About Oba

555 NW 12th Ave
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of the Pearl District, ¡Oba! Restaurante is known for its lively atmosphere, hand-crafted cocktails and award-winning Nuevo Latino cuisine. ¡Oba!’s menu is where bold Latin traditions, spices and preparations meet seasonal, local ingredients. ¡Oba!’s inventive cuisine, stunning design, award-winning wine list and commitment to excellent guest service have sustained a solid following and 17 successful years.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Tuesday 5:00pm-9:00pm, Wednesday-Thursday 5:00pm-9:30pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
NW Hoyt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-6161

Website:
http://www.obarestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please call Oba's Event Coordinator, Galit Reilly 503.750.7675, for details.

Executive Chef:
Luis Contreras

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

¡Oba!’s Havana Room is the perfect space for your next birthday celebration, family get together or even a girl’s night out. Vibrant color, dancing light, spicy undertones and the rich history of long-held family traditions serve as a framework for a truly transformational dining experience.

Oba Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (73)
special occasion (71)
good for groups (43)
See All
romantic (39)
vibrant bar scene (34)
neighborhood gem (34)
hot spot (32)
notable wine list (24)
late-night find (10)
great for outdoor dining (6)
kid-friendly (5)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1469 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5

The good was fabulous, and the service w ...

Dined 4 days ago

The good was fabulous, and the service was excellent. My one complaint was that it was really noisy (the restaurant is basically a big box, so noise reflects), so it was difficult to have a conversation.

food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Not As Good As Before

Dined 4 days ago

Oba has been a favorite spot for my wife and I when we want to go to the Pearl District for a special dinner. It's always been very good. We've often enjoyed the Paella de Oba. This time it was not good at all. Perhaps it was the time of year, but the seafood in the dish tasted freezer burned and the flavor was extremely salty. We told our waiter about the flavor and he replied, "Oh. I'm sorry" and walked away. That was it - no offer for something different. The tapas were very good as always, but I think it will be awhile before we go back and give Oba another try.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very Consistent

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

We've been to Oba many times for all sorts of various celebrations. Friends get- together, birthday, friends visiting from out of town. The food is exceptional Spanish cuisine which is a treat in itself. The table side guacamole is so fresh and delicious with a generous portion of chips to fully enjoy the appetizer. The paella cannot be beat and we tend to order it each time we come. I especially like the spservice staff: very friendly and knowledgeable of the chef's dishes and offer great recommendations if one is unsure what to order. Kudos to the team at Oba!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

NEVER AGAIN

Dined on May 22, 2016

We had such a terrible experience with the employees that we will never dine at OBA again. The hostess was rude and confrontational, the manager did not handle the situation as it should have been handled, overall a very unpleasant experience.

food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Only reason for not all five stars is no ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Only reason for not all five stars is noise level is overwhelming. Makes it hard to keep a conversation going. Outside is great for Happy Hour when the weather is nice. Late night in spring, too cold. Excellent food, great service . Will return despite the noise.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Dinner at Oba was as good as usual, but ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Dinner at Oba was as good as usual, but the overall experience wasn't as much of a treat. We requested a booth and got one, which cut way down on noise. But this was the second time the Hostess put priority on her call, rather than the patron waiting in front of her face. Felt a bit disregarded, then she seated us in the booth right next to the wait station. Portions were pretty small and I miss some of the "old" menu items, but the dishes are always interesting and delicious. Not sure if they got unusually busy for a Thursday evening, but we only saw our waiter 3 times for drink order, dinner order, dessert order. A "parade" of other employees brought all the drinks, courses, etc. The Salmon Special was the best meal and the Chocolate /Almond cake "del ice" was decadent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Perfect for our late mother's day celebr ...

vip
Dined on May 16, 2016

Perfect for our late mother's day celebration. Quiet enough for the elderly members of the family and clean plates all around.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Okay food, however portions was not wort ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Okay food, however portions was not worth the price.

food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Great Service Decent Food.. Overpriced

Dined on May 8, 2016

I made Saturday night reservations for me and my two young adult children. Our waiter was top notched, made great recommendations and was attentive. The room wasn't even close to full, but the noise level had us shouting all night which wasn't fun. The food was great, but seemingly uninspired. I will give them major kudos for having gluten free, vegan choices. Overall a nice evening, but way overpriced for the quality of food.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always pleasant!

Dined on May 8, 2016

This isn't the first time I've visited Oba. This time around it was for Mother's Day dinner. The food was fantastic, as ever. I got the Paella which was outstanding, and my party started the meal with the calamari, which was perfectly cooked, and the table side guacamole which is a treat and I love the options to customize.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappointing

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

I am never disappointed in Oba. Food is always good and service is second to none. Best Caesar Salad in all of Portland.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!

Dined on April 19, 2016

I love Oba. I would have to say it is one of my favorite restaurants in Portland, and that says a lot. The food is always good, and the service has never faltered. This is my go-to place and I will continue to dine here. I struggle with many food allergies, and I was able to find something on their menu I could eat--with NO modifications! Unbelievable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Oba

Dined on April 17, 2016

The food was amazing. Service was a little slow, but I would still go back anytime.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

Not impressed... :(

Dined on April 10, 2016

I had been here a few times for Happy hour and the food was delish, however my date was in town from LA and was excited to try this place based off location & type of food that would be prepared. We were disappointed in the food we ordered. The waitress said the tamales are to "doughy" we was grateful for her honesty but she recommended we try "Carne Estilo Churrasco, & Enchiladas de Vegetales" since my date wanted something cheesy and he added meat to it....overall I only ate the steak on my carne meal, & he sent his enchiladas back. We just didn't have a good food experience taste wise, we ended up grabbing a burger somewhere after leaving, but the restaurant itself has a nice ambiance...Might only come back for Happy Hour in the future.

Tags: romantic, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood Favorite

Dined on April 10, 2016

We love this restaurant. It's our go to place for Happy Hour and get togethers with friends in the dining room. Fabulous food, service and ambiance. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

2016 Dining Month Visit

vip
Dined on March 31, 2016

I went to Oba for Dining Month. It's always been my favorite restaurant and it didn't disappoint. My server recommended the steelhead and it was delicious. I had a flight of 3 wines and each complimented the course it was served with - salad appetizer, fish entrée, and dessert. As usual the service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Weeds!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Saturday, 3/26/16, 7:30 or so. Oba was busy, as one should expect. But, the kitchen and bar were in the weeds. Too thick for a saturday night, when they knew it would be busy. We ordered two drinks. One took 10 minutes and the other took an additional 5 minutes, after inquiring twice. Bar service did not improve throughout the evening. Appetizers came out 8 minutes apart. I asked the server to be sure our entres came out together, and they did. Management offered dessert to compensate, which was nice. We love Oba, and will return. Just not a great experience this time. The food, as usual was terrific. Thanks for the opportunity to vent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was fair. Oba charging a $25 corka ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Food was fair. Oba charging a $25 corkage fee is ridiculous.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dining Month menu

Dined on March 24, 2016

We based our reservation on the menu off Portland Dining Month. There seemed to be a good variety between the appetizer and entree so my husband and I could sample all the different choices. The dessert did not have a choice but it was good nonetheless. The kale salad was absolutely delicious, the dressing was the star. The soup was good but not as memorable as the salad. My husband had the lamb meatballs which was ok but the highlight was the steelhead, perfectly prepared, moist, and the accompanying vegetables on the plate was perfectly seasoned. The Empanada de Manzana we had for dessert was a sweet ending but they could have added a little more apple filling to my liking. All in all, the ambiance and decor was beautiful. Also a must have is their guacamole! It's pricey, but it was the best guac I've ever had!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yummy

Dined on March 23, 2016

Oba is consistently great and we have had several family dinners there over a few years. Wait staff is knowledgeable and fun, good with children and they have a decent kids menu. Menu is inventive and Cuban flavors are tasty and different. It can be loud, but the early dinner hours are very comfortable for conversation. I am sure it is a fun bar and evening scene, too!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice place

Dined on March 21, 2016

The restaurant is very nice and the service was good. The entree was a little bit disappointing.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Everything was very average

Dined on March 21, 2016

Small servings. Nothing extra (bred, etc) average at bet but very pricey. I will not be going back

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Back on top!

Dined on March 17, 2016

We have been going here for over 5 years and our last visit was the best yet. Chris, our waiter, and the guac guy provided excellent service. I always like to get the carne beef and once, it was not good, only once. This time it was cooked to perfection and the cut was superb! Medium the way medium should be. My husband had the shrimp dish and he found it to be excellent as well. Yes, there was a little bump when changing chefs, but there back on top in our view!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Portland's Dining Out Month

Dined on March 12, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed every item we chose from the special menu. The flavors were AMAZING and I left feeling satisfied but not gorged! The drinks were also great! HIGH recommendation!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, drinks and service

Dined on March 6, 2016

what more can you ask for?? It's one of our favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Fit for beef foodies. Found out they on ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Fit for beef foodies. Found out they only have 3 items on the menu with possibility of gluten. The salad bar could be a full meal without the continuous meat for vegetarians.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was great, appetizer was excelle ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Service was great, appetizer was excellent the rest of the food was good but bland.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Latin Fusion Meal

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

We took advantage of Portland's Restaurant Month to try this restaurant. The place is very attractive and we were happy to be seated in the quieter room. The tableside made guacamole was delicious as was the rest of the meal. We loved the food and the wait staff were friendly friendly and attentive. The recommended wine was, of course, from Oregon and was excellent. We had a very lovely meal and will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love going to Oba!

Dined on February 28, 2016

The food is fabulous & the atmosphere is excellent. Our served was attentive and amazing. Only wish we could make it to Oba more often! It was perfect for these overworked parents who rarely get a date night. Thanks!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth flying for...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Oba was recommended to us in 2007 when we stopped in Portland for the night and nine years later we flew back to Portland just for dinner. I think it would be an overstatement to suggest Oba is the best restaurant in the world, but the menu, ambience, and staff come together in a compelling way that make it absolutely worth the visit. We visited a number of restaurants in Portland this time around, and none of them pull it together the way Oba does, and to that end it feels a little out of place in the Pearl District ... which makes it that much more welcome. The cocktails are interesting and well-assembled, the menu is diverse enough to satisfy wide range of tastes, and the staff is friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back - hopefully our next trip won't take nearly a decade!

Tags: late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Valentine's Day there!

Dined on February 15, 2016

I searched this restaurant out because as my husband and I passed through Portland on Valentine's Day I wanted a kind of "Portlandia" experience as we recently binge watched that show. I surprised him with this reservation. OBA was far more upscale than we'd expected and it was utterly gorgeous. Every single bite of food/cocktail we devoured were excellent. We had the large plates of shrimp and shredded beef "frita" over the most delicious manchego gratin. My husband had ordered flowers delivered to our table which happened flawlessly and what a surprise! We had a fantastic time-it was an easy walk from our hotel and we enjoyed every single minute!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Our waitress was a gem.

Dined on February 15, 2016

Classy action in response to our appetizers taking FOREVER...they were comped and the waitress was a gem.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Miss the old Chef

Dined on February 14, 2016

We have been going to Oba for years now. Usually 2-3 times per year. Always loved it. The last few times however it has been medicare. It's not bad food, but very overpriced for what is now is. I asked the waiter, who was awesome, what happened and be said the old Chef moved to Texas and they got a new one. He said the new chef put his own spin on the dishes and that we were not the first ones to ask about it. Its still ok food, but unfortunately just not what it was. We likley won't return.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always great food and drinks!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Oba is always fantastic. I have yet to have a any thing but a great meal here. The service cam be affected by rush hours a bit, but it's still my favorite in the Pearl.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Husbands Special Night

Dined on February 14, 2016

We went to Oba for my husband's birthday this last weekend, we went as a family so even the kids came with us. It was perfect! The kids LOVED their food and of course as did we. Our server was so accommodating and very knowledgeable of the menu. Made great recommendations.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Menu Change

Dined on February 13, 2016

My husband and I have been eating here for the past 16 years dining at least once a month. Oba was our favorite place to dine until recently. The service is always excellent, however we are not happy with the menu change. For example Vaca Frita was our absolute favorite until the new chef came on board and changed it. We have tried the new style a couple of times, each time trying to give it a chance but we just don't like it. They also took Coconut Shrimp off the menu as well among other items. We would dine here at least once a month, but now with the changes we probably will not be eating here as much as we have in the past. This is just my opinion and I am sure other people like the change, I guess everyone is different. I wish the would bring Vaca Frita back to the way it used to be.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Oba...has class

Dined on February 7, 2016

My friend and decided to try Oba to celebrate her birthday. It was a good choice. I originally reserved a table on Open Table for Feb.7, but got a call the following Tuesday letting me know there had been an error with the on-line system. The restruant was closed that day. However, they went out of their way to make it up to us with a complementary guacamole appetizer. Very good! We decided to share a dish which was very tasty, but had a couple of drawbacks. The "chorizo slices" were VERY hard and the clams were super tiny. The other ingredients were fine. The staff was very attentive and welcoming. I will go there again.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

most enjoyable!

Dined on January 31, 2016

Happy hour had great food and prices. A new favorite for us.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was the best of Latin culture. ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

The food was the best of Latin culture. The bacon wrapped jalapeño so delicious. Loved the seafood packed paella and mango martini. Dessert was sublime. Go and enjoy!

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Bland

Dined on January 19, 2016

We went on a quiet Monday night with $120 of gift certificates. We ordered paella and a bunch of small plates. The food was nondescript and not memorable at all. I feel like there was no quality to the dishes, for example the coconut shrimp was not as good as Trader Joe's freezer brand. Maybe it was an off night or maybe the kitchen is resting on it's previous laurels... The desserts were good although the banana fritters were small. The frozen chocolate ganache/gelato was the best thing of the entire meal. The service was fine. I was happy I did not spend my money and will not return with so many better Portland options.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.