Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 17 times today
Special offers available. See details

Oceana Coastal Kitchen

4.6
428 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Californian
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Waterfront
  • Special Occasion
Waterfront San Diego Dining

Oceana Coastal Kitchen features chef-driven, California cuisine as well as a modern, ocean-inspired design. The brand new restaurant offers a memorable bay-front dining experience at an iconic Pacific Beach hideaway.

Ranging from casual to upscale, the airy waterfront restaurant includes several distinct dining areas such as a quartz-topped cold bar embedded with mother of pearl and sea glass. The focal point in the main dining room is an impressive 800 gallon aquarium, soon the home to fluorescent tropical jellyfish, while a sliding window fully opens to showcase unobstructed views of Mission Bay.

Oceana Coastal Kitchen offers an all-new alfresco experience for guests, complete with sleek booths and tables with sweeping panoramic waterfront views, along with an adjacent lounge featuring flickering flames from tiki torches and lava rock fire pits.

icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Californian, Contemporary American, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
BREAKFAST
Mon – Sat: 6:30 am – 11:30 am
Sun: 6:30 am – 10:00 am

BRUNCH
Sun: 10:00 am – 2:00 pm

LUNCH
Mon – Fri: 11:30 am – 2:00 pm
Sat – Sun: 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm

DINNER
Sun – Thu: 5:30 pm – 10:00 pm
Fri – Sat: 5:30 pm – 11:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(858) 539-8635
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Resort Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Steven Riemer
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Remember Oceana for you next party or office gathering. Give us a call and we will be happy to help you plan your next catered event at (858) 539-8635
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Pacific Beach Drive
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
3 hour complimentary valet or self parking.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
MTS Bus stop right in front of the Hotel.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Enjoy Live Music Wednesday and Thursday nights.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Savor Oceana's bay views, fresh fare and cozy dining room - ideal for your private special event. For more information call us today: (858) 539-8635
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Beautiful private dining room with views of Mission Bay. Perfect for rehearsal dinners, birthdays or lunch meetings. Oceana Coastal Kitchen features chef-driven, California cuisine as well as a modern, ocean-inspired design that offers a memorable bay front dining experience.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Mon - Tue 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM

What 428 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Although the buffet counter of the Sunday brunch doesn’t offer a huge variety of choices as you would expect from a hotel restaurant, the quality of food (particularly the oysters and crab) is excellent. Those who look for quality food and service will not disappoint. For example, while king crab legs and claws are offered in many buffet restaurants, this restaurant will cut the crab legs laterally in halves for convenient consumption. The brunch is not inexpensive ($62/person), but it’s worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

We all enjoyed our meals. Excellent taste.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Service is outstanding. Very good food. The two duck risotto was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Wonderful meal & wonderful service! Love that you can customize your selection without any problem. The dinner muffins are exceptional! Validated parking is nice, especially during the summer months when parking is very difficult in the beach area. Overall a delightful dining experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We went here on Mother’s Day; my mom ordered a cheeseburger and she said it was amazing. I ordered the veggie burger and a salad as my side. I loved my salad but I really wasn’t quiet sure about the veggie burger? I couldn’t tell what it was made out of but it had the constancy of thick oatmeal and had no flavor. We also got Creme Brûlée and it was fantastic!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Scheduled a reservation for 8pm showed up early and was told I would be seated before my reservation only to be seated after 8pm but no big deal.. I requested outdoor seating as per rain I had mentioned it was okay if we sat inside if it was raining was sat inside furing no rain.. It was my girl friend and my anniversary the server had little interaction meanwhile the table next to us was also on a anniversary trip. When we over herd their server tell them they were getting desert for their anniversary ... So that was a little upsetting...the food was good a little smaller portions then expected but no big deal...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Beautiful place to enjoy a fabulous lunch looking at the water.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Second time here for the Sunday brunch and it was again an awesome experience. Brought a group of friends for the brunch and we just enjoyed a lovely Sunday on the patio with a gorgeous view, great food (shout out to the Seafood guy. He's always smiling and accomodating) , good champagne and lovely service from Alex. Made for nice, long leisurely visit. They didn't rush us or make us feel unwelcome as we slowly ate, chatted, sipped and repeated.

Lovely way to spend time with friends and family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

My 50th birthday

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Beautiful day to enjoy laughs with friends on the patio. Champagne kept flowing and the food was wonderful!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 29, 2018

The food was uninspired and lackluster. Very basic dishes that did not warrant the price tag, plating of the dishes was boring. The wait staff were very helpful in describing the menu items and with most request. The ambience would have been exceptional except the table we were given had a ceiling fan that stopped directly in front of the light meant for our table. So while my girlfriend dined in decent lighting, I dined in the dark. There are better restaurants for dates in San Diego, this one might be nice in the day time but the evening experience was less than satisfactory.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Great location, food, and service! Several old graduate school buddies and I meet for dinner once a month, and for my turn to select and host, I chose this place last night. We met early for a drink and an appetizer at the bar, took our drinks and sipped along the sand and water for a bit. The bar staff was attentive and quick. The host and hostess allowed me to select the table they would set up for us. The jellyfish tank is mesmerizing, and the view outside is picturesque. Our main waiter, Bradly, and his teammates did everything right. We devoured every course of the meal. I took home a chunk of my filet mignon home and made steak and eggs for boy the next morning - he loved it. Valet parking ended up being complimentary, which was a nice surprise. While we are trying a new place for our particular group every month, I am certain we will come back to Oceana with our family and other friends!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 19, 2018

The food and service was really good. All our starters and main courses were perfectly cooked.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

I had the scallops. My husband had steak. Both were delicious. The staff was warm and friendly. They were attentive but not overly so. And since it was my birthday, they treated me to dessert. A great night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

My experience here was completely outstanding. It was a special occasion for me, I had proposed to my girlfriend and became engaged. The manager Matt, and the waiter miles were outstanding. The Hostess were exceptionally kind and made me feel that I chose the right place to propose to her.

They went above and beyond to make my experience rememberable and has permanently received me as one of their guests at least once a year.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The view and ambiance for the restaurant was amazing. Our food was ok. The best was the table side guacamigos that made fresh guacamole at our table. Food came out luke warm and was disappointed for a$52 plate.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Great Birthday dinner. Our server Jameson was fabulous!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Lovely experience! It was my birthday and they were very sweet about it. They sat my mom and I in a great location with beautiful views of the bay. My mom got the sea bass and I got the filet mignon. Both phenomenal. All around great experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Absolutely one of the best restaurants I've been to in San Diego. Great local wine list and the menu items were superb. Our waiter was amazing and extremely attentive. To include the manager checking on us at least 3 times. My wife and I were there for our 10 year anniversary and they made it special. Will be going back in the future.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Great food and service! Our server went above and beyond! Awesome experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Outdoor patio is amazing at night

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Food was good. View was beautiful. It’s attached to a hotel and guests walk through the patio to get to the spa.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Kids running around everywhere from neglectful parents who think their brats are cool to be messing with people while they are eating.
The menu has a 3% surcharge on it because they dont want to pay their employees which is illegal.

Never will i go here again.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Poor seating, yet plenty of better seating available had a res for 2. The service was slow, they did comp the desert to make up for it. Food was mediocre at best. Both pur meals were quite tasteless had the
2 duck risotto and my wife had the scallops. Not terrible just disappointing, expecting two very tasty meals bit let down. The cheesecake was good and the coffee was really burnt.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Food was delicious. Service was slow.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Excellent service. Great view. Very good food. Good for all occasions.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Food was average for the higher price point and it took a long time to come out. We were hoping for better seafood. However the setting by the water was beautiful.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 25, 2018

I want satisfied with the service and food and don't recommend this place to other, bad service and don't care for us on our special event and I wanted my FULL REFUND BACK , such a bad service ....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

recommended by our Ab&b home owner and what a great first find. Thank you for a wonderful dining experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

enjoyed a beautiful San Diego afternoon with a delicious experience and wonderful service plus an unbeatable ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Had a wonderful modern dinner date, complete with special fish and sushi dishes, excellent cocktails, and finished off with creamy cremation brûlée and berries! Perfect evening and super service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We always visit for our anniversary. We held our reception at the Catamaran in 1974, and our daughter's wedding reception in 2006. Wonderful memories.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Great place had a table in the water as we requested! Large portions for a fancier restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Fabulous fresh food for Sunday brunch! Killer sushi, great choice of salads, vegetables and sea foods! Wonderful waitress and Charles the manager really nice guy! We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Last night in La Jolla and wanted seafood. The setting was gorgeous, the service exquisite. Our server was helpful regarding portion size and appropriate pace for small plates and shares. He offered to split the plates which made it easier for us. After refreshing nice cocktails, the gruner veltliner paired beautifully with the seabass ceviche, spring harvest salad, Cabo crab Louie, and Oceana house roll created a fabulous meal. We were seated next to the amazing jellyfish tower and enjoyed the view as well as the food and service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

The food was very well prepared and reasonably priced.
The service was good. The ambulance is OK

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Food was very good. We sat outside & it was lovely. They have heaters & blankets for cool evenings. Service was friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

The filet mignons were perfect! The side dishes that accompanied the steaks were delicious. Mesmerizing lighted tank of colorful fascinating jellyfish. Live music (on Thursday nights) was a wonderful added attraction.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Really romantic and good view. The food was great and the cocktails was awesome.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11

Tweets by Oceana Coastal Kitchen