About Ocean

Ocean has been locally owned and operated by George Reis since 2002 and is located in the historic Five Points district of Birmingham’s Southside. Enjoy a casual night out with friends at the inviting and contemporary patio bar, or venture inside for some of the best seafood in town and an award-winning dining experience.
Ocean offers fresh seafood in an exciting and contemporary atmosphere. The menu features a wide selection of fish and fresh oysters arriving daily. Ocean focuses on sourcing sustainable seafood, local produce, and is proud to support local farms. Pulling flavors and inspiration from around the globe, Ocean is the recipient of the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for 2007-2015, the Wine Spectator Award 2004-2015, and is the winner of the Alabama Seafood Cookoff in 2015. Voted Best Chef, Wine List and rated 5 stars by the Birmingham News,
Reservations accepted Tuesday through Saturday.

1218 20th Street South
Birmingham, AL 35205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Highland and 13th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 933-0999

Website:
http://www.oceanbirmingham.com/

Catering:
For information about catering options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or call us at: (205)933-0999

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
George Reis

Private Party Facilities:
For information about our private dining facilities and private dining options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or give us a call at: (205) 933-0999

Private Party Contact:
Heather Boone: (205) 933-0999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ocean Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (72)
Good for a Date (62)
Good for Anniversaries (58)
See All
Fit for Foodies (56)
Romantic (48)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Business Meals (39)
Notable Wine List (31)
Worth the Drive (31)
Local Ingredients (27)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Authentic (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Fun (18)
Good for Groups (15)
Cozy (15)
Modern Decor (14)
Healthy (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Wood Oven (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Casual (7)
Private Room (6)
People Watching (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Seasonal (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Family Style (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Organic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dancing (1)
Waterfront (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (0)
Sort By:
S
852 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

Unpretentious, friendly knowledgeable staff, great wine selection, fresh and creative food, reasonable prices. We will be back!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

The night we went the AC was out which took away from the overall atmosphere. Parking is bad in the area as well. Negatives aside the food and service were top notch. Don't be afraid to try the filet at a seafood restaurant, it was amazing. Save room for the strawberry cobbler and balsamic ice cream!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

The air was out but the food wss fantastic. Will go back again. Hopefully air will be working

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Waiter was amazing! Food was awesome. Caramel lava cake was the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Desert was sublime!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Excellent service and the food was delicious. My wife and I are both seafood lovers and we were impressed. Although I don't think I got the meal I ordered it was still great. We picked ocean to celebrate our anniversary and the management and wait staff treated us wonderfully on our special day. Definitely recommend a visit!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Dinner was amazing! Service was great and we were seated when we arrive there. Server was very knowledgeable of the menu. Perfect birthday dinner for my husband.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great ambience, pleasant staff and great food and wine selection. We were sat promptly at reserved time.

Only negative was struggling A/C, which the Manager attempted to address by lowering temperature.

All and all still one of top restaurants in Birmingham.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Ocean has fresh seafood and an excellent oyster menu. Booker can be found at the oyster bar and always provides great recommendations. The service is excellent- our waitress was delightful. The only thing missing is the Gin Buck Fizz that used to be on the drink menu. If you're in the mood for sushi, the portions are plentiful. Their watermelon salad is a great summer choice- great place for a fine meal or a simple snack at the bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great evening at Ocean. Had a business/ friend dinner for 4 . Great food great service. A little warm in the restaurant so a little less comfortable than we could have been. But all in all a great evening!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I would definitely recommend this restaurant. The service food and ambience was worth every dime. Will come back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Still a very good restaurant. Nothing very exciting or outstanding bargain, but good seafood and reasonable wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Overall, the experience was average. The serving of stone crab was disappointing. The service and desserts were above average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was the perfect venue to meet up with friends and have a great dinner and time. We all shared the Ocean Seafood Tower!! The stone crab was excellent!! Appetizers were great and one of a kind.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Business Meals, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This was my first visit to Birmingham for a business trip and took my client here for dinner. The atmosphere was lovely and the service was fantastic! We had the ocean salad Greek style with fried feta and they split it for two. It was delicious! The red grouper was great and the seafood Thai green curry bouillabaisse was amazing! Dessert was the strawberry Cobbler and caramel lava cake. I would recommend ocean to everyone! Prices very, very reasonable!

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our waiter was very friendly and made several suggestions for us. He was attentive and available when we needed him.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We had first round of drinks comped, all the employees signed a card celebrating my date getting into med school. AND they comped our Baklava French vanilla ice cream dessert which was incredible!! Amazing experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We love Ocean! It's good for any occasion. You can make it whatever you want!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always love Ocean! It is great for special occasions, but we love to go just for a nice evening out! They are very attentive and never rush you when you are enjoying a nice long meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great sushi, oysters, and main course. Tabitha took care of us from the wine to the desserts and made the evening fun.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our Ocean experience was great. We had the lobster tail appetizer and a selection of oysters. All were delicious. Two of us had the filet (rec from our server) and I had mine with additional scallops. I wasn't a fan of the scallops, they were a bit mushy. But, the filet was excellent. The asparagus side was delicious! The tuna tempura was also great. The only disappointment was the bouillabaisse.....it was more of a few seafood selections steamed (?) in a bowl of a bit of broth. Wasn't a true bouillabaisse. The creme brulee dessert was ok.
But, we would def go back. Our experience was great and the French pressed coffee was delish!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Ocean never disappoints. Exquisite cuisine and exceptional service!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 28, 2017

It was amazing. Wish my town had something like this. Seafood was off the charts.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Fund raising event

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 27, 2017

It was incredible! It takes a lot to impress me when it comes to food and I was blown away! Get the redfish!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The sushi was delicious and the portions were worth the price. The atmosphere was pleasant but it could get loud at times. We will be returning in the near future.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 27, 2017

I had a wonderful meal at Ocean. The food was exquisite and to top it off - the Server was magnificent. He was knowledgeable about not only everything on the menu, but he paired wine with our meals perfectly. That special attention truly made the difference over and above already excellent seafood. The oysters were fresh and yummy! Everyone's meal was prepared perfectly. I highly recommend this for a Business Meal, or for just a special occasion or desire to eat amazing seafood and be well take care of. A wonderful find in Birmingham!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Excellent service and wonderful staff. Thank you for making my Anniversary perfect.

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The service was impeccable. Our waiter knew the menu well and provided details and recommendations. This includes the wine menu. The food was expertly and carefully prepared. The look and feel of the restaurant was appealing and intimate. We were very close to another table but situated so that we couldn't hear their conversation nor could they be involved in ours. It's wonderful that valet parking was provided because I can't imagine where we would have parked! We are definitely coming back to try more dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Good was great but way too loud. Told ahead it was bday celebration and said they would acknowledge but did not.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Overall, we had a decent experience. Maybe we had too high of expectations, though. Food was good, but not great. Service was alright, but slow. Not necessarily the waiter's fault -- he had too many tables to take care of in our section. Would go again, but not as frequently as some of the other high-end restaurants in Birmingham.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Excellent ! Ww enjoyed the food very mush and out server Tabitha was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Family Style, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had wonderful time at Ocean to celebrate my son's birthday. The server was excellent and the staff was extremely attentive. All of our dishes were a different type of fish and they were all prepared beautifully. We liked the fact that they allowed different fish to be served on the plate set ups. I can't say enough about what a great experience dining at Ocean was.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Ocean was the perfect date night restaurant to go to. The menu was fabulous if you like seafood, and the food that both myself and my date ordered met and exceeded our expectations. Would definitely recommend for anyone looking for a date night or special occasion spot. Ocean was by far the best seafood I've had while not being at the coast. The wine list was extremely pricey, but overall was an amazing experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Lovely experience as always!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food, great service. It was a special occasion, and the evening was fun. Fantastic appetizers, and the entre's were great too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Very nice meal. The service was perfect until it was time for the main course. It took a long time. Our waitress noticed and hurried things along, but alas it was slow.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Service was terrible . They knew it was terrible-we didn't complain and asked for dessert menu, waited and waited no one to return to take our order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We loved Ocean! The food was innovative, very fresh and quite delicious Unique libations .Nice attentive service and a lively atmosphere. Will go back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Ocean as usual was an excellent place to spend the evening. We have probably eaten here three or four times over the last year. The fresh seafood and sushi is outstanding. We had the seafood tower which was excellent. The combination of steamed king crab, shrimp, muscles, and a dozen or so fresh oysters was fantastic. The wood grilled lobster was fantastic. The sushi was imaginative and tasty The only problem that we had this night was the ventilation system was not working appropriately and we got a little overdose from the wood fire grill. The courteous, prompt and friendly staff made up for the inconvenience. We will be headed back soon

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.