Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.47mi
  4. Distance: 0.54mi

About Oceano Bistro - Clayton

Welcome to Oceano Bistro, St. Louis premiere fresh fish bistro. Our chefs, in partnerships with fishermen, farmers, and food artisans have searched the world's seas to bring the St. Louis area what is enjoyed by those who are living on the coast. We then pair it innovative and exciting fresh local producers and flavor combinations certain to dazzle every discerning palate at prices that are a great value for a great catch.

44 N. Brentwood
Clayton, MO 63105
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 2:00pm - 9:00pm; Weekend Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Maryland Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 721-9400

Website:
http://oceanobistro.com/

Catering:
Oceano Bistro is also proud to offer a wide variety of catering options. Our expert chefs will prepare anything from a boxed lunch for 2 to a full service dinner complete with wait staff. You enjoy the party, we do the work. Please feel free to browse our extensive menus consisting of boxed lunches, themed buffet, and amazing plated dinners. More of our menus are available on our website, oceanobistro.com, and will be happy to make your next catered event an amazing success

Parking Details:
Parking lot and garage available, on street parking, and on weekends valet is offered

Executive Chef:
Jon Lowe

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Oceano Bistro - Clayton Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (42)
Special Occasion (37)
Creative Cuisine (32)
See All
Good for Birthdays (31)
Fit for Foodies (28)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Romantic (25)
Business Meals (24)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Casual (20)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Happy Hour (15)
Healthy (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Cozy (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Bar Seating (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Authentic (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Fun (6)
Seasonal (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
People Watching (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2074 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined a day ago

Beet salad was delicious. Sea bass perfectly prepared. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined a day ago

We were very pleasantly surprised with our latest visit. We have dined here before and we were not impressed. We thought that we would give it one more try. The server was phenomenal. He knew the menu well and he made it a very comfortable dining visit. We started with a special clam appetizer that was to die for. I want more!! The clams were cooked perfectly with the most delicious lemon garlic sauce with turkey chorizo, tomato and crustinis. I also had the truffle scallops, cooked to perfection. My husband had the shrimp scampi pasta. He loved it and it looked so good, I will be trying it next time. I am so glad we tried it again, we will definitely be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

I often use Oceano as a place to bring out of town guests. The food is very good, as is the service. Our guests have consistently enjoyed dining there. This restaurant makes St. Louis look good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Oceano's food is delicious with healthy options...lucky it's in the neighborhood!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2017

The crab cakes eggs Benedict was delicious. Brunch was nice before going to the Fox for a matinee.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Great food and the service was awesome! The crab soup was the best! A must have!

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Great food, super service! Really enjoyed myself. All of the staff were friendly and solicitous--really made me feel special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 13, 2017

This was our first time at this restaurant. We were very pleased. The crab cake appetizer was bountiful and delicious. The bread and dipping sauce was very good and replenished. We split the prawn fettuccini and the server kindly brought spit plates without being asked. It was very good and plenty for two. Everything was perfectly cooked and seasoned. We will definitely go here again when in St. Louis.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 12, 2017

The Green apple salad with chicken was delicious! the other two salads my friends had looked just as good and my favorites of all times are the crab cakes :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Our food was excellent and the selection was outstanding. Maybe the best calamari I have ever had. Fantastic seafood.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We arrived on time for our OpenTable reservation at Oceano Bistro and were seated 30 minutes later without exaggeration. Famished, we ordered right away and our food was ready very quickly. So quickly that the food came out before we were given silverware or napkins. Upon getting said silverware, and later the napkins, the food did not meet expectations. I had the truffle oil scallops and would never order them again. The dish lacked basic salt and pepper and was overwhelmed by the truffle oil. The flavor of the scallops was completely masked. I ordered a side of portobello mushrooms to compensate for my dislike of the scallops, and when the waitress brought them to the table she looked at my half-eaten dish of scallops and said emphatically "that is the BEST thing on the menu - those and the fennel dusted scallops - they're amazing!" Well, if that is the best they serve I certainly don't want to try anything else. We couldn't have gotten out of there any faster - we ordered, ate, paid, and left within 45 minutes of being seated. .. almost as much as our wait to get in.

Disclaimer: There was a large party for a high school's 50th reunion in the restaurant that night, so I understand that things will be backed up and mistakes will be made. I am a reasonable person and was ready to give the benefit of the doubt. However, I don't think that is an excuse for how bad those scallops were or how a reservation can be delayed by an entire half-hour when our dining time was all of 45 minutes. We won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

We were celebrating our anniversary and my birthday. It was our first time there and the staff service was excellent and the food was amazing. I would have preferred a more quiet romantic setting because it was a bit louder than I wanting for our occasion and it seemed that the food quality and atmosphere didn't match. But overall I would recommend to others just not if they want quiet and romantic do I give them a 4 star.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We felt very welcome, from the hostess, to the waiter, to the chef, to the manager. Everyone stopped at our table to be sure we were pleased. The ladies had each had a birthday in the past week. The two chocolate souffles were an unexpected and delicious extra.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 7, 2017

We love this place! Been many times and never a bad dish. The service is great and the menu offers a nice variety. The shellfish sofrito is our favorite. Also love the bacon wrapped potato cake as a side dish. The bread pudding for dessert is wonderful! We will go definitely go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

My wife and I are very big food junkies. We try a new restaurant every Wednesday for our date nights.

The service was ok. But for the price, we were not impressed with the variety or the taste of your food.

I'm really sorry, but we just can not reccommend your restaurant at this time.

Hope this helps.

Thank you.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Nice place to meet for business or pleasure. I had the Canadian Salmon and it was excellent.

Tags: Organic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Excellent service and food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Outdoor seating was spectacular. Awesome food. Wait staff was outstanding.f

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Have always had a great experience here. The food is consistent and unique. We focused on the salmon and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 25, 2017

The sea bass was amazing! Yummiest meal I've had in a long time!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Yet another open house, prompting yet another Sunday brunch. Place was pretty empty at 1:15. My wife had a mimosa and I a Bloody Mary. Both were great. She had the egg/avocado breakfast sandwich on sourdough rather than whole wheat; actually a perfect combination. My crab cake Benedict was pretty good, albeit a tad fishy. The poached eggs were perfect and the hollandaise more than just good. Overall, a pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great food paired with great cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We asked for a quiet table and were seated in their enclosed patio away from the noise. Our server was great AND sensitive to our request to turn down a speaker and generally tried to make us happy. A good thing in a server...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Always a good experience here, as one of our favorite restaurants. Desert was splendid!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent service by friendly people, very good selection of appetizers and entrees.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Great overall dining experience. Highly recommend for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Our waitress was exceptional ! The meals we ordered were terrific!
Desssert was special !

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Always professional, reliable, and of high quality. Great seafood.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Everything was delicious, waitstaff was helpful, manager visited our table and suggested berry cobbler for dessert which was also delicious. Enjoyable evening all around.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fun, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I've been coming here since they opened. I guess everyone is bound to have a bad night. The food was mediocre at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 2, 2017

My boyfriend took me here for my Birthday and I was truly impressed. I ordered the Swordfish which was a special that evening. It was PERFECT in every way. My boy friend for the Seabass which is a regular menu item and he was just as impressed. The service was just as good as the food. An all-around wonderful experience and I will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The restaurant is great. However, Open Table was a problem. Online it said that there were no tables available until 6:45. I called, and they had plenty of room at 6:00. This is unfair to the restaurant and the customers. I hope Open Table will fix their online reservation service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Outstanding dining experience ! Service was exceptional!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Casual, Romantic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 26, 2017

A very nice experience - from start to finish. All the food was really good, and the lobster was amazing - and a great value when you see how big the 2 tails are. Great night - kudos to the team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Everything was superior but there were a few touches that made it outstanding: the owner was on site overseeing everything, and visited with us and other guests; the locally grown tomatoes in the tomato salad were the best we had ever had; the dining room was quite unusual and cozy with its booths and vaulted ceiling.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We went for a date night. Attractive restaurant but quite noisy. Service was super and the dishes were creative but not overly fussy. Lots of good choices.

Tags: Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The outdoor dining space is lovely. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The food was very good. Service was just a little slow. Bread came after the entree. But although it wasn't perfect, we enjoyed it and will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 22, 2017

It was my husbands birthday and I called the restaurant ahead of time to make reservations for a special dessert to be brought to our table. That never happened. In addition to that the first three things we ordered off of the menu they ran out of. The waiter didn't know at the time so had to go back and forth from the kitchen to our table to tell us our options weren't available. After those three times that's when he decided to tell us the specials for the day. Overall the food was good besides the Kobe sliders, those were incredibly dry. The waiter asked us if we would like a refill on our kids apple juices. I guess it was my fault I should've asked if they were free - but regardless I think the markup is insane. $4.00 for an 8oz kids juice. That is unheard of from any restaurant I've been to. Overall it was an undesirable experience and we will not be dining at this restaurant again. I was hoping it would become a staple since we just moved to this city from out of state a few weeks ago, but that is definitely not going to happen.

Tags: Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Food is always good. Service is one of the best in town...
The Salmon was cooked perfect, on a bed of mashed potatoes with spinach and bacon! Delicious. Not to mention the fresh baked bread with dipping!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 21, 2017

There were five of us dining at the time. We took people from out of town and did so because we could rely on your food and service. Food preparation and attention to detail were outstanding. I particularly liked how knowledgeable Amos was about the food giving us very informative details about the food. The service and timing of the evening was wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.