About OLA at Sanctuary

1745 James Ave
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

Welcome to OLA at the Sanctuary Hotel.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Latin American, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:30pm-10pm, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 695-9125

Website:
http://www.olamiami.com/

Catering:
Contact Layla Seda for Details

Executive Chef:
Carlos Castro

Private Party Contact:
Laylah Seda: 3059154323

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wine

OLA at Sanctuary Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (97)
special occasion (66)
romantic (58)
See All
neighborhood gem (53)
great for outdoor dining (38)
good for groups (34)
hot spot (29)
notable wine list (22)
late-night find (9)
kid-friendly (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (2)
scenic view (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
565 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to South Beach several times a yea ...

Dined 5 days ago

We go to South Beach several times a year and alway make it a point to go to Ola even if we only have time for a drink at the bar. The empanadas, duck salad and caipirinhas are our favorites.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nothing else to say than a great dinner ...

Dined 6 days ago

Nothing else to say than a great dinner - particularly the Ceviche, but everything else we ordered was excellent - and in a relatively quiet part of Miami Beach. The staff could not have treated us better and we all left well fed and happy.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Only negative was the temperature, which ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Only negative was the temperature, which was very hot inside due to no AC or lack of it...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing! Generous tasting menu as well! ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Amazing! Generous tasting menu as well! Ceviche was fresh and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved the experience .. Excellent food . ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Loved the experience .. Excellent food .. Recommended

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Kobe Meatballs and Cuban Pork! ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing Kobe Meatballs and Cuban Pork! I want MORE!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ola is always a delight! Food is fantast ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Ola is always a delight! Food is fantastic! I travel from Palm Beach several times a month to enjoy the incredible dishes. The Hamachi Nikkei, corn empanada, pionono, their secret bread recipe and the braised pork are out of this world delicious. Always get the Watermelon Mojita.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Amazing food

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was just amazing!

Dined on June 12, 2016

Everything was just amazing!

food4
ambience4
service4

Must do the Fire and Ice ceviche and the ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Must do the Fire and Ice ceviche and the mushrooms!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food and Experience

Dined on June 9, 2016

Awesome meal! My wife and I did the chef's tasting menu. Literally provides you everything available on the tasting menu! 4 ceviches, 4 appetizers and 4 main courses. Liked everyone of them. Great wine offerings by the glass. Great service. Great atmosphere. Liked it 5 years ago, loved it 5 years later. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was outstanding here, and it ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Everything was outstanding here, and it always is. Definitely try the Cuban pork.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing! Best service. Best food. Great ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Amazing! Best service. Best food. Great atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, Great Sevice, Great Evening

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Wife and I went here to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary and could not have been a better experience. Our waiter was very knowledgable about menu and all his recommendations were fantastic. Food was fresh, flavorful and unique. We would recommend to anyone in Miami area. A unique restaurant that you would not find anywhere outside of Miami.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3

Average but, a good experience.

Dined on June 4, 2016

Average but, a good experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Very good restaurant. Highly recommend t ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Very good restaurant. Highly recommend the lobster empanada and the Cuban pork loin. Service was great, and the ambience on the terrace is very romantic. I am a lucky guy: I travel a lot and eat very well. With that said, OLA was one of the best meals of my life. Truly world class restaurant.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Diner beware

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

Food was excellent, especially the snapper ceviche and Maui special. Service was very attentive and the ambience wonderful. My only caution is to make sure you note that an 18% gratuity is included in your check, no matter the size of the party. We were only there as a couple. Not realizing this I ended up adding another 22% to the total that included the tip and tax This amounted to a $25 tip for a $57 bill. My stupidity or the establishment's deceit. You decide.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Go here, eat here, and be happy here. Th ...

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Go here, eat here, and be happy here. The food and service is exceptional. I would eat here every night if I could. We were there to celebrate a birthday, and they helped make it even more special.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sensational

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Met friends from NY and we are from Philly. We are foodies from two different cities and both raved about how good everything was. We actually tried to go back the next night but the restaurant was closed. Will definitely put this on our must dine list and recommend to anyone going to Miami. Don't miss it.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great restaurant

Dined on May 28, 2016

I loved the food, specially the lobster ceviche, which was the best ceviche I've ever tried, and the desert (we had a wonderful chocolate cake with gelato). I also liked the wine selection (we had a great German Riesling) and the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We often go to Ola, and enjoy it most fo ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

We often go to Ola, and enjoy it most for the variety of foods with a Latin American styling, but still appearing to a continental palate.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Continued excellence

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

We ate at Ola last Friday. Ola is one of the most consistent restaurants in Miami Beach. The food, wince and service were excellent. It's warm and welcoming to returning and first time diners. My one small request if for some new menu items.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best meals I have had

Dined on May 25, 2016

We chose this restaurant partially because of previous reviews, and we were not disappointed. As a starter we shared a Fire and Ice ceviche, which was amazing - jalapenos balanced by a delicious Asian pear granita - beautifully fresh fish and amazing flavours... some reviewers have commented that the ceviche was small, but we found it was plenty to share. As a main course my husband had the Cuban Roast Pork, which was also delicious but very spicy, I had the lamb which was expensive but a very large portion of lamb, served with a truffle souffle and beetroot and goat's cheese - I was not sure the flavours would work well together but they definitely did! We split the chocolate cigar for dessert - fun presentation but also very yummy, particularly the coffee ice cream... prices are high but the quality is very good. The only downside for us was a very loud table who were eating at the same time as us - not the restaurant's fault, and they did apologise for it, but a bit of a shame as we could hardly hear each other speak! We will definitely return next time we are in Miami.

Tags: fit for foodies, outdoor eating, special occasions
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was impeccable. There were l ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The service was impeccable. There were literally multiple servers helping to make sure we had a good experience, from refilling glasses, to folding napkins, to checking in to make sure everything was good - but not overly intrusive which was great. The FOOD was amazing! Absolutely beautifully prepared, each plate was a work of art. It was delicious, exceeded my expectations. We had the snapper ceviche, sugar cane tuna, lobster empanada, deconstructed key lime pie, and corn cake with avocado ice cream. Everything was delicious. I highly recommend and would go again!

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

waiter was an order taker only. good th ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

waiter was an order taker only. good thing we read reviews before coming

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Unique and Fabulous

Dined on May 20, 2016

We loved the unusual choices on the menu. Our meals were fabulous. Our server achieved that elusive balance between attentive and annoying. He was perfect. My only criticism is that I hate the two-top tables lined up along a wall bench. Sitting 14" from the diners at the next table means you are basically together with strangers. We heard every word of their conversations, and they heard ours.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wanted to take my husband somewhere sp ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

I wanted to take my husband somewhere special for his 50th birthday and I was not disappointed! From the warm welcome, to the extremely knowledgable staff and the most amazing food!!! An evening I won't forget in a hurry. Thanks to everyone at Ola for a fantastic dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the food here. One of the best res ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Loved the food here. One of the best restaurants in Miami. I would come back again.

food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding restaraunt, terrific food pr ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Outstanding restaraunt, terrific food preparation and menu, great drinks and ambience. Service very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice small restaurant. The food was ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Very nice small restaurant. The food was excellent and the atmosphere is very nice. It is quieter than the rest of the other places while being very close to the heart of south beach. I highly recommend it for a nice romantic dinner with good food and very kind service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food4
ambience4
service5

We came in for a late reservation so the ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We came in for a late reservation so the restaurant was pretty empty. We ordered the lobster empanada and hamachi appetizer. The lobster empanada had wonderful huge chunks of lobster but other than that it was just ok flavor wise. The hamachi was the star so delicious, fresh and full of flavor. Too bad it was teeny tiny! We inhaled it. For the main course we ordered the salmon which was marinated in brown sugar for 8 hours. It was so good. I would come back just for the salmon!

food5
ambience5
service5

Went here for the last day on our holida ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Went here for the last day on our holiday, was absolutely amazing. Great food, better service.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Booked from England

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is our favorite SoBe restaurant. We made bookings before we traveled to be certain of a table. The ceviches are fantastic and the balance of the dishes means we can usually find room for the oh -so-delicious deconstructed key lime pie. The service is attentive, knowledgeable but still friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As good as it's web site

Dined on May 8, 2016

The meal and experience matched nicely with the description on the restaurant's web site – very nice since this is how we selected it. The food was excellent, as was the service and ambience. Thumbs up!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All of the food and service was really o ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

All of the food and service was really outstanding. The staff were all very professional and attentive. All of the food was fresh, flavorful and truly amazing. I took off 1 star on ambiance since the table setup is a little crowded indoors.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food. Tonight, I had the best snap ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Great food. Tonight, I had the best snapper that I've ever had. The ceviche and empanadas were excellent, too.

food1
ambience2
service1

Awful. We are not going back any time so ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Awful. We are not going back any time soon. Sad. Ola used to be our go to after concerts at New World.

food3
ambience3
service4

Did not live up to the hype. Skip the de ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Did not live up to the hype. Skip the deconstructed Key Lime pie.

food5
ambience5
service5

Ceviche is very good, elegant and unusua ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Ceviche is very good, elegant and unusual pairing of flavors such as using foie gras. Really simple and nice outdoor setting.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant.Food is exquisite and t ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great restaurant.Food is exquisite and the presentation is superb, Service is attentive and professional. An elegant place to have a quiet conversation in a romantic setting

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.