About Ocean

Ocean has been locally owned and operated by George Reis since 2002 and is located in the historic Five Points district of Birmingham’s Southside. Enjoy a casual night out with friends at the inviting and contemporary patio bar, or venture inside for some of the best seafood in town and an award-winning dining experience.
Ocean offers fresh seafood in an exciting and contemporary atmosphere. The menu features a wide selection of fish and fresh oysters arriving daily. Ocean focuses on sourcing sustainable seafood, local produce, and is proud to support local farms. Pulling flavors and inspiration from around the globe, Ocean is the recipient of the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for 2007-2015, the Wine Spectator Award 2004-2015, and is the winner of the Alabama Seafood Cookoff in 2015. Voted Best Chef, Wine List and rated 5 stars by the Birmingham News,
Reservations accepted Tuesday through Saturday.

1218 20th Street South
Birmingham, AL 35205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Highland and 13th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 933-0999

Website:
http://www.oceanbirmingham.com/

Catering:
For information about catering options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or call us at: (205)933-0999

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
George Reis

Private Party Facilities:
For information about our private dining facilities and private dining options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or give us a call at: (205) 933-0999

Private Party Contact:
Heather Boone: (205) 933-0999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ocean Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (78)
Good for a Date (61)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
See All
Fit for Foodies (51)
Good for Birthdays (45)
Romantic (44)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Business Meals (39)
Worth the Drive (31)
Notable Wine List (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Local Ingredients (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Hot Spot (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (19)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Fun (18)
Authentic (17)
Cozy (16)
Modern Decor (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Healthy (12)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Wood Oven (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Private Room (6)
Seasonal (5)
Casual (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
People Watching (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Family Style (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dancing (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
826 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

It was incredible! It takes a lot to impress me when it comes to food and I was blown away! Get the redfish!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

The sushi was delicious and the portions were worth the price. The atmosphere was pleasant but it could get loud at times. We will be returning in the near future.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

I had a wonderful meal at Ocean. The food was exquisite and to top it off - the Server was magnificent. He was knowledgeable about not only everything on the menu, but he paired wine with our meals perfectly. That special attention truly made the difference over and above already excellent seafood. The oysters were fresh and yummy! Everyone's meal was prepared perfectly. I highly recommend this for a Business Meal, or for just a special occasion or desire to eat amazing seafood and be well take care of. A wonderful find in Birmingham!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service and wonderful staff. Thank you for making my Anniversary perfect.

Tags: Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was impeccable. Our waiter knew the menu well and provided details and recommendations. This includes the wine menu. The food was expertly and carefully prepared. The look and feel of the restaurant was appealing and intimate. We were very close to another table but situated so that we couldn't hear their conversation nor could they be involved in ours. It's wonderful that valet parking was provided because I can't imagine where we would have parked! We are definitely coming back to try more dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Good was great but way too loud. Told ahead it was bday celebration and said they would acknowledge but did not.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Overall, we had a decent experience. Maybe we had too high of expectations, though. Food was good, but not great. Service was alright, but slow. Not necessarily the waiter's fault -- he had too many tables to take care of in our section. Would go again, but not as frequently as some of the other high-end restaurants in Birmingham.

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Excellent ! Ww enjoyed the food very mush and out server Tabitha was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Family Style, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had wonderful time at Ocean to celebrate my son's birthday. The server was excellent and the staff was extremely attentive. All of our dishes were a different type of fish and they were all prepared beautifully. We liked the fact that they allowed different fish to be served on the plate set ups. I can't say enough about what a great experience dining at Ocean was.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Ocean was the perfect date night restaurant to go to. The menu was fabulous if you like seafood, and the food that both myself and my date ordered met and exceeded our expectations. Would definitely recommend for anyone looking for a date night or special occasion spot. Ocean was by far the best seafood I've had while not being at the coast. The wine list was extremely pricey, but overall was an amazing experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food, great service. It was a special occasion, and the evening was fun. Fantastic appetizers, and the entre's were great too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Very nice meal. The service was perfect until it was time for the main course. It took a long time. Our waitress noticed and hurried things along, but alas it was slow.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Service was terrible . They knew it was terrible-we didn't complain and asked for dessert menu, waited and waited no one to return to take our order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We loved Ocean! The food was innovative, very fresh and quite delicious Unique libations .Nice attentive service and a lively atmosphere. Will go back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Ocean as usual was an excellent place to spend the evening. We have probably eaten here three or four times over the last year. The fresh seafood and sushi is outstanding. We had the seafood tower which was excellent. The combination of steamed king crab, shrimp, muscles, and a dozen or so fresh oysters was fantastic. The wood grilled lobster was fantastic. The sushi was imaginative and tasty The only problem that we had this night was the ventilation system was not working appropriately and we got a little overdose from the wood fire grill. The courteous, prompt and friendly staff made up for the inconvenience. We will be headed back soon

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Excellent experience! Lobster tempura sushi roll, wood-grilled lobster tails, and the largest whole flounder that I have ever seen, all perfectly prepared and served in our requested pre-theater time frame. Lance, our server, was knowledgeable, proficient, and pleasant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food was outstanding. Very friendly service. Definitely suggest this place if you haven't been.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We have dined at Ocean several times, each time special in its own way. This was perhaps the best of all. It was Prom Night. Our service was the usual "first rate" kind we know we will enjoy. What was special was watching the staff accommodate with style the sometimes odd and awkward requests of their young customers. These young adults had the Prom Dinner of their dreams. I hope their big nights ended with the easy sophistication and comfortable elegance with which they began. Ocean gave them happy memories. Well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Wonderful experience and very pleased that they had my favorite wine!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We did not get seated until 25 minutes past the appointed time and believe that others without reservations were seated ahead of us. In fact we have to urge the host to seat us. We then were offered a very mediocre seat. However, the manager was apologetic and made up for it with free drinks, another seat and the waiter was personable and indeed superb.

Tags: Casual, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great food; slow to get seated even with a reservation. After seating, service started off very slow but did speed up eventually.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Romantic, Casual, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Dinner before Phantom of the Opera. Fantastic dinner with friends and a special treat from Ronnie the most excellent bartender. Highly recommend Whole fish grouper. Yum yum yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great as always. Oysters and Ocean salad were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Tabitha was a phenomenal server and the whole crew was pleasant and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Ocean was by far, the best restaurant I have ever eaten at in the gr3eater Birmingham area. My partner and I arrived for a later dinner, around 9:30, and were blown away at the impeccable quality of the amazing seafood, and service that was provided. Logan, our server, was extremely knowledgeable and made some great recommendations. We will most certainly be back, as Ocean is truly a gem nestled in Birmingham. Thanks for a making it epic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 1, 2017

. requested quiet table and it was perfect. first time ordering butter lobster which was enough for next day snack.. just as good cold ... very good wine choices .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Bar Seating, Authentic, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We took friends that are getting married next week. The manager, Larry, and our server, Logan made us feel very special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 31, 2017

All was good as usual as it has been each time we have been there

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Excellent!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was our first visit to Ocean and we probably will not return anytime soon. The dining room looked lovely, but we were seated in what appeared to be patio closed in for the winter that was not nearly as attractive. We could see the main dining room from our table and it was no more than half full the entire time we were there. Our table was close to the street and rain and street noise were distracting. The server offered no suggestions and did not explain the menu at all when we told her it was our first time dining there. She did ask if we had any questions.Fish that was supposed to be deboned in the kitchen was not and tuna that I requested cooked medium was barely seared on top and bottom. Our bill was incorrect. We were charged for an appetizer that we were told was complimentary and charged separately for salads we were told came with the meal. Friends had told us how much they liked Ocean, but we were very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Date night with my wife. Stuck us in the terrace/bar rather than main dining room. They were out of both entrees that we ordered and it was only 7:30. My wife got hickory smoked lobster. It was small and tough. I had red snapper that was just ok. It took 50 mins to get our entrees. The server told us on 3 separate occassions that they were plating our food. Really? Go to Highland Grill instead

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 21, 2017

The food at Ocean was great, as usual, and the service and management are awesome. Micah is the best. He takes care of any of your needs and makes the customer feel special. I constantly recommend Ocean to my friends and family and will now recommend Micah. We will be back.....

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Our friends 5th anniversary

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Service was excellent, food was amazing. Very impressed and will be going back.

Tags: Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

One of the most enjoyable restaurant experiences we've had in many years. The service was outstanding, our waiter was always there at the right time with the right item. The food was outstanding, just the right serving size, great presentation. We've found our anchor seafood restaurant in the Birmingham area.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Still one of my favs! They always go above and beyond the menu for the customer.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Fantastic experience. A place where service and food were perfect together.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Patrick took excellent care of us as we entertained my mother-in-law and niece. It was their first time dining at Ocean and they thoroughly enjoyed the meal, service and ambience. Thank you, everyone at Ocean for another wonderful evening and dining experience. We'll be back soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great food and beautiful surroundings. The service was wonderful. We had a great evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Excellent service and wait staff. Nice selections of wine to taste before ordering. Delicious food from appetizers to entrees to dessert

Tags: Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.