Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Oba

4.4
1859 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Latin American
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Groups

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Located in the heart of the Pearl District, ¡Oba! Restaurante is known for its lively atmosphere, hand-crafted cocktails and award-winning Nuevo Latino cuisine. ¡Oba!’s menu is where bold Latin traditions, spices and preparations meet seasonal, local ingredients. ¡Oba!’s inventive cuisine, stunning design, award-winning wine list and commitment to excellent guest service have sustained a solid following and 17 successful years.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Latin American, Steak, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Sunday-Tuesday 5:00pm-9:00pm, Wednesday-Thursday 5:00pm-9:30pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(503) 228-6161
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
¡Oba!’s Havana Room is the perfect space for your next birthday celebration, family get together or even a girl’s night out. Vibrant color, dancing light, spicy undertones and the rich history of long-held family traditions serve as a framework for a truly transformational dining experience.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Galit Reilly: (888) 927-2305
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Please call Oba's Event Coordinator, Galit Reilly for details.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
NW Hoyt
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
OBA! is excited to announce our partnership with Project Lemonade on Wednesday, July 26, 2017. 10% of all purchases that evening will go directly to Project Lemonade. Please contact OBA! directly or visit opentable.com to make your reservation.

For more information about project lemonade, please visit their website at www.projectlemonadepdx.org
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1859 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.4based on all time ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.2
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on September 30, 2017

Excellent food, excellent drinks, great service, nice atmosphere. Price is higher than average, but you get what you pay for. In other words, you should expect to pay more for exceptional food and service. My only knock on the restaurant would be the acoustics. It is almost impossible to have a conversation with someone unless you are sitting side by side and leaning in to hear. If the restaurant is crowded (which is often the case), it can be difficult to interface with your group. In short, I absolutely recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 30, 2017

I have been a long time fan of Oba. The one damper on the evening was when it came time to pay the bill. We had 7 people dining together. (3 couples and a single). When I asked that we divide the ticket, the waitress says that the restaurant usually doesn’t do that for large parties. She then reluctantly agreed. I don’t like being hit with this pressure. No one among us was prepared to pay for all of us and would not have had an easy way to recoup money from the others. I believe the restaurant was trying to avoid additional credit card fees. They should plan for this by building the fee into the overall cost of the meal and stop pressuring customers.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 30, 2017

Food was good
Service was good

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 28, 2017

Loved everything about Oba: excellent cocktails, delicious food, scrumptious dessert, and super friendly staff. Our server was extremely friendly and helpful. The hostess is a sommelier and provided great advice for a wine selection to match our meal. Another waitress also provided suggestions on places to see in Portland.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 22, 2017

The best dish ordered was the guacamole done at the table. However, $18.00 is a bit overpriced. The enchiladas were just okay. It was obvious that these had been pre-cooked then reheated, because the plates where searing hot, and the enchiladas warm. Entre did not come with rice, so at waitresses suggestion ordered the coconut rice. Very disappointing , since it was bland, mushy, and had very, very little flavor of coconut. Oba's version of Latin cuisine leave a lot to be desired. The best thing about this over priced and under flavored establishment is its location.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 19, 2017

Excellent food, beautiful presentation, generous portions

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 16, 2017

Service great. Food amazing. Wine recomnebdation spot on.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 15, 2017

We are visiting after having moved from Portland. We were looking forward to Oba from many great meals in previous years. However the menu and food did not meet our expectations. The drinks were great. It's still a nice atmosphere and our server was super. The special dinner halibut was good but the other two meals were plain. No special flavoring that we had expected. Left disappointed. And regret that I am writing this because would like to say it was excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 14, 2017

We visited on a Thursday evening. The restaurant was busy but not overly so. The staff and our server were very knowledgeable, friendly and attentive. Great service. The drinks were outstanding and we enjoyed our appetizer and main dishes. I would absolutely eat here again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 11, 2017

Everything was very good with our meal except for the amount of time to receive our food. Much too long of a wait for the appetizer to arrive at our table. I would not recommend dining here if you are really hungry.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 9, 2017

Had a lovely light meal (we had a late lunch, so were looking to keep it light). The coconut shrimp and crispy green beans were tasty and nicely presented... followed that with hearty salads. Service was friendly and welcoming. The restaurant is really elegant and beautifully decorated. All in all a superior experience! Thanks!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 4, 2017

appetizer and desert were out of this world, was a bit disappointed in the prime rib it was only OK, I was made aware before we ordered that the selection of rib was light and choose it anyway so my bad. The server was new to Portland and it was a quite evening due to the smoke, temperature early hour and a holiday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 3, 2017

We had a reservation but came early and they accomodated us nicely. Great food and fun atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 2, 2017

Great food and excellent service. Friendly staff Will go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 31, 2017

The swordfish was very fresh, could have had more green sauce on it. Always great Oba Caesar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 30, 2017

It was a quieter night, but this time the hostess acknowledge my table request and informed our waiter that was a special occasion.
We started at the bar and were somewhat ignored for a few minutes - no the bartender was not that busy,but then he mixed our drinks very well, and was more attentive.
Cindy attended to us in dinning area, and I must say she was exceptional with service.
We asked for bread instead of tortilla chips for our queso appetizer, and made really a difference allowing to enjoy it much better.
The main course arrived as always well presented, and everything was as expected. In a is indeed a place where you can expect ar not generous portions, shutout a price and flavor compromise..
Dessert was complimentary - thank you, but just like everything else really enjoyable.
Disappointed with the wine list - I was glad that looked online, and decided to bring my own. Too many local selections, not enough variety to match the cuisine they serve, and seems they are pushing once again, to higher pricing varieties....
Anyway, we enjoyed our visit, and surely will return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 26, 2017

Oba used to be my favorite restaurant in Portland, with some of the best food in town. The last two times that I have been there with friends the food has been mediocre at best. The steaks were overcooked and tough and most other dishes were not very memorable. The prices are high for that level of food. Oba, please get your act together and go back to your glory days.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 26, 2017

Dinner out with my daughter, it had been some time since we had been there and I am not sure why. We took our servers suggestions on everything and were not disappointed. We will be back much sooner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 26, 2017

Service was excellent. Food was presented well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 22, 2017

Pricing is silly expensive. Food was good, not great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 21, 2017

i had the.squash enchildas and a mango mojito. they were fantastic! my husband had the steak and ate every single bite. i wouldn't recommend the kid's quesadilla, though. it is too small for any child over 3 and has white cheese which most kids hate..

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 21, 2017

My wife and I really enjoyed our anniversary, we will definitely come back! I only wish you had more dishes, there were only 4 or 5 meat options. Great job overall!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 19, 2017

Are only not totally fantastic dinner in Portland when we visited for the eclipse. So looking forward to visiting Oba after reading reviews.

While it is in a lovely building and the staff is quite nice, the food did not live up to its reputation. We ordered their specialty steak, and the quality of the beef was considerably lacking. Please keep in mind that I am the daughter of a cattle man so I am more particular than some.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

Onc again Oba did not disappoint. We had an excellent server. She was attentive, courteous, and friendly. The food was amazing. We had the tortilla soup, empanadas, ceviche, bife, halibut, churrasco, and of course the flan. All of it made perfectly and with authentic flavors. Definitely recommend!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 19, 2017

Pretty good experience.
We consider ourselves pretty good tippers but we're surprised that they tacted on a $50 tip to the bill.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 18, 2017

Took my boyfriend here for his birthday. Even though the restaurant wasn't full it felt like the waitress was rushing us the whole time. Food was good, but they were out of prickly pear for margaritas and didn't know until 15 minutes after I had ordered it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 14, 2017

Wonderful food and service as always! We will keep coming back and bringing friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 14, 2017

Excellent food. Expensive, but worth it. I would definitely go again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 12, 2017

Food was fine. Service was okay. Decent place to eat.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 12, 2017

We had a great time celebrating our son's girlfriend 's birthday-- the food was great, the drinks and wine excellent and the wait staff wonderful! Enjoyed the guacamole made at our table lots of fun and delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 9, 2017

This is our favorite place to dine, I have had several items on the menu and everything has been excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 5, 2017

Once again Oba did not disappoint. Drinks, tableside quacamole and my swordfish entrée were all delicious and very well prepared. Lovely atmosphere and very attentive service. Our friends who were visiting from California and Arizona loved it. Highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 4, 2017

Wonderful evening with the family, friends. Food was fantastic with many different flavors in the mix. Niece has food allergies, peanuts and shell fish, they were happy to work with her so she had a confident, safe, wonderful meal as well. It was really a good evening with the family with great food, atmosphere, service and good time for all. Thanks

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 1, 2017

Oba has been one of our local Portland favorites for several years now. Be sure to get the table-side guacamole.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 26, 2017

Oba is a longtime gem in the Pearl. The food was fantastic, the service spot on. My father in law spilled his almost-full beer and a server immediately helped clean it up and replenished his glass. My ceviche was perfect, as were the balance of chips that came with it. My husband's steak was cooked perfectly, and the rub on it tasted--forgive my inability to parse the flavors, but it tasted like Spain. We had our nine-year old son and although there is no child's menu they accommodated his tastes and appetite.
The only disappointment came when we ordered the guacamole, which they famously prepare tableside, and they were out. I guess we'll have to go back, just a little earlier!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 22, 2017

Been many times. Great for a friends night or regular date night. A bit noisy for romance, but classy setting, yummy food and excellent service. Love the happy hour menu. We go whenever we're in Portland.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 14, 2017

Fabulous meal and service! The food and drinks were wonderful and it's a wonderfully created space. Highly recommend this Portland fixture for a special evening out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 14, 2017

Great service and delicious food. Fine dining experience that was worth the expense. Great vegetarian options and great drinks that delighted my wife. The table side guacamole was everything I'd hoped for and our entrees were cooked perfectly and thrilled our taste buds. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 14, 2017

Usually when we go to Oba it's a nice fairly quiet atmosphere. This time there were large, noisy family groups with small children in both dining areas so we couldn't have the romantic dinner we were hoping for. We used the groupon, which is a great deal. I had the steak which was very good, my husband had the Mahi Mahi. He thought it was too sweet. The service was very good and the food was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 14, 2017

We have been coming to Oba for 3 years and they never disappoint. They have an amazing happy hour that we eat in the bar or outside but this night we treated ourselves to the dining room and it was above expectation. The wine recommendation was perfect and our waiter was the perfect balance of attentive and personable. You can't miss at Oba.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
47