About Occidental Grill & Seafood

1475 Pennsylvania Ave NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

The Occidental Grill & Seafood blends modern creativity with time-honored tradition in D.C.'s most stunning setting. Explore a comprehensive photography collection of famous 20th Century personalities, while choosing from over 200 wines to compliment Chef Rodney Scruggs's innovative Classic American menu. Just steps away from the White House and the Warner and National Theatre's.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Friday: 11:30am – 10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am – 10:00pm
Sunday: 11am-9pm

Happy Hour
Monday - Friday: 4:00pm - 7:00pm (Exclusively at the Bar)

Brunch
Saturday & Sunday : 11am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
14th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 783-1475

Website:
http://www.occidentaldc.com/

Entertainment:
Seasonal.

Catering:
Private Dining Space Available.
Call 202-737-4147 for further information or visit http://occidentaldc.com/occidental/index.cfm/meetings-events/.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available at The Willard Hotel for an $8.00 fee.

Public Transit:
Metro Center Station located on 13th & F Streets.

Bus stop located on 14th Street near the National Press Building.

Executive Chef:
Rodney Scruggs

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Occidental Grill & Seafood
Occidental Grill & Seafood

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:30PM - 10:00PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

From business functions and graduations, to rehearsals, receptions & personal get togethers Occidental Grill and Seafood is an elegant DC dining icon. Our private dining rooms exemplify the city's classic ambiance while the chef's menus evoke your taste buds with a modern twist on American favorites

Occidental Grill & Seafood Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (57)
fit for foodies (44)
great for lunch (36)
See All
great for outdoor dining (36)
romantic (28)
neighborhood gem (26)
notable wine list (21)
good for groups (20)
great for brunch (14)
scenic view (12)
hot spot (11)
late-night find (7)
vibrant bar scene (7)
Sort By:
Newest
1429 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Classic American watering hole, just wes ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Classic American watering hole, just west of The Willard. Perfect for business or personal occasions.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great service! Touch overpriced! Will go ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great service! Touch overpriced!

Will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always awesome! The Occidental never dis ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always awesome! The Occidental never disappoints. Whether it is dinner for two or cocktails and dinner for 50, the Occidental delivers. Tasty seasonal treats appear on the menu as specials, and there is enough breadth on the menu for the unadventurous. The cocktail menu varies as well. One of my go to places.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I dined at the Occidental on three separ ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I dined at the Occidental on three separate occasions, all of which were holiday parties with a set menu exclusively for our party. While notably enjoyable on all three occasions the atmosphere was quite different and it was more of a party with dinner served as opposed to just dinner with friends. I suggested the Occidental to my date. We prefer dining at upscale restaurants with hopes of eating wonderful food. This was not the case Saturday evening. The appetizers were fine but the main course which was the special was not so good. It was sea bass with seafood risotto. The fish was overcooked and didn't really taste like any sea bass I'd ever tasted unless there is a difference in Chilean sea bass and regular sea bass? Im not sure. I even went so far as to question myself if it really was sea bass at all. The risotto contained small scallops that were gritty and there were small pools of oil (maybe butter) that had accumulated around the edges. Dessert was so so. It was the chocolate cake with plums. The coffee was black as mud and extremely bitter. I couldn't drink it. I would not return nor recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

We had an early and leisurely dinner. Th ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had an early and leisurely dinner. The food was lovely and the portions perfect (from a UK perspective at least) - highlights were the still sizzling cornbread and peach soup. Our server was efficient, helpful and knowledgeable, including about the photographs on the walls. We looked up Buffalo Bill on the way out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Disaster!!! Server took our order but se ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Disaster!!!

Server took our order but seemed really disengaged. Thought he was 'high'.

40 mins passed server never came back to our table.

Spoke to several servers re finding out about our meal. Eventually told that our ticket got lost!! At this point we cancelled the order and went to the bar where had great service prior to dinner from a young lady called Aubrey.

She didn't disappoint and took care of us at the bar. Meantime the manager and the missing server were at the end of the bar. Aubrey explained to the manager the problem and after 30 mins he sidled up to me and mumbled something like did you want to see me. I explained what had happened and he was less than interested.

Terrible experience but it won't happen again as I won't be back and I'll make sure I spread the word on social media.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I had higher hopes for this place. I th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I had higher hopes for this place. I thought it was going to be more high end old school Washington. The food was average and service fair. I waited at the bar while my table was readied --it was pretty chaotic with waiters rushing to pickup drinks for the tables, etc. After I was seated at my table I ordered a martini which was shaken, overly iced and diluted. I commented to the waiter I would have ordered it stirred if I had known it was going to be so icy. At first she offered to have it "strained" of the ice--she ultimately took it back and they brought another one. Their steaks are not prime which you would expect from a restaurant at this price point. All in all it missed the mark for a high end restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Classic DC watering hole, dating back to ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Classic DC watering hole, dating back to 1906, but presumably closed for the eighteen years the Willard was closed. This is my best friend's favorite restaurant, which is reason enough for me to enjoy it also.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We went for the first time during the fo ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We went for the first time during the fourth of July activities without knowing the exact location of the place. The location announced that they were located near the national mall (which is true) and that it will be a great place to watch the fireworks.

Although the fireworks were very close, there was no way to see them because they were behind the trees. The food was very expensive and with nothing special. I would expect a much better food for the price. Honestly, it was not pleasant to pay so much for an overpriced food and a bad location to see the fireworks.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

The best crab cakes you will find in DC! ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The best crab cakes you will find in DC! Great location and of course the service is top notch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Definitely a must do experience whether ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Definitely a must do experience whether you are visiting or native to DC. We dined early (1700) to make a 1900 event on our anniversary. Quiet time despite the holiday weekend. The food was well timed, and deliciously prepared. We dined on contemporary takes on classics- filet mignon and bouillabaisse - which were ample in portion and cooked to perfection. The Barrel- aged Manhattan was simply superb, with a smooth and broad range of flavors. The Occidental definitely shows the stately side of Washington.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cool place. Very historic. Food was grea ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Cool place. Very historic. Food was great, just can't give it 5 stars for value because it is sooo expensive, even for DC. Maybe that's why we could walk right in on a Saturday evening

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The menu was limited with only 9 appetiz ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The menu was limited with only 9 appetizers and 7 main courses. Prices are high. Appetizers over $20 ! The service staff was young and inexperienced. They were very friendly and tried hard to please. However, they did not seem to be well versed on fine dining.

That much said, we loved our dinner at Occidental! The history of this place is amazing and the awesome photos lining the walls provided a walk through history!

If you love history, you're going to love Occidental.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Everything was great except both meals w ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Everything was great except both meals were undercooked (despite requesting medium steak with warm pink center)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Wonderful service

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Wonderful service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I love the Occidental but Monday was not ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

I love the Occidental but Monday was not a good night. Our server was very attentive when we arrived but after the 4th time of him coming by and us not being ready, he disappeared for almost 45 minutes. When he came back to get our order, I asked if I could change my cheese on my salad and he said it might be a problem ("the chef doesn't like to make changes"). When we asked the server's shadow for some bread, it seemed like it was an odd request even though I'm sure I've been served bread before. The meal itself was very good, as always, and the server was very nice but I'm not sure if he was just frustrated with my friend and I catching up for so long or what.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The service was perfect. The food was de ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was perfect. The food was delicious. The atmosphere was outstanding. I've dined here before with friends, but took my family for Father's Day. Lobster Quiche and the Vanilla Waffles were the best items on the brunch menu. We loved the granola bars in the bread basket. The place was surprisingly empty. Appreciated the check-in call at 11:30 for a 2pm reservation. Awesome place. Will come again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Occidental Grill & Seafood restaurant is ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Occidental Grill & Seafood restaurant is in the Willard Intercontinental Hotel complex in the 1400 block of E St. NW, Washington, DC. Since it is in the downtown area, parking is a big challenge. There are metered spaces and a few parking garages within walking distance of the restaurant. Valet parking is also available. We were seated immediately upon arrival for dinner. Our server was very professional, friendly and non-pushy with the pace of the dining courses - very much appreciated! The entire dining experience was awesome - great food, great atmosphere, great service. We dined at the Occidental in the past but had not returned for some time - over two years. Won't make that mistake again! Reserve a table and bring a well-stuffed wallet. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Billed as a place to see and be seen, we ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Billed as a place to see and be seen, we expected the restaurant to be full and the food to be excellent (as tourists). While booking a reservation required planning a few days in advance, we arrived and dined in a 1/4 full restaurant. While the food was moderately good, it did not earn the price tag of +$400 for four with a bottle of wine.

Service was attentive and friendly. But overall quality, taste, and selection suffered when compared to similarly priced restaurants in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. Service was slo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The food was excellent. Service was slow albeit amicable. Food and wine came much later than expected--good thing we weren't in a hurry. It is pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Went to Occidental while vacationing in ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Went to Occidental while vacationing in DC. The food and service was great. Nice staff as well.

We both had fish. It was tasty and good texture. Imaginative presentation for entrees and for dessert. Would highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were on holiday in DC and staying at ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

We were on holiday in DC and staying at the Willard. Dinner was very slow in arriving, tasted like it was under a low heat lamp waaay too long (dry and Luke warm)and was very expensive. Such a disappointment for a legendary restaurant. No wonder it wasn't busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Excellent!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Everything was perfect. Food, ambiance, wine and service!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The last reservation available is 9:45 b ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

The last reservation available is 9:45 but the kitchen closes at 10pm. We had to rush and order in 10 min or we couldnt eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

70th Birthday dinner

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our waiter was by far the best ever. He sent champagne and the chef sent ( per his request ) a special before dinner treat. The food was more that delicious and was very surprised how NOT expensive it was.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic DC watering hole

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

This is perhaps an iconic DC restaurant, reopened with the reopening of The Willard back in 1986. It is my date's favorite restaurant, which is enough for me to recommend it.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great happy hour and appetizer specials! ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Great happy hour and appetizer specials! Special drink of day was wonderful !

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Noisy but Good

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Very noisy by the bar, but the food was great and service was attentive and very professional

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Overall very nice restaurant but service ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Overall very nice restaurant but service was disappointing. Felt like we were an afterthought for the server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

25th Anniversary

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

We usually come to the Occidental for special occasions because of the fun and interesting atmosphere.

This time we found ourselves attempting to celebrate next to a booth with a loud small child. It was't the atmosphere we wanted. We asked to be moved and were quickly accommodated.

The Mgmnt graciously 'comped' our desserts.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Evening

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

It is always logistically challenging to get our whole family together, but we were able to on Friday night at the grill. We were running late due to traffic and called to make sure our reservation was held, they were very pleasant and told us not to worry. Once we got there the staff and the food were excellent. As the majority of us were having fish, I found the white wine selections to be limited, however it all worked out. Overall a great evening

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Thank you Occidental Grill ... for a gre ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Thank you Occidental Grill ... for a great lunch and service ...!

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

During a Staycation, where my husband I ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

During a Staycation, where my husband I wanted to be "tourists in our own Town," we selected the Occidental for a special luncheon. It was cold and rainy outside; yet as soon as we walked into this lovely restaurant, with all the photographs on the walls, we felt warm and happy. The fabulous reception at the Front Desk, the very helpful wait staff, and the incredible food (crab and corn chowder soup to die for) were remarkable. We are so pleased we returned The Occidental, our go-to romantic place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great time...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Always a great time...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Class Act

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

This place is a must for a special occasion. The waitstaff know what they are doing, the food presentation and flavor notes hit all the chords and you will walk away with a memorable experience. The grilled Miatake will now replace my need for a filet mignon!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for theater

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Location to National Theater is perfect. Manager was wonderful giving us the history when we arrived early.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

fantastic food at a really reasonable rate!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were very impressed with the ambiance, but the food really rocked it. Great service, historic location - this will be a new favorite.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Mothers Day brunch. My wife ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Outstanding Mothers Day brunch. My wife and family really enjoyed the food. Our waitress was great. One minor setback in the dessert but quickly fixed. Highly recommend it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

PERFECT Brunch!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food, service and atmosphere were terrific. 5+ stars. We dined outside on a Sunday morning - thoroughly enjoyed our experience at the Occidental!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was outstanding and our salmon an ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Server was outstanding and our salmon and scallop dishes were utterly delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.