About OKKO Hilton Head

OKKO Hilton Head specializes in contemporary Japanese and Thai cuisine. The atmosphere is sleek and upscale. We offer the best authentic Asian cuisine on Hilton Head. We offer a wide array of choices from sushi and sashimi to Thai curry and Pad Thai. Or watch our hibachi chef prepare your meal to order from a selection of fresh meats, seafood, and vegetables. We look forward to serving you soon!


95 Matthews Dr.
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Thai, Hibachi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 12:00am, Sunday: 11:30am - 11:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 341-3377

Website:
http://www.okkohhi.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

OKKO Hilton Head Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (26)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Casual (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Modern Decor (15)
Healthy (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Fun (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Authentic (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Private Room (6)
Family Style (6)
Business Meals (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Romantic (5)
Spicy (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tapas (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Cozy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
387 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Standard Sushi/Thai/Habachi
I didn't find anything that would make me say wow. The drinks and the ambiance are pretty good though. Sushi seaweed wrap was too chewy and quality of fish is not that great either. Overall I would say it's an OK kind of place.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was excellent as it has been the two prior times we ate here. Fish is fresh and rolls and appetizers innovative. Our server, Fifi (sp?) was very sweet and helpful. My daughter wanted ramen noodles in miso type of broth but this item is not on the menu. So she got us plain steamed lo mein noodles and a miso soup and an empty bowl! We mixed both and my daughter happily ate the entire serving! We finished the dinner with their doughnut dessert which is always delicious. We will definitely keep coming back every year

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Truly enjoyed my skinny Ginger margarita and Basil chicken dish, both were excellent! My mom had the hibachi Steak which was also quite tasty. We were seated promptly on an early Friday evening and our waiter Chris was perfection -- polite and professional :-) Visited while in town for a medical conference, highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Unbelievably bad service. We were seated at our reservation time and ordered right away, but an hour later still had no food ... no salads, nothing! I had to go say something before we actually had people respond. In addition, I understand it is a fun restaraunt that will be noisy ... that is why our group selected it as we were celebrating a graduation ... but, the 2 tables next to us had the loudest, most obnoxious cooks ever, and they riled up the table to a screaming level. We were unable to even talk or hear each other without yelling. One group was brought in to sit at our table, heard the noise, and left immediately. We should have done the same. They cooked forever, much longer than normal which may be why we were not receiving service. Really an obnoxious, loud, unbearable experience. I would not return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

The service and food here are outstanding. The staff seems to all assist one another and everyone thanked us for our business as we were leaving. It was very loud with nightclub-ish music playing. We had a table with very bright overhead lights and we requested a different table and they were very accommodating. Wine served by the glass seemed old, sweet tea was good but very sweet. Sushi was beautifully presented and fresh.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

We had the Hibachi table side meal and it was delicious. Only complaint was reservations were running very late.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Huge sushi rolls. Extensive sushi menu. We will definitely be back to try more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

The person who greeted us was very friendly but our server was indifferent. The food was good.
There was nothing really wrong with OKKO but there was nothing that made it special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our Chef was great!!!

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Early Mother's Day dinner for my mom and I.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

OKKO is consistently one of the best restaurants on the island. It is our go to restaurant for new visitors and we go at least one time per month often twice. Food is perfectly prepared, fresh and presented.

Tags: Vegan, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

As always, OKKO was wonderful. Excellent service and tasty treats.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Very pleased with the service and the quality of our sushi. Great atmosphere too. Sushi was very fresh and reasonably priced.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great experience. We will definitely be back. Great sushi

Tags: Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Vastly exceeded expectations
Ranks with the best Japanese restaurants anywhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 22, 2017

After a mixup about seating, we were put in a private dining room and that was fine. It was prom night so the private area actually worked out. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for sushi, hibachi or thai cuisine. Delicious all around

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Great! Will return definitely for sashimi, rolls were good, tempura was excellent, calamari I would skip. Service was great and attentive. Only down side was the darkness in the restaurant (hard to read menu) and especially in the bathroom (hard to even see stall doors) - next time I would sit at the sushi bar as it is much brighter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was great- portions are huge- we WAY OVER ORDERED. server recovered from ignoring us for nearly 15 mins after being seated. Hostess oversight- but thankfully we had drinks from the bar. It would have been nice for the server to tell us the rolls were huge 10-12 large pieces each. Ordered appetizer & 6 rolls for 3 people. Took home nearly 4 full rolls. Thankfully food was really good & we had a mini-fridge in the hotel or that would have an expensive waste of good food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Started with a cucumber martini. They muddle some cuke to give it flavor. I suggest calling the vodka as the house is not martini quality. Then we had the taco Tara. Not really a taco. It is tuna and crab with eel sauce on a won ton chip. Very tasty. My favorite roll is the Okko sea bass roll. It is on the specials list but it has always been on it for at least two years. It was great as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My first sushi exporience. Way too noisy bacause we where siting close to hibachi tables room with noisy guests. Also way too cold room temperature. Plates presentation is wonderful and food is delicious. It's little bit pricey.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Love the pot stickers and the volcano roll - so fresh and delicious . Resturant always seems to have large tables in party rooms which causes the service to main dining space to suffer . Service was bad last time we went and even worse this time, however , the food was worth the wait . Would eat here more often if service improves .

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This is one of our favorite restaurants in Hilton Head. Food is outstanding, seating area is very nice, great bar and just a good place to have an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Spicy, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We had an excellent end to our holiday by having dinner here! Highly recommended- there was something for everyone and just loads of fun!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style, Spicy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great Sushi place. Very creative menu. Also has Hibachi seating but we wanted Sushi so sat in the regular part of the restaurant. Very good cocktails at a reasonable price. We brought our own wine and the corkage fee was reasonable. Note, all of the rolls with crab were made with the "fake crab" but if you ask they will substitute real crab meat for a small fee. Everything was fresh and plentiful. Would definitely go again when in Hilton Head.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Great service, our Hibachi Chef was creative and fun. Food was great. Only thing is that it was just a bit slow. They were quite busy. I would have given a 5/5 if not for this part. Reservation was at 7, didn't get seated until past 7:30. Ordered appetizers early, thought it would arrive sooner, but the soup and the salad arrived first. Otherwise, I will definitely return.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Excellent variety and well prepared

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Food was quite good as usual. Service however was substandard. I felt like I was being rushed to turn over the table on a busy night. Just as I was finishing the last bite of my appetizer, my server was hovering over me to serve the entree (the plate for the appetizer hadn't yet been removed). I was in the restaurant for no more than 35 minutes total. Not a good experience or an inducement to return. Management needs to understand that there are a lot of choices in all categories on a place like Hilton Head Island.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Excellent food, service and beautiful presentation in a hip environment. Best sushi on the island.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Very nice preparations with the sushi. The ambience was very nice.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Vacationing and found on Open Table nearby. Food was fantastic! Lots of choices!

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 27, 2017

OKKO has the best Sushi in the area. The only disappointment we had on the most recent visit was that we told them we were celebrating my wife's 40th birthday and we did not get one happy birthday comment or complimentary desert from the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

OKKO is a beautiful restaurant with many options. Aside from the known Hibachi style, served in a separate area, it has an extensive Asian menu with intriging presetation. The food is always excellent.

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was efficient and helpful. Good variety of Asian fusion cuisine. Everyone was happy with all the dishes.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The food and the service were excellent and I would go back again if in the area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Birthday party at the hibachi table. The show was great! Sushi just okay...

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Okko is a well known, awesome restaurant for Thai, Japanese and Chinese dishes and some fusion versions of all of these cultures. And for us, we love more than anything their sushi and sushi bar, oh so fresh, high quality fish and inventive sushi construction artists. Great beer and wine listings plus more Japanese sake', Thai and Japanese beers than anyplace on the island.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Private Room, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Vegan, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The restaurant is well decorated and inviting. The service was prompt and friendly. The food was delicious. Would recommend the sushi ! We had a great time there.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Cool contemporary ambiance. Food overall was decent, not memorable. We shared an angry bird roll which was delicious! Pad Thai and Lo mein were bland. Waiter was very slow in getting to us after we were seated. He was attentive and friendly from that point on. I will give this place another shot at some point...there are just so many options on HH that are outstanding.

Tags: Healthy, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Took friends for their first time there. They loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent we always enjoy the food, thanks to all who work there.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.