Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

About Oceano Bistro - Clayton

Welcome to Oceano Bistro, St. Louis premiere fresh fish bistro. Our chefs, in partnerships with fishermen, farmers, and food artisans have searched the world's seas to bring the St. Louis area what is enjoyed by those who are living on the coast. We then pair it innovative and exciting fresh local producers and flavor combinations certain to dazzle every discerning palate at prices that are a great value for a great catch.

44 N. Brentwood
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm; Weekend Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Maryland Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 721-9400

Website:
http://oceanobistro.com/

Catering:
Oceano Bistro is also proud to offer a wide variety of catering options. Our expert chefs will prepare anything from a boxed lunch for 2 to a full service dinner complete with wait staff. You enjoy the party, we do the work. Please feel free to browse our extensive menus consisting of boxed lunches, themed buffet, and amazing plated dinners. More of our menus are available on our website, oceanobistro.com, and will be happy to make your next catered event an amazing success

Parking Details:
Parking lot and garage available, on street parking, and on weekends valet is offered

Executive Chef:
Jon Lowe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Oceano Bistro - Clayton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (40)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Special Occasion (30)
See All
Business Meals (25)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Healthy (20)
Happy Hour (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Romantic (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Casual (10)
People Watching (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Cozy (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Authentic (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Fun (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Private Room (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vegan (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (1)
Organic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1994 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

The service was outstanding, the owner/manager checked on us twice(we actually had a REAL conversation) and the food was excellent! The outside seating consusts of only two tables and we had one of them. Outstanding place to watch the sunset and enjoy some peace and quiet!!
We'll be b-a-a-a-a-c-k!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic always the best

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I were in STL for our anniversary weekend to catch a Cardinals game and just enjoy ourselves. Oceano Bistro was a very nice touch that I added to surprise my wife with, the service was awesome and the food was great. I found this restaurant on the open table app and hands down I will return to visit it again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service, food was terrific, the ambience was fabulous!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 19, 2017

A Clayton gem. The food and service were excellent. Highly recommended. Who says you cannot have good seafood in the Midwest?! You can at Oceano.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Delicious seafood.. a bit pricy but worth the cost.. interesting "presentation" of Bread ... ( waiters work the restaurant and offer one roll out of large basket)
I had scallops with truffle sauce.. large scallops well cooked and rich and delightful sauce on the side
Nice variety of seafood ! Also recently there for a Sunday brunch and had eggs Benedict.. cooked to perfection

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

OCEANO always delivers excellent seafood and a professional staff. I've never been disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great local lunch spot! The Crab Cake Salad is the best!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on June 13, 2017

I was very impressed with the level of service and the food. The rolls are worth the trip alone..I had half servings of the beet salad and the tomato salad and they were so fresh and delicious. The tomato salad is enough for two people, took half home. I ordered the prawns appetizer for my meal and that was the only thing that wasn't fantastic, they were too salty for my taste (but I ate them anyway). I would recommend this restaurant and will go back.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Outstanding service, attention to detail. Very solid menu, consistently done well. Patrons are treated as if they were the only ones in the restaurant by staff. A real gem in the area that consistently delivers. I would recommend this to all my friends, family and clients.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Such great food !! Kids loved it too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The bar lady (young lady) was a delight. Don't have her name but she made Happy Hour very happy. She knows her Blanton's single barrel very well. But, it's a squeeze to get from hostess stand past the bar to the restaurant seating. Our server, Kelsey C., was attentive and knowledgeable. Excellent!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 6, 2017

The server was very attentive and met our needs well.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 29, 2017

They were out of both appetizers we ordered. The oysters were completely tasteless. Entrees were decent. Service was lacking. Would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Great seafood. Their scallops are fantastic. The wait staff was excellent and wine selection was great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Great seafood

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Most of the food was very good. A little disappointed with the muscles. Service was fantastic.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Very nice Resturant in a very hip part of town! Throughly enjoyed!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Ocean Bistro was "good" but it didn't really live up to the hype. The food was fine, but a couple of the fish dishes were a bit bland / uninspired. Delivery of the items was a bit spotty, and I felt like the management was nice but a bit fake. We just didn't walk away with a memorable experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We joked about how close the Ocean might be, but the seafood menu did not disappoint. We were greeted warmly by who we assume was the owner. For a first time dining experience we were treated like regulars. The blue point oysters were delicious and the cucumber mignonette was a fresh and pleasant surprise. We enjoyed the Shellfish Soffritto which was delicious. We were seated in a porch area. I like to people watch and would have preferred the main dining room, but no one else in our group of 4 had any objection. I would certainly recommend and would consider returning if we ever get back to St. Louis.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Delicious farm to table experience. The food was superb and tasted fresh. It was a bit pricey - $109 for two drinks and two dinners, plus tip, so certainly more of a special occasion place.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mothers day brunch was chaotic. The food was good but the staff seemed clueless about managing a buffet. I would prefer a sit down brunch with menus

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very disappointed in the buffet we had especially for the price. Had heard a lot of great things about Oceano, but will never do brunch again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were in town for my son's college graduation and were looking for a place for Mother's Day brunch. This place exceeded our expectations!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Our waiter was just great and hats off to the pastry chef the crafted truffles were excellent

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent resturant. Lovely experience. Gracious resturanturs. Aaron's service was exceptional. Would highly recommend. Oh and the food was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I was in visiting from out of town and running errands with my Mom. We stopped in for lunch during this trip; I always make it a point to visit once while I'm in town. Really great seafood selection and service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

My caesar salad had too much dressing. My calamari was so salty I couldn't eat it. Won't be going back.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 8, 2017

It was great/ I do think $9.00 per scallop is a bit pricey

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Really great experience. The food was delicious. Our server was incredibly nice and worked with us on our dining preferences. I highly recommend this restaurant. We were here for Sunday brunch.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Been a customer for years and never ever disappointed. You can always count on Amer!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Took two Indiana friends to Oceano Bistro on a recommendation from another friend. I was trepidatious because I had never been to the restaurant. Well, what a great surprise! It was Kentucky Derby night, and we were seated partially inside/partially outside at our request. We could see the hat-doffed people eating across the street at Herbie's, watching the Derby. That was our only view, but it mattered not. The food was excellent, the prices not to exorbitant, the service was excellent, and we had a memorable time. This Bistro is highly recommended.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

As always, the food and service were outstanding. Will definitely be back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Wonderful service, very good (and fresh) food. I ordered the sashimi-grade tuna which, as my date educated me, would not be "fishy"...and it wasn't! My date ordered the sea bass that she said was "very good...but maybe not as good as the price (suggested)." The tab for two came to $102 (including two glasses of wine, so I'll leave it to others what they find "of value." Will I return? Maybe for a brunch or happy hour!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Been to this restaurant many times and usually like it , however, ordered the special of the evening which was grouper and it was undercooked and rubbery. I finally sent it to the chef for his opinion, the waitress brought it back saying he felt like the temperature could be brought up so briefly refired it and sent it back to me. She said "sorry" and that was it.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Wonderful food, and great service

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Oceano is a go to place for great cocktails, excellent happy hour, and nice seafood. Everyone there is welcoming and you are never rushed so it's a great place for long conversations in a comfortable space.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Casual, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Great service, food was excellent and manager was accommodating to our off-menu choice. They went above expectations just because. Will definitely come back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Buffet was lacking some breakfast staples like pancakes or French toast. Little quiches were cold and sausage was nit good. However, still love Oceano's from many other positive experiences and overall meal good just not great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.