About Ocean Blvd Bistro and Martini Bar

Ocean Boulevard Bistro and Martini Bar is an upscale dining restaurant on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are open nightly for dinner and drinks through all seasons. We pride ourselves in using fresh local and regional ingredients, in season, to create interesting and flavorful meals. We have a comprehensive wine list and have been awarded "Best of the Beach - 2014" for our Martini Bar. We also have an oceanside patio, across the street from the beach, for drinks and waiting.

4700 N Virginia Dare Trail
Kitty Hawk, NC 27949
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:00pm Weekdays
5:00pm-1:30am Fridays
5:00pm-11:00pm Saturdays

Cross Street:
Eckner St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 261-2546

Website:
http://obbistro.com/

Entertainment:
After Dinner (10:00pm) on Friday Nights we offer live music with local and regional bands until 1:30am. During the Spring, Summer and Fall, we often have a solo acoustic performer on our Oceanside patio.

Catering:
We are capable of providing food and cocktails for a large variety of events, on- or off-premise. We often host birthdays, anniversaries, rehearsal dinners, pharmaceutical dinners, etc. in the restaurant. For larger events such as wedding receptions and large scale anniversary parties, we can cater in your rental property or selected banquet area with a full scale, personally designed menu.

Parking Details:
Our private lot is on the side of the restaurant by the front door. When the lot becomes full, we have access to alternate lots in cooperation with the Beachwoods Property Group. These parking lots are located just beyond our adjacent lot, to the west.

Executive Chef:
Donny King

Private Party Facilities:
Within the restaurant, we are capable of seating as many as 22 people upstairs for a semi-private event. In our wine room, we can accommodate up to 12. If needed, we can book the downstairs dining area to handle up to 60.

Private Party Contact:
Donny King: (252) 261-2546

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Ocean Blvd Bistro and Martini Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for a Date (38)
Fit for Foodies (35)
See All
Local Ingredients (34)
Notable Wine List (31)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Worth the Drive (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (22)
Romantic (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Waterfront (19)
Cozy (17)
Scenic View (15)
Casual (14)
Fun (13)
Authentic (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Seasonal (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Healthy (8)
Live Music (7)
People Watching (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Business Meals (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Tapas (2)
Organic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vegan (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1042 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Best in Town
Ocean Blvd never has disappointed. It is always very, very good. We spend the entire summer on the Outer-banks. Ocean Blvd is simply the best.
Jane A

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The NY strip was excellent. You can never go wrong with the ahi tuna appetizer either.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Went there for a birthday. Great attentive service. Seared tuna app very good. We all got steaks all very good and done how we ordered. Wine beer drinks very good. Martinis skating just a little pricey. Definitely recommend

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Would be a regular if I lived on the OBX. Comfortable and friendly and very good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined 6 days ago

The meal started with bread and butter that was delicious. We had a crab soup appetizer of the she crab soup that was amazing, we sopped it up with the bread which made it even better. I had the steak with the seasonal veggies and Gorgonzola cheese and I could not stop eating it. It was a very complex dish that just kept getting better with every bite. We also had the crab cake...which was very good, lots of crabmeat and flavor. We ate so much food that we couldn't find room for dessert but we will most definitely be back! Perks of living local! Wonderful atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

We chose this restaurant to celebrate our last night in OBX. It was excellent. The food was fresh and the service was attentive without feeling rushed.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Best crab cakes ever. Ocean Blvd is always special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Everyone's meal was great. Thank you for taking reservations.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

Great martinis as well as extensive wine list makes for a great start to an evening out with friends and family! Food was excellent and dessert delightful!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 7, 2017

The hostess was accommodating to our request for a table with an ocean view.Our server was pleasant and informative regarding the menu. Everything was delicious and well prepared. The martinis were wonderful. Unfortunately, we didn't have room for any dessert. Out of all the restaurants we have been to, Ocean Boulevard is one of our top favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The food was excellent but small portions for the price . The service excellent and sitting with the ocean across the street is really nice.
Just not worth the money.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

I enjoyed the fried chicken livers and the crab cake. My wife had the rack of lamb. It is unusual to find chicken livers and rack of lamb in OBX restaurants. The food and service were excellent. We have been coming to OB since 1998. We spend 10 weeks per year in Duck, and sample the offerings at OB in all four seasons. OB is consistent in food quality and service and varies its menu seasonally, which we appreciate. We recommend OB without reservation, as it is one of our favorite establishments on the entire OBX.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Service is outstanding and the food even better! Great beach location!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Ocean Boulevard has been 'Date Night' for my wife and I on vaca for quite a few years. We talk of going elsewhere but then always decide on Ovean Blvd cause it's FANTASTIC

My veal Chop special was amazing as were the lemon gnocchi. My wife's NY Strip with Gorgonzola perfect

We shared the FIG special app. YUM

Our server has been there since 2001 and we ha e been fortunate to have had him serve us in the past

Please choose this restaurant for a great meal and night out. I am sure we will be back next year

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Fantastic food; great place to get great food. A++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Tags: Healthy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

The food was delicious ... especially the bistro salad - it had a really great dressing. Everything was great!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 29, 2017

As always, we enjoyed Ocean Bistro. Food, service, just everything is too notch.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

I had the day's special fish, snapper. It was dry so I was not pleased with it, but everything else, including the sashimi tuna appetizer, and my husband's pork cutlets, was terrific. When I mentioned my dissatisfaction with the snapper to the waiter he spoke with the manager who approved a 50% discount. I was pleased with that accommodation and so I plan to give it another chance day after tomorrow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 20, 2017

This restaurant never disappoints! Always fabulous food and service.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 18, 2017

I try to go to Ocean Blvd each year I am at the Outer Banks. It has never disappointed. Food and service always great. So glad they take reservations as well...Had another night at another recommended restaurant, and the wait, and the service were way past acceptable. So, I had wished I had another night at OB...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food in a very appealing setting. Server recovered from a wine mistake with great honesty and suppot. Great place!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Divine food but less than stellar attention/service from the server/bartender at the Chef's Center. But, that did little to take away from the superb food and entertaining kitchen staff! It does get busy but with good reason. Make reservations and enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We went twice in the 3 weeks we were at the beach. As always everything was perfect!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Always enjoy dining at Ocean Boulevard. Usually have the duck dinner and have never been disappointed!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Ocean Boulevard consistently good food and attentive service. Thr four of us each had a different entree (tuna, scallops, steak and crab cake) and all were expertly prepared with appropriate accompaniments. Not an everyday place but certainly a special place. Highly recommend.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

One word the describes Ocean Bistro...Awsome. First time there and guaranteed wil will be back. Everything was perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Our expectations were high. The place was hot. People are packed in like sardines. The people on either side may as well have been sitting in our laps. Poor arrangements for carrying on an intimate conversation. We were there to celebrate a special anniversary but fell short of our expectations. On top of that and of little consequence, my wife got a cherry in her martini rather than the olive she requested. Some little acknowledgment of the anniversary would have been nice. The good news is that the food was great.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Excellent dinner at the Chef's Table.
Many options for both sea food lovers and land lovers. Full bar.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Great food. Well seasoned and the martinis were the best. If we didn't have little ones I would have closed the place down

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. Food, drinks, ambience were outstanding. A little pricey but worth it. Excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Not the best night for the Boulevard. Tried to get my appetizer right three times and all three failed. I finally gave up and ate around what I couldn't eat due to allergies that had been made known in advance, but if I had known before they served the appetizer that they were out of Ika salad, I would have ordered something else. Main course (entre) was scallops and they were generous and tasty, but I was left wondering why I paid for that appetizer. Waiter is typically first class but seemed to be frazzled by whatever was going on in the kitchen.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This is a great spot for a date night out, or a casual drink outside with the ocean breeze. Food was delicious, starting with the ahi tuna sashimi & poke with seaweed salad and wasabi. The rack of lamb was perfectly cooked, and we also had the red snapper special, grilled and served with mussels. Excellent! Dessert was an orange cream cheesecake! Yum! Very nice wine list with plenty to choose from in all ranges. There is also a casual menu for the outdoor space, and live music! Go and enjoy yourselves!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Ocean Boulevard is my favorite place! The cocktails and martinis are amazing. And their mixologist is wonderful in Creating inventive drinks. The food is fresh local and absolutely delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 27, 2017

London the hostess was especially welcoming and personable. The house cocktails were delicious and entertaining.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Went as a table of four, and followed advice of prior reviews to request a booth. Tables *are* close together and you'd hear a lot of your neighbors' conversations. Food was delicious and beautiful, with the menu surprisingly longer on the "turf" options than the "surf" options given the name and location of the place. Several enticing specials were offered. Service was attentive and quietly competent -- I don't like it when waitstaff try to provide entertainment. Wine list was extensive. Martini bar was advertised as a specialty, but the menu only offered about ten cocktails, only 2-3 of which would qualify as martinis. It was a cool evening so we ate inside, but the outdoor patio looks nice. Definitely a dressier atmosphere for the beach, but guys can still get away with nice shorts and a collared shirt.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Rack of lamb was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Another fabulous dinner, we love coming here because we are never disappointed. All the dishes and drinks were outstanding and that is why I say it is a good value.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Enjoyed the meal. Special soup was awesome. Service was okay. Wait staff needs basic training on wine offerings. Still somewhat unknown, definitely worth a try and much better than other highly rated restaurants.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Been going here for years every time we come to OBX. Great service, good food & great atmosphere. Always a must stop.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.