About Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland

2800 Opryland Drive
Nashville, TN 37214
View Larger Map

A nod to President Andrew Jackson’s nickname, Old Hickory Steakhouse harnesses the charm of Antebellum-style architecture with the finest in sophisticated dining for a truly unforgettable experience. Overlooking the meandering river in our 4.5 acre Delta Atrium, Old Hickory Steakhouse—Gaylord Hotels' signature restaurant—features 1855 Black Angus Beef seared to perfection, artisan cheeses and an extensive wine list.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
McGavock Pike

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 458-6848

Website:
http://www.gaylordopryland.com/Dining

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (85)
Good for Anniversaries (80)
Romantic (80)
See All
Good for a Date (63)
Scenic View (47)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Worth the Drive (30)
Quiet Conversation (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Business Meals (19)
Cozy (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
People Watching (13)
Seasonal (12)
Waterfront (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Authentic (11)
Historic (11)
Private Room (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Casual (9)
Fun (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Family Style (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
664 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We love this restaurant when we stay at ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

We love this restaurant when we stay at Opryland Hotel. We made a reservation on Open Table and it is so convenient. The steak was large enough to share and the lobster bisque was outstanding!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must dine here if in the area... Everyt ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Must dine here if in the area... Everything was wonderful

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice experience for our 20th annive ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Very nice experience for our 20th anniversery evening. Great food, great staff as you would expect .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent, our waiter helped us enjoy t ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent, our waiter helped us enjoy the experience even more!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best porterhouse steaks we ha ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

One of the best porterhouse steaks we have ever had! The mash potatoes were awesome as well. Wayne, our waiter, was fantastic.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This has always been our "go to" for spe ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

This has always been our "go to" for special occasions & Old Hickory Steakhouse did not disappoint for Valentines Day! Food was excellent as usual and the ambiance is always amazing. Thank you for another wonderful meal.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place for date night

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Best place for date night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I would never recommend this restaurant, ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I would never recommend this restaurant, in fact, we were highly disappointed as we chose it because it was our anniversary. My husbands steak, the first time it was brought out was too rare, the second time it was brought out it was very stringy and difficult to cut. Our waiter had a royal attitude and scoffed at us when we complained about the cut of meat. He removed the steak and came back 10 min. later saying he gave it to the chef and yes it was terrible and then said "At first I just thought you had a few glasses of wine before you got here, then had another one here and didn't know what you were talking about." Really?!?!? This is NO WAY to treat a customer. We were appalled! The chef NEVER came out to apologize. They also knew it was our anniversary and didn't offer anything to make our night special. We won't ever go there again.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Wonderful dinner, service, food, ever ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful dinner, service, food, everything was awesome!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great, atmosphere was inviting. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was great, atmosphere was inviting. I would recommend a try. However don't forget your wallet.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service given to us by our waiter, W ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service given to us by our waiter, Wayne, made this dinner an unbelievable experience! Our food was perfection. We had several questions and needed modifications to our meal. Wayne was prompt with his service and accommodated us with each request. It is pricey but when one experiences such delightful service, lovely setting and fine food .... the price is worth it!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was absolutely beautiful and ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This place was absolutely beautiful and delicious. The prices were on the high end but it's worth it. I ate here with my now fiance before I proposed to her. It was a perfect romantic dinner. The steak is 10/10 tasty.

Tags: Spicy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Fun, Cozy, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I had a wonderful meal Fr ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband and I had a wonderful meal Friday night during our stay at The Opryland Hotel. We loved the scallops. We both agreed that they were the best that we've ever had. We both ordered the filet mignon. Wonderful! Mashed potatoes were also great. Salads and bread were also good. We even tried the carrot cake and the caramel cheesecake. We both liked the cheesecake the best. The whole meal was very good. We will be back for sure! Excellent service. Never ran out of drinks or wanted a thing. Love seeing the water show while dining!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and ambiance. Emile wa ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Outstanding food and ambiance. Emile was a great waiter.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic and Andrew gave us ex ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was fantastic and Andrew gave us excellent service! What else could you ask for?

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is great and the staff is amazi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food is great and the staff is amazing. Well worth the price!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals we have ever taste ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 4, 2017

One of the best meals we have ever tasted at a restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old Hickory was a great experience from ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Old Hickory was a great experience from start to finish! Great service. The scallops were yummy for an appetizer. The steaks were cooked to our request. Delicious!! The carrot cake and coffee was a finishing touch. The only reason I gave noise a 4 was because we were outside by the water falls. Over all a great experience. You will not be disappointed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was great as usual. Unfortunately we wer ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Was great as usual. Unfortunately we were seated by a family with small children that were allowed to just run around with no discipline. The restaurant manager asked them twice to keep their children contained that they couldn't be running around, especially where the servers were coming in and out of the kitchen. Made no difference to them. Just let them do whatever they wanted. So disrespectful to the employees and other patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

NCBA dinner with old friends great food ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 2, 2017

NCBA dinner with old friends great food a

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere is open but the waterfall ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The atmosphere is open but the waterfalls offer just enough background to keep things very quaint. A great place for conversation. We dined on the veranda and felt as if we were in a southern plantation garden. The food and service was great.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Steaks were good and so were the sides a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Steaks were good and so were the sides and the service. The only negative I have is the amount of salt they add to the lobster bisque. It was so salty I couldn't eat it

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food once again! Superior service ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food once again! Superior service both times I've been will defiantly be back love the view makes for a perfect date night!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My fiancee and I had an amazing time at ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My fiancee and I had an amazing time at this restaurant. Our waiter explained the resume and made great wine recommendations. It's a perfect spot for an anniversary/engagement.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scallops were over cooking and salty. Fi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Scallops were over cooking and salty. Filet was good but Bleu cheese topping overwhelmed the dish. The porterhouse was overcooked and we sent it back. Our potato was lukewarm at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

The service was excellent. From the host ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The service was excellent. From the hostess to the cheese lady to our servers, they all were very professional and courteous - going the extra mile to make sure we were comfortable and enjoying our experience. The cheese platter was amazing - best part of the evening. The dinner was average. Steaks were average, lobster bisque had tons of lobster, but was too salty, and the veggies to share were average - we had asparagus and macaroni and cheese.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Our service was mediocre at best. My sal ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Our service was mediocre at best. My salad was forgotten and the salmon was very unsatisfactory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Great dining experience! Our waiter, Tim ...

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great dining experience! Our waiter, Tim, was great. It was our anniversary, they brought my wife a rose and gave us a complementary desert. Food was world class.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Old Hickory is the best restaurant at th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Old Hickory is the best restaurant at the Gaylord Opryland Resort. The steaks are high quality and the service is impeccable. It's my go to place for a great meal when I am at the resort. The filet melts in your mouth.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service, top notch food qualit ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Excellent service, top notch food quality. Just noisy and can be hard to hear others in your party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a beautiful place and the food wa ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 24, 2017

It was a beautiful place and the food was good, although my steak came not as I had ordered it, after a gentleman took it back and had it prepared correctly (not our waiter) the meal experience was better. Our waiter was pretentious and even a bit condescending. Once we did not take his recommendation on the wine and ordered a bottle $100.00 less expensive, he treated us as if we were welfare recipicant's or the like. I believe the prices, while in line with the cost overall of the property was extensive, we knew this before we made the reservation but nevertheless was not impressed once we had finished with the entire experience. For these reasons, I did not when approached and would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

The food was absolutely fantastic. I wou ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The food was absolutely fantastic. I would definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

$48 dollar steaks tasted like a spoonful ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 24, 2017

$48 dollar steaks tasted like a spoonful of salt. It was cooked perfectly and the side dishes were fine but it ruined the whole experience every time we took a bite of meat. Not worth $240 for two people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Went there for dinner. Had scallops fo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Went there for dinner. Had scallops for an appetizer that was absolutely great. We split a 24 Oz. Porterhouse and between my wife and I, we could not finish it. The steak is probably the best tasting steak I've ever had. We had the asparagus and mashed potatoes as sides. Both were well prepared and tasty. Initially, we thought it was a little pricey, but when splitting a $48 steak, it was actually reasonable. I would definitely recommend and am looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was impeccable and friendly. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The service was impeccable and friendly. My wife enjoyed the garden like atmosphere as well. However, our food was only average and over priced. You can get a better meal at one of the high end chain steak houses.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Beautiful location inside Gaylord hotel. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Beautiful location inside Gaylord hotel. Great restaurant if you have winter blues as you feel like you are dining outside. Drinks excellent and service top shelf. Would have been five stars on food but slighty too salty and steak a perfect medium when ordered medium rare. When dining with friends I prefer not to send food back unless a real problem so I let it go.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall experience very good. My New Yor ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Overall experience very good. My New York Strip Steak tasted a little salty. I prefer less saltiness.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was very disappointed. We are staying ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I was very disappointed. We are staying in downtown Nashville but everyone said we needed to visit the Opryland Hotel for the scenery- and we should eat while we are there. So I found the Old Hickory Steakhouse and made a reservation. The atmosphere was nice, but a little dark and the falls / river were a little loud but we got used to it. I ordered a Caesar salad and I was grossed out to find a little fish on top of it- blah. So it made the whole salad taste REALLY fishy. I mean I know Caesar salad is made with anchovies but I don't think it should taste that fishy. The waiter recommended the New York Strip- so I ordered it cooked medium. It came with no pink at all. I sent it back and they brought me another- even worse overdone. At this point, my husband had already finished his steak. I wanted to shut my eyes as a I paid the really expensive tab because what I ate was not at all worth the price tag. I'd get a better steak at chain restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

We were staying at the Opry Land Hotel a ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We were staying at the Opry Land Hotel and chose this restaurant to take customers to. Seating was right on time. We were promptly shown to our table and greeted by two servers. They were polite, prompt, and knowledgable. You could tell they took pride in their job and the seriousness of making the evening a memorable one. We all had the filet mignon (it was cooked to perfection and melted in your mouth) we chose three family style sides, creamed spinach, macaroni and cheese and smashed potatoes. It all was just delicious. They also have a nice assortment of wines. Will definitely return and recommend to others!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic! Great service and at ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Food was fantastic! Great service and atmosphere. Food and wine is a little overpriced.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.