About Ocean

1218 20th Street South
Birmingham, AL 35205
View Larger Map

Ocean has been locally owned and operated by George Reis since 2002 and is located in the historic Five Points district of Birmingham’s Southside. Enjoy a casual night out with friends at the inviting and contemporary patio bar, or venture inside for some of the best seafood in town and an award-winning dining experience.
Ocean offers fresh seafood in an exciting and contemporary atmosphere. The menu features a wide selection of fish and fresh oysters arriving daily. Ocean focuses on sourcing sustainable seafood, local produce, and is proud to support local farms. Pulling flavors and inspiration from around the globe, Ocean is the recipient of the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for 2007-2015, the Wine Spectator Award 2004-2015, and is the winner of the Alabama Seafood Cookoff in 2015. Voted Best Chef, Wine List and rated 5 stars by the Birmingham News,
Reservations accepted Tuesday through Saturday.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Highland and 13th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 933-0999

Website:
http://www.oceanbirmingham.com/

Catering:
For information about catering options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or call us at: (205)933-0999

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
George Reis

Private Party Facilities:
For information about our private dining facilities and private dining options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or give us a call at: (205) 933-0999

Private Party Contact:
Heather Boone: 2059330999x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ocean
Pumpkin Cake, Ice Cream, Pumpkin Seeds & Caramelized Berries
Whole Red Snapper
Wood Grilled Pompano Whole Fish
Nori Crusted Tuna, Wasabi Mashed Potatoes, Snow Pea Tendrils & Red Chili Oil
Wood Grilled Grouper
Trio Of Ceviches
Sushi
Oysters
Pumpkin Cake
Inside Out Crunch Salmon, Cream Cheese & Asparagus
Fried Feta Cheese
Greek Style With Crispy Greens, Roma Tomatoes, Purple Onions & Kalamato Olives Salad
Wood Grilled Grouper With Risotto Turnips & Carrots
Bread & Rosemary Olive Oil
Spicy Tuna Tempura Bonbons Ahi Tuna, Cream Cheese, Sambal Hot Mustard, Sweet Chili Glaze
Red Salad With Fried Feta
Chilean Sea Bass
Wood Grilled Pompano
Pan Seared Sea Scallops
Pan Seared Sesame Crusted Ahi Tuna
Sushi Sides
Chocolate Sin Cake
White Chocolate Bread Pudding
Whipped Peanut Butter Cheesecake
Grouper With Sauteed Vegetables
Water
Mousse Cake
Ocean
Oyster Prep
Whole Flounder With A Side Of Lobster Tails
Pan Seared Grouper
Cucumber Salad
The Way We Roll
Grilled Whole Red Snapper
Homemade Poptart
Lobster tails
Wood Grilled Flounder
Wood Grilled Lobster Tails
Spicy Lobster Rangoons
Coffee With Baileys
Wood Grilled Pompano Fish
raw oysters
Vodka Martini
Steak, Lobster Tails, Scallops, Cobia Platter
Greek Style Salad With Fried Feta
Baklava Ice Cream With Rose Scented Honey, Vanilla Anglaise
Peach Bread Pudding
Lobster Bisque
Cosmo & A Dirty Martini
Shrimp Bisque
James Brown Soul Rolls
Grilled Cobia and Lobster Tails
Fried flounder

Ocean Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Birmingham
Best Service
Birmingham
Fit for Foodies
Birmingham
2 More
Romantic
Birmingham
Most Booked
Birmingham
Best Restaurants in Birmingham ›

Special Occasion (99)
Fit for Foodies (72)
Romantic (67)
See All
Notable Wine List (49)
Good for Groups (43)
Hot Spot (37)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
601 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Unsatisified and unsatiated. First time ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 5 days ago

Unsatisified and unsatiated. First time.There was no AirConditioning in the middle of an Alabama summer? A pungent aroma of fish in w/the humidity( yes, is is a fish eatery) ameliorated by a little R-134a. Coat & tie, sweated the whole dinner. I reserved for 2 small Table main traffic of servers. Reservations online 10 days ago, they still gave me an let's-stick-em'-here kinda table. Thought get a better table for reserving so early. Pays to reconnoiter in advance. Restaurant Week, but didn't care 4 a meal-deal. Wanted FULL dining experience. Waiter Logan hurried and sweating when he got to our table food stains on his shirt. He sold me a $75.00 bottle of wine when I thought it was $50.00 never discussed the prices. Not felt comfortable, did not convey a pleasant feeling for a good experience. Extremely noisy. Couldn't hear pronunciation of wine just accidentally purchased. Can one eat in a frenetic environment? That's why places like Flemmings, et al. don't have to scream to talk. What I had was good. Paint an image in your mind of the dish from the menu I'm going to eat, comes to the table, disappointed by the portion. Plate is HUGE and food small. Invest in the larger portion(2 extra scallops) still retain essence of presentation. Banks scallops. 4 of them done perfectly $31.00 plus black eyed peas 2 oz w/ heirloom tomatoes 4 about 1/2 inch long sliced in half in the BEP's. Scallops for 22.00/lb at Whole Foods. Averaged sized person, Fig dessert was good, small decent portion. Appetizer, Coconut curry soup. Thin and light in flavor. Tasty though Spent 175.00 for 2 a vanilla gratuity of 17%. Tip someone 25% part selling you $75.00 bottle? So, there you have it, if you like going to a noisy, humid, crowded place trying to talk over everyone in a studio-like atmosphere, with everyone running around frantically ( I hate to see what goes on in the kitchen ), and dieting this is the place for you. Thanks for reading... The unofficial food critic

8/22/16

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Superb service, fantastic food, beautifu ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined 6 days ago

Superb service, fantastic food, beautiful surroundings. Another perfect dining experience at a favorite restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our fourth visit to Ocean and s ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 6 days ago

This was our fourth visit to Ocean and so we had high expectations during Birmingham Restaurant Week as we have never had a bad meal here. Sad to say, we were very disappointed in the food! We ordered the special flounder from the BRW menu (if at Ocean I'm going to eat seafood and expect it to be fabulous!) and honestly, I cook better fish at home! The flounder was overcooked, dry and very salty! On top of that, even though the squash gratin and fried okra were tasty, everything on the plate was the same color - a very boring tan! On a good note, the appetizer of fried oysters and pork belly was delicious (although the egg yolk that came with it was horrible - salty and so thick it couldn't be spread). The dessert was good, too, as was the French press coffee. Our server was terrific with a very pleasant personality. I can only hope that the chef was just having an off night and it won't be repeated since Ocean has been one of our favorite restaurants. This makes us a little nervous to go back and see! Even though we spent $90 (probably half of what it could have been) that was too much to pay for a less than satisfying meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We had been wanting to try Ocean for ove ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had been wanting to try Ocean for over 2 years and it did not disappoint. Best oysters we've ever had. Great service, amazing food. A awesome overall experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first dinner at Ocean since ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This was our first dinner at Ocean since they completed the revision of the dining area about 6 months ago. The dining area now feels much roomier and the noise of the dining crowd (between 6pm and 8:30pm) was much lower. Also, our waiter was remarkably like the top waiters one often has in France and other western Europe locations. He was very attentive, knew the new menu very well, and represents the restaurant exceptionally well. My wife particularly liked the appetizer of heirloom tomato salad with goat cheese ice cream. I was most happy with a dozen raw oysters (none from the Gulf of Mexico-a wise choice) appetizer and Hereford filet. The former Ocean was usually great but the new Ocean is really the very best and most reliable in Birmingham.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited for restaurant week. The food w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Visited for restaurant week. The food was not bad but it also was nothing to write home about. Again, we went for restaurant week so we stuck that menu offering only. Goat cheese ice cream is definitely different and I encourage everyone to try it. The server was very personable and attentive and introduced me to a new wine that I now love. I will probably be back to give the food another chance based on my preferences instead of adhering to a smaller menu. And they have valet parking which is great considering the downtown area location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My food was outstanding. My wife's was g ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

My food was outstanding. My wife's was good except her entrée which was flounder ( the special for Birmingham Restaurant Week) and was supposed to be crisp but was not (and slightly overcooked and dry). My entrée was excellent (grouper over summer vegetable ragout), and her appetizer was also (fried oysters with a side of smoked barbeque pork). Her dessert was also quite good. Service was absolutely outstanding: knowledgeable, attentive, and unobtrusive. We were in a quiet corner, but the main room was quite loud and completely full by the time we left.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great meal and service. Can't wait to g ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great meal and service. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we have been several times and the food, ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

we have been several times and the food, service, etc is consistently good. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has always been my family's go-to f ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This has always been my family's go-to for any special occasion. We love their deep booths, amazing service, and the food is simply outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fish always fresh and well prepared. Lot ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fish always fresh and well prepared. Lots of non-fish options also. Fresh oysters were deemed excellent. Great selection of salads and deserts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our annivers ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary and my mother's 91st birthday at Ocean and had a delightful evening. The wait staff was attentive, and made us feel very special!! I enjoyed a cocktail from their specialty cocktail list and also liked the wine our waiter helped us select for dinner. The fish dishes my husband and I ordered were well prepared and honestly the fresh summer vegetables served with the fish tasted as if they had come from the garden that very morning! My mother's steak was cooked exactly as she ordered and appeared tender and juicy. Desserts were peach cobbler and bread pudding which we all shared and were equally delicious. My only negative was the noise level was a bit loud for us. I realize this may have more to do with our age than Ocean's ambiance.

Ocean did not disappoint. I would definitely recommend and hope to return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I typically have a very good experience ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I typically have a very good experience at Ocean. This last time, I was a little embarrassed by the service. When I arrived for my reservation, I was taken to a booth (table for 2). Unfortunately, I'm about 8 months pregnant and could not fit in the booth. They offered a seat in the courtyard, but it was too muggy outside due to rain. I was then seated in the main dining hall, but informed that sense I was 15 minutes late for my reservation I needed to be done eating by 7:30. I felt embarrassed about the whole situation and am not sure I will return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Very disappointed in our overall experie ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Very disappointed in our overall experience; in the past, I've always had great food and prompt, knowledgeable service; however, this time the service was very slow from the time we arrived, and the food was average at best. Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Great fresh seafood. Recommend the cra ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great fresh seafood. Recommend the crab cakes (appetizer), the halibut, and the creme brulee.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were at Ocean to celebrate a birthday ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were at Ocean to celebrate a birthday. Our waiter, Logan , was very knowledgeable about the various menu items and wine parings. We especially enjoyed the bouillabaisse, with its dramatic presentation, and the chocolate bottom coconut almond creme brulee. Dessert was served with a candle and a birthday card signed by the staff. A nice way to acknowledge a birthday at a classy restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole flounder was great!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The whole flounder was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our table was ready at our on-time arriv ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Our table was ready at our on-time arrival. Service was attentive but unobtrusive. We chose a sushi role for appetizer and seafood for main course. The food could not have been better. The restaurant was a bit noisy because of sizable groups of diners near us who seemed to be having a great time. It had been about two years since we dined at Ocean. Although this was a special occasion we will not wait for a special occasion to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We hadn't been to Ocean for a while and ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We hadn't been to Ocean for a while and had forgotten how good the food is. It was wonderful and we can't wait to go back. The service was wonderful and very attentive which made our special occasion VERY special.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very likely one of the best seafood rest ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Very likely one of the best seafood restaurants in the area. The ambience and service are excellent, and the food is delicious. My sole was, however, overcooked and had rather a small slice of lemon with which to try to rehydrate its flesh. Everything else was fine, so it gets a very good from me, not an excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved everything about Ocean. Would reco ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Loved everything about Ocean. Would recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ocean gave us the excellent meal and ser ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Ocean gave us the excellent meal and service we expect as frequent patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Knowledgeable, expert service and perfec ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Knowledgeable, expert service and perfectly prepared seafood made our visit to Ocean very memorable. I give it my highest recommendation. If you're visiting from out-of-town, be aware parking is at a premium in this part of Birmingham. We found a parking garage a couple blocks away, so that worked out OK.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I simply love Ocean, great atmosphere, g ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I simply love Ocean, great atmosphere, great food, good wine, pricing is reasonable :)

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was very knowledgeable and ma ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our waiter was very knowledgeable and made great recommendations. Wine list was excellent. All the food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice overall experience. One of th ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Very nice overall experience. One of the best dining experiences in Birmingham for certain.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was excellent! Our server Melissa w ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was excellent! Our server Melissa was very attentive to our needs. Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great for special occasions and just to ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great for special occasions and just to enjoy dinner, Would highly recommend,

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed my experience here. Eac ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

I really enjoyed my experience here. Each dish was carefully crafted and tasted wonderful. The service was also great from the hostess to our waiter to the on shift manager and everyone else on staff who stopped by to check on us, refill our drinks, etc. Although the prices are high, the value and experience are well worth it. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal was good but assistant servers who ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Meal was good but assistant servers who remove plates after eating felt like they were breathing down our backs and as soon as taking last bite they snatched our plates before the fork was laid down. Very noisy, more bar/restaurant than fine dining restaurant. No one was dressed up, mostly shorts, blue jeans, flip flops. A few wore business casual. I may return for a drink with friends at bar but not a dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

I heard that Ocean was a very nice and d ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I heard that Ocean was a very nice and delicious restaurant. Our appetizers (calamari and oysters) were great...my salad, The Ocean salad was not very good. My lettuce was very soggy. I ordered the filet (medium)...the filet was delicious with a wonderful taste, however my steak was rare. I did not send it back because I ate around the steak and my fiancé are the middle which was the rarest part. The bread pudding dessert was DELICIOUS!!!!!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Really nice place with superb food, supe ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Really nice place with superb food, super friendly knowledgable staff. Wine list had a good selection without being overwhelming. We were from out of town and figured we'd go with the open table ratings and as usual, it did not disappoint. We will be back the next time we are in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was fantastic. The server kn ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The service was fantastic. The server knew her dishes and was very attentive! The food was amazing and we really enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our mixed drinks were subpar. My negroni ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Our mixed drinks were subpar. My negroni was especially disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

We had a very good experience for our f ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We had a very good experience for our first visit to Ocean. The Server was very attentive and surprised us with a free dessert for our special occasion. The seafood and filet mignon were top shelf. I will definitely revisit again. Valet parking is available as a courtesy as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service & location. Seafood ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great food, service & location. Seafood was seasoned very well and grilled to perfection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire dining experience at Ocean wa ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The entire dining experience at Ocean was excellent. Our waiter was attentive and knowledgeable. The food was superb. We had a wonderful time. I have been several times before and every time gets better . We had guests who were in town to see "Wicked". They were quite impressed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excelent, I had Scallops, customer had s ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Excelent, I had Scallops, customer had steak, both were justcgreat

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food wasn't as good as you would expect ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food wasn't as good as you would expect from a premier restaurant. We were some what disappointed. The service was great and the atmosphere was good..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Every time I visit Ocean I ask myself wh ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Every time I visit Ocean I ask myself why I don't do it more often. I find the wine list to be just the right size--variety, but not overkill. And the fish is simply terrific. Our server claimed the scallops were the best in Alabama--and being a skeptic, I took him up on it. Verdict: he's right. Just another example of an outstanding meal at Ocean.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.