About Oceano Bistro - Clayton

44 N. Brentwood
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

Welcome to Oceano Bistro, St. Louis premiere fresh fish bistro. Our chefs, in partnerships with fishermen, farmers, and food artisans have searched the world's seas to bring the St. Louis area what is enjoyed by those who are living on the coast. We then pair it innovative and exciting fresh local producers and flavor combinations certain to dazzle every discerning palate at prices that are a great value for a great catch.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm; Weekend Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Maryland Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 721-9400

Website:
http://oceanobistro.com/

Catering:
Oceano Bistro is also proud to offer a wide variety of catering options. Our expert chefs will prepare anything from a boxed lunch for 2 to a full service dinner complete with wait staff. You enjoy the party, we do the work. Please feel free to browse our extensive menus consisting of boxed lunches, themed buffet, and amazing plated dinners. More of our menus are available on our website, oceanobistro.com, and will be happy to make your next catered event an amazing success

Parking Details:
Parking lot and garage available, on street parking, and on weekends valet is offered

Executive Chef:
Jon Lowe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
New England Seafood Chowder - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Blackened Bigeye Tuna - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Hamachi-Avocado Ceviche - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Shellfish Risotto - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Grilled Beef Tenderloin - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Maryland Lump Crab Cakes - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Sea bass with corn and asparagus risotto - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Grilled Scallops with Buerre Fondou - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Seafood Soffrito - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
red snaper - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Fritto Misto - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Bread - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Sauteed Warm Water Covina Sea Bass - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Steamed Shellfish Soffrito - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Seabass - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Caesar Salad - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Bistro Salad - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Oil - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Halibut - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Bruleed Fig - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO
Rack of Lamb - Oceano Bistro - Clayton, Clayton, MO

Oceano Bistro - Clayton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Midtown
Best Restaurants in Clayton ›

Special Occasion (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for a Date (21)
See All
Business Meals (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Romantic (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Cozy (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Authentic (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Healthy (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Casual (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Fun (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
1747 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good food. Good Service. Affordable. Goo ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Good food. Good Service. Affordable. Good Wine.

I have been here many times. I love the fact that the owner is ALWAYS on the floor greeting customers and making sure everything is okay. That itself speaks a lot about the restaurant and the quality of service. Keep it up!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the food and service at Oceano con ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 26, 2016

While the food and service at Oceano continue to be excellent, the decor, especially at dinner time, provides a terrible atmosphere. Too much lighting highlights the cheap design and furnishings. Would recommend only for lunch.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Delicious food, great cocktails. I highl ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Delicious food, great cocktails. I highly recommend the cucumber martini.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was disappointed that my sea scallops ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 22, 2016

I was disappointed that my sea scallops lunch special turned out to be a single scallop cut into five thin slices put on top of a large pile of vegetables. Everything was perfectly cooked and it's a great place, but give me a break, whole scallops are a reasonable expectation. I'd rate everything a "5" if it wasn't for that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had been wanting to enjoy a pleasant ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had been wanting to enjoy a pleasant and relaxing dinner and you really helped deliver on that for us. We could have easily stayed longer had it not been for having symphony tickets, and if we'd been able to make it back for dessert following the symphony, we'd have certainly done that.

The wait staff as well as the management helped make this a really special evening. Good times and memories. I see us being back, frequently.

Thanks!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I once saw a sign at a fishmonger's plac ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I once saw a sign at a fishmonger's place that said, " cheap fish isn't good and good fish isn 't cheap". Oceano Bistro is not an inexpensive place but it is a good value. You get what you pay for. All of our entrees were perfectly prepared, Our server was very knowledgeable about all on the menu and was helpful with selecting the wine. alcohol is not cheap here with wine averaging about $12.50 per glass.. cocktails were in the $9 range. We will visit here again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oceano Bistro was everything a great res ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Oceano Bistro was everything a great restaurant should be! We had amazing service, the food was delicious, and the ambiance was great. Our server knew just what to recommend and we were very happy with the taste of the food and wine. We will be going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and lovely service

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great food and lovely service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the rainbow trout and it was delic ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I had the rainbow trout and it was delicious. The service staff was attentive. Good spot for a business lunch in the heart of Clayton.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My partner started off with seafood che ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My partner started off with seafood cheddar followed by a salmon entree cooked medium which was perfect. Ending the meal in a European way the ordered a caesar salad. I had Big Eye Tuna followed by a salad and a glass of Cannonball Cabernet wine. All were excellent. We were served warm bread with a dipping sauce.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to Oceano for dinner ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 9, 2016

My wife and I went to Oceano for dinner to celebrate her birthday. Because it fell on election day we were looking forward to having a stress free night with good food and drinks. We had a drink and app at the bar for happy hour, all of which was delicious. We were then seated at our table, given water and told our waiter would be right with us. We waited 24 minutes and no one ever came. We watched servers run around serving the two tables beside us and no one ever stopped. Finally a man walked by and caught my eye contact and asked if we had ordered drinks. We explained that we had been sitting there for 24 minutes waiting, he apologized and proceeded to take our drink order. When he returned he said he would go ahead and be our server for the evening, and offered a complimentary dessert for the inconvenience. He was great the whole night and we were very pleased with his service, but we were still awfully disappointed in how long we had to wait. And while his offer of dessert was nice, we already had dessert plans. I look forward to returning for happy hour but am hesitant to do anything other than that because of the horrible experience. No one wants to be ignored for over 20 minutes, especially on their birthday.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Nice Spot. My second visit, this time f ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Nice Spot. My second visit, this time for dinner, which was very low-key and pleasant. Fish is terrific, as is the Caprese/sliced tomato appetizer. I had the chopped salad with hot shrimp, which I thoroughly enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Most of the food we ordered was good, an ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Most of the food we ordered was good, and they have an extensive wine list. The starters -- beet salad and the tomatoes -- were excellent, and the chicken and kale entree salad was flavorful, but the scallops were overcooked and very salty. The restaurant manager graciously took the scallops off the bill when the person who ordered them declined to have the chef prepare a second plateful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic dinner. Joseph was fabulous. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Fantastic dinner. Joseph was fabulous. Service was terrific.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great great service. Would go again when ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great great service. Would go again when we visiting St. Louis again

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Romantic, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice ambience. Good place for seafood bu ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Nice ambience. Good place for seafood but also offer pork, beef, and chicken entrees. I had the Canadian salmon and the risotto on the side . Both good but not exceptional. I started with the spinach salad and it was very good. My husband ordered the double cut pork loin chops..said it was good. Our friends had the scallops (very good) and trout..good. I'm a foodie so like to taste outstanding! I give the restaurant a 3.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

After reading other reviews and without ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 1, 2016

After reading other reviews and without seeing the menu, I assumed incorrectly more seafood options would be on the menu.

For those who don't like seafood or like it a little, their alternatives are good and adequate to keep you assuming this is an upscale Red Lobster. .

And, yes, I will be going again to Oceano's and will gladly be an unpaid salesman.

I advocate checking out this opportunity.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Good experience, as always

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Good experience, as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun place to go for brunch. The ambianc ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Fun place to go for brunch. The ambiance was nice and the food was delicious! We loved the different choices of eggs Benedict and appreciated the waitress's recommendations.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience in all respects. H ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent experience in all respects. Heirloom tomato starter was a nice surprise, after the season. Great spot for a business meeting or meeting of friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time dining at Ocean ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was our second time dining at Ocean Bistro. The first time the food and service were great. This time the service was extremely slow and the food was below average. Especially the fish. Too bad - it was very good the first visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

European sea bass with butternut squash ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

European sea bass with butternut squash and green beans...

My plate had enough green beans for the 4 of us, no squash that I could find and the fish was 2 extremely small slivers. I am a petite woman and left hungry and disappointed. . My husband had the salmon and clam chowder and was quite pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

This was a fantastic find for us. Clayto ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 26, 2016

This was a fantastic find for us. Clayton is not a big "go-to" dinner area for us, but we will definitely go back to Oceano Bistro!

Definitely one of the BEST seafood restaurants in St. Louis.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I must say that my experience at Oceano ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 26, 2016

I must say that my experience at Oceano Bistro was EXCELLENT!! I got a chance to speak with the head chef and he was nothing short of fascinating! Who knew that cooking was so scientifically thought out? Their ingredients came together to make every menu item simply delicious! It was the BEST seafood I have ever eaten to date!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After the Rep on Sunday...so nice to go ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

After the Rep on Sunday...so nice to go late in the afternoon...everyone enjoyed the Sunday pre fixe menu..

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had friends in from out of town and a ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had friends in from out of town and are foodies. Tried to decide where to go. Oceano hit the spot! We had a time mix up and got to the restraurant early. We were seated at our table immediately and waited for our guests. Enjoyed martinis. The enclosed patio was perfect for dinner and conversation. We had a great waiter in Ed. He never rushed us thru our meal. As we wanted to enjoy our time. After our guests arrived we ordered cocktails. Then proceeded to have one appetizer of calamari which we all shared. We proceeded to order our dinners. Two of us ordered the salmon and one of us ordered the sea bass and the other the scallops. Everyone truly enjoyed our dinners. My only complaint would be that their wine list is a little limited. I would highly recommend Oceano.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Wonderful service! Always e ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great food! Wonderful service! Always enjoy Oceano every time I am there.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Oceano is always a favorite it is a very ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Oceano is always a favorite it is a very inviting atmosphere, lively, always good service and the food is consistently good!...we and the couple we were with both said we always have a good time at the restaurant and the food is great!....Linda Hodge

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dinner. Try the Grilled Branzi ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Excellent Dinner. Try the Grilled Branzino!!

We were at Oceano Bistro two years ago and decided to come back to Clayton for our anniversary to have dinner at Oceano’s. So last night we were there for our 35th!! The service was very good and the Manager (I believe his name was Jim) was extremely helpful, personable and attentive.

We started with a half dozen of the Blue Point Oysters. We love oysters and one of the Oceano sauces was an olive oil based, cucumber and red pepper sauce. Delicious. We each order a “Small” salad. Forget “small”, they were huge! I ordered the Caesar Salad which was great and it is served with fries capers, which made the salad. My wife had the Bistro Market Salad which has potato straws, tomatoes, onion, gorgonzola in a balsamic vinaigrette. The gorgonzola was excellent and absolutely enhanced the salad.

The shinning stars of their menu is their seafood. I had the Grilled Branzino which was perfectly prepared. My wife had the Sea Bass which was also excellent and it was served with a marvelous asparagus and sweet corn risotto.

I love their White Chocolate Apple Bread Pudding, but the manager suggested we try their Homemade Chocolate Chip Cookies, which is three freshly make cookies with additional chocolate sauce and ice cream and a strawberry. If you love chocolate, this dessert is to die for.

Considering the quality of the food, service, and atmosphere Oceano Bistro is not expensive. If you haven’t been there, give it a try. Keep in mind, we come to Clayton just to go to Oceano Bistro!

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very good dinner. Seafood chowder, sal ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Very good dinner. Seafood chowder, salads, and sea bass were excellent. Espresso drinks and nice desert menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As usual the food taste and quality was ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

As usual the food taste and quality was outstanding. I have dined here five times during the past three years and I have never had a meal that was anything less than excellent. The service has been hit or miss in the past with this visit garnering only a mediocre rating. Upon being seated we were served cocktails within ten minutes. It then took over twenty minutes to receive our appetizer order. By this time my cocktail glass had run dry and the server was nowhere to be found. Aside from this I am happy with the overall experience at Oceano Bistro and I would recommend to friends and colleagues.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The truffle scallops plate was one of th ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The truffle scallops plate was one of the best dishes I've ever had. I recommend it with all my heart to anyone and everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding experience overall. Will r ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Outstanding experience overall. Will return the next time I'm in St. Louis for business.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Healthy, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I seriously love this restaurant! There' ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2016

I seriously love this restaurant! There's something about the ambiance that just makes me happy :)

Tags: Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Authentic, Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The shrimp appetizer was Amazing. H be ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The shrimp appetizer was Amazing. H be enjoyed our food every time we have dined here.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very accommodating, worked well with my ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Very accommodating, worked well with my dietary restrictions ! Amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went there on a recommendation. I was d ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Went there on a recommendation. I was disappointed. Server was nice enough but they were out of the first 2 beers I attempted to order, taking 10 minutes to finally get a mass produced domestic. Food was average or below, Umami sliders were raw, the pork chop I ordered medium was overcooked and dry except for the reduction it was drowned in. Unimpressed...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Always a great experience at Oceano! Th ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Always a great experience at Oceano! The customer service and food is wonderful!!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We just went for lunch the other day and ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 27, 2016

We just went for lunch the other day and as usual the food and service were great

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and Service is always excellent. Th ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Food and Service is always excellent. The crab cakes are probably the best I've had in St. Louis. Filled with actual crab and very little filler. I usually get the Sea Bass which never disappoints . The smoked tomato butter is delicious and is the perfect compliment to the risotto.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.