Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Oba

Located in the heart of the Pearl District, ¡Oba! Restaurante is known for its lively atmosphere, hand-crafted cocktails and award-winning Nuevo Latino cuisine. ¡Oba!’s menu is where bold Latin traditions, spices and preparations meet seasonal, local ingredients. ¡Oba!’s inventive cuisine, stunning design, award-winning wine list and commitment to excellent guest service have sustained a solid following and 17 successful years.

555 NW 12th Ave
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Tuesday 5:00pm-9:00pm, Wednesday-Thursday 5:00pm-9:30pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
NW Hoyt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-6161

Website:
http://www.obarestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please call Oba's Event Coordinator, Galit Reilly 503.750.7675, for details.

Executive Chef:
Luis Contreras

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

¡Oba!’s Havana Room is the perfect space for your next birthday celebration, family get together or even a girl’s night out. Vibrant color, dancing light, spicy undertones and the rich history of long-held family traditions serve as a framework for a truly transformational dining experience.

Oba Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Good for a Date (32)
Tapas (30)
See All
Romantic (27)
Creative Cuisine (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Good for Groups (18)
Modern Decor (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Cozy (14)
Fun (14)
Authentic (13)
Casual (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Local Ingredients (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Business Meals (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
People Watching (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Family Style (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Private Room (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Healthy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Spicy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
1733 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

We took advantage of the Portland Dining Month special and were not disappointed. Wonderful kale salad, delicious carne asada steak and yummy gluten-free chocolate soufflé with ice cream were all fantastic. We left comfortably full and pleased that we ate dinner at Oba!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful food & attentive servers. We appreciated the time between courses to enjoy what we had just eaten and sip wine or beer. We were glad to sit in the adjoining room as it wasn't as noisy as the main room.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Went here for Portland Dining Month. Food was good, but their timing was off. Waitress was sitting down second course silverware and asked us, "did you not get your salads?"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious food, lovely setting. We had a stellar meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Skirt steak is great! The desert is fantastic! Private sittings. Good for friends' get-together and date. Will go back to check their happy hour menu.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Great food and the best service so far. We are very pleased to see that some of the old dishes have returned to the menu

Tags: Tapas, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 20, 2017

The food just okay.. we tired their pdx dinning month menu. I know the food have been better as we have come here in past too.
But our server ( Andrew?) was super fabulous.. made up for the okay food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This was a four friend get together in Portland. We booked for 7.30pm on. Saturday. The restaurant called to confirm and were attentive and ready when we arrived. Our friends were late so we waited in the bar area for everyone to turn up. Lively atmosphere. Guava mojito and Altbier to wash down the excellent Arepas. Guava syrup was overkill and too sweet, would go with original next time. Once our friends all arrived our table was ready immediately. Pisco sours were enjoyed by all but we all agreed they could have been more lime-forward. Merlot with dinner was excellent. Swordfish, costillas, and the salmon we had would all bring us back again. The atmosphere was lively throughout. Service was attentive without being obtrusive.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Our meal was excellent and the service couldn't have been better. Jenica was an allstar!

Thanks for a great evening of dinner and drinks.

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Outstanding! Every dish was superb! You must start with ahi appetizer and queso fundito. My kids LOVE the fish taco's. Prime rib & halibut were made to perfection. This restaurant is outstanding EVERYTIME!!! You must go! 💃🏻

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We had the Portland dining menu and it was excellent. Service was great as well. Definitely plan to return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 17, 2017

This was my second time at Oba-- first time in the dining room. The food was incredible! We each participated in Portland dining month so we got to try both offered entrees. The shrimp and polenta was amazing! The dessert at the end was the perfect finish. However, the service was sub par. She was very obviously uninterested in our table as she was much friendlier to the other tables around us in her section. As somebody who has worked in the industry my entire life, I'd expect a liiiittle more from a quality restaurant. We'll be back, but will sit in the bar next time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

The food was phenomenal. The polenta and prawns were perfectly cooked. The portions were perfect and the dessert was divine. It was an amazing meal. And though we didn't order it, a table next to us ordered guacamole and chips and the chef came out to the table and made it right there so it would be customized to the diners heat preference. All in all a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We went to Oba because of their Portland Dining Month offerings, we had the prawns and carne asada, both were beautifully presented and delicious. The salad before and desert after were also great additions to the meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Hello Fellow Foodies
Not A Bang4aBuck.
Honestly my favorite part of this visit to OBA restaurant was the fantastic service in the bar.
The Food : The table side guacamole is a good idea and I recommend it at $20.00 The pulled pork tapas are too tiny and over priced. The tacos are the same tiny and over priced. The idea of serving street food is luring but after arriving and dinning here I wouldn't try it again. It seems to me that I can find the menu on the average food truck but at a better price.

Tags: Family Style, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We loved the food and the server was good. The drawbacks were the low light level, we saw several people pulling out cell phones to use for light to read the menu by, and the noise level from everyone talking and music playing. The acoustics were bad. It was also slow in between courses. I think maybe not going on a Saturday night, would be better. But, the food made up for a lot of the drawbacks as it was so yummy.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food and service were wonderful! This was a very busy Saturday night. Even though the lobby was full with anxious diners, we were seated within 10 minutes of our reservation. Hostess and waitstaff handled a busy night with grace. The tableside guacamole was fantastic, but the swordfish stole the show!

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The atmosphere was nice and the food was excellent I flavor but small in portion. When you pay about $30 for the main course and realize you needed to order a few tapas on top of that if you wanted to leave fulfilled its a bit disappointing. Maybe 10 bites worth of skirt steak at best.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Nicely done job by the staff here. It was crazy busy but the staff did a great job communicating to those waiting and keeping everyone informed. They had a new girl working the hostess desk (her first day or two) and she did an awesome job! Just kept smiling and treating everyone so kindly. Most new people would run and hide from these situations but she didn't. Give her a raise! Food was great and cocktails were very affordable for such a nice establishment. Would definitely recommend to friends and family for many occasions.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Amazing dinner every time. Food is delicious and always impeccable. I've never had a dish that wasn't memorable. My favorite appetizers are queso fundito, ahi tuna, and coconut prawns. The steaks are perfection. I had the salmon special and it was extremely moist & favorable. Excellent wine list but you must start with a margarita first!

Tags: Disabled Access, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Gluten Free Options, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great service great food manager Steve is awesome would recommend the taste is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We decided to try Oba as part of the Portland Dining Month. Dessert was excellent, the salad was good but a bit too much dressing. The two of us who had Carne Asada would still be chewing if we hadn't given up, very tough. The waiter was kind enough to take the cost of one meal off the bill. Excellent service. Perhaps, happy hour would be better.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The Chile rellons tapas was enough for a full meal. The medical negroni was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great service, great happy hour specials and decent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Wait staff was very helpful and always asking if anything was needed.Food was fantastic and was cooked to order.Great drink selection and preparation.Highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Authentic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Took advantage of the Portland March Madness and tried out Oba. We were very happy with the selected menu and everything was amazing!! Portions were a little small but we were filled up by the time we got through dessert and the lava cake was amazing! Service was impeccable and liked the vibe of the restaurant. I would definitely come back again...Oba!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was delicious. Service excellent. Noise level was too loud. Moderately expensive. Flan was the best I've ever had.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great food !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Fast excellent service the steak could have been warmer but it still tasted so good and melts in your Mouth.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We used a Groupon for the 4 course meal and it was amazing! The New York Strip steak was probably the best steak I've ever had. We had the Queso Fundido with chorizo and the coconut prawns as appetizers. I loved them both but my husband thought the sauce on the prawns was too sweet. The Flan for dessert was a perfect light ending to our meal. The service was impeccable and the atmosphere was classy and cozy. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Our food was delicious and the service was attentive and professional!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food and service! Get the Caesar salad! And the margs.

Tags: Private Room, Tapas, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Went before the theater. Had the Chefs 4 course dinner. Food was great. Steak a bit tough for the price (I can buy tender skirt steak at Costco, why cant they?) but the flavors were great.

Tags: Spicy, Tapas, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had tickets to see the Oregon Symphony which started at 7:30 we got to our reservation at 5:30 but a time we got our main course it was almost 7 o'clock the waitress was fantastic but the kitchen was extremely slow I would not recommend this if you're in a hurry but the food was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food at a reasonable price for the Pearl. Get the chorizo fundido appetizer. Just do it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We came on valentines day and got our reservation changed easily. the food is top class, service very friendly. took my liittle 5yr and she had a good time also. can recommend only. BTW, try the Margaritas!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our go to restaurant for special occasions. We love the food and atmosphere and the staff there are friendly and knowledgeable. I would highly recommend Oba to anyone!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My fiance and I wanted somewhere special to go to celebrate Valentine's Day, 6 month's at our new jobs, two months of our engagement, and our Anniversary.

It was such a nice evening together and I had forgotten how good the table-side guacamole is. GET IT. ALWAYS ORDER IT.

We will definitely be back and we cannot recommend Oba enough to friends and family!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Waiter was spectacular but my wife's main course (steak) was horrible. It was so tough that she ended up taking it home for our dog. It was the type of steak one might expect at a $12 buffet, not at a high end restaurant.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food, as always. The tenderloin special was amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.