About OKKO Hilton Head

OKKO Hilton Head specializes in contemporary Japanese and Thai cuisine. The atmosphere is sleek and upscale. We offer the best authentic Asian cuisine on Hilton Head. We offer a wide array of choices from sushi and sashimi to Thai curry and Pad Thai. Or watch our hibachi chef prepare your meal to order from a selection of fresh meats, seafood, and vegetables. We look forward to serving you soon!


95 Matthews Dr.
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Thai, Hibachi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 12:00am, Sunday: 11:30am - 11:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 341-3377

Website:
http://www.okkohhi.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

OKKO Hilton Head Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Special Occasion (16)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Casual (15)
Fun (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Romantic (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Authentic (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Business Meals (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Spicy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Healthy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
People Watching (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort by
S
470 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Staff was very accommodating . They catered to our special needs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 10, 2017

We were here last March and this visit was a different experience. We love the decor. Very modern and dynamic yet serene. Hard to describe. We were in the dinner section NOT what apparently is the hibachi section which apparently is for children. Our waiter Derek was perfect. Our shrimp and our softshell crab were both spectacular. We had one roll and a sushi platter for entrees. Here is the rub. Last Narch this place was hoppin’. This time on a Friday night not so much. You can’t have good sushi without great fish which totally requires high volume. Not quite there.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Great Chinese. Best on Hilton Head Island and surrounding communities.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 3, 2017

our favorite place for weekly dining. The freshest sushi/ sashimi we have had anywhere , including NYC. Vivi, our server anticipates every need - the best server anywhere. Steve the bartender could not be nicer or more genuine as a human being. We feel like family there. Oh...the sushi chef, Brian, is beyond compare. And we hear that the hibachi is awesome too.

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 23, 2017

We made our reservations explaining this was for a birthday dinner. We also told both our server and our chef this was a birthday dinner for an 11-year-old. And we were surprised that nothing was done for his birthday that was special like dessert or donuts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Fabulous meals, wide variety on the menu, gracious staff, great seating. Definitely a top favorite restaurant, and we look forward to our next meal there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 18, 2017

Excellent sushi! Super fresh and innovative combinations. Thai food was excellent also! We had drunken noodles, mango shrimp and others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on October 16, 2017

Our hibachi chef was great. He entertained us the entire time and had our kids begging to go back the next day.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 14, 2017

A variety of great sushi, Thai and other choices with a wide price range. Beautifully presented.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Food was good at the Hibachi tables. room was too loud and the venting system was not keeping up with the steam, smoke, and cooking smells. My eyeglasses were covered in grease and soot from sitting at the table.

Next time we go back to eating Hibachi while sitting in the main restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Wonderful, as usual. Service was excellent and the sushi very fresh.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 11, 2017

A good time was had by all. There was enough variety to satisfy everyone. The server was patient with questions and gave clear advise when asked. When you need a different food night OKKO is a good place to go.

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food is always exceptional and fresh, but the service wasn't its usual first rate. The meal was very rushed with the server literally trying to bring us the check before we were mid way through our meal. When we asked for dessert as we had always enjoyed the Asian flavored ice creams we were told the restaurant was no longer serving dessert and showed us the door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Good food with a variety of price options. Beautifully presented, good service. Sushi, Thai, Asian, seafood options.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great sushi! Love the Volcano and Spicy Girl. Service was better than last time, however, it was not at all busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2017

this is just a good place to go. If you have a cocktail at the bar, say Hi to Steve, the best BarKeep on the island.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Our waitress was wonderful!!! She was helpful, attentive and did a great job!

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fun, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Good meal as always. Sushi and dinners are always good. Waite staff are attentive and friendly.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

food was really good and service was excellent
will recommend to friends and i will be back soon

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Our meal was just okay. The decor is modernistic and has pleasant clean lines. There wasn't anything special about the food. Maybe we should have concentrated on the sushi. Thought our server could have been trained a little better. Didn't know a lot about the various wines & never seemed to be around when we needed something. So many great restaurants on Hilton Head, we probably won't return next time we're in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We always enjoy our dinner at Okko and it is a must stop on
Every trip ti HHI. Food is excellent and varied Asian menu.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 18, 2017

This was a business meal hosted by a major financial firm from NYC. We picked OKKO and have some regrets that we did. The food was inconsistent. The rolls and sushi were superb - absolutely fresh & superbly presented. The hibachi dinners (which 3 of the 5 in our group order) was very mediocre. Rather than prepared at table & served in courses it came all together on a big plate in mish mash of stuff. The rice was bland, the shrimp over cooked, the vegetables soggy & the main item (1 tuna; 1 steak & shrimp; 1 scallops & shrimp) inconsistently cooked. All this compounded by an immature, over-bearing waiter who talked too much (Andrew).

Tags: Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food was really good. Rolls absolutely delicious. Service was excellent. I would highly reccomend trying this place out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great experience. Service and food was excellent. When family and friends come town we always suggest dinner at Okko. Early dining is a great value.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Darian, server extraordinare, took EXCELLENT care of us all throughout dinner. She anticipated our every need or want and was extremely pleasant and polite. The food was AWESOME! We will make a point of returning any time we may be in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 23, 2017

The BEST sushi on the Island!!! Great bar area, fun bartender, truly the best food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Okko offers one of the best sushi meals in the area. We loved everything we order & the portions were sizable. Especially liked the taco appetizer and the special rolls. Left there wanting more. Will definitely return before leaving Hilton Head!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 22, 2017

It took 45 minutes from seating to get the first taste of food. Unannounced sauces put on top of expensive fish almost made it inedible. The Hibachi is more about a show (if you feel like a trained pet) than quality dining. All servings are incredibly high in sodium and bad fats. Give your arteries a break and skip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Service was VERY slow. Took 40 minutes for 4 sushi entrees and the restaurant wasn't that busy. Several empty tables and staff walking around not doing anything. Floor was VERY slick (greasy?) and just gave an un-clean feel to the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We've been to this restaurant a couple times and sat in both the sushi cuisine side and in the hibachi table room. The sushi side has a great ambiance for a date night or small groups - overall noise is on the low side. The hibachi table side is super fun for groups and they put on a great show. It's very interactive and overall noise level is on the high side. Fun for kids too! Service has also always been great and food is fresh.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We had a 730p reservation but did not get seated until after 9pm.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Birthday dinner for 2...probably better to go with a big group if you sit at hibachi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Always on the money. Best on the island. You can't miss being at the bar with Big steve.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

My family loves this place. We make sure to visit whenever we are on Hilton Head Island.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Creative, yummy sushi! The best that we have had in Hilton Head. We are always thoroughly satisfied with our meals!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The hibachi chef was great, had all of us laughing non-stop. Food was so flavorful and plenty of it.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Fresh food, wide variety. Noisy and dark...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We had a party of 6. Every year we come here because we love the sushi and the atmosphere. This year the only thing that stopped us from fully enjoying our meal was our server, Andrew. He seemed like he was on drugs. He spilled a cocktail on my friend's phone, he threw the plates down in front of us, he threw the takeout container in front of my friend, etc. He was all over the place and a bit of a mess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

I have been many times, but this time unfortunately we had a new chef and the food was way way over cook and was not served together, completely disorganized. I understand y'all need to train but it should not be a customer's expense. If you were wondering no I did not mention to manager as he spent most of his time at our table explaining to chef. Manager was well aware of what happen

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 9, 2017

This had to be the worst experience at a restaurant ever. We made reservations a week in advance. Arrived approx 15 mins early and patiently waited for hibachi grill seating. As our wait extended we were offered water and did get a drink from the bar however the wait extended to 35 mins past our initial reservation. Which was unbelievable what is the point of making a reservation? The restaurant is literally falling apart the ceiling was dripping water from several sections of the roof the floors were a hazard to walk on with no observable signs of wet floor or caution. The food was mediocre, there were screaming children everywhere, and the whole experience was such a disappointment. It was for our wedding anniversary and we were honestly bummed out that we wasted our date at this horrible restaurant so please do not waste your time at this place. We wanted to be patient and give this place a chance but it certainly is not worth anyones time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.