About Oceano Bistro - Clayton

Welcome to Oceano Bistro, St. Louis premiere fresh fish bistro. Our chefs, in partnerships with fishermen, farmers, and food artisans have searched the world's seas to bring the St. Louis area what is enjoyed by those who are living on the coast. We then pair it innovative and exciting fresh local producers and flavor combinations certain to dazzle every discerning palate at prices that are a great value for a great catch.

44 N. Brentwood
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm; Weekend Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Maryland Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 721-9400

Website:
http://oceanobistro.com/

Catering:
Oceano Bistro is also proud to offer a wide variety of catering options. Our expert chefs will prepare anything from a boxed lunch for 2 to a full service dinner complete with wait staff. You enjoy the party, we do the work. Please feel free to browse our extensive menus consisting of boxed lunches, themed buffet, and amazing plated dinners. More of our menus are available on our website, oceanobistro.com, and will be happy to make your next catered event an amazing success

Parking Details:
Parking lot and garage available, on street parking, and on weekends valet is offered

Executive Chef:
Jon Lowe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Oceano Bistro - Clayton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (36)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Special Occasion (31)
See All
Creative Cuisine (28)
Business Meals (27)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Romantic (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Casual (14)
Healthy (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Authentic (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Cozy (11)
Fun (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
People Watching (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Open Kitchen (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Seasonal (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Private Room (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1919 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

I have not been to Oceano in a couple of years and it has not dropped off since my last visit! My wife and I had a date night, starting with the Heirloom tomatoes with Goat Cheese and it was fabulous ! I had the Seafood Chowder which was great! Oh, and the bread to start was with Olive Oil and a fantastic Roasted Pepper/garlic sauce. My wife had the Tuna and it was Awesome( I did steal a piece) I had the SeaBass which was prepared to perfection! Amer and his staff were outstanding as they alway have been. I would highly recommend this Resturant to anyone for any occasion. By the way, they have a turf menu if fish is not your thing... Two thumbs up!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent as always! Great food, service; delightful ambiance; the go-to restaurant in our neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 18, 2017

The scallops are amazing as is any of their fresh fish offerings. We had a carnivore who was very impressed with the fillet. Service staff and manager are always professional and friendly. Food, service and atmosphere surpass our local seafood chain restaurants and you can usually get a reservation. Expect a leisurely dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent happy hour! Great food, drinks and prices.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had reservations at 8:30pm arrived at 8:06pm. Wasn't seated until after 9 and 3 2party couples were seated before my wife and even though we had reservations!! Wasn't the Valentines Day experience I wanted her to have.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was a lively busy, but efficient evening at Oceano. The waiter was very friendly and helpful. He explained all the entrees very well.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Absolutely amazing!!. I called to see if I could move my reservations up and he was so accommodating! It was the most perfect evening! Plus we fell in love with a new favorite wine!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had Valentines dinner. My scallops were fennel dusted. I did not know what to expect but they were bursting with flavor. We had a tomato salad much like a Caprese salad except made goat cheese The salad was huge but we ate the whole thing it was just so good.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

Pleasantly surprised! Me and my wife had been for restaurant week and were very disappointed, in fact we sad we would never go back. That was a year ago, so I made last minute Valentine's Day plans and this was the most covenient place, so I booked it without telling my wife where going. Our reservation was for 8:15pm we got there at 8:10pm and still had to wait 40 mins to be seated. While waiting we got great drinks at bar and talked to the bar tender. Once seated it was all uphill! The waitress was attentive and knowledgeable, the food was AMAZING, and it was an overall great time. On the way out we met the manager and he told of the great happy hour they have. This place has really redeemed itself and will now be part of our short list of frequented restaurants.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on February 14, 2017

Absolutely amazing as always! Would highly recommend!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food. Great service. Nice setting and fairly casual.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was the weekend before Valentine's Day so although we had reservations we waited about a half hour beyond that time to be seated. I had one of the specials; the butternut squash ravioli with a seafood sauce and it was great. I have been here many times before and I suppose what's missing is ambiance. Even when it's date night here I feel like running back to get the kids-if that makes sense. Don't get me wrong, this place is no Applebee's, but my kids love to eat at very nice restaurants and I just don't feel sexy and cozy here is all I'm saying. The food is always wonderful, the managers and staff are personable and overall Oceano is a very nice place to eat and enjoy family and friends.

Tags: Family Style, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on February 8, 2017

I had my sisters here from Florida and San Francisco , they said everything was great and tasty and even the waiter was the best they had seen in St. Louis. BTW, this was the best meal they had in St. Louis so far.

I live here and have been to your place about 6 times, but I always forget about bring them here because of not living in Clayton but I do have an office here.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 8, 2017

For the first time, the kitchen missed the mark with the tuna--my favorite dish on the menu. It first came out cold and too rare, then was returned (after a considerable time) overcooked and still cold. Surprising and disappointing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on February 4, 2017

Excellent food and service-had a great anniversary dinner here! And we will be back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on February 1, 2017

The food is great and our waiter was great. Great atmosphere in the room too.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 31, 2017

The food used to be outstanding. It is now below average. Used to be a regular customer-no more. (The wait staff has and is very good!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on January 30, 2017

Joseph our server was lovely. We joked around and he made our meal such a pleasant experience. Pace of the courses was great for conversations, the entrees were nice portion and the bread is always a nice treat. This place always delivers and you know you are going to get a quality meal. The Marsala at the end of the meal was an unexpected surprise. Great wine list too.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 30, 2017

My son and I went to the STL Symphony on Sunday. We were wanting to try a new place in the area but after looking at a several places we decided to come back here. Where we know they have fabulous seafood and the wait staff is helpful and efficient. For starters we shared a Tomato Salad, tomatoes were cut in half with a condensed balsamic vinegar drizzled over the top along with soft & salty cheese. Flavors went great together. Tomatoes were red and juicy. For dinner I had the Shellfish Sofrito, make sure to get 2 rolls. You won't want to leave anything behind including the broth. My son had the Grilled Truffle Scallops, fresh and delicious were the words he used to describe his first bite. We were stuffed but needed something sweet. My son chose the Blueberry Crème Brule and I the Warm White Chocolate Apple Bread Pudding, both desserts were exquisite. We love coming to Oceano.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

I think that you could afford to put more than TWO (2) Ravioli on your plates that you serve. I know that it was a $ 25.00 for Clayton dinner week, but come on.

Was not impressed with the salad dressing. But paying $ 25.00 and looking at that plate I would be embarrassed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Oceano is always a good option, for seafood or meat. Everything is fresh and the servers are helpful and efficient.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Owner stopped by table. Excellent server and service

Great wines and best food during Clayton restaurant week..

Much better than Avenue which we tried for the first time the same week

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

Oceano is consistently excellent. The ambiance is great, service is always excellent, and the food reliably delicious . . . and not overly salted, as many restaurants seem to do these days. It's really my favorite restaurant.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 29, 2017

The food was ok. Just ok. My tuna had an odd seasoning around the the edges and slices of, what I think was, potato layered in between the slices of tuna. The potatoes were nothing special. Just slices of potato. I also had a beet salad. The slices were inconsistent and one big slice was hard and very undercooked.

The whole experience was just meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

I will never do restaurant week again. I visited 3 clayton restaurants and was not happy

I ordered the $35 dinner at Oceana and I don't think the fish was even 3 ounces. I weight 105 lbs and I was still hungry. The crab cakes were cold and not good.

We had to tell the server 3 times we had Fox tickets We got their at 5:30 we barely made it to the fox for a 7:30 show

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our evening at Oceano was outstanding! The food, the atmosphere, and the service all added up to a special evening.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

We went there for my husbands birthday. He loves seafood and I heard about the shellfish soffritto. He said it was delicious! I had the special 3 course meal. I started with New England seafood chowder which was a bit cold. The main course was rainbow trout with green beans, mushroom in a butter sauce. It was very good except was not very hot. We finished with dessert. I had apple bread pudding and my husband had an unusual concoction: Oreo Creme brûlée - very, very good.

Plate warmers may be a good idea especially in cold temp.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

We went for restaurant week I I felt the dinner was pricey for what we got. Maybe ordering off the regular menu is a better idea.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on January 27, 2017

My wife and I went for restaurant week. The food was good, but for the price, even during restaurant week, I expected it to be a bit better. The service was good though, very nice server, very attentive. It was still a pleasant dining experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great meal, great service, nice pace to meal, not hurried.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 22, 2017

Not the best tonight been there when food and service was better

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on January 21, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary, with two delicious entres, sea bass and scallops. Nice wine list too.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Boring menu, boring interior and boring flavors. Really not worth the time and money

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellence in dining! Very enjoyable experience ! Good and service excellent!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great place for a business lunch. Good atmosphere, great ambiance and very good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

We had a very nice lunch, and will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Fabulous fresh fish options! But does also have wonderful meat options as well. Great bread, great desserts. Never had a bad meal!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Terrific evening! Dining experience and atmosphere were fabulous!

Tags: Happy Hour, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Visited for New Year's Eve. Very busy night but the wait was only about 30 minutes. The staff was very friendly even though the restaurant was packed past capacity. Great portions on the seafood. A great spot for a meal with someone special.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fabulous food, service and ambiance. It is alays great so that is why we continue to go back. Love this plce.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I went there for New Year's Eve dinner. There was a really bad draft of cold air coming in as people were entering and exiting. They should put up some sort of room divider to help block the cold air. We had the lump crab cake as an appetizer and I had the shellfish soffritto. The food was good but luke warm when served - not too enjoyable as we had to eat really fast so the food wouldn't get cold. Seemed to be very small servings for the price.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Staff was outstanding Tim is the best took great care of us and got us a GREAT seat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a wonderful meal at Oceano on New Years Eve! We found out the night before that our son would be in St. Louis and called to see if we could increase the number of people on our reservation and the staff could not have been more accommodating. Our server was extremely knowledgeable about the food items and the drink and wine list. We all got different entrees and everyone was extremely pleased. Even though it was very crowded we were never made to feel that we couldn't stay as long as we wanted. We love coming to Oceano whenever we are in St. Louis.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Outstanding food and service! One of our very favorites...anywhere!

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

We went for Christmas Eve family gathering and we had a great time. The food and service was amazing. Will definitely do it again for next year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Dined in Oceano's glass enclosed Porch. Enjoyed a lovely view of Clayton at Christmastime. Salmon entrée was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Good wine and an excellent meal, perfectly prepared. Service was very good. Waiter was very helpful.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

A great place for a relaxing and tasty meal. Consistently good with excellent service. Limited but nice wine choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

Service was very slow. Normally would not write this, but this is second time (in a row) I have experienced slow service.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, People Watching, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on December 13, 2016

Excellent dinner. Manager and wait staff friendly and warm!!! Made our evening even more fun...very engaging.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.