Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

About Oceano Bistro - Clayton

Welcome to Oceano Bistro, St. Louis premiere fresh fish bistro. Our chefs, in partnerships with fishermen, farmers, and food artisans have searched the world's seas to bring the St. Louis area what is enjoyed by those who are living on the coast. We then pair it innovative and exciting fresh local producers and flavor combinations certain to dazzle every discerning palate at prices that are a great value for a great catch.

44 N. Brentwood
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm; Weekend Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Maryland Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 721-9400

Website:
http://oceanobistro.com/

Catering:
Oceano Bistro is also proud to offer a wide variety of catering options. Our expert chefs will prepare anything from a boxed lunch for 2 to a full service dinner complete with wait staff. You enjoy the party, we do the work. Please feel free to browse our extensive menus consisting of boxed lunches, themed buffet, and amazing plated dinners. More of our menus are available on our website, oceanobistro.com, and will be happy to make your next catered event an amazing success

Parking Details:
Parking lot and garage available, on street parking, and on weekends valet is offered

Executive Chef:
Jon Lowe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Oceano Bistro - Clayton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Business Meals (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Romantic (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Groups (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Casual (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Bar Seating (8)
People Watching (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Cozy (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Authentic (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Seasonal (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Fun (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tapas (2)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
2027 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Great Canadian Salmon!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food, lovely atmosphere, especially in nice weather. Our waitress Ashley was very friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Service and food was excellent. Waiter had great recommendations and checked on us at the right time. Ingredients were fresh and well prepared.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 7 days ago

went to Oceano Bistro for our anniversary dinner. Food was delicious. Local seafood. Great place. The trout was superb!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

We had a very unfortunate experience. After receiving the wrong orders, cold soup, a bad fish dish, and a few other mix ups, we asked to speak with the manager and he avoided us. It turns out that the owner for some strange reason told him not to comp us, and in turn he avoided us. It was really unpleasant. They had commotions going on at the serving station all evening. I will say the desserts were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The staff was warm and welcoming from the time we walked in. The manager (assuming) walked by when we came in and welcomed us and also thanked us for dining when we left. Our waiter was very knowledgable and gave great suggestions as well as on top of our needs throughout our meal. The crab cakes were excellent! Our drinks were very well made, which is hard to find a great Manhattan. The lobster was simple but a great choice. The tuna was good but there was a lot of seasoning. I didn't mind it too much but it was overwhelming by the last bite. Overall, we enjoyed our dinner and the atmosphere. I can't say it was 100% worth the price as we've had similar but better meals for a better value but it was a good experience and I'm sure we'll be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food and service is always good. It was a delightful evening sitting out on the patio with the windows open.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Order the prawn appetizer, it's enough for an entree and it's fantastic.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Found the waiter , a dormer bartender, to be quite knowledgeable about the wines and drinks. Also the food. Had grilled salmon and grilled Grouper with VERY interesting presentation. Calamari was really good appetizer, with two sauces. One of those I had never heard of and would have ordered a bottle if available! Stayed at Residence Inn near Galleria and this was very convenient. Will be back with friends !!!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 27, 2017

The food was really good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Enjoyed a friends lunch! Great diversity of entree options! Service personnel were terrific!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Authentic, Business Meals, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Some of the best fish I've had in St. Louis and delicious shellfish dishes also

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 19, 2017

An open kitchen with an active bar and high ceilings makes for an energetic noise level as we entered. However, seated in a booth toward the back, it was much more conducive to conversation. An interesting cocktail menu and wine list gave us lots to choose from. The mushrooms and mushroom butter stole the show in the rainbow trout entree, while the bacon wrapped potato cake complimented the perfectly prepared salmon - medium rare, just as we requested. A Samoa chocolate cake was the finish of a lovely meal. Our warm and friendly server made us wish we lived closer, so that we could come back often.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Terrific dining experience. The service was excellent ! The food was fabulous!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Wonderful experience during Clayton Restaurant Week. Nice menu selections and portions were just right --- not too small, not overwhelming. Would definitely return, based on both food and service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Service was excellent and the food was phenomenal. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Loved is the food but the ambience was an added plus. Will be going back soon!

Tags: Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great experience on our first visit to Oceano Bistro! Food was excellent! Great for all occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My husband and I had a wonderful night at Oceano. The food was fabulous, waiter was great and very helpful. Bonus was I found a new Chardonnay I absolutely LOVED!
Look forward to going back real soon.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We went with another couple for restaurant week in Clayton. The food was exceptional I had grilled shrimp on zucchini and carrot spiralsand my husband had trout. Very good size portions and the delightful wait staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The salad and Griller Shrimp were excellent. The bread pudding was cooked too long, but the ice cream was delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The food was pretty good - the seafood chowder was a bit bland, but the main course was delicious. I had the salmon dish and it was great. My husband got a steak and he really liked it too. The server was exceptional! We look forward to going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I have eaten at Oceano's many times and always enjoy it very much. This was a special "Clayton Restaurant Week" menu and I didn't find it to be quite up to their regular standard. However, it is one of my favorite places to go. We were celebrating a birthday.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Fun, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The restaurant was noisy and made conversation at the table difficult. The noisy level didn't seem to drop much even when the restaurant was 1/2 empty.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 10, 2017

As always the food,service and ambiance excellent. One of our favorites.

Tags: Healthy, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Accidentally spilled my wine and it was replaced ed with no extra charge! Wait staff friendly and great food

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Everything was exceptional. Very fresh, high quality seafood with great service.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Excellent, will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great as always. Service and food top notch. A business lunch favorite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The service was outstanding, the owner/manager checked on us twice(we actually had a REAL conversation) and the food was excellent! The outside seating consusts of only two tables and we had one of them. Outstanding place to watch the sunset and enjoy some peace and quiet!!
We'll be b-a-a-a-a-c-k!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Fantastic always the best

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 23, 2017

My wife and I were in STL for our anniversary weekend to catch a Cardinals game and just enjoy ourselves. Oceano Bistro was a very nice touch that I added to surprise my wife with, the service was awesome and the food was great. I found this restaurant on the open table app and hands down I will return to visit it again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 23, 2017

I've been to Oceano Bistro Clayton several times. They were on top of their game on Friday June 23. Group of four were all very impressed with the atmosphere, service level, food, and wine. It was as good as it gets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Excellent service, food was terrific, the ambience was fabulous!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 19, 2017

A Clayton gem. The food and service were excellent. Highly recommended. Who says you cannot have good seafood in the Midwest?! You can at Oceano.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Delicious seafood.. a bit pricy but worth the cost.. interesting "presentation" of Bread ... ( waiters work the restaurant and offer one roll out of large basket)
I had scallops with truffle sauce.. large scallops well cooked and rich and delightful sauce on the side
Nice variety of seafood ! Also recently there for a Sunday brunch and had eggs Benedict.. cooked to perfection

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

OCEANO always delivers excellent seafood and a professional staff. I've never been disappointed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great local lunch spot! The Crab Cake Salad is the best!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 13, 2017

I was very impressed with the level of service and the food. The rolls are worth the trip alone..I had half servings of the beet salad and the tomato salad and they were so fresh and delicious. The tomato salad is enough for two people, took half home. I ordered the prawns appetizer for my meal and that was the only thing that wasn't fantastic, they were too salty for my taste (but I ate them anyway). I would recommend this restaurant and will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.