About Ocean

208 Ocean Ave.
Kennebunkport, ME 04046
View Larger Map

In the heart of this mostly residential enclave, in a converted circa-1895 Shingle Style house, sits Ocean. Though the Inn has existed in one permutation or another since the 1950s, and it has long held a reputation for well-appointed lodgings and fine dining. The Innkeepers have filled the building with a striking art collection that could make small New England museums envious, while Chef Gignac uses the dining room—with its awe-inspiring views—as a canvas upon which to create epicurean masterpieces. Pierre Gignac graduated from the Institut d’Hôtellerie et de Tourisme du Québec. Pierre chose to open his first restaurant in Ogunquit, Maine “98 Provence," which pleased locals, tourists and critics for 18 years, until it closed in 2012.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American, Italian

Hours of Operation:
5:00pm - close

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 967-2125

Website:
http://www.capearundelinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Pierre Gignac

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ocean Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Boston / New England
Special Occasion
Boston / New England
Best Ambiance
Maine
4 More
Romantic
Maine
Scenic View
Maine
Special Occasion
Maine
Contemporary American
Maine
Best Restaurants in Kennebunkport ›

scenic view (74)
special occasion (68)
romantic (57)
See All
fit for foodies (48)
notable wine list (17)
neighborhood gem (8)
good for groups (6)
great for brunch (3)
great for lunch (2)
hot spot (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
529 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Elegant dining room,attentive service,wo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

Elegant dining room,attentive service,wonderful food,great view of the ocean.The best meal we had in Kennebunkport.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had perfectly cooked tuna with a lovel ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I had perfectly cooked tuna with a lovely potato and green bean salad (it was the special that night) and my husband had delicious monk fish. The cocktails were creative and tasty. Cannot beat the food or the view at Ocean. Our server was nice, but seemed spread too thin. There were some longish waits, but I would still recommend and go back to this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

We dined at mist of the "top spots" in t ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We dined at mist of the "top spots" in the area, but Ocean is in a class all its own. The food, wine, service and setting were all outstanding!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food prepared by a real deal chef. Eve ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Food prepared by a real deal chef. Even the waiter was getting caught up on pronunciations, if that is a clue for you as to the atmosphere . Food was great, view is awesome. Wonderful place just be ready to pay for your experience because it's not cheap. But it's worth it for a romantic evening by the ocean!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Absolutely 5 Star

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Absolutely 5 Star

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've eaten at Ocean and the restaurant ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We've eaten at Ocean and the restaurant that preceded it for years, and always look forward to dining there when we're in the Kennebunkport area. Typically its a great experience. This Monday service was VERY slow. We were seated almost immediately, but drinks and wine were very slow, and we didn't get bread for an hour. Dinner took 3 hours. But the food was superb, and our server was incredibly nice. We chalked up the slow service to a busy Monday night.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

one of the best we have been to..wait st ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

one of the best we have been to..wait staff superb..

view from almost anywhere lovely

my husband had the veal Rossini and baba au rum which we haven't

see on menus in years and still raving about it

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My go to place for drinks on the porch b ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My go to place for drinks on the porch before dinner which makes for the only way to soak in the complete experience at this fabulous restaurant. Get there about 45 minutes before your reservation to sit on the porch, be served a beverage of your choice in comfortable seating and just enjoy the elevated view and sounds of the Atlantic Ocean. As a year round resident I like to go there just for drinks on the porch a few times a year, unbeatable vistas.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

The warm hospitality and extra attention ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The warm hospitality and extra attention to detail made this special anniversary even more special. That was on top of the fabulous ocean view, lovely dining room and delicious food. Thanks for everything!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first night of our Maine va ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This was our first night of our Maine vacation. We wanted to have dinner at a special restaurant and we were not disappointed. The food was delicious and the service and the view were excellent. It was worth the splurge!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were excellent. I h ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food and service were excellent. I have food allergies and they were absolutely brilliant adjusting menu for me.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Exceptional once again. Great food ,grea ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Exceptional once again. Great food ,great view , great service

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In an coastal area filled with fried sea ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

In an coastal area filled with fried seafood and casual dining spots, Ocean is a white tablecloth oasis. Start with a drink (a blood orange martini, perhaps) on the porch, then move inside for a sophisticated (yet approachable) menu and attentive service. With a cozy bar and lobby and a killer view, Ocean is a grown-up dining experience. We loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A new waiter made the experience less p ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

A new waiter made the experience less pleasant than it should have been for the price. Makes me hesitate to go back even though it's one of my favorite restaurants.

Dinner took 3 hours which was uncomfortable for all of us.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

Our waiter made our evening even more sp ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Our waiter made our evening even more special. He came to us when needed and he didnt bother us too much.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. That said, we we ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was excellent. That said, we were disappointed that while most tables were empty we were seated at perhaps the lease favorable table for views. Maybe they were saving better tables for regulars or Inn guests. Also disappointed that a different bottle than I ordered was served. I failed to notice when the wine was served, so ultimately my responsibility - but still not excited about paying extra for a wine that was fine, but not spectacular. Again, the food is excellent and if you are not seated in the back the views are terrific. A challenge is there are many other restaurants in the area with excellent food and great ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

great food, great location in Kennebunkp ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

great food, great location in Kennebunkport. We go back every year and cannot wait .

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The experience was everything we were lo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The experience was everything we were looking for and more. We will return next year, same time, for the same occasion. (anniversary)

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ocean had an amazing setting overlooking ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Ocean had an amazing setting overlooking the beautiful waters of Kennebunkport, Maine. Everything from the creative cocktails to the careful presentation of each delicious plate was perfect. The dishes highlighted each ingredient's unique flavor. This is a must-eat in the area!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

World class meal in every respect. Great ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

World class meal in every respect. Great service. Unbelievable view. Well chosen wine list. A virtually perfect dining experience

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience. Very creati ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. Very creative menu. Hard to find a better location. This was our second visit and it was even better than the first! Beautiful ocean views from every table. Will certainly return again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

GreaT place with a Stunning view and gor ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

GreaT place with a Stunning view and gorgeous food.the Best in Kennebunkport.hope come back in another year

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were welcomed with a glass of champag ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were welcomed with a glass of champagne. The hostess granted our wish of a corner window table which we got with a view of President Bush,s estate. The food is gourmet so expect smaller portions with excellent presentation. The service is top notch we were treated like VIPs. It was all and all a great dining experience

Thank you Ocean for a memorable evening

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was a most memorable and delightful ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was a most memorable and delightful dining experience. Choosing everything from the appetizer to the dessert was made easier with the friendly waitress. The food was excellent and made all the more enjoyable with the view of the ocean.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ocean is likely the top local restaurant ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Ocean is likely the top local restaurant in this area. Mostly locals dine here as it is a bit pricey for the tourists. Quiet, well heeled crowd. Room is fantastic with great view of the Ocean. Overall it is great. Chef is top notch - food well presented. Service pace appropriate for the table and thoughtfully adjusted as the meal proceeds. We had a great time and would go back in a heart beat. Book well in advance as you are unlikely to walk in and have any chance at a table. Simply Excellent!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

this was my second time to ocean but it ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

this was my second time to ocean but it will not be my last

thanks for making our experience exceptional !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the most wonderful dinin ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

This was one of the most wonderful dining experiences we have ever had. We were celebrating our 30th anniversary and ate luscious food, with a magnificent view of the strawberry full moon rising over the ocean on the Summer Solstice. The waitstaff was superb...friendly, thoughtful, helpful and the food was out of this world. We can't recommend it highly enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress, Liz, was outstanding. She ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Our waitress, Liz, was outstanding. She knew the menu and made excellent recommendations. The service, food, ambiance and the view were all spectacular. One of the best restaurants we've ever experienced.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have only praise for Ocean. The food, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I have only praise for Ocean. The food, from salad through dessert, was outstanding. The view sitting above the rocky coast and ocean waves is spectacular. Finally, the service was both friendly and efficient. Can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing! We had been there many ti ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Disappointing!

We had been there many times before and had great experiences.

This time the service and food quality were not so good.

We would only go back for drinks on the porch because of the great view.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

What a discovery... A lost gem By the Be ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

What a discovery... A lost gem By the Beach... Chef Gignac was simply wonderful... Mix of tastes, artistic presentation, perfect cooking at the highest point !!! Waiters and suiters and very kindful and smily... A culinary expérience that we' ll never forget... See you soon !!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I chose this restaurant as it was our 15 ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

I chose this restaurant as it was our 15 year anniversary, and it came up as the #1 restaurant in the area. The reviews on the food were excellent. Although I never read any reviews stating the dress code. The men were all wearing suits jackets... Maybe the website for the restaurant states the dress code, but I didn't check on that. Although my husband and I dressed nicely, we were way underdressed and felt a little out of place. That being said, the food was very good, a little pricey. The views were amazing as the sun set!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

It was Great like a Great experience. Ev ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

It was Great like a Great experience. Everything was 5/5. We highly recommend it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner experience was amazing! I wou ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our dinner experience was amazing! I would definitely go back to Ocean if I ever go back to the area. They treated my husband and I very special and make his birthday dinner a night to remember. Our waitress was incredible and the manager was just as good. she was even able to get us a table at a much earlier time than the one we had booked. Overall, it was an incredible experience. The food was to die for. Thanks so much, Ava & Mike Spooner

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply superb. A real treat. Dinner wa ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Simply superb. A real treat. Dinner was as usual marvelous, but the current menu seems uniquely excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

FINE DINING

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

For any occasion you are celebrating. It's a beautiful restaurant and the wait staff is so polite and attentive. I look forward to my next visit there.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a beautiful spot, with a view and f ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

What a beautiful spot, with a view and food to match. Outstanding service for our group of 12, and an ocean view as a bonus.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ocean Wireless

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Great food. Great setting Too bad the staff did not have enough courage to heed my request to ask the woman 10 feet from me to get off her phone. Made 3 calls about nothing. I paid $225 for a romantic dinner fit two and she ruined much of it. The waiter and hostess just shrugged which is what we will do next time Ocean comes up

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Outstanding

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Stephen our server was great!Attentive but allowed us time to take in the dining room. The food was good, a little busy. Very scenicspot

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Stayed at the Resort where this restaura ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Stayed at the Resort where this restaurant is located. Voted the best upscale restaurant in Kennebunkport and it lived up to it's reputation. Food, service and ambiance are second to none. Great restaurant!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.