About Old Crow Smokehouse - Lakeview

3506 N Clark Street
Chicago, IL 60657
View Larger Map

Taking up two storefronts and 10,500 square feet of restaurant space that formerly housed Chen's, this new Lakeview barbecue restaurant serves up American and Asian barbecue from the kitchen of executive chef Tony Scruggs (known best by his stint on "MasterChef"). Take your pick from the many offerings, including oysters on the half shell, crow's nest poutine, baby back ribs, combo platters, sandwiches, salads and American barbecue favorites like brisket, as well as Asian barbecue specialties like Chinese lamb, and Korean short ribs. A slew of sides like mac 'n cheese, cornbread, baked beans and more round out the down home meal. Whiskeys and moonshine are the main focus of the beverage program.
"Metromix"

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Mon - Wed:
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thu - Fri:
5:00 pm - 2:00 am
Sat:
12:00 pm - 3:00 am
Sun:
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Between Eddy & Cornelia

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(773) 537-4452

Website:
http://oldcrowsmokehouse.com/

Restaurant Photos

  • Old Crow Smokehouse - Lakeview
Old Crow Smokehouse - Lakeview

Old Crow Smokehouse - Lakeview Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.2

ambience

3.0

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Live Music (1)
See All
Hot Spot (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
24 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great decision to stop here. Macaroni an ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great decision to stop here. Macaroni and cheese is amazing!!! Best part of our Chicago trip!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant is too noisy for conversa ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The restaurant is too noisy for conversation. In fact it was so noisy that our server could not hear our order correctly and kept bringing us the wrong order - making 3major errors. We shared a pick 3 choose your own and the meat was so so. I ordered a premium rye manhattan which had a small size and tasted watered. To top things off they screwed up by cancelling instead of confirming our Open Table reservation. The y did fix this after 3 phone calls -the third to the corporate office. And note, the restaurant number on the web site is not the restaurant but the corporate office. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2

service was off Friday night before Phis ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

service was off Friday night before Phish. Couldn't get the attention of a waiter/waitress for over 10 minutes. Then sat up at the bar and the bartender was weird. We ordered the beer-can chicken to eat & she didn't know what that was. she thought we were making it up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

We sat on the outside patio. It was pack ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We sat on the outside patio. It was packed. The service was average, the food was wonderful. The volume of the music was so high it was impossible to carry on any kind of conversation. I had to put ear plugs in because the bass was so loud it was hurting my ears. It was physically uncomfortable.to be there. In fact, the music was louder than the Phish concert I attended after dinner.

I would never go back there again because the music volume, and I'm a music lover. Sad, because the food was amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

The food is outstanding; especially the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food is outstanding; especially the spices on the fries... addictive. The specialty drinks are good and the mason jar presentation is cute. However, we would rather the beer be served in a pint glass vs. a mason jar. Wrigleyville needed a country bar and this fills that need, well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Service Followed By Terrible Service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 15, 2015

I luckily was able to get a table reserved at Old Crow for the Blackhawks game. When I arrived, the door man checking IDs along with the Manager and the 2 hostesses could not have been more friendly.. Due to the game, they were clearly very crowded and a lot was going on in the restaurant. I totally understand how difficult that can be on staff, but they stayed professional and very friendly. I was then seated at my table with the rest of my group. Upon ordering a drink, the server asked me for credit card. I went ahead and gave it to her. My friend then ordered later on and I mentioned to the server that my friend will be on a separate tab. For some reason, me stating this set her off. She responded very rudely and basically said that it has to be one tab, which I completely understand due to the events that evening. However, her delivery was just terrible. Everyone at my table was uncomfortable and couldn't believe how rude she was over a very simple statement, that was in no way presented to her in a rude way. I asked her that since my card was on the tab if I could have my card back for just a moment to get cash out so I had it for the bill at the end and she told me no and that if she gave me my card back I would have to leave the table for the night. Honestly, it was just ridiculous and I couldn't believe I was being talked to that way.

I completely understand the policy, but the rudeness and lack of accommodation and care towards the customer was just awful. On top of it, the service for the remainder of the evening from her was also terrible. We never got drinks we orders and then we were receiving drinks we didn't order. She was clearly way in over her head and didn't know how to handle busy evenings. Overall, since it was a special night in Chicago and we were lucky enough to get a table we did not want to ruin the night due to rude service. Therefore, we got past the terrible service we received and enjoyed our night.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Wonderful food and great service!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 13, 2015

Highly recommended by our daughter who met the owner when he was on Master Chef! Very friendly and fast service. Delicious food and meat was all smoked with apple wood. Had the jalapeño poppers which are definitely handmade and had some zing! Tried the combination platter with the 3 varieties of BBQ sauce. Sweet potato was great; coleslaw was fresh and crunchy; loved it all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great smokey BBQ

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 22, 2014

Visited on a packed Friday evening. Lots of TVs for local sports. Noisy, but we sat in a nice corner table and had no problem hearing each other.

Waitress was prompt and checked back periodically, but not in a bothersome way.

Tried the burnt ends and wife had brisket. Both were substantial helpings with a wonderful smokey flavor. The sweet potatoes with a dab of blue cheese was excellent. Good beer selection on tap.

A great time was had by all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

texas

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on October 26, 2014

Great place booked open table had table ready with a via card good a place so big keeps track and doesn't over book food was good they were busy Ohio state game was over 10 mins b4 anyone came by I just think someone should of said be with you soon only negative here everything else was fine

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food, so so service

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 23, 2014

So, I went here with 3 other people before a Cubs game so, admittedly, it was fairly busy. The food was actually a pleasant surprise and pretty good overall. We has the pork egg rolls for an appetizer and then the sausages, chicken, and burger for entrees. All were very tasty. The only bad part of our experience was the service. It was good early on but once we had our entrees, it completely evaporated. No one came by to check on us, offer to get us more drinks, and I had to chase down someone three times to get the check. In the end, this is a place I'm not sure I'd return to just because of service. Had that been better, I'd definitely go back for the food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Good for groups

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 1, 2014

I went here with 10 friends for the hawks game. We had good service with the expection of the food. I ordered the chicken salad and it was sloppy. One sandwich hardly had any chicken salad on it so I asked for more. They were busy so it was fine but they should should be able to check plates before going out!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Holy Smokehouse!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 23, 2014

Dining as a group this time we opted for a few build-your-own combos. My favorite was brisket which melts in your mouth and is so tender, no need for a knife. Delish as always. We also enjoyed the DRY rubbed ribs, so flavorful and tender, they don't even need the three delicious sauces that are on the table. We added pulled pork to the mix which is outstanding. All of my guests raved about the quality of the smoked meats as well as the generous sides. The rich & creamy mac & cheese has a unique flavor and Sweet potatoes were to die for. Cocktails were fantastic Big winners: Front Porch Punch & Blackberry Crow. Beautiful urban rustic decor and laid back country vibe made for a great night out.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I wish I could rate the food

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 27, 2014

The menu for this place looked great, so I decided to make a 9pm or so reservation on a Saturday. We got there a couple minutes early and were seated shortly thereafter. That is where the service ended. We sat at our table for 20 minutes and no one came by to take a food or drink order, so we decided to leave. We stopped by the the hostess on the way out and told her what happened. She said sorry, but was in no rush to fix the problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Sloppy Service

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 13, 2014

When we sat down we waited way too long for our server to come over. When the food finally arrived, my side dish was wrong and we didn't have any silverware until we could finally flag down our server. The ketchup on the table was empty and I had to ask 3 times to have my water refilled. I had the BBQ Wrap but it was too much meat and too little anything else.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Amazing food, drinks, and music!!!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 9, 2014

My g/f and I were seated promptly with our reservation. They had a live country band playing who were very energetic, and got the crowd going. The specialty drinks were fantastic. They have several beers on tap to also choose from. The food was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Good food slow service

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 1, 2014

Great place to eat, drink and listen to some good country music. It's a country bar that is actually a country bar, not some regular 2000 SF bar that claims to be country "bc our DJ plays country music here." The head chef even came out and asked if we enjoyed our food. You don't see that at many places anymore. Only down side is that our waitress clearly lost interest in us bc we weren't chugging our bud lights and ordering drinks every 5 minutes. So it took us 28 minutes to get our check at the end.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

unique dining experience

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 22, 2014

In the cluster of yuppie restaurants in Wrigleyville, Old Crow offered a relaxing setting with craft beers and a variety of smoked foods done on site. The homemade eggrolls were outstanding as was the thai chicken skewers and the smoked chicken salad sandwich. I ordered the sausage which were a little dry, but the homemade sauces tasty, not sweet or spicy; complimented the food. Definitely plan to go there again with family and friends. They said the glass roof will slide open in summer for an outdoor dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

5 Sense Experience

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

It takes your breath away when you first walk in. Vaulted ceilings with a retractable roof, rustic-industrial design and decor, amazing acoustics, and super friendly staff members. There are so many beautiful touches and character in the whole place. Everything is very clean and organized. The musical entertainment is awesome: live bands and karaoke! The food is incredible. The presentation is very eye-pleasing. The ribs are tender, flavourful, and perfectly smoked. The bleu cheese sweet potatoes are a must-try! Nothing you choose will be the wrong thing. Tasty, tasty!

It's not just a great restaurant - it's an experience.

Take note: You will be carded at the door and they serve peanuts, so be mindful of taking any allergy-cursed friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Old crow

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 26, 2014

Awesome food, great moonshine, excellent music.

Plan to go back often !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 19, 2013

Greta atmosphere. We were here on a weeknight, but I will be back for a Friday or Saturday to check out the music. Lot's of space, very open restaurant/bar. Good drink menu - try the Kentucky Breakfast if you like whiskey and most drinks come in mason jars

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

AMAZING FOOD!!! Best BBQ in

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 14, 2013

AMAZING FOOD!!! Best BBQ in the city!! I also loved the live country band. I will definitely be going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for the live music and

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 28, 2013

Went for the live music and dinner.

Draft Beer selection limited mostly IPAs

Food was good ... No highlights for entrees

Sides good green beans, sweet potatoes

Band was good lead woman singers would prefer lead males

for country music

Nice venue.. Big enough for groups space to move around and dance

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

cold bbq

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 23, 2013

Bad

Our food was cold.

In a city where mac&cheese is abundant this tasted worse than out of the box with sticky yellow cheeze.

Dry cold cornbread

Good

The smokey whisky in my manhattan was quite nice.

Beef brisket was the best of the pulled pork, grilled chicken and ribs.

Service

Music

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

New Country BBQ in Wrigley amazing

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 17, 2013

The space is incredibly impressive; you feel as if you're stepping into a barn that has been revamped and filled with tables. Great wait staff, food was verygood and extremely reasonably priced. Nice selection of specialty BBQ sauces. Interesting drink specials and a live band playing all night long. Really fun experience for dinner for anyone, and a great night out esp. for country music fans. One of the part owners spoke with us briefly and inquired about our experience and bought us a round of drinks. Def recommend this place for a meal and to party.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.