Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 2 times today

Ocha Asia sushi cuisine

4.4
55 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Sushi
Ocha is the best Japanese Cuisine in Caldwell, NJ. Begin your voyage with our diverse food destinations, offering a wide variety of different choices. You can simply select your choices of meats, seafood and vegetables and watch the chef create your fresh and succulent dish, right before your eyes. Our food quality, friendly service and cleanliness will exceed your expectations. We look forward to serving you. Reserve a table today!
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Sushi, Asian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(973) 228-8856
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Gould Pl.
Additional
BYO Liquor, Delivery, Takeout
What 55 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.1
service
4.2
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
50% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The service was very slow last night. My waitress did not bring plates when giving us appetizers. And other issues. Disappointing because I brought a new family member who had never been there before. We left the restaurant but it did not live up to expectations last night

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Was very excited to try this place after reading wonderful reviews but I was sorely disappointed.
Service was poor but the sushi was worse.
We ordered 3 specialty rolls and they were lacking any pizzazz. Aside from the spice, there was no flavor in the fish. One roll was supposed to have tobiko and it was hardly visible. Fish did not taste fresh.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2018

The restaurant was not busy due to a snowstorm. A lot of servers were gathered around the sushi bar while one seemed to be handling all the tables (about 5, including one large party). She really rushed us...Food came out quickly, and as soon as you had the last bite of food in your mouth your dish was snatched away. Not friendly service at all. For sushi rolls, if you like spicy and saucy, you will like it. If you like traditional sushi (without mayo!) this is not your sushi place -- or at least the special rolls will not appeal. That said, everyone enjoyed what they ordered, and it is certainly possible to order traditional sushi and sashimi.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Very good sushi and seaweed salad.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Finally get out on a date night without the kids. It is Saturday night. The restaurant was not full. I felt rushed the whole time. She kept coming over to us every few seconds to see what she could take away first off she brought the soup and the salad at the same time and put it on the farther end of the table instead of in front of us. I’m still eating she wants to take away my soup. The food was mediocre at best. Not much flavor to hibachi. Shashimi was ok. We were in and out in 25-30 minutes for three courses. On a Saturday night you want to relax and dine, not feel rushed and shovel down food. Won’t go back

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Bought the Love Boat, delicious sushi! Super worth it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2018

Great spot for date night. BYOB so keeps the cost down. Sushi was great and hibachi can compare to higher end locations.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 3, 2017

We found this restaurant thru AARP. We went on line and looked at their reviews. The very first review should have scared us off ! We read on and the reviews improved a little. Overall, people raved about the freshness of the sushi but complained about the service of the wait staff.
We indicated on our opentable reservation that our attendance was in honor of our 22nd wedding anniversary.
We were treated with indifference. The waitress questioned whether we resided in the area as she had never "seen us before". We assumed she was not used to seeing much less serving African Americans. Once our food was served, she never came back to ask if everything was alright or if we needed anything.
At the end of our meal before clearing the table, she slapped the bill down and scurried off. There was no offering of a desert menu, coffee, tea or any acknowledgment of our anniversary.
Due to our experience, we would not ever go back to this place nor could we in good conscience recommend this restaurant to any of our friends and family.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 25, 2017

Not impressed with the food or the service, will not be returning or suggesting the restaurant to anyone. The waitress couldn't tell me what was in the meals. The food was not good. My husband got the steak and lobster hibatchi and the steak was chewy. Overall very mediocre.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 2, 2017

Wide variety menu. Tasty. Clean. Not too saucy. Nice place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 30, 2017

Delicious sushi. I'll definitely be back. The spicy tuna was very fresh.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2017

We love Ocha.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 26, 2017

My best friend and I went for dinner. The food and ambiance were great but the service was subpar. The waitresses kept rushing us and the restaurant was not even packed or busy enough for that. Other than that, we would definitely recommend it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Ocha is the best! Don't go anywhere else for sushi or else you will be disappointed. Also my husband loves the Chilean seabass and swears that it's the best one he has ever had.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2017

The food is always fresh, well-prepared and tasty. We've brought several friends here and they have also enjoyed the food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2017

We went for Valentine's Day so it was very busy but we had a nice booth and the rolls were excellent! we brought our own wine so we didn't mind slower service on such a busy night .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2017

This is my go-to place any day of the week. I have been to a dozen of sushi places around the area and in NYC, but nothing holds a candle to Ocha. The service is impeccable, the decor is trendy, and the sushi is the most fresh tasting that I have ever had. On top of it, the owner Joyce is super friendly, always a pleasure to see, and treats my husband and I like gold. Simply put, Ocha is the BEST!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2017

The food was outstanding. The sushi was extremely fresh. Highly recommend. BYOB.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

Ocha is as good as it gets! Everything about the food, service, ambience is absolutely amazing and makes it the perfect choice for any occasion. It's always a guaranteed great time, plus it's byob!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 31, 2016

The food has always been good; however, this is the second time I have been at this restaurant where we felt rushed to order. Both times the waitresses asked if we were ready to order numerous times within the first 5 minutes of sitting down. Not sure if they realize how rude this is.....it's a turn off.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2016

The sushi and food was very good.
The staff was polite and very friendly towards my family, especially my two year old son.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 23, 2016

Some of the best sushi I've had. Don't miss the sushi tuna pizza - to die for! Their Asian fusion dishes are also very good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2016

This is a good place to come to if your're into good rolls and a nice BYO crowd. They don't really have amazing sushi, but their cooked food is good as are the rolls.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 26, 2016

Loved the selection and uniqueness of the rolls. I highly recommend the one with jalepeno's in it. I did not flip out over the sushi pizza, as many people had mentioned in their reviews. It was not as flavorful as the rolls. The fact that it's a BYOB makes it a great value.

I will warn you. The town has a parking trap set up around the area. You cannot park after 9pm on the streets, and the signs stating this are limited. All up the block cars had tickets. So I would imagine they make thousands off unsuspecting customers who attend this place the bar next to it.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2016

Extremely fresh and great variety of sushi rolls. Service was a bit slow, but that was probably a result of the restaurant being packed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 19, 2016

Fast service, good food, BYOB aways a plus, street parking. Good atmosphere

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 29, 2016

We go to Ocha several times a year to eat in the restaurant as opposed to getting take out from them. It is a lively spot, good service and nice atmosphere. We like the BYOB aspect, the rolls are all delicious and the appy's are too. Love the Sushi Pizza with Salmon or Tuna as an appy, it is a great starter.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 17, 2016

Even though the location and ambiance doesn't say much, the service and food are pretty good. The soups are huge as are the salads, and the rolls are a little small but very tasty.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 6, 2016

Very good sushi, the rest just okay. It was very cold inside and very very dead. Staff was not that warm .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 7, 2015

I cannot wait to return. Service very good and the food was delicious

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 25, 2015

This is a must-visit place if you love sushi - very nice decor, and, in my opinion, the best sushi in the area. Many interesting and creative selections!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 20, 2015

I have been to numerous sushi restaurants and this one is consistently good for food, service and clean atmosphere. I usually get a few specialty rolls and I really like the avocado salad. The staff is friendly and the booths are a nice size for 4 people.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 18, 2015

Food is great but service is horrible. Sat for 30 minutes before anyone took our order.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 3, 2015

My Family and I went to Ocha Asia for the first time. We were "blown away" by the quality, freshness and presentation of the sushi, sashimi and rolls. It felt like we had been transported to Japan, with small, bite-sized pieces served rather than the American-sized sushi that is way too big, chewy and a mouthful to say the least. Definitely one of the best sushi restaurants in the NJ / NY area. Don't miss it! The Sushi Pizza is also noteworthy. Make sure to try it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 21, 2015

We visited Ocha Asia for Father's Day after reading all the favorable reviews. The food was really good. Great variety of sushi and other Asian food. But, our server seemed uninterested-almost angry-in taking care of us. We were only 3 and decided pretty quickly but she disappeared for a while. At the end of the meal, she slapped the check down on the table as she was walking away. No "thank you, " or other pleasantries. It made us uncomfortable, as if we had impossed on her. Wish the service had been better!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2015

Best sushi in area. Interesting rolls and delicious sushi pizza.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 5, 2015

Best sushi around. Always great quality, nice service and a lovely atmosphere. A repeat customer!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2015

Loved the place
Food is awesome
The waitress was extremely pleasant
BYOB always a pleasure

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 27, 2015

Have eaten here several times. Great menu, creative rolls, excellent quality.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 13, 2015

I went here on the recommendation of a friend. Nothing that we tried was close to good. Spicy tuna dumplings were not spicy, and just not cooked- in fact they were still crunchy. Rolls had not so fresh fish on them.

This is a well priced restaurant for the non knowledgeable sushi goer. If you know anything about sushi at all, you'll like it just as much as we did. Not at all!

Report
Helpful
1
2