About OKKO Hilton Head

OKKO Hilton Head specializes in contemporary Japanese and Thai cuisine. The atmosphere is sleek and upscale. We offer the best authentic Asian cuisine on Hilton Head. We offer a wide array of choices from sushi and sashimi to Thai curry and Pad Thai. Or watch our hibachi chef prepare your meal to order from a selection of fresh meats, seafood, and vegetables. We look forward to serving you soon!


95 Matthews Dr.
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Thai, Hibachi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 12:00am, Sunday: 11:30am - 11:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 341-3377

Website:
http://www.okkohhi.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

OKKO Hilton Head Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for Groups (23)
See All
Special Occasion (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Bar Seating (14)
Fun (14)
Authentic (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Worth the Drive (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Romantic (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Spicy (6)
Family Style (5)
Business Meals (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
People Watching (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Private Room (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tapas (2)
Great Beer (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Cozy (2)
Vegan (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
419 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 15 hours ago

We had 10 of which 5 were kids in our party and everyone had fantastic time. The hibachi shrimp were perfect. THANK YOU for adding to our HHI vacation and we will see you next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 15 hours ago

A great place to eat. Very good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was amazing! Our server seemed a little frazzled and I think his section was over-sat. We were sat next to some obnoxious children but that it no ones fault but the parents :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

We came here to have dinner as my daughter told me how wonderful the food is. Okko did not disappoint! Our dinners were fabulous:)
We will most certainly be back for an encore!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined 6 days ago

Great find, great sushi! Extensive menu of creative rolls as well as habatchi dishes.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

Hibachi fun! The chef with the red hat is the best. Tons of wonderful food at a great price and it's so much fun to watch it be prepared to your request. A must try!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent food quality. One of the best restaurants in Hilton Head.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food was great... from the grill and the sushi ! I am gluten free and I prefer brown rice sushi so appreciated them accommodating me with gluten free soy sauce and the brown rice. It is definitely kid friendly with all the noise! Do not go there though if you're on the verge of a migraine or if loud noise is bothersome to you... otherwise it's a great spot!

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Beautiful restaurant. Very nice staff. Super fun experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We were really looking forward to trying this restaurant due to the positive reviews, unfortunately, it was a let down. The ambiance is nice, has a good vibe. The food presentation is good, however, the food itself mostly was bland. We ordered hibachi chicken which was rubbery and bland, our daughter's friend could not eat it. When I complained the server said he could get a manager if I wanted. However, we had waited so long for our food I did not pursue but I wish I had. My dad ordered chicken curry and my mom had chicken teriyaki bento box, said they were nothing special. I had the bomb and sapporo sushi rolls which were bland and the rice on the bomb roll kept falling off when picked up with chopsticks. My daughters veggie roll was good and so was the edamame. I gave the service 2 stars because our server should have taken care of my daughters friends dish immediately and the sushi came out about 7 mins before the rest of the food and we had no chopsticks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Had a 6:45 reservations was told it would be another 20 to 30 mins before we could get seated, got seated 50 mins later. Had very young inexperienced wait staff that throw our salads & soup down, no water glasses went to bar to get our own water after asking & waiting 10 mins for water. Our waitress was terrible asked for apps received wrong ones no refills on water or drinks. So disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great food but way too loud. 2 of us ended up with huge headaches.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 1, 2017

We did the hibachi table. Cook seemed to be wasted. Threw food at us-never did get eggs in our fried rice. Eggs were thrown at us! Not a good experience. Been at a regular table before and would choose that over hibachi. Cook never cleaned the griddle so we ate our food looking at a messy griddle!!!!, very disappointing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food is consistently good. Large menu.

The only complaint we had was that we reserved the small private room because it is quieter. This was re-confirmed by phone the day of the reservation. When we arrived at the restaurant, the room had been given to another group.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great food! Nice people, good service. It was very busy the evening we were there. A family was celebrating a birthday next to us so it was extremely loud but somewhat entertaining to watch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 29, 2017

We ate on the hibachi side. They also have full full bar with seating, sushi bar with seating and a formal restaurant seating.
Okko (hibachi side) is a great place for large parties. Atmosphere was fun and at times louder than typical but if you want flames and chefs singing then this is the side for you. Our family party of 9 had fun and all 5 kids were entertained.
Food was prepared as ordered with PLENTY to share.
One issue with an appetizer not coming out that was resolved promptly by the house manager beyond our satisfaction.
The menu is extensive with dozens of sushi rolls, hibachi combinations and specialty drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Excellent meal and the chef was a lot of fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Amazing food and service. Although seated next to the doors leading into the hibachi room making the regular dining dinner rather noisy, the overall experience made up for it and was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Second year in a row we've been there. Food and drinks are awesome and consistent. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 across the board is I was seated under the air conditioning vent and was freezing during the entire meal. I am never cold-- thank goodness my wife wasn't sitting on my side of the table. Otherwise great sushi, noodles, and seafood. Noise level is sufficient to take a child without disturbing others.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Excellent service; food as always was delicious; absolutely love the atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The sushi was a bright spot of this place. The service is slow and you will be there at least 2 hours for dinner. Our hibachi chef was pretty lame. He wasn't engaging or interesting. It seemed like he was going through the motions of a script but I was really disappointed. The chef next to us was super engaging and fun and we spent more time listening to him then our chef. The food was fine for hibachi, it was nothing special, but if you want hibachi it was a good place to go. It was overly hot in the hibachi room which made eating difficult.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 21, 2017

DELICIOUS sushi!!! Highly recommend . A++++++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Excellent quality food. The best Asian restaurant on the island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Have been here several times. Introduced friends for their first time visit and they raved about the food and ambiance. It only became a little loud when the door to the hibachi room was left opened. There is more variety of several types of Asian food here than any place we've found in this area. The pricing is very reasonable and you will never leave hungry. Will return again and again.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Had a reservation for 7:30. 30 minute wait and seated in hibachi room when the reservation was for standard table. Another 5 minute wait and then we were seated. After the initial delays, everything was excellent. Food and service were great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Always fun at OKKO. Steve the bartender is the best!!! Love the food and the wine!! One of our favorite places on the island.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports, Casual, Spicy, Healthy, Hot Spot, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Okko is one of our favorite places. The food is always good, service is great. Bartenders Steve and Amy were so much fun. We love to sit at the bar there. Had great drinks, spring rolls, edamame and sushi and all were terrific. Just a great experience.

Tags: Vegan, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Chinese owned serving Japanese/Thai dishes. Average Americanized Asian food. The décor is cool though.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Volcano role never fails to deliver - delicious .

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Standard Sushi/Thai/Habachi
I didn't find anything that would make me say wow. The drinks and the ambiance are pretty good though. Sushi seaweed wrap was too chewy and quality of fish is not that great either. Overall I would say it's an OK kind of place.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The sushi was amazing and we loved the Thai tea!! Great service and prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Food was excellent as it has been the two prior times we ate here. Fish is fresh and rolls and appetizers innovative. Our server, Fifi (sp?) was very sweet and helpful. My daughter wanted ramen noodles in miso type of broth but this item is not on the menu. So she got us plain steamed lo mein noodles and a miso soup and an empty bowl! We mixed both and my daughter happily ate the entire serving! We finished the dinner with their doughnut dessert which is always delicious. We will definitely keep coming back every year

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Truly enjoyed my skinny Ginger margarita and Basil chicken dish, both were excellent! My mom had the hibachi Steak which was also quite tasty. We were seated promptly on an early Friday evening and our waiter Chris was perfection -- polite and professional :-) Visited while in town for a medical conference, highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Unbelievably bad service. We were seated at our reservation time and ordered right away, but an hour later still had no food ... no salads, nothing! I had to go say something before we actually had people respond. In addition, I understand it is a fun restaraunt that will be noisy ... that is why our group selected it as we were celebrating a graduation ... but, the 2 tables next to us had the loudest, most obnoxious cooks ever, and they riled up the table to a screaming level. We were unable to even talk or hear each other without yelling. One group was brought in to sit at our table, heard the noise, and left immediately. We should have done the same. They cooked forever, much longer than normal which may be why we were not receiving service. Really an obnoxious, loud, unbearable experience. I would not return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The service and food here are outstanding. The staff seems to all assist one another and everyone thanked us for our business as we were leaving. It was very loud with nightclub-ish music playing. We had a table with very bright overhead lights and we requested a different table and they were very accommodating. Wine served by the glass seemed old, sweet tea was good but very sweet. Sushi was beautifully presented and fresh.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 24, 2017

We had the Hibachi table side meal and it was delicious. Only complaint was reservations were running very late.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Huge sushi rolls. Extensive sushi menu. We will definitely be back to try more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 22, 2017

The person who greeted us was very friendly but our server was indifferent. The food was good.
There was nothing really wrong with OKKO but there was nothing that made it special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We loved our dinner at Okko - the sushi was fresh and tasty - and the seafood dishes were all super yummy! The space is very modern and comfortable, and the ambiance is perfect for a romantic night or special occasion. They have a great selection of "cooked" sushi offerings that were perfect for the sushi newbie's in our group - and they loved them. Solid service - our waitress was a delight - and prompt seating for our reservation sent us back again with another group of friends! Happy this gem has made it to the Island!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Good as always. Food very good. Servers are friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.