Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Oba

Located in the heart of the Pearl District, ¡Oba! Restaurante is known for its lively atmosphere, hand-crafted cocktails and award-winning Nuevo Latino cuisine. ¡Oba!’s menu is where bold Latin traditions, spices and preparations meet seasonal, local ingredients. ¡Oba!’s inventive cuisine, stunning design, award-winning wine list and commitment to excellent guest service have sustained a solid following and 17 successful years.

555 NW 12th Ave
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Tuesday 5:00pm-9:00pm, Wednesday-Thursday 5:00pm-9:30pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
NW Hoyt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-6161

Website:
http://www.obarestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please call Oba's Event Coordinator, Galit Reilly 503.750.7675, for details.

Executive Chef:
Luis Contreras

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

¡Oba!’s Havana Room is the perfect space for your next birthday celebration, family get together or even a girl’s night out. Vibrant color, dancing light, spicy undertones and the rich history of long-held family traditions serve as a framework for a truly transformational dining experience.

Oba Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (40)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Special Occasion (37)
See All
Fit for Foodies (33)
Romantic (33)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Happy Hour (26)
Tapas (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Bar Seating (19)
Casual (19)
Authentic (19)
Modern Decor (18)
Cozy (18)
Fun (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Business Meals (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Quiet Conversation (10)
People Watching (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Spicy (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Healthy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Seasonal (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Private Room (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Vegan (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Organic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1810 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a wonderful Happy Hour then moved to the dining room for dinner.
Service was terrific with our waiter providing a masterful overview for informed selections. Dinner was amazing!
Unfortunately the beer taps were down and on a triple digit temp day that is a problem. My husband & sons wanted an IPA (or two) in a big way.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 7 days ago

Oba is always a fun place to have dinner & drinks. We arrived in time for happy hour and had some excellent grilled fish tacos, a Caesar salad with a nice little kick, and some fried vegetables with a deliciously spicy sauce. The cocktails are wonderful, and service was very good. The menu has plenty of good vegetarian options and tasty seafood dishes, and happy hour is a great value!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Spicy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 19, 2017

A father's day and college graduation with family. Food was very good. Service was attentive. Many of us had the gaucho prime rib and it was excellent. The cocktails were good, if slightly underwhelming. A fun waiter.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Had an atypical experience this time around. Usually this is 5 stars all the way across and this was the same for the most part. The waitress seemed very flustered and off her game all night which is the only blemish on the evening. Otherwise everything was wonderful and I will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Wonderful way to spend our wedding anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Really great quality food, prepared perfectly! Was impressed with the service as well. Slight mix up with our bill and our girl could not have been better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I would not recommend! I stated it was for a special occasion, and they did NOTHING! The hostess was very rude, I was shocked! However the waiter was great! The food was marginal, and way over priced! Will not be going back :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Disappointing service. Very slow service. Told waiter and hostess this was our sons birthday. In the past, they bring him a treat no singing (which we like) but they at least acknowledge his special day. Nothing - nada. So after waiting an eternity we jetted for Papa Haydn. Prime Rib gaucho style was overcooked, fatty and dried out. How that was possible - no idea. Halibut was sickeningly sweet. Cooked well but so sweet. Overall a major disappointment.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Oba is THE restaurant we return to every time we visit Portland. Our stays would not be complete without it.

1) They take reservations! Portland has many good food options, but too often they require an hour or more wait.
2) The atmosphere is quiet and dim, very refreshing and welcoming.
3) The waitstaff is always very attentive without being intrusive.
4) And most importantly, the food is delightful!

The bacon-wrapped jalapenos are incredible. Definitely get the table-side guacamole if you've 3-4 people.

I'm very conservative about my health and avoid eating risky things, but I absolutely trust their ceviche. When we went recently, it was a delightful mix of shrimp, avocado, and mango.

Tags: Cozy, Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Excellent food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 7, 2017

It's our staple for our anniversary dinner. Just celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary. Great place to go

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Everything was so good and the staff was pleasant, helpful and welcoming.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Organic, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Two delicious dinners, one steak and one seafood (swordfish) EXCELLENT!!! A spot we will visit again and a new place to take out of town company for a special treat ... Very Reasonable

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 4, 2017

We had a very pleasant dining experience at Oba. The space is very nice, tables are set up so that you aren't squeezed in next to another table. The restaurant is quiet and very tastefully decorated. The service was absolutely wonderful. The food was excellent and the pairing of different flavors was so well done that we all enjoyed our meals immensely.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 30, 2017

I expected it to be a bit nicer, a table for 2 measured 2x2 on the small side. The food was giid, more of a sports bar nit a place we would return to.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Not our first contact with Oba. An excellent meal, food always well prepared and a little bit different! Have already recommended to a friend. Also, the marionberry margarita is great, something not to be found elsewhere. Our dinner was perfect. Definitely a return visit will be forthcoming.

Tags: Casual, Vegan, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Late-night Find, Cozy, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Wine list is WAY to expensive without some lower price point selections. There is no reason to be so uppity with your prices if you want to appeal to a broader economic diner. This will give me pause when deciding where to dine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 27, 2017

I've been coming to Oba from the time I moved here 14 years ago. I love the happy hour and also love the restaurant. The only problem I ever have is with the noise level (especially in the bar) so I try to avoid weekends. If I book in the restaurant, I ask for a booth which does mute some of the noise level. But the food and service and ambiance is top notch. Especially the seafood dishes in the restaurant. I've never had a bad meal there or bad service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We have been here a few times and have brought friends each time. We have never been disappointed.

reo

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We took 4-course chef's dinner for two. Appetizer was good, pretty tasty, but New York steak was the worst I've ever tried, absolutely tasteless as well as our dessert (flan). I was very disappointed for the price. The Chef's dinner supposed to be the best choice, if so it wasn't even ok, will never come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Yummy food and excellent service!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We had a reservation but still had to wait a while before being seated. Drinks and food were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Bad service-not going back!
We went to Oba for Mother's Day and we're looking forward to a good meal as we had dined there before. Our waiter was Mike and he seemed very friendly at first. We placed our order (there were 4 of us) and my husband specifically said to Mike that he was going to split a dish with one of our kids. The entrees came out and I looked at what what's supposed to be the split dish and said for $3, that is a bargain! They put a full meal together for my husband and kid. Mike walked by and we flagged him down to ask if the dish was split and he said no. My husband and I looked at one another and said to Mike we wanted to split this entree. Mike said nothing and my husband said don't worry because he didn't want to make a scene.

Mike didn't say sorry and never stopped by to check on us. When we got the bill we were fully charged for all four entrees (which was fair).

In terms of customer service, say oops or sorry. Offer us a little something, you messed up as a waiter. Come check on us, you left us with no drinks, thus you had a lower tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Absolutely delicious. We had the Mahi Mahi and loved it. The flan was amazing. Definitely would return!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Absolutely fantastic ambient, surprised to have our waitress speak Spanish, great timing on bringing meals and checking in with us, stuning preswntation of meals, the meat was melting in our mouths and I have never eaten before Cesar salad with distinct flavour. Mojitos were authentic. Worth the money!!!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Late-night Find, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I had not been to Oba for many years but had good memories of it so when I saw a Groupon for a fixed price 4 course meal for 2 - I decided to go for it. What was a bit odd was that this menu was only for people with Groupons - that is, it could not be ordered by anyone else. Two of the courses were 'shared' (unclear in the groupon offer) and they were both good - a cheesy dipping appetizer and a flan for dessert. The salads were fine, not great. There were two entrees offered - a steak and a fish and we got one of each. Both were overcooked and lacked any flavor. The sides that came with them were good, though (potatoes, vegetables). Our third person ordered off the menu. His entree was so-so. We did get the tableside prepped guacamole and that was the best thing of the whole meal. So - without the groupon, this meal would definitely not have rated the price, and I am willing to pay a lot for a good meal. Service was excellent though and all of the waitstaff were very nice and attentive. I would perhaps try it again and just order more carefully.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The food was very good and the employees were very friendly. We enjoyed our dinner. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We had the 4 course special dinner, which was great. Hot, gooey cheesy chorizo dip with chips, Caesar style green salad, mahi mahi with coconut rice OR New York steak with potatoes and green beans; perfect flan. Terrific cocktails (Margarita and Havana Daquiri) and good wine list. Service was impeccable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We have had the Salmon, Halibut, sirlon steak, skirt steak and Gaucho (prime rib) and all have been fantastic!!! The flan and mosales(sp?) are out of this world!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Tapas, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent food and service. Will definitely be back for the guamole!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Went to Oba before an event and used a Groupon.
Lovely dinner with my husband. The staff was very helpful and accepted the Groupon happily.
Food was delicious and the courses came out at great timing.
Highly recommend for a date. Loved the decor in the dining room.
Look forward to trying the happy hour.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Tapas, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our server was great Jeffery guided us through the experience going over wine choices, dishes, and some enjoyed conversation. The food was fantastic! Even though there were children running around and the host continued to play with the lighting I had a great dinner. We will be back! And we will ask if Jeffery is available to be our waiter. Thanks for the wonderful experience it was a special occasion for us and we picked the right place to celebrate. We had the four course dining menu and loved it. Had to add a few things, including some beautiful wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Oba is my go to restaurant when I am in Portland. They have awesome appetizers and small plates and a seasonal menu that changes frequently. Service has always been great. I have been eating at Oba's for8 years on my visits to Portland. Highly recommend.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We had a great meal at Oba. Started with the Queso Fundido and the table side guacamole. I had the macadamia crusted swordfish which was absolutely delicious. Drinks were also great, margaritas and excellent beer selection too.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

It seemed like the proportions got significantly smaller. Maybe a handful of chips for the appetizer. The pork loin special was amazing. The malasadas were okay.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Before we had even ordered the owner came up to us and told us we shouldn't eat here because kids come in and only order starters and salad and that we should just go to a drive through. It was very rude and ruined our experience. Lucky the water was very nice and apologized for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Oba is a great restaurant. The service is outstanding and the food delicious. My husband is still talking about the Queso Fundido appetizer. He had the Mahi Mahi and loved it. I had the N.Y. steak which was tender and grilled perfectly. Don't forget the Flan for dessert yummy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Got the Groupon deal. The chorizo dip was good, so was the flan. Ceaser salad was fine. The NY steak was horrible, I asked for medium rare. Red as can be inside and brown on the outside. Zero blood... meat was chewy with barely any flavor. Tasted like they dropped it in boiling water ... threw it on the grill for the marks and served it to me. Presentation was nice... but I can't get over how gross the steak tasted/looked. Stale... dry... not fresh meat. Fine dining? Give me a nice juicy steak.... the Groupon was $56. 18% gratuity. It's not a matter of paying for what you get... I spent $75+ Maybe other food items on the menu are better, not coming back to this place to find out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Service was good but overall experience suffered mainly due to poor lighting at our table - I could not see my meal, read the bottle of wine info, or really appreciate the guacamole that was prepared tableside. Had I realized how dark the area was, I would have asked to move to another table.

Tags: Spicy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Amazing food and excellent service. The cevivhe was absolutely amazing and the pineapple sorbet sealed the deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.