About Oceano Bistro - Clayton

44 N. Brentwood
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

Welcome to Oceano Bistro, St. Louis premiere fresh fish bistro. Our chefs, in partnerships with fishermen, farmers, and food artisans have searched the world's seas to bring the St. Louis area what is enjoyed by those who are living on the coast. We then pair it innovative and exciting fresh local producers and flavor combinations certain to dazzle every discerning palate at prices that are a great value for a great catch.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm; Weekend Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Maryland Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 721-9400

Website:
http://oceanobistro.com/

Catering:
Oceano Bistro is also proud to offer a wide variety of catering options. Our expert chefs will prepare anything from a boxed lunch for 2 to a full service dinner complete with wait staff. You enjoy the party, we do the work. Please feel free to browse our extensive menus consisting of boxed lunches, themed buffet, and amazing plated dinners. More of our menus are available on our website, oceanobistro.com, and will be happy to make your next catered event an amazing success

Parking Details:
Parking lot and garage available, on street parking, and on weekends valet is offered

Executive Chef:
Jon Lowe

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Oceano Bistro - Clayton
New England Seafood Chowder
Blackened Bigeye Tuna
red snaper
Hamachi-Avocado Ceviche
Shellfish Risotto
Grilled Beef Tenderloin
Maryland Lump Crab Cakes
Sea bass with corn and asparagus risotto
Grilled Scallops with Buerre Fondou
Seafood Soffrito
Fritto Misto
Bread
Sauteed Warm Water Covina Sea Bass
Steamed Shellfish Soffrito
Seabass
Caesar Salad
Bistro Salad
Oil
Halibut
Bruleed Fig
Rack of Lamb

Oceano Bistro - Clayton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Midtown
Best Restaurants in Clayton ›

Fit for Foodies (64)
Special Occasion (61)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
See All
Great for Lunch (35)
Good for Groups (34)
Romantic (27)
Notable Wine List (24)
Great for Brunch (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Kid-friendly (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1690 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I ordered my salmon entree for the chef ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

I ordered my salmon entree for the chef to prepare as he chooses. But, it was so dry I couldn't eat it. And our waiter seemed to be new, and was very absent from start to finish. We sat a good 15 minutes before anyone approached our table. Then, after taking our order the food was very slow to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Service was attentive and timely, but no ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Service was attentive and timely, but not intrusive. Food arrived at correct temperature and was plentiful. Very tasty, high quality food.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Oceano is always very consistent. I had ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Oceano is always very consistent. I had the Sea Bass with Risotto and it was fantastic. Have never had a bad meal here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Order was late in arriving. The seafood ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Order was late in arriving. The seafood in the stew was not the best. One mussel was nasty. After that mussel I quit eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

We had a good overall experience at Ocea ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a good overall experience at Oceano as we have during each of our visits to the restaurant. I've recommended it often to friends seeking a good seafood dinner. We did have a problem with desserts of fresh chocolate chip cookies which arrived at the table undercooked to the point that they were not really edible. the host quickly removed them from our bill but also served substitution cookies shortly afterwords. It was not a terrible incident at all and the host did the right thing to resolve the issue and reinforced our feeling that Oceano is a classy restaurant that deserves our patronage in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our experience recently was outstanding. ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our experience recently was outstanding. The staff of Oceano extend themselves to their customers in a very professional manor. The appetizers and main course items were sensational!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch restaurant with lots of person ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Top notch restaurant with lots of personal attention. Halibut, salmon and trout entrees were excellent. Unfortunately, while broth in mussels appetizer was flavorful, mussels were so undersized that the dish was woefully inadequate for the cost. Should have just said the appetizer was off-the-menu that evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was just an OK experience. 7 of us ha ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

It was just an OK experience. 7 of us had dinner and none of the entres were particularly notable. Small portions and expensive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The food is wonderful and the service is ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food is wonderful and the service is usually really good. There is just one waiter that has waited on me three times. He could be so much better if he tried. He needs an attitude check ( not sure if he likes women) and his timing skills are way off. This time we waited about 10 minutes before he even made it to our table the first time. Then there were other long waits for stuff. On a previous time I went with another friend and she has also had many issues with him.

I will happily be back again but I will request to be anywhere other than his section.

Ps. I still tipped my minimum of 20%. I was once a waiter and I cannot short someone even if I think their service needs a lot of work.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Don't go Hungry: This was perhaps the 3r ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Don't go Hungry: This was perhaps the 3rd or 4th time we have visited Oceano Bistro. The food is quite good, the service is good, it is easy to obtain reservations. However, if you are hungry, beware that the portions are disappointingly small. Compared with other restaurants in Clayton and nearby areas, it is not good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Always excellent - food, service, ambian ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always excellent - food, service, ambiance. The host and wait staff are attentive without overdoing it. The food, especially, is creative and appealing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waitress was excellent - very friend ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our waitress was excellent - very friendly and full of life. The food was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, trhe staff quickly took care o ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

As usual, trhe staff quickly took care of special dietary medical needs. Although the restaurant was quite busy, due to a special Clayton Restaurant Week, the service was professional and prompt.All specials were explained and the food was well-prepared and beautifully plated. All-in-all, an excellent dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I would not dine there again. We were im ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I would not dine there again. We were immediately seated in an area away from everyone where sun shinned in on us. The did pull down the shades. Wih all the empty seats why the hell was that the seat for. We decided to leave. The appetizer arrived, so ate it, partially as it was not cooked well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Delicious and creative fare and presenta ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Delicious and creative fare and presentation. Seafood at its finest.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went on a not so busy night and of all t ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went on a not so busy night and of all things, my wife orders the sea bass and they are out. How? A seafood restaurant? Wasn't particularly busy and it was early in the evening. Appetizers were pretty good. The scallops were cooked just right. Shellfish soffritto- large serving size but seafood was bland. The waitress was the best part of the experience. Very attentive and nice. Nice ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Loved the clean modern look of the resto ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Loved the clean modern look of the resto. Our waiter Zach was helpful with wine choices. Kobe beef sliders was perfect medium rare. Loved the seafood chowder (needed more pepper but every spoonful was loaded with crab meat) as well as the Scallops dinner entree (asked for a spoon as the sauce was amazing, oozing with umami). Serving sizes are generous, even for desserts. I would come back here if we lived closer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great sofritto

vip
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great sofritto

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

What a wonderful dinner we had! We alwa ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

What a wonderful dinner we had! We always do. Oceano is really tops in my book!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food is great and the sta ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

As always, the food is great and the staff is always so friendly and nice!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant! Oceano is one of ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I love this restaurant! Oceano is one of my favorites in Saint Louis! Always fresh seafood. I enjoyed the sea bass with a delicious risotto and a spring spinach salad with strawberries!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

From the service to the food to the conc ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

From the service to the food to the concern by waiters and manager, the experience was superb. Special dietary needs were perfectly taken into consideration.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, restaurant speializes in seaf ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Good food, restaurant speializes in seafood, good wine list, good location

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Great dinner and amazing service! Ordere ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great dinner and amazing service! Ordered various items and truly enjoyed them all. Tried some new appetizers that were delicious too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Oceana has a great vibe. The personnel ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Oceana has a great vibe. The personnel are super friendly and professional. We were having a business lunch and they were very respectful of knowing when to be available and when to give us privacy. The food was fantastic with a great presentation! Great experience!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our office held a business lunch at Ocea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Our office held a business lunch at Oceano Bistro earlier in the week. Though we have gone to this restaurant a number of times, this was the first time I felt we had service that was below par.

The server was good about taking drink orders and getting those drinks to the table, but it took him a really long time to work back around the restaurant to us to share info about the specials and to take our order. (I think they may have been short-staffed.) He sure was quick with the check, though, which I thought was interesting...

I feel certain that our office will use Oceano again some time, but it is not at the top of my list of Clayton business district lunch recommendations anymore!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Oceano's consistently delivers excellenc ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Oceano's consistently delivers excellence in dining. Professional service personnel. Friendly environment and fabulous dinner entrees!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Oceano!! Food is always delicious! ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Love Oceano!! Food is always delicious! We each had a different entree and they were equally tasty. Like that the portions aren't gigantic too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food ( we had the sea bass and ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food ( we had the sea bass and the crab cake appetizer. Great service, friendly people!

It was our anniversary and we were treated extremely well. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still our favorite Clayton restaurant. ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Still our favorite Clayton restaurant. We've dined here so many times that I pretty much have the menu memorized. The food is always good, and every item is noteworthy. My friend and I ordered three appetizers, and it was too much food. But, all delicious. Personal favorites: yellowtail sushi appetizer, calamari, carpaccio, sliders. All salads are great. Main dishes are generous, also. Highly recommend. And, I forgot to mention the olive oil, aeoli mix they serve with their hot rolls. mmmmmm

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Batting 1.000 (A Thousand)

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Second visit to Clayton area and Oceano Bistro. Previously had a business luncheon here and it was excellent. Decided to come back with my bride - we were not disappointed!

Excellent service at the bar with a few martini's to start followed by an outstanding meal which included fried calamari and caprese both delicious. For entrée we had Halibut and Salmon and couldn't have been more pleased.

Service was outstanding all the way around. We were thanked by management on our way out the door for our patronage which topped off a wonderful experience overal

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shrimp appetizer was not as good as I ha ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Shrimp appetizer was not as good as I have had before (prawns were smaller and not as tasty). But halibut and salad were excellent and service was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

The patio was absolutely stunning and ma ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The patio was absolutely stunning and made for such an amazing dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Oceano. It's our daughters favor ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We love Oceano. It's our daughters favorite birthday dinner. Quality every time.

Everyone from the hostess to the chefs are Top Notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

College Graduation

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Let's start with the bar tenders, they were great. Delicious drinks and very friendly.

Our waitress was lovely and very friendly as well.

Our appetizers, entree, and desserts were all terrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great seafood

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

This is one of my wife and my favorite places to get dinner without the kids. We always enjoy the Sunday brunch with the kids. Consistently great service and wonderful food

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I booked reservation because I had been at Oceano for brunch on another Sunday, and we ordered from the menu. On Mother's Day, much to my disappointment, we were not able to order from the menu. The waitress who brought me a cup of coffee didn't bring the cream with it, as requested. She brought it about 4 or 5 minutes later. The spinach salad was so gritty, I think they sort of skipped rinsing it. I was really disappointed i the food and service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Food taste

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The seabass was bland. It needed more flavor, it needed "punch". The salmon was great!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

All it needed was an ocean!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Oceano Bistro is a great place to go if you're looking for a more-than-casual-but-less-than-formal destination for an atypical date (special occasion, taking it to the next level, etc). Everyone - from hostess to manager - greeted us with a smile and a kind word. Our server was attentive without being overbearing. Our food was served quickly and prepared extremely well.

Everything we ate was delicious, but of particular note was the seafood chowder. It was rich and flavorful without being heavy and loaded with large bits of crab meat. A bowl of that, along with a few fresh, steaming hot rolls and a scoop of fresh, locally-made gelato, would make for a perfect lunch or light dinner.

We will absolutely return to Oceano Bistro in the future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I sat outside - which was ni ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I sat outside - which was nice. The Calamari was possibly the best we have ever had, and we have it often ! We both had the Halibut special. It was very nice - as expected. I have been there 3 times now - I refer business associates there when asked because I know they will have a pleasant dining experience. Our waiter was particularly efficient and pleasant. Can't go wrong with Oceano.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.