About Oba

555 NW 12th Ave
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of the Pearl District, ¡Oba! Restaurante is known for its lively atmosphere, hand-crafted cocktails and award-winning Nuevo Latino cuisine. ¡Oba!’s menu is where bold Latin traditions, spices and preparations meet seasonal, local ingredients. ¡Oba!’s inventive cuisine, stunning design, award-winning wine list and commitment to excellent guest service have sustained a solid following and 17 successful years.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Tuesday 5:00pm-9:00pm, Wednesday-Thursday 5:00pm-9:30pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
NW Hoyt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-6161

Website:
http://www.obarestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please call Oba's Event Coordinator, Galit Reilly 503.750.7675, for details.

Executive Chef:
Luis Contreras

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pollo Asado
fish tacos
Margarita
Enchi
Tacos Dorados
Pork Arepas
Crispy Coconut Prawns
Crispy Chipotle Calamari
Bacon Wrapped Cream Cheese Stuffed Jalapenos
guava mojito
Table-side Guacamole
Chicken Fajita Tacos
Vaca Frita
Blood Orange Margarita
Chicken Tacos

Private Dining

¡Oba!’s Havana Room is the perfect space for your next birthday celebration, family get together or even a girl’s night out. Vibrant color, dancing light, spicy undertones and the rich history of long-held family traditions serve as a framework for a truly transformational dining experience.

Oba Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (68)
special occasion (58)
good for groups (45)
See All
neighborhood gem (38)
vibrant bar scene (30)
hot spot (30)
romantic (27)
notable wine list (23)
late-night find (9)
great for outdoor dining (6)
kid-friendly (4)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1482 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience at Oba was beyond ...

Dined 5 days ago

Our dining experience at Oba was beyond wonderful. The food was really delicious. We both had halibut, done to perfection. The appetizer vegetables are one of our favorites. I had a marionberry margarita, which was excellent, and the tres leches cocoanut cake while my partner had the 3 little things, also very good. Service was timely and comfortable. Can't wait to return. We have also eaten in the bar, 3 or 4 times, always excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Menu promises much more than what it del ...

Dined 6 days ago

Menu promises much more than what it delivers, the food was not good and the welcome was less than desirable. Thanks

food4
ambience2
service4
value3

THE FOOD WAS GOOD, BUT OVERPRICED. THE N ...

Dined 6 days ago

THE FOOD WAS GOOD, BUT OVERPRICED. THE NOISE IN THE BAR WAS AS EXPECTED, VERY LOUD. THE CARRY OVER NOISE FROM THE BAR TO THE RESTAURANT WAS EXCESSIVE. MY FRIEND AND I COULD NOT HEAR EACH OTHER.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently good food and service! We l ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

Consistently good food and service! We love the food and the ambiance! I especially love the lighting...soft nighttime lighting perfect for dining out! The guacamole made tableside is superb and the paella is not be missed. However, this time I ordered something different: the skirt steak with Chimichurri sauce. It was delish. So great to try a new dish and have be as good as the first dish I had at Oba a few months before. Kudos to the chef and the staff. All great! Thank you for providing a great neighborhood place to bring friends from out of town or just for the residents of the Pearl! We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Four of us went to celebrate fathers day ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Four of us went to celebrate fathers day and had a great time. The food was excellent and the Service was even better.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5

Service was fantastic. I think every emp ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was fantastic. I think every employee should receive recognition for their work.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was very well prepared... They ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was very well prepared... They accommodated allergy requests very nicely. The food came rather quickly. But the overall experience was very satisfying. We would definitely go again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Oba has been my favorite restaurant sinc ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Oba has been my favorite restaurant since my first experience there years ago. The food and the service are outstanding. I was disappointed to find out my favorite swordfish dish was off the menu and is now an occasional special. The chef sent out an appetizer (shrimp on a corn cake) that was delicious. It almost made up for the menu change. I had the salmon special and it was spectacular. Everyone else's meal was also delicious. This is and will continue to be my "go to" place for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Oba is always a favorite, and this exper ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Oba is always a favorite, and this experience was as good as ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a crowd pleaser

Dined on May 29, 2016

Pros: Was in a group of 8. Everyone got different things and everyone loved their food. Cons: Halibut portion was smaller than desired. And chips that came with the guacamole were terrible. They taste stale? Pretty disappointed in that.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Salmon was done perfectly and very gener ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Salmon was done perfectly and very generous serving. We loved the calamari and the bacon wrapped jalapeños. Others with me loved the paella. Great creative drinks. Superb knowledgable service.

food5
ambience3
service5

The good was fabulous, and the service w ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The good was fabulous, and the service was excellent. My one complaint was that it was really noisy (the restaurant is basically a big box, so noise reflects), so it was difficult to have a conversation.

food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Not As Good As Before

Dined on May 28, 2016

Oba has been a favorite spot for my wife and I when we want to go to the Pearl District for a special dinner. It's always been very good. We've often enjoyed the Paella de Oba. This time it was not good at all. Perhaps it was the time of year, but the seafood in the dish tasted freezer burned and the flavor was extremely salty. We told our waiter about the flavor and he replied, "Oh. I'm sorry" and walked away. That was it - no offer for something different. The tapas were very good as always, but I think it will be awhile before we go back and give Oba another try.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Consistent

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

We've been to Oba many times for all sorts of various celebrations. Friends get- together, birthday, friends visiting from out of town. The food is exceptional Spanish cuisine which is a treat in itself. The table side guacamole is so fresh and delicious with a generous portion of chips to fully enjoy the appetizer. The paella cannot be beat and we tend to order it each time we come. I especially like the spservice staff: very friendly and knowledgeable of the chef's dishes and offer great recommendations if one is unsure what to order. Kudos to the team at Oba!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

NEVER AGAIN

Dined on May 22, 2016

We had such a terrible experience with the employees that we will never dine at OBA again. The hostess was rude and confrontational, the manager did not handle the situation as it should have been handled, overall a very unpleasant experience.

food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Only reason for not all five stars is no ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Only reason for not all five stars is noise level is overwhelming. Makes it hard to keep a conversation going. Outside is great for Happy Hour when the weather is nice. Late night in spring, too cold. Excellent food, great service . Will return despite the noise.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Dinner at Oba was as good as usual, but ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Dinner at Oba was as good as usual, but the overall experience wasn't as much of a treat. We requested a booth and got one, which cut way down on noise. But this was the second time the Hostess put priority on her call, rather than the patron waiting in front of her face. Felt a bit disregarded, then she seated us in the booth right next to the wait station. Portions were pretty small and I miss some of the "old" menu items, but the dishes are always interesting and delicious. Not sure if they got unusually busy for a Thursday evening, but we only saw our waiter 3 times for drink order, dinner order, dessert order. A "parade" of other employees brought all the drinks, courses, etc. The Salmon Special was the best meal and the Chocolate /Almond cake "del ice" was decadent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Perfect for our late mother's day celebr ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Perfect for our late mother's day celebration. Quiet enough for the elderly members of the family and clean plates all around.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Okay food, however portions was not wort ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Okay food, however portions was not worth the price.

food3
ambience3
service4

We went during happy hour. I had heard r ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We went during happy hour. I had heard really great things about this place but I sadly was expecting a little better. The food was good, it's just I guess I expected something a little different. I would go back though with friends for a cheeky happy hour or something because it is still a good place. The service was great and the guacamole was table side.

food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Great Service Decent Food.. Overpriced

Dined on May 8, 2016

I made Saturday night reservations for me and my two young adult children. Our waiter was top notched, made great recommendations and was attentive. The room wasn't even close to full, but the noise level had us shouting all night which wasn't fun. The food was great, but seemingly uninspired. I will give them major kudos for having gluten free, vegan choices. Overall a nice evening, but way overpriced for the quality of food.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always pleasant!

Dined on May 8, 2016

This isn't the first time I've visited Oba. This time around it was for Mother's Day dinner. The food was fantastic, as ever. I got the Paella which was outstanding, and my party started the meal with the calamari, which was perfectly cooked, and the table side guacamole which is a treat and I love the options to customize.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappointing

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

I am never disappointed in Oba. Food is always good and service is second to none. Best Caesar Salad in all of Portland.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!

Dined on April 19, 2016

I love Oba. I would have to say it is one of my favorite restaurants in Portland, and that says a lot. The food is always good, and the service has never faltered. This is my go-to place and I will continue to dine here. I struggle with many food allergies, and I was able to find something on their menu I could eat--with NO modifications! Unbelievable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Oba

Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was amazing. Service was a little slow, but I would still go back anytime.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

Not impressed... :(

Dined on April 10, 2016

I had been here a few times for Happy hour and the food was delish, however my date was in town from LA and was excited to try this place based off location & type of food that would be prepared. We were disappointed in the food we ordered. The waitress said the tamales are to "doughy" we was grateful for her honesty but she recommended we try "Carne Estilo Churrasco, & Enchiladas de Vegetales" since my date wanted something cheesy and he added meat to it....overall I only ate the steak on my carne meal, & he sent his enchiladas back. We just didn't have a good food experience taste wise, we ended up grabbing a burger somewhere after leaving, but the restaurant itself has a nice ambiance...Might only come back for Happy Hour in the future.

Tags: romantic, late-night find
food5
ambience3
service5

A bit loud but great food

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

A bit loud but great food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood Favorite

Dined on April 10, 2016

We love this restaurant. It's our go to place for Happy Hour and get togethers with friends in the dining room. Fabulous food, service and ambiance. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2016 Dining Month Visit

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

I went to Oba for Dining Month. It's always been my favorite restaurant and it didn't disappoint. My server recommended the steelhead and it was delicious. I had a flight of 3 wines and each complimented the course it was served with - salad appetizer, fish entrée, and dessert. As usual the service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Weeds!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Saturday, 3/26/16, 7:30 or so. Oba was busy, as one should expect. But, the kitchen and bar were in the weeds. Too thick for a saturday night, when they knew it would be busy. We ordered two drinks. One took 10 minutes and the other took an additional 5 minutes, after inquiring twice. Bar service did not improve throughout the evening. Appetizers came out 8 minutes apart. I asked the server to be sure our entres came out together, and they did. Management offered dessert to compensate, which was nice. We love Oba, and will return. Just not a great experience this time. The food, as usual was terrific. Thanks for the opportunity to vent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was fair. Oba charging a $25 corka ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Food was fair. Oba charging a $25 corkage fee is ridiculous.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dining Month menu

Dined on March 24, 2016

We based our reservation on the menu off Portland Dining Month. There seemed to be a good variety between the appetizer and entree so my husband and I could sample all the different choices. The dessert did not have a choice but it was good nonetheless. The kale salad was absolutely delicious, the dressing was the star. The soup was good but not as memorable as the salad. My husband had the lamb meatballs which was ok but the highlight was the steelhead, perfectly prepared, moist, and the accompanying vegetables on the plate was perfectly seasoned. The Empanada de Manzana we had for dessert was a sweet ending but they could have added a little more apple filling to my liking. All in all, the ambiance and decor was beautiful. Also a must have is their guacamole! It's pricey, but it was the best guac I've ever had!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yummy

Dined on March 23, 2016

Oba is consistently great and we have had several family dinners there over a few years. Wait staff is knowledgeable and fun, good with children and they have a decent kids menu. Menu is inventive and Cuban flavors are tasty and different. It can be loud, but the early dinner hours are very comfortable for conversation. I am sure it is a fun bar and evening scene, too!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice place

Dined on March 21, 2016

The restaurant is very nice and the service was good. The entree was a little bit disappointing.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Everything was very average

Dined on March 21, 2016

Small servings. Nothing extra (bred, etc) average at bet but very pricey. I will not be going back

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Back on top!

Dined on March 17, 2016

We have been going here for over 5 years and our last visit was the best yet. Chris, our waiter, and the guac guy provided excellent service. I always like to get the carne beef and once, it was not good, only once. This time it was cooked to perfection and the cut was superb! Medium the way medium should be. My husband had the shrimp dish and he found it to be excellent as well. Yes, there was a little bump when changing chefs, but there back on top in our view!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Portland's Dining Out Month

Dined on March 12, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed every item we chose from the special menu. The flavors were AMAZING and I left feeling satisfied but not gorged! The drinks were also great! HIGH recommendation!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, drinks and service

Dined on March 6, 2016

what more can you ask for?? It's one of our favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Fit for beef foodies. Found out they on ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Fit for beef foodies. Found out they only have 3 items on the menu with possibility of gluten. The salad bar could be a full meal without the continuous meat for vegetarians.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was great, appetizer was excelle ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Service was great, appetizer was excellent the rest of the food was good but bland.

Tags: hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.