About Old Fort Pub

65 Skull Creek Drive
Hilton Head Island, SC 29926
View Larger Map

Old Fort Pub is a charming restaurant with one of the best views on Hilton Head Island. Perched on the banks of the Intra-coastal Waterway, it showcases unrivaled nightly sunsets and a rich history. So named for the adjacent Civil War shore battery, Fort Mitchel, the restaurant’s foyer is decorated with historic photos depicting the “War of Northern Aggression".

Previously featured on The Food Network and in other notable publications, the Old Fort Pub has become a tradition for over 35 years. Guests enjoy Chef Keith Josefiak’s “New Southern” favorites inspired with influences from around the globe. An excellent choice for a celebrating a birthday, holiday or a romantic evening.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner
March - November:
Seven Days, 5:00pm - 10:00pm

December - February:
Seven Days, 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 681-2386

Website:
http://www.oldfortpub.com/

Executive Chef:
Keith Josefiak

Private Party Contact:
General Manager: 8436812386x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Collage Of Spring Leafy Greens
  • Melange Of Chopped Garden Vegetables
  • Rack of Lamb
Collage Of Spring Leafy Greens
Melange Of Chopped Garden Vegetables
Rack of Lamb

Old Fort Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Scenic View
South Carolina
Best Overall
Hilton Head
4 More
Best Service
Hilton Head
Best Ambiance
Hilton Head
Scenic View
Hilton Head
Special Occasion
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

Scenic View (96)
Special Occasion (82)
Romantic (70)
See All
Fit for Foodies (41)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Notable Wine List (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1285 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome views particularly at sunset. V ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome views particularly at sunset. Very accommodating and friendly staff. Food was outstanding, especially the Low Country Shellfish Cakes. The best version of a crab cake that we've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beginning with sunset on deck with a gla ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Beginning with sunset on deck with a glass of wine, great service inside ding room, and wonderful dinner it was a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

wonderful evening - it is always great e ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

wonderful evening - it is always great every year when we make sure we go!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great spot. A real gem. Wonderful food ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

A great spot. A real gem. Wonderful food and an up to date menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic experience. Great food, view a ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Fantastic experience. Great food, view and the service was good. Thank you for helping us celebrate our anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Another outstanding Brunch. Duck Patii ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Another outstanding Brunch. Duck Patii to start with and then Eggs Benedict. The fruit: strawberries, pineapple and orange slices were excellent. The brown potatoes needed to be a slightly warmer, was the only slip up with the meal. Shared a portion of pecan pie for desert. It was to die for especially with the fresh homemade whip cream.

Mouth is watering thinking about our next return to this great place......

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were on a kid-free getaway (yay!) fro ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were on a kid-free getaway (yay!) from Charleston and the Old Fort Pub was absolutely delightful. We (or rather I since I planned the weekend and do men really care?) wanted something romantic with a great view. The Old Fort Pub hit all the marks- great ambiance, service, cocktails and food. We joke that we have turned into food snobs (but we really have) since moving to Charleston and Old Fort Pub definitely rates. We have been raving about dinner to anyone that will listen. I will literally go back to Hilton Head Island just for the steak at Old Fort Pub. It was cooked to perfection. I don't even like mashed potatoes but I would have licked the plate if it wasn't frowned upon since they were so stinking good. And I don't know what kind of witch craft goes on in that kitchen, but the sauce was pure magic. I'm sitting at my desk writing this review having dinner depression because nothing I whip up will even come close. Oh, and the bread with lavender butter? Like flower butter from heaven. Seriously, make a reservation, have a cocktail, enjoy the view and be ready to have your mind blown and put into a food coma from the delicious goodness that is Old Fort Pub.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Living on Hilton Head Island for 17 year ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Living on Hilton Head Island for 17 years, we have visited the Old Fort Pub many times, usually for special occasions. This visit was at, or very near, the top of the list. Food was outstanding, we had a table at the windows to enjoy a beautiful sunset and had a wonderful time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice meal with beautiful views and excel ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Nice meal with beautiful views and excellent service. The price point and the quality/variety don't match up, but still nice quiet meal in a nice setting. The clientele is mostly locals that know the menu and the staff, so I wouldn't expect much change in either there

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Awesome meal out on the porch generous p ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Awesome meal out on the porch generous portions and great food. Service was also great. Thx!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This has always been our favorite restau ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This has always been our favorite restaurant in Hilton Head- however the food and service were not that great at our most recent visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Very charming place on the water. Great ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Very charming place on the water. Great view! Excellent service and delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Adding Old Fort Pub to the list of resta ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Adding Old Fort Pub to the list of restaurants to return to. Service and food were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite spot on Hilton Head...great ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Our favorite spot on Hilton Head...great food and wonderful view. Drop by the bar during happy hour...and then have dinner. Makes for a memorable dining experience

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful, elegant place to have Sunday ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Beautiful, elegant place to have Sunday brunch. Excellent food and exceptional service is a mainstay at the Old Fort Pub.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old Fort Pub is a truly genuine masterpi ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Old Fort Pub is a truly genuine masterpiece of a dining experience. It is unexcelled as a venue for a special occasion although a showplace for good, meaningful dining especially at sunset.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of the best restaurants we'v ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants we've experienced on HHI. The food was excellent and carefully and skillfully prepared. Served with so much confidence there is no salt & pepper on the table! Chilled beet salad was most unusual and delicious. Hanger steak was excellent both in quality of meat and grilling. Shrimp and Grits was very good as well. Service was prompt, professional neither stiff nor overly friendly. Very efficient and nicely dressed wait staff. We will return and will recommend to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

Very Good, every time we are in Hilton H ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Very Good, every time we are in Hilton Head we come to the Old Fort Pub.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved everything although we didn't get ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Loved everything although we didn't get the window table we requested

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants when we are in Hilton Head. We will definitely return when we are back in HHI. Well done and thanks for making our evening exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating the August birthdays ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were celebrating the August birthdays of our husbands on this occasion. I called ahead to inquire about bringing a cake and the restaurant was very accommodating, including lighting the candles when the cake was brought to the table. Our server was always nearby, but not overbearing to make sure our needs were being met.

The food is outstanding! Fresh and flavorful from the she crab soup (you must try it) to the Boullibaisse (full of seafood and a wonderful Saffron broth). Two of the guests had the dinner special which was a flounder stuffed with crab but instead of the traditional way it is usually served the flounder was actually wrapped around the crab in the middle. The other guest had the lamb and said it was wonderful. The only negative complaint was about the wedge salad, which according to the person eating it, did not seem as fresh as other dishes, and required additional dressing.

The scenery is beautiful, especially if you get to catch a sunset. The tables are beautifully dressed with white cloths. We were on the porch and you could not have asked for a more romantic setting.

We will return to Old Fort Pub as we live close enough to drive there at least a few times a year. Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrate all of our special occasion ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We celebrate all of our special occasions at The Old Fort Pub. It is a beautiful and historic site. The Happy Hour food and drink selection is beyond compare. Jerry and Sandy are the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was not over impressed with the food for ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Was not over impressed with the food for the price I expected the quality to better.

One meal was removed as the were bitter.

Bartender was very and engaging . Service was excellent

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Excellent service. Provided a water view ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent service. Provided a water view as requested for our 33 wedding anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food and ambiance. Leave the k ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Fantastic food and ambiance. Leave the kids home, not a place for them

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Finest dining and service on the island! ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Finest dining and service on the island! A true gem!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I were there for my birth ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

My husband and I were there for my birthday/our anniversary celebration. I asked for a table by the window with a good view of the water and we got it all......it was absolutely beautiful! Our waiter was great and the food amazing, a perfectly romantic evening.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We recognized our waiter from our last v ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We recognized our waiter from our last visit three years ago. We don't travel to the Hilton Head area often, but we always try to eat at the Old Fort Pub.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fort pub was perfect. The service is out ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fort pub was perfect. The service is outstanding food is top notch and of course there's the view!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are new to HHI less than 1 year, we s ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We are new to HHI less than 1 year, we started visiting the Old Fort Pub for Sunday Brunch, we now have tried the Pub for happy hour and dinner. We have not been disappointed on any visit, the food is always 1st class , but the Service and Views are superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Everything was delicious. The brunch was ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Everything was delicious. The brunch was super and the crawfish fish was filled with fish. Very tasty. The view of the water makes this a special occasion brunch restaurant .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the best meal we had in a 10 day stay. W ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

the best meal we had in a 10 day stay. We both had Grouper with house-smoked scallops and shrimp.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful romantic setting. Delicious fo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Beautiful romantic setting. Delicious food. Excellent, attentive service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

This was my 10th - 15th trip to the Old ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This was my 10th - 15th trip to the Old Fort Pub for dinner. The service, ambiance and quality of the meal is always outstanding. If you want to cut costs go for the "first seating". Worth the money!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My pork tenderloin was really salty almo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My pork tenderloin was really salty almost not consumable ! In my opinion wrapped bacon doesn't cause to be too salty.

Presentation of the dish was great !

Usually food is pretty good !

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

An unbelievable neighborhood gem ! Food ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

An unbelievable neighborhood gem ! Food was fabulous, service good , view stunning !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoyed dinner here on July 18. The res ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Enjoyed dinner here on July 18. The restaurant was as beautiful as it was on our last visit 25 years ago. Our server as well as the bartender Jerry were both very personable. We ordered 2 salads and 2 entrees. Our salad never arrived but it all worked out as we were not able to finish our meals and eating the salad would have been too much. The food (pork loin and the shellcakes) were quite good and well presented. Will definately return.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

This used to be a favorite spot for a sp ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This used to be a favorite spot for a special occasion with the food always reliably excellent. Was very disappointed this time my wife had fish and I had a $42 veal chop neither was good. My wife's fish was plopped on some mashed potatoes with the skin on it. My veal chop was tough in the knife was still. When you play this kind of money you expect more.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I've been to OFP on many occasions over ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I've been to OFP on many occasions over the years. However, the Restaurant seems to have raised the bar to a new level as the food was exceptionally good on this visit. The She Crab soup was, as always, great. We also enjoyed the beat salad, mushroom soup etc. Our group of 7 were seated promptly per our reservation. Our server Dan was very attentive throughout the evening and made some excellent recommendations. Our diners enjoyed the Veal Chop special done to perfection, the flat iron steak was as good as it gets and the lamb chops were as always delicious.The Carolina Trout is also a menu highlight but we did not have it this time. For dessert the peach cobbler cake was good but not great however the creme brulee was as good as you will get anywhere. For a special HHI occasion enjoying beautiful scenery, there isn't a better restaurant you could find on the island or anywhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OFP never disappoints! We continue to p ...

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

OFP never disappoints! We continue to patronize this neighborhood gem, appreciating the warm welcome, friendly service, and pleasant surroundings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.