About Old Fort Pub

65 Skull Creek Drive
Hilton Head Island, SC 29926
View Larger Map

Old Fort Pub is a charming restaurant with one of the best views on Hilton Head Island. Perched on the banks of the Intra-coastal Waterway, it showcases unrivaled nightly sunsets and a rich history. So named for the adjacent Civil War shore battery, Fort Mitchel, the restaurant’s foyer is decorated with historic photos depicting the “War of Northern Aggression".

Previously featured on The Food Network and in other notable publications, the Old Fort Pub has become a tradition for over 35 years. Guests enjoy Chef Keith Josefiak’s “New Southern” favorites inspired with influences from around the globe. An excellent choice for a celebrating a birthday, holiday or a romantic evening.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner
March - November:
Seven Days, 5:00pm - 10:00pm

December - February:
Seven Days, 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 681-2386

Website:
http://www.oldfortpub.com/

Executive Chef:
Keith Josefiak

Private Party Contact:
General Manager: 8436812386x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Collage Of Spring Leafy Greens - Old Fort Pub, Hilton Head Island, SC
  • Melange Of Chopped Garden Vegetables - Old Fort Pub, Hilton Head Island, SC
  • Rack of Lamb - Old Fort Pub, Hilton Head Island, SC
Collage Of Spring Leafy Greens - Old Fort Pub, Hilton Head Island, SC
Melange Of Chopped Garden Vegetables - Old Fort Pub, Hilton Head Island, SC
Rack of Lamb - Old Fort Pub, Hilton Head Island, SC

Old Fort Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Scenic View
South Carolina
American
South Carolina
5 More
Best Overall
Hilton Head
Best Food
Hilton Head
Best Ambiance
Hilton Head
Best Value
Hilton Head
Special Occasion
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

Scenic View (48)
Special Occasion (42)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
See All
Waterfront (35)
Romantic (31)
Good for a Date (27)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Historic (22)
Cozy (20)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Authentic (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Business Meals (6)
Casual (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Great for Lunch (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Seasonal (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Fun (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1349 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great. Experience! Our server, Jessica, ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Great. Experience! Our server, Jessica, was great! The view from the dining room was great! The special 3 for $33 off the regular menu at any time (not just at early dining hours!) was great! Food was great! Atmosphere was great! We plan to dine here again before we leave the island--twice in six days! What more can we say!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, we had a great dinner. Choic ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

As always, we had a great dinner. Choices are excellent and always something for everyone. This is one of our favorite spots for ourselves, but we always take our out of town guests to this restaurant. Never disappointed !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It is the only place we go for Thanksgiv ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

It is the only place we go for Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner. We have been going there about 6 years, at least. Having transportation to and from allows both of us to enjoy the entire meals, drinks, wine, after dinner special drinks, in complete enjoyment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy Old Fort Pub and this Th ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We always enjoy Old Fort Pub and this Thanksgiving was no exception. My husband had the ravioli appetizer while I opted for butternut squash soup. We both had the traditional turkey dinner which was wonderful. I had pumpkin pie which was very good and very large (I left half of it) and my husband the people an pie. Our waiter was very professional and courteous. We will continue to dine here when we are in Bluffton!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had Thanksgiving Dinner here with my wif ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had Thanksgiving Dinner here with my wife. We were happy to have a window table. Staff seemed al little rushed but understandable being it was a holiday! Our food was excellent! We enjoyed the evening very much!

Tags: Historic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Went to Old Fort Pub for Thanksgiving di ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went to Old Fort Pub for Thanksgiving dinner. In addition to their regular menu, they had a turkey dinner. We each started with a different soup and then had the turkey dinner. The turkey was moist and everything was delicious. It was every bit as good as a home cooked turkey dinner but with none of the work.

Tags: Scenic View, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Thanksgiving dinner was exceptionally go ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner was exceptionally good; moist turkey and all of the fixen's were outstanding. Always an excellent meal, good service and atmosphere was perfect with a beautiful sunset.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, People Watching, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Healthy, Casual, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. On the wate ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Excellent food and service. On the water so get a table near the window and try to get there while it is still light or, better yet, at sunset.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Fine dining at its best. Low country dis ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Fine dining at its best. Low country dishes are my favourites....she crab soup, shellfish cakes and the key lime tart to finish off a fine meal. The salmon and filet of beef were also deliciuos. Food presentation is attractive.

The wine selection is reasonable.

A great spot for a special dinner in a traditional setting. Go early to catch the beautiful sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Old Fort Pub was wonderful. We've been c ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Old Fort Pub was wonderful. We've been coming to the Hilton Head area for more than 20 years and this was our first visit here. The food was very good and beautifully presented. My wife loved her salmon and my duck was perfectly prepared. We realized late that we weren't given the bread that we saw on all other tables. Maybe it was indifferent service (we were a table for two while the room was primarily tables of four), or maybe just a simple oversight. If there was something to be disappointed with it would have been the time it took to be served our entrée, and the time after dinner before we were offered dessert or coffee. These were not significant because I know how busy the restaurant was. I might, though, decide to go back on a weekday night when service might be better. At any rate it will not keep me from going back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

OFP didn't disappoint. Had family visit ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

OFP didn't disappoint. Had family visiting from out of town and wanted them to enjoy the sunset as well as the dining experience. I asked in my reservation for a window table and we were seated at one. The waiter was very accommodating and answered all our questions. Food was delicious and service excellent. Will be going back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing, wonderful, outstanding place!!! ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Amazing, wonderful, outstanding place!!!!

We've vacationed at HHI for over 20 years and we've made The Old Fort Pub a "must do" dining experience each year.

Our waitress (Thur 11/10 5pm sitting) was one of the best - helpful, friendly and tried her best to accommodate our social requests.

Don't pass this one !!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Casual, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always love this restaurant and retur ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We always love this restaurant and return many times. The view and ambiance of the restaurant augment the experience. The food is excellent and service also very well done.

Tags: Historic, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We dined at the Old Fort Pub to celebrat ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We dined at the Old Fort Pub to celebrate a birthday. The food was delicious,view was enchanting, ambiance was perfect. What more can you ask for.

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The location is fantastic, especially at ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The location is fantastic, especially at sunset, and the food is outstanding, if pricey. That said, this may be the best fine dining on Hilton Head Island.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We really enjoyed our evening and dinner ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 2, 2016

We really enjoyed our evening and dinner at Old Fort. It has a rustic look on the outside, lovely intimate setting inside their dining room. Our table was near the window, so we had a beautiful setting. My husband had the trout with a bit of a Cajun topping. It was delicious! I ordered the pork chop with a chutney type sauce. Cooked to perfection, not dry. Wonderful!

We're visiting a few weeks after the hurricane, so the restaurants are not as busy as usual, which is nice. If you want a beautiful setting, water view and great food don't miss The Old Fort Pub!!! Loved it!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated anniversary, food was great, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Celebrated anniversary, food was great, service exceptional will return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a wonderful window seat for the s ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We had a wonderful window seat for the sunset view. Terrific meal from new menu. Old Fort Pub was in perfect shape after the hurricane. Billy took great care of us. Wonderful meal and a great evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server must be new. Always there and co ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Server must be new. Always there and continue to interrupt our conversation. Recited dessert menus before asking for drink order.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value4

This was our second visit and we plan to ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 26, 2016

This was our second visit and we plan to visit again next year on our vacation. The service is great and the food even better. Everyone enjoyed their meals. And especially the free desserts and chocolate truffles. Make sure you try to be there for the sunset. It was beautiful and we got some really good pictures.

We'll be back again next October.

Tags: Waterfront, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and spectacular location for ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Great food and spectacular location for watching the sun set.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We had a pretty good experience except f ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We had a pretty good experience except for the temperature of a couple of the meals. This was corrected immediately with new meals and with a gift certificate towards a future visit. The food itself was excellent, unusual tasty garnishes, and very nicely presented. A lovely evening. We will return again as we have many times over the years.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The restaurant is perfect for a special ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The restaurant is perfect for a special occasion, food was delicious and the service was spot on.

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Another outstanding meal at the Old Fort ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Another outstanding meal at the Old Fort Pub. This restaurant never disappoints in terms of food and service. Make sure you get there early enough to enjoy the beautiful sunsets!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit. Really fun place to go ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 4, 2016

First time visit. Really fun place to go. Lots of energy and live music. Sat at the bar and had some great drinks. We had a few small plates and their seafood chowder. All were excellent. I was disappointed in my meal which took too long and came out warm. If not for that, I would rate the food 4stars. Would recommend and would return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

What's a girl going to chose when only a ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 2, 2016

What's a girl going to chose when only a few days in a city.. Did a google search for best of Hilton Head and Old Fort Pub came up. It was worth the drive ... and worth getting lost .... and worth the time trying to find the location. It was simply worth everything. Dinner for two was more than ample. The onion soup was really, really good. The filet mignon and side of asparagus was good - actaully fantastic - but over the top was the swordfish over steel tip grits ? and vegetables. I am not a big fish eater - but that meal was a winner. You could tell from the staff and the menu why this is worth a visit when in Hilton Head. Dinner for two was $135 + tip. No dessert. Included drinks. For us - $150 is about average for a meal in a great restaurant, so for us this dinner was an average price. I would return to HH just to go to Old Forte Pub again. My guest thought the decor was old and out dated but for me, I thought it was appropriate and what it should be for this long established restaurant. I was extremely comfortable and would dine there with guests or alone - and feel extremely comfortable and welcomed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great. Food was excellent

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Everything was great. Food was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We picked the Old Fort Pub for a special ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We picked the Old Fort Pub for a special occasion, o:ur 33rd Anniversary. We made reservations for 7:15, and had reserved a table by the window for the view.

We were not seated until 8:00 pm, a 45 minute delay despite a reservation, (largely because earlier walk-ins were seated), and by the time we got to our window view it was dark, no view.

Food and waitress were good.

Overall experience was VERY disappointing...and completely avoidable.

We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Very good food, attentive and friendly s ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Very good food, attentive and friendly service and a wonderful location.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The name is a bit misleading: this is a ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 29, 2016

The name is a bit misleading: this is a very nice place- hardly a 'pub'- glad I had dressed correctly after reading Open Table about 'casual dressy'. We did start out on the patio but it was too buggy. We were given a table upstairs which was quite nice. The service and food was so great. The menu offers many choices and probably won't go wrong with any of them. This is not really a dining place for children in the evenings- more for adults who enjoy good food, a great scenic view, and lovely food and service.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Scenic View, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This restaurant was recommended by a loc ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 28, 2016

This restaurant was recommended by a local and we were anxious to try it. It not only met, it exceeded our expectations. Friendly , efficient staff and management, outstanding atmosphere, fantastic service and wonderful food!! Looking forward to a return visit.

Enjoy the sunset and views - historic site

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful sunset views and delicious foo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Wonderful sunset views and delicious food. Attentive staff.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice wine list, fine dinning, unique dis ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Nice wine list, fine dinning, unique dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Magnificent view, friendly and attentive ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Magnificent view, friendly and attentive service, outstanding food! We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A recent visit to the Old Fort Pub certa ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 22, 2016

A recent visit to the Old Fort Pub certainly surpassed all our expectations. We enjoyed a beautiful evening on the deck and we were pleasantly surprised by a guitar player playing on the deck. The ambiance of the evening wasn't finished with a waterfront sunset with beautiful music in the background...but rather enhanced by outstanding service and delicious food. A few of us ordered the baked stuffed flounder and it was prepared to perfection. We can't wait to return to order it again. Our server, Atef, never let a glass run dry! Kudos to the Old Fort Pub for giving us a truly memorable dining experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I love going to this rest ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 22, 2016

My husband and I love going to this restaurant every time we are in Hilton Head. The view is outstanding, especially at sunset, and the service is impeccable. Food is good too. We would highly recommend this restaurant to family and friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We dine at the Old Fort Pub each year wh ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 20, 2016

We dine at the Old Fort Pub each year when we return to Hilton Head. We are never disappointed. Knowledgeable staff, great service and fabulous cuisine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant had a wonderful view of t ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The restaurant had a wonderful view of the inter-coastal waters, the wait staff was attentive, professional and friendly, and the food was wonderful! A great place for celebrating special occasions!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I felt that our choice for our 60th anni ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 20, 2016

I felt that our choice for our 60th anniversary was "on the mark". However, I was disappointed because the arrangements for flowers for my table did not materialize. Further, the young woman server was not as attentive as I would have expected.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A special waterfront view with delicious ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 19, 2016

A special waterfront view with delicious food - excellent birthday dinner evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.