Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

About Oceano Bistro - Clayton

Welcome to Oceano Bistro, St. Louis premiere fresh fish bistro. Our chefs, in partnerships with fishermen, farmers, and food artisans have searched the world's seas to bring the St. Louis area what is enjoyed by those who are living on the coast. We then pair it innovative and exciting fresh local producers and flavor combinations certain to dazzle every discerning palate at prices that are a great value for a great catch.

44 N. Brentwood
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm; Weekend Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Maryland Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 721-9400

Website:
http://oceanobistro.com/

Catering:
Oceano Bistro is also proud to offer a wide variety of catering options. Our expert chefs will prepare anything from a boxed lunch for 2 to a full service dinner complete with wait staff. You enjoy the party, we do the work. Please feel free to browse our extensive menus consisting of boxed lunches, themed buffet, and amazing plated dinners. More of our menus are available on our website, oceanobistro.com, and will be happy to make your next catered event an amazing success

Parking Details:
Parking lot and garage available, on street parking, and on weekends valet is offered

Executive Chef:
Jon Lowe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Oceano Bistro - Clayton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Business Meals (36)
Special Occasion (35)
See All
Creative Cuisine (32)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Happy Hour (24)
Romantic (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Bar Seating (18)
Casual (18)
Healthy (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Cozy (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Fun (12)
Great for Brunch (10)
People Watching (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Authentic (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1958 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Been to this restaurant many times and usually like it , however, ordered the special of the evening which was grouper and it was undercooked and rubbery. I finally sent it to the chef for his opinion, the waitress brought it back saying he felt like the temperature could be brought up so briefly refired it and sent it back to me. She said "sorry" and that was it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful food, and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Oceano is a go to place for great cocktails, excellent happy hour, and nice seafood. Everyone there is welcoming and you are never rushed so it's a great place for long conversations in a comfortable space.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Casual, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great service, food was excellent and manager was accommodating to our off-menu choice. They went above expectations just because. Will definitely come back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Buffet was lacking some breakfast staples like pancakes or French toast. Little quiches were cold and sausage was nit good. However, still love Oceano's from many other positive experiences and overall meal good just not great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter Brunch and it was TERRIFIC. Very fresh, nicely presented and tasty to perfection. The owner was there with his family so you know its got to be good. Our reservation was for 11:45 so we beat the rush and were half done by the time the larger parties arrived.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Overall a very pleasant Easter brunch. Nice assortment of salads, breakfast items and seafood. The only downfall where the desserts. None of them had much flavor and were very bland. This was disappointing for Easter. Also the lamb was very rare. Crab legs, shrimp and salmon were very good. Service was prompt and attentive. However our server did suggest the blood orange mimosa in such a manner to suggest it was included with brunch. When the bill showed up they were $9 a piece. Not too happy about that. Would try again for dinner.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I had so much hope for this place, and I really hate to give it a mediocre review because honestly, the staff was so nice. We went for Easter brunch. It was a buffet and the price was $35 per person. We arrived just after 9 a.m. and were the first customers in the place, so we got to see everything before any of it got messed up. They did a great job of presenting their wide variety of food. We were so impressed and so excited to start tasting. The crab legs were great. The oysters were great. But the Eggs Benedict and the Quiche I tried were both cold. My husband had Prime Rib that was also on the chilly side. I eventually gave up trying to find anything hot and turned to the dessert table. I tried a dessert that was in a jar, because it looked so fun. It was actually runny and rather bland. After awhile we just quit trying. It's not that the food was terrible, it's just that it was terribly disappointing. Our bill ended up being right around $200, for 4 of us, by the time we each added a mimosa or glass of Champagne to our meals. For that kind of money, I would have been much happier with a nice hot meal. I really do think they tried, but I also don't think we'll be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

For the price - not amazing. I ordered a shrimp salad that sounded quite nice and refreshing and I specified "dressing on the side, please". It was very average, had croutons in it (which were not listed in the salad ingredients - I try to eat grain-free) and the dressing was heavy and mixed in the salad. I did not have the energy or time to send it back for a new one. It's just really nice when things come out right the first time. My family said the calamari was really good and my husband's pork chop meal was excellent. Our waiter was friendly and conversational. For my experience, price and food quality - it seems obvious why on a Saturday night this place was easy to get into when other restaurants were booked out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Food was amazing, staff friendly and knowledgeable. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We celebrated our 23rd Anniversary with my cousin that was also celebrating their 12th Anniversary, our happy hour waiter Joseph was great, our dinner waiter Ed wasn't as great as Joseph but still very attentive. The food was great, would come here again. The open table app was great to make the reservations!

Tags: Modern Decor, Cozy, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

A meal at Oceano is always delightful. Our party comprised two couples, one celebrating its 52nd wedding anniversary, the other its 58th wedding anniversary. This is the friendliest restaurant in town, with excellent sea food selections, and gigantic martinis. The wine selection is excellent, at reasonable prices.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This was our first visit, and we really enjoyed it. We ordered the dinner for two and the ravioli was delicious, a nice combination of surf and turf. The service was great, and we were able to take our time. Nice experience!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It is always great to see the owner walking the floor and greeting guests. It is the key to succeeding for this spot. Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Very disappointed. Food was just not very good. $100 lunch for 2 that didn't come close to being a satisfying meal. The only saving grace was the server we had was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Oceano Bistro has an excellent selection of seafood dishes, as well as non-seafood items. Our party of 3 each enjoyed different starters and entrees, and we all agreed that that seafood was very fresh and creatively prepared. Our server Zak was very knowledgeable and attentive. We look forward to dining here again when we return to St.Louis.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We very much enjoyed the attentive service and the quality of the food and drink. Our guests are not easily pleased, and they were very happy with the restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Had lunch here on a weekday. It was excellent. Chowder was full of tasty crabmeat, salmon was on a bed of potatoes wrapped in bacon! We finished by sampling the coffee-flavored, pistachio and vanilla bean ice creams. Aside from server forgetting green bean side until end of meal (still charging for it) this was a great lunch. We will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 4, 2017

A nice noontime lunch sitting almost alfresco by the open windows at table side you could watch the world go by

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Went here for the last night of our honeymoon, and both had a prix fix dinner. The server, Christopher, was excellent! Very attentive and professional. Food was delicious, albeit servings are a bit on the smaller side. I recommend the Oceano Martini for a cocktail. It was louder than I would have liked, but after a bit you don't notice it because of the ambiance. Managers were also very nice and welcoming. We will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 31, 2017

crab cakes are the best in St louis. nice place to gather with friends

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Fantastic seafood restaurant! We were conducting an interview for a store manager and asked for a quiet area and were taken to their indoor patio which suited our needs perfectly. Service speed and food timing was just right. The beet salad was the best I have ever eaten.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Visiting from the other side of the state. Attended Happy Hour. Great service and Happy Hour food and drink items that were the best of their best. coconut shrimp and crab cakes.
Came back for dinner and again had great service. Spinach salad was well designed with fresh mango, goat cheese, and crispy fried onion straws. The spiced Tuna entree was very good.
Verbally, the special of mushroom ravioli with bay scallops and crab with a light sherry cream sauce, sounded great but the actual was a bit underwhelming. Raviolis were a bit doughy and lacked flavor, light sherry cream sauce was lacking , seafood was fresh, but somehow the dish didn't come together as designed. Hey, Considering all that was great, seven out of eight, not bad!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Our dinner was excellent as well as the service. We brought our own wine and they were happy to decant it. It was a great meal with friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Meeting friends from out of town- very nice. Lots of street motorcycles noice- mAnager apologized

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Really great service, great dining room. Plus the tables on the veranda are a superb place to get a view to the outside. Salads are really good, although $16 for a salad is a bit pricey. Nonetheless, I often go there if I need to meet someone in Clayton for a business lunch.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Océano is on our to go list each and every time we visit our STL family. It never disappoints

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Robert really lifts up the atmosphere

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

It was our first time eating here. The cocktails were great. I got the sea bass -- excellent and filling! My husband got the surf and turf, and he said it was better than Bristol and many other places he's been - very flavorful lobster. We will definitely be back!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Excellent meal. Appetizers and entrees were wonderful. Desserts were especially good. Didn't feel rushed.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Excellent food; excellent service. We are repeat diners at Oceano and have always had wonderful experiences.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food at Oceano was excellent (we practically licked our plates), and the decor was warm and comfortable. At $35 prix fixe dinner was an incredible deal.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great seafood with even better service. I enjoyed my experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

It was an extremely busy night for them. We had a drink at the bar and were off to our table on time. The service, food and the atmosphere were outstanding. We had differing dishes and all were superb. Sometimes when a restaurant gets slammed like that quality is the first thing that goes. Not that night. Special note to Zach our waiter. He did and outstanding job while juggling us and other tables coming and going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The ambience, food & service is always top notch!! Our Server, Zack, is the best! He remembered my favorite beverage even though it had been a while since my last visit!!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

I have dined at Oceano numerous times. It is always consistently good and the customer service is exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 5, 2017

As always, great food, great service and great prices.
If you are a scallops person, next to Digby scallops in Nova Scotia, these are the very best. Always cooked to perfection.
We moved 300 miles away, and whenever in the St Louis area, we make sure we dine here.
Thanks

Tags: Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Food was excellent! I had the fennel dusted scallops - a perfect blend of flavors with the fennel, asparagus, portobello mushroom and the sauce. My guests raved about their dishes as well. Service was ok. The only thing annoying was that I was not properly checked in by the host even though I mentioned this was an Open Table reservation. Later that evening I received an email from Open Table asking why I had missed my reservation at this restaurant and had to respond back with detail to ensure they knew I didn't skip my reservation. Other than this it was a night of great food with colleagues in a very nice environment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I have not been to Oceano in a couple of years and it has not dropped off since my last visit! My wife and I had a date night, starting with the Heirloom tomatoes with Goat Cheese and it was fabulous ! I had the Seafood Chowder which was great! Oh, and the bread to start was with Olive Oil and a fantastic Roasted Pepper/garlic sauce. My wife had the Tuna and it was Awesome( I did steal a piece) I had the SeaBass which was prepared to perfection! Amer and his staff were outstanding as they alway have been. I would highly recommend this Resturant to anyone for any occasion. By the way, they have a turf menu if fish is not your thing... Two thumbs up!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Excellent as always! Great food, service; delightful ambiance; the go-to restaurant in our neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.