About Ocean

Ocean has been locally owned and operated by George Reis since 2002 and is located in the historic Five Points district of Birmingham’s Southside. Enjoy a casual night out with friends at the inviting and contemporary patio bar, or venture inside for some of the best seafood in town and an award-winning dining experience.
Ocean offers fresh seafood in an exciting and contemporary atmosphere. The menu features a wide selection of fish and fresh oysters arriving daily. Ocean focuses on sourcing sustainable seafood, local produce, and is proud to support local farms. Pulling flavors and inspiration from around the globe, Ocean is the recipient of the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for 2007-2015, the Wine Spectator Award 2004-2015, and is the winner of the Alabama Seafood Cookoff in 2015. Voted Best Chef, Wine List and rated 5 stars by the Birmingham News,
Reservations accepted Tuesday through Saturday.

1218 20th Street South
Birmingham, AL 35205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Highland and 13th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 933-0999

Website:
http://www.oceanbirmingham.com/

Catering:
For information about catering options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or call us at: (205)933-0999

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
George Reis

Private Party Facilities:
For information about our private dining facilities and private dining options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or give us a call at: (205) 933-0999

Private Party Contact:
Heather Boone: (205) 933-0999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ocean Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (62)
Special Occasion (58)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
See All
Romantic (44)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Business Meals (26)
Notable Wine List (23)
Worth the Drive (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Local Ingredients (20)
Authentic (17)
Healthy (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Fun (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Cozy (10)
Casual (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
People Watching (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Wood Oven (5)
Seasonal (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Organic (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great Beer (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Private Room (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Waterfront (1)
Dancing (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
891 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely amazing! Such a friendly staff and I can't even explain how amazing the food is! 10 stars!!!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, People Watching, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Spicy, Disabled Access, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic food combined with excellent service. Our server Mica was very knowledgeable about the menu as well as wine selection. We were greeted by the manager, Larry, who started back a few years as a server. We were presented with a lovely card that had been signed by all the staff working that day as well as served two,absolutely delicious house favorite desserts( prepared by their pastry chef) that were complimentary. Can't speak more highly of Ocean! Number One in Birmingham for us! Fantastic 30 year marriage anniversary dinner! Thanks to all the crew at Ocean!! Five stars every time!! You're the best!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I was left feeling disappointed after my evening at Ocean. I heard great reviews, and I was eager to have a great meal. When the waiter told us that they ran out of certain meals I knew we were in for an interesting night. The waiter mentioned that typically happens when you have a later reservation. We also had a server who had a hard time managing our dishes and serving us water. I'm not sure if the individual was dealing with something, but it was definitely impacting her ability to perform simple functions. For the amount we paid I would expect a higher quality dining experience even if we got seated at 815pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My wife and I have been going to Ocean’s for years and out of all the wonderful restaurants that we have in Birmingham Alabama, it has always been our favorites. If you go try the steak, it sounds crazy cause they are a seafood restaurant but the steak is incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We visited Ocean to celebrate a birthday and they provided the perfect touches to make it feel like one. The food did not disappoint anyone in our group. The Thai curry bouillabaisse entree was stellar and the Greek salad was delicious. The supporting servers were friendly, quick and professional. Our head server was friendly and attentive but his pace of service left us feeling alternatively rushed then ignored. It's probably not a regular thing for him and normally wouldn't be worth mentioning except it was a splurge for us and it's the only reason I didn't give the meal a five star rating across the board. I hope to visit again soon and be amazed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Absolutely the best place I've been in Birmingham.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Oceans has always been one of our favorite places to dine. Always great service and exceptional menu selections which never disappoint.
Great seafood but I will say they serve a superb filet. Yep , I recommend to our friends often and they ALWAYS thank me later.
I do wish they could find a way to muffle the noise level surely they can install some soft ceiling surfaces😊

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We had such a delicious meal and were treated like special guests from the moment we walked in the door. Love this restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Walked in and they seated us immediately (Open Table reservation). Great server. She was knowledgeable about the entire menu. Food was excellent and valet parking was nice since parking downtown is a challenge to not get ticketed or towed. Would recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This was one of the best dining experiences we have EVER had!! My husband and I went here to celebrate a special occasion and were blown away by the exceptional service and phenomenal cuisine. If I could give it more stars, I would! From the unique drinks, stellar sushi appetizer, to the mouthwatering entrees and high end atmosphere, I have zero complaints. William was our waiter, and the GM, Larry, catered to our every need and desire. My biggest praise is how much they catered to my special diet. Having had an auto immune disease, I have to be VERY careful about what I eat. I have never felt more welcome and had so many options than when we went to Ocean. The attention to detail was out of this world. We will recommend this place to all of our friends and family! Thank you Ocean!! -Jessica and Brett

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Special Occasion, Healthy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I absolutely love Ocean! Their food is amazing, especially the filet, lobster, and baklava ice cream

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The service was impeccable. The oysters were some of the best I’ve ever had. Ocean is definitely one of the best restaurants in Birmingham. Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My husband and I ate here for our anniversary. Thanks to Open Table, I clicked "Anniversary" on my reservation. Not only did we get a nice, quiet table, but the manager stopped by to check on us and offered to select a dessert for us. So glad we said yes! Our waiter offered two suggestions for wine. I was unfamiliar with both, so he happily brought a taste of each. Yum! The wine paired nicely with my fish dish. (Hubby also had a great fish dish.) And for dessert - baklava ice cream and their delicious French press coffee. Perfect meal for a special occasion!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Party of five celebrating a birthday...absolutely a perfect evening. The server was so awesome. The food was world class. The bar serves wonderful drinks. We all LOVE this very special place. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great meal options. Enjoyed the entire experience. The wine was over the top.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great service! Great food! Enjoyed every moment of it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 29, 2017

They oysters were outstanding. The fish was delicious. The ice creams are superb. The service is impeccable. We are fans :)

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The food was excellent however, the portion sizes were small. The waiter was not very warm & outgoing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Good food not great, I've had better! Service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Disappointed that a special advertised was not available on the menu. Food was good. Service was horrible.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This was a return trip to Ocean and overall, it did not disappoint. Service at the bar was AWFUL as we waited on the table. We didn't get drinks until our table was ready 15 minutes after sitting down. Service once seated was EXCEPTIONAL. Attentive and enthusiastic with good recommendations for food. Fried Green Tomatoes, Greek Salad, Cobia and Tuna were all wonderful. Other than bar service, my only complaint was the smoke (kitchen, not cigarette) in the restaurant. Clearly, they have a ventilation issue. Our clothes were saturated with the smell, our eyes burned, and we both sneezed all night. I would suggest getting the issue dealt with - it was bad!

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Everything we tried to order they were out of from ginger beer to lobster all before 730 because someone messed up ordering supplies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Delighted we chose this venue for an 80th birthday celebration! The food was very good, and the service was outstanding!! Our waiter, Logan, was helpful, attentive, and enthusiastic. Other members of the staff came by with good wishes, and it was nice to receive a special dessert, complete with candle.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Great food and even better service. Made our anniversary dinner even more memorable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Great food and great service every time we go. Valet service makes it convenient. One of the best restaurants in the Birmingham area and that is saying a lot. The Sushi is a must. I've tried several entrees and haven't had a bad one yet. The baby lobster tails as an entrée or appetizer is great. The scallops are always a safe choice. Had the Tuna this time and it was perfect. They have a few non-seafood items but if you are going to Ocean they do seafood about as good as you'll get anywhere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Food & service excellent. Very noisy due to large group dinners-hard to hear conversation at table.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The restaurant is great! The service is 5 star! Wine list is large but priced very well. The ability to have parking avail is great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Food was excellent, the dining room the night of our visit was UNBEARABLY hot however. Our guests were fanning themselves the entire meal

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Extremely pleasant and tasty. Not rushed at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Got off to a bad start, we had a reservation for out door seating. We arrived 15 min before our reservation had a couple of drinks while we waited. 20 min after our reservation time they let us know that they could not seat us outside because of a larger party they were getting ready to seat. So they ended up seating us inside. It was just frustrating because there were tables outside and inside that were empty the entire time.
That being said,the service at the table and food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Service, drinks and oysters were excellent, but the fish dishes were not very inspiring. They sounded wonderful on the menu but we were disappointed with the meal. My fish was dry and overcooked and my husband's dish were overly seasoned.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food and staff were fantastic. We were there for3 hours, and they offered to comp one of our entrees due to the wait (the wait for food/drinks, not wait for a table). The service was very slow, but they were doing everything they could to make up for it, and it worked. Would go again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 34th wedding anniversary at Ocean tonight. It's been our favorite restaurant for several years, but tonight was even better. The personal attention from Logan, our server, and Larry, the manager, was appreciated. The food was absolutely fantastic. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Unpretentious, friendly knowledgeable staff, great wine selection, fresh and creative food, reasonable prices. We will be back!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The night we went the AC was out which took away from the overall atmosphere. Parking is bad in the area as well. Negatives aside the food and service were top notch. Don't be afraid to try the filet at a seafood restaurant, it was amazing. Save room for the strawberry cobbler and balsamic ice cream!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Ocean had amazing seafood and desserts. Service was wonderful All in all it was a special experience. We will definitely visit again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The air was out but the food wss fantastic. Will go back again. Hopefully air will be working

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The food was phenomenal and well portioned - just enough that I felt I was getting my money's worth. Our waiter was also very helpful with recommendations and clearly knew the menu well. They even gifted us a complimentary "baklava ice cream" as we were there to celebrate our anniversary. I wish I lived in Birmingham so I could go back!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Waiter was amazing! Food was awesome. Caramel lava cake was the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.