Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Ocean Pacific Grille

4.2
75 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Good for Groups
  • Special Occasion

Similar Restaurants

About

Ocean Pacific Grille is a casual restaurant that serves a variety of contemporary Filipino and Asian Fusion dishes. It specializes in seafood specialties and also offers an array of creative cocktails for guests to enjoy. The restaurant's spacious dining area features bright colors, modern décor and unique lighting. Ocean Pacific Grill is a great place to enjoy a relaxing lunch or dinner with friends and family.

Begin the meal with an appetizer like pork belly buns, cauliflower and brussels sprouts, tocino toast with bone marrow or burrata. For the main course at Ocean Pacific Grille try a dish like smoked gouda mac and cheese, adobo ribs, shrimp palabok or New York strip steak. End the meal with a sweet dessert like ube donuts with yuzu sorbet or the halo-halo bar.

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Pacific Rim, Filipino
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sun-Thurs 4p-10p
Fri & Sat 4p-11p
Brunch - Sat & Sun 10a-1p
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(619) 578-2828
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Charles Andres
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Let Ocean Pacific Grille cater your next event. Relax and enjoy yourself as we take care of feeding your guests with our one of kind Pacific Rim cuisine. Guaranteed fresh and extraordinary! Call today for more details. Ask for Brian Norris: (619) 578-2828, bnorris@oceanpacificgrille.com
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
6th Ave.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Parking is available at Horton Plaza (2 blocks west of restaurant, 3hr validation at the mall), or Park it on Market, (2 blocks south of restaurant, $1/hour).
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 75 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.2based on all time ratings
4.2
food
4.4
service
4.2
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on October 15, 2016

Combo plates, they are great!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 29, 2016

delicious, love the spin on filipino food, but just too expensive for filipinos

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 25, 2016

The creativity of the menu reminds me of Asian Fusion but elevated. The tastes are amazing and a twist of home cook Filipino food. Finally!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 10, 2016

We were in San Diego for a conference and we wanted to eat Filipino food in a nice restaurant. There are plenty of choices especially in National City but most are steam-table, casual places (what the Filipinos would call turo-turo). This restaurant was a class all its own and it's in the cool Gas Lamp District. Primarily, it makes Filipino food accessible to non-Filipinos. The food was very nicely plated. I had the crispy fish with the tamarind broth --- a take on sinigang. The fish (can't remember the name) was indeed crispy on the outside and moist inside. The broth, poured table side, is nicely tangy. The dish came with a melange of vegetables including bokchoy, radish, potatoes and long beans. My only complaint is that long beans, contrary to the current fad of semi-cooked vegetables, should be cooked until tender and infused with the flavor of the broth. The dish did not come with rice but not a problem, I stole my husband's bowl that came with his entree. My husband had the whole fried fish with a wine, tomato sauce. I liked this dish a lot, although some people might be turned off by food staring back at you. The sweet tomato sauce complimented the crispy-fried fish. I forgot, we also ordered the salt and pepper calamari appetizer with pickled peppers. The flavor is good but the calamari are a tad overcooked. For dessert, we had the 'halo-halo', which is really not quite like the real thing. The amount of effort to compose this dessert is obvious --- two kinds of mousse, rice crisp (not so crispy), fresh fruit compote (lots of knife work involved) and a sweet red bean, condensed milk ice pop. I think the rice crisp has to be quickly fried first so that it pops like popcorn. As is, it tasted raw. I appreciate the effort put in this dessert but the 'halo-halo' (mix-mix) spirit was lost as the components don't seem to go together. I would rather have sweet bananas and jackfruit in syrup than the fresh fruit. But still, I wish this restaurant well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 8, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised to find Filipino cuisine upgraded to fine dining. The upscaled cuisine is a one to try. It will not disappoint.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 5, 2016

First time here. The ambience was nice. The food selection was minimal. Flavor was okay, nothing great but not worth the price. Service was okay as well. There are so many other options in Gaslamp so I don't think I will be returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 27, 2016

This is a very good Filipino/Asian fusion restaurant with a new take on traditional dishes. It lived up to its favorable reviews. We arrived for an early dinner to a partially filled restaurant. There is an adjacent bar where we enjoyed a well-made pre-dinner cocktail. One guest's Filipino mother regularly served home-cooked traditional Filipino meals. While not prepared in the authentic style, these dishes were quite delicious according to our guest, who said that he will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was amwzing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 18, 2016

My friends and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience of dining here. Service was great. The manager, Brian, was very accommodating in correcting a situation. We would definitely go back....the deserts are mouth-watering.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2016

Excellent service and GREAT food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 26, 2016

I have no complaints about the restaurant but it didn't really have any highlights either - solid without anything special. Seems like there are a lot of better options in SD, both downtown and elsewhere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2016

Reviews were good, so I tried it out when I was in San Diego for a meeting. Dining alone is never great, but they have a counter or bar at the kitchen which was very entertaining and I'd suggest that for someone dining alone. Other options would be the dining room or bar. I had seen Mahi on the menu--they were out, but had halibut which was excellent. Bit of an Asian influence, and tastes, but subtle--I found the food to be excellent. Service was attentive, not overbearing. Turned out to be an excellent choice and I would return. Check it out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2016

They did a wonderful job. Everything we tried was delicious. We eventually just told them to bring us what they recommended and we had an awesome time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2016

Visiting san diego for the first time, we discovered this restaurant and wow what an amazing cuisine. It was inventive, well presenting and the taste was amazing with every food we tried, it is a no fault, we will return before leaving town

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2016

Very loud inside, we requested a table outside which they gave us right away, which was nice

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2016

The food was very good. My date and I shared a salad and an entree and the portions were very nice. Service was just ok, not great, but not bad either.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2016

I was very satisfied with our prix-fixe menu food: papaya salad, braised short ribs, and the vanilla flan; clam chowder, seared mahi mahi, and chocolate dome. The vanilla flan was my absolute favorite! I also liked the Filipino flair tossed in here and there. I will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 21, 2016

The sea bass, shrimp and Calamari were all very ordinary. I've never seen sea bass so thin and wasn't even sure if it really was. I will never eat there again and suggest others don't as well. I spent $400 for five people and for the quality of the food it should have cost $150

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2016

Service, food, beverages all great. I feel like the dining room could have used updating, given the quality of everything else. But I was also celebrating, two sheets to the wind and may not know what I'm talking about.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 8, 2016

I have never seen staff look so unhappy to be at work. I could hardly see my chicken it was so small. The coffee was on the bad side but just good enough to drink. Nothing special to support the $60 I spent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2016

Finally a "fine dining" Filipino fusion restaurant. The adobo ribs were on fire, the Kare Kare was amazing!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2016

Great food for Asian fusion fancy style. Although, If you want to real pilipino food this might not be your choice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2016

We were in San Diego on vacation and saw this pop up on Open Table. We were not disappointed. I had a whole fish which was deliciously prepared and the presentation was fantastic. They created a special meal for my 7 yr old. I would highly recommend this place for anyone -especially for the seafood.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2016

My Wife and I Celebrated our 33rd Wedding Anniversary with Dinner at The "Ocean Pacific Grill'. We totally enjoyed many 'Small Plates' and Li Hing Mui Margarita's. Great Modern Space. Street Parking.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2016

Very good and frienly One of the best in the desert

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2016

Great food, great service, great scenery...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2016

Excellent food in downtown San Diego...had a very nice dinner there with my son who lives there.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 16, 2016

The food was solidly good if not startling. I would eat there again. The waiters did not seem overly knowledgable.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 15, 2016

My husband had the salmon with noodles which he liked very much. I ordered the $39 filet mignon and lobster tail. The steak, while cooked correctly, was not tender and it was strangely ropey - not like any filet I have had; mashed potatoes were runny.

The waitress and manager were professional and responsive, and gave me another steak and fresh potatoes and broccolini, but it was marginally better. Looks as if the restaurant should reconsider the quality of meet they are buying.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 13, 2016

This place is a good choice for lunch in the Gaslamp area. The food definitely has a Filipino slant to it. The food was good and a little different from the usual. Good draft beer selection as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2016

Dined here for the first time to meet with a friend from out of town. Ordered multiple starters to share like tapas style. We enjoyed everything we ordered especially the tocino toast and bone marrow. Our table was also personally approached by Chef Charles, and he was pleasant to conversate with for a few. We got a corner booth/table as I requested and were seated within minutes when we arrived. Will definitely come back to try more items on the menu as well as bring visitors from out of town to experience dining here! Thanks Chef Charles & Ocean Pacific Grille for an awesome experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 21, 2016

The dining room was open and airy and very pleasant. The food was delicious and nicely presented. We went for brunch on a Sunday at Noon and it was not crowded. I would recommend this restaurant to friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 20, 2016

The chef created each dish with detail and genuine flavors. Tocino toast is ingenious and a delight as an appetizer. The Seabass was perfectly cooked and generous in portion. Well worth the price! It was our second time back and we brought our kids! A bit pricey if you add them, but tonight was treat for the entire family!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2016

Food was excellent. Was a great way to spend an evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 31, 2016

Food was very tasty, and service was excellent! The server was extremely courteous and attentive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 30, 2016

Very accommodating for a party of ten - we sat in the bar area at the long table. Appetizers were interesting, and tuna was very fresh.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 29, 2016

This restaurant was one of the worst we've been to in the Gaslamp. The place had to be 80 deg. on a 60 deg. evening. Uncomfortable to say in the least. We were sat next to a table of 2 adults and 6 kids - they ran around the table all night yelling & screaming and the parents ignored them! The appetizers were burnt - the octopus black and charred! My husband's chicken entree had to have been frozen & microwaved! It was inedible. Our friend ordered the swordfish - same thing! I swear they had them frozen and just tossed them into the microwave & hit "high". When we complained to our waitress, her response was, "oh sorry" as she laid down our check! We will never return! Ughhhh!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 28, 2016

The atmosphere was nice, but the food was bland and unremarkable. It was certainly not worth the somewhat upscale price.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 27, 2016

Very good service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 24, 2016

My friends and I came here for the first time on a Sunday to try the Filipino fusion food. We were offered the limited Sunday brunch menu. It was obviously not the menu I had read about but we made the best of it. Six of us tried 4 different menu items. They were all decent meals, however, it was not any different than what you would get at a standard Filipino restaurant, fried rice, egg, spam, lechon (fried pork belly).

Service was friendly but slow. The place was not even busy (3-4 tables) but it took some flagging down and patience to get out water refilled and to get the check.

Overall, if you're curious, visit the place and try for yourself. It's not bad but nothing special.

For me, I will not return.

Report
Helpful
1
2