About Ocean Prime - Dallas

2101 Cedar Springs Drive
Dallas, TX 75201
View Larger Map

OCEAN PRIME is a modern American restaurant and lounge from renowned restaurateur Cameron Mitchell. Located at Rosewood Court in Uptown Dallas, OCEAN PRIME Dallas is minutes away from some of the city’s top cultural and sports attractions. Recognized as one of the “Top 20 Steakhouses” and for “Best Dessert by D magazine, OCEAN PRIME Dallas delivers an extraordinary experience to guests.

The menu is classic and yet there is a modern sensibility to the preparations which include lighter fare, like our signature shellfish “cobb” salad and sushi, as well as more indulgent items like our smoking shellfish tower, juicy steaks and decadent desserts. A destination on its own, the OCEAN PRIME lounge offers expertly prepared cocktails like our signature cucumber gimlet or smoking berries & bubbles.

Stunning settings, a vibrant energy and truly genuine hospitality make OCEAN PRIME Dallas an ideal place to socialize, talk business, celebrate and indulge.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Pearl

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(214) 965-0440

Website:
http://www.oceanprimedallas.com/

Entertainment:
Ocean Prime features live piano music in our piano bar! The music begins at 7:00pm Thursday, Friday and Saturday.

Executive Chef:
Sonny Pache

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us in our Blu Lounge for Prime Hour, Monday - Friday, from 4:00 - 7:00 p.m. Enjoy selected specially priced appetizers, handcrafted cocktails and world class wines.
On Sunday evening, enjoy half-priced bottles of wine in our dining room as we offer over 200 selected* bottles from our collection. Cheers!

Promotions

Sunday Surf & Turf

Sundays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Happy Hour in our lounge Mon-Fri 4:00-7:00

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday Wine Night*

Wednesdays from 4:00 AM - 10:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Sunday Surf & Turf

Sundays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Special Sunday menu featuring an 8 oz. filet with your choice of “Surf” for $55 per person, accompanied by a soup or salad and side. Visit our website to view more menu details. Excludes Tax and Tip. Not available on Holidays. All offerings subject to availability. Special valid May 15, 2016 - Sep 11, 2016 on Sundays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM.
Happy Hour in our lounge Mon-Fri 4:00-7:00

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
Join us for Happy Hour from 4-7 p.m. Monday through Friday. Enjoy $5 off small plates and sushi offerings in the lounge. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available in our lounge only. Not available on Holidays. Special valid May 9, 2016 - Sep 9, 2016 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.
Wednesday Wine Night*

Wednesdays from 4:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
On Wednesdays, enjoy selected half priced bottles of wine under $99 from our Wine Spectator award-winning wine list. Excludes Tax and Tip. *Bottles Under $99.00 ONLY . Not valid on Holidays. Special valid May 11, 2016 - Sep 7, 2016 on Wednesdays from 4:00 AM - 10:00 PM.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Fri 4:00PM - 5:45PM

Private Dining

Ocean Prime features 4 private dining rooms for our guests to enjoy: The Sammy Davis Jr Room and Frank Sinatra Room seat up to 40 guests while our Dean Martin Room seats up to 30 guests. Ocean Prime also offers The Club Room, serving intimate gatherings up to 16 guests.

Ocean Prime - Dallas Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Dallas - Fort Worth
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Dallas - Fort Worth
Seafood
Dallas
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Dallas
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

special occasion (132)
romantic (88)
good for groups (58)
See All
fit for foodies (50)
notable wine list (45)
great for lunch (34)
hot spot (34)
vibrant bar scene (32)
great for outdoor dining (21)
great for brunch (20)
late-night find (19)
scenic view (17)
neighborhood gem (16)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1860 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our second time to dine at this ...

Dined 6 days ago

This was our second time to dine at this restaurant. Requested the server we had the first time, but he was unavailable. However, the server we got was just as enjoyable. Will definitely return.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The atmosphere and service at OceanPrime ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The atmosphere and service at OceanPrime were outstanding. I arrived before my boyfriend and the host brought me to a spacious booth with rose pedals on the table. Apparently they heard my name wrong because they came back and said that they had made a mistake on the table but if it wasnt my anniversary to enjoy the flowers. Our server was knowledgeable and friendly and just chatty enough for me; a little too chatty for my boyfriend but oh well. The food wasnt as spectacular as I would expect for the price but it was still good. If you want a mind blowing $40+ steak, go to Ruth's Chris, this menu fell short of theirs. Dont get me wrong, the food is well above Chilis, but it wasnt the real selling point of the experience. Oh, but I had never had Baked Alaska and my boyfriend and the waiter made me get it, that was unreal. And the Old Fashioned was easily the best one Ive ever had in my life.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

All round excellent meal. Great food and ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

All round excellent meal. Great food and service. Highly recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great whatever location

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food is consistently good and the drinks are great. Waiters are attentive and knowledgeable . It is our granddaughters favorite place in Dallas, Tampa and Detroit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dining!

Dined on May 14, 2016

We were in Dallas for the weekend and were lucky enough to get a table for Saturday evening through Open Table. Our waiter was excellent! The food was fabulous! Steaks cooked exactly like my daughter and I like them. Crab cakes fantastic! Halibut special was a perfect recommendation for my husband and daughter's boyfriend. Worth every dollar! Will definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience3
service5

Amazing!! We will definitely go again. E ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Amazing!! We will definitely go again. Everything from the appetizers to dessert was superb!

food5
ambience5
service5

Food is very good

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food is very good

food5
ambience4
service5

The best seafood restaurant in Dallas... ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

The best seafood restaurant in Dallas...!

food5
ambience5
service5

First time. It was great. Thx

Dined on May 11, 2016

First time. It was great. Thx

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

I took my mom to Ocean Prime for Mother's Day and she loved it. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Love

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is a frequent location for us when it comes to fine dining with great food, service as well as the atmosphere. The staff is always pleasant as well as very attentive, we have been frequent customers for about 4 years and even after we started coming with our kids the staff seemed to be even better than the time before by making sure the kids ate before the parents so we could get them situated. (It seems trivial but to a parent that's a great help) Also just the little things like interacting with the kids as well as engaging with us makes the dining experience one of the best places to eat and relax and have romance.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our second visit. The dining area is very well designed and modern. The tables are very close together so I could hear the other tables' conversation. When another person got up from their table, their chair would either bump mine or the other person's body bumped me. Our waiter was professional enough but seemed rushed and inpersonal. We each had a blood orange mimosa at $9 a glass and it was delicious. We ordered from the brunch menu and it was incredibly tasty. I had the quiche and my mother and brother had the crab cakes Benedict. They thoroughly enjoyed their meals. The coffee was aromatic and had a great flavor. They serve it in its own individual pitcher per person. I have yet to order from the main menu. I wished the noise level was lower but it may just be that it was Mother's Day brunch versus the dinner crowd. The bar area patio looks inviting and the bar lounge looks laid back but I didn't actually patron either one.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service4

Usually great food. Last Saturday not so ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Usually great food. Last Saturday not so much things were either over or under prepped and the lobster mashed potatoes was basically instant potatoes with over cooked lobster

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very nice

Dined on May 8, 2016

I've been broadening my usual restaurant experiences. And I'm glad I choose to come here. My wife and I had a wonderful time. We will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Food was erratic; overall disappointing

Dined on May 7, 2016

I took my wife for a Mother's Day date on Saturday night. Calamari app was excellent. I had the scallops which were also very good - tasty and cooked nicely. She ordered the crab cakes - gack! They were extremely salty! We told the waiter and he did offer her something else, but by that time we had had salad and bread and she wasn't hungry enough for anything else. The patio was pleasant , until a couple was seated next to us. Unfortunately, the lady had no clue as to how much perfume she had on. When the wind blew it in our direction, we couldn't even taste our food. That was another reason we chose not to order a replacement meal for the salt cakes.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

All great food

Dined on May 7, 2016

All great food

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food! Try the blackene ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Great service and food! Try the blackened salmon sandwich. You will not regret it.

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Delicious Meal

Dined on May 5, 2016

Excellent food, but our server was conceited. I think he was mad because I didn't order from the $200 and up wine menu he recommended. He generally seemed disappointed in our table of 6, which dropped over $600.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service4

Good location, great facility, good serv ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Good location, great facility, good service, bad food. Mussels and redfish were disgusting, vegetables greasy, and salad was over dressed - a sloppy mess. One and done.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous in Every Way!!

Dined on May 1, 2016

We went immediately upon receiving an email that they had halibut!! Presentation and dinner were both fabulous. Ocean Prime is always a family favorite and perfect for dates as well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service!

Dined on April 30, 2016

We made spontaneous reservations for date night and Ocean Prime was an excellent decision. The food was amazing, but the service was spectacular! Our server Joshua was fantastic - he was there any time we needed something but he wasn't over-the-top with his attentions. The entire experience was definitely worth repeating!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful discovery! Service exceptional.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Intuitive service attuned to detail. All seafood dishes nicely prepared and proportioned.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Losing its lustre

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Ocean Prime was the place where the staff was well seasoned and worked tirelessly without being intrusive. However, upon greeting at 8:30 on a Friday evening your greeted by a group at the front desk who look like they're a little worse for the wear-- and not really happy to see you. Upon seating the unaffected host/ess, keeps her back to you and fails to say your welcome when someone says thank you. You're greeted by a cast of characters but no one is wearing a smile-- but they're happy to do their duty-- but intrusion into dinner is constant. The waitstaff-- is also unimpressive-- and not suggesting anything other than the specials and not offering sides with entrees. Attention to detail is not as it should be, there should be a plate for shells and the proper utensils on the table prior to each course. The food although a premium price has suffered as well-- the preparation of a caesar salad should not have every piece of lettuce perfectly diced nor drowned in dressing and food should be presented hot not obviously served from a heat lamp. What made this meal less than ideal other than the food was the intrusive service. Clear plates when all diners are finished it's rude. Anticipate needs-- and check in with the customers before clearing plates. This is service reminiscent of Red Lobster and not what I remember of Ocean Prime. If Ocean Prime is to survive as a top notch restaurant-- it's service and food preparation will have to come up to a "Prime" level. For now it's an architecturally beautiful space-- the rest will have to catch up for certain for this restaurant to survive. In prior visits-- the service from beginning to end were spot-on and you were ensured excellently prepared food as well as impeccable service.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food. Seafood tower & seabass Excellent

Dined on April 21, 2016

A must visit for seafood. The fresh seafood tower was awesome and the Chilean Sea Bass was amazing. Great food, Great service. We have also dined at the Indianapolis location. Very good.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Best Steak Ever, won't go back

Dined on April 17, 2016

This is the best steak I've ever had. And I've had a lot of steaks. The food was excellent. The atmosphere was poor. The restaurant is crowded and noisy. I can deal with that but the Muzak was constant, and rather I liked the selections or not, they quality of the sound was oppressive. Wonderful meal, this old man can't stand the atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5

Chilean Sea Bass, Crab Cakes, Truffle Ma ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Chilean Sea Bass, Crab Cakes, Truffle Mac & Cheese etc was excellent also the Carrot Cake is a must!! Bubbles and Berries is a nice drink to flush it down

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We love going to nice restaurants and th ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

We love going to nice restaurants and the location of Ocean Prime is great. Walking distance to the American Airline Center makes it a good choice before the Dallas Stars games or any of the events held at the AAC.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

Disappointed

Dined on April 10, 2016

I love ocean prime....but I was very disappointed on this visit....it was my birthday and I was so looking forward to going... everything was to my liking except the food... I ordered the blackened redfish...I only took a few bites and got full....so i took my food home..to endulge later...but was unable to truly enjoy it due to the fact that almost every bit had very fine bones....I was afraid that I may choke from swallowing a bone...I thought the redfish was supposed to be filleted ....seeing that it was the first time I had it... it's all I've thought about since thefirst time I had it... and I can honestly say it did not live up to its expectations... I have bragged about this dish to everyone...if they have tried it... I hope they didnt experience what I did..

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Evening

Dined on April 9, 2016

I had been to Ocean Prime several times for lunch but never dinner. Loved the food at lunch and the fact that you could talk and hear each other. A definite plus!!! This time we were a group of 6 for dinner. My husband and I split the wedge salad. Wonderful!! Several of our party had fish and a couple had steak. All good. Will order the crab cakes with corn next time. Tasted my husbands and loved this dish Still dreaming of the peanut butter chocolate dessert that I had. Heaven!!! It was huge and big enough for two. On top of the great food and service is the fact the you can enjoy conversation with your party. The acoustics allow for you to actually hear the people that you came to visit with. Something that is really hard to find in this city.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my first time there and it will ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

This was my first time there and it will not be my last. The filet I ordered just knocked me off my feet. Definitely one of the best I've ever had. Perfect medium rare. It was dimly lit inside but lit so perfectly you'd barely notice. My friend got the crab legs. They were also spectacular. It was definitely fancy dining without the stuffiness. Also, our waiter looked like Christian Bale, so that's a plus :)

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Night out

Dined on April 9, 2016

The staff was friendly and accommodating at the front desk. The live music in the bar was fun, he had a great voice!! The food was delicious!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Very expensive - $65 steak special disappointing

Dined on April 8, 2016

Very good atmosphere and service but... Appetizers of crab cake, 1/2 doz oysters and ceasar salad were very good but expensive. However, the two $65 each 14 oz bone off ny strip specials were way over seasoned and far too expensive, even if not over seasoned. The steak was nothing special and nothing came with the steak. MEAL WAS $260 PLUS TIP - 3 beers, 3 glasses of wine (walked 3 blocks to American Airlines Arena for Mavs game and Uber home) crab cake, ceasar salad, 1/2 doz oysters, 2 steak specials and 1 twice baked potato. Way too expensive.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb!

Dined on April 7, 2016

Superb service, and magnificent cuisine! The entire experience was exactly what I expected. Worth the money!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on April 3, 2016

One of the best Restaurants I visited. From the moment the wife and I entered the restaurant we were greeted by the entire staff and they all wished us a happy 22nd Anniversary that was very special to us. Now lets talk about the food Oh my Gosh Outstanding the freshness of the seafood Superb, Drinks Superb. There's not one bad Thing that I can say about Ocean Prime the dessert is to die for. From the moment you enter the restaurant you know you're somewhere Special. Looking forward to my next experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Special Occasion

Dined on April 2, 2016

Every detail of our visit was carried out with expert precision, from the moment we arrived to the friendly goodbyes. Our waiter was attentive and exceptionally attuned to our needs. This was our second visit and the sea bass was, again, the best we've ever experienced as were the truffle mashed potatoes. A truly memorable evening!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a Winner!

Dined on March 27, 2016

As always the service was impeccable. We had an issue with our steak and it was promptly addressed. My only regret was that they ran out of my favorite desert and that was the reason for the visit. Next time!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Most amazing place in Dallas!!!

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Most amazing place in Dallas!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

We went Easter Sunday and it was fantast ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

We went Easter Sunday and it was fantastic. We had the best server, he was funny, accommodating and very pleasant. We will definitely go back to try their regular menu. I highly recommend this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit

Dined on March 27, 2016

Arrived 30 minutes in advance of reservation but were seated right away. Service was prompt and attentive throughout our meal. Food was everything we could have expected. Enjoyed sea bass and blackened red fish. Prime house salad will be on our list of items to be ordered on our next visit. Definitely a spot for special occasions!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on March 27, 2016

I completely enjoyed my time at Ocean Prime. Everything was lovely!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.