Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.87mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.87mi

About Captiva House

Welcome to the charming and historic Captiva House at the legendary Tween Waters Inn Island resort and Spa. Known for Captiva's Gulf-front view of America's most romantic sunset.

Inspired by Executive Chef Jason Miller, our exciting "New Florida" menu is a colorful, wonderful exploration of island foods and flavors. Sometimes passionate. Sometimes mild. Sometimes fun. Yet all, truly great to admire and greater to enjoy — from appetizers, through entrees, to desserts.

Come, feast your eyes and appetite.

15951 Captiva Drive
Captiva, FL 33924
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:30am - 10:30am; Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
2 miles north of Blind Pass Bridge

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 223-5865

Website:
http://www.tween-waters.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy nightly entertainment most nights at our Crow"s Nest Lounge adjacent to the Captiva House. Entertainment consists of the world famous hilarious NASCRAB Crab Racing interactive comedy show and crab race event that must be seen to believe. Two shows (children's 6PM and adult 9PM) most Monday and Thursday evenings throughout the year. Enjoy music stylings of a live and lively band every Friday and Saturday nights starting at 9PM. Plus, dance the night away to local singer Taylor Stokes, as he plays soft rock currents to classics most Tuesdays and Wednesdays starting at 9PM.

Parking Details:
Parking is open for all dining customers.

Executive Chef:
Jason Miller

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Captiva House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Special Occasion (17)
Romantic (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Cozy (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Scenic View (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Waterfront (6)
Authentic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Live Music (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Business Meals (2)
Casual (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
339 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Fantastic food and the service was outstanding! The restaurant was almost empty on Labor Day which was perect.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Good food. Good service. Window seating allowed us to watch the sun as it was going down, and we finished dinner in time to walk a few steps across the street to watch the sun set on the beach.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

We were very disappointed with overall experience. The food was acceptable but not outstanding. Our table candle was not lit as on other tables. The filet mignon was rare and not medium as we ordered. The desserts were very good and the best part of the food service. The server was unfriendly and not available when needed. Our reservations were made 2 weeks before the date. No mention or recognition was made we were celebrating our 56th anniversary.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

We were staying in Captiva and did a search of top restaurants. Captiva House was ranked as #2 and it did not disappoint. Very beautiful decor reminiscent of SW Florida. For an appetizer I tried the Oysters Alexander and Blue Crab Bisque. Delicious! YOu must try the bisque! I ordered a Wedge Salad and the special of the evening and it was outstanding. My daughter-in-law tried the Lobster Spaghetti, my wife ordered the Filet Mignon, and my son had the Citrus Seafood Risotto. Everyone was happy! We were too stuffed to try dessert and headed back to our apartment at the South Seas Resort . Staff was very professional and we truly enjoyed the evening. We'll be back

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Wonderful and captivating. We watched the sunset over the gulf and enjoyed sushi, duck, lobster, and the fillet. It was superb. We usually treat the veggies like garnish and push them to the side, but even the veggies were gorgeous and tasty. We had creme brulee and chocolate cheesecake for desert and they were flawless. Thank you to the Captiva House for making our 20th anniversary so memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We had an enjoyable evening/dinner during our stay in Captiva. we would definitely go back again when we are in the area.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Charming waterfront dining, we enjoyed a perfect sunset. Service was impeccable, the food was creative and delicious, we loved the fact that the menu was current and hip definitely not the dated cliche type menus that we have run across in the area. My blackened grouper with pumpkin mash was amazing. We definitely will return to try more dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

My wife and I had our first vacation alone in 12 years. The restaurant was exceptional and the staff very professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

We had a wedding anniversary dinner here we wanted a nice dinner quiet able to enjoy dinner the ho u see seated 2 family's with many children near us so it was very load this made for a most unpleasant time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The Chilean Sea Bass was great and I was able to substitute mashed potatoes for the starch on the menu. Good service and good martini and house cabernet! We had 6:30 reservations and were seated immediately. Around 7:30 the restaurant starts filling up wirh larger groups which means more noise so we planned well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Birthday celebration but we were just not wowed!!! Very underwhelmed!!! Food just ok, I got the grouper. Dirty glasses. Filthy windows to look out of. Won't return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

We took our two children there for dinner. Overall it was an excellent experience, great food, not rushed, comfortable surroundings and good waitress service. If I had one complaint it would be the speed that plates were cleared before we had all finished

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Went to Captiva House for an anniversary dinner and it was just perfect. Atmosphere is great, server was top notch and the food wonderful, Thanks !!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

My daughter had gotten engaged 2 hours before our dinner. It was a great place for a celebration. The waiter was very attentive. The food was tremendous.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We come here each year when we visit Tween Waters and are never disappointed. Lovely restaurant, excellent food & service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 18, 2017

My husband and I dined here while staying on the property. He enjoyed his sushi rolls and I absolutely loved the Thai Red Curry Snapper and the Knife and Fork Caesar salad. We would definitely return on our next trip!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We had a wonderful family dinner last week. Dana was our server and did an outstanding job. Beautiful views and overall in my opinion the best place in Captiva

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Birthday for 2 year old

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (München)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Pianospieler machte jegliche Konversation unmöglich! War sehr laut und nahezu aggressiv - das übertrug sich auch auf die Gäste.

Parksituation sehr schlecht.

Essen allerdings sehr gut. Wir waren 2 Tage zuvor auch schon dort und ohne den nervenden Klavierspieler war es hervorragend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 29, 2017

A wonderful restaurant to have my wife's 65 birthday. The food was outstanding including the continental breakfast!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Delicious food. Slightly outdated decor. Live piano player. Good experience overall but no good views.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went two different nights for dinner while we were on Captiva for a week long vacation. Both nights the food was prepared perfectly and the service was great!!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great special occasion venue

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Outstanding food, great sushi, very inventive duck rolls.
Loved the piano playing in the background ,
Attentive waiters, professional mgmt handling problems as expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Excellent food, service and drinks. Would definitely go again next time I'm on captiva.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great service and great local food.Service was great and price moderate

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The Captiva House is our favorite restaurant in Captiva. Upscale food in Florida which is hard to come by. We have eaten here before and was fantastic. This night some of what we ordered was good some not. The heirloom carpaccio was not good at all. The tomatoes were not ripe, crunchy even and the balsamic and presentation were lacking. Should have sent that back. The wedge salad was ok, skimpy on the bacon lardons. The crab bisque was fantastic! The wait between courses was way too long and we got there before the restaurant filled up. My filet was suppose to come with Gorgonzola sauce and didn't. The scallops were delicious but side dishes were not. However, I would recommend if you do not want typical Floridian food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The food was excellent even though a bit pricey. We had the Lobster Spaghetti and the Thai Curry Red Snapper. Delicious!!! Brian, our waiter, gave excellent service. We will definitely be back next year when in Sanibel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Excellent food and service. No gimmicks. Small, intimate space...no outdoor seating.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 20, 2017

From beginning to end, everything was excellent.
Our waiter was very friendly and informative!
GREAT,GREAT,GREAT!!!!!!!!!
THANK YOU!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Three senior couples on holiday from Richmond VA; first time dining experience at Captiva House. It was pleasurable experience. The only down side were the flies which appeared to multiply even though we were successful in swatting and killing them.

The food was well prepared and the service 5⭐️. Our server was very patient and accommodating of our special requests. Two of our diners are picky eaters, but both were truly pleased with their meals.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I was there inadvertently for the Mother's Day buffet (it turns out they were only serving from a buffet). The cold food (fruit, cheese, quinoa salad, and sushi) was not kept cold. The buffet line had not been changed in some time, as the sauces had all developed skins. The roast beef from the carving line was room temperature. The tomato bisque was at the correct temperature; I had two cups, and that was about it. Tasty bisque, though. I've had good meals there in the past, so maybe just avoid the buffet days?

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Expensive, mediocre Mother's Day Buffett.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

A special birthday was created by this restaurant. Excellent service, food preparation and presentation. Accommodated with gluten free options that were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Food and service were great. Highly recommend the Blue Crab Bisque and the Lobster Spaghetti. The restaurant also offers small plates of their main entrees which provides a great alternative. The views at sunset are fantastic.

Tags: Organic, Waterfront, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 1, 2017

A nice experience. Eating on the patio was lovely. The food was quite good. The service was slow.

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 1, 2017

We dine at restaurants of this caliber only occasionally but the food was delicious and unique to the locale. We had a very helpful server that was genuinely interested in making our experience a pleasant one.

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our vacation to Captiva was topped off with a superb dinner at tha Captiva House restaurant. Excellent gourmet cuisine combined with attentive, friendly service - one of the finest meals we've had in the last few years.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had a nice Easter buffet at the Captiva house. We have had Thanksgiving meals there in the past and enjoy the buffets the Captiva house provides. The seafood appetizers are fantastic. Sushi, steamed shrimp, mussels, clams and more. Very nice.
There is great assortment of items in the chaffing dishes: Duck, Salmon and more. Ham, Prime Rib and Lamb were also available at the carving station.
Desserts were large but sweeter than we like. Most people will enjoy them though.
We will return for meal at the Captiva House.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.