Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

About Ocean

In the heart of this mostly residential enclave, in a converted circa-1895 Shingle Style house, sits Ocean. Though the Inn has existed in one permutation or another since the 1950s, and it has long held a reputation for well-appointed lodgings and fine dining. The Innkeepers have filled the building with a striking art collection that could make small New England museums envious, while Chef Gignac uses the dining room—with its awe-inspiring views—as a canvas upon which to create epicurean masterpieces. Pierre Gignac graduated from the Institut d’Hôtellerie et de Tourisme du Québec. Pierre chose to open his first restaurant in Ogunquit, Maine “98 Provence," which pleased locals, tourists and critics for 18 years, until it closed in 2012.

208 Ocean Ave.
Kennebunkport, ME 04046
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American, Italian

Hours of Operation:
5:00pm - close

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 967-2125

Website:
http://www.capearundelinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Pierre Gignac

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ocean Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

5.0

value

4.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (17)
Waterfront (17)
Scenic View (16)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Good for a Date (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Seasonal (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Cozy (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Historic (3)
Authentic (3)
Tapas (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Casual (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
Healthy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
668 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Best overall dining experience! The food is outstanding and beautifully prepared. The service is excellent - professional yet warm. The restaurant location is perfect and the view beyond compare.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined 4 days ago

Perfect anniversary dinner...from the setting, to the table with a water view...to the service...to the food presentations...would highly recommend Ocean.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Nice diner with Amazing view! We had a beautiful night. The food was good and thé service was great. We will go back on ouf next trip to Maine.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Very Special...the front porch is just another added bonus...go early for a cocktail on the porch. The escargot is a real treat....the foil gras , rich but make sure you share these two appetizers. A nice finish to the meal are the truffles. Yum. We will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Fantastic expeience. Beautiful setting, superior service and wonderful food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We loved Ocean. Excellent in every category. If you are in the area this is a must for dinner.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We have enjoyed Ocean restaurant several occasions!! The creativity of the dishes & blend of ingredients is exquisite!!

The view & atmosphere are enjoyable. Being able to interact & have fin with the staff is great too!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Ocean is a lovely restaurant with spectacular water views. Dinner was excellent, service was professional, warm and welcoming. Can't wait to return!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Fabulous in every way. Mother's Day lunch. Presentation, service, food were all perfect. Had halibut and filet.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Perfect for a summer date. Gorgeous views combined with very good food. Ambience is special.

Tags: Waterfront, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Absolutely breathtaking view!!! The food was phenomenal!!! Would definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for a Date, People Watching, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We celebrated our 40th anniversary for dinner. Food, waterfront table, and the wait staff were incredibly attentive....I would highly recommend for a special occasion. Was not rushed at all, our food server, she was very knowlegable about the menu and helped us make some choices.
We spent over 2 hours there and it was very relaxing and quiet...

Would definitely return.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was creative and excellent! Server was very attentive and gave great suggestions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Ocean is our very special place to dine when on vacation. Each and every time we go back our experience gets better and better. We love it

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Ocean never fails to disappoint. Great food with a wonderful view of the Atlantic Ocean and Walker point across the street. The lobster and scallops are perfectly cooked, but try also the game offerings.

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Breakfast was simply fantastic, the waiter was excellent. Our lunch was again fantastic. The view is superb.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We have eaten at many restaurants over the years, but this was one of the best. We have often sat outside on the porch and had cocktails, but for our anniversary I felt something special was needed and we had never eaten dinner there. It was an incredibly pleasant experience. Our server was friendly and knowledgeable, the food was was delicious and skillfully prepared and the night was as special as I had hoped it would be.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Service was incredible. Extremely knowledgeable and helpful to my gluten intolerant wife. Explained options for full menu after being asked about only one item. Food was all tremendous.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This is my new favorite restaurant. Easily the best service I have ever received. The hostess was amazing. The server was amazing. They were professional and friendly, they took care of our every need, but never felt overbearing. It's a fancy place, but it never felt pretentious. It felt like everybody there loved to create an awesome experience. But then there is the food...

I started off with Beignets. They were perfect and my favorite dish of the night. Rich cod with a perfectly crispy outer shell, sitting atop a sauce that was bright and mustardy. It was amazing.

I then went to the foie gras appetizer. The flavor was fantastic, presentation was beautiful.

I had the veal entree. Again, amazing. Everything was prepared perfectly, the veal was served two ways and served with a delicious raviolo in the center of the plate. Perfect.

Had a nice dessert, a chocolate cake, I wish I could recall the name of the dish. It was rich and creamy, not at all dry. Perfect.

Coffee to finish. Absolutely lovely. Everything was perfect. Can't recommend this location enough. Come here. You will love it.

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I took my husband here for his birthday. He can't stop talking about it! The ocean view can't be beat, the service is attentive, and the food is fabulous.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Dinner overlooking the ocean on a snowy evening in a warm atmosphere is hard to criticize. The food was well prepared and served beautifully.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The overall dining experience was truly outstanding. The menu was imaginative, and unique. The service was great--very friendly without being intrusive. The performing trio later in the evening had a great selection of music and very easy to dance to. It was a great way to spend New Year's Eve, and ring in 2017.

The bartender was friendly and responsive to every request. The hostess, Jana, was wonderfully welcoming--as always--with a complimentary glass of champagne.

The Cape Arundel Inn, and Ocean Restaurant are a gem.

Tags: Scenic View, Dancing, Local Ingredients, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our seven course dinner for New Years was spectacular. The lobster and pork belly portage to start was very creative and delicious. The venison was cooked to perfection. Ocean remains one of my favorite places to dine any time of the year.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Good and service was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Outstanding dinner to commence our Christmas holiday weekend festivities. Perfection at its best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The overall setting, decorated for the holidays, the meal, and service were exceptional. The waitress was attentive, and yet not overly so. Every dish served for a table of five was creative and delicious. Top notch experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Tapas, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Historic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Another great dinner in my fav restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

very nice, will go again when in the area for a special dinner

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Recently dined at Ocean for Thanksgiving. The ambiance was warm and inviting as was the entire staff. Professional and efficient service. Laura was so wonderful! It made our first Thanksgiving meal out a pleasure.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My daughter and I had a spectacular Thanksgiving dinner. The food was delicious and beautifully prepared and had a real "wow" factor! The service was thoughtful and attentive to our needs, yet not intrusive. We will return more often and bring family and friends. Thank you very much to all, and especially to Laura.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We have been to Ocean several times. it continues to be a great place. we usually go there for our anniversary. we called ahead and asked the chef to make a special dessert ( our favorite) and he obliged, as it is not always on the menu. hope to return next year.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Arrived 15 minutes early so we could have a drink on their open Porch looking over the Atlantic on a beautiful moonlit night. The hostess brought us blankets because the evening was so cool. Table was ready in 30 minutes and we had a lovely waterfront view, dinner was exceptional as well as our waitress (Madison) and their staff. One of the nicest places we've ever dined at.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Beauiful spot; we are a fan of the chef. Wait staff great!
Very rude people at adjacent table made the meal a bit unpleasant.
Food really good but not the best I have had from this chef.
Salads were very good and fresh.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

awesome restaurant the food was great the service was great our reservation was on time we didn't have to wait. the atmosphere was quite. our server was very friendly and his recommendations were right on

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

excellent location on the water with terrific views from anywhere in the dining room or bar area, unfortunately, we attended on a rainy night and weren't able to avail ourselves of it. the bar is small and "cozy" but the tender was affable and expert at her task. very nice. the food is meticulously prepared and likewise ridiculously delicious. Service a bit slow , but all courses delivered by friendly and professional wait staff. the dining room is appointed well and not overly crowded with seating, a very comfortable environment.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Romantic, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We had a corner table with a fabulous view of the ocean and Walker's Point.
The food was fabulous!! Our waiter could not have been more attentive. We had a 4 course meal . The preparation and ingredient s were fully explained by our waiter.
We did not inquire about handicap. Access, but that might be an issue for some.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Historic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The meal and service were great. The food was OUTSTANDING and very creative. One small suggestion....butter knives on the bread plates would be a nice touch. We eat at Ocean every year when we vacation in Kennebunkport. The trip wouldn't be the same without dining there.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Tapas, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Historic, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Beautiful ocean view setting. Recommend having a cocktail outside before eating. It was a bit chilly in October but staff had fleece throws if needed. Dinner and service was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great view, food. Service outstanding! That about sums it up.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Wonderful meal, wonderful staff, best restaurant in the area

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.