Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

About Old Fort Pub

Old Fort Pub is a charming restaurant with one of the best views on Hilton Head Island. Perched on the banks of the Intra-coastal Waterway, it showcases unrivaled nightly sunsets and a rich history. So named for the adjacent Civil War shore battery, Fort Mitchel, the restaurant’s foyer is decorated with historic photos depicting the “War of Northern Aggression".

Previously featured on The Food Network and in other notable publications, the Old Fort Pub has become a tradition for over 35 years. Guests enjoy Chef Keith Josefiak’s “New Southern” favorites inspired with influences from around the globe. An excellent choice for a celebrating a birthday, holiday or a romantic evening.

65 Skull Creek Drive
Hilton Head Island, SC 29926
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner
March - November:
Seven Days, 5:00pm - 10:00pm

December - February:
Seven Days, 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 681-2386

Website:
http://www.oldfortpub.com/

Executive Chef:
Keith Josefiak

Private Party Contact:
General Manager: (843) 681-2386

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Old Fort Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (90)
Waterfront (87)
Special Occasion (72)
See All
Romantic (53)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Good for a Date (50)
Worth the Drive (44)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Historic (40)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Local Ingredients (28)
Notable Wine List (27)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Authentic (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Cozy (23)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Casual (9)
Business Meals (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Seasonal (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Healthy (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fun (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Live Music (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1599 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed our dinner a great deal. The view, service and food were all outstanding. I look forward to returning for another dinner and beautiful view

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Very good meal, lovely waterfront.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

This was a dinner for our 40th wedding anniversary and we had been here several times before over the years... the atmosphere and the views are outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was delicious and beautiful presentation. Vegetables cooked to perfection. I think the waitress forgot us. I had to get up and pour myself a second glass of wine from my split.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

We are on vacation and was delighted to find such a gem of a restaurant. Going back again before we go home.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We went to Old Fort Pub with a group of eight friends and found it to be delightful. The food was excellent and the service for our group was outstanding. Our every need was anticipated and our entire group commented on the attention we received not only from our server but a number of others assisting the server. Everyone in our group felt that this was a great dining experience. Thank you for a lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Cozy place - old South architecture - Good food - great service - romantic - great date destination - bugs outside, so recommend an inside seat - incredible sunset views over the water

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 16, 2017

beautiful setting on the water with great sunset at dinner time. Food and service was very good but expensive

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Delicious fish meals with wonderful presentation. Enjoyable staff. Fabulous view, especially as the sun set.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went there for Mothers Day. Great food. Great sea front view. Perfect atmosphere for celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Always wonderful experience! Been dining at the OFP since I was a teenager. It's fantastic and the view is outstanding as is the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Delicious food and beautiful view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had a nice evening and really enjoyed ourselves. It was our out of towns guest 40th anniversary which I put in the notes when I made the reservation and my husband and aI both mentioned to hostess when we got there. This couple honeymooned in Hilton Head 40 years ago to the day and ate at Old a Fort then. I was terribly disappointed that the waitress nor anyone on the staff said happy anniversary or congratulations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Beautiful view, yes. Bad service and worse food...yes. So many bugs on the patio that servers actually passed out bug spray...also yes. Unless you are going with about 2 hours of time on your hands and plans to only have a cocktail or two and wearing pants with socks and long sleeves and quite possibly mosquito netting around your face... don't go. The service and food are unfortunately not enough to make the view and ambiance worth it. And that says a lot considering the sunset was beautiful. As another reviewer said....was expecting an iconic experience, didn't get it. Not just underwhelmed but also annoyed at the amount spent on dinner for some of the worst food over our vacation weekend. Never again and would not recommend.

Tags: Historic, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Excellent food.
Lovely setting

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 12, 2017

A Real Winner - as good as advertised. Great wine selection and great food in an absolutely great low country setting. My wife's Boulibasse was loaded with sumptuous seafood and my shellfish cakes were not only delicious but really filling for a big eater! Our waiter "Shane" was perfectly attentive and offered good advice on the selections. A little pricey but overall a good value for the food, drink and ambiance.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Whenever my husband and I visit Hilton Head, we always have a date at Old Fort Pub. The ambience is special, romantic. Watching the sun set during dinner is a wonderful bonus. The food is top notch, as is the service. My highest recommendation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Food was attractive and nicely prepared. Extensive wine list. Service was excellent--not as attentive as the place got busy toward the end of our meal. Definitely a repeater.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This place is very expensive but the food and service is fabulous and well worth the price for a special occasion, or in out case, the one special night out during our week in Hilton Head.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Excellent in every way

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 9, 2017

First visit. The service and ambience were great. Food was so so. Was expecting an iconic experience, didn't get it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Shane was a fabulous server. We were very silly and he played along and did not get irritated.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This restaurant was great in all ways! The attmosphere was lovely, definitely more like fine dining then a pub. The food was amazing, especially the She Crab soup and beet salad! The main course was delicious as well! And lastly, the service was flawless! Great dining experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

As always a wonderful experience. Both the menu and service are top notch.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Probably the best food best view on the water and most romantic restaurant on all of H H I. See you next time we come back

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We headed out to the Old Fort Pub for dinner based on a recommendation from a good friend here in the Seattle area. Contrary to it's name, the place is not really a pub but a very traditional dinner house with an amazing view. We were in our "resort wear" which for me was shorts and an izod shirt. Most of the folks eating there were in jackets for the men and dresses for the women but that was OK. I handled it. Once I was sitting down, no one knew I was in shorts. And later when a young gentlemen walked in wearing a jacket and tie but with a HUGE rainbow mohawk. From that point on, I was just fine.

Had a nice squid appetizer, some decent bread but my entrée was totally disappointing. I had ordered the pork tenderloin which came wrapped in prosciutto, a very salty prosciutto. This would have been OK except for some reason it came with a soy-based Asian sauce that was also very salty. This made it pretty much inedible. Like licking a salt block. A very poor choice by the chef. I know that I should have sent it back after a bite or two but kept hoping that it would get better. On the other hand, Kathleen loved everything she had and the service was good, but all in all, it was the most disappointing meal we had on the trip. Not the worst by a long shot, but the most disappointing. We did have an excellent dessert but I am darned if I can remember what it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great evening. Sat outside on a perfect evening (until the wind died down and some bugs came). Nevertheless, the shrimp was very good and the seafood cakes were excellent. Our waiter was attentive without being intrusive. Plan to go back again.
On a side note, the restaurant is in Hilton Head Plantation, so you get a pass at the gate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Delicious food in a sophisticated environment. Lovely sunset views from this dining room and upper deck.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Lovely view & location. Have been dining here for 32 years!
Given too much food. Entree was served in good sized serving bowl.
Omelette and burger, in a take away box, do not do well the next day.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This is a favorite of us for many years. We always come down and it is a must everytrip. We love this place !!

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great service, food, and view. Sat in main ding room and noise level was a little high.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 28, 2017

What a great place for a good food and drinks while enjoying the view of the bay

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Historic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great sunset view from the porch....highly recommend sitting outside. There are plenty of fans and umbrellas to stay cool.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 27, 2017

View is spectacular! Food was excellent! Server who we were told had been there for years spoke broken English and had to keep leaning in to hear. Owner/manager was delightful. Don't miss this experience when in Hilton Head and get a table by the window.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Hot Spot, Authentic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The shecrab soup is amazing. The flat iron steak special was awful. First attempt was way over cooked; sent it back. Second was closer to medium rare but no flavor other tan a grilled burnt taste. Not high quality beef. Stick with the seafood. They initially charged me for both orders. Had to notify the waitress to remove one order. I couldn't eat either one. My first bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Old Fort is always a place to have a great meal. The setting on Skull Creek is beautiful especially around sunset.

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We visit Old Fort Pub on ever visit (one to two times a year) to the island. Last night's visit will be our last. The serve was rushed and snooty (we had the same experience last year but thought it to just be an off night.) If you are not a local you are non-existence. We were in and out of a fine dining restaurant in 45 min.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Our first time dining here. One of the reasons we chose this restaurant was the outstanding reviews that they received when so many of the upscale restaurants over the past month had subpar reviews. The reviews did not disappoint. The food was stellar the service was outstanding and when you consider their prices against the other high-end restaurants on the island you will find no difference but their service should bring you to them. They take their jobs and their restaurant seriously and do not take their patrons for granted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 25, 2017

I have no idea why all other reviews are so glowing. We were there with company, and none of the dishes we ordered were anywhere close to a 3 or 4 star meal. With exception of the wait staff (which was pleasant, informative, and personable), and the view (which is excellent), I would give the food 0 stars if I could. We were served raw lamb, some under-cooked grits (if that is what it was - very hard to determine), a pasta sauce that Chef Boyardee does better out of a can, and very sour cilantro sauce and avocado goop. If you are going to serve a $27 vegetarian pasta dish - you should do it amazingly well. Clearly, it is overpriced and so far under par - we won't be back.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Enjoyed the food. Server was not friendly actually rude at one point but we didn't let it ruin the experience. Would go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.