About Oceana Coastal Kitchen

3999 Mission Blvd
San Diego, CA 92109
View Larger Map

Waterfront San Diego Dining

Oceana Coastal Kitchen features chef-driven, California cuisine as well as a modern, ocean-inspired design. The brand new restaurant offers a memorable bay-front dining experience at an iconic Pacific Beach hideaway.

Ranging from casual to upscale, the airy waterfront restaurant includes several distinct dining areas such as a quartz-topped cold bar embedded with mother of pearl and sea glass. The focal point in the main dining room is an impressive 800 gallon aquarium, soon the home to fluorescent tropical jellyfish, while a sliding window fully opens to showcase unobstructed views of Mission Bay.

Oceana Coastal Kitchen offers an all-new alfresco experience for guests, complete with sleek booths and tables with sweeping panoramic waterfront views, along with an adjacent lounge featuring flickering flames from tiki torches and lava rock fire pits.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday 7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday - Saturday 7:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Cross Street:
Pacific Beach Drive

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 539-8635

Website:
http://www.oceanacoastal.com/

Parking Details:
3 hour complementary valet or self parking

Public Transit:
MTS Bus stop right in front of the Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Steven Riemer

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Oceana Coastal Kitchen
  • Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

Beautiful private dining room with views of Mission Bay. Perfect for rehearsal dinners, birthdays or lunch meetings. Oceana Coastal Kitchen features chef-driven, California cuisine as well as a modern, ocean-inspired design. The brand new restaurant offers a memorable bayfront dining experience.

Oceana Coastal Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Pacific Beach ›

scenic view (68)
great for outdoor dining (57)
special occasion (45)
See All
romantic (37)
fit for foodies (30)
good for groups (20)
great for brunch (18)
great for lunch (17)
kid-friendly (16)
notable wine list (13)
neighborhood gem (12)
late-night find (4)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
141 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyed it very much. Food great. Serv ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 7 days ago

Enjoyed it very much. Food great. Servers excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here while spending a night in S ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We came here while spending a night in San Diego to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. EXCEPTIONAL service and delicious sea food, with a great wine list!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location with excellent food.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great location with excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have enjoyed dinner and lunch here and i ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Have enjoyed dinner and lunch here and it has been delicious each time. Lovely setting on the water, but the dining room is lovely ,too.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Though the food, waiter and ambiance was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Though the food, waiter and ambiance was excellent, we will never return to this restaurant. We took family who was visiting from out of state and after 90 minutes as we were finishing our dessert the matre d came and told us the table was reserved for someone else and we needed to leave!!!! There were several other open tables around us that could have accommodated another party. Bad Business!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service , great food. We totally e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great service , great food. We totally enjoyed our brunch. Our waitress is awesome !

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We live in the neighborhood and eat here ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We live in the neighborhood and eat here often (especially when all the tourists go home in September!). The staff is always happy to see locals stop in. Excellent quality of ingredients and probably some of my favorite fish ceviche.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I were on our last night ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My husband and I were on our last night of our honeymoon and visited this restaurant. They treated us great and even gave us a complimentary dessert. The food was delicious and the service was great!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner! Bonus was a fireworks sho ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great dinner! Bonus was a fireworks show from Seaworld that started just as our dessert was served!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We were on vacstion in Mission Bay, Cali ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We were on vacstion in Mission Bay, California. There were four adults and 2 children. The food was incredible and the staff friendly, knowledgable and responsive . We sat outside on the patio. My shrimp parparadel was cooked and seasoned perfectly. All in all a wonderful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was fabulous. He was the best ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our waiter was fabulous. He was the best part of our night. The view is spectacular, absolutely lovely and romantic. I planned dinner during the Sea World fireworks, and we would have THE most incredible view, but the Bahia Belle ship was at the dock and blocked the whole thing. I think it would be better all around if the ship was out in the bay watching fireworks, and diners could.as well.

It was a Friday, so it was luau night. Just know that kids will be running around playing, and this may or may not damage your experience. The luau gets out and everyone is dumped basically on the terrace at the same time. Loud and rowdy for a bit there.

The food was good I would not call it great or spectacular. Our steaks were not cooked as requested, I believe they switched the order between my husband and I. To be fare, we did not complain. My husband hates complaining of it is not a big deal nor he can da with it.

One note, the fillet with blue cheese butter was really, really good. I'm a bit of a purist and generally don't eat sauces on my steak. So good though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Celebrating our anniversary; the view of ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Celebrating our anniversary; the view of the bay was great. We had a very relaxing dinner. Food was very good and the service was great.

Definitely worth a return trip. Live music just added to the experience. Very nice.

Parking was free with validation. No problems or complaints.

Thanks!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Oceana has always been consistently good ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Oceana has always been consistently good for us. Never been disappointed. Plus all wine is 50% off each Thursday.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The view was beautiful. It was quite an ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The view was beautiful. It was quite and a romantic spot. The servers and greeters were very friendly. The portions were small, that was the only downside and that they don't leave bread on the table.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

When they say brunch goes to 2:00, and I ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

When they say brunch goes to 2:00, and I confirm with them on the phone that they will still be serving brunch at 2:00, when we get there and are very curtly told that brunch is over, it's very disappointing!! Especially on Fathers Day. Especially when we could plainly see people helping themselves to the food on the buffet. Emailed both General Manager and Food Mgr but no response from either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Just celebrated my 8 year anniversary, m ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Just celebrated my 8 year anniversary, my reservation was at 8pm. The staff was great, the food was outstanding, the seating area was perfect we had

the jelly fish tank on one side, beach side view on the other... a great view for the fire works display from SeaWorld I would highly recommend this place to anyone celebrating their anniversary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time visitor. Perfect outdoor din ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

First time visitor. Perfect outdoor dining location. The menu and food was exceptional!! Highly recommend for dinner. The live music was also exceptional on Wednesday.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was gifted a dinner for 2 at this rest ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I was gifted a dinner for 2 at this restaurant and thought possibly when presenting the gift card my service would not be as good. I was wrong the service was perfect and the food was amazing.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our anniversary and the dinner an ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

It was our anniversary and the dinner and ambiance was superb

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time we have been the ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This is the second time we have been there for Sunday brunch. They offer one of the best Sunday brunch in San Diego. We have been to the Hotel Del and they have a great brunch as well however, this place offer the better view. Very offering is top quality from the raw oysters to the cook to order entre. Thank you Rich for keeping our glass full with mimosa.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good but over priced. The view ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Food was good but over priced. The view in the patio was terrific and strolling around the grounds after eating took the sting out of a $170 lunch (2 rounds of drinks) for 4.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Overall, we enjoyed every dish here. How ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Overall, we enjoyed every dish here. However, if I had to be picking or gave advice for improvement, I hoped the White Sea bass could be a bit tender. The waterfront view is relaxed and fantastic. If you come to dine later during summer, you can probably watch the fire works from Sea World. There was a party / function set up at the adjacent lawn which was a bit noisy and blocked the open view. On the other side of the lawn, there was a Hawaiian dance set up. However, the Hawaiian dance is a bit far away from the restaurant, so the happy Hawaiian music blended in as nice background music.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and better service

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 36 wedding anniversary and couldn't have been happier. The duck risotto and sea bass were perfectly cooked. Brad provided exceptional service. We couldn't ask for a better experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view, food disappointing

 
 (Kent)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Service and waiting staff were outstanding however the fish and mango starter marinated in lime was slimy and had an overpowering taste of lime and we were unable to eat it. The scallops were good and the smoked pork dish was ok, but overall the food was bottom of the list of 11 meals out in California whilst on holiday. This was a shame as the setting is beautiful and the service excellent

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Exceeded high expectations!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

fabulous! Great food! Great ambiance! Great service! Exceeded expectations yet again! Thank you for making our celebration special!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must go

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Our server was well informed and our food was delicious. It was lovely to dine looking at the bay. The complimentary warm birthday brownie took the dinner over the top. !

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view, amazing.

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The view, amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely the ambiance stood out and ma ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Definitely the ambiance stood out and made for a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

go for view not the food

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We both had the hamburger which waitress said was great. Mine was overcooked and it was not great. We enjoyed our beers and the view of the bay. Also went because we had $50 card to try the restaurant and then when I removed card from mailer to use it to pay our bill, I saw on back that you had to spend $100 to use the $50--I felt scammed. This information should have been printed on mailer and not on backside of card. Shame on you. Not a way to attract customers. Chef is supposed to be talented. Maybe not on duty at lunchtime?

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

We were looking for a nice Sunday brunch ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We were looking for a nice Sunday brunch buffet and were disappointed that it was really just a breakfast menu. Food selection was somewhat limited but food was good. The day was overcast so we ate inside and didn't get to enjoy the outdoor patio and bay ambiance...our choice.

This is a better choice for casual lunch or dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Our bar experience while waiting for our ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Our bar experience while waiting for our reservation was outstanding. The bar staff was fun and outgoing. They also made us custom shots which was super fun! Our table service was so so. The waitress kept putting us off and forgot my water until I had to ask another staff member. She wasn't very social or happy. Next time I would honestly eat in the bar instead! Overall the food was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Fabulous food, drinks, and atmosphere on ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Fabulous food, drinks, and atmosphere on the outdoor patio! We had a group of 7 to celebrate my mom's 60th birthday and we all really enjoyed Oceana Coastal Kitchen. The menu has something for everyone - from seafood, to sushi, to steak. Their cocktails were delicious and the outdoor covered patio was beautiful with a view of the bay.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

romantic evening

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We had a great evening. Enjoyed live acoustic guitarist, attentive service, delicious food, in a perfect setting. White sea bass was cooked perfectly.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, wine, service (Tina & Patrick) and ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Food, wine, service (Tina & Patrick) and bayside ambience were superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Gem of a Spot

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The view was beautiful, the food excellent and the service was quick and friendly. Would go here again in a heartbeat!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Slow kitchen service. The food was OK, ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Slow kitchen service. The food was OK, but overpriced for what you get.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

Service was outstanding and the staff ma ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Service was outstanding and the staff made every effort to accommodate food allergies. Beautiful decor and scenic patio.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great, however, food was jus ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Service was great, however, food was just blah. I ordered shrimp far fallen and I got what looked like cocktail prawns from Costco. Just underwhelmed by the food considering the price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4

Great view of the bay. If the weather i ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Great view of the bay. If the weather is nice, be sure to eat outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.