About OLA at Sanctuary

1745 James Ave
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

Welcome to OLA at the Sanctuary Hotel.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Latin American, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:30pm-10pm, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 695-9125

Website:
http://www.olamiami.com/

Catering:
Contact Layla Seda for Details

Executive Chef:
Carlos Castro

Private Party Contact:
Laylah Seda: (305) 915-4323

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

OLA at Sanctuary Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (46)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Special Occasion (36)
See All
Good for a Date (34)
Authentic (30)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Romantic (24)
Local Ingredients (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Tasting Menu (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Modern Decor (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Tapas (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Cozy (12)
Spicy (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Healthy (10)
Fun (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Business Meals (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Great for Lunch (5)
Casual (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Historic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
758 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place to learn and taste Cuban cui ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

Great place to learn and taste Cuban cuisine in its top level form.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service and menu were amazing. Duck sala ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Service and menu were amazing. Duck salad and lamb with their Rioja were a great combination. Didn't get the full experience sitting in the back but with the boat show apparently not everyone is guaranteed the best seats. Anyway, the staff made it all worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, food and drinks! Love ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Great atmosphere, food and drinks! Love the entire menu and the sommelier served is an excellent wine. Fabulous experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the best meals I have ev ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

This was one of the best meals I have ever had and I travel the USA and dine in great places. Top rated .

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very good restaurant/ nice to sit on the ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Very good restaurant/ nice to sit on the front patio/ lobster ceviche delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent meal and service!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent meal and service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had really high expectations since this ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Had really high expectations since this hit top lists on Trip Advisor, Yelp, and Open Table. Unfortunately, it fell short. The food was so average, but the prices were way above average. The appetizers made great effort to be high end with a lobster empanada, but made me long for a truck empanada. Cuban pork at $38 was one of the cheapest dishes for entrees. It was good, but was nothing to warrant the price tag. Sad, but did not live up to the hype and fell even further short of the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

I absolutely love the food here. Lobster ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

I absolutely love the food here. Lobster ceviche is soooo good and the Cuban pork main is a must. Service is always outstanding and I love that it's in a hotel but doesn't feel stuffy. You won't regret eating here!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come to Miami every few weeks. Ola i ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We come to Miami every few weeks. Ola is the only place we make sure to hit every time we come. It's always good, service is good and friendly, I dare try different dishes because we have never had a bad meal here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Valentines dinner was amazing❤️

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Valentines dinner was amazing❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Appetizers came out fast. Main Dish took ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Appetizers came out fast. Main Dish took a long time to be served which was a let down after the quick appetizers. Service was great. Waiter spoke to us rushed. He knew exactly what he was talking about and recommended several dishes. Food was expensive without much value built into the meal. Ingredients are surely costly but the chef can work on the menu a little. Food was mostly spicey. Main was not balanced and ingredients do no complement dish well, which I expect if I'm paying over $100/person. It was nothing out of this world. Food was well-cooked and presentable. Lobster empanada was unique and tasty. However, it was nothing out of this world. It is my experience that you can have a better experience for this money elsewhere in Miami.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Love this place! Get the ceviche and the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Love this place! Get the ceviche and the hazelnut crusted rack of lamb! Best Mojitos! Try the watermelon one! We keep coming back here every time we in Miami! Incredible food...

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was very tasty but can get similar ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food was very tasty but can get similar quality at a local Miami Latin/Peruvian restaurant for half the price. A couple of interesting presentations, but not worth the mark up for fine dining environment. Not a wow for me.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Such a great place! Have to go more ofte ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Such a great place! Have to go more often. The meatballs & the Empanadas are superb!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely outdoor dinner at this r ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a lovely outdoor dinner at this restaurant with fresh and delicious ingredients. Portions were small, which we like. Service was great!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed this resturant very much and ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We enjoyed this resturant very much and recommend it . The food is very good, not great, but very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

OLA was truly a delightful dining experi ...

 
 (London)·Dined on February 11, 2017

OLA was truly a delightful dining experience. The service experience was excellent but the highlight was definitely the creative Latin cuisine.both in the choice of ceviches, all fresh seafood, as well as the main courses running the breadth of Latin cuisine. The cocktails were also tasty and we'll prepared. Highly recommended by me as someone who lived many years in Latin America.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Spicy, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, , Healthy, Casual, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Ola. L ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Ola. Loved the ceviche, steak. Good wine selection but a little pricey

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We always to try to eat here when we vis ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We always to try to eat here when we visit South Beach. Once again had an outstanding meal. Octopus appetizer, whole red snapper for a main course, asparagus and Brussel sprouts sides. We shared everything and couldn't finish. Recommend highly.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tasting menu was a fabulous way to e ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The tasting menu was a fabulous way to experience this creative and delicious Latin cuisine, it was as good a meal as I've ever had. I compare it to French Laundry and Guy Savoy. Everything about OLA is top notch, a totally outstanding meal and service.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Authentic, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service. Rolls were delicious. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Excellent service. Rolls were delicious. We chose the tasting menu for $85 pp. although the portions were small, we were full after the second course. Everything was very yummy and while it was nice to taste everything on the menu, I suggest splitting two ceviches and one main course.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I went to Ola for our 37t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

My husband and I went to Ola for our 37th anniversary. His pork dish was fairly routine although the sauces with it were delicious. We also loved our chicarrones shrimp appetizer and the little Cuban cheese rolls. I ended up being disappointed however because there was no acknowledgement of our anniversary. despite having notified Ola beforehand and mentioning it to one of the servers. No one said happy anniversary, even the server! And while it is not necessary, restaurants often bring out a special dessert. I would never go here for a special occasion again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

I loved the outdoor dining aspect of thi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

I loved the outdoor dining aspect of this restaurant. The drinks were perfectly crafted and went well with our dinner. The empanadas are to die for!!!!

Had both the Lobster and Corn Empanadas. Staff was very nice and attentive! Oh they served gluten free bread, which was a treat. Would definitely visit again

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Interesting and delicious selections

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Interesting and delicious selections

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The most overrated restaurant I have eve ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The most overrated restaurant I have ever been to. Not only the food was not worth the high price, but also many dishes did not taste good at all. I have been to many gastronomic restaurants before, and there's a difference between mixing ingredients and have an amazing - or even just nice- result and adding on things just to make it more "eclectic" and make it taste really bad. I order empanadas and they were really bad, the lamb was tasteless and not well prepared, they made a mistake on our order and didn't even mention/asked for allergies, the fish dish (pescado a lo macho" was extremely spicy (I have that dish at other places and definitely not that spicy), the salmon was fine, but it really is hard to miss on salmon. The dessert I tried was not good either (and I love desserts).

The only good thing was the drink I had (which could have been a little stronger, but it worked out well for me as it was).

Service was mixed, I felt somewhat of an attitude from some while others were really helpful.

Again, not sure what is all the hype about. Never again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The food didn't disappoint dispite the h ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The food didn't disappoint dispite the high expectations. Civiche isn't typical fare; more like sushi but with the civiche flavor. Short rib empanadas should be ordered by everyone and for dinner, slow roasted pork and tuna could be ordered every week and it disappoint or become boring...great flavors. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the reasons I usually order by th ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

One of the reasons I usually order by the bottle, they're white wines by the glass created the only blemish on the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ceviche is a must! ...and the meatballs ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Ceviche is a must! ...and the meatballs. The special snapper was lovely as well, prepared so it was easy to eat with pickled thin pepper rings. YUM! I've heard the filet is a definite must try as well!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service (our server was Rachel) was very ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Service (our server was Rachel) was very friendly. Food was delicious, if very pricey (though perhaps not by Miami standards). But 3 shared courses took well over 3 hours, with over an hour for the third course (rare tuna), without being attended to until just before the last course arrived. Without being prompted for consideration, we were offered a glass of complimentary Cava (our bottle of wine had long been finished). There were a few parties at the restaurant, but unless there were some unseen mishaps in the kitchen, the wait seemed extraordinarily long. Another few customers said the same thing. Maybe it was unusual for the evening, but for that price point, it was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The yellow fin cerviche was amazing. Cou ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The yellow fin cerviche was amazing. Could not get enough of the homemade pandebono (rolls) I had the catch of the day and it was expertly prepared with a nice variety of fresh seafood. My husband had the hazelnut crusted rack of lamb ....best he's ever eaten. Can't wait to return to Ola!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. More than a tapas/ce ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Food was delicious. More than a tapas/ceviche place. Corn empanandas fantastic with two sauces that make you want to lick the plate clean. Unusual and tasty meatballs. Server Rachel was great and attentive. We'll visit again soon.

Tags: Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Amazing food and amazing service. Best c ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Amazing food and amazing service. Best ceviche ever. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of Miami best chief creativity was ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 3, 2017

One of Miami best chief creativity was amazing will be one of my regularly paces from this point forward.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

just the best in south beach. astonishi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

just the best in south beach. astonishing creativity. great and friendly service but above all, tremendous food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great food

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All five of us couldn't stop talking abo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 30, 2017

All five of us couldn't stop talking about the meal. The flavors were outstanding and creative. We shared 5 dishes so we could try more and then all enjoyed outstanding entrees. Every dish was delicious. The service was outstanding. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Spicy, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Amazing service and even better food. Al ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Amazing service and even better food. Always an amazing time here ! From NYC so when we are in Miami Ola is a must on our list of places to visit.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved everything about our experience ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We loved everything about our experience! The place was hopping, busy with chic people… The food was fantastic, and the atmosphere was lovely. We even met Brian and Anika, the owners, after dinner and had a fun chat with them. No wonder this place is so cool!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at OLA was excellent. Highly re ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food at OLA was excellent. Highly recommend the ceviches and the catch-of-the-day, which was grouper for us. It was out-of-this-world!

Our server was lovely. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: Spicy, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Authentic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service were very good. I reque ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food and service were very good. I requested a birthday oriented dinner with birthday wishes and a little birthday desert. I was given a nice table and was served great food but no birthday wishes nor dessert....

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.