About Oba

555 NW 12th Ave
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Located in the heart of the Pearl District, ¡Oba! Restaurante is known for its lively atmosphere, hand-crafted cocktails and award-winning Nuevo Latino cuisine. ¡Oba!’s menu is where bold Latin traditions, spices and preparations meet seasonal, local ingredients. ¡Oba!’s inventive cuisine, stunning design, award-winning wine list and commitment to excellent guest service have sustained a solid following and 17 successful years.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Tuesday 5:00pm-9:00pm, Wednesday-Thursday 5:00pm-9:30pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
NW Hoyt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-6161

Website:
http://www.obarestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please call Oba's Event Coordinator, Galit Reilly 503.750.7675, for details.

Executive Chef:
Luis Contreras

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Pollo Asado - Oba, Portland, OR
fish tacos - Oba, Portland, OR
Margarita - Oba, Portland, OR
Enchi - Oba, Portland, OR
Tacos Dorados - Oba, Portland, OR
Pork Arepas - Oba, Portland, OR
Crispy Chipotle Calamari - Oba, Portland, OR
Crispy Coconut Prawns  - Oba, Portland, OR
Bacon Wrapped Cream Cheese Stuffed Jalapenos - Oba, Portland, OR
guava mojito - Oba, Portland, OR
Table-side Guacamole - Oba, Portland, OR
Chicken Fajita Tacos - Oba, Portland, OR
Vaca Frita - Oba, Portland, OR
Blood Orange Margarita - Oba, Portland, OR
Chicken Tacos - Oba, Portland, OR

Private Dining

¡Oba!’s Havana Room is the perfect space for your next birthday celebration, family get together or even a girl’s night out. Vibrant color, dancing light, spicy undertones and the rich history of long-held family traditions serve as a framework for a truly transformational dining experience.

Oba Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (28)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
See All
Special Occasion (24)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Happy Hour (18)
Romantic (18)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Tapas (18)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Authentic (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Business Meals (10)
Fun (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Cozy (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Casual (7)
Late-night Find (6)
People Watching (5)
Healthy (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Private Room (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Spicy (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Historic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1670 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

really good food. table side guacamole w ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

really good food. table side guacamole was good. for 2, we ordered, 3 tapas and 1 entrée which was too much food. server told us it would be fine for the 2 of us. we ordered everything at once. we got the 3 tapas at same time and then entrée came. next time, would just order 1 thing at a time to spread it out. overall very good and will go back, just will time our food a little better.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food and Service were excellent. Portion ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food and Service were excellent. Portions small. Using a Groupon which lead to some shenanigans to increase tip. I didn't like this part of the experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lucas, our host was extremely prompt and ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Lucas, our host was extremely prompt and gracious! Jennica was great!! I had friend visiting from Dallas TX and Jennica made her feel warm and welcome!!! Can't say enough about that table side guacamole !!! A must have!!! And the flash fried calamari; tender and delicious!! I had the Carne churrasco, prepared perfectly and Candace had the pan seared salmon. "Amazing ". Malasadas were out of this world!! "Luxurious".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great... food was good... so ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Service was great... food was good... so many other great places to eat in Portland so probably will not go back in quite awhile.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was awesome, service )Jeffrey) was ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Food was awesome, service )Jeffrey) was fantastic We had a four course meal of finding, salad and fish then 🍮 flan. Was very good

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Most of the staff was very polite and co ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Most of the staff was very polite and courteous, it's a great date spot.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Food and Service, on a busy night, both ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food and Service, on a busy night, both excellent!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great food and better people watc ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was great food and better people watching on New Year's Eve before the party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great ambiance for our NYE dinner! Servi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great ambiance for our NYE dinner! Service is consistently friendly and knowledgeable about menu options. Great choices for many different palates. Was a little disappointed in our prime rib selection, the dish just seemed to lack love. I felt as though it was kinda thrown together after a busy NYE. Overall, we walked away satisfied in a generally good dining experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Hot Spot, People Watching, Authentic, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great! Great for dates and fami ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was great! Great for dates and family dinners

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Did not expect much for New Years eve la ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Did not expect much for New Years eve last minute reservation but staff was fantastic and the service was impeccable. Food was what we expected but it was the service that set them aside. Went to opening knight of OBa 18 years ago and there is a reasonably they are still going strong. My wife and Inpretty critical but commend the places that over deliver. Well done.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were there on New Year's Eve and ever ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were there on New Year's Eve and every table was filled. Now that swordfish is back on the menu we will go there many more times. Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had one of the best meals at Oba on N ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had one of the best meals at Oba on New Years Eve. The food was delicious, and our server was outstanding. It was just a fantastic evening all around.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance, attentive wait staff, an ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great ambiance, attentive wait staff, and the food was delicious - expertly prepared and beautiful presentation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food and awesome service from ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Delicious food and awesome service from Jeffrey!

Great New Years dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing: chorizo queso, ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything was amazing: chorizo queso, mahi-mahi and flan. We'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Very good food, service was super! A bit ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very good food, service was super! A bit loud but overall great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

For starters we ordered a couple of exce ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

For starters we ordered a couple of excellent small plate selections with fresh gauc being made at our table. Really delicious. Also very scrumptious ceviche with warm chips.

Prime rib was order by three of us, 8 oz. was plenty. Also swordfish that was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Overall great as always. The noise level ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Overall great as always. The noise level gets a little loud but easy to put up with

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Three of us met for a pre-show dinner at ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Three of us met for a pre-show dinner at Christmas. Lovely decorations and delicious food and drinks made a special holiday meal an event!

Menu options were all tempting.

My swordfish with pesto was perfectly cooked with a delicious balance of flavors.

We wished the room was a little bit lighter so we didn't have to use cellphone flashlight to read the menu or see the lovely presentation of our plate!

Tags: Tapas, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

They used to have a great cheese board, ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

They used to have a great cheese board, was looking forward to it for an appetizer and dessert. alas it is no longer an option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Anniversary dinner. Got the chefs specia ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Anniversary dinner. Got the chefs special groupon deal. Left disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was especially good--fresh ingr ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food was especially good--fresh ingredients, thoughtfully prepared and presented--and the casual/hip atmosphere made the evening feel special. Our server was knowledgeable and efficient, friendly without being obnoxious, and the auxiliary wait staff were helpful and professional.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Casual, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food, a little bit different. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Wonderful food, a little bit different. Great cocktails.

Tags: Happy Hour, Family Style, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Delicious! Our waitress suggested the pe ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Delicious! Our waitress suggested the perfect wine to go with our meal. Loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered smoked steak and empanadas.. ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We ordered smoked steak and empanadas.. Both were delicious.. my husband liked the steak very much..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We dined there for a birthday celebratio ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We dined there for a birthday celebration. Jeffery was our server and he was outstanding. The food was great. The only draw back was the heat was not functioning and we froze. I would highly recommend this restaurant for the service and the food. I'm not sure how we have missed it for so long.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

This is at least our 7th visit to OBA- f ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 19, 2016

This is at least our 7th visit to OBA- formerly our favorite restaurant. This time was WAY different. First off, they had lost their furnace for several days, so it was cold in there! No sign, no head's-up when we called, just SUPRISE- no heat! Next the service was marginal- no excitement, no warm greeting, and had to call for him to wait on us- twice. Maybe he was cold! Finally the food- although good- was nothing special. They seem to have lost their touch, and factor in the price- it isn't worth it any more. Sad to say, we will be looking for a new favorite restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

Great service. It was a fun place, good ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great service. It was a fun place, good bar and good food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Afternoon Tea, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Oba continues to be my favorite restaura ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Oba continues to be my favorite restaurant in Portland. I'm so glad they brought back the macadamia crusted swordfish. It's the best! As usual our service was superb. Thanks for a great evening!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service as always. Our server Kate ...

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great service as always. Our server Katelyn was super and the owner Steve even stopped by to say hi.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and literally all the ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Excellent service and literally all the food and drinks were satisfying. Well worth the prices for good food on a nice night out. Solid music too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time at Oba and will defi ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had a great time at Oba and will definitely keep it in mind for future special occasions. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was prompt, although when we wer ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Service was prompt, although when we were seated the restaurant was pretty empty so the server was a little too attentive. This mellowed out when more tables were seated, though. The guacamole appetizer is always a favorite, and the entrees were well prepared and very tasty. Cocktails are also delicious and the new menu is great!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good is always delicious. This is our th ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Good is always delicious. This is our third time there and will come back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have gone to Oba for special dinners ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We have gone to Oba for special dinners twice now. Each time has been great. Their menu is not too big or small. Everyone can find something to eat and it will be delicious. Cocktails are awesome and a good value. I have also been for happy hour, which is also a great value and a fun environment.

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Bar Seating, Fun, Tapas, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent. This is the 3rd t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service was excellent. This is the 3rd time I've been here for special occasions and it's always a great time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been recommending Oba to everyone ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I have been recommending Oba to everyone I know for years. They used to have wonderful service, a tapas menu that worked for two people as well as large groups. I was so surprised that I could not even get good choices of appetizers.

The guacamole table side was very good though. I asked the server if it had changed and I was told it has changed several times. Not the answer I would have expected. My daughter (23 years old) noticed the service was less than stellar. The meal was so very expensive and I do not mind paying high prices for value. Thankfully, the special was interesting, as the menu had nothing I would want besides "guacamole". The place used to be soon energetic. Not any more, sadly! We walked a mile to get there as well. Had better options close by. I was told Taste of Alder would have been a better choice. So sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value1

We went to dinner for my birthday, befor ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We went to dinner for my birthday, before a show at The Armory. The food and service were amazing! Tableside Guacamole is delicious! And the cocktails are also great! Our server was totally accomodating when he thought we need to leave in 15 minutes for a show, not in 1 hour and 15 minutes! (due to a daylight savings misunderstanding)

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the table side guacamole! Good is a ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Love the table side guacamole! Good is always good, fresh and innovative. Oba! is one of our favorite go-to restaurants

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.