About OLA at Sanctuary

1745 James Ave
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

Welcome to OLA at the Sanctuary Hotel.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Latin American, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:30pm-10pm, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 695-9125

Website:
http://www.olamiami.com/

Catering:
Contact Layla Seda for Details

Executive Chef:
Carlos Castro

Private Party Contact:
Laylah Seda: 3059154323

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

OLA at Sanctuary Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Miami / Southeast Florida
Best Food
Miami - Dade County
Fit for Foodies
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami Beach / South Beach ›

Fit for Foodies (61)
Special Occasion (53)
Romantic (44)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Hot Spot (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Notable Wine List (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Late-night Find (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
585 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food is superb. I had the corvina ce ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food is superb. I had the corvina ceviche and the fish special. Both were excellent. Our waitress was knowledgeable about the menu explaining each of the dishes and offering helpful suggestions. She was very attentive and always present when needed but not hovering. We would highly recommend the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Make sure to sit in the main room. Great ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Make sure to sit in the main room. Great food especially the pork and even better people watching

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food and service!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and amazing cocktails! Wo ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fantastic food and amazing cocktails! Would highly recommend booking into this delight!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our second visit to Ola, and th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was our second visit to Ola, and the experience was just as outstanding as our first dinner there a year ago. Top marks for atmosphere, low key but spot-on-attentive service, and delicious, fresh and inventive food. I will save this restaurant as best-for-last any time I visit South Beach!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding rack of lamb -great drinks- ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Outstanding rack of lamb -great drinks- a gem of a restaurant in South Beach where the portions are small and the food mediocre at best-- not here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Always a good stay. Delicious food and a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Always a good stay. Delicious food and ambience, but service too fast. Dinner expired in 30 minutes. It's too much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Wonderful food and service -- I was "so ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Wonderful food and service -- I was "so so" on civics until Ola, but I absolutely love theirs. Same for brussel sprouts. I hated them until OLA. Their preparations are creative with somewhat of a Latin American flair, but still very appealing to my North American tastes. And the location while on a quiet street is handy to the MB convention center and South Beach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent. Jackson our s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The service was excellent. Jackson our server went above and beyond to make our dining experience extra special. The food was cooked to our perfection. The wine and drinks were very good. I would highly recommend OLA at Sanctuary for any and every occasion !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ola is amazing! I really can't speak eno ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Ola is amazing! I really can't speak enough about how much I love this place! My favorite thing on the menu and is a MUST is the Mixto Ceviche!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a wonderful meal at ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful meal at Ola. The ambiance was lovely. We were outside and it was quiet. Our waiter attended to us well, was very experienced and knew so much about each dish on the menu. I had a watermelon mojito that was so light and filled with small chunks of watermelon and fresh mint. Delicious! We ordered Mixto Ceviche that was spectacularly delicious along with beautifully done cornbread. My husband had Roast Cuban Pork that was fall off the bone luscious and I had the Pescado A Lo Macho which was so tender with a mouthwatering sauce as well as shellfish. I wish I wasn't so full so that I could try the desserts. This is the second time I've been to Ola and I will continue to recommend it as a spectacular gourmet Cuban restaurant with a very sophisticated Miami Beach ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely restaurant with great food choice ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Lovely restaurant with great food choices. Ceviche selection was yummy, dinner roll was a favorite (asked for another serving of that), and the dinner choices of fish (Pescado A Lo Macho) and pork (Puerco Asado - braised Pork) were super tasty. Small place, but very attentive staff! Higher priced but worth the experience. Would recommend and frequent again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Probably one of our best dining experien ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Probably one of our best dining experiences ever! Both the service and food were OUTSTANDING. While it might seem odd to rate the "value" as outstanding, it should be noted, while this restaurant is far from cheap, you truly understand what you are paying for and the portions are very generous.

My partner and I shared the Fire and Ice Ceviche based on our server's recommendation. Neither of us have had ceviche before and truly loved this dish. Second courses included the king crab salad, which was beautifully presented and delicious, and the short rib empanadas (terrific!). The rack of lamb entrée was perfectly cooked and immensely flavorful. The chocolate cigar dessert was another inventive and playfully presented dish and the deconstructed key lime pie was everything you'd want in this dish (although I did find myself wanting more "crust"). And the entire server staff was perfectly attentive!

This restaurant is a must for any foodie or even a causal diner. We cannot wait to visit the Miami Beach area again...a second visit to Ola will be on the top of our to do list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fairly small restaurant on a side street ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Fairly small restaurant on a side street just north of Lincoln Road in South Beach. Excellent wine list with a good variety of Chile, Argentina and Spanish wines along with the standard U.S. assortment. Sommelier suggested an excellent Rioja. I had the beef filet and my wife had the cuban pork. Both were excellent; but the pork was out of this world. It was the best roast pork I have ever eaten. We will go back to this restaurant just to have the pork.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Lived up to all the fabulous reviews. W ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Lived up to all the fabulous reviews. We had four out of four great dinners in South Beach- all different, but this was the best! Every bite was perfect!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An amazing find in the heart of SoBe. Re ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

An amazing find in the heart of SoBe. Recommend the ribs or Pollo Criollo. The menu has a variety of options, so any person will find something they like.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat and very good selection o ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always a treat and very good selection of gluten free option including the rolls they normally serve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I thought the food was OK. My fish was a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I thought the food was OK. My fish was a little bland. Husband and kids did like their dinner though. Food was cooked correctly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We go to South Beach several times a yea ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We go to South Beach several times a year and alway make it a point to go to Ola even if we only have time for a drink at the bar. The empanadas, duck salad and caipirinhas are our favorites.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing else to say than a great dinner ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Nothing else to say than a great dinner - particularly the Ceviche, but everything else we ordered was excellent - and in a relatively quiet part of Miami Beach. The staff could not have treated us better and we all left well fed and happy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Only negative was the temperature, which ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Only negative was the temperature, which was very hot inside due to no AC or lack of it...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing! Generous tasting menu as well! ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Amazing! Generous tasting menu as well! Ceviche was fresh and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the experience .. Excellent food . ...

vip
 (東京)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Loved the experience .. Excellent food .. Recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing Kobe Meatballs and Cuban Pork! ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing Kobe Meatballs and Cuban Pork! I want MORE!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ola is always a delight! Food is fantast ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Ola is always a delight! Food is fantastic! I travel from Palm Beach several times a month to enjoy the incredible dishes. The Hamachi Nikkei, corn empanada, pionono, their secret bread recipe and the braised pork are out of this world delicious. Always get the Watermelon Mojita.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Amazing food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was just amazing!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Everything was just amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Must do the Fire and Ice ceviche and the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Must do the Fire and Ice ceviche and the mushrooms!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Food and Experience

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Awesome meal! My wife and I did the chef's tasting menu. Literally provides you everything available on the tasting menu! 4 ceviches, 4 appetizers and 4 main courses. Liked everyone of them. Great wine offerings by the glass. Great service. Great atmosphere. Liked it 5 years ago, loved it 5 years later. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was outstanding here, and it ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Everything was outstanding here, and it always is. Definitely try the Cuban pork.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing! Best service. Best food. Great ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Amazing! Best service. Best food. Great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food, Great Sevice, Great Evening

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Wife and I went here to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary and could not have been a better experience. Our waiter was very knowledgable about menu and all his recommendations were fantastic. Food was fresh, flavorful and unique. We would recommend to anyone in Miami area. A unique restaurant that you would not find anywhere outside of Miami.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Average but, a good experience.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Average but, a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Very good restaurant. Highly recommend t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Very good restaurant. Highly recommend the lobster empanada and the Cuban pork loin. Service was great, and the ambience on the terrace is very romantic. I am a lucky guy: I travel a lot and eat very well. With that said, OLA was one of the best meals of my life. Truly world class restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Diner beware

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Food was excellent, especially the snapper ceviche and Maui special. Service was very attentive and the ambience wonderful. My only caution is to make sure you note that an 18% gratuity is included in your check, no matter the size of the party. We were only there as a couple. Not realizing this I ended up adding another 22% to the total that included the tip and tax This amounted to a $25 tip for a $57 bill. My stupidity or the establishment's deceit. You decide.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Go here, eat here, and be happy here. Th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Go here, eat here, and be happy here. The food and service is exceptional. I would eat here every night if I could. We were there to celebrate a birthday, and they helped make it even more special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sensational

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Met friends from NY and we are from Philly. We are foodies from two different cities and both raved about how good everything was.

We actually tried to go back the next night but the restaurant was closed.

Will definitely put this on our must dine list and recommend to anyone going to Miami.

Don't miss it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I loved the food, specially the lobster ceviche, which was the best ceviche I've ever tried, and the desert (we had a wonderful chocolate cake with gelato). I also liked the wine selection (we had a great German Riesling) and the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We often go to Ola, and enjoy it most fo ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We often go to Ola, and enjoy it most for the variety of foods with a Latin American styling, but still appearing to a continental palate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Continued excellence

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We ate at Ola last Friday. Ola is one of the most consistent restaurants in Miami Beach. The food, wince and service were excellent. It's warm and welcoming to returning and first time diners. My one small request if for some new menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.