About Old Fort Pub

65 Skull Creek Drive
Hilton Head Island, SC 29926
View Larger Map

Old Fort Pub is a charming restaurant with one of the best views on Hilton Head Island. Perched on the banks of the Intra-coastal Waterway, it showcases unrivaled nightly sunsets and a rich history. So named for the adjacent Civil War shore battery, Fort Mitchel, the restaurant’s foyer is decorated with historic photos depicting the “War of Northern Aggression".

Previously featured on The Food Network and in other notable publications, the Old Fort Pub has become a tradition for over 35 years. Guests enjoy Chef Keith Josefiak’s “New Southern” favorites inspired with influences from around the globe. An excellent choice for a celebrating a birthday, holiday or a romantic evening.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner
March - November:
Seven Days, 5:00pm - 10:00pm

December - February:
Seven Days, 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 681-2386

Website:
http://www.oldfortpub.com/

Executive Chef:
Keith Josefiak

Private Party Contact:
General Manager: 8436812386x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Crispy Fried Quail With Apple Butter And Lavender Honey Sprinkled With Pomegranates
Crispy Fried Quail With Apple Butter And Lavender Honey Sprinkled With Pomegranates

Old Fort Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Best Overall
Hilton Head
Best Ambiance
Hilton Head
3 More
Romantic
Hilton Head
Scenic View
Hilton Head
Special Occasion
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

scenic view (88)
special occasion (79)
romantic (66)
See All
fit for foodies (44)
great for outdoor dining (32)
neighborhood gem (24)
notable wine list (20)
good for groups (13)
great for brunch (11)
great for lunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (2)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1254 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My husband and I were there for my birth ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined a day ago

My husband and I were there for my birthday/our anniversary celebration. I asked for a table by the window with a good view of the water and we got it all......it was absolutely beautiful! Our waiter was great and the food amazing, a perfectly romantic evening.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the best meal we had in a 10 day stay. W ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

the best meal we had in a 10 day stay. We both had Grouper with house-smoked scallops and shrimp.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautiful romantic setting. Delicious fo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful romantic setting. Delicious food. Excellent, attentive service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

This was my 10th - 15th trip to the Old ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was my 10th - 15th trip to the Old Fort Pub for dinner. The service, ambiance and quality of the meal is always outstanding. If you want to cut costs go for the "first seating". Worth the money!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My pork tenderloin was really salty almo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My pork tenderloin was really salty almost not consumable ! In my opinion wrapped bacon doesn't cause to be too salty.

Presentation of the dish was great !

Usually food is pretty good !

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

An unbelievable neighborhood gem ! Food ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

An unbelievable neighborhood gem ! Food was fabulous, service good , view stunning !

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoyed dinner here on July 18. The res ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Enjoyed dinner here on July 18. The restaurant was as beautiful as it was on our last visit 25 years ago. Our server as well as the bartender Jerry were both very personable. We ordered 2 salads and 2 entrees. Our salad never arrived but it all worked out as we were not able to finish our meals and eating the salad would have been too much. The food (pork loin and the shellcakes) were quite good and well presented. Will definately return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

This used to be a favorite spot for a sp ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This used to be a favorite spot for a special occasion with the food always reliably excellent. Was very disappointed this time my wife had fish and I had a $42 veal chop neither was good. My wife's fish was plopped on some mashed potatoes with the skin on it. My veal chop was tough in the knife was still. When you play this kind of money you expect more.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I've been to OFP on many occasions over ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I've been to OFP on many occasions over the years. However, the Restaurant seems to have raised the bar to a new level as the food was exceptionally good on this visit. The She Crab soup was, as always, great. We also enjoyed the beat salad, mushroom soup etc. Our group of 7 were seated promptly per our reservation. Our server Dan was very attentive throughout the evening and made some excellent recommendations. Our diners enjoyed the Veal Chop special done to perfection, the flat iron steak was as good as it gets and the lamb chops were as always delicious.The Carolina Trout is also a menu highlight but we did not have it this time. For dessert the peach cobbler cake was good but not great however the creme brulee was as good as you will get anywhere. For a special HHI occasion enjoying beautiful scenery, there isn't a better restaurant you could find on the island or anywhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OFP never disappoints! We continue to p ...

 
 (Central Texas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

OFP never disappoints! We continue to patronize this neighborhood gem, appreciating the warm welcome, friendly service, and pleasant surroundings.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First visit and can't wait to return. J ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

First visit and can't wait to return. Just a perfect evening from the view, our waiter Jim, atmosphere, and most importantly the food. The grouper and swordfish were excellent, the sides were delicious and the service outstanding. A relaxing, enjoyable evening for the foodie in you.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very attentive wait staff, delicious foo ...

 
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Very attentive wait staff, delicious food preparation, small but very tasty free appetizer and dessert "bites," fresh and attractive main courses, and lovely view of the water.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant in Hilton Head. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Hilton Head. Outstanding cuisine, service, ambience and view. A must for every visit to the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Its pretty expensive but worth it, beaut ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Its pretty expensive but worth it, beautiful bay view and excellent food, went for our 22nd anniversary.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Well, I decided to take my family to wha ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Well, I decided to take my family to what I thought would be a nice higher end dinner out with a scenic view. We were seated at a nice table with a scenic view but my teenage kids were fast to point out how "stuffy" the place felt to them. I told them just wait till the food comes. Sadly, the calamari appetizer was more like a squid soup with a weird taste. My wife's scallops were excellent as were my younger son's pork tenderloin. My older son and I chose the grouper which included some shrimp and scallops. Our dish overall was marginal in taste plus we were not fond of the presentation in a thick yellow sauce. The chocolate truffles at the end were a nice touch. After having dined in many good restaurants in the U.S. and Europe, I would surely say the place is for ultra foodies that like a very mature atmosphere...probably not the place for most families that visit Hilton Head. The widow's walk is cool and the view amazing. The remnants of the fort are interesting to see. Excellent service.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

We enjoyed our meal at Sunday brunch. Se ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We enjoyed our meal at Sunday brunch. Service was excellent as was the ambiance. Our we're served hot and were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food and dining experience was great! Th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Food and dining experience was great! The food had great seasoning and taste and the portions were also decent for the price. Can't wait to go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I were extremely pleased wit ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My wife and I were extremely pleased with our meal and service at the Old Fort Pub. And the Skull Creek view was very pretty as well. The food was excellently prepared and our server was very helpful in helping us decide what to order. This was our first visit to the Old Fort Pub but definitely not our last!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

normally very good, but the selections w ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

normally very good, but the selections we had were just fair, I would go back and just assume this was a one time event

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Romantic, especially during sunset.

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Romantic, especially during sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service, and great at ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Great food, great service, and great atmosphere. We have dined here several times and the quality is always consistent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice views. Good service. Food a bit sal ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Nice views. Good service. Food a bit salty. Building needs TLC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Old Fort Pub is always good, but this vi ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Old Fort Pub is always good, but this visit was outstanding. Great service, wonderful view, excellent food. Definitely one of the top 5 restaurants to visit on Hilton Head Island.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant! Wonderful fine dining ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great restaurant! Wonderful fine dining for the Hilton Head area. Families with kids are welcome too. Treated very well by the staff and a great view. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Favorite place, beautiful setting, food ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Favorite place, beautiful setting, food was good, but not memorable

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Such a great place to dine! The food and ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Such a great place to dine! The food and presentation are fabulous. The setting is just so beautiful! If you want to feel like royalty, dine here!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We retuned again and not disappointed! P ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We retuned again and not disappointed! Pasta primavera was exceptional as was the flank steak special. Salmon was wonderful. Nice touch with complementary app and truffle for dessert. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The best food we have had on the island. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The best food we have had on the island. Beautiful sunset and water views. Can't wait to return!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 2nd visit, just as good as ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our 2nd visit, just as good as the 1st, maybe even better considering it was Fathers Day and very full, food was great and service exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We took my Dad here for Father's day Bru ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We took my Dad here for Father's day Bruch. An outstanding meal and the view was fabulous. First time here for brunch, been here for dinner &lunch previously. Will definitely be back great time had by all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good but did not justify t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was good but did not justify the price of the meal - was not overly impressed

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great service and food. The menu was a f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great service and food. The menu was a fabulous blend of different tastes and the Joyce Farms chicken was fantastic. Not to mention the scenery and view are terrific. Definitely worth the visit, best restaurant on the island!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is an awesome restaurant, great foo ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This is an awesome restaurant, great food,service and view. Local fresh fish well prepared would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful view! Fantastic food! Great se ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Beautiful view! Fantastic food! Great service!

Will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, service, and ambience all outstand ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Food, service, and ambience all outstanding. Our favorite restaurant on HHI...dine here on every trip. Great views of water and sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and excellent service. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This used to be an excellent restaurant, ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

This used to be an excellent restaurant, unfortunately, things seem to have changed. Service was extremely slow and they were out of all of the entrées we were interested in including scallops, swordfish and the seafood special. One of my friends had the calamari which tasted off. The trout was crispy and well prepared, however it was nearly an hour from the time we arrive to when we were served .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1

Disappointed!!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

I have eaten at TOFP several times with varying results though generally good. We had a 7:15 reservation and had a pleasant start to the meal. The basil martini was outstanding and the wine list was good, not great. I was looking forward to fresh fish for the evening and had the swordfish selected in advance if the catch of the day didn't appeal to me. The waiter promptly notified us that they had only four servings of the catch (cobia which is my favorite fish) and they were gone and they were also out of the swordfish...at 7:15. I ended up with a grossly oversalted pork dish and left quite disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Hilton head

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Excellent service.

Great food once we got in we were Pleasantly surprised

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

disdappointing night

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We have loved this restaurant for more than 15 years, so we hope we just hit an off night. Food was mediocre. Service was spotty. We had a new waitress (first night) who was charming and competent. But after appetizers we had to request some missing silverware from the busboy when the mains were delivered. Our wine glasses were cleared before the wine was emptied and we had to request more.

Tags: romance, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.