About Oba

555 NW 12th Ave
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of the Pearl District, ¡Oba! Restaurante is known for its lively atmosphere, hand-crafted cocktails and award-winning Nuevo Latino cuisine. ¡Oba!’s menu is where bold Latin traditions, spices and preparations meet seasonal, local ingredients. ¡Oba!’s inventive cuisine, stunning design, award-winning wine list and commitment to excellent guest service have sustained a solid following and 17 successful years.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Tuesday 5:00pm-9:00pm, Wednesday-Thursday 5:00pm-9:30pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
NW Hoyt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-6161

Website:
http://www.obarestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please call Oba's Event Coordinator, Galit Reilly 503.750.7675, for details.

Executive Chef:
Luis Contreras

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pollo Asado
fish tacos
Margarita
Enchi
Tacos Dorados
Pork Arepas
Crispy Chipotle Calamari
Crispy Coconut Prawns
Bacon Wrapped Cream Cheese Stuffed Jalapenos
guava mojito
Table-side Guacamole
Chicken Fajita Tacos
Vaca Frita
Blood Orange Margarita
Chicken Tacos

Private Dining

¡Oba!’s Havana Room is the perfect space for your next birthday celebration, family get together or even a girl’s night out. Vibrant color, dancing light, spicy undertones and the rich history of long-held family traditions serve as a framework for a truly transformational dining experience.

Oba Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (35)
Special Occasion (32)
Good for Groups (28)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Romantic (19)
Hot Spot (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Tapas (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Casual (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Spicy (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Business Meals (2)
Healthy (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Cozy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1521 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a great meal. I would have rated ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great meal.

I would have rated the service higher...but our waiter was hyper-attentive and way too chatty.

But, overall, we loved Oba and will go back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I went to celebrate my birthday with fr ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I went to celebrate my birthday with friends from out of town and I had a reservation for 6. I requested a table that was not in the middle of the room but that was not possible. It was so noisy we could not even hear our waiter or each other. It was terrible and it ruined my birthday celebration. Go to the bar for happy hour but don't go for a special occasion. So disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value4

The price was way too high for the quali ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The price was way too high for the quality. I would feel much better about spending a lot of money of the food blew me away but it didn't. We got such a small amount of chips with our queso and ceviche is was silly. I feel like I'm this town you can get the same quality for a lot less.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Had dinner here while visiting Portland ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Had dinner here while visiting Portland and staying in the Pearl District. My kind of restaurant: casual, good cocktails, unusual food offerings with delicious results. Since I wasn't particularly hungry I ordered the empanadas starter which was just right, delicious and priced fairly.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Spicy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Family get together so we tried Oba. Ve ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Family get together so we tried Oba. Very friendly, pleasant, great food. Just a very nice night out with interesting choices.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall the food was good but not amazin ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Overall the food was good but not amazing , wouldn't rush back . Service was rushed we hadn't finished our starters and main course was served . This may be a cultural thing but when out for a special occasion I don't believe you should be rushed . Ordered the guacamole and shrimp salad to share which was lovely and I had skirt steak which was tasty however my husband ordered the prime rib which was just ok , overcooked and the seasoning tasted very shop bought ! Straight after declining dessert the bill is on the table even although we hadn't finished our wine ! You can forgive that in a cheaper restaurant but not in a supposedly higher end restaurant ( which wasn't busy so the table wasn't needed )

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

This was my second time dining at Oba. U ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This was my second time dining at Oba. Unfortunately, the service was terrible and the food average, especially at the high price point for very small portions. My partner's drink contained very little actual liquor, which based on the steep cost was disappointing. Overall, I would suggest coming here for happy hour (weekdays) unless you are on an expense account.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

First time at the restaurant. Unexpected ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

First time at the restaurant. Unexpectedly excellent. Tableside Guacamole was fantastic. The entrees were delicious. I would definitely go back and will be recommending to friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In spite of living in the area for 17 ye ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

In spite of living in the area for 17 years we had never tried Oba. Now we are glad we finally did. The meal was outstanding. Our server was friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The noise level was such that we could actually carry on a conversation. We will be going back.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Portion sizes were way too small

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Portion sizes were way too small

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Wait staff was excellence. Food was grea ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Wait staff was excellence. Food was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The wine was absolutely terrible - like ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The wine was absolutely terrible - like it had been sitting in the bottle a couple of days. We wouldn't come back for that reason.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Business dinner with the boss and a few ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Business dinner with the boss and a few colleagues visiting from the East Coast. Everybody enjoyed their meal and the ambiance. We'll be back as a group next year. Great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was disappointed in everything. We had ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I was disappointed in everything. We had to wait for our reservation and there were empty tables everywhere. It was over priced for the serving size. It was our twins 30th birthday and my son is a chef! He was the most disappointed..... no flavor to the food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

We went for my girlfriend's birthday. It ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We went for my girlfriend's birthday. It was fine. The decor is nice - it was strange to see families with little kids as I think of this as an upscale restaurant. The wine was really expensive - we got a tiny half bottle for $30. The waiter never brought bread to our table although I saw other tables had bread. The food was good and very tasty but the portions are small. We did not get dessert. Overall, just okay. But I will look for a new place next time.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

It's a favorite place to eat because we ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It's a favorite place to eat because we can always depend on their delicious food and excellent service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat in the dining room, but the bar s ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We sat in the dining room, but the bar seemed like the place to be! The food was very good - the portions are just right to have an appetizer, entree and dessert and feel like you have had a very satisfying meal. We had the Caesar salad, the skirt steak, the halibut, malasadas, and the chocolate dessert. All were very good. The service started out good, but then our server had too many tables and it lagged later on. The bar menu looked great too. There are three items on the dining room menu that serve 2 people - it would be fun to go back and try one of those menu items.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Another fantastic meal at Oba. Father-in ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Another fantastic meal at Oba. Father-in-law and husband each had a beautiful steak, and I had wonderful vegetable enchiladas. My marionberry mojito couldn't have been any better!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was bad. The portions were small ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Service was bad. The portions were small, but the food was delicious. The worst part was that I forgot my license for drinks. I'm 26 and I know my license number and date of birth. I wish they would have been more accommodating

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Not my first time to Oba. Love it and wi ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Not my first time to Oba. Love it and will go several times a year.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was overpriced and portions ridicul ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food was overpriced and portions ridiculously small

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

The guacamole was amazing! Table side pr ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The guacamole was amazing! Table side prepared and tasted great but that's the only good thing we had at Oba. We ordered salmon, it was only partially cooked, and everything on the plate was cold when it arrived. We also ordered the vegetarian enchiladas. They were hot but nothing special. Why this place is on Portlands 35 must eat at restaurant list is beyond me. Don't bother.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Food was good, but service was not. Had ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was good, but service was not. Had a reservation but still got sat in the back room. Felt forgotten back there. Server was not attentative; took a long time for each course to arrive. Asked for more chips with the ceviche, she acted way put out. Entrees took so long...room was almost empty by then. Got about 4 oz of flank steak, 2 fingerling potatoes cut in half, for $27. Yikes...def not a good value. Good food not amazing, does not warrant such inflated prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

The first thing I noticed after stepping ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The first thing I noticed after stepping into the restaurant was that there was a bit of a musty smell. Nothing disturbing but just reminded me of an old building smell. Room was quiet at 5:30, service was excellent, ambiance was good but the food was awesome! We had prime rib and an appetizer and a couple of drinks. Quite spendy but the food was better than most nice restaurants I've been to...truly extraordinary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Had no avocados... Their speciality is a ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Had no avocados... Their speciality is a table side guacamole... Terrible.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Great food, great service . Sat in the d ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food, great service . Sat in the dining room area. Great booths around the outside. For more intimate settings. The prime rib was amazing. Shared the bill with friends: shared two appetizers ( bacon wrapped jalapeño poppers, amazing, and chips and salsa) everyone had one Achoholic beverage per person, and each had entrées ran just under 100 bucks per couple.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was great, the food was gorg ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The service was great, the food was gorgeous...but all I really care about is how it tastes. The chile relleno was boring, it might almost have been frozen and microwaved. It wasn't bad -- just not worth $17. The same applied to salads, a mundane green salad and a jicama salad with too much jicama and not enough greens. I'd have been pretty bummed, except for the lamb -- which was outstanding. Wow! Carmelized brown sauce on a gorgeous cut of lamb, perfectly seared, with greens and quinoa that just complemented the sauce.

Conclusion: Not bad, but not a place for foodies, despite the lamb. Great service. Beautiful presentation, but who cares if the food doesn't deserve it?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I always try to eat at Oba when I come t ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I always try to eat at Oba when I come to Portland. The arepas are incredible. I was alone this visit and so I sat in the bar . . . it was much quieter than the dining room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've never been disappointed with Oba an ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I've never been disappointed with Oba and I've been there numerous times, both at the bar and in the restaurant. Oba offered me a free entree since it was my birthday, so took 2 friends and had a fabulous dinner. They really know how to cook seafood--one had the salmon, another the halibut, and I had skirt steak--all were fantastic. Well prepared, subtle and interesting sauces, great service, beautiful ambience...nothing to complain out, and I'm picky. This is not an inexpensive restaurant, but I put great value, because you get what you paid for. Every preparation from appetizers (made to order at your table guacamole) to the amazing desserts are spot on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely everything I have ever tried ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Absolutely everything I have ever tried at Oba was great! Service is superb.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our experience at OBA this last Tuesday ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our experience at OBA this last Tuesday evening was every bit as good as our prior experiences. The food is excellent. The service is very good. It's a little loud when the place is packed and it's a little pricy but the overall experience is worth the price of admission.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It's just a casual cool place that we ha ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

It's just a casual cool place that we have made special by celebrating birthdays and anniversaries at. Great food, too :)

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Portland & found out ab ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were visiting Portland & found out about this restaurant in one of the local magazines! Great food! Definitely our best choice in Portland!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was anniversary date night away fro ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was anniversary date night away from the kids and everything was great, especially the waiter Brant. The portion size with price seemed a little out of category for Opentable but acceptably so. I was very pleased with our dinner, my wife had Columbia River Salmon while I enjoyed a perfectly cooked Halibut. Dessert was equally enjoyable as we had the Chocolate Almond Cake and a couple Lattes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gotta get the made to order guacamole th ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Gotta get the made to order guacamole that is prepared table side. It's a great experience and so delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Took 3 guests for a business dinner to O ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Took 3 guests for a business dinner to Oba's. All 3 of them commented that they will have to come back and bring their spouse. They all enjoyed their meals and the atmosphere of the restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been enjoying Oba's for years. Always e ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Been enjoying Oba's for years. Always excellent. Great service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dining experience at Oba was beyond ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Our dining experience at Oba was beyond wonderful. The food was really delicious. We both had halibut, done to perfection. The appetizer vegetables are one of our favorites. I had a marionberry margarita, which was excellent, and the tres leches cocoanut cake while my partner had the 3 little things, also very good. Service was timely and comfortable. Can't wait to return. We have also eaten in the bar, 3 or 4 times, always excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu promises much more than what it del ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Menu promises much more than what it delivers, the food was not good and the welcome was less than desirable.

Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

THE FOOD WAS GOOD, BUT OVERPRICED. THE N ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

THE FOOD WAS GOOD, BUT OVERPRICED. THE NOISE IN THE BAR WAS AS EXPECTED, VERY LOUD. THE CARRY OVER NOISE FROM THE BAR TO THE RESTAURANT WAS EXCESSIVE. MY FRIEND AND I COULD NOT HEAR EACH OTHER.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.