About Oba

555 NW 12th Ave
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of the Pearl District, ¡Oba! Restaurante is known for its lively atmosphere, hand-crafted cocktails and award-winning Nuevo Latino cuisine. ¡Oba!’s menu is where bold Latin traditions, spices and preparations meet seasonal, local ingredients. ¡Oba!’s inventive cuisine, stunning design, award-winning wine list and commitment to excellent guest service have sustained a solid following and 17 successful years.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Tuesday 5:00pm-9:00pm, Wednesday-Thursday 5:00pm-9:30pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
NW Hoyt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-6161

Website:
http://www.obarestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please call Oba's Event Coordinator, Galit Reilly 503.750.7675, for details.

Executive Chef:
Luis Contreras

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

¡Oba!’s Havana Room is the perfect space for your next birthday celebration, family get together or even a girl’s night out. Vibrant color, dancing light, spicy undertones and the rich history of long-held family traditions serve as a framework for a truly transformational dining experience.

Oba Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (32)
Special Occasion (27)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
See All
Tapas (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Romantic (22)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Fun (14)
Cozy (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Authentic (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Business Meals (10)
Casual (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
People Watching (7)
Healthy (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Family Style (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Spicy (2)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1703 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

We used a Groupon for the 4 course meal and it was amazing! The New York Strip steak was probably the best steak I've ever had. We had the Queso Fundido with chorizo and the coconut prawns as appetizers. I loved them both but my husband thought the sauce on the prawns was too sweet. The Flan for dessert was a perfect light ending to our meal. The service was impeccable and the atmosphere was classy and cozy. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our food was delicious and the service was attentive and professional!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food and service! Get the Caesar salad! And the margs.

Tags: Private Room, Tapas, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Went before the theater. Had the Chefs 4 course dinner. Food was great. Steak a bit tough for the price (I can buy tender skirt steak at Costco, why cant they?) but the flavors were great.

Tags: Spicy, Tapas, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had tickets to see the Oregon Symphony which started at 7:30 we got to our reservation at 5:30 but a time we got our main course it was almost 7 o'clock the waitress was fantastic but the kitchen was extremely slow I would not recommend this if you're in a hurry but the food was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food at a reasonable price for the Pearl. Get the chorizo fundido appetizer. Just do it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We came on valentines day and got our reservation changed easily. the food is top class, service very friendly. took my liittle 5yr and she had a good time also. can recommend only. BTW, try the Margaritas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our go to restaurant for special occasions. We love the food and atmosphere and the staff there are friendly and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend Oba to anyone!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Waiter was spectacular but my wife's main course (steak) was horrible. It was so tough that she ended up taking it home for our dog. It was the type of steak one might expect at a $12 buffet, not at a high end restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food, as always. The tenderloin special was amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Customer service is very good and food is wonderful thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was excellent and the dessert was to die for!

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a great meal at Oba. We went there with a Chef's Menu through Groupon. I had been there twice before, but my boyfriend had not. We were early for our reservations so we had drinks in the bar and table-side guacamole which was amazing! The bar was really, really loud. It was very hard to carry on a conversation and while we were told we could eat in the bar we decided not to because of the noise level. We were seated around 7:45 in the dining room and honestly the noise level in there wasn't much better and we even had a booth. I am 50 so take that into account (at 30 , maybe even 40 the noise may not have bothered me so much). By the time we left around 10:00 it had quieted down a lot. I imagine that it would be a different dining experience on a weeknight rather than a weekend night. So take that for what it is worth. I would definitely dine there again even on a weekend, but would probably try to go early or later than we did just so we could more easily have a conversation. The food was amazing and the service was great!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The service, especially for cocktails, was incredibly slow. We ordered our second cocktails as soon as the first ones were delivered and even then one of us never even got the second cocktail. The waiter was not attentive, for a restaurant of this price range we shouldn't need to ask for water refills (and then never actually get them). All of that aside, their food is delicious! The home made table side guacamole is awesome.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had a Groupon for the chiefs four course meal and it was fabulous. We have always done there happy hour which is one of the best in town. There blood orange margaritas are wonderful! The service is great and they are very helpful.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Menu is creative and our selections were delicious. The table side guacamole is spectacular..we can't have guacamole anyplace else now! Well done Oba!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Oba continues to be my favorite restaurant. The food and service were outstanding. I'm so glad they brought back my favorite swordfish entree. We were celebrating a birthday so my friend got a free dessert. She enjoyed her meal too. We had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Oba thank you again for a wonderful evening. It was our 12th anniversary of the day we met at Oba and like every year you made it very special for us.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 1, 2017

This is the second time we've been to Oba and it was as excellent as it was the first time we visited. There was a wonderful ambience that was paired with delicious food and great wine. I would definitely recommend this anyone looking for an upscale restaurant with a Latin feel.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Had the 3 course meal

Steak was tender perfectly cooked

Server friendly good wine recommendations

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The drinks were good, but the food was not that great ordered the steak and it was really poor quality steak I could not eat it. Took it home as a doggy bag. Would only go back for the drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We made a reservation, but still had to wait for a while. It took 45 minutes to get our salad and another 30 after we finished that for our entree to come. The servers were nice enough, but the wait times were too long. The environment and location were good, but I won't be coming back.

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a lovely dinner with friends. The food and drinks were excellent. The noise level was moderate, so it was easy to converse. A delightful evening all around.

Tags: Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Love the happy hour at oba but dining room is quieter on a Friday night!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great "non" typical menu. Very efficient and friendly bar server. Loved the no rush pace of each course. Can't wait to visit again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Everything was good except for the noise level which was a wee bit on the loud side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

really good food. table side guacamole was good. for 2, we ordered, 3 tapas and 1 entrée which was too much food. server told us it would be fine for the 2 of us. we ordered everything at once. we got the 3 tapas at same time and then entrée came. next time, would just order 1 thing at a time to spread it out. overall very good and will go back, just will time our food a little better.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food and Service were excellent. Portions small. Using a Groupon which lead to some shenanigans to increase tip. I didn't like this part of the experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Lucas, our host was extremely prompt and gracious! Jennica was great!! I had friend visiting from Dallas TX and Jennica made her feel warm and welcome!!! Can't say enough about that table side guacamole !!! A must have!!! And the flash fried calamari; tender and delicious!! I had the Carne churrasco, prepared perfectly and Candace had the pan seared salmon. "Amazing ". Malasadas were out of this world!! "Luxurious".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Service was great... food was good... so many other great places to eat in Portland so probably will not go back in quite awhile.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Food was awesome, service )Jeffrey) was fantastic We had a four course meal of finding, salad and fish then 🍮 flan. Was very good

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Most of the staff was very polite and courteous, it's a great date spot.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food and Service, on a busy night, both excellent!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was great food and better people watching on New Year's Eve before the party.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great ambiance for our NYE dinner! Service is consistently friendly and knowledgeable about menu options. Great choices for many different palates. Was a little disappointed in our prime rib selection, the dish just seemed to lack love. I felt as though it was kinda thrown together after a busy NYE. Overall, we walked away satisfied in a generally good dining experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Hot Spot, People Watching, Authentic, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was great! Great for dates and family dinners

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Did not expect much for New Years eve last minute reservation but staff was fantastic and the service was impeccable. Food was what we expected but it was the service that set them aside. Went to opening knight of OBa 18 years ago and there is a reasonably they are still going strong. My wife and Inpretty critical but commend the places that over deliver. Well done.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were there on New Year's Eve and every table was filled. Now that swordfish is back on the menu we will go there many more times. Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had one of the best meals at Oba on New Years Eve. The food was delicious, and our server was outstanding. It was just a fantastic evening all around.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great ambiance, attentive wait staff, and the food was delicious - expertly prepared and beautiful presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Delicious food and awesome service from Jeffrey!

Great New Years dinner!

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching, Cozy, Business Meals, Healthy, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything was amazing: chorizo queso, mahi-mahi and flan. We'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very good food, service was super! A bit loud but overall great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

For starters we ordered a couple of excellent small plate selections with fresh gauc being made at our table. Really delicious. Also very scrumptious ceviche with warm chips.

Prime rib was order by three of us, 8 oz. was plenty. Also swordfish that was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Overall great as always. The noise level gets a little loud but easy to put up with

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Three of us met for a pre-show dinner at Christmas. Lovely decorations and delicious food and drinks made a special holiday meal an event!

Menu options were all tempting.

My swordfish with pesto was perfectly cooked with a delicious balance of flavors.

We wished the room was a little bit lighter so we didn't have to use cellphone flashlight to read the menu or see the lovely presentation of our plate!

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

They used to have a great cheese board, was looking forward to it for an appetizer and dessert. alas it is no longer an option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Anniversary dinner. Got the chefs special groupon deal. Left disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food was especially good--fresh ingredients, thoughtfully prepared and presented--and the casual/hip atmosphere made the evening feel special. Our server was knowledgeable and efficient, friendly without being obnoxious, and the auxiliary wait staff were helpful and professional.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Casual, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.