Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.94mi
  3. Distance: 0.94mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

About Old Fort Pub

Old Fort Pub is a charming restaurant with one of the best views on Hilton Head Island. Perched on the banks of the Intra-coastal Waterway, it showcases unrivaled nightly sunsets and a rich history. So named for the adjacent Civil War shore battery, Fort Mitchel, the restaurant’s foyer is decorated with historic photos depicting the “War of Northern Aggression".

Previously featured on The Food Network and in other notable publications, the Old Fort Pub has become a tradition for over 35 years. Guests enjoy Chef Keith Josefiak’s “New Southern” favorites inspired with influences from around the globe. An excellent choice for a celebrating a birthday, holiday or a romantic evening.

65 Skull Creek Drive
Hilton Head Island, SC 29926
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dinner
March - November:
Seven Days, 5:00pm - 10:00pm

December - February:
Seven Days, 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 681-2386

Website:
http://www.oldfortpub.com/

Executive Chef:
Keith Josefiak

Private Party Contact:
General Manager: (843) 681-2386

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Old Fort Pub Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Scenic View (58)
Waterfront (56)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Romantic (35)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Historic (29)
Good for a Date (29)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Worth the Drive (25)
Cozy (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Authentic (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Seasonal (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Casual (4)
Healthy (4)
Business Meals (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fun (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Live Music (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
1525 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Old Fort Pub is just a "must go" restaurant on the island. Looking out through a beautiful sunset on Skull Creek is something that will bring vacation goers back year after year. Service is always attentive, top notch. Right now, try the soft shell crab dishes as soft shell crab has a very short season and will be gone in a few weeks.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful restaurant and a terrific place to celebrate a special occasion. Outstanding sunset views.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Olde fort pub never disappoints. Most beautiful dining setting in all of hilton head on the water, outstanding service, wonderful and artfully created food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Overpriced menu with no imagination and a poor service. The view was great though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Great setting, our waitress was incredible and the food was excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Flounder was great but crabmeat was too
Salty for me. Couldn't eat it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We enjoyed our evening, but were thrown off a bit, by the name "Pub" thinking it was casual.
We just felt a bit under dressed.

However, the view was beautiful at sunset, and we enjoyed watching the dolphins. Overall, a very
nice evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We have visited Hilton head island every year since 2005 & always look forward to the food & ambience. It's one of the treasures of HHI.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great flounder special, best I have ever had.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Our favorite place on Hilton Head Island. Never miss going when we are there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

This was our first visit after being highly recommended by friends. We sat at a waterfront viewing table that allowed us to watch the setting sun. Gorgeous. The service was excellent and the food was outstanding. The pork chop I order was thick, juicy and flavorable. My wife order the short ribs which were also thick and tender.

Do your self a favor and have a wonderful dining experience at Old Fort Pub. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Authentic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Best restaurant on the Island. We keep coming back.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 15, 2017

The food and service were both great, and the sunset behind Skull Creek was beautiful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The chef creates great flavors with his blending of local ingredients. We have never been disappointed with his cuisine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Loved the restaurant and bar. Food and atmosphere were perfect. For fine dining service was rather fast and we felt rushed. Would definitely give it another try.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Best restaurant in the area. From the breathtaking sunsets to the attentive service we had a perfect night. Priced fairly for what you get. Everything made in house. We vacation in Hilton Head every year and it's the only restaurant we can't miss while here. Thanks again for another memorable night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Party of eight with good friends for brunch. As usual all was done with great tastes and wonderful ambiance. Surprisingly our waiter was less than charming and, while all was handled well, his attitude was not the welcoming warm one we have experienced on past visits.
Non the less we will return and hope for a better service experience. Food and bloody Mary's were great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 4, 2017

This is one of the best restaurants on Hilton head Island. If you want a great meal for a special occasion, old Fort pub has it. The beet salad is to die for. The grouper is always outstanding. The chef does an excellent job. The service is great and the sunsets from the dining room are spectacular.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Beautiful view of Skull Creek and for watching the sunset. Love Early Bird dining anywhere in Hilton Head. Was sad we just missed the winter special: 3 courses for $33. Oh well, food was great anyway.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Scenic View, Casual, Waterfront, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

They over booked and we waited 1 hour beyond our reservation to be seated. While the 3 for $33 was a great deal, the automatic tip for 20 percent of the undiscounted dinner led to a waiter who wasn't as interested in our table for 2 . Didn't object to the larger tip, but not for service we got. Otherwise a great location and meal.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Our second couple was late in traffic. Apparently lost our table and had to sit upstairs with no one else st the 8 tables or so. Still had a view. Shane gave us excellent service is !!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Ryan our server was excellent... attentive but not overbearing... food was delicious..
A must when visiting the Island...

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 22, 2017

This was my 4th visit to the Old Fort Pub over several years, always for a special occasion. The decor is more formal than at many restaurants on Hilton Head Island and the history of the site as a Civil War fort is nicely captured. The food is almost always excellent, the service is impeccable, and the staff caters to special requests. Try the recommended wine pairings for each dinner entree!

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Food and Service was great but billing practice was horrendous. They have a 3 course for $33 special during February. My wife and I went, had a great time, until we got the bill. They put a mandatory tip on our bill even though we only had 2 people. When I reviewed the bill I noticed that they itemized the $33 fee times two(wife and I) but also itemized our other 2 courses each (4 total) at $7 each totaling $28. So our $33 meal was billed at $33 + $14 = $47 each. They factored a 20% mandatory tip on that total. They then deducted the $28 courses to bring the bill back to a $33 fee per meal. Add tax etc.. the ultimate mandatory tip turned out to be 25%. So we paid taxes on $28 worth of food that was already included in the $33 fee and subsequently removed from the bill. hmmmm!

I brought it to the attention of our waiter who insisted it was a 20% tip until I fully explained what I uncovered, he then feigned ignorance. I paid my bill and left, wasn't going to ruin a great meal over an extra $5.00 however, I want all to know as this is a very shady practice and not expected at all from a restaurant who portrays an upscale restaurant with an enforced dress code.

BTW I am a homeowner on Hilton Head Island and have tried to give back since the hurricane by visiting as many local restaurants as possible. It's been both enjoyable and very filling!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Old Fort Pub has it all--beautiful setting, great food and service, and good value, especially if you take advantage of Early Dinig or the soon-to-be-history 3 for $33 Special that has been so popular this winter. We can always depend on this place to provide a great dining experience in a wonderful, quiet setting. It is always the top on our list of must-do places when we visit Hilton head twice each year.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Once we were able to find it we got to the restaurant right on time, which didn't matter because we had to wait 45 minutes in the bar. We checked our table status with the greeters three times and were given three different reasons why our table wasn't ready, but told it would be just a few more minutes. Had it not been a Saturday night and fact we had arrived by hired carrier we may have been inclined to leave. The food was excellent, the server was excellent, and we thoroughly enjoyed the evening once seated. Obviously making a reservation has little weight on busy nights, so be prepared to wait or go early and hold your table as long as you want which appears what was happening. We were last to be seated and last to leave. Might be time for some of these popular restaurants to enact two hour time limits like in Europe or on cruise ships.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was excellent and our waiter Ryan was very attentive to our needs
and friendly this was the second time we had Ryan and he was great.
I would give the food and service a five

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We have been going to the OFP for at least a dozen years. It's always wonderful - a great place for special occasions. It's also a lot of fun outdoors for happy hours.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Although we had a reservation we had to wait almost 20 minutes for our table. The restaurant was very busy and there wasn't even room at the bar to wait. This was our 4th visit and this had never happened before. It was my birthday, so my husband wasn't pleased. He wasn't happy with the menu, because most entrees included something he didn't care for. Again, this was different from our past experience. We will try again, but I'm glad this wasn't our first time or we might not be interested in returning.

Tags: Waterfront, Historic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We have gone to Old Fort Pub many times and it was always very good. This time the food and scenic views were very good, unfortunately the service left a lot to be desired. The waiter acted like he was too busy to answer questions and take our order. I asked three times for more rolls before they finally arrived. My iced tea glass, sat there empty, through most of the meal. As I was finishing my entree someone finally asked if I wanted more tea. I expect much better service from a special occasion restaurant.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Order the she crab soup it was the best I ever had. We went on Feb 14th so the service was a little slow...waited for a drink very long,and for the food...beautiful atmosphere food was very fancy but not as delicious as it looked, a little cold too...sit at the bar and order soup.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Old Ft. Pub used to be great. It's a great location with beautiful sunsets. But the building has not been kept up, and the food is no longer good. I've heard the family wants to retire and sell, but this will be tough, as they've lost the most important factor: good food. Sad to see this Hilton Head institution lose it's way. The fix? Put money into the building and get a new chef.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This dine was for Valentine's Day, & we weren't disappointed. This white tablecloth restaurant overlooking Skull Creek offers excellent menu choice, food, service & view. This restaurant has been a Hilton Head Island staple since 1973 so the decor is somewhat dated. It probably wouldn't be a good choice for millennials unless they appreciate the above mentioned qualities over a chic decor.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Spectacular setting especially if your reservation time encompasses sunset. Don't be misled by the name. This is not a pub but a fine dining establishment. Casual attire is acceptable. You enter a gated community, Hilton Head Plantation, to reach the OFP. Nice menu and good value. Exceptional service starting with the greeting at arrival and a tour of the patio as we left. OFP's patio would be a fine location for cocktails at sunset. Our server was outstanding. She kept my Prosecco split chilled. I had the day's special - flat iron steak and my spouse had grouper. The steak was good but not outstanding and the grouper excellent. The salads and sides very good. We had wine by the glass and there were many good wines to consider. No issues with noise. Can easily converse.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We really enjoyed the views of the Old Fort Pub, which is why we chose to go. the hostess was great and suggested we go up to the third floor for best view. It was a beautiful evening and we really enjoyed that. We did not get to sit by the window and that is all that would have made the evening better. Food was delicious. Waiter was excellent. We were puzzled that it was a pub, but had no draft beer. Wine list is extensive though!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent, everything was fresh and well prepared. The view, at sunset, topped off a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 11, 2017

One of the finest restaurants I have visited. Great atmosphere for a romantic quiet dinner.
Excellent service. All the courses- soup, salad, appetizer, main course and desserts were outstanding. A memorable evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Beautiful view, great service, good food. My steak was ordered medium and came rare, but aside from that the food was excellent. Their 3 for $33 special is a great bargain.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We've been to the Old Fort Pub numerous times in our annual trips to Hilton Head. We generally go for special occasions and when we want more elegant dining. We are never disappointed. Good variety in the menu, especially sea food. An excellent wine list - both by the glass and bottle. Our server this time was exceptionally nice and friendly and helped make our 48th wedding anniversary dinner even more special. Recommend highly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Beautiful location and impressive tableware and settings. Michelle, our server, was outstanding--friendly, professional, knowledgeable with an appropriate amount of humor. She made our evening

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.