Ocean Blvd Bistro and Martini Bar

4.7
1180 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Good for Anniversaries
Ocean Boulevard Bistro and Martini Bar is an upscale dining restaurant on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. We are open nightly for dinner and drinks through all seasons. We pride ourselves in using fresh local and regional ingredients, in season, to create interesting and flavorful meals. We have a comprehensive wine list and have been awarded "Best of the Beach - 2014-2017" for our Martini Bar. We also have an oceanside patio, across the street from the beach, for drinks and waiting. If your reservation can not be completed online, please call us at 252-261-2546 to inquire about special seating arrangements.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner
Daily 5:00 pm–10:00 pm
Fri 5:00 pm–12:00 am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(252) 261-2546
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Donny King
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Within the restaurant, we are capable of seating as many as 22 people upstairs for a semi-private event. In our wine room, we can accommodate up to 12. If needed, we can book the downstairs dining area to handle up to 60.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Donny King: (252) 261-2546
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We are capable of providing food and cocktails for a large variety of events, on- or off-premise. We often host birthdays, anniversaries, rehearsal dinners, pharmaceutical dinners, etc. in the restaurant. For larger events such as wedding receptions and large scale anniversary parties, we can cater in your rental property or selected banquet area with a full scale, personally designed menu.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Eckner St.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Our private lot is on the side of the restaurant by the front door. When the lot becomes full, we have access to alternate lots in cooperation with the Beachwoods Property Group. These parking lots are located just beyond our adjacent lot, to the west.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
After Dinner (10:00pm) on Friday Nights we offer live music with local and regional bands until 1:30am. During the Spring, Summer and Fall, we often have a solo acoustic performer on our Oceanside patio.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun - Thu 5:00PM - 5:30PM
Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 9:15PM - 10:00PM

What 1180 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.5
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 5 days ago

Martinis were very good. Food too spicey. Would not recommend. Took my father there for father's day dinner and very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

As always, the dining experience at Ocean Boulevard was wonderful. Atmosphere, food and service is always outstanding. Our server was excellent...very attentive and helpful in making our choices.
Have dined here many times......a favorite restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 14, 2018

Some of the best food we’ve had in a long time. On site pastry chef provided excellent breads and desserts. Our scallops and shrimp app were some of the best we’ve had while traveling! Great Job Ocean Blvd!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 13, 2018

Fine dining in a beach atmosphere. It's always our first choice in the middle of the Outer Banks. My swordfish and wife's softshells were both excellent, and my fried chicken liver starter was great. This kitchen could hold its own in any metro area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Ocean Boulevard continues to epitomize fine dining. Creative seafood dishes, as well as vegetarian ones, delighted my family as did the French wine from Boudreaux and the Rhône river region. Yet another memorable experience for us topped off by the attentive service from waiters, the owners, and the sea.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 6, 2018

Everything about this place was exceptional. My wife had the rockfish and it was awesome. I had the cobia and it was way too fishy. They did take it off the check with no issues. Next time we are in the outer banks we will definitely try this again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

This is a very special restaurant with friendly owners and employees that remember their guests. The menu is variable and includes pork, poultry, fish, shellfish, succulent steaks, and exquisite desserts. Highly recommended for an intimate evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Service and food were both excellent! It was our first time time there, but we will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

Any time we visit the Outer Banks, we have dinner here. This is probably one of the best restaurants we have visited. The chef is creative and the dishes are perfectly prepared every time. The pace is perfect. You’re never rushed. Service is impeccable. The atmosphere is fun. Highly recommend!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

We’ve been coming to Ocean Blvd for at least 20 years. We eat there multiple times during our vacation and it’s a real highlight. I mentioned that I love cobia (very seasonal) and the next day they called to say that the chef would have it on the menu the next day. The food and the service are impeccable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Ocean Boulevard is not only THE best restaurant on the Outer Banks, it’s truly one of the best in the world. We eaten at fine restaurants worldwide and can’t find one better than Ocean Boulevard. Their menu is unique and the service outstanding. We’ve eaten here many times and they are consistently outstanding in every respect. If you enjoy fine dining and are in the Outer Banks, you must dine at Ocean Boulevard. And they take reservations.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

As always extremely good!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Good quality food, a little high for quantity but not for the quality nor the service! Small, quaint across from the beach. The service staff didn’t miss a trick! And the Martinis were exceptional! But who charges extra for stuffed olives?!?!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Staff was obviously overwhelmed by seasonal customers.

I am no a big fan of bench seating where you sit very close to other people.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Outstanding food and service...always a must for dinner when in the Outer Banks! Tonight started with a delicious, rich scallop chowder followed by a grilled swordfish over polenta with an artichoke salsa. Wonderful flavors! Special dessert...an amazing peanut butter and strawberry jam cheesecake...would have never thought those two would be any good, but it was delicious.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Nice restaurant but better food at lots of less expensive restaurants in the OBX. I had the tuna and have had fresher more tasty tuna for half the price at Red Drum. The other 2 people in my party had the scallops and were very happy with their meals.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Great meal and service! Other patrons sitting near us were in a celebratory mode and enjoying themselves and a bit loud. Looking forward to our next OB meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

We always enjoy a diner out at Ocean Blvd when in the outer banks. We enjoyed the bistro salad which is big enough to split. There are always appetizer specials according to the season and the asparagus soup is very good. The scallops over mushroom risotto is delicious and quite filling. The tenderloin is also wonderfully cooked and seasoned, always recommend ordering it medium rear. They have an extensive wine list and a very nice selection of house made martinis.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Kendall our server was OUTSTANDING and we have been here many times!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

Probably in my Top 5 restaurants of all time! Everytime my wife and I dine here, we are blown away by our meals...absolutely incredible!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 21, 2018

My husband and I had the angus fried rice as an appetizer. Absolutely delicious!! For our entree we shared the pork which was a rock star follow up to the appetizer. It paired perfectly! One of the best meals I’ve ever had!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Had Mother’s Day dinner with my wife. Food was quite good and service was as well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Good as usual. Always need to check out the specials, appetizers as well as entrees

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Ocean Boulevard is a nice restaurant with upscale dining and white table cloths, gourmet dishes and fantastic service. Food presentation was very nice also. The Cuban black bean soup was excellent. However, the pork shank was way too spicy and overpowering, so strong flavored that it made us feel the burning and fiery flavors. My soft shell crab entrée was palatable. The flavoring or seasonings in our dishes were overwhelming and ruined the dishes. The server was gracious when we requested an exchange for the pork shanks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Very delightful restaurant. Food was delicious and excellent wait staff

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Both the service and the food were outstanding. We found both gourmet level options and "simple foods" on the menu. I had the salad with pistachios and goat chees and marinated cherries that was outstanding and roast chicken and mashed potatoes--the chicken was perfectly cooked--moist and tender as could be --with delicious pan juices that made the dish. My husband has celiac disease and the server was considerate in noting dishes that were gluten free and offered suggestions for making other dishes gluten free as well. The filet my husband had was cooked exactly as ordered. The white chocolate crème brulee was also delicious. We visited Ocean Boulevard early in the evening so the noise level was low.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Outstanding menu. Very creative and unique. We had a veal gorgonzola ravioli appetizer which I DEMAND BE PUT ON THE REGULAR MENU!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Second time here. We had lamb and flounder dishes! Rack of Lamb was cooked to order. Flounder special was lightly breaded served with vegetables. Both very good. I had a goat cheese , olives, red peppers and crostini appetizer that was great with my rosy cheek martini. Warm inviting restaurant with good service! Go for The martini’s stay for the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

The best of the best in the Outerbanks

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

First time in this restaurant. The dining room is cozy with a few tables looking out on the road and beach houses. They have a bar area as well. Looks like in the Summer there is some outside seating. Food is tasty and the martini’s are good. I liked Rosy Cheeks martini! Lemon and rosemary combo. I had a strip steak and my husband had the hardy pork shank, both were very good. Heather was our waiter and made us feel comfortable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Ocean Blvd is never a bad meal. I have been there eight (8) time and they rock every time! Excellent cuisine and the finest meal available in all of the Outer Banks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

OB is our go-to spot for a lovely dinner when we are on the OBX.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Great food! I highly recommend getting in around the 6:30p hour it does get busy. But it's a beautiful place, great service, stayed on top of the orders and drinks. My husband and I greatly enjoyed dinner! Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

This is our very outer banks restaurant. Chef Mike is masterful at blending herbs . Our risotto was the best we ever had. Thanks

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Enjoyed a lovely meal with my sisters in law - each of us had something different and each plate was a delight! Impeccable service-we were well attended. Will absolutely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

Outstanding food and service. Had 4 dishes and dessert. All excellent. Service was exceptional. Cozy and pleasant atmosphere. Great dining experience.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Steak not cooked properly, martini was hardly drinkable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Ocean Blvd is our “go to restaurant” on the Outer Banks! Don’t even need an excuse, just go.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Tried this during restaraunt week. Food was great. Nice al fresco dining if the weather cooperates. Good martini

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We eat here the First night of vacation most years... Food was delicious- fabulous!!! Creative, beautifully presented, flavors off the chart. Drinks, eh. I love their signature drink “rosy cheeks”, it was not up to par, tasted just like my hubby’s martini and since they were packed to the gills with only 2 waiters... I let it go, we all have off nights. Ordered a bottle of wine, not cheap wine. When the owner brought the bottle to the table, after waiting 20+ minutes for them to find it, it was the wrong vintage. When asked if it was correct, I pointed out the bottle was wrong and was asked if I was the one tasting it. Stunned... I was stunned. I ordered it, of course I am the one tasting it. Oh, and guess what, I made the reservation and spent my money too. I know, let it go... 2018 and sexism is alive and well in the OBX. Meal was delicious though.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
30