About Oba

555 NW 12th Ave
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of the Pearl District, ¡Oba! Restaurante is known for its lively atmosphere, hand-crafted cocktails and award-winning Nuevo Latino cuisine. ¡Oba!’s menu is where bold Latin traditions, spices and preparations meet seasonal, local ingredients. ¡Oba!’s inventive cuisine, stunning design, award-winning wine list and commitment to excellent guest service have sustained a solid following and 17 successful years.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Tuesday 5:00pm-9:00pm, Wednesday-Thursday 5:00pm-9:30pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
NW Hoyt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-6161

Website:
http://www.obarestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please call Oba's Event Coordinator, Galit Reilly 503.750.7675, for details.

Executive Chef:
Luis Contreras

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Pollo Asado
fish tacos
Margarita
Enchi
Tacos Dorados
Pork Arepas
Crispy Coconut Prawns
Crispy Chipotle Calamari
Bacon Wrapped Cream Cheese Stuffed Jalapenos
guava mojito
Table-side Guacamole
Chicken Fajita Tacos
Vaca Frita
Blood Orange Margarita
Chicken Tacos

Private Dining

¡Oba!’s Havana Room is the perfect space for your next birthday celebration, family get together or even a girl’s night out. Vibrant color, dancing light, spicy undertones and the rich history of long-held family traditions serve as a framework for a truly transformational dining experience.

Oba Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (57)
special occasion (49)
good for groups (38)
See All
neighborhood gem (34)
romantic (28)
vibrant bar scene (25)
hot spot (24)
notable wine list (20)
late-night find (9)
great for outdoor dining (6)
great for brunch (3)
great for lunch (3)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1495 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, great service . Sat in the d ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, great service . Sat in the dining room area. Great booths around the outside. For more intimate settings. The prime rib was amazing. Shared the bill with friends: shared two appetizers ( bacon wrapped jalapeño poppers, amazing, and chips and salsa) everyone had one Achoholic beverage per person, and each had entrées ran just under 100 bucks per couple.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was great, the food was gorg ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The service was great, the food was gorgeous...but all I really care about is how it tastes. The chile relleno was boring, it might almost have been frozen and microwaved. It wasn't bad -- just not worth $17. The same applied to salads, a mundane green salad and a jicama salad with too much jicama and not enough greens. I'd have been pretty bummed, except for the lamb -- which was outstanding. Wow! Carmelized brown sauce on a gorgeous cut of lamb, perfectly seared, with greens and quinoa that just complemented the sauce.

Conclusion: Not bad, but not a place for foodies, despite the lamb. Great service. Beautiful presentation, but who cares if the food doesn't deserve it?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I always try to eat at Oba when I come t ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I always try to eat at Oba when I come to Portland. The arepas are incredible. I was alone this visit and so I sat in the bar . . . it was much quieter than the dining room.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I've never been disappointed with Oba an ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I've never been disappointed with Oba and I've been there numerous times, both at the bar and in the restaurant. Oba offered me a free entree since it was my birthday, so took 2 friends and had a fabulous dinner. They really know how to cook seafood--one had the salmon, another the halibut, and I had skirt steak--all were fantastic. Well prepared, subtle and interesting sauces, great service, beautiful ambience...nothing to complain out, and I'm picky. This is not an inexpensive restaurant, but I put great value, because you get what you paid for. Every preparation from appetizers (made to order at your table guacamole) to the amazing desserts are spot on.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely everything I have ever tried ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Absolutely everything I have ever tried at Oba was great! Service is superb.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our experience at OBA this last Tuesday ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Our experience at OBA this last Tuesday evening was every bit as good as our prior experiences. The food is excellent. The service is very good. It's a little loud when the place is packed and it's a little pricy but the overall experience is worth the price of admission.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

It's just a casual cool place that we ha ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

It's just a casual cool place that we have made special by celebrating birthdays and anniversaries at. Great food, too :)

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Portland & found out ab ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We were visiting Portland & found out about this restaurant in one of the local magazines! Great food! Definitely our best choice in Portland!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was anniversary date night away fro ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was anniversary date night away from the kids and everything was great, especially the waiter Brant. The portion size with price seemed a little out of category for Opentable but acceptably so. I was very pleased with our dinner, my wife had Columbia River Salmon while I enjoyed a perfectly cooked Halibut. Dessert was equally enjoyable as we had the Chocolate Almond Cake and a couple Lattes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gotta get the made to order guacamole th ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Gotta get the made to order guacamole that is prepared table side. It's a great experience and so delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Took 3 guests for a business dinner to O ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Took 3 guests for a business dinner to Oba's. All 3 of them commented that they will have to come back and bring their spouse. They all enjoyed their meals and the atmosphere of the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been enjoying Oba's for years. Always e ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Been enjoying Oba's for years. Always excellent. Great service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dining experience at Oba was beyond ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Our dining experience at Oba was beyond wonderful. The food was really delicious. We both had halibut, done to perfection. The appetizer vegetables are one of our favorites. I had a marionberry margarita, which was excellent, and the tres leches cocoanut cake while my partner had the 3 little things, also very good. Service was timely and comfortable. Can't wait to return. We have also eaten in the bar, 3 or 4 times, always excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu promises much more than what it del ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Menu promises much more than what it delivers, the food was not good and the welcome was less than desirable.

Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

THE FOOD WAS GOOD, BUT OVERPRICED. THE N ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

THE FOOD WAS GOOD, BUT OVERPRICED. THE NOISE IN THE BAR WAS AS EXPECTED, VERY LOUD. THE CARRY OVER NOISE FROM THE BAR TO THE RESTAURANT WAS EXCESSIVE. MY FRIEND AND I COULD NOT HEAR EACH OTHER.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Consistently good food and service! We l ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Consistently good food and service! We love the food and the ambiance! I especially love the lighting...soft nighttime lighting perfect for dining out! The guacamole made tableside is superb and the paella is not be missed. However, this time I ordered something different: the skirt steak with Chimichurri sauce. It was delish. So great to try a new dish and have be as good as the first dish I had at Oba a few months before. Kudos to the chef and the staff. All great! Thank you for providing a great neighborhood place to bring friends from out of town or just for the residents of the Pearl! We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Four of us went to celebrate fathers day ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Four of us went to celebrate fathers day and had a great time. The food was excellent and the Service was even better.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was fantastic. I think every emp ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was fantastic. I think every employee should receive recognition for their work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was very well prepared... They ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food was very well prepared... They accommodated allergy requests very nicely.

The food came rather quickly. But the overall experience was very satisfying.

We would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Oba has been my favorite restaurant sinc ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Oba has been my favorite restaurant since my first experience there years ago. The food and the service are outstanding. I was disappointed to find out my favorite swordfish dish was off the menu and is now an occasional special. The chef sent out an appetizer (shrimp on a corn cake) that was delicious. It almost made up for the menu change. I had the salmon special and it was spectacular. Everyone else's meal was also delicious. This is and will continue to be my "go to" place for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Oba is always a favorite, and this exper ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Oba is always a favorite, and this experience was as good as ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a crowd pleaser

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Pros: Was in a group of 8. Everyone got different things and everyone loved their food.

Cons: Halibut portion was smaller than desired. And chips that came with the guacamole were terrible. They taste stale? Pretty disappointed in that.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Salmon was done perfectly and very gener ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Salmon was done perfectly and very generous serving. We loved the calamari and the bacon wrapped jalapeños. Others with me loved the paella. Great creative drinks. Superb knowledgable service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The good was fabulous, and the service w ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The good was fabulous, and the service was excellent. My one complaint was that it was really noisy (the restaurant is basically a big box, so noise reflects), so it was difficult to have a conversation.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Not As Good As Before

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Oba has been a favorite spot for my wife and I when we want to go to the Pearl District for a special dinner. It's always been very good. We've often enjoyed the Paella de Oba. This time it was not good at all. Perhaps it was the time of year, but the seafood in the dish tasted freezer burned and the flavor was extremely salty. We told our waiter about the flavor and he replied, "Oh. I'm sorry" and walked away. That was it - no offer for something different. The tapas were very good as always, but I think it will be awhile before we go back and give Oba another try.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Very Consistent

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We've been to Oba many times for all sorts of various celebrations. Friends get- together, birthday, friends visiting from out of town. The food is exceptional Spanish cuisine which is a treat in itself. The table side guacamole is so fresh and delicious with a generous portion of chips to fully enjoy the appetizer. The paella cannot be beat and we tend to order it each time we come. I especially like the spservice staff: very friendly and knowledgeable of the chef's dishes and offer great recommendations if one is unsure what to order. Kudos to the team at Oba!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

NEVER AGAIN

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We had such a terrible experience with the employees that we will never dine at OBA again. The hostess was rude and confrontational, the manager did not handle the situation as it should have been handled, overall a very unpleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Only reason for not all five stars is no ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Only reason for not all five stars is noise level is overwhelming. Makes it hard to keep a conversation going. Outside is great for Happy Hour when the weather is nice. Late night in spring, too cold. Excellent food, great service . Will return despite the noise.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Dinner at Oba was as good as usual, but ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Dinner at Oba was as good as usual, but the overall experience wasn't as much of a treat. We requested a booth and got one, which cut way down on noise. But this was the second time the Hostess put priority on her call, rather than the patron waiting in front of her face. Felt a bit disregarded, then she seated us in the booth right next to the wait station. Portions were pretty small and I miss some of the "old" menu items, but the dishes are always interesting and delicious. Not sure if they got unusually busy for a Thursday evening, but we only saw our waiter 3 times for drink order, dinner order, dessert order. A "parade" of other employees brought all the drinks, courses, etc. The Salmon Special was the best meal and the Chocolate /Almond cake "del ice" was decadent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Perfect for our late mother's day celebr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Perfect for our late mother's day celebration. Quiet enough for the elderly members of the family and clean plates all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Okay food, however portions was not wort ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Okay food, however portions was not worth the price.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We went during happy hour. I had heard r ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

We went during happy hour. I had heard really great things about this place but I sadly was expecting a little better. The food was good, it's just I guess I expected something a little different. I would go back though with friends for a cheeky happy hour or something because it is still a good place. The service was great and the guacamole was table side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great Service Decent Food.. Overpriced

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I made Saturday night reservations for me and my two young adult children. Our waiter was top notched, made great recommendations and was attentive. The room wasn't even close to full, but the noise level had us shouting all night which wasn't fun. The food was great, but seemingly uninspired. I will give them major kudos for having gluten free, vegan choices. Overall a nice evening, but way overpriced for the quality of food.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Always pleasant!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This isn't the first time I've visited Oba. This time around it was for Mother's Day dinner. The food was fantastic, as ever. I got the Paella which was outstanding, and my party started the meal with the calamari, which was perfectly cooked, and the table side guacamole which is a treat and I love the options to customize.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappointing

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I am never disappointed in Oba. Food is always good and service is second to none. Best Caesar Salad in all of Portland.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice sport for a birthday celebration. L ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Nice sport for a birthday celebration. Love the house made guacamole! So full after leaving!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Love this place!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

I love Oba. I would have to say it is one of my favorite restaurants in Portland, and that says a lot. The food is always good, and the service has never faltered. This is my go-to place and I will continue to dine here.

I struggle with many food allergies, and I was able to find something on their menu I could eat--with NO modifications! Unbelievable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oba

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was amazing. Service was a little slow, but I would still go back anytime.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Not impressed... :(

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I had been here a few times for Happy hour and the food was delish, however my date was in town from LA and was excited to try this place based off location & type of food that would be prepared. We were disappointed in the food we ordered. The waitress said the tamales are to "doughy" we was grateful for her honesty but she recommended we try "Carne Estilo Churrasco, & Enchiladas de Vegetales" since my date wanted something cheesy and he added meat to it....overall I only ate the steak on my carne meal, & he sent his enchiladas back. We just didn't have a good food experience taste wise, we ended up grabbing a burger somewhere after leaving, but the restaurant itself has a nice ambiance...Might only come back for Happy Hour in the future.

Tags: romantic, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

A bit loud but great food

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

A bit loud but great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.