About Old Fort Pub

65 Skull Creek Drive
Hilton Head Island, SC 29926
View Larger Map

Old Fort Pub is a charming restaurant with one of the best views on Hilton Head Island. Perched on the banks of the Intra-coastal Waterway, it showcases unrivaled nightly sunsets and a rich history. So named for the adjacent Civil War shore battery, Fort Mitchel, the restaurant’s foyer is decorated with historic photos depicting the “War of Northern Aggression".

Previously featured on The Food Network and in other notable publications, the Old Fort Pub has become a tradition for over 35 years. Guests enjoy Chef Keith Josefiak’s “New Southern” favorites inspired with influences from around the globe. An excellent choice for a celebrating a birthday, holiday or a romantic evening.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner
March - November:
Seven Days, 5:00pm - 10:00pm

December - February:
Seven Days, 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 681-2386

Website:
http://www.oldfortpub.com/

Executive Chef:
Keith Josefiak

Private Party Contact:
General Manager: 8436812386x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Collage Of Spring Leafy Greens
  • Melange Of Chopped Garden Vegetables
  • Rack of Lamb
Collage Of Spring Leafy Greens
Melange Of Chopped Garden Vegetables
Rack of Lamb

Old Fort Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Scenic View
South Carolina
Best Overall
Hilton Head
5 More
Best Service
Hilton Head
Best Ambiance
Hilton Head
Romantic
Hilton Head
Scenic View
Hilton Head
Special Occasion
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

Scenic View (77)
Special Occasion (64)
Romantic (52)
See All
Fit for Foodies (35)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Notable Wine List (20)
Great for Brunch (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Waterfront (12)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Cozy (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Historic (5)
Authentic (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
Casual (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Business Meals (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Healthy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fun (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1312 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I love going to this rest ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I love going to this restaurant every time we are in Hilton Head. The view is outstanding, especially at sunset, and the service is impeccable. Food is good too. We would highly recommend this restaurant to family and friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Historic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We dine at the Old Fort Pub each year wh ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

We dine at the Old Fort Pub each year when we return to Hilton Head. We are never disappointed. Knowledgeable staff, great service and fabulous cuisine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant had a wonderful view of t ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant had a wonderful view of the inter-coastal waters, the wait staff was attentive, professional and friendly, and the food was wonderful! A great place for celebrating special occasions!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I felt that our choice for our 60th anni ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

I felt that our choice for our 60th anniversary was "on the mark". However, I was disappointed because the arrangements for flowers for my table did not materialize. Further, the young woman server was not as attentive as I would have expected.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A special waterfront view with delicious ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

A special waterfront view with delicious food - excellent birthday dinner evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Very reserved atmosphere in old building ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Very reserved atmosphere in old building. Great views of the inland waterway. Great sunsets and deck. Items compliments of the chef were nice touch. Elegant dining. Romantic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding service and ambiance.. view ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Outstanding service and ambiance.. view table with sunset over the islands to the west. Fillet was fantastic. Pork loin great too. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Hilton Head Island.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an outstanding dinner with frien ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had an outstanding dinner with friends. Dominiqu was our server, and was just exceptional and really ensured that we understood the specials and local favorites. We had a wonderful evening. Thank you!!! Thank you!!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Seasonal, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dinner and service and great ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Outstanding dinner and service and great view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This never disappoints, wish we had a di ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

This never disappoints, wish we had a different waiter, had this guy before and is not real warm and fuzzy..asked for menu opinions,,,said he couldn't give one...rude too...but food is wonderful!!

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is a great place for a special occa ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This is a great place for a special occasion. Beautiful windows overlook the water and sunset. Service is first-class. SheCrab soup is top-notch, fresh made bread is warm and delicious and desserts (pecan pie and blueberry crisp) are large enough to share with 4 people. Two of the 4 main meals (pork loin and swordfish) were both overcooked to well-done although medium was requested. Presentation and vegetables all great. An old-time favorite from years ago, we gave this place a try again but the food quality did not match the high prices.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful restaurant! I always look for ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Wonderful restaurant! I always look forward to coming to the Old Fort Pub.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a fine dining experience. And a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Always a fine dining experience. And a wonderful ambience.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, great ambience. We will ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Wonderful food, great ambience. We will definitely return and will recommend to others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Healthy, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant on Hilton Head. ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Our favorite restaurant on Hilton Head. Have been going here for special occasions and 'just because' dinners for decades. They have a good happy hour (drinks and apps at reduced prices... Call to be sure). On the water, sunset views and frequent dolphin sightings. Excellent food, great service, set in old south charm. Need reservations especially in season and to get a waterfront table. Enjoy!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we had was great and you cann ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Everything we had was great and you cannot beat the location and view from this restaurant. My only criticism is the portion size of our entree. My husband and I both got the filet dinner, which is the most expensive option on the menu, and the size of the filet's did not at all match the amount that we paid for them. It seems like they should have been thicker. They were delicious just wish I had felt like we got more for our money.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Such a disappointment! This was probabl ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Such a disappointment! This was probably our 10th visit. We almost always bring out-of-town guests, because we've previously considered this to be one of the more special restaurants on the island. First of all, it was stifling hot. We had to ask for the thermostat to be adjusted, which they did. But the service was AWFUL!! Two hours for two courses is ridiculous!! Our waiter paid virtually no attention to us. We sat, and sat and sat - first for the salads, then for the entrees - with no explanation whatsoever. We had to REQUEST a second bottle of wine - no one bothered to ask if we wanted another although our glasses were clearly empty. Our reservation was for 8 PM on a Saturday, which I know is a busy time. But, by 9 PM, the place was clearing out - so what was the problem?! We'll think twice about returning.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Famous for their she-crab soup, and righ ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Famous for their she-crab soup, and rightly so. I'd skip the Caesar salad, which was bland. The entrees were delicious. The flatiron steak special was as tender as most filet mignonette, and came with very flavorful collard greens. Also recommend the bouillabaisse. Can't comment on desserts, since we were too full, but we managed to fit in the complimentary chocolate truffle that came with our coffee. A smart move by the management - the "Fort Pub" coupons they gave us to encourage a return visit!

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food, staff, ambiance, location... can't ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Food, staff, ambiance, location... can't say enough wonderful things about Old Fort Pub. A meal to remember!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've dined here numerous times over man ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

We've dined here numerous times over many years. The view is one of the highlights, but everything about this restaurant is top notch. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable, but professional. The wine list has good variety, and offerings are reasonably priced, although it is possible to go for broke, too. The menu is skewed to the low-country offerings typical of the region with a nice blend of seafood and meats. Food was expertly prepared with somewhat novel treatments of old favorites like shrimp & grits. This place has managed to maintain its high standards for many years, which is likely a testament to good management.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I enjoyed an extraordinarily ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed an extraordinarily nice dinner at the OFP, beginning with a wonderful sunset through the perfect cups of coffee--all we had room for at desert time! We shared the Maine Mussels in a sumptuously seasoned tomato-based broth. Excellent. Both my wife's deliciously-prepared swordfish over risotto and my perfectly flame-broiled veal chop were artfully presented and nicely proportioned. Her Riesling and my Pinot Noir were excellent accompaniments. Service was meticulous and attentive. We had not been to the restaurant in awhile, and we were very pleased--a well executed and presented dinner, like prior visits.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are locals and decided to treat ourse ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We are locals and decided to treat ourselves at Old Fort Pub! It is a bit pricey but well with it! The duck breast was cooked exactly how I asked. It was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Wonderful find in a quiet area of HHI. T ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Wonderful find in a quiet area of HHI. The kids enjoyed exploring Fort Mitchell right next door. View was outstanding and the wait staff was "spot on". Not rushed, very enjoyable. The swordfish was the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We went with friends and the food was ou ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went with friends and the food was outstanding. The sunset was spectacular!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The island's best kept secret. Intoxica ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The island's best kept secret. Intoxicating sunsets in this serene, waterfront setting. Fine dining with a superb wine list. Impeccably preferred seafood. So many outstanding entrees. The swordfish was prepared with cilantro, guacamole, on a bed of fluffy rice. My family ordered the trout with artichokes, mashed potatoes. Best pecan pie ever. Don't forget to order the mussels to start. Billy, our waiter, was remarkably gracious, welcoming and so informative about how each entree was prepared. He truly enhanced this exceptional dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Old Fort Pub is a 4 Diamond/4 Star R ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The Old Fort Pub is a 4 Diamond/4 Star Restaurant located inside Hilton Head Plantation. The dining area overlooks Skull Creek also know as the Intercoastal Waterway. It has spectacular sunsets in the summer, early fall and late spring. As you would expect in a 4 Star restaurant, the food is perfect and the service is beyond reproach. Portions are generous but not overwhelming, except for the deserts which all require sharing.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Cozy, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Historic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome views particularly at sunset. V ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Awesome views particularly at sunset. Very accommodating and friendly staff. Food was outstanding, especially the Low Country Shellfish Cakes. The best version of a crab cake that we've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beginning with sunset on deck with a gla ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Beginning with sunset on deck with a glass of wine, great service inside ding room, and wonderful dinner it was a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding in every way! Beautiful wat ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Outstanding in every way! Beautiful waterfront setting, great food and excellent service combined to make this a memorable evening. It's now on our "must do" list for our return trip to Hilton Head.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful evening - it is always great e ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

wonderful evening - it is always great every year when we make sure we go!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great spot. A real gem. Wonderful food ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

A great spot. A real gem. Wonderful food and an up to date menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic experience. Great food, view a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Fantastic experience. Great food, view and the service was good. Thank you for helping us celebrate our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Another outstanding Brunch. Duck Patii ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Another outstanding Brunch. Duck Patii to start with and then Eggs Benedict. The fruit: strawberries, pineapple and orange slices were excellent. The brown potatoes needed to be a slightly warmer, was the only slip up with the meal. Shared a portion of pecan pie for desert. It was to die for especially with the fresh homemade whip cream.

Mouth is watering thinking about our next return to this great place......

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were on a kid-free getaway (yay!) fro ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were on a kid-free getaway (yay!) from Charleston and the Old Fort Pub was absolutely delightful. We (or rather I since I planned the weekend and do men really care?) wanted something romantic with a great view. The Old Fort Pub hit all the marks- great ambiance, service, cocktails and food. We joke that we have turned into food snobs (but we really have) since moving to Charleston and Old Fort Pub definitely rates. We have been raving about dinner to anyone that will listen. I will literally go back to Hilton Head Island just for the steak at Old Fort Pub. It was cooked to perfection. I don't even like mashed potatoes but I would have licked the plate if it wasn't frowned upon since they were so stinking good. And I don't know what kind of witch craft goes on in that kitchen, but the sauce was pure magic. I'm sitting at my desk writing this review having dinner depression because nothing I whip up will even come close. Oh, and the bread with lavender butter? Like flower butter from heaven. Seriously, make a reservation, have a cocktail, enjoy the view and be ready to have your mind blown and put into a food coma from the delicious goodness that is Old Fort Pub.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Living on Hilton Head Island for 17 year ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Living on Hilton Head Island for 17 years, we have visited the Old Fort Pub many times, usually for special occasions. This visit was at, or very near, the top of the list. Food was outstanding, we had a table at the windows to enjoy a beautiful sunset and had a wonderful time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice meal with beautiful views and excel ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Nice meal with beautiful views and excellent service. The price point and the quality/variety don't match up, but still nice quiet meal in a nice setting. The clientele is mostly locals that know the menu and the staff, so I wouldn't expect much change in either there

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Awesome meal out on the porch generous p ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Awesome meal out on the porch generous portions and great food. Service was also great. Thx!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This has always been our favorite restau ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This has always been our favorite restaurant in Hilton Head- however the food and service were not that great at our most recent visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Very charming place on the water. Great ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Very charming place on the water. Great view! Excellent service and delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Adding Old Fort Pub to the list of resta ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Adding Old Fort Pub to the list of restaurants to return to. Service and food were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.