About Ocean

208 Ocean Ave.
Kennebunkport, ME 04046
View Larger Map

In the heart of this mostly residential enclave, in a converted circa-1895 Shingle Style house, sits Ocean. Though the Inn has existed in one permutation or another since the 1950s, and it has long held a reputation for well-appointed lodgings and fine dining. The Innkeepers have filled the building with a striking art collection that could make small New England museums envious, while Chef Gignac uses the dining room—with its awe-inspiring views—as a canvas upon which to create epicurean masterpieces. Pierre Gignac graduated from the Institut d’Hôtellerie et de Tourisme du Québec. Pierre chose to open his first restaurant in Ogunquit, Maine “98 Provence," which pleased locals, tourists and critics for 18 years, until it closed in 2012.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American, Italian

Hours of Operation:
5:00pm - close

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 967-2125

Website:
http://www.capearundelinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Pierre Gignac

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ocean Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Boston / New England
Scenic View
Maine
Best Restaurants in Kennebunkport ›

scenic view (24)
special occasion (21)
romantic (17)
See All
fit for foodies (11)
notable wine list (5)
neighborhood gem (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
good for groups (1)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
483 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Could not have been more perfect!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my mother and sister there for Mother's Day . . . everything - the service, the cocktails, the food, the view - was perfection! Our server Grace was amazing, and every staff person was friendly, polite, happy, helpful, and nobody said "no problem" when we thanked them (phew!). I expected it to be expensive, but it wasn't the most I've ever paid, and definitely worth every cent. Both Mom and sister said it was the best dining out experience they'd ever had, and that's saying a lot, since my Mom is a frugal Yankee who can "make a better meal herself at home" usually ;-)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

What a view!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Ocean has an incredible view, lovely ambiance, delicious food, and great service. We were there on Mothers' Day but weren't celebrating and had just as nice a time as those who did. It was a delightful afternoon of watching the weather change and enjoying everything on the plates in front of us. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Great view but disappointing food.

Dined on April 7, 2016

We went for the view and the ambiance and loved it. However we were disappointed with the menu. My wife is vegetarian and there was nothing on the menu. A specially prepared dish was uninspired and the poorest meal of our one week trip. For myself, I would have preferred one or two simpler offerings on the menu for those of those that do not necessarily enjoy seafood.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

A Gem in Kennebunkport

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Kennebunkport restaurants have dramatically improved in the last few years and Ocean has set the standard for superb seaside dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

EXCELLENT VIEW AND FOOD

Dined on April 2, 2016

Lovely ocean view, nice view of the Bush compound. Unique presentation of food, very well prepared.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

The food was good but not spectacular. T ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

The food was good but not spectacular. There was no WOW factor and we were expecting one. The dishes needed more seasoning and mine needed salt. The view was beautiful and service attentive.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant should get 8 stars at le ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

This restaurant should get 8 stars at least. The dishes are well designed - ingredients work well together to make each dish wonderful may it be the starter, main course or dessert. The Chef did not disappoint. He still makes the best foie gras and sweet breads dishes.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food is mixed -- a few dishes were quite ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

Food is mixed -- a few dishes were quite good, others boring or with an ingredient combination that did not mix well. There are better restaurants in the area in this price range.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top Dining Experience!

Dined on December 27, 2015

We had the best dining experience at Ocean. Our server, Laura (i think!) was superb. She has a talent and passion for the work she does, and her enthusiasm made the entire dining experiment truly pleasurable. We took all of her suggestions for food and wine, and everything was excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant. Very romantic, superb food, superior service. We will return, in large part to the excellence our server demonstrated. Top notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Retirement Dinner

Dined on December 22, 2015

We took our neighbor for a retirement dinner. The restaurant was very quiet, only two other parties. I ordered the monkfish, our friend ordered the swordfish and my husband ordered the lamb. All of the meals were prepared and seasoned perfectly. Our server was most personable and professional.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Service

Dined on December 20, 2015

Our recent dining experience at the Ocean was excellent!! our server Laura was fabulous! she was so attentive and informative with the menu. We were celebrating my husband's birthday and he enjoyed it thoroughly! We will definitely return!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Everything was wonderful - Madison was a ...

Dined on December 13, 2015

Everything was wonderful - Madison was a great hostess for our evening. I gave 4 stars since my sirloin entree, while cooked to my medium rare request, wasn't of the quality I was expecting. Perhaps switching to a different cut, going with something aged or different supplier might have made the difference. A wonderful night overall and would return but would be hesitant to order the sirloin. (My wife's lobster entree was 5 stars along with the rest of the evening.)

food5
ambience5
service5

Arguably the BEST meal ever ... in my li ...

Dined on December 7, 2015

Arguably the BEST meal ever ... in my life! We eat out a lot, we both cook well ... but the food at Ocean was beyond outstanding as are the drinks, especially the Santa Margarita. Furthermore, the service was impeccable-- I never had a waitress that could describe every component of every dish with fascinating detail and her descriptions were spot on!! This place should not be missed when in Kennebunkport.

food4
ambience4
service4

Beautiful location, more tables than nor ...

Dined on December 5, 2015

Beautiful location, more tables than normal for Prelude. Service was great, food well prepared and presented.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous/Romantic/Delicious

Dined on November 29, 2015

The service was fabulous, the food was delicious and the presentation of the food was tastefully done. The chef combined flavors I would have never thought to put together and they were a treat to the pallet. Our server was extremely attentive and helped to make this a dining experience to remember.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic!

Dined on November 26, 2015

My wife & I spent Thanksgiving at the Cape Arubdel Inn and had our Holiday dinner at the Ocean Restaurant. From the expansive ocean views to the fantastic food and service, the whole experience was like the title said, fantastic! An ideal setting, and we're already planning our return visit!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Second Time

Dined on November 20, 2015

We had a wonderful meal at Ocean last year thus had no qualms about reserving again. Spectacular describes our experience. The chef is a "creative chemist" who produces amazing results. Just try the escargot, beet salad, sword fish with marinated vegetables, or lemon dessert to know what I mean. We love this restaurant. The food, service, and ambiance is all top notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfection

Dined on November 19, 2015

This dining experience is always perfect . We have never been disappointed . Pierre is a genius. The ambiance is unparalleled. The service is extraordinary. Laura is a treasure,making sure your dining experience is perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

We went for a birthday dinner and due to ...

Dined on November 8, 2015

We went for a birthday dinner and due to the time of year of course, there was no view. We were impressed with the food, the service, the attention to detail and we would recommend it to others.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

Great find

Dined on November 7, 2015

Great restaurant, the view is beautiful and the service was great. The portions are a bit small but the tapas were really good!

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

Never Disappoints

Dined on November 1, 2015

We try to eat here whenever we get to Kennebunkport, which is about 1x/year. The food is always interesting and delicious. The service is also very good, but on our latest visit, I would have to rate our server an 11 on a scale of 1-10. She (Laura) was wonderful and really enhanced the experience. Wish we could go more often, but then maybe it wouldn't be so special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service3

It was my wife's birthday and I requeste ...

Dined on November 1, 2015

It was my wife's birthday and I requested a nice table for 2 with a view. What I got was a table with a wall well past a window. The service was patchy, I think it was due to our waitress. She was all over the place and we found out about the dinner specials after we overheard our neighboring table. We had to ask for it. Beer was served warm, main entrée served with no cutlery for my wife to eat her food. Simple things went missing. Food overall was very good but service was poor.

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect 32nd anniversary celebration!

Dined on October 25, 2015

My husband and I chose the Cape Arundel Inn & Resort for two reasons: Ocean Restaurant, and their lovely Inn! Our dinner celebration was truly delightful!! The service, ambiance, and food added up to one of our most enjoyable anniversary celebrations! Nathan was our server and was the perfect balance of checking in with us during our meal to giving us the space for great conversation and to enjoy our feast. We started with two selections from their Tapas menu as appetizers: Cod Mousse Beignets and Lamb Croquets. Both were flavorful and just the right amount for starters. Highly recommend both. Our dinner choices were also excellent - their Lamb Duo and a fresh fish special being offered for the evening. We both enjoyed our meals so much we decided not to share! We did offer taste tests though! Both meals were bursting with flavor, were tender, and beautifully presented. The setting with their expansive view of the Atlantic Ocean is the best in Kennebunkport and equals many other beautiful places we've traveled to around the world. During the off season, I believe they are closed on Monday and Tuesday evenings. Be sure to call ahead and make a reservation! If you are a guest at the Inn you get to enjoy breakfast each morning at Ocean! Truly fantastic! Thank you Ocean for creating a magical evening for our anniversary!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2

We had reservations at 8:00 and we were ...

vip
Dined on October 25, 2015

We had reservations at 8:00 and we were not seated until 8:45. They were out of 3 things on the menu. I told them I was allergic to butter and there was really nothing on the menu I could eat. I asked if the chef could do something with the lobster and not add butter. They said yes and served me lobster in a brown sauce that was used for the beef. I thought some lemon and oil would be what they would have used. They did not bring us water until we asked and then never refilled the glass the entire meal. After we ordered it took 45 minutes before they brought us a salad, which we did not order, but brought us because of the delay in our meal. A very disappointing meal.

food5
ambience4
service4

Great Food. Great view. Good service. Noisy

vip
Dined on October 25, 2015

If visiting kennebunkport this is a great restaurant to try. Expensive but food is top quality. Service was fine- the place was jammed and the seemed a little understaffed but effort was there. Only two negatives--it was pretty loud. And by the time we ordered at 8pm they were sold out of at least 2 appetizers and 1 entree.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about Ocean was fabulous- ter ...

Dined on October 24, 2015

Everything about Ocean was fabulous- terrific view of the ocean, our server Grace was absolutely spectacular, and the food was AMAZING from start to finish!!! Definitely would recommend to anyone passing through. I plan on making this a part of my stop every time in Maine!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Beautiful experience

Dined on October 17, 2015

We had an 8.15 dinner booking but arrived around 6 pm to enjoy the setting, view and sunset, all of which were spectacular. We then asked if we could be accommodated earlier and the maitre d managed that very kindly. The ambience is classy and the entire set up highly professional. Service was great - out server was knowledgable, friendly and efficient. The food was very nice and the wine list had a good variety. So why am I giving only 4 stars and not 5? Two reasons. Firstly my wife's main course of duck was cold. She had to send it back, whereupon it was duly re-served quickly and this time hot (and tasty). Secondly, my lobster main course was to my taste rather bland. Everything around it on my plate, and my starter and cheese dessert, was very good and most interesting. Just thought the lobsters was ordinary. Juicy and tender, but rather boring. Price wise I thought the value was reasonable and I would definitely return. My tip is get there whist it is still light to enjoy the view.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

A Perfect Anniversary

Dined on October 16, 2015

We chose to spend our 61st Anniversary in Kennebunkport and dined at Ocean on the recommendations of three friends, independent of each other. Are we glad we followed their advice as our entire experience dining at Ocean was just exquisite. A perfect place for our special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

ocean

Dined on October 16, 2015

If you are in Kenebunkport and looking for a very special restaurant -- I highly recommend Ocean. Delicious food, spectacular view and very attentive waitstaff. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service3

Disappointment

Dined on October 14, 2015

We were celebrating our 20th anniversary and wanted a nice, scenic ocean view place to dine. We called ahead in the morning and requested a window table for sunset. We arrived and was seated in the middle of the dining room. A window table was open and a few mins after we were seated, a single man was seated at that table. The server seemed to be in a hurry and when asked to repeat the evening special, she seemed disturbed. The food was so,so and way over priced for what we received. A group of 10 came in and was seated right behind us. Very loud. Pretty much a disappointment for our special night. We left and went to have dessert and coffee elsewhere in town.

food5
ambience5
service5

Top notch food

vip
Dined on October 13, 2015

This restaurant was a real find. Great service and outstanding food. The Quail appetizer was wonderful and the Lamb Duo entree was one of the best. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous evening!

Dined on October 11, 2015

Celebrated my 70th with family and had the best time! We had cocktails in front of the fire looking out at the Ocean. Dinner was wonderful with a birthday dessert surprise. One of my favorite times ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dinner

Dined on October 10, 2015

My family had an excellent dinner here recently. The poached halibut, duck and lamb were all perfectly prepared and presented. Appetizers and desert were also very good. Unfortunately we went in the fall, so it was too dark to see the beautiful ocean view.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

WOW!

vip
Dined on October 9, 2015

If you want great dining in a beautiful setting with impeccable service come to Ocean!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfection!

Dined on October 8, 2015

From the stunning ocean views to the friendly, helpful service to the expertly prepared dinners, Ocean is a gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We never miss a visit to this restaurant ...

Dined on October 7, 2015

We never miss a visit to this restaurant when we are in Maine. An imaginative menu, dishes beautifully prepared, lovely service and a wonderful view. The foie gras with root vegetable tartelette was outstanding and the rabbit trio a feast for the eyes as well as the palate.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Food and Service!

Dined on October 4, 2015

Beautifully appointed dining room with a romantic view of the Ocean (during daylight hours). Adequate parking behind establishment about a mile away from downtown Kennebunkport--but well worth the short drive (or scenic walk). Food was extraordinary and delectable. Server was a gem--professional and service-minded. Her efforts complemented the chef and made our anniversary dinner a VERY special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4

Hit and Mis

Dined on October 4, 2015

Beautiful setting, wonderful ambience. Disappointed in the duck entree. Wait person was too friendly. Swordfish, scallops and beet salad were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful fall evening

Dined on October 4, 2015

The beautiful setting, gracious service, amazing food and Belle Glos Telegraph and Clark made for a perfect evening with my wife.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, service and food excellent! ...

Dined on October 3, 2015

Great place, service and food excellent! Parking was hard- they need a better way to make it work

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.