About OKKO Hilton Head

95 Matthews Dr.
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

OKKO Hilton Head specializes in contemporary Japanese and Thai cuisine. The atmosphere is sleek and upscale. We offer the best authentic Asian cuisine on Hilton Head. We offer a wide array of choices from sushi and sashimi to Thai curry and Pad Thai. Or watch our hibachi chef prepare your meal to order from a selection of fresh meats, seafood, and vegetables. We look forward to serving you soon!


Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Thai, Hibachi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 12:00am, Sunday: 11:30am - 11:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 341-3377

Website:
http://www.okkohhi.com/

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Rainbow Tartar
Beef with Burdock Roots
Sushi
Sashimi
Oysters
Yellowtail Jalepeno
Basil Crispy Sea Bass
Interior
perfect naruto roll
Hibachi
lobster tartar

OKKO Hilton Head Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

Good for Groups (30)
Special Occasion (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Kid-friendly (10)
Romantic (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Notable Wine List (3)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Business Meals (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Casual (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
287 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very good, excellent choices, reasonable ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very good, excellent choices, reasonable price. Only complaint is that it is very noisy even when not real crowded.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and presentation but is too l ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and presentation but is too loud to have conversation.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

This was by far the best hibachi experie ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was by far the best hibachi experience I have ever been on. The entire family and kids thoroughly enjoyed the cook and the atmosphere.

Tags: Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good cocktails. Bout all we were a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Very good cocktails. Bout all we were able to experience given we had wait 30 minutes for our teppanyaki grill table. This was after we had to push our reservation back 15 minutes which was not a problem. But if you tell us it will be available at 8:30 and it's 9:02 when you sit us that's a problem. From there we waited another 15 minutes without being greeted by our server. Waters were brought by server assistant 7 minutes after we sat. We had to ask for our server after when we were told we will not be able to start the meal for another 15 minutes after we waited at the table for 15 minutes. We promptly left and got a meal somewhere else. The problem is the lack of communication from the staff about wait times and even being greeted. Was looking forward to eating some great smelling and looking food but did not get to which is why I did not denote any points. Service was poor .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Great meal and place to celebrate specia ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great meal and place to celebrate special celebration with family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dine at OKKO often as we live nearby. ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We dine at OKKO often as we live nearby. We have never been disappointed! The ambiance is perfect and meal selections are plentiful. Truly something for everyone. We typically dine at a table or the sushi bar if it is just a quick dinner for the two of us. We dine often with friends as well. Staff is always attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food but forgot to bring out 2 of ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food but forgot to bring out 2 of our entrees so that ruined the experience. Manager should have made a little more effort than to just tell us that he deleted the 2 entrees from our tab?!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Food was excellent. Service was slow and ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was slow and place was a little dirty for me

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

We have been to Okko numerous times and ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We have been to Okko numerous times and it has always been consistently good. Some of our family love sushi, others do not, so it is the perfect place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The food is always great. Sesame chicke ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The food is always great. Sesame chicken and General Tso's Chicken are yummy. Hibachi dishes are good too. Large servings-enough for a second meal the next day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Hibachi side of the restaurant is al ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The Hibachi side of the restaurant is alway fun, especially for newcomers and kids

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and service.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Amazing food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Big portions of good quality food in the ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Big portions of good quality food in the hibacj

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great. Chef was fun and very good

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great. Chef was fun and very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food and reasonable prices.... ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Very good food and reasonable prices....service was a little slow however. Pretty warm in the hibachi room....

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Food was incredible, delicious fresh and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Food was incredible, delicious fresh and reasonable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great food at a good price but th ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Always great food at a good price but the noise level is very high due to the accoustics. Go for the food, just don't expect a quiet environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic service and food. ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Absolutely fantastic service and food. We are hooked. See you again next year for our family vacation last supper on the island.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The jalapeño cup is fantastic,hard to de ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The jalapeño cup is fantastic,hard to describe but so very tasty. So many choices of specialty rolls it was hard to choose. Will go back when in HHI next time. A lot to choose from on the menu. Service was just a little slow but not enough to really complain about. We had reservations on open table that worked out just right.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Party of 9 for dinner. Asked a regular ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Party of 9 for dinner. Asked a regular table but they only had a hibachi table available. Our chef was very entertaining and the food was well prepared. Overall enjoyable

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was wonderful and the chef who ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food was wonderful and the chef who prepared it table side was just delightful. We had a great time and it was a nice way to end our vacation. I don't know how anyone could go home hungry as the portions were huge. A really fun place, but don't go if you don't like a lot of background noise. It gets very loud when several chefs are preparing food at the same time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I honestly cannot choose my favorite dis ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I honestly cannot choose my favorite dish. The presentation was beautiful and the sashimi was served on ice. We got four rolls: the pirate, cowboy, sunshine and angry bird. All were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a very welcoming waiter. The vibe ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We had a very welcoming waiter. The vibe of the place was great. The food was very good, hibachi special. The sauces tended to overwhelm the content, so he flavours of beef, lobster and shrimp took on a sameness. The salad was great, would definitely go again , but would request the chefs go easy on the spices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was amazing. I got confused and ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food was amazing. I got confused and ordered the wrong thing, but our waitress was SUPER accommodating and willing to take anything back and make it right if I needed. (I didn't) I tried something new and it was so good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very popular. Good food

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Very popular. Good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

There were 10 of us celebrating a grandd ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

There were 10 of us celebrating a granddaughter's birthday. The Hibachi chef Tommy puts on quite a performance, entertaining children of all ages. He's a pro. The food was excellent. The portions are very generous. We will definitely repeat at this place. Everyone in our group enjoyed the food and the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Okko was great. The Hibachi chefs were ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Okko was great. The Hibachi chefs were very entertaining and made sure that they had tricks suitable for kids. The food was seasoned very well and tasted great. The sushi was also very good. It was definitely a place that is good for locals and visitors to the island. Okko is definitely a must for Hibachi.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been there multiple times and br ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We have been there multiple times and brought new friends with us who thought it was terrific.. The sushi is so well presented and sizeable in portion.. we had to tell them that they did not need an entree with the sushi that was ordered.. I ordered my usual massaman curry and it was not as good.. used to be more sweet, this was just plain spicy without the sweet taste.. still all in all, an excellent meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service by the Hibachi chef, very ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great service by the Hibachi chef, very engaging and entertaining. We had a big group of 13 people and had a great time!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had four in our group, we were seated ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had four in our group, we were seated at a nice table, the ambiance is chill not loud, the decor very chic, the service was very good. Amazing food, the best sushi I've had in a long time!! Wine and drink menu very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Outstanding! Great Sushi and Service! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Outstanding! Great Sushi and Service! Modern interior....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I have been there many ti ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

My husband and I have been there many times and enjoyed the food but this dinner was disappointing. The seared tuna was tasteless. My husband's Cowboy Roll also bland if not for the jalapeños.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Very good food at the hibachi and fun ch ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Very good food at the hibachi and fun chef. My only "complaint" is that the hibachi tables are enclosed in a single room and the ventilation doesn't pull out the grease in the air.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This is the 2nd year in a row that our f ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This is the 2nd year in a row that our family has visited this restaurant and we will definitely keep coming back! We had a chef who was not only entertaining and personable, but also made an extraordinary meal! The service was amazing and we had the best time! This is definitely an establishment for families of all ages and should be on your list of places to visit when coming to Hilton Head. I promise you, you will not be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had lunch here for my birthday. Great sa ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Had lunch here for my birthday. Great sashimi and rolls

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We love the food it is always excellent ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We love the food it is always excellent and consistant.

The presentation of the sushi is very creative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good food.

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Always good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we started with taco Tara as the appetiz ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

we started with taco Tara as the appetizer. They are not really tacos but sort of wonton chips with spicy tuna on top. Very tasty with just the right amount of spice. We then ordered two rolls, my favorite is the Okko sea bass roll. It has lightly fried sea bass and they use soy paper instead of nori. I find that sometimes the nori is tough and all you can taste is the nori. It has become my favorite sushi/roll wrap. We like the decor and atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Okko has an extensive menu of quality fo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Okko has an extensive menu of quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Japanese Restaurant that I have ate ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Best Japanese Restaurant that I have ate at in a long time. Great food, service, and atmosphere. Our cook was outstanding. I would highly recommend this restaurant if in the HHI area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.