Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.87mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.87mi

About Captiva House

Welcome to the charming and historic Captiva House at the legendary Tween Waters Inn Island resort and Spa. Known for Captiva's Gulf-front view of America's most romantic sunset.

Inspired by Executive Chef Jason Miller, our exciting "New Florida" menu is a colorful, wonderful exploration of island foods and flavors. Sometimes passionate. Sometimes mild. Sometimes fun. Yet all, truly great to admire and greater to enjoy — from appetizers, through entrees, to desserts.

Come, feast your eyes and appetite.

15951 Captiva Drive
Captiva, FL 33924
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:30am - 10:30am; Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
2 miles north of Blind Pass Bridge

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 223-5865

Website:
http://www.tween-waters.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy nightly entertainment most nights at our Crow"s Nest Lounge adjacent to the Captiva House. Entertainment consists of the world famous hilarious NASCRAB Crab Racing interactive comedy show and crab race event that must be seen to believe. Two shows (children's 6PM and adult 9PM) most Monday and Thursday evenings throughout the year. Enjoy music stylings of a live and lively band every Friday and Saturday nights starting at 9PM. Plus, dance the night away to local singer Taylor Stokes, as he plays soft rock currents to classics most Tuesdays and Wednesdays starting at 9PM.

Parking Details:
Parking is open for all dining customers.

Executive Chef:
Jason Miller

Private Party Facilities:
The Old Captiva House:

Our historic restaurant that dates to the 1920s, beautifully appointed today with walls of white French doors and polished hardwood floors, yours to reserve in part or in total. Capacity 160.

Sunset Lounge:

This quiet, intimate room adjacent to the Old Captiva House is all windows and altogether charming. Beautiful views of Americas most romantic sunsets. Also opens to our Garden Terrace and the Old Captiva House. Capacity 50.

Private Party Contact:
Kerri Maw: (239) 472-5161 ext. 404

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Captiva House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Scenic View (15)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Waterfront (11)
Cozy (8)
Authentic (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Live Music (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Casual (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
323 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined 3 days ago

We come here each year when we visit Tween Waters and are never disappointed. Lovely restaurant, excellent food & service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 18, 2017

My husband and I dined here while staying on the property. He enjoyed his sushi rolls and I absolutely loved the Thai Red Curry Snapper and the Knife and Fork Caesar salad. We would definitely return on our next trip!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We had a wonderful family dinner last week. Dana was our server and did an outstanding job. Beautiful views and overall in my opinion the best place in Captiva

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Birthday for 2 year old

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (München)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Pianospieler machte jegliche Konversation unmöglich! War sehr laut und nahezu aggressiv - das übertrug sich auch auf die Gäste.

Parksituation sehr schlecht.

Essen allerdings sehr gut. Wir waren 2 Tage zuvor auch schon dort und ohne den nervenden Klavierspieler war es hervorragend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 29, 2017

A wonderful restaurant to have my wife's 65 birthday. The food was outstanding including the continental breakfast!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Delicious food. Slightly outdated decor. Live piano player. Good experience overall but no good views.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went two different nights for dinner while we were on Captiva for a week long vacation. Both nights the food was prepared perfectly and the service was great!!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Outstanding food, great sushi, very inventive duck rolls.
Loved the piano playing in the background ,
Attentive waiters, professional mgmt handling problems as expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Excellent food, service and drinks. Would definitely go again next time I'm on captiva.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great service and great local food.Service was great and price moderate

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The Captiva House is our favorite restaurant in Captiva. Upscale food in Florida which is hard to come by. We have eaten here before and was fantastic. This night some of what we ordered was good some not. The heirloom carpaccio was not good at all. The tomatoes were not ripe, crunchy even and the balsamic and presentation were lacking. Should have sent that back. The wedge salad was ok, skimpy on the bacon lardons. The crab bisque was fantastic! The wait between courses was way too long and we got there before the restaurant filled up. My filet was suppose to come with Gorgonzola sauce and didn't. The scallops were delicious but side dishes were not. However, I would recommend if you do not want typical Floridian food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The food was excellent even though a bit pricey. We had the Lobster Spaghetti and the Thai Curry Red Snapper. Delicious!!! Brian, our waiter, gave excellent service. We will definitely be back next year when in Sanibel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Excellent food and service. No gimmicks. Small, intimate space...no outdoor seating.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 20, 2017

From beginning to end, everything was excellent.
Our waiter was very friendly and informative!
GREAT,GREAT,GREAT!!!!!!!!!
THANK YOU!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Three senior couples on holiday from Richmond VA; first time dining experience at Captiva House. It was pleasurable experience. The only down side were the flies which appeared to multiply even though we were successful in swatting and killing them.

The food was well prepared and the service 5⭐️. Our server was very patient and accommodating of our special requests. Two of our diners are picky eaters, but both were truly pleased with their meals.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I was there inadvertently for the Mother's Day buffet (it turns out they were only serving from a buffet). The cold food (fruit, cheese, quinoa salad, and sushi) was not kept cold. The buffet line had not been changed in some time, as the sauces had all developed skins. The roast beef from the carving line was room temperature. The tomato bisque was at the correct temperature; I had two cups, and that was about it. Tasty bisque, though. I've had good meals there in the past, so maybe just avoid the buffet days?

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Expensive, mediocre Mother's Day Buffett.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A special birthday was created by this restaurant. Excellent service, food preparation and presentation. Accommodated with gluten free options that were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food and service were great. Highly recommend the Blue Crab Bisque and the Lobster Spaghetti. The restaurant also offers small plates of their main entrees which provides a great alternative. The views at sunset are fantastic.

Tags: Organic, Waterfront, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 1, 2017

A nice experience. Eating on the patio was lovely. The food was quite good. The service was slow.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We dine at restaurants of this caliber only occasionally but the food was delicious and unique to the locale. We had a very helpful server that was genuinely interested in making our experience a pleasant one.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our vacation to Captiva was topped off with a superb dinner at tha Captiva House restaurant. Excellent gourmet cuisine combined with attentive, friendly service - one of the finest meals we've had in the last few years.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had a nice Easter buffet at the Captiva house. We have had Thanksgiving meals there in the past and enjoy the buffets the Captiva house provides. The seafood appetizers are fantastic. Sushi, steamed shrimp, mussels, clams and more. Very nice.
There is great assortment of items in the chaffing dishes: Duck, Salmon and more. Ham, Prime Rib and Lamb were also available at the carving station.
Desserts were large but sweeter than we like. Most people will enjoy them though.
We will return for meal at the Captiva House.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Big disappointment! We have eaten here before and loved it. Went today for Easter. Found out upon arrival that it was buffet only. Unfortunately the buffet was very limited. Being a vegetarian I asked if I could only pay for the salad bar since I would not be able to indulge in anything on the hot bar other than rice, bread and steamed vegetables. I was told bluntly by the manager that this is not A possibility, that there were no option, that I had to pay the full price of $49.95. Unfortunately I had already started on my salad or I would've walked out then. It ended up a very expensive salad! We asked if we could order something for our 11 year old since there was nothing that was kid friendly on the buffet. We were told again that that was NOT a possibility. We ended up being charged full price for two adults plus the 2 glasses of champagne that we did order, then they automatically added 18% gratuity to our check. We were there a maximum of 45 minutes and walked out after a salad, a few shrimp and a few tasting off the hot bar that were at average at best for $153.00 and some change. The manager was at the desk as we left, no one said anything to us as we exited. A terrible disappointment for a restaurant that we considered one of our favorites the last time we dined here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our ride from Cape Coral was well worth it. We were seated quickly, service was prompt. Outstanding Appetizers, good selections at the Easter buffet. We will be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I had a Petit Filet which was good, but the side dish's seemed to have been sitting for some time. It came with a "scoop" mashed potatoes and soggy vegetables. emmmm, yumm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great views and yummy food

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 12, 2017

This was our first time to the Sanibel/Captiva area. We had our family of 6 and had to take a late reservation. I was worried that service and quality might be an issue, however we enjoyed a superbly prepared meal and our waiter was so attentive and accommodating.
The restaurant reminded us of an old time, but classy, family resort. Even our teen- aged and young adult children enjoyed our family meal - not easy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Over the years we've had some very special memories at this very special place!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 10, 2017

My husband, my sister, her husband and I dined here while on vacation. The service was excellent, the decor beautiful, and our meal was the best we ate on the island! A little pricey, but well worth it!

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent choice while on Captiva for vacation. Food was fresh, flavorful and well prepared. Service was great. Overall a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent food and service and the subset view from the patio is amazing! If you're looking for a great place to take the family (we have 3 boys) or just on a date this place is perfect. They have sushi a few nights a week which our boys loved. We wife and I had Mahi Mahi and Sea Bass the last time we we visited and it was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 5, 2017

My friend and I were treated to a wonderful dining experience at Captiva House. All aspects from appetizers, dinner and the beautiful sunset were beautifully orchestrated by our server, Michael.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Awesome place for a date night on the island!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The gentleman playing the piano was wonderful! I would go there again for dinner just to listen to his music!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Friends visiting so outdoor dining and sunset were great. Food exceptional. Michael took very good care of us too

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Creative menu. All our courses were outstanding. Great atmosphere on the outdoor garden porch. Not too noisy. Excellent service.

A great find!

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Lovely setting. Tables nicely spaced for conversation. Linen tablecloths and piano accompanying dinner. Outstanding seafood and top notch service. Michael was knowledgeable waiter who was friendly and knew the balance between intrusion and neglect. Great value for fine dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 22, 2017

After reading other reviews, we were looking forward to dinner at Captiva House. However, I am sad to say that we were very disappointed: the staff was very pleasant, but excruciatingly slow (it took 2 hours to serve us) and the food was good, but way overpriced for the quality and quantity. The atmosphere is 1960s and should be updated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.