About Ocean

1218 20th Street South
Birmingham, AL 35205
View Larger Map

Ocean has been locally owned and operated by George Reis since 2002 and is located in the historic Five Points district of Birmingham’s Southside. Enjoy a casual night out with friends at the inviting and contemporary patio bar, or venture inside for some of the best seafood in town and an award-winning dining experience.
Ocean offers fresh seafood in an exciting and contemporary atmosphere. The menu features a wide selection of fish and fresh oysters arriving daily. Ocean focuses on sourcing sustainable seafood, local produce, and is proud to support local farms. Pulling flavors and inspiration from around the globe, Ocean is the recipient of the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for 2007-2015, the Wine Spectator Award 2004-2015, and is the winner of the Alabama Seafood Cookoff in 2015. Voted Best Chef, Wine List and rated 5 stars by the Birmingham News,
Reservations accepted Tuesday through Saturday.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Highland and 13th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 933-0999

Website:
http://www.oceanbirmingham.com/

Catering:
For information about catering options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or call us at: (205)933-0999

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
George Reis

Private Party Facilities:
For information about our private dining facilities and private dining options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or give us a call at: (205) 933-0999

Private Party Contact:
Heather Boone: 2059330999x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Ocean
Pumpkin Cake, Ice Cream, Pumpkin Seeds & Caramelized Berries
Whole Red Snapper
Wood Grilled Pompano Whole Fish
Nori Crusted Tuna, Wasabi Mashed Potatoes, Snow Pea Tendrils & Red Chili Oil
Wood Grilled Grouper
Trio Of Ceviches
Sushi
Oysters
Pumpkin Cake
Inside Out Crunch Salmon, Cream Cheese & Asparagus
Fried Feta Cheese
Greek Style With Crispy Greens, Roma Tomatoes, Purple Onions & Kalamato Olives Salad
Wood Grilled Grouper With Risotto Turnips & Carrots
Bread & Rosemary Olive Oil
Spicy Tuna Tempura Bonbons Ahi Tuna, Cream Cheese, Sambal Hot Mustard, Sweet Chili Glaze
Red Salad With Fried Feta
Chilean Sea Bass
Wood Grilled Pompano
Pan Seared Sea Scallops
Pan Seared Sesame Crusted Ahi Tuna
Sushi Sides
Chocolate Sin Cake
White Chocolate Bread Pudding
Whipped Peanut Butter Cheesecake
Grouper With Sauteed Vegetables
Water
Mousse Cake
Ocean
Oyster Prep
Whole Flounder With A Side Of Lobster Tails
Pan Seared Grouper
Cucumber Salad
The Way We Roll
Grilled Whole Red Snapper
Homemade Poptart
Lobster tails
Wood Grilled Flounder
Wood Grilled Lobster Tails
Spicy Lobster Rangoons
Coffee With Baileys
Wood Grilled Pompano Fish
raw oysters
Vodka Martini
Steak, Lobster Tails, Scallops, Cobia Platter
Greek Style Salad With Fried Feta
Baklava Ice Cream With Rose Scented Honey, Vanilla Anglaise
Peach Bread Pudding
Lobster Bisque
Cosmo & A Dirty Martini
Shrimp Bisque
James Brown Soul Rolls
Grilled Cobia and Lobster Tails
Fried flounder

Ocean Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Alabama
Most Booked
Alabama
Best Service
Birmingham
4 More
Fit for Foodies
Birmingham
Romantic
Birmingham
Special Occasion
Birmingham
Most Booked
Birmingham
Best Restaurants in Birmingham ›

Special Occasion (92)
Fit for Foodies (70)
Romantic (64)
See All
Notable Wine List (48)
Hot Spot (33)
Good for Groups (33)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Good for a Date (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Business Meals (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fun (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Casual (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Authentic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Cozy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Private Room (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Healthy (1)
Family Style (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
618 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I dine at Ocean for two purp ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

My wife and I dine at Ocean for two purposes. These are dinners involving (1) faculty or potential faculty at our workplace and (2) celebrations for us or our family. Tonight (9/21) was a great way for us settle down from lots of stressful experiences for several days. It simply was wonderful and since there only 2 of us in mid-week, we consumed alcohol lightly and had both great fish and red meat appetizers and entrees. It was simply wonderful and the staff of Ocean continue to be the best in Birmingham. They provided different ways to make alterations in our entrees and to some extent the appetizers. It was a superb evening!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Historic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice from the moment we walked in. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Very nice from the moment we walked in.

Larry and David provided great service!

Oysters and crab cakes were great! Greek Salad with fried feta and heirloom tomatoes...amazing. Filet and lobster tails...awesome!! The pear pop tart and baklava ice cream...OMG...Out of this world delicious!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have not been to Ocean in quite a whi ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We have not been to Ocean in quite a while and after our recent dinner, I am wondering why I wasted time at other not so great restaurants. The food was outstanding and the desserts were insane. Great dining experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredibly delicious seafood. Wonderful ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Incredibly delicious seafood. Wonderful preparation. Creative presentation. And, I know it's counterintuitive but, they also have THE best steak/filet ever!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very enjoyable. Good food great service. ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very enjoyable. Good food great service. A little noisy, but acceptable.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Meal before the show...spectacular! Love ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Meal before the show...spectacular! Love love love this wonderful restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food with a very professional ...

 
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wonderful food with a very professional and attentive wait staff. Not over priced for what you get excellent food. I would recommend this to anyone asking for a quality upscale restaurant

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good and the service was ex ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food was good and the service was exceptional. The noise level was high so quiet conversation was not an option. Not a great place for a meeting or a first date. It was pleasant to have the high level of service and great food with the courses served with perfect timing. I probably would not go back for another date night, but to go with a group of friends would be fun.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We were very pleased with the staff duri ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We were very pleased with the staff during our dinner. This was our engagement dinner and the entire staff was very interactive with us sharing our excitement. The food was as always exceptional and the new lemon lavender ice cream so good.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful. The bouillaba ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Everything was wonderful. The bouillabaisse in curry was unique and delicious! Our other dishes were excellent as well. The waiter was very attentive but not too much. The only disappointment was that I had told them it was my husbands birthday and they confirmed that with me over the phone but the waited did not get the message or forgot. They usually give you a very nice dessert for your bday. After the check I did tell the waiter I was paying because it was his bday so he gave us a dessert to go. Not quite the same.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Ocean is always our restaurant of choice ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Ocean is always our restaurant of choice when in Birmingham. Excellent food, great ambiance and outstanding service. Cuisine is always consistently fresh and well presented.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I both felt the food was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

My husband and I both felt the food was extremely overpriced based off of the portions. While it was tasty, we left feeling like we had been taken advantage of. On top of that, although we made reservations, they squeezed us in between two other tables where we were right on top of other guests. The ambiance and noise level was terrible. To spend $154 on two tiny entrees and two glasses of wine in that atmosphere, we felt ripped off. We will not be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Had heard wonderful things about the res ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Had heard wonderful things about the restaurant but it was extremely hot, extremely loud and not conducive to an enjoyable dinner. It's hard to determine if the food was really just ok or if it was just too hot in there to actually enjoy the food. Terribly disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

Ocean is one of our favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Ocean is one of our favorite restaurants for great dining in a causal atmosphere. Great service, terrific food...we're never disappointed.

Most times we like to sit at the bar because the bartenders (especially Carlos) are so friendly and fun to chat with. We always meet new friends at the bar as well. Seems to be where the action is.

sometimes we prefer a private experience and get a table. It's cozy and wonderful.

Everything we've tried is exceptional. Love the fresh oysters--many to choose from. Grilled lobster tail appetizer is fantastic and so is the Ocean salad. The scallops are the best I've ever had, every time. I like seafood specials--flounder, pompano, snapper...

We are good cooks and eat at home quite often but we don't make seafood nearly as good as Ocean.

Great wine list too...Carlos is a well educated sommalier, so if he's around, ask for his advice.

Bon appetit!

Tags: Cozy, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waited 30 minutes after our confirmed re ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Waited 30 minutes after our confirmed reservation time to be sat with so much as a "sorry" or an offer of complimentary cocktails while waiting. Half the items we ordered weren't up to par. Bar staff excelled and all items at cold bar were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Service was polite, friendly and knowled ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Service was polite, friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. Food was cooked perfectly. The calamari appetizer could be for two. Definitely will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There were several menu choices. The foo ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

There were several menu choices. The food tasted fresh and good. The whole wood grilled snapper and Thai green curry sea food medley with jasmine rice was cooked to our taste and selection. Overall great experience.

A bit pricey though, but I would recommend for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unsatisified and unsatiated. First time ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Unsatisified and unsatiated. First time.There was no AirConditioning in the middle of an Alabama summer? A pungent aroma of fish in w/the humidity( yes, is is a fish eatery) ameliorated by a little R-134a. Coat & tie, sweated the whole dinner. I reserved for 2 small Table main traffic of servers. Reservations online 10 days ago, they still gave me an let's-stick-em'-here kinda table. Thought get a better table for reserving so early. Pays to reconnoiter in advance. Restaurant Week, but didn't care 4 a meal-deal. Wanted FULL dining experience. Waiter Logan hurried and sweating when he got to our table food stains on his shirt. He sold me a $75.00 bottle of wine when I thought it was $50.00 never discussed the prices. Not felt comfortable, did not convey a pleasant feeling for a good experience. Extremely noisy. Couldn't hear pronunciation of wine just accidentally purchased. Can one eat in a frenetic environment? That's why places like Flemmings, et al. don't have to scream to talk. What I had was good. Paint an image in your mind of the dish from the menu I'm going to eat, comes to the table, disappointed by the portion. Plate is HUGE and food small. Invest in the larger portion(2 extra scallops) still retain essence of presentation. Banks scallops. 4 of them done perfectly $31.00 plus black eyed peas 2 oz w/ heirloom tomatoes 4 about 1/2 inch long sliced in half in the BEP's. Scallops for 22.00/lb at Whole Foods. Averaged sized person, Fig dessert was good, small decent portion. Appetizer, Coconut curry soup. Thin and light in flavor. Tasty though Spent 175.00 for 2 a vanilla gratuity of 17%. Tip someone 25% part selling you $75.00 bottle? So, there you have it, if you like going to a noisy, humid, crowded place trying to talk over everyone in a studio-like atmosphere, with everyone running around frantically ( I hate to see what goes on in the kitchen ), and dieting this is the place for you. Thanks for reading... The unofficial food critic

8/22/16

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Superb service, fantastic food, beautifu ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Superb service, fantastic food, beautiful surroundings. Another perfect dining experience at a favorite restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our fourth visit to Ocean and s ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This was our fourth visit to Ocean and so we had high expectations during Birmingham Restaurant Week as we have never had a bad meal here. Sad to say, we were very disappointed in the food! We ordered the special flounder from the BRW menu (if at Ocean I'm going to eat seafood and expect it to be fabulous!) and honestly, I cook better fish at home! The flounder was overcooked, dry and very salty! On top of that, even though the squash gratin and fried okra were tasty, everything on the plate was the same color - a very boring tan! On a good note, the appetizer of fried oysters and pork belly was delicious (although the egg yolk that came with it was horrible - salty and so thick it couldn't be spread). The dessert was good, too, as was the French press coffee. Our server was terrific with a very pleasant personality. I can only hope that the chef was just having an off night and it won't be repeated since Ocean has been one of our favorite restaurants. This makes us a little nervous to go back and see! Even though we spent $90 (probably half of what it could have been) that was too much to pay for a less than satisfying meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We had been wanting to try Ocean for ove ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had been wanting to try Ocean for over 2 years and it did not disappoint. Best oysters we've ever had. Great service, amazing food. A awesome overall experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first dinner at Ocean since ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This was our first dinner at Ocean since they completed the revision of the dining area about 6 months ago. The dining area now feels much roomier and the noise of the dining crowd (between 6pm and 8:30pm) was much lower. Also, our waiter was remarkably like the top waiters one often has in France and other western Europe locations. He was very attentive, knew the new menu very well, and represents the restaurant exceptionally well. My wife particularly liked the appetizer of heirloom tomato salad with goat cheese ice cream. I was most happy with a dozen raw oysters (none from the Gulf of Mexico-a wise choice) appetizer and Hereford filet. The former Ocean was usually great but the new Ocean is really the very best and most reliable in Birmingham.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visited for restaurant week. The food w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Visited for restaurant week. The food was not bad but it also was nothing to write home about. Again, we went for restaurant week so we stuck that menu offering only. Goat cheese ice cream is definitely different and I encourage everyone to try it. The server was very personable and attentive and introduced me to a new wine that I now love. I will probably be back to give the food another chance based on my preferences instead of adhering to a smaller menu. And they have valet parking which is great considering the downtown area location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My food was outstanding. My wife's was g ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

My food was outstanding. My wife's was good except her entrée which was flounder ( the special for Birmingham Restaurant Week) and was supposed to be crisp but was not (and slightly overcooked and dry). My entrée was excellent (grouper over summer vegetable ragout), and her appetizer was also (fried oysters with a side of smoked barbeque pork). Her dessert was also quite good. Service was absolutely outstanding: knowledgeable, attentive, and unobtrusive. We were in a quiet corner, but the main room was quite loud and completely full by the time we left.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great meal and service. Can't wait to g ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great meal and service. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we have been several times and the food, ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

we have been several times and the food, service, etc is consistently good. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has always been my family's go-to f ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This has always been my family's go-to for any special occasion. We love their deep booths, amazing service, and the food is simply outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fish always fresh and well prepared. Lot ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fish always fresh and well prepared. Lots of non-fish options also. Fresh oysters were deemed excellent. Great selection of salads and deserts.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I celebrated our annivers ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary and my mother's 91st birthday at Ocean and had a delightful evening. The wait staff was attentive, and made us feel very special!! I enjoyed a cocktail from their specialty cocktail list and also liked the wine our waiter helped us select for dinner. The fish dishes my husband and I ordered were well prepared and honestly the fresh summer vegetables served with the fish tasted as if they had come from the garden that very morning! My mother's steak was cooked exactly as she ordered and appeared tender and juicy. Desserts were peach cobbler and bread pudding which we all shared and were equally delicious. My only negative was the noise level was a bit loud for us. I realize this may have more to do with our age than Ocean's ambiance.

Ocean did not disappoint. I would definitely recommend and hope to return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I typically have a very good experience ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I typically have a very good experience at Ocean. This last time, I was a little embarrassed by the service. When I arrived for my reservation, I was taken to a booth (table for 2). Unfortunately, I'm about 8 months pregnant and could not fit in the booth. They offered a seat in the courtyard, but it was too muggy outside due to rain. I was then seated in the main dining hall, but informed that sense I was 15 minutes late for my reservation I needed to be done eating by 7:30. I felt embarrassed about the whole situation and am not sure I will return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Very disappointed in our overall experie ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Very disappointed in our overall experience; in the past, I've always had great food and prompt, knowledgeable service; however, this time the service was very slow from the time we arrived, and the food was average at best. Won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Great fresh seafood. Recommend the cra ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great fresh seafood. Recommend the crab cakes (appetizer), the halibut, and the creme brulee.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were at Ocean to celebrate a birthday ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were at Ocean to celebrate a birthday. Our waiter, Logan , was very knowledgeable about the various menu items and wine parings. We especially enjoyed the bouillabaisse, with its dramatic presentation, and the chocolate bottom coconut almond creme brulee. Dessert was served with a candle and a birthday card signed by the staff. A nice way to acknowledge a birthday at a classy restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole flounder was great!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The whole flounder was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our table was ready at our on-time arriv ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Our table was ready at our on-time arrival. Service was attentive but unobtrusive. We chose a sushi role for appetizer and seafood for main course. The food could not have been better. The restaurant was a bit noisy because of sizable groups of diners near us who seemed to be having a great time. It had been about two years since we dined at Ocean. Although this was a special occasion we will not wait for a special occasion to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We hadn't been to Ocean for a while and ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We hadn't been to Ocean for a while and had forgotten how good the food is. It was wonderful and we can't wait to go back. The service was wonderful and very attentive which made our special occasion VERY special.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very likely one of the best seafood rest ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Very likely one of the best seafood restaurants in the area. The ambience and service are excellent, and the food is delicious. My sole was, however, overcooked and had rather a small slice of lemon with which to try to rehydrate its flesh. Everything else was fine, so it gets a very good from me, not an excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved everything about Ocean. Would reco ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Loved everything about Ocean. Would recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ocean gave us the excellent meal and ser ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Ocean gave us the excellent meal and service we expect as frequent patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Knowledgeable, expert service and perfec ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Knowledgeable, expert service and perfectly prepared seafood made our visit to Ocean very memorable. I give it my highest recommendation. If you're visiting from out-of-town, be aware parking is at a premium in this part of Birmingham. We found a parking garage a couple blocks away, so that worked out OK.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.