Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

About Old Fort Pub

Old Fort Pub is a charming restaurant with one of the best views on Hilton Head Island. Perched on the banks of the Intra-coastal Waterway, it showcases unrivaled nightly sunsets and a rich history. So named for the adjacent Civil War shore battery, Fort Mitchel, the restaurant’s foyer is decorated with historic photos depicting the “War of Northern Aggression".

Previously featured on The Food Network and in other notable publications, the Old Fort Pub has become a tradition for over 35 years. Guests enjoy Chef Keith Josefiak’s “New Southern” favorites inspired with influences from around the globe. An excellent choice for a celebrating a birthday, holiday or a romantic evening.

65 Skull Creek Drive
Hilton Head Island, SC 29926
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner
March - November:
Seven Days, 5:00pm - 10:00pm

December - February:
Seven Days, 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 681-2386

Website:
http://www.oldfortpub.com/

Executive Chef:
Broderick Weaver

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Old Fort Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (56)
Special Occasion (55)
Waterfront (44)
See All
Romantic (41)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Good for a Date (34)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Local Ingredients (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Cozy (17)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Authentic (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Bar Seating (6)
Business Meals (6)
Casual (5)
Seasonal (5)
Fun (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Music (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1704 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome food and great atmosphere. You get what you pay for and we would definitely go back when in town.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Always love this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

We brought a sizeable group for a business dinner. We had the entire second floor room to ourselves allowing easy communication between colleagues. The food was wonderful and the service outstanding. The view of Skull Creek at sundown was breathtaking.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

This has been one of our favorite places to eat for many years when visiting HHI. A beautiful sunset set the stage for a lovely meal. My only complaint would be that it was noisy and the restaurant was not even full. One boisterous table can spoil an evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 18, 2017

The food the service and the view was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Food and service were excellent chief adjusted dish to accommodate request

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Mental note - when the hostess pauses, gaze averts, and says "We have a nice table for you on the 2nd floor".... be very afraid. Neat restaurant, but we were seated in an area that the staff obviously doesn't like to serve because they have to go upstairs. Not nearly the experience of downstairs. Solid food, but couldn't overcome the bizarrely inconsistent service. It did become funny after a while, but surely not worth top dollar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We have never been to the Fort Pub so we decided to give it a try. Food was wonderful, service was exceptional. Our waitress Michelle was amazing best service we have had on the Island.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Great service and food. Very attentive to you throw out the meal

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 1, 2017

A little over priced on specials and didn't mention prices

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The view at sunset was stunning.The wait staff was helpful,course well timed. Everything from drinks, salad,main course and dessert delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2017

One of the finest places to eat on Hilton Head Island
Shane is a phenomenal waiter!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 29, 2017

We had s wonderfully meal. The atmosphere was very quiet and lovely.,we had a great shrimp dish with cheese polenta and sun dried tomatoes. Yummy. Nice size portions. Brought home 1/2 of the main dish. Great martinis with cheese olives. Special occasion restaurant restaurant . We would highly recommend.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Had good memories about this place. Arrived for brunch and had a spectacular table overlooking Skull Creek. Service was impeccable and polite. One of the meals arrived stone cold which put a damper on my wife's enthusiasm for the meal. The re-fired meal was acceptable but not anything special which matched the other two plates. Great views and staff, however not food on the same level.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We have been multiple times to OFP and had amazing experiences; however, this time was much different. It started with us being sat well after our reservation time, which normally we don't mind, but the restaurant was not full. The, once seated, it we waited over 15mins for anyone to acknowledge that we were at a table. In fact, we had to ask someone who wasn't our waiter if anyone was going to assist us. The manager came promptly after they realized the mistake and took our drink orders. Our waiter came shortly after, and he was one of the bright spots of the evening. The next issue that arose was that there was a fly in one of our glasses of wine. The food runner gentleman who came by to check on us was very apologetic and promptly brought a new glass of wine. He asked us if we had ordered yet because he also noticed that it was taking a very long time for our entrees. He also apologized for our wait. The food was decent - although I've had better here before. Needless to say, this was not a good experience. Our waiter did try to make it us to us by providing 2 glasses of champagne and creme brûlée, but by this point the experience was already underwhelming. I'm disappointed that a restaurant of this esteem provided such a poor experience and service (again - our waiter was amazing and he was very wonderful to us). I'd like to recognize the bartender for his service. He not only remembered us from previous visits, but remembered the brand of rum my boyfriend likes. I hope I'm hoping they were just having an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 23, 2017

This has quickly run up our list to one of the very best restaurants in HHI. It's a must visit if you are looking for a quiet beautiful setting and fabulous food. My swordfish was the best I have ever had. My wife's vegetarian pasta also terrific. The she crab soup beats all the rest on HHI. Reservations are a must. Ask for a window table.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Over the years Old Fort Pub became our favorite restaurant at Hilton Head. This made our experience this time all the more painful.
First of all the waiter didn't know what "dry" meant when applied to alcoholic beverages. He also didn't know what "femented in the bottle " meant applied to sparkling wine. When the martini I ordered tasted funny, I set it aside, but didn't complain. Wanted to consider whether to see if I could get used to it. The waiter saw it set aside and asked if I liked it. When I said no, he took it away.
When I saw the charge for it on the bill, I paid it, but complained to the maitre d, who I told I was going to cancel a further reservation I had made.
I later got a call and apology from the waiter, who said the charge would be removed. I would have given OFP another chance, but THEY CANCELED MY OTHER RESERVATION. Clearly they don't want the business of people who express high standards for an expensive 4 diamond restaurant. Not going back. So disappointing.
Also, the food was mediocre. The shellfish cakes were like seafood flavored bread. I saw one piece of actual shellfish in my two cakes. My wife was also disappointed with her choice. Of the 7 restaurant meals we've had so far on our vacation, this was the worst.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Quite possibly the rudest, most condescending waiter we've ever met. Didn't mention the specials, we had to ask. Then, he described the food as if he was speaking to a child, explaining things in simplistic terms as if we wouldn't know what he was talking about. Rushed us through the meal and seemed irritated that we were lingering. Literally tried to take a plate while we were still eating, fork in hand. Great food, the trout was delicious, scallop appetizer good but heavy on the balsamic vinegar. Such a shame that staff would ruin an otherwise great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 22, 2017

I love this restaurant but if I am truthful, it is not about the food, it is the view. I love the decor which is restful and the atmosphere is quiet and relaxed with well trained waiters and because of all this, I go there regularly in spite of the menu. Unfortunately living in a tourist location every restaurant on our island feels obligated to serve "Southern Food with a twist" and the Old Fort Pub is no exception. The actual food is pretty mediocre and personally I would have liked to see a more French or even contemporary American menu, but there they are, the ubiquitous old shrimps and grits. This is the only real fine dining restaurant on the island and so it is terribly disappointing to have to find the same old, same old, on the menu but what can we do? I hope each time I visit the place that the chef has moved on and the menu has changed, but it doesn't look like it is going to happen anytime soon. Our only hope as residents of this island is that someone opens another fine dining restaurant somewhere else, but knowing our luck, they will serve "Southern with a twist."

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Whenever we have guests in town we make sure that we take our guests to the fort.

No one has never not been impressed with the overall appearance, food and Jerry's great cocktails.

Service is always spot on.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Beautiful setting; tasting menu excellent value; excellent service!

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Very disappointing this time. We had an outstanding dinner on our visit to Hilton Head last year and couldn't wait to go back. We should have waited. While my pork was excellent my wife's flounder was mediocre at best. Our waiter, Shane, started off friendly enough but he became grumpier as the evening went on. The bartender, on the other hand, was quite friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Had brunch there and it was delicious. I had the eggs Benedict and my husband had the waygu burger, both were really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Never had a meal that wasn't fantastic at this elegant restaurant. Service is above par. View, spectacular. A must go!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We dine at Old Fort Pub every time we visit Hilton Head. The atmosphere and food are always an oasis in a resort area filled with restaurants catering to large, loud family groups in a hurry to get in and out quickly. Dining at Old Fort Pub is gracious and calm, the food a cut above. Our visit two nights ago was the first time we were disappointed with the food. The flounder special was over cooked and dry, the pasta in the pasta dish over cooked and mushy. The pork loin, she crab soup, Cesar salad, asparagus appetizer, and cocktails were delicious as usual.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Very nice ambiance. Attentive service. Delicious food artfully presented.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Old Fort is our favorite restaurant on Hilton Head. We've been going there for many years. However, this current experience was the best in a very long time - and that's saying a lot. (I understand Old Fort has a new chef - keep him/her around) Our waiter - Shane - added so much to our first rate dining experience. He was knowledgeable - personable - and fun. The view - the food - the experience - Old Fort is worth the drive from Sea Pines

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 11, 2017

My wife's 50th birthday. Service, food and view outstanding. Enjoyed watching dolphins having their dinner at low tide! You have to have the she crab soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great food. Excellent service. Our favorite restaurant in Hilton Head

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 8, 2017

We always have fun at OFP.. great food and the location is beautiful at dusk. The food is very good!! I heard people leaving that said they could eat here everyday.... so we aren't the only ones who love it there.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Wonderful dinner - we had our 2 young daughters and they made the dinner special for them... such a great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Old Fort Pub is one of a very limited number of restaurants on Hilton Head Island that I would call "Exceptional". The ambiance and scenic views of Pinckney Island are wonderful, the service is impeccable, and the food wonderful. I think the "She Crab Soup" is a must have to start your dinner. I had the Sea Scallop special over polenta, my wife and daughter had the sauteed shrimp, also with polenta, and my son-in-law had the chicken. Each dish was expertly prepared and the presentations were lovely. Yes, the menu is a bit pricey, but well worth the price. We have been coming to Hilton Head from our home in Durham, NC at least once a year for more than 20 years. We have many excellent restaurants in Durham, but the Old Fort Pub is special, and we try to make sure to visit each time we are here. Already looking forward to next year (or sooner).

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We arrived a couple minutes late but were greeted cordially. The waiter at first was a little stand offish but got better as the night went on. The appetizers were awesome. Scallops were delicious I ordered a Cesar salad and it was very delicious. Our dinner came out long after it was due. Mine was a shellfish cakes but was burnt when it came The restaurant did everything they could to make it better. Gave a new dinner and took it off the bill. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a place to go. The views are spectacular and good im for most part was awesome My partner had a shrimp dish and he said it was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Old Fort Pub is always enjoyable much like a comfortable old pair of house shoes. The location and ambience just cry "old Hilton Head" and the shabby, well worn exterior just validates that image. The interior is older but well cared for and the wait staff is always pleasant and accommodating. The food is reliable as well and while nothing we ate was just "out of this world", creative or memorable, it was all quite good and again, just comfortable. As we were getting acquainted with new friends, we lingered quite long after everyone else had left and the staff was preparing for the dinner hour. The waiter said no problem, take your time, be comfortable and let him know if there was anything we needed. Very comfortable again.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We had apps, salads and entrees from the chefs menu and all were good. Our waiter was a little too chatty. Described as "romantic" but not particularly so. Lots of families - a little noisy at times. The restaurant and views of the water are beautiful. We would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2017

A wonderful treat while on vacation that we try to hit every time we visit Hilton Head. The setting is always beautiful, the food creative and good. Service was engaging and attentive. I'd recommend this to everyone to watch sunset while enjoying a dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Excellent good, service, ambiance. Consistently an excellent restaurant. I have eaten there many times and every experience has been perfect! Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Waiter Shane Carroll treated us right! "Surprised" us with meal choices when we couldn't decide; picked an excellent Pinot Noir to go with 7 varied dishes. Always top notch seafood and service . We'll be back for more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food did not have much flavor at all. Needed to add salt and pepper.

Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The waiter was professional and attentive. I'm not a seafood eater and when I asked about 3 options, he said to get the one I eat the least of , which was steak. It was seared to a crisp and a little rare but good, not the $40 good they charged but maybe $25. The seafood my son ordered was "typical of any restaurant in Hilton Head" he said, meaning average taste and overpriced. I had heard many people say this is their favorite restaurant on the island. I loved the waterfront and service but found the food average and overly expensive. The decor of the restaurant is 70's outdated.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.