About Ocean

208 Ocean Ave.
Kennebunkport, ME 04046
View Larger Map

In the heart of this mostly residential enclave, in a converted circa-1895 Shingle Style house, sits Ocean. Though the Inn has existed in one permutation or another since the 1950s, and it has long held a reputation for well-appointed lodgings and fine dining. The Innkeepers have filled the building with a striking art collection that could make small New England museums envious, while Chef Gignac uses the dining room—with its awe-inspiring views—as a canvas upon which to create epicurean masterpieces. Pierre Gignac graduated from the Institut d’Hôtellerie et de Tourisme du Québec. Pierre chose to open his first restaurant in Ogunquit, Maine “98 Provence," which pleased locals, tourists and critics for 18 years, until it closed in 2012.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French / American, Italian

Hours of Operation:
5:00pm - close

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(207) 967-2125

Website:
http://www.capearundelinn.com/

Executive Chef:
Pierre Gignac

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ocean Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Maine
Best Ambiance
Maine
Romantic
Maine
4 More
Scenic View
Maine
Special Occasion
Maine
Contemporary American
Maine
Most Booked
Maine
Best Restaurants in Kennebunkport ›

Scenic View (127)
Special Occasion (123)
Romantic (107)
See All
Fit for Foodies (96)
Notable Wine List (26)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
568 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wanted an enjoyable dinner with a great ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wanted an enjoyable dinner with a great view. Note to self, go when it is still light out... lol. We got there early to enjoy a cocktail on the porch and that was great as there was still some light. They apparently were busy as we had to wait 45 minutes after our reservation time for a table. We are easy going and would have ordered an appetizer on the porch but there was zero communication even after asking about when our table would be ready. Disappointing but we got over it. Once we sat down, food and service was great. The lobster thermadore was incredible. I was surprised to see 3 tables with kids as this restaurant seemed fancier and upscale. Overall I just chalk it up to a bad night from a hosting standpoint but will give it another chance as the food and table service was top notch. The fair rating was due to the elongated wait and non communication and not the food and table service.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a lengthy wait but the food and b ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a lengthy wait but the food and beverage manager couldn't have been more lovely and tried to make our wait much more enjoyable. The food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It would appear that no matter when we ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

It would appear that no matter when we book or what time we book Ocean always seats us on the last table on the bench, probably the most undesirable table in the house. We are told that other available tables are " reserved " funny thought that's what we did three weeks before.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The service was fantastic, and the view ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The service was fantastic, and the view could not be better. It was ideal for a romantic dinner. A wonderful space and experience! The food was very good, though portions were a bit small. The chef may consider adding a bit more flavor to the menu...a bit conservative for my taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Best part is having drinks on the porch ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Best part is having drinks on the porch overlooking the ocean.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Heaven exists! Try this experience that ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Heaven exists! Try this experience that you will never forget. Food is outstanding. Service is professional. Site is one of a kind.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Took a very long time to get our entrees ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Took a very long time to get our entrees, server did however comp 2 deserts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Great food throughout. Extremely knowled ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great food throughout. Extremely knowledgable wait staff and impeccable service Very accommodating to allergies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The staff made our evening extra special ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The staff made our evening extra special and the food was delicious. Even with a rainy evening the view was spectacular.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Laura excellent server. Just dial down c ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Laura excellent server. Just dial down condescending attitude.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a perfect summer dinner! Out wai ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had a perfect summer dinner! Out waiter, Matt was lovely and we enjoyed the entire experience. I would highly recommend Ocean!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

AN EXPERIENCE!!! One of a kind. Food, se ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

AN EXPERIENCE!!! One of a kind. Food, service, ambiance were marvellous. They took care of us from the appetizer up to the dessert. Thanks again chef Gignac.

We also had a special guest with us. Full moon!!!

Actually, we are going back three more times during our vacation time.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small intimate dining with an incredible ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Small intimate dining with an incredible ocean view and quality food and service to match. The evening's special of gazpacho made with yellow heirloom tomatoes was one of the most tasty I've eaten. We enjoyed a glass of wine on the sprawling porch prior to our dinner. A wonderful evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We go to Ocean every year to celebrate o ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We go to Ocean every year to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Great chef...nothing too fancy and an incomparable use of fresh products.

Large portions but not at the expense of quality.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Food grad and park belly out of this wor ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food grad and park belly out of this world. Chef continues to surpass himself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very special place. No table has a bad v ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Very special place. No table has a bad view! We try and go there 3-4 times a year. If you can spend the night it's even better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant - the food, the view, t ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great restaurant - the food, the view, the service, the ambiance were all wonderful. We go here whenever we are in Kennebunkport and they just seem to keep getting better! Highly recommended.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service outstanding. The ocean view alon ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service outstanding. The ocean view alon is worth a visit.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Ocean to celebrate our annive ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We went to Ocean to celebrate our anniversary. We arrived early so we could enjoy a drink on the porch. It was wonderful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had not been here for s couple of years. ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Had not been here for s couple of years. Food and service were both good. Excellent choice for a special occasion. View from dining room is beautiful and openness of dining room gives all tables nice view. Not a place for a fast meal, but result is worth the wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Had a fantastic meal- all the food was e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Had a fantastic meal- all the food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful meal on a beautiful evening. C ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Wonderful meal on a beautiful evening. Cocktail on the porch and then really impressive food and service for the meal. Grace was exceedingly professional, knowledgeable and polite. The martinis were perfectly prepared.

Entree choices were terrific, as was the dessert.

Only suggestion might be some higher end wine choices, but also to enforce a dress code in the evening that limits untucked shirts, flip flops, and beach wear.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was phenomenal, but we had to w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was phenomenal, but we had to wait about 45 minutes for our 8:00 reservation. So, we were VERY hungry...and the food did not disappoint (once we finally got it.). But, the service was definitely "off." Not sure if it was our waiter or the staff as a whole??

Just be prepared for a very "European" approach to your meal... There was no hurry to get us our food or our check, which is OK, I guess...we just were not prepared for a three hour affair.

The view is breathtaking, and the atmosphere is lovely. The food is delish...however, the service is slow. While the experience as a whole was extremely positive...I cannot give it 5 stars b/c of the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Excellent - we have made it a tradition ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Excellent - we have made it a tradition to have a meal at the Cape Arundel Inn restaurant durig our annual (28 years now) summer vacation in Maine. Obviously, the restaurant has changed ownership during that time period. The new owner and chef of the last few years has not disappointed - the meal we had last week was outstanding in every way - service, quality, presentation etc..

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Wonderful food. Great service. Tremendou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Wonderful food. Great service. Tremendous views. A great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Kennebunkport and Ocean ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We were visiting Kennebunkport and Ocean was very highly recommended. First of all it is in the Cape Arundel Hotel perched high enough to enjoy spectacular views of the Ocean . The restaurant takes full advantage of the views so go before sunset. We had a 7:30 reservation. Our table was not ready, we were asked to be seated in the lounge and given the drink menu. It took about 15 minutes for someone to take our drink order and another 15 or more minutes for the drink to be served! To me this is unacceptable. The hostess apologized for the wait, and offered a glass of champagne. I said I'm not interested in champagne I think it's appropriate for you to buy this round of drinks. She couldn't do that. We were finally seated at a table they squeezed in as there was a big party near us. I felt like I was being punished sitting behind a pole in an awkward layout. Finally, about 8:30 we ordered dinner. Our server was very pleasant and helpful and the food was delicious. I had the big eye tuna and my companion had a lobster dish . Desserts were too complicated for my taste. It wasn't the a great experience. I expect better service when going to such a highly rated establishment.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Arrive early and have a signature cockta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Arrive early and have a signature cocktail on the porch overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Ingredients are precisely selected for each dish and the result is spectacular. A bit of advice - don't get locked in to your dinner selection on the porch until you hear the specials!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were disappointed with the service an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We were disappointed with the service and food quality. Pricy given the small portions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

We had a reservation but waited about 40 ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We had a reservation but waited about 40 minutes for our table to be ready. However, it was worth the wait. The ambiance, service, and food were outstanding. I would definitely go back the next time that I am in Kennebunkport.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place. They did it all and did it ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great place. They did it all and did it all perfectly. Servers, hostesses, bar, all superb. Food, creative and excellent.

Go early and enjoy the view from the deck. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We make a point of making a reservation ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We make a point of making a reservation at Ocean every time we are in Maine, we live in New York. Ocean is always our very special vacation dinner, and each and every time it gets better and better. True perfection once again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second year in a row on a vacation visit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Second year in a row on a vacation visit and another wonderful experience all around!! Perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent dinner, great service, lovely ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Excellent dinner, great service, lovely view. This has become our go-to place for special occasions, well worth the price. Food is creative without being fussy or "precious". The cod beignets make a great starter, the cod is almost mousse like consistency. Lobster entree was wonderful, in a very light sauce that let the lobster shine. Only complaint were the mushrooms (oyster I think) it was served with were very tough. The swordfish was perfectly cooked. Dessert was peach ice cream with fresh berries over brioche, kind of a riff on bread pudding but not firmer in texture. Great way to end meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

DID A NICE OVERALL JOB. IT IS WHAT I EX ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

DID A NICE OVERALL JOB. IT IS WHAT I EXPECT. THE VIEW OF THE OCEAN VERY NICE, SERVICE ATTENTIVE, AND FOOD CREATIVE.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and our server was even bette ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great food and our server was even better. Go early and enjoy a drink on the front porch with an unobstructed view of the ocean,

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My request for a table on ocean avenue w ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

My request for a table on ocean avenue was attended to spectacularly by facing my chair to ocean avenue and they were attentive and everyone Acknowledged my birthday and we got a special petite dessert!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely. Spot great service and food was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Lovely. Spot great service and food was best we had all week in kennebunk/kennebunkport

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go early and have a cocktail on the fron ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Go early and have a cocktail on the front porch. Great food....pricey so but you can make it what you want. The veal filets were Great!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service and dining experience. V ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Amazing service and dining experience. Very attentive service and great spot for a fabulous view and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Elegant dining room,attentive service,wo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Elegant dining room,attentive service,wonderful food,great view of the ocean.The best meal we had in Kennebunkport.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.