About OKKO Hilton Head

95 Matthews Dr.
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

OKKO Hilton Head specializes in contemporary Japanese and Thai cuisine. The atmosphere is sleek and upscale. We offer the best authentic Asian cuisine on Hilton Head. We offer a wide array of choices from sushi and sashimi to Thai curry and Pad Thai. Or watch our hibachi chef prepare your meal to order from a selection of fresh meats, seafood, and vegetables. We look forward to serving you soon!


Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Thai, Hibachi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 12:00am, Sunday: 11:30am - 11:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 341-3377

Website:
http://www.okkohhi.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

OKKO Hilton Head Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
See All
Bar Seating (8)
Fun (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Healthy (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Casual (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Family Style (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Romantic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Spicy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Private Room (1)
Business Meals (1)
Cozy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Seasonal (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
341 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Can't believe we just found OKKO, loved ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Can't believe we just found OKKO, loved it and will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentines Day

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentines Day

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Decor is very modern, liked it. Treasur ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Decor is very modern, liked it. Treasure island appetizer was delicious (salmon, tuna and white fish tartare, served on avocado). Bento box teriyaki did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great atmosphere and service! The red cu ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great atmosphere and service! The red curry was good, but the sauce was rather watery and not as flavorful as I prefer. Overall, a great dining experience. Very "uptown" atmosphere with superb service.

Tags: Organic, Spicy, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Went back to our favorite sushi restaura ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went back to our favorite sushi restaurant in Hilton head. We had the shumai and the pepper tuna for appetizers. Both were great. The tuna was super tender. We had the Okko sea bass roll my favorite and the Watchman roll my second favorite. Washed it down with a cucumber martini. Yum.

Tags: Tapas, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Totally delicious! Presentation and tast ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Totally delicious! Presentation and taste points were well profiled. We will return. This is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

beautifully done, well decorated, good f ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

beautifully done, well decorated, good food choices

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous! Great vegetarian options! We h ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Fabulous! Great vegetarian options! We highly recommend Okko. Owner and staff extremely nice.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous meal! Pleasant staff! Great men ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fabulous meal! Pleasant staff! Great menu!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great. Service was marginal. A ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was great. Service was marginal. A little surprising as it wasnt that busy. The wait staff in general seemed a bit confused.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Always a good time at okko with consiste ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Always a good time at okko with consistently good food whether it be sushi or hibachi. It's a hit with everyone young and old.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One word describes my experience par exc ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 1, 2017

One word describes my experience par excellent, exceeded my expectation. My friends share my opinion. Thanks Okko.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The first people who sent us here said ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The first people who sent us here said it was a Chinese restaurant. It is so much more. Great, great sushi. Separate hibachi room if you're going as a group, but you can also get it served at the table. It can get quite loud so you may want to ask for a table against the wall. This is one of our favorite go to places when we are on Hilton Head Island. Enjoy!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our meals were excellent. The food is al ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our meals were excellent. The food is always consistent. We love it

Tags: Bar Seating, , Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience every time we go to ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent experience every time we go to OKKO. The food is consistently good and the service is wonderful. Our server, Amy is a gem. She did not rush us and made sure we were happy with each course. The food choices are amazing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best Sushi on the Island!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Best Sushi on the Island!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent. Very accomodating to change ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent. Very accomodating to change how to cook dish different from menu. Very fresh and outstanding tastes. A winner👍

Tags: Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a large group on New Years Eve. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a large group on New Years Eve. Our chef was fun and entertaining. The food was excellent and they will accommodate a gluten free diet!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Family Style, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hibachi great as always Very busy Chef w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Hibachi great as always

Very busy

Chef was very entertaining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Simple formula - great food, better serv ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Simple formula - great food, better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Beautifully designed and appointed resta ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Beautifully designed and appointed restaurant. Great cocktails! Both the Thai food and the Sushi were delicious and attractively presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We loved the food here. Great sushi roll ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We loved the food here. Great sushi rolls (e.g., Black dragon and Spiderman) and the spicy basil chicken as excellent. However, service was very slow (this was at 8pm on a Wednesday, not a weekend). Fortunately we were not in a hurry. It was 15 minutes to get our soup after waiting 10 minutes to order, and then over 30 minutes until our next food arrived, another 10 for the rest of our food. We will go back because we loved the food but anticipate a "leisurely" paced dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Great food; poor service but it was Chr ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great food; poor service but it was Christmas and very busy. We waited forever for an appetizer. Others around us came in after us and were served. But we would return. Lovely place with huge menu.

Tags: Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Second visit and still as good as the fi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Second visit and still as good as the first time. Excellent sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We have been to a lot of hibachi style r ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We have been to a lot of hibachi style restaurants and this is the best !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

How the mighty have fallen. Just a few s ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 8, 2016

How the mighty have fallen. Just a few short weeks ago we visited Okko for the first time and were blown away by the quality of the food. Well maybe it was that we showed up too early in the evening at 5:45 instead of around 7:00 for the kitchen to have its full chops but I have to say the meal was pedestrian. We may give them one more chance but there will be no rush.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Family group of 7, outstanding sushi, ex ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Family group of 7, outstanding sushi, excellent service, very pretty restaurant. Third time there, will continue to be first choice for sushi on Hilton Head

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We LOVE this place, the decor, the bar, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We LOVE this place, the decor, the bar, and the food are all wonderful! A gem and it's one of our favorite places to eat!

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The tempura was the best I've had. Bar n ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The tempura was the best I've had. Bar none. The ambiance was very nice. Bring a flashlight so u can see the menu because the lighting is dim. The sushi was good. Didn't care for the hibachi food so much. Sent the tea back twice and it came back cold every time. I would eat there again though. It's definitely worth checking out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was great. Took a bit after we wer ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was great. Took a bit after we were sat down for someone to take our drink order but once everything was ordered the meal went smoothly. I would recommend this restaurant and would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Wonderful sushi and hibachi. Worth the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wonderful sushi and hibachi. Worth the trip if you're in the Hilton Head area.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Lots of fun but the food was OK. We will ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Lots of fun but the food was OK. We will still continue to go there but we'll eat in the regular dining room.

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

The food is about as good as it gets for ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The food is about as good as it gets for this genre. Peculiarly the Tables are way too small to hold more than two dishes( they are much larger than needed for what they hold), which was the only misstep.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As always very good.

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

As always very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place seems to have lost its luster ...

vip
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This place seems to have lost its luster. I ordered a $22.00 nightly special with lobster. It was terrible. Lobster tasted freezer burned, and it was clearly not grilled as indicated on the menu but simply shoved into a toaster oven for a few seconds and then rather sloppily arranged on top of a shrimp tempura roll with no sauce or adornment. Apparently they don't really grill anything there. I really could at least torch to give it a little flavor. I did have some salmon nigiri that was fine, and the kani salad was ok but nothing special. The best sushi chef in the world cannot produce palatable offerings with substandard fish. The wait staff was extremely friendly and helpful and did offer to exchange the lobster roll for something else. Bear in mind this was post-hurricane Matthew, so perhaps I should not judge so harshly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Always a special treat. OKKO seems to gr ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Always a special treat. OKKO seems to grasp the rare ability to keep their product at a very high level of quality and consistency. This is not only the best Sushi/Hibachi restaurant we have experienced , but also one of our favorite overall dining experiences on Hilton Head Island.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I only visit Hilton Head twice a year fo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I only visit Hilton Head twice a year for a week or two and visit this restaurant at least twice a visit

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Groups, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OKKO has a great Asian menu including Su ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

OKKO has a great Asian menu including Sushi, Rolls, Thai, Hibachi, and traditional Asian dishes like General Tao chicken. Lots of choices and we had 5 people so had something for everyone. Good food and Maddie provided great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a great experience. Waiter was ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Overall a great experience. Waiter was good. Food excellent. Our first visit to OKKO and we will certainly return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is pricey if you're thinking it's j ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on September 16, 2016

This is pricey if you're thinking it's just a Chinese restaurant, but it's much more -- sushi is exceptional, there's a separate hibachi room, and the entire menu is outstanding. We've been a couple of times since we moved nearby, and were thrilled both times with the food, service and presentation. We'll go back, and often.

Tags: Fun, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.