About Oh Mamma Mia!

2324 Gulf Gate Dr
Sarasota, FL 34231
View Larger Map

Authentic contemporaney Italian restaurant. Cooking show every night!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4:45pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 9:30pm, Sunday: Closed, Monday: Private Cooking Classes Only

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 706-2821

Website:
http://ohmammamiarestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Live cooking show as you dine. See the chef cooking your meal and broadcasted live on a giant screen in a open kitchen atmophere.

Catering:
30% discounts on to go and catering.

Executive Chef:
Giuseppe Urbano

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Oh Mamma Mia! Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Sarasota / Bradenton
Neighborhood Gem
Sarasota / Bradenton
Italian
Sarasota / Bradenton
Best Restaurants in Sarasota ›

Neighborhood Gem (9)
Authentic (9)
Casual (7)
See All
Open Kitchen (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Cozy (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Romantic (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Fun (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Business Meals (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
185 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Second time there. First was much bette ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Second time there. First was much better. Portions were adequate, but not what you expect from an Italian restaurant. My pasta, requested al dente, was overcooked. Seafood portion was sparce. I believe the owner, who has sold or will soon be selling, is "lame duck" and getting ready to move onto another venture.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Fantastic Food, Fantastic Service. Very ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Fantastic Food, Fantastic Service. Very enjoyable a little on the priceier side but really good.

Dinner for two with a $20 bottle wine, one appetizer and 20% tip was just under $100

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is a rare find in Saraso ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 23, 2016

This restaurant is a rare find in Sarasota. The Chef owner is The Personality and his menu and food made right in front of you are phenomenal. Italian the way it should be prepared. And his service staff are friendly and competent and make you feel right at home. Just like family. We can't wait to get back again to try another selection. Perhaps next week??

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy this special place in an ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We always enjoy this special place in an unassuming plaza. Our kids, who are still in Toronto Canada are upset that we went without them!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place !!!! Will be back as oft ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Love this place !!!! Will be back as often as we can!!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome! Chef is very attentive and make ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Awesome! Chef is very attentive and makes sure you are happy. He is willing to talk about food ideas and very creative.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always wanted to try this place. After ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Always wanted to try this place. After making the reservation, my wife signed up for a "birthday club" and then received an email offer for first-time diners that said "25% off your total bill". The food and service was fine, and the prices reasonable. However - our server told us that the gratuity was "included" as part of the prices on the menu- that was completely untrue. Then, when we presented the coupon, the bill that came back reduced only my wife's meal by 25%. When we questioned this, the 'chef/owner' came over and proceeded to loudly and insultingly tell us that coupon wording means YOUR bill - not your entire table's bill! We were annoyed by this and told him so. Eventually, he reduced our bill, but was cleary angry at us. As we were leaving, I inqured at the front desk about a carryout menu. The chef followed us out of the restaurant and screamed at us, "You are banned from ever coming back here!" Completely unreasonable and highly unprofessional. As I said, the food was okay, but given the incredibly rude behavior of the owner (all other staff were actually quite okay) I will NEVER retrun, and I wil tell anyone who asks me that it simply isn't worth goign here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

The food and service is only surpassed ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food and service is only surpassed by the outstanding owner/chef who enhances the dining experience with his welcoming and lively conversation. He makes one feel as if one has entered an old friend's home.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've never been disappointed while dini ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We've never been disappointed while dining at Oh Mamma Mia. Food is always fresh, and service is always attentive. We also love Chef's sense of humor! One of our favorite restaurants in Sarasota!

Tags: Family Style, Seasonal, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Private Room, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You accepted our reservation but they we ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on September 29, 2016

You accepted our reservation but they were closed from Monday to Wednesday until October 1st (and therefore closed when we had our reservation). You need to work on not allowing that to happen as we had to find a backup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Our experience did not live up to the gl ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Our experience did not live up to the glowing reviews. We were quite surprised. Our server was very pleasant but the food was quite disappointing - especially the shrimp which did not taste like it was ok to eat. I am a picky eater but my husband is not and he agreed. We would not return nor recommend this restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

The restaurant really was not much to lo ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The restaurant really was not much to look at, located in a strip mall, not very impressive. However, the service was OUTSTANDING!!! The FOOD DELICIOUS, in every way possible. Friendly staff, we were most definitely very pleasantly surprised. A real neighbor hood gem!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was fabulous and the service wa ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was fabulous and the service was excellent. The air conditioning was having some issues but it did cool the restaurant down after 30 minutes or so. I would highly recommend this restaurant and I will be returning soon!

Tags: Authentic, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Anything but what the typical strip-mall ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Anything but what the typical strip-mall Italian eatery location would portend. Really good and creative options and flexible about substitutions (even if not on the menu). Affable, attentive service. Fairly economical to boot. A definite do over and a lot closer than Arthur Avenue in the Bronx.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Our third visit to Mamma Mia. First sinc ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our third visit to Mamma Mia. First since the expansion . Took some Italian friends there . Food was outstanding . The sauce was to die for . The expansion was classy and we were impressed by the positive addition.

The staffing that particular night was insufficient . If this was more than a one time issue they should increase the staffing . When the snowbirds get here it will really show.

Steve

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Always a great experience and meal. My f ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Always a great experience and meal. My favorite is

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was very slow. Our waiter wa ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The service was very slow. Our waiter was sitting talking to two female customers while we waited almost 15 minutes to make his first appearance at our table. They were out of several of the featured wines. No atmosphere will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

One of a kind Italian restaurant. Guise ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 27, 2016

One of a kind Italian restaurant. Guiseppe, the chef/owner is busy watching over the kitchen as well as mingling with his customers. The food was delicious and the neatest part was being able to watch your food being prepared on a big screen. I had Linguine with clams in a olive oil garlic sauce and it was delicious. While we were waiting for our food, we were able to mingle with other customers, which made it feel very quaint. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a wonderful Italian dinner. The ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had a wonderful Italian dinner. The owner/chef helped us choose the perfect wine and entrée.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good experience, very good food, staff a ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Good experience, very good food, staff are very very nice. Service a little slow on the Saturday night that we attended. I like this restaurant and expect to go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Wonderful food and service! Hidden gem i ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Wonderful food and service!

Hidden gem in Gukf Gate...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a treat! The food is truly authenti ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 23, 2016

What a treat! The food is truly authentic Italian cuisine. The pride the chef and his staff put into their work and their genuine interactions with customers make Oh Mamma Mia a true Italian experience in Siesta Key.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food thoughtfully conceived by Che ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food thoughtfully conceived by Chef / owner Giuseppe. Great house wine at only $18. Fun and engaging video on the wall of food prep going on in the kitchen. Friendly interaction with Giuseppe who is very engaging. All in all, this is not your ordinary Italian restaurant. It needs to be experienced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Italian. I had the best Osso ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Wonderful Italian. I had the best Osso Bucco I have ever had.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Milano In Sarasota

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 31, 2016

There are so many excellent Resturants in Sarasota, it is difficult to say one is better than another. If you narrow your foodie choice to genuine Italian offerings, prepared by an imported Milano Owner/Chef, then Oh Momma Mia Resturant is the right choice. A sample of Momma Mia's entrees include Unicorn Fish and Veal slaps smothered in a piccata sauce. If you want to expand your appetite outside of Italy, you can go down under and order the lamb chops flown in from Australia. Keep in mind, Oh Momma Mia has a limited number of tables, so reservations are recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Italian!

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 28, 2016

This was our second time at Oh Momma Mia. We took some friends with us and had a blast. The food was Excellent and the Chief came out and talked to us for a while. We will definitely go back. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have never been disappointed when dining ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 25, 2016

Have never been disappointed when dining at Oh Mamma Mia! Guiseppi is so welcoming. EVERYTHING is always delicious! Wines are extremely reasonable. Must have the Tiramasu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Italian restaurant that stands out above others

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 18, 2016

First time visit to Oh Mamma Mia's and it was really good. Food was excellent and the service was also. The chef/owner came out and talked to us a few times and explained how our food was cooked plus we could watch it being cooked because they had cameras in the kitchen and a big screen TV in the dining area. Quite unique feature!

We will go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a wonderful experience for my w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2016

This was a wonderful experience for my wife's birthday. All of the staff were exceptional and couldn't have been friendlier or more accommodating. They serve the best and most authentic Italian food in all of Sarasota. We felt like we were back in northern Italy. Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always A Great Meal

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 17, 2016

This restaurant never disappoints. The food is simply delicious. Your host, Guiseppe is absolutely charming. He is personable and truly entertaining. He makes sure to show his customers they are special by visiting each table and chatting with you. I would highly recommend a trip to this Sarasota jewel.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was my second time there and the food ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 13, 2016

It was my second time there and the food was great. The wine selection is without doubt beyond extraordinary. He offered a Barbaresco for $45 which would cost more than $200 in any other upscale restaurant. Great ambiance and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome... Giuseppe is the "best". He ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2016

Awesome... Giuseppe is the "best". He is the owner & chef. Goes out of his way to make your night. Everything we ordered was delicious. He will pair the correct wine with every meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We took Italian friends who had never be ...

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on April 28, 2016

We took Italian friends who had never been there and they loved it! The special chosen by one of us was outstanding. We especially enjoy the bread served with oil and seasoned tomatoes and we couldn't resist sharing a slice of limoncello cake. Everyone enjoyed their meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

delicious!

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Dinner was delicious,a reasonable value. Gooooood wine, great service. Will be back,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First visit was great; second visit, just average

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 15, 2016

We've been here once before, about a year ago, and had excellent food and service. We were excited to go back when we came to Sarasota. This time, the service was not as good, and we were disappointed that we could not get the lasagna that we ordered last time and was possibly the best we've ever had (I heard another customer stating that he came for the lasagna too!). The waiter told us that lasagna is a winter dish and not currently on the menu; however, both of our visits were in mid-April, so I'm not sure why the menu changed earlier this year. Overall, our food was good but not remarkable... Definitely recommend going in the "winter" to get the lasagna!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Enjoyable Experience

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 8, 2016

Two friends and I ate at O Mamma Mia on a Friday night. The food was very good. One friend had Unicorn fish (had never heard of it before), and found it delicious. I had tortellini in a cream sauce which was creamy and filled with prosciutto and peas and mushrooms. Our third party member had chicken Marsala which was tender and flavorful. The service was very good, and it was enjoyable to see the owner mingle with guests. Definitely a good pplace to go with friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

the chef circulates in the dinning room ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 30, 2016

the chef circulates in the dinning room and engages with dinners

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Food and service are excellent. Pasta is ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Food and service are excellent. Pasta is homemade and served at the correct portion and temperature. There is a good selection of wines with a nightly recommendation on the table. Deserts are homemade and a nice portion size also. Pricing is very competitive; especially for homemade and locally sourced food. We highly recommend you make reservations and try the restaurant. Guissepe, owner and chef visits every table.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2016

2nd meal this month. Entrees delicious, salad tasty and fresh. Can watch meals being made on wide screen TV. Chef comes around.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Tasty, authentic lasagne mmm

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 8, 2016

5 women, 5 different orders and special requests. Our server was very polite and accommodating, meals were cooked as per requests and all 5 rate the food excellent. Server offered several wines to sample before making a selection. I will be dining at this restaurant on a regular basis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.