Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.87mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.87mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 1.34mi
  3. Distance: 1.77mi
  4. Distance: 1.87mi

About Captiva House

Welcome to the charming and historic Captiva House at the legendary Tween Waters Inn Island resort and Spa. Known for Captiva's Gulf-front view of America's most romantic sunset.

Inspired by Executive Chef Jason Miller, our exciting "New Florida" menu is a colorful, wonderful exploration of island foods and flavors. Sometimes passionate. Sometimes mild. Sometimes fun. Yet all, truly great to admire and greater to enjoy — from appetizers, through entrees, to desserts.

Come, feast your eyes and appetite.

15951 Captiva Drive
Captiva, FL 33924
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast Daily: 7:30am - 10:30am; Dinner Nightly: 5:30pm-9:30pm

Cross Street:
2 miles north of Blind Pass Bridge

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 223-5865

Website:
http://www.tween-waters.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy nightly entertainment most nights at our Crow"s Nest Lounge adjacent to the Captiva House. Entertainment consists of the world famous hilarious NASCRAB Crab Racing interactive comedy show and crab race event that must be seen to believe. Two shows (children's 6PM and adult 9PM) most Monday and Thursday evenings throughout the year. Enjoy music stylings of a live and lively band every Friday and Saturday nights starting at 9PM. Plus, dance the night away to local singer Taylor Stokes, as he plays soft rock currents to classics most Tuesdays and Wednesdays starting at 9PM.

Parking Details:
Parking is open for all dining customers.

Executive Chef:
Jason Miller

Private Party Facilities:
The Old Captiva House:

Our historic restaurant that dates to the 1920s, beautifully appointed today with walls of white French doors and polished hardwood floors, yours to reserve in part or in total. Capacity 160.

Sunset Lounge:

This quiet, intimate room adjacent to the Old Captiva House is all windows and altogether charming. Beautiful views of Americas most romantic sunsets. Also opens to our Garden Terrace and the Old Captiva House. Capacity 50.

Private Party Contact:
Kerri Maw: (239) 472-5161 ext. 404

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Shouldn't every Mother's day be this good? For the first time ever, the Captiva House will be hosting one of our holiday buffets in honor of all the hardworking moms. Come relax and let us take care of you and your special lady!

Captiva House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Romantic (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Waterfront (11)
Scenic View (11)
Casual (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Historic (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Seasonal (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Cozy (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Authentic (4)
Family Style (4)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Business Meals (3)
Live Music (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
299 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had a nice Easter buffet at the Captiva house. We have had Thanksgiving meals there in the past and enjoy the buffets the Captiva house provides. The seafood appetizers are fantastic. Sushi, steamed shrimp, mussels, clams and more. Very nice.
There is great assortment of items in the chaffing dishes: Duck, Salmon and more. Ham, Prime Rib and Lamb were also available at the carving station.
Desserts were large but sweeter than we like. Most people will enjoy them though.
We will return for meal at the Captiva House.

Tags: Family Style, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Big disappointment! We have eaten here before and loved it. Went today for Easter. Found out upon arrival that it was buffet only. Unfortunately the buffet was very limited. Being a vegetarian I asked if I could only pay for the salad bar since I would not be able to indulge in anything on the hot bar other than rice, bread and steamed vegetables. I was told bluntly by the manager that this is not A possibility, that there were no option, that I had to pay the full price of $49.95. Unfortunately I had already started on my salad or I would've walked out then. It ended up a very expensive salad! We asked if we could order something for our 11 year old since there was nothing that was kid friendly on the buffet. We were told again that that was NOT a possibility. We ended up being charged full price for two adults plus the 2 glasses of champagne that we did order, then they automatically added 18% gratuity to our check. We were there a maximum of 45 minutes and walked out after a salad, a few shrimp and a few tasting off the hot bar that were at average at best for $153.00 and some change. The manager was at the desk as we left, no one said anything to us as we exited. A terrible disappointment for a restaurant that we considered one of our favorites the last time we dined here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our ride from Cape Coral was well worth it. We were seated quickly, service was prompt. Outstanding Appetizers, good selections at the Easter buffet. We will be back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I had a Petit Filet which was good, but the side dish's seemed to have been sitting for some time. It came with a "scoop" mashed potatoes and soggy vegetables. emmmm, yumm

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great views and yummy food

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This was our first time to the Sanibel/Captiva area. We had our family of 6 and had to take a late reservation. I was worried that service and quality might be an issue, however we enjoyed a superbly prepared meal and our waiter was so attentive and accommodating.
The restaurant reminded us of an old time, but classy, family resort. Even our teen- aged and young adult children enjoyed our family meal - not easy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Over the years we've had some very special memories at this very special place!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on April 10, 2017

My husband, my sister, her husband and I dined here while on vacation. The service was excellent, the decor beautiful, and our meal was the best we ate on the island! A little pricey, but well worth it!

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Excellent choice while on Captiva for vacation. Food was fresh, flavorful and well prepared. Service was great. Overall a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent food and service and the subset view from the patio is amazing! If you're looking for a great place to take the family (we have 3 boys) or just on a date this place is perfect. They have sushi a few nights a week which our boys loved. We wife and I had Mahi Mahi and Sea Bass the last time we we visited and it was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 5, 2017

My friend and I were treated to a wonderful dining experience at Captiva House. All aspects from appetizers, dinner and the beautiful sunset were beautifully orchestrated by our server, Michael.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Awesome place for a date night on the island!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The gentleman playing the piano was wonderful! I would go there again for dinner just to listen to his music!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Friends visiting so outdoor dining and sunset were great. Food exceptional. Michael took very good care of us too

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Creative menu. All our courses were outstanding. Great atmosphere on the outdoor garden porch. Not too noisy. Excellent service.

A great find!

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Lovely setting. Tables nicely spaced for conversation. Linen tablecloths and piano accompanying dinner. Outstanding seafood and top notch service. Michael was knowledgeable waiter who was friendly and knew the balance between intrusion and neglect. Great value for fine dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 22, 2017

After reading other reviews, we were looking forward to dinner at Captiva House. However, I am sad to say that we were very disappointed: the staff was very pleasant, but excruciatingly slow (it took 2 hours to serve us) and the food was good, but way overpriced for the quality and quantity. The atmosphere is 1960s and should be updated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent Service......Excellent Food.......Excellent View!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent seafood. We had the scallop app and shrimp cocktail. For entrees, we had curry snapper and the sea bass. It was all perfect. Ray was our server and he was phenomenal. I am gluten and dairy free and this restaurant had many options for me, even sorbet! There was also a very good piano player during our dinner. We went after sunset but I imagine the view is great there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We wound up here for dinner as it was a very busy week on the island and it was the only restaurant with availability. While this normally would not be a good sign, we were glad that fate brought us there. Our dinner was delicious, the menu had a nice variety, the wait staff was attentive and we had a lovely evening. It is not inexpensive and I assume that might be why tables were available, but for us, renting a house right down the street on Captiva it was a lovely find and we will definitely be back! The key lime pie was sublime! We have tried it all over Florida and theirs is definitely a favorite. We also plan to try the Crow's Nest Tavern at Tween Waters since we had such a good experience. We did not have to battle the traffic on Sanibel to have a delicious meal! Definitely a winner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Historic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Blue crab bisque is a must order!!!!!!! One of best I have ever had. Grouper and sea bass were just ok. Dessert was very good. Nice atmosphere. Would go back for blue crab bisque and dessert and maybe skip the entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

What a wonderful surprise to find sushi on the menu. They had many great selections and it appears they only offer on the weekends. We've been to this restaurant twice and the food/service is excellent.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Nice clean place with a little background live music

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great dinner. Fit for foodies. Pricing about the same as other island restaurants -maybe a little more - but the quality of the food, service, and atmosphere is in different league. Resort casual or dressy casual appropriate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great Place ! Keeper for our annual visit to the area

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We have eaten at the Old Captiva House several times. Always great food, service and cocktails. Each year when on Sanibel/Captiva Old Captiva House is a night out for my wife and I.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We stayed in Naples but decided to take a drive to Sanibel and Captiva islands to see the sights. We found Captiva House on Open Table on the way there and booked for dinner. The outside dining area was fantastic and quit enough to have a conversation. Our waitperson was very friendly and attentive. The food was excellent.....very fresh and tasty seafood. I had the Ahi and my wife had blackened Grouper. Both were delicious! Would definitely recommend this restaurant to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A disappointing experienced. Had read mixed reviews of Captiva House, and now I see why. It's a nice-looking place and the food was good (not great, especially for the price -- also one of my lamb chops was overcooked and way over salted). But it took us an hour to receive our two entrees -- and we rarely saw our server. Also, our used appetizer plates were left on the table -- and no one ever checked on us. And the place wasn't full. Will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on March 1, 2017

This is a beautiful location where you can see the sunset over the Gulf of Mexico. The staff are extremely friendly and the food is delicious. We are taking some friends back with us next week.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Our favourite dining room on Sanibel.
Sunset beautiful. Delicious food. Gracious hospitality.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The meal was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We ended up eating here for a quiet dinner for two (rare date night without our kids in tow), and it was fabulous. The service and food were excellent. We had a beautiful view of the sunset from indoors, and it was perfect. We have been coming down to Captiva for over 15 years, but we eat out infrequently, and had not known about this gem. Trip Advisor recommended this.All staff were extremely courteous and helpful. Tomato Carpaccio salad and chocolate cake were our favorites. I thoroughly enjoyed curry-flavored red snapper, although my husband thought his prime rib was a little dry. Overall, a quality restaurant w/beautiful, white-tablecloth tables w/an intimate dining experience. They were welcoming to children, as other children were dining. A memorable dining treat. Go for a special occasion or a date-night, or a nice dinner w/your (dressed up/well behaved) children. You will be glad you came here. We will plan to come again next year when we return to Captiva.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Terrible service, mediocre food and overpriced for the overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We have been to this restaurant many times and love it. That said, this was an off night for the kitchen with several mistakes that weren't readily fixed. Together with what seemed to be a new waitperson, this was not a good night for us. We will be back and will hope for a different experience. The food was good as usual.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The best food we had on our recent stay on Captiva Island. Perfectly prepared and served in a nice restaurant with sunset views.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Was on captiva on vacation and took my wife for the special valentine dinner. Our waitress was outstanding although the staff was really working hard and could have used more help-- I attribute same to the fact that the help has to take an hour to get there due to the traffic. They did put together a fine classy special dinner-giving all the ladies a long stem red rose was a nice touch- all in all a great experience and would go again

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We were there on Valentine's Day so it was very busy. However, the service was great and the food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2017

They kind of forgot about us. We had no wait staff for about 20 min. After telling hostess they redeemed themselves. Dinner was fantastic and perfect ambiance for a romantic Valentines Day evening.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 14, 2017

A must when on Sanibel-Captiva! We had a delicious Valentine's dinner complete with champagne & a just right dessert trio. Our server was so congenial & efficient, sorry to hear she was returning home, we wish her well!
The morning we had to leave "paradise", on impromptu stopped for breakfast. A wonderful way to end our visit. We opted for an outside table covered perfectly by floral covered pergolas. Our food was tasty & the fresh OJ !
Will definitely visit again...

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Very nice seafood dinner, good service, casual outdoor atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.