About Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland

2800 Opryland Drive
Nashville, TN 37214
View Larger Map

A nod to President Andrew Jackson’s nickname, Old Hickory Steakhouse harnesses the charm of Antebellum-style architecture with the finest in sophisticated dining for a truly unforgettable experience. Overlooking the meandering river in our 4.5 acre Delta Atrium, Old Hickory Steakhouse—Gaylord Hotels' signature restaurant—features 1855 Black Angus Beef seared to perfection, artisan cheeses and an extensive wine list.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
McGavock Pike

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 458-6848

Website:
http://www.gaylordopryland.com/Dining

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (91)
Romantic (83)
Good for Anniversaries (81)
See All
Good for a Date (66)
Scenic View (48)
Worth the Drive (34)
Notable Wine List (33)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Business Meals (18)
Cozy (17)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Seasonal (12)
Waterfront (12)
People Watching (12)
Fun (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Historic (9)
Private Room (8)
Authentic (8)
Casual (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Modern Decor (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Family Style (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Fireplace (3)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dancing (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
626 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful location inside Gaylord hotel. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Beautiful location inside Gaylord hotel. Great restaurant if you have winter blues as you feel like you are dining outside. Drinks excellent and service top shelf. Would have been five stars on food but slighty too salty and steak a perfect medium when ordered medium rare. When dining with friends I prefer not to send food back unless a real problem so I let it go.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall experience very good. My New Yor ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Overall experience very good. My New York Strip Steak tasted a little salty. I prefer less saltiness.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was very disappointed. We are staying ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 12, 2017

I was very disappointed. We are staying in downtown Nashville but everyone said we needed to visit the Opryland Hotel for the scenery- and we should eat while we are there. So I found the Old Hickory Steakhouse and made a reservation. The atmosphere was nice, but a little dark and the falls / river were a little loud but we got used to it. I ordered a Caesar salad and I was grossed out to find a little fish on top of it- blah. So it made the whole salad taste REALLY fishy. I mean I know Caesar salad is made with anchovies but I don't think it should taste that fishy. The waiter recommended the New York Strip- so I ordered it cooked medium. It came with no pink at all. I sent it back and they brought me another- even worse overdone. At this point, my husband had already finished his steak. I wanted to shut my eyes as a I paid the really expensive tab because what I ate was not at all worth the price tag. I'd get a better steak at chain restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

We were staying at the Opry Land Hotel a ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We were staying at the Opry Land Hotel and chose this restaurant to take customers to. Seating was right on time. We were promptly shown to our table and greeted by two servers. They were polite, prompt, and knowledgable. You could tell they took pride in their job and the seriousness of making the evening a memorable one. We all had the filet mignon (it was cooked to perfection and melted in your mouth) we chose three family style sides, creamed spinach, macaroni and cheese and smashed potatoes. It all was just delicious. They also have a nice assortment of wines. Will definitely return and recommend to others!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was fantastic! Great service and at ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Food was fantastic! Great service and atmosphere. Food and wine is a little overpriced.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I took my fiance for her 24th birthday a ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I took my fiance for her 24th birthday and it was amazing the food was to die for. if you want to be romantic for your woman or spouse other this is the place to go. note that it is on the expensive side, but anything for your love right?

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, , Romantic, Cozy, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I ate dinner here while stay ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 8, 2017

My wife and I ate dinner here while staying at the hotel. I expected a good dining experience, but quite frankly, my expectations were far surpassed. We started off with a wine and cheese pairing that was exquisite, our steak and lamb porterhouse were cooked to perfection and the chocolate cake desert was very good.

If forced to give a constructive critique, I'd say the cake was absolutely delicious but lacked any extra flare or special touch for such an otherwise decadent meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had such a good experience. Wayne was ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had such a good experience. Wayne was our server and made the night perfect! He knew everything about the resort and took his time explaining the menu to us. He made our date very memorable.

The food was some of the best we've ever had! I left full but wanting more and sad the dinner was over. I would reccomend this restaurant any day!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, , Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in nashville for my girlfriends ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We were in nashville for my girlfriends birthday, and I always take her out for a special dinner! Well i seen old hickory on open table and loved the pictures with the water falls and what not!...well this place exceeded my expectations and HERS!! I didn't realize it was even a hotel resort type, and we were skeptical of the restaurant! I had reservations BUT we couldn't just not show up because I also had flowers arriving for the table! So I said let's just go check it out have a cocktail!! Anyways I said let's just eat here were here! Well i ordered us the big 30oz tomahawk riveted with the bone marrow and the baked potato to share! Let's just say it was amazing!! Exceed our expectations again! And it filled both of us up also! Well on top of that theyou even bought a cake an candle for my girlfriends birthday! AMAZING costumer service also! EVERYONE was so inviting and very polite! We definitely recommend this place! Plus theresize a bunch of things to do inside this places! Very satisfied

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food and experience. Loved the ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Wonderful food and experience. Loved the cheese course and learned so much. Wonderful service. Fabulous wine and food. Food was just perfect. A birthday and gorgeous personalized dessert.. we had a blast.. beautiful setting.. could see the light and water show.. wow

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An awesome experience and WONDERFUL FOOD ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 2, 2017

An awesome experience and WONDERFUL FOOD! I had the ribeye and it was beyond my expectations!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent venue. Great atmosphere . Very ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent venue. Great atmosphere . Very good service. Food was excellent. I would highly recommend this restaurant to friends an family. The lobster bisque was tremendous and the "at the table" combination of ingredients was unexpected and entertaining. The filet was cooked perfectly. Our side dish of asparagus was also cooked to perfection.

Can't wait to return. Call for reservations early. They are usually booked for the optimum dining times.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Evening of January 1, 2017. This was a s ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Evening of January 1, 2017. This was a special occasion and a "Bucket List" item for my wife. The waiter (Paul) was excellent, the food superb, and the atmosphere perfect. It was the high-point of our New Year's and three-night stay at the Gaylord Opryland.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best steaks ever! Our waiter was fantas ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best steaks ever! Our waiter was fantastic! He was very attentive, obviously, liked what he does.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere and ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere and our steaks were cooked just the way that we ordered them. Our service was great and it made the occasion that much better. Would definitely come back.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten here several times. The food ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We've eaten here several times. The food is top notch. Steaks cooked to perfection. Not a fan of the macaroni and cheese, but the other side dishes are good. Recommend the assorted cheese appetizer! They pair different cheeses with a complement jam/sauce/nuts. Save room for dessert, it's worth it! We can't wait to come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The steak was too salty, the baked potat ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The steak was too salty, the baked potato was cold and hard, the trout had a very strong odor and stronger than normal fishy taste. No one checked on how the food was. We had to find our waiter to get our ticket The restaurant was not busy when we were there. The price vs the food and service was totally unsatisfactory. I would not recommend this restaurant or go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Our reservation was not ready upon arriv ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our reservation was not ready upon arrival a little wait ok since it was New Year' Eve but I had to go ask on the status after seeing others arrive wait a few minutes and get seated. No one came to check or advise that it would be a while longer. The waiter never came around after the food was served to check to make sure everything was to our liking. I would have expected them to check on how my steak was prepared and if it met my satisfaction. Observed other waiters, checking quite frequently on their tables. Overall it was a great experience and we were glad we dined there.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Our server Wayne was wonderful and knowl ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our server Wayne was wonderful and knowledgeable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant with awesome menu and o ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great restaurant with awesome menu and outstanding service! No inexpensive but worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I loved our dinner. The wait ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife and I loved our dinner. The waitress was great; very friendly and professional.

Tags: Organic, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were celebrating the end of the year ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were celebrating the end of the year with family and specifically chose the Old Hickory steakhouse. The expectations of a big city steakhouse were met with excellent service without hovering, customized choices and quality food and wine.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Outstanding Roasted Chicken and Smashed ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding Roasted Chicken and Smashed Potatoes! My wife and I visited the Old Hickory, Gaylord Opryland for our 11th anniversary and New Year's weekend 2017. We enjoyed every moment at the restaurant bar and our dinner in the atrium, following cocktails and appetizers. We also visited Old Hickory in the Gaylord National Harbor (DC) two years prior. We can only say great things about both!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Romantic, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Authentic, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Impeccable service and brilliant ambianc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Impeccable service and brilliant ambiance. We had a superb cheese platter from a large selection of artisan cheeses. Lobster bisque was not too heavy, salads were excellent. Only two choices of aged prime steaks, but full range of non-prime cuts. Coyboy ribeye was very good. Pricing is higher than Ruth Chris for quality of entrees so the value for food by itself is not not up to other high end steak houses although it's hard to beat ambiance and convenience of the Gaylord experience. Will return.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We drive up to eat here several times a ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We drive up to eat here several times a year. It is a little pricey, but we share and still get more than enough to eat. Food is excellent and staff friendly and very attentive. Maitre d' is a definitely never friendly so he must not be a people person, but everything else makes up for that.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The filet was fantastic, so were the pot ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The filet was fantastic, so were the potatoes. The dry aged steak was slightly disappointing. Cheese selections were good, we enjoyed 2 of the 3, the Gouda was flavorless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An outstanding experience! We arrived in ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 30, 2016

An outstanding experience!

We arrived in Nashville and were whisked away to the Gaylord from our hotel. A fabulous experience to see the beauty and spectacular decorations during the Christmas holiday!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is excellent and through out ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The service is excellent and through out the dining experience they never rushed to the next course. The food was prepared as ordered and complements to the chef for an outstanding meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Arrived early for our res ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great service. Arrived early for our reservation, but maitre de seated us anyway. Great table, excellent food. Service was superb by all, especially Tim the waiter!

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful meal, service and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Wonderful meal, service and atmosphere. The bisque is amazing!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was delicious . We live ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food and service was delicious . We live in NYC and it rivals some of our best steak houses

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wife and I ate here for our 25th Wedding ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Wife and I ate here for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Great atmosphere, food, and service! Thanks for a memorable time.

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was great from the wine to sa ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Everything was great from the wine to salad to entree. Staff was very efficient and knowledgeable. Setting was cozy . Just a great experience!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I celebrated our 45th weddin ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 27, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 45th wedding anniversary with dinner at the Old Hickory and the experience could not have been better. We look forward to going back. A little pricey but well worth it....!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great everything a must for dining at th ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great everything a must for dining at the Gaylord Nashville.

Tags: Wood Oven, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I shared an 8oz Filet and Lo ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on December 26, 2016

My wife and I shared an 8oz Filet and Lobster Tail. The steak was cooked perfect and literally melted in your mouth. The lobster tail had the best flavor and was perfect. Hard to believe that the best lobster ever was at a restaurant in the landlocked city of Nashville, TN.

Our waiter/server (Anthony) made our experience perfect!

5 stars does not do this restaurant justice, 10 maybe be closer.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality of food was not proportionate to ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Quality of food was not proportionate to pricing. Disappointed in my overcooked filet. Waiter seemed less enthusiastic after we did not order an expensive wine, salads et. Setting is wonderful although a little noisy. Mac n cheese was amazing. Crab cakes were not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

We were there on Christmas evening. We h ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We were there on Christmas evening. We had an excellent meal of these special 30oz bone in rib steak with bone marrow topping. It was absolutely outstanding. Alan was our server and he was exceptional. His knowledge of the menu, food and wine choices made our evening the best. We would highly recommend the food, atmosphere, wine and service all located in the beautiful surrounds of the Opryland Hotel.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Old Hickory is most famous for its super ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Old Hickory is most famous for its superior steaks and since my husband is a red meat guy I took him there for a special occasion. You pay for the experience in its entirety so tack that on to cost. You make a reservation at Old Hickory with the fore knowledge that you are not going there for economical reasons. The prices are extravagant but you get excellent quality food, service and atmosphere and it is worth the experience for a special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The table for 4 was a little small. Hard ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The table for 4 was a little small. Hard to keep all the glasses and plates on

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.