About OKKO Hilton Head

95 Matthews Dr.
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

OKKO Hilton Head specializes in contemporary Japanese and Thai cuisine. The atmosphere is sleek and upscale. We offer the best authentic Asian cuisine on Hilton Head. We offer a wide array of choices from sushi and sashimi to Thai curry and Pad Thai. Or watch our hibachi chef prepare your meal to order from a selection of fresh meats, seafood, and vegetables. We look forward to serving you soon!


Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Thai, Hibachi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 12:00am, Sunday: 11:30am - 11:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 341-3377

Website:
http://www.okkohhi.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

lobster tartar
Beef with Burdock Roots
Interior
Yellowtail Jalepeno
Basil Crispy Sea Bass
Oysters
Rainbow Tartar
perfect naruto roll
Sushi
Hibachi
Sashimi

OKKO Hilton Head Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

good for groups (24)
fit for foodies (23)
neighborhood gem (12)
See All
special occasion (11)
great for lunch (7)
romantic (7)
hot spot (6)
kid-friendly (5)
notable wine list (3)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
251 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good food.

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Always good food.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

we started with taco Tara as the appetiz ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

we started with taco Tara as the appetizer. They are not really tacos but sort of wonton chips with spicy tuna on top. Very tasty with just the right amount of spice. We then ordered two rolls, my favorite is the Okko sea bass roll. It has lightly fried sea bass and they use soy paper instead of nori. I find that sometimes the nori is tough and all you can taste is the nori. It has become my favorite sushi/roll wrap. We like the decor and atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Okko has an extensive menu of quality fo ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Okko has an extensive menu of quality food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best Japanese Restaurant that I have ate ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Best Japanese Restaurant that I have ate at in a long time. Great food, service, and atmosphere. Our cook was outstanding. I would highly recommend this restaurant if in the HHI area.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome Food

Dined on June 3, 2016

We made a last minute reservation, arrived on time, and had to wait about 15 + minutes or so for our table. It seemed long with a reservation, but that may just be the nature of "hibachi table" dining. Initial service was a bit off track, with our soups going to the next table. Entrees, veggies, rice and shrimp were super delicious, and cooked perfectly. This was our first time to sit at one of the hibachi tables: If you are not there primarily for the "show", consider sitting in the main room and ordering hibachi. The rice, vegetables and entrees will all come out at once, rather than staggered as at the hibachi, and it will still be great! It was a bit noisy, as there are a lot of patrons at each table, and each chef is entertaining his own group. If you are going just for great food, sit in the main room. If you want to catch broccoli, shrimp and sake in your mouth, AND have great food, sit in the hibachi table room.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Okko is a multi-option dining place with ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Okko is a multi-option dining place with multi-option seating-Hibachi seating, sushi bar, regular bar, and regular dining. We ate at the regular dining(but you can order from the menu of each area). It is a very clean-newer looking place. Kyle was our server and did an excellent job. The menu is large and varied from various asian regions. My favorite dishes are the rolls and the bento boxes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Awesome atmosphere and great food!!!

Dined on May 30, 2016

Awesome atmosphere and great food!!!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent food and great atmosphere

Dined on May 29, 2016

If you're looking for a fun place to take a group of people this is the place! The food is excellent and the service was great. My husband and I were on a date and chose to go to OKKO after we waited for over 30 minutes at outback 😔. We enjoyed the modern surroundings and felt like we were in a nice restaurant you may find in LA. Food was plenty!!!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Corey is an awesome server!!

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Corey is an awesome server!!

food5
ambience5
service4

Early dinner for sushi. Urchin was avail ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Early dinner for sushi. Urchin was available and amazing!! Our other choices were perfectly prepared, fresh and tasty, without being overpowered with extraneous flavors or sauces. Drink choices I. E. Sakitinis were tasty with being overly intoxicating. Service was swift and sure.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Very Busy

Dined on May 19, 2016

The restaurant was very busy so we had to wait to even check in to be seated - we had a reservation and clearly those who did not were going to be waiting quite a while. The initial service was slow and we had to ask for the wine list. The dining room was very noisy. The food and the presentation of the food were incredible. I can certainly understand why so many people wanted to eat there and we were really impressed by the meal and wines. But the restaurant suffers from its own success - perhaps more servers, limiting the patrons or creating a quieter area could be done. I would rather order take out to enjoy the great food than go back to the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service3

We sat in regular seating (not habachi) ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We sat in regular seating (not habachi) and only had appetizers & sushi. The sushi was the best we've ever had and they were very accommodating of food allergies/sensitivities. We enjoyed it enough to go back twice in one week!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We are in Hilton Head about a week a mon ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We are in Hilton Head about a week a month and always try to include a dinner at Okko. One of our favorites is the Okko sea bass roll. It is made with soy paper instead of sea weed and is not as tough and lets the flavors of the ingredients shine instead of the much heavier nori. This time we tried the Taco Tara as an appetizer and will definitely order that again. We like the atmosphere and the food is always great.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Sushi was great! We also got Hibachi an ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Sushi was great! We also got Hibachi and was also so very delicious! Good choice

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous flavored foods and presentation

Dined on May 13, 2016

This menu is huge. We did finally manage to pick some items and man, were they fantastic. Our server, Corey, was great. Tthe food was drop dead gorgeous with the taste to match. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Asian Excellence

Dined on May 8, 2016

We have dined at Okko on 3 occasions and have been very impressed on each visit. If you enjoy really authentic Asian cuisine, particularly Thai, Japanese or Korean, this is the restaurant for you. The restaurant is meticulously maintained with a very courteous efficient staff, making dinning here a truly enjoyable experience. .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Sushi

Dined on April 30, 2016

Ate at Okko twice while on Hilton Head. The Taco Tara appetizer was wonderful as well as the gyoza and spicy girl roll. Very good service and ambience. Will visit next time!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

food was excellent but kitchen was understaffed

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We have generally had good experiences at OKKOs but this experience was not good. The kitchen was backed up, our server was not attentive and brought out 2 of 4 dinners, both were cool not hot. Had to get Manager to attend. When we finally got all meals (at different times), the food was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Great Asian food and reasonably priced. ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Great Asian food and reasonably priced. Ambiance so so

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food is very good and service is always good. Sushi and sashimi dishes are especially good. Great selections, great taste and awesome presentations. Have never had abad dining experience at OKKO in Hilton Head Island.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant will be back!!!!

Dined on April 15, 2016

Great restaurant will be back!!!!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food, nice atmosphere and good ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Excellent food, nice atmosphere and good quality food with nice presentation.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite sushi

Dined on April 5, 2016

We have been to sushi places all over the world and Okko makes it in our top 3! This place is excellent! Great selection of sushi, other menu items, and wine!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Something for everyone

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Interesting appetizers. Sushi is fresh and beautifully presented. Other Asian food available for those that are not into Sushi. Noonie our server was exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Yummy

Dined on March 28, 2016

Always exceptional service from Vivy . Great food. I had shrimp and it was perfect. My husband had the chicken and steak Hibachi also great. Do yourself a favor when you come to the island and visit OKKO.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Japanese treasure on Hilton Head Island

Dined on March 25, 2016

This restaurant has outstanding sushi (and other Japanese / Thai food), service and beautiful surrounding. We are experienced with sushi, having moved to Hilton Head from Hawaii - delighted to find this gem. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food every time.

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Good food every time.

food4
ambience4
service5

Hibachi chef was hilarious! It was dinne ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Hibachi chef was hilarious! It was dinner AND a show! Food was great, reservation was prompt, and our server was pleasant and efficient. Overall, a great time was had by all.

food5
ambience3
service3
value4

good dining experience overall

Dined on March 7, 2016

The food was the star here. Excellent sushi, fresh and very tasty. Restaurant a bit noisy, could use some materials here and there to absorb sound. Service was fair but adequate. Would return.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Service

Dined on February 26, 2016

We were seated for over 15 minutes before anyone came to our table to take a drink order. Had to request someone to take our order twice.,However, the meal was great.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Great meal. Would go back.

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Great meal. Would go back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

OKKO IS OK

Dined on February 20, 2016

This is a nice place with a good menu and good food.They need to work on improvement of waiters. Over all this is in top 10 restaurants on the island.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A new HHI favorite for us.

Dined on February 18, 2016

I can't believe we have been coming to HHI for years and never dined at Okko. We reserved a table, but upon arriving, chose to sit at the sushi bar. Kyle was our server and he informed us that he had eaten nearly everything on the menu and could point us in a direction. He did a wonderful job. We had four different apps/sushi and everything was beautifully presented, fresh and absolutely delicious. The sushi chefs were engaging as well. The background music was soothing and allowed us to have great dinner conversation. This is now one of our favorite HHI restaurants. Can't wait to go back the next time we hit the island.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sophisticated, beautiful restaurant-- great food.

Dined on February 17, 2016

OKKO is a gem in the middle of a small local shopping center: beautiful, elegant, sophisticated contemporary decor; outstanding menu and food presentation, orchids included. Extensive sushi choices and generous portions...our sushi lover was astounded. Very quiet on this Wednesday with a gracious, pleasant server. Wonderfully comfortable chairs along with benches with throw pillows. This new discovery is high on our HHI favorites list. Thank you, OKKO.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Evening

Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I dined in for a romantic evening and it was just that. Wonderful food, great staff, and the ambiance.... Delightful!!! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Avacado stack for an app is delicious. A ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Avacado stack for an app is delicious. All sushi is great and fresh!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience!

Dined on February 12, 2016

Great food, timely service. Nice atmosphere. Not loud. Kyle was excellent server!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best Thai food restaurant

vip
Dined on January 26, 2016

The food is incredible, it's so fresh and so good. I've been to many Thai restaurants in Chicago, DC, NYC, Boston and San Francisco and OKKO competes with the best. I cannot get over how good the food is and the overall experience.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent good and service!!

Dined on January 24, 2016

Excellent good and service!!

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Want entree food served at same time

Dined on January 5, 2016

First time to this restaurant. Previous hibachi restaurants the entree food is kept hot and served all at once, whereas here the chef did rice, vegetable, then meat/fish separately and served it separately. Soup was delicious, as was the mini salad.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.