very disappointed. I heard that this was a great place to eat and made a reservation as soon as I got to the Hotel. We went and the ambiance and wait staff were awesome, however, my steak was burnt and it had an awful taste. I had the New York Strip and my husband had the Porterhouse. His steak was a little better. We also ordered a baked potato that looked like all of the potato was scooped out and it looked like it was twice baked. I will not recommend this place to anyone. For the price that we paid I could have gone to a much cheaper place and been happier. I did not complain because we were in close quarters with other guests and I did not want to ruin anybody else's dinner. Thank you for asking me for my opinion.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Our reservation was for 6:45 on a Saturday night. We arrived at about 6:25 to make sure we were on time, as the hotel where the restaurant is, is quite huge and it would be easy to get lost in, more on that later. Upon checking in at the host stand, we were told that they would be seating on time in a very brisk and almost snooty manor. The restaurant was not busy, and I guess this was the p[policy of the restaurant, however the attitude wasn't needed. When we were sat our waiter and his partner came over introduced himself and was perfect, everything was great, my water glass was never empty, Every thing I asked for was taken care of immediately. When the entrees arrived they were presented, I ordered the rib-eye, rare, it was cooked perfectly, It happened to be very salty however, not overly salty as I usually add salt, but salty enough to where I didn't have to add any, and that is a lot of salt. My father and I decided to share a baked potato, this was served, and it was yellow with dark spots throughout, awful looking, upon alerting the waiter a new one was brought with the same issue, so it was cancelled, I was disappointed by this and expected much better from a restaurant supposedly of this quality. Besides the potato being bad and the meat over seasoned, everything was excellent, as far as the food and service. The ambiance here at this particular restaurant is unbelievable, the entire hotel is built around inside gardens and rivers and lakes, its something out of Disney World. The front of the restaurant looks like the mansion of an old southern plantation, the dining room is the back deck of the mansion overlooking the gardens lakes and rivers below its so phenomenal words cannot do it justice. Overall the experience was great, other than the few things I mentioned it was a great night, and Id go back again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great restaurant, one of our favorites in Nashville. Service is impeccable. You

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Dining was elegant with beautiful ambiance. Waiter was impeccable with service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 16, 2017

O reprised for value. Have better steaks for this price at Mortons or Ruth Cris. Service pretentious. Ambience beautifully unique but location hard to find. Veggies unremarkable as well as Caesar Salad.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have eaten at this Steakhouse in 3 different Gaylord Hotels and it's always excellent!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This was the 2nd time in 2 nights I went there. The 1st night I sat at the bar and got the cowboy ribeye med rare and the 2nd night I got a table and got the lamb porterhouse. The 5 star rating across the board stands for both nights. This place is too notch in every way, the service, the food and the atmosphere here is as good as it gets

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great wine, extremely tender and tasty filet: definitely in top 10 ever. Sides were great too. Ambiance is nice but water features create some noise. Would return.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We visited Old Hickory for a birthday celebration. The staff were extremely accomodating and very helpful dining with a 2 and 5 year old. Kids menu is not published but they do have a few options not on the menu for kids. Well behaved children would be just fine dining here. Food and atmosphere is great!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Service was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The service and food was outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The Steak was absolutely perfect!! Everything was top notch. We will differently celebrate our anniversary here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very expensive with mediocre food. Great atmosphere and very good service but hard to justify the expensive food wine and drinks.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Excellent dining experience! Staff were impeccable along with the cuisine.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The restaurant was recommended for great steaks and we were not disappointed. We like our dinners to be experiential and it was a great experience. We started with a cheese and wine pairing. The fromage maitre'd was very knowledgeable and helpful. The waiter as well and very professional. The bone in ribeye was spectacular and the lamb superb. Great side vegetables and a HUGE chocolate mousse cake for dessert. This is a grown up place for adults who love great food and great service at a relaxed pace and don't mind paying extra for those.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The service was quit slow but the servers and food were excellent.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great experience. Great service. Great food. We sat by fountain on balcony overlooking the lush greenery of the atrium

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Very nice evening, highly recommended place to dine

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 2, 2017

We were there on our date before going to Grand Ole Opry, the seafood tower was a great choice for our appetizer, but being from Maryland, what can I say. We shared a ribeye for our entree and it was very good and overall it was a very good meal at a moderate price and we would certainly dine there again. The mashed potatoes were excellent! The garden like surroundings made it even more special.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My husband and I were visiting from Knoxville and what a treat it was for us to experience Old Hickory and Opryland Hotel.

The food was absolutely delicious. The service was warm and friendly. The atmosphere was outstanding. We enjoyed every minute!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.