About OLA at Sanctuary

1745 James Ave
Miami Beach, FL 33139
View Larger Map

Welcome to OLA at the Sanctuary Hotel.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Latin American, Spanish

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 6:30pm-10pm, Friday - Saturday: 6:00pm-11:00pm

Cross Street:
17th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 695-9125

Website:
http://www.olamiami.com/

Catering:
Contact Layla Seda for Details

Executive Chef:
Carlos Castro

Private Party Contact:
Laylah Seda: 3059154323

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

OLA at Sanctuary Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Miami - Dade County
Best Food
Miami - Dade County
Best Restaurants in Miami Beach / South Beach ›

Fit for Foodies (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
See All
Romantic (17)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Tasting Menu (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Authentic (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Cozy (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Tapas (4)
Fun (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Casual (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Healthy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
656 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Second time at Ola and it didn't disappo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Second time at Ola and it didn't disappoint. Had corvine ceviche with mango sobet excellent, although I still dream of the Hamachi preparation. The gluten free bread would be my "want on a desert island" choice - so incredible! Shared the octopus which is excellent. Veggie side all are yummy. My husband likes pork, so we had the slow roasted pig. It was good, but I am not a fan of braised meats - he loved it. The dessert with the guava and pistachio cake is a flavor explosion in your mouth- just get it! Loved the steak last time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A lot of seating is in the courtyard of ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

A lot of seating is in the courtyard of the attached hotel. It's a very unwelcoming, awkward space where you are right outside the doors and windows of guest rooms, with guests - of ALL types - coming and going right by your table. It's only one step above being seated in the alley behind a restaurant. If you want to eat your nice meal while someone with their pants around their knees stands next to you smoking for most of the evening, great. (this was our experience) Otherwise, eat elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

We had dinner here on a weeknight, so th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

We had dinner here on a weeknight, so the restaurant was not as busy. This was great because everything we ordered arrived to the table within minutes, its was super fast! Our waiter was awesome, and we loved that they explained the dishes as they arrived. The food was amazing, the drinks were okay. Not the best cocktails we have ever had. The service was great though. The bill was very high, so expect a bill of $200-$300 for a dinner for two people.

Dessert was not as awesome as we hoped, but the main meal dishes were great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

One of the noisiest places i've ever eat ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

One of the noisiest places i've ever eaten but very nice place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I love the ceviche and mojitos at Ola an ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

I love the ceviche and mojitos at Ola and always find the service superb. I try to go there whenever I am in Miami. Absolutely worth a visit!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Have been co ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food and service. Have been coming every year for Art Basel and it's consistently good food / service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fire and ice ceviche was amazing!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Fire and ice ceviche was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great super waitress super great cervich ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great super waitress super great cerviche

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

OLA is a don't miss restaurant for those ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

OLA is a don't miss restaurant for those staying in South Beach. Everything about it is wonderful ... the food ... the wait staff ... the ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was amazing , staff ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The food and service was amazing , staff very attentive and polite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the tasting option with small amou ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Loved the tasting option with small amounts of various dishes to share between two. Ceviches some of the best I've ever tasted - don't miss the fire and ice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is our third visit to Ola; each tim ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

This is our third visit to Ola; each time the food has been superb, entirely worthy worthy of the praise that has been lavished on the chef. Every time we get the rock shrimp--some of the best shrimp we have ever had anywhere. Normally we choose from the marvelous selection of fish dishes, but this time we expanded to enjoy the magnificent slow cooked pork (the brown sauce was a special delight) and the Criollo chicken, which came with an even more lavish sauce. The deconstructed key lime pie was also very good and quite different. Great service, including good advice on the the wines. Very romantic setting. My highest recommendation.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ceviche was sublime, lobster empanadas w ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Ceviche was sublime, lobster empanadas were amazing. All of us were blown away with the flavors and execution.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great cocktails, Fire & Ice ceviche, lob ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great cocktails, Fire & Ice ceviche, lobster and short rib epenadas, and meat balls was our menu. Everything was beyond excellent in temperature, taste, texture, and creativity. 2 desserts; chocolate "Da Bomb" and the deconstructed key lime pie. Also phenomenal!!! We loved this place so much we're going back tomorrow. Enough said.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Amazing dining experience out on terrace ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Amazing dining experience out on terrace with the usual amazing ceviches, empanadas - each a gem in culinary adventure and tasting. Staff is engaged, informed, and very attentive. Return every time we are back in Miami!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

マイアミで魚貝類を食べるならここです。 セビーチェ、本日のお魚をいただきましたが ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 25, 2016

マイアミで魚貝類を食べるならここです。

セビーチェ、本日のお魚をいただきましたが、味も雰囲気もGreat! でしたね。

また、行きたいと思います。

Tags: 接待, 誕生日のお祝いにピッタリ, 特別なお食事
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not really foodie. Too expensive for the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Not really foodie. Too expensive for the overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Was a great spot for a nice dinner. Was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Was a great spot for a nice dinner. Was a little too expensive for what it was but still very good. Gluten free cheese bread was good. Tigers milk shot is a must. Ceviche was overrated. Empanadas were good. Did enjoy sitting outside.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We had read some reviews for OLA and the ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had read some reviews for OLA and they were pretty positive. However, it far exceeded our expectations on the food, service and atmosphere. The food was a combination of small plates and large and they were all excellent. The server was a total professional. She explained each dish in detail before we ordered and once again when the dishes were delivered. The room was also very nice and tastefully done.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a fantastic dinner at OLA. Been ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We had a fantastic dinner at OLA. Been there many times. I have never been disappointed. Service is great. Food is wonderful. Drinks are tasty. On my short list of restaurants to go to in SOBE

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding and the cuis ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The service was outstanding and the cuisine was Latin-inspired and delicious. I would recommend to anyone looking for a nice date spot

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ask for Jorge Garcia to take care of you ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Ask for Jorge Garcia to take care of you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Flavors galore and a wide array of choic ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Flavors galore and a wide array of choices. They offer a duo menu which reduces the selections somewhat. We chose to experiment and advise caution and our waiter suggested. You can easily overwhelm yourself with too much food. And if you happen to be familiar with Ron Zakapa 23 rum, they use it in one of their mojitos. Try it, you'll love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome food and service. The cerviche f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Awesome food and service. The cerviche from Japan was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the ceviche was amazing, and i want the ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 7, 2016

the ceviche was amazing, and i want the recipe for the rolls...so good

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely one of the best restaurants w ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Absolutely one of the best restaurants we've ever been to! The waiters are so attentive, but not to distraction. Jorge, our waiter, was outstanding! He was on top of our every bee without being in the way or obnoxious. The food was outstanding - and the sommelier was right on target!! We returned for our second visit after a fabulous experience last year - can't wait to come back again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We don't get to Miami very often, but wh ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We don't get to Miami very often, but when we do we always have dinner at Ola. It is consistently good. The bread and rock shrimp are amazing!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Complex dishes with perfect combinations ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Complex dishes with perfect combinations of flavors. Excellent service (thank you, Rachel) from wait staff very knowledgeable about the menu. Favorite meal in Miami Beach.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious, creative food and excellent s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Delicious, creative food and excellent service! The ceviche and shrimp appetizer were amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food. Excellent service in a q ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent food. Excellent service in a quiet and comfortable neighborhood-like setting. We ate outside on the porch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food with a great mix of flavo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent food with a great mix of flavours. You don't get food like this very often. Spend the extra money and have a great meal.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Hamachi Nikkei, salmon and Firw and Ice ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Hamachi Nikkei, salmon and Firw and Ice (covia) ceviche were outstanding. Did not like the Corvina ceviche as much. Pork was ok, and the filet was good, but the snapper served with green rice and calamari rings was the best entree. I couldn't stand their tuna served with sugar cane. Boring and bland dish which was the only fail of the evening. Service is outstanding and really a lovely ambience. Oh, the small bread (cheesy and sweet) was outstanding. Apparently made of tapioca.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Visiting South Beach for one day and loo ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Visiting South Beach for one day and looking for a well reviewed restaurant with latin flavors, we happened upon Ola. What luck for us! We sat outside on a lovely terrace. Attentive, friendly and knowledgable waitstaff. The highlight was the tuna and foie gras ceviche. Beautifully balanced, with big flavors. Loved the whole evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is awesome! All the ceviches rock! ...

 
 (México)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Food is awesome! All the ceviches rock! Staff is very friendly.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Have been going every year for 10 years ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Have been going every year for 10 years - amazing and consistent every time. Long time locals fave too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious as always! ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Delicious as always! .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Ceviche is unbelievable . Service was gr ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Ceviche is unbelievable . Service was great and the rest of the food was great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Had a Argentinian for a waiter. Great gu ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Had a Argentinian for a waiter. Great guy. Listen to him and split lots of choices. Great tasting experience. Only morsels left were the ends of the esplanade s. Just too much. Great deserts Best meal we had in Miami

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is amazing, Need to try pork milane ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food is amazing, Need to try pork milanesa!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We almost canceled our reservation becau ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We almost canceled our reservation because we didn't think the restaurant looked very happening when we walked past one afternoon. Thank goodness we didn't because this was our best meal in Miami. My husband and I shared the tasting menu which was absolutely wonderful-and dessert was equally delicious.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.