About Ocean

Ocean has been locally owned and operated by George Reis since 2002 and is located in the historic Five Points district of Birmingham’s Southside. Enjoy a casual night out with friends at the inviting and contemporary patio bar, or venture inside for some of the best seafood in town and an award-winning dining experience.
Ocean offers fresh seafood in an exciting and contemporary atmosphere. The menu features a wide selection of fish and fresh oysters arriving daily. Ocean focuses on sourcing sustainable seafood, local produce, and is proud to support local farms. Pulling flavors and inspiration from around the globe, Ocean is the recipient of the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for 2007-2015, the Wine Spectator Award 2004-2015, and is the winner of the Alabama Seafood Cookoff in 2015. Voted Best Chef, Wine List and rated 5 stars by the Birmingham News,
Reservations accepted Tuesday through Saturday.

1218 20th Street South
Birmingham, AL 35205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Highland and 13th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 933-0999

Website:
http://www.oceanbirmingham.com/

Catering:
For information about catering options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or call us at: (205)933-0999

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
George Reis

Private Party Facilities:
For information about our private dining facilities and private dining options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or give us a call at: (205) 933-0999

Private Party Contact:
Heather Boone: (205) 933-0999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ocean Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (80)
Good for a Date (64)
Good for Anniversaries (60)
See All
Fit for Foodies (48)
Romantic (45)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Business Meals (32)
Notable Wine List (30)
Worth the Drive (30)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Bar Seating (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Hot Spot (23)
Local Ingredients (22)
Good for Groups (19)
Fun (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Cozy (16)
Authentic (16)
Modern Decor (14)
Healthy (14)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Private Room (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Seasonal (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Happy Hour (4)
People Watching (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Spicy (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
796 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

This was our first visit to Ocean and we probably will not return anytime soon. The dining room looked lovely, but we were seated in what appeared to be patio closed in for the winter that was not nearly as attractive. We could see the main dining room from our table and it was no more than half full the entire time we were there. Our table was close to the street and rain and street noise were distracting. The server offered no suggestions and did not explain the menu at all when we told her it was our first time dining there. She did ask if we had any questions.Fish that was supposed to be deboned in the kitchen was not and tuna that I requested cooked medium was barely seared on top and bottom. Our bill was incorrect. We were charged for an appetizer that we were told was complimentary and charged separately for salads we were told came with the meal. Friends had told us how much they liked Ocean, but we were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 5 days ago

Date night with my wife. Stuck us in the terrace/bar rather than main dining room. They were out of both entrees that we ordered and it was only 7:30. My wife got hickory smoked lobster. It was small and tough. I had red snapper that was just ok. It took 50 mins to get our entrees. The server told us on 3 separate occassions that they were plating our food. Really? Go to Highland Grill instead

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The food at Ocean was great, as usual, and the service and management are awesome. Micah is the best. He takes care of any of your needs and makes the customer feel special. I constantly recommend Ocean to my friends and family and will now recommend Micah. We will be back.....

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our friends 5th anniversary

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Service was excellent, food was amazing. Very impressed and will be going back.

Tags: Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

One of the most enjoyable restaurant experiences we've had in many years. The service was outstanding, our waiter was always there at the right time with the right item. The food was outstanding, just the right serving size, great presentation. We've found our anchor seafood restaurant in the Birmingham area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Still one of my favs! They always go above and beyond the menu for the customer.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Fantastic experience. A place where service and food were perfect together.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Patrick took excellent care of us as we entertained my mother-in-law and niece. It was their first time dining at Ocean and they thoroughly enjoyed the meal, service and ambience. Thank you, everyone at Ocean for another wonderful evening and dining experience. We'll be back soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great food and beautiful surroundings. The service was wonderful. We had a great evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent service and wait staff. Nice selections of wine to taste before ordering. Delicious food from appetizers to entrees to dessert

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent service. Server really was attentive. Generous servings of well-prepared delicious meal.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Could not have had a better meal. Clam chowder is one of a kind as was the sea scallop entree. Great wine list.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Dined here for outlet wedding anniversary. Exceptional service and wonderful food. The Maitre'd made a point of thanking us for choosing their restaurant for our anniversary. They even gave us a complimentary dessert. First class experience and highly recommended.

Tags: Wood Oven, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Outstanding restaurant for a special occasion! The Manager even came over and wished us a Happy Anniversary. We were very pleased with our dining experience at Ocean. We will certainly go back! It is our favorite restaurant in Birmingham, Alabama.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Food was very good but the noise level was horrible felt like we were screaming across the table to even hear each other talk. Hated that. Service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The noise was not energetic. It was LOUD. Could not hold conversation with table mate even though we were sitting next to each other. First time this has been an issue. Any rating less than outstanding above was due to the noise.

Food as always was outstanding and service excellent. David did a great job.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our experience was exceptional in every way. The food preparation and delivery was truly wonderful and made our special evening memorable. The staff and service attention could not have been better!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The mussels were excellent as was the service. The whole fish options were appreciated.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Birthday dinner with my son who is a certified Somm and his fiancé following Pinot Camp. Food was outstanding!Servers attentive. Wine list suited everyone's needs. We sat in the middle room up front by window-loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Ocean is a delicious sushi restaurant. While I had a delicious black grouper entree, it is the sushi that is the real value. Their sushi costs no more than grocery store sushi but it is true quality.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was awesome. I had the sea scallops meal. I initially thought I would still be hungry, but I wasn't. The meal was filling. I also had Oceans salad & oysters bienville. Love this place.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Hubby and I celebrated my birthday at Ocean. It had been a long time since we had visited and we were thrilled to see that the restaurant was still excellent. The food was amazing and the service was impeccable. Will be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The food was very good, the bartenders presentation was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent service and even more amazing food! Best raw oysters in the southeast. Everything about our experience was incredible. One of my absolute favorite restaurants of all time.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful spot for a romantic Valentine's dinner. Waite staff was courteous, attentive, knowledgable, and professional. Dinner was outstanding - on par with other high-end restaurants in Birmingham.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I had high hopes for Ocean but it was not the best experience. It was not communicated we would be sitting in the sidebar area, which was both loud and freezing. The oysters and crab cakes to start were delicious and the wine list was nice. The lobster risotto was not risotto. It was overcooked, not creamy, and basically dried out stovetop rice. The butter poached lobster was very good. The caramel lava cake was not as described either. During the changing of the table linens at the next table, the table cloth caught on fire. Throughout the evening, the table next to me had to get up and keep closing the exterior door or I would. Other than the oysters and our waiter, it was a largely forgettable experience.

There are too many other good restaurants out there. I'd recommend somewhere else for you special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was the second time I ate at this restaurant, the service was ok... I wasn't overly impressed by the food and honestly for the price I paid after waiting a long time I just wanted the dinner to end. My wife and I went here for Valentine Day and that might have been the reason why everything was a bit off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We love Oceans for Oysters and special occasions like Valentine's Anniversary. Oysters were great as usual. My wife's green curry bouillabaisse had no spice or curry to tast of and the seafood was a bit overdone. She sent it back. I got 2 apps, the oyster Rockefeller was great, got the spicy tuna bon bon and after one and a half felt sick to my stomach. Excused myself to the restroom with a mouth full of sickness. Dissected the bon bon and took a tiny bite of the tuna and it was terrible. Could not eat after that. Service was great. A disappointment this time but we will return since they have great oysters. Hint: always get PEI. They're the best.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent food and service in a nice setting great for dates.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Visited Ocean on Valentines Day 2017. What a First Class experience it was! The service was impeccable. Our server was extremely knowledgeable about the menu and made some wonderful recommendations. We started with the Blue Crab Cakes and the Spicy Crab Salad Fried Rice Cake Sushi. Both were delicious and tasted so fresh! For entrees my girlfriend had the Gulf Coast Grouper and I had the Filet on the recommendation of our server. The grouper was cooked to perfection and my girlfriend really enjoyed it! We both agreed though that the Filet was the star of the show. Ocean may be primarily a seafood restaurant but they have one of the best steaks I've had in recent memory! The green bean and potato salad was a great pairing with the steak as well. We finished the meal off with a slice of Chocolate Cheesecake. It is served with toasted marshmallow on top which I thought was a nice touch. The cake may look small when it arrives at your table but it's so rich and dense that it easily satisfies two people! Overall we had a wonderful time and I couldn't recommend Ocean more. Truly one of Birmingham's finest dining experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My date enjoyed her meal more than I did. She ordered the fillet mignon – said it was excellent! I ordered the red snapper and I thought it was rather bland – not enough flavor. Since this was our first visit, it was kind of disappointing, at least for me. The service was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Outstanding food and service! My favorite restaurant in Birmingham.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One of our favorite special date night places. The fried feta on the salad is fabulous always. So many good appetizer and entree choices. The lobster tails are always wonderful. Our waiter was great--knew the menu, helpful but didn't rush us on a busy night. Always leave happy.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Have eaten at Ocean many times and have never had a bad meal nor service. Always something new to try. The Sushi is some of my favorite in Birmingham and reasonably priced. Great to share as an appetizer. I haven't had any of the beef menu items here but they do offer some other options aside from the seafood. I've just never ventured away from the seafood since it has always been great... and after all the restaurant is called Ocean. Highly recommend this restaurant if you want a great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food I ordered was good (seared tuna), as was the Ocean salad like always. My date's food, a steak she was talked into, was undercooked and, per her, somewhat stringy. Our waiter was for the most part attentive, but the biggest ding was that it took the restaurant 25 minutes to seat us after our reservation time--and we got there early! That was starting off on the wrong foot. There just can't be an excuse for that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service was great at Ocean. Our server was very helpful when we were ordering. He was very knowledgeable and had a great attitude. The food was very tasty and filling. We were a little disappointed that they took the bread pudding off the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Ocean has really good food. It is worth the drive and definitely worth the money. My girlfriend loved the surprise date here on her birthday.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My wife and I went to Ocean for part of our anniversary celebration. We have not been there before, but we've heard good things about it. Everything from the service to the food was truly outstanding, and we can't wait to go back there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The service was quick and attentive. The staff was very friendly and engaging. The appetizers were delicious, containing a very "fresh" quality you would expect from seafood. When the main course arrived, we were expecting a great tasting meal. We were NOT in any way disappointed. It was a palatable delight! My wife enjoyed the steak that was so tender, she used a butter knife to cut her meat. After dinner, we enjoyed two of the dessert items which, again, were outstanding. Overall, an A++ meal. You, and your taste-buds will enjoy.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.