About Ocean

1218 20th Street South
Birmingham, AL 35205
View Larger Map

Ocean has been locally owned and operated by George Reis since 2002 and is located in the historic Five Points district of Birmingham’s Southside. Enjoy a casual night out with friends at the inviting and contemporary patio bar, or venture inside for some of the best seafood in town and an award-winning dining experience.
Ocean offers fresh seafood in an exciting and contemporary atmosphere. The menu features a wide selection of fish and fresh oysters arriving daily. Ocean focuses on sourcing sustainable seafood, local produce, and is proud to support local farms. Pulling flavors and inspiration from around the globe, Ocean is the recipient of the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for 2007-2015, the Wine Spectator Award 2004-2015, and is the winner of the Alabama Seafood Cookoff in 2015. Voted Best Chef, Wine List and rated 5 stars by the Birmingham News,
Reservations accepted Tuesday through Saturday.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Highland and 13th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 933-0999

Website:
http://www.oceanbirmingham.com/

Catering:
For information about catering options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or call us at: (205)933-0999

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
George Reis

Private Party Facilities:
For information about our private dining facilities and private dining options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or give us a call at: (205) 933-0999

Private Party Contact:
Heather Boone: 2059330999x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Ocean
Pumpkin Cake, Ice Cream, Pumpkin Seeds & Caramelized Berries
Whole Red Snapper
Wood Grilled Pompano Whole Fish
Nori Crusted Tuna, Wasabi Mashed Potatoes, Snow Pea Tendrils & Red Chili Oil
Trio Of Ceviches
Wood Grilled Grouper
Wood Grilled Grouper With Risotto Turnips & Carrots
Greek Style With Crispy Greens, Roma Tomatoes, Purple Onions & Kalamato Olives Salad
Fried Feta Cheese
Inside Out Crunch Salmon, Cream Cheese & Asparagus
Oysters
Sushi
Pumpkin Cake
Chilean Sea Bass
Bread & Rosemary Olive Oil
Red Salad With Fried Feta
Spicy Tuna Tempura Bonbons Ahi Tuna, Cream Cheese, Sambal Hot Mustard, Sweet Chili Glaze
Whipped Peanut Butter Cheesecake
Chocolate Sin Cake
Water
White Chocolate Bread Pudding
Pan Seared Sesame Crusted Ahi Tuna
Sushi Sides
Pan Seared Sea Scallops
Grouper With Sauteed Vegetables
Wood Grilled Pompano
Mousse Cake
Pan Seared Grouper
Grilled Whole Red Snapper
Cucumber Salad
Ocean
The Way We Roll
Oyster Prep
Whole Flounder With A Side Of Lobster Tails
Homemade Poptart
Lobster tails
Wood Grilled Lobster Tails
Vodka Martini
Wood Grilled Flounder
Spicy Lobster Rangoons
Wood Grilled Pompano Fish
raw oysters
Coffee With Baileys
Lobster Bisque
Peach Bread Pudding
Cosmo & A Dirty Martini
Steak, Lobster Tails, Scallops, Cobia Platter
James Brown Soul Rolls
Baklava Ice Cream With Rose Scented Honey, Vanilla Anglaise
Grilled Cobia and Lobster Tails
Shrimp Bisque
Greek Style Salad With Fried Feta
Fried flounder

Ocean Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Alabama
Best Overall
Birmingham
Best Service
Birmingham
5 More
Best Value
Birmingham
Fit for Foodies
Birmingham
Romantic
Birmingham
Special Occasion
Birmingham
Most Booked
Birmingham
Best Restaurants in Birmingham ›

special occasion (78)
fit for foodies (61)
romantic (52)
See All
good for groups (41)
notable wine list (39)
neighborhood gem (36)
hot spot (26)
vibrant bar scene (17)
great for outdoor dining (9)
late-night find (5)
great for brunch (4)
scenic view (2)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
578 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ocean gave us the excellent meal and ser ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 3 days ago

Ocean gave us the excellent meal and service we expect as frequent patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our waiter was very knowledgeable and ma ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our waiter was very knowledgeable and made great recommendations. Wine list was excellent. All the food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice overall experience. One of th ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very nice overall experience. One of the best dining experiences in Birmingham for certain.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was excellent! Our server Melissa w ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was excellent! Our server Melissa was very attentive to our needs. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great for special occasions and just to ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great for special occasions and just to enjoy dinner, Would highly recommend,

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed my experience here. Eac ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I really enjoyed my experience here. Each dish was carefully crafted and tasted wonderful. The service was also great from the hostess to our waiter to the on shift manager and everyone else on staff who stopped by to check on us, refill our drinks, etc. Although the prices are high, the value and experience are well worth it. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal was good but assistant servers who ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Meal was good but assistant servers who remove plates after eating felt like they were breathing down our backs and as soon as taking last bite they snatched our plates before the fork was laid down. Very noisy, more bar/restaurant than fine dining restaurant. No one was dressed up, mostly shorts, blue jeans, flip flops. A few wore business casual. I may return for a drink with friends at bar but not a dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

I heard that Ocean was a very nice and d ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I heard that Ocean was a very nice and delicious restaurant. Our appetizers (calamari and oysters) were great...my salad, The Ocean salad was not very good. My lettuce was very soggy. I ordered the filet (medium)...the filet was delicious with a wonderful taste, however my steak was rare. I did not send it back because I ate around the steak and my fiancé are the middle which was the rarest part. The bread pudding dessert was DELICIOUS!!!!!

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Really nice place with superb food, supe ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Really nice place with superb food, super friendly knowledgable staff. Wine list had a good selection without being overwhelming. We were from out of town and figured we'd go with the open table ratings and as usual, it did not disappoint. We will be back the next time we are in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was fantastic. The server kn ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The service was fantastic. The server knew her dishes and was very attentive! The food was amazing and we really enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our mixed drinks were subpar. My negroni ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Our mixed drinks were subpar. My negroni was especially disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

We had a very good experience for our f ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We had a very good experience for our first visit to Ocean. The Server was very attentive and surprised us with a free dessert for our special occasion. The seafood and filet mignon were top shelf. I will definitely revisit again. Valet parking is available as a courtesy as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service & location. Seafood ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great food, service & location. Seafood was seasoned very well and grilled to perfection.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire dining experience at Ocean wa ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The entire dining experience at Ocean was excellent. Our waiter was attentive and knowledgeable. The food was superb. We had a wonderful time. I have been several times before and every time gets better . We had guests who were in town to see "Wicked". They were quite impressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excelent, I had Scallops, customer had s ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Excelent, I had Scallops, customer had steak, both were justcgreat

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food wasn't as good as you would expect ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food wasn't as good as you would expect from a premier restaurant. We were some what disappointed. The service was great and the atmosphere was good..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Every time I visit Ocean I ask myself wh ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Every time I visit Ocean I ask myself why I don't do it more often. I find the wine list to be just the right size--variety, but not overkill. And the fish is simply terrific. Our server claimed the scallops were the best in Alabama--and being a skeptic, I took him up on it. Verdict: he's right. Just another example of an outstanding meal at Ocean.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Long one of our favorites, this night I ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Long one of our favorites, this night I would have to say we had perhaps the best waiter we've ever had. I wish I had recorded his name. The food is always good, perhaps a tad better this time than our last two experiences, but it has remained a favorite. Value gets a slight mark down purely on portion sizes. Restaurants seem to have trouble finding that nice middle ground, IMO.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Just one word: Wonderful!!! Dinner was f ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Just one word: Wonderful!!!

Dinner was for my finance's birthday.

Our 5-star waiter Patrick was very attentive and well versed with the menu. Best waiter we've ever had. The other wait staff were also very attentive.

The food was 5-star as well. Our steaks melted in our mouths and we ate everything on the plate.

I would highly recommend Ocean to anyone who appreciates good service and a great meal.

Be sure to reserve a table in advance as this is a popular spot.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my 3rd time at Ocean's. All th ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

This was my 3rd time at Ocean's. All this year. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a wonderful evening of great food, nice environment and excellent staff members. We will be back...again and again....

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was HOT. The crab cakes w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The restaurant was HOT. The crab cakes were tiny. One end of my small piece of grouper was chewy. The noise level was so bad that we misunderstood the description of the lobster entree. The service provided by our waitress, Charity, was outstanding . The only thing we heard about this place that met our expectations was price $$$$.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

Fantastic place that provided us a memor ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Fantastic place that provided us a memorable wedding anniversary evening. The were accommodating to my special request to have drinks ready for us when we arrived, and presented us with outstanding service throughout the night. We dined on their Seafood Tower and ended the night with a complementary glass of champagne after indulging in some of the most delicious desserts Ocean has to offer. Could not offer enough praise.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ocean is a Special Event

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Great food, great service, and great experience. Ocean is a special event every time.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Anniversary Night at Ocean

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I had looked around for somewhere special to take my wife out on our anniversary. I had heard of Ocean, but we had never gone there. From the moment that I called to make the reservations until the final cup of coffee, I have never been in an establishment before that met and exceeded all of my expectations.

Knowing that it was our anniversary, we were seated in a quiet area, almost secluded from the remainder of the restaurant. I had ordered flowers for my wife, which were in place when we arrived. Our server, Charity, was there promptly after we had been seated. She was well versed on their menu. Charity made some excellent recommendations for our appetizers and for our main entrees.

For appetizers, I chose the Ocean Salad with fried feta cheese bites that were just amazing. My wife had the Gulf Coast Blue Crab Cakes that were excellent. For our entrees, my wife had Wood Grilled Certified "Hereford" Filet Mignon that was to die for. So tender that you could cut it with a butter knife, cooked to a perfect medium rare. I chose Pan Seared Sea Scallops that were cooked perfectly. I have never eaten scallops anywhere that would match these in texture, taste, and presentation.

We were visited shortly thereafter by one of the managers. He came by to see if everything was satisfactory and he also brought us an Anniversary card signed by the owners, chefs, and the staff. This was just another little surprise to add to our evening.

After we finished with our meals, we were pleasantly surprised again when desserts were sent to our table, compliments of Ocean.

I must say that this was one of the best dining experiences that my wife and I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing. I would highly suggest that if you are looking for a great overall dining experience, choose to go to Ocean. You will be pleased.

Thank you again, Ocean, for making our night special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time dining at Ocean. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This was my first time dining at Ocean. The service was great and the food was exceptional. The only knock for me is that our table for two was pretty close to our neighbors. It was tough to have a conversation without everyone else's conversation bleeding into ours.

Let's get back to the food. App: Bon Bon and soft shell crab roll. Both were very good. The Bon Bon portion is a little big (5 pieces) for an app but they are fabulous. I had the lobster entree and it was heavenly. Sweet, delicate and perfectly cooked. My wife had the pompano and it was cooked to perfection. We opted for the baklava ice for dessert and it was ridiculous. It was perfect in every way.

The service is spot on and we will be a back. Make a reservation because this place filled up quick.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Restaurant!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I've been to Ocean a couple times now, and the service is always wonderful! The food is really good as well, and their mixed cocktails are tasty! I've had the salmon and steak and it was delicious. The halibut was very good but not my favorite dish. I will definitely be back for the salmon and/or steak again though!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Everything we ordered was delicious! Especially enjoyed the grouper.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ocean Anniversary

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Dinner at Ocean was excellent as always. The food, service, and overall experience was exceptional. Thanks Ocean for making our anniversary dinner so special.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic and our server wa ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The food was fantastic and our server was great! My husband had the Bouillabaisse and it was a bit spicy but very yummy. I had the Nori Tuna and it was very good as well. The white chocolate bread pudding is to die for. It was a bit loud because there were a few groups of tables that were drinking and not using their "inside voice" but thats not the restaurants fault. I definitely recommend trying this restaurant if you like good seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our party attended for a graduation dinn ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Our party attended for a graduation dinner. The staff was accommodating, the food was excellent and the entire experience was wonderful. Would definitely go back!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to eat at Ocean since the res ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

First time to eat at Ocean since the restaurant was re decorated. Very nice.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I had our 2nd anniversary di ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I had our 2nd anniversary dinner here. The staff went out of their way to make us feel special. Oh, and the food was delicious, too.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great restaurant and completely underrated

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Ocean doesn't get a ton of buzz around BHM since there are so many amazing award winning restaurants, but it is one of my absolute favorites and totally underrated. The filet is absolutely amazing! I get it every time even though it is more of a seafood restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loud but good food, great bartenders

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Loud but good food, great bartenders

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Remarkable Find

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Ocean is truly a one of a kind find in Birmingham. The ambience and particularly the food rivals the finest restaurants even the Inn at Little Washington. The ability to select and build your meal according your preferences - large meal, small meal, seafood, was noteworthy. The food itself was exceptional.

Service and attention by the staff was worthy of a five star rating. The Floor Manger Larry Denmark personally scanned and talked with many of the clients to ensure that all was well.

Well done to a remarkable wait staff, kitchen staff and chef!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ocean B'ham

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Service was great. Food was good and the location was good. We had a fantastic time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Ocean is a fantastic restaurant! Thank you for participating in Dining Out for Life and supporting a local charity, AIDS Alabama! I finally got the tower of seafood, and it was delicious. The raw oysters were some of the best and freshest I've ever had. We are so lucky to have Ocean in our fine city.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food in Five Points

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The food was excellent... Perfectly seasoned and well potioned. If you're a seafood lover, Oceans is definitely the place to go in Birmingham!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We love Ocean but this experience was not the best

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Ocean is one of our favorite restaurants, but this was not one of our best experiences. We were celebrating my 50th birthday and I had tuna and my wife had salmon. Salmon was not cooked they way my wife requested and my tuna was ok; not great. However, service was fantastic as always. Also, I had sushi and it was fantastic.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Family Get Together

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Ocean has been around a long time and has remained consistent in its offerings over the years. It has not evolved as much as other fine dining establishments but that's not a bad thing as long as you get a quality experience. For starters we had calamari and oysters. The oysters were very fresh and sweet served on homemade crackers and with homemade hot sauce. The best entrees were the scallops and the tempura tuna, both perfectly cooked and presented. The offerings of Proseco and Sancerre paired perfectly. The overall experience was very enjoyable with no mistakes in delivery. There was a bit of road noise as we sat on the enclosed outer patio but nothing that subtracted from the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.