About Old City House

115 Cordova St
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

features creative cuisine, spiced with variety, in a casually elegant dining atmosphere. Located in a beautifully restored 19th century building, the Old City House offers it’s guests the chance to experience a personal selection of world cuisine in a Mediterranean atmosphere. Only the finest ingredients are used and all entrees are prepared to order featuring fresh seafood, pasta, beef, lamb, and pork. The intimate and charming dining room is conducive to a relaxed, comfortable meal which is served by a knowledgeable and professional wait staff.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Monday -Saturday 11:30am-2:30pm; Dinner: Monday -Thursday 5:00pm-9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 826-0113

Website:
http://www.oldcityhouse.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Wine, Wine Bar

Old City House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Romantic
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
St. Augustine
9 More
Best Food
St. Augustine
Best Service
St. Augustine
Best Ambiance
St. Augustine
Best Value
St. Augustine
Fit for Foodies
St. Augustine
Neighborhood Gem
St. Augustine
Romantic
St. Augustine
Special Occasion
St. Augustine
Most Booked
St. Augustine
Best Restaurants in St. Augustine ›

fit for foodies (33)
special occasion (32)
romantic (29)
See All
neighborhood gem (24)
notable wine list (6)
great for lunch (6)
great for outdoor dining (4)
good for groups (3)
great for brunch (2)
late-night find (1)
hot spot (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
141 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I met a friend there for din ...

Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I met a friend there for dinner on Fathers Day and were very pleasantly surprised. The place had interesting décor, the wait staff was knowledgeable pleasant and patient and the food was outstanding. My wife and I travel a lot and we have become numb to all the chain restaurants so we are always looking for something local that is interesting with good food. This is it for St. Augustine FL! There are many good restaurants in St. Augustine but from now on when we want someplace that is casual and easy paced with outstanding food and service, this is it. Be sure to ask for Mack (our waiter - he was excellent)!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Attentive - but not distracting - servic ...

Dined 7 days ago

Attentive - but not distracting - service that allowed us have a great time together.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Old City Inn

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

This small intimate dinning spot is a great find in St. Augustine. The menu covers all tastes and from our selections it appears the chef has mastered them all. Our wait staff was very attentive and helpful. Though the room is relative small about every table was taken; yet the noise level was never a problem. If we are ever back in St. A's this will be on the top of our choices for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Good but take your time.

Dined on May 29, 2016

Food really good, service friendly but food comes out very slow. Plan on a long evening. Decor needs update and freshening.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great find.Have lived in St.Augus ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

What a great find.Have lived in St.Augustine for a little over a year and have been eating out quite a bit. There are many good restaurants in St Augustine, but this was the very best so far. The ambiance is great and the food and service outstanding and worth the price. IF the owners keep up this high standard we will be back many times

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Staff was wonderful and attentive - but ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Staff was wonderful and attentive - but not overly so. It was our best meal of our three day weekend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Weekend in St. augustine

Dined on May 13, 2016

We were looking for a place with atmosphere and great food and service, we got it all at The Old City Inn and Restaurant. Our waiter, Alberto, was knowledgeable and attentive, yet didn't hurry us. The food was excellent. My wife said the duck was the best she has ever had. We can't wait to go back the next time we get to St. Augustine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service1

Worst dining experience - it took 1 1/2 ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Worst dining experience - it took 1 1/2 hours to get our meal. Tables that had arrived after we were seated, received their dinner AND desert and we still had not been served our meal! The potato au gratin looked like all the chef did was slice a potato and put cheese on top (there was an inch of grease in this dish)

food2
ambience4
service3
value1

A bad day for a good restaurant?

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Perhaps because it was Mothers' Day, we had a very poor experience here. We were given a special Mothers' Day menu rather than their usual menu. This was fine with us. I decided on the stuffed flounder but found that they were out of this dish even though it was only 6:30 in the evening. After I made a second choice, we actually started out well. My salad had an interesting sundried tomato dressing and fresh greens. My husband enjoyed the chicken mousse. My entree salmon was good but not great. I think the mustard sauce on it would have gone better with the original flounder dish. The real disaster was my husband's pork osso bucco. It was was over-cooked and irregularly warm and cold. Close to the bone, it was very cold. My husband guessed that it had been pre-cooked, frozen and badly warmed in a microwave. We told the waiter about the problem but had to request that it be removed from our bill since more than half of it was inedible. From a restaurant of reputation for fine dining, we expected better.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were absolutely ama ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The food and service were absolutely amazing! If you're looking for a date night spot or holiday place or just want a nice meal out, this is the place to go.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service.

Dined on April 28, 2016

Excellent food and service. Easy reservations through open table

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Four of us were seated immediately. Serv ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Four of us were seated immediately. Service was professional and attentive. One of us had the special honey Dijon salmon, which he described as "the best salmon have ever had". My steak was prepared medium rare as requested, and was tender and flavorful. I enjoyed the key lime pie dessert with a Toblerone crust. The only flaw was that our four dinners were not served at the same time - my steak a couple of minutes after the first two dinners, then the salmon came several minutes later. But that didn't seem to be a pattern at nearby tables.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Senses Sighed

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

We wish we went earlier during our vacation week because then we would've gone back! The dinner was delicious. Hot, fresh, scrumptious. The warm bread...yum! Unfortunately for us we live 1500 miles away or we'd go back often.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Old City House is a gem!

Dined on April 18, 2016

My wife and I were so extremely fortunate to have stayed at their inn, in a lovely room, and equally fortunate to have thoroughly enjoyed their fine restaurant for an excellent dinner, but also for a lovely 'b &b' brunch, as this restaurant also serves as the dining room of the Inn. There's a nice wine list and excellent service, as well as a full bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Charming, romantic setting

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

My husband and I wanted to walk around St. Augustine so we searched the open table app for restaurants. This restaurant was part of an Inn and was absolutely charming. Great place for a date night. Intimate, I felt like we were at a table all by ourselves in the restaurant. There were several diners but you did not hear them and my husband and I were able to converse without yelling. Our server was great even took the time to stuff our green olives with blue cheese for our martini's upon our request! The food was VERY good although I felt just a tad pricey. We had an enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Easter dinner

Dined on March 27, 2016

We enjoyed an exceptional Easter dinner on the busy holiday weekend in Saint Augustine. The food was fantastic and the service impeccable. We will definitely return on our next visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Tasty

Dined on March 24, 2016

The food was quite tasty and enjoyed by all of us. When we first arrived and we were seated, it took awhile for someone to bring water, start the process. But after that, service was fine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic! Superb!!

Dined on March 24, 2016

Delicious food! Large quantities, come hungry. Presentation of all dishes beautiful! I had the Chilean sea bass and my husband had the lamb, both were quite tasty! Would definitely get reservations again. 5 stars!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful, quiet little place. Stopped b ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Wonderful, quiet little place. Stopped by for lunch today. Best Cuban sandwich I've ever eaten, and I've lived in South Florida, so that is saying a lot. Waitress was super friendly, and even wrote Happy Birthday in raspberry sauce on my Fiancée's dessert. Would highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal in a busy city

Dined on March 15, 2016

Our meal for the second time was excellently consistent. The food, service, and atmosphere was relaxing and exceptional. It is a bit more expensive, but worth the money for the food and service. The staff is great, and presentation is very good. After a busy day walking all over and enjoying the town, enjoy an excellent meal and service here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food in a nice atmosphere

Dined on March 13, 2016

We found the food here to be better than the reviews we had read. It is definitely 4 stars.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful as usual

Dined on March 10, 2016

Everyone in our group of six said we had picked a great place. One friend who attends cooking classes all over the world was very impressed. Our waiter was knowledgeable and fun. It is not a large dinning area so reservations are a must. We have been there for dinner several times but lunch was just as nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5

The crab bisque was fantastic, lots of c ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

The crab bisque was fantastic, lots of crab, creamy yet light broth, really good!! Melon and prosciutto was delicious. The sashimi special was good but the lamb entree was a little weak. Perfectly cooked lamb but the Demi sauce was poorly seasoned and the mashed cauliflower was bland. Our waiter, Matt, was excellent and the prices reasonable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Restaurant

Dined on February 28, 2016

Our first trip to St. Augustine and our dinner at Old City House was wonderful. Everything was done to perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Recommended by a local. Great service and food.

Dined on February 28, 2016

Our server Peggy was excellent. Lovely and quaint location right in the center of town. It appears there is also a ghost on the property. The owner Juan is very personable and made sure all his customers were happy. I would go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in all respects

Dined on February 28, 2016

From the beginning to the end, Old City House never disappoints! The ambiance, the service, the presentation of your meal is excellent. Whether you are a local or a visitor to St, Augustine, your dining experience will be memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over the top

Dined on February 25, 2016

Fantastic service followed up by a delicious meal. Good location in a great city. Many choices in this city and this one rates at the top.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Worth a visit

Dined on February 25, 2016

Dinner for four on a Thursday night- The hostess was friendly but not very welcoming to the vegetarian in the group. Two of had the "Zarzuela"- a shellfish stew in a light saffron broth-- mostly shells without a bold flavor. The appetizers- a smoked fish dip was superb--were very good. The salads were good but not special. There was a tour group eating next to us, which did not help the service or the ambience. The building is very inviting, evoking the Ancient City theme; the lighting soft-- could be a great place for a quiet romantic dinner on the right night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

Everything was very good. However I wou ...

vip
Dined on February 18, 2016

Everything was very good. However I would not list this restaurant as casual for dinner. It really should say business casual.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always pleases

Dined on February 16, 2016

Old City is one of our favorite places to relax and enjoy great food, service and an unhurried atmosphere!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect in every way!!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Perfect in every way!!

food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous food and setting -my husband an ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

Fabulous food and setting -my husband and I gave it a 9.5 on a scale of 10. I'll add we were there on Valentine's weekend and it was packed so a little noisy and our table was next to the "waiting area" and people were sitting next to our table so a little awkward. A different table would have been a 10.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great B&B restaurant. Excellent food and ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

Great B&B restaurant. Excellent food and service. James our waiter was super.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Superb!

Dined on February 12, 2016

Go here - we will be back. The food was outstanding, and my feeling is that this is a hidden gem. Well worth the time to visit. Relax, and enjoy - its very very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent place for any occasion

Dined on February 6, 2016

We thuroughly enjoyed our experience at Old City House. We were seated quickly and before our reservation time. The wait staff was very attentive and the food was fantastic. We started with a civeche appetizer that was very good. The Beef tenderloin was perfectly prepared medium rare and the ossobuco fell right off the bone. For dessert we had a lemon creme brûlée which was really good. We will be back next time we're in St Augustine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional

Dined on February 6, 2016

This was an absolutely wonderful experience, it was BY FAR the best meal I have ever had (not kidding). The flavor, presentation, and timing was like something you would see on TV. The restaurant is small, there is probably only 15 tables in the whole place, and is in the historic distric all which give it an intimate, romantic ambiance. This place is a gem and I will absolutely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I made a request for a quiet table to on ...

Dined on February 2, 2016

I made a request for a quiet table to one of our party being hearing impaired and the restaurant had given us the best table for that purpose. All four of us were comfortable, enjoyed our meals and the service. We will return.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

Food was good. Service was lousy.

Dined on January 31, 2016

Was special occasion, ordered drinks and bottle of wine. Cost $160 for 2. Our waiter acted as bartender when the Drinks tour would arrive. He would make 15 to 20 drinks and leave us hanging. Hasd to ask 2 other waiters for normal service. No apologies offered. Steak served cold, had to send back.

food5
ambience4
service5

The food and service were outstanding a ...

Dined on January 27, 2016

The food and service were outstanding and the best we had during our month-long stay in St. Augustine.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Service

Dined on January 24, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary with dinner at Old City House and had a very pleasant evening. Our waiter, Alberto, was very nice, accommodating and knowledgeable. I had the Sea Bass which was excellent and my husband had one of the evening specials which was a mix of seafood in a cream base (that's all I remember about it as I do not eat cream dishes). He said it was excellent and thoroughly enjoyed it. We ordered a dessert which was described as a coconut lemon cheesecake. We did not especially enjoy this as it lacked much flavor and was more of a custard consistency than cheesecake. It was one of those things that you keep taking bites of, thinking the next bite will be better.....but isn't. Overall our dinner was very good and I would go back again.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.