About Occidental Grill & Seafood

1475 Pennsylvania Ave NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Occidental Grill & Seafood is a DC dining institution just steps from the White House, with a history dating back more than 110 years. This iconic gathering place combines legendary staying power with a constantly evolving, cutting-edge menu that takes a fresh and current approach to classic American cuisine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am – 10:00pm
Sunday: 11am-9pm

Happy Hour
Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 7:00pm (Exclusively at the Bar)

Brunch
Saturday & Sunday : 11am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
14th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 783-1475

Website:
http://www.occidentaldc.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonal.

Catering:
Private Dining Space Available.
Call 202-737-4147 for further information or visit http://occidentaldc.com/occidental/index.cfm/meetings-events/.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at The Willard Hotel for an $8.00 fee.

Public Transit:
Metro Center Station located on 13th & F Streets.

Bus stop located on 14th Street near the National Press Building.

Executive Chef:
Rodney Scruggs

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Occidental Grill & Seafood, Washington, DC
Occidental Grill & Seafood, Washington, DC

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From business functions and graduations, to rehearsals, receptions & personal get togethers Occidental Grill and Seafood is an elegant DC dining icon. Our private dining rooms exemplify the city's classic ambiance while the chef's menus evoke your taste buds with a modern twist on American favorites

Occidental Grill & Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (22)
Special Occasion (19)
Historic (17)
See All
Good for a Date (16)
Romantic (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Great for Lunch (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Scenic View (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Casual (2)
Live Music (2)
Fun (2)
People Watching (2)
Private Room (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1482 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was my first time dining at the Occ ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was my first time dining at the Occidental Grill and it did not disappoint. We had a show to go to and they met our timing need without sacrificing a bit on the quality of the food, which was excellent! I was so impressed that I plan on having a group event there in the spring.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

THE OCCIDENTAL IS ONE OF OUR FAVORITE RE ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

THE OCCIDENTAL IS ONE OF OUR FAVORITE RESTAURANTS TO TAKE GUESTS TO FROM OUT OF TOWN. THE HISTORY OF THE RESTAURANT AND THE FOOD MAKE IT A GREAT PLACE TO TAKE PEOPLE/

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had requested a spacious and quite ta ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We had requested a spacious and quite table for our business meeting. Our table was better than our expectation. It was the best or one of the best tables in the restaurant. The staff were all curious. Timothy, the server was considerate and attentive to our lengthy business lunch meeting.

Overall a great Historic place for Business and Group Lunches.

Thank you,

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Occidental is a lovely piece of Was ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The Occidental is a lovely piece of Washington history. Lots of photos of past political celebs and fun to entertain. The bartender needs to learn how to make a proper whiskey sour, and the food was good, but not exceptional. Wen went for the ambience.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Novel twist on some traditional items . ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Novel twist on some traditional items . Everything tasted fresh, well seasoned, well prepared. Typical DC upscale pricing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Always elegant, always dignified, always ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Always elegant, always dignified, always quiet, always great service, this is the perfect place for a quiet power lunch with history echoing through halls. My favorite place in D.C. to do business.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined here to celebrate my boyfriend' ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We dined here to celebrate my boyfriend's new job and birthday. The hostess, main server, water boy, busboy, and runners were all very accommodating and provided superior service. All of the drinks and food were absolutely delicious. The server also provided a candle on the dessert as well as a card signed by all of the staff. Thank you for making my boyfriend's birthday so special!

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great!! Service was outstan ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food was great!! Service was outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our Meal was good. The restaurant is a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Our Meal was good. The restaurant is a little dated, but charming in a well worn way! We had a corner table for the 6 of us. Our server was a little quirky...I think she wanted to go home!! Our food was good, steaks, fish and a pasta special. All very nice but not really note worthy. I would returen..it was comfortable but nothing fancy!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Returned to this old haunt of mine after ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Returned to this old haunt of mine after ten years. Still has the atmosphere and very good menu that is well prepared. Service is top notch. Longstanding bartender - Michael- is great asset. NOTE. Restaurant is about to undergo significant renovation. We shall see how it turns out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous steak! Fresh scallops!

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Fabulous steak! Fresh scallops!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious food, service was just ok

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Delicious food, service was just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

This was one of the worst meals I've eve ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was one of the worst meals I've ever had. Food gras was cold and server agreed. When the replacement came back it was so over cooked it was inedible. I would never go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Perfect outdoor café experience with out ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Perfect outdoor café experience with outstanding sandwiches and truffle fries!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've never had a bad experience at Occid ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I've never had a bad experience at Occidental, it's my favorite place to go when my family comes to town, the food is fantastic and the servers are extremely knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location across from White House. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Great location across from White House. Ate outside next to sidewalk so could watch people strolling by ( and DC's god awful traffic ). Great food but pricey. Service was prompt, courteous, and friendly. Would hesitate to go back unless someone else was paying!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

A Washington classic that truly lives up ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 3, 2016

A Washington classic that truly lives up to its reputation. Thanks for a great birthday dinner!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening on every level -- food ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Wonderful evening on every level -- food, service, ambiance-- just a great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

lovely evening dining outside -- only pr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2016

lovely evening dining outside -- only problem was tour bus line of busses & people nearby for our first half hour --

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The best food around the White House I w ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The best food around the White House I wish I could have the macaroni and cheese recipe because it's incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing steak. Overpriced. Will ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Disappointing steak. Overpriced. Will go elsewhere next time.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Posh, historic setting. Parking voucher ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Posh, historic setting. Parking voucher good for whole evening for $8.00 ....that part was a good value. Contrary to what staff told me on phone, it is Not a block away from DAR Constitution Hall. It's a good 10 minute walk.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Not only was the food outstanding, the s ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Not only was the food outstanding, the service was impeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was really great and the steaks we ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was really great and the steaks we ordered were delicious and perfectly cooked the way we wanted it. Our server didn't seem to knowledgable - he didn't know exactly what came with the entree we ordered, but the food was definitely really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We went for our anniversary. Service was ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We went for our anniversary. Service was on spot and we never were waiting for anything nor did we feel intruded upon. Rib eye was heavenly, gazpacho was refreshing and foie was delectable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome find! Everything was delish!

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Awesome find! Everything was delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I try to go to this restaurant at least ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 26, 2016

I try to go to this restaurant at least twice a year. The quality of the food this time around was lower than usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

The Occidental is the traditional restau ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 23, 2016

The Occidental is the traditional restaurant for a DC rendezvous meeting over lunch or dinner for generations. The pre-meal experience and dining are classic.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Business Meals, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was OK. My only problem was actually ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2016

It was OK. My only problem was actually food - it was spectacularly decorated but was only OK. the ambiance was nice - old american style.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was wonderful. The food was w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Everything was wonderful. The food was well prepared, and the service impeccable. I would definitely go there again. The best dinner I have had in a long time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Don't believe the hype of this place. Th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Don't believe the hype of this place. The food just didn't do it for me. I'm not sure if it was because it was D.C. Restaurant Week or because it was a busy Friday night - we were just not impressed. The small portions combined with the red wine that immediately gave me a headache made me think twice about ever visiting this place again. I had the bass and my date had the steak. My bass was overcooked and his steak was definitely undercooked.

The service was also below what I expect at a high end restaurant. We had multiple servers, so it was difficult to know who to ask for when we needed something. I asked one of the servers where the bathroom was located and he just pointed in a direction with no verbal indication of where the bathroom actually was located.

I didn't have a pleasant experience at all and will not be going back. I just think there are better places in that area that are well worth the cost and time.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Mediocre food, tourist spot

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Mediocre food, tourist spot

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Very nice romantic patio with musical en ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Very nice romantic patio with musical entertainment. Food was amazing and service fast and polite. Great location a few steps from the White House.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Celebrated our 20th Wedding Anniversary ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Celebrated our 20th Wedding Anniversary at the Occidental Grill. It was an amazing evening, friendly, energetic bartender made great drinks, service throughout the night was top notch. 3 course dinner was delicious and lots of friendly folks from hostesses to waiters to bar backs made this a memorable and relaxing night. Plus it was Restaurant Week in DC so the price was definitely right.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great. We liked all of t ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The service was great. We liked all of the three appetizers we ordered, as well as all the desserts. However, the main dishes we got: sirloin and cod, both were disappointing. Way over cooked. Even our kids would not eat it. Left with mixed feelings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Went here during Restaurant Week. The l ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Went here during Restaurant Week. The location is great. The inside walls are lined with historic photos of the area and celebrities who dined in the restaurant. The food was amazing, but pricey as expected. Definitely worth it if you want to splurge for a special occasion. I have to say it was rather loud inside, but the tables are small and intimate enough that you can still have a conversation. Would definitely go back again, not during Restaurant Week to explore the amazing menu options.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Food was very interesting and delicious. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was very interesting and delicious. The restaurant is small. They have too many tables too close to one another. That makes it difficult to enjoy the ambiance. Other than that it's a nice restaurant filled with a lot of history.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was excellent, very creatively ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was excellent, very creatively prepared and well-presented.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious meal, attentive service. Beau ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Delicious meal, attentive service. Beautiful outdoor patio with a view of the White House lawn

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The service was great and the food was e ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on August 16, 2016

The service was great and the food was excellent. The foie gras was good or better than Pau, a treat for the pallet.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.