About Old Fort Pub

65 Skull Creek Drive
Hilton Head Island, SC 29926
View Larger Map

Old Fort Pub is a charming restaurant with one of the best views on Hilton Head Island. Perched on the banks of the Intra-coastal Waterway, it showcases unrivaled nightly sunsets and a rich history. So named for the adjacent Civil War shore battery, Fort Mitchel, the restaurant’s foyer is decorated with historic photos depicting the “War of Northern Aggression".

Previously featured on The Food Network and in other notable publications, the Old Fort Pub has become a tradition for over 35 years. Guests enjoy Chef Keith Josefiak’s “New Southern” favorites inspired with influences from around the globe. An excellent choice for a celebrating a birthday, holiday or a romantic evening.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner
March - November:
Seven Days, 5:00pm - 10:00pm

December - February:
Seven Days, 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 681-2386

Website:
http://www.oldfortpub.com/

Executive Chef:
Keith Josefiak

Private Party Contact:
General Manager: (843) 681-2386

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Collage Of Spring Leafy Greens - Old Fort Pub, Hilton Head Island, SC
  • Melange Of Chopped Garden Vegetables - Old Fort Pub, Hilton Head Island, SC
  • Rack of Lamb - Old Fort Pub, Hilton Head Island, SC

Report a photo problem

Collage Of Spring Leafy Greens - Old Fort Pub, Hilton Head Island, SC
Melange Of Chopped Garden Vegetables - Old Fort Pub, Hilton Head Island, SC
Rack of Lamb - Old Fort Pub, Hilton Head Island, SC

Old Fort Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (44)
Scenic View (42)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
See All
Waterfront (39)
Romantic (31)
Good for a Date (29)
Historic (27)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Cozy (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Authentic (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Seasonal (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Business Meals (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Casual (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Healthy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Private Room (1)
Live Music (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1464 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Old Fort Pub just never fails to bring a ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

Old Fort Pub just never fails to bring a smile to my face. From the friendly staff who stays with you from the moment you walk in until you finish to the wait staff, thanks Jennifer,. Our table wasn't quite ready and they walked us to a table in the bar to wait. Lovely atmosphere. Food was great and having their 3 for $33 menu was amazing. Will keep going back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful exper ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful experience here for dinner. Our server Ryan was great. The food was phenomenal. A very great place for A quiet date night. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, , Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent sea food and great ambiance. w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 7, 2017

excellent sea food and great ambiance. would and have recommended to friends

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Been to old fort a few times. Always be ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Been to old fort a few times. Always beautiful. Service is excellent. Food looks beautiful. She crab is the best in hilton head.. My salmon was a little over cooked but not bad enough to send back. We will come again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Service and quality of the food was exce ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Service and quality of the food was excellent . One of the best restaurants on the Island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating our wedding annivers ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and we couldn't have chosen a more perfect restaurant. Our wait staff saw to our every need (Michelle, I think). Food was delicious and served in a timely sequence. We are anxious to return.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Liam was a delightful server. He was go ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Liam was a delightful server. He was good humor rd and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good. A bit out of the way ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was good. A bit out of the way from everything, so before booking, see how far your hotel is from the restaurant. 25 minutes from Sea Pines. Also, try to get there prior to the sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Consistently great dining experience in ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Consistently great dining experience in a relaxing atmosphere. The creative quality of the chef and the wonderful service staff make dining at Old Fort Pub a pleasure each and every time we go. Enjoy a cocktail at the bar prior to dinner and enjoy the sunset.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a late reservation for New Years Eve ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had a late reservation for New Years Eve and waited at the bar for our table. After an hourlong wait they seated us at a table. We had a good time despite the wait. Good, service and food. Jerry the bartender is a pro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The Old Fort Pub has always been one of ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The Old Fort Pub has always been one of our restaurants for a special event... this time it was New Years Eve.. It it a lovely restaurant with a great view of the water and sunsets in the summer time...The New Year,s Eve fixed menu was excellent. It was pricey with the wine , but it was New Years Eve.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fixed menu for New Year's Eve but had pl ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fixed menu for New Year's Eve but had plenty of choices. Food temperature could have been a little hotter but all in all great food with a fabulous presentation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Jim Dungan! Jim Dungan! Jim Dungan! How ...

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Jim Dungan! Jim Dungan! Jim Dungan! How wonderful our evening was, thanks to friendly, efficient service, magnificent chef skills, and presentation. A New Year's Eve magical moment!

Thank you for making the start of 2017 very special for us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years Eve meal was horrible. We hav ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Years Eve meal was horrible. We have been to Old Fort Pub many times and this was not the usual. Food was bad. Prices were high, which we usually have no problem with, but the food was so bad this time we felt ripped off. May not go backp

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Outstanding. Our Server Jim Dungan full ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Outstanding. Our Server Jim Dungan fully represents the class elegance and wonderful ambiance of this Hilton Head classic. Extraordinary food with both tremendous seafood and meat selections as well as great vegetarian offerings

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Vegan, , Scenic View, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Cozy, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

6 people, all enjoyed their dinner,

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

6 people, all enjoyed their dinner,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great food and service. You can't go wr ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food and service. You can't go wrong. One of our favorite places on the island

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old Fort Pub is our go-to place for Than ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Old Fort Pub is our go-to place for Thanksgiving/Christmas. I believe this was our 6th year. It is nice to be recognized, especially by the serving staff. They are a special treat! Now that we have provided transportation, it gives us both a chance to enjoy the libations, particularly the after dinner holiday specials.

Tags: Waterfront, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I had not looked at the menu online befo ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I had not looked at the menu online before dining there, and was pleasantly surprised at the offerings. The name may include the word "Pub", but the fare is not pub fare. Granted, if their menu consisted of traditional pub food, it would be delicious. Our party included a pescetarian and 3 carnivores, and there were fine choices for us all. The desserts are made on-site by a pastry chef, and were wonderful. The view is westward, and we caught the beautiful sunset as we were seated.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, , Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

just had some issues with our waiter ove ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

just had some issues with our waiter overall we found him at time very abrupt and some what stressed.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

The Christmas day prime rib was exceptio ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The Christmas day prime rib was exceptional...as was the beet salad. The "perfect " margarita truly was perfect. View couldn't be beat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed our Christmas Eve dinn ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We really enjoyed our Christmas Eve dinner! The food and the service were very good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great my wife had the salmon ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Service was great my wife had the salmon & substituted Risoto for grits everything done just right I had the Grouper special very good. Adequate wine list Desert was a little disappointing but could have been my choice as was limited. Server was always available & helpful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Christmas dinner for 3 of us - the peopl ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Christmas dinner for 3 of us - the people were so nice and accommodative for my 92-year-old mother who had a walker. The staff helped us in into a lovely table , appetizers, And salads were spectacular my Seafood Dish was great - my wife's and my mom's dinner was a little under par. My wife ordered short ribs and it was unexplained that horseradish was on the top. My wife consumed the horseradish thinking in the dark light it may have been potatoes it ruined her taste for the rest of the meal.

Overall I enjoyed the experience a few mishaps with the food the service was spectacular

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Watch out for the slippery waiter being ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Watch out for the slippery waiter being the most expensive bottle of wine when he was told others, he shows you the bottle and you expect it is one you told him...but no, it was almost double cost...and at the end he gave himself a big tip, maybe 20%. Not going back

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

Outstanding! She crab soup was amazing. ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Outstanding! She crab soup was amazing. Nice ambience and view. Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful setting as afternoon light fad ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Wonderful setting as afternoon light faded to evening. The cocktails were just right. The calamari was interesting but I've had better. A generous portion of short ribs in a delicious gravy. Nice dessert of poached pineapple in a riesling,vanilla,and ginger concoction. Really special. Good coffee and conversation. A great evening, we'll be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We always look forward to the 3 course s ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We always look forward to the 3 course special. All of our meals were wonderful and the atmosphere is cozy and warm. Our server Ryan was attentive and thorough. We truly enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE love this restaurant. The food is fa ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 8, 2016

WE love this restaurant. The food is fantastic, especially the salmon with cranberries. The best atmosphere on the island.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the second we walked in we were gre ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 8, 2016

From the second we walked in we were greeted and directed to our table.

The room was wonderfully decorated for the holidays.

Our waiter was friendly and informative. He shared with us the specials which helped to pick out appropriate wines.

Food was excellent with a nice presentation.

I had the pork chop which was the most tender pork I have ever had.

I highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious meal. We went for 5 pm to see ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Delicious meal. We went for 5 pm to see the sunset. It was a beautiful view. Their special was 3 courses for $33. Service was great, and the food was wonderful. Would definitely return!

Tags: Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to Old Fort Pu ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This was our second visit to Old Fort Pub in less than a week because of the excellent dining experience the first visit. Every part of the experience was as good as the first time-food,service, ambiance and value. The winter special of any 3-course meal for $33 any time is a great deal and Jennifer's attention to every service detail made both visits memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great. Experience! Our server, Jessica, ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Great. Experience! Our server, Jessica, was great! The view from the dining room was great! The special 3 for $33 off the regular menu at any time (not just at early dining hours!) was great! Food was great! Atmosphere was great! We plan to dine here again before we leave the island--twice in six days! What more can we say!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, we had a great dinner. Choic ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

As always, we had a great dinner. Choices are excellent and always something for everyone. This is one of our favorite spots for ourselves, but we always take our out of town guests to this restaurant. Never disappointed !

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

It is the only place we go for Thanksgiv ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

It is the only place we go for Thanksgiving and Christmas dinner. We have been going there about 6 years, at least. Having transportation to and from allows both of us to enjoy the entire meals, drinks, wine, after dinner special drinks, in complete enjoyment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Scenic View, , Creative Cuisine, Historic, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy Old Fort Pub and this Th ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We always enjoy Old Fort Pub and this Thanksgiving was no exception. My husband had the ravioli appetizer while I opted for butternut squash soup. We both had the traditional turkey dinner which was wonderful. I had pumpkin pie which was very good and very large (I left half of it) and my husband the people an pie. Our waiter was very professional and courteous. We will continue to dine here when we are in Bluffton!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had Thanksgiving Dinner here with my wif ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had Thanksgiving Dinner here with my wife. We were happy to have a window table. Staff seemed al little rushed but understandable being it was a holiday! Our food was excellent! We enjoyed the evening very much!

Tags: Historic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Went to Old Fort Pub for Thanksgiving di ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went to Old Fort Pub for Thanksgiving dinner. In addition to their regular menu, they had a turkey dinner. We each started with a different soup and then had the turkey dinner. The turkey was moist and everything was delicious. It was every bit as good as a home cooked turkey dinner but with none of the work.

Tags: Scenic View, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Thanksgiving dinner was exceptionally go ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner was exceptionally good; moist turkey and all of the fixen's were outstanding. Always an excellent meal, good service and atmosphere was perfect with a beautiful sunset.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, People Watching, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Healthy, Casual, Historic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. On the wate ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Excellent food and service. On the water so get a table near the window and try to get there while it is still light or, better yet, at sunset.

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.