About Ocean

Ocean has been locally owned and operated by George Reis since 2002 and is located in the historic Five Points district of Birmingham’s Southside. Enjoy a casual night out with friends at the inviting and contemporary patio bar, or venture inside for some of the best seafood in town and an award-winning dining experience.
Ocean offers fresh seafood in an exciting and contemporary atmosphere. The menu features a wide selection of fish and fresh oysters arriving daily. Ocean focuses on sourcing sustainable seafood, local produce, and is proud to support local farms. Pulling flavors and inspiration from around the globe, Ocean is the recipient of the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for 2007-2015, the Wine Spectator Award 2004-2015, and is the winner of the Alabama Seafood Cookoff in 2015. Voted Best Chef, Wine List and rated 5 stars by the Birmingham News,
Reservations accepted Tuesday through Saturday.

1218 20th Street South
Birmingham, AL 35205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Highland and 13th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 933-0999

Website:
http://www.oceanbirmingham.com/

Catering:
For information about catering options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or call us at: (205)933-0999

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
George Reis

Private Party Facilities:
For information about our private dining facilities and private dining options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or give us a call at: (205) 933-0999

Private Party Contact:
Heather Boone: (205) 933-0999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ocean Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (48)
Romantic (47)
Special Occasion (47)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Notable Wine List (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Local Ingredients (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Business Meals (17)
Authentic (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Cozy (12)
Fun (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Casual (7)
People Watching (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Seasonal (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Organic (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
932 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Never had a bad meal at Ocean. The best part is the service. Outstanding. The wait staff is exceptional and knows when you need something and when to leave you alone. And the food is always incredible. Hard to find a better meal in Birmingham.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Fresh and healthy food, perfectly prepared, and outstanding service. Strongly recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My favorite restaurant! Food is delicious and presentation is beautiful! Outstanding service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and outstanding service by Brett. Nice wine selection and awesome creme brûlée

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Birthday dinner was delicious! Snapper was perfectly prepared and the scallops grilled were tender and fresh. The Grilled tuna was tender and flavorful and mashed potatoes had unusual spice in them but were amazing. Everything was so delicious! Highly recommend!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Our reservations were for 7:15 and the table was ready when we arrived. The food was some of the best we have had in Birmingham. The flounder dish was the envy of everyone at the table and will be ordered again when we return. Service was terrific and the cocktails very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Exceptionally attentive service. They were out of the menu item I selected, so I went with my second choice. Minutes later, my server came back with a suggestion from the chef that turned out to be an exceptional entree. Totally unexpected and above and beyond what I would have expected. Well done!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We went to ocean with a group of 6 last night. Everything was excellent. From sushi to salads to oysters to grouper lobster and scallops. All food was delicious. Service was excellent !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Came here for my birthday the service was great as usual the staff is very friendly and courteous also I got a birthday desert

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

You must try the whole flounder fried. Absolutely delicious n good to share!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Ocean is always on point ... one of my favorite restaurants in the Birmingham area for sure! Amazing food and excellent service every time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Peach cobbler killed the five star rating for food. It was more like peach bread pudding. Very little peaches. I've cream was good.

Surprised the king crab legs were cold, however they were good.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Ocean is special! Great food, service and ambiance. I would recommend it to all diners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This is a seafood restaurant - not many other options. Our appetizer (heirloom tomato salad) was outstanding; the main course (whole grilled snapper) was good but not great - it needed some flavor. The service was very good - attentive, friendly but not overbearing. The whole feel of the place is just a little pretentious, but not enough to keep you from enjoying a good meal. It is a little pricey although not outrageous; dinner for two with one drink and one glass of wine was close to $100.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Wonderful as expected. Very friendly staff, always going the extra mile to make sure your evening is superb. Food is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

We went to Ocean to celebrate a good friend's birthday. Larry, the manager, came around to bring the birthday girl a personalized card signed by everyone working that evening. We had appetizers, entrees, and dessert; all of which were fabulous. We will be going back soon and trying another delicious Ocean offering.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

We have enjoyed Ocean for the past two anniversaries. We were lucky enough to have the same server from last year, Patrick. He was awesome! Attentive to details but not overbearing! Super GUY! Can't wait to get to go back!

Thanks Patrick!

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

My wife and I drove and stayed in Birmingham for our Anniversary, by passing our usual stop in Buckhead. The food and service was excellent. We're already looking forward to our 2018 trip back to Ocean.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Went to Ocean on first date with old flame after long gap in our lives; very good choice! A little noisy where we were seated, but very manageable. Crab cake appetizer and oysters were excellent; entrees were also very good. Need to compliment Brett, our waiter - great personality; attentive yet gave us time for our conversation and catching up. Finished with an excellent chocolate martini. Overall, a great evening!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The evening was less than satisfactory. The service was superior, the food was basically over cooked and lacked flavor. Mussels for an appetizer were tough and the broth indescribable. Two of the entrees were basically flavorless. Unacceptable for a five star restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great food. Great service. Great dining experience! Ocean continues to be my B'ham restaurant choice for fine dining. It never disappoints. The seafood tower is simply awesome! The Greek salad with fried feta is a must and the baklava ice cream is incredible! All the fish dishes are fresh and perfectly cooked. If you are in the mood for good seafood, go to Ocean!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Enjoyable evening from the moment we were greeted at the door to our exit. Service was superb and the food delicious. Highly recommend the oysters and the Red Snapper. A+

Tags: Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Top fav places

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great good and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Shout out to Larry and Daniel Made our anniversary an outstanding experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We had dinner for five people, and we all loved our selections. We especially loved the tempura bonbons as our appetizer. We had two cocktails for the table: Chilton Peach Smash (or similar name) and Moscow Mule. The peach drink was excellent, but the Moscow Mule was overly heavy on the ginger. Among our diners, we had crispy skin snapper, filet mignon, tuna, and two orders of whole redfish - one fried, and the other wood grilled. They were all delicious. Our waiter, Patrick, was warm and engaging, and very knowledgeable of the menu. He was especially considerate of, and patient with, the elderly woman whose birthday we were celebrating. He truly helped make our dining experience special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Expensive for food I considered only ok. Dessert was good. Service was very slow. We went for my Mother's birthday, so my daughter went. She's not a seafood fan. I thought she would have a chicken or pasta option. She didn't. So there was nothing for her to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Everything about the restaurant was fantastic. Had a business dinner with 2 colleagues and we enjoyed every moment.

Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Best place in Birmingham. From the hostess to the servers to the manager to the chefs, all professional, very personable and knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Ocean always impresses! We brought friends from California who were not sure how good a Birmingham AL restaurant would be... we had an amazing meal! Boulliabase was terrific, as always (my favorite dish), grouper w heirloom tomato risotto was perfectly turned out, red snapper too. Desserts were also spot-on and well-executed. Guests were very satisfied and impressed. We will be back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fun, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Very attentive and efficient staff. High quality food. Best seafood in Birmingham, AL. Venue is not great. This place outgrown it's premises

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

This is the best restaurant I've been to in Birmingham so far, and I've been here two years now. The cocktails were pretty good. For appetizers, we had the spicy tuna bon bons (delish) and the grilled lobster tails, which were grilled and sliced down the middle in half. The lobster was awesome and you got 2.5 tails (5 halves) for $29, which I thought was pretty reasonable. For entrees, I had the the snapper, which had the skin on but was seared until the skin was really crispy. I don't usually like fish with skin on, but it was really good. The dish had some potatoes and chard, and was it this amazing saffron broth. I could drink that broth it was so good. My husband had the sesame seared tuna, which he liked. Then we had more cocktails for dessert. I don't remember what it was called, but my favorite had vodka (I think) with pineapple juice and ginger beer-really great combination. They sat us about 10 minutes after our reservation time, but the service was superb.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great atmosphere, food and experience overall. Always a wonderful evening at Ocean!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

I highly recommend Ocean. The food is delicious, the menu is varied, LOTS of wonderful fresh seafood, and the best bouillabaisse I've ever had!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Authentic, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great oysters and seafood. Honestly one of the best landlocked states' seafood restaurant. They have all the right stuff: linen tablecloths nice silverware, attentive and knowledgeable staff, polite and not at all overbearing. Hallmarks of quality management.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Cannot express enough the great food, service we received at Oceans. Will definitely be going again soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

I eat at Ocean often and it is always wonderful. The service is great and the food is always fresh and prepared to perfection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great creative cuisine. Worth the splurge. Had pan seared fish pompano served on bed of sweet potatoes I recall. And it was superb. Dessert was vanilla baklava with honey. Probably equaled my entire weekly calorie intake in one meal.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Wonderful evening at Ocean. The food was outstanding. Staff was attentive and knowledgeable. A near perfect dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.