About Oceano Bistro - Clayton

44 N. Brentwood
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

Welcome to Oceano Bistro, St. Louis premiere fresh fish bistro. Our chefs, in partnerships with fishermen, farmers, and food artisans have searched the world's seas to bring the St. Louis area what is enjoyed by those who are living on the coast. We then pair it innovative and exciting fresh local producers and flavor combinations certain to dazzle every discerning palate at prices that are a great value for a great catch.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm; Weekend Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Maryland Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 721-9400

Website:
http://oceanobistro.com/

Catering:
Oceano Bistro is also proud to offer a wide variety of catering options. Our expert chefs will prepare anything from a boxed lunch for 2 to a full service dinner complete with wait staff. You enjoy the party, we do the work. Please feel free to browse our extensive menus consisting of boxed lunches, themed buffet, and amazing plated dinners. More of our menus are available on our website, oceanobistro.com, and will be happy to make your next catered event an amazing success

Parking Details:
Parking lot and garage available, on street parking, and on weekends valet is offered

Executive Chef:
Jon Lowe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Oceano Bistro - Clayton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Midtown
Fit for Foodies
Midtown
Most Booked
Midtown
Best Restaurants in Clayton ›

fit for foodies (72)
special occasion (53)
neighborhood gem (39)
See All
romantic (33)
good for groups (33)
great for lunch (31)
hot spot (19)
notable wine list (18)
great for brunch (16)
great for outdoor dining (15)
vibrant bar scene (9)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (6)
scenic view (3)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1658 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service5

Shrimp appetizer was not as good as I ha ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Shrimp appetizer was not as good as I have had before (prawns were smaller and not as tasty). But halibut and salad were excellent and service was perfect.

food5
ambience5
service5

The patio was absolutely stunning and ma ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The patio was absolutely stunning and made for such an amazing dinner!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Oceano. It's our daughters favor ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We love Oceano. It's our daughters favorite birthday dinner. Quality every time. Everyone from the hostess to the chefs are Top Notch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

College Graduation

Dined on May 19, 2016

Let's start with the bar tenders, they were great. Delicious drinks and very friendly. Our waitress was lovely and very friendly as well. Our appetizers, entree, and desserts were all terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great seafood

Dined on May 13, 2016

This is one of my wife and my favorite places to get dinner without the kids. We always enjoy the Sunday brunch with the kids. Consistently great service and wonderful food

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

I booked reservation because I had been at Oceano for brunch on another Sunday, and we ordered from the menu. On Mother's Day, much to my disappointment, we were not able to order from the menu. The waitress who brought me a cup of coffee didn't bring the cream with it, as requested. She brought it about 4 or 5 minutes later. The spinach salad was so gritty, I think they sort of skipped rinsing it. I was really disappointed i the food and service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food taste

Dined on May 8, 2016

The seabass was bland. It needed more flavor, it needed "punch". The salmon was great!

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All it needed was an ocean!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Oceano Bistro is a great place to go if you're looking for a more-than-casual-but-less-than-formal destination for an atypical date (special occasion, taking it to the next level, etc). Everyone - from hostess to manager - greeted us with a smile and a kind word. Our server was attentive without being overbearing. Our food was served quickly and prepared extremely well. Everything we ate was delicious, but of particular note was the seafood chowder. It was rich and flavorful without being heavy and loaded with large bits of crab meat. A bowl of that, along with a few fresh, steaming hot rolls and a scoop of fresh, locally-made gelato, would make for a perfect lunch or light dinner. We will absolutely return to Oceano Bistro in the future.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

My wife and I sat outside - which was ni ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I sat outside - which was nice. The Calamari was possibly the best we have ever had, and we have it often ! We both had the Halibut special. It was very nice - as expected. I have been there 3 times now - I refer business associates there when asked because I know they will have a pleasant dining experience. Our waiter was particularly efficient and pleasant. Can't go wrong with Oceano.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot for happy hour & dinner. Ser ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Great spot for happy hour & dinner. Service was great for 7 women who hadn't seen one another in a while!!

food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Great Servet

Dined on April 16, 2016

Food is average. Price is above average. The inside dining space is dated. The outside dining space is limited. Above average service.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Very Disappointing!

Dined on April 16, 2016

This was my first time at Oceano and will also be my last time! There was three of us. The menu choices weren't all that great. We all started with the Spinach salad which was so over dressed with oil I couldn't eat it! My friends tried and literally had Oil all over thier chins! I ordered the Branzino which came with a vegetable hash that I did not like at all...mushrooms do NOT pair well with fish at all!! One piece of my fish was very grey looking. I ended up sending it back like I did my salad! My two friends ordered the scallops and they did not have a nice sear on them and the sauce was thin as water and all over the plate like a soup! On a positive note...our waiter was great! The manager was very nice and I was not charged for my meal except for dessert which thank heavens was delicious! The wine was also very good as well as the ambience!

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Always good

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

Went here for a quick business dinner. Have been here before. The New England Clam Chowder is probably the best in the area. The meal was good and served at a nice pace. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A Definite Favorite For Any Meal

Dined on April 10, 2016

We love Oceano Bistro and were glad to have a really good place to take visiting foodie friends.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent, affordable restaurant

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

We have had dinner at Oceano several times. The food is consistently good. The service has never lacked. And the price is reasonable for the excellent quality of the dinner. You really cannot go wrong at Oceano. Preparing fish correctly is a craft that is appreciated by a foodie like me and they certainly do it right at Oceano. The fresh baked cookies for dessert can easily be shared with another. They are so good and a perfect ending to a wonderful meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience

Dined on April 3, 2016

Fresh, delicious food, excellent service, extensive wine list with healthy pour, tasteful decor, and an all-around lovely dining experience. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was wonderful as always.

Dined on April 2, 2016

Food was wonderful as always.

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Scott

Dined on March 28, 2016

Nice evening. Good ambiance, but a little pricey Staff very helpful and nice

Tags: romantic, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service4

Great happy hour!

Dined on March 25, 2016

Great happy hour!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Oceano seafood

Dined on March 18, 2016

Nice fresh seafood rest with excellent service. Our waiter DJ was outstanding. The food was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Service from Kristin at lunch today was ...

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Service from Kristin at lunch today was outstanding! Food was running behind due to the popularity of their fish and chips special, and the server was so attentive, communicating with us often and offering us free dessert for the inconvenience. She was so friendly and helpful! Food was delicious as usual. Love this place!

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience! The coconut ...

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Always a great experience! The coconut shrimp salad is to die for!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, always, but too pricey

Dined on March 16, 2016

Lovely in all ways except the bill. This is not a place I can visit often, unfortunately.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable. Very few people there do ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

Very enjoyable. Very few people there do perhaps that made it very quiet--which we love.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Haven't eaten here for a couple years, darn good.

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

My wife and I haven't eaten at Oceana for a couple years as we had been away for a year in another country and we also hadn't had great experiences. Man, what a difference. I made the reservation for two reasons. I wanted good food and they had a kids menu online. We were going to have our children but I was leaving for over a week in Brazil. There aren't many high quality restaurants with a kids menu I thought "lets try again." I was blown away by how the entire staff treated our grandkids (6 & 10). They were greeted by the hostess. The waitress spoke directly to the kids and not us to get their orders and ask how things were. The manager stopped by a couple times and talked to them too. Our meals were excellent. Both the grandkids and my wife and I enjoyed the oysters & sliders. The kids meals were excellent quality chicken and good pizza. Dessert was inhaled and tasty. Thanks for an excellent experience and respecting our the little ones. We will be back with and without the grandkids.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Oceana with friends

Dined on March 7, 2016

Connected for dinner with old friends. Chose Oceana for fish on menu and location. We had the Branzino and the Chef's grouper special. Food was delicious!!! Also enjoyed the warm decor!!! An added bonus was the quiet atmosphere of the restaurant(granted it was a Sunday evening), so that being said, we really enjoyed being able to converse and hear each other.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Evening

Dined on March 5, 2016

Great choice for husband's birthday dinner. I had the scallops and my husband had the special - blue-green snapper. Both were excellent. Great wine suggested. They accommodated my gluten allergy as well. Waiter was wonderful. A little surprised they didn't do any dessert for birthday but still a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Treat

Dined on February 28, 2016

Brunch at Oceano's was very pleasant. Delicious food, courteous and friendly waiter, a great table, not noisy so we could have a conversation while we had brunch.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

First time there. Heading back soon!

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

First time there. Heading back soon!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding as always!

Dined on February 21, 2016

If you've not enjoyed Oceana bistro be sure to put it on your list. This place is consistently wonderful! The food, the service, the atmosphere are always top notch. The tuna is a must try! My wife and I will be going back again soon. My favorite restaurant in Clayton.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites!

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Oceano Bistro is always outstanding whether for a business lunch or a romantic dinner. It is one of our favorite St. Louis restaurants!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great brunch spot

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very nice window box view of the Valentine's Day snow. Delicious menu choices. Wife had the Oceano Omelet with scallops and shrimp which she loved. I had the salmon grilled cheese which was toasted to perfection and was perfect. Both were served with the best home-fry potatoes either of us have ever had. Delicious food and a great spot!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Oceano Bistro for Valentine's Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

This restaurant came highly recommended as a go-to place in the Clayton area. While it was a nice one-time experience, I would not consider it a place that I would go out of my way for to dine on a routine basis. The food was delicious, the ambiance was pleasant (for a very snowy Feb 14th brunch), and the staff was attentive. The price, however, came as unsurprising for the area, but on the high end when it came to the brunch provided. For those on a bit of a budget, you can find similar quality elsewhere. If you do go, however, make sure to order the "chocolate pancakes".

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seaworthy

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 12th anniversary at Oceano. We both enjoy seafood, so I thought it would be a great new choice on a busy Valentine's Day weekend. We felt welcomed from the moment we entered until the moment we exited. Our service was impeccable, she was polite and patient as we pondered each course. I opted for the crab cakes, clam chowder, branzino, and sauteed spinach with applewood bacon. My wife chose prawns, roast chicken, potatoes and green beans, and límon gelato. We thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance, our food, and each other's company. We will return to experience this Clayton corner staple again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Went down hill

Dined on February 14, 2016

Terrible service and food was not cooked properly. We'll go somewhere else from now on.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Was surprised reasonable wine prices.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great entrees and great prices on wine options. Deserts magnificent for valentines day dinner.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Resaurant

Dined on February 14, 2016

We have found our new best restaurant. We have bee 3 times and each time was amazing. Great service. DJ and Jn are great waiters.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The special was WONDERFUL !

Dined on February 14, 2016

The special for the evening was the Blue nose snapper. Never having had it before and on the recommendation of our server I gave it a try. It was excellent and the if I ever have the chance to try it again it would be on the top of the list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and service. If you like fres ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Great food and service. If you like fresh authentic seafood this is the place to go.

food4
ambience3
service2

The food was very good. Oceano was short ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

The food was very good. Oceano was short several servers and they must have been short in the kitchen as well. Our food took an extremely long time to arrive. The server apologized. They did not credit our check or provide a discount on a future meal as I feel they should

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.