About Oceanarium Restaurant

2490 Kalakaua Ave.
Honolulu, HI 96815
View Larger Map

Oceanarium Tank Notice: We are no longer able to provide dive signs/message boards as our Oceanarium tank will be undergoing an extensive renovation. The Oceanarium is expected to re-open in 2017 with a completely new look, all new marine life, and coral reefs that replicate the waters of Waikiki. Mahalo.

At Pacific Beach Hotel's Ilima award-winning Oceanarium Restaurant, the flavors are as amazing as the island scene. Indulge in mouth-watering crab legs, tender prime rib of beef, fresh Island sashimi and sushi. Plus a nightly pasta and dessert station complemented with nightly specials.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Pan-Asian

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 6:00am - 10:00am; Weekend Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Liliuokalani Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 921-6111

Website:
http://www.pacificbeachhotel.com/

Parking Details:
Self Parking and Valet Service Available

Executive Chef:
Mariano Lalica

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Oceanarium Restaurant
Stuffed Crab
Soft Serve With Mochi
Ahi Tuna Poke
Dungeness Crab And King Crab Legs
Pina Colada
Assorted Sushi
Prime Rib
Asahi
Crab Legs
Mango Margarita

Promotions

20% Off Food Only

Mondays - Fridays from 4:30 PM - 8:30 PM

Promotions

20% Off Food Only

Mondays - Fridays from 4:30 PM - 8:30 PM

Details
20% Off Food Only. Excludes Tax and Tip. Mention the "Mahalo" Special when making your rsvp to get 20% off your food bill. Special valid May 15, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:30 PM - 8:30 PM.

Oceanarium Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

3.6

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Hawaii

special occasion (30)
kid-friendly (26)
good for groups (24)
See All
great for brunch (21)
fit for foodies (9)
scenic view (9)
great for lunch (7)
neighborhood gem (6)
romantic (5)
hot spot (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
969 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We reviewed the comments on tripadvisor ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

We reviewed the comments on tripadvisor before booking some months before our trip. The two main reasons we chose this restaurant were the aquarium and the seafood. Imagine our disappointment when we arrived and found that the aquarium was under renovation and won't be completed until sometime in 2017. If we had known, we would not have booked here. You should advise your members of this on your website so that they know exactly what they're in for when making future bookings. The food itself was OK. Some of the Alaskan crabs were not as fresh and hard to crack to peel the shell. We noticed that a group next to us must have complained about this because the staff brought some crab legs directly from the kitchen to them. The decor is also a bit dated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We were a little sad the aquarium was cl ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

We were a little sad the aquarium was closed for renovations, but once we started eating we were having such a great time we got over it! Loved the crab n cream brûlée ! Service was excellent!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I enjoyed the everything about the dinin ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 6 days ago

I enjoyed the everything about the dining experience, I also loved the ease of making an reservation. GREAT JOB!!

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They had good food and friendly staffs. ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

They had good food and friendly staffs.

The seafood including crab legs were great.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated my brother's birthday and the ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Celebrated my brother's birthday and the food was way better than expected for a buffet. They had King crab, and almost every other type of seafood available and everything was good. The service was very good too. It's too bad that they will be closing soon for renovations and when they reopen next year, the format will be different. Glad we got to try this place now.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time eating at Oceana ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our first time eating at Oceanarium, and I must say the food was really good. This place was very clean, kid friendly, and the staff was very welcoming and made sure our table stayed clean. I highly recommend this place for breakfast.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed that it was not highli ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very disappointed that it was not highlighted beforehand that the aquarium was under reconstruction as this was the main reason for booking.

Food was excellent and plentiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3

Excellent place to Dine in. We went ther ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Excellent place to Dine in. We went there on the First night and last night of our holiday.

We will be back in 2019, and will definitely Dine there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our experience, and wi ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We really enjoyed our experience, and will dine there again before heading home to Australia

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very unhappy with my experience at the o ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Very unhappy with my experience at the oceanarium. The whole reason we chose this restaurant was because of the aquarium for the kids to watch the fish. However when we got there we discovered that the aquarium was closed. No where on the website did it mention this if it did then we would have gone someplace else. Guest should be aware of this before going down to the restaurant. It's only fair and right to notify guest that there is no aquarium. The food was ok nothing special. Won't be back for a really long time if that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

This dining experience was a major disap ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

This dining experience was a major disappointment for us. One major reason for choosing this restaurant was the advertised shows of the aquarium that is referenced by the name of establishment, "OceanARIUM". We were expecting to get to see a giant aquarium full of fish that we were told was fantastic during feeding time. Also, the restaurant's website advertises a mermaid show every night at 7:30PM. However, when we arrived we were told that the aquarium was under renovation and would not re-open until next year. We feel that this should have been conveyed on the website.

However we decided to stay for our reservation because the restaurant was also advertised as an "award-winning" seafood experience. One of the major features of the buffet was the King crab legs. These were available but were hidden behind the carving station so that you had to ask for them if you knew they were there. Unfortunately they were either over-cooked or they had been left frozen for too long. They had very little flavour and thus an unfortunate waste of seafood. On the other hand, the snow crab legs and shrimp were quite good. There was a decent selection of sushi and sashimi but the hot foods selection left much to be desired. Equally wanting was the dessert bar. Although the dessert section included a chocolate fountain, which was great, there were no strawberries, which I feel as though should have been there. There was a "cheese plate", but the included cheeses were processed.

The service here was commendable as the staff was always on hand to clear plates and re-fill drinks in a very timely manner.

We expected a lot more from this dining experience. Perhaps if our expectations were not so high we would have enjoyed it more.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

This is my third visit in three years. Y ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

This is my third visit in three years. Yes I know the closure of the tank is disappointing to some (Hense the ambiance rating because of the construction sign) but where else are you going to find a buffet with all you can eat king crab legs for this price? Honolulu is not a cheap place to eat but it's all relative. You are going to spend at least this much wherever you go. You might as well enjoy it here!! It's still a favorite of mine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

We were disappointed with the current me ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We were disappointed with the current menu as it wasn't what it used to be and what was described on the website. No primerib, sashimi or sushi and snow crab was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We were disappointed that the fish tank ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

We were disappointed that the fish tank was closed for renovation. I hope it gets done fast. The food was great as usual and service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5

Thank you!

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Crab legs galore! Thank you for fulfilling my mom's desire for unlimited crab legs, Oceanarium! You never disappoint on that front. The broccoli crab salad was great and we enjoyed the Belgian waffle with all the whipped cream we wanted. The fish was excellent and the mussels were ono.

We would have appreciated more attention to the water on our table, clearing our crab shells, and some wet napkins to wipe our hands.

We wish we had known the restaurant tank was under construction when we made the reservation or when the followup confirmation was made with us.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Aquarium closed until 2017

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Food was decent and service was pretty good. However we were very dissappointed when we got there to find out the aquarium is being remodeled and won't be done until 2017. That's the main attraction of the restaurant and it was completely covered. Which is why I also gave less stars for value, right now it is not worth it to go. I wish we would have know this before we got there. If you're going there for the aquarium and ambiance then don't go until next year when they reopen it.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value2

Disappointing

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

really disppointed. we booked a table next to the tank but upon arrival the tank was painted over with a sign to say grand reopening in 2017. The food was still delicious but unfortunately the reason we book was for the atmosphere of the dinner with the mermaids. Wish we had been informed prior to booking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value1

Loved it

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

My one stop for all our family special occasions. Oceanarium has never dissappointed us and we always leave knowing that we'll be back again soon!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seafood buffet was ordinary. Not many it ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Seafood buffet was ordinary. Not many items. Not enough colorful fish in the aquarium and no details on what fish we were viewing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Great place for the little ones who were ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Great place for the little ones who were fascinated by the fish. Food variable.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

decieved

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

we were going to order off the menu...was told they have a "buffet"...they did not tell us it was 52 dollars a person...and it was not all that good....nice atmosphere,but otherwise a total ripoff !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great atmosphere, but service was not very good.

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Had to keep asking waiter for iced tea and waiter seemed a bit confused.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Brunch

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Brunch is consistently good. There have been a few changes over the years such as snow crab instead of king crab but still very good. Oceanarium's staff generally make sure to fill up items that may be running low and will replace it quickly. A nice wide selection of food for everyone in the family.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Server

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Our server was so rude about the tip he wanted more tip then what we gave and what we gave was the right amount but her wanted more tip that is not what I wanted to hear from a server who complain about a tip that's is rude and he should have been glade that we gave a big tip when he was not the one who helped us at all...

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Romantic

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

It was very romantic and for $25 more, I got a Happy Anniversary sign made for the diver to put in front of our table. The "Oceanarium" is 3 stories tall , the fish are huge and you even get a mermaid show. For another $20-$30, you can get your picture taken. The food was awesome, but the chef at the prime rib table doesn't give what you request. My boyfriend and I requested medium rare, I got medium, he got well done. The guy behind me requested the reddest possible meat and got a piece from the same slab as I did. There was only one type of poke, but other than that, I think it was worth the price.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Kamaaina Rates

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

We were there for my 40th birthday with our kids...wait staff was excellent. Had to wait a bit before being seated though.

I thought we would get the kamaaina rate for dinner but was told there is none so that was a bit disappointing. We would come back but only for really special occasions.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Expensive

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

The food was delicious and seeing the aquarium and scuba diver feeding the sting ray was pretty neat but the price of the buffet was not worth what they had available.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Terrific Service

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Amazing service, great ambience. The servers there provided wonderful inviting service. One server in particular, Eddie, truly displayed what I would imagine "the Aloha spirit" to look like.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Expensive buffet for what you get.

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Expensive buffet for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Our server was Kenny. He was very good, ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Our server was Kenny. He was very good, but he didn't offer us senior rate for my parents who we celebrated that day my fathers 92th birthday. We actually sang to my Dad ourselves. Then I was told that the valet tickets were 9.00 ea. which I was surprised after spending over 300.00 for my lunch. I work at the Kahala Resort and we always try to treat everyone like Vip which I know I'm not, but as kamaainas we try take care of them because we live here and want them to come back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

We went for the Sunday breakfast buffet, ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We went for the Sunday breakfast buffet, mostly for the crab legs. Generous portion of 4 sections given!

My friend had 2 portions. The food was nicely presented & so ono (delicious)!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The king crab and prime rib was amazing!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The king crab and prime rib was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Crab was very good!!

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Crab was very good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Wouldn't recommend

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We went for my fiancés birthday we are local people from Oahu so it was a staycation for us. I had them make a birthday sign so a diver can show it I liked it and they spelled his name right (Ferdy) but when they sang happy birthday they sang it wrong and the sign was right In front of them with his name -____- they called him "herdy"! How embarrassing. The only thing we ate was the raw fish everything else was dry and gross. We wanted to get drinks but our server was no where in sight. The restaurant and hotel is very beautiful I'll give you guys that. I would recommend the hotel to stay at to people but would never recommend the restaurant... I herd horrible reviews from people about the food but the restaurant was so beautiful I had to try it out for myself. Oh and I also had to walk around to look for my server to pay my check. Disappointed

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

Fantastic seafood restaurant.....

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

It was great opportunity to taste nice seafood especially crab....Wow.

Strongly recommended to my friends. Hope to visit again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Time management for reservation was awful

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

They take reservation with an assumption of 2 hour dining but it doesn't necessarily work. The way hostes dealt with the situation was simply unbelievable and not acceptable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

This place is a bomb and the staff so ni ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

This place is a bomb and the staff so nice and i will planning to go back eat out with my friend.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great food and service. Thank you

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Always great food and service. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

awesome

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

I really enjoyed my self and the food was awesome.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

disappointed

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Having traveled around the world in the military, I like trying new and different things, so for our 9yr wedding anniversary I decided to take my wife here along with my son and Great Aunt and Uncle who were in town on vacation. I heard about the mermaid and the gigantic fish tank and new that this would be a win for everyone. I will eat crab everyday if that is an option but the crab buffet was okay at best since the snow crab legs were served cold and I do not like cold crab legs. They did have servers to pass out the king crabs but by the time you got to your seat they were cold but at least the sushi was pretty decent. My wife and the rest of the family ordered off the menu which you can do however the waiter didn't seem to want to pass them(menu)out. My Aunt ordered the chicken and had to give send it back noting that it had a funny taste to it. The fish tank was pretty cool with the mermaid and you can have a message brought down in the tank but I did not feel up to dropping $25 on a sign after $10 for the valet. My wife felt that the waiter was rude and was trying to rush us out because every few minutes he came by asking if we were done even though we still had food on our plates. I don't mind spending $ on good food however for what we paid for the food, this restaurant did not live up to expectations.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.