About OLA at Sanctuary

Welcome to OLA at the Sanctuary Hotel.

1745 James Ave
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Latin American, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:30pm-10pm, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 695-9125

Website:
http://www.olamiami.com/

Catering:
Contact Layla Seda for Details

Executive Chef:
Carlos Castro

Private Party Contact:
Laylah Seda: 3059154323

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

OLA at Sanctuary Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (32)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Authentic (21)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Romantic (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Modern Decor (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Tapas (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Cozy (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Business Meals (5)
Fun (4)
People Watching (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Spicy (3)
Healthy (2)
Casual (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
700 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our entire dining experience was excepti ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Our entire dining experience was exceptional. Service Food Recommended Drinks Ambience were all excellent. I highly recommend experiencing Ola for dinner.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous lobster ceviche, delicious red ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous lobster ceviche, delicious red snapper (a la plancha). Both waiter and sommelier/manager very helpful in food and wine recommendations. Staff very attentive. Would definitely return!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been eating at Ola every time we ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We have been eating at Ola every time we come to Miami for nearly a decade and have never been disappointed. The food, service and overall experience are among the best in the city.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and great service

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food and great service

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ola continues to satisfy with a creative ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Ola continues to satisfy with a creative menu, magnificent flavors and flawless presentation. Always a hit with friends and colleagues. Slightly off the beaten path location makes it seem like a hidden gem, though it is very well known on the South Beach restaurant circuit at this point.

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food. Tastes were superior. The ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Amazing food. Tastes were superior. The lobster ceviche magnificent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Now this is how service should be done a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Now this is how service should be done and the food was amazing. Everything about this restaurant was super efficient yet relaxed and friendly. Their bread are these delicious little fluffy pillows and the food is cooked to perfection. If you only have time for one restaurant in Miami this really should be it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The menu is very imaginative and well pr ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The menu is very imaginative and well presented. Service was exceptionally good. Ability to order course at a time. Took recommendation from waiter and proved excellent. Our last meal in US after cruise on Silverseas and it certainly matched their very high standards. Regretfully too cold to sit outside.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service and experience were fa ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food, service and experience were fantastic. The ice and fire ceviche was incredible as well as the duck and steak. The wait staff were very friendly and helpful. We are outdoors, and the ivy and candlelight made a romantic ambience. Overall, great experience and I would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative dishes, excellent presentation, ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Creative dishes, excellent presentation, friendly and committed staff. Highly recommended culinary experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lobster ceviche - fantastic Entrees - f ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Lobster ceviche - fantastic

Entrees - fantastic

Drinks - cocktails good not great; disappointed they charged our children $3 for each Coke, including charging for refills (really?)

Dessert - mediocre

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

New Years Eve dinner and engagement dinn ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve dinner and engagement dinner. We enjoyed the setting and professionalism of the wait staff. Very attentive. Waiter made a great recommendation for a dry red wine. It was a 4 course meal for NYE for a good price and we liked the fact that we could pick multiple plates for each course and just wasn't limited to one choice. Nice location to SLS and The Delano. We watched fireworks in the beach after dinner. Only complaint would be not to use the valet across the street but to use a more professional one down the street.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, very very good service, ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food, very very good service, ask not to sit by the bar... too many people passing so it feels a bit nervous and too loud. For my taste as european guest-maybe little too fast with food and with check but it was new years eve so maybe therefore. But deffinitelly great place to eat!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Friendly, fun, delicious. Fabulous wine ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Friendly, fun, delicious. Fabulous wine recommendation from the staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vegan, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love everything about the place except p ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Love everything about the place except parking

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was absolutely one of the best meal ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was absolutely one of the best meals we have ever had. The service was very informative and great. The food was superbly prepared and presented. The only distraction is that it is in a hotel and the quieter outdoor seating is in a courtyard where there is traffic to hotel rooms and the restrooms. The other outdoor dining area is on the street and more boisterous.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous food. Ceviche fabulous and serv ...

 
 (Yorkshire)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Fabulous food. Ceviche fabulous and service brilliant. Best meal in Miami.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for foodies. Service was intellig ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great for foodies. Service was intelligent, friendly, everything you could want. Everything my wife and I had was luscious and fascinating. The hamachi ceviche and the OLA meatballs were a great start. The dinner rolls were a happy surprise. I loved the tuna entree while my wife was equally amazed by the lamb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really excellent food and service . Ever ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Really excellent food and service . Everything was delicious and it's consistently wonderful. It's an excellent spot in Miami Beach. Parking nearby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a really good Latin fusion resta ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

This is a really good Latin fusion restaurant. We really liked everything but somehow felt the presentation and preparation could have been more elegant and subtle, especially when stacked against similarly priced restaurants in this class.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The outdoor seating area was lovely and ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The outdoor seating area was lovely and topped off a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Christmas ever dinner. Great service but ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas ever dinner. Great service but pork was too salt. Lame was okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Best dining experience in Miami until no ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Best dining experience in Miami until now. The ceviches are fab. The wine-list, though, is rather uninspiring (example: the champagnes are from big brands, no small producers)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed Christmass Eve dinner at Ola. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We enjoyed Christmass Eve dinner at Ola. Cheviche and tacos were good. Duck was even better.

We thought it was too expensive though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants in Miami. Gr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Miami. Great gluten free options. I recommend the red snapper appetizer and the duck for dinner. Other great dishes at Ola are the pork and the salmon. The service is also first rate here. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first time at OLA, we were impressed ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Our first time at OLA, we were impressed by the wide variety of excellent offerings. Ambiance was upscale casual. Service was very friendly and helpful. To better sample the menu, we chose the "Duo" menu which was a great choice, allowing each of us to have small portions of two items at each course. Everything was very good, though the Cuban roast pork and the ceviches were standouts. We definitely would return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was exceptional, we will return ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The food was exceptional, we will return (when next in Miami).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server Jorge was very knowledgable o ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Our server Jorge was very knowledgable on the menu, the perfect balance of attentive but not pushy. Definitely recommend the lobster ceviche accompanied with the tomato sorbet. Amazing food, wonderful atmosphere, and a romantic experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitress was so friendly and helpful ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 12, 2016

The waitress was so friendly and helpful, and made our dining experience really fun. We tried everything and it was amazing. The cervice was wonderful, but the star of the show was the Cuban pork. Wow! It can get expensive, but the experience and food was great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food and service are excellent. The noi ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Food and service are excellent. The noise level -- even on a Sunday night -- was too loud for me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was amazing. From the service ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Everything was amazing. From the service to the flavors, can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An OUTSTANDING restaurant!! Service, foo ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 10, 2016

An OUTSTANDING restaurant!! Service, food and atmosphere are all five stars.

Even though very busy, our waiter took the time to explain and suggest dishes and let us enjoy and order as we go. The creative cuisine is a pleasure for the eyes and the senses without being pretentious. Must go!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. One of the best st ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Wonderful experience. One of the best steaks I have ever had. It just melts in your mouth Staff are amazing helpful and extremely attentive. Ceviche OMG. Desert was delisious The decor gives the restaurant a warm and enviting atmosphere while elegant at the same time Next time we are in town we will go back again for sure

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner; worth the price. We ha ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Wonderful dinner; worth the price. We had the fire and ice ceviche for appetizers; the Cuban pork and a chicken dish for dinner; and "da bomb" for dessert. All were outstanding. Great mojitos. Attentive service. A lovely evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was terrific, the food, the s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Everything was terrific, the food, the service and the outdoor seating area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ola was the great surprise on our recent ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Ola was the great surprise on our recent trip to Miami for the art fairs. We ate at a number of restaurants all with good reviews but the best food we had was definitely at Ola. The decor may not have been as chic of as expensive as other places but the waiters were knowledgeable and friendly. I will definitely be returning on any future trips to Miami.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time at Ola and it didn't disappo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Second time at Ola and it didn't disappoint. Had corvine ceviche with mango sobet excellent, although I still dream of the Hamachi preparation. The gluten free bread would be my "want on a desert island" choice - so incredible! Shared the octopus which is excellent. Veggie side all are yummy. My husband likes pork, so we had the slow roasted pig. It was good, but I am not a fan of braised meats - he loved it. The dessert with the guava and pistachio cake is a flavor explosion in your mouth- just get it! Loved the steak last time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A lot of seating is in the courtyard of ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

A lot of seating is in the courtyard of the attached hotel. It's a very unwelcoming, awkward space where you are right outside the doors and windows of guest rooms, with guests - of ALL types - coming and going right by your table. It's only one step above being seated in the alley behind a restaurant. If you want to eat your nice meal while someone with their pants around their knees stands next to you smoking for most of the evening, great. (this was our experience) Otherwise, eat elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

Art Basel weekend is always crazy but Ol ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Art Basel weekend is always crazy but Ola always delivers!! Yummy drinks and food await you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.