Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

AndinaAndina
(5867)
$$$$
Peruvian | Pearl District, Portland
Booked 77 times today
Irving St KitchenIrving St Kitchen
(1301)
$$$$
American | Pearl District, Portland
Booked 24 times today
Brix TavernBrix Tavern
(958)
$$$$
Comfort Food | Pearl District, Portland
Booked 18 times today
Nicoletta + BeppesNicoletta + Beppes
(28)
$$$$
Italian | Pearl District, Portland
Booked 2 times today
Zaatar Fine Lebanese CuisineZaatar Fine Lebanese Cuisine
(89)
$$$$
Lebanese | Pearl District, Portland
Paragon - PortlandParagon - Portland
(414)
$$$$
Gastro Pub | Pearl District, Portland
Booked 2 times today
Giorgio'sGiorgio's
(112)
$$$$
Italian | NW Portland, Portland
Booked 1 time today
Departure Restaurant and LoungeDeparture Restaurant and Lounge
(2477)
$$$$
Asian | Downtown, Portland
Booked 55 times today
Portland City GrillPortland City Grill
(5330)
$$$$
Steak | Downtown, Portland
Booked 109 times today
ImperialImperial
(1867)
$$$$
Northwest | Downtown, Portland
Booked 67 times today
Jake's Famous CrawfishJake's Famous Crawfish
(4014)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown, Portland
Booked 29 times today
Fogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - PortlandFogo de Chao Brazilian Steakhouse - Portland
(1421)
$$$$
Brazilian Steakhouse | SW Portland, Portland
Booked 12 times today
Bamboo Sushi SWBamboo Sushi SW
(317)
$$$$
Sushi | SW Portland, Portland
Booked 28 times today
Little BirdLittle Bird
(2082)
$$$$
French | Downtown, Portland
Booked 43 times today
St JackSt Jack
(1394)
$$$$
French | NW Portland, Portland
Booked 21 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Permanently Closed - Oba

This restaurant is permanently closed. Located in the heart of the Pearl District, ¡Oba! Restaurante is known for its lively atmosphere, hand-crafted cocktails and award-winning Nuevo Latino cuisine. ¡Oba!’s menu is where bold Latin traditions, spices and preparations meet seasonal, local ingredients. ¡Oba!’s inventive cuisine, stunning design, award-winning wine list and commitment to excellent guest service have sustained a solid following and 17 successful years.

555 NW 12th Ave
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Tuesday 5:00pm-9:00pm, Wednesday-Thursday 5:00pm-9:30pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
NW Hoyt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-6161

Website:
http://www.obarestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please call Oba's Event Coordinator, Galit Reilly for details.

Private Party Facilities:
¡Oba!’s Havana Room is the perfect space for your next birthday celebration, family get together or even a girl’s night out. Vibrant color, dancing light, spicy undertones and the rich history of long-held family traditions serve as a framework for a truly transformational dining experience.

Private Party Contact:
Galit Reilly: (888) 927-2305

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
OBA! is excited to announce our partnership with Project Lemonade on Wednesday, July 26, 2017. 10% of all purchases that evening will go directly to Project Lemonade. Please contact OBA! directly or visit opentable.com to make your reservation.

For more information about project lemonade, please visit their website at www.projectlemonadepdx.org

Oba - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Special Occasion (28)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
See All
Creative Cuisine (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Good for Groups (15)
Romantic (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Tapas (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Business Meals (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Authentic (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Fun (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Casual (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Healthy (5)
Spicy (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Cozy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1858 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Excellent food, excellent drinks, great service, nice atmosphere. Price is higher than average, but you get what you pay for. In other words, you should expect to pay more for exceptional food and service. My only knock on the restaurant would be the acoustics. It is almost impossible to have a conversation with someone unless you are sitting side by side and leaning in to hear. If the restaurant is crowded (which is often the case), it can be difficult to interface with your group. In short, I absolutely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 1, 2017

I have been a long time fan of Oba. The one damper on the evening was when it came time to pay the bill. We had 7 people dining together. (3 couples and a single). When I asked that we divide the ticket, the waitress says that the restaurant usually doesn’t do that for large parties. She then reluctantly agreed. I don’t like being hit with this pressure. No one among us was prepared to pay for all of us and would not have had an easy way to recoup money from the others. I believe the restaurant was trying to avoid additional credit card fees. They should plan for this by building the fee into the overall cost of the meal and stop pressuring customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Food was good
Service was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Loved everything about Oba: excellent cocktails, delicious food, scrumptious dessert, and super friendly staff. Our server was extremely friendly and helpful. The hostess is a sommelier and provided great advice for a wine selection to match our meal. Another waitress also provided suggestions on places to see in Portland.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The best dish ordered was the guacamole done at the table. However, $18.00 is a bit overpriced. The enchiladas were just okay. It was obvious that these had been pre-cooked then reheated, because the plates where searing hot, and the enchiladas warm. Entre did not come with rice, so at waitresses suggestion ordered the coconut rice. Very disappointing , since it was bland, mushy, and had very, very little flavor of coconut. Oba's version of Latin cuisine leave a lot to be desired. The best thing about this over priced and under flavored establishment is its location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Excellent food, beautiful presentation, generous portions

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Service great. Food amazing. Wine recomnebdation spot on.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 16, 2017

We are visiting after having moved from Portland. We were looking forward to Oba from many great meals in previous years. However the menu and food did not meet our expectations. The drinks were great. It's still a nice atmosphere and our server was super. The special dinner halibut was good but the other two meals were plain. No special flavoring that we had expected. Left disappointed. And regret that I am writing this because would like to say it was excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 15, 2017

We visited on a Thursday evening. The restaurant was busy but not overly so. The staff and our server were very knowledgeable, friendly and attentive. Great service. The drinks were outstanding and we enjoyed our appetizer and main dishes. I would absolutely eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Everything was very good with our meal except for the amount of time to receive our food. Much too long of a wait for the appetizer to arrive at our table. I would not recommend dining here if you are really hungry.

Tags: Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Had a lovely light meal (we had a late lunch, so were looking to keep it light). The coconut shrimp and crispy green beans were tasty and nicely presented... followed that with hearty salads. Service was friendly and welcoming. The restaurant is really elegant and beautifully decorated. All in all a superior experience! Thanks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

appetizer and desert were out of this world, was a bit disappointed in the prime rib it was only OK, I was made aware before we ordered that the selection of rib was light and choose it anyway so my bad. The server was new to Portland and it was a quite evening due to the smoke, temperature early hour and a holiday.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We had a reservation but came early and they accomodated us nicely. Great food and fun atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great food and excellent service. Friendly staff Will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The swordfish was very fresh, could have had more green sauce on it. Always great Oba Caesar.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Casual, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 31, 2017

It was a quieter night, but this time the hostess acknowledge my table request and informed our waiter that was a special occasion.
We started at the bar and were somewhat ignored for a few minutes - no the bartender was not that busy,but then he mixed our drinks very well, and was more attentive.
Cindy attended to us in dinning area, and I must say she was exceptional with service.
We asked for bread instead of tortilla chips for our queso appetizer, and made really a difference allowing to enjoy it much better.
The main course arrived as always well presented, and everything was as expected. In a is indeed a place where you can expect ar not generous portions, shutout a price and flavor compromise..
Dessert was complimentary - thank you, but just like everything else really enjoyable.
Disappointed with the wine list - I was glad that looked online, and decided to bring my own. Too many local selections, not enough variety to match the cuisine they serve, and seems they are pushing once again, to higher pricing varieties....
Anyway, we enjoyed our visit, and surely will return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Oba used to be my favorite restaurant in Portland, with some of the best food in town. The last two times that I have been there with friends the food has been mediocre at best. The steaks were overcooked and tough and most other dishes were not very memorable. The prices are high for that level of food. Oba, please get your act together and go back to your glory days.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Dinner out with my daughter, it had been some time since we had been there and I am not sure why. We took our servers suggestions on everything and were not disappointed. We will be back much sooner!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Service was excellent. Food was presented well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Pricing is silly expensive. Food was good, not great.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 22, 2017

i had the.squash enchildas and a mango mojito. they were fantastic! my husband had the steak and ate every single bite. i wouldn't recommend the kid's quesadilla, though. it is too small for any child over 3 and has white cheese which most kids hate..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

My wife and I really enjoyed our anniversary, we will definitely come back! I only wish you had more dishes, there were only 4 or 5 meat options. Great job overall!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Are only not totally fantastic dinner in Portland when we visited for the eclipse. So looking forward to visiting Oba after reading reviews.

While it is in a lovely building and the staff is quite nice, the food did not live up to its reputation. We ordered their specialty steak, and the quality of the beef was considerably lacking. Please keep in mind that I am the daughter of a cattle man so I am more particular than some.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Onc again Oba did not disappoint. We had an excellent server. She was attentive, courteous, and friendly. The food was amazing. We had the tortilla soup, empanadas, ceviche, bife, halibut, churrasco, and of course the flan. All of it made perfectly and with authentic flavors. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Spicy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Pretty good experience.
We consider ourselves pretty good tippers but we're surprised that they tacted on a $50 tip to the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Took my boyfriend here for his birthday. Even though the restaurant wasn't full it felt like the waitress was rushing us the whole time. Food was good, but they were out of prickly pear for margaritas and didn't know until 15 minutes after I had ordered it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Wonderful food and service as always! We will keep coming back and bringing friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Excellent food. Expensive, but worth it. I would definitely go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food was fine. Service was okay. Decent place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We had a great time celebrating our son's girlfriend 's birthday-- the food was great, the drinks and wine excellent and the wait staff wonderful! Enjoyed the guacamole made at our table lots of fun and delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 10, 2017

This is our favorite place to dine, I have had several items on the menu and everything has been excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Once again Oba did not disappoint. Drinks, tableside quacamole and my swordfish entrée were all delicious and very well prepared. Lovely atmosphere and very attentive service. Our friends who were visiting from California and Arizona loved it. Highly recommend!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Wonderful evening with the family, friends. Food was fantastic with many different flavors in the mix. Niece has food allergies, peanuts and shell fish, they were happy to work with her so she had a confident, safe, wonderful meal as well. It was really a good evening with the family with great food, atmosphere, service and good time for all. Thanks

Tags: Spicy, Authentic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Oba has been one of our local Portland favorites for several years now. Be sure to get the table-side guacamole.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Oba is a longtime gem in the Pearl. The food was fantastic, the service spot on. My father in law spilled his almost-full beer and a server immediately helped clean it up and replenished his glass. My ceviche was perfect, as were the balance of chips that came with it. My husband's steak was cooked perfectly, and the rub on it tasted--forgive my inability to parse the flavors, but it tasted like Spain. We had our nine-year old son and although there is no child's menu they accommodated his tastes and appetite.
The only disappointment came when we ordered the guacamole, which they famously prepare tableside, and they were out. I guess we'll have to go back, just a little earlier!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Been many times. Great for a friends night or regular date night. A bit noisy for romance, but classy setting, yummy food and excellent service. Love the happy hour menu. We go whenever we're in Portland.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Fabulous meal and service! The food and drinks were wonderful and it's a wonderfully created space. Highly recommend this Portland fixture for a special evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great service and delicious food. Fine dining experience that was worth the expense. Great vegetarian options and great drinks that delighted my wife. The table side guacamole was everything I'd hoped for and our entrees were cooked perfectly and thrilled our taste buds. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Usually when we go to Oba it's a nice fairly quiet atmosphere. This time there were large, noisy family groups with small children in both dining areas so we couldn't have the romantic dinner we were hoping for. We used the groupon, which is a great deal. I had the steak which was very good, my husband had the Mahi Mahi. He thought it was too sweet. The service was very good and the food was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We have been coming to Oba for 3 years and they never disappoint. They have an amazing happy hour that we eat in the bar or outside but this night we treated ourselves to the dining room and it was above expectation. The wine recommendation was perfect and our waiter was the perfect balance of attentive and personable. You can't miss at Oba.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.