About Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston

40 Court Street
Boston, MA 02108
View Larger Map

The Oceanaire provides the perfect setting to enjoy Ultra-Fresh seafood, flown in daily from around the world. Sip a cocktail in the lounge, take a seat at our grand oyster bar, or kick back in a horseshoe booth before diving into a sea of Ultra-Fresh fish, including steak-cut Alaskan halibut, seasonal favorites like fresh Copper River salmon or hard-to-find delicacies like true Dover sole or bluefin tuna. Our knowledgeable staff will delight you with exceptional service — guiding you through the wide variety of items on our menu and helping you select the perfect wine to complement your meal. The world's freshest seafood awaits you at the Oceanaire.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Tremont St.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 742-2277

Website:
http://www.theoceanaire.com/

Parking Details:
Valet available for dinner service only; nearby public lot available

Public Transit:
Government Center T Stop

Executive Chef:
Mike Canavan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Stuffed Lobster - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
fish tacos - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Spicy Tuna Poke - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Parmasean Truffle Fries - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Baked Alaska. - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Cioppino - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Scallops - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Seafood Tower - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Crab Cakes - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Lobster Bisque - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Mixed Seafood Grill - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Hash Browns - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Striped Sea Bass - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Pepper Seared Ahi Tuna - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Key Lime Pie - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Oysters - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Mixed Seafood Plate - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Shrimp and Grits - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Nantucket Bay Scallops With Sugar Pumpkin, Brussels Sprouts And Pumpkin Seed Brown Butter...  - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Fish and Chips - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Dirty Belvedere Martini - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Amuse Bouche - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Sea Scolops With Butternut Squash Risotto - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Steamed Newfoundland Mussles - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Milk And Cookies - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Parmesan Crusted Rainbow Trout - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Grilled Wild BC Sockeye - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Hash Brown A La Oceanaire - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Raspberry, Cara Cara Orange & Goat Cheese Salad - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Caesar Bloody Mary - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Grilled Mahi With Short Ribs, Asian Salad, Yuzu Glaze - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Oyster Special - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Fried Calamari - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
New England Clam Chowder - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Clams Casino - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Restaurant Week Menu - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Sour Cream Mashed Potatoes - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Baked Gloucester “Ritzy” Haddock - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies And Milk - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Seared Alaska Salmon “Duo” - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Edamame Succotash - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Jumbo Lump Crab Cake Appetizer - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Cheesecake - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Oysters Rockefeller - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Fisherman's Platter - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Calamari - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Crab Stuffed Shrimp - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
crab cake - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Goat Cheese Salad - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Assorted Sea Food Platter - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Caramel Chocolate Cake - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA
Salmon - Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston, Boston, MA

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Enjoy Valentine's Day at The Oceanaire for a truly exceptional experience!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

The Oceanaire Seafood Room Boston offers private dining experiences with possibilities for an endless number of occasions. From intimate wedding receptions, a high-powered meeting for business associates, or a yearly celebration. Join us at the Oceanaire Seafood Room Boston for your special event!

Oceanaire Seafood Room - Boston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (43)
Good for a Date (39)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
See All
Business Meals (32)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Romantic (29)
Notable Wine List (27)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Modern Decor (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Healthy (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Historic (9)
Cozy (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Private Room (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Authentic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
People Watching (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Fun (5)
Family Style (5)
Seasonal (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Casual (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
2711 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service, lovely atmosphere and ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 hours ago

Excellent service, lovely atmosphere and good food – an unbeatable combination

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent,love the atmosphere w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was excellent,love the atmosphere will definitely go there again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had friends in from Texas and Illinoi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

We had friends in from Texas and Illinois, and they asked for seafood. Following a suggestion, we tried the Oceanaire. On a very, very quiet Saturday night (Patriots playoff game), we should have had exemplary service, and we were hoping for very good food.

Our waiter was great until the app course was over. We had to request water three times. Sweetener for iced tea twice. Additional butter for the bread never arrived. It was mostly nagging little things, but they added up.

When the mains arrived, one steak was overcooked and had to be sent back. And the night's special, which involved sea scallops, was inedible. The scallops had a very strong odor of ammonia, indicating that they were going off. Getting a new dish was confusing and never involved our original waiter - in a restaurant 2/3 empty.

So, here's the thing: we don't complain until we have to. But a well-done, rather than medium rare, steak and inedible scallops had better not be the norm, or The Oceanaire can just close up shop now. And at a 4-person table, when 50% of the diners have major issues with their meals on a dead night, that's a problem.

We were given an unrequested free dessert to split 4 ways (it was huge, but we really didn't want dessert) and a discount on the $360 check of $10. Neither of these were wanted.

What we wanted - and did not get - was an apology.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

a Fish Steakhouse!!! love it! this place ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

a Fish Steakhouse!!! love it! this place never disappoints, always fresh, always cooked to perfection. fantastic service and food the crown jewel of the Landrys empire.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Prime Ribeye was amazing!!! Mash pot ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The Prime Ribeye was amazing!!! Mash potatoes were whipped to perfection! Overall great food! Would come back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated New Years Eve beginning with ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Celebrated New Years Eve beginning with dinner at Oceanaire. Festive room but we we seated at first table near the entrance to the restaurant and by the door. It was very cold especially when people were entering or exiting. Food was average. Aside from the company, the only exceptional part of the dinner was the service. Our waiter and bus boy were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

Came here on New Year's Eve. Had a reser ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Came here on New Year's Eve. Had a reservation and arrived 5 minutes prior; told us they could not seat us until our allotted time and told us to go to the bar and wait--while I didn't mind this, my husband couldn't understand why they couldn't just seat us at our table. Being that it was New Year's Eve, I think they should have just sat us but maybe its some kind of policy...regardless it didn't affect our dining. We ordered the crab cake as an appetizer which was OUTSTANDING! For Dinner, I ordered the Surf n Turf which was the filet with a lobster tail- it took me almost 20 minutes to try and get the meat out of the tail-definitely not worth $55- the tail should come already shelled; the Filet however was cooked nicely. Husband ordered the seared scallops which were delicious and we shared the hashbrowns for a side which was dredged in a lake of butter--less butter next time and it would have been better. Our server Sophia was great and very nice. Ordered the key lime pie for dessert which was a good touch. Overall, the food was alright--other than the crab cake, nothing really stood out to me to make me want to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Always great service and food. It was gr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always great service and food. It was great atmosphere for New Years. The service was outstanding as it has been in the past. The food was delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Authentic, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was spectacular; we got great o ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was spectacular; we got great oyster recommendations from our server, as well as a really good fish recommendation. We also had the crab cake entree - that was fantastic. We couldn't leave Oceanaire without having the truffled fries, which were a nice treat. Service was wonderful and we were happy with the options on the kids menu for our little one.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dishes

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Excellent dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting fur Christmas Day dinn ...

 
 (London)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Beautiful setting fur Christmas Day dinner. Great food great service. We are from the U.K. And would definitely visit again.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food, per usual, excellent and beautifu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food, per usual, excellent and beautifully presented. Lobster bisque which we usually have was not up to snuff. Clam chowder could have been creamier. Attentive wait staff. With exception of bisque and chowder, quite pleased.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Family Style, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Reservation was 2 pm on Christmas Day. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Reservation was 2 pm on Christmas Day. Arrived 10 mins. early and door was locked. Had to call for someone to open door (first reservations were for 2 pm). However, on a cold afternoon was not happy could not come inside and wait. Wine menu much smaller than on line and not great choices for prices. Ordered filet mignon med rare and came out well done. Filet of sole was whole fish and not boned (for $60). Waiter did not say it would be with bones nor was it indicated on menu. Other places offer to debone for you. Food tasted good, but for the prices I think there is better value elsewhere. Did not offer to refill coffee. Manager apologized for meat overdone, but new steak arrived when other 2 diners half finished their meals.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Christmas Eve

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Christmas Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The seafood options were fantastic and w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The seafood options were fantastic and well prepared. Tuna, Marlin, Stuffed Lobster, Swordfish and bay scallops were all terrific. Sides hash browns and lobster mac and cheese were big hits. Baked Alaska , a nice treat. Nice selection of wine's by glass and bottle. Waitstaff helpful and attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Happy Hour, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our family had an early Christmas dinner ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Our family had an early Christmas dinner after visiting the Christmas market at city hall plaza. The location was ideal. Our party of 10 was seated in a quiet corner which was perfect for our group. The waitstaff was friendly and very helpful, making great suggestions for our appetizers and wine. Everyone's meal was delicious. We loved the ambience and will make Oceanaire a Christmas tradition but we don't need to wait that long to return. This restaurant is now one of our favorites!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went here for our anniversary. The fo ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We went here for our anniversary. The food is great and overall it was a great experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, Great Service, Great wine li ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food, Great Service, Great wine list and a wonderful atmosphere. Only negative is it's quite pricey.

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic food, the freshest seafood, pr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Fantastic food, the freshest seafood, professional smiling service staff, Always great specials..and waitstaff is always ready to make suggestions. The ambiance is very layed back and nice surroundings ...and very quiet even though it was very busy. Been here before and it's one of the tops on my list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Three of us ate dinner. Two in our party ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Three of us ate dinner. Two in our party shared a shrimp scampi. All the food tasted fine, but the two who ate shrimp got violently ill in the middle of the night. Clearly this restaurant did not handle the seafood well. Very disappointing and dangerous. We won't be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

Our anniversary dinner was great! The fo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Our anniversary dinner was great! The food was very good, the restaurant was posh and the service was excellent. I requested a quiet table away from the main floor for romantic conversation and it was just that. I will always treasure the night we had there...just as I had hoped.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Oceanaire is a very good restaurant with ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Oceanaire is a very good restaurant with a couple of drawbacks on this visit. Our waiter was very attentive when he could get to our table and had a great personality; however, whether there wasn't enough staff the night we were there or ? Service was slow. Entree was delicious; prices are on a par with other Boston restaurants. Also that evening was very cold and windy; a chill blew in to the room every time the door was opened. Wine by the glass list has very good choices at reasonable prices. We've dined at Oceanaire on many occasions and even with the above comments will continue to do so.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We chose this restaurant for our date ni ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We chose this restaurant for our date night. It was a good experience overall but seemed a bit pricey for what we received. Food presentation was excellent but portions were very small compared to other restaurants of this type we've experienced in Boston.

My wife and I both ordered the seafood medley. It came with a very petite lobster tail, scallops and shrimp. The lobster tail and shrimp were a bit overcooked but the scallops were some of the best I've ever eaten. The dessert (Baked Alaskan) however was a great deal and one order was enough for two people. Overall it was a good experience but I expected more for what I was paying.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

We had prompt, courteous service. Our wa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We had prompt, courteous service. Our waiter was great. He made some great suggestions, and we enjoyed it. We will be back for New Years.

Tags: Notable Wine List, , Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They seated us promptly. We had an excel ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

They seated us promptly. We had an excellent waiter. The food and drinks were delicious. A little pricey

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good food, service was lacking. Res ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Very good food, service was lacking. Restaurant was not full, but it took server quite a while to greet us and take drink orders. Server seemed flat or moody throughout the meal. When u spend over $100 per person, service should be outstanding. Apps, main courses (primarily seafood) and dessert were all well prepared and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Consistently superior food and service i ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Consistently superior food and service in an atmosphere that is conducive to private conversations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I sometimes feel there is a certain stig ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 7, 2016

I sometimes feel there is a certain stigma associated with chain restaurants. But Landry's seems to do well with their upper tier places. You can tell it certainly has chain fingerprints as soon as you walk in the door, with a design by numbers type layout (disappointed that they couldn't have used the old bank vaults as dining areas). Very large, very open but not obnoxiously loud (except for some at the bar talking politics), seeing many groups of men wearing suits, it looked to be the place to have your after hour meeting or vendor dinners. That said, the menu, which was a little larger that we are used to, almost had too many seafood options (duh, it is a seafood place), with specialties, and favorites, and another section of your choice of fish with a selection of toppers or spices, much like you would see at their counterparts Mortons or McCormicks.

Anyway, food was reasonably decent. Lump crab cake was actually lump (not shredded), and almost entirely crab, very little binder if at all. It was the best we had while in Boston (but we were only there 5 days). However, the octopus was overcooked and rubbery. The mahi selection was an extremely generous portion and very well prepared. Swordfish prepared angry was surprisingly well executed. As spicy as it was, it did not overpower the swordfish. I live in Chicago, and would say that if there was one here, I would actually go there if I needed to, which is about as high a compliment I can give knowing that I actually suffer from the chain stigma.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

A very nice special occasion place. Pret ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 7, 2016

A very nice special occasion place. Pretty expensive but lovely setting in an old bank. Good cocktails and fresh scallops!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The best way to describe this place is a ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The best way to describe this place is a steakhouse for seafood. Nice and quite dining room, the tables are spaced nicely, and the pace of the meal was perfect. Our dishes (swordfish and mahi mahi) were delicious. It is on the more expensive side but I found it to be fairly priced. $200 all in for the two of us including bottle of wine, appetizers, main entre and tax/tip. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed dinner before a concert - exc ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We enjoyed dinner before a concert - excellent location for local venues. The waiters were experienced and helpful in selections, attentive, but not hovering. The food was fresh and well prepared - watch out, though the 'angry' swordfish is true to its name! Oysters were excellent as was the steak. All around easy, comfortable atmosphere and dining. Will definitely return.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Freshness is the key to any seafood dish ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Freshness is the key to any seafood dishes and they really deliver in that department. Server also recognized us as a repeat customer and greeted us warmly, which was a nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

AMAZING food great service Harold ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 1, 2016

AMAZING food great service Harold is so helpful and gracious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice Lunch at Oceanaire My husband loves ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Nice Lunch at Oceanaire

My husband loves Oceanaire and has a Landry's (parent company) affinity card so we have dinner at Oceanaire often. I've only had lunch there a few times, and actually liked it better at this recent lunch with a lady friend... good food, good service, pricey but reasonable overall). I'm not excited about the usually uneven service in the evening... excessively friendly (servers and managers introducing themselves, standing around talking, shaking hands, etc.) vs. mysterious disappearances for long periods. Fortunately this didn't happen at this lunch (it was a slow day, and/or neither of us was a "regular" with a Landry's card?) My seafood salad was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

suggestion: be sure to ask the waiter fo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

suggestion: be sure to ask the waiter for the price of the specials even if the question might embarrass your date. I wasn't expecting $70 entrees. They were very good but not worth $70 each. The rest of the menu appeared to be priced as you'd expect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a party that included someone fr ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a party that included someone from the mid-west who wanted to try some good seafood. Oceanaire delivered. They took us early and treated us very well. Very much enjoyed the attention from our server, Hans. Great evening and I highly recommend this restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maybe I'm just fussy about seafood. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Maybe I'm just fussy about seafood. The ritzy haddock had Dijon mustard👎. The lobster mac was flavorless.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I were celebrating my bir ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating my birthday and we wanted a special place for dinner. The restaurant is beautiful, the service was great, the food was absolutely delicious, as were the pomegranate martinis! They even had the Patriot's Game on so we could keep track of the score! I would highly recommend The Oceanaire!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is our second time at this restaura ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This is our second time at this restaurant.

Both times we have had fish and it is absolutely amazing. We had the tuna which was so fresh and scrumptious and the shrimp scampi - shrimp were large and so tender. Our appetizer was the fried calamari - excellent. Desert definitely made fro two was key lime would order again in a heartbeat

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made a reservation in advance, showed up ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Made a reservation in advance, showed up on time, but upon arrival, they seated us in the bar area even though the main dining area was less than half full. The bar waiter was not very knowledgeable about the menu nor was he very attentive. The table itself lacked privacy as there were many people milling around/walking by. Our meals were good, but definitely not worth the price. Overall my wife and i were pretty disappointed. It was our first and last time at the Oceanaire.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.