Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.52mi
  4. Distance: 0.59mi

About Ocean

In the heart of this mostly residential enclave, in a converted circa-1895 Shingle Style house, sits Ocean. Though the Inn has existed in one permutation or another since the 1950s, and it has long held a reputation for well-appointed lodgings and fine dining. The Innkeepers have filled the building with a striking art collection that could make small New England museums envious, while Chef Gignac uses the dining room—with its awe-inspiring views—as a canvas upon which to create epicurean masterpieces. Pierre Gignac graduated from the Institut d’Hôtellerie et de Tourisme du Québec. Pierre chose to open his first restaurant in Ogunquit, Maine “98 Provence," which pleased locals, tourists and critics for 18 years, until it closed in 2012.

208 Ocean Ave.
Kennebunkport, ME 04046
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American, Italian

Hours of Operation:
5:00pm - close

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 967-2125

Website:
http://www.capearundelinn.com/

Entertainment:
Music on the Lawn: 4-6pm, Wednesdays in July & August. Enjoy acoustic guitar while sipping sweet cocktails and watching the ocean wave.

Executive Chef:
Pierre Gignac

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ocean Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (86)
Romantic (74)
Waterfront (70)
See All
Special Occasion (70)
Good for a Date (56)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Worth the Drive (52)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Local Ingredients (27)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Notable Wine List (22)
Cozy (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Seasonal (12)
Authentic (9)
People Watching (8)
Tapas (8)
Business Meals (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Casual (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Fun (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
773 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

LOVE, LOVE Ocean! It is our fav spot in KPT! worth the money every single time. Lots of older people because it is spendy, but the food is amazing and worth every penny. For anyone coming to town for a special occasion, this is one of our top recomendations! so many GF options

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Ocean met and exceeded our expectations for our anniversary dinner. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The wait staff were very knowledgeable of the menu and wine offerings. Close attention was paid to our table in that they refilled water and wine glasses, cleared plates and anticipated our needs without prompting. Delivery of our food was well paced and we never felt hurried. Our meals were outstanding. With good weather I recommend arriving early to enjoy a cocktail on their front porch withe Atlantic Ocean just across the street.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 3 days ago

Just a fabulous night. So special. Service was fabulous and food was beyond. Was on the expensive side but worth the outlay.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Very special location...plan to sit on the porch for a cocktail before dinner. It is expensive but we found the servings to be plentiful so sharing is an option. Hardest part though is everything sounds so great you might want to splurge and take left overs home for the next day so you can taste more dishes. The escargot is the best we have ever had.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I celebrated her birthday with her sister and her husband recently at Ocean at Cape Arundel Inn. It was our first time dining there, and we were not disappointed. The ocean views are spectacular overlooking Walker's Point. The service was personable and attentive, and we enjoyed our martinis and appetizers consisting of scallops and escargots. The entrees of lobster and filet mignon were delicious and nicely prepared. We decided to pass on dessert, but it was an outstanding dining experience and we will definitely return to Ocean for special occasions in the future.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Wonderful environment...delicious and beautifully presented cuisine....
Loved it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Ocean has what I feel to be one of the most beautiful dinning rooms on the coast. Very elegant and tastefully decorated in a classic style. The service is attentive, courteous, and friendly. The food is exceptional and artfully presented. They also offer a limited, but none the less, inviting wine list. I've been to this restaurant several times over the years and in the pass there was a dress code. I miss that aspect of the restaurant. With such an elegant dinning room and menu it calls for a taste of class in how one should dress. To see patrons dinning in sweat shirts and shorts lowers the ambiance of the atmosphere in such surroundings. In spite of that the restaurant deserves 5 stars. Chef Pierre is a master of his craft.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

I reserved a table for two for a special evening with my wife of 42 years. We had a 6:15 pm reservation on saturday and got there 20 minutes early to have a drink. COULD NOT FIND A PARKING SPOT ! Drove around for nearly 20 minutes and then gave up and tried to find a restaurant that could take us. We had to go back to our hotel and actually ate dinner on the top of a backgammon table. Thanks for nothing Ocean. You need MORE PARKING SPACES.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Wonderful evening with outstanding service from hostess to waitstaff ( Emily!). Thank you for making our anniversary special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on September 14, 2017

The region has become an annual event for us and this restaurant is included as "a must" place to dine when we are there. Highly recommend as much for the food -service and location to all.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 13, 2017

This was our third year dining at Ocean. They must have a new Chef. Food was either overdone or bland. Appetizer should never have been served. To their credit, they took it off the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Fabulous setting, friendly service, poorly executed (to our palate) food. Crab velouté soup was overwhelmed by lemon and aromatic flavors. Lobster entree: the meat was perfectly cooked but underseasoned (should have added salt to the steaming water). When the vegetables are the star of a lobster dish, something is seriously wrong.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Seasonal, Tapas, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Have visited Ocean multiple times over the last five years or so. Never disappointed! The menu is creative (but not outlandish). Great serving staff, many there for multiple years (always a good indicator of a quality place).

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Inspired menu, excellent presentation, and food. Super service with charm and a smile. The location on the ocean is spectacular. The ambiance romantic and classy.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Extraordinary experience. We knew the chef in a prior restaurant; and he has considerably upped his game

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

My husband is a restaurant manager so his expectations of restaurants are very high. He thought of his meal as 'the best meal he's ever had'. Also, the service was exceptional. Our waiter, Matt R, was incredibly knowledgeable of the dishes. We were there on the last night of our honeymoon and it was the perfect send off.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Excellent experience for our 2 year Anniversary. Waitress was great and personable.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Food ambiance service were all Topnotch! Great bartender and live piano music! Highly recommend

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Exceeded all expectations. From the service to the presentation to the service; this restaurant did not disappointment.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful anniversary celebration recently at Ocean. We had been fans of Provence in Ogunquit, and fans of the dining room at Cape Arundel Inn. When the chef switched over several years ago, we had gone for an anniversary dinner with great expectations. Although we were terribly disappointed then, we are so glad we gave Ocean a second chance. Our recent visit was the best meal of the summer! We enjoyed a fabulous meal and and outstanding service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Views are spectacular. Ambience is lovely. Most of the dishes were excellent, especially the appetizers - gazpacho and foi gras. The duck entree was not great though - was disappointed in that. Service was perhaps overly attentive, were asked repeatedly if we were finished when clearly we were not. Made us feel that they wanted to rush us through dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Oceans has become our annual restaurant for celebrating our wedding anniversary and we continue to have a wonderful dining experience. The creativity and freshness of the food selections are outstanding and continue to expose our palates to new and exciting tastes that keep us coming back each year.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Ocean is our favorite place when we vacation in Maine. Cocktails on the porch before dinner, overlooking the ocean - breathtaking. A table with a view of the ocean. Knowledgeable waiters of the food and wine, and take pride in what the do- taking care of us. And the food is outstanding. Chef Pierre never disappoints.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Le chef était vraiment très inspire avec le spécial morue
Le homard thermidor en entrée magnifique

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Just loved everything, from the reception, the service, the ambiance and especially the food!
Had been before and will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

This was our first trip to Ocean's we were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary, we can't say enough good things about this place. The staff, the gourmet food was absolutely amazing. We plan on going back next year to celebrate our 31st anniversary, we highly recommend this restaurant with the Ocean's view from any window. kudos to all!!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Easily one of the best restaurants we've ever been to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 28, 2017

One of the nicest upscale dining experiences in the Kennebunkport area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The food was excellent, service was good, just seemed like quite a longtime between ordering dinner and receiving it. Actually had to get up and seek out our waiter to ask him to check on our meals which he did and they magically appeared. Normally I wouldn't comment on this but the dining room was pretty empty by the time we were served.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Not only is the food very good-the service was outstanding! Will definitely return when in the area again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Bought a house in Kport

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We wanted to thank my parents for helping us on a matter and invited them to Ocean to celebrate. It was simply amazing - the food was fabulous, the service exceptional and overall a truly great experience. The menu is to die for and then our waiter informed us of the daily specials which we all jumped on ! Merci - we will be back !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We had the three entrees of tuna and one chicken. The tuna was grisly. It was definitely not sushi grade as you would expect in this caliber of restaurant. In addition the center of the tuna was cold, almost refrigerator cold. It should be room temperature.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Everything was outstanding, from the food to the service. Even though the President and Barbara Bush were dining there that night, we were treated as a special guest too. We were celebrating my retirement and it was made so memorable by the staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Amazing, food, view, especially the Staff from as soon as we walked in until the last bite was finished we were not rushed and the place was packed.
They gave us the corner window it was Fantastic. Well done .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Our waiter, Nathan, was very accommodating. Thoroughly enjoyed the meals.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 17, 2017

We love the Cape Arundel Inn. Since we moved to the area in 2008, this has been our go to restaurant for anniversaries, birthdays, and special occasions or special visitors. It did not disappoint this time around - the filet was outstanding and the tuna special was also wonderful. The tapas selection is a fun way to share appetizers as well.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Expérience toujours aussi délectable.
À découvrir.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Healthy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 17, 2017

First off, the oceanfront view from this gracious Inn and restaurant is spectacular. And the food is equally spectacular. My friend had the oysters on the half shell, which were sublime. I had the Escargots, that had all the wonderful garlic butter flavors with the addition of a light balsamic note that added a delicious depth to the flavor. We shared an entree of Truffle Butter Braised Veal Filet, Bacon-Napa Cabbage Wrapped, Jardinière Vegetables, Foie Gras Emulsion. Three scrumptious, tender veal medallions wrapped in bacon, roasted heirloom carrots, and a wonderful delicate sauce - our faces lit up in delight with our first bite. Congratulations to the Chef for such creative, sublime cuisine!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.