Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.91mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.91mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.91mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.70mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.91mi

About Oh Mamma Mia!

Authentic contemporaney Italian restaurant. Cooking show every night!

2324 Gulf Gate Dr
Sarasota, FL 34231
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:45pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm, Sunday: Closed, Monday: Private Cooking Classes Only

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 706-2821

Website:
http://ohmammamiarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live cooking show as you dine. See the chef cooking your meal and broadcasted live on a giant screen in a open kitchen atmophere.

Catering:
30% discounts on to go and catering.

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Urbano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Oh Mamma Mia! Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
See All
Good for a Date (10)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Casual (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Cozy (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Fun (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Healthy (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Romantic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Business Meals (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Private Room (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
225 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

They are closing down soon...and the limited menu confirms it. My dish was good, but there also won't make substitutions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent food and service Local eatery. Easy to get to. So very sad owner is closing end of May. Go while you can!

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great wine and dinner, as always. It became "our place" several years ago.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Restaurant is closing in June and nobody is even trying anymore. NO wine list - your choices are "red" or "white".
Waiter disappeared for long periods of time and was very unfriendly. Used to be one of our favorites but don't waste your time and money. VERY disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Unfortunately Giuseppe is closing his place on May 30 and moving back to Bologna Italy where he will be opening a similar restaurant. This is a HUGE loss to Siesta Key and South Sarasota.
We will truly miss our annual trek from Atlanta to dine at this authentic Italian Gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 18, 2017

This is one of our favorite and often visited restaurants. My ossobuco was superb. My wife had Veal Milanese. On this occasion, the veal was a bit thicker than one might usually expect for this dish. So it wasn't quite as tender as it normally is.

No reason not to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 11, 2017

VERY POOR! We had been there before twice. Once was nice. Once was awful. This time was beyond awful. The food ranged from okay to not good. The service was sub-par. Then we found out that the restaurant is closing soon. Our interpretation is that they just don't care anymore. Sad. My recommendation: go somewhere else. Café Baci is a good choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 5, 2017

It's a shame this great place will likely be closing around Memorial Day. The food was very good. The service was wonderful. The chef spent about 20 minutes with us when the kitchen slowed down. He explained the origins of the wine we had finally selected. Overall it was a great night out for all of us.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent meal and very friendly staff. Selection of entrees was very good.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This is a fun restaurant to go to as you watch the chef cooking on a big screen. The food was very good and the service was excellent. The chef comes out to make sure everything is to your liking. The Sacchetti pasta with a butter sage sauce was delicious as well as the Fettucicine Emilian which had chopped meat and peas in a great sauce. The pollo Gorgonzola was also a hit with one of our friends. Reasonable bottles of wine as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Chief is truly amazing, with unique offerings. NOT your typical Italian restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Disabled Access, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 26, 2017

absolutely wonderful; meal was great, sommelier advice excellent. we are so disappointed that Giuseppe plans to close in May/June, largely because of a lease issue. The landlord must be nuts not to renew the lease at a very favorable rate in view of the excellent business taking place there. Too bad we lose a gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We always enjoy eating dinner at this great restaurant. We have friends visiting from up north and their first suggestion is to go to dinner here! Can't disagree!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Odd little place. We had an early reservation and were the first to arrive at the restaurant that had been open for an hour. Although only a third of our party had arrived and were seated, we were immediately accosted by a server who tried to push a certain type of wine at us and insisted on telling us the specials even though I had asked him to wait until the entire table had arrived. Next we were accosted by the sommelier who again tried to push his latest wine purchase on us, even though none of us had decided on our meals and most of our party was still not seated. Despite repeated requests, they would not wait until the other had arrived.
When everyone arrived, we quickly found that there was no liquor (which was not disclosed in the listing) and was a problem for a couple of our group who do not drink wine/beer. But we forged on.
Next, we requested bread with no garlic for my elderly father and were told none was available as the new bread they serve (again, not what is on the menu) has the garlic infused throughout.
The menu appears to be only a fraction of what is listed in Open Table as the dinner menu, which was disappointing.
3 members of our group ordered the Veal Marsala. They all agreed it was bad--tough and generally tasteless. One ordered chicken, which was deemed to be ok. The rest ordered pasta. The Linguini with white clam sauce was excellent, the tortellini with proscuitto, peas and mushrooms was very good (but cold), the cheese gnocchi was very good.
In fairness, once they got busier, they were far less pushy. The chef even came out to say hello. There seemed to be regulars that they greeted with recognition, which is always nice.
I MIGHT be tempted to try again as the pasta was good, but I would be uncomfortable recommending because of the pushiness of the staff and the disappointment with the veal. I would want to see the wine list, not be forced to take the bottle that was put on the table before anyone arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Oh Mamma Mia is one of our favorite restaurants, we come here whenever we are in town.

Tags: Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our party of 10 felt like the most important dinner but seems all the other customers were feeling the same way! The service was warm friendly and excellent! The chef/owner even stopped to check in us. Didn't see food on any plates that were cleared from our table.

Tags: Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent. We love this restaurant and always find something different to try and enjoy. We have been eating there for years and have never been disappointed. The owner is a wonderful Chef and runs a terrific eatery. His staff are delightful and it feels as though everyone is family.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Absolutely love this small intimate restaurant. The food is delicious and the staff wonderful!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

One of only 2 authentic Italian chefs in Sarasota & they're moving next year to the Midwest where there's a bigger yr-round population & fewer authentic Italian restaurants. The only other one here is La Scarpetta.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Chef Giuseppe is the best. His love of cooking is shown with his delicious meals. All homemade and all so good. We always come back here when we're here on vacation. Told many family and friends about this place and now they its their favorite as well. It's a gem!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent experience and food. can't wait to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 24, 2017

It's all about the food!
Great value for an excellent meal and the wine is very good/ reasonable

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Had a table for 6 to enjoy a night of food and wine with friends. It was the first visit for two of them. The wine selections from Chef G were perfect and the dinner was excellent. Thanks again, Chef for another wonderful evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Love this place and we will continue to consider as "destination dining". All of the staff are friendly and accommodating. Unicorn fish was amazing.

Tags: Family Style, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food and chef. Enjoyed the variety and personal service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The chef takes his job very seriously and as a results creates excellent Italian meals. It is always a pleasure to eat at MaMaMia's. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a great evening out with fine food and great service!

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We were four people and had three different entrees between us. The kindest description we could give any of them was “adequate.” The waiters were running around in circles - terrible service. The cook/owner might consider focusing more on getting his restaurant together to deliver better food and service than on the silly large screen that live streaming the same ordinary meals being prepared. Won't be back!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 6, 2017

7 of 8 dinners arrived together. The last order was 15 minutes later and after the other dinners had finished their meals. When the Chef was asked what he could do to make it up he suggested that the wait staff be penalized on their tip. Will not be back to this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

What a great place for dinner ! Highly recommend trying this place. You won't regret it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My first time here. Loved it. The food was great and the service was very personable, despite the fact that I was there New Year's eve and the place was packed. I love that they take reservations too and prices are reasonable. So cool that they have a big screen that shows you what is going on in the kitchen. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Disabled Access, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toledo)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Regrettably, a name change is in order from Oh Mama Mia no No Mama Mia. This small strip shop eatery was once a favorite. When our previous plans for the evening fell through, I was surprised at the wide availability of times for dinner here, especially at the height of season in Sarasota. And now I think I understand why.

When we arrived for our reservation, the restaurant was virtually empty of patrons. We ordered and the food was brought in a timely fashion. Both of our meals were substandard. I ordered the veal osso buco and the meat was chewy and tough. The accompanying fettuccini was overcooked and clumped together. My mother ordered the linguini gamberi (her favorite) and the sauce was virtually flavorless. The pasta had not been drained sufficiently and the dish was watery.

When our server finally inquired about the meal, we voiced our disappointment and in short order the chef was tableside apologizing for the poor quality of the meals. He promised to adjust the bill and "only charge for the salads". When the bill arrived in the amount of $28.00, I questioned it and the chef began argue that he had to also charge for the bread and the white table cloth. $28.00 for 2 small side salads?

The tasteless meals were equaled only by the tasteless attitude of the owner.

No Mama Mia.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We had a group of six for dinner so didn't want to complain because it makes others uncomfortable. We had two appetizers for the table - the calamari was tasty and the frittata was good, however they were both fairly expensive for what you got - $12 for maybe 12 slices of calamari in sauce and the frittata was similarly priced. My husband asked for a pasta dish off menu, it came out very bland. My veal dish was tasty, however the vegetable and polenta accompaniments were stone cold. We had a great time with the company, the servers were delightful, but the food ultimately was not a good value and not as tasty as some of the other family owned Italian restaurants that we've been to in Sarasota, similarly priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Food was very good but serving size was a bit skimpy. Homemade pasta and bread, varied menu and great specials. Excellent service, very attentive staff. Fun and active dining experience as the owner and chef is very hands on and you can watch your meal being prepared on screens throughout the restaurant. Only complaint is they serve espresso; no regular coffee is available. We really wanted coffee to go with our delicious cannoli's and don't care for espresso.

Tags: Authentic, Open Kitchen, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Excellent authentic Italian! Service was great and good wine as well. Homemade pasta and the osso bucco was fantastic. House salad was great too. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We were heading up to the Asolo Theater for a show and stopped for pre-theater dinner. Arriving for our early reservation, we were the only patrons in the place. We were a little concerned, but figured what the heck! We didn't make a mistake. While the menu had many of the usual Italian restaurant offerings, there were several unusual and different choices. They all turned out to be delicious! All food was prepared fresh in front of our eyes in their open kitchen. Service was neighborhood friendly and attentive. By the time we headed up for our show, the place was full! I don't know what took us so long to try this restaurant. We'll be back for sure.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Second time there. First was much better. Portions were adequate, but not what you expect from an Italian restaurant. My pasta, requested al dente, was overcooked. Seafood portion was sparce. I believe the owner, who has sold or will soon be selling, is "lame duck" and getting ready to move onto another venture.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Fantastic Food, Fantastic Service. Very enjoyable a little on the priceier side but really good.
Dinner for two with a $20 bottle wine, one appetizer and 20% tip was just under $100

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 23, 2016

This restaurant is a rare find in Sarasota. The Chef owner is The Personality and his menu and food made right in front of you are phenomenal. Italian the way it should be prepared. And his service staff are friendly and competent and make you feel right at home. Just like family. We can't wait to get back again to try another selection. Perhaps next week??

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We always enjoy this special place in an unassuming plaza. Our kids, who are still in Toronto Canada are upset that we went without them!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.