Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

About Oceano Bistro - Clayton

Welcome to Oceano Bistro, St. Louis premiere fresh fish bistro. Our chefs, in partnerships with fishermen, farmers, and food artisans have searched the world's seas to bring the St. Louis area what is enjoyed by those who are living on the coast. We then pair it innovative and exciting fresh local producers and flavor combinations certain to dazzle every discerning palate at prices that are a great value for a great catch.

44 N. Brentwood
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm; Weekend Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Maryland Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 721-9400

Website:
http://oceanobistro.com/

Catering:
Oceano Bistro is also proud to offer a wide variety of catering options. Our expert chefs will prepare anything from a boxed lunch for 2 to a full service dinner complete with wait staff. You enjoy the party, we do the work. Please feel free to browse our extensive menus consisting of boxed lunches, themed buffet, and amazing plated dinners. More of our menus are available on our website, oceanobistro.com, and will be happy to make your next catered event an amazing success

Parking Details:
Parking lot and garage available, on street parking, and on weekends valet is offered

Executive Chef:
Jon Lowe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Oceano Bistro - Clayton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (45)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Special Occasion (34)
See All
Business Meals (31)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Romantic (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Healthy (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Casual (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Cozy (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
People Watching (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Authentic (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Fun (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1932 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

Really great service, great dining room. Plus the tables on the veranda are a superb place to get a view to the outside. Salads are really good, although $16 for a salad is a bit pricey. Nonetheless, I often go there if I need to meet someone in Clayton for a business lunch.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Océano is on our to go list each and every time we visit our STL family. It never disappoints

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Robert really lifts up the atmosphere

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

It was our first time eating here. The cocktails were great. I got the sea bass -- excellent and filling! My husband got the surf and turf, and he said it was better than Bristol and many other places he's been - very flavorful lobster. We will definitely be back!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Excellent meal. Appetizers and entrees were wonderful. Desserts were especially good. Didn't feel rushed.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent food; excellent service. We are repeat diners at Oceano and have always had wonderful experiences.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food at Oceano was excellent (we practically licked our plates), and the decor was warm and comfortable. At $35 prix fixe dinner was an incredible deal.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great seafood with even better service. I enjoyed my experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It was an extremely busy night for them. We had a drink at the bar and were off to our table on time. The service, food and the atmosphere were outstanding. We had differing dishes and all were superb. Sometimes when a restaurant gets slammed like that quality is the first thing that goes. Not that night. Special note to Zach our waiter. He did and outstanding job while juggling us and other tables coming and going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The ambience, food & service is always top notch!! Our Server, Zack, is the best! He remembered my favorite beverage even though it had been a while since my last visit!!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

I have dined at Oceano numerous times. It is always consistently good and the customer service is exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

As always, great food, great service and great prices.
If you are a scallops person, next to Digby scallops in Nova Scotia, these are the very best. Always cooked to perfection.
We moved 300 miles away, and whenever in the St Louis area, we make sure we dine here.
Thanks

Tags: Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Food was excellent! I had the fennel dusted scallops - a perfect blend of flavors with the fennel, asparagus, portobello mushroom and the sauce. My guests raved about their dishes as well. Service was ok. The only thing annoying was that I was not properly checked in by the host even though I mentioned this was an Open Table reservation. Later that evening I received an email from Open Table asking why I had missed my reservation at this restaurant and had to respond back with detail to ensure they knew I didn't skip my reservation. Other than this it was a night of great food with colleagues in a very nice environment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I have not been to Oceano in a couple of years and it has not dropped off since my last visit! My wife and I had a date night, starting with the Heirloom tomatoes with Goat Cheese and it was fabulous ! I had the Seafood Chowder which was great! Oh, and the bread to start was with Olive Oil and a fantastic Roasted Pepper/garlic sauce. My wife had the Tuna and it was Awesome( I did steal a piece) I had the SeaBass which was prepared to perfection! Amer and his staff were outstanding as they alway have been. I would highly recommend this Resturant to anyone for any occasion. By the way, they have a turf menu if fish is not your thing... Two thumbs up!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Excellent as always! Great food, service; delightful ambiance; the go-to restaurant in our neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The scallops are amazing as is any of their fresh fish offerings. We had a carnivore who was very impressed with the fillet. Service staff and manager are always professional and friendly. Food, service and atmosphere surpass our local seafood chain restaurants and you can usually get a reservation. Expect a leisurely dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent happy hour! Great food, drinks and prices.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had reservations at 8:30pm arrived at 8:06pm. Wasn't seated until after 9 and 3 2party couples were seated before my wife and even though we had reservations!! Wasn't the Valentines Day experience I wanted her to have.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was a lively busy, but efficient evening at Oceano. The waiter was very friendly and helpful. He explained all the entrees very well.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely amazing!!. I called to see if I could move my reservations up and he was so accommodating! It was the most perfect evening! Plus we fell in love with a new favorite wine!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had Valentines dinner. My scallops were fennel dusted. I did not know what to expect but they were bursting with flavor. We had a tomato salad much like a Caprese salad except made goat cheese The salad was huge but we ate the whole thing it was just so good.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Pleasantly surprised! Me and my wife had been for restaurant week and were very disappointed, in fact we sad we would never go back. That was a year ago, so I made last minute Valentine's Day plans and this was the most covenient place, so I booked it without telling my wife where going. Our reservation was for 8:15pm we got there at 8:10pm and still had to wait 40 mins to be seated. While waiting we got great drinks at bar and talked to the bar tender. Once seated it was all uphill! The waitress was attentive and knowledgeable, the food was AMAZING, and it was an overall great time. On the way out we met the manager and he told of the great happy hour they have. This place has really redeemed itself and will now be part of our short list of frequented restaurants.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Absolutely amazing as always! Would highly recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food. Great service. Nice setting and fairly casual.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was the weekend before Valentine's Day so although we had reservations we waited about a half hour beyond that time to be seated. I had one of the specials; the butternut squash ravioli with a seafood sauce and it was great. I have been here many times before and I suppose what's missing is ambiance. Even when it's date night here I feel like running back to get the kids-if that makes sense. Don't get me wrong, this place is no Applebee's, but my kids love to eat at very nice restaurants and I just don't feel sexy and cozy here is all I'm saying. The food is always wonderful, the managers and staff are personable and overall Oceano is a very nice place to eat and enjoy family and friends.

Tags: Family Style, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I had my sisters here from Florida and San Francisco , they said everything was great and tasty and even the waiter was the best they had seen in St. Louis. BTW, this was the best meal they had in St. Louis so far.
I live here and have been to your place about 6 times, but I always forget about bring them here because of not living in Clayton but I do have an office here.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 8, 2017

For the first time, the kitchen missed the mark with the tuna--my favorite dish on the menu. It first came out cold and too rare, then was returned (after a considerable time) overcooked and still cold. Surprising and disappointing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food and service-had a great anniversary dinner here! And we will be back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The food is great and our waiter was great. Great atmosphere in the room too.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The food used to be outstanding. It is now below average. Used to be a regular customer-no more. (The wait staff has and is very good!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Joseph our server was lovely. We joked around and he made our meal such a pleasant experience. Pace of the courses was great for conversations, the entrees were nice portion and the bread is always a nice treat. This place always delivers and you know you are going to get a quality meal. The Marsala at the end of the meal was an unexpected surprise. Great wine list too.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 30, 2017

My son and I went to the STL Symphony on Sunday. We were wanting to try a new place in the area but after looking at a several places we decided to come back here. Where we know they have fabulous seafood and the wait staff is helpful and efficient. For starters we shared a Tomato Salad, tomatoes were cut in half with a condensed balsamic vinegar drizzled over the top along with soft & salty cheese. Flavors went great together. Tomatoes were red and juicy. For dinner I had the Shellfish Sofrito, make sure to get 2 rolls. You won't want to leave anything behind including the broth. My son had the Grilled Truffle Scallops, fresh and delicious were the words he used to describe his first bite. We were stuffed but needed something sweet. My son chose the Blueberry Crème Brule and I the Warm White Chocolate Apple Bread Pudding, both desserts were exquisite. We love coming to Oceano.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I think that you could afford to put more than TWO (2) Ravioli on your plates that you serve. I know that it was a $ 25.00 for Clayton dinner week, but come on.
Was not impressed with the salad dressing. But paying $ 25.00 and looking at that plate I would be embarrassed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Oceano is always a good option, for seafood or meat. Everything is fresh and the servers are helpful and efficient.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Owner stopped by table. Excellent server and service
Great wines and best food during Clayton restaurant week..
Much better than Avenue which we tried for the first time the same week

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Oceano is consistently excellent. The ambiance is great, service is always excellent, and the food reliably delicious . . . and not overly salted, as many restaurants seem to do these days. It's really my favorite restaurant.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was ok. Just ok. My tuna had an odd seasoning around the the edges and slices of, what I think was, potato layered in between the slices of tuna. The potatoes were nothing special. Just slices of potato. I also had a beet salad. The slices were inconsistent and one big slice was hard and very undercooked.

The whole experience was just meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I will never do restaurant week again. I visited 3 clayton restaurants and was not happy

I ordered the $35 dinner at Oceana and I don't think the fish was even 3 ounces. I weight 105 lbs and I was still hungry. The crab cakes were cold and not good.

We had to tell the server 3 times we had Fox tickets We got their at 5:30 we barely made it to the fox for a 7:30 show

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our evening at Oceano was outstanding! The food, the atmosphere, and the service all added up to a special evening.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We went there for my husbands birthday. He loves seafood and I heard about the shellfish soffritto. He said it was delicious! I had the special 3 course meal. I started with New England seafood chowder which was a bit cold. The main course was rainbow trout with green beans, mushroom in a butter sauce. It was very good except was not very hot. We finished with dessert. I had apple bread pudding and my husband had an unusual concoction: Oreo Creme brûlée - very, very good.

Plate warmers may be a good idea especially in cold temp.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.