About Ocean

Ocean has been locally owned and operated by George Reis since 2002 and is located in the historic Five Points district of Birmingham’s Southside. Enjoy a casual night out with friends at the inviting and contemporary patio bar, or venture inside for some of the best seafood in town and an award-winning dining experience.
Ocean offers fresh seafood in an exciting and contemporary atmosphere. The menu features a wide selection of fish and fresh oysters arriving daily. Ocean focuses on sourcing sustainable seafood, local produce, and is proud to support local farms. Pulling flavors and inspiration from around the globe, Ocean is the recipient of the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for 2007-2015, the Wine Spectator Award 2004-2015, and is the winner of the Alabama Seafood Cookoff in 2015. Voted Best Chef, Wine List and rated 5 stars by the Birmingham News,
Reservations accepted Tuesday through Saturday.

1218 20th Street South
Birmingham, AL 35205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Highland and 13th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 933-0999

Website:
http://www.oceanbirmingham.com/

Catering:
For information about catering options, please contact our event coordinator, Rachel Langdon, at: Rachel@oceanbirmingham.com or call us at: (205)933-0999

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
George Reis

Private Party Facilities:
For information about our private dining facilities and private dining options, please contact our event coordinator, Rachel Langdon, at: Rachel@oceanbirmingham.com or give us a call at: (205) 933-0999

Private Party Contact:
Rachel Langdon: (205) 933-0999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Love in the Loft - Valentine's Day 2018

Ocean is proud to announce a one night only pop up restaurant on February 14, 2018. Reservations are still available and can me made by calling (205)933-0999.

For more information, including menus, please see

http://www.birminghamrestaurants.com/Restaurants/Pages/Ocean/Menus/Love-in-the-Loft-Valentines-Menu-

Ocean Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (34)
Special Occasion (34)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
See All
Romantic (29)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Business Meals (21)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Healthy (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Cozy (12)
Authentic (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Fun (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Casual (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Seasonal (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort by
S
1024 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a wonderful experience and our waiter, Patrick, was incredible.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

So I booked an 8 pm reservation for my husband and I for Feb 15th as it was his 41st birthday. We arrived at 8pm on the dot, seated in 3 mins at a table where it was less than 1 foot from another table of 5 and my husband already had to wait to sit in his seat as the waiter was constantly going back and forth. Hostess changed our table after my husband requested it. Our waiter comes and greets us by giving us a spill about items on menu and specials for the night. He leaves and comes back in time for us to order about 10 mins later. My husband orders whole yellow snappet and the waiter says they are out of it. Now unless they ran out within the 10 mins he was gone I'm pretty sure they were already out of it and within his spill he did not care to mention it. He told us they only order like 5 pieces for the day. They open at 5:30 pm and had only been open 2 1/2 hours so it was not late by any means. So my husband decides he will just eat appetizers cause he is not happy about this omission re: the fish being sold out. He decides 15 mins later to order an entree and the waiter sells us on the grouper as the accompanying items are plantains that pair well so he orders that. The waiter brings the plate with no plantains and says oh by the way they ran out of plantains and so you have brussel sprouts on there instead just on case you were wondering.... really???!! Since it seems like they only order like 5 of everything all we ask is that the waiter tells us up front and then we can decide whether we want to stay and eat or go elsewhere. Just poor planning and the waiter did not anticipate anything well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

Seating us for our reservation 30 minutes after our reservation got us off to a bad start. But the service and food were great after that. This was Valentine's Day, so I'm sure things were a bit more hectic there than usual.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

Ocean is always so good. One of our favorite places in Birmingham

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was fantastic. We had sushi as an appetizer and it was the best I’ve ever had. I will be getting it as a meal when I go back! Prices were very reasonable. Great service. Get the Baklava ice cream!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Food was great, service was outstanding. Shoutout to my waiter Patrick, who made the experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Server was great. Hostess was overwhelmed and undersupported for volume.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Great evening! Definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 9, 2018

Excellent drinks, food, and service. Great experience!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 9, 2018

Elizabeth was awesome! I had to increase my party size two days prior and she made it happen! Food was fabulous as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 8, 2018

Excellent food and impeccable, attentive service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 7, 2018

Great seafood in Birmingham!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 7, 2018

Early V-day. Nice night. Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Friends met before a couple of events. Pleasant server but slow drinks service. Our entrees were coming out at different times and got mixed up. Now, we were running up against out event times ( we did allow 1.5 hours to dine). The server was very nice about the issues but we were disappointed in the evening at Ocean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 1, 2018

Ocean was by far the best food I have had in Birmingham. I lived in Atlanta for four years as well, which Is a huge foody community. The chef has topped my list. The location , the food , the ambiance was incredible. Our server was so kind and attentive. I had the crispy skin snapper with ratatouille . My lovely wife had the lobster tails with creamed potatoes. So delicious. Not overly buttery. Ocean cares so much about the seas food tasting like it’s suppose to without having to mask flavor. Loved it!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 30, 2018

Great scallops and interesting desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Need a bigger bar. We got there early to have drinks but bar was completely full of people eating meals there. Otherwise, food was great. Service a little slow to start with but picked up. Also, disappointed that one of the dessert we were looking forward to was sold out but they did offer other options in its place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Very good as usual. Filet not as good as past. But still Excellent. Oyster were also very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 27, 2018

Birthday celebration. Go here every years to celebrate sister and best friend birthdays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 26, 2018

This was my 4th time at Ocean. Each time it gets better and better! Great wine and amazing food. The crab cake appetizer was incredible! Our server was very attentive and polite. We enjoyed our evening at Ocean with friends. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 26, 2018

We had an excellent experience at Ocean. The food, from appetizers to dessert, was outstanding, and the service (thank you Ricky!) was also top-notch. The restaurant called to confirm my reservation and asked if we were celebrating a special occasion, and because we were, they reserved a large corner table for our eight-person party and made special note that we understood we had that table all evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 26, 2018

We have eaten at Ocean on many occasions and, regardless of the event the food and service are always exceptional.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 26, 2018

Absolutely one of the best in the Southeast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 25, 2018

The Alabama oysters were divine. Fresh whole flounder very fresh and very good, both fried and roasted. Beautiful dining room. The whole staff seemed a bit inefficient and confused as if there had been a lot of recent turnover.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 24, 2018

I have always loved ocean but not this time the waitress was abrupt and not eager to accommodate our wishes we felt like the prices had gone up considering the service. The birthday boy was served a wonderful complimentary dessert

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 24, 2018

Great service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 24, 2018

We returned after a year or two and were not disappointed. This restaurant has been open and successful for maybe over 10 years. The environment, lighting and service is among the best in town. We had the greek salad which was large and just the right combination of oil and vinegar.
The grouper was very good, a bit small in size and the scallops were very good.... High end dining, great atmosphere.....might be noisy when full.....expensive and what is becomming routine in town.......tiny portions........bring your wallet !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Bachelorette party of 9. Was not happy with overall experience. Had reservations for 915 changed them to 930 because we were running late. Got there at 924 stated they will seat us at 930 since reservations were then. So we sat at bar a little after 10 still was not seated stated they were preparing a private area for us finally seated approx 1030 waiter was good just working alone poured water no orders for drinks. Out of grouper, oysters, & "butter." Valet brought keys in stating he was leaving cars parked out front. Finally got food brides sisters was cold.....manager was pleasant & helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Five people, 5 different meals, all delicious!! William was a fantastic waiter.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Wonderful food and atmosphere! Never disappoints

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 19, 2018

Great food. Service was very good. Excellent menu. Recommend highly. No negatives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 13, 2018

They were so nice to move us to a private room after they realized we were celebrating a bachelorette. They went above and beyond. Minus not having mint for any of the mixed drinks we wanted, it was a perfect night!

Tags: Bar Seating, Healthy, Late-night Find, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2018

We dine here occasionally and always enjoy it. My husband had the grouper and it was a little under cooked. The table next to us had the same dish and theirs was under cooked as well.
It took a little too long for our waitress to get to the table after we were seated, otherwise she was very attentive, helpful, knowledgeable and polite.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Everything was wonderful.

Thank you for a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 4, 2018

Favorite restaurant! Food and service are consistently superb. Favorite foods are the Ocean salad, whole fish, filet, baklava ice cream dessert. Only complaint is - it's a little too loud at times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 3, 2018

Dinner and drinks were excellent! However, service was subpar. Our reservation was for 5:30 (right when they open). Service was excellent while we were our waitress’s only table. But, as soon as she had 2 more tables, we were completely ignored. We were finished with our entrees for 10 minutes until someone else came to take our plates away, and then another 8 minutes until our waitress came over with dessert menus. Excellent food, but we will choose a different restaurant next time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on December 31, 2017

I understand Quality vs Quantity but I got a kids meal for 37.00.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2017

I went to Ocean for my 1-year anniversary and it was fantastic. While I personally didn't love what I ordered (my fault), everything else was great. They even gave my girlfriend and me a dessert to celebrate the occasion. Definitely will be back... but only for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 29, 2017

The food was absolutely wonderful along with the service. Daniel took great care of us. We can’t wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.