Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland

A nod to President Andrew Jackson’s nickname, Old Hickory Steakhouse harnesses the charm of Antebellum-style architecture with the finest in sophisticated dining for a truly unforgettable experience. Overlooking the meandering river in our 4.5 acre Delta Atrium, Old Hickory Steakhouse—Gaylord Hotels' signature restaurant—features 1855 Black Angus Beef seared to perfection, artisan cheeses and an extensive wine list.

2800 Opryland Drive
Nashville, TN 37214
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
McGavock Pike

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 458-6848

Website:
http://www.gaylordopryland.com/Dining

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (70)
Romantic (62)
Good for a Date (51)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Scenic View (45)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Business Meals (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Cozy (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Authentic (12)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
People Watching (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Tasting Menu (6)
Casual (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fun (4)
Live Music (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Historic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Waterfront (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
823 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a fabulous dinner to celebrate my husband's 70th birthday with our family. The food was fabulous. Service was great, and it will be a night we will all remember with great fondness.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

This is a perfect place to go on a date with your sweetheart. We were treated with amazing service and the food was exceptional. Amar was absolutely the best host and server we have ever had in any restaurant. Not only will be returning again, but we will ask for the same gentleman to serve us again. He and this restaurant made our 17th wedding anniversary something we will never forget.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 4 days ago

Our waiter, Wayne, was awesome! Very attentive and knowledgeable

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

All food was exceptional. Salmon was great, filet was tender and cooked perfectly, veggies and soups were great. All food just amazing. It was a birthday dinner, so they brought a large piece of chocolate cake with a candle. Unexpected so even better.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Scenic View, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

The ambient is the best part hands down. The food is prepared carefully and with pride. The service is hands down the best I have received, and we eat at very extravagant places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We were in Nashville for vacation. Wanted a nice meal for last night in town. Old hickory was recommended. We are glad we decided to try it. Food was great as well as the service. After dinner we took the opportunity to walk around the hotel which was also enjoyable

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The service was outstanding. Our cocktails were perfect. The assortment of fresh baked breads and the sides we ordered with our dinner were also very good. The problem was with the steaks. $46 for a NY Sirloin that was cooked medium-well, when I ordered it medium. With little time to spare before a 7 p.m. show at the Grand Ole Opry, I suffered in silence. The quality of the filet my wife and daughter ordered was what one would expect in an over-priced steak house. If I was on a corporate tab, I wouldn't have felt so bad!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

This was our 44th Anniversary and the staff did everything they could to make it memorable. When they seated us, we were greeted with well wishes for our anniversary by the host. We were given a rose in water for our table by our waiter Tim. He could not have done more. Friendly and attentive, he was great. The food was excellent and there was plenty of it. The meals are a bit pricey, but worth it for a great night out. After dinner, we were given a FREE dessert for our anniversary. Boy was it good. Thank you everyone for making our day very special.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Our waiters were knowledgeable and exceptional. I highly recommend the lobster bisque. Our meal was worth every penny. The ambiance was perfect. The chef even personalized a complimentary dessert for our special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Meal was perfect and our server, Wayne, took excellent care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 3, 2017

As always this place is the perfect restaurant in Nashville. Even though parking is a little tough it is worth the trouble. Service & food was EXCELLENT!! Definitely will be back many more times

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Old Hickory is truly everything you want from a steakhouse...primarily steak! If we weren't flying out the next morning, we would definitely have added a few more courses and feasted on leftovers the next day. We split the bone marrow with apple butter and toast and shrimp cocktail appetizers. Both were exceptional. I had the filet and my associate the New York Strip, both cooked to perfection. We split a side of mashed potatoes to just indulge in a little taste of comfort food...wish I had just taken the leftovers back on the plane...dreaming about them. The service was beyond stellar. I found it so interesting that the employees of the resort, and the businesses within, all wear nametags with their hometown. Only one person I met in a three day stay was actually from Nashville. Our waiter was from Afghanistan and his assistant from Egypt. I almost felt like I was back on a cruise ship. Yes, it's expensive....but in the end, you just don't care! The dress code is smart casual, but they seem to be pretty lenient given the fact they're located in a resort. You'll see everything from jeans to sequins! One of my other favorite things was that we felt as though we were dining outdoors, but in actuality, we were in a huge atrium under a dome , so no bugs!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

I was pleasantly surprised. The service was outstanding and could not have been better. The food was delicious and cooked perfectly.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great experience! The meal and service were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 26, 2017

The ambience is wonderful with the plants surrounding you and sounds of waterfalls.
Food was excellent and the staff very tuned in to your every need. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Service could have been better. We felt like they wanted us out as we did not order extra apps

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 24, 2017

We are new residents to Nashville, and wanted to treat our out-of-state guests to a special dinner on their last night. I made reservations several days ahead, and we arrived 10 minutes early, which seemed to put the Hostess out. I offered that we would patiently wait til our scheduled time, and she begrundenly said she "would seat us early". There were very few diners in the place. The thing that really confused me, was that there were 2 gentlemen in suits, and one well dressed lady, besides the hostess at the entrance, who stared at us, and would not respond when we said hello. (Keep in mind I had called to confirm the dress code and we were all dressed appropriately.) We are a middle aged conservative looking group in nice clothes. I have never felt so uncomfortable entering a restaurant, and still don't understand. As we left, we thanked them and said good night - again with no response from the same group of greeters, managers, or whoever they were. Our guests remarked that the "greeters" were not very friendly! I will say that the Server was very friendly and efficient. Our bill was about $380.00 and we tipped him well, but we will definitely find another nice restaurant to entertain guests in the future. A word of advice- check the menu ahead of time- wine is sold mostly by the bottle and everything is very pricey. Food is good, but comparable to other nice restaurants.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Took my granddaughter for a nice dinner. We both had filets, macaroni and cheese, mushrooms, and Caesar salad. Was excellent..melt in your mouth steak, best cheesy macaroni, and tasty mushrooms. Would definitely go again. Had eaten there with my husband several years ago -- once again delicious meal. Would definitely recommend. Pricey but worth it for fine dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

Very enjoyable, steak exceptionally good and great service!

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Had a wonderful waiter and we all had a great time.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Wayne was an amazing server...and the food was perfect!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Amazing We Got Engaged that Evening!!! Will return to celebrate Anniversary's in the Future! First time in Nashville from Nebraska had the Best Time!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Dinner was awesome. I'm a foodie and the wine and cheese pairing was out of this world. Truly enjoyed everything!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Excellent filet, outstanding service. Their bar, The Library, makes fantastic cocktails.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 18, 2017

We celebrated our 53rd wedding anniversary on July 18th. Seated on the patio overlooking the water features, we loved the amazing ambiance! Hubby had the salmon and I had the filet; we shared the wedge salad, the huge baked potato and the delicious creamed spinach! Rated by us as our best anniversary celebration ever, we could not have enjoyed this experience more! Sorry to have not had time for dessert, but we were off to the Grand Ole Opry. What an enjoyable evening!!!! 💞

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 17, 2017

We were from out of town when our Anniversary occurred. We decided to go out for a nice meal. The food was amazing as was the service. The only annoying thing was that our waiter didn't properly validate our parking and it caused us a 15 minute delay getting out of the parking lot. The place is magical but come prepared to pay. Dinner for 2 with wine was $372 and it would have been $150 more if we had taken the waiters recommendations on starters and wine. They really treated us special for our Anniversary giving my wife a rose and bringing us a most beautiful and decadent dessert. We were too full to eat it all but it was the best.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Went for our annivesary and loved it. Scenery was gorgeous and very romantic. Service was outstanding, and my husband and I were the only ones out on the "point" so it was very exclusive. The food was delicious. My husband and I shared the "Old Hickory" steak and mashed potatoes and it was amazing. Because we were celebrating our anniversary we were given a complimentary dessert from which we got to choose! Highly recommend for an elegant and romantic evening.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The most amazing steak ever! We had the Porterhouse and it was so amazing! Great service, wonderful ambience!

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our server was fantastic. We were celebrating our 17th wedding anniversary and we had our children with us. My son, is recovering from Leukemia and bone marrow transplant. Not only does he need some assistance walking, it was the first time my son, 11 and my daughter 7 have ever been to a "nice" steakhouse with my husband and I. The waitress was phenomenal, as well as the entire staff. They were welcoming, accomodating and amazing with the children. The food was spectacular...absolutely will come again. Maybe we will make it a yearly tradition for our family.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Old Hickory is the prototype American steakhouse. It features excellent, well-prepared steaks and marvelous options for non-steak guests. The service is among the best I have ever witnessed, being both timely and discreet. The wine list was very good, and had choices to cover any budget. We spent a leisurely and lengthy supper there, but the time flew by. It was one of those places you hated to leave at the end.

Tags: Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The side dishes were not of any uniqueness. The appetizer (crab cakes) was not worth the money ($18) for two very small cakes. The porterhouse steak was standard. I would have gone to a Ruth Chris and been much happier.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent food but the service is top of the line. Very professional but friendly and knowledable

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We celebrated our wedding anniversary by having dinner at this restaurant. We could not have asked for a better experience. Wonderful, attentive staff, delicious food, and a romantic setting. Thank you for making our anniversary even more special.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The salmon steak and salad I ordered were excellent. The waiter was very helpful and answered all my questions with expertise as well as patience. Being on a very strict diet had its' challenges while at the conference at the Opryland, or so I anticipated. But The Old Hickory dispelled that thought. I can recommend the restaurant to everyone. The quality of the food is excellent and the ambiance of the restaurant makes the diner feel relaxed and appreciative of the atmosphere, especially after a fast paced day at the conference.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Incredible experience
Great ambience
Great service
Great food
5 stars all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Waiter was awsome. So knowledgeable and friendly. Food terrific. A peaceful and relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, People Watching, Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food was excellent and our server, Anthony, couldn't have been more accommodating. Patio seating and great food, we loved our night at Old Hickory.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service, alittle pricey.. but worth it.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Expensive for a family of 4 but the food is excellent

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Great food & great service. Thanks Sam for your attention. Great server

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.