Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Old City House

features creative cuisine, spiced with variety, in a casually elegant dining atmosphere. Located in a beautifully restored 19th century building, the Old City House offers it’s guests the chance to experience a personal selection of world cuisine in a Mediterranean atmosphere. Only the finest ingredients are used and all entrees are prepared to order featuring fresh seafood, pasta, beef, lamb, and pork. The intimate and charming dining room is conducive to a relaxed, comfortable meal which is served by a knowledgeable and professional wait staff.

115 Cordova St
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Tuesday -Saturday 11:30am-2:30pm; Sunday 11:30-2:00
Dinner: Monday -Thursday 5:00pm-9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday 4:30-8:00

Cross Street:
king st. & Cordova st.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 826-0113

Website:
http://www.oldcityhouse.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Old City House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Historic (16)
Special Occasion (16)
See All
Cozy (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Romantic (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Authentic (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Casual (4)
Business Meals (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Fireplace (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Scenic View (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Fun (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
People Watching (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
238 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Pleasant surroundings with and small but good selection of meals. Went here for anniversary dinner and was pleased with the quality of the food. Meals were a bit pricey for the size of serving.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Definately in top 3 restaurants in St Augustine . Give it a try . You will go back .

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I made reservations after my experience after visiting this restaurant on a food tour. Excellent service and cuisine.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I rarely leave reviews but this place deserves one. It was by far the best meal we had all week during our girls trip. The ambiance in the garden was perfect and everyone loved their meal! That is not typical for a group of 8 women. Excellent place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 30, 2017

First and foremost, the food was very bland and extremely overpriced for what you get. Very old fashion and nothing innovative in term of cuisine. The carpets and chairs were dirty and the decor is very outdated. They ran out of the bottle of wine that we wanted to the exception of a bottle that was already opened. The waiter offered the wine by the glass but after serving one glass the second glass was short of a full serving and charged us for two full glasses. In addition, they ran out of prawns for the tasteless Cioppino. This place would never survive in Miami, our home town. Bottom line don't waste your money at the Old City House.

Gourmet from Miami.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wonderful experience. Food was fresh especially the fish of the day. Staff was attentive without being bothersome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Apps were great but the entrees were a little weak. Great values on the sparse wine list. Definitely ask for a table outside in the courtyard.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 26, 2017

i was given a seat so in need of reupolstering that this establishment should have--but obviously was not--ashamed to ask any guest to sit on it.

Otherwise, food snd service were good, and it was quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Nothing special. Medium food, service, price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We enjoyed our dining experience at Old City House. We especially enjoyed the attentive service and the food was delightful! I ordered the Cioppino, and I told my waiter that my mother made a vicious Cioppino- my favorite meal. I was not disappointed by the artistry and taste of the chef at the Old City House.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 22, 2017

A wonderful birthday meal! My husband had the vegetable lasagna which was quite different and delicious. I had a fish dish with yucca, very good. I especially enjoyed the palate cleansing sorbet and asked if I could have it as my dessert. Our waiter was so accommodating and served us the sorbet in a martini glass! A wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 17, 2017

We arrived at our confirmed reservation time to find a "Closed" sign on the door. We had a terrible dinner elsewhere--thanks for ruining our night out!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We patronize this restaurant whenever we are in St. Augustine. Dinner last Thursday did not disappoint! The beef was tender and done right; the vegetables crisp and tasty. Shared a chocolate creme brulee for dessert. We did learn that going early (5:30 pm) allowed us to find a spot in the restaurant parking lot, as opposed to street parking (of which there was plenty at that time, too). Highly recommended -- a bit pricy, but well worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Historic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Food was tremendous! 5-stars! The wine list was outstanding! The New Zealand lamb lollipops were delicious! The Pork Osso Buco was falling off the bone. I would recommend Old City House to all couples and families. The portion size were generous too!
I do have a bad comment though regarding the other couple that was dining when we were. This couple had a dog sitting on a restaurant chair them throughout their dining experience. I understand dogs are allowed in many restaurants these days, but this to me was not expectable for this venue., especially when I purchase $100 bottle of wine and $40 lamb dinner!

Tags: Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Cozy, historic setting great for a date or couples dining. Well prepared, tasty and rich food with creative flare. Service was just right, there when needed but not hovering. Will dine there whenever in area.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fabulous meal. Great service. Robin was terrific. Didn't rush the meal. 👍

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was good, but very slow coming out. Service was acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Our entrees were good as was the wine we had chosen. The place lives up to its name. The padding on the seats is worn out and not all that comfortable. We experienced service issues and noticed another table did also. It also would have been nice to have a bartender on staff that was familiar with the classic cocktails. Scotch and vermouth is a Rob Roy, not a Manhattan. Basically for the price of the meal, I expect better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Being this restaurant rated one of the best in town, we expected it to be a lot better than what we found it to be. We are locals and wanted to take friends visiting from California to a special place. We got there earlier than expected and sat in the courtyard which is beautiful. The place inside just stunk. Before sitting, we had to ask the waiter to remove the table cloth as it was awfully dirty (in fact, all of the table cloths oat the different tables were dirty). The food was alright, but really nothing special at all. The only thing I found to be great was the service provided by our Waiter - a very nice guy, assiduously attending to our comfort and wishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 26, 2017

First time trying their lamb. It was outstanding. Always dine here when in St. Augustine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Everything was good. Good, friendly service. Good food. Good atmosphere. Not unique. Did not meet high expectations. Easy to recommend, but not enthusiastically recommend.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere, staff was very attentive and pleasant. Our meals were delicious. We would definitely go again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Historic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Fantastic food! The Chilean Sea Bass and Escargot were out of this world delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 21, 2017

This is a lovely place for a date. Their outdoor garden area is quaint. Both service and food are excellent.
We had an excellent meal. They accommodated a special request without any concerns. Highly recommended if for nice ambience and excellent quality food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The staff was great. The food was great. The atmosphere was wonderful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Intimate dining experience with excellent service and delicious food. Portions were very generous and ingredients fresh and inventive. Loved it and will definitely dine at the Old City House the next time we are in St Augustine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Outstanding food and service in one of our favorite spots in St. Augustine

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Went for lunch, food was absolutely AMAZING!!! Sat out back in courtyard. Great area & nice to be off the beaten path filled with tourists like cattle. Do your self a favor & come here for a quaint, palette sensation!

Tags: Cozy, Historic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Brunch was only fair with very limited choices. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very good food, but too rich/fancy and very pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We really enjoyed a romantic dinner here. The service staff was very polite and attentive. The food was beautifully and well executed. I think the main key that highlighted how classy this restaurant is was the fact that we got a sorbet in between courses to cleanse our palette, you rarely see that in a restaurant unless it's very fancy. I think the ambience and location is charming. Its definitely worth the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food tasted great, but two of our 3 meals were under cooked. Beware that beef or lamb cooked medium here is actually med-rare or less. Great wine selection. Our server could have had a human personality but he was technically proficient. It has a unique ambiance and the food tasted great, but with all the options in St. Augustine we won't be back for quite awhile.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Our meal was excellent. Everyone was pleased with their order. Meat was cooked perfectly. Seafood was delicious. Our waiter was superb. An overall lovely experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Good food, ambience, service, but overpriced. There are better restaurants in town for the price

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Went here for an early Valentine's Day dinner. Food was amazing! Their website needs to be updated, the menu was completely different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Every single dish we tried was sublime. Beet salad, pork belly, carbonara, and the lamb. So so delicious. We were easily the youngest patrons there by 30 or 40 years, but don't let that keep you from this gem of a restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food and service were excellent. The occasion was a get together of five people. The table was small and things were very crowded. Not enough room to share appetizers.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Front-of-house could use improvement - arrived 15 minutes early for mid-evening dinner, greeted warmly, invited to wait in a small lounge area, and then ignored. There was an opportunity missed to serve us wine or cocktails while we waited. There was also very uneven attention paid to some tables/guests vs others by the hostess. Eventually, the food and service met our expectations, which are high when we limit our search to fine dining restaurants.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

What a wonderful evening. Our food was excellent , the room cozy and warm and the service was great. The menu is creative and varied. They brought a beautiful dessert for my husband's birthday. It was a lovely evening!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Met some old friends for dinner. Reservation honored on time. We shared escargot and the crabmeat salad. Both were very good. We tried the veal chop, filet and lamb chops. All were cooked perfectly and accompanied by tasty vegetable medley

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.