About Oceana Coastal Kitchen

3999 Mission Blvd
San Diego, CA 92109
View Larger Map

Waterfront San Diego Dining

Oceana Coastal Kitchen features chef-driven, California cuisine as well as a modern, ocean-inspired design. The brand new restaurant offers a memorable bay-front dining experience at an iconic Pacific Beach hideaway.

Ranging from casual to upscale, the airy waterfront restaurant includes several distinct dining areas such as a quartz-topped cold bar embedded with mother of pearl and sea glass. The focal point in the main dining room is an impressive 800 gallon aquarium, soon the home to fluorescent tropical jellyfish, while a sliding window fully opens to showcase unobstructed views of Mission Bay.

Oceana Coastal Kitchen offers an all-new alfresco experience for guests, complete with sleek booths and tables with sweeping panoramic waterfront views, along with an adjacent lounge featuring flickering flames from tiki torches and lava rock fire pits.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
BREAKFAST
Mon – Sat: 6:30 am – 11:30 am
Sun: 6:30 am – 10:00 am

BRUNCH
Sun: 10:00 am – 2:00 pm

LUNCH
Mon – Fri: 11:30 am – 2:00 pm
Sat: 11:30 – 4:00 pm
Sun: 2:00 – 4:00 pm

DINNER
Sun – Thu: 5:30 pm – 10:00 pm
Fri – Sat: 5:30 pm – 11:00 pm

Cross Street:
Pacific Beach Drive

Dress Code:
Resort Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 539-8635

Website:
http://www.oceanacoastal.com/

Entertainment:
Enjoy Live Music Wednesday and Thursday nights.

Parking Details:
3 hour complimentary valet or self parking.

Public Transit:
MTS Bus stop right in front of the Hotel.

Executive Chef:
Steven Riemer

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Oceana Coastal Kitchen, San Diego, CA
Oceana Coastal Kitchen, San Diego, CA
Oceana Coastal Kitchen, San Diego, CA
Oceana Coastal Kitchen, San Diego, CA
Oceana Coastal Kitchen, San Diego, CA
Oceana Coastal Kitchen, San Diego, CA
Oceana Coastal Kitchen, San Diego, CA
Oceana Coastal Kitchen, San Diego, CA
Oceana Coastal Kitchen, San Diego, CA
Oceana Coastal Kitchen, San Diego, CA
Oceana Coastal Kitchen, San Diego, CA
Oceana Coastal Kitchen, San Diego, CA
Oceana Coastal Kitchen, San Diego, CA
Oceana Coastal Kitchen, San Diego, CA

Specials

Oceana Beach-In Date Night

Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

9-9-9 Happy Hour Specials

Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 7:00 PM

$2 Off Craft Draft Beer Special

Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

1/2 Priced Bottles of Wine

Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Oceana Beach-In Date Night

Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Oceana launches a brand new twist on the traditional drive-in movie with the weekly Beach-In Date Night. Movie goers can enjoy complimentary specialty popcorn and half dozen oysters and two glasses of Piper Sonoma for just $24. Excludes Tax and Tip. Reservations recommended. Special valid Oct 18, 2016 - Dec 28, 2016 on Tuesdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

9-9-9 Happy Hour Specials

Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Enjoy $9 Flatbreads, $9 Sushi & $9 Craft Cocktails. Excludes Tax and Tip. Dine-in only. Valid for specified flatbread, sushi rolls and craft cocktails. Special valid Aug 8, 2016 - Dec 8, 2016 on Mondays and Tuesdays from 5:30 PM - 7:00 PM.

$2 Off Craft Draft Beer Special

Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Enjoy Live Music and $2 off Select Craft Draft Beer. Excludes Tax and Tip. Dine-in only. Special valid Sep 6, 2016 - Dec 8, 2016 on Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM.

1/2 Priced Bottles of Wine

Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Enjoy Live Music and 1/2 Priced Bottles of Wine.* Select from our extensive wine list. Excludes Tax and Tip. Dine-in only. Special valid Aug 4, 2016 - Dec 4, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 5:30PM - 5:30PM 6:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

Beautiful private dining room with views of Mission Bay. Perfect for rehearsal dinners, birthdays or lunch meetings. Oceana Coastal Kitchen features chef-driven, California cuisine as well as a modern, ocean-inspired design that offers a memorable bay front dining experience.

Oceana Coastal Kitchen Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
San Diego
Best Ambiance
San Diego
Outdoor Dining
San Diego
2 More
Scenic View
San Diego
Californian
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Pacific Beach ›

Scenic View (42)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Waterfront (30)
See All
Special Occasion (25)
Romantic (20)
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Quiet Conversation (11)
People Watching (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Casual (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Live Music (8)
Healthy (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Fun (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Happy Hour (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Family Style (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Business Meals (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tapas (3)
Cozy (3)
Vegan (3)
Fireplace (2)
Seasonal (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Authentic (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
197 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

WE ENJOYED VERY MUCH. WE LOVED THE FOOD ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

WE ENJOYED VERY MUCH. WE LOVED THE FOOD AND THE PLACE. THANK YOU FOR A PERFECT SUNDAY CHAMPAGNE BRUNCH!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a quiet Thanksgiving evening meal ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had a quiet Thanksgiving evening meal with not a bit of turkey in sight! Our scallops, shrimp and tuna carpaccio were all wonderful. Breads were homemade and the wine list was perfect for us. Taylor was an engaging efficient server and the overall service was just right.

This was our first time at Oceana - I think most diners were staying at the hotel , but since we are locals we will surely return.

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Fun, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would have given a better service revi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I would have given a better service review, but for the fact one meal was served about 15 minutes before the other three meals were served. It was not the server's fault, but likely the kitchen. Otherwise all were very friendly and the ambiance outstanding.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

We stayed at the hotel where the Oceana ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We stayed at the hotel where the Oceana is located. Typically we like to get out of the hotel and explore different dining options. We decided to come down to the Oceana for our first dinner and were pleasantly surprised. The live music was top-notch, our service from our server Debbie was amazing, the food was so fresh, tasty and proportioned appropriately for us. You can't beat the ambiance with a gorgeous view of the bay. We ended up loving it so much we came back three more times! Will definitely be back.

Tags: Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, People Watching, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Outstanding Value, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, welcoming staff and an u ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Delicious food, welcoming staff and an unbeatable view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a spectacular find! Delicious food ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 15, 2016

What a spectacular find! Delicious food, wonderful ambience, the service went beyond exceptional, Debbie was our server and she was absolutely accommodating - plus we got the best table and watched the super moon rise! We will definitely recommend this place to other locals :) Thank you

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Fun, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great food in a beautiful setting ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Really great food in a beautiful setting on the water!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Beautiful setting very tropical, movie ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Beautiful setting very tropical, movie night was fun although they need to work on the audio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The service was a 15+. Recommended by a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The service was a 15+. Recommended by a local for our Anniversary dinner. We brought our own champagne and the corkage fee was only 15.00. California white sea bass was cooked to perfection.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had the crab cakes, they were the best i ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Had the crab cakes, they were the best i have had in years. Sushi was super fresh and good.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed brunch on the beautiful patio ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We enjoyed brunch on the beautiful patio. The mimosas had a generous amount of fine quality champagne. Healthy eggbeater options were available for all egg dishes. Desserts were exceptional!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Really excellent staff at this restauran ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Really excellent staff at this restaurant - the server was knowledgeable, professional and friendly and the manager stopped by as well to check on us. The atmosphere is just gorgeous. We chose to sit outside and check out the evening lights. There are plenty of outdoor heaters so it was very comfortable. They have a terrific selection of gluten free food, including sushi, available as well. Overall a really nice pick.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Vegan, Business Meals, Romantic, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice ambience. Tasty food. Great ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Very nice ambience. Tasty food. Great staff. Good view of the bay. A little pricey ($80 for 2 with tip. No drinks). Overall, would recommend for specil occasions .

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent lunch, great service, thank yo ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Excellent lunch, great service, thank you Carina :). We loved the outdoor patio, food was excellent, very nice wine choices, prices reasonable for the location.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Catamaran. Ever since you opene ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We love Catamaran. Ever since you opened almost 2 yrs. ago we have made Oceania Coastal Grill our favorite place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was quite poor. the waitres ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The service was quite poor. the waitress had too many tables and it was not crowded at all. The food was delivered to the table warm/cool. Overall poor experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Our waiter was wonderful! He gave us man ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our waiter was wonderful! He gave us many great suggestions......I wanted to change my sides with my dish and he said no problem at all!

We really enjoyed everyone on the staff.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Your Staff makes any visit an occasion. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Your Staff makes any visit an occasion. Blanca welcoming us, Tanya our wonderful server, John with Biscuits. Thank you so much. We enjoy making you our special place to Entertain.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Start to finish, one of the best experie ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Start to finish, one of the best experiences I've had. Thank you so much! Beautiful location, terrific food and service. Educated staff who offered their suggestions. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time for my girlfriends birthday w ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 10, 2016

First time for my girlfriends birthday with the kids and the whole experience was beautiful..The food was amazing everything we ordered from the sushi to the bake chicken to the scallops to the pasta and shrimp to the desserts..We all were blown away with the food absolutely amazing..Great work to Oceana Coastal Kitchen

Tags: Late-night Find, Fireplace, Wood Oven, Waterfront, Healthy, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great atmosphere, high staff turnover. ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Great atmosphere, high staff turnover.

Wonderful location .

Hotel is tough to get over. Not like a stand alone restaurant.

Should get a manager who acts like an owner.

Staff is very friendly, But amateur.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our servers, Debi andJason, we're outsta ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Our servers, Debi andJason, we're outstanding. Attentive without being intrusive. Absolutely wondeful experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely amazing service! The food is ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Absolutely amazing service! The food is great but the staff make it worthwhile. Stacie and Tonya are wonderful!!! Can't say enough great things about this place. It is definitely my favorite brunch spot.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful evening just right in ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We had a wonderful evening just right in front the ocean. The staff was friendly and attentive. The food was good and fresh, specially the King Crab legs :) It's a perfect venue for a romantic dinner or a special occasion with your close family.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Both the sea bass and the filet were a b ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Both the sea bass and the filet were a bit over-cooked, but tasty. The setting can't be beaten!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It was very nice place. Our server was o ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was very nice place. Our server was outstanding. Extremely professional. Did not rush us. The only problem was location too close beach where people are walking and there was not that much privacy. Food was very tasty.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, wine list, superior wait sta ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food, wine list, superior wait staff and a super chef....location is great right on the Bay.

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Live Music, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been there often. Always relaxing, fun, ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Been there often. Always relaxing, fun, good food and great service. Dave , one of the managers was outstanding in helping me arrange a surprise brunch.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Fun, Scenic View, People Watching, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was OK. We ordered dessert (bro ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was OK. We ordered dessert (brownie). It took almost half an hour to get it and the waiter told us that the first brownie got burned. So, the second brownie was undercooked. How do you burn a brownie? The cook did not pay attention. The only thing is the great view of the bay.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a wonderful experience at Oceana ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had a wonderful experience at Oceana Coastal Kitchen. The service could not have been better, everyone from the hostess to our server was top notch. And the food was wonderful. Could not have been more pleased.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I think the group's consensus is the mea ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 8, 2016

I think the group's consensus is the meal was ok but not a memorable experience. My husband's salmon came undercooked and was sent back. Filet ok but not that flavorful and same with ribeye, mashed potatoes bland. Disappointed. Expected a real treat given ambiance and price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I like this restoran,but No soup and not ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 7, 2016

I like this restoran,but No soup and not a lot of salats

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food. Great location.

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Good food. Great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was outstanding! I will suggest their ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 4, 2016

It was outstanding! I will suggest their Raw Bar!! Oysters are the best. Our served was incredible. Great drinks, passion fruit margaritas are the best. Ask to sit outside and you will get the bay view and fireworks. Spectacular place!!! I will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

went with friends for dinner, sat in the ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2016

went with friends for dinner, sat in the patio. Lovely setting and overheard the local luau as an extra. Food was good, not great. Gazpacho and Caesar salads were very good. Salmon was fine and the scallops good as well although they came with frisee salad that is hard to eat, and pickled cherries that were just weird. Pleasant place for outside dining

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I was visiting San Diego with my daughte ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 2, 2016

I was visiting San Diego with my daughter and was looking for a perfect restaurant on the water and Oceana was exactly what we were looking for. A beautiful view with an upscale relaxing atmosphere. The food and service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stayed at the Catamaran resort in San ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 31, 2016

We stayed at the Catamaran resort in San Diego and purchased their bed & breakfast package which included breakfast for 2 each day at Oceana Costal Kitchen. The food was fantastic (try the eggs benedict) and you are looking right at Mission Bay while you enjoy your meal. We also tried Oceana Costal Kitchen for dinner one evening during our stay and eating out on the patio right on the bay was a great experience. We would recommend going to Oceana Costal Kitchen if you have the chance.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Always yummy! Great food! Great view! ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Always yummy! Great food! Great view! It's a vacation in San Diego moment!

Tags: Comfort Food, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good restaurant in the Catamaran Resort ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Good restaurant in the Catamaran Resort on Mission Bay. We sat outside and had a very nice dinner. I had the sea bass which was excellent. My wife's salmon was underdone and probably should have gone back. Our dessert, an excellent rhubarb creme brûlée, took forever to come out of the kitchen and our server ended up chomping it. But even with these two criticisms we had a very nice time.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

WE LIVE WALKING DISTANCE TO THE CATAMARA ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 27, 2016

WE LIVE WALKING DISTANCE TO THE CATAMARAN AND LOVE THEIR NEW CHEF STEPHEN.

THE HOTEL AND SURROUNDINGS ARE BEAUTIFUL AND RELAXING

Tags: Healthy, Tapas, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.