About Occidental Grill & Seafood

1475 Pennsylvania Ave NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Occidental Grill & Seafood is a DC dining institution just steps from the White House, with a history dating back more than 110 years. This iconic gathering place combines legendary staying power with a constantly evolving, cutting-edge menu that takes a fresh and current approach to classic American cuisine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am – 10:00pm
Sunday: Closed

Happy Hour
Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 7:00pm (Exclusively at the Bar)

Brunch
Saturday : 11am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
14th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 783-1475

Website:
http://www.occidentaldc.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonal.

Catering:
Private Dining Space Available.
Call 202-737-4147 for further information or visit http://occidentaldc.com/occidental/index.cfm/meetings-events/.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at The Willard Hotel for an $8.00 fee.

Public Transit:
Metro Center Station located on 13th & F Streets.

Bus stop located on 14th Street near the National Press Building.

Executive Chef:
Rodney Scruggs

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Occidental Grill & Seafood, Washington, DC

Report a photo problem

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From business functions and graduations, to rehearsals, receptions & personal get togethers Occidental Grill and Seafood is an elegant DC dining icon. Our private dining rooms exemplify the city's classic ambiance while the chef's menus evoke your taste buds with a modern twist on American favorites

Occidental Grill & Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Business Meals (18)
Historic (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
See All
Special Occasion (13)
Romantic (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Cozy (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Authentic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Scenic View (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Bar Seating (5)
People Watching (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Private Room (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Organic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Casual (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1598 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and even better service. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and even better service. Like being home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The service was fabulous as was our food ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The service was fabulous as was our food. If you are in the area and want to enjoy a great meal in a very classy environment, this is a great place for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent staple of fine dining in Washi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent staple of fine dining in Washington. Never disappoints. First class wines and dining pairs with the best service in Washington with Jeremiah.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a classic DC restaurant, origina ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 4, 2017

This is a classic DC restaurant, originally opened in 1906, which serves classic contemporary American fare. It is equally appropriate for lobbying public officials, or sharing a meal with a friend, spouse, or lover. It doesn't strive to be trendy, and is the better off for it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This has always been one of my favorite ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

This has always been one of my favorite restaurants in DC. Always great food and beautiful historic atmosphere. This time most of the food was excellent, but one of the steaks was overcooked. One friendly bartender and the other one should get a different job. The waiter was friendly and tried hard. Great place to take people who want to experience the hey days of DC.

Tags: Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was excellent. Waiter did a very ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was excellent. Waiter did a very nice job. Friendly and attentive. Topped off our wine glasses when thing took longer than expected. Hope to be back when we return to town.

Desserts were very tasty.

Hope to be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went here for New Year's Eve dinner a ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We went here for New Year's Eve dinner and my wife's Birthday. We had a great meal with a great view of the Washington Monument.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I really loved this place. It was around ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I really loved this place. It was around the corner from the JW Marriott. The service, food and ambiance were perfect for my sister and I. I had the filet with a side of poached lobster. Lobster was delicious. I would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I've always wanted to get to the Occiden ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

I've always wanted to get to the Occidental, and overall, I'm really glad that I finally did. The food was superb, good flavors complimenting the main meat star of the dish-- but ordering one of the family style sides (in this case, the brussels sprouts) was a good call. Ambiance was cool too, definitely that old school dc vibe. With that said, I don't know about the value of the meal, and if it were not for a special occasion with family visiting from out of town, that I would otherwise go there. The Occidental is from another time in DC, before the city's food scene exploded in the last five years.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

We have had a family lunch at the Occide ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We have had a family lunch at the Occidental during the Christmas holidays for the past several years. It has always been a pleasant experience at an historic restaurant highlighted by the thousands of pictures of famous diners since the beginning of the 20th Century. The food is always good; the addition of some short rib entrees were a hit this year. Nice servers. Great location to not only eat by walk to nearby by museums and the National Archives on pleasant winter days.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the warm greeting when you first wa ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 23, 2016

From the warm greeting when you first walk in, to the ambiance, to the excellent service and menu selections, The Occidental is probably one of the finest dining experiences DC has to offer.

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the restaurant but unfortunately m ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Loved the restaurant but unfortunately my filet was overdone. Such a great piece of meat and no flavor, no juice.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Great old watering hole with etchings of ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great old watering hole with etchings of famous people who have eaten there. Food was delicious and service very good.

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

First time there and was treated as roya ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

First time there and was treated as royalty. Food and service fantastic. Will make them a regular stop

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not what it used to be. Limited menu. ri ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Not what it used to be. Limited menu. ridiculous prices for the limited menu. Service was adequate. Don't mind spending money, but will go THE PRIME RIB next time. Sorry.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Services was inattentive and slow. Food ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Services was inattentive and slow. Food arrived cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

We went for our 31st anniversary but hon ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We went for our 31st anniversary but honest-to-GOD the noise level was INSANE. (I know, I know, does anybody really count anniversaries between 25 and 50? Yes, we do!) We even had a 5:30 p.m. reservation (had to get to a 7:30 p.m. show) but by 6:00 p.m. we were shouting at each other to be heard. Happy Anniversary! But the food was delicious, the service was great.

It's perfect on that awkward first date where you don't know what to say because then you can just make a hand signal that means, "I can't hear you." That way you can observe your date. Do they know which fork to use? Argue with the waiter? Talk with their mouth full? Then you can decide if you want to speak with them after you leave.

Also perfect if you're going out with a long-time partner and just had a fight and are not speaking to one another. In that case you can just shrug and everyone will think you mean that you can't hear.

You might be super lucky like we were and have someone at the bar with a braying laugh like a donkey on speed. Every time we heard him we clinked glasses and took a sip of wine. Of COURSE we were drunk before the entree arrived! Hmm, maybe that's why we gave this place such a high rating.

I still say, "Go and find out for yourselves!"

One more thing: Open Table gives "review hints" such as: Avoid story-telling or irrelevant details.

Please. What is better than a good story?

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply, Great Service, Ambiance, and Gr ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Simply, Great Service, Ambiance, and Great Food every time we have dinner in Washington DC

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The Occidental is always reliable for go ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The Occidental is always reliable for good food and exceptional service. On this occasion, our server ensured we were out the door in time for a lecture at the Smithsonian. The amuse bouche of mushroom soup was excellent, as was the rockfish filet over seafood stew.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went there for brunch and the Duck Ha ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We went there for brunch and the Duck Hash with the bottemless mimosas was perfect!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, lovely wine, amazing food ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great service, lovely wine, amazing food. Our fabulous server went above & beyond on our shared dessert. Such a wonderful night. Thank you Occidental!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I took a close friend to Occidental Gril ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

I took a close friend to Occidental Grill & Seafood on December 3rd for a special dinner before our show at The National Theater. We were greeted with warm smiles as soon as we entered the establishment. The wait staff was very attentive and their sommelier assisted me with my champagne selection and he did not disappoint. I ordered the Jumbo Scallops/Pork Chop and my friend had their crab cakes. The scallops were cooked to perfection to the point that my friend wants to return simply to have those! The prices are indicative of their location and service but be prepared that your bottled wine selection could be pricey; albeit, it was well worth it. We spent about 2 hours there but had plenty of time to catch our show and not feel rushed. Looking forward to a return visit soon!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my first time dining at the Occ ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was my first time dining at the Occidental Grill and it did not disappoint. We had a show to go to and they met our timing need without sacrificing a bit on the quality of the food, which was excellent! I was so impressed that I plan on having a group event there in the spring.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

THE OCCIDENTAL IS ONE OF OUR FAVORITE RE ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 18, 2016

THE OCCIDENTAL IS ONE OF OUR FAVORITE RESTAURANTS TO TAKE GUESTS TO FROM OUT OF TOWN. THE HISTORY OF THE RESTAURANT AND THE FOOD MAKE IT A GREAT PLACE TO TAKE PEOPLE/

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had requested a spacious and quite ta ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We had requested a spacious and quite table for our business meeting. Our table was better than our expectation. It was the best or one of the best tables in the restaurant. The staff were all curious. Timothy, the server was considerate and attentive to our lengthy business lunch meeting.

Overall a great Historic place for Business and Group Lunches.

Thank you,

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Occidental is a lovely piece of Was ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The Occidental is a lovely piece of Washington history. Lots of photos of past political celebs and fun to entertain. The bartender needs to learn how to make a proper whiskey sour, and the food was good, but not exceptional. Wen went for the ambience.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Novel twist on some traditional items . ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Novel twist on some traditional items . Everything tasted fresh, well seasoned, well prepared. Typical DC upscale pricing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Always elegant, always dignified, always ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Always elegant, always dignified, always quiet, always great service, this is the perfect place for a quiet power lunch with history echoing through halls. My favorite place in D.C. to do business.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined here to celebrate my boyfriend' ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We dined here to celebrate my boyfriend's new job and birthday. The hostess, main server, water boy, busboy, and runners were all very accommodating and provided superior service. All of the drinks and food were absolutely delicious. The server also provided a candle on the dessert as well as a card signed by all of the staff. Thank you for making my boyfriend's birthday so special!

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great!! Service was outstan ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The food was great!! Service was outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our Meal was good. The restaurant is a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Our Meal was good. The restaurant is a little dated, but charming in a well worn way! We had a corner table for the 6 of us. Our server was a little quirky...I think she wanted to go home!! Our food was good, steaks, fish and a pasta special. All very nice but not really note worthy. I would returen..it was comfortable but nothing fancy!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Returned to this old haunt of mine after ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Returned to this old haunt of mine after ten years. Still has the atmosphere and very good menu that is well prepared. Service is top notch. Longstanding bartender - Michael- is great asset. NOTE. Restaurant is about to undergo significant renovation. We shall see how it turns out.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous steak! Fresh scallops!

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Fabulous steak! Fresh scallops!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great outdoor seating and creative menu. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Great outdoor seating and creative menu. We had a party of 5 for a business meeting and all enjoyed the ambiance and food. Wine list was extensive. Historical building in the middle of DC. Nice find!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Historic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Delicious food, service was just ok

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Delicious food, service was just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

This was one of the worst meals I've eve ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was one of the worst meals I've ever had. Food gras was cold and server agreed. When the replacement came back it was so over cooked it was inedible. I would never go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Perfect outdoor café experience with out ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Perfect outdoor café experience with outstanding sandwiches and truffle fries!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've never had a bad experience at Occid ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I've never had a bad experience at Occidental, it's my favorite place to go when my family comes to town, the food is fantastic and the servers are extremely knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location across from White House. ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Great location across from White House. Ate outside next to sidewalk so could watch people strolling by ( and DC's god awful traffic ). Great food but pricey. Service was prompt, courteous, and friendly. Would hesitate to go back unless someone else was paying!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

A Washington classic that truly lives up ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 3, 2016

A Washington classic that truly lives up to its reputation. Thanks for a great birthday dinner!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.