Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Fri, 5/25
Time
10:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 17 times today

Captiva House

4.5
483 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Quiet Conversation
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
Welcome to the charming and historic Captiva House at the legendary Tween Waters Inn Island resort and Spa. Known for Captiva's Gulf-front view of America's most romantic sunset.

Inspired by our new Executive Chef Greg Nelson our exciting "New Florida" menu is a colorful, wonderful exploration of island foods and flavors. Sometimes passionate. Sometimes mild. Sometimes fun. Yet all, truly great to admire and greater to enjoy — from appetizers, through entrees, to desserts.

Come, feast your eyes and appetite.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Seafood, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast Daily: 7:30am - 11:00am; Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm-9:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(800) 223-5865
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Greg Nelson
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
2 miles north of Blind Pass Bridge
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is open for all dining customers.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Enjoy nightly entertainment most nights at our Crow"s Nest Lounge adjacent to the Captiva House. Entertainment consists of the world famous hilarious NASCRAB Crab Racing interactive comedy show and crab race event that must be seen to believe. Two shows (children's 6PM and adult 9PM) most Monday and Thursday evenings throughout the year. Enjoy music stylings of a live and lively band every Friday and Saturday nights starting at 9PM. Plus, dance the night away to local singer Taylor Stokes, as he plays soft rock currents to classics most Tuesdays and Wednesdays starting at 9PM.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 483 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.5
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined a day ago

let me start by saying our family has been coming to sanibel and captiva for 15+ years. We never had been to Old Captiva House and decided to try it for my fathers 59th birthday.

It was to say at the very least a very disappointing choice. We had requested the Front Room to oversee the ocean for the sunset and even verified that fact when we had breakfast on Tuesday AM. When we arrived our table in the front room had been given to another party, so we were seated all the way in the back of the restaurant underneath a cold air vent. We asked to be moved and with great reluctance got moved but the hostess never even came back to see if the new location was satisfactory.

Generally the food was average but the portion sizes very small for the price. Two members of our party of six had meat dishes. i had the 8 oz Filet and it was not a Filet. it was a Strip Steak about 1/2 inch thick and very grainy meat. If it was a filet then it was select grade and not even choice for $42.

Our family eats at som of the countries finest restaurants in chicago and for the $500 bill we paid tonight at Old Captiva House we wold have had a 5 star meal at Tavern in Rush in Chicago.

I decided to not complain at the restaurant as a poor review like this one should make a greater impact. Lastly they never even acknowledged my Fathers 59th bday.

We will never go back to Old Captiva House. we should have stayed with our favorite place on the island of the Green Flash but wanted to try something new after 15 years of going to the same places.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I were on vacation. We chose this venue for the location and food. Both did not disappoint. Establishment, Service, and Food were all excellent. Would definitely return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Our dinner was good, service was good, crab bisque was excellent. My filet mignon was served in a bowl. Although tasty and a nice cut of meat, it is very awkward trying to cut a steak in a bowl! We could barely see out of the windows. They really needed to be cleaned, especially since it is a waterfront restaurant. We will go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The wait staff did not remove cocktail glasses or ask if we needed something else to drink. The food was tasty to excellent except for the vegetables that looked like they came off the steam table at Cracker Barrel.

I would recommend this restaurant. The food options are varied and the ones we tried were delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

The restaurant is beautiful with nice views of the ocean. The service was outstanding, friendly, and professional. The filet mignon was tasty and prepared correctly, although I would not order the scallops again. Overall a nice experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

The evening was superb. My Chilean Sea Bass was delicious and my husband loved his salmon-cooked to his liking. Service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

We enjoyed dinner at the Captiva House to help celebrate our 27th anniversary, and 3rd honeymoon trip to Captiva Island. The setting was beautiful, the food was delicious, and the service (Nile) was very welcoming, professional, knowledgeable and considerate. We will be back for future anniversaries and honeymoons!! Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Wonderful food. If halibut with gazpacho is on the specials - order it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Food was excellent as always. We had a beautiful sushi appetizer and seabass and grouper entrees. Everything tasty, flavorful, cooked perfectly and appealing to the eye. Our server seemed off and was not nearly as good as Jen that we had earlier in the week.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Have been going there on and off for many years (40). In our opinion it had ups and downs over the years, but our latest experience was very good, indeed. Enjoyed the food and the fact that they are offering small portions as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Disappointed in table location for party of two with a reservation made 1 mos prior.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2018

We dine here several times per season and are always pleased with the meal and the beautiful sunset view. Despite a discussion on my husband's allergies to oranges and fresh tomatoes, the duck spring roll still came with mandarin oranges and had to be re-made. Our server was notably less engaged toward the end of the meal so we did not stay for dessert and coffee.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Somewhat disappointed, given what we had heard... Both my fish and my husband's lamb were overcooked, and there were not enough veggies... Salt & pepper shakers not filled and dirty (a small thing, I know, but indicative of attention to detail... We look forward to an improvement!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

The food (fishes, crab soup) was good, excepting for the pastas that they cook in advanced, so overdone and greasy. The terrass is quite lovely , you should prefer this option rather than having a table inside (needs a renovation). We had a good evening there but it was not amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Fabulous dinner. The fish was spectacular, served with a pesto risotto with artichokes and maine lobster bits. Sorry I live so far away, I would go more often.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Generous portions of delicious food. Prices reasonable for what you receive. Serving staff were all very polite and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Wonderful quiet evening!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 18, 2018

We left disappointed due to poor service. Our server was just off his game. Our food was good, and I’d consider another try.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

So beautiful watching the sun setting from the patio

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Had the sea bass and the lobster escargot !!! Amazing!!!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Beautiful setting and the food was extremely well done. Best food we’ve had on Sanibel or Captiva.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Lamb was full of fat and gristly. Mashed parsnips too sugary. The “lobster cargot” had rice in it but when asked the chef denied it. Key lime pie was much too tart.
However, Crab bisque was excellent. Waiter was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Enjoyed our anniversary dinner. Ordered the small plate dinners and they were nicely presented and just enough for us. Had a mixed drink from the bar and that was nicely presented as well. I had scallops and my husband had the fish. Both were tasty. Service was excellent. Attentive but not annoying. Would highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

We are repeat customers who return every year for great location service and food. We like the option of small plates which while not inexpensive are reasonable portions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Excellent dinner after trying a lot of others near by would recommend this if you want a quiet dinner

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Lovely atmosphere and good food. Easter buffet was fabulous and dinner and breakfast were both very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

We sat outside with a view of the Gulf. Several families nearby, but the children were poised and well-behaved. Great waiter and delicious food. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 3, 2018

This was the best dinner we had on Captiva.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Easter buffet was a little too expensive. No one can eat $55 worth of food. A more appropriate price would have been maximum $35.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Wonderful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Great meal. First time having dinner there and was very surprised how good the food was. Sorry we haven’t been there sooner. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

I had the Spicy Grilled Tuna with coconut rice and steamed vegetables. It was AMAZING! We were able to sit at a table with a view of the Gulf. Our wait staff was very attentive and helpful. The noise from the bar was a little much but they were able to close some doors and block out much of the noise. The dinner portion was too filling to try a dessert. It was a great date night.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 29, 2018

We had been to The Captiva House before and found it wonderful. Unfortunately Wednesday night was the opposite. We had an 8:00 reservation for the porch. We were seated around 8:15 or so. After 15-20 minutes our drink order was taken. Then our waiter was a "no show" for another 20 minutes. We ended up leaving after paying for our drinks. It was to be a special dinner for our daughter and husband. So disappointed!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Great Restaurant great food, no complaints

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 26, 2018

The menu was small and what we did order wasn't special in any way. The seafood was underwhelming for an island location. We sat outside and watched the many cars and people go by certainly not a quiet or romantic atmosphere. Our poor server had been working 7 days straight and was visibly tired - couldn't remember the specials and almost spilled a try of drinks on my lap. We likely won't return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Food is fantastic. Everything was delicious. Oysters Alexander is a must.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We thought we were going to one of the better restaurants on the island. The food was mediocre. We left disappointed.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2018

While the food and cocktails were delicious the service was lacking. We arrived promptly for our 7:30 dinner reservation and were seated quickly. Unfortunately after 20 minutes without being approached by any one of three servers that kept passing by I finally asked a bus person if there was a server assigned to our table. Following another 5 minutes a server finally arrived to take our drink orders. Dinner was tasty but the ball was dropped again as I had specifically noted our Open Table reservation that it was my significant other's birthday and had requested that something to commemorate the occasion be provided. While two other tables in the same room had birthdays that were acknowledged my girl friends was not. Rather disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

Very pleasant evening with friends. Lovely restaurant in Captiva with a more adult flair and menu. Excellent food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

Excellent waiter, outstanding food

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13

Tweets by Captiva House