About Captiva House

15951 Captiva Drive
Captiva, FL 33924
View Larger Map

Welcome to the charming and historic Captiva House at the legendary Tween Waters Inn Island resort and Spa. Known for Captiva's Gulf-front view of America's most romantic sunset.

Inspired by Executive Chef Jason Miller, our exciting "New Florida" menu is a colorful, wonderful exploration of island foods and flavors. Sometimes passionate. Sometimes mild. Sometimes fun. Yet all, truly great to admire and greater to enjoy — from appetizers, through entrees, to desserts.

Come, feast your eyes and appetite.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am - 10:30am; Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
2 miles north of Blind Pass Bridge

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 223-5865

Website:
http://www.tween-waters.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy nightly entertainment most nights at our Crow"s Nest Lounge adjacent to the Captiva House. Entertainment consists of the world famous hilarious NASCRAB Crab Racing interactive comedy show and crab race event that must be seen to believe. Two shows (children's 6PM and adult 9PM) most Monday and Thursday evenings throughout the year. Enjoy music stylings of a live and lively band every Friday and Saturday nights starting at 9PM. Plus, dance the night away to local singer Taylor Stokes, as he plays soft rock currents to classics most Tuesdays and Wednesdays starting at 9PM.

Parking Details:
Parking is open for all dining customers.

Executive Chef:
Jason Miller

Private Party Facilities:
The Old Captiva House:

Our historic restaurant that dates to the 1920s, beautifully appointed today with walls of white French doors and polished hardwood floors, yours to reserve in part or in total. Capacity 160.

Sunset Lounge:

This quiet, intimate room adjacent to the Old Captiva House is all windows and altogether charming. Beautiful views of Americas most romantic sunsets. Also opens to our Garden Terrace and the Old Captiva House. Capacity 50.

Private Party Contact:
Kerri Maw: 2394725161x404

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Captiva House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Ft. Myers
Romantic
Ft. Myers
Best Restaurants in Captiva Island ›

special occasion (29)
romantic (23)
scenic view (19)
See All
fit for foodies (15)
neighborhood gem (9)
great for outdoor dining (6)
good for groups (6)
notable wine list (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
183 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were a party of 4 and our waiter, Rob ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We were a party of 4 and our waiter, Robert, was very attentive. Our meal was delicious. There was live music (piano) discreetly in the back ground. Drinks were awesome. Each time we visit Sanibel we make it a point to dine here.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I had an excellent meal h ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

My husband and I had an excellent meal here, as always. The restaurant is quaint and charming, and the service is excellent. The food is always quite good, especially the crab bisque, which is outstanding. Highly recommended!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect!

Dined on May 8, 2016

This visit to the jewel of Captiva was a "10" out of "10". We just celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary and could not have had a better celebration than we had at Captiva House.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Classic place

Dined on May 4, 2016

Lovely place, went there for wife's 50th and was perfect. Right across the from beach, we watched the sunset from our table! Great food, not fantastic, but worthy of coming for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very good spot for a romantic dinner or ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Very good spot for a romantic dinner or just an escape night. Beach is across the street with easy access for a pre or post dinner walk.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived for a lovely dinner after a t ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

We arrived for a lovely dinner after a two hour sunset cruise. It was a wonderful 30th anniversary dinner.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Captiva restaurant

Dined on April 2, 2016

We had a superb dinner, with excellent service in a lovely setting on the bay. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Disappointing food overall. Short ribs w ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Disappointing food overall. Short ribs were food service prepared not in house. Watermelon stack was best thing we had. Last two seasons food was much better

food3
ambience1
service3

Too expensive for what it is Not worth i ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Too expensive for what it is Not worth it

food5
ambience5
service5

An excellent evening. Our waiter was gra ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

An excellent evening. Our waiter was gracious and helpful. The setting was simple and "Florida resort" stylish. We started with lobster spring rolls which were delicious. Salads were crispy and fresh. I had the bouillabaisse, which had seafood as fresh as any I have ever had. My wife had some really tasty crab cakes. Both were excellent. Dessert was a real outstanding carrot cake. All in all, it was a very special evening as we watched the sunset. Make sure you ask for a window at the front of the restaurant to see it.

food4
ambience4
service5

Lacey was very attentive to our needs.

Dined on March 17, 2016

Lacey was very attentive to our needs.

food5
ambience5
service5

We both had the crispy duck and thought ...

Dined on February 24, 2016

We both had the crispy duck and thought it was terrific.

food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Valentines Day Crushed

Dined on February 15, 2016

I admit we had reservations for Valentines dinner, probably one of their busiest nights of the year. We had called ahead and we knew that they had a prix fix menu and also had another limited regular menu. We were not much impressed with the fixed plate menu and all ordered off the limited menu. Four of us had an eggplant vegetation dish and two had steaks. The strip steaks, more like a moderate flip steak, came out medium well when we asked for med rare. At our request they cheerfully replaced one as the other guest chose to keep the steak he had. The second came out cooked rare to med rare. The four eggplant dishes were just plain awful. Nearly cold and hard, the sauce having been absorbed into the breading a long time ago, left the two quarter sized pellets of mozzarella to stand out like lonesome pines. Nothing they would want to write home to their Mom about, that's for sure. The wait staff though was cheerful, attentive and responsive, a hard thing to do on such a busy evening. I would not have taken the time to write this but Open Table suggested it. Careful what you ask for I always say.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience4
service5

Enjoyed our Valentines Dinner! Reservat ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Enjoyed our Valentines Dinner! Reservation was for 6pm, we arrived early and were seated right away. Our server Nile was friendly and seemed to know the right time to be at the table. Fellow wait staff was also friendly and gracious when removing our plates with each course. We were able to hear and enjoy our conversation throughout the evening. They had a pre fixed Valentines Day menu that was very good. They had white table clothes with red napkins (I don't know if that is there standard arrangement) but it was nice for the evening. The only thing missing was some candlelight on our table and a red rose. This was our first visit but won't be our last for special occasions.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Beautiful sunsets, limited menu

Dined on February 13, 2016

If you arrive before the sun sets, ask for a table in the first room or outside to see the spectacular sunset. on weekend, there is piano music for older patrons. Service is nice but the menu is very limited. My companion emembered the lamb, but it wasn't on the menu again. Some of the preparations were not appealing. They did try to accommodate specific requests. The food was delicious, but very pricey, and not exactly what we were in the mood for.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

A lovely upscale restaurant very near th ...

vip
Dined on January 26, 2016

A lovely upscale restaurant very near the Gulf. Live piano music was a plus for atmosphere. Service was excellent as was the food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our service was excellent and food delic ...

vip
Dined on January 26, 2016

Our service was excellent and food delicious!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Restaurant

Dined on January 24, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed eating at the Old Captiva House. We have eaten there before when we have been in Captiva and the food was delicious. Will definitely go back again next time we are in Captiva.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Quiet and classy on Captiva

vip
Dined on January 15, 2016

The Old Captiva Inn was a nice surprise with its white tablecloths, old world service and pleasant ambiance. No gimmicks just classy. Menu was a bit limited. A nice, not too large selection of moderate priced wines. Will go back several times over our stay in Captiva.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Nice but Needs Improvement!

Dined on January 14, 2016

Daughter ordered special which had shell fish that was not described by waiter. Dish was removed and changed courteously however our other two entrees were served. 20 minutes later her entree was brought back to table and ours were cold! Not the sort of experience we had hoped for for our special celebration dinner out!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The Bacon wrapped stuffed shrimp was ama ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

The Bacon wrapped stuffed shrimp was amazing as well as the pork shank special they were offering that night. We would definitely go back.

food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Disappointed

Dined on December 31, 2015

A friend recommended Old Captiva House. We went December 30, 2015. While the area is in peak season, it was no problem getting a table. That could have been our first clue. The restaurant is decorated nicely for the holidays. Nice atmosphere. Hostess was friendly. But once we were seated, we were disappointed. Service was slow. It took 10 minutes or more for anyone to come to our table. We ordered appetizers - I had the bacon wrapped shrimp. It was super salty. Then I had the grouper for dinner. It tasted fishy. My wife's dinner was average at best. I would not recommend the restaurant with all of the other choices in the area. Service was slow, but the waiter was very nice. Not cheap, so the expectations are higher for the staff and food. The restaurant needs some attention from management and the kitchen.

food1
ambience3
service2
value2

this visit to Old Captiva House was disa ...

vip
Dined on December 30, 2015

this visit to Old Captiva House was disappointing - a rather chaotic arrival at the desk to be seated was just as a party of 6 were being seen to their table, and there must have been a problem as the girl disappeared for ages, and two other people who tried to help couldn't find our booking as the first girl had already "checked us in" on her computer. We weren't offered an outside table as other arrivals were, and no details of the specials were advised to us. Our waiter seemed to be looking after other tables at the fare end of the restaurant, and it was not easy to get his attention. My starter of bacon wrapped shrimp stuffed with crabmeat was barely edible, having been almost cremated in a deep fryer - three "things" plonked on a plate with no adornment of even a piece of water cress - quite the worst plate I have been served in a Florida restaurant . We've been coming here during our vacations regularly for many years, and this was nothing like previous meals - will think twice about returning - poor

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Bait and Switch

Dined on December 27, 2015

Nice ambiance but mediocre food, especially given the prices. My main gripe was the "bait and switch" on the menu/prices. The dinner menu that was posted on the Open Table link provided a choice between small and large sized entrees. With the choice of the lower price point for the smaller portion the restaurant seemed to be a good option. But when we arrived we were shown a completely different menu with uniformly high prices for all dinner entrees. When I questioned the waitress she advised me that the menu I looked at on Open Table was the "old menu." Quality-wise, most of my party was disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5

Escape from crowds and noise

Dined on November 17, 2015

Dinner at the Old Captiva House was just what we were looking for. White table cloths, reserved but informative wait staff, good food and pleasant surroundings.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Pricey But Good

vip
Dined on November 17, 2015

Yes, everything was expensive, even by Captiva standards, but everything was perfectly prepared and served beautifully. Not chic small portions, but regular sized portions so that a lunch of the duck went home with me. It was out of season, so the place was rather desserted which felt strange. But I suspect in season it would be a zoo.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant Restaurant

Dined on October 16, 2015

Enjoyed an elegant dinner celebrating our 39th anniversary at Old Captiva House. Geoffrey, our server, was excellent and an attentive server. The piano player added to an enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first dinner at Captiva House

Dined on October 11, 2015

Loved it the minute we got there! Our waiter Geoff was very good and attentive. Food excellent as was the sunset!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Was a wonderful experience the food was ...

vip
Dined on September 25, 2015

Was a wonderful experience the food was excellent, service was outstanding, the ambience was romantic

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, service and ambience. Saw a ...

Dined on September 20, 2015

Great food, service and ambience. Saw a beautiful sunset over the ocean from our table.

food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible brunch host for Island Hopper Fest 2015

Dined on September 20, 2015

Mary, at Old Captiva House could not have been a better hostess! Polite, attentive and very resourceful. The brunch menu was beyond fresh, delicious, and creative... Only to be out done by the songwriters attending for the special Sunday brunch for the weekend event. We will DEFINATLY be back, thanks sooo much!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service4

Nice, but poorly cooked

Dined on September 18, 2015

Nice restaurant, but I ordered the surf and turf, and specifically stated that I wanted my phone extra rare. When the food came out the steak was medium rare and the scallops were overcooked as well,. Not really acceptable for this class of restaurant. Good thing I'm easy going diner.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service2

Food was under par for the price

Dined on September 6, 2015

Service was not good I had to ask to have dishes taken away from table. The food was over priced for what it was. They advertised Chilean Sea Bass and it was not.

food5
ambience5
service5

Service was awesome. My only complaint w ...

Dined on August 1, 2015

Service was awesome. My only complaint was my scallops tad overcooked. Mrs steak was fantastic as was her aunt's. Great atmosphere for fine dining on captiva

Tags: romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

great place to enjoy a meal

Dined on July 22, 2015

Captiva and Sanibel are two places we visit on special occasions. We were turned on to the old captiva house buy a relative when we booked our honeymoon. We had a spectacular meal then with a matching sunset. This visit 5 years later was equally special and our waiter James did an awesome job, very nice young man. After dinner we again walked across the street to enjoy yet another spectacular sunset..

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service4

Dissappointing, Nothing special ...quite expensive

Dined on July 17, 2015

We came here for our anniversary and had been once before. The good: wait staff was attentive, chef sent us a small sashimi tuna sample that was quite good. The food was OK, nothing special. I had the grouper but 2 or 3 other restaurants on Captiva also had grouper, less expensive, and just as good or better (Mucky Duck, even the Lazy Flamingo). Wife had shrimp and scallops in linguine, again nothing special... let's put it this way, we had some leftovers and didn't even bother to take them home. There were very few people dining there, most looked like couples like us coming for a special occasion.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food

Dined on July 15, 2015

Food was fresh and delicious. Lava cake was outstanding!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Local Charm

Dined on July 10, 2015

This was our second visit to the Sanibel-Captiva area and we wanted to enjoy the fresh seafood this area has to offer. That led us to the Old Captiva House with it's enticing array of dishes. My husband specidfically wanted the snapper which was highlighted in some advertisements but had to settle on the grouper due to a change in menu. He was not disappointed. I had the local pompano which was equally as good. As we dined we enjoyed favorite songs played by a live pianist which was a refreshing change from canned music. I would say the decor of the restaurant was a beautiful mix of southern charm and casual elegance. The brief sun shower during our meal added another cool touch (no pun intended) to our dining experience.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Very pleasant

Dined on July 7, 2015

Was greeted by a very pleasant lady (Mary) who was quite accommodating. The food was top notch and my server ( Villus) was very attentive. It was a mile stone day and was serenaded by the staff and piano player. A memorable experience and will definitely revisit on my next trip to Captiva.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service2

less than optimal

vip
Dined on July 5, 2015

The greeter stated they did not take reservations and he knew nothing about open table - not a good start. Menu stated brunch buffet was $12.00 for adults however failed to mention that applied only if staying there and was continental only. Actual for buffet (continental) if not staying at hotel was $17.00. Food was adequate although two of the entries were more on cold side when served. Waiter was attentive but a bit rushed. Would not go again for brunch - very noisy however will try again for dinner.

Tags: kid-friendly

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.