About Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston

40 Court Street
Boston, MA 02108
View Larger Map

The Oceanaire provides the perfect setting to enjoy Ultra-Fresh seafood, flown in daily from around the world. Sip a cocktail in the lounge, take a seat at our grand oyster bar, or kick back in a horseshoe booth before diving into a sea of Ultra-Fresh fish, including steak-cut Alaskan halibut, seasonal favorites like fresh Copper River salmon or hard-to-find delicacies like true Dover sole or bluefin tuna. Our knowledgeable staff will delight you with exceptional service — guiding you through the wide variety of items on our menu and helping you select the perfect wine to complement your meal. The world's freshest seafood awaits you at the Oceanaire.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Tremont St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 742-2277

Website:
http://www.theoceanaire.com/

Parking Details:
Valet available for dinner service only; nearby public lot available

Public Transit:
Government Center T Stop

Executive Chef:
Mike Canavan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Stuffed Lobster
fish tacos
Spicy Tuna Poke
Parmasean Truffle Fries
Baked Alaska.
Cioppino
Scallops
Seafood Tower
Crab Cakes
Lobster Bisque
Mixed Seafood Grill
Hash Browns
Striped Sea Bass
Pepper Seared Ahi Tuna
Key Lime Pie
Oysters
Mixed Seafood Plate
Shrimp and Grits
Nantucket Bay Scallops With Sugar Pumpkin, Brussels Sprouts And Pumpkin Seed Brown Butter...
Fish and Chips
Dirty Belvedere Martini
Amuse Bouche
Sea Scolops With Butternut Squash Risotto
Steamed Newfoundland Mussles
Milk And Cookies
Parmesan Crusted Rainbow Trout
Grilled Wild BC Sockeye
Hash Brown A La Oceanaire
Raspberry, Cara Cara Orange & Goat Cheese Salad
Caesar Bloody Mary
Grilled Mahi With Short Ribs, Asian Salad, Yuzu Glaze
Oyster Special
Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes
Fried Calamari
New England Clam Chowder
Clams Casino
Restaurant Week Menu
Sour Cream Mashed Potatoes
Baked Gloucester “Ritzy” Haddock
Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies And Milk
Seared Alaska Salmon “Duo”
Edamame Succotash
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake Appetizer
Cheesecake
Oysters Rockefeller
Fisherman's Platter
Calamari
Crab Stuffed Shrimp
crab cake
Goat Cheese Salad
Assorted Sea Food Platter
Caramel Chocolate Cake
Salmon

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Oceanaire Seafood Room Boston offers private dining experiences with possibilities for an endless number of occasions. From intimate wedding receptions, a high-powered meeting for business associates, or a yearly celebration. Join us at the Oceanaire Seafood Room Boston for your special event!

Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (63)
Romantic (39)
Fit for Foodies (35)
See All
Good for Groups (31)
Great for Lunch (24)
Notable Wine List (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Business Meals (9)
Modern Decor (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Fun (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Historic (2)
Casual (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Seasonal (1)
Authentic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2485 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our hotel concierge recommended Oceanair ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our hotel concierge recommended Oceanaire so we decided to try it. Glad we did! The food was delicious, although our appetizers were brought to the table well after our main meals were delivered. So we can't tell you how the oysters and clam chowder taste, since we sent them back. The salmon and haddock were tasty. The haddock was actually delicious, done Florentine style. The Boston Creme pie was a scrumptious ending to this meal. The service was inexcusable and it's the only reason why we will never go back and will rate it low on tripadvisor. We noticed 2 tables complaining about timing of the food delivery and the service. It's too burdensome to get in to all of the negative details about the service, or lack thereof, but suffice it to say that their service was not only non-existent, but left a sour taste in my mouth.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Oceanaire has a great selection of oyste ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Oceanaire has a great selection of oysters. Their seafood is exceptional. Hash towns are to die for! The steaks are cooked perfectly. However, they need to improve steak sauce selections. When I asked for Bernaise sauce the server apologized and brought A1 steak sauce instead! We could not believe it!!! for such a classy restaurant that charges quite high prices, they can afford to prepare and offer the guests at least a couple of steak sauce selections.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was not impressed by the service, the ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I was not impressed by the service, the over salted food, or the value. Starting with our table not being available upon our arrival we had an uncomfortable experience. There was confusion to our waiter was, it was frweezing,our waiter seem to be kissing the butt the pretentious guy next to us while ignoring us and our drink orders. The waiter also boldly interrupted us during a romantic gaze. While it jarred our attention I was reminded that he is there to service us and we are not there to service him. He could have taken a mind for a moment and quietly came in once there was a break. That is what dining out is supposed to be like.

The food was Just OK. For the size, the quality and the taste it was $10 overpriced for each meal. And I like fancy meals!

The next night we went to a less pretentious restaurant with a similar menu and found comfort knowing that Boston had more to offer than this one experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Interesting ambiance - - converted the o ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Interesting ambiance - - converted the old State Street Bank in to a restaurant. Impressive bar with raw bar display. Exceptionally good selections of oysters. Great seafood.

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Worst service I have every had.

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Worst service I have every had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Great food. Crab meat is fantastic.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great food. Crab meat is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A seafood restaurant with lots of choice ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

A seafood restaurant with lots of choices all well prepared. Service was superb. food was delivered promptly to our table. Although it is a chain one would not have guessed it from the experience

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Both meals were less than average. We bo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Both meals were less than average. We both had seafood. Not up to par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Outstanding dinner. The dining room is ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Outstanding dinner. The dining room is very beautiful and spaciuos. We had a nicely private table for two. All tables had good spacing from their neighbors. The shrimp cocktail was enormous and delicious. The Chef special scallops were also outstanding. The drinks were super good as well. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for an outstanding seafood dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Oceanaire is one of those places that yo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Oceanaire is one of those places that you should go to at least once and more if you have the scratch. The food here is legitimately excellent as well as quite expensive. An example is the side of mashed potatoes for $12. That seems absurd to me. My Bronzini was one of the best I've eaten. My dinner ran $113 with tip and wine. Overall the experience was outstanding. It has to be one of the most beautiful dining rooms in the city. If someone else is paying, even better!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

food is always very fresh and very good. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

food is always very fresh and very good. Service was a tad overbearing, checking back too often when the entire table was clearly involved in conversation. But overall a high quality restaurant.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our waiter was outstanding! We have been ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Our waiter was outstanding! We have been to Oceanaire several times before and had this same waiter, always friendly and attentive. I'm only sorry I didn't get his name. We were there at 2:30 for a late lunch. We had the place almost all to ourselves. Food was excellent as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

the overall experience was good, until w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

the overall experience was good, until we finished our dinner. we wanted to sit at bar and order some oysters because $1 oysters on every sunday. the bartender asked us, were you guys sitting at the table? we were like yes, we would like to order some oysters at the bar. then he was like sorry, we dont serve $1 oyster on labor day weekend. However, we had a friend just finished half dozen oyster before sat down with her friends where just just behind our table. we didnt say more, finished our red wine, then left. to me, it made sense that the restaurant dont do specials because long weekend. maybe there was a miscommunication between the bartender and manager, i hope. i was thinking that maybe bartender did not know about the restaurant not serving oyster special at the first place, but he served my friend, then the manager notified him that the restaurant did not have $1 oyster special for long weekend. i hope that was the case. now, question : did the restaurant serve $1 oyster at bar on labor day sunday?

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I recently had a celebrat ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My husband and I recently had a celebratory dinner at Oceanaire following our wedding. We were both so pleased with the service, food, and atmosphere at the restaurant! They went out of their way to make it a special evening for us, with custom printed menus, a semi-private table, and a complimentary baked Alaska. Everyone loved the food! Thank you, Oceanaire!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere with service to match ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great atmosphere with service to match and fabulous food. Valet parking is a plus. Give it a try and enjoy.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good restaurant but the service was ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Very good restaurant but the service was not great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was "fine". The portions wer ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Everything was "fine". The portions were rather small for the price, and although the food was good, it wasn't particularly noteworthy. Service was "fine". Despite an empty restaurant, we were seated right up against another occupied table, next to the bar. It was good enough to be recommended, but it's not a "must go".

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The hostess,server and food were AMAZING ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The hostess,server and food were AMAZING!

The portions were rather small for the price. We went during lunch of RW Boston. Next time we will go during dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Food was great Cost too high If we'd had ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Food was great

Cost too high

If we'd had a home we could have taken two days worth of leftovers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Ocenaire is a wonderful restaurant. Most ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Ocenaire is a wonderful restaurant. Most notable, besides the wonderful food, is the friendliness of the staff. Every time I dine at Oceanaire with my friends, I am struck by how the staff ALWAYS goes out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable.

I can't wait to return.

Tags: Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Restaurant Week, which was a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We went for Restaurant Week, which was a very nice menu, and they will also print you special happy birthday menus if you call ahead of time! The only thing I didn't really like was that the waiter didn't even bring up that it was RW and didn't seem happy about bringing us those menus. I'm guessing they want you do order from the regular menu. The regular menu looks fabulous, but they are very expensive!!!! So this is a good special occasion place, if you don't happen to go during RW. The calamari was excellent and a very good sized portion. I had the stuffed haddock for my entrée, which was delicious and I tried my friend's crab cakes, which also were delicious. They also gave yummy, warm bread and also crudités before apps, which was a really nice touch. Desserts were not very special, but we were also very full by then!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Took important business clients from NYC ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Took important business clients from NYC (Japanese), they were impressed with the quality of food as were we! We will be back!

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Told we couldn't get dinner until 5pm ev ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Told we couldn't get dinner until 5pm even though the open table system, let us book a reservation for 430pm. Had to go up to the front desk twice for the right dinner menu. food was great

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We had 5 different entrees and they were ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We had 5 different entrees and they were all terrible. The quality of the food was sub par and most of the dishes were very bland. The food was also served cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5

This was our first visit and we were not ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our first visit and we were not disappointed. Food, service and atmosphere were great. I would add that our server (Tony) did an excellent job, which made the evening superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always enjoyable dinner at Oceanaire, wa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Always enjoyable dinner at Oceanaire, wait staff very good though table needed to be cleared from dishes once food was eaten specially from appetizers to entry. Also appetizers came same time as entree, timing could have been a little better. All else was fine and very enjoyable. Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Excellent seafood. Started with oysters ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent seafood. Started with oysters, divine. Was there for restaurant week and took advantage of the $38 3 course meal. Yummy salad with peaches and raspberries, really fresh and delightful. Crab cakes, per usual , were excellent. Didn't love the key lime pie, a bit too sweet. Overall , very nice meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, great service, unique de ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Excellent food, great service, unique decor. A great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best dinner in our 5 days stay in Boston ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Best dinner in our 5 days stay in Boston. The food, the place, the employees. Very nice place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a beautiful place to for social (f ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

It is a beautiful place to for social (family, friends, business) events.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic best meal we've had in Boston ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Fantastic best meal we've had in Boston so far including professional service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was Dine Out Boston week, and we chos ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It was Dine Out Boston week, and we chose Oceanaire because it was offering a prix fixe menu close to their normal fare. We chose wisely. My calamari first course with cherry peppers and aioli were lightly fried to perfection, with just the right amount of heat. Calamari is not something I usually order, always afraid it will be over-fried and mundane, but that definitely wasn't the case. My second course of salmon with mushroom and pea risotto was delicious, and I'm not a big fan of salmon but loved the side risotto so I ordered it. My husband had the stuffed haddock (with shrimp, crab and other things) and enjoyed it very much. Both portions were very large and filling. But the best surprise was my dessert of Oceanaire Key Lime Pie, again an item I never order, but I figured if they put their name in front of it, perhaps it was a specialty. Well, I would say so. It was a cheesecake, with a dollop of the thickest, not-too-sweet whipped cream, with the perfect lime tang. I walked away more than satisfied. Great meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Just make sure you get what you ask for ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Just make sure you get what you ask for because the waiter said we would get creamed spinach and it was not.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Did not know this was a chain, but it is ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Did not know this was a chain, but it is beautifully appointed, and very professional. My wife and I arrived early and decided to sit at the bar for a cocktail before being seated. The bartender was quick to greet us and when I wanted to try a "special" cocktail he wanted to make sure I knew what it contained. After we were seated, the bread and olives were delivered quickly. We each had 2 appetizers, the escargot and tuna tartar. Both were excellent. I chose the scallops and my wife, the cioppino. Overall this was a wonderful experience and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to a friend.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything good

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Everything good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Been here before. Ate at bar this time.. ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Been here before. Ate at bar this time...bartenders were attentive and made great drinks. Food was delicious however we waited extremely long time for our apps (shrimp cocktail and crab cakes) and when they finally came out the shrimp were by no means cold and were on the warm side, which was disappointing. otherwise, great meal as always.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Less people are eating so prices have ri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Less people are eating so prices have risen dramatically. Find another restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Food was very good, waiter nice but we h ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was very good, waiter nice but we had to wait over 30 minutes for our appetizers, were told a large party ordered before us, it was really way too long and nothing offered to us for our wait.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

gorgeous restaurant and food was very go ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

gorgeous restaurant and food was very good.

Second time here and both times the service was horrible. Seems the kitchen cannot handle the crowd although the restaurant was not even half full on a Saturday night. Our waiter, Ezra, was very apologetic and actually a nice guy, we felt sorry for him as the table next to us was just downright rude to him. Manager saw all but appears to be out of his control as well. It really is a shame as the place is beautiful. May go back for a drink as the bar is nice.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

I have dined at Oceanaire several times ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I have dined at Oceanaire several times and always had an enjoyable experience. This past Saturday was one of the worst experiences I have ever had at any restaurant.

When we first arrived at the restaurant, the GM (Russell) enthusiastically greeted us. He did not do anything to make the balance of our experience better from that point.

We waited almost 45 minutes for our entrées and one meal was delivered (we were a party of 6). That entrée was cold. I had to find the manager in order to find out what was delaying the food.

After another waiting period, the other 5 entrées were delivered to the table and two of those were not cooked (one was basically raw fish). Shortly after that, the GM delivered another order to replace the first entrée that was served.

At that point we asked for our check because we had been in the restaurant almost 2 hours and just wanted to leave. While they did adjust our bill by$130 (check was about $400), it did little to make up for an unpleasant evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.