About Oceana Coastal Kitchen

3999 Mission Blvd
San Diego, CA 92109
View Larger Map

Waterfront San Diego Dining

Oceana Coastal Kitchen features chef-driven, California cuisine as well as a modern, ocean-inspired design. The brand new restaurant offers a memorable bay-front dining experience at an iconic Pacific Beach hideaway.

Ranging from casual to upscale, the airy waterfront restaurant includes several distinct dining areas such as a quartz-topped cold bar embedded with mother of pearl and sea glass. The focal point in the main dining room is an impressive 800 gallon aquarium, soon the home to fluorescent tropical jellyfish, while a sliding window fully opens to showcase unobstructed views of Mission Bay.

Oceana Coastal Kitchen offers an all-new alfresco experience for guests, complete with sleek booths and tables with sweeping panoramic waterfront views, along with an adjacent lounge featuring flickering flames from tiki torches and lava rock fire pits.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST
Mon – Sat: 6:30 am – 11:30 am
Sun: 6:30 am – 10:00 am

BRUNCH
Sun: 10:00 am – 2:00 pm

LUNCH
Mon – Fri: 11:30 am – 2:00 pm
Sat: 11:30 – 4:00 pm
Sun: 2:00 – 4:00 pm

DINNER
Sun – Thu: 5:30 pm – 10:00 pm
Fri – Sat: 5:30 pm – 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Pacific Beach Drive

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 539-8635

Website:
http://www.oceanacoastal.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy Live Music Wednesday and Thursday nights.

Parking Details:
3 hour complimentary valet or self parking.

Public Transit:
MTS Bus stop right in front of the Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Steven Riemer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Oceana Dinner Series

Oceana Coastal Kitchen is partnering with local craft beer powerhouse Karl Strauss Brewing Company for an intimate and educational four-course pairing dinner. To complement each of Karl Strauss’ featured pours, Executive Chef Steven Riemer and Chef de Cuisine Nathan Pell are preparing a custom menu with fresh, ingredient-driven dishes. Perfect for beer enthusiasts and novices alike, Brew Master Paul Segura will also be on-site to explain tasting notes and brewing processes.

August 25, 2016 | 6 pm - 9 pm | $50/person
Price inclusive of selected beer pairings. Exclusive of tax and gratuity.

Tickets available by calling 858.539.8635

Restaurant Photos

Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen

Promotions

9-9-9 Happy Hour Specials

Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 7:00 PM

Mai Tais Happy Hour Special

Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

1/2 Priced Bottles of Wine

Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

9-9-9 Happy Hour Specials

Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Enjoy $9 Flatbreads, $9 Sushi & $9 Craft Cocktails. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 8, 2016 - Dec 8, 2016 on Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 7:00 PM.

Mai Tais Happy Hour Special

Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Enjoy Live Music and $5 Mai Tais. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 8, 2016 - Dec 8, 2016 on Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM.

1/2 Priced Bottles of Wine

Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Enjoy Live Music and 1/2 Priced Bottles of Wine.* Select from our extensive wine list. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 4, 2016 - Dec 4, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

Beautiful private dining room with views of Mission Bay. Perfect for rehearsal dinners, birthdays or lunch meetings. Oceana Coastal Kitchen features chef-driven, California cuisine as well as a modern, ocean-inspired design. The brand new restaurant offers a memorable bayfront dining experience.

Oceana Coastal Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Pacific Beach ›

Scenic View (66)
Great for Outdoor Dining (59)
Special Occasion (44)
See All
Romantic (32)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Great for Lunch (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Kid-friendly (15)
Notable Wine List (8)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
157 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was good, service was not. We h ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was good, service was not. We had a terrible experience with the service. It took them 30 minutes after we were seated to finally get our drinks, they didn't bring our bread basket until I asked for it again once our food came. I would think this place is better than what we experienced as the food was good once we did get it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Fabulous! Beautiful setting, delicious ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Fabulous! Beautiful setting, delicious food, wait staff was very attentive, we'll be back!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely dinner overlooking the water. Mu ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Lovely dinner overlooking the water. Munched on bunches of sushi and appetizers - perfect.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Madelyn Nelson was great! She recommende ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Madelyn Nelson was great! She recommended this place and was helpful with booking a reservation. LOVE the I've music, it really gave the night a special romantic feel for my boyfriend and I. I would love to come again soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outdoor seating and the view are lovely ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Outdoor seating and the view are lovely at this restaurant. We were a little disappointed in the food this year. The fish was a little overcooked.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

The shrimp and crab had both been frozen ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The shrimp and crab had both been frozen previously; were mushy and tasteless. Not what I would expect for the price.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was great but the service was very ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was great but the service was very slow. Great looking venue, shame the service was not up to the quality of the (eventual) food and drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Lovely restaurant on Mission Bay. Excell ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Lovely restaurant on Mission Bay. Excellent service. Good food. Seafood specialties. I will be back there for dinner and/or brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food portions were small for the price a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food portions were small for the price and lacked flavor and color. The service and view would bring me back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

The service was terrible both for drinks ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The service was terrible both for drinks and dinner. Waited 30 min for drink orders and 45 to 60 for dinner. Portions small crab was very salty basically 1. Leg for 24$. Wasn't busy but wouldn't seat us outside. I'm wondering about the past reviews, was no where near a 4 for multiple reasons

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

It was obvious that none of the staff en ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

It was obvious that none of the staff enjoy their jobs. The service was really terrible and management is to blame. The MOD was storming around like a madman. The food was mediocre at best. I ordered the king crab and was terribly disappointed in the quality and quantity. It cost $24 for less then a quarter pound of very fishy tasting crab on ice. My guest got a chicken dish that was simply okay. This place has amazing views right on the beach but is so not worth the money.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Service was very good. Attentive and w ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service was very good. Attentive and wanting to make sure that everything was as we wished. We had an outdoor patio seat which overlooked the water. Very nice!

The only real disappointment was the food. It was just ok and for the price, we expected a little more. The king salmon was borderline over cooked and little under seasoned. The smashed fingerling side dish was very dry. The scallops were also under seasoned. A little lemon and salt would have gone a long way. The sushi rolls we had as appetizer were good.

We appreciate the attentiveness and caring and would give this restaurant another chance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Wait staff exceptional..great chef....ou ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Wait staff exceptional..great chef....outdoor patio quite lovely Great food...good wine list and drinks from the bar...everyone was very attentive. Background music by live singer and guitar player mellow and very solid

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant we have been to in San D ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Best restaurant we have been to in San Diego. Everything was just perfect. The hot brownie with vanilla ice cream was a great ending.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They accommodated our group of 10 on sho ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

They accommodated our group of 10 on short notice and gave us a room that was semi-private overall. But for us, no other group was there, making it totally private for our group. We were

able to converse without shouting. The food was great, the waiters were very efficient and the

overall experience was definitely a 10

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed it very much. Food great. Serv ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Enjoyed it very much. Food great. Servers excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here while spending a night in S ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We came here while spending a night in San Diego to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. EXCEPTIONAL service and delicious sea food, with a great wine list!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We started with the sushi as an appetize ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We started with the sushi as an appetizer and it was great! We dined on the outdoor patio and it was a perfect San Diego evening on Mission Bay.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great location with excellent food.

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great location with excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have enjoyed dinner and lunch here and i ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Have enjoyed dinner and lunch here and it has been delicious each time. Lovely setting on the water, but the dining room is lovely ,too.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Though the food, waiter and ambiance was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Though the food, waiter and ambiance was excellent, we will never return to this restaurant. We took family who was visiting from out of state and after 90 minutes as we were finishing our dessert the matre d came and told us the table was reserved for someone else and we needed to leave!!!! There were several other open tables around us that could have accommodated another party. Bad Business!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service , great food. We totally e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great service , great food. We totally enjoyed our brunch. Our waitress is awesome !

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We live in the neighborhood and eat here ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We live in the neighborhood and eat here often (especially when all the tourists go home in September!). The staff is always happy to see locals stop in. Excellent quality of ingredients and probably some of my favorite fish ceviche.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I were on our last night ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My husband and I were on our last night of our honeymoon and visited this restaurant. They treated us great and even gave us a complimentary dessert. The food was delicious and the service was great!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner! Bonus was a fireworks sho ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great dinner! Bonus was a fireworks show from Seaworld that started just as our dessert was served!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We were on vacstion in Mission Bay, Cali ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We were on vacstion in Mission Bay, California. There were four adults and 2 children. The food was incredible and the staff friendly, knowledgable and responsive . We sat outside on the patio. My shrimp parparadel was cooked and seasoned perfectly. All in all a wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was fabulous. He was the best ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our waiter was fabulous. He was the best part of our night. The view is spectacular, absolutely lovely and romantic. I planned dinner during the Sea World fireworks, and we would have THE most incredible view, but the Bahia Belle ship was at the dock and blocked the whole thing. I think it would be better all around if the ship was out in the bay watching fireworks, and diners could.as well.

It was a Friday, so it was luau night. Just know that kids will be running around playing, and this may or may not damage your experience. The luau gets out and everyone is dumped basically on the terrace at the same time. Loud and rowdy for a bit there.

The food was good I would not call it great or spectacular. Our steaks were not cooked as requested, I believe they switched the order between my husband and I. To be fare, we did not complain. My husband hates complaining of it is not a big deal nor he can da with it.

One note, the fillet with blue cheese butter was really, really good. I'm a bit of a purist and generally don't eat sauces on my steak. So good though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Celebrating our anniversary; the view of ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Celebrating our anniversary; the view of the bay was great. We had a very relaxing dinner. Food was very good and the service was great.

Definitely worth a return trip. Live music just added to the experience. Very nice.

Parking was free with validation. No problems or complaints.

Thanks!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Oceana has always been consistently good ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Oceana has always been consistently good for us. Never been disappointed. Plus all wine is 50% off each Thursday.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The view was beautiful. It was quite an ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The view was beautiful. It was quite and a romantic spot. The servers and greeters were very friendly. The portions were small, that was the only downside and that they don't leave bread on the table.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

When they say brunch goes to 2:00, and I ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

When they say brunch goes to 2:00, and I confirm with them on the phone that they will still be serving brunch at 2:00, when we get there and are very curtly told that brunch is over, it's very disappointing!! Especially on Fathers Day. Especially when we could plainly see people helping themselves to the food on the buffet. Emailed both General Manager and Food Mgr but no response from either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Just celebrated my 8 year anniversary, m ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Just celebrated my 8 year anniversary, my reservation was at 8pm. The staff was great, the food was outstanding, the seating area was perfect we had

the jelly fish tank on one side, beach side view on the other... a great view for the fire works display from SeaWorld I would highly recommend this place to anyone celebrating their anniversary.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time visitor. Perfect outdoor din ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

First time visitor. Perfect outdoor dining location. The menu and food was exceptional!! Highly recommend for dinner. The live music was also exceptional on Wednesday.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was gifted a dinner for 2 at this rest ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I was gifted a dinner for 2 at this restaurant and thought possibly when presenting the gift card my service would not be as good. I was wrong the service was perfect and the food was amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our anniversary and the dinner an ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

It was our anniversary and the dinner and ambiance was superb

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time we have been the ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This is the second time we have been there for Sunday brunch. They offer one of the best Sunday brunch in San Diego. We have been to the Hotel Del and they have a great brunch as well however, this place offer the better view. Very offering is top quality from the raw oysters to the cook to order entre. Thank you Rich for keeping our glass full with mimosa.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good but over priced. The view ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Food was good but over priced. The view in the patio was terrific and strolling around the grounds after eating took the sting out of a $170 lunch (2 rounds of drinks) for 4.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Overall, we enjoyed every dish here. How ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Overall, we enjoyed every dish here. However, if I had to be picking or gave advice for improvement, I hoped the White Sea bass could be a bit tender. The waterfront view is relaxed and fantastic. If you come to dine later during summer, you can probably watch the fire works from Sea World. There was a party / function set up at the adjacent lawn which was a bit noisy and blocked the open view. On the other side of the lawn, there was a Hawaiian dance set up. However, the Hawaiian dance is a bit far away from the restaurant, so the happy Hawaiian music blended in as nice background music.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and better service

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 36 wedding anniversary and couldn't have been happier. The duck risotto and sea bass were perfectly cooked. Brad provided exceptional service. We couldn't ask for a better experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.