About Old Fort Pub

65 Skull Creek Drive
Hilton Head Island, SC 29926
View Larger Map

Old Fort Pub is a charming restaurant with one of the best views on Hilton Head Island. Perched on the banks of the Intra-coastal Waterway, it showcases unrivaled nightly sunsets and a rich history. So named for the adjacent Civil War shore battery, Fort Mitchel, the restaurant’s foyer is decorated with historic photos depicting the “War of Northern Aggression".

Previously featured on The Food Network and in other notable publications, the Old Fort Pub has become a tradition for over 35 years. Guests enjoy Chef Keith Josefiak’s “New Southern” favorites inspired with influences from around the globe. An excellent choice for a celebrating a birthday, holiday or a romantic evening.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner
March - November:
Seven Days, 5:00pm - 10:00pm

December - February:
Seven Days, 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 681-2386

Website:
http://www.oldfortpub.com/

Executive Chef:
Keith Josefiak

Private Party Contact:
General Manager: (843) 681-2386

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Old Fort Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (50)
Waterfront (49)
Special Occasion (49)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Historic (31)
Romantic (30)
Good for a Date (28)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Cozy (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Authentic (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Seasonal (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Bar Seating (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Business Meals (5)
Healthy (5)
Casual (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Disabled Access (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Fun (1)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1498 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was excellent and our waiter Ry ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was excellent and our waiter Ryan was very attentive to our needs

and friendly this was the second time we had Ryan and he was great.

I would give the food and service a five

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although we had a reservation we had to ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Although we had a reservation we had to wait almost 20 minutes for our table. The restaurant was very busy and there wasn't even room at the bar to wait. This was our 4th visit and this had never happened before. It was my birthday, so my husband wasn't pleased. He wasn't happy with the menu, because most entrees included something he didn't care for. Again, this was different from our past experience. We will try again, but I'm glad this wasn't our first time or we might not be interested in returning.

Tags: Waterfront, Historic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We have gone to Old Fort Pub many times ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

We have gone to Old Fort Pub many times and it was always very good. This time the food and scenic views were very good, unfortunately the service left a lot to be desired. The waiter acted like he was too busy to answer questions and take our order. I asked three times for more rolls before they finally arrived. My iced tea glass, sat there empty, through most of the meal. As I was finishing my entree someone finally asked if I wanted more tea. I expect much better service from a special occasion restaurant.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Order the she crab soup it was the best ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Order the she crab soup it was the best I ever had. We went on Feb 14th so the service was a little slow...waited for a drink very long,and for the food...beautiful atmosphere food was very fancy but not as delicious as it looked, a little cold too...sit at the bar and order soup.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Old Ft. Pub used to be great. It's a gre ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Old Ft. Pub used to be great. It's a great location with beautiful sunsets. But the building has not been kept up, and the food is no longer good. I've heard the family wants to retire and sell, but this will be tough, as they've lost the most important factor: good food. Sad to see this Hilton Head institution lose it's way. The fix? Put money into the building and get a new chef.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

This dine was for Valentine's Day, & we ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

This dine was for Valentine's Day, & we weren't disappointed. This white tablecloth restaurant overlooking Skull Creek offers excellent menu choice, food, service & view. This restaurant has been a Hilton Head Island staple since 1973 so the decor is somewhat dated. It probably wouldn't be a good choice for millennials unless they appreciate the above mentioned qualities over a chic decor.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Spectacular setting especially if your r ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Spectacular setting especially if your reservation time encompasses sunset. Don't be misled by the name. This is not a pub but a fine dining establishment. Casual attire is acceptable. You enter a gated community, Hilton Head Plantation, to reach the OFP. Nice menu and good value. Exceptional service starting with the greeting at arrival and a tour of the patio as we left. OFP's patio would be a fine location for cocktails at sunset. Our server was outstanding. She kept my Prosecco split chilled. I had the day's special - flat iron steak and my spouse had grouper. The steak was good but not outstanding and the grouper excellent. The salads and sides very good. We had wine by the glass and there were many good wines to consider. No issues with noise. Can easily converse.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We really enjoyed the views of the Old F ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We really enjoyed the views of the Old Fort Pub, which is why we chose to go. the hostess was great and suggested we go up to the third floor for best view. It was a beautiful evening and we really enjoyed that. We did not get to sit by the window and that is all that would have made the evening better. Food was delicious. Waiter was excellent. We were puzzled that it was a pub, but had no draft beer. Wine list is extensive though!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, everything was fresh and well ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent, everything was fresh and well prepared. The view, at sunset, topped off a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the finest restaurants I have vis ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One of the finest restaurants I have visited. Great atmosphere for a romantic quiet dinner.

Excellent service. All the courses- soup, salad, appetizer, main course and desserts were outstanding. A memorable evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, , Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view, great service, good food ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Beautiful view, great service, good food. My steak was ordered medium and came rare, but aside from that the food was excellent. Their 3 for $33 special is a great bargain.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We've been to the Old Fort Pub numerous ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We've been to the Old Fort Pub numerous times in our annual trips to Hilton Head. We generally go for special occasions and when we want more elegant dining. We are never disappointed. Good variety in the menu, especially sea food. An excellent wine list - both by the glass and bottle. Our server this time was exceptionally nice and friendly and helped make our 48th wedding anniversary dinner even more special. Recommend highly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful location and impressive tablew ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Beautiful location and impressive tableware and settings. Michelle, our server, was outstanding--friendly, professional, knowledgeable with an appropriate amount of humor. She made our evening

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was a fun evening.The waiter had go ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This was a fun evening.The waiter had good style that made you feel welcome. Very good value

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional as always, the food, service ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Exceptional as always, the food, service and wonderful view and ambience are in my my top three of the Hilton Head area. The service is impeccable, very hard to find top rated service. Five star food. Excellent value.

Tags: Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting. Excellent service. Me ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Beautiful setting. Excellent service. Menu and presentations lacked creativity. I also prefer my entree to be served hotter. My petite filet was lukewarm and typified petite. Beet salad was very good. On the other hand, my pecan pie dessert portion was large. My dining companions felt their entrees were okay. The pork rib chop was a generous portion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Old Fort Pub is something of a local lan ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Old Fort Pub is something of a local landmark, but our recent visit was very disappointing. We arrived for our reservation, but had to wait 20 minutes to be seated; then we waited another 20 minutes before receiving a menu or any service at all. The advertised "3 for $33" menu was very misleading and included a 27% built-in service charge for service that was would not have merited even 15%. Disappointing evening all around. Not inclined to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Mixed review. My wife and I have dined r ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Mixed review. My wife and I have dined regularly at the Pub for ten years. Ambiance is always great. High point of the meal was the mushroom risotto which was excellent. The Old Fashioned and the Pear Martini were very good. We ordered a pork chop and a Carolina brook trout. Both meals came in bowl. Trout is a delicate fish and must be the star of the dish but the trout was surrounded by a brown broth in which were slices of sausage and various vegetables. The sausage component took the delicacy away from the trout. Not a good mixture. The crème broule was thin and contained pieces of cherry rather than being infused with a cherry taste. So good drinks, good risotto but not so good entrees. and dessert.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Terrific sunset view. Great food and ser ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Terrific sunset view. Great food and service. Very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Short rib was huge and veggies around it ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Short rib was huge and veggies around it all so tasteful and the sauce was excellent. Best food and presentation of any restaurant ever!! Thank you so much for "standing out" as the most exceptional dining experience in all of Hilton Head and beyond..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently outstanding food and servic ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Consistently outstanding food and service coupled with one of the best waterside views around. Always meets or exceeds our expectations. Current 3 course $33 promotion is an exceptional value.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice dinner!

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Nice dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great atmosphere, great food, great serv ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great atmosphere, great food, great service. Our favorite restaurant on HHI. They always deliver an outstanding experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great menu, exception service & spectacu ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Great menu, exception service & spectacular waterfront view!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal and service. Second time ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent meal and service. Second time there and both were fabulous.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, , Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal. Good service. Nice atmos ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent meal. Good service. Nice atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time we tried this place. Food was ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

First time we tried this place. Food was great and a great setting.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday celebration. Service was terrif ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Birthday celebration. Service was terrific. Look forward to going back when we can see the sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Repeat diners.. Shane our server was exc ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Repeat diners.. Shane our server was excellent.. the short ribs were a disappointment this evening... stringy.. dry... not enough sauce...the recommended wine not complex...have had this meal before and it was a+++...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dinner, my friend had the ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 20, 2017

We had a great dinner, my friend had the duck and loved it, I had the beef short ribs which was fall off the bone tender!

The server was exceptional. She was always around but didn't bother us. The view was outstanding, we had a window table with sun set view. At first the sun was too bright but they pulled down the shade. As soon as the sun was not as bright, they raised it so we could have a perfect view. Definitely recommend it and will go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old Fort Pub just never fails to bring a ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Old Fort Pub just never fails to bring a smile to my face. From the friendly staff who stays with you from the moment you walk in until you finish to the wait staff, thanks Jennifer,. Our table wasn't quite ready and they walked us to a table in the bar to wait. Lovely atmosphere. Food was great and having their 3 for $33 menu was amazing. Will keep going back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful exper ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful experience here for dinner. Our server Ryan was great. The food was phenomenal. A very great place for A quiet date night. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, , Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Romantic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent sea food and great ambiance. w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 7, 2017

excellent sea food and great ambiance. would and have recommended to friends

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Been to old fort a few times. Always be ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Been to old fort a few times. Always beautiful. Service is excellent. Food looks beautiful. She crab is the best in hilton head.. My salmon was a little over cooked but not bad enough to send back. We will come again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Service and quality of the food was exce ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Service and quality of the food was excellent . One of the best restaurants on the Island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating our wedding annivers ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and we couldn't have chosen a more perfect restaurant. Our wait staff saw to our every need (Michelle, I think). Food was delicious and served in a timely sequence. We are anxious to return.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Liam was a delightful server. He was go ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Liam was a delightful server. He was good humor rd and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good. A bit out of the way ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was good. A bit out of the way from everything, so before booking, see how far your hotel is from the restaurant. 25 minutes from Sea Pines. Also, try to get there prior to the sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Consistently great dining experience in ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Consistently great dining experience in a relaxing atmosphere. The creative quality of the chef and the wonderful service staff make dining at Old Fort Pub a pleasure each and every time we go. Enjoy a cocktail at the bar prior to dinner and enjoy the sunset.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a late reservation for New Years Eve ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Had a late reservation for New Years Eve and waited at the bar for our table. After an hourlong wait they seated us at a table. We had a good time despite the wait. Good, service and food. Jerry the bartender is a pro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.