About Ocean

208 Ocean Ave.
Kennebunkport, ME 04046
View Larger Map

In the heart of this mostly residential enclave, in a converted circa-1895 Shingle Style house, sits Ocean. Though the Inn has existed in one permutation or another since the 1950s, and it has long held a reputation for well-appointed lodgings and fine dining. The Innkeepers have filled the building with a striking art collection that could make small New England museums envious, while Chef Gignac uses the dining room—with its awe-inspiring views—as a canvas upon which to create epicurean masterpieces. Pierre Gignac graduated from the Institut d’Hôtellerie et de Tourisme du Québec. Pierre chose to open his first restaurant in Ogunquit, Maine “98 Provence," which pleased locals, tourists and critics for 18 years, until it closed in 2012.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American, Italian

Hours of Operation:
5:00pm - close

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 967-2125

Website:
http://www.capearundelinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Pierre Gignac

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ocean Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Maine
Romantic
Maine
Scenic View
Maine
2 More
Special Occasion
Maine
Contemporary American
Maine
Best Restaurants in Kennebunkport ›

Scenic View (132)
Special Occasion (127)
Romantic (112)
See All
Fit for Foodies (102)
Notable Wine List (28)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Waterfront (17)
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Seasonal (6)
Cozy (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Historic (2)
Authentic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
Newest
597 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

They brought complimentary champagne to ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

They brought complimentary champagne to our table ,which was thoughtful, but some in our party do not drink - this makes for an awkward situation. They should have offered complimentary champagne and then those who don't drink could have chosen another complimentary beverage. The waitperson brought it over and then left before they could explain they don't drink.

After we ordered our dinners the waitperson urged us to order appetizers as the meals are made fresh we would be waiting for 30 + minutes or so for our food. We did not want appetizers so declined. Since we weren't ordering drinks and appetizers our waitperson wasn't very attentive.

The tables around us all had friendly staff that appeared to take really good care of their customers. It was a special occasion and we all chose this restaurant for that very reason - to be treated well and to have a great meal. The food was good but not worth the high price they charge.

The best part was the amazing view of the ocean. We will not return to Ocean and will not recommend it to others. A major disappointment.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Everything was perfect for a 65th birthd ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was perfect for a 65th birthday celebration . Staff was very nice. Very good and attentive service .A special note for our waiter Nathan who was very pleasant and likable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have loved coming to Ocean for a few ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 7 days ago

We have loved coming to Ocean for a few years. The porch is the perfect place to enjoy a pre-dinner cocktail, it has a beautiful view of the ocean and Walker's Point (the Bush compound). In the fall they even give you blankets.

Laura has been our server twice, and each time it was memorable and fun. I highly recommend you ask for her when you make your reservations.

The dinner this time was amazing. I had the beet root salad followed by the veal mignon. My wife had mixed salad with a lavender honey lime vinaigrette and the duck magret. Amazing. If gazpacho is on the menu when you go, don't miss it.

Unfortunately we had no room for dessert this time but the nougat glace is awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular experience. We have dined a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Spectacular experience. We have dined all over the world. This ranks in our top five! Started with Laura, the best ever, presenting us with champagne. Laura was the most professional and personable server ever. Charming and knowledgeable guiding us through our selections. What a treat for our anniversary. Harvest moon was icing one the cake! Along with the candle in my French Triple Cream which was best presentation! What fun and what a special experience. Food was over the top. Thank you Laura.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If one is in the Kennebunkport area, it ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

If one is in the Kennebunkport area, it is well worth a visit. We were surprised that everything from shorts to jackets and ties were evident on a Friday night. The food was outstanding.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything about this restaurant was per ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Everything about this restaurant was perfect the food service and ambience all making a great destination location for fine dining and fresh ingredients

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit to Ocean, but i ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

This was our first visit to Ocean, but it won't be our last. We took the advice of others and went early for a cocktail on the porch. Does life get any better than this? Well, dinner came close. I had the duck, which I frequently order when dining out, and must say this was one of the best I have ever had. My husband had the lamb, which I also love, but didn't care as much for the spices in this preparation. Overall, the service was quite good, and the ambiance was lovely. Definitely worth a trip.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have been to the Ocean several times ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We have been to the Ocean several times as we stay at the inn at least once per year. Although it is pricier than most restaurants in town, it's worth it and this during this three day trip, we ate there twice. It seems to get better and better every year. The food is impeccable with a nice variety on the menu and the specials add to the difficulty in decision making! Portions are just right. The service is first class from the moment you are greeted by the restaurant manager, to the servers at your table. This week we had the beef duo, the monkfish, the chicken, and the appetizer special of heirloom Tomato gazpacho. Cannot wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience overall and not our fir ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great experience overall and not our first time there. Need to comment on the time it took to actually get seated at our table.

Our reservation was made and confirmed at 8:30pm and we arrived earlier at 8:25pm. There were no tables available for us before 9pm which is not so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Best food and very knowledgable waiter

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Best food and very knowledgable waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed dinner at Ocean very much. Th ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We enjoyed dinner at Ocean very much.

The dining room was lovely--and what a view!

Our server was lovely and helpful, and the food was delicious.

We ordered several small plates and appetizers for our dinner, which worked out well. The Lobster "Thermador" was fabulous.

Our only complaint was the pace of the meal, which took about 2 1/2 hours. It was not that we were a large group--there were only two of us--or that we eat slowly. But the pace of the food coming out of the kitchen was glacial--about 45 minutes between courses.

That being said, we'd go back to Ocean for the views, for the attentive service, and for the wonderful food.

Tags: Modern Decor, People Watching, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The service between courses was rather s ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The service between courses was rather slow. Food was amazing and the staff was friendly and awesome

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had, once again, a marvelous experien ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We had, once again, a marvelous experience at Ocean, even though the fog was so thick the windows were opaque. The wait staff at this restaurant are superb - very professional yet friendly. My heirloom tomato "gazpacho" starter was perfect - so fresh, so delicious with beautiful, delicate flavors of the season. The veal main course was excellent and the foie gras torchon was among the best I have ever experienced. My husband's yellowfin tuna tartare and lobster thermidor was equally good. This is an absolutely wonderful Maine coast restaurant.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat on the porch with our wine, then ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We sat on the porch with our wine, then went in to dinner. The view is spectacular and the food and service was excellent. It made for a memorable evening.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible views, great service, and exc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Incredible views, great service, and excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was spectacular but the service ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was spectacular but the service was even better. We were a party of 7 people and had appetizers, snacks, dinner, wine, and dessert. Everyone loved the scallop appetizer. There also was a lobster app that was terrific as well. We tried the chick pea fries and much to my surprise, they were a big hit. For the main dinners, we had swordfish, monkfish, lamb and chicken. All of them were AWESOME. We had a terrific wine, Chateauneuf du Pape and our server decanted the bottles. If you're lucky enough to go to Ocean, do yourself a favor and ask to sit with Grace. I have never seen someone more proud of the food coming from the kitchen. She was animated with her descriptions and totally pleasant! She really made a great experience, superior.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Compliments all the way around the sta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Compliments all the way around the staff from outdoor porch with drinks, to inside dinner were fabulous. Nathan was our server and we were blessed with him. Top of the line. The chef - my oh my - can not be better. Have been to Bouley in NYC, but this chef has outdone them by far. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is no better setting that the main ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

There is no better setting that the main building of the Cape Arundel Inn and Ocean. We had cocktails on the front veranda and enjoyed amazing views.

The food was imaginative, fresh and flavorful. The desserts were amazing.

Great place for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

If you like having dinner while looking ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

If you like having dinner while looking out on the Atlantic Ocean and the Bush compound in Kennebunkport, then Ocean is for you. Owned by the same group that runs nearby Earth at Hidden Pond and Tides, Ocean offers traditional foods with a local twist. Don't expect boiled lobster or clams, however. The duck is superb with the Bergstrom Pinot Noir.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our experience was wonderful! The view w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Our experience was wonderful! The view was spectacular, the service impeccable, and the food delicious! My husband had the special, a poached cod that he really enjoyed. I enjoyed the veal mignon, prepared medium rare with a vegetable medley, fois gras torchon and burgundy truffles! This dinner was a celebration of our 20th anniversary and the restaurant provided a complementary glass of champagne for my husband and I and a mango gelato! Perfect evening for our anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The view was wonderful. The service was ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The view was wonderful. The service was excellent. The food was great lobster tender the tomatoes salad was veryfavorable.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing! Service was pleasant, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was amazing! Service was pleasant, but incredibly slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

This place. We could only score a late r ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

This place. We could only score a late reservation, but arrived 45 minutes early for cocktails and appetizers on the porch (highly recommend/watch the sunset). They were running maybe 5 minutes behind and the matire d' asked if we would mind sitting in the 'living room' (my words) of the restaurant. We weren't bothered at all by this (it was practically a private dining room) and she greeted us with champagne on the house for our wait. Then - THE FOOD. I can not say enough about how well all the flavors blended here.. things you would never guess would pair together; each dish was an art form crafted beautifully and so Instagram worthy (guilty.. millennial here). The lobster and the beet salad took the cake for me - and unfortunately I saved no room for dessert - they all sounded amazing. The matire d' really made our experience at Ocean what it was.. I can not say enough good things about this place - go try it for yourself!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I called ahead to ask for a special tabl ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I called ahead to ask for a special table ( ocean view) because we were celebrating my husband's special birthday. Not only did we have a spectacular view of the ocean and Walker's Point up the road, but the entire staff went out of their way to make our dining experience perfect! The meal ( we had the tuna) was spectacular as was the dessert, possibly the best ever!! I can't recommend this lovely restaurant enough!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must if you are staying in kennebunkpo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

A must if you are staying in kennebunkport. Beautiful location on the waterfront to courteous staff. Our dinner was perfection. We had the haddock special and the flavoring and texture was on point. Great mother/daughter dinner and outing. Will come back! Thank you for a memorable time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent, and they were ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The service was excellent, and they were very gracious. We were brought complimentary sparkling wine when they heard it was our anniversary. For appetizers, we ordered codfish beignet and smoked salmon. I had the bacon wrapped veal mignon which was perfectly cooked and had a lovely presentation. For dessert, we had the poached pears with caramel, which was yummy.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very elegant food and fine diners. Very ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Very elegant food and fine diners. Very attentive and friendly staff. Perfect for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Gorgeous bold ocean views, attentive ser ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Gorgeous bold ocean views, attentive service, elegant but not pretentious. Imaginative, delicious seasonal dishes beautifully presented.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wanted an enjoyable dinner with a great ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wanted an enjoyable dinner with a great view. Note to self, go when it is still light out... lol. We got there early to enjoy a cocktail on the porch and that was great as there was still some light. They apparently were busy as we had to wait 45 minutes after our reservation time for a table. We are easy going and would have ordered an appetizer on the porch but there was zero communication even after asking about when our table would be ready. Disappointing but we got over it. Once we sat down, food and service was great. The lobster thermadore was incredible. I was surprised to see 3 tables with kids as this restaurant seemed fancier and upscale. Overall I just chalk it up to a bad night from a hosting standpoint but will give it another chance as the food and table service was top notch. The fair rating was due to the elongated wait and non communication and not the food and table service.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a lengthy wait but the food and b ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a lengthy wait but the food and beverage manager couldn't have been more lovely and tried to make our wait much more enjoyable. The food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It would appear that no matter when we ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It would appear that no matter when we book or what time we book Ocean always seats us on the last table on the bench, probably the most undesirable table in the house. We are told that other available tables are " reserved " funny thought that's what we did three weeks before.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Really.. really good restaurant. We had ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Really.. really good restaurant. We had a great meal. The way the chief is preparing the lobster all the wok is done and it's delicious.

Excellent repas.. WOW !! Un Chef extraordinaire !!

Merci beaucoup pour cette belle soirée avec vue sur la lune !!!

Tags: Scenic View, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was fantastic, and the view ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The service was fantastic, and the view could not be better. It was ideal for a romantic dinner. A wonderful space and experience! The food was very good, though portions were a bit small. The chef may consider adding a bit more flavor to the menu...a bit conservative for my taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Best part is having drinks on the porch ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Best part is having drinks on the porch overlooking the ocean.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Heaven exists! Try this experience that ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Heaven exists! Try this experience that you will never forget. Food is outstanding. Service is professional. Site is one of a kind.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Took a very long time to get our entrees ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Took a very long time to get our entrees, server did however comp 2 deserts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Great food throughout. Extremely knowled ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great food throughout. Extremely knowledgable wait staff and impeccable service Very accommodating to allergies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The staff made our evening extra special ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The staff made our evening extra special and the food was delicious. Even with a rainy evening the view was spectacular.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Laura excellent server. Just dial down c ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Laura excellent server. Just dial down condescending attitude.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a perfect summer dinner! Out wai ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had a perfect summer dinner! Out waiter, Matt was lovely and we enjoyed the entire experience. I would highly recommend Ocean!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.