Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.87mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.87mi

About Captiva House

Welcome to the charming and historic Captiva House at the legendary Tween Waters Inn Island resort and Spa. Known for Captiva's Gulf-front view of America's most romantic sunset.

Inspired by Executive Chef Jason Miller, our exciting "New Florida" menu is a colorful, wonderful exploration of island foods and flavors. Sometimes passionate. Sometimes mild. Sometimes fun. Yet all, truly great to admire and greater to enjoy — from appetizers, through entrees, to desserts.

Come, feast your eyes and appetite.

15951 Captiva Drive
Captiva, FL 33924
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:30am - 10:30am; Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
2 miles north of Blind Pass Bridge

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 223-5865

Website:
http://www.tween-waters.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy nightly entertainment most nights at our Crow"s Nest Lounge adjacent to the Captiva House. Entertainment consists of the world famous hilarious NASCRAB Crab Racing interactive comedy show and crab race event that must be seen to believe. Two shows (children's 6PM and adult 9PM) most Monday and Thursday evenings throughout the year. Enjoy music stylings of a live and lively band every Friday and Saturday nights starting at 9PM. Plus, dance the night away to local singer Taylor Stokes, as he plays soft rock currents to classics most Tuesdays and Wednesdays starting at 9PM.

Parking Details:
Parking is open for all dining customers.

Executive Chef:
Jason Miller

Private Party Facilities:
The Old Captiva House:

Our historic restaurant that dates to the 1920s, beautifully appointed today with walls of white French doors and polished hardwood floors, yours to reserve in part or in total. Capacity 160.

Sunset Lounge:

This quiet, intimate room adjacent to the Old Captiva House is all windows and altogether charming. Beautiful views of Americas most romantic sunsets. Also opens to our Garden Terrace and the Old Captiva House. Capacity 50.

Private Party Contact:
Kerri Maw: (239) 472-5161 ext. 404

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Captiva House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
See All
Worth the Drive (14)
Historic (12)
Casual (12)
Romantic (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Scenic View (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Waterfront (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Seasonal (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Cozy (6)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Live Music (3)
Family Style (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Authentic (2)
People Watching (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Business Meals (1)
Private Room (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
282 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent Service......Excellent Food.......Excellent View!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent seafood. We had the scallop app and shrimp cocktail. For entrees, we had curry snapper and the sea bass. It was all perfect. Ray was our server and he was phenomenal. I am gluten and dairy free and this restaurant had many options for me, even sorbet! There was also a very good piano player during our dinner. We went after sunset but I imagine the view is great there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We wound up here for dinner as it was a very busy week on the island and it was the only restaurant with availability. While this normally would not be a good sign, we were glad that fate brought us there. Our dinner was delicious, the menu had a nice variety, the wait staff was attentive and we had a lovely evening. It is not inexpensive and I assume that might be why tables were available, but for us, renting a house right down the street on Captiva it was a lovely find and we will definitely be back! The key lime pie was sublime! We have tried it all over Florida and theirs is definitely a favorite. We also plan to try the Crow's Nest Tavern at Tween Waters since we had such a good experience. We did not have to battle the traffic on Sanibel to have a delicious meal! Definitely a winner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Blue crab bisque is a must order!!!!!!! One of best I have ever had. Grouper and sea bass were just ok. Dessert was very good. Nice atmosphere. Would go back for blue crab bisque and dessert and maybe skip the entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

What a wonderful surprise to find sushi on the menu. They had many great selections and it appears they only offer on the weekends. We've been to this restaurant twice and the food/service is excellent.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Nice clean place with a little background live music

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great dinner. Fit for foodies. Pricing about the same as other island restaurants -maybe a little more - but the quality of the food, service, and atmosphere is in different league. Resort casual or dressy casual appropriate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great Place ! Keeper for our annual visit to the area

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We have eaten at the Old Captiva House several times. Always great food, service and cocktails. Each year when on Sanibel/Captiva Old Captiva House is a night out for my wife and I.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We stayed in Naples but decided to take a drive to Sanibel and Captiva islands to see the sights. We found Captiva House on Open Table on the way there and booked for dinner. The outside dining area was fantastic and quit enough to have a conversation. Our waitperson was very friendly and attentive. The food was excellent.....very fresh and tasty seafood. I had the Ahi and my wife had blackened Grouper. Both were delicious! Would definitely recommend this restaurant to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A disappointing experienced. Had read mixed reviews of Captiva House, and now I see why. It's a nice-looking place and the food was good (not great, especially for the price -- also one of my lamb chops was overcooked and way over salted). But it took us an hour to receive our two entrees -- and we rarely saw our server. Also, our used appetizer plates were left on the table -- and no one ever checked on us. And the place wasn't full. Will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 1, 2017

This is a beautiful location where you can see the sunset over the Gulf of Mexico. The staff are extremely friendly and the food is delicious. We are taking some friends back with us next week.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Our favourite dining room on Sanibel.
Sunset beautiful. Delicious food. Gracious hospitality.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The meal was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We ended up eating here for a quiet dinner for two (rare date night without our kids in tow), and it was fabulous. The service and food were excellent. We had a beautiful view of the sunset from indoors, and it was perfect. We have been coming down to Captiva for over 15 years, but we eat out infrequently, and had not known about this gem. Trip Advisor recommended this.All staff were extremely courteous and helpful. Tomato Carpaccio salad and chocolate cake were our favorites. I thoroughly enjoyed curry-flavored red snapper, although my husband thought his prime rib was a little dry. Overall, a quality restaurant w/beautiful, white-tablecloth tables w/an intimate dining experience. They were welcoming to children, as other children were dining. A memorable dining treat. Go for a special occasion or a date-night, or a nice dinner w/your (dressed up/well behaved) children. You will be glad you came here. We will plan to come again next year when we return to Captiva.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Terrible service, mediocre food and overpriced for the overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We have been to this restaurant many times and love it. That said, this was an off night for the kitchen with several mistakes that weren't readily fixed. Together with what seemed to be a new waitperson, this was not a good night for us. We will be back and will hope for a different experience. The food was good as usual.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The best food we had on our recent stay on Captiva Island. Perfectly prepared and served in a nice restaurant with sunset views.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Was on captiva on vacation and took my wife for the special valentine dinner. Our waitress was outstanding although the staff was really working hard and could have used more help-- I attribute same to the fact that the help has to take an hour to get there due to the traffic. They did put together a fine classy special dinner-giving all the ladies a long stem red rose was a nice touch- all in all a great experience and would go again

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were there on Valentine's Day so it was very busy. However, the service was great and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

They kind of forgot about us. We had no wait staff for about 20 min. After telling hostess they redeemed themselves. Dinner was fantastic and perfect ambiance for a romantic Valentines Day evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 14, 2017

A must when on Sanibel-Captiva! We had a delicious Valentine's dinner complete with champagne & a just right dessert trio. Our server was so congenial & efficient, sorry to hear she was returning home, we wish her well!
The morning we had to leave "paradise", on impromptu stopped for breakfast. A wonderful way to end our visit. We opted for an outside table covered perfectly by floral covered pergolas. Our food was tasty & the fresh OJ !
Will definitely visit again...

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Very nice seafood dinner, good service, casual outdoor atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Been going to Captiva House when visiting Captiva for several years. Ir's our favorite restaurant pn Sanibel/Captiva for a romantic, elegant, & delucious dinner. Highly recommend to anyone on the island(s).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Private Room, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Redfish special was outstanding with great flavors and cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Food was tasty and the service was very good. Would go back and would recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We were staying at Tween Waters and were aware of the high prices at the Captiva House restaurant, but we decided to dine there because of the convenience. My Snapper was dry, tough, and served luke warm; I had to sent it back and ordered the Sea Bass instead. The portion of fish was surprisingly small, but at least it was much better than the Snapper. The hotel povided us with a discount voucher, thank goodness. Only recommendations would be for the Crab Bisque and my husband liked the finely sliced Tuna.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great food and service! Husband had the prime rib and it was big enough to feed an army!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The restaurant is part of a resort, and sits across the street from the Gulf. Very pretty setting. Has a varied menu. Everything we tried was well prepared and visually appealing. A piano in the center of the building could be heard throughout, even where we sat outside. Very nice experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Casual, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This restaurant is upscale and touristy at the same time. It feels more like an adult eatery than many of the Island' options. It's a huge dining area with multiple rooms and a large outdoor space. The option for small plates is really nice especially with so many good starters. The food and service were both good.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Terrible! Christmas buffet .. cheese display looked horrible all crumbly and mashed together, salad wilted, potatoes hard, stuffing mushy, stuffed shells cold .. only thing good was rolls and ham.. service terrible .. won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went for Christmas Brunch. The drive there was incredible. We were seated promptly, and the ambience was so very calm. Service was great! Appetizer bar was so fresh and delicious. The main buffet wasn't to our taste, but looked appealing to those who enjoyed it. It was so calm and refreshing, we would recommend it enthusiastically!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 25, 2016

For several years we have been coming here for their fabulous Christmas Day Buffet. Again this year the food and service was fantastic. We recommend it to all our family and friends. It is worth the drive to get there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The dining room was lovely. Our server was excellent and very attentive. We had the duck spring rolls as an appetizer - delicious! And then Chilean sea bass and seafood lasagna - both ridiculously good! The little dessert shooters were a perfect end to the meal. They were a sweet treat but not heavy or overwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Fantastic service, great ambiance and amazing food! I will always remember my wedding dinner celebration and the piano player lulled my tired 3 year old to sleep.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Family Style, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Beautiful view of the beach sunset from the front dining room. Service was very good and food was delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 12, 2016

This was the first time we've dined at the Captiva House. The ambiance was wonderful, and the piano music from the adjoining room was delightful. I had the seafood lasagne, and it was rich, delicious, and very filling. (I brought half of it home) The two men had lobster spaghetti and both enjoyed it tremendously. The other lady had Chilean sea bass, said it was delicious and also took some home. Our house salads were fresh and tasty, and their bread was excellent. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone. The plethora of Christmas lights also added to the ambiance and looked very festive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We had booked a night at the Inn and restaurant in honor of the 10th anniversary of my father's passing. He and my mother had spent many years visiting the island and had stayed at the inn. I have fond memories of the delicious dinners we had at the Inn. So imagine my disappointment at an appetizer that was dry and tasteless and a main dish that was overcooked. I will say that your serving staff are incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very pretty restaurant with a piano player. Food was good and we like going to the bar next door. Worth a nice dinner if you don't mind the prices.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving Buffet. 2nd year in a row. Nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.