About Old City House

115 Cordova St
St. Augustine, FL 32084
View Larger Map

features creative cuisine, spiced with variety, in a casually elegant dining atmosphere. Located in a beautifully restored 19th century building, the Old City House offers it’s guests the chance to experience a personal selection of world cuisine in a Mediterranean atmosphere. Only the finest ingredients are used and all entrees are prepared to order featuring fresh seafood, pasta, beef, lamb, and pork. The intimate and charming dining room is conducive to a relaxed, comfortable meal which is served by a knowledgeable and professional wait staff.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Tuesday -Saturday 11:30am-2:30pm; Sunday 11:30-2:00
Dinner: Monday -Thursday 5:00pm-9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday 4:30-8:00

Cross Street:
king st. & Cordova st.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(904) 826-0113

Website:
http://www.oldcityhouse.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wine

Old City House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Jacksonville / Northeast Florida
Best Food
St. Augustine
Best Value
St. Augustine
Best Restaurants in St. Augustine ›

Romantic (12)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Special Occasion (9)
See All
Historic (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Private Room (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
173 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Small dining room with comfortable seati ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 4 days ago

Small dining room with comfortable seating; having tried many St. Augustine restaurants, this is the best food we've ever had there. We were a bit early for our reservation and were seated quickly, server was pleasant and knowledgeable (although we were perplexed when he refused to ask the kitchen to prepare a steak medium-rare plus, saying it would be either medium or medium-rare, not something in the middle). That aside it was a delicious and pleasant dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We met lovely people. Not ideal for qui ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined 5 days ago

We met lovely people. Not ideal for quiet conversation but the food was absolutely amazing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Charming atmosphere. Excellent food (lov ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Charming atmosphere. Excellent food (loved the beet salad). Outstanding service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Holiday trip to st sugustine fl

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Holiday trip to st sugustine fl

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good. The old style ambienc ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The food was good. The old style ambience spoilt by very uncomfortable, old rickety chairs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Food was great we had 3 different dishes ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Food was great we had 3 different dishes all were excellent as was the wine

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We enjoyed the meal very much. The only ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We enjoyed the meal very much. The only real problem is they didn't have the split

of perseco that we wanted and had no comparable alternative. The food was good

and well presented. The staff was helpful and patient. We will be back soon...

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice cosy restaurant in a historic build ...

 
 (Cheshire)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Nice cosy restaurant in a historic building. The food was very good with excellent presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I enjoy Old City House and consider it o ...

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 21, 2016

I enjoy Old City House and consider it one of the best restaurants in SA. I expect, in any fine dining restaurant with a limited menu and limited specials, for the servers to know everything about the food being served. You should not have to check with the kitchen/chef. This is your job and since the meals are higher priced your tip is typically generous, KNOW THE MENU! The food is always good and service is typically good. I had the fish special which was very good but my server knew nothing about it. We are not all tourists. Tourists is why I think some restaurants do not really care how their customers are treated and how the restaurant is represented. The Collage is the perfect example of what Old City House could be..and should be

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Disappointing! Server lacked sophisticat ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Disappointing! Server lacked sophistication. Was not engaging nor helpful.

Tags: Historic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Excellent food, knowledgeable staff, per ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Excellent food, knowledgeable staff, perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Has been a special favorite of ours for ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Has been a special favorite of ours for 5-6 years. Excellent choices, fine presentation, and truly fine service. Never a disappointment.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Excellent food and even better service. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Excellent food and even better service. Our waiter was Alberto and he was so knowledgeable about the menu. I had the beef tenderloin which was amazing. Can't wait to return to this fantastic restaurant!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time. Our hostess, Peggy wa ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Had a great time. Our hostess, Peggy was wonderful.

Food and ambiance was very good.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have always passed by Old City House ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 6, 2016

We have always passed by Old City House and thought it looked like a place we would like to try for dinner. We wanted to go to St. Augustine on the spur of the moment to celebrate our Anniversary and decided we would ty the restaurant. We had great service with a knowledgeable waiter and the menu was varied and enticing. It's a small place and there were other diners but it remained quiet and easy enough to chat comfortably. Overall, the food was excellent, the service was great and the setting was perfect for old St. Augustine.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service and even more wonderfu ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Wonderful service and even more wonderful food - That steak was the best I have ever had!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing stood out at this restaurant. D ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Nothing stood out at this restaurant. Do not understand these other reviews. Grant you it was August and very slow. We were the only table occupied in the restaurant and one other to follow. One server poured our water as soon as we arrived and spilled it without bothering to clean it up. It seemed as if there was annoyance that anyone showed up. The food was not very tasty either. I had the pork chop. To top off the night since the restaurant closed at 8 pm on a Sunday we were not offered dessert and the music was shut off. The time was 730. Don't waste your time here. Place needs sprucing too. Chairs were old.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

The food was incredible. The service was ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food was incredible. The service was great. The only small things are the people coming and going from the bar tend to be loud while couples are trying to have a romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was amazing, waitress (Peggy) i ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was amazing, waitress (Peggy) is always the best - efficient, fun and beautifully kind. Have already recommended to some friends who have never had the pleasure of enjoying a meal at Old City House. Extra bonus is free parking. This is unusual for downtown Saint Augustine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old City House went the extra mile to ma ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Old City House went the extra mile to make my son's 40+ birthday a special evening.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great experience with out of tow ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Another great experience with out of town guests. This is a locals jewel. Menu is limited but every thing that I have ordered has been great. Small intimate restuarant worth the trip. Make reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to escape the heat for a lei ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great place to escape the heat for a leisurely Saturday lunch. Nice bottle of wine and a fresh salad with nicely grilled scallops. Loved the fresh bread with balsamic, flavored oil and roasted garlic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Menu not update with online menus. Under ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Menu not update with online menus. Undertrained staff, server didn't know the whole menu, ingredients nor quantities per plate. Got a raw Scallop. Not impressed with Menu. Not impressed with food. Very Overpriced place. I have no problem to pay for good quality food, I understand this place isn't Norman's or Victoria & Albert (and far from Robuchon). Price should be cut in 1/2.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

We loved our dinner date at Old City Hou ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We loved our dinner date at Old City House. The food was absolutely delicious in a nice quiet setting. It is on the expensive side, but you get what you pay for!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were celebrating my birthday. Got ou ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We were celebrating my birthday. Got our favorite table in the corner by the window. Nice and quite and romantic. Robin was our server and she was delightful. Took time to explain the dishes and also chatted with us briefly in between courses. The restaurant was built in the late 18th century so lots of atmosphere.

This visit I had the Crab Bisque and my wife had Gazpacho - both were delicious. I had the Cod and Scallop main with a datil pepper cream sauce - among the best fish dishes I've had. My wife had the beef tenderloin and it was very tender and delicious. We enjoyed a glass of wine and they surprised us with a special dessert for my birthday. It was a wonderful evening and we'll definitely go back.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific dining experience in every way. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Terrific dining experience in every way. Will be returning again very soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dinner and evening - outstandi ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent dinner and evening - outstanding service (seated asap). Good wine list,

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We arrived at 11:30 for brunch & were se ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 24, 2016

We arrived at 11:30 for brunch & were seated immediately. Wait staff was friendly. We ordered mimosas and enjoyed conversation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Lamb chops were great and pork belly app ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Lamb chops were great and pork belly app was excellent. Service was overworked and stressed. They also charge a fee to share a main course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Quaint and romantic little restaurant. ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 15, 2016

Quaint and romantic little restaurant. The food was excellent. Staff are friendly and attentive. Will definately return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The beet salad with goat cheese was out ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 4, 2016

The beet salad with goat cheese was out of this world delicious. I also had the lamb tender loins which were out of this world delicious. Coodo's to the chef.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere for quiet dining and vi ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great atmosphere for quiet dining and visiting with friends, and attentive service. Everything besides the entree is extra, including coffee. Only improvement suggestion would be a better selection of wines by the glass--$9 for house wine is steep, and there were only 2-3 alternatives.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I met a friend there for din ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 19, 2016

My wife and I met a friend there for dinner on Fathers Day and were very pleasantly surprised. The place had interesting décor, the wait staff was knowledgeable pleasant and patient and the food was outstanding. My wife and I travel a lot and we have become numb to all the chain restaurants so we are always looking for something local that is interesting with good food. This is it for St. Augustine FL! There are many good restaurants in St. Augustine but from now on when we want someplace that is casual and easy paced with outstanding food and service, this is it. Be sure to ask for Mack (our waiter - he was excellent)!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Attentive - but not distracting - servic ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 19, 2016

Attentive - but not distracting - service that allowed us have a great time together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Old City Inn

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 4, 2016

This small intimate dinning spot is a great find in St. Augustine. The menu covers all tastes and from our selections it appears the chef has mastered them all. Our wait staff was very attentive and helpful. Though the room is relative small about every table was taken; yet the noise level was never a problem. If we are ever back in St. A's this will be on the top of our choices for dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good but take your time.

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 29, 2016

Food really good, service friendly but food comes out very slow. Plan on a long evening. Decor needs update and freshening.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

What a great find.Have lived in St.Augus ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 25, 2016

What a great find.Have lived in St.Augustine for a little over a year and have been eating out quite a bit. There are many good restaurants in St Augustine, but this was the very best so far. The ambiance is great and the food and service outstanding and worth the price. IF the owners keep up this high standard we will be back many times

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff was wonderful and attentive - but ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Staff was wonderful and attentive - but not overly so. It was our best meal of our three day weekend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Weekend in St. augustine

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2016

We were looking for a place with atmosphere and great food and service, we got it all at The Old City Inn and Restaurant. Our waiter, Alberto, was knowledgeable and attentive, yet didn't hurry us. The food was excellent. My wife said the duck was the best she has ever had. We can't wait to go back the next time we get to St. Augustine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Worst dining experience - it took 1 1/2 ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Worst dining experience - it took 1 1/2 hours to get our meal. Tables that had arrived after we were seated, received their dinner AND desert and we still had not been served our meal! The potato au gratin looked like all the chef did was slice a potato and put cheese on top (there was an inch of grease in this dish)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.