About Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston

40 Court Street
Boston, MA 02108
View Larger Map

The Oceanaire provides the perfect setting to enjoy Ultra-Fresh seafood, flown in daily from around the world. Sip a cocktail in the lounge, take a seat at our grand oyster bar, or kick back in a horseshoe booth before diving into a sea of Ultra-Fresh fish, including steak-cut Alaskan halibut, seasonal favorites like fresh Copper River salmon or hard-to-find delicacies like true Dover sole or bluefin tuna. Our knowledgeable staff will delight you with exceptional service — guiding you through the wide variety of items on our menu and helping you select the perfect wine to complement your meal. The world's freshest seafood awaits you at the Oceanaire.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Tremont St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 742-2277

Website:
http://www.theoceanaire.com/

Parking Details:
Valet available for dinner service only; nearby public lot available

Public Transit:
Government Center T Stop

Executive Chef:
Mike Canavan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Stuffed Lobster
fish tacos
Spicy Tuna Poke
Parmasean Truffle Fries
Baked Alaska.
Cioppino
Scallops
Seafood Tower
Crab Cakes
Lobster Bisque
Mixed Seafood Grill
Hash Browns
Striped Sea Bass
Pepper Seared Ahi Tuna
Key Lime Pie
Oysters
Mixed Seafood Plate
Shrimp and Grits
Nantucket Bay Scallops With Sugar Pumpkin, Brussels Sprouts And Pumpkin Seed Brown Butter...
Fish and Chips
Dirty Belvedere Martini
Amuse Bouche
Sea Scolops With Butternut Squash Risotto
Steamed Newfoundland Mussles
Milk And Cookies
Parmesan Crusted Rainbow Trout
Grilled Wild BC Sockeye
Hash Brown A La Oceanaire
Raspberry, Cara Cara Orange & Goat Cheese Salad
Caesar Bloody Mary
Grilled Mahi With Short Ribs, Asian Salad, Yuzu Glaze
Oyster Special
Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes
Fried Calamari
New England Clam Chowder
Clams Casino
Restaurant Week Menu
Sour Cream Mashed Potatoes
Baked Gloucester “Ritzy” Haddock
Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies And Milk
Seared Alaska Salmon “Duo”
Edamame Succotash
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake Appetizer
Cheesecake
Oysters Rockefeller
Fisherman's Platter
Calamari
Crab Stuffed Shrimp
crab cake
Goat Cheese Salad
Assorted Sea Food Platter
Caramel Chocolate Cake
Salmon

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Oceanaire Seafood Room Boston offers private dining experiences with possibilities for an endless number of occasions. From intimate wedding receptions, a high-powered meeting for business associates, or a yearly celebration. Join us at the Oceanaire Seafood Room Boston for your special event!

Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (79)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Romantic (40)
See All
Good for Groups (38)
Great for Lunch (31)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Hot Spot (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Brunch (5)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2465 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great Cost too high If we'd had ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great

Cost too high

If we'd had a home we could have taken two days worth of leftovers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Ocenaire is a wonderful restaurant. Most ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Ocenaire is a wonderful restaurant. Most notable, besides the wonderful food, is the friendliness of the staff. Every time I dine at Oceanaire with my friends, I am struck by how the staff ALWAYS goes out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable.

I can't wait to return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took important business clients from NYC ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Took important business clients from NYC (Japanese), they were impressed with the quality of food as were we! We will be back!

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Told we couldn't get dinner until 5pm ev ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 5 days ago

Told we couldn't get dinner until 5pm even though the open table system, let us book a reservation for 430pm. Had to go up to the front desk twice for the right dinner menu. food was great

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We had 5 different entrees and they were ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had 5 different entrees and they were all terrible. The quality of the food was sub par and most of the dishes were very bland. The food was also served cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

This was our first visit and we were not ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our first visit and we were not disappointed. Food, service and atmosphere were great. I would add that our server (Tony) did an excellent job, which made the evening superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always enjoyable dinner at Oceanaire, wa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Always enjoyable dinner at Oceanaire, wait staff very good though table needed to be cleared from dishes once food was eaten specially from appetizers to entry. Also appetizers came same time as entree, timing could have been a little better. All else was fine and very enjoyable. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Excellent seafood. Started with oysters ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent seafood. Started with oysters, divine. Was there for restaurant week and took advantage of the $38 3 course meal. Yummy salad with peaches and raspberries, really fresh and delightful. Crab cakes, per usual , were excellent. Didn't love the key lime pie, a bit too sweet. Overall , very nice meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, great service, unique de ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent food, great service, unique decor. A great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best dinner in our 5 days stay in Boston ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Best dinner in our 5 days stay in Boston. The food, the place, the employees. Very nice place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a beautiful place to for social (f ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

It is a beautiful place to for social (family, friends, business) events.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic best meal we've had in Boston ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Fantastic best meal we've had in Boston so far including professional service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was Dine Out Boston week, and we chos ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was Dine Out Boston week, and we chose Oceanaire because it was offering a prix fixe menu close to their normal fare. We chose wisely. My calamari first course with cherry peppers and aioli were lightly fried to perfection, with just the right amount of heat. Calamari is not something I usually order, always afraid it will be over-fried and mundane, but that definitely wasn't the case. My second course of salmon with mushroom and pea risotto was delicious, and I'm not a big fan of salmon but loved the side risotto so I ordered it. My husband had the stuffed haddock (with shrimp, crab and other things) and enjoyed it very much. Both portions were very large and filling. But the best surprise was my dessert of Oceanaire Key Lime Pie, again an item I never order, but I figured if they put their name in front of it, perhaps it was a specialty. Well, I would say so. It was a cheesecake, with a dollop of the thickest, not-too-sweet whipped cream, with the perfect lime tang. I walked away more than satisfied. Great meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Just make sure you get what you ask for ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Just make sure you get what you ask for because the waiter said we would get creamed spinach and it was not.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Did not know this was a chain, but it is ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Did not know this was a chain, but it is beautifully appointed, and very professional. My wife and I arrived early and decided to sit at the bar for a cocktail before being seated. The bartender was quick to greet us and when I wanted to try a "special" cocktail he wanted to make sure I knew what it contained. After we were seated, the bread and olives were delivered quickly. We each had 2 appetizers, the escargot and tuna tartar. Both were excellent. I chose the scallops and my wife, the cioppino. Overall this was a wonderful experience and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to a friend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything good

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Everything good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Been here before. Ate at bar this time.. ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Been here before. Ate at bar this time...bartenders were attentive and made great drinks. Food was delicious however we waited extremely long time for our apps (shrimp cocktail and crab cakes) and when they finally came out the shrimp were by no means cold and were on the warm side, which was disappointing. otherwise, great meal as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Less people are eating so prices have ri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Less people are eating so prices have risen dramatically. Find another restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Food was very good, waiter nice but we h ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was very good, waiter nice but we had to wait over 30 minutes for our appetizers, were told a large party ordered before us, it was really way too long and nothing offered to us for our wait.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

gorgeous restaurant and food was very go ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

gorgeous restaurant and food was very good.

Second time here and both times the service was horrible. Seems the kitchen cannot handle the crowd although the restaurant was not even half full on a Saturday night. Our waiter, Ezra, was very apologetic and actually a nice guy, we felt sorry for him as the table next to us was just downright rude to him. Manager saw all but appears to be out of his control as well. It really is a shame as the place is beautiful. May go back for a drink as the bar is nice.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

I have dined at Oceanaire several times ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I have dined at Oceanaire several times and always had an enjoyable experience. This past Saturday was one of the worst experiences I have ever had at any restaurant.

When we first arrived at the restaurant, the GM (Russell) enthusiastically greeted us. He did not do anything to make the balance of our experience better from that point.

We waited almost 45 minutes for our entrées and one meal was delivered (we were a party of 6). That entrée was cold. I had to find the manager in order to find out what was delaying the food.

After another waiting period, the other 5 entrées were delivered to the table and two of those were not cooked (one was basically raw fish). Shortly after that, the GM delivered another order to replace the first entrée that was served.

At that point we asked for our check because we had been in the restaurant almost 2 hours and just wanted to leave. While they did adjust our bill by$130 (check was about $400), it did little to make up for an unpleasant evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

/enjoyed the food and ambiance . Excelle ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

/enjoyed the food and ambiance . Excellent Seafood in Downtown Boston

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We showed up on time for our reservation ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We showed up on time for our reservation and were seated right away by a very friendly hostess in a less than half full dining room. Immediately we were brought water, bread and some vegetables on ice. Then we waited a good 15-20 minutes with no drinks or waiter to be seen. I finally flagged down the hostess to let her know no one was waiting on us. A few minutes later someone finally came over and got our drink orders. After our drinks came we realized a 12-14 person table was assembling next to us with a screaming baby and all. We knew we should get the order in so placed our appetizer and entrée orders right away. A common theme was these guys in suits running food, but having no idea where they were going. They would wander around until you flagged them down to say they were carrying your food. We flagged down the guy carrying our apps and soon after flagged down the guy bringing our wine to find out he did not know how to open a cork so he had to flag down someone that did. Our apps were very good and we were impressed with the food overall. After our apps dinner completely fell apart. The baby was screaming and the big table was eating with the full attention of our waiter. We sat and sat for about 40 minutes before I grabbed a suit guy to complain. Our dinners finally came and the food was very good. We noticed our waiter now had purple gloves on and was cracking the lobsters for all the guests at the big table completely ignoring all his other table. We grabbed a suit guy because we were not going to give this place another dime. They did not apologize or take anything off of the bill. We paid and continued our dinner date down the road because we had long since missed our ferry boat home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

Oceanaire was a surprising find. Our fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Oceanaire was a surprising find. Our food was phenomenal and the wine list was fantastic. The ambience is the only killer for this place. It looks like something out of a 90's Jim Carey movie. It could use some updating.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The Haddock Florentine was amazing! So f ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The Haddock Florentine was amazing! So fresh and so delicious! Will get that again next time!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I frequently dine in the Boston area for ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

I frequently dine in the Boston area for business / with clients, as well as personally with my family and to be frank this was the WORST restaurant that I have been to in my entire life. The food took 1 hour to come out and it was terrible. The waiter recommended the Sockeye Salmon and it was by far the most disgusting piece of fish that I had ever had. My client called the food "rancid". The manager took $50 off the bill for the delay and because I was late to my next meeting did not fight the rest of the bill because I felt so ill that I had to physically get out of the restaurant. Stay far away from this place!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Very good food and excellent service. Es ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very good food and excellent service. Especially good waiter-Sergio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

An excellent restaurant near Government ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

An excellent restaurant near Government Center. Fresh sea food, terrific service, tables nicely far apart.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Lovely ambia ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent food and service. Lovely ambiance special spot for seafood dining. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was tasty & nicely prepared, waiter ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was tasty & nicely prepared, waiter was attentive and knowledgeable. Just be prepared for sticker shock when u look at the menu. No prices listed online.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

everything was great: service, food and ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

everything was great: service, food and drinks. lobster mac and cheese was delicious but could have had a little less bread crumbs. filet to die for - seasoned perfectly. couldn't have asked for a better dinner - wort h every penny!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The meal was excellent and the service w ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The meal was excellent and the service was top notch. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and services were spectacular! ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food and services were spectacular! Our waiter Nathan was just simply nothing less than AMAZING!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Oceanaire few times befo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

I have been to Oceanaire few times before. They have the best crab cakes in the world! We went for a special July 4th week offer and the 3-course prix fixe deal was incredible! In addition to the incredible crab cakes, the main entree (fish for both) was wonderful and the blueberry bread pudding was to die for! I will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Steve, our waiter was excellent. The sea ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Steve, our waiter was excellent. The seafood salad was very dry and needed more dressing .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It seems when we get our desserts to go ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It seems when we get our desserts to go they are not on par with deserts being served to the patrons eating in.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

the service was great the food was deli ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

the service was great the food was delicious i like that place and I'm going come back

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Nice. We were a big party - 12 - an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Very Nice. We were a big party - 12 - and we're sat at a big round table. Very accommodating. Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent menu, and flavors. Calamari wa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Excellent menu, and flavors. Calamari was perfectly cooked and the black and blue swordfish was delicious. Only wish it was a bigger a portion, wasn't too bad tho.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding seafood! From the delicious ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Outstanding seafood! From the delicious shrimp and calamari appetizer to the lump crab cakes and delicious beet salad. Great spot for a family get together.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.