Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland

A nod to President Andrew Jackson’s nickname, Old Hickory Steakhouse harnesses the charm of Antebellum-style architecture with the finest in sophisticated dining for a truly unforgettable experience. Overlooking the meandering river in our 4.5 acre Delta Atrium, Old Hickory Steakhouse—Gaylord Hotels' signature restaurant—features 1855 Black Angus Beef seared to perfection, artisan cheeses and an extensive wine list.

2800 Opryland Drive
Nashville, TN 37214
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
McGavock Pike

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 458-6848

Website:
http://www.gaylordopryland.com/Dining

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Old Hickory Steakhouse at Gaylord Opryland Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (73)
Romantic (62)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
See All
Good for a Date (50)
Scenic View (41)
Business Meals (30)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Worth the Drive (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for Groups (19)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Cozy (13)
Waterfront (11)
Casual (11)
Fun (10)
Historic (9)
Private Room (9)
Authentic (9)
Tasting Menu (6)
People Watching (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Family Style (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Spicy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
724 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Great food and nice setting in the atrium.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

Many negatives. First, difficult to locate the restaurant. No signage in a huge hotel. Second, steak was not tender. This is a very expensive steakhouse and I expected better. One positive. Waiter was great and provided a free dessert for my birthday.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We had a wonderful meal and a great way to celebrate our daughter's birthday. Our waiter was fantastic and the food beyond delicious. I only wish they had a smaller steak. My 8oz was wonderful but I could only eat half of it.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Fantastic steak and trout. Really well prepared. Terrific service in a lovely setting. Recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was wonderful, great atmosphere, service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The place felt like we were at a theme park restaurant. We arrived at the hostess stand. Placed outside the restaurant. Just did not get the warm welcome. We had to sit and wait for a hostess to seat us. There was 2 resverations under my name. I was ask witch Steve Nale was I. Really?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Impeccable service

Server knowledge of menu
and preparation

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Had a wonderful waiter and food was excellent. Scallop appetizer was perfectly prepared and NY Strip medium was the absolute correct temperature. You cannot go wrong here.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 21, 2017

It's was not worth the money. I got bone marrow butter as I've never had it before, it just tasted like bread crumbs and oil that cost $12. Steak was slightly overdone and desperately needed some seasoning. Come to my house, you'll get far better food for half the money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great all around. Thank you.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great aged steak, Formagier was knowledgeable which added to the experience. Don't expect to get out of there cheaply

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Amazing! Been several times, never disappoints! Best steak!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 18, 2017

I was on business in Nashville and took a prospect to Old Hickory for dinner. It was highly recommended by the locals and rightfully so. EXCELLENT Service from Pete. Both the filet and NY Strips ordered were cooked to perfection. The group loved the mushrooms. The Bone Marrow Butter on top of the steak was recommended. I was not very impressed and would order another steak topping next time. It was beautiful dining in the hotel atrium (outside the restaurant). Great place for a special occasion or date. I would recommend this restaurant as a great choice.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Our dinners were extraordinarily well prepared and delicious. The service provided by Anthony and his assistant was impeccable and made for a very special evening for our anniversary. The hostess was most gracious and accommodating.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We ordered the Chef's special selection dry aged steak. Worst cut of meat I have ever had. As a restaurateur, I am never complain about the food because I understand that a place can have an off night, but this was horrible. The appetizers were good and the waiter, Alan, was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food was just ok and for $200+ I would expect much better. The service was slow and they were not even that busy. Disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 14, 2017

my wife and I were passing Thur Nashville and stayed at gaylord resort. Wow what a place. Ate dinner at old hickory on site. Wow again start to finish 1 st classs. And we raise cattle so we know top self beef. Bone in ribeye there are to die for. Every time we are passing Thur we will eat there. Thanks. Great job guys

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

My husband and I went to Old Hickory in the Gaylord Opryland hotel for dinner for our 2nd wedding anniversary. We couldn't have been more pleased with our night! We were seated right away. The food was delicious!!! We both got steaks & shared the mac & cheese & loved all of it! My husband got the crab cakes & said they were the best he's ever had! The restaurant was beautiful & had an amazing view from our seats on the patio, our waiter was super friendly, & the service was fast! They even put a rose on our table for me & brought us a piece of cake for our Anniversary! They definitely went above and beyond to help make our night special & we really appreciated it! We definitely recommend Old Hickory!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

High end steakhouse in the middle of the atrium of the Gaylord Hotel. Beautiful. Feels like an old plantation from the south. Food was perfect. Service impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Best service I have had in a long time. We were first greeted by an outstanding man (I wish I had caught his name) that should be heavily rewarded for his great attitude and personality. He made us laugh and we felt very relaxed and welcomed as soon as we spoke with him. Our waiter, Wayne, was very knowledgeable and friendly. He helped to guide us through the menu options since this was our first visit. I had the caesar salad and was happily surprised to find that it had fresh anchovies and the dressing wasn't overpowering. For the entree, I ordered the filet and my wife ordered the salmon. Both were delicious. I asked for medium rare and the steak arrived perfectly cooked and seasoned. The salmon was delicate and tender and very fresh. We shared a side of mashed potatoes but I would have preferred to have individual sides. For desert we shared a slice of the chocolate cake. I usually don't care for restaurant deserts because they tend to be too rich. I was surprised to find that this was not the case with this slice. The mix of dark chocolate and ganache made the cake very delightful.

I look forward to a future visit and I will make sure to go in hungry so I can try one of their larger steaks.

Pro: Great staff and perfectly cooked food
Con: Side dish was shared and self serve

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

What a wonderful experience for myself and the rest of my group. We celebrated a year of hard working paying off by dining with you. Thank you the wonderful attentive service. Our water, tea and soda was never empty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Service was exceptionally good and did meet the expectations for the Old Hickory Steak House. Party of three ordered the beef tenderloin, was good but did appear to have a bit more salt / tenderizer added than normal. Vegetables were excellent. This was excellent for catching up with old friends which we had not seen in over ten years. For special events, this was a great choice for those events with folks who have never been to Nashville or have been away for some years. For everyday dining, there are other places which have excellent and comparable service and food.

The only "con" is finding your way to the main registration entrance. When following the signage and directed to make a left turn, do not take the first left, but rather the second left.

Existing the resort after sunset is a challenge. You get the impression that the Gaylord doesn't really want you to leave. An improvement on signage would help but it's been that way for years so I have no expectations that will improve.

Overall: 5 stars.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The food was very good. A couple of the guests did not care for the lobster bisque, but everything else was wonderful. The atmosphere we perfect for conversations.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 5, 2017

This is my 1st time dining at Old Hickory Steakhouse. The food and service are excellent and definitely coming back. Thanks to Bryan and Roger, my friends and I really enjoyed our night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 4, 2017

When we arrived there was a band playing downstairs in the atrium. It was loud and annoying. Mike the manager and Tim the waiter were VERY accommodating and turned a potentially frustrating evening to a wonderful experience
Thanks guys

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Wayne and Marty are very hospitable. Top notch Gentleman. Thank you both..

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Service was excellent. Out of the 4 steaks our group of 6 ordered, two were overdone and 2 were underdone. None of the steaks came out the way we ordered them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was just ok. The steak was tough and lacked flavor. The best part was the cheese tray. Cost for 2 was about $150.00. We have eaten much better food for half the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

I originally sent this as a private message to the manager but a week has passed without a response so here it is for everyone. This was my second visit to your restaurant. I was here last year around Thanksgiving. I was disappointed then and again last night. Last year you were not crowded by any means but it took forever for the main entrée to be served. Appetizers and salads were timely but steaks were slow and barely luke warm when they arrived at the table. The excuse . . . a kitchen fire so food was being prepared in a distant kitchen. Last night the same thing happened to us. Appetizers and salads were awesome. It took approximately 40 minutes from the time our salad plates were cleared to the serving of the entrees. The mashed potatoes were hot but both filets and salmon were barely warm. They were cooked to perfection but we're almost room temperature. I said nothing to the waitress because the only solution was to wait even longer for our food. I have heard nothing but good about Old Hickory but my personal experience has been unsatisfactory. I expect this at run of the mill restaurants but when the bill is over $200 without alcohol for 3 people I expect and deserve better. Perhaps I am just unlucky . . . that's what I thought the first-time. . . now I think you have a systemic problem and question the wisdom of any future visits to your establishment. If I were the manager I would want to know so I could fix it. Most people tell all of their friends of their displeasure but never communicate with the person that can improve it. Thank you for your time and understanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 29, 2017

This restaurant is amazing. Beautiful surroundings with fountains and waterfalls. The cheese cart is amazing, wine selection is truly wonderful and the service cannot be beat. I ate here twice during my 5 night stay and would've eaten there again if it weren't so expensive. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

In the Gaylord Hotel. Seating is in the atrium. Great Service. Solid Steaks. One guest had the pork shank was impressive and he said very good. A pricey meal would be the only downside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We ate here for our 11th wedding anniversary. The wait staff were friendly, however everything else was lacking. The area the restaurant is located in the hotel was very loud. Not great for a romantic date. It felt more like a food court area. The area needed to be more private. The food tasted great but we had to send back one steak because it was undercooked and we ordered it medium to medium well. Our waiter acted put out by this and even shone a flashlight on the steak (it was 5:30pm and there was plenty of light to see that the steak was still bleeding). Our meal costs over $200 for the two of us and for that amount I felt like everything should have been exceptional. I also felt that our waiter was very pushy when trying to get us to order our meal and drinks. Even after an item was declined he would ask again as if we were going to change our minds because he did this. I did not like that at all. I don't mind waiters recommending things but when I say NO please don't keep on! The waiter did bring us a piece of a chocolate cake at the end of our meal for our anniversary. I thought that was nice even though we don't like chocolate cake. I later found out that we could have had a free desert because we were staying at the hotel. I wish our waiter would have asked what we would have liked because I felt that the cake while a nice gesture was wasted. In the end I was very dissapointed that we chose this restaurant because while the food was good it was not up to our standards of a $200+ meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Fantastic service and superb food. Bone marrow butter on any meat selection is a must. Made or special occasion that much more special.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Our waitress, Sunny, went above and beyond. Best service you could ask for.
Food was fabulous, just found it a bit loud.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Really disappointing and very expensive. The service was poor. After being served they never came back to check on us. One person's meat was raw. We finally flagged someone down but everyone was eaten. The manager came over and said he'd take it off the bill but for a restaurant like this, we should not have had this experience. Then they brought out a huge selection of desserts, which nobody really wanted. Limited food choices. Definitely wouldn't go back or recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Very good quality food . Nice service , respectful and yet friendly ! Great date night!

Tags: Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Dinner was excellent. The gentleman outside, when we arrived was less than friendly. Rachel, who was the Fromager was outstanding and by far the friendliest person we encountered during our meal. She was truly the highlight of the dining experience. The steaks were amazing and the Bone Marrow butter was great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was very good. Only thing that could have been better was if the waiter would have pointed out the free dessert for hotel guest (perk of the resort fee) instead of us just happening to notice it at the end of our dinner.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The charm of Old Hickory Steakhouse is undeniable, it is a romantic and realistic blend of southern charm. The lobster bisque is amazing and highly recommended. The disappointment came with the steaks not being cooked properly and being a little salty. The waiter acknowledged the error and made the gesture of free dessert. This was fine, but when you are paying $45 for the steak only you expect it to be as ordered. Our other disappointment came when they gave us a validation card for parking that didn't work so we ended up paying an additional $28 on top of the $200 we spent for dinner. The staff was quite friendly and attentive, we just expected a little better from such a place. I would recommend it on the virtues of the ambiances and the desserts in any case!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.