About OKKO Hilton Head

OKKO Hilton Head specializes in contemporary Japanese and Thai cuisine. The atmosphere is sleek and upscale. We offer the best authentic Asian cuisine on Hilton Head. We offer a wide array of choices from sushi and sashimi to Thai curry and Pad Thai. Or watch our hibachi chef prepare your meal to order from a selection of fresh meats, seafood, and vegetables. We look forward to serving you soon!


95 Matthews Dr.
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Japanese, Thai, Hibachi

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 12:00am, Sunday: 11:30am - 11:30pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 341-3377

Website:
http://www.okkohhi.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

OKKO Hilton Head Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (17)
Special Occasion (13)
Fun (11)
See All
Modern Decor (11)
Healthy (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Casual (7)
Authentic (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Family Style (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Business Meals (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Private Room (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Romantic (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Vegan (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tapas (2)
Organic (2)
Spicy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Cozy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
356 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 19 hours ago

Vacationing and found on Open Table nearby. Food was fantastic! Lots of choices!

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

OKKO is a beautiful restaurant with many options. Aside from the known Hibachi style, served in a separate area, it has an extensive Asian menu with intriging presetation. The food is always excellent.

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was excellent. Service was efficient and helpful. Good variety of Asian fusion cuisine. Everyone was happy with all the dishes.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The food and the service were excellent and I would go back again if in the area.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Birthday party at the hibachi table. The show was great! Sushi just okay...

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Okko is a well known, awesome restaurant for Thai, Japanese and Chinese dishes and some fusion versions of all of these cultures. And for us, we love more than anything their sushi and sushi bar, oh so fresh, high quality fish and inventive sushi construction artists. Great beer and wine listings plus more Japanese sake', Thai and Japanese beers than anyplace on the island.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Private Room, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Vegan, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The restaurant is well decorated and inviting. The service was prompt and friendly. The food was delicious. Would recommend the sushi ! We had a great time there.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Cool contemporary ambiance. Food overall was decent, not memorable. We shared an angry bird roll which was delicious! Pad Thai and Lo mein were bland. Waiter was very slow in getting to us after we were seated. He was attentive and friendly from that point on. I will give this place another shot at some point...there are just so many options on HH that are outstanding.

Tags: Healthy, Spicy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Took friends for their first time there. They loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent we always enjoy the food, thanks to all who work there.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great time, chef was entertaining and food was great!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A very modern restaurant with great food options to cover almost every taste. Our service was professional and timely. We will go back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Do not miss the Volcano roll - delicious ! Everything was very fresh and so tasty !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Their white wines are chilled too much so that all you get is a cold liquid which certainly did not due justice to an otherwise very good Alsatian Pinot Blanc

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Best shushi in town, great service, waiter very friendly and knowledgeable of the menu, food was delicious. Overall outstanding, we wil go back when we return to Hilton Head. Highly recommend

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Can't believe we just found OKKO, loved it and will be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Day

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Decor is very modern, liked it. Treasure island appetizer was delicious (salmon, tuna and white fish tartare, served on avocado). Bento box teriyaki did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great atmosphere and service! The red curry was good, but the sauce was rather watery and not as flavorful as I prefer. Overall, a great dining experience. Very "uptown" atmosphere with superb service.

Tags: Organic, Spicy, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went back to our favorite sushi restaurant in Hilton head. We had the shumai and the pepper tuna for appetizers. Both were great. The tuna was super tender. We had the Okko sea bass roll my favorite and the Watchman roll my second favorite. Washed it down with a cucumber martini. Yum.

Tags: Tapas, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Totally delicious! Presentation and taste points were well profiled. We will return. This is a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

beautifully done, well decorated, good food choices

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Fabulous! Great vegetarian options! We highly recommend Okko. Owner and staff extremely nice.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Fabulous meal! Pleasant staff! Great menu!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was great. Service was marginal. A little surprising as it wasnt that busy. The wait staff in general seemed a bit confused.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Always a good time at okko with consistently good food whether it be sushi or hibachi. It's a hit with everyone young and old.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 1, 2017

One word describes my experience par excellent, exceeded my expectation. My friends share my opinion. Thanks Okko.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 30, 2017

The first people who sent us here said it was a Chinese restaurant. It is so much more. Great, great sushi. Separate hibachi room if you're going as a group, but you can also get it served at the table. It can get quite loud so you may want to ask for a table against the wall. This is one of our favorite go to places when we are on Hilton Head Island. Enjoy!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our meals were excellent. The food is always consistent. We love it

Tags: Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent experience every time we go to OKKO. The food is consistently good and the service is wonderful. Our server, Amy is a gem. She did not rush us and made sure we were happy with each course. The food choices are amazing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Best Sushi on the Island!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent. Very accomodating to change how to cook dish different from menu. Very fresh and outstanding tastes. A winner👍

Tags: Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had a large group on New Years Eve. Our chef was fun and entertaining. The food was excellent and they will accommodate a gluten free diet!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Family Style, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Hibachi great as always
Very busy
Chef was very entertaining

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Simple formula - great food, better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Beautifully designed and appointed restaurant. Great cocktails! Both the Thai food and the Sushi were delicious and attractively presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We loved the food here. Great sushi rolls (e.g., Black dragon and Spiderman) and the spicy basil chicken as excellent. However, service was very slow (this was at 8pm on a Wednesday, not a weekend). Fortunately we were not in a hurry. It was 15 minutes to get our soup after waiting 10 minutes to order, and then over 30 minutes until our next food arrived, another 10 for the rest of our food. We will go back because we loved the food but anticipate a "leisurely" paced dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Great food; poor service but it was Christmas and very busy. We waited forever for an appetizer. Others around us came in after us and were served. But we would return. Lovely place with huge menu.

Tags: Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Second visit and still as good as the first time. Excellent sushi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We have been to a lot of hibachi style restaurants and this is the best !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.