About Ocean Blvd Bistro and Martini Bar

4700 N Virginia Dare Trail
Kitty Hawk, NC 27949
View Larger Map

Ocean Boulevard Bistro and Martini Bar is an upscale dining restaurant on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are open nightly for dinner and drinks through all seasons. We pride ourselves in using fresh local and regional ingredients, in season, to create interesting and flavorful meals. We have a comprehensive wine list and have been awarded "Best of the Beach - 2014" for our Martini Bar. We also have an oceanside patio, across the street from the beach, for drinks and waiting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:00pm Weekdays
5:00pm-1:30am Fridays
5:00pm-11:00pm Saturdays

Cross Street:
Eckner St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 261-2546

Website:
http://obbistro.com/

Entertainment:
After Dinner (10:00pm) on Friday Nights we offer live music with local and regional bands until 1:30am. During the Spring, Summer and Fall, we often have a solo acoustic performer on our Oceanside patio.

Catering:
We are capable of providing food and cocktails for a large variety of events, on- or off-premise. We often host birthdays, anniversaries, rehearsal dinners, pharmaceutical dinners, etc. in the restaurant. For larger events such as wedding receptions and large scale anniversary parties, we can cater in your rental property or selected banquet area with a full scale, personally designed menu.

Parking Details:
Our private lot is on the side of the restaurant by the front door. When the lot becomes full, we have access to alternate lots in cooperation with the Beachwoods Property Group. These parking lots are located just beyond our adjacent lot, to the west.

Executive Chef:
Donny King

Private Party Facilities:
Within the restaurant, we are capable of seating as many as 22 people upstairs for a semi-private event. In our wine room, we can accommodate up to 12. If needed, we can book the downstairs dining area to handle up to 60.

Private Party Contact:
Donny King: 252-261-2546x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Join us for a 5 course New Year's Eve celebratory menu. $85 per person with wine pairings available for an additional surcharge. (A la Carte dining not available on New Year's Eve.)

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Ocean Blvd Bistro and Martini Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Overall
Outer Banks
Best Food
Outer Banks
3 More
Best Service
Outer Banks
Best Ambiance
Outer Banks
Most Booked
Outer Banks
Best Restaurants in Kitty Hawk ›

Special Occasion (36)
Notable Wine List (31)
Fit for Foodies (29)
See All
Creative Cuisine (28)
Romantic (26)
Local Ingredients (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for a Date (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Waterfront (18)
Open Kitchen (17)
Bar Seating (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Scenic View (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Casual (12)
Authentic (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Healthy (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Seasonal (6)
Cozy (6)
Live Music (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Fun (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Family Style (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
876 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very disappointing Thanksgiving experien ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Very disappointing Thanksgiving experience. The service was slow even for a leisurely meal. The food was ok but overly elaborate for the occasion. Also they promised at least one traditional Thanksgiving option but it was still somewhat weird.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We were at Ocean Boulevard for Thanksgiv ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were at Ocean Boulevard for Thanksgiving. Four courses were served with four choices to choose from each course. The meal was absolutely fantastic. We sat in a back room on the second floor with a big window with a view of the beach. For most of the meal, we were the only 2 in the room. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative and delicious dishes, great ser ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Creative and delicious dishes, great service and relaxing atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never fails to please us. We love this p ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Never fails to please us. We love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

THE FOOD WAS SO GOOD; WE ARE STILL TALKI ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 16, 2016

THE FOOD WAS SO GOOD; WE ARE STILL TALKING ABOUT THAT GREAT MEAL; GREAT SERVICE.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fresh and tasted incredible ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The food was fresh and tasted incredible! Three of us had 3 different dishes and shared a salad - all were great! Wonderful place to eat! Highly recommended!

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We like the vibe at Ocean Blvd. It has ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We like the vibe at Ocean Blvd. It has a creative menu, very fine wine list and a welcoming ambiance.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our cocktails (Beefeater Martini and Bo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Our cocktails (Beefeater Martini and Bourbon Manhattan) were marvelous. The scallop and steak entrees were perfectly prepared and delicious.

We always enjoy our "date nights" at OB. We try to stop for at least one meal when on the OBX.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, nice selection. Ser ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Food was excellent, nice selection. Service was also outstanding, very attentive!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always superb! Lost track of the number ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Always superb! Lost track of the number of years we've been coming here, usually 5-6 per year. Never disappointed. Food, service and wine list are some of the OBX's best.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined here before and always mak ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We have dined here before and always make it a stop when we are on vacation in the Outer Banks. Pricy but well worth it. We have always had a great meal and this visit was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was my husband's birthday and we had ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 25, 2016

It was my husband's birthday and we had a great time there celebrating with a romantic dinner with just the two of us. We had plenty of leftovers so we were able to enjoy our entrees again the next night and they were just as good the second time. My husband said he had the best martini he has ever had with the blue cheese stuffed olives. He thought it was a great touch. We look forward to dining there again real soon!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with wonderful sauces on the ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food with wonderful sauces on the salmon and chicken. The service was amazing too. Prices are high but we used the early couplin good before 6. Would definitely recommend it

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was outstanding and the service ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service was very good. We would definitely go again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service always and we enjoyed the ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great service always and we enjoyed the duck and lamb entrees.

Thanks so much-we'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Live Music, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a fantastic experience, Ocean Bou ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Always a fantastic experience, Ocean Boulevard never disappoints. Thank you for a great dining experience for our 1 year wedding anniversary ! Server was exceptionally polite, attentive without being too attentive, and had a nice disposition. Great job!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OB is one of our "MUST visits when in Ou ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 5, 2016

OB is one of our "MUST visits when in Outer Banks. Chef Mike Thomas's food is superb. Claire and Rachel add to the food's quality and taste. The Caesar salad dressing on the salad was yummy and the veal short ribs were great.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the calamari and tuna for appetiz ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We had the calamari and tuna for appetizers. Highly recommend the calamari. The tuna was cooked rare, how I wanted it, and had a nice sauce but was a bit lacking compared to other tunas I have had. The chicken entree was phenomenal. Would go to this place again just for that. The scallops entree was very good as well. Nicely seared scallops in a delicious sauce. The rye manhattan (Wild Turkey) is also better than most I have had.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a favorite. Great seafood menu wi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Always a favorite. Great seafood menu with healthy twist, i.e. no heavy/gooey sauces. Staff is attentive and friendly. Food very, very fresh.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress excellent. Benches at tables no ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Waitress excellent. Benches at tables not very nice. Chairs better for large people. Experience otherwise very enjoyable!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We love OBX and this time , this was the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We love OBX and this time , this was the Best meal we had all week. Loved the tuna appetizer and entree'! Lively atmosphere!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Outstanding dining on our last night of ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Outstanding dining on our last night of vacation in the Outer Banks. Such a wonderful ending with a fantastic meal, fine wine and martini's, a prime table and a superbly attentive server in Kim. Wish we had found Ocean Boulevard before our last night in town. Definitely would have dined there more than once during our stay! Don't miss this place when in the Outer Banks.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a lovely surprise in Kitty Hawk!!!! ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 30, 2016

What a lovely surprise in Kitty Hawk!!!!

We would definitely go again.

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful fresh food and superb service. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Wonderful fresh food and superb service. If you want a little something extra while visiting the Outer Banks, this place is an excellent choice.

Tags: Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and setting outstanding as usual. S ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Food and setting outstanding as usual. Staff have been great during our many previous visits, but we had a confrontational and generally unpleasant waitress. OB management will surely weed her out pretty quickly as this has always been an excellent restaurant in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Great experience and I highly recommend ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great experience and I highly recommend Ocean Blvd for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We both started with she crab soup. The ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 19, 2016

We both started with she crab soup. The soup had good taste, but was barely warm. The duck dish was fair at best. The meat was tough and the side of kale was bitter. The special was a red snapper done in an Asian style. Served over rice noodles with a few pieces of calamari. The fish was done perfectly. The overall dish was good. We thought the price was to high for the quality of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Our favourite place in OBX for dinner. ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our favourite place in OBX for dinner. Never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was by far the best dinner this year ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2016

It was by far the best dinner this year on the Outer Banks. Well-prepared entrees and creative apps. Highly recommended.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite go-to restaurant when we ar ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Our favorite go-to restaurant when we are in the Outer Banks for vacation. Service, food, ambiance- all exceptional. Heather will take time to chat and is delightfully personable. We had dinner at OB twice during our beach week. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Music, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Casual, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great! I loved the pork sho ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food was great! I loved the pork shoulder and my boyfriend loved the steak with horseradish sauce! The martinis were very good as well, I had the bellinitini! Can't wait to go back next time we visit kitty hawk.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We visited OBX with family, the last tim ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2016

We visited OBX with family, the last time in 2009. My wife and I wanted to have a night to ourselves so we went here again. It's a wonderful place to eat in wonderful locale. Nice interior, good food and service. We really enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great find in the Outer Banks. Nice mart ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Great find in the Outer Banks. Nice martini bar, good food and service. Across the street from the ocean, what more could you want?

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, People Watching, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, we had a wonderful experience ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 12, 2016

As always, we had a wonderful experience at OB! We come every time we are in OBX and will continue the tradition.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our third visit to Ocean Boulev ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 11, 2016

This was our third visit to Ocean Boulevard Bistro over the years, and we will continue to come back for the combination of fresh seafood and great local atmosphere. This obviously popular local bistro is consistently excellent in food and service. My scallops were served over a bed of grits and cooked to perfection. The cobia special was superb according to my wife, who is quite particular about her fish. The wine list is extensive and fairly priced. This is a hidden gem on the Outer Banks.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We hadn't been in several months because ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We hadn't been in several months because honestly the restaurant scene in OBX has really improved over the last year so we've tried other places. How nice though to come back to an old friend and have creatively prepared dishes, a fantastic server, and cozy room. The red snapper was prepared excellently with the fish fresh and moist. I tried a piece of my wife's filet, and I'm not a filet guy but it was melt in your mouth delicious.

I only wish they offered draft beer!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Favorite place to eat in OBX!

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 10, 2016

My Favorite place to eat in OBX!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best crab cake I've ever had!! Great fis ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Best crab cake I've ever had!! Great fish selection, will definitely be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Annette was a fabulous server who also g ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Annette was a fabulous server who also gave me an equally fabulous recommendation re: the duck breast with peach/goat cheese pastry. Food and overall experience was great, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Always enjoy coming here the first night ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Always enjoy coming here the first night of our vacation in OBX - it has become a tradition! Fantastic food and cocktails, excellent service - in an upscale, but beach relaxed atmosphere. Definitely a must try if you've never been!

Tags: Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.