About Oceano Bistro - Clayton

44 N. Brentwood
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

Welcome to Oceano Bistro, St. Louis premiere fresh fish bistro. Our chefs, in partnerships with fishermen, farmers, and food artisans have searched the world's seas to bring the St. Louis area what is enjoyed by those who are living on the coast. We then pair it innovative and exciting fresh local producers and flavor combinations certain to dazzle every discerning palate at prices that are a great value for a great catch.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm; Weekend Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Maryland Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 721-9400

Website:
http://oceanobistro.com/

Catering:
Oceano Bistro is also proud to offer a wide variety of catering options. Our expert chefs will prepare anything from a boxed lunch for 2 to a full service dinner complete with wait staff. You enjoy the party, we do the work. Please feel free to browse our extensive menus consisting of boxed lunches, themed buffet, and amazing plated dinners. More of our menus are available on our website, oceanobistro.com, and will be happy to make your next catered event an amazing success

Parking Details:
Parking lot and garage available, on street parking, and on weekends valet is offered

Executive Chef:
Jon Lowe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Oceano Bistro - Clayton
New England Seafood Chowder
Blackened Bigeye Tuna
red snaper
Hamachi-Avocado Ceviche
Shellfish Risotto
Grilled Beef Tenderloin
Maryland Lump Crab Cakes
Sea bass with corn and asparagus risotto
Grilled Scallops with Buerre Fondou
Seafood Soffrito
Fritto Misto
Bread
Sauteed Warm Water Covina Sea Bass
Steamed Shellfish Soffrito
Seabass
Caesar Salad
Bistro Salad
Oil
Halibut
Bruleed Fig
Rack of Lamb

Oceano Bistro - Clayton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Midtown
Best Restaurants in Clayton ›

Special Occasion (53)
Fit for Foodies (52)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
See All
Great for Lunch (29)
Good for Groups (28)
Romantic (23)
Notable Wine List (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Cozy (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Business Meals (4)
Scenic View (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Authentic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Casual (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1707 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and Service is always excellent. Th ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food and Service is always excellent. The crab cakes are probably the best I've had in St. Louis. Filled with actual crab and very little filler. I usually get the Sea Bass which never disappoints . The smoked tomato butter is delicious and is the perfect compliment to the risotto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We ended up just having just a bunch of ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 5 days ago

We ended up just having just a bunch of appetizers because they all seemed so yummy! I had a small spinach salad that was plenty big, very tasty, and wonderful. My husband had a half dozen oysters. The presentation was lovely and he thought they were delicious. We had recently been to demun oyster bar and he thought these were far better. We split

The tuna appetizer. The tuna itself was yummy but it wasn't our favorite presentation of this dish. The shiitake mushrooms tended to be a bit assertive for the delicate tuna. However, it was all very fresh and pretty to look at. We also split the calamari and that was wonderful. Beautifully cooked with a very tasty relish/pickle to dip in. It was also quite a large portion. We left full and happy and eager to come back to try some mains. I would highly recommend it if you like seafood. They know what they're doing. They don't over cook the food and present it well.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

sat on the patio like area with windows ...

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

sat on the patio like area with windows open and it was lovely...service was great and food was yummy!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food selection was great! Not too crowde ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food selection was great! Not too crowded on a weekend night. Also, they have a nice wide selection.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I had crab cakes and a spinach salad. I ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I had crab cakes and a spinach salad. I liked the crab cakes especially the sauce that went with it. The spinach salad was also great, my husband kept stealing bites throughout the entire meal. I would go back again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is delicious! Clam chowder was thi ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food is delicious! Clam chowder was thick, rich and tasty.

We are normally snobby about our crabcakes being just lumps of crab and as little else as possible. These crabcakes had more the consistency of croquettes, but they were so tasty along with their accoutrements (shaved fennel, arugula) that we stopped looking down our noses and lapped up every bit.

Fishes -- sea bass and halibut were perfectly cooked, along with the risotto with the bass. The sauces in all the dishes were so flavorful, deep like a really good memory. Very nice Caesar salad, though a bit overdressed for my tastes.

Service (Joseph) was really superb. We felt well taken care of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very expensive compared to the value rec ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Very expensive compared to the value received. The waiter was terrible.

Tags: Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Foodwas superb and the service was excel ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Foodwas superb and the service was excellent. We will be back again!

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fish, fresh interesting preparatio ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Great fish, fresh interesting preparation and busy ambience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was very good. Would not hesi ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Everything was very good. Would not hesitate to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fine overall experience. Waiter was a bi ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Fine overall experience. Waiter was a bit overextended, still did a fantastic job for us. Prices up, but so was the quality. We will return.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious seafood and bread. We had two ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Delicious seafood and bread. We had two different seafood entrees and both were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fabulous seafood. Perfect service. Would ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Fabulous seafood. Perfect service. Would definitely eat here again next time we are in town.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Healthy, Disabled Access, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While entering the restaurant we stood a ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

While entering the restaurant we stood at least 1 minute before the owner looked up.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely evening. If it was slightly quiet ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Lovely evening. If it was slightly quieter in the room it would have been perfect. Full on a Saturday night. Not really their fault.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a table of 8 and everyone thought ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We had a table of 8 and everyone thought their food was delicious. No leftovers!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I ordered my salmon entree for the chef ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I ordered my salmon entree for the chef to prepare as he chooses. But, it was so dry I couldn't eat it. And our waiter seemed to be new, and was very absent from start to finish. We sat a good 15 minutes before anyone approached our table. Then, after taking our order the food was very slow to arrive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Service was attentive and timely, but no ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Service was attentive and timely, but not intrusive. Food arrived at correct temperature and was plentiful. Very tasty, high quality food.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Oceano is always very consistent. I had ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Oceano is always very consistent. I had the Sea Bass with Risotto and it was fantastic. Have never had a bad meal here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Order was late in arriving. The seafood ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Order was late in arriving. The seafood in the stew was not the best. One mussel was nasty. After that mussel I quit eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

We had a good overall experience at Ocea ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We had a good overall experience at Oceano as we have during each of our visits to the restaurant. I've recommended it often to friends seeking a good seafood dinner. We did have a problem with desserts of fresh chocolate chip cookies which arrived at the table undercooked to the point that they were not really edible. the host quickly removed them from our bill but also served substitution cookies shortly afterwords. It was not a terrible incident at all and the host did the right thing to resolve the issue and reinforced our feeling that Oceano is a classy restaurant that deserves our patronage in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our experience recently was outstanding. ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Our experience recently was outstanding. The staff of Oceano extend themselves to their customers in a very professional manor. The appetizers and main course items were sensational!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch restaurant with lots of person ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Top notch restaurant with lots of personal attention. Halibut, salmon and trout entrees were excellent. Unfortunately, while broth in mussels appetizer was flavorful, mussels were so undersized that the dish was woefully inadequate for the cost. Should have just said the appetizer was off-the-menu that evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Oceano Bistro is an excellent restaurant ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Oceano Bistro is an excellent restaurant but very pricey. Everything is ala carte, so we were shocked when we got the bill & for three people, our bill was $145 before the tip. You might think that we ordered several cocktails for this price, but we only had 2 glasses of wine at $9

per glass.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

It was just an OK experience. 7 of us ha ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

It was just an OK experience. 7 of us had dinner and none of the entres were particularly notable. Small portions and expensive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The food is wonderful and the service is ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food is wonderful and the service is usually really good. There is just one waiter that has waited on me three times. He could be so much better if he tried. He needs an attitude check ( not sure if he likes women) and his timing skills are way off. This time we waited about 10 minutes before he even made it to our table the first time. Then there were other long waits for stuff. On a previous time I went with another friend and she has also had many issues with him.

I will happily be back again but I will request to be anywhere other than his section.

Ps. I still tipped my minimum of 20%. I was once a waiter and I cannot short someone even if I think their service needs a lot of work.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Don't go Hungry: This was perhaps the 3r ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Don't go Hungry: This was perhaps the 3rd or 4th time we have visited Oceano Bistro. The food is quite good, the service is good, it is easy to obtain reservations. However, if you are hungry, beware that the portions are disappointingly small. Compared with other restaurants in Clayton and nearby areas, it is not good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Always excellent - food, service, ambian ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always excellent - food, service, ambiance. The host and wait staff are attentive without overdoing it. The food, especially, is creative and appealing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waitress was excellent - very friend ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Our waitress was excellent - very friendly and full of life. The food was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, trhe staff quickly took care o ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

As usual, trhe staff quickly took care of special dietary medical needs. Although the restaurant was quite busy, due to a special Clayton Restaurant Week, the service was professional and prompt.All specials were explained and the food was well-prepared and beautifully plated. All-in-all, an excellent dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I would not dine there again. We were im ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I would not dine there again. We were immediately seated in an area away from everyone where sun shinned in on us. The did pull down the shades. Wih all the empty seats why the hell was that the seat for. We decided to leave. The appetizer arrived, so ate it, partially as it was not cooked well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Delicious and creative fare and presenta ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Delicious and creative fare and presentation. Seafood at its finest.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went on a not so busy night and of all t ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went on a not so busy night and of all things, my wife orders the sea bass and they are out. How? A seafood restaurant? Wasn't particularly busy and it was early in the evening. Appetizers were pretty good. The scallops were cooked just right. Shellfish soffritto- large serving size but seafood was bland. The waitress was the best part of the experience. Very attentive and nice. Nice ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Loved the clean modern look of the resto ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Loved the clean modern look of the resto. Our waiter Zach was helpful with wine choices. Kobe beef sliders was perfect medium rare. Loved the seafood chowder (needed more pepper but every spoonful was loaded with crab meat) as well as the Scallops dinner entree (asked for a spoon as the sauce was amazing, oozing with umami). Serving sizes are generous, even for desserts. I would come back here if we lived closer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great sofritto

vip
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great sofritto

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

What a wonderful dinner we had! We alwa ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

What a wonderful dinner we had! We always do. Oceano is really tops in my book!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, the food is great and the sta ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

As always, the food is great and the staff is always so friendly and nice!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this restaurant! Oceano is one of ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I love this restaurant! Oceano is one of my favorites in Saint Louis! Always fresh seafood. I enjoyed the sea bass with a delicious risotto and a spring spinach salad with strawberries!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

From the service to the food to the conc ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

From the service to the food to the concern by waiters and manager, the experience was superb. Special dietary needs were perfectly taken into consideration.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, restaurant speializes in seaf ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Good food, restaurant speializes in seafood, good wine list, good location

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.