About OKKO Hilton Head

OKKO Hilton Head specializes in contemporary Japanese and Thai cuisine. The atmosphere is sleek and upscale. We offer the best authentic Asian cuisine on Hilton Head. We offer a wide array of choices from sushi and sashimi to Thai curry and Pad Thai. Or watch our hibachi chef prepare your meal to order from a selection of fresh meats, seafood, and vegetables. We look forward to serving you soon!


95 Matthews Dr.
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Thai, Hibachi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 12:00am, Sunday: 11:30am - 11:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 341-3377

Website:
http://www.okkohhi.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

OKKO Hilton Head Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (23)
Casual (19)
Creative Cuisine (16)
See All
Fit for Foodies (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Fun (13)
Authentic (12)
Bar Seating (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Romantic (7)
Business Meals (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
People Watching (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Spicy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Cozy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vegan (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
450 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 2 days ago

We always enjoy our dinner at Okko and it is a must stop on
Every trip ti HHI. Food is excellent and varied Asian menu.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 18, 2017

This was a business meal hosted by a major financial firm from NYC. We picked OKKO and have some regrets that we did. The food was inconsistent. The rolls and sushi were superb - absolutely fresh & superbly presented. The hibachi dinners (which 3 of the 5 in our group order) was very mediocre. Rather than prepared at table & served in courses it came all together on a big plate in mish mash of stuff. The rice was bland, the shrimp over cooked, the vegetables soggy & the main item (1 tuna; 1 steak & shrimp; 1 scallops & shrimp) inconsistently cooked. All this compounded by an immature, over-bearing waiter who talked too much (Andrew).

Tags: Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food was really good. Rolls absolutely delicious. Service was excellent. I would highly reccomend trying this place out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great experience. Service and food was excellent. When family and friends come town we always suggest dinner at Okko. Early dining is a great value.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Darian, server extraordinare, took EXCELLENT care of us all throughout dinner. She anticipated our every need or want and was extremely pleasant and polite. The food was AWESOME! We will make a point of returning any time we may be in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 23, 2017

The BEST sushi on the Island!!! Great bar area, fun bartender, truly the best food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Okko offers one of the best sushi meals in the area. We loved everything we order & the portions were sizable. Especially liked the taco appetizer and the special rolls. Left there wanting more. Will definitely return before leaving Hilton Head!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 22, 2017

It took 45 minutes from seating to get the first taste of food. Unannounced sauces put on top of expensive fish almost made it inedible. The Hibachi is more about a show (if you feel like a trained pet) than quality dining. All servings are incredibly high in sodium and bad fats. Give your arteries a break and skip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Service was VERY slow. Took 40 minutes for 4 sushi entrees and the restaurant wasn't that busy. Several empty tables and staff walking around not doing anything. Floor was VERY slick (greasy?) and just gave an un-clean feel to the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We've been to this restaurant a couple times and sat in both the sushi cuisine side and in the hibachi table room. The sushi side has a great ambiance for a date night or small groups - overall noise is on the low side. The hibachi table side is super fun for groups and they put on a great show. It's very interactive and overall noise level is on the high side. Fun for kids too! Service has also always been great and food is fresh.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We had a 730p reservation but did not get seated until after 9pm.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Birthday dinner for 2...probably better to go with a big group if you sit at hibachi

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Always on the money. Best on the island. You can't miss being at the bar with Big steve.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

My family loves this place. We make sure to visit whenever we are on Hilton Head Island.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Creative, yummy sushi! The best that we have had in Hilton Head. We are always thoroughly satisfied with our meals!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The hibachi chef was great, had all of us laughing non-stop. Food was so flavorful and plenty of it.

Tags: Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Fresh food, wide variety. Noisy and dark...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We had a party of 6. Every year we come here because we love the sushi and the atmosphere. This year the only thing that stopped us from fully enjoying our meal was our server, Andrew. He seemed like he was on drugs. He spilled a cocktail on my friend's phone, he threw the plates down in front of us, he threw the takeout container in front of my friend, etc. He was all over the place and a bit of a mess.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

I have been many times, but this time unfortunately we had a new chef and the food was way way over cook and was not served together, completely disorganized. I understand y'all need to train but it should not be a customer's expense. If you were wondering no I did not mention to manager as he spent most of his time at our table explaining to chef. Manager was well aware of what happen

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 9, 2017

This had to be the worst experience at a restaurant ever. We made reservations a week in advance. Arrived approx 15 mins early and patiently waited for hibachi grill seating. As our wait extended we were offered water and did get a drink from the bar however the wait extended to 35 mins past our initial reservation. Which was unbelievable what is the point of making a reservation? The restaurant is literally falling apart the ceiling was dripping water from several sections of the roof the floors were a hazard to walk on with no observable signs of wet floor or caution. The food was mediocre, there were screaming children everywhere, and the whole experience was such a disappointment. It was for our wedding anniversary and we were honestly bummed out that we wasted our date at this horrible restaurant so please do not waste your time at this place. We wanted to be patient and give this place a chance but it certainly is not worth anyones time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Excellent as always. One of the best restaurants in Hilton Head Island.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 7, 2017

We had a reservation for 7. It was confirmed. Got there right on time. A table of 4 got seated without reservation before us. We were told that they seated about 50 at one time. Believe me we waited with all reservation people at once in lobby. We should get order in fast. Ridiculous. Over $400 for bill and waited. One roll delivered while paying bill. Ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Outstanding sushi!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 5, 2017

OKKO is one of our favorite restaurants in Hilton Head. From the moment you enter until you leave the welcome is courteous, bar scene is vibrant (great bar manager, Steve), service is excellent, food is outstanding and the cost is moderate. I would recommend OKKO to anyone enjoying Japanese and Thai cuisine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We were one of the first customers on opening day many years ago. This restaurant has gone down hill. Dirty appearance. Poor service. Food average for hibachi Japanese. On a good note, sushi was excellent. After this many years of a yearly visit , won't go back. If go, stick to sushi in the main restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I have been to this restaurant before and I have always had a great experience at hibachi. This time it was horrible. The staff were unpleasant. The cook never spoke, never put on a show and genuinely seemed confused. He overlooked our meat (by a lot). My daughter has a seafood allergy (informed restaurant - both waitstaff and chef) and although he waited to cook the shrimp last he cooked it with her chicken and then proceeded to use the same utensil for both the shrimp and chicken. She couldn't eat it because of cross contamination. Will not be returning after this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We were at OKKO on a Thursday evening, it was packed and extremely LOUD! We were seated next to a large party in a celebratory spirit. Our sushi was fresh, delicious and beautiful... complete with orchids! Very attentive service but difficult to converse with wait staff or with each other. Ambiance lovely except for noise level.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Sushi was outstanding! Service was good and beautiful restaurant . Only thing a little off - there was a shrimp in my son's steak dish. But everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Waiter rushed us. Within first 15 minutes he kept pressuring us to order our entree. We told him twice we weren't ready. Finally we just gave up and ordered. Too bad as we dine out 5 days a week. Food was very good so we will be back, just not often

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Booked on Open Table they called immediately and said habachi would be one hour later and we said ok. Got there and had to wait 40 minutes to be seated in a very small waiting area. Very same thing happened last year for our regular seating. There were others waiting as well. All else was very favorable and everyone said their food was excellent both sushi and habachi.
If you go don't be in a hurry to be seated to be served

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Sushi was great - very large rolls, my husband and I ordered 3 rolls to share and it was too much food! But, delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

We had 10 of which 5 were kids in our party and everyone had fantastic time. The hibachi shrimp were perfect. THANK YOU for adding to our HHI vacation and we will see you next year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 24, 2017

A great place to eat. Very good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food was amazing! Our server seemed a little frazzled and I think his section was over-sat. We were sat next to some obnoxious children but that it no ones fault but the parents :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We came here to have dinner as my daughter told me how wonderful the food is. Okko did not disappoint! Our dinners were fabulous:)
We will most certainly be back for an encore!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Great find, great sushi! Extensive menu of creative rolls as well as habatchi dishes.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Hibachi fun! The chef with the red hat is the best. Tons of wonderful food at a great price and it's so much fun to watch it be prepared to your request. A must try!!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent food quality. One of the best restaurants in Hilton Head.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food was great... from the grill and the sushi ! I am gluten free and I prefer brown rice sushi so appreciated them accommodating me with gluten free soy sauce and the brown rice. It is definitely kid friendly with all the noise! Do not go there though if you're on the verge of a migraine or if loud noise is bothersome to you... otherwise it's a great spot!

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Beautiful restaurant. Very nice staff. Super fun experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.