About Ocean

1218 20th Street South
Birmingham, AL 35205
View Larger Map

Ocean has been locally owned and operated by George Reis since 2002 and is located in the historic Five Points district of Birmingham’s Southside. Enjoy a casual night out with friends at the inviting and contemporary patio bar, or venture inside for some of the best seafood in town and an award-winning dining experience.
Ocean offers fresh seafood in an exciting and contemporary atmosphere. The menu features a wide selection of fish and fresh oysters arriving daily. Ocean focuses on sourcing sustainable seafood, local produce, and is proud to support local farms. Pulling flavors and inspiration from around the globe, Ocean is the recipient of the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for 2007-2015, the Wine Spectator Award 2004-2015, and is the winner of the Alabama Seafood Cookoff in 2015. Voted Best Chef, Wine List and rated 5 stars by the Birmingham News,
Reservations accepted Tuesday through Saturday.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Highland and 13th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 933-0999

Website:
http://www.oceanbirmingham.com/

Catering:
For information about catering options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or call us at: (205)933-0999

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
George Reis

Private Party Facilities:
For information about our private dining facilities and private dining options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or give us a call at: (205) 933-0999

Private Party Contact:
Heather Boone: (205) 933-0999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ocean Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (65)
Good for a Date (59)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
See All
Fit for Foodies (45)
Romantic (38)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Business Meals (29)
Worth the Drive (27)
Bar Seating (26)
Notable Wine List (26)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Hot Spot (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Fun (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Authentic (17)
Healthy (17)
Modern Decor (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Cozy (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Private Room (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Casual (5)
People Watching (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Seasonal (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
776 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 5 days ago

The mussels were excellent as was the service. The whole fish options were appreciated.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Ocean is a delicious sushi restaurant. While I had a delicious black grouper entree, it is the sushi that is the real value. Their sushi costs no more than grocery store sushi but it is true quality.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food was awesome. I had the sea scallops meal. I initially thought I would still be hungry, but I wasn't. The meal was filling. I also had Oceans salad & oysters bienville. Love this place.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Hubby and I celebrated my birthday at Ocean. It had been a long time since we had visited and we were thrilled to see that the restaurant was still excellent. The food was amazing and the service was impeccable. Will be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The food was very good, the bartenders presentation was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent service and even more amazing food! Best raw oysters in the southeast. Everything about our experience was incredible. One of my absolute favorite restaurants of all time.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Wonderful spot for a romantic Valentine's dinner. Waite staff was courteous, attentive, knowledgable, and professional. Dinner was outstanding - on par with other high-end restaurants in Birmingham.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I had high hopes for Ocean but it was not the best experience. It was not communicated we would be sitting in the sidebar area, which was both loud and freezing. The oysters and crab cakes to start were delicious and the wine list was nice. The lobster risotto was not risotto. It was overcooked, not creamy, and basically dried out stovetop rice. The butter poached lobster was very good. The caramel lava cake was not as described either. During the changing of the table linens at the next table, the table cloth caught on fire. Throughout the evening, the table next to me had to get up and keep closing the exterior door or I would. Other than the oysters and our waiter, it was a largely forgettable experience.

There are too many other good restaurants out there. I'd recommend somewhere else for you special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was the second time I ate at this restaurant, the service was ok... I wasn't overly impressed by the food and honestly for the price I paid after waiting a long time I just wanted the dinner to end. My wife and I went here for Valentine Day and that might have been the reason why everything was a bit off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We love Oceans for Oysters and special occasions like Valentine's Anniversary. Oysters were great as usual. My wife's green curry bouillabaisse had no spice or curry to tast of and the seafood was a bit overdone. She sent it back. I got 2 apps, the oyster Rockefeller was great, got the spicy tuna bon bon and after one and a half felt sick to my stomach. Excused myself to the restroom with a mouth full of sickness. Dissected the bon bon and took a tiny bite of the tuna and it was terrible. Could not eat after that. Service was great. A disappointment this time but we will return since they have great oysters. Hint: always get PEI. They're the best.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Excellent food and service in a nice setting great for dates.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Visited Ocean on Valentines Day 2017. What a First Class experience it was! The service was impeccable. Our server was extremely knowledgeable about the menu and made some wonderful recommendations. We started with the Blue Crab Cakes and the Spicy Crab Salad Fried Rice Cake Sushi. Both were delicious and tasted so fresh! For entrees my girlfriend had the Gulf Coast Grouper and I had the Filet on the recommendation of our server. The grouper was cooked to perfection and my girlfriend really enjoyed it! We both agreed though that the Filet was the star of the show. Ocean may be primarily a seafood restaurant but they have one of the best steaks I've had in recent memory! The green bean and potato salad was a great pairing with the steak as well. We finished the meal off with a slice of Chocolate Cheesecake. It is served with toasted marshmallow on top which I thought was a nice touch. The cake may look small when it arrives at your table but it's so rich and dense that it easily satisfies two people! Overall we had a wonderful time and I couldn't recommend Ocean more. Truly one of Birmingham's finest dining experiences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My date enjoyed her meal more than I did. She ordered the fillet mignon – said it was excellent! I ordered the red snapper and I thought it was rather bland – not enough flavor. Since this was our first visit, it was kind of disappointing, at least for me. The service was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Outstanding food and service! My favorite restaurant in Birmingham.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One of our favorite special date night places. The fried feta on the salad is fabulous always. So many good appetizer and entree choices. The lobster tails are always wonderful. Our waiter was great--knew the menu, helpful but didn't rush us on a busy night. Always leave happy.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Have eaten at Ocean many times and have never had a bad meal nor service. Always something new to try. The Sushi is some of my favorite in Birmingham and reasonably priced. Great to share as an appetizer. I haven't had any of the beef menu items here but they do offer some other options aside from the seafood. I've just never ventured away from the seafood since it has always been great... and after all the restaurant is called Ocean. Highly recommend this restaurant if you want a great meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food I ordered was good (seared tuna), as was the Ocean salad like always. My date's food, a steak she was talked into, was undercooked and, per her, somewhat stringy. Our waiter was for the most part attentive, but the biggest ding was that it took the restaurant 25 minutes to seat us after our reservation time--and we got there early! That was starting off on the wrong foot. There just can't be an excuse for that.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The service was great at Ocean. Our server was very helpful when we were ordering. He was very knowledgeable and had a great attitude. The food was very tasty and filling. We were a little disappointed that they took the bread pudding off the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Ocean has really good food. It is worth the drive and definitely worth the money. My girlfriend loved the surprise date here on her birthday.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My wife and I went to Ocean for part of our anniversary celebration. We have not been there before, but we've heard good things about it. Everything from the service to the food was truly outstanding, and we can't wait to go back there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The service was quick and attentive. The staff was very friendly and engaging. The appetizers were delicious, containing a very "fresh" quality you would expect from seafood. When the main course arrived, we were expecting a great tasting meal. We were NOT in any way disappointed. It was a palatable delight! My wife enjoyed the steak that was so tender, she used a butter knife to cut her meat. After dinner, we enjoyed two of the dessert items which, again, were outstanding. Overall, an A++ meal. You, and your taste-buds will enjoy.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The Oysters on the half shell were fantastic. I would go back just for those skinny dippers from Maryland. The Blue Points from CT were on point and made a nice slightly briny contrast to the luscious Skinny Dippers. My server was the highlight of the evening. She was knowledgeable, friendly and insightful. She made the experience positive and answered all of my multiple questions about preparation and flavors. There were people of all ages enjoying their meals and genuinely celebrating an evening out. It felt good to be at Ocean.

The evening fell flat when the snapper arrived less than half cooked. For a signature fish dish at a place named Ocean this just can't happen. The server and maitre 'd apologetically and politely scrambled quickly and rallied around the faux pas but the delayed second attempt was a flat, uninspiring dish with a small, almost flavorless piece of snapper plopped in among some bland potatoes, a few mushrooms, 2 (count them) mussels one of which tasted awful, and a mere breath of greens barely making an appearance in the modest bowl. This dish could be lively and memorable if the flavors blended rather than just co-existed and if the ingredients were closer to their source and further from their expiration date. The snapper wasn't bad (except for the mussel) it was just boring. I definitely will go back because I believe there is the potential for a great complete meal. The salmon from Scotland sounded intriguing and maybe a whole fish dish would appeal more to my appetite.

I'd give Ocean a cautious 4 because I believe my experience may have been an anomaly based on the energetic, food-lover clientele I saw there tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I from Florida and I met my friend from St. Louis for my Birthday dinner at Ocean.

It was delicious, the service was outstanding.

Tags: Casual, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Romantic, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Always great food and exceptional service - we've always had fabulous wait staff who really enhance the meal experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Consistently the best restaurant in Birmingham! George is the best chef in town.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Awesome service from the hostess to the waiter, who was fantastic. The food is always great! A wonderful evening.

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Romantic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We went to Ocean thinking it would be upscale seafood but it was OK, nothing special. I live in Pensacola and catch my own fish so I know seafood. Having the bar in the dining room was very annoying, it was very loud. The service was excellent but the food was overpriced.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We drove to Birmingham to watch The Davis Cup and had dinner following the last match. Patrick was our server. Well spoken, very informed of menu (which is incredible) down to specific ingredients and gave excellent wine recommendations for pairings. I wasn't thrilled with where our table location was, it felt like we were put in time out. Other than that, it far exceeded my expectations. I will definitely go back when in Birmingham again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Very good food - one of the best seafood restaurant in town. Service is superb, while the place is a little bit tight and tables are tiny. But the food is the best

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We drove to Birmingham from Nashville to attend a show at BJCC. Ocean was recommended by a co-worker--and we are grateful! We really didn't need to eat anything besides the delicious bread/salsa and then Greek salad. Both were just the best they could be. Dinner selections were equally delicious--my husband always orders shrimp and grits if they are on the menu. Many times over the last few years he has been disappointed because of the 'fancy' adaptations. Ocean served shrimp and grits as a side to Blackened Grouper--the entire meal was divine! I hesitate to mention the sinful dessert--perhaps should pretend I did not eat the baklava wrapped fried ice cream--decadent and delightfully so. The neighboring table made many oohing and ahing sounds over their sushi--so if you are a sushi lover, you might want to check Ocean out for that, too. Could I just get more bread (a type of toasted, seasoned thicker melba) and Greek salad????

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great! Will definitely be going back! I highly recommend the blackened grouper with grits. Oyster selection was wonderful as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 28, 2017

This was our first visit to Ocean. Everything was very good; will come again.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The appetizer oysters were uniquely from different regions of the country and delicious. Presentation and food quality was 5 star. Just outstanding. The manager ( Larry) provided us with a wonderful experience for our special occasion (anniversary) and treated us like royalty.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Service was exceptional. Food was delicious as always! We had a wonderful time!

Tags: Private Room, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Personalized birthday card was a nice touch but the complimentary dessert tray was excellent. Knowledgeable staff and the owner greeted us at the door. Most importantly, the birthday girl could not have been more pleased.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food and menu were great, but although I had made reservations, we waited for a while before being seated. I think they may have overbooked. Server was awesome too! I would return, but not for an intimate occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was fabulous as always... consistent quality and the service is impeccable!

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was delicious and service was fabulous!!! The menu for Birmingham Restaurant Week was limited but did not disappoint!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was outstanding, the cocktails were scrumptious and the service was top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Don't know how it was because when we got there for our reservation they were closing. No phone call no nothing. Had an excuse about an event the next morning but a heads up would have been nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We went to Ocean while in Birmingham for work. I had the whole flounder. It was big enough for two people but so delicious that I couldn't help but keep eating. The salad with the fried Feta was delicious too. Everyone got a cocktail and they were well done. Also the bam bam appetizer was amazing. I would go back just to take my wife.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Wonderfully creative, delicious food beautifully arranged. Excellent server, Melissa, who could not be kinder and more personal. Wonderful manager, also very personal. The very best food at our favorite restaurant!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food. Great fish. Ate early but service and food were excellent.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent food and service, already looking forward to going back and trying other options on the menu

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We went to Ocean for a family dinner. The food was really good. The restaurant was uncomfortably warm and the chairs and tables were very crowded.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Service was fantastic from our server. He was attentive, especially with regards to how long it took us to receive our meal. The food was fresh and done to our specifications. We were not expecting the excessive noice levels and that kept us from enjoying time with our aging parents who could not hear us speaking. Again, service was top notch.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had a wonderful anniversary celebration. The food was delicious and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Our meal and experience were incredible. Our waitress provided perhaps the best service we have ever enjoyed anywhere. She was very knowledgeable, made great food and wine selections, and made our birthday girl feel so special.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Healthy, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ocean is always a truly superior restaurant but on New Year's Eve 2016, it also was fabulous. Unlike most restaurants in the US, Ocean departed from the usual restaurant approach on holidays. Most restaurants provide a special menu on which diners can make one choice from each of 3 categories (appetizer, entree, and dessert). Such an approach is almost always disappointing. Instead, Ocean produced a truly a wonderful menu with almost as many choices of appetizers, entrees, and desserts as you will find on non-holiday nights. it was really special and I encouraged the waiters to make sure Ocean will always use their new approach to New Years Eve. My wife and I ate at 7pm, but Ocean was packed with customers. Despite the full house, the background noise was very gentle. I think the low noise has a great deal to do with the choice of providing superb meals drawn from nearly full menus . It was a wonderful evening at Ocean on 12/31/2016.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Incredible. We enjoyed everything about Ocean - the service, food and drinks. Everything was fresh and prepared perfectly. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.