Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.07mi

About OLA at Sanctuary

Welcome to OLA at the Sanctuary Hotel.

1745 James Ave
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Latin American, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:30pm-10pm, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 695-9125

Website:
http://www.olamiami.com/

Catering:
Contact Layla Seda for Details

Executive Chef:
Carlos Castro

Private Party Contact:
Laylah Seda: (305) 915-4323

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

OLA at Sanctuary Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (67)
Creative Cuisine (66)
Special Occasion (59)
See All
Good for a Date (58)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Authentic (39)
Romantic (37)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Local Ingredients (29)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Modern Decor (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Tasting Menu (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Cozy (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Tapas (16)
Business Meals (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Fun (15)
Healthy (15)
Spicy (15)
Hot Spot (12)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Comfort Food (7)
Casual (7)
People Watching (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Historic (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Family Style (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Private Room (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
800 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious and excellent meal It was recommended by friends

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding sophisticated Latin America food, with a lot of research, and a good Wine list. We spent a very good evening there.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food , the tasting menu was fantastic, the restaurant is in a quiet location off of the main streets,but close to the hotels on Collins street. Service was friendly and well paced. From the cervice he to the deconstructed key lime pie each dish was a taste sensation, we will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

we are local, so have eaten here before. The food is always
delish, but what made the evening more special was our server, Rachel. She had a great manner, was very helpful in giving suggestions and attentive thru the entire meal. She made it an extraordinary outing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Very nice terrace, service was excellent, and food was creative and well executed (not every dish was perfectly to my taste, but I really liked most of them). Would definitely recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food, awesome service the staff here are very friendly and accommodating. The fire & ice ceviche is first class

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on March 15, 2017

whenever we are in Miami Beach we eat at least one meal at OLA. It has never disappointed us, great atmosphere on the private porch, varied menu and attentive service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Amazing food, drinks, service -all top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Amazing restaurant. Everything from the bread on was fabulous! The ceviches were delicious. The lobster empanadas was unreal. The fish special was yummy, and the tuna entree melted in my mouth. Highly, highly recommend!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food was on point. My taste buds exploded, ceviche, empanadas and roast Cuban pork with a mojito was all we needed to share and leave happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 14, 2017

This place is awesome. I am supery foodie and eat too fancy for my own good, but OLA is dam right impressive. Best Mexican outside of anywhere as upscale in Cali. Chef is very creative and deserves overwhelming recognition.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Fantastic, the octopus was the best I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food and service were awesome! Would highly recommend the himachi ceviche and the deconstructed key lime pie.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

After having read stellar reviews for this restaurant, I took my boyfriend to OLA for his Birthday, but we were sadly disappointed by the quality of the food. The restaurant itself was very nice, ambiance great and service good. But the food was subpar at best. We discovered those many high reviews were from way back in 2007-2008, according to plaques on the wall. Somehow the mystique of this place had managed to linger on but it's clearly not due to the cuisine. My boyfriend had the fish special that was served over a bed of what was supposed to be roasted veggies, but ended up being a pile of inedible raw onions. My dish, the traditional Cuban Pork (which should have been perfection), was dry, so so in terms of taste and served over a bed of heavy, smashed tostones w/ little flavor. Overall, a disappointment. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We enjoyed a delicious meal of new flavors, textures, presentations and delight, our server was very helpful and attentive. Beautiful service, elegant dining room, exquisite food, drinks and wine

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Wow - Ola was recommended by a friend and he couldn't have been more right. Great service, nice space but the food is extraordinary. Snapper ceviche for starter and pollo criollo for main - both noteworthy and amazingly flavorful. You gotta try this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Excellent taste and presentation!! New twist on many South American dishes that did not disappoint, and will certainly return again.... Very good price for the quality and quantity with knowledgeable and attentive staff!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Top 5 dining experience of all time

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Great food and excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The food was awesome just as described and tasty. Service was impecable

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Excellent ceviche and empanadas and perhaps the best lamb I've ever had. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The food was innovative and delicious. Presentation was beautiful! Staff very friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Best dinner of my life.

Tags: Hot Spot, Healthy, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Outstanding, Deliciius,Phenomenal.....always visit when in Miami.....awesome Latin Fusion ..... the Colombian cheese bread is to die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Interesting, intovative, fresh & delicious food! Excellent service.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our server, Jackson, was fantastic. He gave great recommendations on the menu without being pushy. Everyone working there was top notch. The food was incredible---the best we had on our trip. We especially recommend the Fire and Ice ceviche and the grouper dish. It isn't cheap, but it is reasonable for what you are getting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Food was outstanding!! Expensive but delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 1, 2017

We went out for a bite to eat in the evening. The host greeted us warmly and we were offered a choice of tables which was a good touch. The waitress was very knowledgeable and helpful. We ordered a number of appetizers including ceviche as well as hot plates such as shrimps, octopus, empanadas and meatballs. Everything tasted great and there was no pressure to order main dishes. Watch how out for the tips as 18% is already added but there is an empty spot on the bill anyway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great dining experience! The lobster empanadas were delicious as was the pork dish, Brussels sprouts and pork dish. The chocolate cigar desert looked great but was just ok. The cocktails were solid.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I come here every time i visit miami from nj and it's my fave. Gotta get the marlin tacos, corn empanadas, ceviche, and ponino!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Fun, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food and very friendly service but they need to sort out the bathroom line issues

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Wonderful experience. Food was creative, tasty and well presented. Service was efficient and friendly, not pretentious. One of or top 20 meals on vacation. Will absolutely return on our next trip to south beach!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Sat out on the small terrace in front, which was nice. Everything that we ordered was really good, from the meatballs to the lobster empanadas to the pork to the Pionono.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very good food & service. We went here on vacation and so glad we did- it was a highlight of the trip. Definitely recommend

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 25, 2017

High quality restaurant in a converted hotel, in a side street just off Collins in Miami Beach - great area. Limited menu, very high prices, but some exceptional dishes , with a seafood and a Latin America accent. We ate ceviche, octopus salad, grouper and snapper all excellent choices. Service was very efficient (Enel the waitress, I think I got the name right?). Restaurant was full and very busy - so the noise level and the constant to-ing and fro-ing of wait staff and guests was a little off putting. Best to opt for a table at the back or outside away from the main foot traffic.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We enjoyed everything we ate at OLA, just thought it was maybe a little expensive. But great quality and variety, excellent service and friendly diners

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 24, 2017

This was our third visit there -- each time the food is delicious and the service is wonderful. Highly recommend!

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 21, 2017

original cuisune, good prep , good food ..good delivery,

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We love OLA and try to get there every time we are in Miami. They took some of our favorite items off of the menu, though, and we were disappointed on our last visit. We still recommend it though- delicious food, great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great place to learn and taste Cuban cuisine in its top level form.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.