About Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston

40 Court Street
Boston, MA 02108
View Larger Map

The Oceanaire provides the perfect setting to enjoy Ultra-Fresh seafood, flown in daily from around the world. Sip a cocktail in the lounge, take a seat at our grand oyster bar, or kick back in a horseshoe booth before diving into a sea of Ultra-Fresh fish, including steak-cut Alaskan halibut, seasonal favorites like fresh Copper River salmon or hard-to-find delicacies like true Dover sole or bluefin tuna. Our knowledgeable staff will delight you with exceptional service — guiding you through the wide variety of items on our menu and helping you select the perfect wine to complement your meal. The world's freshest seafood awaits you at the Oceanaire.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Tremont St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 742-2277

Website:
http://www.theoceanaire.com/

Parking Details:
Valet available for dinner service only; nearby public lot available

Public Transit:
Government Center T Stop

Executive Chef:
Mike Canavan

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Stuffed Lobster
Shrimp and Grits
Spicy Tuna Poke
Steamed Newfoundland Mussles
fish tacos
Parmasean Truffle Fries
Baked Alaska.
Cioppino
Scallops
Seafood Tower
Crab Cakes
Lobster Bisque
Mixed Seafood Grill
Hash Browns
Striped Sea Bass
Pepper Seared Ahi Tuna
Key Lime Pie
Oysters
Mixed Seafood Plate
Nantucket Bay Scallops With Sugar Pumpkin, Brussels Sprouts And Pumpkin Seed Brown Butter...
Fish and Chips
Dirty Belvedere Martini
Amuse Bouche
Sea Scolops With Butternut Squash Risotto
Milk And Cookies
Parmesan Crusted Rainbow Trout
Grilled Wild BC Sockeye
Hash Brown A La Oceanaire
Grilled Mahi With Short Ribs, Asian Salad, Yuzu Glaze
Raspberry, Cara Cara Orange & Goat Cheese Salad
Caesar Bloody Mary
Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes
Oyster Special
Baked Gloucester “Ritzy” Haddock
Restaurant Week Menu
Sour Cream Mashed Potatoes
Fried Calamari
Clams Casino
New England Clam Chowder
Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies And Milk
Seared Alaska Salmon “Duo”
Edamame Succotash
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake Appetizer
Goat Cheese Salad
Calamari
Cheesecake
Fisherman's Platter
Oysters Rockefeller
Crab Stuffed Shrimp
crab cake
Caramel Chocolate Cake
Assorted Sea Food Platter
Salmon

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Oceanaire Seafood Room Boston offers private dining experiences with possibilities for an endless number of occasions. From intimate wedding receptions, a high-powered meeting for business associates, or a yearly celebration. Join us at the Oceanaire Seafood Room Boston for your special event!

Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (83)
good for groups (46)
fit for foodies (42)
See All
romantic (37)
great for lunch (34)
notable wine list (23)
neighborhood gem (20)
vibrant bar scene (12)
hot spot (11)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2438 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very good food and excellent service. Es ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very good food and excellent service. Especially good waiter-Sergio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

An excellent restaurant near Government ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

An excellent restaurant near Government Center. Fresh sea food, terrific service, tables nicely far apart.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Lovely ambia ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent food and service. Lovely ambiance special spot for seafood dining. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was tasty & nicely prepared, waiter ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was tasty & nicely prepared, waiter was attentive and knowledgeable. Just be prepared for sticker shock when u look at the menu. No prices listed online.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

everything was great: service, food and ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

everything was great: service, food and drinks. lobster mac and cheese was delicious but could have had a little less bread crumbs. filet to die for - seasoned perfectly. couldn't have asked for a better dinner - wort h every penny!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The meal was excellent and the service w ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The meal was excellent and the service was top notch. We will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been to Oceanaire few times befo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I have been to Oceanaire few times before. They have the best crab cakes in the world! We went for a special July 4th week offer and the 3-course prix fixe deal was incredible! In addition to the incredible crab cakes, the main entree (fish for both) was wonderful and the blueberry bread pudding was to die for! I will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Steve, our waiter was excellent. The sea ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Steve, our waiter was excellent. The seafood salad was very dry and needed more dressing .

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It seems when we get our desserts to go ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It seems when we get our desserts to go they are not on par with deserts being served to the patrons eating in.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

the service was great the food was deli ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

the service was great the food was delicious i like that place and I'm going come back

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Nice. We were a big party - 12 - an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Very Nice. We were a big party - 12 - and we're sat at a big round table. Very accommodating. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent menu, and flavors. Calamari wa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent menu, and flavors. Calamari was perfectly cooked and the black and blue swordfish was delicious. Only wish it was a bigger a portion, wasn't too bad tho.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding seafood! From the delicious ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Outstanding seafood! From the delicious shrimp and calamari appetizer to the lump crab cakes and delicious beet salad. Great spot for a family get together.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding! The food, service, atmosphe ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Outstanding! The food, service, atmosphere! I highly recommend this restaurant. I wish I could eat there every night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We recently had one of our all-time favo ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We recently had one of our all-time favorite meals here. Everything was fabulous--the yummy cocktail with Limoncello and Gin, the peerless crab cakes and the lobster bisque, the simply prepared fresh swordfish and the spectacular lobster Mac and cheese. We topped it off with the perfect Boston Cream Pie. Our server was fantastic and appropriately attentive. Can't wait to return to Boston just so we can eat here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great atmosphere and fresh food. Servic ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Great atmosphere and fresh food. Service was spot on. I can't wait to be back in Boston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Expensive but worth it for first rate fi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Expensive but worth it for first rate fish and shellfish. Professional Waiter Enrique knows his stuff. High-ceilinged former bank space with so so decorations but lovely space. We had a circular booth that seated me and family well. Killer lobster mac and cheese. Huge soft shell crabs. Top tier stuffed flounder. U gotta pay for great fish !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fabulous birthday celebration at Oceanaire!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

The wait staff were great and the food, as usual was wonderfull.

Let the waiter know it was a birthday celebration and Baked Alaska was served!

Just fabulous experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious. A bit pricey th ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was delicious. A bit pricey though. 2 stuffed lobsters, a side dish (big enough for 2-3) and 2 glasses of wine for $200. Classy restaurant and the service is great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had the pleasure of sitting at the ba ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We had the pleasure of sitting at the bar the service was impeccable and the suggestions were on point. This restaurant is a great choice for a quick scrumptious apps and drinks to a elegantly prepared dish with a lot of levels.

A must for foodies

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best Seafood Restaurants in t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

One of the best Seafood Restaurants in the USA! The food is very well seasoned and fresh. The seafood was and is better than some popularly known chain seafood restaurants. The dessert was heavenly - best chocolate cake with caramel topped with ice cream I've had yet.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit to this restaurant that was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

First visit to this restaurant that was close to my hotel and is part of the Landry's Restaurant family that I'm a loyalist to. It was a fabulous find. Since it was my first visit I can't recommend the entire menu, but if you have what I had you'll truly enjoy your meal:

- Lobster Bisque

- Shrimp Scampi

They were simply fantastic. I usually have dessert and I'm sure they have a great selection, but I wanted the last taste in my mouth for the evening to be the shrimp scampi so I passed on dessert. It was a Monday night, and the restaurant was active but not overcrowded. The wait staff were attentive and all of them seemed to love what they were doing and were great ambassadors for the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oceanaire has everything you want in a r ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Oceanaire has everything you want in a restaurant - - - great food and wine and super service - -

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing! I enjoyed a lovely night with g ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Amazing! I enjoyed a lovely night with great service and wonderful fresh food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waitstaff was attentive and knowledgable ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Waitstaff was attentive and knowledgable. Ambiance was great, a little noisy but manageable. I'll definitely add this on my list of Boston restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Visiting from Australia, this was out la ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Visiting from Australia, this was out last night in the US and we wanted to go somewhere nice for seafood. We found this restaurant on-line and booked on-line too. It was straight forward and quick. Being Mother's day it was very busy and we had to wait half an hour for our table. We had cocktails at the bar while we waited.

The staff were very professional, polite and helpful. The meal was lovely and the ambience pleasant. I would recommend trying out this restaurant if ever in the Boston area.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Quality / Price ratio is low. Lobster b ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Quality / Price ratio is low. Lobster bisque and the sourdough bread were sublime - I would actually come back *just* for those two items (although the waitstaff would probably not appreciate it...maybe at the bar...). Other food was good, but other restaurants can outcompete on price point. Ambiance is awesome, especially at night. Waitstaff is professional and well-trained I think. That bisque, though...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Not worth it

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Made a special occasion bad. Put us at a bad table and had no other options. They offered the booths near the bar which was ok. Didn't tell us that sitting there meant that there was no service. I literally had to get up to find someone to ask for items for the table. It was a joke and moreover a big disappointment for my mother. Plus the quality of the food that came out wasn't worth the costs paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Best of Boston....In Our Opinion!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Courteous, accommodating personnel. Excellent selection of food with every attempt made to please the customer.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a bday dinner!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I had a blast at Oceanaire. The staff was attentive, the food was extremely fresh and delicious and the ambiance was perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Special Occasion Appropriate Restaurant

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Took family for a pre Graduation Meal and we weren't disappointed. The physical space of the building makes you feel as this is something special simply entering it. We sat in a small annex at the back of the restaurant - not sure if it was nice with the extra privacy, or a little removed from the "action" in the main part. Highly attentive service from an enthusiastic team. Clear explanation of the full menu led to some very good choices. Beautifully cooked food - not the largest portions, but no-one left hungry - and beautifully presented. Only downside, it's not cheapest place to get good seafood in Boston. But for a special occasion, definitely fits the bill

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Great!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Only go for special occasions because it is a little pricey, but the food is amazing!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a table of 11 or 12 people for my ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a table of 11 or 12 people for my son's college graduation. Both the food and the service were perfect. It's a pricey place that is perfect for a special occasion. They have the appropriate staffing to handle big groups and the presentation of the food is great too. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a special occasion!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

good seafood in financial district - yet pricey

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

very good overall; servers stay reserved and always "keep distance". pretty strange when day's catch heavily advertised by our waiter was actually unavailable when ordered!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

You would never know it is a chain restaurant

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Our son recommended we celebrate my birthday at this restaurant

The staff was wonderful. I look forward to going back

I will also say how pretty the room is.

Waiter mentioned crab cakes as a favorite....amazing

Actually everyone was happy their choices.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I love this restaurant. It's a great ven ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I love this restaurant. It's a great venue and has a great atmosphere. I have been there several times the food is top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Awesome restaurant.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

I came here with my girlfriend for our 6 month anniversary - they had a personalized menu and the service and food were outstanding. I would definitely come back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food but felt rushed

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We had a 7PM reservation and they were not crowded however our entire meal was rushed. Our waiter seemed to be focused on getting us out the door as quickly as possible. The food was good; we just wish we were given time to enjoy it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Very good but less so that other Oceanaires.

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The food is reliably good here and the service was somewhat better than our last trip on a graduation weekend (when it was REALLY bad), but not what you expect from Oceanaire if you've visited their other locations. The restaurant was curiously empty for a Saturday night and we had no problem getting a last minute reservation. But our waiter abandoned us for a long time and we could not get him back. It appeared that he was in charge of setting up for an incoming party of 16 and this captured all of his attention. Mind you, the service wasn't bad compared to many places but it was not what I expect here and at these prices. We dine at the Oceanaire in Washington DC whenever we are there and love it but this one is not up to the same standard. It's a shame because we are in the process of moving into the city and could walk here.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Very Elegant

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

I loved the way the place was setup very elegant, the service was great, however a little expensive and I thought the plate I ordered should of came with at least one side dish .

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.