Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Old City House

features creative cuisine, spiced with variety, in a casually elegant dining atmosphere. Located in a beautifully restored 19th century building, the Old City House offers it’s guests the chance to experience a personal selection of world cuisine in a Mediterranean atmosphere. Only the finest ingredients are used and all entrees are prepared to order featuring fresh seafood, pasta, beef, lamb, and pork. The intimate and charming dining room is conducive to a relaxed, comfortable meal which is served by a knowledgeable and professional wait staff.

115 Cordova St
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Tuesday -Saturday 11:30am-2:30pm; Sunday 11:30-2:00
Dinner: Monday -Thursday 5:00pm-9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday 4:30-8:00

Cross Street:
king st. & Cordova st.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 826-0113

Website:
http://www.oldcityhouse.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Old City House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Cozy (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
See All
Special Occasion (16)
Historic (15)
Romantic (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Worth the Drive (6)
Authentic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Casual (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Business Meals (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Fireplace (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
S
214 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 4 days ago

This is a lovely place for a date. Their outdoor garden area is quaint. Both service and food are excellent.
We had an excellent meal. They accommodated a special request without any concerns. Highly recommended if for nice ambience and excellent quality food.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 7 days ago

The staff was great. The food was great. The atmosphere was wonderful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Outstanding food and service in one of our favorite spots in St. Augustine

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Went for lunch, food was absolutely AMAZING!!! Sat out back in courtyard. Great area & nice to be off the beaten path filled with tourists like cattle. Do your self a favor & come here for a quaint, palette sensation!

Tags: Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Brunch was only fair with very limited choices. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very good food, but too rich/fancy and very pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We really enjoyed a romantic dinner here. The service staff was very polite and attentive. The food was beautifully and well executed. I think the main key that highlighted how classy this restaurant is was the fact that we got a sorbet in between courses to cleanse our palette, you rarely see that in a restaurant unless it's very fancy. I think the ambience and location is charming. Its definitely worth the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food tasted great, but two of our 3 meals were under cooked. Beware that beef or lamb cooked medium here is actually med-rare or less. Great wine selection. Our server could have had a human personality but he was technically proficient. It has a unique ambiance and the food tasted great, but with all the options in St. Augustine we won't be back for quite awhile.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Our meal was excellent. Everyone was pleased with their order. Meat was cooked perfectly. Seafood was delicious. Our waiter was superb. An overall lovely experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Good food, ambience, service, but overpriced. There are better restaurants in town for the price

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Went here for an early Valentine's Day dinner. Food was amazing! Their website needs to be updated, the menu was completely different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Every single dish we tried was sublime. Beet salad, pork belly, carbonara, and the lamb. So so delicious. We were easily the youngest patrons there by 30 or 40 years, but don't let that keep you from this gem of a restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food and service were excellent. The occasion was a get together of five people. The table was small and things were very crowded. Not enough room to share appetizers.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Front-of-house could use improvement - arrived 15 minutes early for mid-evening dinner, greeted warmly, invited to wait in a small lounge area, and then ignored. There was an opportunity missed to serve us wine or cocktails while we waited. There was also very uneven attention paid to some tables/guests vs others by the hostess. Eventually, the food and service met our expectations, which are high when we limit our search to fine dining restaurants.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 28, 2017

What a wonderful evening. Our food was excellent , the room cozy and warm and the service was great. The menu is creative and varied. They brought a beautiful dessert for my husband's birthday. It was a lovely evening!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Met some old friends for dinner. Reservation honored on time. We shared escargot and the crabmeat salad. Both were very good. We tried the veal chop, filet and lamb chops. All were cooked perfectly and accompanied by tasty vegetable medley

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great ambiance, food is very good. Service a bit slow this evening. The steak was cooked spot on. We will be back soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 24, 2017

We enjoyed an excellent meal including Escargot and Filet Mignon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We decided to return to Old City House after not dining there for several years. The room was quiet and not crowded, as we remembered. The food was prepared excellently, and we enjoyed it; however, the service seemed very slow, with a long wait between our salads and entrees.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great surprise with fantastic food and service. Very good wine selection. Chef creation were very good

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great seabass and steak!
Nice quiet atmosphere. Just right after a day of exploring St Augustine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Lovely meal in a lovely old house. Our first time but definitely not the last.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The place is very rundown and should be updated . The chairs are worn
out and I felt the springs of the bottom of the chair.
The filet mignon was just OK. I had to send it back as I ordered it medium and it came out rare! The potato gratin was undercooked and the potatoes very very hard. The brussels sprouts while tasty were very under cooked and very very hard. The cook doesn't seem to like to hear any input as she argued with The waitress that I had ordered rare when I ordered medium!
My husband ordered fish which did not say it was spicy. He actually likes spice but it was overly spiced as to not even finish it !
For the price of the entrées this is not a comeback.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was good but you will not find healthy there. The atmosphere was quaint but confined. The biggest problem was the pace of the meal. If you enjoy an ultra slow pace so you can sip wine, then this will fit your bill. For us, it was painfully slow and the food was not piping hot when served. Probably would not return or recommend.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

As usual it was wonderful. The meal was great and the service was very good. Your Chillian Sea Bass is to die for!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service and food were excellent. Appetizers, entrees and deserts were all well done. The service was also very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The waitress recommendation was for the filet. I ordered it medium and it came back rare. They took it back and brought out a filet between rare and medium rare. My wife's grits were bad and the chicken parmigiana was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The dining area was cozy and intimate. The wait staff was friendly and attentive. The menu was not extremely creative but the dishes were well prepared and delicious. I would eat here again and highly recommend Old City House.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We came to St. Augustine, Florida for a few days of relaxation. We arrived in the city on Christmas day and needed a restaurant to enjoy Christmas dinner. The Old City House was just right. In the heart of the old town of St. Augustine, the restaurant was casual, but good and the food was excellent. Very relaxing...

Tags: Casual, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Love this restaurant - great for special occasions and holidays - make a reservation! Great food and excellent service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Scenic View, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Lovely holiday dining with my daughter. Outstanding in every way

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

"you can MAKE a reservation; but you can't KEEP a reservation", Seinfeld. This happened to my wife and I after we drove one and a half hours to get to St. Augustine to have dinner at Old City House. The owner came out of the kitchen and said it would be an hour and a half wait even though we came right on time for our RESERVATION. He was insistent and just said sorry. I will never recommend or eat at this restaurant. I intend to notify the St. Augustine Chamber of Commerce about this experience. Likewise, I do not have much faith in Open Table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Old City is under new management, and it shows. A rarely-ordered aperitif had turned bad and was gladly replaced, and the bread tray was not a positive addition to the evening. But our filet mignons were perfectly done and delicious. We look forward to better dining here in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Delightful evening, every thing was perfect for my husband 's birthday. He had the filet and I had the Chilean sea bass and we always finish with the delicious trifle. By far our favorite restaurant in St. Augustine .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Lovely facility, small and intimate. Creative (albeit small) menu with an good variety. Baked garlic and baguette with oil and balsamic was a nice touch and sorbet preface to the entre was much appreciated. Outstanding service with well prepared and presented food. Locally crafted St Augustine Gin and Bourbon made for excellent cocktails. Make it a priority for dinner while in the City..you will not be disappointed!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We were looking forward to having dinner at Old City House after tasting a sample of one of their dishes on the St. Augustine Bed and Breakfast Tour. The restaurant is small and very crowded with too many tables. The wait service is excellent seeing to all your needs. The beet salad with goat cheese was delicious. However, the food was not the quality I would have expected. The pork shank osso bucca was a poor substitute for any pork dish previously served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 15, 2016

It was our 42ed anniversary and I couldn't of picked a more special place to have it. The food was fantastic and the atmosphere was perfect. Thank You for a great evening !!!!!!

Tags: Historic, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Very nice restaurant.
Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menus.
The 2 things that impressed me most was the serving of ices between the salad and main course to cleanse the pallet.
We have not experience that in a long time & we have eaten in some fine restaurants.
The other was the veal chop. It was large, very tender and done to perfection.

We will definitely recommend this if you are gOing to St. Augustine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Perfect evening .. charming .. quiet .. relaxing .. great food. We really liked our outstanding and friendly waiter (Albert). We will be back on our next visit to St. Augustine!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 6, 2016

very good, the outside patio is a beautiful, romantic area to dine.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.