Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Old City House

features creative cuisine, spiced with variety, in a casually elegant dining atmosphere. Located in a beautifully restored 19th century building, the Old City House offers it’s guests the chance to experience a personal selection of world cuisine in a Mediterranean atmosphere. Only the finest ingredients are used and all entrees are prepared to order featuring fresh seafood, pasta, beef, lamb, and pork. The intimate and charming dining room is conducive to a relaxed, comfortable meal which is served by a knowledgeable and professional wait staff.

115 Cordova St
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Tuesday -Saturday 11:30am-2:30pm; Sunday 11:30-2:00
Dinner: Monday -Thursday 5:00pm-9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday 4:30-8:00

Cross Street:
king st. & Cordova st.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 826-0113

Website:
http://www.oldcityhouse.com/

Parking Details:
Public parking by the lightner museum free daily after 5:00 pm

Public Transit:
Flagler College, front of Lightner Museum home of Alcazar Hotel
next to Casa Monica Hotel Side of St. George st. two minutes from Lincolnville

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Old City House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

Noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Cozy (15)
Special Occasion (14)
See All
Romantic (14)
Worth the Drive (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Business Meals (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Authentic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Casual (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
295 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was excellent, they did a great job accompanying a party of 10, would definitely go again..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Girls get together that was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 5, 2017

We had never been to dinner here before after visiting St. Augustine for many years. We will definitely go back. Best dinner we’ve had out in months.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 5, 2017

My husband and I chose this restaurant because we had gone there before and loved it. Well, somewhere between then and now it changed. As soon as we walked in there was no hostess. The staff was ignorant to our arrival, but finally were asked if we had a reservation. We said of course and were told our table wasn't ready yet...so we took a seat at the bar. After about ten minutes we were seated at our table and were introduced to our waiter, Chris. His reception was cold and he seemed irritated to have to wait on us. I had ordered the glazed pork chop and it came very well prepared, my husband ordered the same and his was cold, dry and overcooked. Chris offered to have the kitchen remake it and in the mean time I ate my dinner and my husband was still waiting of his. After about twenty minutes his dinner was brought out to him. So much fun, not being able to eat together!!! Another thing that was quite irritating were the glary bright lighting and no music playing......so much for the ambiance. We left a small tip and will not be returning.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Excellent staff, ambiance was perfect and the food was superb

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

Another wonderful experience at the Old City. We had our twin year old gran daughters with us and the restaurant accommodated us beautifully. We will be back again and again

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Food was really great, surprisingly so because when we walked in it looked very old (I guess St Augustine is old, so...) and the serving staff looked frazzled and rundown. It was the day after thanksgiving, so maybe that was abnormal. So the food: I know French fries aren’t necessarily a deluxe offering, but their French fries were absolutely delicious. Perfectly seasoned and thick enough that I knew I was eating a potato. The best part was that all of our food came out piping hot, not just the tasty fries. After a chilly trolly tour, that made it even better. I had the porta sandwich, mother had the shrimp salad, father and husband had meatloaf sandwich. All were fantastic! Server did her best even though she told us she had worked 12 hours on her feet the day before. St Augustine is really touristy, but this place impressed all of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

We had a 1.30pm booking for Thanksgiving lunch and arrived on time. There was no table available and we were told there would be a wait. It was another 50 minutes until we received our starter and a full 2 hours after our original booking before the main course appeared. When it did, it was not hot. The vegetables were cold and the turkey barely warm.
While waiting to be seated we ordered a drink at the bar. The barman was off hand and surly. He obviously did not enjoy his job. I asked if he had a cocktail menu and he replied ‘no’. And then had no interest in trying to advise me of a drink I may like. When I did decide on a drink, it was plonked on the bar in front of me with not a word spoken and then he turned his back and walked away. I would definitely not recommend this restaurant. None of the staff should be in the hospitality industry.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

We had a Thanksgiving reservation for 11, 4 were children 12, 10,6 &3. The add said that Thanksgiving dinner was $34 for adults and 16 for kids 12 and under. We were charged adult price for everyone. The worst part was that we were separated. My daughter had to eat with her children crammed in a corner and the rest were cramed in another corner with a Christmas tree between us. We sat pressed against the table with a chair touching the back of our chair. Defeated the purpose of a family Thanksgiving dinner. Too crowded and separated! Add no parking when the add said there was a private lot!

Tags: Gluten Free Options
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Excellent Thanksgiving Dinner! Great food, wine and service, Highly Recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 22, 2017

Arrived earlier than our reservation and they accommodated us. Reservation was easy to make using Open Table. Server was pleasant. Menu is limited. Steak and Cioppini were good. Cozy, small dining room. Single person ladies room is a negative. Overall experience was average. Not a cut above.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 21, 2017

Excellent crab soup. Server had a bit of an attitude.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 19, 2017

This was our first visit but will not be our last. I had the pork osso bucco and my husband had the rack of lamb. We also had the crab soup and cheese tray. All were excellent. Service was wonderful, and they have a full bar. Walking distance to everything downtown in St. Augustine's historic district. Fine dining and romantic-we went for our anniversary.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

Great old world charm good food, service was quite special!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Very disappointed in this restaurant... did not even look at our reservation... no requested romantic table or acknowledgement of our anniversary that was clearly mentioned in both reservation and at the restaurant... my wife is a vegetarian and went to order vegetarian lasagna on menu... told we don't have it tonight... asked waiter what is available... you can have a salad... wrong answer... will not recommend... very non detailed oriented and lacking big time in customer service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

Excellent food, nice staff. We had 4 different meals and each was perfect. If you like lamb, try the rack.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Excellent food. Excellent service. We would definitely return we are in st Augustine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 12, 2017

My husband and I love trying different places in St Augustine. We had seen this restaurant and decided to try it to celebrate our anniversary. What a great decision. The atmosphere was splendid and the food was delicious. We had 4 in our party and we all tried various things on the menu. We had the Cheese and Olive board along with the pan seared tuna and both crab and clam chowder soups for appetizers. For main course we had beef tenderloin, lamb, parmesan chicken milanese and swordfish (which was the special for the evening). Everything was spectacular and all was well presented. They brought us a special dessert which said Happy Anniversary on it which was such a nice touch. Forgot to mention we also had Bloody Mary's and Old Fashions for cocktails which were also fabulous. I would highly recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Our open table reservation did not show up in their system so we ended up eating at the bar. It was an ok experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 10, 2017

We travel to Saint Augustine a lot but this was our first visit to Old City House. We will go there again. It is like an old time family inn which I guess it is. The menu is somewhat limited, but both our meals were excellent. The occasion was our 54th wedding anniversary, and the waitress brought out a surprise anniversary desert to top off a fine meal.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 9, 2017

This was the 2nd time we chose Old City House for my partner's Birthday Celebration. We love the quiet, comfortable, historic elegance of this restaurant. Excellent service & food. The patio outside looks inviting, but haven't tried it yet.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 8, 2017

Amazing food and service. Will go again in a heartbeat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 31, 2017

We love this place an absolute gem. The s revive, ambiance, and steaks were outstanding! This is one of our top five high-end dining restaurants in the state of Florida. This is not to be missed and we will visit it again on our next trip to St. Augustine!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

We came here for the first time for our 20th anniversary dinner with our family. It did not disappoint. Everyone enjoyed their appetizers and entrees and we can be hard to please. Service was topnotch without being overly attentive - a hard balance to pull off. Would definitely go again when we are back in St. Augustine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

Excellent food and service . Interior could use updating. Chairs are old and cumbersome. Essentially they are worn out. Updating this restaurant would take them over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 9, 2017

This was our anniversary celebration. Everything was perfect. The food was amazing. Waiter was exceptional. I highly recommend. An upscale dinning experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The food was so delicious and the service was so friendly.
The chicken dish was the best cwhicken dish I've ever tasted and I don't normally order the chicken at a fine dining restaurant.
The pumpkin risotto was a flavorful tasty dish that I would order by itself as a treat, it was so good!
Crème brulee was delicious too.
The grilled swordfish was cooked to perfection.
She crab bisque was so creamy and I would recommend it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Cozy, Business Meals, Fun, Local Ingredients, Casual, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 6, 2017

This was very awesome. Enjoyed spending our anniversary dinner there.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Always one of our favorites.
Delicious food. Excellent service. Peggy is awesome
!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Food was not only presented beautifully, but it tasted even better!!! Love the pallet cleanser, my dirty martini was perfectly smooth. We had a nice table by the window and it was perfect. Definitely highly recommend it.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 29, 2017

What a treasure! The Old City House lived up to all the reviews I had read and more! The food was incredible without being pretentious and the service was impeccable. I would highly recommend without reservation.

Tags: Vegan, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Our server, Peggy, held our table when we called to let her know that we were delayed by traffic congestion. Fortunately, Old City has their own private parking, so we didn't have to hunt for a space. While the restaurant floor was quite busy, our service was never affected.
Food was excellent, as usual, even with a birthday surprise dessert!

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Definitely not fine dining. Blue chips served with out ceviche and table crackers with our cheese tray. The cheese was something you could buy at your local super market and the crackers were cracked. Food was just ok.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

We went here twice on our trip and both times food was amazingly wonderful as well as staff !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The service and food presentation was wonderful. The menu choices at lunch were a bit limited but everyone liked their food. The historic ambiance of the venue was interesting and the beautiful gardens outside are worth a look. They have parking!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Service & ambience was fantastic. Grouper was triple over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Wonderful meal. Great menu & wine list. Loved the decor, very quaint. Will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food and service was outstanding as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We had veggie lasagne and it was delicious ! Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 17, 2017

There were 5 of us. We had rack of lamb, chicken milanese, and the pork chop and everything was delicious. Cozy , small, quaint restaurant. Definitely a find!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.