About Old Fort Pub

65 Skull Creek Drive
Hilton Head Island, SC 29926
View Larger Map

Old Fort Pub is a charming restaurant with one of the best views on Hilton Head Island. Perched on the banks of the Intra-coastal Waterway, it showcases unrivaled nightly sunsets and a rich history. So named for the adjacent Civil War shore battery, Fort Mitchel, the restaurant’s foyer is decorated with historic photos depicting the “War of Northern Aggression".

Previously featured on The Food Network and in other notable publications, the Old Fort Pub has become a tradition for over 35 years. Guests enjoy Chef Keith Josefiak’s “New Southern” favorites inspired with influences from around the globe. An excellent choice for a celebrating a birthday, holiday or a romantic evening.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner
March - November:
Seven Days, 5:00pm - 10:00pm

December - February:
Seven Days, 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 681-2386

Website:
http://www.oldfortpub.com/

Executive Chef:
Keith Josefiak

Private Party Contact:
General Manager: 8436812386x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Old Fort Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
South Carolina
Scenic View
South Carolina
American
South Carolina
8 More
Best Overall
Hilton Head
Best Food
Hilton Head
Best Service
Hilton Head
Best Ambiance
Hilton Head
Best Value
Hilton Head
Romantic
Hilton Head
Scenic View
Hilton Head
Special Occasion
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

scenic view (91)
special occasion (88)
romantic (78)
See All
fit for foodies (50)
neighborhood gem (35)
great for outdoor dining (34)
notable wine list (30)
great for brunch (20)
good for groups (16)
great for lunch (9)
hot spot (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
late-night find (4)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1214 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

disdappointing night

vip
Dined 4 days ago

We have loved this restaurant for more than 15 years, so we hope we just hit an off night. Food was mediocre. Service was spotty. We had a new waitress (first night) who was charming and competent. But after appetizers we had to request some missing silverware from the busboy when the mains were delivered. Our wine glasses were cleared before the wine was emptied and we had to request more.

Tags: romance, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to celebrate something speci ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great place to celebrate something special! The view is really nice and you can walk around the fort by the restaurant if you are into history.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary. ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary. We had a great view over the water. The service and food were very good. My wife had the Scottish salmon and I had the grilled Mahi.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere

Dined on May 22, 2016

All four of us were quite pleased with our meals. Nice atmosphere with a great view of the water.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Resting on their laurels

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Although I read positive reviews about Old Fort Pub our visit was not so satisfying. We arrived early and had a lovely wait in the bar, enjoying the view and each other's company. We were seated early (7:45 for an 8 p.m. reservation) and the trouble began. The first 2 bottles of wine my husband requested were not available. He started with a California red and then switched to an Italian red hoping for better results. A substitute Italian wine was offered, but it wasn't the same varietal or vintage or in the same price range. No fresh caught fish was available (to be out of the Chef's Signature Additions that early in the night seemed a big odd, to be on the water but have no wild caught fish on the menu seems odd). So we gave up. My husband drank water and ordered a salad. I was hungry so I ordered the shellfish cakes. They were good, but the night had gone sour after the series of "not availables", plus we had long waits in between each attempt at service. If what the customer wanted was not available, you'd think you'd put forth an effort to find something they wanted. Finally after our salads, the manager came over and said she was sorry but there was never a guarantee the particular vintage you wanted would be available. What?? We weren't even offered the same winery or varietal or price range, we weren't quibbling about vintages... perhaps the wine list needs to be updated more often if so much is unavailable. It was obvious that a sincere effort was not being made to make us satisfied customers. To spend a couple of hours enjoying a bottle of wine and 3 course meal would not be surprising, we were there for 90+ minutes for 2 salads and shellfish cakes. There are much better meals available at other restaurants on HHI more interested in pleasing their customers.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Ever thing that the people in our party ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Ever thing that the people in our party ordered was outstanding. The pecan pie is incredibly delicious!!

food3
ambience4
service1

The location is very nice and the food i ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

The location is very nice and the food is good. Our waiter was really obnoxious. Not sure why. Would not go back. There are better places on the island. Try the lucky rooster for better food and definitely better service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OFP is one of the best restaurants in H ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

OFP is one of the best restaurants in HH. The food , staff, ambience is wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Watching the sunset with a lovely glass ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Watching the sunset with a lovely glass of wine and wonderful food. Life doesn't get much better than that!

food4
ambience5
service5

We attended Saturday brunch and to be fa ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

We attended Saturday brunch and to be fair it was towards the end of service but they were out of the Kale salad and only had 1 hamburger remaining but our waiter was able to procure a second burger for us, he was very helpful and attentive. The she crab soup is delicious and I highly recommend it.

food5
ambience4
service5

The setting was so special. We had a del ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

The setting was so special. We had a delightful new server. The shrimp was delicious if a little too garlicky the salads were split so we had room for pecan pie to share. So delicious a must visit.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful views

Dined on May 11, 2016

We done here at least once as a family during our annual vacation to Hilton Head. The views are beautiful. The service is excellent. The food is always amazing. It's my favorite meal I look forward to having all year.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Dinner

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

My Husband and I had a lovely dinner here. Food was great, service also. Look forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The Service was outstanding. The She-Cra ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The Service was outstanding. The She-Crab soup was unbelievable. I ordered the Salmon and my wife ordered the pork tenderloin. Both were to die for. The view was gorgeous. Interesting little fort tour. So much history. Would recommend to everyone.

food5
ambience4
service5

We had a very nice time with a good meal ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We had a very nice time with a good meal and good service.

food5
ambience5
service4

Beautiful location, great food. Terrifi ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Beautiful location, great food. Terrific martinis. The service was a little stiff and unfriendly. I'd go again if I'm visiting for a drink and to watch the sunset.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took visiting friends . The sunset v ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We took visiting friends . The sunset view was really nice and the food outstanding. They want to go back the next time they visit Hilton Head.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

excellent view and good food

Dined on May 6, 2016

All four of us enjoyed our dinners and will come back soon. Service and staff very friendly and were not rushed excellent choice of a restaurant

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We were very satisfied with food, servic ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We were very satisfied with food, service and ambiance. In fact, it was the most satisfying meal and experience we had dining out in Hulton Head. We made a last minute reservation on open table and were seated in a window table with a view. Waiter was great and was not overbearing. I will be back during my next visit to Hilton Head.

food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Great Restaurant, Great Ambiance and View

Dined on April 30, 2016

All in all it was a great evening. I would advise going at least an hour before Sunset. The best tables are gone by sunset. Our Server was hard to understand and not very attentive, which took away from the evening some. He seemed to give more attention to tables of 4 or more. I would definitely go back for the She Crab soup if nothing else.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old Fort Pub Service

Dined on April 29, 2016

Everything about the quality of the food and the quality of the service (very professional) was outstanding. Recommend that you don't sit by a window on a sunny day as it gets very hot there. A good place for a special occasion dinner.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Lovely waterfront setting (the sun was a ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Lovely waterfront setting (the sun was a bit intense by the windows) with elegant food that was carefully prepared. It is certainly not a PUB, but rather fine dining.

food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent food, great location.

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Excellent food, great location.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Hilton Head Find

Dined on April 25, 2016

We dined with friends at their suggestion. It is an elegant dining room with a beautiful bay front setting. The food is special and the attentive service is elegantly just right. It was the most expensive food I had on my 4 day Hilton Head get-away, but for an occasional dinner it can fit the budget. Try the She Crab soup!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

This the best on the island!

Dined on April 24, 2016

This the best on the island!

food5
ambience5
service5

Thoroughly enjoyable, great food, attent ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyable, great food, attentive service. We will return

food5
ambience5
service5

A Hilton Head classic.

Dined on April 21, 2016

A Hilton Head classic.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbeatable view

Dined on April 18, 2016

This place is in a such a great spot. Right on the water for a perfect sunset view. Food was terrific as was the service. Looking forward to returning on our next trip to hilton head.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful meal and the atmosphe ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

We had a wonderful meal and the atmosphere was fabulous!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonerful restaurant experience

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

We love Old Fort Pub. It is one of our favorite restaurants for special occasions or just a nice evening dining experience. We have dined here since 1976 and have never been disappointed. The food, service and ambiance is wonderful. The view is awesome. Our visit this time was no different and we look forward to our next visit as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent excellence

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

We return here every Spring for over 20 years. This year was special. Nancy was our perfect waitress and we were there for the brief availability of soft shell crabs; so good. Another perfect evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service3

The dinner next to the water was excelle ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

The dinner next to the water was excellent. The food was very delicious.

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Sunset Oasis

Dined on March 23, 2016

Excellent spot to eat dinner and view the sunset. The food was competent but not inspired. Excellent service. Nice neighborhood restaurant if you live in Hilton Head Plantation.

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Views and Dining

Dined on March 15, 2016

Beautiful sunsets from a restaurant where every table has a great view. Service was friendly and we were never rushed with our meal, even with a 6:30 reservation. Great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

So romantic! We went to Old Fort Pub on ...

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

So romantic! We went to Old Fort Pub on our wedding night, and it was one our best decisions.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Elegant dining with sunset views

Dined on March 12, 2016

The Old Fort Pub is a solid choice for a "nice" dinner in a charming setting with amazing views of the water and sunsets through huge picture windows. Our salads, short ribs and duck breast were well-prepared, and service was friendly but polished.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service in a lovely setting! ...

Dined on March 10, 2016

Wonderful service in a lovely setting! Everyone enjoyed their meals in our party of 6. Service was top-notch! Portions were ample. We all left very satisfied, and made a work out date for the following day!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome

Dined on March 8, 2016

We love Old Fort Pub and visit ever time we're in Hilton Head. The views of the sunset over the marsh are so pretty. The food is exceptional and the service is outstanding. We always enjoy are dining outings here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing view of sunset

Dined on March 3, 2016

We were told about this place probably 10 years ago and finally went and wished we would have done it sooner. Absolutely amazing! Delicious food even the early bird menu is awesome! We will most definitely be back. Can't wait for next time!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Seating assignments:

Dined on February 28, 2016

We love OFP not only for the excellent food and service but also for the beautiful view and the atmosphere. This time we were sat upstairs on an inside wall. I wonder if the management seats Open Table reservations in the less desirable locations of the restaurant?

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.