About OLA at Sanctuary

1745 James Ave
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

Welcome to OLA at the Sanctuary Hotel.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Latin American, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:30pm-10pm, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 695-9125

Website:
http://www.olamiami.com/

Catering:
Contact Layla Seda for Details

Executive Chef:
Carlos Castro

Private Party Contact:
Laylah Seda: 3059154323

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wine

OLA at Sanctuary Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (134)
special occasion (86)
romantic (76)
See All
neighborhood gem (58)
great for outdoor dining (57)
hot spot (44)
good for groups (39)
notable wine list (30)
late-night find (11)
kid-friendly (5)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
537 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was impeccable. There were l ...

Dined 5 days ago

The service was impeccable. There were literally multiple servers helping to make sure we had a good experience, from refilling glasses, to folding napkins, to checking in to make sure everything was good - but not overly intrusive which was great. The FOOD was amazing! Absolutely beautifully prepared, each plate was a work of art. It was delicious, exceeded my expectations. We had the snapper ceviche, sugar cane tuna, lobster empanada, deconstructed key lime pie, and corn cake with avocado ice cream. Everything was delicious. I highly recommend and would go again!

food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding restaraunt, terrific food pr ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Outstanding restaraunt, terrific food preparation and menu, great drinks and ambience. Service very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice small restaurant. The food was ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Very nice small restaurant. The food was excellent and the atmosphere is very nice. It is quieter than the rest of the other places while being very close to the heart of south beach. I highly recommend it for a nice romantic dinner with good food and very kind service.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food4
ambience4
service5

We came in for a late reservation so the ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We came in for a late reservation so the restaurant was pretty empty. We ordered the lobster empanada and hamachi appetizer. The lobster empanada had wonderful huge chunks of lobster but other than that it was just ok flavor wise. The hamachi was the star so delicious, fresh and full of flavor. Too bad it was teeny tiny! We inhaled it. For the main course we ordered the salmon which was marinated in brown sugar for 8 hours. It was so good. I would come back just for the salmon!

food5
ambience5
service5

Went here for the last day on our holida ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Went here for the last day on our holiday, was absolutely amazing. Great food, better service.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Booked from England

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is our favorite SoBe restaurant. We made bookings before we traveled to be certain of a table. The ceviches are fantastic and the balance of the dishes means we can usually find room for the oh -so-delicious deconstructed key lime pie. The service is attentive, knowledgeable but still friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As good as it's web site

Dined on May 8, 2016

The meal and experience matched nicely with the description on the restaurant's web site – very nice since this is how we selected it. The food was excellent, as was the service and ambience. Thumbs up!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All of the food and service was really o ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

All of the food and service was really outstanding. The staff were all very professional and attentive. All of the food was fresh, flavorful and truly amazing. I took off 1 star on ambiance since the table setup is a little crowded indoors.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food. Tonight, I had the best snap ...

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Great food. Tonight, I had the best snapper that I've ever had. The ceviche and empanadas were excellent, too.

food1
ambience2
service1

Awful. We are not going back any time so ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Awful. We are not going back any time soon. Sad. Ola used to be our go to after concerts at New World.

food3
ambience3
service4

Did not live up to the hype. Skip the de ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Did not live up to the hype. Skip the deconstructed Key Lime pie.

food5
ambience5
service5

Ceviche is very good, elegant and unusua ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Ceviche is very good, elegant and unusual pairing of flavors such as using foie gras. Really simple and nice outdoor setting.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant.Food is exquisite and t ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great restaurant.Food is exquisite and the presentation is superb, Service is attentive and professional. An elegant place to have a quiet conversation in a romantic setting

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I do not know Latin food ver ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

My wife and I do not know Latin food very well, but we took a chance and tried this place I had overheard after seeing ratings were good. We were not disappointed the food, service, and ambiance we all excellent.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food, Service, Ambiance

Dined on April 26, 2016

I've been to OLA many times. It's my go-to first date restaurant. The service is always great and the food is interesting without going over the top.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the best of southbeach

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

back again...couldn't wait to get there and it was better than ever. best food, best wait staff, and best all around ambience. can't wait to get back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, dine outside, great service. ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Great food, dine outside, great service...not to be missed!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific

Dined on April 23, 2016

Best Latin bread ever. Terrific sharing plates like ceviche.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We come back here every Miami Trip to re ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

We come back here every Miami Trip to re savor the delectable Latin cuisine. Eating outside is a must! This time I had branzino with oxtail curry : amazing! We always start with a ceviche.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic find in south beach

Dined on April 15, 2016

The food and cocktails were delicious, and they had the best gluten free bread I've ever tasted. Seriously. This place is definitely worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Foodie

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

Amazing food. Best pork main course and great service. Highly recommended for people who enjoy amazing food !!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an amazing experience at Ola! It ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

We had an amazing experience at Ola! It was definitely one of our most favorite restaurants on our Miami beach vacation we will definitely be back!!! Food was amazing tried flavors I had never had before... Service outstanding.. Only wish we would have found it in the beginning of our trip. Oh well it was a great last night dinner. AMAZING

food5
ambience4
service5

Wow! Wow! The pork dish is their special ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Wow! Wow! The pork dish is their specialty and it was amazing! Run don't walk to this special restaurant!

food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Next to Filmore

Dined on April 8, 2016

While the food was great, service was at the top, the price is really too high.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Try the fufu!

Dined on April 8, 2016

As soon as I started looking at Ola's menu, my eyes were drawn to a dish I didn't recognize: fufu. I asked the waitress what that was, and in her sophisticated, husky voice she told me that it's mashed plantains with bacon. It sounded intriguing, so we ordered it, and we're so glad we did! It was like sweet mashed potatoes with bacon. YUM! We also loved our fish tacos and salmon. The service was as good as the food. I highly recommend that all travelers to Miami Beach eat at Ola!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value1

Pricey

Dined on April 8, 2016

The quantity of food in the dishes is small for the prices charged. Everything is very fresh but now having been there several time the charm is wearing off and the menu needs some more choices or changes. Service has become very rushed and for that kind of expense I don't expect to have to wolf down my food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite restaurant in Miami Beach

Dined on April 6, 2016

We visit Miami Beach two to three per year and Ola is a must during our visit. The lobster empinada is exceptional. The service has always been excellent, the ceviche is great and the chocolate cigar is great. I highly recommend Ola.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent waitress who gave wonderful fo ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Excellent waitress who gave wonderful food descriptions and recommendations! Ate outside in a shrubbery enclosed area which was lovely. The servers worked beautifully together. We shared a lobster serviche as a starter and then an order of meatballs for an appetizer. My companion had a fish dish with mussels, clams, and calamari with a delectable sauce, and I had the duck. Our dessert was a chocolate cigar combination of incredible tastes! All the food, especially all the sauces were outstanding! I would go back again to try other serviches and any other dishes in a minute!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Dinner

Dined on April 2, 2016

Was there with my family for my daughter in laws birthday, as they were visiting from NYC! Excellent food, really fine dinning. Portions were good and plating was very special. Flavors were quite pronounced. All around special dinning!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Probably one of the best meals I've ever ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Probably one of the best meals I've ever had. The ceviche was outstanding, and the whole red snapper perfectly prepared. A must in Miami

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous locale & amazing eats

Dined on March 29, 2016

The waitstaff is knowledgable and friendly-offering suggestions for first time visitors navigating the menu. The wine list and special drinks are plentiful. The most amazing cuisine. Start with pop rock shrimp. NY sirloin cooked to perfection. Pork dish was a unique blend of spices. Would highly recommend. Only downside was not so fabulous restrooms in "hotel" area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was tasty but I think I just do ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

The food was tasty but I think I just don't really like this kind of Latin American cuisine.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, drinks, and ambiance our wai ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

Great food, drinks, and ambiance our waiter was friendly and knowledgable. He went out of his way to make sure we got what we wanted. We order the Filit Mignon Churasco great flavor and melted in your mouth with the crabmeat sauce . The roast pork dish wasn't what we expected but ok , short rib empanadas were like heaven in your mouth. The lobster ceviche was to the next level of ceviches I ever had. My only disappointment was the prices , we ordered a kids size chicken with rice and beans dinner and they charged us $35 for the meal really come on . I would come back again when im back in Miami , one of the best dinning experiences I had overall in Miami !

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals I have had in awhi ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

One of the best meals I have had in awhile. Truly exception in all ways!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice evening

Dined on March 19, 2016

Girls weekend in Miami. We are in our mid-to-late 30s and definitely prefer a nice dinner and wine to the typical Miami scene. This place was perfect. The ambiance was very nice and other than some spring break crowds passing by to get to Collins, very quiet. The ceviche was amazing--very light and fresh, but also very complex in flavor. Wine list was decent, nothing special and our waiter applied standard descriptions for varietals, which misled us on a few glasses. Otherwise, a really nice evening and a special culinary experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Quiet and nice fine dining

Dined on March 19, 2016

A little romantic Place in a small hotel. Very Close to the party area of South Miami Beach, but suprisingly calm. We have duck and the dessert "cigar" and drank a very good Pinot noir from Santa Barbara (Sta Rita Valley). The food was delicious! A mix between Latino and French kitchen.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Ceviche for the win!

Dined on March 14, 2016

Great food! Ceviche for the win!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Must go!

Dined on March 14, 2016

The food, drinks and service are all exceptional. We always make a point of going whenever we are in Miami and it never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Ate outside - excellent experience. Cev ...

vip
Dined on March 14, 2016

Ate outside - excellent experience. Ceviche never disappoints!!! Enjoy!

food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious food. I ordered the Branzino a ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Delicious food. I ordered the Branzino and my husband got the steak. Both were amazing.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.