Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is permanently closed. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

M.A.C. 24/7M.A.C. 24/7
(242)
$$$$
American | Waikiki, Oahu
Booked 7 times today
Seoul Jung - Waikiki Resort HotelSeoul Jung - Waikiki Resort Hotel
(39)
$$$$
Korean | Waikiki, Oahu
Booked 3 times today
Hy's Steak House - WaikikiHy's Steak House - Waikiki
(2015)
$$$$
Steak | Waikiki, Oahu
Booked 50 times today
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - WAIKIKI, OahuSansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar - WAIKIKI, Oahu
(381)
$$$$
Contemporary Asian | Waikiki, Oahu
Booked 38 times today
Kuhio Beach Grill - Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & SpaKuhio Beach Grill - Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
(9)
$$$$
Tapas / Small Plates | Waikiki, Oahu
Booked 1 time today
Tiki's Grill & Bar - WaikikiTiki's Grill & Bar - Waikiki
(1103)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Waikiki, Oahu
Booked 46 times today
DK Steak HouseDK Steak House
(559)
$$$$
American | Honolulu, Oahu
Booked 27 times today
Japengo - WaikikiJapengo - Waikiki
(348)
$$$$
Hawaii Regional Cuisine | Waikiki, Oahu
Booked 13 times today
Veranda - Moana SurfriderVeranda - Moana Surfrider
(18)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Waikiki, Oahu
Booked 19 times today
Lulu's WaikikiLulu's Waikiki
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
Hawaiian | Waikiki, Oahu
Hula Grill - WaikikiHula Grill - Waikiki
(991)
$$$$
Hawaiian | Waikiki, Oahu
Booked 21 times today
Beachhouse - Moana SurfriderBeachhouse - Moana Surfrider
(657)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Waikiki, Oahu
Booked 16 times today
Eating House 1849 at the International Market PlaceEating House 1849 at the International Market Place
(66)
$$$$
Hawaii Regional Cuisine | Waikiki, Oahu
Booked 29 times today
STRIPSTEAK WaikikiSTRIPSTEAK Waikiki
(84)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Waikiki, Oahu
Booked 31 times today

About Permanently Closed - Oceanarium Restaurant

2490 Kalakaua Ave.
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - Oceanarium Tank Notice: We are no longer able to provide dive signs/message boards as our Oceanarium tank will be undergoing an extensive renovation. The Oceanarium is expected to re-open in 2017 with a completely new look, all new marine life, and coral reefs that replicate the waters of Waikiki. Mahalo.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Breakfast

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:00am - 10:30am

Cross Street:
Liliuokalani Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 921-6111

Website:
http://www.pacificbeachhotel.com/

Parking Details:
Self Parking and Valet Service Available

Executive Chef:
Mariano Lalica

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Oceanarium Restaurant, Honolulu, HI
Stuffed Crab - Oceanarium Restaurant, Honolulu, HI
Soft Serve With Mochi - Oceanarium Restaurant, Honolulu, HI
Dungeness Crab And King Crab Legs - Oceanarium Restaurant, Honolulu, HI
Ahi Tuna Poke - Oceanarium Restaurant, Honolulu, HI
Pina Colada - Oceanarium Restaurant, Honolulu, HI
Assorted Sushi - Oceanarium Restaurant, Honolulu, HI
Prime Rib - Oceanarium Restaurant, Honolulu, HI
Asahi - Oceanarium Restaurant, Honolulu, HI
Crab Legs - Oceanarium Restaurant, Honolulu, HI
Mango Margarita - Oceanarium Restaurant, Honolulu, HI

Oceanarium Restaurant - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.7

ambience

4.0

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

60% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
See All
Good for Groups (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Romantic (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
981 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dinner was exceptional as always! So sor ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Dinner was exceptional as always! So sorry to see restaurant closing. It was nice to enjoy a final dinner with family and friends at Oceanarium.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been wanting to try this establishm ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 14, 2016

I've been wanting to try this establishment because of the large wall filled aquariums. Well I didn't do my homework before hand because when we showed up all the aquariums were covered up and we were told the restaurant is undergoing an extensive renovation and the end result will be an entirely new restaurant. We drove all the way to Waikiki from Ewa Beach so we ended up staying and having brunch. Service was great! I think that was the highlight of our whole experience. Our server was friendly and on it! He even noticed we didn't pick up any crab legs so he went and brought us some! Very very thoughtful!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

Lovely meal however far too expensive fo ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Lovely meal however far too expensive for good quality buffet.

Many restaurants in the area for half the cost. $300 for 2 adults and 2 teenagers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Food and service always excellent except ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food and service always excellent except for the infestation of fruit flies on the food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was an informal family birthday din ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 9, 2016

This was an informal family birthday dinner for son turning 18 years old. He wanted seafood. Everyone eats a lot. Seafood Buffet it is. When I made the reservation online there was no notice about the time limit of 2 hours. I understand buffets, but when I called to add a few more seats, the receptionist was pretty darn rude about the 2 hour limit and the one check rule for groups over 6 and automatic 15% tip. When I am about to bring a table of 14 people at $52 a head, I expect at least a pleasant voice. Not good for kids because it is expensive. Only for informal big groups because it is a buffet, no intimacy here. Strictly to gorge yourself on seafood. Average seafood dishes but plenty. A little slow on replenishing items. They HIDE the good stuff behind the carving station and there is no signage to direct you to where the King Crab Legs and the pasta are. You have to ask or just follow someone who knows. that is frankly offensive. I am giving it more stars than I would have only because my kids were happy they found the good stuff and made it a funny running joke throughout the dinner. The service was prompt and pleasant, though they look like they have worked there forever and act like its been forever, making me feel a bit like cattle. Also, the oceanarium is under renovation so there was nothing special about this particular space. It is supposed to be done in 2017. I wonder if the price goes up when it is done. If so, we wont be back. over $50 a head is pricey for average food, even though it is a buffet. At least the hotel parking is $5 with validation. Without validation it is TEN BUCKS AN HOUR. whaaat???? Tourist hotel. They did bring a special piece of cake with a candle and sang happy birthday. That was a nice touch.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent service by waiters. Excellent ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Excellent service by waiters. Excellent brunch buffet. It's a shame that some of the employees will be losing their jobs and the buffet will be done away with forever at the end of the month. The Oceanarium should really rethink this decision.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was mediocre at best. We were ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was mediocre at best. We were seated with a welcome of, "There's a two hour limit." There was ample staff to take our plates away, but anything beyond bussing was too great a task. Might as well spend your money where the food is good and the service is, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

A water tank was under construction and ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 4, 2016

A water tank was under construction and was disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We reviewed the comments on tripadvisor ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 27, 2016

We reviewed the comments on tripadvisor before booking some months before our trip. The two main reasons we chose this restaurant were the aquarium and the seafood. Imagine our disappointment when we arrived and found that the aquarium was under renovation and won't be completed until sometime in 2017. If we had known, we would not have booked here. You should advise your members of this on your website so that they know exactly what they're in for when making future bookings. The food itself was OK. Some of the Alaskan crabs were not as fresh and hard to crack to peel the shell. We noticed that a group next to us must have complained about this because the staff brought some crab legs directly from the kitchen to them. The decor is also a bit dated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We were a little sad the aquarium was cl ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 25, 2016

We were a little sad the aquarium was closed for renovations, but once we started eating we were having such a great time we got over it! Loved the crab n cream brûlée ! Service was excellent!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I enjoyed the everything about the dinin ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 25, 2016

I enjoyed the everything about the dining experience, I also loved the ease of making an reservation. GREAT JOB!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They had good food and friendly staffs. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 22, 2016

They had good food and friendly staffs.

The seafood including crab legs were great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The buffet selections were ok, but I fel ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 21, 2016

The buffet selections were ok, but I felt it was overpriced. I could get better selection and value at other locations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Celebrated my brother's birthday and the ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Celebrated my brother's birthday and the food was way better than expected for a buffet. They had King crab, and almost every other type of seafood available and everything was good. The service was very good too. It's too bad that they will be closing soon for renovations and when they reopen next year, the format will be different. Glad we got to try this place now.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great buffet. All you could eat a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 17, 2016

What a great buffet. All you could eat and many delicious choices. Crab legs shrimp prime rib desserts galore

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was our first time eating at Oceana ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our first time eating at Oceanarium, and I must say the food was really good. This place was very clean, kid friendly, and the staff was very welcoming and made sure our table stayed clean. I highly recommend this place for breakfast.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed that it was not highli ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very disappointed that it was not highlighted beforehand that the aquarium was under reconstruction as this was the main reason for booking.

Food was excellent and plentiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

Excellent place to Dine in. We went ther ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Excellent place to Dine in. We went there on the First night and last night of our holiday.

We will be back in 2019, and will definitely Dine there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

一番のポイントの水槽が改修工事の為、なかったのが残念でした。ただレストラン自体も ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 24, 2016

一番のポイントの水槽が改修工事の為、なかったのが残念でした。ただレストラン自体も9月で閉鎖との事ですが、サービスには変わりなく満足でした。

料理もおいしかったですよ。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

We really enjoyed our experience, and wi ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 17, 2016

We really enjoyed our experience, and will dine there again before heading home to Australia

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very unhappy with my experience at the o ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Very unhappy with my experience at the oceanarium. The whole reason we chose this restaurant was because of the aquarium for the kids to watch the fish. However when we got there we discovered that the aquarium was closed. No where on the website did it mention this if it did then we would have gone someplace else. Guest should be aware of this before going down to the restaurant. It's only fair and right to notify guest that there is no aquarium. The food was ok nothing special. Won't be back for a really long time if that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This dining experience was a major disap ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 27, 2016

This dining experience was a major disappointment for us. One major reason for choosing this restaurant was the advertised shows of the aquarium that is referenced by the name of establishment, "OceanARIUM". We were expecting to get to see a giant aquarium full of fish that we were told was fantastic during feeding time. Also, the restaurant's website advertises a mermaid show every night at 7:30PM. However, when we arrived we were told that the aquarium was under renovation and would not re-open until next year. We feel that this should have been conveyed on the website.

However we decided to stay for our reservation because the restaurant was also advertised as an "award-winning" seafood experience. One of the major features of the buffet was the King crab legs. These were available but were hidden behind the carving station so that you had to ask for them if you knew they were there. Unfortunately they were either over-cooked or they had been left frozen for too long. They had very little flavour and thus an unfortunate waste of seafood. On the other hand, the snow crab legs and shrimp were quite good. There was a decent selection of sushi and sashimi but the hot foods selection left much to be desired. Equally wanting was the dessert bar. Although the dessert section included a chocolate fountain, which was great, there were no strawberries, which I feel as though should have been there. There was a "cheese plate", but the included cheeses were processed.

The service here was commendable as the staff was always on hand to clear plates and re-fill drinks in a very timely manner.

We expected a lot more from this dining experience. Perhaps if our expectations were not so high we would have enjoyed it more.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

This is my third visit in three years. Y ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 25, 2016

This is my third visit in three years. Yes I know the closure of the tank is disappointing to some (Hense the ambiance rating because of the construction sign) but where else are you going to find a buffet with all you can eat king crab legs for this price? Honolulu is not a cheap place to eat but it's all relative. You are going to spend at least this much wherever you go. You might as well enjoy it here!! It's still a favorite of mine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We were disappointed with the current me ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We were disappointed with the current menu as it wasn't what it used to be and what was described on the website. No primerib, sashimi or sushi and snow crab was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We were disappointed that the fish tank ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 18, 2016

We were disappointed that the fish tank was closed for renovation. I hope it gets done fast. The food was great as usual and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Thank you!

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Crab legs galore! Thank you for fulfilling my mom's desire for unlimited crab legs, Oceanarium! You never disappoint on that front. The broccoli crab salad was great and we enjoyed the Belgian waffle with all the whipped cream we wanted. The fish was excellent and the mussels were ono.

We would have appreciated more attention to the water on our table, clearing our crab shells, and some wet napkins to wipe our hands.

We wish we had known the restaurant tank was under construction when we made the reservation or when the followup confirmation was made with us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Aquarium closed until 2017

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 12, 2016

Food was decent and service was pretty good. However we were very dissappointed when we got there to find out the aquarium is being remodeled and won't be done until 2017. That's the main attraction of the restaurant and it was completely covered. Which is why I also gave less stars for value, right now it is not worth it to go. I wish we would have know this before we got there. If you're going there for the aquarium and ambiance then don't go until next year when they reopen it.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

Disappointing

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 11, 2016

really disppointed. we booked a table next to the tank but upon arrival the tank was painted over with a sign to say grand reopening in 2017. The food was still delicious but unfortunately the reason we book was for the atmosphere of the dinner with the mermaids. Wish we had been informed prior to booking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value1

Loved it

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 7, 2016

My one stop for all our family special occasions. Oceanarium has never dissappointed us and we always leave knowing that we'll be back again soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seafood buffet was ordinary. Not many it ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Seafood buffet was ordinary. Not many items. Not enough colorful fish in the aquarium and no details on what fish we were viewing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Great place for the little ones who were ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 28, 2016

Great place for the little ones who were fascinated by the fish. Food variable.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

decieved

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2016

we were going to order off the menu...was told they have a "buffet"...they did not tell us it was 52 dollars a person...and it was not all that good....nice atmosphere,but otherwise a total ripoff !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great atmosphere, but service was not very good.

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 19, 2016

Had to keep asking waiter for iced tea and waiter seemed a bit confused.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Brunch

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Brunch is consistently good. There have been a few changes over the years such as snow crab instead of king crab but still very good. Oceanarium's staff generally make sure to fill up items that may be running low and will replace it quickly. A nice wide selection of food for everyone in the family.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Server

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Our server was so rude about the tip he wanted more tip then what we gave and what we gave was the right amount but her wanted more tip that is not what I wanted to hear from a server who complain about a tip that's is rude and he should have been glade that we gave a big tip when he was not the one who helped us at all...

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Romantic

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 16, 2016

It was very romantic and for $25 more, I got a Happy Anniversary sign made for the diver to put in front of our table. The "Oceanarium" is 3 stories tall , the fish are huge and you even get a mermaid show. For another $20-$30, you can get your picture taken. The food was awesome, but the chef at the prime rib table doesn't give what you request. My boyfriend and I requested medium rare, I got medium, he got well done. The guy behind me requested the reddest possible meat and got a piece from the same slab as I did. There was only one type of poke, but other than that, I think it was worth the price.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Kamaaina Rates

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 15, 2016

We were there for my 40th birthday with our kids...wait staff was excellent. Had to wait a bit before being seated though.

I thought we would get the kamaaina rate for dinner but was told there is none so that was a bit disappointing. We would come back but only for really special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Expensive

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 13, 2016

The food was delicious and seeing the aquarium and scuba diver feeding the sting ray was pretty neat but the price of the buffet was not worth what they had available.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Terrific Service

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 10, 2016

Amazing service, great ambience. The servers there provided wonderful inviting service. One server in particular, Eddie, truly displayed what I would imagine "the Aloha spirit" to look like.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Expensive buffet for what you get.

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 4, 2016

Expensive buffet for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.