About Ocean Blvd Bistro and Martini Bar

4700 N Virginia Dare Trail
Kitty Hawk, NC 27949
View Larger Map

Ocean Boulevard Bistro and Martini Bar is an upscale dining restaurant on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are open nightly for dinner and drinks through all seasons. We pride ourselves in using fresh local and regional ingredients, in season, to create interesting and flavorful meals. We have a comprehensive wine list and have been awarded "Best of the Beach - 2014" for our Martini Bar. We also have an oceanside patio, across the street from the beach, for drinks and waiting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:00pm Weekdays
5:00pm-1:30am Fridays
5:00pm-11:00pm Saturdays

Cross Street:
Eckner St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 261-2546

Website:
http://obbistro.com/

Entertainment:
After Dinner (10:00pm) on Friday Nights we offer live music with local and regional bands until 1:30am. During the Spring, Summer and Fall, we often have a solo acoustic performer on our Oceanside patio.

Catering:
We are capable of providing food and cocktails for a large variety of events, on- or off-premise. We often host birthdays, anniversaries, rehearsal dinners, pharmaceutical dinners, etc. in the restaurant. For larger events such as wedding receptions and large scale anniversary parties, we can cater in your rental property or selected banquet area with a full scale, personally designed menu.

Parking Details:
Our private lot is on the side of the restaurant by the front door. When the lot becomes full, we have access to alternate lots in cooperation with the Beachwoods Property Group. These parking lots are located just beyond our adjacent lot, to the west.

Executive Chef:
Donny King

Private Party Facilities:
Within the restaurant, we are capable of seating as many as 22 people upstairs for a semi-private event. In our wine room, we can accommodate up to 12. If needed, we can book the downstairs dining area to handle up to 60.

Private Party Contact:
Donny King: 252-261-2546x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Ocean Blvd Bistro and Martini Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
9 More
Notable Wine List
Coastal North Carolina
Romantic
Coastal North Carolina
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Best Overall
Outer Banks
Best Food
Outer Banks
Best Service
Outer Banks
Best Ambiance
Outer Banks
Most Booked
Outer Banks
Best Restaurants in Kitty Hawk ›

Special Occasion (61)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Notable Wine List (43)
See All
Romantic (39)
Scenic View (31)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Hot Spot (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Open Kitchen (9)
Waterfront (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Healthy (5)
Authentic (5)
Casual (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Fun (3)
Seasonal (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Cozy (2)
Live Music (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Private Room (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
Newest
849 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and setting outstanding as usual. S ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food and setting outstanding as usual. Staff have been great during our many previous visits, but we had a confrontational and generally unpleasant waitress. OB management will surely weed her out pretty quickly as this has always been an excellent restaurant in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Great experience and I highly recommend ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great experience and I highly recommend Ocean Blvd for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We both started with she crab soup. The ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We both started with she crab soup. The soup had good taste, but was barely warm. The duck dish was fair at best. The meat was tough and the side of kale was bitter. The special was a red snapper done in an Asian style. Served over rice noodles with a few pieces of calamari. The fish was done perfectly. The overall dish was good. We thought the price was to high for the quality of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

It was by far the best dinner this year ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

It was by far the best dinner this year on the Outer Banks. Well-prepared entrees and creative apps. Highly recommended.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite go-to restaurant when we ar ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Our favorite go-to restaurant when we are in the Outer Banks for vacation. Service, food, ambiance- all exceptional. Heather will take time to chat and is delightfully personable. We had dinner at OB twice during our beach week. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Music, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Casual, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great! I loved the pork sho ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food was great! I loved the pork shoulder and my boyfriend loved the steak with horseradish sauce! The martinis were very good as well, I had the bellinitini! Can't wait to go back next time we visit kitty hawk.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We visited OBX with family, the last tim ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We visited OBX with family, the last time in 2009. My wife and I wanted to have a night to ourselves so we went here again. It's a wonderful place to eat in wonderful locale. Nice interior, good food and service. We really enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great find in the Outer Banks. Nice mart ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great find in the Outer Banks. Nice martini bar, good food and service. Across the street from the ocean, what more could you want?

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, People Watching, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, we had a wonderful experience ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

As always, we had a wonderful experience at OB! We come every time we are in OBX and will continue the tradition.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our third visit to Ocean Boulev ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This was our third visit to Ocean Boulevard Bistro over the years, and we will continue to come back for the combination of fresh seafood and great local atmosphere. This obviously popular local bistro is consistently excellent in food and service. My scallops were served over a bed of grits and cooked to perfection. The cobia special was superb according to my wife, who is quite particular about her fish. The wine list is extensive and fairly priced. This is a hidden gem on the Outer Banks.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We hadn't been in several months because ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We hadn't been in several months because honestly the restaurant scene in OBX has really improved over the last year so we've tried other places. How nice though to come back to an old friend and have creatively prepared dishes, a fantastic server, and cozy room. The red snapper was prepared excellently with the fish fresh and moist. I tried a piece of my wife's filet, and I'm not a filet guy but it was melt in your mouth delicious.

I only wish they offered draft beer!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Favorite place to eat in OBX!

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

My Favorite place to eat in OBX!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best crab cake I've ever had!! Great fis ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Best crab cake I've ever had!! Great fish selection, will definitely be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Annette was a fabulous server who also g ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Annette was a fabulous server who also gave me an equally fabulous recommendation re: the duck breast with peach/goat cheese pastry. Food and overall experience was great, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Always enjoy coming here the first night ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Always enjoy coming here the first night of our vacation in OBX - it has become a tradition! Fantastic food and cocktails, excellent service - in an upscale, but beach relaxed atmosphere. Definitely a must try if you've never been!

Tags: Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our best meal in the banks every year. T ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Our best meal in the banks every year. Tuna appetizer top notch, fish special corvino terrific

Duck crazy good. This place should be a 4.9

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Definitely a pleasurable experience for ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Definitely a pleasurable experience for our 37th anniversary. Very tasty and unusual preparation of seafood. The seared scallops were outstanding the the crab cakes the way a Marylander likes them.. Lump crab and little filler. The ambiance was terrific. Highly recommend !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We make it a point to have at least one ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We make it a point to have at least one dinner at Ocean Blvd every year during vacation for the past several years [since they've been open]. Last year [2015] we reconsidered after enduring a painful, uncomfortable seating situation due to the "park bench" booth seats and the fact that they are squished together so tightly.

This year [2016] we asked for better seating [normal chairs!] which improved the experience. Be forewarned: it is a VERY noisy place - an old hardware store with concrete floors and the bar about 12 feet away from the tables - with a TV screaming sports, loud piped in music, and barflies getting louder after each drink...like the couples on either side of us, we gave up trying to have conversations and focused on the delicious food. And the food is truly very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome experience. They got all the de ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Awesome experience. They got all the details right. Keep up the good work. We'll be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious dishes and seasoned veteran se ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Delicious dishes and seasoned veteran service. An all around fantastic meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

First time back to Ocean Boulevard in ov ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

First time back to Ocean Boulevard in over 5 years. Stayed away due to bad service. Excellent waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Not your run if the mill OBX restaurant! ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Not your run if the mill OBX restaurant! Great food with a lot of choices! Not good for the picky eater!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice choices for fish and seafood. Meal ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Nice choices for fish and seafood. Meal was delicious, slightly more expensive but definitely one of the best restaurants in that area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The cuisine is anywhere from great to ou ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The cuisine is anywhere from great to outstanding; very creative, local ingredients, excellent wine list. Simply the BEST restaurant in the Outer Banks. We have been many times and will be back many times.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always inventive food. Great crowd. the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Always inventive food. Great crowd. the owners are on site and are very pleasant. The setups for the seafood are among the best anywhere

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

THIS IS OUR "GO TO" SPOT WHENEVER WE ARE ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

THIS IS OUR "GO TO" SPOT WHENEVER WE ARE ON THE OBX FOR MORE THAN A COUPLE OF DAYS. GOOD FOOD. GOOD WINE LIST. FUN TO BE AT THE CHEF'S BAR, TOO. WE LOVE IT.

Tags: Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A dinner at Ocean Boulevard has been an ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

A dinner at Ocean Boulevard has been an essential part of any vacation in the Outer Banks for our family for a number of years.

Our experience this year was a mix of good and not-so-good.

Pro - The NC BBQ Pork Shoulder was excellent.

Cons - The Salmon special was not special, the homemade peach ice cream had no flavor of any kind and the desert special was bland.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Oceans Boulevard is a fantastic upscale ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Oceans Boulevard is a fantastic upscale restaurant, right off the beach and within a stone's throw from the surf. We visited this place when our kids were small (6 and 3 y.o.) and had a great meal then. They are now 20 and 17 y.o. and we were pleasantly surprised that the restaurant was still open. This place needs reservations up to a week or more in advance. Upon our arrival we saw that there was outdoor seating. We were approached by Donny who we later learned was the proprietor. On a pleasant nite it's a great location to dine al fresco. However, we went inside and were seated near where we sat 14 years ago. They make a variety of enticing martini's so we started with those and then moved to a favorite Syrah, which was reasonably priced (Plumpjack). The wine list is extensive and you can order wines anywhere from the mid-$20 range all the way up to $1700 a bottle. I ordered the lamb rack and the wine reduction sauce was to die for. Probably the best lamb I've ordered to date. My wife and kids keep dipping their veggies in my sauce. The bass and snapper we ordered were also tasty and well presented. My daughter ordered the crab cake, which was divine. The desserts were great too. Try the cheesecake with raspberry sauce - light and creamy. Also the chocolate dessert was smooth and airy. The service was excellent and we never felt ignored. This place is as good as it was 14 years ago and maybe even better. Ask for Donny. He made the experience top notch.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sea Bass dish was relatively bland, but ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Sea Bass dish was relatively bland, but the Lamb Chops were spot on and the Chik Liver Pate app was outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

My husband and I always love a night out ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

My husband and I always love a night out at Ocean Boulevard. This time, it was a special visit. It was our anniversary. And Ocean Boulevard staff helped us celebrate with delicious drinks, appetizers and main courses. The chefs, kitchen staff, bartenders, servers and front desk staff are wonderful people who care about their customers. What delicious food, always prepared with care---and often with ingredients sourced locally. Thanks to the whole staff for a fantastic anniversary dinner!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our annual 'DATE NIGHT' in OBX. My wife ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Our annual 'DATE NIGHT' in OBX. My wife and I just don't want to go anywhere else!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As expected a great meal here. We have b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

As expected a great meal here. We have been back every year to Ocean Blvd Bistro and are never disappointed. The food is excellent. The martinis perfect, and this time around I had a glass of wine with dinner and it was a perfect match. The service is also quite attentive v

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you're at the Outer Banks you must tr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

If you're at the Outer Banks you must try OB at least once. We make it a point to stop by every time we're in town (roughly 5x per year).

Our go-to food category is almost always seafood. But I've had a pork cheeks appetizer and their lamb chops and was thrilled with all. It's good that even the standards that usually appear on the menu get tweaked from season to season.

Pricier than most places. Cocktails are north of $10-12 with martinis falling in at about $15. Our dinner selections always seem to find their way to $30.

The staff is great! During the summer they can be a little taxed and less doting. Off season is definitely the best time to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food! We were there 5 years ago a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food! We were there 5 years ago and it's still just as good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We wanted to have a romantic dinner, and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We wanted to have a romantic dinner, and this place was close to our resort. My husband and I split an appetizer, split a salad, and split an entree. We each had one glass of wine and split a dessert. The food was good but not great, the portions were small, and the prices were high. We ate at a BBQ place the next night and the entire bill for three people was equal to the price of the small entree (one crab cake). We probably would not go back, as there are so many wonderful places in OBX for a lot less money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Amazing as always!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Amazing as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Kim was fantastic! We've been ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Our server Kim was fantastic! We've been coming here since you opened your doors. It never disappoints!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm sorry to report that the food at thi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I'm sorry to report that the food at this once-fantastic establishment has gone downhill. We had such a disappointing dinner, and then went back to our cottage and made something that was actually edible! I can't believe we spent so much money -- and our only night out -- trying to eat a meal that did not live up to its description. At least the cocktails were great, the company superb, and the service fairly attentive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Tried a new wine, excellent. Food was de ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Tried a new wine, excellent. Food was delicious and the service was top notch. Very nice.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was amazing. From the waitress (Annet ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

It was amazing. From the waitress (Annette) to the food, to the modern decor. Two thumbs up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.