Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

About OLA at Sanctuary

Welcome to OLA at the Sanctuary Hotel.

1745 James Ave
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Latin American, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:30pm-10pm, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 695-9125

Website:
http://www.olamiami.com/

Catering:
Contact Layla Seda for Details

Executive Chef:
Carlos Castro

Private Party Contact:
Laylah Seda: (305) 915-4323

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

OLA at Sanctuary Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (74)
Fit for Foodies (70)
Good for a Date (67)
See All
Special Occasion (64)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Great for Outdoor Dining (45)
Romantic (44)
Authentic (41)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Quiet Conversation (31)
Local Ingredients (28)
Tasting Menu (24)
Cozy (23)
Worth the Drive (23)
Modern Decor (23)
Notable Wine List (20)
Tapas (20)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Fun (18)
Healthy (18)
Spicy (16)
Business Meals (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Casual (9)
Family Style (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (4)
People Watching (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Historic (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
845 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

OUTSTANDING ON EVERY LEVEL - this is my 10th trip to OLA - and it never disappoints. Bravo!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

The food was amazing- we had lamb and filet Mignon . The server was good but felt a little rushed (he appeared to be taking care of every table). Noise level was over the top, especially for a nice dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined a day ago

Love this place. Always great food...the bread is amazing, and wait staff is terrific and attentive. Recommend for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Visiting Miami. Fabulous, great food and waiter.
The ceviche, kobe meatballs, and sugarcane tuna were all outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Favorite Miami restaurant! Not to be missed. Service and food outstanding. Try the snapper ceviches, marlin tacos and salmon!! Yummy

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We have enjoyed the food at this restaurant over the years. The ceviches are some of the best in Miami. It was refreshing to try the new snapper ceviche added to the menu, which was delicious. Would like to see a few more changes to the menu though. The desserts are the same for a long time now.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Loved the meatballs and customer service. The waiter sung happy birthday to me

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Fantastic ceviche, wonderful food in general and the wait staff was charming and efficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Food is amazing. The steak and the pulpo (octopus) are standouts.

This place is a must stop on any Miami Beach visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The food was outstanding. Attention to detail was great. The desserts were amazing. We went back two nights later just to have the dessert again (particularly "Da Bomb" chocolate dessert. Very good staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Food here is always delicious and high quality

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food and service were both fantastic. Off the tourist track in South Beach which is nice, but on the first floor of a shabby hotel. We sat outside which seemed much nicer than the interior.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Alejandro was a fantastic server with great suggestions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Fantastic food! Wonderful ambiance and exceptional service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Ola exceeded my expectations. My wife had eaten here before and raved about it. It is expensive, but for a special occasion this place is well worth it. Everything we ordered-from ceviche, to the small plates, to the Mojitas, was absolutely out of this world. This was not only the best meal we had in Miami, it was the best meal we have had in general in a very long time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Amazing food service and lobster empanadas was unreal! Chocolate blob dessert was sooooooo good!!!!!!! Overall very happy

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food and excellent service. All ceviche was delicious and very nice wine list well priced. On a side street this is a hidden gem. Well worth a dinner while in South Beach. The service was friendly and attentive. This was our second time to OLA we will make it 3 when we return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great food, excellent service, good ambiance. Would return many times

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Celebrating my birthday with my man in Miami!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The ambiance was of the restaurant was very comfortable and lively. Service was top notch. And the food was prepared and presented in a 5 star manner. One of the best restaurants in Miami.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We were staying in Miami (mid) Beach for a few days and happened to walk by Ola one day. We looked online later for information/reviews and decided to try it. The food was delicious; we were particularly interested in their great selection of made-to-order ceviches. Our server, Rachel, was lovely: enthusiastic about the food, happy to answer any questions, friendly. We will come back on our next trip to Miami!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our waiter was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Excellent food and very good value. Outdoor tables are very nice.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Amazing food. Great staff. Have been going for 10 years. Don't miss when in Miami!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We stumbled upon this amazing restaurant just steps from our hotel in Miami's vibrant Southbeach. We chose outdoor seating. It was very nice. We had a great breeze! The food was outstanding. I am a vegetarian and my husband eats low carb so we're polar opposites! Ola had great options for us both. You MUST try the chocolate cigar for dessert! It is visually lovely and so delicious! We would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Had an outstanding meal, one of our best! At Alex's (waiter) suggestion did the tasting dinner with choice of starter appetizer and main. Alex gave us great recommendations. Our busboy Eddy also went out of his way to assist. My wife and I were without the kids and wanted to have a relaxed meal. Alex ensured the meal came at our pace and everything fresh and hot straight from the kitchen. We ate outside on the patio, which is private from the street. The only suggestion would be to have some quiet music playing. Overall, excellent meal and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on April 5, 2017

The ceviche was unbelievable. The service was excellent. Very creative menu. Loved the cigar dessert as well.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Family Style, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Delicious ceviche. Don't miss Fire and Ice. Also enjoyed fish dishes and desserts.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Lovely, soft setting. Server was attentive and knowledgeable. Food was top notch. Inventive and delicious. The beef empanada was delicate and flaky. Sea bass done perfectly. We all really enjoyed this special meal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Outdoor dining relaxing. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on March 31, 2017

Amazing ceviche. One of our favorite restaurants in the country. A hidden gem in Miami. We come back everytime and are never disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We consider ourselves foodies. A definite must when vacationing in Miami. We went for my boyfriend's birthday. Everything was fantastic and the ambiance was intimate outside but we've been talking about how good the lobster CEVICHE was for 3 days now.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Excellent food, attentive and gracious staff, very nice ambience. Highly recommend the fire and ice ceviche.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We come here every year or so and it has stayed a top notch high end Latin American restaurant with a heavy emphasis on Peruvian-- thechef is great
We had the tasting menu
Will do it again

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Second time at Ola, surpassed the experience of the first visit. Expensive but worth the money.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The Himachi ceviche was delicious!

Tags: Healthy, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Ola is normally fantastic but we were sat at a table that was clearly brought in that evening due to space constraints, after being made to wait 30m after our reservation time. We were literally sat smack in the highest volume area of waitstaff traffic. Shame on us for not refusing he table but shame on them for putting it there in the first place. After speedy appetizers, there was a long gap for the mains. Hopefully this was just a bad night and not a change since our last visit. Food superb and very much up to usual standard!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Love this place sooo much. Ceviches are so fresh, small plates and entree selections are plentiful. Everything we ordered was so delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We went for my father's birthday. The service is excellent, despite the restaurant being packed full! The food is amazing. They do not rush you, so you can fully enjoy your meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 25, 2017

the best food I have tasted in years. staff and excellent service. impressive! Excellent place

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.