About Ocean

Ocean has been locally owned and operated by George Reis since 2002 and is located in the historic Five Points district of Birmingham’s Southside. Enjoy a casual night out with friends at the inviting and contemporary patio bar, or venture inside for some of the best seafood in town and an award-winning dining experience.
Ocean offers fresh seafood in an exciting and contemporary atmosphere. The menu features a wide selection of fish and fresh oysters arriving daily. Ocean focuses on sourcing sustainable seafood, local produce, and is proud to support local farms. Pulling flavors and inspiration from around the globe, Ocean is the recipient of the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for 2007-2015, the Wine Spectator Award 2004-2015, and is the winner of the Alabama Seafood Cookoff in 2015. Voted Best Chef, Wine List and rated 5 stars by the Birmingham News,
Reservations accepted Tuesday through Saturday.

1218 20th Street South
Birmingham, AL 35205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Highland and 13th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 933-0999

Website:
http://www.oceanbirmingham.com/

Catering:
For information about catering options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or call us at: (205)933-0999

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
George Reis

Private Party Facilities:
For information about our private dining facilities and private dining options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or give us a call at: (205) 933-0999

Private Party Contact:
Heather Boone: (205) 933-0999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ocean Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (57)
Special Occasion (54)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
See All
Romantic (48)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Notable Wine List (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
Healthy (20)
Business Meals (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Authentic (18)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Fun (14)
Cozy (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Casual (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
People Watching (9)
Seasonal (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Organic (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Private Room (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Vegan (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
916 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful as expected. Very friendly staff, always going the extra mile to make sure your evening is superb. Food is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

We went to Ocean to celebrate a good friend's birthday. Larry, the manager, came around to bring the birthday girl a personalized card signed by everyone working that evening. We had appetizers, entrees, and dessert; all of which were fabulous. We will be going back soon and trying another delicious Ocean offering.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

We have enjoyed Ocean for the past two anniversaries. We were lucky enough to have the same server from last year, Patrick. He was awesome! Attentive to details but not overbearing! Super GUY! Can't wait to get to go back!

Thanks Patrick!

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

My wife and I drove and stayed in Birmingham for our Anniversary, by passing our usual stop in Buckhead. The food and service was excellent. We're already looking forward to our 2018 trip back to Ocean.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Went to Ocean on first date with old flame after long gap in our lives; very good choice! A little noisy where we were seated, but very manageable. Crab cake appetizer and oysters were excellent; entrees were also very good. Need to compliment Brett, our waiter - great personality; attentive yet gave us time for our conversation and catching up. Finished with an excellent chocolate martini. Overall, a great evening!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The evening was less than satisfactory. The service was superior, the food was basically over cooked and lacked flavor. Mussels for an appetizer were tough and the broth indescribable. Two of the entrees were basically flavorless. Unacceptable for a five star restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Great food. Great service. Great dining experience! Ocean continues to be my B'ham restaurant choice for fine dining. It never disappoints. The seafood tower is simply awesome! The Greek salad with fried feta is a must and the baklava ice cream is incredible! All the fish dishes are fresh and perfectly cooked. If you are in the mood for good seafood, go to Ocean!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Enjoyable evening from the moment we were greeted at the door to our exit. Service was superb and the food delicious. Highly recommend the oysters and the Red Snapper. A+

Tags: Healthy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great good and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Shout out to Larry and Daniel Made our anniversary an outstanding experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 4, 2017

We had dinner for five people, and we all loved our selections. We especially loved the tempura bonbons as our appetizer. We had two cocktails for the table: Chilton Peach Smash (or similar name) and Moscow Mule. The peach drink was excellent, but the Moscow Mule was overly heavy on the ginger. Among our diners, we had crispy skin snapper, filet mignon, tuna, and two orders of whole redfish - one fried, and the other wood grilled. They were all delicious. Our waiter, Patrick, was warm and engaging, and very knowledgeable of the menu. He was especially considerate of, and patient with, the elderly woman whose birthday we were celebrating. He truly helped make our dining experience special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Expensive for food I considered only ok. Dessert was good. Service was very slow. We went for my Mother's birthday, so my daughter went. She's not a seafood fan. I thought she would have a chicken or pasta option. She didn't. So there was nothing for her to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Everything about the restaurant was fantastic. Had a business dinner with 2 colleagues and we enjoyed every moment.

Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Best place in Birmingham. From the hostess to the servers to the manager to the chefs, all professional, very personable and knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Ocean always impresses! We brought friends from California who were not sure how good a Birmingham AL restaurant would be... we had an amazing meal! Boulliabase was terrific, as always (my favorite dish), grouper w heirloom tomato risotto was perfectly turned out, red snapper too. Desserts were also spot-on and well-executed. Guests were very satisfied and impressed. We will be back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fun, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Very attentive and efficient staff. High quality food. Best seafood in Birmingham, AL. Venue is not great. This place outgrown it's premises

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

This is the best restaurant I've been to in Birmingham so far, and I've been here two years now. The cocktails were pretty good. For appetizers, we had the spicy tuna bon bons (delish) and the grilled lobster tails, which were grilled and sliced down the middle in half. The lobster was awesome and you got 2.5 tails (5 halves) for $29, which I thought was pretty reasonable. For entrees, I had the the snapper, which had the skin on but was seared until the skin was really crispy. I don't usually like fish with skin on, but it was really good. The dish had some potatoes and chard, and was it this amazing saffron broth. I could drink that broth it was so good. My husband had the sesame seared tuna, which he liked. Then we had more cocktails for dessert. I don't remember what it was called, but my favorite had vodka (I think) with pineapple juice and ginger beer-really great combination. They sat us about 10 minutes after our reservation time, but the service was superb.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great atmosphere, food and experience overall. Always a wonderful evening at Ocean!

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

I highly recommend Ocean. The food is delicious, the menu is varied, LOTS of wonderful fresh seafood, and the best bouillabaisse I've ever had!

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Authentic, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Great oysters and seafood. Honestly one of the best landlocked states' seafood restaurant. They have all the right stuff: linen tablecloths nice silverware, attentive and knowledgeable staff, polite and not at all overbearing. Hallmarks of quality management.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Cannot express enough the great food, service we received at Oceans. Will definitely be going again soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

I eat at Ocean often and it is always wonderful. The service is great and the food is always fresh and prepared to perfection.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Great creative cuisine. Worth the splurge. Had pan seared fish pompano served on bed of sweet potatoes I recall. And it was superb. Dessert was vanilla baklava with honey. Probably equaled my entire weekly calorie intake in one meal.

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Wonderful evening at Ocean. The food was outstanding. Staff was attentive and knowledgeable. A near perfect dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 20, 2017

I've been in AL on an extended business trip. To say the least, I've been underwhelmed by the dearth of quality dining options in the Birmingham area. I was beginning to despair and then I dined at Ocean. Quelle difference! I had a reservation for 1745 on a Thursday. I was greeted immediately upon entering and shown to my table. Service, food and ambiance were excellent. The wine list was a joy, although to have only 2 offerings for rose wine in the summer seemed a little odd. Nevertheless I selected a very nice Tavel and enjoyed it with my calamari app and scallop entrée. I almost never have dessert but the pear tart won me over. And, whatever management is paying the line cook on the fry station - give them a raise, they're absolutely worth it.

All-in-all an outstanding dining experience and I look forward to my next opportunity to visit. I urge you to give this a try as well.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 19, 2017

Absolutely amazing! Such a friendly staff and I can't even explain how amazing the food is! 10 stars!!!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, People Watching, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Quick Bite, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Spicy, Disabled Access, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Fantastic food combined with excellent service. Our server Mica was very knowledgeable about the menu as well as wine selection. We were greeted by the manager, Larry, who started back a few years as a server. We were presented with a lovely card that had been signed by all the staff working that day as well as served two,absolutely delicious house favorite desserts( prepared by their pastry chef) that were complimentary. Can't speak more highly of Ocean! Number One in Birmingham for us! Fantastic 30 year marriage anniversary dinner! Thanks to all the crew at Ocean!! Five stars every time!! You're the best!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I was left feeling disappointed after my evening at Ocean. I heard great reviews, and I was eager to have a great meal. When the waiter told us that they ran out of certain meals I knew we were in for an interesting night. The waiter mentioned that typically happens when you have a later reservation. We also had a server who had a hard time managing our dishes and serving us water. I'm not sure if the individual was dealing with something, but it was definitely impacting her ability to perform simple functions. For the amount we paid I would expect a higher quality dining experience even if we got seated at 815pm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My wife and I have been going to Ocean’s for years and out of all the wonderful restaurants that we have in Birmingham Alabama, it has always been our favorites. If you go try the steak, it sounds crazy cause they are a seafood restaurant but the steak is incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We visited Ocean to celebrate a birthday and they provided the perfect touches to make it feel like one. The food did not disappoint anyone in our group. The Thai curry bouillabaisse entree was stellar and the Greek salad was delicious. The supporting servers were friendly, quick and professional. Our head server was friendly and attentive but his pace of service left us feeling alternatively rushed then ignored. It's probably not a regular thing for him and normally wouldn't be worth mentioning except it was a splurge for us and it's the only reason I didn't give the meal a five star rating across the board. I hope to visit again soon and be amazed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Absolutely the best place I've been in Birmingham.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Oceans has always been one of our favorite places to dine. Always great service and exceptional menu selections which never disappoint.
Great seafood but I will say they serve a superb filet. Yep , I recommend to our friends often and they ALWAYS thank me later.
I do wish they could find a way to muffle the noise level surely they can install some soft ceiling surfaces😊

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We had such a delicious meal and were treated like special guests from the moment we walked in the door. Love this restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Walked in and they seated us immediately (Open Table reservation). Great server. She was knowledgeable about the entire menu. Food was excellent and valet parking was nice since parking downtown is a challenge to not get ticketed or towed. Would recommend to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 8, 2017

This was one of the best dining experiences we have EVER had!! My husband and I went here to celebrate a special occasion and were blown away by the exceptional service and phenomenal cuisine. If I could give it more stars, I would! From the unique drinks, stellar sushi appetizer, to the mouthwatering entrees and high end atmosphere, I have zero complaints. William was our waiter, and the GM, Larry, catered to our every need and desire. My biggest praise is how much they catered to my special diet. Having had an auto immune disease, I have to be VERY careful about what I eat. I have never felt more welcome and had so many options than when we went to Ocean. The attention to detail was out of this world. We will recommend this place to all of our friends and family! Thank you Ocean!! -Jessica and Brett

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Special Occasion, Healthy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I absolutely love Ocean! Their food is amazing, especially the filet, lobster, and baklava ice cream

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The service was impeccable. The oysters were some of the best I’ve ever had. Ocean is definitely one of the best restaurants in Birmingham. Well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My husband and I ate here for our anniversary. Thanks to Open Table, I clicked "Anniversary" on my reservation. Not only did we get a nice, quiet table, but the manager stopped by to check on us and offered to select a dessert for us. So glad we said yes! Our waiter offered two suggestions for wine. I was unfamiliar with both, so he happily brought a taste of each. Yum! The wine paired nicely with my fish dish. (Hubby also had a great fish dish.) And for dessert - baklava ice cream and their delicious French press coffee. Perfect meal for a special occasion!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Party of five celebrating a birthday...absolutely a perfect evening. The server was so awesome. The food was world class. The bar serves wonderful drinks. We all LOVE this very special place. Highly recommend!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.