About Ocean Blvd Bistro and Martini Bar

Ocean Boulevard Bistro and Martini Bar is an upscale dining restaurant on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are open nightly for dinner and drinks through all seasons. We pride ourselves in using fresh local and regional ingredients, in season, to create interesting and flavorful meals. We have a comprehensive wine list and have been awarded "Best of the Beach - 2014" for our Martini Bar. We also have an oceanside patio, across the street from the beach, for drinks and waiting.

4700 N Virginia Dare Trail
Kitty Hawk, NC 27949
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5:00pm - 9:00pm Weekdays
5:00pm-1:30am Fridays
5:00pm-11:00pm Saturdays

Cross Street:
Eckner St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(252) 261-2546

Website:
http://obbistro.com/

Entertainment:
After Dinner (10:00pm) on Friday Nights we offer live music with local and regional bands until 1:30am. During the Spring, Summer and Fall, we often have a solo acoustic performer on our Oceanside patio.

Catering:
We are capable of providing food and cocktails for a large variety of events, on- or off-premise. We often host birthdays, anniversaries, rehearsal dinners, pharmaceutical dinners, etc. in the restaurant. For larger events such as wedding receptions and large scale anniversary parties, we can cater in your rental property or selected banquet area with a full scale, personally designed menu.

Parking Details:
Our private lot is on the side of the restaurant by the front door. When the lot becomes full, we have access to alternate lots in cooperation with the Beachwoods Property Group. These parking lots are located just beyond our adjacent lot, to the west.

Executive Chef:
Donny King

Private Party Facilities:
Within the restaurant, we are capable of seating as many as 22 people upstairs for a semi-private event. In our wine room, we can accommodate up to 12. If needed, we can book the downstairs dining area to handle up to 60.

Private Party Contact:
Donny King: (252) 261-2546

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

Ocean Blvd Bistro and Martini Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (20)
Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (17)
See All
Open Kitchen (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Waterfront (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (8)
Romantic (7)
Scenic View (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Business Meals (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Healthy (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Live Music (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Casual (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (2)
Private Room (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Dancing (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fun (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
949 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 6 days ago

We love OB. Perfect place for any occasion! Exceptional menu and always a good time.

Tags: Scenic View, Late-night Find, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Authentic, Healthy, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Historic, Romantic, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Another fantastic dining experience at Ocean Blvd! I had rockfish--lovely flavors on this special dish. Husband had tuna--another delicious presentation! This has become our favourite spot in OBX. Never been disappointed!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent dinner as always, best restaurant in OBX....great wine list and owners are local who are always on site and help with selections!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We always enjoy Ocean Blvd. when we visit the Outer Banks. The staff is warm and welcoming, the wine list is very appealing and the food is first-rate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food! Horrible service! Host stand was awesome, server was below adequate and acted like a junkie.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We really enjoyed our recent visit to Ocean Blvd. The food was excellent and we really liked the variety of food offered. We split the Paella and really enjoyed the inclusion of pork which gave the dish a nice smoky flavor. Our waitress was very efficient and reminded us of some of the great service providers we've experience in France.

An excellent meal that we really enjoyed. Keep the variety coming.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was excellent with very unique taste and seasoning. Had Four different meals and all were wonderful. Dessert were a great finish to fantastic meal

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Phenomenal creative food with a professional serving staff

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We have been here 3 times now. The first time was amazing, service great, food incredible everything perfect. Second time the service was very poor, food was in-editable, they even had to recook something else because they ran out of food but still charged full price. This third time the 7 lettuce salads was one of the best salads we have ever eaten and the desserts were great. The main dish was just ok, very bland and the service was again horrible. The restaurant has the potential to be great. We will probably give it one more try before scratching it off the list.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was our second time to Ocean Blvd. We were impressed the first time and just as wonderful this night. We both had the special blue fin tuna with shrimp, grits, andouille sausage and vegetables. It was absolutely delicious!! We look forward to returning next time we vacation again in the OBX.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Had been there before, but really dissapointed this time. Nice atmosphere, wine and beer selections were good. Caesar salad was good. Both my wife's and my entrees
were served lukewarm at best. She would have sent hers back, but the waiter did not return for 10 -15 minutes. NY strip was not up to par for a $ 30 steak, neither was the tuna. Dessert, creme burlee was good, but not enough to make up for the poor entrees.
Dinner and a couple of drinks ~ $ 150. Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Truly one of the most outstanding restaurants anywhere. The quality and service are the best. My grilled blue-fin tuna with beets, andouille sausage, Brussels sprouts, grits and shrimp was phenomenal as was my wife's New York strip. The mescaline green salad with pine nuts, shiitake mushrooms, roasted red peppers, quarter size slices of mozzarella cheese drizzled in balsamic vinaigrette was the best salad we ever had. A must for foodies. Not for children unless they have sophisticated pallets. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Always a treat to go to Ocean Boulevard! Excellent menu and delicious food!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Wonderful food and terrific waiter. One of the best on the OBX.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Nice place for friend's gathering. Food was good though specials not available, not enough to serve through out the dinner hour. Rating of 4 out of 5

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was great! Very accommodating to provide lactose-free entree and dessert.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Consistantly a favorite. Staff made us feel like friends and family. Service was attentive, not intrusive, and the Chef's always have a creative way to move the pallete in a new way.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great food and wine list. Menu changes seasonally. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was excellent only to match the great food and ambiance.
The wine pairings all worked well with the food with the pace of our meal on target allowing us to savor each course. The big hits for food were the Tuna and the Filet Mignon!
Thank you to all staff for a wonderful evening shared among friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Dancing, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

As always the food was fantastic! They were busy and service was subpar for the entire dinner. This was disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always good often great. Love the local ingredients and the excellent service. Probably the best overall restaurant in the Outer Banks

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great pork chops and extensive wine list! Would def come back and try other items on the menu.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We have been to Ocean Blvd Bistro and had a wonderful meal. We were taking someone important to dinner to say thank you. She even commented the waiter was "a dim bulb". My wife and I both ordered the beef special, hers was fine, mine was all fat, it was inedible. The manager did apologize and told me they ran out and made a steak for me but even it was not seasoned. Little surprised they still charged me full price. This was one of our favorite restaurants in OBX, my stomach still turning from thought of meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Treated Mom for her birthday. It is one of our favourite places to dine in OBX. I had the duck on the menu and Mom had the cobia special. Both were absolutely delicious! What I like about this restaurant is the menu options are not loaded with starches - lots of veggies.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great atmosphere awesome food! Great service!!!
I would highly recommend!!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Very disappointing Thanksgiving experience. The service was slow even for a leisurely meal. The food was ok but overly elaborate for the occasion. Also they promised at least one traditional Thanksgiving option but it was still somewhat weird.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were at Ocean Boulevard for Thanksgiving. Four courses were served with four choices to choose from each course. The meal was absolutely fantastic. We sat in a back room on the second floor with a big window with a view of the beach. For most of the meal, we were the only 2 in the room. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Creative and delicious dishes, great service and relaxing atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Never fails to please us. We love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 16, 2016

THE FOOD WAS SO GOOD; WE ARE STILL TALKING ABOUT THAT GREAT MEAL; GREAT SERVICE.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The food was fresh and tasted incredible! Three of us had 3 different dishes and shared a salad - all were great! Wonderful place to eat! Highly recommended!

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We like the vibe at Ocean Blvd. It has a creative menu, very fine wine list and a welcoming ambiance.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Our cocktails (Beefeater Martini and Bourbon Manhattan) were marvelous. The scallop and steak entrees were perfectly prepared and delicious.
We always enjoy our "date nights" at OB. We try to stop for at least one meal when on the OBX.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Food was excellent, nice selection. Service was also outstanding, very attentive!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Always superb! Lost track of the number of years we've been coming here, usually 5-6 per year. Never disappointed. Food, service and wine list are some of the OBX's best.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We have dined here before and always make it a stop when we are on vacation in the Outer Banks. Pricy but well worth it. We have always had a great meal and this visit was excellent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 25, 2016

It was my husband's birthday and we had a great time there celebrating with a romantic dinner with just the two of us. We had plenty of leftovers so we were able to enjoy our entrees again the next night and they were just as good the second time. My husband said he had the best martini he has ever had with the blue cheese stuffed olives. He thought it was a great touch. We look forward to dining there again real soon!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was outstanding and the service was very good. We would definitely go again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food with wonderful sauces on the salmon and chicken. The service was amazing too. Prices are high but we used the early couplin good before 6. Would definitely recommend it

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great service always and we enjoyed the duck and lamb entrees.
Thanks so much-we'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Live Music, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.