Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 26 times today

Oceano Bistro - Clayton

4.6
2257 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies
Welcome to Oceano Bistro, St. Louis premiere fresh fish bistro. Our chefs, in partnerships with fishermen, farmers, and food artisans have searched the world's seas to bring the St. Louis area what is enjoyed by those who are living on the coast. We then pair it innovative and exciting fresh local producers and flavor combinations certain to dazzle every discerning palate at prices that are a great value for a great catch.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm; Weekend Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(314) 721-9400
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jon Lowe
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Oceano Bistro is also proud to offer a wide variety of catering options. Our expert chefs will prepare anything from a boxed lunch for 2 to a full service dinner complete with wait staff. You enjoy the party, we do the work. Please feel free to browse our extensive menus consisting of boxed lunches, themed buffet, and amazing plated dinners. More of our menus are available on our website, oceanobistro.com, and will be happy to make your next catered event an amazing success
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Maryland Ave.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking lot and garage available, on street parking, and on weekends valet is offered
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 2257 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 11 hours ago

The food wasn’t great. The fried foods (calamari and kids fish) were incredibly greasy. My salmon was overcooked. Overall, it was neither a bad meal nor a good meal, but definitely not worth the cost.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful crabcakes and Sherry butter! Great service too.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

I have been to Oceanos for lunch and dinner. The food is always good. Our server was nice but I think she was new. I was accustomed to a little more checking for water, etc. We forgot to ask for separate checks and she made the assumption that our payment was on one ticket. No worries...little details come with experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

The food and the service is always top notch here. Any slight hiccup, and I mean any, and the manager is there to make sure you are satisfied.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Great service & delicious food! Really enjoyed it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Service was outstanding- thanks, Ed! Scallops very good. Trout was not great however (not overcooked, but no flavor). Portions very generous!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Delicious food and great service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

The server was excellent for our group of eight. Food and drinks were excellent as well. Our table set up was very good for our group and we had no trouble with noise, which rarely happens. During the afternoon, I had brought two desserts and candles for the two birthdays. The restaurant was able to store them both in the fridge and brought them out with candles blazing at the right time without any prompting on my part. The server cheerfully divided the bill. I couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

We sat next to a very boisterous table. Very annoying, very loud. Put a damper on the evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Our waiter was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Food is excellent. We had sea bass and tuna. Beautiful presentation.
Excellent service
Owner comes by the table to check on customers. Very nice

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Food was delicious and our server, Ed, outstanding. Manager talked to us at length. Overall, a ver pleasant experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Waiter was fabulous. The special tomato salad was excellent as was the trout.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

As always, the food and service was outstanding! Robert is a very gracious host, and leaves you feeling great. Can't wait to bring more friends here!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Everything we had was excellent. Awesome crab cakes (3) appetizer. Great wine selection. We had a Rose. The sea bass was creamy and fanastic and the nightly special (some sort of white fish that started with an "n") was delightful. We even had dessert. We waited the extra 15 minutes to have the fresh from the oven chocolate cookies with ice cream. Also, yummy. We were also fortunate to get a window seat on the patio, so we had a great view of Clayton.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Our small group of old friends routinely gathers at Oceano on the rare occasions we are all in town. They invariably provide wine-friendly, people-friendly service (we always bring our own), excellent food, and an atmosphere that is energetic while still allowing us to be heard as we talk across the table.
This visit, Oceano did not disappoint. The service was attentive without being pushy, and all of us enjoyed our food choices.
I look forward to my next visit to St. Louis and Oceano.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

We went for a late dinner on Sunday night. It was quiet and wasn't crowded, which was relaxing. My husband had the Sunday fixed price 3 course meal. His chowder was okay but not memorable. We also shared the crab cake appetizer which had 3 cakes. It was very tasty and plenty for 2 people. He really enjoyed the Sea Bass entre on the 3 course meal
I loved the succulent extra large shrimp in the Scampi from the menu. They were sweet and cooked perfectly. Teramisu came with the 3 course meal and again, the generous portion was perfect for sharing although I liked it so much I wish I could have had it all to myself.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

The seafood was wonderful. Chowder was bland. Caesar Salad was unique. Ate off the Three-Course menu for a great value. The waiter and manager were "know-it-alls" that talked AT us rather than TO us. We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and the occasion was never acknowledged.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Great graduation celebration! Food and service were both excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Very good food and atmosphere

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

We had a great time. Would go back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Had a great lunch ,The soup was good, crabcake sandwich was also good.Bread pudding was excellent. The service was excellent as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

My friend and I enjoyed the food and the service

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Food was generally good and prepared accurately. We had mostly seafood but ordered a good variety. The noise level was above average but the concierge did close off one of the dining doors to bring it down to an acceptable level. Our overall service was lacking. Water glasses not refilled and the duration of time between the time the order was placed until the food arrived was excessive. That held true for the drinks as well. The cost for a party of two should have warranted more attention. Not sure if we will return. We dine out 4 - 5 nights a week so I feel confident my review is fair

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Consistently excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Everything was excellent. With a name like Oceano one expects good seafood, and Oceano of course excels at that, but perhaps surprising was the outstanding non seafood items as well. From salads and sides, to pork and lamb chops, everything was expertly prepared and delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We went for Mother’s Day brunch, the food was good, but not worth 114.00 for 2 . We won’t be back next year? Small children we’re touching all of the small desserts down low, so we took something off the top. Our server was great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food was pretty good for a buffet but we were very surprised to find that on Mother's Day, only a brunch was available....and it would be hard to imagine a brunch worth the $45 price. This one might approach that, but next time we will wait for an opportunity to order off Ocean's terrific menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Always a great place to eat. The food is wonderful

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Our server could not have been better! She made our overall dining experience wonderful, and enhanced every aspect of our visit. The food was excellent. I loved being seated in a large, high, comfy booth. It made our gathering and conversation more intimate. They recognized my note on the reservation regarding the special occasion we would be celebrating, and so my son was able to choose any dessert, on the house, he wanted for his birthday. His, as well our ours were delicious. Other items...hot, house-made bread rolls were served; we were able to find free, close-by parking which isn't always easy to do in Clayton; our "doggie" bags were attractively packaged and brought to us in a nice bag that wouldn't tip; the owner stopped by our table and was most gracious.
All good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Our food was delicious and server Phillip was terrific!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

We sat by the windows on a beautiful evening and had delicious meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Love this place! The minute you walk in you get greeted with a big smile.
The service is outstanding.
And the food is delicious and displayed beautifully on your plate.

I

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Our experience at Oceano was delightful. From the personal attention from Robert the manager and his team to the wonderful food experience. The rainbow trout was perfect. Possibly the best prepared piece of fish I have eaten. Lightly seasoned and cooked to perfection. Another member of our party was a land lover so steak was in order. I was fortunate enough to sample a bite of the filet and it was a beautiful medium rare. On my next visit to St Louis Oceano will be a must see and do. Thanks for everything!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Exceptional variety on the menu. The seafood chowder was delicious and they don't cheat you on the seafood. Ordered the trout and it was fresh and cooked to perfection. I also ordered a bottle of pinot noir which they ran out so they gave me something a little better but charge me for lower price of the wine I originally ordered. Very nice courtesy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

The food at Oceano was excellent, and the service was efficient and friendly. I will definitely return there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

This was the most amazing dining experience! The food was plated beautifully! Definitely resembled works of art! The best part was how everything tasted!! BEST swordfish and crab cakes EVER!! Desserts were also an amazing delight!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

The service was impeccable. Parking was slightly difficult but worth the frustration in order to enjoy the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Another excellent meal. Hyponic Cherry Tomatoes with Basil, Arugula, Goat Cheese and Balsamic reduction was amazing.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
57

Tweets by Oceano Bistro - Clayton