About Ocean

1218 20th Street South
Birmingham, AL 35205
View Larger Map

Ocean has been locally owned and operated by George Reis since 2002 and is located in the historic Five Points district of Birmingham’s Southside. Enjoy a casual night out with friends at the inviting and contemporary patio bar, or venture inside for some of the best seafood in town and an award-winning dining experience.
Ocean offers fresh seafood in an exciting and contemporary atmosphere. The menu features a wide selection of fish and fresh oysters arriving daily. Ocean focuses on sourcing sustainable seafood, local produce, and is proud to support local farms. Pulling flavors and inspiration from around the globe, Ocean is the recipient of the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for 2007-2015, the Wine Spectator Award 2004-2015, and is the winner of the Alabama Seafood Cookoff in 2015. Voted Best Chef, Wine List and rated 5 stars by the Birmingham News,
Reservations accepted Tuesday through Saturday.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Highland and 13th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 933-0999

Website:
http://www.oceanbirmingham.com/

Catering:
For information about catering options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or call us at: (205)933-0999

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
George Reis

Private Party Facilities:
For information about our private dining facilities and private dining options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or give us a call at: (205) 933-0999

Private Party Contact:
Heather Boone: 2059330999x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Ocean
Pumpkin Cake, Ice Cream, Pumpkin Seeds & Caramelized Berries
Whole Red Snapper
Wood Grilled Pompano Whole Fish
Nori Crusted Tuna, Wasabi Mashed Potatoes, Snow Pea Tendrils & Red Chili Oil
Trio Of Ceviches
Wood Grilled Grouper
Wood Grilled Grouper With Risotto Turnips & Carrots
Greek Style With Crispy Greens, Roma Tomatoes, Purple Onions & Kalamato Olives Salad
Fried Feta Cheese
Inside Out Crunch Salmon, Cream Cheese & Asparagus
Oysters
Sushi
Pumpkin Cake
Chilean Sea Bass
Bread & Rosemary Olive Oil
Red Salad With Fried Feta
Spicy Tuna Tempura Bonbons Ahi Tuna, Cream Cheese, Sambal Hot Mustard, Sweet Chili Glaze
Whipped Peanut Butter Cheesecake
Chocolate Sin Cake
Water
White Chocolate Bread Pudding
Pan Seared Sesame Crusted Ahi Tuna
Sushi Sides
Pan Seared Sea Scallops
Grouper With Sauteed Vegetables
Wood Grilled Pompano
Mousse Cake
Pan Seared Grouper
Grilled Whole Red Snapper
Cucumber Salad
Ocean
The Way We Roll
Oyster Prep
Whole Flounder With A Side Of Lobster Tails
Homemade Poptart
Lobster tails
Wood Grilled Lobster Tails
Vodka Martini
Wood Grilled Flounder
Spicy Lobster Rangoons
Wood Grilled Pompano Fish
raw oysters
Coffee With Baileys
Lobster Bisque
Peach Bread Pudding
Cosmo & A Dirty Martini
Steak, Lobster Tails, Scallops, Cobia Platter
James Brown Soul Rolls
Baklava Ice Cream With Rose Scented Honey, Vanilla Anglaise
Grilled Cobia and Lobster Tails
Shrimp Bisque
Greek Style Salad With Fried Feta
Fried flounder

Ocean Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Birmingham
Best Service
Birmingham
Best Ambiance
Birmingham
5 More
Best Value
Birmingham
Fit for Foodies
Birmingham
Romantic
Birmingham
Special Occasion
Birmingham
Most Booked
Birmingham
Best Restaurants in Birmingham ›

special occasion (86)
fit for foodies (68)
romantic (62)
See All
notable wine list (43)
good for groups (42)
neighborhood gem (34)
hot spot (31)
vibrant bar scene (15)
late-night find (8)
great for outdoor dining (7)
great for lunch (3)
scenic view (3)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
563 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excelent, I had Scallops, customer had s ...

Dined 5 days ago

Excelent, I had Scallops, customer had steak, both were justcgreat

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

Food wasn't as good as you would expect ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food wasn't as good as you would expect from a premier restaurant. We were some what disappointed. The service was great and the atmosphere was good..

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Every time I visit Ocean I ask myself wh ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Every time I visit Ocean I ask myself why I don't do it more often. I find the wine list to be just the right size--variety, but not overkill. And the fish is simply terrific. Our server claimed the scallops were the best in Alabama--and being a skeptic, I took him up on it. Verdict: he's right. Just another example of an outstanding meal at Ocean.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Long one of our favorites, this night I ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Long one of our favorites, this night I would have to say we had perhaps the best waiter we've ever had. I wish I had recorded his name. The food is always good, perhaps a tad better this time than our last two experiences, but it has remained a favorite. Value gets a slight mark down purely on portion sizes. Restaurants seem to have trouble finding that nice middle ground, IMO.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just one word: Wonderful!!! Dinner was f ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Just one word: Wonderful!!! Dinner was for my finance's birthday. Our 5-star waiter Patrick was very attentive and well versed with the menu. Best waiter we've ever had. The other wait staff were also very attentive. The food was 5-star as well. Our steaks melted in our mouths and we ate everything on the plate. I would highly recommend Ocean to anyone who appreciates good service and a great meal. Be sure to reserve a table in advance as this is a popular spot.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my 3rd time at Ocean's. All th ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This was my 3rd time at Ocean's. All this year. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a wonderful evening of great food, nice environment and excellent staff members. We will be back...again and again....

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

The restaurant was HOT. The crab cakes w ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The restaurant was HOT. The crab cakes were tiny. One end of my small piece of grouper was chewy. The noise level was so bad that we misunderstood the description of the lobster entree. The service provided by our waitress, Charity, was outstanding . The only thing we heard about this place that met our expectations was price $$$$.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ocean is a Special Event

Dined on June 7, 2016

Great food, great service, and great experience. Ocean is a special event every time.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Anniversary Night at Ocean

Dined on June 5, 2016

I had looked around for somewhere special to take my wife out on our anniversary. I had heard of Ocean, but we had never gone there. From the moment that I called to make the reservations until the final cup of coffee, I have never been in an establishment before that met and exceeded all of my expectations. Knowing that it was our anniversary, we were seated in a quiet area, almost secluded from the remainder of the restaurant. I had ordered flowers for my wife, which were in place when we arrived. Our server, Charity, was there promptly after we had been seated. She was well versed on their menu. Charity made some excellent recommendations for our appetizers and for our main entrees. For appetizers, I chose the Ocean Salad with fried feta cheese bites that were just amazing. My wife had the Gulf Coast Blue Crab Cakes that were excellent. For our entrees, my wife had Wood Grilled Certified "Hereford" Filet Mignon that was to die for. So tender that you could cut it with a butter knife, cooked to a perfect medium rare. I chose Pan Seared Sea Scallops that were cooked perfectly. I have never eaten scallops anywhere that would match these in texture, taste, and presentation. We were visited shortly thereafter by one of the managers. He came by to see if everything was satisfactory and he also brought us an Anniversary card signed by the owners, chefs, and the staff. This was just another little surprise to add to our evening. After we finished with our meals, we were pleasantly surprised again when desserts were sent to our table, compliments of Ocean. I must say that this was one of the best dining experiences that my wife and I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. I would highly suggest that if you are looking for a great overall dining experience, choose to go to Ocean. You will be pleased. Thank you again, Ocean, for making our night special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

This was my first time dining at Ocean. ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

This was my first time dining at Ocean. The service was great and the food was exceptional. The only knock for me is that our table for two was pretty close to our neighbors. It was tough to have a conversation without everyone else's conversation bleeding into ours. Let's get back to the food. App: Bon Bon and soft shell crab roll. Both were very good. The Bon Bon portion is a little big (5 pieces) for an app but they are fabulous. I had the lobster entree and it was heavenly. Sweet, delicate and perfectly cooked. My wife had the pompano and it was cooked to perfection. We opted for the baklava ice for dessert and it was ridiculous. It was perfect in every way. The service is spot on and we will be a back. Make a reservation because this place filled up quick.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Restaurant!

Dined on June 3, 2016

I've been to Ocean a couple times now, and the service is always wonderful! The food is really good as well, and their mixed cocktails are tasty! I've had the salmon and steak and it was delicious. The halibut was very good but not my favorite dish. I will definitely be back for the salmon and/or steak again though!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food

Dined on June 1, 2016

Everything we ordered was delicious! Especially enjoyed the grouper.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ocean Anniversary

Dined on May 28, 2016

Dinner at Ocean was excellent as always. The food, service, and overall experience was exceptional. Thanks Ocean for making our anniversary dinner so special.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic and our server wa ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

The food was fantastic and our server was great! My husband had the Bouillabaisse and it was a bit spicy but very yummy. I had the Nori Tuna and it was very good as well. The white chocolate bread pudding is to die for. It was a bit loud because there were a few groups of tables that were drinking and not using their "inside voice" but thats not the restaurants fault. I definitely recommend trying this restaurant if you like good seafood.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our party attended for a graduation dinn ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Our party attended for a graduation dinner. The staff was accommodating, the food was excellent and the entire experience was wonderful. Would definitely go back!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time to eat at Ocean since the res ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

First time to eat at Ocean since the restaurant was re decorated. Very nice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I had our 2nd anniversary di ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I had our 2nd anniversary dinner here. The staff went out of their way to make us feel special. Oh, and the food was delicious, too.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant and completely underrated

Dined on May 15, 2016

Ocean doesn't get a ton of buzz around BHM since there are so many amazing award winning restaurants, but it is one of my absolute favorites and totally underrated. The filet is absolutely amazing! I get it every time even though it is more of a seafood restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Loud but good food, great bartenders

Dined on May 11, 2016

Loud but good food, great bartenders

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Remarkable Find

Dined on May 7, 2016

Ocean is truly a one of a kind find in Birmingham. The ambience and particularly the food rivals the finest restaurants even the Inn at Little Washington. The ability to select and build your meal according your preferences - large meal, small meal, seafood, was noteworthy. The food itself was exceptional. Service and attention by the staff was worthy of a five star rating. The Floor Manger Larry Denmark personally scanned and talked with many of the clients to ensure that all was well. Well done to a remarkable wait staff, kitchen staff and chef!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ocean B'ham

Dined on May 6, 2016

Service was great. Food was good and the location was good. We had a fantastic time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

Dined on April 28, 2016

Ocean is a fantastic restaurant! Thank you for participating in Dining Out for Life and supporting a local charity, AIDS Alabama! I finally got the tower of seafood, and it was delicious. The raw oysters were some of the best and freshest I've ever had. We are so lucky to have Ocean in our fine city.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food in Five Points

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was excellent... Perfectly seasoned and well potioned. If you're a seafood lover, Oceans is definitely the place to go in Birmingham!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We love Ocean but this experience was not the best

Dined on April 23, 2016

Ocean is one of our favorite restaurants, but this was not one of our best experiences. We were celebrating my 50th birthday and I had tuna and my wife had salmon. Salmon was not cooked they way my wife requested and my tuna was ok; not great. However, service was fantastic as always. Also, I had sushi and it was fantastic.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Family Get Together

Dined on April 22, 2016

Ocean has been around a long time and has remained consistent in its offerings over the years. It has not evolved as much as other fine dining establishments but that's not a bad thing as long as you get a quality experience. For starters we had calamari and oysters. The oysters were very fresh and sweet served on homemade crackers and with homemade hot sauce. The best entrees were the scallops and the tempura tuna, both perfectly cooked and presented. The offerings of Proseco and Sancerre paired perfectly. The overall experience was very enjoyable with no mistakes in delivery. There was a bit of road noise as we sat on the enclosed outer patio but nothing that subtracted from the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Birmingham. We take many clients here when they are in town. Food is always exceptional, especially the Seafood Tower appetizers and the sushi, but I've never had a bad meal here. And the service has always been great as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply amazing...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great service and even better food. Good selection of fresh oysters. We ordered the following: Grilled lobster and oysters for appetizers: both were amazing. Oyster stew (maybe the best flavored dish that I have ever had in my life) Crab cakes (small but good combination of flavors - sweet, salty, and spicy) Scallops (by far the best scallops that I have ever eaten - manager told us that they hire a scuba diver that hand picks their scallops for them) White chocolate bread pudding with homemade ice creams (cake batter, peanut butter truffle, key lime pie, and raspberry lemonade sorbet): the bread pudding was the best dessert that I have ever had in my entire life We live in Georgia. It is well worth the 2 and half hour drive to go here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 15, 2016

It wasn't bad but the quality of the food didn't match the price. Bonefish, the chain, has tastier seafood at a better price. Good service. Probably won't go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection!

Dined on April 13, 2016

Ocean's surpassed every expectation! I chose this venue for a birthday celebration. The service was awesome. The food portions were very generous and the taste was superb! This restaurant is an excellent choice for any occasion.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

not as good as the first time

Dined on April 13, 2016

I enjoyed a great meal at Ocean about 2 years ago and was excited to return when a work trip brought me to Birmingham again. The service was excellent, the sushi good, the cocktails okay, all other dishes mediocre (crab claws from the raw bar, a snapper entree). There wasn't much flavor, the snapper was tough, just not much going on. For me it's all about the food, and I was disappointed.

Tags: romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great service, great menu, great ambianc ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Great service, great menu, great ambiance! Love the bar area and it was a popular place to be! We had Greek salad, lobster bisque, filet, fish special and bread pudding. All of it was delicious! Service was attentive, polite and knowledgable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AWESOME STAFF

Dined on April 7, 2016

This was our 2nd time dining at Ocean's and we brought a friend for her first time. Once again we were not disappointed in anything. The staff is WONDERFUL. The 3 of us were there celebrating all of our birthdays. The manager came over and thanked us for choosing this restaurant over any other. He also presented each of us with a birthday card that the entire staff signed. YES THAT WAS OVER AND BEYOND and so appreciated. Let me not forget to mention the waiter who was knowledgeable. The food was amazing. I would say for everyone to order something different so you can have a taste of each others. We did and were pleased with all that was ordered. Thank you Ocean's staff for making our birthday's so special.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was absolutely excellent. The fo ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Service was absolutely excellent. The food was a gracious portion. Oyster Rockefeller was phenomenal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining for a special date night

Dined on March 25, 2016

My wife and I celebrated her promotion at work with dinner at Ocean. The food was great, the service was on point and the prices were reasonable. There are quite a few nice places to eat around 5 points and for seafood, this one is at the top of our list. Overall a very good experience and one we will enjoy again in the future.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday night

Dined on March 25, 2016

What a great place to celebrate my birthday in Bham. The food was great! Service was extraodinaire. Setting was warm and cozy. The abyss was off-the-chain!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for anniversary

Dined on March 19, 2016

My bride and I celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary last Saturday night at Ocean. It was very, very good. The food was delicious and our service was out of this world.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Why a great restaurant! Great food, grea ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Why a great restaurant! Great food, great service. Can't wait to go back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner- outstanding service

Dined on March 17, 2016

We ate here on our wedding anniversary and had outstanding service from William. The staff was so kind to give us a card as well! Dinner was exceptionally tasty. We always love the grilled lobster available as an appetizer but not on the menu. They have amazing steaks too. This is always our first choice for special occasion dinners because they have great service and incredible food. Thank you for making our evening so special!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Incredibly good food

Dined on March 17, 2016

Could not recommend more highly for wonderful food. Started with lobster tail appetizer - delicious start and generous enough for two. Had the ocean salad with our meals (grouper and scallops). Both were excellent. Not clearly indicated was that there was an extra charge on the ticket for fried feta with salad. We did not request this, only asked whether the salad with meals was the same as one on fromt of menu and were told 'yes' by waitress. She should have explained there would be a charge. Her service skills were lacking, but other staff made up for her shortcomings. Wine we wanted was not available although listed on menu - the one waitress substituted was not nearly as good. Finished with baklava ice cream which was a treat beyond measure. Atmosphere is loud, so not a place for an intimate dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Good, not great though. Portions not good.

Dined on March 16, 2016

Ocean is one of my favorite "special occasion" restaurants, and I say that primarily because of the price of the food. The seafood has always been fresh each visit, but it seems as if the portions of food are getting smaller and smaller. We ordered the crab cakes as an appetizer and I tell you they were the smallest crab cakes I have had served to me ever. It is really ridiculous. Overall fresh seafood, great atmosphere, but next time we may opt for another seafood restaurant that can actually satisfy my appetite without breaking my pocket.

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.