About Ocean

1218 20th Street South
Birmingham, AL 35205
View Larger Map

Ocean has been locally owned and operated by George Reis since 2002 and is located in the historic Five Points district of Birmingham’s Southside. Enjoy a casual night out with friends at the inviting and contemporary patio bar, or venture inside for some of the best seafood in town and an award-winning dining experience.
Ocean offers fresh seafood in an exciting and contemporary atmosphere. The menu features a wide selection of fish and fresh oysters arriving daily. Ocean focuses on sourcing sustainable seafood, local produce, and is proud to support local farms. Pulling flavors and inspiration from around the globe, Ocean is the recipient of the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for 2007-2015, the Wine Spectator Award 2004-2015, and is the winner of the Alabama Seafood Cookoff in 2015. Voted Best Chef, Wine List and rated 5 stars by the Birmingham News,
Reservations accepted Tuesday through Saturday.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Highland and 13th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 933-0999

Website:
http://www.oceanbirmingham.com/

Catering:
For information about catering options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or call us at: (205)933-0999

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
George Reis

Private Party Facilities:
For information about our private dining facilities and private dining options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or give us a call at: (205) 933-0999

Private Party Contact:
Heather Boone: (205) 933-0999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Ocean, Birmingham, AL

Report a photo problem

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Come to Ocean for the most romantic dinner in town! We will be featuring special menu items in addtion to our award winning daily menu. We are excited to celebrate a season of love!

Ocean Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (50)
Good for a Date (49)
Good for Anniversaries (39)
See All
Romantic (35)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Business Meals (22)
Notable Wine List (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Bar Seating (17)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Authentic (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Fun (10)
Healthy (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Private Room (9)
Seasonal (7)
Cozy (7)
People Watching (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Casual (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Historic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
733 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food. Great fish. Ate early but s ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food. Great fish. Ate early but service and food were excellent.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent food and service, already look ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service, already looking forward to going back and trying other options on the menu

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Ocean for a family dinner. Th ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

We went to Ocean for a family dinner. The food was really good. The restaurant was uncomfortably warm and the chairs and tables were very crowded.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was fantastic from our server. H ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was fantastic from our server. He was attentive, especially with regards to how long it took us to receive our meal. The food was fresh and done to our specifications. We were not expecting the excessive noice levels and that kept us from enjoying time with our aging parents who could not hear us speaking. Again, service was top notch.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We had a wonderful anniversary celebrati ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had a wonderful anniversary celebration. The food was delicious and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our meal and experience were incredible. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Our meal and experience were incredible. Our waitress provided perhaps the best service we have ever enjoyed anywhere. She was very knowledgeable, made great food and wine selections, and made our birthday girl feel so special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ocean is always a truly superior restaur ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ocean is always a truly superior restaurant but on New Year's Eve 2016, it also was fabulous. Unlike most restaurants in the US, Ocean departed from the usual restaurant approach on holidays. Most restaurants provide a special menu on which diners can make one choice from each of 3 categories (appetizer, entree, and dessert). Such an approach is almost always disappointing. Instead, Ocean produced a truly a wonderful menu with almost as many choices of appetizers, entrees, and desserts as you will find on non-holiday nights. it was really special and I encouraged the waiters to make sure Ocean will always use their new approach to New Years Eve. My wife and I ate at 7pm, but Ocean was packed with customers. Despite the full house, the background noise was very gentle. I think the low noise has a great deal to do with the choice of providing superb meals drawn from nearly full menus . It was a wonderful evening at Ocean on 12/31/2016.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2 and a half years ago, I proposed to my ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

2 and a half years ago, I proposed to my bride in the very same booth that we celebrated our 2nd Anniversary this past Friday evening. As before, the service, wine, food and dessert was perfect. Thank you Elizabeth for serving us and Thanks to the Management for making our Celebration Special!

Ron Forest

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The manager personally greeted us and th ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 30, 2016

The manager personally greeted us and the staff was very accommodating the entire night. Great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant in Birmingham! Always co ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Best restaurant in Birmingham! Always consistent and service is always stellar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice dinner. Always a good place to ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Very nice dinner. Always a good place to Dine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oysters and flounder was great ! Service ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Oysters and flounder was great ! Service was the best out of the 6 or 7 times we have been. Excellent!

Tags: Modern Decor, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed our experience there. The fo ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We enjoyed our experience there. The food is consistently good and beautifully presented. The service started out well but fell off as our section became busier. would go again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

As always, the food was wonderful. We we ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

As always, the food was wonderful. We were a party of 12 and were seated on the Bar patio, which was disappointing. The service is usually very good, but this last time, not so good. We had to ask for more wine. We had to ask for coffee cups, though we had coffee pots on the tables. The crew was just generally not attentive. Unfortunately, next Christmas we plan to visit another restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Nice restaurant in Birmingham, chose it ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Nice restaurant in Birmingham, chose it for location. Given many restaurants in Birmingham would try others. Sent Martini back was t cold enough. My fish was a bit too salty. Overall had a good time.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was awesome once again and the ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was awesome once again and the server Patrick was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding. Food was medioc ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Service was outstanding. Food was mediocre at best. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

our waiter Patrick was great. Cranberry ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 17, 2016

our waiter Patrick was great. Cranberry dessert, lobster appetizer oysters, and ocean salad , as well as the glass of wine selected by Patrick were great. The monkfish was a bit bland (I have eaten monkfish before and like the fish). The martini we had at the bar before dinner was not as cold as we like or normally get served.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have eaten at Ocean many times and thi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I have eaten at Ocean many times and this was the first time that I was disappointed by the quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Always a great experience at Oceans, I h ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Always a great experience at Oceans, I have come here of many times with friends and family. Always a great cuisine and menu. This time was a little crowded with seating, Each one of us kept getting bumped by waiters and patrons. Wish they would keep the pop tarts on the dessert menu!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Seafood was excellent and Patrick our wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Seafood was excellent and Patrick our waiter was very personable.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were very pleased with the overall ex ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We were very pleased with the overall experience of our evening at Ocean. The service was as expected and the food outstanding. We really enjoyed the lobster bisque and greek salad. The pan seared scollops and red snapper were excellent. We finished with dessert and coffee to end a great evening with friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of my favorite restaurants in Birmin ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Birmingham! You must try the tuna bon bons!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food drinks and service. Fir ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Excellent food drinks and service. First time I had been there but won't be last. Very good. Best deal is due the pure fish selection. Be sure to get greek salad with fried feta. Awesome!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was good but not as good as several year ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Was good but not as good as several years ago. It has been several years since I have dined there and it was not as good as I remember. Decent food - just not really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was delicious and the service w ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was impeccable. Fabulous wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our perennial favorites, the food ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 3, 2016

One of our perennial favorites, the food has never disappointed, and this was no exception. In the past, my mild criticisms have included being rushed by our waiter and cramped dining amongst other patrons.

This time our waitress was attentive but at no time rushed us. As far as the close proximity of the tables with other guests, I suppose it is what it is, but I do wish they could do some short partitioning if not reducing and then spreading the tables, particularly the 2-tops.

But, that said, they will remain a favorite and we will be back soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Just outstanding in every aspect! Wait ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Just outstanding in every aspect! Wait staff was very knowledgeable and most pleasant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This was an excellent choice for dining. ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 1, 2016

This was an excellent choice for dining. The service, food, atmosphere was above excellent.

I would recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wood grilled lobster tails.... always d ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Wood grilled lobster tails.... always delicious. Ocean salad a must. Cranberry shortbread not my favorite

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was my husband's birthday & they gave ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 30, 2016

It was my husband's birthday & they gave us a delicious honey ice cream wrapped in some sort of fried dough drizzled with honey. It was outstanding. I had the tuna option, grilled instead of tempura, & it was fantastic. I would recommend Ocean to everyone. We had a great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal and great service. Sure to b ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Great meal and great service. Sure to be back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food and service were good. The only irr ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food and service were good. The only irritation is the first two bottles of wine we tried to order, they were out of. After a $20 upcharge we found one they had in stock.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Ocean has become one of our "go to" rest ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Ocean has become one of our "go to" restaurants when we want fresh oysters, seared scallops or other seafood dish. I tried their lobster this time and it was fabulous. all the mean out of the shell and poached in butter--tender and sweet--and priced right. we can also count on Carlos to find us great wines.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great but noisy...hard to have a convers ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great but noisy...hard to have a conversation. Food was excellent. Food was a bit slow but they were very busy and it was with the wait.

Tags: Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service at Ocean from the front staf ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The service at Ocean from the front staff to the wait staff is always superb...knowledgeable and easy to work with. The menu is wonderful and the preparation is imaginative. The raw oyster selection is the best I know of.

A gem in our city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was great! Our server was ex ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Everything was great! Our server was excellent. Enjoyed the drinks and food.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oceans is a modern classic in Birmingham ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Oceans is a modern classic in Birmingham. It is fresh, inventive with great service. One of the greats in Birmingham.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect date night! Our meal was amazing ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Perfect date night! Our meal was amazing. We started with oysters then moved on to the sushi rolls which were very fresh and delicious. For dinner our server recommended the pompano and red snapper which were superb. We finished our meal with the cranberry shortbread. We were impressed by the outstanding service and very fresh ingredients. We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific service. Our "go to" dining est ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Terrific service. Our "go to" dining establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.