About Ocean

Ocean has been locally owned and operated by George Reis since 2002 and is located in the historic Five Points district of Birmingham’s Southside. Enjoy a casual night out with friends at the inviting and contemporary patio bar, or venture inside for some of the best seafood in town and an award-winning dining experience.
Ocean offers fresh seafood in an exciting and contemporary atmosphere. The menu features a wide selection of fish and fresh oysters arriving daily. Ocean focuses on sourcing sustainable seafood, local produce, and is proud to support local farms. Pulling flavors and inspiration from around the globe, Ocean is the recipient of the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for 2007-2015, the Wine Spectator Award 2004-2015, and is the winner of the Alabama Seafood Cookoff in 2015. Voted Best Chef, Wine List and rated 5 stars by the Birmingham News,
Reservations accepted Tuesday through Saturday.

1218 20th Street South
Birmingham, AL 35205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Highland and 13th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 933-0999

Website:
http://www.oceanbirmingham.com/

Catering:
For information about catering options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or call us at: (205)933-0999

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
George Reis

Private Party Facilities:
For information about our private dining facilities and private dining options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or give us a call at: (205) 933-0999

Private Party Contact:
Heather Boone: (205) 933-0999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ocean Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (62)
Special Occasion (61)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
See All
Fit for Foodies (49)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Romantic (40)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Business Meals (33)
Notable Wine List (29)
Worth the Drive (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Bar Seating (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Authentic (18)
Hot Spot (18)
Good for Groups (14)
Cozy (13)
Fun (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Healthy (11)
Modern Decor (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Wood Oven (7)
Casual (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Seasonal (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
People Watching (4)
Private Room (4)
Organic (4)
Family Style (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Dancing (1)
Waterfront (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
868 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

This was a return trip to Ocean and overall, it did not disappoint. Service at the bar was AWFUL as we waited on the table. We didn't get drinks until our table was ready 15 minutes after sitting down. Service once seated was EXCEPTIONAL. Attentive and enthusiastic with good recommendations for food. Fried Green Tomatoes, Greek Salad, Cobia and Tuna were all wonderful. Other than bar service, my only complaint was the smoke (kitchen, not cigarette) in the restaurant. Clearly, they have a ventilation issue. Our clothes were saturated with the smell, our eyes burned, and we both sneezed all night. I would suggest getting the issue dealt with - it was bad!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything we tried to order they were out of from ginger beer to lobster all before 730 because someone messed up ordering supplies.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Delighted we chose this venue for an 80th birthday celebration! The food was very good, and the service was outstanding!! Our waiter, Logan, was helpful, attentive, and enthusiastic. Other members of the staff came by with good wishes, and it was nice to receive a special dessert, complete with candle.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and even better service. Made our anniversary dinner even more memorable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and great service every time we go. Valet service makes it convenient. One of the best restaurants in the Birmingham area and that is saying a lot. The Sushi is a must. I've tried several entrees and haven't had a bad one yet. The baby lobster tails as an entrée or appetizer is great. The scallops are always a safe choice. Had the Tuna this time and it was perfect. They have a few non-seafood items but if you are going to Ocean they do seafood about as good as you'll get anywhere.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Food & service excellent. Very noisy due to large group dinners-hard to hear conversation at table.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The restaurant is great! The service is 5 star! Wine list is large but priced very well. The ability to have parking avail is great.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Food was excellent, the dining room the night of our visit was UNBEARABLY hot however. Our guests were fanning themselves the entire meal

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Extremely pleasant and tasty. Not rushed at all.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Got off to a bad start, we had a reservation for out door seating. We arrived 15 min before our reservation had a couple of drinks while we waited. 20 min after our reservation time they let us know that they could not seat us outside because of a larger party they were getting ready to seat. So they ended up seating us inside. It was just frustrating because there were tables outside and inside that were empty the entire time.
That being said,the service at the table and food was good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Service, drinks and oysters were excellent, but the fish dishes were not very inspiring. They sounded wonderful on the menu but we were disappointed with the meal. My fish was dry and overcooked and my husband's dish were overly seasoned.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The food and staff were fantastic. We were there for3 hours, and they offered to comp one of our entrees due to the wait (the wait for food/drinks, not wait for a table). The service was very slow, but they were doing everything they could to make up for it, and it worked. Would go again.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 34th wedding anniversary at Ocean tonight. It's been our favorite restaurant for several years, but tonight was even better. The personal attention from Logan, our server, and Larry, the manager, was appreciated. The food was absolutely fantastic. Looking forward to our next visit.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Unpretentious, friendly knowledgeable staff, great wine selection, fresh and creative food, reasonable prices. We will be back!!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The night we went the AC was out which took away from the overall atmosphere. Parking is bad in the area as well. Negatives aside the food and service were top notch. Don't be afraid to try the filet at a seafood restaurant, it was amazing. Save room for the strawberry cobbler and balsamic ice cream!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Ocean had amazing seafood and desserts. Service was wonderful All in all it was a special experience. We will definitely visit again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The air was out but the food wss fantastic. Will go back again. Hopefully air will be working

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

The food was phenomenal and well portioned - just enough that I felt I was getting my money's worth. Our waiter was also very helpful with recommendations and clearly knew the menu well. They even gifted us a complimentary "baklava ice cream" as we were there to celebrate our anniversary. I wish I lived in Birmingham so I could go back!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Waiter was amazing! Food was awesome. Caramel lava cake was the best!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Desert was sublime!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Excellent service and the food was delicious. My wife and I are both seafood lovers and we were impressed. Although I don't think I got the meal I ordered it was still great. We picked ocean to celebrate our anniversary and the management and wait staff treated us wonderfully on our special day. Definitely recommend a visit!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Dinner was amazing! Service was great and we were seated when we arrive there. Server was very knowledgeable of the menu. Perfect birthday dinner for my husband.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great ambience, pleasant staff and great food and wine selection. We were sat promptly at reserved time.

Only negative was struggling A/C, which the Manager attempted to address by lowering temperature.

All and all still one of top restaurants in Birmingham.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Ocean has fresh seafood and an excellent oyster menu. Booker can be found at the oyster bar and always provides great recommendations. The service is excellent- our waitress was delightful. The only thing missing is the Gin Buck Fizz that used to be on the drink menu. If you're in the mood for sushi, the portions are plentiful. Their watermelon salad is a great summer choice- great place for a fine meal or a simple snack at the bar.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great evening at Ocean. Had a business/ friend dinner for 4 . Great food great service. A little warm in the restaurant so a little less comfortable than we could have been. But all in all a great evening!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 16, 2017

I would definitely recommend this restaurant. The service food and ambience was worth every dime. Will come back again

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Still a very good restaurant. Nothing very exciting or outstanding bargain, but good seafood and reasonable wine list.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Overall, the experience was average. The serving of stone crab was disappointing. The service and desserts were above average.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was the perfect venue to meet up with friends and have a great dinner and time. We all shared the Ocean Seafood Tower!! The stone crab was excellent!! Appetizers were great and one of a kind.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Business Meals, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 13, 2017

one of the best meals I have ever had. The flounder was fantastic and the strawberry dessert very good! Service was also good!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This was my first visit to Birmingham for a business trip and took my client here for dinner. The atmosphere was lovely and the service was fantastic! We had the ocean salad Greek style with fried feta and they split it for two. It was delicious! The red grouper was great and the seafood Thai green curry bouillabaisse was amazing! Dessert was the strawberry Cobbler and caramel lava cake. I would recommend ocean to everyone! Prices very, very reasonable!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our waiter was very friendly and made several suggestions for us. He was attentive and available when we needed him.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We had first round of drinks comped, all the employees signed a card celebrating my date getting into med school. AND they comped our Baklava French vanilla ice cream dessert which was incredible!! Amazing experience

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We love Ocean! It's good for any occasion. You can make it whatever you want!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Always love Ocean! It is great for special occasions, but we love to go just for a nice evening out! They are very attentive and never rush you when you are enjoying a nice long meal.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great sushi, oysters, and main course. Tabitha took care of us from the wine to the desserts and made the evening fun.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our Ocean experience was great. We had the lobster tail appetizer and a selection of oysters. All were delicious. Two of us had the filet (rec from our server) and I had mine with additional scallops. I wasn't a fan of the scallops, they were a bit mushy. But, the filet was excellent. The asparagus side was delicious! The tuna tempura was also great. The only disappointment was the bouillabaisse.....it was more of a few seafood selections steamed (?) in a bowl of a bit of broth. Wasn't a true bouillabaisse. The creme brulee dessert was ok.
But, we would def go back. Our experience was great and the French pressed coffee was delish!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Ocean never disappoints. Exquisite cuisine and exceptional service!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 28, 2017

It was amazing. Wish my town had something like this. Seafood was off the charts.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Fund raising event

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.