Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Old City House

features creative cuisine, spiced with variety, in a casually elegant dining atmosphere. Located in a beautifully restored 19th century building, the Old City House offers it’s guests the chance to experience a personal selection of world cuisine in a Mediterranean atmosphere. Only the finest ingredients are used and all entrees are prepared to order featuring fresh seafood, pasta, beef, lamb, and pork. The intimate and charming dining room is conducive to a relaxed, comfortable meal which is served by a knowledgeable and professional wait staff.

115 Cordova St
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Tuesday -Saturday 11:30am-2:30pm; Sunday 11:30-2:00
Dinner: Monday -Thursday 5:00pm-9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday 4:30-8:00

Cross Street:
king st. & Cordova st.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 826-0113

Website:
http://www.oldcityhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Public parking by the lightner museum free daily after 5:00 pm

Public Transit:
Flagler College, front of Lightner Museum home of Alcazar Hotel
next to Casa Monica Hotel Side of St. George st. two minutes from Lincolnville

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Free Corkage

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Specials

Free Corkage

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Free Corkage. Special valid Aug 3, 2017 - Dec 1, 2017 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Old City House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

85% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Cozy (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Business Meals (3)
Casual (3)
Authentic (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Seasonal (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
269 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 9, 2017

This was our anniversary celebration. Everything was perfect. The food was amazing. Waiter was exceptional. I highly recommend. An upscale dinning experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The food was so delicious and the service was so friendly.
The chicken dish was the best cwhicken dish I've ever tasted and I don't normally order the chicken at a fine dining restaurant.
The pumpkin risotto was a flavorful tasty dish that I would order by itself as a treat, it was so good!
Crème brulee was delicious too.
The grilled swordfish was cooked to perfection.
She crab bisque was so creamy and I would recommend it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Cozy, Business Meals, Fun, Local Ingredients, Casual, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 6, 2017

This was very awesome. Enjoyed spending our anniversary dinner there.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Always one of our favorites.
Delicious food. Excellent service. Peggy is awesome
!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Food was not only presented beautifully, but it tasted even better!!! Love the pallet cleanser, my dirty martini was perfectly smooth. We had a nice table by the window and it was perfect. Definitely highly recommend it.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 29, 2017

What a treasure! The Old City House lived up to all the reviews I had read and more! The food was incredible without being pretentious and the service was impeccable. I would highly recommend without reservation.

Tags: Vegan, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Our server, Peggy, held our table when we called to let her know that we were delayed by traffic congestion. Fortunately, Old City has their own private parking, so we didn't have to hunt for a space. While the restaurant floor was quite busy, our service was never affected.
Food was excellent, as usual, even with a birthday surprise dessert!

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Definitely not fine dining. Blue chips served with out ceviche and table crackers with our cheese tray. The cheese was something you could buy at your local super market and the crackers were cracked. Food was just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

We went here twice on our trip and both times food was amazingly wonderful as well as staff !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The service and food presentation was wonderful. The menu choices at lunch were a bit limited but everyone liked their food. The historic ambiance of the venue was interesting and the beautiful gardens outside are worth a look. They have parking!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Service & ambience was fantastic. Grouper was triple over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Wonderful meal. Great menu & wine list. Loved the decor, very quaint. Will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food and service was outstanding as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We had veggie lasagne and it was delicious ! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 17, 2017

There were 5 of us. We had rack of lamb, chicken milanese, and the pork chop and everything was delicious. Cozy , small, quaint restaurant. Definitely a find!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The owners the food the service the ambiance and beyond the creative dishes the desserts everything was awesome we will definitely return

We sure loved it be sure and give them a try and their lodging in is awesome the rooms are impeccable clean updated and wonderful and centrally located

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner however a fellow diner had their 2 small dogs in a stroller next to our inside table. We had a lovely window table but my husband did not want to sit right next to 2 dogs so we asked to move. This is a very small dining room by the way. The dogs barked several times during our dinner. I'm sorry....I love animals but don't really think they belong in a fine dining restaurant in a stroller.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Quality of food was mixed: some in our party loved their meal, others had the opposite reaction. In desperate need of updating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Had dinner there for July 4th. We had the crab cocktail appetizer. Also had some nice fresh bread with roasted garlic, olive oil & basaltic vinegar. Wife had crab cakes and I had the tenderloin. Steak was undercooked, but they put it back on, which was not an issue.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The place is in an old part of the town and looks small. When you are all in it is very home like. The living room waiting area is comfortable. The service is a step above where you are treated like a special family member. The beef was rare and tender, scalloped potatoes layered perfectly, and asparagus done right. Peggy made our time a special occasion as our 34th anniversary could not have been spent in a better place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 2, 2017

One of the best restaurants that we may have chosen in St. Augustine for a great dinner!

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Enjoyed the crab cocktail so much that I had two. Good food and a Charming atmosphere, my favorite restaurants in St Augustine and I've pretty much tried them all.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Service guilty of a big No-No. Don't walk up to a table that's in conversation and just bully your sentence over the top. Does it really waste so much of your valuable time to pause ever so briefly, to let the table pause conversation and recognize the server?? The ambience is charming, but the food isn't so special as to overcome a heavy handed server. I don't know if I will go again or recommend.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 17, 2017

A very charming restaurant with good food and wonderful service. Could not ask for more.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This was the worst service ever at Old City House. I took my 89 year old Dad for Father's Day. It took two hours to get a cold meal. I will not return. I used to go here for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 13, 2017

excellent service. Food could have been seasoned more, but overall it was pretty good. I give it a 4.25 stat

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We ate outside and the area was lovely. Our waiter, Mack, was terrific, personable and knowledgeable about the food and the wines. We did a sort of informal tapas for two: she-crab soup, shrimp and scallop ceviche, the beet salad, and escargot, all lovely. By-the-glass wine list was small, but adequate and there were good values to be had.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 1, 2017

One of the best St Augustine has to offer! Food always up to par, service elegant, Love the "orchid" garden

Tags: Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We were celebrating our anniversary. Mack was our server. He was knowledgeable and easy to talk with. Food was excellent and we were even surprised with a special anniversary dessert. We'll definitely celebrate there again.

Also fro Weds through Saturday they serve an excellent lunch. The cheviche and beef ravioli with a chorizo cream sauce were delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Old City House is the best kept secret in St Augustine with outstanding food in a quiet quaint atmosphere next door to the Casa Monica Hotel. Come here to escape the crowds in an inn that from the 1800's. Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Very delicious escargot and the hot bread with garlic is unique!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Pleasant surroundings with and small but good selection of meals. Went here for anniversary dinner and was pleased with the quality of the food. Meals were a bit pricey for the size of serving.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Definately in top 3 restaurants in St Augustine . Give it a try . You will go back .

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I made reservations after my experience after visiting this restaurant on a food tour. Excellent service and cuisine.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I rarely leave reviews but this place deserves one. It was by far the best meal we had all week during our girls trip. The ambiance in the garden was perfect and everyone loved their meal! That is not typical for a group of 8 women. Excellent place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 29, 2017

First and foremost, the food was very bland and extremely overpriced for what you get. Very old fashion and nothing innovative in term of cuisine. The carpets and chairs were dirty and the decor is very outdated. They ran out of the bottle of wine that we wanted to the exception of a bottle that was already opened. The waiter offered the wine by the glass but after serving one glass the second glass was short of a full serving and charged us for two full glasses. In addition, they ran out of prawns for the tasteless Cioppino. This place would never survive in Miami, our home town. Bottom line don't waste your money at the Old City House.

Gourmet from Miami.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wonderful experience. Food was fresh especially the fish of the day. Staff was attentive without being bothersome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Apps were great but the entrees were a little weak. Great values on the sparse wine list. Definitely ask for a table outside in the courtyard.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 26, 2017

i was given a seat so in need of reupolstering that this establishment should have--but obviously was not--ashamed to ask any guest to sit on it.

Otherwise, food snd service were good, and it was quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Nothing special. Medium food, service, price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.