About Oceano Bistro - Clayton

44 N. Brentwood
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

Welcome to Oceano Bistro, St. Louis premiere fresh fish bistro. Our chefs, in partnerships with fishermen, farmers, and food artisans have searched the world's seas to bring the St. Louis area what is enjoyed by those who are living on the coast. We then pair it innovative and exciting fresh local producers and flavor combinations certain to dazzle every discerning palate at prices that are a great value for a great catch.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm; Weekend Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Maryland Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 721-9400

Website:
http://oceanobistro.com/

Catering:
Oceano Bistro is also proud to offer a wide variety of catering options. Our expert chefs will prepare anything from a boxed lunch for 2 to a full service dinner complete with wait staff. You enjoy the party, we do the work. Please feel free to browse our extensive menus consisting of boxed lunches, themed buffet, and amazing plated dinners. More of our menus are available on our website, oceanobistro.com, and will be happy to make your next catered event an amazing success

Parking Details:
Parking lot and garage available, on street parking, and on weekends valet is offered

Executive Chef:
Jon Lowe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

New England Seafood Chowder - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Blackened Bigeye Tuna - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Hamachi-Avocado Ceviche - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Shellfish Risotto - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Grilled Beef Tenderloin - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Maryland Lump Crab Cakes - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Sea bass with corn and asparagus risotto - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Grilled Scallops with Buerre Fondou - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Seafood Soffrito - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
red snaper - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Fritto Misto - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Bread - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Sauteed Warm Water Covina Sea Bass - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Steamed Shellfish Soffrito - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Seabass - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Caesar Salad - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Bistro Salad - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Oil - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Halibut - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Bruleed Fig - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Rack of Lamb - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO

Oceano Bistro - Clayton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (26)
Business Meals (25)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Good for a Date (22)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Romantic (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Casual (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Authentic (12)
Cozy (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Healthy (10)
Outstanding Value (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Fun (6)
Modern Decor (6)
People Watching (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Sports (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1887 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Boring menu, boring interior and boring ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Boring menu, boring interior and boring flavors. Really not worth the time and money

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Excellence in dining! Very enjoyable exp ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellence in dining! Very enjoyable experience ! Good and service excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a business lunch. Good ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great place for a business lunch. Good atmosphere, great ambiance and very good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a very nice lunch, and will defin ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We had a very nice lunch, and will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fabulous fresh fish options! But does a ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Fabulous fresh fish options! But does also have wonderful meat options as well. Great bread, great desserts. Never had a bad meal!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific evening! Dining experience and ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Terrific evening! Dining experience and atmosphere were fabulous!

Tags: Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited for New Year's Eve. Very busy n ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Visited for New Year's Eve. Very busy night but the wait was only about 30 minutes. The staff was very friendly even though the restaurant was packed past capacity. Great portions on the seafood. A great spot for a meal with someone special.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food, service and ambiance. It ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fabulous food, service and ambiance. It is alays great so that is why we continue to go back. Love this plce.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went there for New Year ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I went there for New Year's Eve dinner. There was a really bad draft of cold air coming in as people were entering and exiting. They should put up some sort of room divider to help block the cold air. We had the lump crab cake as an appetizer and I had the shellfish soffritto. The food was good but luke warm when served - not too enjoyable as we had to eat really fast so the food wouldn't get cold. Seemed to be very small servings for the price.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Staff was outstanding Tim is the best to ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Staff was outstanding Tim is the best took great care of us and got us a GREAT seat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful meal at Oceano on New ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a wonderful meal at Oceano on New Years Eve! We found out the night before that our son would be in St. Louis and called to see if we could increase the number of people on our reservation and the staff could not have been more accommodating. Our server was extremely knowledgeable about the food items and the drink and wine list. We all got different entrees and everyone was extremely pleased. Even though it was very crowded we were never made to feel that we couldn't stay as long as we wanted. We love coming to Oceano whenever we are in St. Louis.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and service! One of ou ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Outstanding food and service! One of our very favorites...anywhere!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Christmas Eve family gatheri ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We went for Christmas Eve family gathering and we had a great time. The food and service was amazing. Will definitely do it again for next year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dined in Oceano's glass enclosed Porch. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Dined in Oceano's glass enclosed Porch. Enjoyed a lovely view of Clayton at Christmastime. Salmon entrée was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good wine and an excellent meal, perfect ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Good wine and an excellent meal, perfectly prepared. Service was very good. Waiter was very helpful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A great place for a relaxing and tasty m ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A great place for a relaxing and tasty meal. Consistently good with excellent service. Limited but nice wine choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very slow. Normally would n ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Service was very slow. Normally would not write this, but this is second time (in a row) I have experienced slow service.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Excellent dinner. Manager and wait staf ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Excellent dinner. Manager and wait staff friendly and warm!!! Made our evening even more fun...very engaging.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations and ended up at a sm ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We had reservations and ended up at a small table. The place was busy but we had to wait to be served. I ordered two glasses of PN which was on the menu for $14/ea. The wine she brought to the table was another PN. She went back to the bar and came back saying they didn't have it. We settled for a PN from CA, the one I chose was from Oregon which I love. We were charged for the wine they didn't have. My meal was suppose to have rice but it ended up with a triple serving of green beans and no rice. Very disappointing.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Our party consisted of 8 people. The wai ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our party consisted of 8 people. The waitress was fantastic, the food was fresh and food allergy was accommodated. Great job!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The tuna burger is spectacular. The serv ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The tuna burger is spectacular.

The service is incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were very disappointed with the overa ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We were very disappointed with the overall experience. We ordered scallops; they were warm on the outside, but dead cold in the middle (cooked but cold). Clearly, they had been cooked for a while, and quickly warmed up before serving. I am happy to wait for a few minutes to have my food freshly cooked, especially for fish.Reheated fish does not taste good. I have cooked scallops many many times, and never managed to get this poor result.

We also ordered fried calamari; texture was ok, but it was so salty, I had to stop eating them; I know salt is a taste enhancer, but too much salt kills the dish. And kill it they did.

We got our bills and discovered they charged 12 dollars for a tomato (cut in half, with a balsamic dressing). We have been there many times in the past, and something has changed: chefs?management? not sure but the standards are now poor. Basically you pay high prices for poor quality. We did not complain as it is not in our character, but we will not go again, and make sure our friends and colleagues know of this. (we are big foodies)

I think they will not survive if they do not change...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Pork chop came out partially cooked. No ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Pork chop came out partially cooked. Not sure how this escaped the chef(s) since it even looked partially cooked before cutting into the pork chop. Management was quick to resolve the issue and offered a free dessert. But the creme brulee came out with burnt (black) sugar coating (must have been a chef in training). I've had a good experience here before, but the quality seems to have dissipated. I expect much better quality when paying $65/ person for a fine dining experience.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Good food. Good Service. Affordable. Goo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Good food. Good Service. Affordable. Good Wine.

I have been here many times. I love the fact that the owner is ALWAYS on the floor greeting customers and making sure everything is okay. That itself speaks a lot about the restaurant and the quality of service. Keep it up!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the food and service at Oceano con ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 26, 2016

While the food and service at Oceano continue to be excellent, the decor, especially at dinner time, provides a terrible atmosphere. Too much lighting highlights the cheap design and furnishings. Would recommend only for lunch.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Delicious food, great cocktails. I highl ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Delicious food, great cocktails. I highly recommend the cucumber martini.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was disappointed that my sea scallops ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 22, 2016

I was disappointed that my sea scallops lunch special turned out to be a single scallop cut into five thin slices put on top of a large pile of vegetables. Everything was perfectly cooked and it's a great place, but give me a break, whole scallops are a reasonable expectation. I'd rate everything a "5" if it wasn't for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had been wanting to enjoy a pleasant ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had been wanting to enjoy a pleasant and relaxing dinner and you really helped deliver on that for us. We could have easily stayed longer had it not been for having symphony tickets, and if we'd been able to make it back for dessert following the symphony, we'd have certainly done that.

The wait staff as well as the management helped make this a really special evening. Good times and memories. I see us being back, frequently.

Thanks!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I once saw a sign at a fishmonger's plac ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I once saw a sign at a fishmonger's place that said, " cheap fish isn't good and good fish isn 't cheap". Oceano Bistro is not an inexpensive place but it is a good value. You get what you pay for. All of our entrees were perfectly prepared, Our server was very knowledgeable about all on the menu and was helpful with selecting the wine. alcohol is not cheap here with wine averaging about $12.50 per glass.. cocktails were in the $9 range. We will visit here again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oceano Bistro was everything a great res ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Oceano Bistro was everything a great restaurant should be! We had amazing service, the food was delicious, and the ambiance was great. Our server knew just what to recommend and we were very happy with the taste of the food and wine. We will be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and lovely service

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great food and lovely service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the rainbow trout and it was delic ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I had the rainbow trout and it was delicious. The service staff was attentive. Good spot for a business lunch in the heart of Clayton.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My partner started off with seafood che ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My partner started off with seafood cheddar followed by a salmon entree cooked medium which was perfect. Ending the meal in a European way the ordered a caesar salad. I had Big Eye Tuna followed by a salad and a glass of Cannonball Cabernet wine. All were excellent. We were served warm bread with a dipping sauce.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to Oceano for dinner ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 9, 2016

My wife and I went to Oceano for dinner to celebrate her birthday. Because it fell on election day we were looking forward to having a stress free night with good food and drinks. We had a drink and app at the bar for happy hour, all of which was delicious. We were then seated at our table, given water and told our waiter would be right with us. We waited 24 minutes and no one ever came. We watched servers run around serving the two tables beside us and no one ever stopped. Finally a man walked by and caught my eye contact and asked if we had ordered drinks. We explained that we had been sitting there for 24 minutes waiting, he apologized and proceeded to take our drink order. When he returned he said he would go ahead and be our server for the evening, and offered a complimentary dessert for the inconvenience. He was great the whole night and we were very pleased with his service, but we were still awfully disappointed in how long we had to wait. And while his offer of dessert was nice, we already had dessert plans. I look forward to returning for happy hour but am hesitant to do anything other than that because of the horrible experience. No one wants to be ignored for over 20 minutes, especially on their birthday.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Nice Spot. My second visit, this time f ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Nice Spot. My second visit, this time for dinner, which was very low-key and pleasant. Fish is terrific, as is the Caprese/sliced tomato appetizer. I had the chopped salad with hot shrimp, which I thoroughly enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Most of the food we ordered was good, an ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Most of the food we ordered was good, and they have an extensive wine list. The starters -- beet salad and the tomatoes -- were excellent, and the chicken and kale entree salad was flavorful, but the scallops were overcooked and very salty. The restaurant manager graciously took the scallops off the bill when the person who ordered them declined to have the chef prepare a second plateful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic dinner. Joseph was fabulous. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Fantastic dinner. Joseph was fabulous. Service was terrific.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great great service. Would go again when ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great great service. Would go again when we visiting St. Louis again

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice ambience. Good place for seafood bu ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Nice ambience. Good place for seafood but also offer pork, beef, and chicken entrees. I had the Canadian salmon and the risotto on the side . Both good but not exceptional. I started with the spinach salad and it was very good. My husband ordered the double cut pork loin chops..said it was good. Our friends had the scallops (very good) and trout..good. I'm a foodie so like to taste outstanding! I give the restaurant a 3.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

After reading other reviews and without ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 1, 2016

After reading other reviews and without seeing the menu, I assumed incorrectly more seafood options would be on the menu.

For those who don't like seafood or like it a little, their alternatives are good and adequate to keep you assuming this is an upscale Red Lobster. .

And, yes, I will be going again to Oceano's and will gladly be an unpaid salesman.

I advocate checking out this opportunity.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.