Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.17mi
  3. Distance: 0.17mi
  4. Distance: 0.20mi

About Oceana Coastal Kitchen

Waterfront San Diego Dining

Oceana Coastal Kitchen features chef-driven, California cuisine as well as a modern, ocean-inspired design. The brand new restaurant offers a memorable bay-front dining experience at an iconic Pacific Beach hideaway.

Ranging from casual to upscale, the airy waterfront restaurant includes several distinct dining areas such as a quartz-topped cold bar embedded with mother of pearl and sea glass. The focal point in the main dining room is an impressive 800 gallon aquarium, soon the home to fluorescent tropical jellyfish, while a sliding window fully opens to showcase unobstructed views of Mission Bay.

Oceana Coastal Kitchen offers an all-new alfresco experience for guests, complete with sleek booths and tables with sweeping panoramic waterfront views, along with an adjacent lounge featuring flickering flames from tiki torches and lava rock fire pits.

3999 Mission Blvd
San Diego, CA 92109
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST
Mon – Sat: 6:30 am – 11:30 am
Sun: 6:30 am – 10:00 am

BRUNCH
Sun: 10:00 am – 2:00 pm

LUNCH
Mon – Fri: 11:30 am – 2:00 pm
Sat: 11:30 – 4:00 pm
Sun: 2:00 – 4:00 pm

DINNER
Sun – Thu: 5:30 pm – 10:00 pm
Fri – Sat: 5:30 pm – 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Pacific Beach Drive

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 539-8635

Website:
http://www.oceanacoastal.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy Live Music Wednesday and Thursday nights.

Catering:
Remember Oceana for you next party or office gathering. Give us a call and we will be happy to help you plan your next catered event at (858) 539-8635

Parking Details:
3 hour complimentary valet or self parking.

Public Transit:
MTS Bus stop right in front of the Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Steven Riemer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Savor Oceana's bay views, fresh fare and cozy dining room - ideal for your private special event. For more information call us today: (858) 539-8635

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

Beautiful private dining room with views of Mission Bay. Perfect for rehearsal dinners, birthdays or lunch meetings. Oceana Coastal Kitchen features chef-driven, California cuisine as well as a modern, ocean-inspired design that offers a memorable bay front dining experience.

Oceana Coastal Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

Noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Waterfront (35)
Scenic View (34)
See All
People Watching (26)
Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (23)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Romantic (17)
Casual (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Great for Lunch (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Fun (9)
Healthy (8)
Cozy (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Authentic (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Seasonal (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Live Music (4)
Business Meals (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort by
S
351 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined a day ago

Great food and beautiful views

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

It was an amazing experience !! It was one of the nicest dinners I’ve ever had !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Me and a group of 4 girls did a Sunday Brunch for my birthday and it was wonderful! Great view! Fresh and awesome buffet and food. Our server Donna was friendly and amazing, as was all of the staff. Highly recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

We took our two daughters (11 and 12) for dinner here on a Saturday night. We were able to get last minute reservations and great seating without a wait. The food was delicious, I had the filet, girls shared the pork chop and my wife had a pepperoni flatbread pizza and Chipotle shrimp cocktail. The house wine and over all wine selection was brilliant. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2017

Dinner With A View
Our dinner at Oceana could not have been better! Definitely try the Diver Scallop sushi roll, perfect for the table to share as a starter. The house Mai Tai might just be the best thing I’ve ever tasted. Our dinners, the halibut and the short ribs, were cooked to perfection. Pro tip: ask for a booth outside and make sure to check out the jellyfish aquarium in the bar!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2017

We love being able to have a nice meal and be on the water.

Tags: Scenic View, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Casual, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Was there for Saturday lunch. Ate outside and enjoyed a great view of the bay. The little biscuits are especially good. Was treated to a free birthday dessert. Everyone in our party was pleased.

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Great food, relaxed atmosphere, lovely bayside dining patio, friendly service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

So happy every time we enjoy Sunday Brucnch at Oceana. FYI my husband and I had our wedding celebration there in 1974 and our daughter hers in 2006. This time it was my 75th birthday. Beautiful location, good service, and excellent food. So glad you are here.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Highly recommend, amazing for ROMANTIC DATE. Excellent service, great ocean view. Definitely worth it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Authentic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Have not been there for years, had forgotten what a SD jewel it is. Except for the drink prices. $15.50 for a Cosmo is over the top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Great server and wine sommelier. They made our dinner memorable!

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Good for a Date, People Watching, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 9, 2017

There was great service. A hostess, waitress, bread guy, food guy, desert girl. And waiting was not bad. Great view of water. Fish that my wife had was great. My duck was chewey.
Hans Roeger

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Breathtaking views from the patio! Sushi was incredible and the waiter was very friendly and even took our picture for us. A+++

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Everything was amazing as usual. This is our go to spot for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Afternoon Tea, People Watching, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Always a great place for a fine dinner with friends and to take in a fantastic view of Mission Bay. Service is always top notch. One of our “go to” places. One of the best wine lists in San Diego.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Beware the $16 parking fee! Even though they validated my ticket, it didn't register at the self checkout. When I called, was told that they don't give credit card credits over the phone and I'd have to come back. Given that I drove an hour to get there, wasn't about to do that.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Excellent choice for Restaurant Week. Interesting and tasty selections. Great value!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Romantic, Waterfront, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Very good, food was excellent, staff was fast and friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Took candles for birthday dessert and they forgot. The iron skillet desserts we received tasted like metal and tasted terrible
They automatically gave themselves a tip on our bill. Terrible assumption after long waits for service

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 26, 2017

Our server was wonderful! The SDRW menu was delicious for the starters and main entrees, however the desserts left a lot to be desired. The waterfront view was beautiful and the overall ambiance was great! I would go again for sure! Great for a date night or a fun night with friends!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Best Restaurant Week dinner we have had in a long time. Cheers to Oceana for putting together such a great menu! Sea bass was amazing and the creme brûlée was the best I have ever had. Can't beat a pleasant evening on Oceana's patio looking at the Bay!

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

We tried out the champagne brunch and restaurant week menus. Both were fantastic for cocktails and food. Be ready to eat as portions are quite generous!

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 24, 2017

I love it but the food was not . I ordered white sea bass with beet and kale. The fish was over cooked and a lot of farrow. Servers was excellent .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Great menu, quiet after a luau party for a special event ended, relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Seafood was inventive and very well done. The outside dining area was very nice with great views of mission bay.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We both ordered fish, and it was cooked PERFECTLY. The patio seating had a lovely view.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Una porqueria

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Our food was amazing! Waitress was very helpful with my special requests with my diet and made my girlfriends birthday dinner very enjoyable! Very pleased and will definitely return in the future!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We weren’t expecting a 5 star at a restaurant in a resort, but even so it was lackluster. Our server was very nice and had a great attitude, but she was slow to check on us after the food was delivered and brought an entree with cold sides, a definite mistake as a server. The rib eye was tasty, but the mashed potatoes were mediocre at best. My broccoli was crispy even after I asked it to be cooked more and softened up. I really wish Mission Bay had better restaurant choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Food was delicious, service was perfect and the view is always beautiful!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Fantastic views and high quality restaurant. Professional service

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Sushi is amazing as well as the offer of the dishes. Good cocktails and wines. Love it!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Did mention that it was my friend's birthday and I thought a piece of pie or any pastry with some ice cream would have been a nice gesture. I would love to have my 10th wedding anniversary celebration at your restaurant but I'm a bit hesitant. Price range might be way too much. Overall, I enjoyed my stay. It's my third time at the Catamaran but my first visit into the restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I came down from LA to meet with friends from the east cost and wanted something great--on the water. It met all of my expectations.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Don't quite understand the rave about this place. Crab cakes were gross. Steaks were not cooked to proper temperature. Desert was all that we enjoyed. Lightning outside was messing up as well and kept flickering the whole time. Guess that helped the horror house type feeling. Wish it would have been all the "rave". Not for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2017

There was a luau happening at the hotel the night we had dinner reservations. Valet told us they were completely full even though we could see multiple available spots. Valet instructed us to drive through a parking garage that was completely packed, only to have to drive right back out. We had to drive around looking for parking along the beach streets, which was not easy. Once we were finally at the restaurant it took 15 mins before a server even came over to take our order. We had the seafood tower and the shrimp was bad. The rest of the seafood was only okay. We expected a lot better for the price. I will not be returning and would not recommend to others. Overall very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I had a great beet salad, we shared a mushroom flat bread, and the sea bass was cooked perfect. So yummy. Our waiter, Grady was also very knowledgable about the wines and the food. And we probably stayed a little too long after dessert, sipping our wine, but we never felt like they were trying to rush us out to turn the table over. Very enjoyable night.

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Live Music, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.