Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

About Old Fort Pub

Old Fort Pub is a charming restaurant with one of the best views on Hilton Head Island. Perched on the banks of the Intra-coastal Waterway, it showcases unrivaled nightly sunsets and a rich history. So named for the adjacent Civil War shore battery, Fort Mitchel, the restaurant’s foyer is decorated with historic photos depicting the “War of Northern Aggression".

Previously featured on The Food Network and in other notable publications, the Old Fort Pub has become a tradition for over 35 years. Guests enjoy Chef Keith Josefiak’s “New Southern” favorites inspired with influences from around the globe. An excellent choice for a celebrating a birthday, holiday or a romantic evening.

65 Skull Creek Drive
Hilton Head Island, SC 29926
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner
March - November:
Seven Days, 5:00pm - 10:00pm

December - February:
Seven Days, 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 681-2386

Website:
http://www.oldfortpub.com/

Executive Chef:
Keith Josefiak

Private Party Contact:
General Manager: (843) 681-2386

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Old Fort Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (100)
Waterfront (84)
Special Occasion (74)
See All
Romantic (67)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
Good for a Date (50)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Worth the Drive (36)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Local Ingredients (31)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Notable Wine List (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Cozy (23)
Historic (23)
Authentic (20)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Business Meals (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Casual (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Fun (4)
Healthy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (2)
Live Music (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
1660 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Very disappointed - the ambiance was great but the service and food left a lot to be desired.
After waiting an absorbident amount of time for our entree it was served at room temperature.
The manager tried to make it up to us by offering a free desert, but at the price you pay for a
meal there you should get better service and hot food.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Old Fort Pub is one of our favorite all time restaurants. We have been coming here for over 30 years, experiencing its evolution from a simple, local porch to a first rate restaurant. The place has everything- historic setting, gorgeous Intracoastal Waterway views, excellent food and service, and outdoor options. The she-crab soup is unbelievably delicious, a specialty. Wonderful, creative, but not overly fancy main dishes, and fabulous desserts, especially the pecan pie. Definitely special.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined 5 days ago

Presentations were ok. Had swordfish medium rare, it was cooked properly but the fish was mealy, like it was old or frozen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined 5 days ago

Such a beautiful spot, overlooking the water. The ambiance is unbeatable. Those who love seafood say it is wonderful. I, not loving seafood, say the pork tenderloin was good but not spectacular. It is a lovely place, though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Not as good as in the past. Perhaps just an off night but the service was weak and the food rather ordinary

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The service was very good. The food was just fair. It took two years to return to Old Fort, and I don't see a reason to return for many months to come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 14, 2017

I have loved this restaurant for many years! The service is always excellent, the food delicious and the view and atmosphere amazing. This is a must stop for me every time I am in Hilton Head.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 13, 2017

It is such a quaint place to enjoy a great meal. Sunset from this dining room is amazing.
First class service. Everyone is warm and friendly. Their key lime pie is a must have.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Skip this one. The atmosphere is for those 60 and older. The food is meh. I have no idea how this place has the ratings that it does because it was just plain awful. Good service though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 11, 2017

What an amazing venue. One of the best places on the island. Menu is overpriced especially for the overcooked stuffed flounder I ordered. Waiter was great otherwise.. even agreed with the over cooked fish but didn't do anything about it on my bill. I can't believe how empty this place was. Been coming to HHI for 30 years and never noticed olde fort. If they reduced menus to $15-30 rather than $25-40 this place would be one of the island bests. We will be back for the venue and view

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

One of the loveliest dinner experiences in some time........ Living in Charleston and dIning out often makes that a strong statement! The water view makes OFP exceptional the moment you step in the dining room and are seated. The service and the food take the experience to the next level. The ambience is very comfortable and unpretencious, the wait staff couldn't be more accommodating and the menu plus daily additions make your decision difficult. I have dined at OFP for years and this was my very best experience there. Highly recommended to locals and visitors alike. Precious and inviting small bar area.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Nice restaurant for special occasions. Food was good but didn't live up to our expectations. Beautiful setting and views of the water. Service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 6, 2017

I've been coming to Hilton Head in the summer for 30 years and The Old Fort Pub has always been a standard for fine dining. We took some friends and they were very impressed. If you want to have white table cloths and above average service with really good food, this is the place. It is a step (or two) above the other restaurants on the island. And the view of the marsh is second to none!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Too many kids yelling even at late dinner time. Ruined experience despite beautiful views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Old Fort Pub is a the perfect place to enjoy a relaxing meal while on HHI. It has an amazing view of dolphins and sunsets with a quaint atmosphere! The food is superb with fresh ingredients and unique combinations.
An extensive wine list is also provided. This is where we chose to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary with our sons, it was perfection! They even toasted us with champagne.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Very nice great view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Love the atmosphere . The view spectacular as is the service. We love to come here on special occasions and to show our guest this gem in our backyard. We have always had great service and meals. A good bet.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 3, 2017

First time at this restaurant, excellent setting by the water, very nice at sunset. Definitely in the fine dining category. Food, Service etc. was all excellent. Really enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Best sunset on the island, hands down!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The menu needs updated. There is not a happy hour anymore, and it is more upscale than your app implies!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The food was excellent, but the service was really inattentive for the caliber of restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We often visit the Old Fort Pub, it is one of our favorites. It was a busy night and we had a couple of little errors in our food order. They were quickly taken care of and all was good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great view out onto the water. Best Shrimp and Grits on Hilton Head Island.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Great patio dining to celebrate my daughter's bday!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 25, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants year after year on Hilton Head Island

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Have been coming here for years and got engaged here several years back- the perfect fine dining experience in HHI! Love the lobster stuffed squash blossoms!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Rude waiter ruined the experience! We have been many times over the years and the waiter has made us think about ever going again. Spoke to manager at Old Fort Pub a week after our visit. Said he would talk to supervisor and call back and never did. Disgusted by service during meal and after.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We went for a birthday celebration. We were late for our reservation due to the extreme traffic on HWY 278. Saturday is the turn over day for the condo vacationers on Hilton Head and the traffic can be horrific.
Wait staff was wonderful, food excellent, view gorgeous. We will be back for other special occasions as well as every day dining.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Very nice and classy without being stuffy or pretentious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Awesome awesome place. We come here every year. Great views. Always go up to the roof for sunset pictures.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Yosemite)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Service was wonderful. Food was excellent.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Service and the view were excellent. Food was inconsistently seasoned. The she crab soup was incredibly average, very little discernable crab and just ok flavor. The Caesar salad was good. The shellfish cake was the best item of the night, however, the creamy stone ground grits fell flat and were more of a lumpy gelatinous bland heap. The beef tenderloin was cooked properly and had a very good onion jam, the accompanying potatoes needed salt and some butter and or cream badly. They key lime tart was very good. Overall an ok meal in a nice setting with great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The best part of the restaurant was probably the view. This place is great if you're looking for the old time supper club. We were probably some of the only people there that were under the age of 60. There is definitely an old school vibe and menu to this place. As a young couple this wasn't really for us. The food was ok, the serivice was fine. Definitely overcharged for what we got and the quality of food. If you're retired and are wanting a nice quiet evening this is a fine place for you.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The food was very good. The wine I chose was not available but a good alternative was suggested.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Never fails to please. Our favorite special occasion place. Great bargain for Sunday brunch.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Such an outstanding meal in a beautiful location! We ate here years ago, but had forgotten about what a gem this place it. We had a lovely Father's Day groundhog that went beyond your typical "fancy eggs and pancakes" meal. I look forward to eating here when we return to Hilton Head next year.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We've only been for brunch twice, once meeting another couple & once just us two for Father's Day. Both times the service was superb, food and drink delish and atmosphere/view quite nice. Beside the restaurant is a historic fort area you can walk to surrender a few of the extra scrumptious calories just consumed.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great ambiance, but slow service delivering main courses, and both of our entrees were overcooked and lacked flavor.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

This is my husband's favorite meal! Every year he has to have the seafood bouillabaisse.. we celebrated his birthday and fathers day meal here. The staff are very friendly and accommodating to my daughter with nut allergies. They made sure both my children were taken care of...that is important.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We have dined here before and enjoyed our dinner. I was a bit surprised by some negative reviews, but found them totally baseless. Our meals (we both had the Cobia special) were outstanding. The service was friendly and timely, attentive without being overbearing. In my opinion, Old Fort Pub remains one of the finest dining venues on Hilton Head

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.