HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Oh Mamma Mia!

4.5
226 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem (288)
  • Fit for Foodies (247)
  • Special Occasion (133)

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - Authentic contemporaney Italian restaurant. Cooking show every night!
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Wine Bar, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:45pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm, Sunday: Closed, Monday: Private Cooking Classes Only
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(941) 706-2821
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Giuseppe Urbano
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
30% discounts on to go and catering.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live cooking show as you dine. See the chef cooking your meal and broadcasted live on a giant screen in a open kitchen atmophere.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 226 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.5  based on all time ratings
4.5
food
4.4
service
4.1
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
vipilvcobalt (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on May 25, 2017

We will miss this restaurant! Always a pleasure and the food is truly authentic. Try and visit before mid June for a memorable dining experience.

Report
Helpful
vipmonica (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on May 6, 2017

They are closing down soon...and the limited menu confirms it. My dish was good, but there also won't make substitutions.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (San Francisco)
5.0  Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent food and service Local eatery. Easy to get to. So very sad owner is closing end of May. Go while you can!

Report
Helpful
Radiovox (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on April 22, 2017

Great wine and dinner, as always. It became "our place" several years ago.

Report
Helpful
vipGreggF (Tampa)
2.0  Dined on April 21, 2017

Restaurant is closing in June and nobody is even trying anymore. NO wine list - your choices are "red" or "white".
Waiter disappeared for long periods of time and was very unfriendly. Used to be one of our favorites but don't waste your time and money. VERY disappointing!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Atlanta)
5.0  Dined on March 22, 2017

Unfortunately Giuseppe is closing his place on May 30 and moving back to Bologna Italy where he will be opening a similar restaurant. This is a HUGE loss to Siesta Key and South Sarasota.
We will truly miss our annual trek from Atlanta to dine at this authentic Italian Gem.

Report
Helpful
BandC (Tampa)
4.0  Dined on March 18, 2017

This is one of our favorite and often visited restaurants. My ossobuco was superb. My wife had Veal Milanese. On this occasion, the veal was a bit thicker than one might usually expect for this dish. So it wasn't quite as tender as it normally is.

No reason not to go back!

Report
Helpful
vipLocalLady (Tampa)
1.0  Dined on March 11, 2017

VERY POOR! We had been there before twice. Once was nice. Once was awful. This time was beyond awful. The food ranged from okay to not good. The service was sub-par. Then we found out that the restaurant is closing soon. Our interpretation is that they just don't care anymore. Sad. My recommendation: go somewhere else. Café Baci is a good choice.

Report
Helpful
Charlie (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on March 4, 2017

It's a shame this great place will likely be closing around Memorial Day. The food was very good. The service was wonderful. The chef spent about 20 minutes with us when the kitchen slowed down. He explained the origins of the wine we had finally selected. Overall it was a great night out for all of us.

Report
Helpful
Normal (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent meal and very friendly staff. Selection of entrees was very good.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on March 3, 2017

Chief is truly amazing, with unique offerings. NOT your typical Italian restaurant.

Report
Helpful
vipsholshky (New York Area)
4.0  Dined on March 3, 2017

This is a fun restaurant to go to as you watch the chef cooking on a big screen. The food was very good and the service was excellent. The chef comes out to make sure everything is to your liking. The Sacchetti pasta with a butter sage sauce was delicious as well as the Fettucicine Emilian which had chopped meat and peas in a great sauce. The pollo Gorgonzola was also a hit with one of our friends. Reasonable bottles of wine as well.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on February 25, 2017

absolutely wonderful; meal was great, sommelier advice excellent. we are so disappointed that Giuseppe plans to close in May/June, largely because of a lease issue. The landlord must be nuts not to renew the lease at a very favorable rate in view of the excellent business taking place there. Too bad we lose a gem.

Report
Helpful
Bobwinesnob (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on February 22, 2017

We always enjoy eating dinner at this great restaurant. We have friends visiting from up north and their first suggestion is to go to dinner here! Can't disagree!

Report
Helpful
Hilltop83 (Chicago)
2.0  Dined on February 18, 2017

Odd little place. We had an early reservation and were the first to arrive at the restaurant that had been open for an hour. Although only a third of our party had arrived and were seated, we were immediately accosted by a server who tried to push a certain type of wine at us and insisted on telling us the specials even though I had asked him to wait until the entire table had arrived. Next we were accosted by the sommelier who again tried to push his latest wine purchase on us, even though none of us had decided on our meals and most of our party was still not seated. Despite repeated requests, they would not wait until the other had arrived.
When everyone arrived, we quickly found that there was no liquor (which was not disclosed in the listing) and was a problem for a couple of our group who do not drink wine/beer. But we forged on.
Next, we requested bread with no garlic for my elderly father and were told none was available as the new bread they serve (again, not what is on the menu) has the garlic infused throughout.
The menu appears to be only a fraction of what is listed in Open Table as the dinner menu, which was disappointing.
3 members of our group ordered the Veal Marsala. They all agreed it was bad--tough and generally tasteless. One ordered chicken, which was deemed to be ok. The rest ordered pasta. The Linguini with white clam sauce was excellent, the tortellini with proscuitto, peas and mushrooms was very good (but cold), the cheese gnocchi was very good.
In fairness, once they got busier, they were far less pushy. The chef even came out to say hello. There seemed to be regulars that they greeted with recognition, which is always nice.
I MIGHT be tempted to try again as the pasta was good, but I would be uncomfortable recommending because of the pushiness of the staff and the disappointment with the veal. I would want to see the wine list, not be forced to take the bottle that was put on the table before anyone arrived.

Report
Helpful
vipjanjomi (Atlantic City)
4.0  Dined on February 16, 2017

Oh Mamma Mia is one of our favorite restaurants, we come here whenever we are in town.

Report
Helpful
vipJazzyChazz (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on February 14, 2017

Our party of 10 felt like the most important dinner but seems all the other customers were feeling the same way! The service was warm friendly and excellent! The chef/owner even stopped to check in us. Didn't see food on any plates that were cleared from our table.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2017

Excellent. We love this restaurant and always find something different to try and enjoy. We have been eating there for years and have never been disappointed. The owner is a wonderful Chef and runs a terrific eatery. His staff are delightful and it feels as though everyone is family.

Report
Helpful
Brodie (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on February 10, 2017

Absolutely love this small intimate restaurant. The food is delicious and the staff wonderful!

Report
Helpful
Laddiedog (New England)
5.0  Dined on February 4, 2017

One of only 2 authentic Italian chefs in Sarasota & they're moving next year to the Midwest where there's a bigger yr-round population & fewer authentic Italian restaurants. The only other one here is La Scarpetta.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on January 31, 2017

Chef Giuseppe is the best. His love of cooking is shown with his delicious meals. All homemade and all so good. We always come back here when we're here on vacation. Told many family and friends about this place and now they its their favorite as well. It's a gem!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on January 26, 2017

Excellent experience and food. can't wait to return

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on January 24, 2017

It's all about the food!
Great value for an excellent meal and the wine is very good/ reasonable

Report
Helpful
Radiovox (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on January 21, 2017

Had a table for 6 to enjoy a night of food and wine with friends. It was the first visit for two of them. The wine selections from Chef G were perfect and the dinner was excellent. Thanks again, Chef for another wonderful evening.

Report
Helpful
vipNancyNurse (Pittsburgh)
5.0  Dined on January 14, 2017

Love this place and we will continue to consider as "destination dining". All of the staff are friendly and accommodating. Unicorn fish was amazing.

Report
Helpful
Karenn (Chicago)
5.0  Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food and chef. Enjoyed the variety and personal service.

Report
Helpful
Bobwinesnob (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on January 13, 2017

The chef takes his job very seriously and as a results creates excellent Italian meals. It is always a pleasure to eat at MaMaMia's. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a great evening out with fine food and great service!

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
1.0  Dined on January 7, 2017

We were four people and had three different entrees between us. The kindest description we could give any of them was “adequate.” The waiters were running around in circles - terrible service. The cook/owner might consider focusing more on getting his restaurant together to deliver better food and service than on the silly large screen that live streaming the same ordinary meals being prepared. Won't be back!

Report
Helpful
vipPatriciaF (Tampa)
2.0  Dined on January 6, 2017

7 of 8 dinners arrived together. The last order was 15 minutes later and after the other dinners had finished their meals. When the Chef was asked what he could do to make it up he suggested that the wait staff be penalized on their tip. Will not be back to this establishment.

Report
Helpful
JoeG (Tampa)
5.0  Dined on December 31, 2016

What a great place for dinner ! Highly recommend trying this place. You won't regret it

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8