About Oba

555 NW 12th Ave
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of the Pearl District, ¡Oba! Restaurante is known for its lively atmosphere, hand-crafted cocktails and award-winning Nuevo Latino cuisine. ¡Oba!’s menu is where bold Latin traditions, spices and preparations meet seasonal, local ingredients. ¡Oba!’s inventive cuisine, stunning design, award-winning wine list and commitment to excellent guest service have sustained a solid following and 17 successful years.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Tuesday 5:00pm-9:00pm, Wednesday-Thursday 5:00pm-9:30pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
NW Hoyt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-6161

Website:
http://www.obarestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please call Oba's Event Coordinator, Galit Reilly 503.750.7675, for details.

Executive Chef:
Luis Contreras

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pollo Asado - Oba, Portland, OR
fish tacos - Oba, Portland, OR
Margarita - Oba, Portland, OR
Enchi - Oba, Portland, OR
Tacos Dorados - Oba, Portland, OR
Pork Arepas - Oba, Portland, OR
Crispy Chipotle Calamari - Oba, Portland, OR
Crispy Coconut Prawns  - Oba, Portland, OR
Bacon Wrapped Cream Cheese Stuffed Jalapenos - Oba, Portland, OR
guava mojito - Oba, Portland, OR
Table-side Guacamole - Oba, Portland, OR
Chicken Fajita Tacos - Oba, Portland, OR
Vaca Frita - Oba, Portland, OR
Blood Orange Margarita - Oba, Portland, OR
Chicken Tacos - Oba, Portland, OR

Private Dining

¡Oba!’s Havana Room is the perfect space for your next birthday celebration, family get together or even a girl’s night out. Vibrant color, dancing light, spicy undertones and the rich history of long-held family traditions serve as a framework for a truly transformational dining experience.

Oba Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Good for a Date (24)
See All
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Romantic (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Tapas (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Authentic (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Fun (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Business Meals (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Casual (6)
Healthy (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Cozy (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Comfort Food (3)
Spicy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Organic (2)
Private Room (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Fireplace (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Historic (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1557 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service as always. Our server Kate ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Great service as always. Our server Katelyn was super and the owner Steve even stopped by to say hi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and literally all the ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent service and literally all the food and drinks were satisfying. Well worth the prices for good food on a nice night out. Solid music too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time at Oba and will defi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a great time at Oba and will definitely keep it in mind for future special occasions. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was prompt, although when we wer ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Service was prompt, although when we were seated the restaurant was pretty empty so the server was a little too attentive. This mellowed out when more tables were seated, though. The guacamole appetizer is always a favorite, and the entrees were well prepared and very tasty. Cocktails are also delicious and the new menu is great!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good is always delicious. This is our th ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Good is always delicious. This is our third time there and will come back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have gone to Oba for special dinners ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We have gone to Oba for special dinners twice now. Each time has been great. Their menu is not too big or small. Everyone can find something to eat and it will be delicious. Cocktails are awesome and a good value. I have also been for happy hour, which is also a great value and a fun environment.

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Bar Seating, Fun, Tapas, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent. This is the 3rd t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service was excellent. This is the 3rd time I've been here for special occasions and it's always a great time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been recommending Oba to everyone ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I have been recommending Oba to everyone I know for years. They used to have wonderful service, a tapas menu that worked for two people as well as large groups. I was so surprised that I could not even get good choices of appetizers.

The guacamole table side was very good though. I asked the server if it had changed and I was told it has changed several times. Not the answer I would have expected. My daughter (23 years old) noticed the service was less than stellar. The meal was so very expensive and I do not mind paying high prices for value. Thankfully, the special was interesting, as the menu had nothing I would want besides "guacamole". The place used to be soon energetic. Not any more, sadly! We walked a mile to get there as well. Had better options close by. I was told Taste of Alder would have been a better choice. So sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

We went to dinner for my birthday, befor ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We went to dinner for my birthday, before a show at The Armory. The food and service were amazing! Tableside Guacamole is delicious! And the cocktails are also great! Our server was totally accomodating when he thought we need to leave in 15 minutes for a show, not in 1 hour and 15 minutes! (due to a daylight savings misunderstanding)

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the table side guacamole! Good is a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Love the table side guacamole! Good is always good, fresh and innovative. Oba! is one of our favorite go-to restaurants

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Oba belongs on your list of "regular" re ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Oba belongs on your list of "regular" restaurants - meaning, it is a good staple. Our waiter was excellent - good recommendations. All around fun evening.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and good service. Will defini ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Great food and good service. Will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Diana was our server. She was fantastic. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Diana was our server. She was fantastic. She worked with me to surprise my wife with a 20 yr anniversary ring.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was delicious and the cocktails ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The food was delicious and the cocktails were excellent, though it was a little pricey. The service was very good. The ambiance is also pleasant with festive lighting and energy without being crowded, though it was a bit noisy for more intimate group conversation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This was our second visit to Oba and onc ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This was our second visit to Oba and once again we were not disappointed. The food was fabulous, the service friendly and helpful without being overbearing and a wonderful wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was perfect for a cloudy rai ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 28, 2016

This place was perfect for a cloudy rainy day . We had enjoyed latin dishes that kept us warm and comfortable.

We tried the special mojitos. They were great.

We appreciated the serving sizes were appropriate for us.

We were able to move to a quieter table with good lighting.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great ceviche app and incredibl ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We had a great ceviche app and incredibly delicious meal for my friends birthday. Jeffrey was an excellent waiter and very intuitive to our time and occasion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Spicy, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Authentic, Fireplace, Healthy, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very small portions for the price. Flavo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Very small portions for the price. Flavor was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was delicious, the wine was a b ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The food was delicious, the wine was a bit disappointing even after trying 3 options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Decided to try Oba after reviews on open ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Decided to try Oba after reviews on open table and yelp. Menu looked interesting and like the fusion cooking. Jeffrey our server was very welcoming, the best part of the meal. Had the tuna crudo, which was good, but very spicy...maybe i did not see that on the menu description. We also had the table side quacomole which was bland as could be and certainly not worth $18....

Dinner was okay, Salmon was a bit dry. Overall, a nice place but would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

20 OZ Steak was well done but stated on ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on October 9, 2016

20 OZ Steak was well done but stated on menu it's cooked to medium rare. Too dim in dining room. Had to use phone light to read menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Another great dining experience at Oba!! ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Another great dining experience at Oba!! Never disapoints!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent and savory food. Interesting ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Excellent and savory food. Interesting wine selections

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

The food was excellent this visit. The ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The food was excellent this visit. The tuna tower and chile relleno with goat cheese were divine. Check-in was a little rough, but once they figured out how to seat a 4-top with a reservation (we were early - they seated us 20 minutes late), it was all great!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful place. Very festive.Very nicel ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Wonderful place. Very festive.Very nicely plated food.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Celebrated our Anniversary there. Food ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Celebrated our Anniversary there. Food was delicious. Everything that Jeff suggested were spot on awesome. Great service too. A little on the spendy side I think, but it was definitely worth it. Will need to check out their Happy Hour soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have peculiar food prohibitions (low F ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 3, 2016

I have peculiar food prohibitions (low FODMAP: no wheat nor dairy, no onions nor garlic, etc.) and chose this restaurant for its location near the theater and because it advertised gluten free options. My selection was fairly tasteless, given all my restrictions, but the food I cook at home is not. It would be nice if there were one tasty gluten and dairy free optionl. The server was wonderfully helpful, however.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Oba is consistently excellent with inter ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Oba is consistently excellent with interesting appetizers, good salads and delicious fish dishes with really good sauces. This visit, I enjoyed the Calabazas appetizer, the Oba Ceasar and the Halibut.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went on a pregnant ladies date with a fe ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Went on a pregnant ladies date with a few friends. Split a bunch of entradas (all completely delicious), and asked the waiter to bring us a pitcher of virgin Margaritas but to pretend it was full of alcohol. He entertained us and helped us forget we were pregnant for a few moments.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My wife and I have been going to Oba! fo ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 2, 2016

My wife and I have been going to Oba! for many years. The food and service are simply outstanding. I don't know why Oba doesn't make the lists of top restaurants in Portland. I guess the food snobs always need to have a hip new place to promote--what a shame. Many of the restaurants on the top dining lists are not as good as Oba.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Oba! is my standby restaurant where I ta ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Oba! is my standby restaurant where I take friends and out of town visitors. I always feel comfortable there and the menu only gets better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to this restaurant many tim ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We have been to this restaurant many times over the years and it really isn't as great of a place that it use to be. The old classic items coconut shrimp, pork chop, and others have been removed and the new items are just not as good. The service was excellent but I really didn't see the value for what you get as far as the entrees are concerned.

Will not be going back any time soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Had heard of and walked past the locatio ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Had heard of and walked past the location 100 times but this was my first time in. Wasn't disappointed. Everything was prepared perfectly and our server was knowledgeable and personable. Would definitely recommend as one of the best places in PDX I've eaten.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Molecular Gastronomy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. A little loud but good was a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great food. A little loud but good was amazing!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Family dinner for my wife's birthday mea ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Family dinner for my wife's birthday meal since she loves Latin food. My boys 10 & 15 were no overly excited but left asking if we could come back again next weekend. Often overlooked jewel in Portland. I have never been disappointed at Oba and certainly would not take a chance at for a special occasion if I wasn't convinced.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a great meal. I would have rated ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We had a great meal.

I would have rated the service higher...but our waiter was hyper-attentive and way too chatty.

But, overall, we loved Oba and will go back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I went to celebrate my birthday with fr ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 18, 2016

I went to celebrate my birthday with friends from out of town and I had a reservation for 6. I requested a table that was not in the middle of the room but that was not possible. It was so noisy we could not even hear our waiter or each other. It was terrible and it ruined my birthday celebration. Go to the bar for happy hour but don't go for a special occasion. So disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value4

The price was way too high for the quali ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The price was way too high for the quality. I would feel much better about spending a lot of money of the food blew me away but it didn't. We got such a small amount of chips with our queso and ceviche is was silly. I feel like I'm this town you can get the same quality for a lot less.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Had dinner here while visiting Portland ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Had dinner here while visiting Portland and staying in the Pearl District. My kind of restaurant: casual, good cocktails, unusual food offerings with delicious results. Since I wasn't particularly hungry I ordered the empanadas starter which was just right, delicious and priced fairly.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Spicy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Family get together so we tried Oba. Ve ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Family get together so we tried Oba. Very friendly, pleasant, great food. Just a very nice night out with interesting choices.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.