About Occidental Grill & Seafood

1475 Pennsylvania Ave NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

The Occidental Grill & Seafood blends modern creativity with time-honored tradition in D.C.'s most stunning setting. Explore a comprehensive photography collection of famous 20th Century personalities, while choosing from over 200 wines to compliment Chef Rodney Scruggs's innovative Classic American menu. Just steps away from the White House and the Warner and National Theatre's.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Thursday: 11:30am – 9:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Saturday: 5:00pm – 10:00pm
Sunday: Closed

Happy Hour
Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 7:00pm (Exclusively at the Bar)

Cross Street:
14th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 783-1475

Website:
http://www.occidentaldc.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonal.

Catering:
Private Dining Space Available.
Call 202-737-4147 for further information or visit http://occidentaldc.com/occidental/index.cfm/meetings-events/.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at The Willard Hotel for an $8.00 fee.

Public Transit:
Metro Center Station located on 13th & F Streets.

Bus stop located on 14th Street near the National Press Building.

Executive Chef:
Rodney Scruggs

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Occidental Grill & Seafood
Occidental Grill & Seafood

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From business functions and graduations, to rehearsals, receptions & personal get togethers Occidental Grill and Seafood is an elegant DC dining icon. Our private dining rooms exemplify the city's classic ambiance while the chef's menus evoke your taste buds with a modern twist on American favorites

Occidental Grill & Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (61)
fit for foodies (52)
great for outdoor dining (36)
See All
great for lunch (33)
romantic (27)
neighborhood gem (26)
notable wine list (26)
good for groups (20)
scenic view (13)
great for brunch (13)
hot spot (11)
vibrant bar scene (7)
late-night find (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1413 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Everything was great except both meals w ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Everything was great except both meals were undercooked (despite requesting medium steak with warm pink center)

food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful service

vip
Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful service

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

I love the Occidental but Monday was not ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

I love the Occidental but Monday was not a good night. Our server was very attentive when we arrived but after the 4th time of him coming by and us not being ready, he disappeared for almost 45 minutes. When he came back to get our order, I asked if I could change my cheese on my salad and he said it might be a problem ("the chef doesn't like to make changes"). When we asked the server's shadow for some bread, it seemed like it was an odd request even though I'm sure I've been served bread before. The meal itself was very good, as always, and the server was very nice but I'm not sure if he was just frustrated with my friend and I catching up for so long or what.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was perfect. The food was de ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was perfect. The food was delicious. The atmosphere was outstanding. I've dined here before with friends, but took my family for Father's Day. Lobster Quiche and the Vanilla Waffles were the best items on the brunch menu. We loved the granola bars in the bread basket. The place was surprisingly empty. Appreciated the check-in call at 11:30 for a 2pm reservation. Awesome place. Will come again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Billed as a place to see and be seen, we ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Billed as a place to see and be seen, we expected the restaurant to be full and the food to be excellent (as tourists). While booking a reservation required planning a few days in advance, we arrived and dined in a 1/4 full restaurant. While the food was moderately good, it did not earn the price tag of +$400 for four with a bottle of wine. Service was attentive and friendly. But overall quality, taste, and selection suffered when compared to similarly priced restaurants in the area.

food5
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was excellent. Service was slo ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The food was excellent. Service was slow albeit amicable. Food and wine came much later than expected--good thing we weren't in a hurry. It is pricey.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Occidental while vacationing in ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Went to Occidental while vacationing in DC. The food and service was great. Nice staff as well. We both had fish. It was tasty and good texture. Imaginative presentation for entrees and for dessert. Would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

We were on holiday in DC and staying at ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

We were on holiday in DC and staying at the Willard. Dinner was very slow in arriving, tasted like it was under a low heat lamp waaay too long (dry and Luke warm)and was very expensive. Such a disappointment for a legendary restaurant. No wonder it wasn't busy.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Everything was perfect. Food, ambiance, wine and service!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3

The last reservation available is 9:45 b ...

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

The last reservation available is 9:45 but the kitchen closes at 10pm. We had to rush and order in 10 min or we couldnt eat.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

70th Birthday dinner

Dined on May 29, 2016

Our waiter was by far the best ever. He sent champagne and the chef sent ( per his request ) a special before dinner treat. The food was more that delicious and was very surprised how NOT expensive it was.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Classic DC watering hole

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

This is perhaps an iconic DC restaurant, reopened with the reopening of The Willard back in 1986. It is my date's favorite restaurant, which is enough for me to recommend it.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Great happy hour and appetizer specials! ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Great happy hour and appetizer specials! Special drink of day was wonderful !

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Noisy but Good

Dined on May 20, 2016

Very noisy by the bar, but the food was great and service was attentive and very professional

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2

Overall very nice restaurant but service ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Overall very nice restaurant but service was disappointing. Felt like we were an afterthought for the server.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

25th Anniversary

Dined on May 16, 2016

We usually come to the Occidental for special occasions because of the fun and interesting atmosphere. This time we found ourselves attempting to celebrate next to a booth with a loud small child. It was't the atmosphere we wanted. We asked to be moved and were quickly accommodated. The Mgmnt graciously 'comped' our desserts.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Evening

Dined on May 13, 2016

It is always logistically challenging to get our whole family together, but we were able to on Friday night at the grill. We were running late due to traffic and called to make sure our reservation was held, they were very pleasant and told us not to worry. Once we got there the staff and the food were excellent. As the majority of us were having fish, I found the white wine selections to be limited, however it all worked out. Overall a great evening

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you Occidental Grill ... for a gre ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Thank you Occidental Grill ... for a great lunch and service ...!

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

During a Staycation, where my husband I ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

During a Staycation, where my husband I wanted to be "tourists in our own Town," we selected the Occidental for a special luncheon. It was cold and rainy outside; yet as soon as we walked into this lovely restaurant, with all the photographs on the walls, we felt warm and happy. The fabulous reception at the Front Desk, the very helpful wait staff, and the incredible food (crab and corn chowder soup to die for) were remarkable. We are so pleased we returned The Occidental, our go-to romantic place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4

Always a great time...

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Always a great time...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Class Act

Dined on May 10, 2016

This place is a must for a special occasion. The waitstaff know what they are doing, the food presentation and flavor notes hit all the chords and you will walk away with a memorable experience. The grilled Miatake will now replace my need for a filet mignon!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great for theater

Dined on May 8, 2016

Location to National Theater is perfect. Manager was wonderful giving us the history when we arrived early.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fantastic food at a really reasonable rate!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We were very impressed with the ambiance, but the food really rocked it. Great service, historic location - this will be a new favorite.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Outstanding Mothers Day brunch. My wife ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Outstanding Mothers Day brunch. My wife and family really enjoyed the food. Our waitress was great. One minor setback in the dessert but quickly fixed. Highly recommend it!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PERFECT Brunch!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food, service and atmosphere were terrific. 5+ stars. We dined outside on a Sunday morning - thoroughly enjoyed our experience at the Occidental!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Server was outstanding and our salmon an ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Server was outstanding and our salmon and scallop dishes were utterly delicious

food3
ambience5
service5
value5

A favorite that could up its game

Dined on May 3, 2016

The menu sounds great, but the food sometimes comes up short. Come on, no choice of dressings for salads? The BLT is delicious, with flavorful tomatoes and a wonderful tomato marmelade. The crab cake sandwich is excellent, but the supermarket quality bun is way too small to hold it and you end up eating it with fork and knife. Oyster stew was top quality, but arrived cool. Fries are delicious, dusted with herbs. Service is polite and efficient, and this is a place where you can talk without shouting, in a very comfortable and attractive setting, and never feel rushed.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Limited Menu, but Good

Dined on April 28, 2016

The food quality, plating, service, ambiance and location are very good and the price points reflect it. The outside bar/café is a great place to people watch.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Downtown DC Classic

Dined on April 24, 2016

The crab cakes were great, no filler and very fresh. The service was attentive but not overbearing. Classic restaurant that has been serving the famous for years.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Food was overpriced and overrated. The s ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was overpriced and overrated. The service was very good. Enjoyed the ambiance. Will not go back for dinner. Maybe for lunch and sit outside. Great location

food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Not the Occidental I remember....

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We were seated with what we thought were menus and realized that the drink menus were given as a "starter" before you got the real menu. It was weird and we heard a lot of people asking for the menu and not the drink menu (this is new and unless you know this, you think that they messed up). The Caesar salad which use to be the best in the area no longer comes with the poached egg, which makes it just a normal Caesar. The steak was great, but the lobster tail was overcooked and the waitress just dismissed It and said she'd tell the chef, but that was it. For $49 it better be good, and it was a SIDE to the steak. Were surprised that they did not make the lobster right, and for this reason, they've been chopped from my "go to places with out of town friends."

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner prior to a show.

Dined on April 22, 2016

Made the reservations for dinner prior to a show for date night with my bride. The server understood the timing needed and ensured the meal was paced perfectly. We never felt rushed or ignored. Everything came to us just as we were starting to expect it. Great ambiance. Fantastic food quality and preparation. Superb staff. All made for the start of an extremely enjoyable and memorable evening. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The most special place to take friends w ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

The most special place to take friends who want the quintessential DC experience. It just doesn't get better than The Occidental. We gathered for dinner before National Theatre -- perfect. Valet park there, have a divine dinner, walk one block tot he theater. Never worry about those awful parking garages. Validated parking was $8 -- best deal in town. Dinner was superb, service delightful. All in all just a wonderful experience.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Phenomental time. Aubrey mixes a wonderf ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Phenomental time. Aubrey mixes a wonderful cocktail (try el corazon). Ask to be seated in Sergiy's section (at dinner inside) - he went out of his way to give us a perfect evening's experience.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

It was very good, but not outstanding

Dined on April 16, 2016

The best crab cake!!! The Service and everything was really good, Great for Outside Dinner ! Very lively. I did not like the TV - does bot go along with the Flair.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience4
service2

Very over priced. My salad was extremely ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Very over priced. My salad was extremely small and was 26 dollars. I had to go to lunch after having lunch at this restaurant. I didn't expect a Cobb salad to be served on such a small plate - it was just a few pieces of lettuce, two chickpeas, one pepper and a small piece of salmon.

food4
ambience4
service4

The crab cakes are delicious.

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

The crab cakes are delicious.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on April 9, 2016

The evening was perfect. Our server was brand new, but you could not tell. Her timing was perfect, and her recommendations were spot on. The food was an excellent mix of solid foundational meats with a special flair - not too fussy which seems to be the trend in DC restaurants. The General Manager had excellent recommendations for wine pairings for our meal. I highly recommend giving this restaurant consideration for a special evening out.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Step back in time...

Dined on April 7, 2016

This is a lovely spot, with the beautiful detail of beveled mirrors and mahogany woodwork of long ago. Centrally located, it filled up quickly with lots of foreign and American business people but we never felt rushed. Everyone had a good time and the service was excellent. Prices seemed quite reasonable for downtown DC.

Tags: great for lunch
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Never again.

Dined on April 6, 2016

Not happy with striped bass entrée and dessert need a knife to cut. It was a tart?Went to theatre and mentioned it to both valet and waitress. No one mentioned paying for valet at bar was protocol. Had to leave my 85 year old mother in front of hotel to return to bar after show to pay valet parking. I was not happy.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.