About Captiva House

15951 Captiva Drive
Captiva, FL 33924
View Larger Map

Welcome to the charming and historic Captiva House at the legendary Tween Waters Inn Island resort and Spa. Known for Captiva's Gulf-front view of America's most romantic sunset.

Inspired by Executive Chef Jason Miller, our exciting "New Florida" menu is a colorful, wonderful exploration of island foods and flavors. Sometimes passionate. Sometimes mild. Sometimes fun. Yet all, truly great to admire and greater to enjoy — from appetizers, through entrees, to desserts.

Come, feast your eyes and appetite.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:30am - 10:30am; Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
2 miles north of Blind Pass Bridge

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 223-5865

Website:
http://www.tween-waters.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy nightly entertainment most nights at our Crow"s Nest Lounge adjacent to the Captiva House. Entertainment consists of the world famous hilarious NASCRAB Crab Racing interactive comedy show and crab race event that must be seen to believe. Two shows (children's 6PM and adult 9PM) most Monday and Thursday evenings throughout the year. Enjoy music stylings of a live and lively band every Friday and Saturday nights starting at 9PM. Plus, dance the night away to local singer Taylor Stokes, as he plays soft rock currents to classics most Tuesdays and Wednesdays starting at 9PM.

Parking Details:
Parking is open for all dining customers.

Executive Chef:
Jason Miller

Private Party Facilities:
The Old Captiva House:

Our historic restaurant that dates to the 1920s, beautifully appointed today with walls of white French doors and polished hardwood floors, yours to reserve in part or in total. Capacity 160.

Sunset Lounge:

This quiet, intimate room adjacent to the Old Captiva House is all windows and altogether charming. Beautiful views of Americas most romantic sunsets. Also opens to our Garden Terrace and the Old Captiva House. Capacity 50.

Private Party Contact:
Kerri Maw: (239) 472-5161 ext. 404

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Captiva House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
See All
Worth the Drive (11)
Scenic View (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Waterfront (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Casual (8)
Historic (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Romantic (6)
Seasonal (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Live Music (2)
Family Style (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Fun (1)
Business Meals (1)
Authentic (1)
Private Room (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
268 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

The meal was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

We ended up eating here for a quiet dinner for two (rare date night without our kids in tow), and it was fabulous. The service and food were excellent. We had a beautiful view of the sunset from indoors, and it was perfect. We have been coming down to Captiva for over 15 years, but we eat out infrequently, and had not known about this gem. Trip Advisor recommended this.All staff were extremely courteous and helpful. Tomato Carpaccio salad and chocolate cake were our favorites. I thoroughly enjoyed curry-flavored red snapper, although my husband thought his prime rib was a little dry. Overall, a quality restaurant w/beautiful, white-tablecloth tables w/an intimate dining experience. They were welcoming to children, as other children were dining. A memorable dining treat. Go for a special occasion or a date-night, or a nice dinner w/your (dressed up/well behaved) children. You will be glad you came here. We will plan to come again next year when we return to Captiva.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 5 days ago

Terrible service, mediocre food and overpriced for the overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

We have been to this restaurant many times and love it. That said, this was an off night for the kitchen with several mistakes that weren't readily fixed. Together with what seemed to be a new waitperson, this was not a good night for us. We will be back and will hope for a different experience. The food was good as usual.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The best food we had on our recent stay on Captiva Island. Perfectly prepared and served in a nice restaurant with sunset views.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Was on captiva on vacation and took my wife for the special valentine dinner. Our waitress was outstanding although the staff was really working hard and could have used more help-- I attribute same to the fact that the help has to take an hour to get there due to the traffic. They did put together a fine classy special dinner-giving all the ladies a long stem red rose was a nice touch- all in all a great experience and would go again

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were there on Valentine's Day so it was very busy. However, the service was great and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

They kind of forgot about us. We had no wait staff for about 20 min. After telling hostess they redeemed themselves. Dinner was fantastic and perfect ambiance for a romantic Valentines Day evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Very nice seafood dinner, good service, casual outdoor atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Been going to Captiva House when visiting Captiva for several years. Ir's our favorite restaurant pn Sanibel/Captiva for a romantic, elegant, & delucious dinner. Highly recommend to anyone on the island(s).

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Private Room, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Redfish special was outstanding with great flavors and cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Food was tasty and the service was very good. Would go back and would recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

We were staying at Tween Waters and were aware of the high prices at the Captiva House restaurant, but we decided to dine there because of the convenience. My Snapper was dry, tough, and served luke warm; I had to sent it back and ordered the Sea Bass instead. The portion of fish was surprisingly small, but at least it was much better than the Snapper. The hotel povided us with a discount voucher, thank goodness. Only recommendations would be for the Crab Bisque and my husband liked the finely sliced Tuna.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great food and service! Husband had the prime rib and it was big enough to feed an army!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The restaurant is part of a resort, and sits across the street from the Gulf. Very pretty setting. Has a varied menu. Everything we tried was well prepared and visually appealing. A piano in the center of the building could be heard throughout, even where we sat outside. Very nice experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Casual, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This restaurant is upscale and touristy at the same time. It feels more like an adult eatery than many of the Island' options. It's a huge dining area with multiple rooms and a large outdoor space. The option for small plates is really nice especially with so many good starters. The food and service were both good.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Terrible! Christmas buffet .. cheese display looked horrible all crumbly and mashed together, salad wilted, potatoes hard, stuffing mushy, stuffed shells cold .. only thing good was rolls and ham.. service terrible .. won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went for Christmas Brunch. The drive there was incredible. We were seated promptly, and the ambience was so very calm. Service was great! Appetizer bar was so fresh and delicious. The main buffet wasn't to our taste, but looked appealing to those who enjoyed it. It was so calm and refreshing, we would recommend it enthusiastically!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 25, 2016

For several years we have been coming here for their fabulous Christmas Day Buffet. Again this year the food and service was fantastic. We recommend it to all our family and friends. It is worth the drive to get there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The dining room was lovely. Our server was excellent and very attentive. We had the duck spring rolls as an appetizer - delicious! And then Chilean sea bass and seafood lasagna - both ridiculously good! The little dessert shooters were a perfect end to the meal. They were a sweet treat but not heavy or overwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Fantastic service, great ambiance and amazing food! I will always remember my wedding dinner celebration and the piano player lulled my tired 3 year old to sleep.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Family Style, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Beautiful view of the beach sunset from the front dining room. Service was very good and food was delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 12, 2016

This was the first time we've dined at the Captiva House. The ambiance was wonderful, and the piano music from the adjoining room was delightful. I had the seafood lasagne, and it was rich, delicious, and very filling. (I brought half of it home) The two men had lobster spaghetti and both enjoyed it tremendously. The other lady had Chilean sea bass, said it was delicious and also took some home. Our house salads were fresh and tasty, and their bread was excellent. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone. The plethora of Christmas lights also added to the ambiance and looked very festive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We had booked a night at the Inn and restaurant in honor of the 10th anniversary of my father's passing. He and my mother had spent many years visiting the island and had stayed at the inn. I have fond memories of the delicious dinners we had at the Inn. So imagine my disappointment at an appetizer that was dry and tasteless and a main dish that was overcooked. I will say that your serving staff are incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very pretty restaurant with a piano player. Food was good and we like going to the bar next door. Worth a nice dinner if you don't mind the prices.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving Buffet. 2nd year in a row. Nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Outstanding Thanksgiving Buffet, as usual. Could have made a meal out of the seafood bar alone.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Food is alWAYS delicious, however, this was Thanksgiving dinner and it was a disappointment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Thanks for the fabulous Thanksgiving dinner at Captiva House. It was beyond what we were expecting at a holiday buffet. From the delicious food to the professional staff everything was perfect! Cheers & Happy Holidays-

Katherine Miller

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Wonderful food, service & environment for a Thanksgiving buffet. Looking forward to returning on our next visit to the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had the Thanksgiving buffet last year and thought it was good. This year the prime rib was not prime and well done and tough. The turkey dressing was out of a box, unimaginative salad had decaying spinach in it, grouper was like a rock.

Brie, mashed potatoes, oysters and cranberries were good.

Service was slow - took 30 minutes to get a refill of ice tea and was never asked if we wanted another glass of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Fabulous Thanksgiving brunch in historic resort. View of ocean. Lots of windows and light. Great atmosphere, wait staff, and food. We were at the Captiva House for Christmas brunch a couple years ago on vacation and we were so impressed then that we had to give it a try for Thanksgiving while we were here again. We were not disappointed! There were six of us at a large round table which made it easy to converse. Our waiter was great. The food was wonderful with lots of good choices. The view and atmosphere couldn't be beat. We will return every time we are on the islands.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Have eaten here on a few occasions and am always surprised at how great the food is. Service is excellent, ambiance is wonderful outside, but the food is really superb. Chilean Sea Bass was exceptional.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

A little pricey, but excellent food and service. We where staying at the resort and walked to the restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great atmosphere Creative menu backed up with great tastes

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great ambiance , food & service. Tyler was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

One of my favorites for years! Been going there since the 1980's.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Our only issue was that it was listed as sunset views but at Street level the view was obstructed by a trailer in the parking lot.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 34th anniversay at the Captiva House this past Sunday, Oct. 23, 2016. We saw the gorgeous sunset on the Gulf from our table for two as pretty live piano music was played in an adjacent room. We were offered samples of two different wines before we made our choices, which was very nice. The menu and specials were well explained. We enjoyed our salads and our dinners, which were nicely presented, fresh and delicious! It was my first time ordering tuna (which was the special) and I ordered it medium. It had a nice ginger glaze with a light tasting pesto sauce and it was served with yellow rice and vegetables. It was so yummy and they accomodated my request for extra pesto sauce half way through my meal. We were offered a choice of complimentary shooter parfaits after dinner but after enjoying the cappaucino one, we had no room for dessert. The combination of the pretty room, white linen tablecloth, glowing candle, great food, live piano and sunset was so nice! I'm happy we changed up our vacation dining experience and came here for our special occasion!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 20, 2016

We are in Sanibel / Captiva every year and always like to try new restaurants. Our first time at Captiva House...food was excellent, location and decor were great but the wait staff and overall service level could be improved. No glaring issue, just not what I think is the basic acceptable level of service and detail for a nicer restaurant. Not so bad that I won't try again but if I owned the place, I would work on polishing that area of an otherwise very nice place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Good move changing the location of the piano.

Too bad Sushi dominates the menu. Expected more than 1 special.

Need to bring back the dessert selection - shot glass dessert selection is pretty cheesy.

Waitress "welcome to the Crows Nest" seemed awkward considering. I get having shared staff, but felt I was was watching snail races after that.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Food was excellent, Niles our waiter was attentive and helpful.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Very florida feeling, open and airy. Gread food and service. Little steep for an everyday meal.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2016

One of the finest on the Island, for a more upscale experience compared to all the others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Wonderful food. Terrific service. Personal handling. Beautiful sunset view. Very upscale dining where you can be comfortable in a suit and tie or shorts and a golf shirt.

Tags: Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Private Room, Vegan, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Fun, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Dancing, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Historic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Wonderful The sunset was spectacular, the food great! Always a good time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Organic, Fun, Romantic, Scenic View, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Good upscale dining. Creatively done menu items. Note: also has a sushi menu with nigiri or sashimi. Friendly wait staff. Live piano during dining.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Service was quite slow. Felt as if they were understaffed. The server took it upon himself to add an extra order of nigiri to our appetizers (and charged us for it) after letting us know they had no more tamago. Lobster spaghetti was very good, but the sea bass in puff pastry was bone dry and very fishy. The piano player was the best part.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 15, 2016

One of my top two or three restaurants on Sanibel-Captiva. Always good food, always good service.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Snapper was extremely overcooked - they did replace with day scallops which were acceptable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.