About Ocean

Ocean has been locally owned and operated by George Reis since 2002 and is located in the historic Five Points district of Birmingham’s Southside. Enjoy a casual night out with friends at the inviting and contemporary patio bar, or venture inside for some of the best seafood in town and an award-winning dining experience.
Ocean offers fresh seafood in an exciting and contemporary atmosphere. The menu features a wide selection of fish and fresh oysters arriving daily. Ocean focuses on sourcing sustainable seafood, local produce, and is proud to support local farms. Pulling flavors and inspiration from around the globe, Ocean is the recipient of the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for 2007-2015, the Wine Spectator Award 2004-2015, and is the winner of the Alabama Seafood Cookoff in 2015. Voted Best Chef, Wine List and rated 5 stars by the Birmingham News,
Reservations accepted Tuesday through Saturday.

1218 20th Street South
Birmingham, AL 35205
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, International

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Highland and 13th Ave

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 933-0999

Website:
http://www.oceanbirmingham.com/

Catering:
For information about catering options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or call us at: (205)933-0999

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
George Reis

Private Party Facilities:
For information about our private dining facilities and private dining options, please contact our event coordinator, Heather Boone, at: heather@oceanbirmingham.com or give us a call at: (205) 933-0999

Private Party Contact:
Heather Boone: (205) 933-0999

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Ocean Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (51)
Romantic (49)
Special Occasion (49)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Good for Birthdays (34)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Worth the Drive (27)
Notable Wine List (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Business Meals (20)
Local Ingredients (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Healthy (16)
Fun (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Cozy (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Authentic (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Hot Spot (12)
People Watching (8)
Casual (7)
Seasonal (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Organic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
951 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

We love ocean! Best steak and seafood in Birmingham. And the desserts are to die for! The baklava ice cream.....

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Overall great food and service. We felt noise level was excessive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 3 days ago

Great spot for good seafood.......,,.....................................................................Zxcvbbnkkuyttyuiiruridjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjdjjd jdjdjdjdk djdjdj djdjdj hdjdj

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The food is great and the service is the best!
Thanks Ocean for a wonderful birthday dinner:)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The food was wonderful and the Nova Scotia oysters best I have ever had. It was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Everything at ocean was wonderful except for the restrooms. The door to the women's room was filthy on the outside next to the metal push plate. Inside was not clean and very Unitarian in style. Would have expected more based on the level of service offered...decor and style should extend throughout entire restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 13, 2017

This was the second time my husband and I have dined at Ocean. Both times were outstanding experiences - for the quality of food as well as the service! We will be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Oysters were VERY small. They were tasty. Entrees, cocktails & wine were all very good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Service was impeccable. Food was delicious. Bouillabaisse, filet, and scallops all worth the drive. Nice wine selection.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 7, 2017

I always wonder why I let so much time go by before going back to Ocean. My memory is that I always enjoy the food and the service and that remained true with my most recent visit. But, there is one reason that I'm not here several times of year and my memory is triggered the moment I walk in the front door. It's the smoke smell that overpowers everything in the restaurant. They have a very poor ventilation system in the kitchen and consequently the smoke hangs in the air. When you go home at night your suit will smell like smoke for days. When you're enjoying your first cocktail, you can't help but notice the smoke even if you sit far away from the kitchen. It's a shame, because I really do love the food and the outstanding service. If it wasn't for this one flaw, I could safely say that it would be one of my favorite restaurants. The good news is later next year I'll forget why I haven't been back in such a long time. Who knows, maybe someday they will actually fix it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Love this place. We only make it to Birmingham once a year and this is our go to restaurant for date night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Billy & Jimmy giving anniversary handys under the table, everyone that watched did so

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

I asked for a Quiet table and I got one. The food was excellent. Service was excellent. Looking forward to going back.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Business dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

The most tasteless way to prepare lobster or their thai option
The public house has better tasting food

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

amazing food!! The scallops were great but the cous cous lacked flavor - very drab. everything else was phenominal!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Went there for a special dinner for my Dad's birthday and it did not disappoint! The food was phenomenal as well as the service. Ocean is definitely my new favorite spot!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Found this place after a brief internet search for places nearby in Birmingham. Our one-night stay was brief, but Ocean definitely nailed it for us. The Calamari was fantastic (we try it at every place that offers it), and the rest of the meal was able to live up to those standards as well. This is a somewhat upscale place, although they were gracious enough to let us in wearing our "beach-business-casual" attire! Dave, our waiter, was great as well. I'd highly recommend this place to anyone who doesn't mind to spend money on good food/wine.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Wonderful dinner. Great food. Great service. Great wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Never had a bad meal at Ocean. The best part is the service. Outstanding. The wait staff is exceptional and knows when you need something and when to leave you alone. And the food is always incredible. Hard to find a better meal in Birmingham.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

Fresh and healthy food, perfectly prepared, and outstanding service. Strongly recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Healthy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

My favorite restaurant! Food is delicious and presentation is beautiful! Outstanding service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Great food and outstanding service by Brett. Nice wine selection and awesome creme brûlée

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Birthday dinner was delicious! Snapper was perfectly prepared and the scallops grilled were tender and fresh. The Grilled tuna was tender and flavorful and mashed potatoes had unusual spice in them but were amazing. Everything was so delicious! Highly recommend!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Our reservations were for 7:15 and the table was ready when we arrived. The food was some of the best we have had in Birmingham. The flounder dish was the envy of everyone at the table and will be ordered again when we return. Service was terrific and the cocktails very good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Exceptionally attentive service. They were out of the menu item I selected, so I went with my second choice. Minutes later, my server came back with a suggestion from the chef that turned out to be an exceptional entree. Totally unexpected and above and beyond what I would have expected. Well done!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We went to ocean with a group of 6 last night. Everything was excellent. From sushi to salads to oysters to grouper lobster and scallops. All food was delicious. Service was excellent !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Came here for my birthday the service was great as usual the staff is very friendly and courteous also I got a birthday desert

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

You must try the whole flounder fried. Absolutely delicious n good to share!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Ocean is always on point ... one of my favorite restaurants in the Birmingham area for sure! Amazing food and excellent service every time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Peach cobbler killed the five star rating for food. It was more like peach bread pudding. Very little peaches. I've cream was good.

Surprised the king crab legs were cold, however they were good.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Ocean is special! Great food, service and ambiance. I would recommend it to all diners.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This is a seafood restaurant - not many other options. Our appetizer (heirloom tomato salad) was outstanding; the main course (whole grilled snapper) was good but not great - it needed some flavor. The service was very good - attentive, friendly but not overbearing. The whole feel of the place is just a little pretentious, but not enough to keep you from enjoying a good meal. It is a little pricey although not outrageous; dinner for two with one drink and one glass of wine was close to $100.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Wonderful as expected. Very friendly staff, always going the extra mile to make sure your evening is superb. Food is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

We went to Ocean to celebrate a good friend's birthday. Larry, the manager, came around to bring the birthday girl a personalized card signed by everyone working that evening. We had appetizers, entrees, and dessert; all of which were fabulous. We will be going back soon and trying another delicious Ocean offering.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

We have enjoyed Ocean for the past two anniversaries. We were lucky enough to have the same server from last year, Patrick. He was awesome! Attentive to details but not overbearing! Super GUY! Can't wait to get to go back!

Thanks Patrick!

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

My wife and I drove and stayed in Birmingham for our Anniversary, by passing our usual stop in Buckhead. The food and service was excellent. We're already looking forward to our 2018 trip back to Ocean.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Went to Ocean on first date with old flame after long gap in our lives; very good choice! A little noisy where we were seated, but very manageable. Crab cake appetizer and oysters were excellent; entrees were also very good. Need to compliment Brett, our waiter - great personality; attentive yet gave us time for our conversation and catching up. Finished with an excellent chocolate martini. Overall, a great evening!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The evening was less than satisfactory. The service was superior, the food was basically over cooked and lacked flavor. Mussels for an appetizer were tough and the broth indescribable. Two of the entrees were basically flavorless. Unacceptable for a five star restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.