About Oh Mamma Mia!

2324 Gulf Gate Dr
Sarasota, FL 34231
View Larger Map

Authentic contemporaney Italian restaurant. Cooking show every night!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:45pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm, Sunday: Closed, Monday: Private Cooking Classes Only

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 706-2821

Website:
http://ohmammamiarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live cooking show as you dine. See the chef cooking your meal and broadcasted live on a giant screen in a open kitchen atmophere.

Catering:
30% discounts on to go and catering.

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Urbano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Oh Mamma Mia! Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Food
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Service
Tampa / Central Florida West
11 More
Best Value
Tampa / Central Florida West
Fit for Foodies
Tampa / Central Florida West
Neighborhood Gem
Tampa / Central Florida West
Italian
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Overall
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Food
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Service
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Value
Sarasota / Bradenton
Fit for Foodies
Sarasota / Bradenton
Neighborhood Gem
Sarasota / Bradenton
Italian
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Restaurants in Sarasota ›

Neighborhood Gem (16)
Special Occasion (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
See All
Romantic (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
170 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a great experience and meal. My f ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined 4 days ago

Always a great experience and meal. My favorite is

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was very slow. Our waiter wa ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 4 days ago

The service was very slow. Our waiter was sitting talking to two female customers while we waited almost 15 minutes to make his first appearance at our table. They were out of several of the featured wines. No atmosphere will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

One of a kind Italian restaurant. Guise ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

One of a kind Italian restaurant. Guiseppe, the chef/owner is busy watching over the kitchen as well as mingling with his customers. The food was delicious and the neatest part was being able to watch your food being prepared on a big screen. I had Linguine with clams in a olive oil garlic sauce and it was delicious. While we were waiting for our food, we were able to mingle with other customers, which made it feel very quaint. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a wonderful Italian dinner. The ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had a wonderful Italian dinner. The owner/chef helped us choose the perfect wine and entrée.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good experience, very good food, staff a ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Good experience, very good food, staff are very very nice. Service a little slow on the Saturday night that we attended. I like this restaurant and expect to go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Wonderful food and service! Hidden gem i ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful food and service!

Hidden gem in Gukf Gate...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a treat! The food is truly authenti ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

What a treat! The food is truly authentic Italian cuisine. The pride the chef and his staff put into their work and their genuine interactions with customers make Oh Mamma Mia a true Italian experience in Siesta Key.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food thoughtfully conceived by Che ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food thoughtfully conceived by Chef / owner Giuseppe. Great house wine at only $18. Fun and engaging video on the wall of food prep going on in the kitchen. Friendly interaction with Giuseppe who is very engaging. All in all, this is not your ordinary Italian restaurant. It needs to be experienced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Italian. I had the best Osso ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Wonderful Italian. I had the best Osso Bucco I have ever had.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Milano In Sarasota

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

There are so many excellent Resturants in Sarasota, it is difficult to say one is better than another. If you narrow your foodie choice to genuine Italian offerings, prepared by an imported Milano Owner/Chef, then Oh Momma Mia Resturant is the right choice. A sample of Momma Mia's entrees include Unicorn Fish and Veal slaps smothered in a piccata sauce. If you want to expand your appetite outside of Italy, you can go down under and order the lamb chops flown in from Australia. Keep in mind, Oh Momma Mia has a limited number of tables, so reservations are recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Italian!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This was our second time at Oh Momma Mia. We took some friends with us and had a blast. The food was Excellent and the Chief came out and talked to us for a while. We will definitely go back. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have never been disappointed when dining ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Have never been disappointed when dining at Oh Mamma Mia! Guiseppi is so welcoming. EVERYTHING is always delicious! Wines are extremely reasonable. Must have the Tiramasu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Italian restaurant that stands out above others

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

First time visit to Oh Mamma Mia's and it was really good. Food was excellent and the service was also. The chef/owner came out and talked to us a few times and explained how our food was cooked plus we could watch it being cooked because they had cameras in the kitchen and a big screen TV in the dining area. Quite unique feature!

We will go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a wonderful experience for my w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

This was a wonderful experience for my wife's birthday. All of the staff were exceptional and couldn't have been friendlier or more accommodating. They serve the best and most authentic Italian food in all of Sarasota. We felt like we were back in northern Italy. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always A Great Meal

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints. The food is simply delicious. Your host, Guiseppe is absolutely charming. He is personable and truly entertaining. He makes sure to show his customers they are special by visiting each table and chatting with you. I would highly recommend a trip to this Sarasota jewel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was my second time there and the food ...

 
·Dined on May 13, 2016

It was my second time there and the food was great. The wine selection is without doubt beyond extraordinary. He offered a Barbaresco for $45 which would cost more than $200 in any other upscale restaurant. Great ambiance and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome... Giuseppe is the "best". He ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Awesome... Giuseppe is the "best". He is the owner & chef. Goes out of his way to make your night. Everything we ordered was delicious. He will pair the correct wine with every meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We took Italian friends who had never be ...

vip
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We took Italian friends who had never been there and they loved it! The special chosen by one of us was outstanding. We especially enjoy the bread served with oil and seasoned tomatoes and we couldn't resist sharing a slice of limoncello cake. Everyone enjoyed their meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

delicious!

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Dinner was delicious,a reasonable value. Gooooood wine, great service. Will be back,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First visit was great; second visit, just average

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

We've been here once before, about a year ago, and had excellent food and service. We were excited to go back when we came to Sarasota. This time, the service was not as good, and we were disappointed that we could not get the lasagna that we ordered last time and was possibly the best we've ever had (I heard another customer stating that he came for the lasagna too!). The waiter told us that lasagna is a winter dish and not currently on the menu; however, both of our visits were in mid-April, so I'm not sure why the menu changed earlier this year. Overall, our food was good but not remarkable... Definitely recommend going in the "winter" to get the lasagna!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Enjoyable Experience

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Two friends and I ate at O Mamma Mia on a Friday night. The food was very good. One friend had Unicorn fish (had never heard of it before), and found it delicious. I had tortellini in a cream sauce which was creamy and filled with prosciutto and peas and mushrooms. Our third party member had chicken Marsala which was tender and flavorful. The service was very good, and it was enjoyable to see the owner mingle with guests. Definitely a good pplace to go with friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

the chef circulates in the dinning room ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

the chef circulates in the dinning room and engages with dinners

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and service are excellent. Pasta is ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Food and service are excellent. Pasta is homemade and served at the correct portion and temperature. There is a good selection of wines with a nightly recommendation on the table. Deserts are homemade and a nice portion size also. Pricing is very competitive; especially for homemade and locally sourced food. We highly recommend you make reservations and try the restaurant. Guissepe, owner and chef visits every table.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

2nd meal this month. Entrees delicious, salad tasty and fresh. Can watch meals being made on wide screen TV. Chef comes around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Tasty, authentic lasagne mmm

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

5 women, 5 different orders and special requests. Our server was very polite and accommodating, meals were cooked as per requests and all 5 rate the food excellent. Server offered several wines to sample before making a selection. I will be dining at this restaurant on a regular basis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Just O K

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

For several years this was an outstanding place but not anymore. We always made it a must stop when we were in town but now the chef seems to have wondered off to do his cooking shows and the food became mediocre.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Bad Night

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Service very, very slow. Bread came without oil or butter. 2 lasagna meals burned. Other 4 meals ok. Servers and chef could not explain why meal took so long to be served. Wine good and reasonably priced. A server not associated with our table knew we had a bad experience and brought 3 dishes of gelato. Possibly just a bad night, might give another try after eating at all the numerous other Italian restaurants in the Siesta Key area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Good First Impression!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We found Oh Mamma Mia late on a Saturday night. The restaurant was busy but the chef found the time to greet us as soon as we were seated. That was our first good impression. The waitress also greeted us quickly and asked what we would like to drink. She was also very pleasant. We said we would like a glass of wine but were unsure of which one. She quickly appeared with a few open bottles to sample. That was our second good impression. Our third good impression was the bread and tampenade. The service was excellent, the food was very good and we left with a very positive dining experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good Italian restaurant.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Fun watching our meals prepared on a giant monitor & then delivered to our table by the chefs.

Head chef also visited each table, which was nice. A little noisy, but the place was packed & everyone enjoying the evening. Good place to take our out-of-town guests!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, wine, and service!

 
·Dined on February 27, 2016

I was impressed with the abundant service, literally everyone on the staff was attentive to our needs. The food was excellent ( I had the Vitello al Limone or as some would call it Veal Piccatta). I ordered a bottle of the Barbaresco and clearly at $45 it is the best value in town.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Deceiving at first glance

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Have driven by the restaurant many times. Didn't stand out in the strip mall, but tried it anyways.

Wow!! Looks DO deceive!!

Great staff,wine, menu, but the Italian cuisine excelled...

Preparations are on video.

Food is great, breads, soups, salads are fresh.

Owner spoke with everyone-- personable and willing to meet your choices.

Didn't want to leave!!!

A new favorite in a city with many other restaurants!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

WATCHING THE FOOD BEING PREPARED ON A TV ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

WATCHING THE FOOD BEING PREPARED ON A TV SCREEN WAS INTERESTING. GREAT FOOD!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It was a thoroughly good experience. We ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

It was a thoroughly good experience. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Italy comes to Sarasota!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

Our home away from home. Ours guests have been equally delighted abs especially enjoy the live screen of the kitchen and the personal attention of the chef

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was not the 1st time here. Food wa ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

This was not the 1st time here. Food was very taste, but not enough.

Price was to high to the amount of pasta served. Requested the seafood pasta spicy which was perfect except not enough seafood or pasta.

Service was slow and long wait between courses. Overall dispointed on this visit, and most likely we not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Delicious food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Delicious food, authentic Italian. Well done. Great spot. Will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Too little too late

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Very very slow to take our order. They served a 7 year old only 2 tablespoons of pasta. They gave the 5 year old angelhair when the menu said spaghetti. Prices high. Bosciola was the only good meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Excellent food, warm and inviting atmosphere

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We enjoyed the food and hospitality; service was sketchy as server was hard to track down and didn't seem interested in our table.

Those who ordered the day's fish special were pleased as were pasta eaters. Lamb chops came perfectly prepared and our one young diner finished his simple penne with sauce happily. Prices were just right and a nice, inexpensive but good bottle of red was featured and enjoyed.

We will return and try to sit where another server serves.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

This is authentic Italian food prepared ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

This is authentic Italian food prepared by hand! My wife and I have been dining here since they opened a few years ago. It's our favorite place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Will be back

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Although Oh Mamma Mia is fairly close (15 min) to our home we have never tried before. Ironically I have always assumed from the signage that it was a pizza joint. Our waiter was very good and all the staff seems to stay very busy checking on tables. He even came over and told us out food was being prepared and to watch the big screen as it came down the line. We found the big screens entertaining since we do like open kitchen concept that has become quite popular. The crusty bread with bowl of dipping oil, including sliced Roma tomatoes, was very enjoyable. Dinners are served with soup or salad and we both had salad; mixed greens with mozzarella and a balsamic dressing; greens were fresh and not overdressed and limp like field greens sometimes are. Veal Limone and Ossobuco were our entrée selections; the Veal was not the best we have had in Sarasota but the plate was cleaned so I guess that says it was good enough! The Ossobuco was very good and served over fettuccini noodles with plenty of the sauce covering it. The dish was large enough that the most of the pasta went home for a side dish the next evening.

I was interested to see that they open mid afternoon and have a discount for take out orders - that is food for thought for the future. Oh Mamma Mia is for sure in our rotation of dinner out (2-4x per week) and we look forward to a another visit soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.