About Oceana Coastal Kitchen

3999 Mission Blvd
San Diego, CA 92109
View Larger Map

Waterfront San Diego Dining

Oceana Coastal Kitchen features chef-driven, California cuisine as well as a modern, ocean-inspired design. The brand new restaurant offers a memorable bay-front dining experience at an iconic Pacific Beach hideaway.

Ranging from casual to upscale, the airy waterfront restaurant includes several distinct dining areas such as a quartz-topped cold bar embedded with mother of pearl and sea glass. The focal point in the main dining room is an impressive 800 gallon aquarium, soon the home to fluorescent tropical jellyfish, while a sliding window fully opens to showcase unobstructed views of Mission Bay.

Oceana Coastal Kitchen offers an all-new alfresco experience for guests, complete with sleek booths and tables with sweeping panoramic waterfront views, along with an adjacent lounge featuring flickering flames from tiki torches and lava rock fire pits.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST
Mon – Sat: 6:30 am – 11:30 am
Sun: 6:30 am – 10:00 am

BRUNCH
Sun: 10:00 am – 2:00 pm

LUNCH
Mon – Fri: 11:30 am – 2:00 pm
Sat: 11:30 – 4:00 pm
Sun: 2:00 – 4:00 pm

DINNER
Sun – Thu: 5:30 pm – 10:00 pm
Fri – Sat: 5:30 pm – 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Pacific Beach Drive

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 539-8635

Website:
http://www.oceanacoastal.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy Live Music Wednesday and Thursday nights.

Parking Details:
3 hour complimentary valet or self parking.

Public Transit:
MTS Bus stop right in front of the Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Steven Riemer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Oceana Dinner Series

Oceana Coastal Kitchen is partnering with local craft brewery Modern Times Beer for an intimate and educational four-course pairing dinner. To complement each of Modern Times’ featured pours, Executive Chef Steven Riemer and Chef de Cuisine Nathan Pell are preparing a custom menu with fresh, ingredient-driven dishes. Perfect for beer enthusiasts and novices alike, a brew master from Modern Times will also be on-site to explain tasting notes and brewing processes.

September 29, 2016 | 6 pm - 9 pm | $65/person
Price inclusive of selected beer pairings. Exclusive of tax and gratuity.

Tickets available by calling 858.539.8635

Restaurant Photos

Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen
Oceana Coastal Kitchen

Specials

Oceana Dinner Series

Thursday Sep 29, 2016 from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

9-9-9 Happy Hour Specials

Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 7:00 PM

$2 Off Craft Draft Beer Special

Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

1/2 Priced Bottles of Wine

Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

San Diego Restaurant Week

Special valid Sep 25, 2016 - Oct 2, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

Oceana Dinner Series

Thursday Sep 29, 2016 from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Oceana is partnering with local craft brewery Modern Times Beer for an intimate and educational four-course pairing dinner. Perfect for beer enthusiasts and novices alike. $65/person For Tickets Call: 858.539.8635. Includes Tax and Tip. Price inclusive of selected beer pairings. Exclusive of tax and gratuity. Special valid on Thursday Sep 29, 2016 from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

9-9-9 Happy Hour Specials

Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Enjoy $9 Flatbreads, $9 Sushi & $9 Craft Cocktails. Excludes Tax and Tip. Dine-in only. Valid for specified flatbread, sushi rolls and craft cocktails. Special valid Aug 8, 2016 - Dec 8, 2016 on Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 7:00 PM.

$2 Off Craft Draft Beer Special

Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Enjoy Live Music and $2 off Select Craft Draft Beer. Excludes Tax and Tip. Dine-in only. Special valid Sep 6, 2016 - Dec 8, 2016 on Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM.

1/2 Priced Bottles of Wine

Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Enjoy Live Music and 1/2 Priced Bottles of Wine.* Select from our extensive wine list. Excludes Tax and Tip. Dine-in only. Special valid Aug 4, 2016 - Dec 4, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM.

San Diego Restaurant Week

Special valid Sep 25, 2016 - Oct 2, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

San Diego Restaurant Week is the ideal excuse to indulge and try something new. Enjoy stunning waterfront views of Mission Bay while enjoying flavors of local California ingredients with Chef Steven Riemer’s special pre-fixe menu. Excludes Tax and Tip. $40/per person. Special valid Sep 25, 2016 - Oct 2, 2016 all week from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

Beautiful private dining room with views of Mission Bay. Perfect for rehearsal dinners, birthdays or lunch meetings. Oceana Coastal Kitchen features chef-driven, California cuisine as well as a modern, ocean-inspired design. The brand new restaurant offers a memorable bayfront dining experience.

Oceana Coastal Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Pacific Beach ›

Scenic View (66)
Great for Outdoor Dining (58)
Special Occasion (40)
See All
Romantic (30)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Kid-friendly (16)
Great for Brunch (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Waterfront (11)
Good for a Date (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
People Watching (6)
Casual (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Live Music (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Fun (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Healthy (2)
Tapas (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Cozy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
173 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a wonderful evening just right in ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a wonderful evening just right in front the ocean. The staff was friendly and attentive. The food was good and fresh, specially the King Crab legs :) It's a perfect venue for a romantic dinner or a special occasion with your close family.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Both the sea bass and the filet were a b ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Both the sea bass and the filet were a bit over-cooked, but tasty. The setting can't be beaten!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It was very nice place. Our server was o ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was very nice place. Our server was outstanding. Extremely professional. Did not rush us. The only problem was location too close beach where people are walking and there was not that much privacy. Food was very tasty.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, wine list, superior wait sta ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food, wine list, superior wait staff and a super chef....location is great right on the Bay.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Live Music, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was OK. We ordered dessert (bro ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was OK. We ordered dessert (brownie). It took almost half an hour to get it and the waiter told us that the first brownie got burned. So, the second brownie was undercooked. How do you burn a brownie? The cook did not pay attention. The only thing is the great view of the bay.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a wonderful experience at Oceana ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at Oceana Coastal Kitchen. The service could not have been better, everyone from the hostess to our server was top notch. And the food was wonderful. Could not have been more pleased.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think the group's consensus is the mea ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

I think the group's consensus is the meal was ok but not a memorable experience. My husband's salmon came undercooked and was sent back. Filet ok but not that flavorful and same with ribeye, mashed potatoes bland. Disappointed. Expected a real treat given ambiance and price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I like this restoran,but No soup and not ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I like this restoran,but No soup and not a lot of salats

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food. Great location.

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Good food. Great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was outstanding! I will suggest their ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

It was outstanding! I will suggest their Raw Bar!! Oysters are the best. Our served was incredible. Great drinks, passion fruit margaritas are the best. Ask to sit outside and you will get the bay view and fireworks. Spectacular place!!! I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

went with friends for dinner, sat in the ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

went with friends for dinner, sat in the patio. Lovely setting and overheard the local luau as an extra. Food was good, not great. Gazpacho and Caesar salads were very good. Salmon was fine and the scallops good as well although they came with frisee salad that is hard to eat, and pickled cherries that were just weird. Pleasant place for outside dining

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I was visiting San Diego with my daughte ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

I was visiting San Diego with my daughter and was looking for a perfect restaurant on the water and Oceana was exactly what we were looking for. A beautiful view with an upscale relaxing atmosphere. The food and service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stayed at the Catamaran resort in San ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We stayed at the Catamaran resort in San Diego and purchased their bed & breakfast package which included breakfast for 2 each day at Oceana Costal Kitchen. The food was fantastic (try the eggs benedict) and you are looking right at Mission Bay while you enjoy your meal. We also tried Oceana Costal Kitchen for dinner one evening during our stay and eating out on the patio right on the bay was a great experience. We would recommend going to Oceana Costal Kitchen if you have the chance.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always yummy! Great food! Great view! ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Always yummy! Great food! Great view! It's a vacation in San Diego moment!

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good restaurant in the Catamaran Resort ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Good restaurant in the Catamaran Resort on Mission Bay. We sat outside and had a very nice dinner. I had the sea bass which was excellent. My wife's salmon was underdone and probably should have gone back. Our dessert, an excellent rhubarb creme brûlée, took forever to come out of the kitchen and our server ended up chomping it. But even with these two criticisms we had a very nice time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

WE LIVE WALKING DISTANCE TO THE CATAMARA ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

WE LIVE WALKING DISTANCE TO THE CATAMARAN AND LOVE THEIR NEW CHEF STEPHEN.

THE HOTEL AND SURROUNDINGS ARE BEAUTIFUL AND RELAXING

Tags: Healthy, Tapas, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was good, service was not. We h ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The food was good, service was not. We had a terrible experience with the service. It took them 30 minutes after we were seated to finally get our drinks, they didn't bring our bread basket until I asked for it again once our food came. I would think this place is better than what we experienced as the food was good once we did get it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Fabulous! Beautiful setting, delicious ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Fabulous! Beautiful setting, delicious food, wait staff was very attentive, we'll be back!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely dinner overlooking the water. Mu ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Lovely dinner overlooking the water. Munched on bunches of sushi and appetizers - perfect.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Madelyn Nelson was great! She recommende ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Madelyn Nelson was great! She recommended this place and was helpful with booking a reservation. LOVE the I've music, it really gave the night a special romantic feel for my boyfriend and I. I would love to come again soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outdoor seating and the view are lovely ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Outdoor seating and the view are lovely at this restaurant. We were a little disappointed in the food this year. The fish was a little overcooked.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

The shrimp and crab had both been frozen ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The shrimp and crab had both been frozen previously; were mushy and tasteless. Not what I would expect for the price.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was great but the service was very ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Food was great but the service was very slow. Great looking venue, shame the service was not up to the quality of the (eventual) food and drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Lovely restaurant on Mission Bay. Excell ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Lovely restaurant on Mission Bay. Excellent service. Good food. Seafood specialties. I will be back there for dinner and/or brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food portions were small for the price a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food portions were small for the price and lacked flavor and color. The service and view would bring me back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

The service was terrible both for drinks ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

The service was terrible both for drinks and dinner. Waited 30 min for drink orders and 45 to 60 for dinner. Portions small crab was very salty basically 1. Leg for 24$. Wasn't busy but wouldn't seat us outside. I'm wondering about the past reviews, was no where near a 4 for multiple reasons

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

It was obvious that none of the staff en ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

It was obvious that none of the staff enjoy their jobs. The service was really terrible and management is to blame. The MOD was storming around like a madman. The food was mediocre at best. I ordered the king crab and was terribly disappointed in the quality and quantity. It cost $24 for less then a quarter pound of very fishy tasting crab on ice. My guest got a chicken dish that was simply okay. This place has amazing views right on the beach but is so not worth the money.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Service was very good. Attentive and w ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service was very good. Attentive and wanting to make sure that everything was as we wished. We had an outdoor patio seat which overlooked the water. Very nice!

The only real disappointment was the food. It was just ok and for the price, we expected a little more. The king salmon was borderline over cooked and little under seasoned. The smashed fingerling side dish was very dry. The scallops were also under seasoned. A little lemon and salt would have gone a long way. The sushi rolls we had as appetizer were good.

We appreciate the attentiveness and caring and would give this restaurant another chance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Wait staff exceptional..great chef....ou ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Wait staff exceptional..great chef....outdoor patio quite lovely Great food...good wine list and drinks from the bar...everyone was very attentive. Background music by live singer and guitar player mellow and very solid

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant we have been to in San D ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Best restaurant we have been to in San Diego. Everything was just perfect. The hot brownie with vanilla ice cream was a great ending.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They accommodated our group of 10 on sho ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

They accommodated our group of 10 on short notice and gave us a room that was semi-private overall. But for us, no other group was there, making it totally private for our group. We were

able to converse without shouting. The food was great, the waiters were very efficient and the

overall experience was definitely a 10

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed it very much. Food great. Serv ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Enjoyed it very much. Food great. Servers excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here while spending a night in S ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We came here while spending a night in San Diego to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. EXCEPTIONAL service and delicious sea food, with a great wine list!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We started with the sushi as an appetize ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We started with the sushi as an appetizer and it was great! We dined on the outdoor patio and it was a perfect San Diego evening on Mission Bay.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great location with excellent food.

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great location with excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have enjoyed dinner and lunch here and i ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Have enjoyed dinner and lunch here and it has been delicious each time. Lovely setting on the water, but the dining room is lovely ,too.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Though the food, waiter and ambiance was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Though the food, waiter and ambiance was excellent, we will never return to this restaurant. We took family who was visiting from out of state and after 90 minutes as we were finishing our dessert the matre d came and told us the table was reserved for someone else and we needed to leave!!!! There were several other open tables around us that could have accommodated another party. Bad Business!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service , great food. We totally e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great service , great food. We totally enjoyed our brunch. Our waitress is awesome !

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We live in the neighborhood and eat here ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We live in the neighborhood and eat here often (especially when all the tourists go home in September!). The staff is always happy to see locals stop in. Excellent quality of ingredients and probably some of my favorite fish ceviche.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.