About Oba

555 NW 12th Ave
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of the Pearl District, ¡Oba! Restaurante is known for its lively atmosphere, hand-crafted cocktails and award-winning Nuevo Latino cuisine. ¡Oba!’s menu is where bold Latin traditions, spices and preparations meet seasonal, local ingredients. ¡Oba!’s inventive cuisine, stunning design, award-winning wine list and commitment to excellent guest service have sustained a solid following and 17 successful years.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Tuesday 5:00pm-9:00pm, Wednesday-Thursday 5:00pm-9:30pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
NW Hoyt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-6161

Website:
http://www.obarestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please call Oba's Event Coordinator, Galit Reilly 503.750.7675, for details.

Executive Chef:
Luis Contreras

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pollo Asado
fish tacos
Margarita
Enchi
Tacos Dorados
Pork Arepas
Crispy Chipotle Calamari
Crispy Coconut Prawns
Bacon Wrapped Cream Cheese Stuffed Jalapenos
guava mojito
Table-side Guacamole
Chicken Fajita Tacos
Vaca Frita
Blood Orange Margarita
Chicken Tacos

Private Dining

¡Oba!’s Havana Room is the perfect space for your next birthday celebration, family get together or even a girl’s night out. Vibrant color, dancing light, spicy undertones and the rich history of long-held family traditions serve as a framework for a truly transformational dining experience.

Oba Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (47)
Special Occasion (45)
Good for Groups (32)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Romantic (24)
Notable Wine List (19)
Hot Spot (19)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1506 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It's a favorite place to eat because we ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 5 days ago

It's a favorite place to eat because we can always depend on their delicious food and excellent service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat in the dining room, but the bar s ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We sat in the dining room, but the bar seemed like the place to be! The food was very good - the portions are just right to have an appetizer, entree and dessert and feel like you have had a very satisfying meal. We had the Caesar salad, the skirt steak, the halibut, malasadas, and the chocolate dessert. All were very good. The service started out good, but then our server had too many tables and it lagged later on. The bar menu looked great too. There are three items on the dining room menu that serve 2 people - it would be fun to go back and try one of those menu items.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Another fantastic meal at Oba. Father-in ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Another fantastic meal at Oba. Father-in-law and husband each had a beautiful steak, and I had wonderful vegetable enchiladas. My marionberry mojito couldn't have been any better!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was bad. The portions were small ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Service was bad. The portions were small, but the food was delicious. The worst part was that I forgot my license for drinks. I'm 26 and I know my license number and date of birth. I wish they would have been more accommodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Not my first time to Oba. Love it and wi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Not my first time to Oba. Love it and will go several times a year.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was overpriced and portions ridicul ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was overpriced and portions ridiculously small

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The guacamole was amazing! Table side pr ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The guacamole was amazing! Table side prepared and tasted great but that's the only good thing we had at Oba. We ordered salmon, it was only partially cooked, and everything on the plate was cold when it arrived. We also ordered the vegetarian enchiladas. They were hot but nothing special. Why this place is on Portlands 35 must eat at restaurant list is beyond me. Don't bother.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Food was good, but service was not. Had ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was good, but service was not. Had a reservation but still got sat in the back room. Felt forgotten back there. Server was not attentative; took a long time for each course to arrive. Asked for more chips with the ceviche, she acted way put out. Entrees took so long...room was almost empty by then. Got about 4 oz of flank steak, 2 fingerling potatoes cut in half, for $27. Yikes...def not a good value. Good food not amazing, does not warrant such inflated prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

The first thing I noticed after stepping ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The first thing I noticed after stepping into the restaurant was that there was a bit of a musty smell. Nothing disturbing but just reminded me of an old building smell. Room was quiet at 5:30, service was excellent, ambiance was good but the food was awesome! We had prime rib and an appetizer and a couple of drinks. Quite spendy but the food was better than most nice restaurants I've been to...truly extraordinary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Had no avocados... Their speciality is a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Had no avocados... Their speciality is a table side guacamole... Terrible.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great food, great service . Sat in the d ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food, great service . Sat in the dining room area. Great booths around the outside. For more intimate settings. The prime rib was amazing. Shared the bill with friends: shared two appetizers ( bacon wrapped jalapeño poppers, amazing, and chips and salsa) everyone had one Achoholic beverage per person, and each had entrées ran just under 100 bucks per couple.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was great, the food was gorg ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The service was great, the food was gorgeous...but all I really care about is how it tastes. The chile relleno was boring, it might almost have been frozen and microwaved. It wasn't bad -- just not worth $17. The same applied to salads, a mundane green salad and a jicama salad with too much jicama and not enough greens. I'd have been pretty bummed, except for the lamb -- which was outstanding. Wow! Carmelized brown sauce on a gorgeous cut of lamb, perfectly seared, with greens and quinoa that just complemented the sauce.

Conclusion: Not bad, but not a place for foodies, despite the lamb. Great service. Beautiful presentation, but who cares if the food doesn't deserve it?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I always try to eat at Oba when I come t ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I always try to eat at Oba when I come to Portland. The arepas are incredible. I was alone this visit and so I sat in the bar . . . it was much quieter than the dining room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've never been disappointed with Oba an ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I've never been disappointed with Oba and I've been there numerous times, both at the bar and in the restaurant. Oba offered me a free entree since it was my birthday, so took 2 friends and had a fabulous dinner. They really know how to cook seafood--one had the salmon, another the halibut, and I had skirt steak--all were fantastic. Well prepared, subtle and interesting sauces, great service, beautiful ambience...nothing to complain out, and I'm picky. This is not an inexpensive restaurant, but I put great value, because you get what you paid for. Every preparation from appetizers (made to order at your table guacamole) to the amazing desserts are spot on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely everything I have ever tried ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Absolutely everything I have ever tried at Oba was great! Service is superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our experience at OBA this last Tuesday ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our experience at OBA this last Tuesday evening was every bit as good as our prior experiences. The food is excellent. The service is very good. It's a little loud when the place is packed and it's a little pricy but the overall experience is worth the price of admission.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It's just a casual cool place that we ha ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

It's just a casual cool place that we have made special by celebrating birthdays and anniversaries at. Great food, too :)

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Portland & found out ab ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were visiting Portland & found out about this restaurant in one of the local magazines! Great food! Definitely our best choice in Portland!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was anniversary date night away fro ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was anniversary date night away from the kids and everything was great, especially the waiter Brant. The portion size with price seemed a little out of category for Opentable but acceptably so. I was very pleased with our dinner, my wife had Columbia River Salmon while I enjoyed a perfectly cooked Halibut. Dessert was equally enjoyable as we had the Chocolate Almond Cake and a couple Lattes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gotta get the made to order guacamole th ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Gotta get the made to order guacamole that is prepared table side. It's a great experience and so delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Took 3 guests for a business dinner to O ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Took 3 guests for a business dinner to Oba's. All 3 of them commented that they will have to come back and bring their spouse. They all enjoyed their meals and the atmosphere of the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been enjoying Oba's for years. Always e ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Been enjoying Oba's for years. Always excellent. Great service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dining experience at Oba was beyond ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Our dining experience at Oba was beyond wonderful. The food was really delicious. We both had halibut, done to perfection. The appetizer vegetables are one of our favorites. I had a marionberry margarita, which was excellent, and the tres leches cocoanut cake while my partner had the 3 little things, also very good. Service was timely and comfortable. Can't wait to return. We have also eaten in the bar, 3 or 4 times, always excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu promises much more than what it del ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Menu promises much more than what it delivers, the food was not good and the welcome was less than desirable.

Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

THE FOOD WAS GOOD, BUT OVERPRICED. THE N ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

THE FOOD WAS GOOD, BUT OVERPRICED. THE NOISE IN THE BAR WAS AS EXPECTED, VERY LOUD. THE CARRY OVER NOISE FROM THE BAR TO THE RESTAURANT WAS EXCESSIVE. MY FRIEND AND I COULD NOT HEAR EACH OTHER.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Consistently good food and service! We l ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Consistently good food and service! We love the food and the ambiance! I especially love the lighting...soft nighttime lighting perfect for dining out! The guacamole made tableside is superb and the paella is not be missed. However, this time I ordered something different: the skirt steak with Chimichurri sauce. It was delish. So great to try a new dish and have be as good as the first dish I had at Oba a few months before. Kudos to the chef and the staff. All great! Thank you for providing a great neighborhood place to bring friends from out of town or just for the residents of the Pearl! We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Four of us went to celebrate fathers day ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Four of us went to celebrate fathers day and had a great time. The food was excellent and the Service was even better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was fantastic. I think every emp ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was fantastic. I think every employee should receive recognition for their work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was very well prepared... They ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was very well prepared... They accommodated allergy requests very nicely.

The food came rather quickly. But the overall experience was very satisfying.

We would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Oba has been my favorite restaurant sinc ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Oba has been my favorite restaurant since my first experience there years ago. The food and the service are outstanding. I was disappointed to find out my favorite swordfish dish was off the menu and is now an occasional special. The chef sent out an appetizer (shrimp on a corn cake) that was delicious. It almost made up for the menu change. I had the salmon special and it was spectacular. Everyone else's meal was also delicious. This is and will continue to be my "go to" place for dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Oba is always a favorite, and this exper ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Oba is always a favorite, and this experience was as good as ever!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a crowd pleaser

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Pros: Was in a group of 8. Everyone got different things and everyone loved their food.

Cons: Halibut portion was smaller than desired. And chips that came with the guacamole were terrible. They taste stale? Pretty disappointed in that.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Salmon was done perfectly and very gener ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Salmon was done perfectly and very generous serving. We loved the calamari and the bacon wrapped jalapeños. Others with me loved the paella. Great creative drinks. Superb knowledgable service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The good was fabulous, and the service w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The good was fabulous, and the service was excellent. My one complaint was that it was really noisy (the restaurant is basically a big box, so noise reflects), so it was difficult to have a conversation.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Not As Good As Before

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Oba has been a favorite spot for my wife and I when we want to go to the Pearl District for a special dinner. It's always been very good. We've often enjoyed the Paella de Oba. This time it was not good at all. Perhaps it was the time of year, but the seafood in the dish tasted freezer burned and the flavor was extremely salty. We told our waiter about the flavor and he replied, "Oh. I'm sorry" and walked away. That was it - no offer for something different. The tapas were very good as always, but I think it will be awhile before we go back and give Oba another try.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Very Consistent

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We've been to Oba many times for all sorts of various celebrations. Friends get- together, birthday, friends visiting from out of town. The food is exceptional Spanish cuisine which is a treat in itself. The table side guacamole is so fresh and delicious with a generous portion of chips to fully enjoy the appetizer. The paella cannot be beat and we tend to order it each time we come. I especially like the spservice staff: very friendly and knowledgeable of the chef's dishes and offer great recommendations if one is unsure what to order. Kudos to the team at Oba!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

NEVER AGAIN

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had such a terrible experience with the employees that we will never dine at OBA again. The hostess was rude and confrontational, the manager did not handle the situation as it should have been handled, overall a very unpleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Only reason for not all five stars is no ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Only reason for not all five stars is noise level is overwhelming. Makes it hard to keep a conversation going. Outside is great for Happy Hour when the weather is nice. Late night in spring, too cold. Excellent food, great service . Will return despite the noise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Dinner at Oba was as good as usual, but ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Dinner at Oba was as good as usual, but the overall experience wasn't as much of a treat. We requested a booth and got one, which cut way down on noise. But this was the second time the Hostess put priority on her call, rather than the patron waiting in front of her face. Felt a bit disregarded, then she seated us in the booth right next to the wait station. Portions were pretty small and I miss some of the "old" menu items, but the dishes are always interesting and delicious. Not sure if they got unusually busy for a Thursday evening, but we only saw our waiter 3 times for drink order, dinner order, dessert order. A "parade" of other employees brought all the drinks, courses, etc. The Salmon Special was the best meal and the Chocolate /Almond cake "del ice" was decadent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Perfect for our late mother's day celebr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Perfect for our late mother's day celebration. Quiet enough for the elderly members of the family and clean plates all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.