Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

Double StandardDouble Standard
(175)
$$$$
Californian | Downtown / Gaslamp, San Diego
Booked 11 times today
Pushkin Russian RestaurantPushkin Russian Restaurant
(24)
$$$$
Russian | Downtown / Gaslamp, San Diego
Booked 5 times today
Florent Restaurant & LoungeFlorent Restaurant & Lounge
(90)
$$$$
American | Downtown / Gaslamp, San Diego
Booked 13 times today
Osteria PanevinoOsteria Panevino
(346)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown / Gaslamp, San Diego
Booked 10 times today
de Medici Cucina Italianade Medici Cucina Italiana
(612)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown / Gaslamp, San Diego
Booked 10 times today
Bandar RestaurantBandar Restaurant
(409)
$$$$
Persian | Downtown / Gaslamp, San Diego
Booked 13 times today
Searsucker Downtown San DiegoSearsucker Downtown San Diego
(1860)
$$$$
American | Downtown / Gaslamp, San Diego
Booked 56 times today
Asti RistoranteAsti Ristorante
(540)
$$$$
Italian | Downtown / Gaslamp, San Diego
Booked 10 times today
Greystone Steakhouse and SeafoodGreystone Steakhouse and Seafood
(511)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Downtown / Gaslamp, San Diego
Booked 12 times today
Brian's 24Brian's 24
(35)
$$$$
American | Downtown / Gaslamp, San Diego
Booked 1 time today
The Melting Pot - Gaslamp QuarterThe Melting Pot - Gaslamp Quarter
(1143)
$$$$
Fondue | Downtown / Gaslamp, San Diego
Booked 34 times today
PhulkariPhulkari
(2)
$$$$
Indian | Downtown / Gaslamp, San Diego
OSETRA Seafood & SteaksOSETRA Seafood & Steaks
(506)
$$$$
Californian | Downtown / Gaslamp, San Diego
Booked 18 times today
Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San DiegoFogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - San Diego
(912)
$$$$
Brazilian Steakhouse | Downtown / Gaslamp, San Diego
Booked 22 times today
Rustic RootRustic Root
(190)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Downtown / Gaslamp, San Diego
Booked 19 times today

About Ocean Pacific Grille

531 F Street
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Ocean Pacific Grille features the freshest seafood prepared using bold flavors of the Pacific Rim, wrapped in a Filipino state of mind. This dynamic approach has allowed Ocean Pacific Grille to blaze a new trail in fresh seafood cuisine. Being hailed as the leader in Filipino Fusion, they have effectively raised the standard in Pacific Rim cuisine.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Pacific Rim, Filipino

Hours of Operation:
Sun-Thurs 4p-10p
Fri & Sat 4p-11p
Brunch - Sat & Sun 10a-1p

Cross Street:
6th Ave.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 578-2828

Website:
http://www.oceanpacificgrille.com/

Catering:
Let Ocean Pacific Grille cater your next event. Relax and enjoy yourself as we take care of feeding your guests with our one of kind Pacific Rim cuisine. Guaranteed fresh and extraordinary! Call today for more details. Ask for Brian Norris: (619) 578-2828, bnorris@oceanpacificgrille.com

Parking Details:
Parking is available at Horton Plaza (2 blocks west of restaurant, 3hr validation at the mall), or Park it on Market, (2 blocks south of restaurant, $1/hour).

Executive Chef:
Charles Andres

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Ocean Pacific Grille, San Diego, CA
  • Ocean Pacific Grille, San Diego, CA
Ocean Pacific Grille, San Diego, CA
Ocean Pacific Grille, San Diego, CA

Ocean Pacific Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (4)
Special Occasion (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
See All
Fit for Foodies (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Casual (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Healthy (1)
Historic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Cozy (1)
Authentic (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Live Sports (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
75 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Combo plates, they are great!!!

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Combo plates, they are great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

delicious, love the spin on filipino foo ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2016

delicious, love the spin on filipino food, but just too expensive for filipinos

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The creativity of the menu reminds me of ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 26, 2016

The creativity of the menu reminds me of Asian Fusion but elevated. The tastes are amazing and a twist of home cook Filipino food. Finally!

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in San Diego for a conference an ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We were in San Diego for a conference and we wanted to eat Filipino food in a nice restaurant. There are plenty of choices especially in National City but most are steam-table, casual places (what the Filipinos would call turo-turo). This restaurant was a class all its own and it's in the cool Gas Lamp District. Primarily, it makes Filipino food accessible to non-Filipinos. The food was very nicely plated. I had the crispy fish with the tamarind broth --- a take on sinigang. The fish (can't remember the name) was indeed crispy on the outside and moist inside. The broth, poured table side, is nicely tangy. The dish came with a melange of vegetables including bokchoy, radish, potatoes and long beans. My only complaint is that long beans, contrary to the current fad of semi-cooked vegetables, should be cooked until tender and infused with the flavor of the broth. The dish did not come with rice but not a problem, I stole my husband's bowl that came with his entree. My husband had the whole fried fish with a wine, tomato sauce. I liked this dish a lot, although some people might be turned off by food staring back at you. The sweet tomato sauce complimented the crispy-fried fish. I forgot, we also ordered the salt and pepper calamari appetizer with pickled peppers. The flavor is good but the calamari are a tad overcooked. For dessert, we had the 'halo-halo', which is really not quite like the real thing. The amount of effort to compose this dessert is obvious --- two kinds of mousse, rice crisp (not so crispy), fresh fruit compote (lots of knife work involved) and a sweet red bean, condensed milk ice pop. I think the rice crisp has to be quickly fried first so that it pops like popcorn. As is, it tasted raw. I appreciate the effort put in this dessert but the 'halo-halo' (mix-mix) spirit was lost as the components don't seem to go together. I would rather have sweet bananas and jackfruit in syrup than the fresh fruit. But still, I wish this restaurant well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was pleasantly surprised to find Filip ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised to find Filipino cuisine upgraded to fine dining. The upscaled cuisine is a one to try. It will not disappoint.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Modern Decor, Organic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here. The ambience was nice. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 6, 2016

First time here. The ambience was nice. The food selection was minimal. Flavor was okay, nothing great but not worth the price. Service was okay as well. There are so many other options in Gaslamp so I don't think I will be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

This is a very good Filipino/Asian fusio ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

This is a very good Filipino/Asian fusion restaurant with a new take on traditional dishes. It lived up to its favorable reviews. We arrived for an early dinner to a partially filled restaurant. There is an adjacent bar where we enjoyed a well-made pre-dinner cocktail. One guest's Filipino mother regularly served home-cooked traditional Filipino meals. While not prepared in the authentic style, these dishes were quite delicious according to our guest, who said that he will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was amwzing!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food was amwzing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2016

My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience of dining here. Service was great. The manager, Brian, was very accommodating in correcting a situation. We would definitely go back....the deserts are mouth-watering.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and GREAT food.

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Excellent service and GREAT food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid but nothing special

 
 (London)·Dined on May 27, 2016

I have no complaints about the restaurant but it didn't really have any highlights either - solid without anything special. Seems like there are a lot of better options in SD, both downtown and elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Reviews were good, so I tried it out whe ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2016

Reviews were good, so I tried it out when I was in San Diego for a meeting. Dining alone is never great, but they have a counter or bar at the kitchen which was very entertaining and I'd suggest that for someone dining alone. Other options would be the dining room or bar. I had seen Mahi on the menu--they were out, but had halibut which was excellent. Bit of an Asian influence, and tastes, but subtle--I found the food to be excellent. Service was attentive, not overbearing. Turned out to be an excellent choice and I would return. Check it out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

They did a wonderful job. Everything we ...

 
·Dined on May 18, 2016

They did a wonderful job. Everything we tried was delicious. We eventually just told them to bring us what they recommended and we had an awesome time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting san diego for the first time, w ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on May 16, 2016

Visiting san diego for the first time, we discovered this restaurant and wow what an amazing cuisine. It was inventive, well presenting and the taste was amazing with every food we tried, it is a no fault, we will return before leaving town

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very loud inside, we requested a table o ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Very loud inside, we requested a table outside which they gave us right away, which was nice

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was very good. My date and I sh ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was very good. My date and I shared a salad and an entree and the portions were very nice. Service was just ok, not great, but not bad either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

I was very satisfied with our prix-fixe ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 9, 2016

I was very satisfied with our prix-fixe menu food: papaya salad, braised short ribs, and the vanilla flan; clam chowder, seared mahi mahi, and chocolate dome. The vanilla flan was my absolute favorite! I also liked the Filipino flair tossed in here and there. I will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The sea bass, shrimp and Calamari were a ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 22, 2016

The sea bass, shrimp and Calamari were all very ordinary. I've never seen sea bass so thin and wasn't even sure if it really was. I will never eat there again and suggest others don't as well. I spent $400 for five people and for the quality of the food it should have cost $150

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

All around - rock solid

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2016

Service, food, beverages all great. I feel like the dining room could have used updating, given the quality of everything else. But I was also celebrating, two sheets to the wind and may not know what I'm talking about.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Won't eat there again

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 9, 2016

I have never seen staff look so unhappy to be at work. I could hardly see my chicken it was so small. The coffee was on the bad side but just good enough to drink. Nothing special to support the $60 I spent.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Food and service was excellent!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 7, 2016

Finally a "fine dining" Filipino fusion restaurant. The adobo ribs were on fire, the Kare Kare was amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food for Asian fusion fancy style. ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2016

Great food for Asian fusion fancy style. Although, If you want to real pilipino food this might not be your choice.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We were in San Diego on vacation and saw ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 29, 2016

We were in San Diego on vacation and saw this pop up on Open Table. We were not disappointed. I had a whole fish which was deliciously prepared and the presentation was fantastic. They created a special meal for my 7 yr old. I would highly recommend this place for anyone -especially for the seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Gem in Downtown San Diego

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 24, 2016

My Wife and I Celebrated our 33rd Wedding Anniversary with Dinner at The "Ocean Pacific Grill'. We totally enjoyed many 'Small Plates' and Li Hing Mui Margarita's. Great Modern Space. Street Parking.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Return

 
 (México)·Dined on March 23, 2016

Very good and frienly One of the best in the desert

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great service, great scenery ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2016

Great food, great service, great scenery...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food in downtown San Diego...h ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 19, 2016

Excellent food in downtown San Diego...had a very nice dinner there with my son who lives there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was solidly good if not startli ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 17, 2016

The food was solidly good if not startling. I would eat there again. The waiters did not seem overly knowledgable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Good service, management but uneven food quality

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2016

My husband had the salmon with noodles which he liked very much. I ordered the $39 filet mignon and lobster tail. The steak, while cooked correctly, was not tender and it was strangely ropey - not like any filet I have had; mashed potatoes were runny.

The waitress and manager were professional and responsive, and gave me another steak and fresh potatoes and broccolini, but it was marginally better. Looks as if the restaurant should reconsider the quality of meet they are buying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Good for lunch

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 13, 2016

This place is a good choice for lunch in the Gaslamp area. The food definitely has a Filipino slant to it. The food was good and a little different from the usual. Good draft beer selection as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Awesome experience

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 6, 2016

Dined here for the first time to meet with a friend from out of town. Ordered multiple starters to share like tapas style. We enjoyed everything we ordered especially the tocino toast and bone marrow. Our table was also personally approached by Chef Charles, and he was pleasant to conversate with for a few. We got a corner booth/table as I requested and were seated within minutes when we arrived. Will definitely come back to try more items on the menu as well as bring visitors from out of town to experience dining here! Thanks Chef Charles & Ocean Pacific Grille for an awesome experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good brunch experience in San Diego

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 21, 2016

The dining room was open and airy and very pleasant. The food was delicious and nicely presented. We went for brunch on a Sunday at Noon and it was not crowded. I would recommend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The chef created each dish with detail a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2016

The chef created each dish with detail and genuine flavors. Tocino toast is ingenious and a delight as an appetizer. The Seabass was perfectly cooked and generous in portion. Well worth the price! It was our second time back and we brought our kids! A bit pricey if you add them, but tonight was treat for the entire family!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. Was a great way to s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Food was excellent. Was a great way to spend an evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Ocean Pacific Grille

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 1, 2016

Food was very tasty, and service was excellent! The server was extremely courteous and attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good seafood. Decent wines at a reasonable price.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Very accommodating for a party of ten - we sat in the bar area at the long table. Appetizers were interesting, and tuna was very fresh.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

No!No!No!

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 30, 2016

This restaurant was one of the worst we've been to in the Gaslamp. The place had to be 80 deg. on a 60 deg. evening. Uncomfortable to say in the least. We were sat next to a table of 2 adults and 6 kids - they ran around the table all night yelling & screaming and the parents ignored them! The appetizers were burnt - the octopus black and charred! My husband's chicken entree had to have been frozen & microwaved! It was inedible. Our friend ordered the swordfish - same thing! I swear they had them frozen and just tossed them into the microwave & hit "high". When we complained to our waitress, her response was, "oh sorry" as she laid down our check! We will never return! Ughhhh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Disappointing

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2016

The atmosphere was nice, but the food was bland and unremarkable. It was certainly not worth the somewhat upscale price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good service.

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 28, 2016

Very good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It was just OK

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 24, 2016

My friends and I came here for the first time on a Sunday to try the Filipino fusion food. We were offered the limited Sunday brunch menu. It was obviously not the menu I had read about but we made the best of it. Six of us tried 4 different menu items. They were all decent meals, however, it was not any different than what you would get at a standard Filipino restaurant, fried rice, egg, spam, lechon (fried pork belly).

Service was friendly but slow. The place was not even busy (3-4 tables) but it took some flagging down and patience to get out water refilled and to get the check.

Overall, if you're curious, visit the place and try for yourself. It's not bad but nothing special.

For me, I will not return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.