About Ocha Asia sushi cuisine

403 Bloomfield Avenue
Caldwell, NJ 07006
View Larger Map

Ocha is the best Japanese Cuisine in Caldwell, NJ. Begin your voyage with our diverse food destinations, offering a wide variety of different choices. You can simply select your choices of meats, seafood and vegetables and watch the chef create your fresh and succulent dish, right before your eyes. Our food quality, friendly service and cleanliness will exceed your expectations. We look forward to serving you. Reserve a table today!

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Asian

Hours of Operation:


Lunch:
Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 3:00pm

Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:30pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Gould Pl.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(973) 228-8856

Website:
http://ochanj.com/

Additional:
BYO Liquor, Delivery, Takeout

Ocha Asia sushi cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (6)
neighborhood gem (4)
great for lunch (2)
See All
romantic (2)
good for groups (2)
special occasion (1)
Sort By:
Newest
33 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a good place to come to if your' ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

This is a good place to come to if your're into good rolls and a nice BYO crowd. They don't really have amazing sushi, but their cooked food is good as are the rolls.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Sushi

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Loved the selection and uniqueness of the rolls. I highly recommend the one with jalepeno's in it. I did not flip out over the sushi pizza, as many people had mentioned in their reviews. It was not as flavorful as the rolls. The fact that it's a BYOB makes it a great value. I will warn you. The town has a parking trap set up around the area. You cannot park after 9pm on the streets, and the signs stating this are limited. All up the block cars had tickets. So I would imagine they make thousands off unsuspecting customers who attend this place the bar next to it.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Best sushi in the area

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Extremely fresh and great variety of sushi rolls. Service was a bit slow, but that was probably a result of the restaurant being packed.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Fast service, good food, BYOB aways a pl ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Fast service, good food, BYOB aways a plus, street parking. Good atmosphere

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ocha Sushi Rocks

vip
Dined on January 29, 2016

We go to Ocha several times a year to eat in the restaurant as opposed to getting take out from them. It is a lively spot, good service and nice atmosphere. We like the BYOB aspect, the rolls are all delicious and the appy's are too. Love the Sushi Pizza with Salmon or Tuna as an appy, it is a great starter.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Visiting

Dined on January 17, 2016

Even though the location and ambiance doesn't say much, the service and food are pretty good. The soups are huge as are the salads, and the rolls are a little small but very tasty.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Very good Sushi

Dined on January 6, 2016

Very good sushi, the rest just okay. It was very cold inside and very very dead. Staff was not that warm .

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Very delicious

vip
Dined on November 8, 2015

I cannot wait to return. Service very good and the food was delicious

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious and creative Sushi!

vip
Dined on September 25, 2015

This is a must-visit place if you love sushi - very nice decor, and, in my opinion, the best sushi in the area. Many interesting and creative selections!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Consistently good sushi

vip
Dined on September 20, 2015

I have been to numerous sushi restaurants and this one is consistently good for food, service and clean atmosphere. I usually get a few specialty rolls and I really like the avocado salad. The staff is friendly and the booths are a nice size for 4 people.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service1

Food is great but service is horrible. ...

Dined on September 18, 2015

Food is great but service is horrible. Sat for 30 minutes before anyone took our order.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent Sushi and Pan-Asian Cuisine

vip
Dined on August 4, 2015

My Family and I went to Ocha Asia for the first time. We were "blown away" by the quality, freshness and presentation of the sushi, sashimi and rolls. It felt like we had been transported to Japan, with small, bite-sized pieces served rather than the American-sized sushi that is way too big, chewy and a mouthful to say the least. Definitely one of the best sushi restaurants in the NJ / NY area. Don't miss it! The Sushi Pizza is also noteworthy. Make sure to try it!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2

Great food, unpleasant service

vip
Dined on June 21, 2015

We visited Ocha Asia for Father's Day after reading all the favorable reviews. The food was really good. Great variety of sushi and other Asian food. But, our server seemed uninterested-almost angry-in taking care of us. We were only 3 and decided pretty quickly but she disappeared for a while. At the end of the meal, she slapped the check down on the table as she was walking away. No "thank you, " or other pleasantries. It made us uncomfortable, as if we had impossed on her. Wish the service had been better!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service3

Best sushi pizza!

Dined on May 10, 2015

Best sushi in area. Interesting rolls and delicious sushi pizza.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Best sushi around. Always great quality, ...

vip
Dined on April 5, 2015

Best sushi around. Always great quality, nice service and a lovely atmosphere. A repeat customer!

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food

Dined on March 5, 2015

Loved the place Food is awesome The waitress was extremely pleasant BYOB always a pleasure

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Best local sushi spot

vip
Dined on February 28, 2015

Have eaten here several times. Great menu, creative rolls, excellent quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service4

Just not good

vip
Dined on February 14, 2015

I went here on the recommendation of a friend. Nothing that we tried was close to good. Spicy tuna dumplings were not spicy, and just not cooked- in fact they were still crunchy. Rolls had not so fresh fish on them. This is a well priced restaurant for the non knowledgeable sushi goer. If you know anything about sushi at all, you'll like it just as much as we did. Not at all!

food5
ambience4
service5

Best Sushi around. Consistent every time ...

Dined on February 8, 2015

Best Sushi around. Consistent every time. Can't go wrong with anything on the menu. And very friendly staff.

food5
ambience5
service5

The best sushi in town!

vip
Dined on December 28, 2014

Ocha by far is a gem! It's the best sushi in town and I can assure you that absolutely nothing compares. Ocha has such a great ambiance as they recently rennovated to give you the feel of a New York City restaurant. Their seafood and sushi is always fresh and their rolls are pretty big in size compared to other sushi places I have been to. I always order their special rolls and no matter what I ate, I always loved it. The service is fantastic, the owners are super nice and the place is always spotless! Overall it's my favorite place to eat! Everytime my husband and I try to venture out to a new restaurant for differnt varieties of food, we always end up back at Ocha.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome as always

vip
Dined on October 23, 2014

Food and service never disappoint! Everyone in our large party enjoyed their choices!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite sushi restaurant

Dined on October 4, 2014

Delicious sushi and very friendly and welcoming staff. We celebrated our daughter's birthday here and we all devoured the food.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Great Food

Dined on September 27, 2014

Definitely a 4 star place for us. The food was really excellent. We had some hot dishes and sushi and rolls as well. All were excellent. We did come here a but early on a weekend (6:30pm) and the food simply came out too quickly. The service is friendly but they obviously lack the skills to pace our food. It seemed like a family with no prior food service experience. But that's not a bad thing necessarily. They were super attentive. It just happened too fast for us. We will definitely be back.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Fantastic Sushi

vip
Dined on September 27, 2014

Here are a couple of great sushi chefs. Of course they start with fresh, quality fish, but also have a few unique menu items. The rolls are innovative, yet not complicated, which is the best combination. They still let the fish be the star. I've been to some places lately where the fish is almost nonexistent and drenched in multiple sauces. The rolls are a nice balance here. I even tipped the chef from a table. Haven't done that in years!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

food is yummy. fresh and delicious. va ...

Dined on September 6, 2014

food is yummy. fresh and delicious. varied menu. xxxxxxxxx

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

Great Sushi

Dined on August 30, 2014

Excellent sushi, nice atmosphere, appetizers were amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Best sushi

Dined on August 17, 2014

Amazing sushi! Very extensive menu with great roll combinations.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Ocha Rocks

vip
Dined on March 21, 2014

We love to go to Ocha, especially since they expanded the restaurant and the menu. Everyone needs to have a Sushi Pizza to start, with tuna or salmon, it is one of our favorite things on the menu. The larger dining room has improved the ambience and gives the feel of a more upscale spot.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Cool room Interesting sushi Rolls

vip
Dined on February 23, 2014

Cool room Interesting sushi Rolls are perhaps too unique

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3

The food at Ocha is consistently

Dined on December 7, 2013

The food at Ocha is consistently excellent. Sushi is always fresh. Huge menu with tons of options. The sushi pizza and ceviche a must.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Yummy and fresh!

Dined on November 10, 2013

The food was really tasty and fresh. The service was fast and the servers were very pleasant and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find
food4
ambience3
service3

solid sushi

Dined on November 10, 2013

The stuff was good. Nice combo pieces, creative menu. Yellowtail with jalapeƱo was excellent appetizer. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service1

Short handed

vip
Dined on November 3, 2013

We went to ocha on local recommendation. Menu was hard to follow we sat alone in the back and the service as very slow. Almost like they were short handed. Won't rush to go back but if you like the whole sushi waiting experience. Y all means.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.