About Old City House

115 Cordova St
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

features creative cuisine, spiced with variety, in a casually elegant dining atmosphere. Located in a beautifully restored 19th century building, the Old City House offers it’s guests the chance to experience a personal selection of world cuisine in a Mediterranean atmosphere. Only the finest ingredients are used and all entrees are prepared to order featuring fresh seafood, pasta, beef, lamb, and pork. The intimate and charming dining room is conducive to a relaxed, comfortable meal which is served by a knowledgeable and professional wait staff.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Tuesday -Saturday 11:30am-2:30pm; Sunday 11:30-2:00
Dinner: Monday -Thursday 5:00pm-9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday 4:30-8:00

Cross Street:
king st. & Cordova st.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 826-0113

Website:
http://www.oldcityhouse.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Old City House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Historic (12)
Romantic (11)
Good for a Date (11)
See All
Cozy (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Business Meals (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
Authentic (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
195 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great surprise with fantastic food and s ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great surprise with fantastic food and service. Very good wine selection. Chef creation were very good

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great seabass and steak! Nice quiet atmo ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great seabass and steak!

Nice quiet atmosphere. Just right after a day of exploring St Augustine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely meal in a lovely old house. Our f ...

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

Lovely meal in a lovely old house. Our first time but definitely not the last.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The place is very rundown and should be ...

 
·Dined on January 11, 2017

The place is very rundown and should be updated . The chairs are worn

out and I felt the springs of the bottom of the chair.

The filet mignon was just OK. I had to send it back as I ordered it medium and it came out rare! The potato gratin was undercooked and the potatoes very very hard. The brussels sprouts while tasty were very under cooked and very very hard. The cook doesn't seem to like to hear any input as she argued with The waitress that I had ordered rare when I ordered medium!

My husband ordered fish which did not say it was spicy. He actually likes spice but it was overly spiced as to not even finish it !

For the price of the entrées this is not a comeback.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

The food was good but you will not find ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was good but you will not find healthy there. The atmosphere was quaint but confined. The biggest problem was the pace of the meal. If you enjoy an ultra slow pace so you can sip wine, then this will fit your bill. For us, it was painfully slow and the food was not piping hot when served. Probably would not return or recommend.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

As usual it was wonderful. The meal was ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

As usual it was wonderful. The meal was great and the service was very good. Your Chillian Sea Bass is to die for!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food were excellent. App ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

The service and food were excellent. Appetizers, entrees and deserts were all well done. The service was also very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The waitress recommendation was for the ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

The waitress recommendation was for the filet. I ordered it medium and it came back rare. They took it back and brought out a filet between rare and medium rare. My wife's grits were bad and the chicken parmigiana was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

The dining area was cozy and intimate. T ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

The dining area was cozy and intimate. The wait staff was friendly and attentive. The menu was not extremely creative but the dishes were well prepared and delicious. I would eat here again and highly recommend Old City House.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We came to St. Augustine, Florida for a ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

We came to St. Augustine, Florida for a few days of relaxation. We arrived in the city on Christmas day and needed a restaurant to enjoy Christmas dinner. The Old City House was just right. In the heart of the old town of St. Augustine, the restaurant was casual, but good and the food was excellent. Very relaxing...

Tags: Casual, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this restaurant - great for special ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Love this restaurant - great for special occasions and holidays - make a reservation! Great food and excellent service

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Scenic View, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely holiday dining with my daughter. ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Lovely holiday dining with my daughter. Outstanding in every way

Tags: Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

"you can MAKE a reservation; but you can ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

"you can MAKE a reservation; but you can't KEEP a reservation", Seinfeld. This happened to my wife and I after we drove one and a half hours to get to St. Augustine to have dinner at Old City House. The owner came out of the kitchen and said it would be an hour and a half wait even though we came right on time for our RESERVATION. He was insistent and just said sorry. I will never recommend or eat at this restaurant. I intend to notify the St. Augustine Chamber of Commerce about this experience. Likewise, I do not have much faith in Open Table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Old City is under new management, and it ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

Old City is under new management, and it shows. A rarely-ordered aperitif had turned bad and was gladly replaced, and the bread tray was not a positive addition to the evening. But our filet mignons were perfectly done and delicious. We look forward to better dining here in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delightful evening, every thing was perf ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

Delightful evening, every thing was perfect for my husband 's birthday. He had the filet and I had the Chilean sea bass and we always finish with the delicious trifle. By far our favorite restaurant in St. Augustine .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely facility, small and intimate. Cre ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

Lovely facility, small and intimate. Creative (albeit small) menu with an good variety. Baked garlic and baguette with oil and balsamic was a nice touch and sorbet preface to the entre was much appreciated. Outstanding service with well prepared and presented food. Locally crafted St Augustine Gin and Bourbon made for excellent cocktails. Make it a priority for dinner while in the City..you will not be disappointed!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were looking forward to having dinner ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

We were looking forward to having dinner at Old City House after tasting a sample of one of their dishes on the St. Augustine Bed and Breakfast Tour. The restaurant is small and very crowded with too many tables. The wait service is excellent seeing to all your needs. The beet salad with goat cheese was delicious. However, the food was not the quality I would have expected. The pork shank osso bucca was a poor substitute for any pork dish previously served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

It was our 42ed anniversary and I couldn ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

It was our 42ed anniversary and I couldn't of picked a more special place to have it. The food was fantastic and the atmosphere was perfect. Thank You for a great evening !!!!!!

Tags: Historic, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice restaurant. Our waiter was ver ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

Very nice restaurant.

Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menus.

The 2 things that impressed me most was the serving of ices between the salad and main course to cleanse the pallet.

We have not experience that in a long time & we have eaten in some fine restaurants.

The other was the veal chop. It was large, very tender and done to perfection.

We will definitely recommend this if you are gOing to St. Augustine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect evening .. charming .. quiet .. ...

 
·Dined on December 13, 2016

Perfect evening .. charming .. quiet .. relaxing .. great food. We really liked our outstanding and friendly waiter (Albert). We will be back on our next visit to St. Augustine!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

very good, the outside patio is a beauti ...

 
·Dined on December 6, 2016

very good, the outside patio is a beautiful, romantic area to dine.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a very nice dining experience her ...

 
·Dined on December 5, 2016

We had a very nice dining experience here. The setting is a very cozy, smaller dining room with lots of character and ambiance. It was beautifully decorated for the holidays. Our server was attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. The food was excellent. I had the Cioppino, and my husband had the sea bass, as well as the Crab Bisque for a starter. All were delicious, although the bisque could have been warmer. The only minor complaint is that we had noted on our reservation that it was a birthday celebration, but nothing was done or said to this effect, which was kind of disappointing.

Tags: Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Small dining room with comfortable seati ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Small dining room with comfortable seating; having tried many St. Augustine restaurants, this is the best food we've ever had there. We were a bit early for our reservation and were seated quickly, server was pleasant and knowledgeable (although we were perplexed when he refused to ask the kitchen to prepare a steak medium-rare plus, saying it would be either medium or medium-rare, not something in the middle). That aside it was a delicious and pleasant dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We met lovely people. Not ideal for qui ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

We met lovely people. Not ideal for quiet conversation but the food was absolutely amazing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Charming atmosphere. Excellent food (lov ...

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

Charming atmosphere. Excellent food (loved the beet salad). Outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Holiday trip to st sugustine fl

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

Holiday trip to st sugustine fl

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good. The old style ambienc ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was good. The old style ambience spoilt by very uncomfortable, old rickety chairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Food was great we had 3 different dishes ...

 
·Dined on November 21, 2016

Food was great we had 3 different dishes all were excellent as was the wine

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We enjoyed the meal very much. The only ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

We enjoyed the meal very much. The only real problem is they didn't have the split

of perseco that we wanted and had no comparable alternative. The food was good

and well presented. The staff was helpful and patient. We will be back soon...

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice cosy restaurant in a historic build ...

 
·Dined on November 1, 2016

Nice cosy restaurant in a historic building. The food was very good with excellent presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I enjoy Old City House and consider it o ...

 
·Dined on October 21, 2016

I enjoy Old City House and consider it one of the best restaurants in SA. I expect, in any fine dining restaurant with a limited menu and limited specials, for the servers to know everything about the food being served. You should not have to check with the kitchen/chef. This is your job and since the meals are higher priced your tip is typically generous, KNOW THE MENU! The food is always good and service is typically good. I had the fish special which was very good but my server knew nothing about it. We are not all tourists. Tourists is why I think some restaurants do not really care how their customers are treated and how the restaurant is represented. The Collage is the perfect example of what Old City House could be..and should be

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Disappointing! Server lacked sophisticat ...

 
·Dined on October 16, 2016

Disappointing! Server lacked sophistication. Was not engaging nor helpful.

Tags: Historic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Excellent food, knowledgeable staff, per ...

 
·Dined on September 26, 2016

Excellent food, knowledgeable staff, perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Has been a special favorite of ours for ...

 
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Has been a special favorite of ours for 5-6 years. Excellent choices, fine presentation, and truly fine service. Never a disappointment.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent food and even better service. ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent food and even better service. Our waiter was Alberto and he was so knowledgeable about the menu. I had the beef tenderloin which was amazing. Can't wait to return to this fantastic restaurant!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time. Our hostess, Peggy wa ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Had a great time. Our hostess, Peggy was wonderful.

Food and ambiance was very good.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have always passed by Old City House ...

 
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We have always passed by Old City House and thought it looked like a place we would like to try for dinner. We wanted to go to St. Augustine on the spur of the moment to celebrate our Anniversary and decided we would ty the restaurant. We had great service with a knowledgeable waiter and the menu was varied and enticing. It's a small place and there were other diners but it remained quiet and easy enough to chat comfortably. Overall, the food was excellent, the service was great and the setting was perfect for old St. Augustine.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service and even more wonderfu ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Wonderful service and even more wonderful food - That steak was the best I have ever had!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing stood out at this restaurant. D ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Nothing stood out at this restaurant. Do not understand these other reviews. Grant you it was August and very slow. We were the only table occupied in the restaurant and one other to follow. One server poured our water as soon as we arrived and spilled it without bothering to clean it up. It seemed as if there was annoyance that anyone showed up. The food was not very tasty either. I had the pork chop. To top off the night since the restaurant closed at 8 pm on a Sunday we were not offered dessert and the music was shut off. The time was 730. Don't waste your time here. Place needs sprucing too. Chairs were old.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

The food was incredible. The service was ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was incredible. The service was great. The only small things are the people coming and going from the bar tend to be loud while couples are trying to have a romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.