Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Oceana Coastal Kitchen

Waterfront San Diego Dining

Oceana Coastal Kitchen features chef-driven, California cuisine as well as a modern, ocean-inspired design. The brand new restaurant offers a memorable bay-front dining experience at an iconic Pacific Beach hideaway.

Ranging from casual to upscale, the airy waterfront restaurant includes several distinct dining areas such as a quartz-topped cold bar embedded with mother of pearl and sea glass. The focal point in the main dining room is an impressive 800 gallon aquarium, soon the home to fluorescent tropical jellyfish, while a sliding window fully opens to showcase unobstructed views of Mission Bay.

Oceana Coastal Kitchen offers an all-new alfresco experience for guests, complete with sleek booths and tables with sweeping panoramic waterfront views, along with an adjacent lounge featuring flickering flames from tiki torches and lava rock fire pits.

3999 Mission Blvd
San Diego, CA 92109
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST
Mon – Sat: 6:30 am – 11:30 am
Sun: 6:30 am – 10:00 am

BRUNCH
Sun: 10:00 am – 2:00 pm

LUNCH
Mon – Fri: 11:30 am – 2:00 pm
Sat: 11:30 – 4:00 pm
Sun: 2:00 – 4:00 pm

DINNER
Sun – Thu: 5:30 pm – 10:00 pm
Fri – Sat: 5:30 pm – 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Pacific Beach Drive

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 539-8635

Website:
http://www.oceanacoastal.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy Live Music Wednesday and Thursday nights.

Catering:
Remember Oceana for you next party or office gathering. Give us a call and we will be happy to help you plan your next catered event at (858) 539-8635

Parking Details:
3 hour complimentary valet or self parking.

Public Transit:
MTS Bus stop right in front of the Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Steven Riemer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Savor Oceana's bay views, fresh fare and cozy dining room - ideal for your private special event. For more information call us today: (858) 539-8635

Specials

Oceana Dinner Series - Green Flash Brewing Co.

Wednesday Jul 26, 2017 from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

$2 Off Craft Draft Beer Special

Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

9-9-9 Happy Hour Specials

Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 7:00 PM

1/2 Priced Bottles of Wine

Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Oceana Dinner Series - Green Flash Brewing Co.

Wednesday Jul 26, 2017 from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Oceana is partnering with local craft brewery Green Flash Brewing Co. for an intimate and educational four-course pairing dinner. Perfect for beer enthusiasts and novices alike. $65/person For Tickets Call: 858.539.8635. Excludes Tax and Tip. Price inclusive of selected beer pairings, inclusive of tax and gratuity. Special valid on Wednesday Jul 26, 2017 from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

$2 Off Craft Draft Beer Special

Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Enjoy Live Music and $2 off Select Craft Draft Beer. Excludes Tax and Tip. Dine-in only. Special valid May 10, 2017 - Sep 10, 2017 on Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM.

9-9-9 Happy Hour Specials

Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Enjoy $9 Flatbreads, $9 Sushi & $9 Craft Cocktails. Excludes Tax and Tip. Dine-in only. Valid for specified flatbread, sushi rolls and craft cocktails. Special valid May 10, 2017 - Sep 10, 2017 on Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 7:00 PM.

1/2 Priced Bottles of Wine

Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Enjoy Live Music and 1/2 Priced Bottles of Wine.* Select from our extensive wine list. Excludes Tax and Tip. Dine-in only. Special valid May 10, 2017 - Sep 10, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

Beautiful private dining room with views of Mission Bay. Perfect for rehearsal dinners, birthdays or lunch meetings. Oceana Coastal Kitchen features chef-driven, California cuisine as well as a modern, ocean-inspired design that offers a memorable bay front dining experience.

Oceana Coastal Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (44)
Waterfront (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
See All
Good for a Date (29)
Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (27)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
People Watching (15)
Great for Brunch (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Cozy (11)
Casual (11)
Fun (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Healthy (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Tapas (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Business Meals (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Seasonal (4)
Authentic (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Vegan (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Family Style (2)
Live Sports (2)
Live Music (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
303 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

Great dining experience. Very nice staff and good food. A little slow on the service but great views.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 7 days ago

Celebrated our parents 50th wedding anniversary and the staff went out of their way to make everyone feel special and attended to. The food, view and atmosphere was simply perfection!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Had a nice table with view in main dining room. Service was excellent and efficient; the food was enjoyed by both of us. Only negative was bratty kid who was disruptive for a short period--not fault of the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Espectacular! Patrick el sommelier y encargado atento a cada detalle. Volveremos sin duda.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Very beautiful location right on the beach. Food was delicious however I found an insect in my drink and my husband found a piece of plastic in his dessert. Take caution when eating the food. But besides that enjoy the delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Excellent staff, excellent food, excellent views, and excellent drinks. Will 100% go back on my next visit to San Diego.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

There were only 3 other tables being served in dining room, yet service took FOREVER. They made us wait 30 min for our reservations too and dining room was practically empty. One table asked to be moved because the air conditioning was dripping on him. We had to send the bread guy to look for our waiter because in a 1 hour time he dropped off steak knives 20 minutes after we finished salads, then didn't see him again for 40 minutes! Then they got the order wrong (We ordered 2 filet, both med well, so how hard to duplicate?) Brought us a filet and something they called a rib eye, but my husband had to spit it out it was so gross and weird texture. I guess the problem was they had a private party going on and no attention for dining room. The manager did take rib eye off bill and gave a discount, but it was a bad experience on my husband's birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 10, 2017

I had an over-done steak filet, with some bad potatoes au grautin on the side, and charred, very black carrots. There were also six white raisins on the side. Sauce on steak was okay, but otherwise the meal was pretty sorry, and mostly cold. My wife had a piece of halibut that was not cooked nearly enough (she couldn't eat most of it), green and black cauliflower that was cold, and tasteless finger potatoes that were barely warm. We were each given a slice of bread by someone and that was it. The basket was not left on the table. Service was very slow. This was a birthday celebration based on positive internet reviews. Not sure where those people ate, but it couldn't have been here. Or maybe they like food like this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Scenic view was great. Service was very attentive and friendly. Food was ok at best. Maybe bad timing for us as most reviews on food are good.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The best brunch in town. The seafood is so fresh and delicious. The best oysters I've had.

Sunday Brunch at Oceana is a sport!!! Bring your A team.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

If you don't drink, then the Sunday buffet is too expensive. One hot item, sushi, salad, fruit and dessert. If you like champagne or mimosas you get your money's worth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The sea bass was rubbery and not very flavorful, didn't have enough vegetables for side. The beet salad had only 3 small pieces of beets and was over dressed. The scallops were enjoyed. The brownie dessert was overcooked. The best part of the meal was watching the moon jellies!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Unfortunately we were not able to dine there because we were rudely turned down as we tried to dock our boat at their dock; Numerous times in the past we have been able to do it without a problem, and spite of the fact it was a holiday, there a few spots available for that purpose. We were deeply disappointed!!!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Sunday Brunch is beyond amazing! If you haven't experienced this before. It is a MUST DO!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Awesome service thank you!!! The food was great except the eggs were over hard and a bit cold but my husband prime rib looked amazing!!!

Tags: Fun, Waterfront, People Watching, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I had am 8:30 pm reservation for my family and I. It took 35 minutes before anyone came by our table. Our server finally came by and said "I'll be right with you"! 15 minutes went by before he finally came back to take our drink and starter order. We were told we would have bread and our drinks momentarily. 20 minutes later and the drinks showed up, but no bread. 10 minutes later I asked about the bread and plates to go along with it. 15 minutes went by a few pieces of bread and some butter thrown on a plate shows up, no plates for us though. By now our drinks are empty, but nothing was said about that. I had to find someone else to try to get us more drinks. Over an hour after ordering the starter it finally shows up. No plates to eat the starter on though. I noticed at the group of tables behind us. Someone was walking around with a basket handing out bread. I asked our server about getting some more bread while we waited. He said "we just ran out of bread". Less than 3 minutes later, my wife and I saw the same person with the same basket, handing out more bread at the tables behind us. It's a little after 9:40 pm now and we are finally just getting our dinner. We ate like a family of savages because here it was almost 10:00 pm before it was all on the table. At this point my second drink has been empty for well over 35 minutes. We finished eating at about 10:25 pm. The restaurant closed at 10:00 pm. The fastest thing that happened was we got our dessert within 5 minutes of ordering that. My guess was because it was 30 minutes past closing time and our server wanted to finish his tables and go home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The service is impeccable and management visible and interactive.. we always order the seabass and are never disappointed.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We went to this restaurant for dinner on a Sunday evening because it was our last night in San Diego and the women in our group wanted to dress up. The views of the bay are gorgeous, even from certain tables inside. Service is good, and food is generally good, too. All of us had seafood, and all but one enjoyed what they ordered - the mahi mahi was overcooked, unfortunately. Also, the cocktails were not great.

Overall, I'm glad we had dinner here, but the value isn't quite there. I don't mind paying $30+ for an entree when it's really good. This food was very tasty, but not quite in the price range where they are competing. But, it's pretty and the ambiance is nice.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 20, 2017

After reading how great this restaurant was, I was a little disappointed. My husband enjoyed his Crab Louis salad but I did not like the way my Mahi-Mahi Mahi-Mahi was prepared and served. It came in a sizzling skillet on top of my brussels sprouts. The fish was so hot I couldn't eat it for several minutes, which means it was continuing to cook in the hot skillet. Fresh fish should never be serve that way, in my opinion. But my biggest disappointment of all was the extra service charge added onto the bill. While the amount was nominal, it is the principle of the thing for me. They even have the nerve to say it is a "required charge" due to the increase in servers wages (new minimum wage law). I resent that. I think this restaurant can afford to absorb that cost rather than add on an extra charge, making it look like it is the server's fault they have to do that. I will not patronize restaurants that use that as an excuse to tack on an extra tax.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Loved this restaurant! Will defindately go back! The view and the food make it a must go!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The view is magnificent and we really enjoyed the Seafood Bar. Champagne was free flowing and the brunch menu had a lot of variety. We will be back!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The brunch bar was fantastic. The entree choices were very tasty and I am glad there was more than one vegetarian option. The included coffee and mimosas made for a very enjoyable Father's Day. We love dining out on the patio and having a view of the bay. Delicious desserts and yummy cheese platter to finish off the meal.
The service was outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Celebrating our anniversary we had a very special night at Océana. The food great and fresh cook the way we wanted. The staff made the experience exceptional with wine a best wishes card and a dessert with chocolate engraving. Grady and the staff were very attentive of needs. We thank the personal at Oceana. We will be back on our next trip to San Diego.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We enjoyed celebrating our first visit and anniversary. The waiter was excellent and was always prompt and courteous. We are definitely making another visit really soon. Lastly, the food was delicious and I found myself trying to sneak a few "samples" from my wifes plate

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Basic food. Hotel restaurant. Nothing special. Not sure why it has such good reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on June 11, 2017

The Sunday seafood buffet can't be beat -- great crab, oysters, shrimp, etc. Fabulous fresh fruit, cheeses, salads, desserts -- and your choice of ordered entree. Come hungry. The wait staff is very attentive, refilling champagne glasses frequently. Waiter Adry is above and beyond special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food service had a mix up and took over 30mins for scallops - which when served were not cooked right, chef gave replacement scallops but they were way over salted. They comp'd desserts - Food is generally good - but the food / service this time was way below standards. This isn't my first time and we'll be back soon because we live very close and you can't beat that view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food is horrible no two ways about it. We have been there several times in the last few years and each time the food gets worse. We go there because it's convenient and Have given them many chances but not ever again no matter how convenient it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Very nice spot for brunch or a romantic get together...

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 6, 2017

We brought a friend from out of town for a special San Diego experience. Eating under the comfort of the built in heat lamps while gazing out over Mission Bay is hard to beat. Grady our server was incredibly knowledgeable! I will ask for him in the future. He knew the menu and wine list and was able to give great pairing recommendations. I highly recommend Oceana Coastal Kitchen to locals and tourist!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Lovely, delicious, wonderful service!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The sea bass was so disappointing. Very dry. Service slow. Too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Highly recommend Sunday brunch at this restaurant. The food is wonderful and the service equally good. It's not a cheap brunch; but when you get great food, terrific service, and a wonderful environment, it's never cheap--just worth it. This is also a very good venue for lunch any day of the week or weekend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The food was great! We eat there every year on vacation. The new school banana pudding was not an improvement on traditional banana pudding though. I was disappointed about that but my halibut was absolutely fantastic

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great service. Nice outside seating for the view with heaters. We all enjoyed each of our meals!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Excellent service, and the food was outstanding! High price, but what you should expect for a seaside resort. Each dish was perfectly prepared and presented. Worth it!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great place with a beautiful view and atmosphere. We went for brunch and at first I thought it was spendy, but the $58 pp included all the seafood, sushi, salad, etc. that we could eat, plus a meal ( my husband had prime rib) and bottomless mimosas!! The service was a little slow, but they got busy while we were there!! All in all I do recommend this place.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 25, 2017

The food was wonderful. Their signature orange biscuit is "to die for". Waiters were nice and friendly (why aren't there women waiting on tables?), beautiful night, heaters work great, can't say enough. Not cheap but worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Great food,scenery and music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Absolutely wonderful! Amazing view, incredible food (we ordered all appetizers and ate like kings...great way to go!) Fabulous service. Just spectacular in every way.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.