About Captiva House

15951 Captiva Drive
Captiva, FL 33924
View Larger Map

Welcome to the charming and historic Captiva House at the legendary Tween Waters Inn Island resort and Spa. Known for Captiva's Gulf-front view of America's most romantic sunset.

Inspired by Executive Chef Jason Miller, our exciting "New Florida" menu is a colorful, wonderful exploration of island foods and flavors. Sometimes passionate. Sometimes mild. Sometimes fun. Yet all, truly great to admire and greater to enjoy — from appetizers, through entrees, to desserts.

Come, feast your eyes and appetite.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:00am - 10:30am; Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
2 miles north of Blind Pass Bridge

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 223-5865

Website:
http://www.tween-waters.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy nightly entertainment most nights at our Crow"s Nest Lounge adjacent to the Captiva House. Entertainment consists of the world famous hilarious NASCRAB Crab Racing interactive comedy show and crab race event that must be seen to believe. Two shows (children's 6PM and adult 9PM) most Monday and Thursday evenings throughout the year. Enjoy music stylings of a live and lively band every Friday and Saturday nights starting at 9PM. Plus, dance the night away to local singer Taylor Stokes, as he plays soft rock currents to classics most Tuesdays and Wednesdays starting at 9PM.

Parking Details:
Parking is open for all dining customers.

Executive Chef:
Jason Miller

Private Party Facilities:
The Old Captiva House:

Our historic restaurant that dates to the 1920s, beautifully appointed today with walls of white French doors and polished hardwood floors, yours to reserve in part or in total. Capacity 160.

Sunset Lounge:

This quiet, intimate room adjacent to the Old Captiva House is all windows and altogether charming. Beautiful views of Americas most romantic sunsets. Also opens to our Garden Terrace and the Old Captiva House. Capacity 50.

Private Party Contact:
Kerri Maw: 2394725161x404

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Captiva House
  • Crab Stuffed Shrimp
  • Tacos
  • Tuna
Captiva House
Crab Stuffed Shrimp
Tacos
Tuna

Captiva House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Southwest Florida
Best Food
Ft. Myers
Best Service
Ft. Myers
6 More
Best Ambiance
Ft. Myers
Best Value
Ft. Myers
Fit for Foodies
Ft. Myers
Romantic
Ft. Myers
Special Occasion
Ft. Myers
Most Booked
Ft. Myers
Best Restaurants in Captiva Island ›

Special Occasion (31)
Romantic (24)
Fit for Foodies (18)
See All
Scenic View (16)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
209 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We stayed at the Tween Waters Resort and ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We stayed at the Tween Waters Resort and went to the restaurant for the convenience. We were pleasantly surprised at how good it was! The Oysters Alexander was the best baked oyster dish I've ever tasted! The sun set while we were dining making the view spectacular. The service was impeccable. It's a very small place so it was quiet and intimate. Reservations would be strongly recommended.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and excellent service ! The v ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food and excellent service ! The view was fabulous !

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's hard to beat excellent food and ser ...

 
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It's hard to beat excellent food and service combined with sunset over the Gulf of Mexico. The menu is limited but we've eaten here before and always enjoyed the entrees.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best atmosphere and dinner that we exper ...

 
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Best atmosphere and dinner that we experienced while on Captiva

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dining room was beautiful and in a g ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The dining room was beautiful and in a great location. The cocktail and wine list were great. The service was not exceptional but not terrible either. The sushi appetizer was good but my entree was horrible. I had the snapper wrap. The snapper was dry and fishy which I find completely unacceptable on an island where you can catch the fish fresh and there is a dock out back of the restaurant. When my husband and I tried to tell someone no one seemed interested. We didn't want a comp just wanted to let them know. It wasn't a great end to my birthday weekend and I would not go there again for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Our first visit to the Old Captiva House ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our first visit to the Old Captiva House. We do not usually go into places with expectations but always hope for a great meal. The food was delicious and the wine list was excellent. Our server was excellent, but they had him running all over the restaurant and that delayed service somewhat. All of our food was cooked well, and the taste was great. Gotta love a live piano man as well! We highly recommend and will return on our next visit to our home on Sanibel.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Good food and atmosphere- we thoroughly ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Good food and atmosphere- we thoroughly enjoyed our meal❤️

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good, food was mediocre.

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Service was good, food was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

Lovely old Florida atmosphere with excel ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Lovely old Florida atmosphere with excellent food. Nice enough for a romantic dinner but not too fancy.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was wonderful...as always. The food ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

It was wonderful...as always. The food was excellent, the service was friendly and attentive, and the live piano music was relaxing/enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wait staff very professional. Food was a ...

 
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Wait staff very professional. Food was abundant and delicious. Upscale in price and design. Only problem was the piped in music sounded like a funeral home,lol

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

the fresh seafood was outstanding, the s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

the fresh seafood was outstanding, the special Halibut and rice was my favorite! we also ordered almost every appetizer and loved them all (especially the lobster-cargot).

the cocktails were delicious as well (and with a heavy pour:)

the piano man played most of the night and you can't beat that!

We will definitely be back next time we stay on Captiva!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall great experience. Friendly staff ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Overall great experience. Friendly staff. Outstanding meal. Will definitely return

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a lovely restaurant, and the servic ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

It's a lovely restaurant, and the service was good, although our waiter appeared a little nervous -- perhaps he was new. The grilled oysters were outstanding, however the lobster rolls and our entree's were to be honest, very average, and below expectations we anticipated, though the presentation was excellent. Having said that, I was at Thanksgiving buffet there a couple of years ago and I still remember how absolutely delicious everything I had was. Perhaps they simply had an off night, and I'd suggest you try it and form your own opinion. Thanks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Excellent food, ambience, and service. I ...

 
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Excellent food, ambience, and service. It was the whole package. Our steaks were phenomenal. We'll definitely be back during our next trip to Sanibel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was very disappointed. Will not go bac ...

vip
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Was very disappointed. Will not go back. We drove for an hour to get there with a business associate. We were embarrassed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

A favorite restaurant but the service ne ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

A favorite restaurant but the service needs to improve. It was too slow and waiter was out of room towards the end of the meal. The service doesn't match the delicious food and ambiance...it's good, but not quite good enough to make it an outstanding place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

This is a nice restaurant and the option ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This is a nice restaurant and the option to order small plates is great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fabulous dinner. We had not been to the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Fabulous dinner. We had not been to the old captiva house in a number of years and decided to try it again. It is as great as we remembered. Fish and steak were cooked to perfection. Wine list covers all tastes. Desserts are extremely good. The area is a resort and beautiful. Will be going the again in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed no sunset view from dining ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Disappointed no sunset view from dining area, so not romantic as described. Service was excellent. Nile and Gregory were very accommodating. Piano player Frank took request and was also excellent! Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

This place never disappoints. Order the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

This place never disappoints. Order the tuna appetizer and steak for a guaranteed awesome meal! We have eaten here more than a dozen times and always top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. Small plate ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent food and service. Small plate option a great idea for entrée.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the view was ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was excellent and the view was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top Notch

 
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Coincidentally, I am a Chef for high end private clients in The Tampa Bay area. I can recommend this fine place to ANYONE including sophisticated gourmets.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

food was average for the price. would n ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

food was average for the price. would not go back or recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband loved his filet mignon dinner ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

My husband loved his filet mignon dinner, but my grilled mahi mahi was not good at all. There was way too much seasoning on it, making it inedible. I just ate the vegetables instead. I didn't say anything to the waitress because I didn't want to spoil my husband's enjoyment. The ambience and view were quite nice, though.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We were a party of 4 and our waiter, Rob ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We were a party of 4 and our waiter, Robert, was very attentive. Our meal was delicious. There was live music (piano) discreetly in the back ground. Drinks were awesome. Each time we visit Sanibel we make it a point to dine here.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I had an excellent meal h ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

My husband and I had an excellent meal here, as always. The restaurant is quaint and charming, and the service is excellent. The food is always quite good, especially the crab bisque, which is outstanding. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This visit to the jewel of Captiva was a "10" out of "10". We just celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary and could not have had a better celebration than we had at Captiva House.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic place

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Lovely place, went there for wife's 50th and was perfect. Right across the from beach, we watched the sunset from our table! Great food, not fantastic, but worthy of coming for sure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Very good spot for a romantic dinner or ...

 
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Very good spot for a romantic dinner or just an escape night. Beach is across the street with easy access for a pre or post dinner walk.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We arrived for a lovely dinner after a t ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

We arrived for a lovely dinner after a two hour sunset cruise. It was a wonderful 30th anniversary dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Captiva restaurant

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We had a superb dinner, with excellent service in a lovely setting on the bay. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointing food overall. Short ribs w ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Disappointing food overall. Short ribs were food service prepared not in house. Watermelon stack was best thing we had. Last two seasons food was much better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Too expensive for what it is Not worth i ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Too expensive for what it is

Not worth it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

An excellent evening. Our waiter was gra ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

An excellent evening. Our waiter was gracious and helpful. The setting was simple and "Florida resort" stylish. We started with lobster spring rolls which were delicious. Salads were crispy and fresh. I had the bouillabaisse, which had seafood as fresh as any I have ever had. My wife had some really tasty crab cakes. Both were excellent. Dessert was a real outstanding carrot cake.

All in all, it was a very special evening as we watched the sunset. Make sure you ask for a window at the front of the restaurant to see it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lacey was very attentive to our needs.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Lacey was very attentive to our needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We both had the crispy duck and thought ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

We both had the crispy duck and thought it was terrific.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Valentines Day Crushed

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I admit we had reservations for Valentines dinner, probably one of their busiest nights of the year. We had called ahead and we knew that they had a prix fix menu and also had another limited regular menu. We were not much impressed with the fixed plate menu and all ordered off the limited menu. Four of us had an eggplant vegetation dish and two had steaks. The strip steaks, more like a moderate flip steak, came out medium well when we asked for med rare. At our request they cheerfully replaced one as the other guest chose to keep the steak he had. The second came out cooked rare to med rare.

The four eggplant dishes were just plain awful. Nearly cold and hard, the sauce having been absorbed into the breading a long time ago, left the two quarter sized pellets of mozzarella to stand out like lonesome pines. Nothing they would want to write home to their Mom about, that's for sure.

The wait staff though was cheerful, attentive and responsive, a hard thing to do on such a busy evening. I would not have taken the time to write this but Open Table suggested it. Careful what you ask for I always say.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Enjoyed our Valentines Dinner! Reservat ...

 
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Enjoyed our Valentines Dinner! Reservation was for 6pm, we arrived early and were seated right away. Our server Nile was friendly and seemed to know the right time to be at the table. Fellow wait staff was also friendly and gracious when removing our plates with each course. We were able to hear and enjoy our conversation throughout the evening. They had a pre fixed Valentines Day menu that was very good. They had white table clothes with red napkins (I don't know if that is there standard arrangement) but it was nice for the evening. The only thing missing was some candlelight on our table and a red rose. This was our first visit but won't be our last for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.