Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Oba

Located in the heart of the Pearl District, ¡Oba! Restaurante is known for its lively atmosphere, hand-crafted cocktails and award-winning Nuevo Latino cuisine. ¡Oba!’s menu is where bold Latin traditions, spices and preparations meet seasonal, local ingredients. ¡Oba!’s inventive cuisine, stunning design, award-winning wine list and commitment to excellent guest service have sustained a solid following and 17 successful years.

555 NW 12th Ave
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Tuesday 5:00pm-9:00pm, Wednesday-Thursday 5:00pm-9:30pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
NW Hoyt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-6161

Website:
http://www.obarestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please call Oba's Event Coordinator, Galit Reilly for details.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
OBA! is excited to announce our partnership with Project Lemonade on Wednesday, July 26, 2017. 10% of all purchases that evening will go directly to Project Lemonade. Please contact OBA! directly or visit opentable.com to make your reservation.

For more information about project lemonade, please visit their website at www.projectlemonadepdx.org

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

¡Oba!’s Havana Room is the perfect space for your next birthday celebration, family get together or even a girl’s night out. Vibrant color, dancing light, spicy undertones and the rich history of long-held family traditions serve as a framework for a truly transformational dining experience.

Oba Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (39)
Special Occasion (30)
Creative Cuisine (27)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Romantic (22)
Happy Hour (21)
Tapas (19)
Bar Seating (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Authentic (14)
Fun (14)
Business Meals (13)
Cozy (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Spicy (10)
Casual (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
1834 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 3 days ago

Pretty good experience.
We consider ourselves pretty good tippers but we're surprised that they tacted on a $50 tip to the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

Took my boyfriend here for his birthday. Even though the restaurant wasn't full it felt like the waitress was rushing us the whole time. Food was good, but they were out of prickly pear for margaritas and didn't know until 15 minutes after I had ordered it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Wonderful food and service as always! We will keep coming back and bringing friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Excellent food. Expensive, but worth it. I would definitely go again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food was fine. Service was okay. Decent place to eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We had a great time celebrating our son's girlfriend 's birthday-- the food was great, the drinks and wine excellent and the wait staff wonderful! Enjoyed the guacamole made at our table lots of fun and delicious!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 10, 2017

This is our favorite place to dine, I have had several items on the menu and everything has been excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Once again Oba did not disappoint. Drinks, tableside quacamole and my swordfish entrée were all delicious and very well prepared. Lovely atmosphere and very attentive service. Our friends who were visiting from California and Arizona loved it. Highly recommend!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Wonderful evening with the family, friends. Food was fantastic with many different flavors in the mix. Niece has food allergies, peanuts and shell fish, they were happy to work with her so she had a confident, safe, wonderful meal as well. It was really a good evening with the family with great food, atmosphere, service and good time for all. Thanks

Tags: Spicy, Authentic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Oba has been one of our local Portland favorites for several years now. Be sure to get the table-side guacamole.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Oba is a longtime gem in the Pearl. The food was fantastic, the service spot on. My father in law spilled his almost-full beer and a server immediately helped clean it up and replenished his glass. My ceviche was perfect, as were the balance of chips that came with it. My husband's steak was cooked perfectly, and the rub on it tasted--forgive my inability to parse the flavors, but it tasted like Spain. We had our nine-year old son and although there is no child's menu they accommodated his tastes and appetite.
The only disappointment came when we ordered the guacamole, which they famously prepare tableside, and they were out. I guess we'll have to go back, just a little earlier!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Been many times. Great for a friends night or regular date night. A bit noisy for romance, but classy setting, yummy food and excellent service. Love the happy hour menu. We go whenever we're in Portland.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Fabulous meal and service! The food and drinks were wonderful and it's a wonderfully created space. Highly recommend this Portland fixture for a special evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great service and delicious food. Fine dining experience that was worth the expense. Great vegetarian options and great drinks that delighted my wife. The table side guacamole was everything I'd hoped for and our entrees were cooked perfectly and thrilled our taste buds. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Usually when we go to Oba it's a nice fairly quiet atmosphere. This time there were large, noisy family groups with small children in both dining areas so we couldn't have the romantic dinner we were hoping for. We used the groupon, which is a great deal. I had the steak which was very good, my husband had the Mahi Mahi. He thought it was too sweet. The service was very good and the food was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Spicy, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We have been coming to Oba for 3 years and they never disappoint. They have an amazing happy hour that we eat in the bar or outside but this night we treated ourselves to the dining room and it was above expectation. The wine recommendation was perfect and our waiter was the perfect balance of attentive and personable. You can't miss at Oba.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The service was exceptional. Jeffrey took great care of us and answered any questions we had.
Food was just okay nothing exceptional and for the price we felt the portions were small.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Been going to Oba for 15+ years and it never disappoints. Impeccable food & service is great!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great guacomole made at the table with great pizzazz!
Macadamia crusted swordfish was delicious.
They were very nice to split our entree into 2 lovely dishes.

Tags: Tapas, Spicy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We picked Oba's because we had had such great meals in the past--they did not disappoint us this time eIther! The table side guacamole is a must. The drinks were excellent and fast. The prime rib gaucho was perfect. Enjoy!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The wife and I absolutely LOVED Oba. Drinks, Dinner AND Desert...and we didn't feel rushed as we were able to sit back and enjoy the meal and each others company.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We had a wonderful Happy Hour then moved to the dining room for dinner.
Service was terrific with our waiter providing a masterful overview for informed selections. Dinner was amazing!
Unfortunately the beer taps were down and on a triple digit temp day that is a problem. My husband & sons wanted an IPA (or two) in a big way.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Oba is always a fun place to have dinner & drinks. We arrived in time for happy hour and had some excellent grilled fish tacos, a Caesar salad with a nice little kick, and some fried vegetables with a deliciously spicy sauce. The cocktails are wonderful, and service was very good. The menu has plenty of good vegetarian options and tasty seafood dishes, and happy hour is a great value!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Spicy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The ambiance is upscale and warm at the same time. Excellent wait-staff and delicious food.
I understand that the bar at Oba is a key hub of the social scene in Portland.
Oba has been here since the beginning in the Pearl. It has stood the test of time with few others.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

A father's day and college graduation with family. Food was very good. Service was attentive. Many of us had the gaucho prime rib and it was excellent. The cocktails were good, if slightly underwhelming. A fun waiter.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Had an atypical experience this time around. Usually this is 5 stars all the way across and this was the same for the most part. The waitress seemed very flustered and off her game all night which is the only blemish on the evening. Otherwise everything was wonderful and I will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Wonderful way to spend our wedding anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Really great quality food, prepared perfectly! Was impressed with the service as well. Slight mix up with our bill and our girl could not have been better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I would not recommend! I stated it was for a special occasion, and they did NOTHING! The hostess was very rude, I was shocked! However the waiter was great! The food was marginal, and way over priced! Will not be going back :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Disappointing service. Very slow service. Told waiter and hostess this was our sons birthday. In the past, they bring him a treat no singing (which we like) but they at least acknowledge his special day. Nothing - nada. So after waiting an eternity we jetted for Papa Haydn. Prime Rib gaucho style was overcooked, fatty and dried out. How that was possible - no idea. Halibut was sickeningly sweet. Cooked well but so sweet. Overall a major disappointment.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Oba is THE restaurant we return to every time we visit Portland. Our stays would not be complete without it.

1) They take reservations! Portland has many good food options, but too often they require an hour or more wait.
2) The atmosphere is quiet and dim, very refreshing and welcoming.
3) The waitstaff is always very attentive without being intrusive.
4) And most importantly, the food is delightful!

The bacon-wrapped jalapenos are incredible. Definitely get the table-side guacamole if you've 3-4 people.

I'm very conservative about my health and avoid eating risky things, but I absolutely trust their ceviche. When we went recently, it was a delightful mix of shrimp, avocado, and mango.

Tags: Cozy, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Excellent food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 6, 2017

It's our staple for our anniversary dinner. Just celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. Great place to go

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Everything was so good and the staff was pleasant, helpful and welcoming.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Two delicious dinners, one steak and one seafood (swordfish) EXCELLENT!!! A spot we will visit again and a new place to take out of town company for a special treat ... Very Reasonable

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We had a very pleasant dining experience at Oba. The space is very nice, tables are set up so that you aren't squeezed in next to another table. The restaurant is quiet and very tastefully decorated. The service was absolutely wonderful. The food was excellent and the pairing of different flavors was so well done that we all enjoyed our meals immensely.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Great service and food plus the best table side guacamole ever. Outside tables lovely in warm weather.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Spicy, Cozy, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 29, 2017

I expected it to be a bit nicer, a table for 2 measured 2x2 on the small side. The food was giid, more of a sports bar nit a place we would return to.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Not our first contact with Oba. An excellent meal, food always well prepared and a little bit different! Have already recommended to a friend. Also, the marionberry margarita is great, something not to be found elsewhere. Our dinner was perfect. Definitely a return visit will be forthcoming.

Tags: Casual, Vegan, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Late-night Find, Cozy, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Wine list is WAY to expensive without some lower price point selections. There is no reason to be so uppity with your prices if you want to appeal to a broader economic diner. This will give me pause when deciding where to dine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.