About Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston

40 Court Street
Boston, MA 02108
View Larger Map

The Oceanaire provides the perfect setting to enjoy Ultra-Fresh seafood, flown in daily from around the world. Sip a cocktail in the lounge, take a seat at our grand oyster bar, or kick back in a horseshoe booth before diving into a sea of Ultra-Fresh fish, including steak-cut Alaskan halibut, seasonal favorites like fresh Copper River salmon or hard-to-find delicacies like true Dover sole or bluefin tuna. Our knowledgeable staff will delight you with exceptional service — guiding you through the wide variety of items on our menu and helping you select the perfect wine to complement your meal. The world's freshest seafood awaits you at the Oceanaire.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Tremont St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 742-2277

Website:
http://www.theoceanaire.com/

Parking Details:
Valet available for dinner service only; nearby public lot available

Public Transit:
Government Center T Stop

Executive Chef:
Mike Canavan

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
The best Dad deserves the best meal! Join us Sunday, June 19 for Father's Day. We are featuring a special 3-course dinner for $59.

Open from 3pm - 9pm. Reserve now!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Oceanaire Seafood Room Boston offers private dining experiences with possibilities for an endless number of occasions. From intimate wedding receptions, a high-powered meeting for business associates, or a yearly celebration. Join us at the Oceanaire Seafood Room Boston for your special event!

Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (122)
good for groups (74)
fit for foodies (71)
See All
romantic (62)
notable wine list (46)
great for lunch (45)
neighborhood gem (28)
vibrant bar scene (23)
hot spot (20)
great for brunch (11)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (5)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2419 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was delicious. A bit pricey th ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was delicious. A bit pricey though. 2 stuffed lobsters, a side dish (big enough for 2-3) and 2 glasses of wine for $200. Classy restaurant and the service is great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had the pleasure of sitting at the ba ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had the pleasure of sitting at the bar the service was impeccable and the suggestions were on point. This restaurant is a great choice for a quick scrumptious apps and drinks to a elegantly prepared dish with a lot of levels. A must for foodies

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best Seafood Restaurants in t ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

One of the best Seafood Restaurants in the USA! The food is very well seasoned and fresh. The seafood was and is better than some popularly known chain seafood restaurants. The dessert was heavenly - best chocolate cake with caramel topped with ice cream I've had yet.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit to this restaurant that was ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

First visit to this restaurant that was close to my hotel and is part of the Landry's Restaurant family that I'm a loyalist to. It was a fabulous find. Since it was my first visit I can't recommend the entire menu, but if you have what I had you'll truly enjoy your meal: - Lobster Bisque - Shrimp Scampi They were simply fantastic. I usually have dessert and I'm sure they have a great selection, but I wanted the last taste in my mouth for the evening to be the shrimp scampi so I passed on dessert. It was a Monday night, and the restaurant was active but not overcrowded. The wait staff were attentive and all of them seemed to love what they were doing and were great ambassadors for the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Oceanaire has everything you want in a r ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Oceanaire has everything you want in a restaurant - - - great food and wine and super service - -

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing! I enjoyed a lovely night with g ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Amazing! I enjoyed a lovely night with great service and wonderful fresh food

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waitstaff was attentive and knowledgable ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Waitstaff was attentive and knowledgable. Ambiance was great, a little noisy but manageable. I'll definitely add this on my list of Boston restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Visiting from Australia, this was out la ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Visiting from Australia, this was out last night in the US and we wanted to go somewhere nice for seafood. We found this restaurant on-line and booked on-line too. It was straight forward and quick. Being Mother's day it was very busy and we had to wait half an hour for our table. We had cocktails at the bar while we waited. The staff were very professional, polite and helpful. The meal was lovely and the ambience pleasant. I would recommend trying out this restaurant if ever in the Boston area.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

Quality / Price ratio is low. Lobster b ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Quality / Price ratio is low. Lobster bisque and the sourdough bread were sublime - I would actually come back *just* for those two items (although the waitstaff would probably not appreciate it...maybe at the bar...). Other food was good, but other restaurants can outcompete on price point. Ambiance is awesome, especially at night. Waitstaff is professional and well-trained I think. That bisque, though...

food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Not worth it

Dined on May 8, 2016

Made a special occasion bad. Put us at a bad table and had no other options. They offered the booths near the bar which was ok. Didn't tell us that sitting there meant that there was no service. I literally had to get up to find someone to ask for items for the table. It was a joke and moreover a big disappointment for my mother. Plus the quality of the food that came out wasn't worth the costs paid.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of Boston....In Our Opinion!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Courteous, accommodating personnel. Excellent selection of food with every attempt made to please the customer.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great place for a bday dinner!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I had a blast at Oceanaire. The staff was attentive, the food was extremely fresh and delicious and the ambiance was perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Special Occasion Appropriate Restaurant

Dined on May 7, 2016

Took family for a pre Graduation Meal and we weren't disappointed. The physical space of the building makes you feel as this is something special simply entering it. We sat in a small annex at the back of the restaurant - not sure if it was nice with the extra privacy, or a little removed from the "action" in the main part. Highly attentive service from an enthusiastic team. Clear explanation of the full menu led to some very good choices. Beautifully cooked food - not the largest portions, but no-one left hungry - and beautifully presented. Only downside, it's not cheapest place to get good seafood in Boston. But for a special occasion, definitely fits the bill

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Only go for special occasions because it is a little pricey, but the food is amazing!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

good seafood in financial district - yet pricey

Dined on May 2, 2016

very good overall; servers stay reserved and always "keep distance". pretty strange when day's catch heavily advertised by our waiter was actually unavailable when ordered!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

You would never know it is a chain restaurant

Dined on May 1, 2016

Our son recommended we celebrate my birthday at this restaurant The staff was wonderful. I look forward to going back I will also say how pretty the room is. Waiter mentioned crab cakes as a favorite....amazing Actually everyone was happy their choices.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3

I love this restaurant. It's a great ven ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

I love this restaurant. It's a great venue and has a great atmosphere. I have been there several times the food is top notch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome restaurant.

Dined on April 29, 2016

I came here with my girlfriend for our 6 month anniversary - they had a personalized menu and the service and food were outstanding. I would definitely come back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Good food but felt rushed

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We had a 7PM reservation and they were not crowded however our entire meal was rushed. Our waiter seemed to be focused on getting us out the door as quickly as possible. The food was good; we just wish we were given time to enjoy it.

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Very good but less so that other Oceanaires.

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

The food is reliably good here and the service was somewhat better than our last trip on a graduation weekend (when it was REALLY bad), but not what you expect from Oceanaire if you've visited their other locations. The restaurant was curiously empty for a Saturday night and we had no problem getting a last minute reservation. But our waiter abandoned us for a long time and we could not get him back. It appeared that he was in charge of setting up for an incoming party of 16 and this captured all of his attention. Mind you, the service wasn't bad compared to many places but it was not what I expect here and at these prices. We dine at the Oceanaire in Washington DC whenever we are there and love it but this one is not up to the same standard. It's a shame because we are in the process of moving into the city and could walk here.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Elegant

Dined on April 21, 2016

I loved the way the place was setup very elegant, the service was great, however a little expensive and I thought the plate I ordered should of came with at least one side dish .

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fresh seafood!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Decent menu, great wine list. Food is really amazing. Clam chowder and lobster bisque were simply amazing. We tried pasta and jumbo shrimp and Florida grilled Mahi Mahi, they were both fantastic. The decor is really nice and the noise level is low so you can enjoy your meal and have a conversation.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an amazing time that this restaur ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

We had an amazing time that this restaurant. The food was delicious, the service was fantastic and the ambiance was amazing!! 5 stars all around!

food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious and plentiful. Very attentive ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

Delicious and plentiful. Very attentive wait staff. Overall outstanding experience and perfect for my business dinner.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

fresh seafood, amazingly prepared

Dined on April 10, 2016

The seafood was some of the best I've had. Oysters Rockafeller, Flounder a la Florentine, Lobster Bisque must be experienced.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Good Seafood

Dined on April 8, 2016

The Oceanaire is in an old bank. It is lovely inside. The food was good...not huge portions, but adequate. Side dishes are ala carte and presented family style. The seafood was fresh and tasty.Service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Good American style food of large size, ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Good American style food of large size, elegant ambience and considerate service. Nice place for friends gathering, dating, and business dining.

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

In need of further training...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Had a good time, had a very inexperienced server. We needed some assistance with the menu choices and I ended up asking about a fish selection to find the server knew nothing about it, it was far too large an order for one person which would have been nice to know. Overall the meal felt rushed and uncomfortable, too large a section for our server I think! We would be back but I will ask to be in the section of an experience server next time. I guess I'm just puzzled at this restaurant for having such an inexperienced server!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good sercvice.

Dined on March 27, 2016

It is a good restaurant. Nice service, service personal not annoying and know what they are doing. The quality of good and drinks are excellent with plenty of it on any plate. It is not noisy place with nice good music. All my family members love this restaurant. Good job is done to manage it.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oceanaire Boston

Dined on March 26, 2016

The bar was beautiful, and our bartender, Maura, was extremely friendly and the drinks were delicious! They were out of the Pomegranite vodka - but she was able to substitute and still make the same taste for that martini! The manager was so accommodating and they held a nice, romantic booth for us - our waiter Isa, he was over the top fantastic!! Food was delicious and they treated us like royalty! We've gone there everytime we visit Boston and will recommend all to go there!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Cool location. Food attention needed.

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Love the ambiance and building itself. Nice layout.

food4
ambience4
service2

Good food, expensive but service was not ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Good food, expensive but service was not good. Not sure if this was a waiter issue or the culture of the restaurant. I have eaten at other Oceanaire restaurants in the US and was disapointed with the Boston restaurant in comparison

food5
ambience4
service5

Great crab cake!

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Great crab cake!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food

Dined on March 19, 2016

Absolutely fantastic food and service. Waiter was really helpful and added great explanations of each dish.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions
food3
ambience4
service4

I have eaten better seafood at other res ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

I have eaten better seafood at other restaurants.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service & ambience.

Dined on March 18, 2016

Wonderful experience! One of my favorite seafood restaurants.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Atmosphere is wonderful, food amazing , ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

Atmosphere is wonderful, food amazing , disappointed that the waiter continuously provided my table the order from another table.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The wait staff are very knowledgeable an ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

The wait staff are very knowledgeable and offer their opinions when asked. The ambiance is so grand in this historic building but still feels intimate. Calamari was traditional with a flair that set it apart. Trout with pares an crust very tasty for a mild fish. Key Lime pie is best in the city- creamy and tart.

food3
ambience4
service4

I ordered the jumbo stuffed shrimp with ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

I ordered the jumbo stuffed shrimp with crab but me and my date only had baby shrimp stuffed in our jumbo shrimp which was disappointing. I was looking forward to the crab, when I asked my waiter he said there was crab but I had 3 and there was only baby salad shrimps in all 3 jumbo shrimps. The atmosphere was very nice. The calamari was good as well as the key lim pie. I was very disappointed that my entree dish was disappointing.

food5
ambience5
service5

A classy establishment with great food a ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

A classy establishment with great food and even better service

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.