About Ocean Blvd Bistro and Martini Bar

Ocean Boulevard Bistro and Martini Bar is an upscale dining restaurant on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are open nightly for dinner and drinks through all seasons. We pride ourselves in using fresh local and regional ingredients, in season, to create interesting and flavorful meals. We have a comprehensive wine list and have been awarded "Best of the Beach - 2014" for our Martini Bar. We also have an oceanside patio, across the street from the beach, for drinks and waiting.

4700 N Virginia Dare Trail
Kitty Hawk, NC 27949
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:00pm Weekdays
5:00pm-1:30am Fridays
5:00pm-11:00pm Saturdays

Cross Street:
Eckner St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 261-2546

Website:
http://obbistro.com/

Entertainment:
After Dinner (10:00pm) on Friday Nights we offer live music with local and regional bands until 1:30am. During the Spring, Summer and Fall, we often have a solo acoustic performer on our Oceanside patio.

Catering:
We are capable of providing food and cocktails for a large variety of events, on- or off-premise. We often host birthdays, anniversaries, rehearsal dinners, pharmaceutical dinners, etc. in the restaurant. For larger events such as wedding receptions and large scale anniversary parties, we can cater in your rental property or selected banquet area with a full scale, personally designed menu.

Parking Details:
Our private lot is on the side of the restaurant by the front door. When the lot becomes full, we have access to alternate lots in cooperation with the Beachwoods Property Group. These parking lots are located just beyond our adjacent lot, to the west.

Executive Chef:
Donny King

Private Party Facilities:
Within the restaurant, we are capable of seating as many as 22 people upstairs for a semi-private event. In our wine room, we can accommodate up to 12. If needed, we can book the downstairs dining area to handle up to 60.

Private Party Contact:
Donny King: (252) 261-2546

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

We're Open for both Brunch and Dinner on Mother's Day! Come treat Mom to a thoughtful Three Course Brunch Menu from 11:30am 'til 3:00pm on the special day for $35 per person. Or, have a relaxing dinner by the ocean from 5pm 'til 10pm with our Spring Dinner Menu offerings as well as specials.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Ocean Blvd Bistro and Martini Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (21)
Special Occasion (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Local Ingredients (15)
Open Kitchen (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Cozy (10)
Authentic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Waterfront (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Scenic View (8)
Romantic (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Seasonal (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (4)
Casual (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Live Music (2)
Organic (2)
Dancing (2)
Healthy (2)
Historic (2)
Private Room (2)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Fun (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
971 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Food selection was very good...best considering we were last table seated on slow nite (Monday).
Selected 2 ravioli apps...each terrific.
Entres were Very fresh flounder and perfect med rare duck breast.
Second time here for one couple. Server was excellent and patient with our 'food sharing.
Did I mention perfect Martinis?

Looking forward to return in September.
Great foodie destination!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and service.... as always. Great and varied menu, fresh and local ingredients.

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Historic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

One of our favorite restaurants in the Outer Banks. Our home is in Duck and it's a short ride and convenient to meet friends staying in Nags Head.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 6 days ago

Good food. Lovely service. Relaxing atmosphere. All overseen closely by the owners.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The food and service is wonderful; the martinis are over the top. The pistachio salad is the best salad I have ever had
Hope it stays on the menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We are never disppointed with the food, service and overall quality of our dining experience.
Anna and Caleb were quite courteous and helpful. The appetizer specials and entree specials were excellent: Ahi Tuna with udon noodles. A good choice is of salads with the Bistro salad being my fave: fresh mixed greens with pimento cheese crackers and toasted peanuts.
Extensive bar menu: great Martinis and wine list. The toasted coconut with ice cream was the dessert special and it was amazingly good, hit the spot and easily shared!
We appreciate all the Heather and Donny do to make this one of our favorite eating places!

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was great and my martini was awesome! We had the lamb and fish special and both were very good. The chicken liver app was excellent. My French martini was outstanding!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful dinner with friends for Special occasion. Thanks for good food and good memories.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was our second visit and we really like the place. I ordered Fresh local flounder special and was served sheeps head or some fish I'd never had before. We were notified as our dinner was about to be served. This was at 6:00 and the fact they were out of one of the specials and we weren't notified when we ordered was very disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I ordered the Halibut and it was great. My wife ordered scallops but unfortunately, they were way to spicy. Chef agreed and was not sure what happened. They did remove the item from the bill so no complaints on the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Have been here multiple times in the past and tonight's dinner just wasn't up to usual standards. All seafood meals (we had salmon, tuna and scallops) were overcooked, even after requesting the fish to be done medium/medium rare. All were definitely "well done" to the point of being on the dry side and tough. Sides didn't seem to complement the main dishes and were bland. Best part of the meal was the bread and martinis. Service was fairly slow and not very friendly.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Terrible food, inaccurate wine list and can not be recommended. The oyster stew as starter was acceptable but the salad bland and tasteless. The entrees were disasters: the scallops were cooked to long and rubbery and the rest tasteless. The lamb cooked correctly, but the potatoes burned. The wine list on the web is not correct, nor is the one in the restaurant; they simply do not have the wines. So wine lovers: stay away from this one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 12, 2017

OB has become my favorite restaurant at the Outer Banks. We've been going for about seventeen years and I've never been disappointed. The food is outstanding. I've made a special trip to the beach the last two years to celebrate my birthday at Ocean Boulevard. I love this place.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Such a great place - soooooo classy for the OBX, yet relaxed too. The food is seasonal - the ingredients are fun - vibrant and so quite frankly "so NYC".

This time our server seemed "off", she was distracted and not very interested in being there. We like to dine, not strap on the feedbag and be gone in 35 min. This restaurant deserves to be enjoyed - their creativity is extremely unique for the OBX.

Our dinners - fabulous flavors and creative. Drinks - well done, except the server could not keep "with a twist" straight.

We go every year - it is a gem, but I think the place runs best when the owners are working. Their wait staff does not represent who they truly are.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Another wonderful evening of drinks and very good food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Always creative and the management and employees go above and beyond every visit!!

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner, however did not receive points from Open Table as of this writing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Ocean Blvd is always great dining with excellent specials and reasonable prices for the quality and amount of food. At the door greetings are warm and welcoming and the overall service is attentive without being intrusive. Always look forward to dining here when in the outer banks.
Heather and Donny pay attention and remember all details. Simply amazing!
Thank you both for always making our dining experience delightful!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Dancing, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We love OB. Perfect place for any occasion! Exceptional menu and always a good time.

Tags: Scenic View, Late-night Find, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Authentic, Healthy, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Historic, Romantic, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The restaurant added an Irish themed menu for St. Patrick's Day along with their regular menu. We both had entrees from the Irish menu. They were absolutely delicious and very well priced.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Another fantastic dining experience at Ocean Blvd! I had rockfish--lovely flavors on this special dish. Husband had tuna--another delicious presentation! This has become our favourite spot in OBX. Never been disappointed!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent dinner as always, best restaurant in OBX....great wine list and owners are local who are always on site and help with selections!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We always enjoy Ocean Blvd. when we visit the Outer Banks. The staff is warm and welcoming, the wine list is very appealing and the food is first-rate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food! Horrible service! Host stand was awesome, server was below adequate and acted like a junkie.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We really enjoyed our recent visit to Ocean Blvd. The food was excellent and we really liked the variety of food offered. We split the Paella and really enjoyed the inclusion of pork which gave the dish a nice smoky flavor. Our waitress was very efficient and reminded us of some of the great service providers we've experience in France.

An excellent meal that we really enjoyed. Keep the variety coming.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was excellent with very unique taste and seasoning. Had Four different meals and all were wonderful. Dessert were a great finish to fantastic meal

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Phenomenal creative food with a professional serving staff

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We have been here 3 times now. The first time was amazing, service great, food incredible everything perfect. Second time the service was very poor, food was in-editable, they even had to recook something else because they ran out of food but still charged full price. This third time the 7 lettuce salads was one of the best salads we have ever eaten and the desserts were great. The main dish was just ok, very bland and the service was again horrible. The restaurant has the potential to be great. We will probably give it one more try before scratching it off the list.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was our second time to Ocean Blvd. We were impressed the first time and just as wonderful this night. We both had the special blue fin tuna with shrimp, grits, andouille sausage and vegetables. It was absolutely delicious!! We look forward to returning next time we vacation again in the OBX.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Had been there before, but really dissapointed this time. Nice atmosphere, wine and beer selections were good. Caesar salad was good. Both my wife's and my entrees
were served lukewarm at best. She would have sent hers back, but the waiter did not return for 10 -15 minutes. NY strip was not up to par for a $ 30 steak, neither was the tuna. Dessert, creme burlee was good, but not enough to make up for the poor entrees.
Dinner and a couple of drinks ~ $ 150. Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Truly one of the most outstanding restaurants anywhere. The quality and service are the best. My grilled blue-fin tuna with beets, andouille sausage, Brussels sprouts, grits and shrimp was phenomenal as was my wife's New York strip. The mescaline green salad with pine nuts, shiitake mushrooms, roasted red peppers, quarter size slices of mozzarella cheese drizzled in balsamic vinaigrette was the best salad we ever had. A must for foodies. Not for children unless they have sophisticated pallets. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Always a treat to go to Ocean Boulevard! Excellent menu and delicious food!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Wonderful food and terrific waiter. One of the best on the OBX.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Nice place for friend's gathering. Food was good though specials not available, not enough to serve through out the dinner hour. Rating of 4 out of 5

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was great! Very accommodating to provide lactose-free entree and dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Consistantly a favorite. Staff made us feel like friends and family. Service was attentive, not intrusive, and the Chef's always have a creative way to move the pallete in a new way.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food and wine list. Menu changes seasonally. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ocean blvd is our go to place to celebrate life's pleasures, in food and drink form.
The seasonally changing menu is full of classic turf and seafood dishes all with a twist of unexpected pairings of fresh local ingredients when available. Our only problem is deciding what to have!
The staff is friendly, knowledgeable, attentive and efficient, often anticipating our requests! You can't beat that kind of service.
The bar serves up a great wine selection, some of the best martinis we've had, and hands down the best bar staff around.
If you skip dessert, you'll have missed something special. Our latest desserts served were chocolate gateau cake and bailey's ice cream....omg so good.
So celebrate a birthday, anniversary, a Tuesday, national turtle day, today, yesterday and tomorrow, just go any day, since they are open year round

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was excellent only to match the great food and ambiance.
The wine pairings all worked well with the food with the pace of our meal on target allowing us to savor each course. The big hits for food were the Tuna and the Filet Mignon!
Thank you to all staff for a wonderful evening shared among friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Dancing, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

As always the food was fantastic! They were busy and service was subpar for the entire dinner. This was disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.