Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Oceana Coastal Kitchen

Waterfront San Diego Dining

Oceana Coastal Kitchen features chef-driven, California cuisine as well as a modern, ocean-inspired design. The brand new restaurant offers a memorable bay-front dining experience at an iconic Pacific Beach hideaway.

Ranging from casual to upscale, the airy waterfront restaurant includes several distinct dining areas such as a quartz-topped cold bar embedded with mother of pearl and sea glass. The focal point in the main dining room is an impressive 800 gallon aquarium, soon the home to fluorescent tropical jellyfish, while a sliding window fully opens to showcase unobstructed views of Mission Bay.

Oceana Coastal Kitchen offers an all-new alfresco experience for guests, complete with sleek booths and tables with sweeping panoramic waterfront views, along with an adjacent lounge featuring flickering flames from tiki torches and lava rock fire pits.

3999 Mission Blvd
San Diego, CA 92109
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST
Mon – Sat: 6:30 am – 11:30 am
Sun: 6:30 am – 10:00 am

BRUNCH
Sun: 10:00 am – 2:00 pm

LUNCH
Mon – Fri: 11:30 am – 2:00 pm
Sat: 11:30 – 4:00 pm
Sun: 2:00 – 4:00 pm

DINNER
Sun – Thu: 5:30 pm – 10:00 pm
Fri – Sat: 5:30 pm – 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Pacific Beach Drive

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 539-8635

Website:
http://www.oceanacoastal.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy Live Music Wednesday and Thursday nights.

Catering:
Remember Oceana for you next party or office gathering. Give us a call and we will be happy to help you plan your next catered event at (858) 539-8635

Parking Details:
3 hour complimentary valet or self parking.

Public Transit:
MTS Bus stop right in front of the Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Steven Riemer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Savor Oceana's bay views, fresh fare and cozy dining room - ideal for your private special event. For more information call us today: (858) 539-8635

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

Beautiful private dining room with views of Mission Bay. Perfect for rehearsal dinners, birthdays or lunch meetings. Oceana Coastal Kitchen features chef-driven, California cuisine as well as a modern, ocean-inspired design that offers a memorable bay front dining experience.

Oceana Coastal Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (42)
Waterfront (40)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
See All
Special Occasion (28)
Good for a Date (27)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Romantic (22)
People Watching (18)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Casual (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Cozy (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Business Meals (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Healthy (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Seasonal (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Authentic (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Live Music (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Sports (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
328 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We tried out the champagne brunch and restaurant week menus. Both were fantastic for cocktails and food. Be ready to eat as portions are quite generous!

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

I love it but the food was not . I ordered white sea bass with beet and kale. The fish was over cooked and a lot of farrow. Servers was excellent .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Great menu, quiet after a luau party for a special event ended, relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Seafood was inventive and very well done. The outside dining area was very nice with great views of mission bay.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We both ordered fish, and it was cooked PERFECTLY. The patio seating had a lovely view.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Una porqueria

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Our food was amazing! Waitress was very helpful with my special requests with my diet and made my girlfriends birthday dinner very enjoyable! Very pleased and will definitely return in the future!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We weren’t expecting a 5 star at a restaurant in a resort, but even so it was lackluster. Our server was very nice and had a great attitude, but she was slow to check on us after the food was delivered and brought an entree with cold sides, a definite mistake as a server. The rib eye was tasty, but the mashed potatoes were mediocre at best. My broccoli was crispy even after I asked it to be cooked more and softened up. I really wish Mission Bay had better restaurant choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Food was delicious, service was perfect and the view is always beautiful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Fantastic views and high quality restaurant. Professional service

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Sushi is amazing as well as the offer of the dishes. Good cocktails and wines. Love it!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Did mention that it was my friend's birthday and I thought a piece of pie or any pastry with some ice cream would have been a nice gesture. I would love to have my 10th wedding anniversary celebration at your restaurant but I'm a bit hesitant. Price range might be way too much. Overall, I enjoyed my stay. It's my third time at the Catamaran but my first visit into the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I came down from LA to meet with friends from the east cost and wanted something great--on the water. It met all of my expectations.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Don't quite understand the rave about this place. Crab cakes were gross. Steaks were not cooked to proper temperature. Desert was all that we enjoyed. Lightning outside was messing up as well and kept flickering the whole time. Guess that helped the horror house type feeling. Wish it would have been all the "rave". Not for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2017

There was a luau happening at the hotel the night we had dinner reservations. Valet told us they were completely full even though we could see multiple available spots. Valet instructed us to drive through a parking garage that was completely packed, only to have to drive right back out. We had to drive around looking for parking along the beach streets, which was not easy. Once we were finally at the restaurant it took 15 mins before a server even came over to take our order. We had the seafood tower and the shrimp was bad. The rest of the seafood was only okay. We expected a lot better for the price. I will not be returning and would not recommend to others. Overall very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I had a great beet salad, we shared a mushroom flat bread, and the sea bass was cooked perfect. So yummy. Our waiter, Grady was also very knowledgable about the wines and the food. And we probably stayed a little too long after dessert, sipping our wine, but we never felt like they were trying to rush us out to turn the table over. Very enjoyable night.

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Live Music, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Had an early dinner on a Tuesday evening. Nice table at the outer edge of the patio, ok service, good food. Everything was pleasant at first. Then a large, loud family arrived and stood talking about 20 feet from our tablet while the kids raced around. And just as we were leaving a booming amplified voice started announcing a big luau nearby. It's a family resort, so these things will happen. But we won't go back unless we bring our big loud family or we decide to go to their luau.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

The ambience, service, and exceptional cuisine at Oceana Coastal Kitchen make this a must experience dining experience for locals and tourists alike. We highly recommend this restaurant to everyone!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Wonderful Sunday Brunch, fantastic quality food and service and view!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great food, amazing views! We saw a Bride & Groom in his Military White, kissing on the Beach after their wedding.. absolutely Gorgeous!

Tags: Late-night Find, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 29, 2017

What a great place to celebrate my daughter's Birthday! There was a wedding going on at the beach too.Beautiful ambiance!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Went to dinner the other night for our two year anniversary. The food was great, the view was great, just an all around great time. The staff was very friendly and help us pick out amazing meals. Props to the chefs!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

The appetizers were good but we had to ask for plates. The scallops were undercooked and the sea bass was drowning in some kinda oil!
Would not recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great dining experience. Very nice staff and good food. A little slow on the service but great views.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great! Loved everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Celebrated our parents 50th wedding anniversary and the staff went out of their way to make everyone feel special and attended to. The food, view and atmosphere was simply perfection!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Had a nice table with view in main dining room. Service was excellent and efficient; the food was enjoyed by both of us. Only negative was bratty kid who was disruptive for a short period--not fault of the restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Espectacular! Patrick el sommelier y encargado atento a cada detalle. Volveremos sin duda.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Very beautiful location right on the beach. Food was delicious however I found an insect in my drink and my husband found a piece of plastic in his dessert. Take caution when eating the food. But besides that enjoy the delicious food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Excellent staff, excellent food, excellent views, and excellent drinks. Will 100% go back on my next visit to San Diego.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

There were only 3 other tables being served in dining room, yet service took FOREVER. They made us wait 30 min for our reservations too and dining room was practically empty. One table asked to be moved because the air conditioning was dripping on him. We had to send the bread guy to look for our waiter because in a 1 hour time he dropped off steak knives 20 minutes after we finished salads, then didn't see him again for 40 minutes! Then they got the order wrong (We ordered 2 filet, both med well, so how hard to duplicate?) Brought us a filet and something they called a rib eye, but my husband had to spit it out it was so gross and weird texture. I guess the problem was they had a private party going on and no attention for dining room. The manager did take rib eye off bill and gave a discount, but it was a bad experience on my husband's birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 10, 2017

I had an over-done steak filet, with some bad potatoes au grautin on the side, and charred, very black carrots. There were also six white raisins on the side. Sauce on steak was okay, but otherwise the meal was pretty sorry, and mostly cold. My wife had a piece of halibut that was not cooked nearly enough (she couldn't eat most of it), green and black cauliflower that was cold, and tasteless finger potatoes that were barely warm. We were each given a slice of bread by someone and that was it. The basket was not left on the table. Service was very slow. This was a birthday celebration based on positive internet reviews. Not sure where those people ate, but it couldn't have been here. Or maybe they like food like this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Scenic view was great. Service was very attentive and friendly. Food was ok at best. Maybe bad timing for us as most reviews on food are good.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The best brunch in town. The seafood is so fresh and delicious. The best oysters I've had.

Sunday Brunch at Oceana is a sport!!! Bring your A team.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

If you don't drink, then the Sunday buffet is too expensive. One hot item, sushi, salad, fruit and dessert. If you like champagne or mimosas you get your money's worth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The sea bass was rubbery and not very flavorful, didn't have enough vegetables for side. The beet salad had only 3 small pieces of beets and was over dressed. The scallops were enjoyed. The brownie dessert was overcooked. The best part of the meal was watching the moon jellies!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Unfortunately we were not able to dine there because we were rudely turned down as we tried to dock our boat at their dock; Numerous times in the past we have been able to do it without a problem, and spite of the fact it was a holiday, there a few spots available for that purpose. We were deeply disappointed!!!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Sunday Brunch is beyond amazing! If you haven't experienced this before. It is a MUST DO!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Awesome service thank you!!! The food was great except the eggs were over hard and a bit cold but my husband prime rib looked amazing!!!

Tags: Fun, Waterfront, People Watching, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.