About Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland

2800 Opryland Drive
Nashville, TN 37214
View Larger Map

A nod to President Andrew Jackson’s nickname, Old Hickory Steakhouse harnesses the charm of Antebellum-style architecture with the finest in sophisticated dining for a truly unforgettable experience. Overlooking the meandering river in our 4.5 acre Delta Atrium, Old Hickory Steakhouse—Gaylord Hotels' signature restaurant—features 1855 Black Angus Beef seared to perfection, artisan cheeses and an extensive wine list.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
McGavock Pike

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 458-6848

Website:
http://www.gaylordopryland.com/Dining

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Nashville
Best Ambiance
Nashville
Romantic
Nashville
7 More
Special Occasion
Nashville
Steakhouse
Nashville
Best Service
Nashville
Best Ambiance
Nashville
Romantic
Nashville
Special Occasion
Nashville
Steakhouse
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Nashville ›

Special Occasion (91)
Romantic (71)
Good for Anniversaries (62)
See All
Scenic View (49)
Good for a Date (47)
Notable Wine List (34)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Worth the Drive (25)
Business Meals (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Cozy (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Historic (9)
Bar Seating (8)
People Watching (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Waterfront (7)
Fun (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Seasonal (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Casual (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Private Room (5)
Authentic (4)
Fireplace (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Dancing (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
545 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Anniversary dinner. Great food, excellen ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Anniversary dinner. Great food, excellent waiter and table servers. The lobster bisque is always a great starter there. We had a really good filet and smoked trout.

Even though the kitchen is going through repair, the food was serve warm and in a timely manner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are here for our anniversary. Food wa ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 7 days ago

We are here for our anniversary. Food was super! Keep in mind it is very expensive . We opted for the 3 course meal, salad,steak with 2 sides and a dessert plus we had a glass of wine and the bill was 150.00 I'm not a big steak eater but it was fantastic and their Creme Brule was on point ! You will not be disappointed this is not a place for kids .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Steaks were not very good

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Steaks were not very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

We were ushered almost out of the dining ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We were ushered almost out of the dining area next to the wall by the concourse. We were first put at a table with no light - we could not see the menu. Were moved to the table next to it with overhead spotlights. I think the host thought we were not staying at the hotel and wanted to hide us from the main dining area. We had our coats with us as we intended to go outside to see the lights in the Magnolia entrance after dinner. There were empty tables all around us. The service started out good - water and bread and butter. Two orders of the steak were good, however my prime rib that I ordered medium, came out rare - I sent it back an it still came out medium rare - lots of gristle and fat and barely warm. My daughter's trout was overcooked - very dry. Our side vegetables were served cool - barely warm. Nothing was served hot. A large piece of chocolate cake was served on one plate to pass and five extra forks laid next to it. We had no small plates given to us to share the cake. They eventually stopped refilling the water goblets. My grandsons shared from my husbands and daughter-in-laws plates - I guess they wanted a table of 7 to order 7 entree's. We had a long wait from appetizers and the main courses. After 2 hours I had to ask for the check. The waiter, Tony, wanted to know if we had a room?? to charge to the room? Maybe he thought as the host did, we were not hotel guests. Since I basically left the prime rib on my plate - he did arrange to credit it. Ended up giving a $40.00 gratuity for a very unsatisfactory meal - really felt very unwelcome there and would never go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Side dishes of mashed potatoes and cream ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Side dishes of mashed potatoes and creamed spinach were cold. Salmon subpar. Steak incorrectly cooked. Not our best experience there. Our waiter was very attentive and courteous, a bright spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Unfortunately, I was very disappointed w ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Unfortunately, I was very disappointed with our Thanksgiving experience at Old Hickory Steakhouse. We had such high hopes. The food was cold upon receipt, the dining room was frigid, and the selection was mediocre. Because of the price point and waiting list, I was really expecting a five-star experience, and that's not what we had at all. We won't be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

They had a buffet for appetizers, bread, ...

 
 (Fayetteville)·Dined on November 25, 2016

They had a buffet for appetizers, bread, soup, salad and desert. The entres were also fixed choices but they were brought out. We had expected to be able to order from menu, and didnt expect this buffet, and for 200.00 for 2 people it was not great. The ambiance is nice as you are looking out into the conservatory, but not nice enough to warrant the price. Maybe it's better on normal days.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

We celebrated Thanksgiving day and had a ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We celebrated Thanksgiving day and had a wonderful dinner. The choices for entrees and appetizers were great and the desserts were amazing. Highly recommended. Worth the price.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Generally, a very good experience. We we ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Generally, a very good experience. We went on Thanksgiving day and were not advised in advance that the standard menu did not apply and an "all you can eat" buffet was substituted so it was not the overall experience we had looked forward to for our anniversary. The setting is beautiful and the waiter was very good.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We ate here for thanksgiving. It was abs ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We ate here for thanksgiving. It was absolutely amazing. They had a buffet setup for appetizers, soups, salads, and desserts and we ordered entrees. They had plenty for our babies to eat also. Super attentive.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All went very well, loved the environmen ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

All went very well, loved the environment at the HOTEL, but one part didn't satisfy and I can't entirely put it on the restaurant, i.e. I ordered prime rib RARE and it might have been better to have ordered medium. The cut was not to my liking in quality. All else, the wide variety of dishes and home made desserts made the Thanksgiving outing an enjoyable one. Our waiter, Peter was quite capable and brought me my "special item" that was surveyed of me when I set the reservations. I was happy to at least have the opportunity to not take the traditionally offered turkey and opted for p-rib over that or glazed salmon, which dish would have made this a 5 Star review.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The turkey dressing was salty high in sa ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The turkey dressing was salty high in sage.The prime rib thin cut tough. We told the waiter nothing was done

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Absolutely outstanding experience! Food ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Absolutely outstanding experience! Food was fantastic, service impeccable, and atmosphere beautiful and relaxing. One of the best experience in Nashville! Would highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The atmosphere and food was great. We we ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The atmosphere and food was great. We were celebrating our 20 year wedding anniversary.

The mac and cheese was about the best we have ever had. Next time we will have the Mac and cheese with lobster tail for the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't ever write reviews, but this res ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I don't ever write reviews, but this restaurant deserves one. The steaks that my wife and I ordered were outstanding, and I mean "The Best". This is the only steak that I have ever ordered that was better than what they serve at Ruths Chris, and I'm here to tell you I have eaten at a lot of so called "High End" steakhouses, this one is the best!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Server was nice - red wine by the glass ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Server was nice - red wine by the glass - just ok options - steaks were great but their new salsify entree (all veggies) was not worth $32!! Highly disappointed that the server would not address my obvious disappointment and then had the nerve to ask if we wanted dessert! Stick with a steak and maybe a Cabernet - not a Pinot noir - atmosphere was lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Great food , great service, but the pri ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food , great service, but the prices were very high

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Overall nice place, great atmosphere. We ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Overall nice place, great atmosphere. We had filets. While they were cooked to right temp the quality of the cut itself was not what you would expect at this price point. More of a Roadhouse quality piece of meat. Service was great!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Our dining experience was awesome! The f ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Our dining experience was awesome! The food was above our expectations and the friendly service was fantastic. It was my first time dining at old hickory steakhouse and it will definitely not be my last...

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Outstanding Value, Fun, Family Style, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really outstanding aged steaks which we ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Really outstanding aged steaks which were cooked to order perfectly. The mashed potatoes were also very outstanding. Our group talked about the meal for days.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at Old Hickory. The food was very, very good, but not the best steak I've ever had. The sides and cheese sampling was phenomenal. The service was absolutely exceptional! I let the Old Hickory know in advance we were celebrating our anniversary and when checking in, even the hosts were aware and wished us a happy anniversary. After being seated, a rose was brought to the table. They definately helped me making my wife feel special!

Thank you so much!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best steaks I have ever had. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

One of the best steaks I have ever had. The food was delicious. However, the service was slow which took away from the evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Very expensive but for the most part you ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very expensive but for the most part you get what you pay for. Good for special occasion dining. High quality steaks, probably one of the best filets I've ever has. Count on $100 per person.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A $48 dollar steak, and it was cold when ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 11, 2016

A $48 dollar steak, and it was cold when it got to the table. You want a small salad before your meal? That's an extra $15. You want a side with your steak? Another $15. Add 20% tax. Total rip-off, Demos' steaks are better.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Old Hickory Steakhouse was excellent for ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Old Hickory Steakhouse was excellent for my business dinner. Great food, non-intrusive service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Promptly seated. Atmosphere was quiet an ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Promptly seated. Atmosphere was quiet and beautiful. Service was excellent Amir was a wonderful waiter

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I usually have a fairly low expectation ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

I usually have a fairly low expectation that a steakhouse inside a mid level resort will be good but I'm happy to report that these expectations were unhinged by this dining experience. The only table we could secure was at 5:15 so the restaurant was EMPTY as other diners dribbled in behind us. We were seated by the low wall overlooking the waters below ( understanding the scale of this Gaylord property is helpful, here) and had darn near undivided attended by our servers. I LOVED the fillet and we shared the mashed potatoes ( good, flavorful potatoes made extraordinary by the fact that they were served piping hot) and mushrooms. These were a standout. They were earthy, firm and delicious. The only reason I only awarded 4 stars is that the menu lacks imagination. Perhaps some offering that reflects the local culinary scene would be interesting. The restaurant should consider opening for lunch. This would offer hotel guests a welcome alternative to the limited competition.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding meal and service! Best stea ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Outstanding meal and service! Best steaks in Nashville and delicious lobster bisque!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall it was good. All 6 of us got bee ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Overall it was good. All 6 of us got beef. The cuts of meat were excellent, and were cooked perfectly, however the seasoning was way too salty. The variety in size was limited. It went from an 8 oz filet to a 24 oz rib eye and up with nothing in between. The sides were delicious and the service was good but he seemed a little rushed.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Enjoyed a meal here for our six-year ann ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Enjoyed a meal here for our six-year anniversary. The food was incredible and the service was some of the best. Our steak was under-cooked, we ordered medium and received rare, but it was incredible and very tender. We got the porterhouse and split it between the two of us, and still could not eat all of it. Wonderful atmosphere of the atrium. Would eat here again!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the best steaks I've ever had. O ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 23, 2016

One of the best steaks I've ever had. On par with Delmonicos in New York. Setting is great. Our server was very knowledgeable. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Amir was absolutely delightfu ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Our server Amir was absolutely delightful. Food was excellent although the amount of bone marrow butter on my filet was enough for 4 people.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The Waite staff was very helpful. Having ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The Waite staff was very helpful. Having more than one waiter was a great experience. The food was more than what was expected. The bone marrow butter is something to experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was impeccable (Wayne was ou ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The service was impeccable (Wayne was our waiter) and the food was outstanding. We had the bone marrow appetizer...one of the best things I have ever tasted. The lobster bisque and Caesar salad were very good. The bone-in rib eye was amazing!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrating our Mother's 80th Birthday-W ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Celebrating our Mother's 80th Birthday-We wanted a special place with an outstanding menu and atmosphere. The Old Hickory Steakhouse delivered spot on. Our server Sunny and her assistant made the occasion a very memorable one. The steaks were done to perfection, and the macaroni and cheese took our taste buds into scrumptious heaven.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious - service was OK. Wai ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Food was delicious - service was OK. Waitor was knowledgeable but not overly attentive. There were other cutomer's appetizers on our bill. The bill was adjusted after we brought it to the servers attention.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Beautiful setting in The Opryland Hotel. ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Beautiful setting in The Opryland Hotel. Food was outstanding and the friendly service was second to none.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family went here before heading to th ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 14, 2016

My family went here before heading to the Opry, and we were all impressed. At our table, we had steak, crab cakes, mashed potatoes, creamed spinach, and the peach and arugula salad. It was all divine. The service was impeccable. Yes, it was a bit pricey, but it was worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Old Hickory Steakhouse was an excell ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The Old Hickory Steakhouse was an excellent experience from the beautiful ambience in the Opryland Hotel, to the attentive staff. The steak was delicious along with the mac and cheese side dish! I would recommend this to anyone looking for a special occasion dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible steaks! Encrusted in salt! Sent ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Terrible steaks! Encrusted in salt! Sent them back🙁

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.