Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Old City House

4.2
378 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Quiet Conversation
  • Romantic
  • Special Occasion
features creative cuisine, spiced with variety, in a casually elegant dining atmosphere. Located in a beautifully restored 19th century building, the Old City House offers it’s guests the chance to experience a personal selection of world cuisine in a Mediterranean atmosphere. Only the finest ingredients are used and all entrees are prepared to order featuring fresh seafood, pasta, beef, lamb, and pork. The intimate and charming dining room is conducive to a relaxed, comfortable meal which is served by a knowledgeable and professional wait staff.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch Tuesday -Saturday 11:30am-2:30pm; Sunday 11:30-2:00
Dinner: Monday -Thursday 5:00pm-9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday 4:30-8:00
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(904) 826-0113
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
king st. & Cordova st.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Public parking by the lightner museum free daily after 5:00 pm
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Flagler College, front of Lightner Museum home of Alcazar Hotel
next to Casa Monica Hotel Side of St. George st. two minutes from Lincolnville
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine
What 378 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.2based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.2
service
4.3
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Quiet
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

They ambiance was perfect, this wasn’t our first time, however, everything always gets better!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

The ambiance was great! We had the New Zealand Rack of Lamb for dinner and it was outstanding. For dessert we shared the Creme Brule which was delicious . We can't wait to come back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day dinner. The meal was nice but the price point seemed higher than the overall product and experience. The staff was friendly and the food was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day brunch. Limited menu, but done very well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Excellent overall restaurant with nice outdoor seating and tasty menu. Our service was superb as well.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 2, 2018

We had just completed a sunset sail and were looking for a new place for dinner. We found Old City House on Open Table, and thought we'd give it a try. It was close to our hotel and had an 845p available reservation. Upon arrival, we announced our Open Table reservation, and the person (manager? ) said "well... OK, but we close in 15 minutes". 1) if you plan to close in 15 minutes, why did you advertise having a reservation available? Advertising an available reservation says "come eat here!". 2) even if THAT was a mistake, why be rude?

We sat at the bar, and my husband ordered dinner. The food was just average, and because it was so late, the salad didn't seem fresh. Like it was the last of the lettuce for that day and overly dressed to compensate. The cioppino wasn't a classic cioppino in terms of flavor, but was OK. It was mostly fish and the few mussels were enormous and rubbery. We had just eaten at Collage the night before, so that amazing meal combined with the rude greeting might be coloring the rest of my experience here, but with so many other great dining options in St. Augustine, I can't see any reason to go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We had a reservation for 8pm and finally got seated at 845. The food was good but that about all I can say.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Everything was prepared perfectly and tasted great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Amazing place. We were visiting st Augustine and this was recommended. Perfect meal!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Great food. Service not so much. Had a 60 ish year old woman as our server. She was also the bar tender so we waited on everything and she didn’t know the flavor sorbet she served us as the “pallet cleanser” and didn’t know the cheeses on the cheese plate. That is plain odd. But all food was great!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Worst experience ever have had. Reservation was for 8 pm got there at 7:45 and got seated at 8:10. We ordered drinks and food. I ordered my steak medallions extra well done. After 35 minutes the waitress came out and apologized for the wait and said "it's because the way you ordered it" then laughed. Well another 15 minutes went by and she said " ETA is 4 minutes". After another 20 minutes we left money on the table for drinks and started walking out. She came out of the kitchen and saw us and yelled back into the kitchen " don't worry about it they just left". This was my husband and my 28th anniversary and we ended up getting 2 slices of pizza for dinner. Thanks for nothing Old City House.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Nice atmosphere and excellent food. Perfect for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Convenient location and great food in heart of historic district.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Great food but the service was not so good. We waited for 45 minutes to be seated for a reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We both had the rack of lamb and it was excellent. We also loved the corn risotto -- very imaginative and a little bit of a kick from the Dalit Pepper. Service was responsive and thoughtful. Would definitely return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We started our meal with a cheese plate. Nothing to write home about. Certainly this high end restaurant should have high end cheeses. Our entrees--chicken parmesan Milanese and the Swordfish special were outstanding. The corn risotto was very tasty. We ended our meal with a key lime tart which was compliments of the restaurant for our anniversary.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

A good meal in a vintage home turned inn.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Thematically confused. Is this Italian or French not really sure. Starting at the beginning. The bread was hard the baked garlic rubbery. The wine selection uninspired and limited. We ordered the escargot and crab soup. The latter good the former rather weak with little flavor too heavy on the garlic. We both ordered the bouillabaisse which was just okay. We order a decent wine that was served on dishwasher safe glasses. Hardly appropriate glassware for fine dining. Interestingly the palate cleanse was very good suggesting that the talent is there just restricted. Don’t understand how this rates #2 when #1 stands so far apart.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Nice cozy restaurant. A bit pricey but good food. Great location.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Service very slow. Took 20 minutes to get first drink. Waitress insisted on us hearing the specials before doing anything for us. Will give it another try since the food and venue were very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Great location, Fabulous food. Peggy was great host/server. We had tomato soup and a special swordfish covered with crab and crab soup and veal meatloaf. Will definitely tell others about this restaurant and will come back again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Was a little disappointed in the menu. Very small. Had a good glass of wine and the veal meatloaf I had was very good and the chef didn't overcook the asparagus. The portion was enough I took home part of the entrée for a meatloaf sandwich.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

A bit disappointing. Escargot Bourguignonne came out swimming in butter and garlic: no red wine at all. I mentioned to her that the menu said Bourguignonne and she said she didn’t know what Bourguignonne sauce was. She was very sweet and I think she was helping serve because it was a busy day (Easter Sunday). She said she would ask the kitchen but never gave us a response and I didn’t want to ask again because it wasn’t her fault. My wife’s Chicken Milanese was very good. I tried the vegetable lasagna (no pasta) and I didn’t like the flavor. There was too much filler. Not sure what the filler was but it gave it a weird texture and flavor. This is a high dollar restaurant and the overall experience was not at all worth what we paid.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

It was good food but the parking is an absolute nightmare. We actually had some crazy woman standing in a parking place “saving” it for someone “on the way”. Too many other good restaurants to have to deal with this.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We made a reservation for Easter lunch...we were absolutely overwhelmed with how great the restaurant was on all levels. Delicious desserts, too! Can’t wait to return for dinner soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Fabulous meal on Easter Sunday

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

We've lived in the area for our lives, but have never tried Old City House. That was a misstate and we have some making up to do by frequenting this restaurant again in the near future. The meal was great and the intimate dining room and personal service made for a great night to celebrate my wife's birthday. Its not cheap by any means, but a good value due to the quality of the meal served. Definitely at the top of our list in St. Augustine from now on!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Our server Mack was attentive and provided us with wonderful service of a delicious dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Second time here and loved it again. Food was excellent and love the size and quietness if this restaurant. Wish the wine list was a little more extensive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Food was amazing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Very good food and pleasant service !! We enjoyed cappuccino martinis and a delicious meal ! Highly recommended !!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Excellent restaurant and would definitely go back. Service was very good food was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

We were celebrating a family birthday. The experience was perfect. The food exceeded our expectations. Our server made sure that every detail was perfect, including a dessert for the birthday girl. We can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 13, 2018

Good food, good service. Older crowd and very quiet. Ambiance was nice but nothing too exciting or unique which may be perfect for some and not ideal for others.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

Great food, great service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We were a group of four friends, arrived for a 730pm reservation. We were sat immediately ordered drinks and appetizer. The wine list was great , I got a bottle to share which was excellent and friends had cocktails which they enjoyed. We ordered escargot for our appetizer YUM! And no shells so we cleared them in no time. I shouldve kept the bread to sop up the left over yumminess! We ordered pork chop, rack of lamb, osso bucco and fish. There was a delay getting our entrees, we were informed by our waiter, due to a mishap in the kitchen with one of them, we were given extra drinks and dessert to compensate. All the food was excellent, my fav was my hubbys rack of lamb. The waiter was friendly attentive and informative. Id say the place is best suited to special occasions and quiet intimate date nights. We sat inside but next time wed like to try the patio seating it looked cozy and charming.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Food was very well prepared! Our server was informative, friendly, and attentive. We will be back!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2018

All other reviews were in line with our experience. Seats were uncomfortable, service was slow, food was good (not great) but overpriced. Decor is dated. Very poor bar selection. Needs a Reno/refresh.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Excellent food. If you are a fan of rack of lamb, theirs is terrific! The patio is a very nice setting in the evening with the lights in the trees. It was very chilly, so we asked to have the outdoor heaters turned on. The first osne was broken so they had to bring a second one. The only other snafu was our cocktail order. Although two of us ordered the same drink, was one served in a much smaller glass.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
10