Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 21 times today

Ocean

4.6
1070 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Perfect For:
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
  • Romantic
Ocean has been locally owned and operated by George Reis since 2002 and is located in the historic Five Points district of Birmingham’s Southside. Enjoy a casual night out with friends at the inviting and contemporary patio bar, or venture inside for some of the best seafood in town and an award-winning dining experience.
Ocean offers fresh seafood in an exciting and contemporary atmosphere. The menu features a wide selection of fish and fresh oysters arriving daily. Ocean focuses on sourcing sustainable seafood, local produce, and is proud to support local farms. Pulling flavors and inspiration from around the globe, Ocean is the recipient of the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for 2007-2015, the Wine Spectator Award 2004-2015, and is the winner of the Alabama Seafood Cookoff in 2015. Voted Best Chef, Wine List and rated 5 stars by the Birmingham News,
Reservations accepted Tuesday through Saturday.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Contemporary American, International
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(205) 933-0999
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
George Reis
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
For information about our private dining facilities and private dining options, please contact our event coordinator, Rachel Langdon, at: Rachel@oceanbirmingham.com or give us a call at: (205) 933-0999
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Rachel Langdon: (205) 933-0999
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
For information about catering options, please contact our event coordinator, Rachel Langdon, at: Rachel@oceanbirmingham.com or call us at: (205)933-0999
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Highland and 13th Ave
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary Valet Parking
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1070 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Great experience with Dave. We celebrated my girlfriends birthday and Ocean made us feel very welcome. It was good seeing Joe the Bartender as well. Great service and food, Ocean. Thanks Again!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Great service. Quality food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

always so good unbelievable food seafood oysters great service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We travel frequently and this was one of the best meals we have ever had!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Ocean is my ultimate favorite Birmingham restaurant. For the first time in 20 years, my experience was only slightly disappointing. Just an off night for the crew, but Ocean is still the best restaurant in Birmingham.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Lisa was AWESOME. She made us feel right at home. Everyone with whom we came into contact was professional and friendly. I have already recommended Ocean to several people.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

I thought the food was good, but over priced. There are better restaurants in Birmingham.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 12, 2018

My husband had a

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Excellent food and service! Loved the scallops. A little noisy when we first arrived but not as bad during dinner.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 8, 2018

What a dreary evening. I had booked a table that was NOT to be on the covered patio, but that was where we were seated. In one of the most depressing rooms I've ever been in. We ordered Oysters Bienville, which had to be sent back since they were sub par and inedible. Since we were sitting in Siberia, the waiter chose to ignore us during the thirty minutes that it took for our entrees to arrive. Instead of trying to make up for the oysters, the split plate of grouper that a couple ordered arrived and we were actually charged a split plating fee of $3.50. Due to the oyster mishap, the waiter could have given each diner a full portion or, at the very least, waived the plating fee. Just a really bad night in almost every respect. The prices are outrageous... so go with the best... any Frank Stitt or Jay Hastings place and don't waste your money on this one...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

This was my second time and the food was excellent. We went on a Saturday night and had no issues parking and were seated as soon as we arrived, right on time with the reservation. No complaints but I will say this time the bartender was a bit on the slow side. We had to ask 2-3 times about drinks once ordered before they were brought to the table. It would not be worth saying if it was once but each time we had to say something. The food was right on point and the environment was great for what we were looking for. I would recommend this place to anyone and would highly suggest a reservation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

We always enjoy the oysters and the fish selection on the menu.
Great restaurant

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 29, 2018

I have been going for over 10 years. The menu has gone downhill from 5 to 10 years ago. Slow service and just not a must go to anymore. My last time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

The food was great & service was outstanding. We will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

This was my wife`s birthday. Our table was ready, the service was great, and our meal (the seafood tower) was delicious. Overall, a very good experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 21, 2018

It was almost perfect--great service, great food, good pacing. The grouper was a bit overdone (a touch dry), but otherwise, fantastic!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 16, 2018

We arrived exactly 18 minutes late for a 630 Res , 3 minutes beyond their 15 min limit and were not seated in the dining room . Instead they put us in a noisy courtyard area

Very rude in my opinion

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Great anniversary dinner. Service and food were tops

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Visiting our oldest son that just graduated from school and now working.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

My wife loves Ocean!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We always love going to Ocean. Our children and grandchildren look forward to going back time after time. They were starting to run out of live lobster, so our server made it her mission to make certain that the restaurant saved ours. We had a wonderful experience and are looking forward to going back! By the way, kudos to our server. She was wonderful!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Great service, great food. We will certainly be coming back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2018

The food was wonderful! The service not so much. Once we had gotten our entrees our waiter disappeared. We wanted another bottle of wine but had almost finished our meal by the time the waiter came back to check on our table. And dessert? We would have ordered dessert, but after 30 minutes of waiting on him to come back to take our order.......we were ready to leave and we passed.

Also, your valet service needs a lesson in manners. When it's raining, they should have umbrellas and help guests out of their cars.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Ocean is a go to for great food and atmosphere - the raw bar and oyster selection is always excellent. The chef is creative but there are standards you can count on. The fried flounder is the best in fried fish in the city(sorry George)

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 10, 2018

The restaurant was not overly crowded; it was a standard Friday dinner, no frills. We had reservations for over a month and got the table in the highest traffic spot in the place. I could deal with that, however the “experience” was just mind-numbing. Our waiter seemed to have, either a problem with the English language, or he thought he knew better than us, but everything seemed labored. Our drinks were slow to come out, but eventually they arrived after almost 20 minutes. Then hope arrived, we ordered the hickory grilled lobster tail. It was brought to the table forthwith, hot and smelling wonderful. It was the highlight of the evening, hence the lower review.
Our entrees took almost another hour to arrive and they were just okay. We sampled the scallops, shrimp, grouper, and the snapper. The snapper was actually fishy and didn’t impress. The grouper was decent, but boring. I could have gone to any number of places for the scallops and shrimp, which tasted alright at best. They were not worth the trip. However, after some more time, Desert was brought out. Well, the wrong desert, but we won’t go there. The Baklava ice cream was something to note, but the plane was already crashing 2 1/2 hours into this “experience”.
Takeaways - Go to Ocean if you want good appetizers and a 50% chance of getting your desert. Entrees, meh. Service, blah. Coffee, strangely good (French Press).

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 10, 2018

We have eaten at Ocean many times over the last 20 years and generally been satisfied. Our experience Friday evening was bad. The fish was fine. However, it was on top of a small mound of mashed sweet potatoes that was highly salted and otherwise tasteless. Buried in the mound of sweet potatoes were a very few other root vegetables. It looked like leftovers from the night before. Most fine dining restaurants are attending to serving high quality vegetables. We are not interested in the usual fake farm to table claims, organic and non-GMO. Rather fresh vegetables without excessive salt and sauce are appreciated. Ocean seems to have missed that message. Man does not like by fish alone. Also my wife had the trio of ice creams. One was completely melted when it arrived at the table and came without the cookies listed on the menu. Next time we will go Fish Market for a better meal at half the price.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 8, 2018

The seafood was excellent. The service was very good. The only downside was that the open dinning room was extremely loud, making it hard for conversation or even to hear the servers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Ocean is great. It is always a fine dining experience. It is not stuffy. The food was great especially the lobster. They worked well with my son who is pretty picky. The service was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

We celebrated my mother's 83 birthday. The staff signed a card for her. She was so pleased. Our waiter was excellent, on time, gave good suggestions and kept our water, coffee, drinks refilled without being intrusive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

We arrived at our designated reservation time of 6pm on Saturday evening. Had requested a table by the windows if available. Disappointed to be shown to a table in a dark corner near the rear of the restaurant. The benefit of this disappointing seating was to be served by William, who is particularly gracious and skilled.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

It was lovely for a special occasion and both the staff and the sushi was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

We loved our experience at this restaurant! Our server was excellent and our food was delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Not my first time, but took my daughter-in-law, and two daughters for a night out. The food was delicious. The waiter was above and beyond. He made suggestions which helped a lot. Parking was the only problem for one daughter and daughter-in-law. One daughter and I used the valet parking which was very nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

great food and service. the fish and lobster tails were great. the ocean salad was very good. we were able to split an entrée without a hassle. the overall experience was fantastic.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 1, 2018

The recommendations were excellent. Their Oceans Salad and the Baklava Desert were awesome. Portions seemed a little on the light side, but it was still filling. The fish tasted very fresh and was seasoned very well.

This is an excellent restaurant for a business meal and could be considered an excellent choice for a date night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 28, 2018

The Greek salad with fried feta is a MUST when dining at Ocean. My all-time fav!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 25, 2018

2.5 hrs overall

1.5 hrs until apps served

3x were told entree was 10-15 min away

Not waiter fault - kitchen couldn’t handle dinner service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

It was my Husband's 62nd birthday. I wanted to gift him fine dining just for two and you all delivered. He was skeptical at first, until the Calamari arrived at our table; it was the best we ever had (and we have traveled abroad). Then once his entree came, after his first bite, he was sold. My husband loves seafood; I can attest that Ocean surprised him with authentic & superbly fresh seafood. We will definitely dine again and have already referred others. We were referred by Dr. Deborah Smith, who frequents your establishment regularly.
Thank you for helping me to give my Husband a beautiful birthday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Ocean's is our favorite place for special occasions. A bit pricey, but never fails to deliver on quality and service.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
27