About Occidental Grill & Seafood

1475 Pennsylvania Ave NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Occidental Grill & Seafood is a DC dining institution just steps from the White House, with a history dating back more than 110 years. This iconic gathering place combines legendary staying power with a constantly evolving, cutting-edge menu that takes a fresh and current approach to classic American cuisine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am – 10:00pm
Sunday: 11am-9pm

Happy Hour
Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 7:00pm (Exclusively at the Bar)

Brunch
Saturday & Sunday : 11am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
14th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 783-1475

Website:
http://www.occidentaldc.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonal.

Catering:
Private Dining Space Available.
Call 202-737-4147 for further information or visit http://occidentaldc.com/occidental/index.cfm/meetings-events/.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at The Willard Hotel for an $8.00 fee.

Public Transit:
Metro Center Station located on 13th & F Streets.

Bus stop located on 14th Street near the National Press Building.

Executive Chef:
Rodney Scruggs

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Occidental Grill & Seafood
Occidental Grill & Seafood

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From business functions and graduations, to rehearsals, receptions & personal get togethers Occidental Grill and Seafood is an elegant DC dining icon. Our private dining rooms exemplify the city's classic ambiance while the chef's menus evoke your taste buds with a modern twist on American favorites

Occidental Grill & Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Great for Lunch (29)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Romantic (23)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Good for Groups (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Great for Brunch (12)
Scenic View (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1453 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome find! Everything was delish!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome find! Everything was delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I try to go to this restaurant at least ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 3 days ago

I try to go to this restaurant at least twice a year. The quality of the food this time around was lower than usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

The Occidental is the traditional restau ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Occidental is the traditional restaurant for a DC rendezvous meeting over lunch or dinner for generations. The pre-meal experience and dining are classic.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Business Meals, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was OK. My only problem was actually ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It was OK. My only problem was actually food - it was spectacularly decorated but was only OK. the ambiance was nice - old american style.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was wonderful. The food was w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Everything was wonderful. The food was well prepared, and the service impeccable. I would definitely go there again. The best dinner I have had in a long time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Don't believe the hype of this place. Th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Don't believe the hype of this place. The food just didn't do it for me. I'm not sure if it was because it was D.C. Restaurant Week or because it was a busy Friday night - we were just not impressed. The small portions combined with the red wine that immediately gave me a headache made me think twice about ever visiting this place again. I had the bass and my date had the steak. My bass was overcooked and his steak was definitely undercooked.

The service was also below what I expect at a high end restaurant. We had multiple servers, so it was difficult to know who to ask for when we needed something. I asked one of the servers where the bathroom was located and he just pointed in a direction with no verbal indication of where the bathroom actually was located.

I didn't have a pleasant experience at all and will not be going back. I just think there are better places in that area that are well worth the cost and time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Mediocre food, tourist spot

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Mediocre food, tourist spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Very nice romantic patio with musical en ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Very nice romantic patio with musical entertainment. Food was amazing and service fast and polite. Great location a few steps from the White House.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Celebrated our 20th Wedding Anniversary ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Celebrated our 20th Wedding Anniversary at the Occidental Grill. It was an amazing evening, friendly, energetic bartender made great drinks, service throughout the night was top notch. 3 course dinner was delicious and lots of friendly folks from hostesses to waiters to bar backs made this a memorable and relaxing night. Plus it was Restaurant Week in DC so the price was definitely right.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great. We liked all of t ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The service was great. We liked all of the three appetizers we ordered, as well as all the desserts. However, the main dishes we got: sirloin and cod, both were disappointing. Way over cooked. Even our kids would not eat it. Left with mixed feelings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The food was excellent, very creatively ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was excellent, very creatively prepared and well-presented.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious meal, attentive service. Beau ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Delicious meal, attentive service. Beautiful outdoor patio with a view of the White House lawn

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The service was great and the food was e ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The service was great and the food was excellent. The foie gras was good or better than Pau, a treat for the pallet.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really loved it. Had the shrimp ceviche ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Really loved it. Had the shrimp ceviche with coconut sorbet & melon -- fantastic. the sea bass was also very good & a banana split for dessert

I would go again in an instant

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mediocre food. Tourist place. Not even c ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Mediocre food. Tourist place. Not even close to five star dining. My son and I love steaks and seafood. We've chosen the place for that rating OpenTable gave to the place. It's far from real.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

The food was ok but I had greater expect ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was ok but I had greater expectations because of the place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Love this place! One of the very best i ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Love this place! One of the very best in DC!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good atmosphere. Dined outdoors and was ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Good atmosphere. Dined outdoors and was very nice. Food was not quite as good as the service and entire dining experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This is a classic DC watering hole, orig ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

This is a classic DC watering hole, originally opened in 1906, and reopened 80 years later, after the 18-year closure of The Willard, albeit at understandably higher prices. It's equally good for a business lunch, lunch with a close friend (as in my case), or a date.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The service was rapid; the food was good ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The service was rapid; the food was good; the ambiance was terrific.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Server was exceptional

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Server was exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top notch as usual. Great food, great a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Top notch as usual. Great food, great ambiance, and great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic American watering hole, just wes ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Classic American watering hole, just west of The Willard. Perfect for business or personal occasions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great service! Touch overpriced! Will go ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great service! Touch overpriced!

Will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always awesome! The Occidental never dis ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always awesome! The Occidental never disappoints. Whether it is dinner for two or cocktails and dinner for 50, the Occidental delivers. Tasty seasonal treats appear on the menu as specials, and there is enough breadth on the menu for the unadventurous. The cocktail menu varies as well. One of my go to places.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I dined at the Occidental on three separ ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I dined at the Occidental on three separate occasions, all of which were holiday parties with a set menu exclusively for our party. While notably enjoyable on all three occasions the atmosphere was quite different and it was more of a party with dinner served as opposed to just dinner with friends. I suggested the Occidental to my date. We prefer dining at upscale restaurants with hopes of eating wonderful food. This was not the case Saturday evening. The appetizers were fine but the main course which was the special was not so good. It was sea bass with seafood risotto. The fish was overcooked and didn't really taste like any sea bass I'd ever tasted unless there is a difference in Chilean sea bass and regular sea bass? Im not sure. I even went so far as to question myself if it really was sea bass at all. The risotto contained small scallops that were gritty and there were small pools of oil (maybe butter) that had accumulated around the edges. Dessert was so so. It was the chocolate cake with plums. The coffee was black as mud and extremely bitter. I couldn't drink it. I would not return nor recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

We had an early and leisurely dinner. Th ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had an early and leisurely dinner. The food was lovely and the portions perfect (from a UK perspective at least) - highlights were the still sizzling cornbread and peach soup. Our server was efficient, helpful and knowledgeable, including about the photographs on the walls. We looked up Buffalo Bill on the way out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Disaster!!! Server took our order but se ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Disaster!!!

Server took our order but seemed really disengaged. Thought he was 'high'.

40 mins passed server never came back to our table.

Spoke to several servers re finding out about our meal. Eventually told that our ticket got lost!! At this point we cancelled the order and went to the bar where had great service prior to dinner from a young lady called Aubrey.

She didn't disappoint and took care of us at the bar. Meantime the manager and the missing server were at the end of the bar. Aubrey explained to the manager the problem and after 30 mins he sidled up to me and mumbled something like did you want to see me. I explained what had happened and he was less than interested.

Terrible experience but it won't happen again as I won't be back and I'll make sure I spread the word on social media.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I had higher hopes for this place. I th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I had higher hopes for this place. I thought it was going to be more high end old school Washington. The food was average and service fair. I waited at the bar while my table was readied --it was pretty chaotic with waiters rushing to pickup drinks for the tables, etc. After I was seated at my table I ordered a martini which was shaken, overly iced and diluted. I commented to the waiter I would have ordered it stirred if I had known it was going to be so icy. At first she offered to have it "strained" of the ice--she ultimately took it back and they brought another one. Their steaks are not prime which you would expect from a restaurant at this price point. All in all it missed the mark for a high end restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Classic DC watering hole, dating back to ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Classic DC watering hole, dating back to 1906, but presumably closed for the eighteen years the Willard was closed. This is my best friend's favorite restaurant, which is reason enough for me to enjoy it also.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We went for the first time during the fo ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We went for the first time during the fourth of July activities without knowing the exact location of the place. The location announced that they were located near the national mall (which is true) and that it will be a great place to watch the fireworks.

Although the fireworks were very close, there was no way to see them because they were behind the trees. The food was very expensive and with nothing special. I would expect a much better food for the price. Honestly, it was not pleasant to pay so much for an overpriced food and a bad location to see the fireworks.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

The best crab cakes you will find in DC! ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The best crab cakes you will find in DC! Great location and of course the service is top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have eaten there numerable times but ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I have eaten there numerable times but this time I

Was very disappointed. Service was horrible- food

was not good at all- sole to the manager who did nothing about it.

It has slipped from my favorite of places to go in DC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Definitely a must do experience whether ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Definitely a must do experience whether you are visiting or native to DC. We dined early (1700) to make a 1900 event on our anniversary. Quiet time despite the holiday weekend. The food was well timed, and deliciously prepared. We dined on contemporary takes on classics- filet mignon and bouillabaisse - which were ample in portion and cooked to perfection. The Barrel- aged Manhattan was simply superb, with a smooth and broad range of flavors. The Occidental definitely shows the stately side of Washington.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cool place. Very historic. Food was grea ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Cool place. Very historic. Food was great, just can't give it 5 stars for value because it is sooo expensive, even for DC. Maybe that's why we could walk right in on a Saturday evening

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The menu was limited with only 9 appetiz ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The menu was limited with only 9 appetizers and 7 main courses. Prices are high. Appetizers over $20 ! The service staff was young and inexperienced. They were very friendly and tried hard to please. However, they did not seem to be well versed on fine dining.

That much said, we loved our dinner at Occidental! The history of this place is amazing and the awesome photos lining the walls provided a walk through history!

If you love history, you're going to love Occidental.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Everything was great except both meals w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Everything was great except both meals were undercooked (despite requesting medium steak with warm pink center)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Wonderful service

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Wonderful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I love the Occidental but Monday was not ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I love the Occidental but Monday was not a good night. Our server was very attentive when we arrived but after the 4th time of him coming by and us not being ready, he disappeared for almost 45 minutes. When he came back to get our order, I asked if I could change my cheese on my salad and he said it might be a problem ("the chef doesn't like to make changes"). When we asked the server's shadow for some bread, it seemed like it was an odd request even though I'm sure I've been served bread before. The meal itself was very good, as always, and the server was very nice but I'm not sure if he was just frustrated with my friend and I catching up for so long or what.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The service was perfect. The food was de ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was perfect. The food was delicious. The atmosphere was outstanding. I've dined here before with friends, but took my family for Father's Day. Lobster Quiche and the Vanilla Waffles were the best items on the brunch menu. We loved the granola bars in the bread basket. The place was surprisingly empty. Appreciated the check-in call at 11:30 for a 2pm reservation. Awesome place. Will come again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.