About Ocean

1218 20th Street South
Birmingham, AL 35205
View Larger Map

Ocean has been locally owned and operated by George Reis since 2002 and is located in the historic Five Points district of Birmingham’s Southside. Enjoy a casual night out with friends at the inviting and contemporary patio bar, or venture inside for some of the best seafood in town and an award-winning dining experience.
Ocean offers fresh seafood in an exciting and contemporary atmosphere. The menu features a wide selection of fish and fresh oysters arriving daily. Ocean focuses on sourcing sustainable seafood, local produce, and is proud to support local farms. Pulling flavors and inspiration from around the globe, Ocean is the recipient of the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for 2007-2015, the Wine Spectator Award 2004-2015, and is the winner of the Alabama Seafood Cookoff in 2015. Voted Best Chef, Wine List and rated 5 stars by the Birmingham News,
Reservations accepted Tuesday through Saturday.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Highland and 13th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 933-0999

Website:
http://www.oceanbirmingham.com/

Catering:
For information about catering options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or call us at: (205)933-0999

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
George Reis

Private Party Facilities:
For information about our private dining facilities and private dining options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or give us a call at: (205) 933-0999

Private Party Contact:
Heather Boone: 2059330999x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Get your Saturday night reservations early for Fathers Day! We will be booked up soon!

Ocean Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Alabama
Best Overall
Birmingham
Best Service
Birmingham
6 More
Best Ambiance
Birmingham
Best Value
Birmingham
Fit for Foodies
Birmingham
Romantic
Birmingham
Special Occasion
Birmingham
Most Booked
Birmingham
Best Restaurants in Birmingham ›

special occasion (70)
fit for foodies (55)
romantic (54)
See All
good for groups (35)
notable wine list (34)
hot spot (26)
neighborhood gem (23)
vibrant bar scene (14)
late-night find (8)
great for outdoor dining (5)
great for lunch (3)
scenic view (3)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
550 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was fantastic and our server wa ...

Dined 5 days ago

The food was fantastic and our server was great! My husband had the Bouillabaisse and it was a bit spicy but very yummy. I had the Nori Tuna and it was very good as well. The white chocolate bread pudding is to die for. It was a bit loud because there were a few groups of tables that were drinking and not using their "inside voice" but thats not the restaurants fault. I definitely recommend trying this restaurant if you like good seafood.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our party attended for a graduation dinn ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Our party attended for a graduation dinner. The staff was accommodating, the food was excellent and the entire experience was wonderful. Would definitely go back!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time to eat at Ocean since the res ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

First time to eat at Ocean since the restaurant was re decorated. Very nice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I had our 2nd anniversary di ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I had our 2nd anniversary dinner here. The staff went out of their way to make us feel special. Oh, and the food was delicious, too.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant and completely underrated

Dined on May 15, 2016

Ocean doesn't get a ton of buzz around BHM since there are so many amazing award winning restaurants, but it is one of my absolute favorites and totally underrated. The filet is absolutely amazing! I get it every time even though it is more of a seafood restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Loud but good food, great bartenders

Dined on May 11, 2016

Loud but good food, great bartenders

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Remarkable Find

Dined on May 7, 2016

Ocean is truly a one of a kind find in Birmingham. The ambience and particularly the food rivals the finest restaurants even the Inn at Little Washington. The ability to select and build your meal according your preferences - large meal, small meal, seafood, was noteworthy. The food itself was exceptional. Service and attention by the staff was worthy of a five star rating. The Floor Manger Larry Denmark personally scanned and talked with many of the clients to ensure that all was well. Well done to a remarkable wait staff, kitchen staff and chef!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ocean B'ham

Dined on May 6, 2016

Service was great. Food was good and the location was good. We had a fantastic time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous!

Dined on April 28, 2016

Ocean is a fantastic restaurant! Thank you for participating in Dining Out for Life and supporting a local charity, AIDS Alabama! I finally got the tower of seafood, and it was delicious. The raw oysters were some of the best and freshest I've ever had. We are so lucky to have Ocean in our fine city.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food in Five Points

Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was excellent... Perfectly seasoned and well potioned. If you're a seafood lover, Oceans is definitely the place to go in Birmingham!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We love Ocean but this experience was not the best

Dined on April 23, 2016

Ocean is one of our favorite restaurants, but this was not one of our best experiences. We were celebrating my 50th birthday and I had tuna and my wife had salmon. Salmon was not cooked they way my wife requested and my tuna was ok; not great. However, service was fantastic as always. Also, I had sushi and it was fantastic.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Family Get Together

Dined on April 22, 2016

Ocean has been around a long time and has remained consistent in its offerings over the years. It has not evolved as much as other fine dining establishments but that's not a bad thing as long as you get a quality experience. For starters we had calamari and oysters. The oysters were very fresh and sweet served on homemade crackers and with homemade hot sauce. The best entrees were the scallops and the tempura tuna, both perfectly cooked and presented. The offerings of Proseco and Sancerre paired perfectly. The overall experience was very enjoyable with no mistakes in delivery. There was a bit of road noise as we sat on the enclosed outer patio but nothing that subtracted from the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Birmingham. We take many clients here when they are in town. Food is always exceptional, especially the Seafood Tower appetizers and the sushi, but I've never had a bad meal here. And the service has always been great as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply amazing...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Great service and even better food. Good selection of fresh oysters. We ordered the following: Grilled lobster and oysters for appetizers: both were amazing. Oyster stew (maybe the best flavored dish that I have ever had in my life) Crab cakes (small but good combination of flavors - sweet, salty, and spicy) Scallops (by far the best scallops that I have ever eaten - manager told us that they hire a scuba diver that hand picks their scallops for them) White chocolate bread pudding with homemade ice creams (cake batter, peanut butter truffle, key lime pie, and raspberry lemonade sorbet): the bread pudding was the best dessert that I have ever had in my entire life We live in Georgia. It is well worth the 2 and half hour drive to go here.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 15, 2016

It wasn't bad but the quality of the food didn't match the price. Bonefish, the chain, has tastier seafood at a better price. Good service. Probably won't go back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection!

Dined on April 13, 2016

Ocean's surpassed every expectation! I chose this venue for a birthday celebration. The service was awesome. The food portions were very generous and the taste was superb! This restaurant is an excellent choice for any occasion.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

not as good as the first time

Dined on April 13, 2016

I enjoyed a great meal at Ocean about 2 years ago and was excited to return when a work trip brought me to Birmingham again. The service was excellent, the sushi good, the cocktails okay, all other dishes mediocre (crab claws from the raw bar, a snapper entree). There wasn't much flavor, the snapper was tough, just not much going on. For me it's all about the food, and I was disappointed.

Tags: romantic, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great service, great menu, great ambianc ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

Great service, great menu, great ambiance! Love the bar area and it was a popular place to be! We had Greek salad, lobster bisque, filet, fish special and bread pudding. All of it was delicious! Service was attentive, polite and knowledgable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AWESOME STAFF

Dined on April 7, 2016

This was our 2nd time dining at Ocean's and we brought a friend for her first time. Once again we were not disappointed in anything. The staff is WONDERFUL. The 3 of us were there celebrating all of our birthdays. The manager came over and thanked us for choosing this restaurant over any other. He also presented each of us with a birthday card that the entire staff signed. YES THAT WAS OVER AND BEYOND and so appreciated. Let me not forget to mention the waiter who was knowledgeable. The food was amazing. I would say for everyone to order something different so you can have a taste of each others. We did and were pleased with all that was ordered. Thank you Ocean's staff for making our birthday's so special.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was absolutely excellent. The fo ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Service was absolutely excellent. The food was a gracious portion. Oyster Rockefeller was phenomenal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dining for a special date night

Dined on March 25, 2016

My wife and I celebrated her promotion at work with dinner at Ocean. The food was great, the service was on point and the prices were reasonable. There are quite a few nice places to eat around 5 points and for seafood, this one is at the top of our list. Overall a very good experience and one we will enjoy again in the future.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday night

Dined on March 25, 2016

What a great place to celebrate my birthday in Bham. The food was great! Service was extraodinaire. Setting was warm and cozy. The abyss was off-the-chain!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for anniversary

Dined on March 19, 2016

My bride and I celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary last Saturday night at Ocean. It was very, very good. The food was delicious and our service was out of this world.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Why a great restaurant! Great food, grea ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Why a great restaurant! Great food, great service. Can't wait to go back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner- outstanding service

Dined on March 17, 2016

We ate here on our wedding anniversary and had outstanding service from William. The staff was so kind to give us a card as well! Dinner was exceptionally tasty. We always love the grilled lobster available as an appetizer but not on the menu. They have amazing steaks too. This is always our first choice for special occasion dinners because they have great service and incredible food. Thank you for making our evening so special!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Incredibly good food

Dined on March 17, 2016

Could not recommend more highly for wonderful food. Started with lobster tail appetizer - delicious start and generous enough for two. Had the ocean salad with our meals (grouper and scallops). Both were excellent. Not clearly indicated was that there was an extra charge on the ticket for fried feta with salad. We did not request this, only asked whether the salad with meals was the same as one on fromt of menu and were told 'yes' by waitress. She should have explained there would be a charge. Her service skills were lacking, but other staff made up for her shortcomings. Wine we wanted was not available although listed on menu - the one waitress substituted was not nearly as good. Finished with baklava ice cream which was a treat beyond measure. Atmosphere is loud, so not a place for an intimate dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Good, not great though. Portions not good.

Dined on March 16, 2016

Ocean is one of my favorite "special occasion" restaurants, and I say that primarily because of the price of the food. The seafood has always been fresh each visit, but it seems as if the portions of food are getting smaller and smaller. We ordered the crab cakes as an appetizer and I tell you they were the smallest crab cakes I have had served to me ever. It is really ridiculous. Overall fresh seafood, great atmosphere, but next time we may opt for another seafood restaurant that can actually satisfy my appetite without breaking my pocket.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Experience and Great Value

Dined on March 13, 2016

Dined here for a special occasion - from the pre-appetizer cocktails until the end of the meal was not disappointed. Waiter was knowledgeable and friendly. Table was constantly being cleared off, water glasses never got empty. Food was delicious. Was informed that they have a Level 3 Sommelier, who made a perfect selection for wine to pair with our meal. Oysters were fantastic! Will definitely be going back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on March 2, 2016

I took my boyfriend here for his 30th birthday. I have been here several times, and it is always on point. This was his first time, and he loved it. We will definitely be back in the near future.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I came in a party of 4 and we had pre-pu ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

I came in a party of 4 and we had pre-purchased a 4-course dinner for 4 as part of a school fundraiser. The manager and the server took very good care of us and the dinner was terrific. I wish I had gotten the baklava ice cream for dessert, it looked like the best!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exciting Friday Evening

Dined on February 20, 2016

Had another great experience at Ocean on Friday night. Our table was ready per our reservation, service was outstanding, and our server, William, took excellent care of us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite Birmingham restaurant.

Dined on February 17, 2016

We always choose Ocean for any special occasion or important business dinner. Food and service are top notch. While there may be more hype for some other excellent Birmingham downtown restaurants, we are very partial to Ocean.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We experienced a wonderful greeting upon ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We experienced a wonderful greeting upon arrival. The mood was wonderful as well. The waitress brought us out oysters on the half shell as a pre-dinner appetizer. My husband and I shared the lobster roll.we both had salads which were wonderful. For maincourse I had the group are special and my husband had the lobster pasta. The wine the food the experience was wonderful.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent Fish Friday?

Dined on February 13, 2016

Great chow. A bit pricey on the oysters ams wine list... but they offer a decent selection of both.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was terrific.

Dined on February 10, 2016

Went to Ocean for my anniversary dinner with my wife. The beverages, dinner, appetizers (oysters Bienville -awesome) were all extremely tasty. Only negative would be the noise level. Makes it a bit hard to carry on a conversation. Other than that, this is an outstanding place to enjoy a quality dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Good But NOT Great..

Dined on February 7, 2016

The service was GREAT, but I was disappointed in my entrée. I had the Grouper with asparagus on white cheddar cheese grits. The presentation on the entrée was sloppy, and there was no asparagus. The Grouper was grilled perfectly, but the dish still failed short on flavor, especially for the $34.00 price. The fried green tomatoes, the blue ocean martini, and the white chocolate bread pudding was all good. I would probably go back for drinks, but at this point I would NOT go back for the food.

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A 5 star restaurant

Dined on January 29, 2016

Great restaurant. Great presentation, delicious food, great and friendly service. Definitely a top restaurant and I love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lives up to its reputation

Dined on January 24, 2016

We had heard many good things about Ocean and it lived up to all of them. The service was outstanding. Our server was fantastic; she anticipated our every need. Although it was Saturday night, we were never rushed and it was as though we were the only folks there. The food was wonderful as well. We had oysters, crab cakes, and scallops and all were awesome. The creme brûlée was not our favorite but it had a chocolate base and we are purists when it comes to that, so we probably are not good judges of that. Otherwise, every bite was heaven. I wouldn't hesitate to go back; it was a great experience in every way. We will definitely be regulars!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful dining

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

Ocean is a remarkable restaurant. Beautiful surroundings, top notch service and wonderful food!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience last Tue. Nite. We ...

Dined on January 13, 2016

Wonderful experience last Tue. Nite. We met LARRY, the Mgr, and loved Melissa, our server! Will return again for another special occasion! Food was amazing!

Tags: special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.