About Ocean Blvd Bistro and Martini Bar

4700 N Virginia Dare Trail
Kitty Hawk, NC 27949
View Larger Map

Ocean Boulevard Bistro and Martini Bar is an upscale dining restaurant on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are open nightly for dinner and drinks through all seasons. We pride ourselves in using fresh local and regional ingredients, in season, to create interesting and flavorful meals. We have a comprehensive wine list and have been awarded "Best of the Beach - 2014" for our Martini Bar. We also have an oceanside patio, across the street from the beach, for drinks and waiting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:00pm Weekdays
5:00pm-1:30am Fridays
5:00pm-11:00pm Saturdays

Cross Street:
Eckner St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 261-2546

Website:
http://obbistro.com/

Entertainment:
After Dinner (10:00pm) on Friday Nights we offer live music with local and regional bands until 1:30am. During the Spring, Summer and Fall, we often have a solo acoustic performer on our Oceanside patio.

Catering:
We are capable of providing food and cocktails for a large variety of events, on- or off-premise. We often host birthdays, anniversaries, rehearsal dinners, pharmaceutical dinners, etc. in the restaurant. For larger events such as wedding receptions and large scale anniversary parties, we can cater in your rental property or selected banquet area with a full scale, personally designed menu.

Parking Details:
Our private lot is on the side of the restaurant by the front door. When the lot becomes full, we have access to alternate lots in cooperation with the Beachwoods Property Group. These parking lots are located just beyond our adjacent lot, to the west.

Executive Chef:
Donny King

Private Party Facilities:
Within the restaurant, we are capable of seating as many as 22 people upstairs for a semi-private event. In our wine room, we can accommodate up to 12. If needed, we can book the downstairs dining area to handle up to 60.

Private Party Contact:
Donny King: 252-261-2546x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Ocean Blvd Bistro and Martini Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
1 More
Most Booked
Outer Banks
Best Restaurants in Kitty Hawk ›

special occasion (46)
fit for foodies (45)
romantic (34)
See All
notable wine list (31)
neighborhood gem (28)
scenic view (27)
hot spot (14)
vibrant bar scene (13)
good for groups (13)
great for outdoor dining (10)
late-night find (7)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (3)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
787 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been coming to Ocean Boulevard f ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

We have been coming to Ocean Boulevard for over 10 years each time we are in the Outer Banks and each year the food is better than before!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding! We had the scallop ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was outstanding! We had the scallops, chicken, lamb, and maccaroni and cheese. Would highly recommend any of these. Service impeccable, wine paired well with the varied dishes. Enjoy!,

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I go to Ocean Blvd. every ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

My husband and I go to Ocean Blvd. every time we are on the OBX! We love seafood! OB doesn't disappoint. The scallops were perfectly cooked. The grilled tuna was overcooked slightly this time! But the flavors on our plates were tasty and diverse. Risotto, homemade pickles, pot stickers to name a few. We love to get the specials that are offered. We love their martini's and wine list! The best table is #6! It's in the corner and quieter. Anywhere on the southeast wall of windows are good seats. Seats toward the kitchen are too crowded up against other tables. We feel as though those aren't as private. Our server has been there for several years. Great business that he recognizes us each time we come in. He even remembered what we had the time before for dinner. That is wonderful customer service. If I had to make a change to the restaurant, I wish they would bring crab cakes back to the menu with the butter bean, corn and cantaloupe relish. Also, serve soft shell crabs when in season! You are missing a golden opportunity in June. Wish you would change your menu just a little more often.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous restaurant! We have eaten here ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Fabulous restaurant! We have eaten here many times, and always enjoy it very much. Food is about the most gourmet at the beach, by far.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent fresh and delicious food! I ha ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent fresh and delicious food! I had the tilefish special and my partner has the NY strip. Wonderful care and service by staff.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were celebrating two birthdays... eve ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

We were celebrating two birthdays... everything was just about perfect! We'll be back and so will out friends in the area.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special evening out!

Dined on June 10, 2016

The food here was creative and thoughtful. Delightful menu, delightful staff. One of the few "smart casual" restaurants in the OBX, which also made it a special night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Anniversary Dinner

Dined on June 4, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 12 year anniversary this past weekend with an excellent dinner at Ocean Boulevard. It was our first experience there an we would highly recommend it. They have a separate vegetarian menu which was great to provide me some amazing vegetarian alternatives to the usual veggie and portabello burgers you find most places. We enjoyed 3 courses with excellent cocktails as well. Our server was exceptional and other wait staff made sure our water glasses were never even half full. What a great experience we had, we will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a winner. Our favorite restaurant ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Always a winner. Our favorite restaurant and we've eaten at great restaurants worldwide. The scallops were to die for. Cooked to perfection. The steak is always outstanding. The pork cheek appetizer was outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A hit again

Dined on June 2, 2016

We visit the Outer Banks at least annually. Each time, Ocean Boulevard is on our Must List for dinner out. The food and service is always excellent with specials that normally include at least on fresh catch of the day. We have never been disappointed, even on holiday weekends. Reservations strongly recommended, even mid-week.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal and service from the check in ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Great meal and service from the check in thru the meal and departure

food5
ambience4
service5

Friendly, knowledgeable staff and a menu ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Friendly, knowledgeable staff and a menu that evolves during the year. Specials are always enticing. One of the few places at the beach that I'll order something other than seafood (which is equally good). Lamb and duck entrees caught my attention during our last two visits and were outstanding. We like to sit at or near the open kitchen and love to watch the dance that goes on there. Al fresco with music will probably get us back during the summer.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great server,Greg. Well worth the drive ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Great server,Greg. Well worth the drive from up north.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3

Nice restaurant with a lovely view of th ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Nice restaurant with a lovely view of the ocean. The food is always presented in a pleasing way but is always significantly under-seasoned. We have been on a number of occasions and each time we have received food that was poorly seasoned. And if you ask for salt to be brought to the table you do get the occasional "eye-roll" from the wait staff. Overall a decent restaurant but don't forget to bring along a little salt in your pocket!

food4
ambience4
service4

Great food, don't let the exterior fool ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food, don't let the exterior fool you

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS RESTAURANT!!!

Dined on May 14, 2016

It is hands down our favorite restaurant in the OBX. When we are down for a week we have to have dinner here at least 2-3 times. They are open all year and have a menu that changes with the seasons so it never gets old. The owners Donnie and Heather are always very warm and welcoming, The wait staff such as Greg and Annette are very friendly and attentive. The chefs Michael, Timmy, Rachel and Jen are spectacular. The food here is so inspired and their specials are truly sensational. Ocean Boulevard is not just your old steak and potato no sir. We give them a 5 star-rating and would give them a 10 if it were available. Try them out and we are sure that they will soon become a favorite for you as well.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Every course of the meal was fantastic. ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Every course of the meal was fantastic. Started with the tuna poke salad and loved it. For my entree I had a salmon special and in so happy I went with it! The martinis were delicious and the wine choices were great! Will be back for sure!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dinner! My husband is still talk ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Amazing dinner! My husband is still talking about the Tuna app and entree as one of his top 5 meals ever! Service was attentive and friendly and we will definitely be back when in town!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ocean boulevard is never less than a ten ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Ocean boulevard is never less than a ten. The food is always excellent and the service is quite impeccable. The ambiance is outstanding without being snobby. It is a place for fine dining or a fun evening with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Overall nice

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food is good if a little fussy . Service was slow .

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Very good food and professional staff.. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very good food and professional staff.. Only disappointment were the mussels.. A bit gamey and some over cooked while others undercooked. Too many good things on the menu so avoid those

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place on the Ocean

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my wife here for Mother's Day and was very pleased. Not only is the food, service, and atmosphere great, but you can see the ocean, and my wife got to see a large sailboat go across the horizon while eating dinner. The service was professional and the waiter was very informative. Great spot, highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Superb dining on the Ocean Road in Kitty Hawk, NC

Dined on May 8, 2016

To celebrate our 34th anniversary my wife and I visited the Ocean Blvd Bistro and Martini Bar while in Kitty Hawk. To our surprise we found an outstanding restaurant and bar on the Ocean Road. Every aspect of our meals was perfect. The Flounder was very fresh and the flavors well balanced. Compared to other restaurants in the Kitty Hawk, KDH, and Nags Head, this rises above the rest. It is highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent meal starting with the bread a ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent meal starting with the bread and then my scallop with risotto was excellent. My husband had the flounder had a wonderful delicate taste that you could enjoy and remember all day. My husband had an ice cream sandwich of raspberry sauce and cookies. Would high recommend this restaurant and I suggest the chef’s wife stay in the kitchen and not be a server.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Every dish that I tasted was excellent. ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Every dish that I tasted was excellent. From the mussels to the fresh monk fish. But the show stopper was the tuna sashimi with cold noodles and pickled cucumbers. OMG....OUT OF THIS WORLD, DELICIOUS. Not one negative thing to say about this dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ocean Blvd. is a MUST!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Great food, atmosphere and service every time! Great ocean views as you drink fine wine and eat great food. Owner, Donnie & his team make Ocean Blvd. a must food choice while on the Outer Banks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at the Beach

Dined on April 30, 2016

If you are ever on the middle or North of the Outer Banks this is a must try. Creative but recognizable food, great service, comfortable surroundings that are not stuffy...and just a stones throw from the Atlantic. Excellent wine choices, great "mixologists", and attentive staff. Loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great choice!

Dined on April 29, 2016

We were visiting the Outer Banks for the first time and weren't sure where to dine. Upon searching the web we chose Ocean Blvd & Bistro. Driving up and entering the restaurant we were wondering if we made the right choice. No worries...it was perfect! The food was exceptional, the service as well and their wine list is quite extensive for the area. Lots of nice options. We got there earlier than our reservation and shared a cheese plate and a bottle of Rombauer Zin at their bar. We were seated promptly and the Ocean Bistro took great care of us!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Such unpretentious EXCELLENCE. From the ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Such unpretentious EXCELLENCE. From the warm welcome of their host, to the proficiently seamless flow of service, to the all enticing menu, to every sublime bite of food...Ocean Blvd is a 5 star establishment. The ambiance is thoughtful and inviting, with the choice of music (and level played) a perfect complement; which sets the stage for the true star - the FOOD! We were enticed by every single item on the menu as they're beautifully worded to whet the appetite. Let us be clear though, the food more than delivers on its descriptive promise! We had the two soups: wild mushroom and the shrimp bisque both developed with rich layers from the essence and spot on seasoning. The 'duck' main was (as my Mom stated at first bite), "The Bomb!" Because we couldn't decide, we chose to make a meal of starters including: Tuna sashimi (so pleasant to the eye), Shrimp w/ handmade pasta (and a fragrant sauce) and the fresh Lamb & vegetable skewers. Great attention to detail and a development of flavor that rang true to the last bite. MAJOR KUDOS to the chef and sous!!! An INCREDIBLE FIND for our family as we enjoy culinary ventures wherever we go. Sincere thanks to the Ocean Blvd Bistro & Martini Bar team for a wonderful experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best secret

Dined on April 24, 2016

Amazing food We always make it a point to have dinner here. Wonderful menu with always great specials from local fresh caught seafood to pasta the wine list is great and they always have what is on their list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

First time on Outer Banks

Dined on April 16, 2016

Spent a week in mid-April on the Outer Banks. Tried the Bistro early in our visit and nothing else measured up to their standard. Food, drinks, service- all above par. Hope to return to this find restaurant again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Very dissapointing experience

Dined on April 14, 2016

This restaurant was highly recommended by several people. Needless to say we were very disappointed. The pork medallions were more like boneless pork chops with very little flavor, and the chicken entrée could be beat for taste by my local grocery store with a rotisserie chicken. Some of the vegetables served were unidentifiable.... I had to goggle them to discover what they were, green odd shaped things that were pretty tasteless. I was hoping to have a view of the ocean as it was on Ocean Blvd. That was on my ignorance of the area. Server was not very attentive and we could hear the chef constantly asking were he was for serving meals. Our meal was actually served by another server. My arm would have to be twisted to even think of going back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most Innovative Restaurant In the OBX

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

When I'm in the OBX for business, I always go to Ocean Boulevard. As always, they over delivered. Dennis and Donnie were as gracious hosts as always. The "small taste" menu is great. The wine list is good. Don't miss it

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Mushroom soup was fantastic, something s ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

Mushroom soup was fantastic, something special !!! something to crave for !!! (Dinner 3/16/16)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Ocean Boulevard

Dined on March 12, 2016

This was one of many visits to Ocean Boulevard. My wife and I try to go there at least once during every visit to the Outer Banks. Their food, as always, was outstanding. I had the yellowfin Tuna special which was superb, served with mussels, shrimp and grits. My wife had pasta loaded with so much shrimp, she almost could not finish each shrimp provided. Service was great, as always. This restaurant just keeps getting better with time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Long Time customer

Dined on February 20, 2016

I have been coming to OB pretty much since they opened and love the atmosphere, service and food! I think it will always be one of my OBX faves.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service.

Dined on February 15, 2016

Excellent food and service.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Valentine's Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

A favorite of ours while at the Outer Banks, as the service is always top notch and the food never disappoints. For Valentine’s Day dinner they offered a Prix Fixe menu and that was a slight disappointment. We always love their regular menu and would prefer a better selection then just the chef’s choices for that evening. Overall, the martini bar is the best in the Outer Banks and we will be back, but only if the regular menu is available.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Valentines Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

The Valentines Day special menu was just right as well as the wine pairings. The choices met both our tastes in all the courses and was delicious

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

obx' finest

Dined on February 14, 2016

best food on the beach! chefs are so creative, lots of seafood options, homemade bread and desserts are to die for!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.