About Ocean Blvd Bistro and Martini Bar

4700 N Virginia Dare Trail
Kitty Hawk, NC 27949
View Larger Map

Ocean Boulevard Bistro and Martini Bar is an upscale dining restaurant on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are open nightly for dinner and drinks through all seasons. We pride ourselves in using fresh local and regional ingredients, in season, to create interesting and flavorful meals. We have a comprehensive wine list and have been awarded "Best of the Beach - 2014" for our Martini Bar. We also have an oceanside patio, across the street from the beach, for drinks and waiting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:00pm Weekdays
5:00pm-1:30am Fridays
5:00pm-11:00pm Saturdays

Cross Street:
Eckner St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 261-2546

Website:
http://obbistro.com/

Entertainment:
After Dinner (10:00pm) on Friday Nights we offer live music with local and regional bands until 1:30am. During the Spring, Summer and Fall, we often have a solo acoustic performer on our Oceanside patio.

Catering:
We are capable of providing food and cocktails for a large variety of events, on- or off-premise. We often host birthdays, anniversaries, rehearsal dinners, pharmaceutical dinners, etc. in the restaurant. For larger events such as wedding receptions and large scale anniversary parties, we can cater in your rental property or selected banquet area with a full scale, personally designed menu.

Parking Details:
Our private lot is on the side of the restaurant by the front door. When the lot becomes full, we have access to alternate lots in cooperation with the Beachwoods Property Group. These parking lots are located just beyond our adjacent lot, to the west.

Executive Chef:
Donny King

Private Party Facilities:
Within the restaurant, we are capable of seating as many as 22 people upstairs for a semi-private event. In our wine room, we can accommodate up to 12. If needed, we can book the downstairs dining area to handle up to 60.

Private Party Contact:
Donny King: 252-261-2546x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Ocean Blvd Bistro and Martini Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
7 More
Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Notable Wine List
Coastal North Carolina
Romantic
Coastal North Carolina
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Outer Banks
Best Restaurants in Kitty Hawk ›

fit for foodies (55)
special occasion (54)
notable wine list (38)
See All
romantic (37)
neighborhood gem (34)
scenic view (31)
good for groups (15)
hot spot (14)
vibrant bar scene (13)
great for outdoor dining (13)
late-night find (8)
kid-friendly (4)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
803 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Not so good. Appetizers were pretty goo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Not so good. Appetizers were pretty good; entrees were terrible. Fish tasted fishy; crab cake tasted like swamp water. Perhaps the worst crab cake I have ever had. Service was meh; sat for a long time to get entrees; then ignored for 15 minutes before flagging down someone for coffee/dessert menu, in the hopes that we could end better than the rest of the meal. Expensive for extremely average meal (at best). Even the martinis, not up to par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The best meal we have ever enjoyed while ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The best meal we have ever enjoyed while visiting the Outer Banks, hands down. The drinks were as impressive as the meal. All around amazing experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience we had an awes ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We had a great experience we had an awesome server. Our only question was the choice of the side vegetables on the special. Sautéed celery, okra , onions and red peppers, a little bland and pale gray-green in appearance ... not appealing. It "seemed " as though we had plenty of scallops, however it looked like some scallops were sliced horizontal in appearance of making it look like it was more ....they were much thinner than your normal scallop.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food here is always a treat. Very t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The food here is always a treat. Very tasty and presentation is lovely. Not your ordinary meal. The staff is quite accommodating, even for a young diner. Not to disappoint...

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

As always, one of the best restaurants i ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

As always, one of the best restaurants in the world. The quality of food and service cannot be beat. Anyone interested in fine dining needs to eat at this fabulous restaurant. We have dined throughout the world and cannot find any place that exceeds Ocean Boulevard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful family environment with honest ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wonderful family environment with honest caring for their patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've been eating here for years. Has al ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We've been eating here for years. Has always been a good experience. Great combination of traditional food and always some unique items on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Amazing food and service. Truly a delig ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Amazing food and service. Truly a delightful experience!

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service is fastidious. The food is d ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The service is fastidious. The food is delicious, with creative sides and plating. The wine selection is excellent. Finally tried this place on our OBX trip last year, wish we would've checked it out years ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was outstanding; menu offerings ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Service was outstanding; menu offerings were not as interesting as in the past. Restaurant was very loud and noisy which made our party of 5's conversation difficult.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

My wife and I have been coming to the Ou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

My wife and I have been coming to the Outer Banks for 10 years and the first restaurant we ate at was Ocean Boulevard. Since that first meal it is our favorite place to eat in the area. There are some other great restaurants but we always end up back at Ocean Boulevard.

We love the mix of unique fresh ingredients and are continually amazed at how wonderfully the ingredients mix to make a terrific dining experience.

The service is always outstanding which makes the experience that much more pleasurable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We've been to Ocean Boulevard several ti ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We've been to Ocean Boulevard several times and have always enjoyed the service and food. It is one of our favorites on the OBX.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While our overall dining experience was ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

While our overall dining experience was good, we were both very disappointed with our salads.

There was virtually NO taste!!! Both the Caesar and Bistro salad dressings had barely any delectable flavor. The management did refund us, which made things much more "palatable "!

Beware of the $14 charge for cocktails :((

We highly recommend the Crab cakes and yellowfin tuna!!

We will certainly return upon our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

This is our favorite OBX go to spot and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This is our favorite OBX go to spot and it did not disappoint on this visit. A great bottle of chardonnay. Tasty fried green tomatoes appetizer. Two delicious entrees -- a skate wing special and a tuna with lentils and morrocan sauce that was so flavorful. Topped off by a delicious chocolate chess pie ice cream sandwich special dessert. The entire team, from the hostess, to the wait staff, to the bartenders, hard working chefs in the kitchen and the owners are attentive and friendly. This is great spot for a lovely dinner out on your vacation to the Outer Banks!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another excellent dinner! We've been com ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Another excellent dinner!

We've been coming here for years, probably 7 times a year, and we are never disappointed. Look forward to going back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent! From the service to the food ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Excellent! From the service to the food! I sat at the kitchen bar and was truly amazed at the professionalism of the chefs. They created works of art with the food. I had the fried tomatoes to start, which were so incredibly flavorful. For the entree, the duck was probably the best I've ever had!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been coming to Ocean Boulevard f ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We have been coming to Ocean Boulevard for over 10 years each time we are in the Outer Banks and each year the food is better than before!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding! We had the scallop ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was outstanding! We had the scallops, chicken, lamb, and maccaroni and cheese. Would highly recommend any of these. Service impeccable, wine paired well with the varied dishes. Enjoy!,

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I go to Ocean Blvd. every ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

My husband and I go to Ocean Blvd. every time we are on the OBX! We love seafood! OB doesn't disappoint. The scallops were perfectly cooked. The grilled tuna was overcooked slightly this time! But the flavors on our plates were tasty and diverse. Risotto, homemade pickles, pot stickers to name a few.

We love to get the specials that are offered. We love their martini's and wine list!

The best table is #6! It's in the corner and quieter. Anywhere on the southeast wall of windows are good seats. Seats toward the kitchen are too crowded up against other tables. We feel as though those aren't as private.

Our server has been there for several years. Great business that he recognizes us each time we come in. He even remembered what we had the time before for dinner. That is wonderful customer service.

If I had to make a change to the restaurant, I wish they would bring crab cakes back to the menu with the butter bean, corn and cantaloupe relish. Also, serve soft shell crabs when in season! You are missing a golden opportunity in June. Wish you would change your menu just a little more often.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous restaurant! We have eaten here ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Fabulous restaurant! We have eaten here many times, and always enjoy it very much. Food is about the most gourmet at the beach, by far.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent fresh and delicious food! I ha ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent fresh and delicious food! I had the tilefish special and my partner has the NY strip. Wonderful care and service by staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating two birthdays... eve ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We were celebrating two birthdays... everything was just about perfect!

We'll be back and so will out friends in the area.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Special evening out!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food here was creative and thoughtful. Delightful menu, delightful staff. One of the few "smart casual" restaurants in the OBX, which also made it a special night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our 12 year anniversary this past weekend with an excellent dinner at Ocean Boulevard. It was our first experience there an we would highly recommend it. They have a separate vegetarian menu which was great to provide me some amazing vegetarian alternatives to the usual veggie and portabello burgers you find most places. We enjoyed 3 courses with excellent cocktails as well. Our server was exceptional and other wait staff made sure our water glasses were never even half full. What a great experience we had, we will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a winner. Our favorite restaurant ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Always a winner. Our favorite restaurant and we've eaten at great restaurants worldwide. The scallops were to die for. Cooked to perfection. The steak is always outstanding. The pork cheek appetizer was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A hit again

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

We visit the Outer Banks at least annually. Each time, Ocean Boulevard is on our Must List for dinner out. The food and service is always excellent with specials that normally include at least on fresh catch of the day. We have never been disappointed, even on holiday weekends. Reservations strongly recommended, even mid-week.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal and service from the check in ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Great meal and service from the check in thru the meal and departure

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friendly, knowledgeable staff and a menu ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Friendly, knowledgeable staff and a menu that evolves during the year. Specials are always enticing. One of the few places at the beach that I'll order something other than seafood (which is equally good). Lamb and duck entrees caught my attention during our last two visits and were outstanding.

We like to sit at or near the open kitchen and love to watch the dance that goes on there.

Al fresco with music will probably get us back during the summer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great server,Greg. Well worth the drive ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Great server,Greg. Well worth the drive from up north.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant with a lovely view of th ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Nice restaurant with a lovely view of the ocean. The food is always presented in a pleasing way but is always significantly under-seasoned. We have been on a number of occasions and each time we have received food that was poorly seasoned.

And if you ask for salt to be brought to the table you do get the occasional "eye-roll" from the wait staff.

Overall a decent restaurant but don't forget to bring along a little salt in your pocket!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great food, don't let the exterior fool ...

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food, don't let the exterior fool you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

WE LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS RESTAURANT!!!

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

It is hands down our favorite restaurant in the OBX. When we are down for a week we have to have dinner here at least 2-3 times. They are open all year and have a menu that changes with the seasons so it never gets old. The owners Donnie and Heather are always very warm and welcoming, The wait staff such as Greg and Annette are very friendly and attentive. The chefs Michael, Timmy, Rachel and Jen are spectacular. The food here is so inspired and their specials are truly sensational. Ocean Boulevard is not just your old steak and potato no sir. We give them a 5 star-rating and would give them a 10 if it were available. Try them out and we are sure that they will soon become a favorite for you as well.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every course of the meal was fantastic. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Every course of the meal was fantastic. Started with the tuna poke salad and loved it. For my entree I had a salmon special and in so happy I went with it! The martinis were delicious and the wine choices were great! Will be back for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing dinner! My husband is still talk ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Amazing dinner!

My husband is still talking about the Tuna app and entree as one of his top 5 meals ever! Service was attentive and friendly and we will definitely be back when in town!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ocean boulevard is never less than a ten ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Ocean boulevard is never less than a ten. The food is always excellent and the service is quite impeccable. The ambiance is outstanding without being snobby. It is a place for fine dining or a fun evening with friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall nice

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food is good if a little fussy . Service was slow .

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Very good food and professional staff.. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Very good food and professional staff..

Only disappointment were the mussels.. A bit gamey and some over cooked while others undercooked. Too many good things on the menu so avoid those

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great place on the Ocean

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my wife here for Mother's Day and was very pleased. Not only is the food, service, and atmosphere great, but you can see the ocean, and my wife got to see a large sailboat go across the horizon while eating dinner. The service was professional and the waiter was very informative. Great spot, highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb dining on the Ocean Road in Kitty Hawk, NC

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

To celebrate our 34th anniversary my wife and I visited the Ocean Blvd Bistro and Martini Bar while in Kitty Hawk. To our surprise we found an outstanding restaurant and bar on the Ocean Road. Every aspect of our meals was perfect. The Flounder was very fresh and the flavors well balanced. Compared to other restaurants in the Kitty Hawk, KDH, and Nags Head, this rises above the rest. It is highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent meal starting with the bread a ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent meal starting with the bread and then my scallop with risotto was excellent. My husband had the flounder had a wonderful delicate taste that you could enjoy and remember all day. My husband had an ice cream sandwich of raspberry sauce and cookies. Would high recommend this restaurant and I suggest the chef’s wife stay in the kitchen and not be a server.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.