About Ocean

208 Ocean Ave.
Kennebunkport, ME 04046
View Larger Map

In the heart of this mostly residential enclave, in a converted circa-1895 Shingle Style house, sits Ocean. Though the Inn has existed in one permutation or another since the 1950s, and it has long held a reputation for well-appointed lodgings and fine dining. The Innkeepers have filled the building with a striking art collection that could make small New England museums envious, while Chef Gignac uses the dining room—with its awe-inspiring views—as a canvas upon which to create epicurean masterpieces. Pierre Gignac graduated from the Institut d’Hôtellerie et de Tourisme du Québec. Pierre chose to open his first restaurant in Ogunquit, Maine “98 Provence," which pleased locals, tourists and critics for 18 years, until it closed in 2012.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American, Italian

Hours of Operation:
5:00pm - close

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 967-2125

Website:
http://www.capearundelinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Pierre Gignac

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ocean Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Boston / New England
Best Ambiance
Maine
Romantic
Maine
3 More
Scenic View
Maine
Special Occasion
Maine
Contemporary American
Maine
Best Restaurants in Kennebunkport ›

Special Occasion (62)
Scenic View (59)
Romantic (52)
See All
Waterfront (45)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Good for a Date (34)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Worth the Drive (23)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Local Ingredients (16)
Cozy (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Seasonal (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Historic (8)
Authentic (7)
Tapas (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Fireplace (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Healthy (3)
People Watching (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
632 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Another great dinner in my fav restauran ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Another great dinner in my fav restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

very nice, will go again when in the are ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

very nice, will go again when in the area for a special dinner

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Recently dined at Ocean for Thanksgiving ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Recently dined at Ocean for Thanksgiving. The ambiance was warm and inviting as was the entire staff. Professional and efficient service. Laura was so wonderful! It made our first Thanksgiving meal out a pleasure.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I had a spectacular Than ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My daughter and I had a spectacular Thanksgiving dinner. The food was delicious and beautifully prepared and had a real "wow" factor! The service was thoughtful and attentive to our needs, yet not intrusive. We will return more often and bring family and friends. Thank you very much to all, and especially to Laura.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Ocean several times. it ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We have been to Ocean several times. it continues to be a great place. we usually go there for our anniversary. we called ahead and asked the chef to make a special dessert ( our favorite) and he obliged, as it is not always on the menu. hope to return next year.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Arrived 15 minutes early so we could hav ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Arrived 15 minutes early so we could have a drink on their open Porch looking over the Atlantic on a beautiful moonlit night. The hostess brought us blankets because the evening was so cool. Table was ready in 30 minutes and we had a lovely waterfront view, dinner was exceptional as well as our waitress (Madison) and their staff. One of the nicest places we've ever dined at.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beauiful spot; we are a fan of the chef. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Beauiful spot; we are a fan of the chef. Wait staff great!

Very rude people at adjacent table made the meal a bit unpleasant.

Food really good but not the best I have had from this chef.

Salads were very good and fresh.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

awesome restaurant the food was great th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

awesome restaurant the food was great the service was great our reservation was on time we didn't have to wait. the atmosphere was quite. our server was very friendly and his recommendations were right on

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent location on the water with ter ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

excellent location on the water with terrific views from anywhere in the dining room or bar area, unfortunately, we attended on a rainy night and weren't able to avail ourselves of it. the bar is small and "cozy" but the tender was affable and expert at her task. very nice. the food is meticulously prepared and likewise ridiculously delicious. Service a bit slow , but all courses delivered by friendly and professional wait staff. the dining room is appointed well and not overly crowded with seating, a very comfortable environment.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Romantic, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

We had a corner table with a fabulous vi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We had a corner table with a fabulous view of the ocean and Walker's Point.

The food was fabulous!! Our waiter could not have been more attentive. We had a 4 course meal . The preparation and ingredient s were fully explained by our waiter.

We did not inquire about handicap. Access, but that might be an issue for some.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Historic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The meal and service were great. The foo ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The meal and service were great. The food was OUTSTANDING and very creative. One small suggestion....butter knives on the bread plates would be a nice touch. We eat at Ocean every year when we vacation in Kennebunkport. The trip wouldn't be the same without dining there.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Tapas, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Historic, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Beautiful ocean view setting. Recommend ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Beautiful ocean view setting. Recommend having a cocktail outside before eating. It was a bit chilly in October but staff had fleece throws if needed. Dinner and service was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great view, food. Service outstanding! ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great view, food. Service outstanding! That about sums it up.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal, wonderful staff, best re ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Wonderful meal, wonderful staff, best restaurant in the area

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience was absolutely fan ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Our dining experience was absolutely fantastic in everyway! The view is great, the service was incredible. We loved everything we ate. We rave about the lobster thermidor and the veal mignon was one of the best meals I have ever had! Our server, Grace, was absolutely wonderful. We are never disappointed at this beautiful restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have followed chef Pierre Gignac from ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We have followed chef Pierre Gignac from 98 Provence in Ogunquit to Ocean in Kennebunkport because we think his cooking is wonderful. We always had excellent meals at 98 Provence and feel the same at Ocean. We are discerning foodies and are very fussy, having eaten in excellent restaurants all over the world. If we could, we'd award him with several Michelin stars. Chef Gignac's dishes are always expertly prepared and delicious, using the finest ingredients and the most expert preparations, even when he strays from classical French or French Canadian. Our server, Nathan, was delightful and attentive, and we appreciated the use of the European way of serving, i.e. that plates are not removed until all diners are finished. This is so much more civil and relaxing, we think, than our American rush, rush. We love going to Ocean even though it is an hour drive for us. The view of the ocean with the full moon was a bonus as well as a few unexpected birthday treats for my husband. Thank you, Ocean and Bravo to you, Chef Gignac! Thank you for staying on the Seacoast.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food as well as presentation was fabulou ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Food as well as presentation was fabulous! We actually dined there on 10/14 to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. We look forward to returning again next year.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Ocean was like a breath of fresh air aft ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Ocean was like a breath of fresh air after dining the night before at a more expensive restaurant in town which cost more than twice the price we paid at Ocean. Fabulous service! Laura added tremendously to our experience. The food was divine. The setting sublime. I recommend getting there early in fall to take in the view of the Atlantic and Walker's Point. Kudos to the entire Ocean crew!

Tags: Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food in a cozy hotel with go ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Outstanding food in a cozy hotel with gorgeous views on the coast of Maine!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's our second time at Ocean, in the sa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

It's our second time at Ocean, in the same to time of the season...

Good to closing the season !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My Husband and I recently celebrated our ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My Husband and I recently celebrated our 24th wedding anniversary with a one night stay at the Cape Arundel Inn and with dinner at the Ocean restaurant. We drove from Toronto, Canada for this event. The Kennebunkport area was magnificent, the Inn was beautiful, the Atlantic ocean was majestic and the food at Ocean restaurant was superb!!! The staff was very friendly and they made us feel right at home. I would highly recommend the Inn and restaurant to everyone and we will definitely be returning to this lovely area once again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tapas, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent waitstaff! Steven and Blair we ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Excellent waitstaff! Steven and Blair were very polite and attentive. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. Thank you for a lovely evening.

Tags: Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely fabulous!! The food was delic ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Absolutely fabulous!! The food was delicious and the service was the best. We were treated like royalty. We even had our picture made with the chef. Will definitely return when in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was easy to make a reservation. Excel ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 3, 2016

It was easy to make a reservation. Excellent food. Veal mignon was particularly good. Farmed chicken was good although we found that the pistou herb jus overwhelmed the more delicate Apricot-Pistachio stuffing. Great ambiance. Very nice setting with ocean view. While service was very good, it was somewhat over the top. Once we understand the menu and the day's specials, there is no need to again describe at length the dishes when they are served. This was not our first visit. We have been at this restaurant maybe five time over the last 10 years and have always felt welcomed and enjoyed excellent meals. Thank you.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous food and friendly service!

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Fabulous food and friendly service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious, beautifully presented food to ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Delicious, beautifully presented food to match the lovely surroundings. Try to go before the sun sets, since the view is incredible. Really special place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We all thought Madison was excellent as ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 29, 2016

We all thought Madison was excellent as our server!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the food was disappointing....pr ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Overall the food was disappointing....presentation was very nice but the prices didn't meet culinary expectations. I have been in the restaurant business and a chef for 38 years and I felt the food was over priced for the quality. The service was very good and I did like the atmosphere but it was a little bit noisy and the tables too close to each other to have a first class experience.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

This restaurant is well worth every penn ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 26, 2016

This restaurant is well worth every penny spent. The ocean view is spectacular! The staff, from the receptionist to the hostess through the server were friendly, informed and anticipated our every need. The food was exceptional and the portion sizes just right. I would recommend this experience to everyone!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tapas, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every summer we love to go to Ocean a fe ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Every summer we love to go to Ocean a few times for the fabulous creative cuisine of chef Pierre Gignac served by professional and friendly staff in a gorgeous décor, right by the sea. For us, it is the ultimate culinary destination in Kennebunk-Kennebunkport, one that is also very romantic. Perfect for our birthdays and wedding anniversary. Well worth the price!

Tags: Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They brought complimentary champagne to ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 20, 2016

They brought complimentary champagne to our table ,which was thoughtful, but some in our party do not drink - this makes for an awkward situation. They should have offered complimentary champagne and then those who don't drink could have chosen another complimentary beverage. The waitperson brought it over and then left before they could explain they don't drink.

After we ordered our dinners the waitperson urged us to order appetizers as the meals are made fresh we would be waiting for 30 + minutes or so for our food. We did not want appetizers so declined. Since we weren't ordering drinks and appetizers our waitperson wasn't very attentive.

The tables around us all had friendly staff that appeared to take really good care of their customers. It was a special occasion and we all chose this restaurant for that very reason - to be treated well and to have a great meal. The food was good but not worth the high price they charge.

The best part was the amazing view of the ocean. We will not return to Ocean and will not recommend it to others. A major disappointment.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Everything was perfect for a 65th birthd ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Everything was perfect for a 65th birthday celebration . Staff was very nice. Very good and attentive service .A special note for our waiter Nathan who was very pleasant and likable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have loved coming to Ocean for a few ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We have loved coming to Ocean for a few years. The porch is the perfect place to enjoy a pre-dinner cocktail, it has a beautiful view of the ocean and Walker's Point (the Bush compound). In the fall they even give you blankets.

Laura has been our server twice, and each time it was memorable and fun. I highly recommend you ask for her when you make your reservations.

The dinner this time was amazing. I had the beet root salad followed by the veal mignon. My wife had mixed salad with a lavender honey lime vinaigrette and the duck magret. Amazing. If gazpacho is on the menu when you go, don't miss it.

Unfortunately we had no room for dessert this time but the nougat glace is awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular experience. We have dined a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Spectacular experience. We have dined all over the world. This ranks in our top five! Started with Laura, the best ever, presenting us with champagne. Laura was the most professional and personable server ever. Charming and knowledgeable guiding us through our selections. What a treat for our anniversary. Harvest moon was icing one the cake! Along with the candle in my French Triple Cream which was best presentation! What fun and what a special experience. Food was over the top. Thank you Laura.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If one is in the Kennebunkport area, it ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 16, 2016

If one is in the Kennebunkport area, it is well worth a visit. We were surprised that everything from shorts to jackets and ties were evident on a Friday night. The food was outstanding.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything about this restaurant was per ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Everything about this restaurant was perfect the food service and ambience all making a great destination location for fine dining and fresh ingredients

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit to Ocean, but i ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 13, 2016

This was our first visit to Ocean, but it won't be our last. We took the advice of others and went early for a cocktail on the porch. Does life get any better than this? Well, dinner came close. I had the duck, which I frequently order when dining out, and must say this was one of the best I have ever had. My husband had the lamb, which I also love, but didn't care as much for the spices in this preparation. Overall, the service was quite good, and the ambiance was lovely. Definitely worth a trip.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We have been to the Ocean several times ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We have been to the Ocean several times as we stay at the inn at least once per year. Although it is pricier than most restaurants in town, it's worth it and this during this three day trip, we ate there twice. It seems to get better and better every year. The food is impeccable with a nice variety on the menu and the specials add to the difficulty in decision making! Portions are just right. The service is first class from the moment you are greeted by the restaurant manager, to the servers at your table. This week we had the beef duo, the monkfish, the chicken, and the appetizer special of heirloom Tomato gazpacho. Cannot wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience overall and not our fir ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great experience overall and not our first time there. Need to comment on the time it took to actually get seated at our table.

Our reservation was made and confirmed at 8:30pm and we arrived earlier at 8:25pm. There were no tables available for us before 9pm which is not so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Best food and very knowledgable waiter

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Best food and very knowledgable waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.