About Ocean

208 Ocean Ave.
Kennebunkport, ME 04046
View Larger Map

In the heart of this mostly residential enclave, in a converted circa-1895 Shingle Style house, sits Ocean. Though the Inn has existed in one permutation or another since the 1950s, and it has long held a reputation for well-appointed lodgings and fine dining. The Innkeepers have filled the building with a striking art collection that could make small New England museums envious, while Chef Gignac uses the dining room—with its awe-inspiring views—as a canvas upon which to create epicurean masterpieces. Pierre Gignac graduated from the Institut d’Hôtellerie et de Tourisme du Québec. Pierre chose to open his first restaurant in Ogunquit, Maine “98 Provence," which pleased locals, tourists and critics for 18 years, until it closed in 2012.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American, Italian

Hours of Operation:
5:00pm - close

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 967-2125

Website:
http://www.capearundelinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Pierre Gignac

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ocean Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Maine
Best Restaurants in Kennebunkport ›

scenic view (53)
special occasion (50)
romantic (43)
See All
fit for foodies (31)
notable wine list (10)
neighborhood gem (5)
good for groups (3)
great for brunch (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
great for lunch (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
501 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the most wonderful dinin ...

Dined 5 days ago

This was one of the most wonderful dining experiences we have ever had. We were celebrating our 30th anniversary and ate luscious food, with a magnificent view of the strawberry full moon rising over the ocean on the Summer Solstice. The waitstaff was superb...friendly, thoughtful, helpful and the food was out of this world. We can't recommend it highly enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress, Liz, was outstanding. She ...

Dined 5 days ago

Our waitress, Liz, was outstanding. She knew the menu and made excellent recommendations. The service, food, ambiance and the view were all spectacular. One of the best restaurants we've ever experienced.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have only praise for Ocean. The food, ...

Dined 5 days ago

I have only praise for Ocean. The food, from salad through dessert, was outstanding. The view sitting above the rocky coast and ocean waves is spectacular. Finally, the service was both friendly and efficient. Can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a discovery... A lost gem By the Be ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

What a discovery... A lost gem By the Beach... Chef Gignac was simply wonderful... Mix of tastes, artistic presentation, perfect cooking at the highest point !!! Waiters and suiters and very kindful and smily... A culinary expérience that we' ll never forget... See you soon !!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I chose this restaurant as it was our 15 ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

I chose this restaurant as it was our 15 year anniversary, and it came up as the #1 restaurant in the area. The reviews on the food were excellent. Although I never read any reviews stating the dress code. The men were all wearing suits jackets... Maybe the website for the restaurant states the dress code, but I didn't check on that. Although my husband and I dressed nicely, we were way underdressed and felt a little out of place. That being said, the food was very good, a little pricey. The views were amazing as the sun set!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was Great like a Great experience. Ev ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

It was Great like a Great experience. Everything was 5/5. We highly recommend it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply superb. A real treat. Dinner wa ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Simply superb. A real treat. Dinner was as usual marvelous, but the current menu seems uniquely excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FINE DINING

Dined on June 10, 2016

For any occasion you are celebrating. It's a beautiful restaurant and the wait staff is so polite and attentive. I look forward to my next visit there.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a beautiful spot, with a view and f ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

What a beautiful spot, with a view and food to match. Outstanding service for our group of 12, and an ocean view as a bonus.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Ocean Wireless

Dined on June 8, 2016

Great food. Great setting Too bad the staff did not have enough courage to heed my request to ask the woman 10 feet from me to get off her phone. Made 3 calls about nothing. I paid $225 for a romantic dinner fit two and she ruined much of it. The waiter and hostess just shrugged which is what we will do next time Ocean comes up

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding

Dined on June 4, 2016

Stephen our server was great!Attentive but allowed us time to take in the dining room. The food was good, a little busy. Very scenicspot

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stayed at the Resort where this restaura ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Stayed at the Resort where this restaurant is located. Voted the best upscale restaurant in Kennebunkport and it lived up to it's reputation. Food, service and ambiance are second to none. Great restaurant!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our 3rd year visiting Kennebunkp ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

This is our 3rd year visiting Kennebunkport & dining at Ocean. The ambiance is always lovely - oceanfront view! The staff is wonderful; Jana leads a great team and our server, Nathan, was terrific. We overheard him speaking to the table next to ours, who had a number of questions about the menu. He was polite and knowledgable without being condescending and grumpy with their inquisitions. The food was outstanding - beet salad and lamb for me; field greens salad and flounder for my hubby. Dessert was good, but not as superb as the other courses. We had the pleasure of speaking with the bartender, Devin, who was friendly and sweet (she makes great drinks too!) Overall, Ocean is a great place to dine...we're already talking about next year's trip!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unique

Dined on May 29, 2016

Great place to dine. Wonderful views and location. The chef is in his second year and is always creative.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Very disappointing

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was just average and the service was comparable to the food. This place tries to be more than it is.

food3
ambience3
service4

The atmosphere is terrific and always gr ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

The atmosphere is terrific and always great to eat overlooking the ocean. But, some of us are not foodies and don't read French and the menu is confusing. While I asked some questions, I could tell the server was annoyed. It would be terrific if the menu could be expanded a bit to include some more comfort food choices or spell out the pieces in English. On the other hand, the wine suggestion was very appreciated and delicious.

food4
ambience3
service4

Quality, fresh meal. Inventive menu. Bea ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Quality, fresh meal. Inventive menu. Beautiful setting. Delightful dinner with the family.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Just a wonderful evening- great food and ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Just a wonderful evening- great food and service, unbeatable ambiance !

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Could not have been more perfect!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my mother and sister there for Mother's Day . . . everything - the service, the cocktails, the food, the view - was perfection! Our server Grace was amazing, and every staff person was friendly, polite, happy, helpful, and nobody said "no problem" when we thanked them (phew!). I expected it to be expensive, but it wasn't the most I've ever paid, and definitely worth every cent. Both Mom and sister said it was the best dining out experience they'd ever had, and that's saying a lot, since my Mom is a frugal Yankee who can "make a better meal herself at home" usually ;-)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

What a view!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Ocean has an incredible view, lovely ambiance, delicious food, and great service. We were there on Mothers' Day but weren't celebrating and had just as nice a time as those who did. It was a delightful afternoon of watching the weather change and enjoying everything on the plates in front of us. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great view but disappointing food.

Dined on April 7, 2016

We went for the view and the ambiance and loved it. However we were disappointed with the menu. My wife is vegetarian and there was nothing on the menu. A specially prepared dish was uninspired and the poorest meal of our one week trip. For myself, I would have preferred one or two simpler offerings on the menu for those of those that do not necessarily enjoy seafood.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

A Gem in Kennebunkport

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Kennebunkport restaurants have dramatically improved in the last few years and Ocean has set the standard for superb seaside dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

EXCELLENT VIEW AND FOOD

Dined on April 2, 2016

Lovely ocean view, nice view of the Bush compound. Unique presentation of food, very well prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

The food was good but not spectacular. T ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

The food was good but not spectacular. There was no WOW factor and we were expecting one. The dishes needed more seasoning and mine needed salt. The view was beautiful and service attentive.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant should get 8 stars at le ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

This restaurant should get 8 stars at least. The dishes are well designed - ingredients work well together to make each dish wonderful may it be the starter, main course or dessert. The Chef did not disappoint. He still makes the best foie gras and sweet breads dishes.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food is mixed -- a few dishes were quite ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

Food is mixed -- a few dishes were quite good, others boring or with an ingredient combination that did not mix well. There are better restaurants in the area in this price range.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top Dining Experience!

Dined on December 27, 2015

We had the best dining experience at Ocean. Our server, Laura (i think!) was superb. She has a talent and passion for the work she does, and her enthusiasm made the entire dining experiment truly pleasurable. We took all of her suggestions for food and wine, and everything was excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant. Very romantic, superb food, superior service. We will return, in large part to the excellence our server demonstrated. Top notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Retirement Dinner

Dined on December 22, 2015

We took our neighbor for a retirement dinner. The restaurant was very quiet, only two other parties. I ordered the monkfish, our friend ordered the swordfish and my husband ordered the lamb. All of the meals were prepared and seasoned perfectly. Our server was most personable and professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Service

Dined on December 20, 2015

Our recent dining experience at the Ocean was excellent!! our server Laura was fabulous! she was so attentive and informative with the menu. We were celebrating my husband's birthday and he enjoyed it thoroughly! We will definitely return!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Everything was wonderful - Madison was a ...

Dined on December 13, 2015

Everything was wonderful - Madison was a great hostess for our evening. I gave 4 stars since my sirloin entree, while cooked to my medium rare request, wasn't of the quality I was expecting. Perhaps switching to a different cut, going with something aged or different supplier might have made the difference. A wonderful night overall and would return but would be hesitant to order the sirloin. (My wife's lobster entree was 5 stars along with the rest of the evening.)

food5
ambience5
service5

Arguably the BEST meal ever ... in my li ...

Dined on December 7, 2015

Arguably the BEST meal ever ... in my life! We eat out a lot, we both cook well ... but the food at Ocean was beyond outstanding as are the drinks, especially the Santa Margarita. Furthermore, the service was impeccable-- I never had a waitress that could describe every component of every dish with fascinating detail and her descriptions were spot on!! This place should not be missed when in Kennebunkport.

food4
ambience4
service4

Beautiful location, more tables than nor ...

Dined on December 5, 2015

Beautiful location, more tables than normal for Prelude. Service was great, food well prepared and presented.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous/Romantic/Delicious

Dined on November 29, 2015

The service was fabulous, the food was delicious and the presentation of the food was tastefully done. The chef combined flavors I would have never thought to put together and they were a treat to the pallet. Our server was extremely attentive and helped to make this a dining experience to remember.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic!

Dined on November 26, 2015

My wife & I spent Thanksgiving at the Cape Arubdel Inn and had our Holiday dinner at the Ocean Restaurant. From the expansive ocean views to the fantastic food and service, the whole experience was like the title said, fantastic! An ideal setting, and we're already planning our return visit!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Second Time

Dined on November 20, 2015

We had a wonderful meal at Ocean last year thus had no qualms about reserving again. Spectacular describes our experience. The chef is a "creative chemist" who produces amazing results. Just try the escargot, beet salad, sword fish with marinated vegetables, or lemon dessert to know what I mean. We love this restaurant. The food, service, and ambiance is all top notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfection

Dined on November 19, 2015

This dining experience is always perfect . We have never been disappointed . Pierre is a genius. The ambiance is unparalleled. The service is extraordinary. Laura is a treasure,making sure your dining experience is perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

We went for a birthday dinner and due to ...

Dined on November 8, 2015

We went for a birthday dinner and due to the time of year of course, there was no view. We were impressed with the food, the service, the attention to detail and we would recommend it to others.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

Great find

Dined on November 7, 2015

Great restaurant, the view is beautiful and the service was great. The portions are a bit small but the tapas were really good!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Never Disappoints

Dined on November 1, 2015

We try to eat here whenever we get to Kennebunkport, which is about 1x/year. The food is always interesting and delicious. The service is also very good, but on our latest visit, I would have to rate our server an 11 on a scale of 1-10. She (Laura) was wonderful and really enhanced the experience. Wish we could go more often, but then maybe it wouldn't be so special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service3

It was my wife's birthday and I requeste ...

Dined on November 1, 2015

It was my wife's birthday and I requested a nice table for 2 with a view. What I got was a table with a wall well past a window. The service was patchy, I think it was due to our waitress. She was all over the place and we found out about the dinner specials after we overheard our neighboring table. We had to ask for it. Beer was served warm, main entrée served with no cutlery for my wife to eat her food. Simple things went missing. Food overall was very good but service was poor.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.