About Ocean Pacific Grille

531 F Street
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Ocean Pacific Grille features the freshest seafood prepared using bold flavors of the Pacific Rim, wrapped in a Filipino state of mind. This dynamic approach has allowed Ocean Pacific Grille to blaze a new trail in fresh seafood cuisine. Being hailed as the leader in Filipino Fusion, they have effectively raised the standard in Pacific Rim cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Pacific Rim, Filipino

Hours of Operation:
Sun-Thurs 4p-10p
Fri & Sat 4p-11p
Brunch - Sat & Sun 10a-1p

Cross Street:
6th Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 578-2828

Website:
http://www.oceanpacificgrille.com/

Catering:
Let Ocean Pacific Grille cater your next event. Relax and enjoy yourself as we take care of feeding your guests with our one of kind Pacific Rim cuisine. Guaranteed fresh and extraordinary! Call today for more details. Ask for Brian Norris: (619) 578-2828, bnorris@oceanpacificgrille.com

Parking Details:
Parking is available at Horton Plaza (2 blocks west of restaurant, 3hr validation at the mall), or Park it on Market, (2 blocks south of restaurant, $1/hour).

Executive Chef:
Charles Andres

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Ocean Pacific Grille
Ocean Pacific Grille

Ocean Pacific Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (11)
neighborhood gem (8)
special occasion (8)
See All
good for groups (7)
romantic (5)
notable wine list (5)
great for outdoor dining (4)
hot spot (3)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
67 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was amwzing!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food was amwzing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience of dining here. Service was great. The manager, Brian, was very accommodating in correcting a situation. We would definitely go back....the deserts are mouth-watering.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and GREAT food.

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Excellent service and GREAT food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid but nothing special

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

I have no complaints about the restaurant but it didn't really have any highlights either - solid without anything special. Seems like there are a lot of better options in SD, both downtown and elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Reviews were good, so I tried it out whe ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Reviews were good, so I tried it out when I was in San Diego for a meeting. Dining alone is never great, but they have a counter or bar at the kitchen which was very entertaining and I'd suggest that for someone dining alone. Other options would be the dining room or bar. I had seen Mahi on the menu--they were out, but had halibut which was excellent. Bit of an Asian influence, and tastes, but subtle--I found the food to be excellent. Service was attentive, not overbearing. Turned out to be an excellent choice and I would return. Check it out.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

They did a wonderful job. Everything we ...

 
·Dined on May 18, 2016

They did a wonderful job. Everything we tried was delicious. We eventually just told them to bring us what they recommended and we had an awesome time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting san diego for the first time, w ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Visiting san diego for the first time, we discovered this restaurant and wow what an amazing cuisine. It was inventive, well presenting and the taste was amazing with every food we tried, it is a no fault, we will return before leaving town

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very loud inside, we requested a table o ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Very loud inside, we requested a table outside which they gave us right away, which was nice

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was very good. My date and I sh ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was very good. My date and I shared a salad and an entree and the portions were very nice. Service was just ok, not great, but not bad either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I was very satisfied with our prix-fixe ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

I was very satisfied with our prix-fixe menu food: papaya salad, braised short ribs, and the vanilla flan; clam chowder, seared mahi mahi, and chocolate dome. The vanilla flan was my absolute favorite! I also liked the Filipino flair tossed in here and there. I will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sea bass, shrimp and Calamari were a ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The sea bass, shrimp and Calamari were all very ordinary. I've never seen sea bass so thin and wasn't even sure if it really was. I will never eat there again and suggest others don't as well. I spent $400 for five people and for the quality of the food it should have cost $150

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

All around - rock solid

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Service, food, beverages all great. I feel like the dining room could have used updating, given the quality of everything else. But I was also celebrating, two sheets to the wind and may not know what I'm talking about.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Won't eat there again

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I have never seen staff look so unhappy to be at work. I could hardly see my chicken it was so small. The coffee was on the bad side but just good enough to drink. Nothing special to support the $60 I spent.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Food and service was excellent!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Finally a "fine dining" Filipino fusion restaurant. The adobo ribs were on fire, the Kare Kare was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food for Asian fusion fancy style. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Great food for Asian fusion fancy style. Although, If you want to real pilipino food this might not be your choice.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Gem in Downtown San Diego

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

My Wife and I Celebrated our 33rd Wedding Anniversary with Dinner at The "Ocean Pacific Grill'. We totally enjoyed many 'Small Plates' and Li Hing Mui Margarita's. Great Modern Space. Street Parking.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Return

 
 (México)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Very good and frienly One of the best in the desert

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great service, great scenery ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Great food, great service, great scenery...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food in downtown San Diego...h ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Excellent food in downtown San Diego...had a very nice dinner there with my son who lives there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was solidly good if not startli ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

The food was solidly good if not startling. I would eat there again. The waiters did not seem overly knowledgable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Good service, management but uneven food quality

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

My husband had the salmon with noodles which he liked very much. I ordered the $39 filet mignon and lobster tail. The steak, while cooked correctly, was not tender and it was strangely ropey - not like any filet I have had; mashed potatoes were runny.

The waitress and manager were professional and responsive, and gave me another steak and fresh potatoes and broccolini, but it was marginally better. Looks as if the restaurant should reconsider the quality of meet they are buying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Good for lunch

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

This place is a good choice for lunch in the Gaslamp area. The food definitely has a Filipino slant to it. The food was good and a little different from the usual. Good draft beer selection as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Awesome experience

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Dined here for the first time to meet with a friend from out of town. Ordered multiple starters to share like tapas style. We enjoyed everything we ordered especially the tocino toast and bone marrow. Our table was also personally approached by Chef Charles, and he was pleasant to conversate with for a few. We got a corner booth/table as I requested and were seated within minutes when we arrived. Will definitely come back to try more items on the menu as well as bring visitors from out of town to experience dining here! Thanks Chef Charles & Ocean Pacific Grille for an awesome experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good brunch experience in San Diego

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The dining room was open and airy and very pleasant. The food was delicious and nicely presented. We went for brunch on a Sunday at Noon and it was not crowded. I would recommend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The chef created each dish with detail a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The chef created each dish with detail and genuine flavors. Tocino toast is ingenious and a delight as an appetizer. The Seabass was perfectly cooked and generous in portion. Well worth the price! It was our second time back and we brought our kids! A bit pricey if you add them, but tonight was treat for the entire family!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. Was a great way to s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Food was excellent. Was a great way to spend an evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Ocean Pacific Grille

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

Food was very tasty, and service was excellent! The server was extremely courteous and attentive.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good seafood. Decent wines at a reasonable price.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Very accommodating for a party of ten - we sat in the bar area at the long table. Appetizers were interesting, and tuna was very fresh.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

No!No!No!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

This restaurant was one of the worst we've been to in the Gaslamp. The place had to be 80 deg. on a 60 deg. evening. Uncomfortable to say in the least. We were sat next to a table of 2 adults and 6 kids - they ran around the table all night yelling & screaming and the parents ignored them! The appetizers were burnt - the octopus black and charred! My husband's chicken entree had to have been frozen & microwaved! It was inedible. Our friend ordered the swordfish - same thing! I swear they had them frozen and just tossed them into the microwave & hit "high". When we complained to our waitress, her response was, "oh sorry" as she laid down our check! We will never return! Ughhhh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Disappointing

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

The atmosphere was nice, but the food was bland and unremarkable. It was certainly not worth the somewhat upscale price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good service.

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 28, 2016

Very good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It was just OK

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

My friends and I came here for the first time on a Sunday to try the Filipino fusion food. We were offered the limited Sunday brunch menu. It was obviously not the menu I had read about but we made the best of it. Six of us tried 4 different menu items. They were all decent meals, however, it was not any different than what you would get at a standard Filipino restaurant, fried rice, egg, spam, lechon (fried pork belly).

Service was friendly but slow. The place was not even busy (3-4 tables) but it took some flagging down and patience to get out water refilled and to get the check.

Overall, if you're curious, visit the place and try for yourself. It's not bad but nothing special.

For me, I will not return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Fair

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

The food seemed a bit uninspired, the salmon was a bit plain and nothing really special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

J miller

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

This is definitely the best restaurant in the gas lamp. We lived in Singapore so to get a fusion of southeast Asian /Filipino food was great. We will definitely be back. The service was great also!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Yummy but pedestrian atmosphere

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

We enjoyed a lovely meal, with very friendly wait staff. However, it would have been nicer if the atmosphere felt a little more upscale, to match the dining quality.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The drinks and food were all delicious! ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

The drinks and food were all delicious! Everything was great. We can't wait to come back and try more things!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great new find

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

We wanted to try a new restaurant to celebrate my son's birthday. The menu for Ocean Pacific Grille sounded intriguing so we gave it a try. Our appetizers, pork belly bao buns and pork & shrimp lumpia were delicious. For entrees, we ordered crispy skin sea bass, mahi mahi & salmon. All our dishes were were visually appealing and tasted great. The sea bass didn't actually have crispy skin but was still very enjoyable. Our server Erica was awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Bad night?

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

This restaurant had great reviews and we were so enjoying the experience. We were seated promptly and had a nice experiencing ordering wine with their specialist. The server was not very attentive and service was slow. Was it due to the party of 12 nearby? We all ordered the octopus which was tough and not edible. Sent it back and the skinnier piece of meat came over charred and the larger part of the tentacle was still tough. The manager was VERY gracious and took it off our bill. He also comped another part of our check which was honorable and the right thing to do. Perhaps it was just an off night?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Good eats!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on November 2, 2015

Being of Filipino descent we wanted to see what this "Filipino fusion" was all about. The twist on the traditional lumpia and bao was a delight and definitely not what Mom would make. We ordered the Opah entree, which was a bit overcooked but had good flavor and the haupia desert was delicious! The service was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

AWESOME Modern Filipino Cuisine!

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

It is awesome to see Filipino Food offered an upscale level! I love the creativity of all the dishes -- although the dishes are modern, that does not effect the integrity of the traditional Filipino flavor and soul! Kudos to the Chef and his team!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.