Ocean

4.6
1112 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
Ocean has been locally owned and operated by George Reis since 2002 and is located in the historic Five Points district of Birmingham’s Southside. Enjoy a casual night out with friends at the inviting and contemporary patio bar, or venture inside for some of the best seafood in town and an award-winning dining experience.
Ocean offers fresh seafood in an exciting and contemporary atmosphere. The menu features a wide selection of fish and fresh oysters arriving daily. Ocean focuses on sourcing sustainable seafood, local produce, and is proud to support local farms. Pulling flavors and inspiration from around the globe, Ocean is the recipient of the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for 2007-2015, the Wine Spectator Award 2004-2015, and is the winner of the Alabama Seafood Cookoff in 2015. Voted Best Chef, Wine List and rated 5 stars by the Birmingham News,
Reservations accepted Tuesday through Saturday.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Contemporary American, International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(205) 933-0999
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
George Reis
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
For information about our private dining facilities and private dining options, please contact our event coordinator, Rachel Langdon, at: Rachel@oceanbirmingham.com or give us a call at: (205) 933-0999
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Rachel Langdon: (205) 933-0999
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
For information about catering options, please contact our event coordinator, Rachel Langdon, at: Rachel@oceanbirmingham.com or call us at: (205)933-0999
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Highland and 13th Ave
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary Valet Parking
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1112 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.6
service
4.5
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 4 days ago

Lobster tails and Halibut was dry. Blackberry cobbler had no blackberries or juice, very dry, just crust.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely outstanding. EVERYTHING. Service and wait staff smiling and happy. Not a long time to wait on food. Presentation of all plates was beautiful. AND. Every item of food was expertly and tastefully prepared. We will be returning.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Great B’ham restaurant! If you like seafood, this is THE place. Steak and 1 or two other options for non-fish/seafood eaters. Highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Chef Richard Trent's combinations of flavor and his preps on very fresh fish are to be commended. Both my wife and my dinners were exceptionally delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Great time but extremely noisy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 17, 2018

The food was wonderful. Liked the steak better than Ruth Chris. Will def be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 15, 2018

My wife and I went to Ocean on Friday night for dinner. We normally go 5-6 times a year. Overall, the meal was good. I got the fresh shrimp fried. My two (2) complaints are first that they’re where only three (3) small shrimp. In the past, there would be anywhere from 5 to 6 shrimp for the same dish. The price of $31 for three shrimp was ridiculous. Second, I asked for another “don’t call me Shirley” drink the waiter responded that they had: “ran out of the cherry juice” to make it. I’ll have to debate hard on whether we will return to Ocean - their standards may be slipping!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

My wife and I celebrated a special occasion at Oceans and were thoroughly impressed and delighted. The ambience was sophisticated, the staff was professional and kind, and the food was outstanding and creative. My wife required food without gluten, sugar or dairy, and the staff was pleasantly accommodating to every need while serving delicious food. We definitely plan to go back and create more special memories at Oceans.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Excellent ambiance, service, and food. The only complaint is that the tables are so close together that we could hear the couple next to us arguing about Christmas plans for most of the duration of our date. It was really awkward. I’d definitely go back to Ocean but hope the two top tables have a little more space between them.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Nice atmosphere, friendly service although not very quick. The food was very good although you didn’t get much of it for the price tag. Ladies restroom needed attention. The condition looked more like a bar and less like a fine restaurant. Overall it was a decent experience and I enjoyed the group I went with but not really enjoyable enough I’d want to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Our Server William was the best-ever! The Lobster dinner had me thinking I was in Rockland, Maine. Fresh and tasty!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

We were pleased with our choice of Ocean to celebrate our anniversary. Excellent food and service from our server, Tabitha.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Great meal and taste combinations.

Tabitha was an excellent server.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

This was our first time to Ocean, the reservation was quick and easy, wait staff was friendly and did not hover over our table but was nearby if needed. The food was very good and would of like a little bigger portion but overall we totally enjoyed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Great food. Did not like table next to window to other dinning area. It felt like we were sitting with strangers. Will not accept that table next time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Everything was wonderful, as usual.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Selection of oysters is amazing. Food and service were excellent as always.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Stopped in Birmingham just for a night en route to the Gulf. Had seen the restaurant's name on the hotel website and thought we'd inaugurate our fish-eating vacation there. It could not have been a better experience. The server (Justin?) was warm, welcoming, and helpful. Though the restaurant is elegant, indeed beautiful, it is not forbidding. We were given a quiet table and urged to take our time. The food was just terrific. Had halibut ceviche (fish paired with cubes of other things I can't remember, except for fresh local radish slices) and another appetizer I can no longer remember except that it too was very good. Loved the cucumber-salad/mignonette served with fresh bread and crostini (really good idea to replace butter with that little relish before a rich meal of fish). My friend had the pompano and I the flounder. A great and very fairly priced Sancerre by the glass, generously poured. Good French-press coffee. To be honest, we sometimes avoid restaurants with the kind of rep Ocean has: they are too often self-conscious, too impressed with themselves ("Have you ever eaten at ---- before?") and the food is not as good as it's supposed to be. Ocean is clearly in the hands of people with a lot of respect for the food and the business of making people happy. Loved it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Better quality and service than pricier Texas seafood restaurants. Fresh and creative dishes and filet mignon in seafood restaurant was better than Pappas Bros in Houston

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Arrived 15 minutes prior to reservation time and waited 30 minutes to be seated. Two other small parties arrived after us and were seated immediately. When I questioned the hostess she said we could be seated in the courtyard or continue to wait. I asked to speak with a manager and was immediately seated. Patrick, our server, was excellent. The food was very bland and had little taste or seasoning. We ordered the grouper and halibut. We will not be returning.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2018

The seafood at Ocean is excellent. Like some other fine restaurants in Birmingham the choice of vegetables in limited. Other fine Greek seafood restaurants like Kyma in Atlanta or
Estiatorio Milos in Manhattan have fine seafood and excellent choices for vegetables. Ocean is pricey for Birmingham. The only deficit at Ocean is even when sitting in a booth the noise level is high. Probably best to go early on an Tuesday-Thursday when it is less crowded.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Excellent meal. The oysters were fresh and superb. My scallops were perfect. We will return soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Daughter’s 13th birthday

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Celebrated anniversary and birthday together. Food was excellent - never disappoints. Service was great as well - Lisa was outstanding. We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 23, 2018

The food was good but not great. We were expecting something special but were disappointed. We will cross this one off our list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

Beautiful meal with excellent fish. Only downside was our waitress wasn't very familiar with wine pairings, so had trouble recommending wines for our individual meals.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

food was fantastic. great service, nice atmosphere,

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Great meal at a long-established fine dining spot in Birmingham.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

William was a great server and food was great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Made reservations for my moms birthday for 7pm on Saturday. Received a call from Ocean to confirm time and number of guests.Saturday afternoon. Arrived and was seated quickly.
Appetizers arrived shortly after ordering and entrees as well. Service and food was outstanding for this special occasion.
Perfect place for that special occasion

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Ive never been to a restaurant that I sent my entrée back and would end up highly recommending and/or returning the next day, but this is the case with Ocean. We had oysters, a sushi roll and pan seared Grouper, which was slightly overcooked, and our waiter insisted he re-fire, and the poached lobster. The food was incredible, the staff was extremely attentive and helpful and did what needed to be done to make the experience top notch. When I return to Birmingham, I will be at Ocean.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

My friends and family enjoyed my 31st birthday dinner! Ocean has never let me down. Great food, great atmosphere and GREAT service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

From start to finish everything was excellent!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Best service in Birmingham. Our server went well above and beyond to accommodate us

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Quickly seated. Service was attentive but not overbearing. Appetizer took longer than anticipated but server stayed in contact with us about the delay. Entrees were outstanding! Entire experience was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Awesomeness

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Excellent food and service. Not rushed. A little noisy but conversation possible. Overall n excellent experience in a trendy area of Birmingham

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Very nice. AC could have been cooler. Very warm and some of the flash fry foods smells were strong.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

the food was absolutely magnificent. I had the halibut ceviche to start, and the scallops for my main course. The scallops were the absolute best I’ve ever had. The shitaki mushroom bacon was so smoky and complex. It truly was an extraordinary dinner.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 4, 2018

As soon as we arrived at the table (we were the last two to get there only about 10 minutes late) we were told that she would give us a moment to look over the menu and be back. She came back within 2 minutes and asked for our order. Since this was a birthday get together we were enjoying catching up and talking. I was mid sentence in conversation and she bluntly interrupted me telling us it was time to take our order and was annoyed when we weren't ready. When my mom said that the salad dressing was too spicy for her liking she came back with the new salad and slung it down in front of her and walked off. For dessert: She insisted that she had something coming out for me for my birthday. I told her that I would enjoy one dessert in particular without the cookie and again she repeated that she had something special coming out for me. So I just went with it. But when she came out she had berries in a martini glass with a sugar rim. I was disappointed to say the least considering I would have much rather enjoyed another dessert. That she didn't even give me the option was the most startling part. After dessert my husband mentioned that I could have easily had the pot de creme and she replied, "yeah I didn't think about that". My husband and I have worked in fine dining over 30 years combined. Knowing that restaurants do operate on a schedule and their might be a second seating after us we were keenly aware that we couldn't sit and chat for hours. We are all quick eaters so I think we got in and out in a reasonable amount of time. Despite this she made the whole experience feel rushed, left most members of our table feeling anxious, and made it clear that we were to hurry up. I know this was one server and I won't let this prohibit me from returning or recommending Ocean to others. But as restaurant owners I thought you should know that her performance was less than desirable and certainly not the caliber I would expect from Ocean.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
28