About OKKO Hilton Head

95 Matthews Dr.
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

OKKO Hilton Head specializes in contemporary Japanese and Thai cuisine. The atmosphere is sleek and upscale. We offer the best authentic Asian cuisine on Hilton Head. We offer a wide array of choices from sushi and sashimi to Thai curry and Pad Thai. Or watch our hibachi chef prepare your meal to order from a selection of fresh meats, seafood, and vegetables. We look forward to serving you soon!


Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Thai, Hibachi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 12:00am, Sunday: 11:30am - 11:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 341-3377

Website:
http://www.okkohhi.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

lobster tartar
Beef with Burdock Roots
Interior
Yellowtail Jalepeno
Basil Crispy Sea Bass
Oysters
Rainbow Tartar
perfect naruto roll
Sushi
Hibachi
Sashimi

OKKO Hilton Head Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Hilton Head
Best Restaurants in Hilton Head ›

good for groups (25)
fit for foodies (23)
neighborhood gem (13)
See All
special occasion (12)
romantic (8)
great for lunch (7)
hot spot (6)
kid-friendly (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
notable wine list (3)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
270 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always great food at a good price but th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Always great food at a good price but the noise level is very high due to the accoustics. Go for the food, just don't expect a quiet environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The jalapeño cup is fantastic,hard to de ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The jalapeño cup is fantastic,hard to describe but so very tasty. So many choices of specialty rolls it was hard to choose. Will go back when in HHI next time. A lot to choose from on the menu. Service was just a little slow but not enough to really complain about. We had reservations on open table that worked out just right.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Party of 9 for dinner. Asked a regular ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Party of 9 for dinner. Asked a regular table but they only had a hibachi table available. Our chef was very entertaining and the food was well prepared. Overall enjoyable

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was wonderful and the chef who ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food was wonderful and the chef who prepared it table side was just delightful. We had a great time and it was a nice way to end our vacation. I don't know how anyone could go home hungry as the portions were huge. A really fun place, but don't go if you don't like a lot of background noise. It gets very loud when several chefs are preparing food at the same time.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I honestly cannot choose my favorite dis ...

 
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I honestly cannot choose my favorite dish. The presentation was beautiful and the sashimi was served on ice. We got four rolls: the pirate, cowboy, sunshine and angry bird. All were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a very welcoming waiter. The vibe ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We had a very welcoming waiter. The vibe of the place was great. The food was very good, hibachi special. The sauces tended to overwhelm the content, so he flavours of beef, lobster and shrimp took on a sameness. The salad was great, would definitely go again , but would request the chefs go easy on the spices.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was amazing. I got confused and ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food was amazing. I got confused and ordered the wrong thing, but our waitress was SUPER accommodating and willing to take anything back and make it right if I needed. (I didn't) I tried something new and it was so good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very popular. Good food

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Very popular. Good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

There were 10 of us celebrating a grandd ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

There were 10 of us celebrating a granddaughter's birthday. The Hibachi chef Tommy puts on quite a performance, entertaining children of all ages. He's a pro. The food was excellent. The portions are very generous. We will definitely repeat at this place. Everyone in our group enjoyed the food and the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Okko was great. The Hibachi chefs were ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Okko was great. The Hibachi chefs were very entertaining and made sure that they had tricks suitable for kids. The food was seasoned very well and tasted great. The sushi was also very good. It was definitely a place that is good for locals and visitors to the island. Okko is definitely a must for Hibachi.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been there multiple times and br ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We have been there multiple times and brought new friends with us who thought it was terrific.. The sushi is so well presented and sizeable in portion.. we had to tell them that they did not need an entree with the sushi that was ordered.. I ordered my usual massaman curry and it was not as good.. used to be more sweet, this was just plain spicy without the sweet taste.. still all in all, an excellent meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service by the Hibachi chef, very ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great service by the Hibachi chef, very engaging and entertaining. We had a big group of 13 people and had a great time!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had four in our group, we were seated ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had four in our group, we were seated at a nice table, the ambiance is chill not loud, the decor very chic, the service was very good. Amazing food, the best sushi I've had in a long time!! Wine and drink menu very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Outstanding! Great Sushi and Service! ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Outstanding! Great Sushi and Service! Modern interior....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I have been there many ti ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

My husband and I have been there many times and enjoyed the food but this dinner was disappointing. The seared tuna was tasteless. My husband's Cowboy Roll also bland if not for the jalapeños.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Very good food at the hibachi and fun ch ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Very good food at the hibachi and fun chef. My only "complaint" is that the hibachi tables are enclosed in a single room and the ventilation doesn't pull out the grease in the air.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This is the 2nd year in a row that our f ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

This is the 2nd year in a row that our family has visited this restaurant and we will definitely keep coming back! We had a chef who was not only entertaining and personable, but also made an extraordinary meal! The service was amazing and we had the best time! This is definitely an establishment for families of all ages and should be on your list of places to visit when coming to Hilton Head. I promise you, you will not be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had lunch here for my birthday. Great sa ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Had lunch here for my birthday. Great sashimi and rolls

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We love the food it is always excellent ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We love the food it is always excellent and consistant.

The presentation of the sushi is very creative.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good food.

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Always good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we started with taco Tara as the appetiz ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

we started with taco Tara as the appetizer. They are not really tacos but sort of wonton chips with spicy tuna on top. Very tasty with just the right amount of spice. We then ordered two rolls, my favorite is the Okko sea bass roll. It has lightly fried sea bass and they use soy paper instead of nori. I find that sometimes the nori is tough and all you can taste is the nori. It has become my favorite sushi/roll wrap. We like the decor and atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Okko has an extensive menu of quality fo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Okko has an extensive menu of quality food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Japanese Restaurant that I have ate ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Best Japanese Restaurant that I have ate at in a long time. Great food, service, and atmosphere. Our cook was outstanding. I would highly recommend this restaurant if in the HHI area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome Food

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We made a last minute reservation, arrived on time, and had to wait about 15 + minutes or so for our table. It seemed long with a reservation, but that may just be the nature of "hibachi table" dining. Initial service was a bit off track, with our soups going to the next table. Entrees, veggies, rice and shrimp were super delicious, and cooked perfectly. This was our first time to sit at one of the hibachi tables: If you are not there primarily for the "show", consider sitting in the main room and ordering hibachi. The rice, vegetables and entrees will all come out at once, rather than staggered as at the hibachi, and it will still be great! It was a bit noisy, as there are a lot of patrons at each table, and each chef is entertaining his own group. If you are going just for great food, sit in the main room. If you want to catch broccoli, shrimp and sake in your mouth, AND have great food, sit in the hibachi table room.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Okko is a multi-option dining place with ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Okko is a multi-option dining place with multi-option seating-Hibachi seating, sushi bar, regular bar, and regular dining. We ate at the regular dining(but you can order from the menu of each area). It is a very clean-newer looking place. Kyle was our server and did an excellent job. The menu is large and varied from various asian regions. My favorite dishes are the rolls and the bento boxes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome atmosphere and great food!!!

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Awesome atmosphere and great food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent food and great atmosphere

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

If you're looking for a fun place to take a group of people this is the place! The food is excellent and the service was great. My husband and I were on a date and chose to go to OKKO after we waited for over 30 minutes at outback 😔. We enjoyed the modern surroundings and felt like we were in a nice restaurant you may find in LA. Food was plenty!!!

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Corey is an awesome server!!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Corey is an awesome server!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Early dinner for sushi. Urchin was avail ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Early dinner for sushi. Urchin was available and amazing!! Our other choices were perfectly prepared, fresh and tasty, without being overpowered with extraneous flavors or sauces. Drink choices I. E. Sakitinis were tasty with being overly intoxicating. Service was swift and sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Very Busy

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The restaurant was very busy so we had to wait to even check in to be seated - we had a reservation and clearly those who did not were going to be waiting quite a while. The initial service was slow and we had to ask for the wine list. The dining room was very noisy.

The food and the presentation of the food were incredible. I can certainly understand why so many people wanted to eat there and we were really impressed by the meal and wines. But the restaurant suffers from its own success - perhaps more servers, limiting the patrons or creating a quieter area could be done. I would rather order take out to enjoy the great food than go back to the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We sat in regular seating (not habachi) ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We sat in regular seating (not habachi) and only had appetizers & sushi. The sushi was the best we've ever had and they were very accommodating of food allergies/sensitivities. We enjoyed it enough to go back twice in one week!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We are in Hilton Head about a week a mon ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We are in Hilton Head about a week a month and always try to include a dinner at Okko. One of our favorites is the Okko sea bass roll. It is made with soy paper instead of sea weed and is not as tough and lets the flavors of the ingredients shine instead of the much heavier nori. This time we tried the Taco Tara as an appetizer and will definitely order that again. We like the atmosphere and the food is always great.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Sushi was great! We also got Hibachi an ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Sushi was great! We also got Hibachi and was also so very delicious! Good choice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fabulous flavored foods and presentation

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

This menu is huge. We did finally manage to pick some items and man, were they fantastic.

Our server, Corey, was great. Tthe food was drop dead gorgeous with the taste to match. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Asian Excellence

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have dined at Okko on 3 occasions and have been very impressed on each visit.

If you enjoy really authentic Asian cuisine, particularly Thai, Japanese or Korean, this is the

restaurant for you. The restaurant is meticulously maintained with a very courteous efficient staff, making dinning here a truly enjoyable experience.

.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Sushi

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Ate at Okko twice while on Hilton Head. The Taco Tara appetizer was wonderful as well as the gyoza and spicy girl roll. Very good service and ambience. Will visit next time!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

food was excellent but kitchen was understaffed

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We have generally had good experiences at OKKOs but this experience was not good. The kitchen was backed up, our server was not attentive and brought out 2 of 4 dinners, both were cool not hot. Had to get Manager to attend. When we finally got all meals (at different times), the food was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Great Asian food and reasonably priced. ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Great Asian food and reasonably priced. Ambiance so so

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great Food

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Food is very good and service is always good. Sushi and sashimi dishes are especially good. Great selections, great taste and awesome presentations. Have never had abad dining experience at OKKO in Hilton Head Island.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant will be back!!!!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Great restaurant will be back!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.