About Captiva House

15951 Captiva Drive
Captiva, FL 33924
View Larger Map

Welcome to the charming and historic Captiva House at the legendary Tween Waters Inn Island resort and Spa. Known for Captiva's Gulf-front view of America's most romantic sunset.

Inspired by Executive Chef Jason Miller, our exciting "New Florida" menu is a colorful, wonderful exploration of island foods and flavors. Sometimes passionate. Sometimes mild. Sometimes fun. Yet all, truly great to admire and greater to enjoy — from appetizers, through entrees, to desserts.

Come, feast your eyes and appetite.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:30am - 10:30am; Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
2 miles north of Blind Pass Bridge

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 223-5865

Website:
http://www.tween-waters.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy nightly entertainment most nights at our Crow"s Nest Lounge adjacent to the Captiva House. Entertainment consists of the world famous hilarious NASCRAB Crab Racing interactive comedy show and crab race event that must be seen to believe. Two shows (children's 6PM and adult 9PM) most Monday and Thursday evenings throughout the year. Enjoy music stylings of a live and lively band every Friday and Saturday nights starting at 9PM. Plus, dance the night away to local singer Taylor Stokes, as he plays soft rock currents to classics most Tuesdays and Wednesdays starting at 9PM.

Parking Details:
Parking is open for all dining customers.

Executive Chef:
Jason Miller

Private Party Facilities:
The Old Captiva House:

Our historic restaurant that dates to the 1920s, beautifully appointed today with walls of white French doors and polished hardwood floors, yours to reserve in part or in total. Capacity 160.

Sunset Lounge:

This quiet, intimate room adjacent to the Old Captiva House is all windows and altogether charming. Beautiful views of Americas most romantic sunsets. Also opens to our Garden Terrace and the Old Captiva House. Capacity 50.

Private Party Contact:
Kerri Maw: 2394725161x404

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Captiva House, Captiva, FL
  • Crab Stuffed Shrimp - Captiva House, Captiva, FL
  • Tacos - Captiva House, Captiva, FL
  • Tuna - Captiva House, Captiva, FL
Captiva House, Captiva, FL
Crab Stuffed Shrimp - Captiva House, Captiva, FL
Tacos - Captiva House, Captiva, FL
Tuna - Captiva House, Captiva, FL

Captiva House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Southwest Florida
American
Southwest Florida
Best Overall
Ft. Myers
2 More
Best Food
Ft. Myers
Best Ambiance
Ft. Myers
Best Restaurants in Captiva Island ›

Romantic (15)
Scenic View (13)
Good for a Date (12)
See All
Special Occasion (11)
Waterfront (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Historic (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Cozy (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Groups (5)
People Watching (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Live Music (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Casual (3)
Authentic (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Dancing (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
238 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had booked a night at the Inn and res ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We had booked a night at the Inn and restaurant in honor of the 10th anniversary of my father's passing. He and my mother had spent many years visiting the island and had stayed at the inn. I have fond memories of the delicious dinners we had at the Inn. So imagine my disappointment at an appetizer that was dry and tasteless and a main dish that was overcooked. I will say that your serving staff are incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Very pretty restaurant with a piano play ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very pretty restaurant with a piano player. Food was good and we like going to the bar next door. Worth a nice dinner if you don't mind the prices.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Thanksgiving Buffet. 2nd year in a row. ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving Buffet. 2nd year in a row. Nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding Thanksgiving Buffet, as usua ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Outstanding Thanksgiving Buffet, as usual. Could have made a meal out of the seafood bar alone.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is alWAYS delicious, however, this ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food is alWAYS delicious, however, this was Thanksgiving dinner and it was a disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Thanks for the fabulous Thanksgiving din ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanks for the fabulous Thanksgiving dinner at Captiva House. It was beyond what we were expecting at a holiday buffet. From the delicious food to the professional staff everything was perfect! Cheers & Happy Holidays-

                                      Katherine Miller
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, service & environment fo ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Wonderful food, service & environment for a Thanksgiving buffet. Looking forward to returning on our next visit to the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the Thanksgiving buffet last year ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had the Thanksgiving buffet last year and thought it was good. This year the prime rib was not prime and well done and tough. The turkey dressing was out of a box, unimaginative salad had decaying spinach in it, grouper was like a rock.

Brie, mashed potatoes, oysters and cranberries were good.

Service was slow - took 30 minutes to get a refill of ice tea and was never asked if we wanted another glass of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Fabulous Thanksgiving brunch in historic ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Fabulous Thanksgiving brunch in historic resort. View of ocean. Lots of windows and light. Great atmosphere, wait staff, and food. We were at the Captiva House for Christmas brunch a couple years ago on vacation and we were so impressed then that we had to give it a try for Thanksgiving while we were here again. We were not disappointed! There were six of us at a large round table which made it easy to converse. Our waiter was great. The food was wonderful with lots of good choices. The view and atmosphere couldn't be beat. We will return every time we are on the islands.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have eaten here on a few occasions and a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Have eaten here on a few occasions and am always surprised at how great the food is. Service is excellent, ambiance is wonderful outside, but the food is really superb. Chilean Sea Bass was exceptional.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A little pricey, but excellent food and ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A little pricey, but excellent food and service. We where staying at the resort and walked to the restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great atmosphere Creative menu backed ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great atmosphere Creative menu backed up with great tastes

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance , food & service. Tyler w ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great ambiance , food & service. Tyler was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my favorites for years! Been goin ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

One of my favorites for years! Been going there since the 1980's.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our only issue was that it was listed as ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Our only issue was that it was listed as sunset views but at Street level the view was obstructed by a trailer in the parking lot.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

My husband and I celebrated our 34th ann ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 34th anniversay at the Captiva House this past Sunday, Oct. 23, 2016. We saw the gorgeous sunset on the Gulf from our table for two as pretty live piano music was played in an adjacent room. We were offered samples of two different wines before we made our choices, which was very nice. The menu and specials were well explained. We enjoyed our salads and our dinners, which were nicely presented, fresh and delicious! It was my first time ordering tuna (which was the special) and I ordered it medium. It had a nice ginger glaze with a light tasting pesto sauce and it was served with yellow rice and vegetables. It was so yummy and they accomodated my request for extra pesto sauce half way through my meal. We were offered a choice of complimentary shooter parfaits after dinner but after enjoying the cappaucino one, we had no room for dessert. The combination of the pretty room, white linen tablecloth, glowing candle, great food, live piano and sunset was so nice! I'm happy we changed up our vacation dining experience and came here for our special occasion!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good move changing the location of the p ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Good move changing the location of the piano.

Too bad Sushi dominates the menu. Expected more than 1 special.

Need to bring back the dessert selection - shot glass dessert selection is pretty cheesy.

Waitress "welcome to the Crows Nest" seemed awkward considering. I get having shared staff, but felt I was was watching snail races after that.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We are in Sanibel / Captiva every year ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We are in Sanibel / Captiva every year and always like to try new restaurants. Our first time at Captiva House...food was excellent, location and decor were great but the wait staff and overall service level could be improved. No glaring issue, just not what I think is the basic acceptable level of service and detail for a nicer restaurant. Not so bad that I won't try again but if I owned the place, I would work on polishing that area of an otherwise very nice place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was excellent, Niles our waiter was ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Food was excellent, Niles our waiter was attentive and helpful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very florida feeling, open and airy. Gr ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Very florida feeling, open and airy. Gread food and service. Little steep for an everyday meal.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the finest on the Island, for a m ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2016

One of the finest on the Island, for a more upscale experience compared to all the others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food. Terrific service. Pers ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Wonderful food. Terrific service. Personal handling. Beautiful sunset view. Very upscale dining where you can be comfortable in a suit and tie or shorts and a golf shirt.

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Private Room, Vegan, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Fun, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Dancing, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Historic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful The sunset was spectacular, t ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Wonderful The sunset was spectacular, the food great! Always a good time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Organic, Fun, Romantic, Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good upscale dining. Creatively done me ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Good upscale dining. Creatively done menu items. Note: also has a sushi menu with nigiri or sashimi. Friendly wait staff. Live piano during dining.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was quite slow. Felt as if they ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Service was quite slow. Felt as if they were understaffed. The server took it upon himself to add an extra order of nigiri to our appetizers (and charged us for it) after letting us know they had no more tamago. Lobster spaghetti was very good, but the sea bass in puff pastry was bone dry and very fishy. The piano player was the best part.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

One of my top two or three restaurants o ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 15, 2016

One of my top two or three restaurants on Sanibel-Captiva. Always good food, always good service.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Snapper was extremely overcooked - they ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Snapper was extremely overcooked - they did replace with day scallops which were acceptable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Disappointed with filo snapperdiah. Wai ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Disappointed with filo snapperdiah. WaiterdidnotserveteaselectionhejustbroughtaLupton tea bag. When asked he acknowledged there isa,tea selection. Dessert selection wasdis appointing. Fisentrees sermed contrived.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

I'm very picky about my food and this sp ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 7, 2016

I'm very picky about my food and this spot was wonderful!! Food was delicious, service fantastic, and location across from the beach was splendid. I would definitely return!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We stayed at the Tween Waters Resort and ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 23, 2016

We stayed at the Tween Waters Resort and went to the restaurant for the convenience. We were pleasantly surprised at how good it was! The Oysters Alexander was the best baked oyster dish I've ever tasted! The sun set while we were dining making the view spectacular. The service was impeccable. It's a very small place so it was quiet and intimate. Reservations would be strongly recommended.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and excellent service ! The v ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food and excellent service ! The view was fabulous !

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's hard to beat excellent food and ser ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 14, 2016

It's hard to beat excellent food and service combined with sunset over the Gulf of Mexico. The menu is limited but we've eaten here before and always enjoyed the entrees.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best atmosphere and dinner that we exper ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Best atmosphere and dinner that we experienced while on Captiva

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dining room was beautiful and in a g ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The dining room was beautiful and in a great location. The cocktail and wine list were great. The service was not exceptional but not terrible either. The sushi appetizer was good but my entree was horrible. I had the snapper wrap. The snapper was dry and fishy which I find completely unacceptable on an island where you can catch the fish fresh and there is a dock out back of the restaurant. When my husband and I tried to tell someone no one seemed interested. We didn't want a comp just wanted to let them know. It wasn't a great end to my birthday weekend and I would not go there again for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Our first visit to the Old Captiva House ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our first visit to the Old Captiva House. We do not usually go into places with expectations but always hope for a great meal. The food was delicious and the wine list was excellent. Our server was excellent, but they had him running all over the restaurant and that delayed service somewhat. All of our food was cooked well, and the taste was great. Gotta love a live piano man as well! We highly recommend and will return on our next visit to our home on Sanibel.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Good food and atmosphere- we thoroughly ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Good food and atmosphere- we thoroughly enjoyed our meal❤️

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good, food was mediocre.

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Service was good, food was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Lovely old Florida atmosphere with excel ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Lovely old Florida atmosphere with excellent food. Nice enough for a romantic dinner but not too fancy.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was wonderful...as always. The food ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 21, 2016

It was wonderful...as always. The food was excellent, the service was friendly and attentive, and the live piano music was relaxing/enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wait staff very professional. Food was a ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Wait staff very professional. Food was abundant and delicious. Upscale in price and design. Only problem was the piped in music sounded like a funeral home,lol

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.