Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

About Ocean

In the heart of this mostly residential enclave, in a converted circa-1895 Shingle Style house, sits Ocean. Though the Inn has existed in one permutation or another since the 1950s, and it has long held a reputation for well-appointed lodgings and fine dining. The Innkeepers have filled the building with a striking art collection that could make small New England museums envious, while Chef Gignac uses the dining room—with its awe-inspiring views—as a canvas upon which to create epicurean masterpieces. Pierre Gignac graduated from the Institut d’Hôtellerie et de Tourisme du Québec. Pierre chose to open his first restaurant in Ogunquit, Maine “98 Provence," which pleased locals, tourists and critics for 18 years, until it closed in 2012.

208 Ocean Ave.
Kennebunkport, ME 04046
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American, Italian

Hours of Operation:
5:00pm - close

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 967-2125

Website:
http://www.capearundelinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Pierre Gignac

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ocean Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (53)
Waterfront (43)
Romantic (42)
See All
Special Occasion (41)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for a Date (34)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Worth the Drive (28)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Local Ingredients (19)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Cozy (11)
Seasonal (9)
Tapas (6)
Authentic (6)
People Watching (5)
Historic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Business Meals (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Casual (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
707 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious food with an outstanding view. Part of the Cape Arundel inn which was a great long weekend destination.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Just the best restaurant in Maine!!!..Food is consistently amazing!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Beautiful food with a beautiful view. Thank you for making my best friends birthday one to remember.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Superb food , service started slow but picked up nicely. Creative plate and entire meal did not disappoint. Go early and have a drink on the porch with great view of the ocean.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We dine here every year when we go to Maine. Great to have drinks on the porch overlooking the ocean followed by dining at Ocean.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

A must visit in Kennebunkport. Excellent service and an amazing ocean view. The food is carefully prepared and artfully presented. Excellent wine list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Service was professional and very good. Food was fresh and view is terrific.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2017

THE MOST MEMORABLE DINING EXPERIENCE WE'VE EVER HAD! 5 STARS IS NOT ENOUGH TO RATE HOW WONDERFUL THIS RESTAURANT WAS! ABSOLUTELY EVERYTHING WAS PERFECTION!!!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 6, 2017

great food; great service in a lovely atmosphere. would highly recommend it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Amazing view and Friendly staff. Start with the caprese and order the lobster (or swordfish)!!!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Dining at Ocean Restruant is a celebration in itself with 360* views of the Atlantic Ocean. The well trained staff offers perfect hospitality and the most divine food. Chef Pierre Gignac's French inspired creations will delight the most discerning of palettes. Not only are the dishes delectable the presentation is spectacular. Laura P assisted at our table and made my husbands birthday an evening to remember. Thank you for a five star dining experience!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 1, 2017

For an amazing dinner anywhere near Kennebunkport, there is Ocean -- and then there is everywhere else. It's the perfect combination of exquisite food, attentive service, and casual elegant atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Amazing views, beautiful presentation of food which was delicious, and very attentive servers!! A must while visiting Kennebunkport.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great dinner and terrific ocean view. Well worth the tariff.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We feel that it is a TREAT to go to Ocean. The food is always outstanding. There is something for each persons taste. The service is excellent. The views of the ocean are amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Top quality in every aspect: service, food, ambiance, presentation all were outstanding. The price is high, but worth it for such excellence.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 28, 2017

They treated us very well with a great table and champagne to celebrate our wedding anniversary
Love this restaurant

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Wonderful food, nice view, and attentive service. Thanks for the lovely evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 26, 2017

The ambiance and service was outstanding. Had not been there in 10 years and loved the renovations. The menu offered many excellent choices. The heirloom tomato and burrata cheese salad was excellent. We both had the cod special which was excellent but expensive. Not a place I could afford on a regular basis but outstanding for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2017

World class Cuisine, scenic ocean views and impeccable service. Plus a great cocktail hour with Tapas before the Ocean opens for dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Cozy, Tapas, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Ocean is an excellent restaurant that covers pretty much all the aspects for fine dining - excellent creative menue, very good execution, fine service, beautiful dining room and a great view of the Atlantic. The Chef is terrific and has invented the best Gaspacho Soup ever. If your are in the area, Ocean is a great choice!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Excellent location and food. We looked out at the ocean (hence the name) at a beautiful sunset. It was our wedding anniversary and our waitress, Laura, made us feel special.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 20, 2017

My wife enjoyed an incredible meal with a spectacular ocean view.
The food was exceptional and its presentation was as well.
The staff were attentive and very pleasant.
It was our first time dining at the Oceans, I can assure you it will not be our last. We even commented on how this would be perfect for our 25 year anniversary

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2017

My wife and I first ate at Ocean last year while visiting Kennebunkport. The meal was outstanding - so good that we were very excited about returning this year. This year turned out even better than we anticipated. The food was exceptional. I had swordfish and my wife had lobster. Both were absolutely delicious. The service was absolutely outstanding. Emily served us in a phenomenal manner. She was very attentive but never made us feel rushed. A truly wonderful night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

we have always loved Ocean for the rare combination of fabulous view combined with fabulous food, but our recent experience involved several disappointing food surprises (icky, strange, mushy swordfish; unimpressive monkfish "osso bucco"), and bar issues (cocktails sounded a lot better than they tasted). Maybe it was a rare bad night; we'll try again, but next time had better exceed our expectations.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Great food, great view, great service! Would definitely go back!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 14, 2017

On vacation with my wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Je recommande fortement le Ocean. Tout à été parfait ... de l'accueil, au service impeccable, aux huîtres, aux pétoncles, au poisson, au dessert et en prime, voir la mer changer de couleur suivant les couleurs du coucher de soleil !!! Il y a bien longtemps que j'ai mangé un repas aussi exquis dans une ambiance de rêve. Et point très important, malgré le fait que j'étais seule, on ne m'a pas assigné une table près de la cuisine - comme ça arrive trop souvent malheureusement - mais bien une table vue sur la mer ! J'y retournerai en septembre avec des amis et sûrement à chaque fois que j'irai dans la region de Kennebunkport.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The food and experience were fantastic! I wanted to lick the plates! Compliments to the chefs!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 12, 2017

The lobster à la thernidir was a bit small, but very good. Even with the mix-up for my friend's coccktail (( a change was offered )), it turned out a delectable experience. Theduck was delicious, cooked ” à point “. Nice experience, suggested by my daughter who has been there.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 10, 2017

this is the best place ever love it love it will be back again and again

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Beautiful place, beautiful view and wonderful food. Who can ask for more?

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Food, Service, View were all exceptional! Living locally, we have many options for fine dining, but choose Ocean as our favorite.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Would highly recommend. Excellent food, service, location, view is spectacular

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 1, 2017

It was a lovely evening! The early evening light on the Atlantic was special and from our table we had a nice view of a special residence, former President & First Lady George & Barbara Bush's. You have a narrow road between the property and the Atlantic but you have no feeling its there. A pre dinner drink and an after dinner coffee on the Cape Arundel Inn's porch which hosts Ocean was terrific. My swordfish and my wife's medley of meats was enjoyed. Chef Pierre Gignac presents his dishes well. We'd recommend this restaurant highly and there is some fun pre dinner shopping 5 minutes away in Kennebunkport.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Wonderful location great food terrific staff made for a wonderful dining experience on a special occasion

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Best overall dining experience! The food is outstanding and beautifully prepared. The service is excellent - professional yet warm. The restaurant location is perfect and the view beyond compare.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Beautiul presentation and tasty food Service and knowledge of waitress impressive. We have dined here before, once every two years. You can count on be well taken care of and having a memorable meal. The food is expensive but special.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

This was one of the best meals we've ever had. We came to celebrate our 27th anniversary and the waitress was exceptionally helpful and nice. The view was spectacular and the food was remarkable. Can't say enough great things about this spot. We will come again!

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.