About OKKO Hilton Head

OKKO Hilton Head specializes in contemporary Japanese and Thai cuisine. The atmosphere is sleek and upscale. We offer the best authentic Asian cuisine on Hilton Head. We offer a wide array of choices from sushi and sashimi to Thai curry and Pad Thai. Or watch our hibachi chef prepare your meal to order from a selection of fresh meats, seafood, and vegetables. We look forward to serving you soon!


95 Matthews Dr.
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Thai, Hibachi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 12:00am, Sunday: 11:30am - 11:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 341-3377

Website:
http://www.okkohhi.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

OKKO Hilton Head Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (14)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Special Occasion (11)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Fun (8)
Authentic (8)
Healthy (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Romantic (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Casual (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Spicy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Vegan (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Cozy (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort by
S
493 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great but overall experience was awful. Have been trying to get ahold of the manager for 2 days now and he is never available. Staff not very helpful to express a complaint too. Overall very dissatisfied. If I could of spoken to a manager or shift leader of some kind I would be as dissatisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 8, 2018

Food and service always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 7, 2018

Great service and a fun chef! The food was fresh and well prepared.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Good sushi and other Oriental dishes. Fatty tuna was very average, not worth the price. Rolls are the best value, many to chose from.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 3, 2018

We were back after 2 years off of Hilton Head and OKKO was just as good as the last time. My wife and I shared sushi and our non-sushi eating first timer friends enjoyed the beef and shrimp hibachi and Ginger shrimp dishes. The service was impeccable, the atmosphere was relaxing and of course the food was absolutely delicious. Strongly recommend OKKO.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 2, 2018

We came here to eat sashimi, and our appetizer portions were enough for us both, plus, they had our favorites of ahi tuna, white tuna and salmon with extra ginger. We also ordered soups - my husband enjoyed his miso soup and I enjoyed the coconut soup, although it was not spicy enough, even with a pepper symbol beside it. Our waiter said it was because most islanders do not like spicy food (but we do). We also enjoyed our Ferrari Carano sauvignon blanc. We went nextdoor to the Purple Cow for delicious desserts.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 26, 2018

We were told we would have private room but upon being seated, we did not. Otherwise, a bit noisy but food was delicious! Our waiter took care of our table of 8 with no problems.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 24, 2018

Hibachi dinner, had a lot of fun with excellent food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Only having had the sushi, I can’t speak to the Chinese or Thai food on the menu. That said, the sushi is surprisingly decent. Not much variety there but it’s better than no sushi on Hilton Head. The rice needs some work - too dry and cake-y, doesn’t stick to the sushi very well and lacks any flavor. Tasted like it’d been sitting for a while, not freshly made. The fish was fresh and the edamame were crisp and perfectly salted. Shumai were clearly supplied, not made in house. The atmosphere is lively and the place has a great vibe. I’ll go back and try the sushi bar instead of a table. ALso will try the Chinese & Thai offerings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 18, 2018

To much noise

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 13, 2018

We especially loved our chef! Very entertaining! The food was delicious and the atmosphere was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Large family get together

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Okko is always a great choice! Great menu choices and atmosphere.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 25, 2017

we've eaten at okko frequently in the last year. the food - quality and presentation - is excellent. not very fond of the decor; it's dark and lacks ambiance and can be loud. note that the tea rarely comes to the table hot so more times than not have to ask for another kettle. in our experience, service is always good. despite our dislikes, we would recommend okko for delicious and authentic sushi.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2017

The assortment of specialty rolls was impressive. We only chose 4 and each of them was amazing in taste and presentation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2017

The food is great but the drinks are weak and they are priced almost as much as the entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 13, 2017

Beautiful Asian restaurant with terrific food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 13, 2017

They served a party of 11 flawlessly. Food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 8, 2017

We reserved the table for my daughter’s 15th birthday dinner which she had many friends join her to celebrate! We all love the food and have come back for the 5th time! It never gets old and really healthy and filling food! One portion is able to feed two people which makes it worth the money!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Disabled Access, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Vegan, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 8, 2017

We enjoyed a delicious hibachi-prepared meal. The service was good. We plan to return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Always Excellent Meals (Chinese, Thai, Japanese). Also they have a seperate room for Hibachi meals, kids love it). Good wine list and friendly service (especially this time from Lee). We do not like Sushi but our friends say it is also excellent! Would not hesitate to recommend to friends.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 23, 2017

We enjoyed the Hibachi dinner - our Chef was entertaining and expert in preparing the food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 23, 2017

I have gone here about once a year for about 4 years. The women’s bathroom always smells like sewage. Always. The salmon nigiri tasted extremely fishy last night, and . the service was extremely slow. I won’t be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Staff was very accommodating . They catered to our special needs.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 10, 2017

We were here last March and this visit was a different experience. We love the decor. Very modern and dynamic yet serene. Hard to describe. We were in the dinner section NOT what apparently is the hibachi section which apparently is for children. Our waiter Derek was perfect. Our shrimp and our softshell crab were both spectacular. We had one roll and a sushi platter for entrees. Here is the rub. Last Narch this place was hoppin’. This time on a Friday night not so much. You can’t have good sushi without great fish which totally requires high volume. Not quite there.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 9, 2017

Great Chinese. Best on Hilton Head Island and surrounding communities.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 2, 2017

our favorite place for weekly dining. The freshest sushi/ sashimi we have had anywhere , including NYC. Vivi, our server anticipates every need - the best server anywhere. Steve the bartender could not be nicer or more genuine as a human being. We feel like family there. Oh...the sushi chef, Brian, is beyond compare. And we hear that the hibachi is awesome too.

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 23, 2017

We made our reservations explaining this was for a birthday dinner. We also told both our server and our chef this was a birthday dinner for an 11-year-old. And we were surprised that nothing was done for his birthday that was special like dessert or donuts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Fabulous meals, wide variety on the menu, gracious staff, great seating. Definitely a top favorite restaurant, and we look forward to our next meal there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Excellent sushi! Super fresh and innovative combinations. Thai food was excellent also! We had drunken noodles, mango shrimp and others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Our hibachi chef was great. He entertained us the entire time and had our kids begging to go back the next day.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 14, 2017

A variety of great sushi, Thai and other choices with a wide price range. Beautifully presented.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Food was good at the Hibachi tables. room was too loud and the venting system was not keeping up with the steam, smoke, and cooking smells. My eyeglasses were covered in grease and soot from sitting at the table.

Next time we go back to eating Hibachi while sitting in the main restaurant.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Wonderful, as usual. Service was excellent and the sushi very fresh.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 11, 2017

A good time was had by all. There was enough variety to satisfy everyone. The server was patient with questions and gave clear advise when asked. When you need a different food night OKKO is a good place to go.

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The food is always exceptional and fresh, but the service wasn't its usual first rate. The meal was very rushed with the server literally trying to bring us the check before we were mid way through our meal. When we asked for dessert as we had always enjoyed the Asian flavored ice creams we were told the restaurant was no longer serving dessert and showed us the door.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Good food with a variety of price options. Beautifully presented, good service. Sushi, Thai, Asian, seafood options.

Tags: Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great sushi! Love the Volcano and Spicy Girl. Service was better than last time, however, it was not at all busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2017

this is just a good place to go. If you have a cocktail at the bar, say Hi to Steve, the best BarKeep on the island.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Our waitress was wonderful!!! She was helpful, attentive and did a great job!

Tags: Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Fun, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.