About Old City House

115 Cordova St
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

features creative cuisine, spiced with variety, in a casually elegant dining atmosphere. Located in a beautifully restored 19th century building, the Old City House offers it’s guests the chance to experience a personal selection of world cuisine in a Mediterranean atmosphere. Only the finest ingredients are used and all entrees are prepared to order featuring fresh seafood, pasta, beef, lamb, and pork. The intimate and charming dining room is conducive to a relaxed, comfortable meal which is served by a knowledgeable and professional wait staff.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Tuesday -Saturday 11:30am-2:30pm; Sunday 11:30-2:00
Dinner: Monday -Thursday 5:00pm-9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday 4:30-8:00

Cross Street:
king st. & Cordova st.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 826-0113

Website:
http://www.oldcityhouse.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Wine, Wine Bar

Old City House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Romantic
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Overall
St. Augustine
7 More
Best Food
St. Augustine
Best Service
St. Augustine
Best Ambiance
St. Augustine
Fit for Foodies
St. Augustine
Neighborhood Gem
St. Augustine
Romantic
St. Augustine
Special Occasion
St. Augustine
Best Restaurants in St. Augustine ›

special occasion (23)
fit for foodies (20)
romantic (20)
See All
neighborhood gem (15)
notable wine list (5)
great for lunch (3)
good for groups (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
144 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Quaint and romantic little restaurant. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Quaint and romantic little restaurant. The food was excellent. Staff are friendly and attentive. Will definately return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The beet salad with goat cheese was out ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The beet salad with goat cheese was out of this world delicious. I also had the lamb tender loins which were out of this world delicious. Coodo's to the chef.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere for quiet dining and vi ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great atmosphere for quiet dining and visiting with friends, and attentive service. Everything besides the entree is extra, including coffee. Only improvement suggestion would be a better selection of wines by the glass--$9 for house wine is steep, and there were only 2-3 alternatives.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I met a friend there for din ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My wife and I met a friend there for dinner on Fathers Day and were very pleasantly surprised. The place had interesting décor, the wait staff was knowledgeable pleasant and patient and the food was outstanding. My wife and I travel a lot and we have become numb to all the chain restaurants so we are always looking for something local that is interesting with good food. This is it for St. Augustine FL! There are many good restaurants in St. Augustine but from now on when we want someplace that is casual and easy paced with outstanding food and service, this is it. Be sure to ask for Mack (our waiter - he was excellent)!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Attentive - but not distracting - servic ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Attentive - but not distracting - service that allowed us have a great time together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Old City Inn

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This small intimate dinning spot is a great find in St. Augustine. The menu covers all tastes and from our selections it appears the chef has mastered them all. Our wait staff was very attentive and helpful. Though the room is relative small about every table was taken; yet the noise level was never a problem. If we are ever back in St. A's this will be on the top of our choices for dinner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good but take your time.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Food really good, service friendly but food comes out very slow. Plan on a long evening. Decor needs update and freshening.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

What a great find.Have lived in St.Augus ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

What a great find.Have lived in St.Augustine for a little over a year and have been eating out quite a bit. There are many good restaurants in St Augustine, but this was the very best so far. The ambiance is great and the food and service outstanding and worth the price. IF the owners keep up this high standard we will be back many times

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was wonderful and attentive - but ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Staff was wonderful and attentive - but not overly so. It was our best meal of our three day weekend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Weekend in St. augustine

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We were looking for a place with atmosphere and great food and service, we got it all at The Old City Inn and Restaurant. Our waiter, Alberto, was knowledgeable and attentive, yet didn't hurry us. The food was excellent. My wife said the duck was the best she has ever had. We can't wait to go back the next time we get to St. Augustine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Worst dining experience - it took 1 1/2 ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Worst dining experience - it took 1 1/2 hours to get our meal. Tables that had arrived after we were seated, received their dinner AND desert and we still had not been served our meal! The potato au gratin looked like all the chef did was slice a potato and put cheese on top (there was an inch of grease in this dish)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

A bad day for a good restaurant?

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Perhaps because it was Mothers' Day, we had a very poor experience here. We were given a special Mothers' Day menu rather than their usual menu. This was fine with us. I decided on the stuffed flounder but found that they were out of this dish even though it was only 6:30 in the evening. After I made a second choice, we actually started out well. My salad had an interesting sundried tomato dressing and fresh greens. My husband enjoyed the chicken mousse. My entree salmon was good but not great. I think the mustard sauce on it would have gone better with the original flounder dish. The real disaster was my husband's pork osso bucco. It was was over-cooked and irregularly warm and cold. Close to the bone, it was very cold. My husband guessed that it had been pre-cooked, frozen and badly warmed in a microwave. We told the waiter about the problem but had to request that it be removed from our bill since more than half of it was inedible. From a restaurant of reputation for fine dining, we expected better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

The food and service were absolutely ama ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food and service were absolutely amazing! If you're looking for a date night spot or holiday place or just want a nice meal out, this is the place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service.

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Excellent food and service. Easy reservations through open table

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Four of us were seated immediately. Serv ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Four of us were seated immediately. Service was professional and attentive. One of us had the special honey Dijon salmon, which he described as "the best salmon have ever had". My steak was prepared medium rare as requested, and was tender and flavorful. I enjoyed the key lime pie dessert with a Toblerone crust. The only flaw was that our four dinners were not served at the same time - my steak a couple of minutes after the first two dinners, then the salmon came several minutes later. But that didn't seem to be a pattern at nearby tables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My Senses Sighed

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

We wish we went earlier during our vacation week because then we would've gone back! The dinner was delicious. Hot, fresh, scrumptious. The warm bread...yum! Unfortunately for us we live 1500 miles away or we'd go back often.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Old City House is a gem!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

My wife and I were so extremely fortunate to have stayed at their inn, in a lovely room, and equally fortunate to have thoroughly enjoyed their fine restaurant for an excellent dinner, but also for a lovely 'b &b' brunch, as this restaurant also serves as the dining room of the Inn.

There's a nice wine list and excellent service, as well as a full bar.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charming, romantic setting

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

My husband and I wanted to walk around St. Augustine so we searched the open table app for restaurants. This restaurant was part of an Inn and was absolutely charming. Great place for a date night. Intimate, I felt like we were at a table all by ourselves in the restaurant. There were several diners but you did not hear them and my husband and I were able to converse without yelling. Our server was great even took the time to stuff our green olives with blue cheese for our martini's upon our request! The food was VERY good although I felt just a tad pricey. We had an enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fabulous Easter dinner

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We enjoyed an exceptional Easter dinner on the busy holiday weekend in Saint Augustine.

The food was fantastic and the service impeccable.

We will definitely return on our next visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

The food was quite tasty and enjoyed by all of us.

When we first arrived and we were seated, it took awhile for someone to bring water, start the process. But after that, service was fine.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Fantastic! Superb!!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

Delicious food! Large quantities, come hungry. Presentation of all dishes beautiful! I had the Chilean sea bass and my husband had the lamb, both were quite tasty! Would definitely get reservations again. 5 stars!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful, quiet little place. Stopped b ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Wonderful, quiet little place. Stopped by for lunch today. Best Cuban sandwich I've ever eaten, and I've lived in South Florida, so that is saying a lot. Waitress was super friendly, and even wrote Happy Birthday in raspberry sauce on my Fiancée's dessert. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal in a busy city

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Our meal for the second time was excellently consistent. The food, service, and atmosphere was relaxing and exceptional. It is a bit more expensive, but worth the money for the food and service. The staff is great, and presentation is very good. After a busy day walking all over and enjoying the town, enjoy an excellent meal and service here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food in a nice atmosphere

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

We found the food here to be better than the reviews we had read. It is definitely 4 stars.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful as usual

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

Everyone in our group of six said we had picked a great place. One friend who attends cooking classes all over the world was very impressed. Our waiter was knowledgeable and fun. It is not a large dinning area so reservations are a must. We have been there for dinner several times but lunch was just as nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The crab bisque was fantastic, lots of c ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

The crab bisque was fantastic, lots of crab, creamy yet light broth, really good!! Melon and prosciutto was delicious. The sashimi special was good but the lamb entree was a little weak. Perfectly cooked lamb but the Demi sauce was poorly seasoned and the mashed cauliflower was bland. Our waiter, Matt, was excellent and the prices reasonable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great Restaurant

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Our first trip to St. Augustine and our dinner at Old City House was wonderful. Everything was done to perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Recommended by a local. Great service and food.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Our server Peggy was excellent. Lovely and quaint location right in the center of town. It appears there is also a ghost on the property. The owner Juan is very personable and made sure all his customers were happy. I would go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding in all respects

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

From the beginning to the end, Old City House never disappoints! The ambiance, the service, the presentation of your meal is excellent. Whether you are a local or a visitor to St, Augustine, your dining experience will be memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over the top

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Fantastic service followed up by a delicious meal. Good location in a great city. Many choices in this city and this one rates at the top.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth a visit

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

Dinner for four on a Thursday night- The hostess was friendly but not very welcoming to the vegetarian in the group. Two of had the "Zarzuela"- a shellfish stew in a light saffron broth-- mostly shells without a bold flavor. The appetizers- a smoked fish dip was superb--were very good. The salads were good but not special. There was a tour group eating next to us, which did not help the service or the ambience. The building is very inviting, evoking the Ancient City theme; the lighting soft-- could be a great place for a quiet romantic dinner on the right night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Everything was very good. However I wou ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Everything was very good. However I would not list this restaurant as casual for dinner. It really should say business casual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Always pleases

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Old City is one of our favorite places to relax and enjoy great food, service and an unhurried atmosphere!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect in every way!!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Perfect in every way!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food and setting -my husband an ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Fabulous food and setting -my husband and I gave it a 9.5 on a scale of 10. I'll add we were there on Valentine's weekend and it was packed so a little noisy and our table was next to the "waiting area" and people were sitting next to our table so a little awkward. A different table would have been a 10.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great B&B restaurant. Excellent food and ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Great B&B restaurant. Excellent food and service. James our waiter was super.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Go here - we will be back.

The food was outstanding, and my feeling is that this is a hidden gem. Well worth the time to visit. Relax, and enjoy - its very very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent place for any occasion

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

We thuroughly enjoyed our experience at Old City House. We were seated quickly and before our reservation time. The wait staff was very attentive and the food was fantastic. We started with a civeche appetizer that was very good. The Beef tenderloin was perfectly prepared medium rare and the ossobuco fell right off the bone. For dessert we had a lemon creme brûlée which was really good. We will be back next time we're in St Augustine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

This was an absolutely wonderful experience, it was BY FAR the best meal I have ever had (not kidding). The flavor, presentation, and timing was like something you would see on TV. The restaurant is small, there is probably only 15 tables in the whole place, and is in the historic distric all which give it an intimate, romantic ambiance. This place is a gem and I will absolutely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a request for a quiet table to on ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on February 2, 2016

I made a request for a quiet table to one of our party being hearing impaired and the restaurant had given us the best table for that purpose.

All four of us were comfortable, enjoyed our meals and the service.

We will return.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.