About Old Fort Pub

65 Skull Creek Drive
Hilton Head Island, SC 29926
View Larger Map

Old Fort Pub is a charming restaurant with one of the best views on Hilton Head Island. Perched on the banks of the Intra-coastal Waterway, it showcases unrivaled nightly sunsets and a rich history. So named for the adjacent Civil War shore battery, Fort Mitchel, the restaurant’s foyer is decorated with historic photos depicting the “War of Northern Aggression".

Previously featured on The Food Network and in other notable publications, the Old Fort Pub has become a tradition for over 35 years. Guests enjoy Chef Keith Josefiak’s “New Southern” favorites inspired with influences from around the globe. An excellent choice for a celebrating a birthday, holiday or a romantic evening.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner
March - November:
Seven Days, 5:00pm - 10:00pm

December - February:
Seven Days, 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 681-2386

Website:
http://www.oldfortpub.com/

Executive Chef:
Keith Josefiak

Private Party Contact:
General Manager: 8436812386x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Crispy Fried Quail With Apple Butter And Lavender Honey Sprinkled With Pomegranates
Crispy Fried Quail With Apple Butter And Lavender Honey Sprinkled With Pomegranates

Old Fort Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Scenic View
South Carolina
American
South Carolina
7 More
Best Overall
Hilton Head
Best Service
Hilton Head
Best Ambiance
Hilton Head
Best Value
Hilton Head
Romantic
Hilton Head
Scenic View
Hilton Head
Special Occasion
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

scenic view (82)
special occasion (76)
romantic (68)
See All
fit for foodies (45)
great for outdoor dining (32)
neighborhood gem (28)
notable wine list (27)
good for groups (14)
great for brunch (11)
great for lunch (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic, especially during sunset.

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Romantic, especially during sunset.

food3
ambience4
service4

Nice views. Good service. Food a bit sal ...

Dined 4 days ago

Nice views. Good service. Food a bit salty. Building needs TLC

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old Fort Pub is always good, but this vi ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Old Fort Pub is always good, but this visit was outstanding. Great service, wonderful view, excellent food. Definitely one of the top 5 restaurants to visit on Hilton Head Island.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant! Wonderful fine dining ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Great restaurant! Wonderful fine dining for the Hilton Head area. Families with kids are welcome too. Treated very well by the staff and a great view. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Favorite place, beautiful setting, food ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Favorite place, beautiful setting, food was good, but not memorable

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a great place to dine! The food and ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

Such a great place to dine! The food and presentation are fabulous. The setting is just so beautiful! If you want to feel like royalty, dine here!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We retuned again and not disappointed! P ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

We retuned again and not disappointed! Pasta primavera was exceptional as was the flank steak special. Salmon was wonderful. Nice touch with complementary app and truffle for dessert. Love this place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best food we have had on the island. ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The best food we have had on the island. Beautiful sunset and water views. Can't wait to return!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

This was our 2nd visit, just as good as ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our 2nd visit, just as good as the 1st, maybe even better considering it was Fathers Day and very full, food was great and service exceptional.

food5
ambience5
service5

We took my Dad here for Father's day Bru ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We took my Dad here for Father's day Bruch. An outstanding meal and the view was fabulous. First time here for brunch, been here for dinner &lunch previously. Will definitely be back great time had by all!

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was good but did not justify t ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was good but did not justify the price of the meal - was not overly impressed

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food. The menu was a f ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great service and food. The menu was a fabulous blend of different tastes and the Joyce Farms chicken was fantastic. Not to mention the scenery and view are terrific. Definitely worth the visit, best restaurant on the island!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

This is an awesome restaurant, great foo ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

This is an awesome restaurant, great food,service and view. Local fresh fish well prepared would highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view! Fantastic food! Great se ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Beautiful view! Fantastic food! Great service! Will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Food, service, and ambience all outstand ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Food, service, and ambience all outstanding. Our favorite restaurant on HHI...dine here on every trip. Great views of water and sunset.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and excellent service. ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service1

This used to be an excellent restaurant, ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

This used to be an excellent restaurant, unfortunately, things seem to have changed. Service was extremely slow and they were out of all of the entrées we were interested in including scallops, swordfish and the seafood special. One of my friends had the calamari which tasted off. The trout was crispy and well prepared, however it was nearly an hour from the time we arrive to when we were served .

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointed!!

Dined on June 1, 2016

I have eaten at TOFP several times with varying results though generally good. We had a 7:15 reservation and had a pleasant start to the meal. The basil martini was outstanding and the wine list was good, not great. I was looking forward to fresh fish for the evening and had the swordfish selected in advance if the catch of the day didn't appeal to me. The waiter promptly notified us that they had only four servings of the catch (cobia which is my favorite fish) and they were gone and they were also out of the swordfish...at 7:15. I ended up with a grossly oversalted pork dish and left quite disappointed.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Hilton head

Dined on June 1, 2016

Excellent service. Great food once we got in we were Pleasantly surprised

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

disdappointing night

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

We have loved this restaurant for more than 15 years, so we hope we just hit an off night. Food was mediocre. Service was spotty. We had a new waitress (first night) who was charming and competent. But after appetizers we had to request some missing silverware from the busboy when the mains were delivered. Our wine glasses were cleared before the wine was emptied and we had to request more.

Tags: romance, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to celebrate something speci ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Great place to celebrate something special! The view is really nice and you can walk around the fort by the restaurant if you are into history.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary. ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary. We had a great view over the water. The service and food were very good. My wife had the Scottish salmon and I had the grilled Mahi.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere

Dined on May 22, 2016

All four of us were quite pleased with our meals. Nice atmosphere with a great view of the water.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Resting on their laurels

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Although I read positive reviews about Old Fort Pub our visit was not so satisfying. We arrived early and had a lovely wait in the bar, enjoying the view and each other's company. We were seated early (7:45 for an 8 p.m. reservation) and the trouble began. The first 2 bottles of wine my husband requested were not available. He started with a California red and then switched to an Italian red hoping for better results. A substitute Italian wine was offered, but it wasn't the same varietal or vintage or in the same price range. No fresh caught fish was available (to be out of the Chef's Signature Additions that early in the night seemed a big odd, to be on the water but have no wild caught fish on the menu seems odd). So we gave up. My husband drank water and ordered a salad. I was hungry so I ordered the shellfish cakes. They were good, but the night had gone sour after the series of "not availables", plus we had long waits in between each attempt at service. If what the customer wanted was not available, you'd think you'd put forth an effort to find something they wanted. Finally after our salads, the manager came over and said she was sorry but there was never a guarantee the particular vintage you wanted would be available. What?? We weren't even offered the same winery or varietal or price range, we weren't quibbling about vintages... perhaps the wine list needs to be updated more often if so much is unavailable. It was obvious that a sincere effort was not being made to make us satisfied customers. To spend a couple of hours enjoying a bottle of wine and 3 course meal would not be surprising, we were there for 90+ minutes for 2 salads and shellfish cakes. There are much better meals available at other restaurants on HHI more interested in pleasing their customers.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Ever thing that the people in our party ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Ever thing that the people in our party ordered was outstanding. The pecan pie is incredibly delicious!!

food3
ambience4
service1

The location is very nice and the food i ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

The location is very nice and the food is good. Our waiter was really obnoxious. Not sure why. Would not go back. There are better places on the island. Try the lucky rooster for better food and definitely better service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OFP is one of the best restaurants in H ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

OFP is one of the best restaurants in HH. The food , staff, ambience is wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Watching the sunset with a lovely glass ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Watching the sunset with a lovely glass of wine and wonderful food. Life doesn't get much better than that!

food4
ambience5
service5

We attended Saturday brunch and to be fa ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We attended Saturday brunch and to be fair it was towards the end of service but they were out of the Kale salad and only had 1 hamburger remaining but our waiter was able to procure a second burger for us, he was very helpful and attentive. The she crab soup is delicious and I highly recommend it.

food5
ambience4
service5

The setting was so special. We had a del ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The setting was so special. We had a delightful new server. The shrimp was delicious if a little too garlicky the salads were split so we had room for pecan pie to share. So delicious a must visit.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful views

Dined on May 11, 2016

We done here at least once as a family during our annual vacation to Hilton Head. The views are beautiful. The service is excellent. The food is always amazing. It's my favorite meal I look forward to having all year.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Dinner

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

My Husband and I had a lovely dinner here. Food was great, service also. Look forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The Service was outstanding. The She-Cra ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The Service was outstanding. The She-Crab soup was unbelievable. I ordered the Salmon and my wife ordered the pork tenderloin. Both were to die for. The view was gorgeous. Interesting little fort tour. So much history. Would recommend to everyone.

food5
ambience4
service5

We had a very nice time with a good meal ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a very nice time with a good meal and good service.

food5
ambience5
service4

Beautiful location, great food. Terrifi ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Beautiful location, great food. Terrific martinis. The service was a little stiff and unfriendly. I'd go again if I'm visiting for a drink and to watch the sunset.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our absolute favorite place on the islan ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Our absolute favorite place on the island. No other restaurant comes close. The food, service and view never ever disappoint.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took visiting friends . The sunset v ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We took visiting friends . The sunset view was really nice and the food outstanding. They want to go back the next time they visit Hilton Head.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent view and good food

Dined on May 6, 2016

All four of us enjoyed our dinners and will come back soon. Service and staff very friendly and were not rushed excellent choice of a restaurant

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We were very satisfied with food, servic ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We were very satisfied with food, service and ambiance. In fact, it was the most satisfying meal and experience we had dining out in Hulton Head. We made a last minute reservation on open table and were seated in a window table with a view. Waiter was great and was not overbearing. I will be back during my next visit to Hilton Head.

food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Great Restaurant, Great Ambiance and View

Dined on April 30, 2016

All in all it was a great evening. I would advise going at least an hour before Sunset. The best tables are gone by sunset. Our Server was hard to understand and not very attentive, which took away from the evening some. He seemed to give more attention to tables of 4 or more. I would definitely go back for the She Crab soup if nothing else.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.