About Oh Mamma Mia!

2324 Gulf Gate Dr
Sarasota, FL 34231
View Larger Map

Authentic contemporaney Italian restaurant. Cooking show every night!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:45pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm, Sunday: Closed, Monday: Private Cooking Classes Only

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 706-2821

Website:
http://ohmammamiarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live cooking show as you dine. See the chef cooking your meal and broadcasted live on a giant screen in a open kitchen atmophere.

Catering:
30% discounts on to go and catering.

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Urbano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Oh Mamma Mia! Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
See All
Local Ingredients (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Casual (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Fun (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Cozy (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Family Style (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Romantic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
People Watching (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
210 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our party of 10 felt like the most impor ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Our party of 10 felt like the most important dinner but seems all the other customers were feeling the same way! The service was warm friendly and excellent! The chef/owner even stopped to check in us. Didn't see food on any plates that were cleared from our table.

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent. We love this restaurant and ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent. We love this restaurant and always find something different to try and enjoy. We have been eating there for years and have never been disappointed. The owner is a wonderful Chef and runs a terrific eatery. His staff are delightful and it feels as though everyone is family.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely love this small intimate rest ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Absolutely love this small intimate restaurant. The food is delicious and the staff wonderful!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of only 2 authentic Italian chefs in ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

One of only 2 authentic Italian chefs in Sarasota & they're moving next year to the Midwest where there's a bigger yr-round population & fewer authentic Italian restaurants. The only other one here is La Scarpetta.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Chef Giuseppe is the best. His love of c ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Chef Giuseppe is the best. His love of cooking is shown with his delicious meals. All homemade and all so good. We always come back here when we're here on vacation. Told many family and friends about this place and now they its their favorite as well. It's a gem!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, , Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience and food. can't wai ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent experience and food. can't wait to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

It's all about the food! Great value for ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 24, 2017

It's all about the food!

Great value for an excellent meal and the wine is very good/ reasonable

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Had a table for 6 to enjoy a night of fo ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Had a table for 6 to enjoy a night of food and wine with friends. It was the first visit for two of them. The wine selections from Chef G were perfect and the dinner was excellent. Thanks again, Chef for another wonderful evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place and we will continue to ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Love this place and we will continue to consider as "destination dining". All of the staff are friendly and accommodating. Unicorn fish was amazing.

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and chef. Enjoyed the variety ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food and chef. Enjoyed the variety and personal service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The chef takes his job very seriously an ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The chef takes his job very seriously and as a results creates excellent Italian meals. It is always a pleasure to eat at MaMaMia's. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a great evening out with fine food and great service!

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were four people and had three differ ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We were four people and had three different entrees between us. The kindest description we could give any of them was “adequate.” The waiters were running around in circles - terrible service. The cook/owner might consider focusing more on getting his restaurant together to deliver better food and service than on the silly large screen that live streaming the same ordinary meals being prepared. Won't be back!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

7 of 8 dinners arrived together. The l ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 6, 2017

7 of 8 dinners arrived together. The last order was 15 minutes later and after the other dinners had finished their meals. When the Chef was asked what he could do to make it up he suggested that the wait staff be penalized on their tip. Will not be back to this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

What a great place for dinner ! Highly r ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

What a great place for dinner ! Highly recommend trying this place. You won't regret it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My first time here. Loved it. The food ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My first time here. Loved it. The food was great and the service was very personable, despite the fact that I was there New Year's eve and the place was packed. I love that they take reservations too and prices are reasonable. So cool that they have a big screen that shows you what is going on in the kitchen. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Regrettably, a name change is in order f ...

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Regrettably, a name change is in order from Oh Mama Mia no No Mama Mia. This small strip shop eatery was once a favorite. When our previous plans for the evening fell through, I was surprised at the wide availability of times for dinner here, especially at the height of season in Sarasota. And now I think I understand why.

When we arrived for our reservation, the restaurant was virtually empty of patrons. We ordered and the food was brought in a timely fashion. Both of our meals were substandard. I ordered the veal osso buco and the meat was chewy and tough. The accompanying fettuccini was overcooked and clumped together. My mother ordered the linguini gamberi (her favorite) and the sauce was virtually flavorless. The pasta had not been drained sufficiently and the dish was watery.

When our server finally inquired about the meal, we voiced our disappointment and in short order the chef was tableside apologizing for the poor quality of the meals. He promised to adjust the bill and "only charge for the salads". When the bill arrived in the amount of $28.00, I questioned it and the chef began argue that he had to also charge for the bread and the white table cloth. $28.00 for 2 small side salads?

The tasteless meals were equaled only by the tasteless attitude of the owner.

No Mama Mia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We had a group of six for dinner so didn ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had a group of six for dinner so didn't want to complain because it makes others uncomfortable. We had two appetizers for the table - the calamari was tasty and the frittata was good, however they were both fairly expensive for what you got - $12 for maybe 12 slices of calamari in sauce and the frittata was similarly priced. My husband asked for a pasta dish off menu, it came out very bland. My veal dish was tasty, however the vegetable and polenta accompaniments were stone cold. We had a great time with the company, the servers were delightful, but the food ultimately was not a good value and not as tasty as some of the other family owned Italian restaurants that we've been to in Sarasota, similarly priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was very good but serving size was ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was very good but serving size was a bit skimpy. Homemade pasta and bread, varied menu and great specials. Excellent service, very attentive staff. Fun and active dining experience as the owner and chef is very hands on and you can watch your meal being prepared on screens throughout the restaurant. Only complaint is they serve espresso; no regular coffee is available. We really wanted coffee to go with our delicious cannoli's and don't care for espresso.

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food and service

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent authentic Italian! Service was ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Excellent authentic Italian! Service was great and good wine as well. Homemade pasta and the osso bucco was fantastic. House salad was great too. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were heading up to the Asolo Theater ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We were heading up to the Asolo Theater for a show and stopped for pre-theater dinner. Arriving for our early reservation, we were the only patrons in the place. We were a little concerned, but figured what the heck! We didn't make a mistake. While the menu had many of the usual Italian restaurant offerings, there were several unusual and different choices. They all turned out to be delicious! All food was prepared fresh in front of our eyes in their open kitchen. Service was neighborhood friendly and attentive. By the time we headed up for our show, the place was full! I don't know what took us so long to try this restaurant. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Second time there. First was much bette ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Second time there. First was much better. Portions were adequate, but not what you expect from an Italian restaurant. My pasta, requested al dente, was overcooked. Seafood portion was sparce. I believe the owner, who has sold or will soon be selling, is "lame duck" and getting ready to move onto another venture.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Fantastic Food, Fantastic Service. Very ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Fantastic Food, Fantastic Service. Very enjoyable a little on the priceier side but really good.

Dinner for two with a $20 bottle wine, one appetizer and 20% tip was just under $100

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is a rare find in Saraso ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 23, 2016

This restaurant is a rare find in Sarasota. The Chef owner is The Personality and his menu and food made right in front of you are phenomenal. Italian the way it should be prepared. And his service staff are friendly and competent and make you feel right at home. Just like family. We can't wait to get back again to try another selection. Perhaps next week??

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy this special place in an ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We always enjoy this special place in an unassuming plaza. Our kids, who are still in Toronto Canada are upset that we went without them!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Urbano took time to recommend some ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Chef Urbano took time to recommend some outstanding wines for my wife and me. Oh Manma Mia has been our favorite restaurant since he opened his doors several years ago. We're always made to feel like family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place !!!! Will be back as oft ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Love this place !!!! Will be back as often as we can!!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Authentic, Local Ingredients, , Special Occasion, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome! Chef is very attentive and make ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Awesome! Chef is very attentive and makes sure you are happy. He is willing to talk about food ideas and very creative.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wanted to try this place. After ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Always wanted to try this place. After making the reservation, my wife signed up for a "birthday club" and then received an email offer for first-time diners that said "25% off your total bill". The food and service was fine, and the prices reasonable. However - our server told us that the gratuity was "included" as part of the prices on the menu- that was completely untrue. Then, when we presented the coupon, the bill that came back reduced only my wife's meal by 25%. When we questioned this, the 'chef/owner' came over and proceeded to loudly and insultingly tell us that coupon wording means YOUR bill - not your entire table's bill! We were annoyed by this and told him so. Eventually, he reduced our bill, but was cleary angry at us. As we were leaving, I inqured at the front desk about a carryout menu. The chef followed us out of the restaurant and screamed at us, "You are banned from ever coming back here!" Completely unreasonable and highly unprofessional. As I said, the food was okay, but given the incredibly rude behavior of the owner (all other staff were actually quite okay) I will NEVER retrun, and I wil tell anyone who asks me that it simply isn't worth goign here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

The food and service is only surpassed ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food and service is only surpassed by the outstanding owner/chef who enhances the dining experience with his welcoming and lively conversation. He makes one feel as if one has entered an old friend's home.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, , Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've never been disappointed while dini ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We've never been disappointed while dining at Oh Mamma Mia. Food is always fresh, and service is always attentive. We also love Chef's sense of humor! One of our favorite restaurants in Sarasota!

Tags: Family Style, Seasonal, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Private Room, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You accepted our reservation but they we ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on September 29, 2016

You accepted our reservation but they were closed from Monday to Wednesday until October 1st (and therefore closed when we had our reservation). You need to work on not allowing that to happen as we had to find a backup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our experience did not live up to the gl ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Our experience did not live up to the glowing reviews. We were quite surprised. Our server was very pleasant but the food was quite disappointing - especially the shrimp which did not taste like it was ok to eat. I am a picky eater but my husband is not and he agreed. We would not return nor recommend this restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

The restaurant really was not much to lo ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The restaurant really was not much to look at, located in a strip mall, not very impressive. However, the service was OUTSTANDING!!! The FOOD DELICIOUS, in every way possible. Friendly staff, we were most definitely very pleasantly surprised. A real neighbor hood gem!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was fabulous and the service wa ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was fabulous and the service was excellent. The air conditioning was having some issues but it did cool the restaurant down after 30 minutes or so. I would highly recommend this restaurant and I will be returning soon!

Tags: Authentic, , Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding as always!!

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Outstanding as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anything but what the typical strip-mall ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Anything but what the typical strip-mall Italian eatery location would portend. Really good and creative options and flexible about substitutions (even if not on the menu). Affable, attentive service. Fairly economical to boot. A definite do over and a lot closer than Arthur Avenue in the Bronx.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Our third visit to Mamma Mia. First sinc ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our third visit to Mamma Mia. First since the expansion . Took some Italian friends there . Food was outstanding . The sauce was to die for . The expansion was classy and we were impressed by the positive addition.

The staffing that particular night was insufficient . If this was more than a one time issue they should increase the staffing . When the snowbirds get here it will really show.

Steve

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Always a great experience and meal. My f ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Always a great experience and meal. My favorite is

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was very slow. Our waiter wa ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The service was very slow. Our waiter was sitting talking to two female customers while we waited almost 15 minutes to make his first appearance at our table. They were out of several of the featured wines. No atmosphere will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.