About Ocean Blvd Bistro and Martini Bar

4700 N Virginia Dare Trail
Kitty Hawk, NC 27949
View Larger Map

Ocean Boulevard Bistro and Martini Bar is an upscale dining restaurant on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are open nightly for dinner and drinks through all seasons. We pride ourselves in using fresh local and regional ingredients, in season, to create interesting and flavorful meals. We have a comprehensive wine list and have been awarded "Best of the Beach - 2014" for our Martini Bar. We also have an oceanside patio, across the street from the beach, for drinks and waiting.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:00pm Weekdays
5:00pm-1:30am Fridays
5:00pm-11:00pm Saturdays

Cross Street:
Eckner St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 261-2546

Website:
http://obbistro.com/

Entertainment:
After Dinner (10:00pm) on Friday Nights we offer live music with local and regional bands until 1:30am. During the Spring, Summer and Fall, we often have a solo acoustic performer on our Oceanside patio.

Catering:
We are capable of providing food and cocktails for a large variety of events, on- or off-premise. We often host birthdays, anniversaries, rehearsal dinners, pharmaceutical dinners, etc. in the restaurant. For larger events such as wedding receptions and large scale anniversary parties, we can cater in your rental property or selected banquet area with a full scale, personally designed menu.

Parking Details:
Our private lot is on the side of the restaurant by the front door. When the lot becomes full, we have access to alternate lots in cooperation with the Beachwoods Property Group. These parking lots are located just beyond our adjacent lot, to the west.

Executive Chef:
Donny King

Private Party Facilities:
Within the restaurant, we are capable of seating as many as 22 people upstairs for a semi-private event. In our wine room, we can accommodate up to 12. If needed, we can book the downstairs dining area to handle up to 60.

Private Party Contact:
Donny King: 252-261-2546x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Ocean Blvd Bistro and Martini Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
4 More
Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Best Overall
Outer Banks
Most Booked
Outer Banks
Best Restaurants in Kitty Hawk ›

Special Occasion (63)
Fit for Foodies (53)
Notable Wine List (42)
See All
Romantic (41)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Scenic View (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Hot Spot (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
827 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Not your run if the mill OBX restaurant! ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 2 days ago

Not your run if the mill OBX restaurant! Great food with a lot of choices! Not good for the picky eater!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cuisine is anywhere from great to ou ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The cuisine is anywhere from great to outstanding; very creative, local ingredients, excellent wine list. Simply the BEST restaurant in the Outer Banks. We have been many times and will be back many times.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always inventive food. Great crowd. the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Always inventive food. Great crowd. the owners are on site and are very pleasant. The setups for the seafood are among the best anywhere

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

THIS IS OUR "GO TO" SPOT WHENEVER WE ARE ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

THIS IS OUR "GO TO" SPOT WHENEVER WE ARE ON THE OBX FOR MORE THAN A COUPLE OF DAYS. GOOD FOOD. GOOD WINE LIST. FUN TO BE AT THE CHEF'S BAR, TOO. WE LOVE IT.

Tags: Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A dinner at Ocean Boulevard has been an ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

A dinner at Ocean Boulevard has been an essential part of any vacation in the Outer Banks for our family for a number of years.

Our experience this year was a mix of good and not-so-good.

Pro - The NC BBQ Pork Shoulder was excellent.

Cons - The Salmon special was not special, the homemade peach ice cream had no flavor of any kind and the desert special was bland.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Oceans Boulevard is a fantastic upscale ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Oceans Boulevard is a fantastic upscale restaurant, right off the beach and within a stone's throw from the surf. We visited this place when our kids were small (6 and 3 y.o.) and had a great meal then. They are now 20 and 17 y.o. and we were pleasantly surprised that the restaurant was still open. This place needs reservations up to a week or more in advance. Upon our arrival we saw that there was outdoor seating. We were approached by Donny who we later learned was the proprietor. On a pleasant nite it's a great location to dine al fresco. However, we went inside and were seated near where we sat 14 years ago. They make a variety of enticing martini's so we started with those and then moved to a favorite Syrah, which was reasonably priced (Plumpjack). The wine list is extensive and you can order wines anywhere from the mid-$20 range all the way up to $1700 a bottle. I ordered the lamb rack and the wine reduction sauce was to die for. Probably the best lamb I've ordered to date. My wife and kids keep dipping their veggies in my sauce. The bass and snapper we ordered were also tasty and well presented. My daughter ordered the crab cake, which was divine. The desserts were great too. Try the cheesecake with raspberry sauce - light and creamy. Also the chocolate dessert was smooth and airy. The service was excellent and we never felt ignored. This place is as good as it was 14 years ago and maybe even better. Ask for Donny. He made the experience top notch.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sea Bass dish was relatively bland, but ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Sea Bass dish was relatively bland, but the Lamb Chops were spot on and the Chik Liver Pate app was outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

My husband and I always love a night out ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

My husband and I always love a night out at Ocean Boulevard. This time, it was a special visit. It was our anniversary. And Ocean Boulevard staff helped us celebrate with delicious drinks, appetizers and main courses. The chefs, kitchen staff, bartenders, servers and front desk staff are wonderful people who care about their customers. What delicious food, always prepared with care---and often with ingredients sourced locally. Thanks to the whole staff for a fantastic anniversary dinner!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our annual 'DATE NIGHT' in OBX. My wife ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Our annual 'DATE NIGHT' in OBX. My wife and I just don't want to go anywhere else!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

As expected a great meal here. We have b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

As expected a great meal here. We have been back every year to Ocean Blvd Bistro and are never disappointed. The food is excellent. The martinis perfect, and this time around I had a glass of wine with dinner and it was a perfect match. The service is also quite attentive v

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you're at the Outer Banks you must tr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

If you're at the Outer Banks you must try OB at least once. We make it a point to stop by every time we're in town (roughly 5x per year).

Our go-to food category is almost always seafood. But I've had a pork cheeks appetizer and their lamb chops and was thrilled with all. It's good that even the standards that usually appear on the menu get tweaked from season to season.

Pricier than most places. Cocktails are north of $10-12 with martinis falling in at about $15. Our dinner selections always seem to find their way to $30.

The staff is great! During the summer they can be a little taxed and less doting. Off season is definitely the best time to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food! We were there 5 years ago a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food! We were there 5 years ago and it's still just as good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We wanted to have a romantic dinner, and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We wanted to have a romantic dinner, and this place was close to our resort. My husband and I split an appetizer, split a salad, and split an entree. We each had one glass of wine and split a dessert. The food was good but not great, the portions were small, and the prices were high. We ate at a BBQ place the next night and the entire bill for three people was equal to the price of the small entree (one crab cake). We probably would not go back, as there are so many wonderful places in OBX for a lot less money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Amazing as always!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Amazing as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Kim was fantastic! We've been ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Our server Kim was fantastic! We've been coming here since you opened your doors. It never disappoints!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm sorry to report that the food at thi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I'm sorry to report that the food at this once-fantastic establishment has gone downhill. We had such a disappointing dinner, and then went back to our cottage and made something that was actually edible! I can't believe we spent so much money -- and our only night out -- trying to eat a meal that did not live up to its description. At least the cocktails were great, the company superb, and the service fairly attentive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Tried a new wine, excellent. Food was de ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Tried a new wine, excellent. Food was delicious and the service was top notch. Very nice.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was amazing. From the waitress (Annet ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

It was amazing. From the waitress (Annette) to the food, to the modern decor. Two thumbs up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went here on a Thursday and opted to ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We went here on a Thursday and opted to sit outside, it was a beautiful evening and the combo was great! August, the only waitress outside, was delightful! She had a wonderful personality despite running her behind off. Food was delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, our expectations were met and ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

As usual, our expectations were met and exceeded at Ocean Boulevard. The food was creatively spun and the old world red wine list was exquisite. The owners never fail to mark the evening with their warmth and hospitality.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as usual. The best. The crab c ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Fantastic as usual. The best. The crab cake was out of this world. The steak is always great. The salmon was superb. A must go to in OBX. Doesn't get any better anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food, great staff, I loved the a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Amazing food, great staff, I loved the atmosphere, I wish I saved room for dessert!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Ocean Blvd. has become one of our favori ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Ocean Blvd. has become one of our favorite restaurants in the Outer Banks. The service is very friendly and the food is outstanding, comprable to restaurants in big cities. Be sure to make a reservation if you are going Tues-Sat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not so good. Appetizers were pretty goo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Not so good. Appetizers were pretty good; entrees were terrible. Fish tasted fishy; crab cake tasted like swamp water. Perhaps the worst crab cake I have ever had. Service was meh; sat for a long time to get entrees; then ignored for 15 minutes before flagging down someone for coffee/dessert menu, in the hopes that we could end better than the rest of the meal. Expensive for extremely average meal (at best). Even the martinis, not up to par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The best meal we have ever enjoyed while ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The best meal we have ever enjoyed while visiting the Outer Banks, hands down. The drinks were as impressive as the meal. All around amazing experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great experience we had an awes ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We had a great experience we had an awesome server. Our only question was the choice of the side vegetables on the special. Sautéed celery, okra , onions and red peppers, a little bland and pale gray-green in appearance ... not appealing. It "seemed " as though we had plenty of scallops, however it looked like some scallops were sliced horizontal in appearance of making it look like it was more ....they were much thinner than your normal scallop.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food here is always a treat. Very t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

The food here is always a treat. Very tasty and presentation is lovely. Not your ordinary meal. The staff is quite accommodating, even for a young diner. Not to disappoint...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

As always, one of the best restaurants i ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

As always, one of the best restaurants in the world. The quality of food and service cannot be beat. Anyone interested in fine dining needs to eat at this fabulous restaurant. We have dined throughout the world and cannot find any place that exceeds Ocean Boulevard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful family environment with honest ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Wonderful family environment with honest caring for their patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've been eating here for years. Has al ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We've been eating here for years. Has always been a good experience. Great combination of traditional food and always some unique items on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Amazing food and service. Truly a delig ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Amazing food and service. Truly a delightful experience!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service is fastidious. The food is d ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The service is fastidious. The food is delicious, with creative sides and plating. The wine selection is excellent. Finally tried this place on our OBX trip last year, wish we would've checked it out years ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was outstanding; menu offerings ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Service was outstanding; menu offerings were not as interesting as in the past. Restaurant was very loud and noisy which made our party of 5's conversation difficult.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

My wife and I have been coming to the Ou ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

My wife and I have been coming to the Outer Banks for 10 years and the first restaurant we ate at was Ocean Boulevard. Since that first meal it is our favorite place to eat in the area. There are some other great restaurants but we always end up back at Ocean Boulevard.

We love the mix of unique fresh ingredients and are continually amazed at how wonderfully the ingredients mix to make a terrific dining experience.

The service is always outstanding which makes the experience that much more pleasurable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We've been to Ocean Boulevard several ti ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We've been to Ocean Boulevard several times and have always enjoyed the service and food. It is one of our favorites on the OBX.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While our overall dining experience was ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

While our overall dining experience was good, we were both very disappointed with our salads.

There was virtually NO taste!!! Both the Caesar and Bistro salad dressings had barely any delectable flavor. The management did refund us, which made things much more "palatable "!

Beware of the $14 charge for cocktails :((

We highly recommend the Crab cakes and yellowfin tuna!!

We will certainly return upon our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

This is our favorite OBX go to spot and ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This is our favorite OBX go to spot and it did not disappoint on this visit. A great bottle of chardonnay. Tasty fried green tomatoes appetizer. Two delicious entrees -- a skate wing special and a tuna with lentils and morrocan sauce that was so flavorful. Topped off by a delicious chocolate chess pie ice cream sandwich special dessert. The entire team, from the hostess, to the wait staff, to the bartenders, hard working chefs in the kitchen and the owners are attentive and friendly. This is great spot for a lovely dinner out on your vacation to the Outer Banks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another excellent dinner! We've been com ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Another excellent dinner!

We've been coming here for years, probably 7 times a year, and we are never disappointed. Look forward to going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent! From the service to the food ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Excellent! From the service to the food! I sat at the kitchen bar and was truly amazed at the professionalism of the chefs. They created works of art with the food. I had the fried tomatoes to start, which were so incredibly flavorful. For the entree, the duck was probably the best I've ever had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been coming to Ocean Boulevard f ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We have been coming to Ocean Boulevard for over 10 years each time we are in the Outer Banks and each year the food is better than before!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.