About Ocean Blvd Bistro and Martini Bar

4700 N Virginia Dare Trail
Kitty Hawk, NC 27949
View Larger Map

Ocean Boulevard Bistro and Martini Bar is an upscale dining restaurant on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are open nightly for dinner and drinks through all seasons. We pride ourselves in using fresh local and regional ingredients, in season, to create interesting and flavorful meals. We have a comprehensive wine list and have been awarded "Best of the Beach - 2014" for our Martini Bar. We also have an oceanside patio, across the street from the beach, for drinks and waiting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:00pm Weekdays
5:00pm-1:30am Fridays
5:00pm-11:00pm Saturdays

Cross Street:
Eckner St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 261-2546

Website:
http://obbistro.com/

Entertainment:
After Dinner (10:00pm) on Friday Nights we offer live music with local and regional bands until 1:30am. During the Spring, Summer and Fall, we often have a solo acoustic performer on our Oceanside patio.

Catering:
We are capable of providing food and cocktails for a large variety of events, on- or off-premise. We often host birthdays, anniversaries, rehearsal dinners, pharmaceutical dinners, etc. in the restaurant. For larger events such as wedding receptions and large scale anniversary parties, we can cater in your rental property or selected banquet area with a full scale, personally designed menu.

Parking Details:
Our private lot is on the side of the restaurant by the front door. When the lot becomes full, we have access to alternate lots in cooperation with the Beachwoods Property Group. These parking lots are located just beyond our adjacent lot, to the west.

Executive Chef:
Donny King

Private Party Facilities:
Within the restaurant, we are capable of seating as many as 22 people upstairs for a semi-private event. In our wine room, we can accommodate up to 12. If needed, we can book the downstairs dining area to handle up to 60.

Private Party Contact:
Donny King: (252) 261-2546

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Join us for our $60 fixed price 4 course Valentine's Dinner. Wine pairings also available for an additional charge.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Ocean Blvd Bistro and Martini Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (26)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Local Ingredients (17)
See All
Open Kitchen (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for a Date (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Waterfront (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Romantic (9)
Casual (9)
Authentic (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Cozy (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Seasonal (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Scenic View (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Live Music (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Dancing (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Fireplace (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
People Watching (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
934 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice place for friend's gathering. Food ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Nice place for friend's gathering. Food was good though specials not available, not enough to serve through out the dinner hour. Rating of 4 out of 5

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great! Very accommodating to p ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was great! Very accommodating to provide lactose-free entree and dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and wine list. Menu changes s ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food and wine list. Menu changes seasonally. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was excellent only to match the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was excellent only to match the great food and ambiance.

The wine pairings all worked well with the food with the pace of our meal on target allowing us to savor each course. The big hits for food were the Tuna and the Filet Mignon!

Thank you to all staff for a wonderful evening shared among friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Dancing, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food was fantastic! They ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

As always the food was fantastic! They were busy and service was subpar for the entire dinner. This was disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Always good often great. Love the local ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always good often great. Love the local ingredients and the excellent service. Probably the best overall restaurant in the Outer Banks

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great pork chops and extensive wine list ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great pork chops and extensive wine list! Would def come back and try other items on the menu.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Ocean Blvd Bistro and ha ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We have been to Ocean Blvd Bistro and had a wonderful meal. We were taking someone important to dinner to say thank you. She even commented the waiter was "a dim bulb". My wife and I both ordered the beef special, hers was fine, mine was all fat, it was inedible. The manager did apologize and told me they ran out and made a steak for me but even it was not seasoned. Little surprised they still charged me full price. This was one of our favorite restaurants in OBX, my stomach still turning from thought of meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

Treated Mom for her birthday. It is one ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Treated Mom for her birthday. It is one of our favourite places to dine in OBX. I had the duck on the menu and Mom had the cobia special. Both were absolutely delicious! What I like about this restaurant is the menu options are not loaded with starches - lots of veggies.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere awesome food! Great s ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great atmosphere awesome food! Great service!!!

I would highly recommend!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing Thanksgiving experien ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Very disappointing Thanksgiving experience. The service was slow even for a leisurely meal. The food was ok but overly elaborate for the occasion. Also they promised at least one traditional Thanksgiving option but it was still somewhat weird.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We were at Ocean Boulevard for Thanksgiv ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were at Ocean Boulevard for Thanksgiving. Four courses were served with four choices to choose from each course. The meal was absolutely fantastic. We sat in a back room on the second floor with a big window with a view of the beach. For most of the meal, we were the only 2 in the room. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative and delicious dishes, great ser ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Creative and delicious dishes, great service and relaxing atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never fails to please us. We love this p ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Never fails to please us. We love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

THE FOOD WAS SO GOOD; WE ARE STILL TALKI ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 16, 2016

THE FOOD WAS SO GOOD; WE ARE STILL TALKING ABOUT THAT GREAT MEAL; GREAT SERVICE.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fresh and tasted incredible ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The food was fresh and tasted incredible! Three of us had 3 different dishes and shared a salad - all were great! Wonderful place to eat! Highly recommended!

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We like the vibe at Ocean Blvd. It has ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We like the vibe at Ocean Blvd. It has a creative menu, very fine wine list and a welcoming ambiance.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our cocktails (Beefeater Martini and Bo ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Our cocktails (Beefeater Martini and Bourbon Manhattan) were marvelous. The scallop and steak entrees were perfectly prepared and delicious.

We always enjoy our "date nights" at OB. We try to stop for at least one meal when on the OBX.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, nice selection. Ser ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Food was excellent, nice selection. Service was also outstanding, very attentive!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, , Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always superb! Lost track of the number ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Always superb! Lost track of the number of years we've been coming here, usually 5-6 per year. Never disappointed. Food, service and wine list are some of the OBX's best.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined here before and always mak ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We have dined here before and always make it a stop when we are on vacation in the Outer Banks. Pricy but well worth it. We have always had a great meal and this visit was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was my husband's birthday and we had ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 25, 2016

It was my husband's birthday and we had a great time there celebrating with a romantic dinner with just the two of us. We had plenty of leftovers so we were able to enjoy our entrees again the next night and they were just as good the second time. My husband said he had the best martini he has ever had with the blue cheese stuffed olives. He thought it was a great touch. We look forward to dining there again real soon!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, , Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding and the service ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service was very good. We would definitely go again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food with wonderful sauces on the ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food with wonderful sauces on the salmon and chicken. The service was amazing too. Prices are high but we used the early couplin good before 6. Would definitely recommend it

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service always and we enjoyed the ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great service always and we enjoyed the duck and lamb entrees.

Thanks so much-we'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Live Music, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a fantastic experience, Ocean Bou ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Always a fantastic experience, Ocean Boulevard never disappoints. Thank you for a great dining experience for our 1 year wedding anniversary ! Server was exceptionally polite, attentive without being too attentive, and had a nice disposition. Great job!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OB is one of our "MUST visits when in Ou ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 5, 2016

OB is one of our "MUST visits when in Outer Banks. Chef Mike Thomas's food is superb. Claire and Rachel add to the food's quality and taste. The Caesar salad dressing on the salad was yummy and the veal short ribs were great.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the calamari and tuna for appetiz ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We had the calamari and tuna for appetizers. Highly recommend the calamari. The tuna was cooked rare, how I wanted it, and had a nice sauce but was a bit lacking compared to other tunas I have had. The chicken entree was phenomenal. Would go to this place again just for that. The scallops entree was very good as well. Nicely seared scallops in a delicious sauce. The rye manhattan (Wild Turkey) is also better than most I have had.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always a favorite. Great seafood menu wi ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Always a favorite. Great seafood menu with healthy twist, i.e. no heavy/gooey sauces. Staff is attentive and friendly. Food very, very fresh.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress excellent. Benches at tables no ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Waitress excellent. Benches at tables not very nice. Chairs better for large people. Experience otherwise very enjoyable!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Outstanding dining on our last night of ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Outstanding dining on our last night of vacation in the Outer Banks. Such a wonderful ending with a fantastic meal, fine wine and martini's, a prime table and a superbly attentive server in Kim. Wish we had found Ocean Boulevard before our last night in town. Definitely would have dined there more than once during our stay! Don't miss this place when in the Outer Banks.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love OBX and this time , this was the ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We love OBX and this time , this was the Best meal we had all week. Loved the tuna appetizer and entree'! Lively atmosphere!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

What a lovely surprise in Kitty Hawk!!!! ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 30, 2016

What a lovely surprise in Kitty Hawk!!!!

We would definitely go again.

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful fresh food and superb service. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Wonderful fresh food and superb service. If you want a little something extra while visiting the Outer Banks, this place is an excellent choice.

Tags: Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and setting outstanding as usual. S ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Food and setting outstanding as usual. Staff have been great during our many previous visits, but we had a confrontational and generally unpleasant waitress. OB management will surely weed her out pretty quickly as this has always been an excellent restaurant in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Great experience and I highly recommend ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great experience and I highly recommend Ocean Blvd for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We both started with she crab soup. The ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 19, 2016

We both started with she crab soup. The soup had good taste, but was barely warm. The duck dish was fair at best. The meat was tough and the side of kale was bitter. The special was a red snapper done in an Asian style. Served over rice noodles with a few pieces of calamari. The fish was done perfectly. The overall dish was good. We thought the price was to high for the quality of the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Our favourite place in OBX for dinner. ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our favourite place in OBX for dinner. Never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was by far the best dinner this year ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2016

It was by far the best dinner this year on the Outer Banks. Well-prepared entrees and creative apps. Highly recommended.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite go-to restaurant when we ar ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Our favorite go-to restaurant when we are in the Outer Banks for vacation. Service, food, ambiance- all exceptional. Heather will take time to chat and is delightfully personable. We had dinner at OB twice during our beach week. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Live Music, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Casual, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.