About OKKO Hilton Head

95 Matthews Dr.
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

OKKO Hilton Head specializes in contemporary Japanese and Thai cuisine. The atmosphere is sleek and upscale. We offer the best authentic Asian cuisine on Hilton Head. We offer a wide array of choices from sushi and sashimi to Thai curry and Pad Thai. Or watch our hibachi chef prepare your meal to order from a selection of fresh meats, seafood, and vegetables. We look forward to serving you soon!


Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Thai, Hibachi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 12:00am, Sunday: 11:30am - 11:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 341-3377

Website:
http://www.okkohhi.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rainbow Tartar - OKKO Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Beef with Burdock Roots - OKKO Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Sushi - OKKO Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Sashimi - OKKO Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Oysters - OKKO Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Yellowtail Jalepeno - OKKO Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Basil Crispy Sea Bass - OKKO Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Interior - OKKO Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
perfect naruto roll - OKKO Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
Hibachi - OKKO Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC
lobster tartar - OKKO Hilton Head, Hilton Head Island, SC

OKKO Hilton Head Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

Special Occasion (11)
Good for a Date (8)
Fun (8)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Casual (5)
Authentic (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Family Style (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Private Room (3)
Healthy (3)
Vegan (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Spicy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Cozy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
309 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Family group of 7, outstanding sushi, ex ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Family group of 7, outstanding sushi, excellent service, very pretty restaurant. Third time there, will continue to be first choice for sushi on Hilton Head

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVE this place, the decor, the bar, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We LOVE this place, the decor, the bar, and the food are all wonderful! A gem and it's one of our favorite places to eat!

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tempura was the best I've had. Bar n ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The tempura was the best I've had. Bar none. The ambiance was very nice. Bring a flashlight so u can see the menu because the lighting is dim. The sushi was good. Didn't care for the hibachi food so much. Sent the tea back twice and it came back cold every time. I would eat there again though. It's definitely worth checking out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was great. Took a bit after we wer ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was great. Took a bit after we were sat down for someone to take our drink order but once everything was ordered the meal went smoothly. I would recommend this restaurant and would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Wonderful sushi and hibachi. Worth the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wonderful sushi and hibachi. Worth the trip if you're in the Hilton Head area.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Lots of fun but the food was OK. We will ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Lots of fun but the food was OK. We will still continue to go there but we'll eat in the regular dining room.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The food is about as good as it gets for ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food is about as good as it gets for this genre. Peculiarly the Tables are way too small to hold more than two dishes( they are much larger than needed for what they hold), which was the only misstep.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As always very good.

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

As always very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place seems to have lost its luster ...

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This place seems to have lost its luster. I ordered a $22.00 nightly special with lobster. It was terrible. Lobster tasted freezer burned, and it was clearly not grilled as indicated on the menu but simply shoved into a toaster oven for a few seconds and then rather sloppily arranged on top of a shrimp tempura roll with no sauce or adornment. Apparently they don't really grill anything there. I really could at least torch to give it a little flavor. I did have some salmon nigiri that was fine, and the kani salad was ok but nothing special. The best sushi chef in the world cannot produce palatable offerings with substandard fish. The wait staff was extremely friendly and helpful and did offer to exchange the lobster roll for something else. Bear in mind this was post-hurricane Matthew, so perhaps I should not judge so harshly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Always a special treat. OKKO seems to gr ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Always a special treat. OKKO seems to grasp the rare ability to keep their product at a very high level of quality and consistency. This is not only the best Sushi/Hibachi restaurant we have experienced , but also one of our favorite overall dining experiences on Hilton Head Island.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I only visit Hilton Head twice a year fo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I only visit Hilton Head twice a year for a week or two and visit this restaurant at least twice a visit

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Groups, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OKKO has a great Asian menu including Su ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

OKKO has a great Asian menu including Sushi, Rolls, Thai, Hibachi, and traditional Asian dishes like General Tao chicken. Lots of choices and we had 5 people so had something for everyone. Good food and Maddie provided great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a great experience. Waiter was ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Overall a great experience. Waiter was good. Food excellent. Our first visit to OKKO and we will certainly return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is pricey if you're thinking it's j ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 16, 2016

This is pricey if you're thinking it's just a Chinese restaurant, but it's much more -- sushi is exceptional, there's a separate hibachi room, and the entire menu is outstanding. We've been a couple of times since we moved nearby, and were thrilled both times with the food, service and presentation. We'll go back, and often.

Tags: Fun, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

You have many dining choices at OKKO. W ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2016

You have many dining choices at OKKO. We chose to have Hibachi with Sushi appetizers. You could also have Thai and I think traditional Chinese. As a couple celebrating their anniversary, the hibachi table isn't romantic as you are seated with other guests but we enjoy meeting new people. I had sashimi appetizer and my wife had a couple of sushi rolls. Both were excellent quality of fish and presentation. The hibachi meal included miso soup and salad with ginger dressing and we very much enjoyed the showmanship of the hibachi chef and the food. We will be back

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun restaurant with an extensive Thai, s ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Fun restaurant with an extensive Thai, sushi and Japanese menu as well as a wide ranging wine and saki list. Decor was modern and sleek but still comfortable. We ate hibachi but in regular seating next to the sushi bar. It was fun to watch the sushi chefs create colorful custom orders. I tried several things outside of my food comfort zone and enjoyed them all.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Authentic, Modern Decor, Fun, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Honestly would love to come here again, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Honestly would love to come here again, Sake House, and Kobe don't even compete with Okko, the chef was super funny, very interactive, food was amazing, best hibachi place I've ever been and would definitely do it again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Fun, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OKKO is one of our favorite spots to go! ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 9, 2016

OKKO is one of our favorite spots to go! We take clients there, friends, and just a quick date night dinner. Never disappointed. Our server, Maddie, was attentive and smiling. She always does a great job!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Casual, Great for Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food every time. We have been dini ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great food every time. We have been dining at Okko for three years. It has never disappointed. Hats off to their management team who have figured out how to be consistently terrific.

Tags: Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome meal.....great service!! Very ac ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Awesome meal.....great service!! Very accommodating with our requests...thanks!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time back in a while ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was our first time back in a while and I am not sure why we left it this long. The decor is cool contemporary and the food choices very varied from Japanese to Chinese to Thai. Our Sushi and Sashimi were nicely presented and very fresh.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved it- Decor very updated; clean and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Loved it-

Decor very updated; clean and modern . Food was delicious and serving sizes large. Show was great (we had hibachi ) did not expect such a fab place in a run down strip mall!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good, excellent choices, reasonable ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very good, excellent choices, reasonable price. Only complaint is that it is very noisy even when not real crowded.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and presentation but is too l ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great food and presentation but is too loud to have conversation.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

This was by far the best hibachi experie ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 19, 2016

This was by far the best hibachi experience I have ever been on. The entire family and kids thoroughly enjoyed the cook and the atmosphere.

Tags: Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good cocktails. Bout all we were a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Very good cocktails. Bout all we were able to experience given we had wait 30 minutes for our teppanyaki grill table. This was after we had to push our reservation back 15 minutes which was not a problem. But if you tell us it will be available at 8:30 and it's 9:02 when you sit us that's a problem. From there we waited another 15 minutes without being greeted by our server. Waters were brought by server assistant 7 minutes after we sat. We had to ask for our server after when we were told we will not be able to start the meal for another 15 minutes after we waited at the table for 15 minutes. We promptly left and got a meal somewhere else. The problem is the lack of communication from the staff about wait times and even being greeted. Was looking forward to eating some great smelling and looking food but did not get to which is why I did not denote any points. Service was poor .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Great meal and place to celebrate specia ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great meal and place to celebrate special celebration with family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dine at OKKO often as we live nearby. ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 13, 2016

We dine at OKKO often as we live nearby. We have never been disappointed! The ambiance is perfect and meal selections are plentiful. Truly something for everyone. We typically dine at a table or the sushi bar if it is just a quick dinner for the two of us. We dine often with friends as well. Staff is always attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but forgot to bring out 2 of ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food but forgot to bring out 2 of our entrees so that ruined the experience. Manager should have made a little more effort than to just tell us that he deleted the 2 entrees from our tab?!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Food was excellent. Service was slow and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was slow and place was a little dirty for me

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

We have been to Okko numerous times and ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 3, 2016

We have been to Okko numerous times and it has always been consistently good. Some of our family love sushi, others do not, so it is the perfect place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food is always great. Sesame chicke ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food is always great. Sesame chicken and General Tso's Chicken are yummy. Hibachi dishes are good too. Large servings-enough for a second meal the next day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Hibachi side of the restaurant is al ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 1, 2016

The Hibachi side of the restaurant is alway fun, especially for newcomers and kids

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and service.

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Amazing food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Big portions of good quality food in the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Big portions of good quality food in the hibacj

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great. Chef was fun and very good

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great. Chef was fun and very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food and reasonable prices.... ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Very good food and reasonable prices....service was a little slow however. Pretty warm in the hibachi room....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Food was incredible, delicious fresh and ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was incredible, delicious fresh and reasonable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food at a good price but th ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Always great food at a good price but the noise level is very high due to the accoustics. Go for the food, just don't expect a quiet environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic service and food. ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 18, 2016

Absolutely fantastic service and food. We are hooked. See you again next year for our family vacation last supper on the island.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.