Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Oceana Coastal Kitchen

Waterfront San Diego Dining

Oceana Coastal Kitchen features chef-driven, California cuisine as well as a modern, ocean-inspired design. The brand new restaurant offers a memorable bay-front dining experience at an iconic Pacific Beach hideaway.

Ranging from casual to upscale, the airy waterfront restaurant includes several distinct dining areas such as a quartz-topped cold bar embedded with mother of pearl and sea glass. The focal point in the main dining room is an impressive 800 gallon aquarium, soon the home to fluorescent tropical jellyfish, while a sliding window fully opens to showcase unobstructed views of Mission Bay.

Oceana Coastal Kitchen offers an all-new alfresco experience for guests, complete with sleek booths and tables with sweeping panoramic waterfront views, along with an adjacent lounge featuring flickering flames from tiki torches and lava rock fire pits.

3999 Mission Blvd
San Diego, CA 92109
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST
Mon – Sat: 6:30 am – 11:30 am
Sun: 6:30 am – 10:00 am

BRUNCH
Sun: 10:00 am – 2:00 pm

LUNCH
Mon – Fri: 11:30 am – 2:00 pm
Sat: 11:30 – 4:00 pm
Sun: 2:00 – 4:00 pm

DINNER
Sun – Thu: 5:30 pm – 10:00 pm
Fri – Sat: 5:30 pm – 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Pacific Beach Drive

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 539-8635

Website:
http://www.oceanacoastal.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy Live Music Wednesday and Thursday nights.

Parking Details:
3 hour complimentary valet or self parking.

Public Transit:
MTS Bus stop right in front of the Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Steven Riemer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Oceana Beach-In Date Night

Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Oceana Dinner Series - Green Flash Brewing Co.

Wednesday Jul 26, 2017 from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

$2 Off Craft Draft Beer Special

Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

9-9-9 Happy Hour Specials

Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 7:00 PM

1/2 Priced Bottles of Wine

Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Oceana Beach-In Date Night

Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Oceana launches a brand new twist on the traditional drive-in movie with the weekly Beach-In Date Night. Movie goers can enjoy complimentary specialty popcorn and half dozen oysters and two glasses of Piper Sonoma for just $24. Excludes Tax and Tip. Reservations recommended. Special valid May 16, 2017 - May 30, 2017 on Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Oceana Dinner Series - Green Flash Brewing Co.

Wednesday Jul 26, 2017 from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Oceana is partnering with local craft brewery Green Flash Brewing Co. for an intimate and educational four-course pairing dinner. Perfect for beer enthusiasts and novices alike. $65/person For Tickets Call: 858.539.8635. Excludes Tax and Tip. Price inclusive of selected beer pairings, inclusive of tax and gratuity. Special valid on Wednesday Jul 26, 2017 from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

$2 Off Craft Draft Beer Special

Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Enjoy Live Music and $2 off Select Craft Draft Beer. Excludes Tax and Tip. Dine-in only. Special valid May 10, 2017 - Sep 10, 2017 on Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM.

9-9-9 Happy Hour Specials

Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Enjoy $9 Flatbreads, $9 Sushi & $9 Craft Cocktails. Excludes Tax and Tip. Dine-in only. Valid for specified flatbread, sushi rolls and craft cocktails. Special valid May 10, 2017 - Sep 10, 2017 on Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 7:00 PM.

1/2 Priced Bottles of Wine

Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Enjoy Live Music and 1/2 Priced Bottles of Wine.* Select from our extensive wine list. Excludes Tax and Tip. Dine-in only. Special valid May 10, 2017 - Sep 10, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

Beautiful private dining room with views of Mission Bay. Perfect for rehearsal dinners, birthdays or lunch meetings. Oceana Coastal Kitchen features chef-driven, California cuisine as well as a modern, ocean-inspired design that offers a memorable bay front dining experience.

Oceana Coastal Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Waterfront (30)
Scenic View (30)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Romantic (21)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Special Occasion (16)
Great for Lunch (12)
Casual (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
People Watching (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Cozy (5)
Seasonal (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Business Meals (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Tapas (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Live Music (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
264 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food,scenery and music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely wonderful! Amazing view, incredible food (we ordered all appetizers and ate like kings...great way to go!) Fabulous service. Just spectacular in every way.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was good but didn't wow us. Service was excellent as was the view.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Unfortunately the food took a very long time - just for a burger and blt sandwich. Price is way to high for the food. You are paying for the beautiful scenery.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Nice ambiance and the staff was plesant . Great menus with ample variety and range. Everything was good except for the speed of food delivery. Took more than half hour after bread to get food. Waiter did not check back with us until I ask what was taking so long.

Desert also took forever to come from the kitchen. They did comp one desert due to all of delays, or so we thought. The water did say she was pretty new.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Got a great booth seat. Outdoors is heated, so even at night it's pleasant to sit outside. Food was good but a little pricey.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Everything was wonderful. We were early and they accommodated us for Anniversary get together.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Waterfront, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This was a nice dining experience. Being up close to the water with the warm lamps was so nice. It was expensive but worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent service and incredible food. And a free desert. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Lovely setting. Our waiter was a total professional, which prompted me to inquire where he had been trained. Unusual in this day of inept staff at many restaurants. Food was good. Price is right.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We were disappointed by this experience. We've been here before and it was so much nicer. They said they were really busy so cut off a lot of their menu choices (which we had been looking forward too) and weren't planning on doing bread service. I think management should have planned better since this was a Saturday going into their busy season. The ambiance is beautiful though and right on the bay.

I've had excellent food there before but the sushi roll we got was sub par at best and not what you would expect of a $17 dollar roll (the tuna on top was torn on the edges and not clean cuts and didn't taste fresh).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Stacy is amazing! Best and most knowledgeable server we have ever had. Talk about making a 4-star experience a 5-star one just with his accompaniments.

Tags: Disabled Access, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Fun, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Tapas, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We love Oceana! We live in Pacific Beach and our friends hadn't been to Oceana since it reopened with the new name! The food was delicious (the filet mignon is the best and the sea bass was tender and flaky) Grady was our server and he was so knowledgeable about everything on the menu, including the wines! He was a delight!
You can't beat the location and view! Whenever we head to the Catamaran Hotel (Oceana) and sit out on the dining patio, we feel like we are on vacation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The food was good. The service super slow. We got there before the couple after us and they gave them the better table served the before us. Even though the food was good their service was not very good. It was 3 of us and only 2 of them. I will never go back to get mediocre service for an expensive price.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

A family spring break

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The service was wonderful. We were seated with an amazing view of the bay. The wine we chose is one of our new favorites (Moscato) and the Ceviche was the best I have ever had.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Great breakfast - we went there twice during our stay at the hotel. Scrambled eggs done perfectly. Yogurt and fruit was a beautiful presentation and delicious. I had the steel cut oatmeal with glazed bananas which was a great way to start the morning. My only recommendation is to serve grape jelly - it's very popular!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Fun, People Watching, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We made a reservation only an hour ahead. Place was not even half full. They sat us at the back. When we asked about sitting outside they said they were all reserved. They were empty all the time we were there. Sushi was really good

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 3, 2017

While visiting San Diego my wife and I dined here with our two sons who are graduate students at UCSD. We had a table on the patio overlooking Mission Bay. The service was a bit slow, for which the waitress apologized and offered free desserts, but the pacing was fine since we were meeting one son's new girlfriend for the first time and the slow pace gave us plenty of time for conversation. The food was good and the setting is great. We will definitely be back on future visits.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We had a very nice time. It was a real treat for our family.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Wonderful meal! The new halibut entree is spectacular. Our waiter was great...attentive but didn't interrupt our conversations. Will definitely return!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Service was not as warm and welcoming as expected. There was a bit of carelessness when my Syrah wine was served with many visible pieces of cork in my glass.
The restaurant was not busy and there were many open tables, yet I was initially sat in one of the least preferred areas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Atmosphere is nice on Mission Bay. Food was Fair to Average for the prices they are trying to charge. I had to send back my Seabass as it was super dry and needed water to swallow the bite at $34 a dish. The sushi was also fair.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We had a delightful dining experience. The large covered outdoor patio with beautiful bay views made us feel like we were on vacation. We ordered the mango chicken sandwich and the swordfish torta. The swordfish torta was outstanding, full of flavor and quite a generous portion of fish. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Disabled Access, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The Catamaran Coastal Kitchen is my go-to place for entertaining. Always excellent food & service. I am in the food service business & appreciate being pampered.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Celebrated 40 year anniversary here, Debi took real good care of us, wonderful!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 6, 2017

My wife and I shared the crabcakes and the seafood tower. It was all very good and the service was prompt, efficient and friendly.

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I have eaten before at Oceana and loved the food. This time I ordered the wrong thing. I thought the panzanella was a salad as listed. It was bread soaked in something with bacon on top. Not my style of healthy eating. The seabass ceviche was very good and I enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 23, 2017

My friend and I had the Cioppino. The seafood was luke-warm, but we didn't send it back because any additional heat would have overcooked the fish/shellfish. The sauce with the fish was terrible. Hard to describe, but it totally did not "go" with the fish. I have had coppino at many restaurants, and this one was awful

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Ambience is exceptional. Food quality is seriously lacking. It is the food quality control that I would not recommend this restaurant to any one. What a shame! With a kitchen who cares, the could be one of the best places to go. We had two different meal experiences and both times the sauces were atrocious.

Tags: Waterfront, Afternoon Tea, Modern Decor, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We love the ambiance of Oceana Coastal, - beautiful location . And even indoors, it's lovely, with the jellyfish tank being a very beautiful addition. Good food and especially good service from the sommelier.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My wife and I came here for brunch while we were in San Diego. The selection was a pretty good mix of hot and cold, breakfast and lunch items. All were delicious. Great food, a mimosa in hand and a view of the ocean, what more could you want?

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Staff was attentive, courteous and super friendly. Food was amazing went here for Valentine's Day and had a wonderful experience with live music on deck which was just a bonus

Tags: Modern Decor, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Our first visit to Oceana but it won't be the last. Our waitress, Debbie, was very friendly and knowledgeable and helped with menu selections. Wait staff was not over bearing or interruptive which was very nice. All in all, food was excellent and we now want to return to some of the other options for dining: patio and waterfront.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Any time I can get delicious jumbo shrimp and fresh sushi/sashimi at a Sunday Brunch I'm in heaven. While a bit pricier than the other Sunday Brunch spots in the area, they were very generous with refilling the champagne, and I loved the touch of ordering an entree in addition to the buffet. Everything was delicious!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had the Sunday Champagne Brunch. We sat outside it had a beautiful view. There were many choices for seafood and sushi. Along with the buffet you can choose one of 8 entrees that comes with the brunch. There were a diverstiy of choices but I would prefer to have a few more choices for the buffet (waffles, crepes, eggs, etc). The service was outstanding, all the staff were really friendly and accommodating with our toddler. Even in the middle of the brunch the manager/host asked by my surname how my brunch was. Would definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Casual, Fun, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Had a wonderful lunch overlooking the water. Burgers were delicious. Our server, Tonya was delightful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We had a thoroughly enjoyable dinner here. The food was great, the service very good and the ambience lovely. It happened to be a bit chilly so we sat inside but it look like sitting out so I would really be wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

One of our party needed a gluten-free meal and our server Brad and the kitchen staff accommodated us completely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Don't bother.
The food was not that good. The atmosphere was terrible. The service was not much better. The waiter tried really hard to sell a much more expensive wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.