About OLA at Sanctuary

1745 James Ave
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

Welcome to OLA at the Sanctuary Hotel.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Latin American, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:30pm-10pm, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 695-9125

Website:
http://www.olamiami.com/

Catering:
Contact Layla Seda for Details

Executive Chef:
Carlos Castro

Private Party Contact:
Laylah Seda: 3059154323

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

OLA at Sanctuary Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Miami / Southeast Florida
Best Overall
Miami - Dade County
Best Food
Miami - Dade County
2 More
Best Service
Miami - Dade County
Fit for Foodies
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami Beach / South Beach ›

Fit for Foodies (43)
Special Occasion (41)
Romantic (38)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Notable Wine List (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Cozy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Business Meals (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
600 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

So amazing!!! Food and wine were out of ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined a day ago

So amazing!!! Food and wine were out of this world delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious but not exception ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 2 days ago

The food was delicious but not exceptional enough to justify the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Good place. Off in to more residential p ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

Good place. Off in to more residential part of Miami beach. Nice decor, good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our second time at Ola. Unfort ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

This was our second time at Ola. Unfortunately we only get to Miami once per year. The service and food were exceptional. The rock shrimp and hamachi ceviche wee extraordinary. So was everything else. Looking forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the food and service were amazing! the c ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

the food and service were amazing! the ceviche is out of this world. the best watermelon mojito too! highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pricey restaurant but the ceviches and s ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Pricey restaurant but the ceviches and seafood salads were stellar, so was my Mojito

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Absolutely amazing on every level

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Absolutely amazing on every level

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very delicious meal found off the beaten ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Very delicious meal found off the beaten path in SoBe. The beef enchiladas and pork Milanese were exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Omg! This place is so amazing. What a de ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Omg! This place is so amazing. What a delight to find a different menu for a change. Everything is absolutely delicious, the service is done by superb experienced & friendly waiters. No fault, a real pleasure.

The meatballs with foie gras & sherry sauce, the filet mignon with the crab sauce and chimichuri are pure heaven.

Not a traditional trendy Miami style venue, just a great great place to go, and to go back everytime we get a chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Took my wife for her birthday. We enjoy ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Took my wife for her birthday. We enjoy good food but this was more than just good food, it was a culinary experience. The corn empanadas and ola meatballs appetizers were exquisite. For dinner we ordered the Pollo Criollo and the Pionono... melt in your mouth delicious. We can't wait to go back. We recommend this restaurant to everyone who appreciates not just good food but a fine dining experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our evening at OLA at Sanctua ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We enjoyed our evening at OLA at Sanctuary. The mixto ceviche and the Yuca bread were delicious. The drinks were tasty and our main courses were fantastic. The dessert which included a corn cake and avocado ice cream worked so well together. We loved it and our waiter was attentive and friendly. I would go again when in the Miami/South Beach area. It was a nice, memorable touch to our anniversary weekend away.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant is ok. I asked for no cil ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The restaurant is ok.

I asked for no cilantro to my ceviche and they insist to put inside. But no problem.

The service was very good.

The bread was very good

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a great time at OLA. The hotel i ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had a great time at OLA. The hotel is very cozy and the service, food and drinks were fantastic. The staff at OLA was very friendly and very accommodating. They made us feel very comfortable and welcome. We enjoyed ourselves and the next time we are in Miami Beach we are having a wonderful dinner at OLA.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is delicious, but the ambience is a ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food is delicious, but the ambience is a little pretentious. The server rolled his eyes when I asked for a glass of wine at dinner saying, "Are you sure you don't want a cocktail first?" They try to up sell everything in a really obvious way, and when you are paying that much for a meal, you just shouldn't have to deal with that. I won't be back-there are too many other nice restaurants in South Beach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

The place is nice, the service is outsta ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The place is nice, the service is outstanding, but it's way overpriced for the quality. It's more of a tourist place, I suppose. The reviews are awesome, but probably from people who come to Miami in search of latin food and end up overpaying for fancy, very well presented, but of really bad quality food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

The food is superb. I had the corvina ce ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food is superb. I had the corvina ceviche and the fish special. Both were excellent. Our waitress was knowledgeable about the menu explaining each of the dishes and offering helpful suggestions. She was very attentive and always present when needed but not hovering. We would highly recommend the restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Make sure to sit in the main room. Great ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Make sure to sit in the main room. Great food especially the pork and even better people watching

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent food and service!

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and amazing cocktails! Wo ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fantastic food and amazing cocktails! Would highly recommend booking into this delight!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our second visit to Ola, and th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was our second visit to Ola, and the experience was just as outstanding as our first dinner there a year ago. Top marks for atmosphere, low key but spot-on-attentive service, and delicious, fresh and inventive food. I will save this restaurant as best-for-last any time I visit South Beach!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding rack of lamb -great drinks- ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Outstanding rack of lamb -great drinks- a gem of a restaurant in South Beach where the portions are small and the food mediocre at best-- not here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Always a good stay. Delicious food and a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Always a good stay. Delicious food and ambience, but service too fast. Dinner expired in 30 minutes. It's too much

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Wonderful food and service -- I was "so ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Wonderful food and service -- I was "so so" on civics until Ola, but I absolutely love theirs. Same for brussel sprouts. I hated them until OLA. Their preparations are creative with somewhat of a Latin American flair, but still very appealing to my North American tastes. And the location while on a quiet street is handy to the MB convention center and South Beach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent. Jackson our s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The service was excellent. Jackson our server went above and beyond to make our dining experience extra special. The food was cooked to our perfection. The wine and drinks were very good. I would highly recommend OLA at Sanctuary for any and every occasion !!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ola is amazing! I really can't speak eno ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Ola is amazing! I really can't speak enough about how much I love this place! My favorite thing on the menu and is a MUST is the Mixto Ceviche!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I had a wonderful meal at ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful meal at Ola. The ambiance was lovely. We were outside and it was quiet. Our waiter attended to us well, was very experienced and knew so much about each dish on the menu. I had a watermelon mojito that was so light and filled with small chunks of watermelon and fresh mint. Delicious! We ordered Mixto Ceviche that was spectacularly delicious along with beautifully done cornbread. My husband had Roast Cuban Pork that was fall off the bone luscious and I had the Pescado A Lo Macho which was so tender with a mouthwatering sauce as well as shellfish. I wish I wasn't so full so that I could try the desserts. This is the second time I've been to Ola and I will continue to recommend it as a spectacular gourmet Cuban restaurant with a very sophisticated Miami Beach ambiance.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely restaurant with great food choice ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Lovely restaurant with great food choices. Ceviche selection was yummy, dinner roll was a favorite (asked for another serving of that), and the dinner choices of fish (Pescado A Lo Macho) and pork (Puerco Asado - braised Pork) were super tasty. Small place, but very attentive staff! Higher priced but worth the experience. Would recommend and frequent again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Probably one of our best dining experien ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Probably one of our best dining experiences ever! Both the service and food were OUTSTANDING. While it might seem odd to rate the "value" as outstanding, it should be noted, while this restaurant is far from cheap, you truly understand what you are paying for and the portions are very generous.

My partner and I shared the Fire and Ice Ceviche based on our server's recommendation. Neither of us have had ceviche before and truly loved this dish. Second courses included the king crab salad, which was beautifully presented and delicious, and the short rib empanadas (terrific!). The rack of lamb entrée was perfectly cooked and immensely flavorful. The chocolate cigar dessert was another inventive and playfully presented dish and the deconstructed key lime pie was everything you'd want in this dish (although I did find myself wanting more "crust"). And the entire server staff was perfectly attentive!

This restaurant is a must for any foodie or even a causal diner. We cannot wait to visit the Miami Beach area again...a second visit to Ola will be on the top of our to do list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fairly small restaurant on a side street ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Fairly small restaurant on a side street just north of Lincoln Road in South Beach. Excellent wine list with a good variety of Chile, Argentina and Spanish wines along with the standard U.S. assortment. Sommelier suggested an excellent Rioja. I had the beef filet and my wife had the cuban pork. Both were excellent; but the pork was out of this world. It was the best roast pork I have ever eaten. We will go back to this restaurant just to have the pork.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Lived up to all the fabulous reviews. W ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Lived up to all the fabulous reviews. We had four out of four great dinners in South Beach- all different, but this was the best! Every bite was perfect!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An amazing find in the heart of SoBe. Re ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

An amazing find in the heart of SoBe. Recommend the ribs or Pollo Criollo. The menu has a variety of options, so any person will find something they like.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a treat and very good selection o ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always a treat and very good selection of gluten free option including the rolls they normally serve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I thought the food was OK. My fish was a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I thought the food was OK. My fish was a little bland. Husband and kids did like their dinner though. Food was cooked correctly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We go to South Beach several times a yea ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We go to South Beach several times a year and alway make it a point to go to Ola even if we only have time for a drink at the bar. The empanadas, duck salad and caipirinhas are our favorites.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nothing else to say than a great dinner ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Nothing else to say than a great dinner - particularly the Ceviche, but everything else we ordered was excellent - and in a relatively quiet part of Miami Beach. The staff could not have treated us better and we all left well fed and happy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Only negative was the temperature, which ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Only negative was the temperature, which was very hot inside due to no AC or lack of it...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing! Generous tasting menu as well! ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Amazing! Generous tasting menu as well! Ceviche was fresh and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the experience .. Excellent food . ...

vip
 (東京)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Loved the experience .. Excellent food .. Recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing Kobe Meatballs and Cuban Pork! ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing Kobe Meatballs and Cuban Pork! I want MORE!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ola is always a delight! Food is fantast ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Ola is always a delight! Food is fantastic! I travel from Palm Beach several times a month to enjoy the incredible dishes. The Hamachi Nikkei, corn empanada, pionono, their secret bread recipe and the braised pork are out of this world delicious. Always get the Watermelon Mojita.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.