Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.19mi
  4. Distance: 0.23mi

About Oba

Located in the heart of the Pearl District, ¡Oba! Restaurante is known for its lively atmosphere, hand-crafted cocktails and award-winning Nuevo Latino cuisine. ¡Oba!’s menu is where bold Latin traditions, spices and preparations meet seasonal, local ingredients. ¡Oba!’s inventive cuisine, stunning design, award-winning wine list and commitment to excellent guest service have sustained a solid following and 17 successful years.

555 NW 12th Ave
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Latin American, Steak, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday-Tuesday 5:00pm-9:00pm, Wednesday-Thursday 5:00pm-9:30pm, Friday-Saturday 5:00pm-10:30pm

Cross Street:
NW Hoyt

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 228-6161

Website:
http://www.obarestaurant.com/

Catering:
Please call Oba's Event Coordinator, Galit Reilly 503.750.7675, for details.

Executive Chef:
Luis Contreras

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

¡Oba!’s Havana Room is the perfect space for your next birthday celebration, family get together or even a girl’s night out. Vibrant color, dancing light, spicy undertones and the rich history of long-held family traditions serve as a framework for a truly transformational dining experience.

Oba Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Good for a Date (37)
Fit for Foodies (35)
See All
Tapas (34)
Romantic (33)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Happy Hour (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Good for Groups (19)
Modern Decor (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Casual (17)
Cozy (17)
Authentic (17)
Fun (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
People Watching (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Business Meals (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Healthy (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Spicy (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Seasonal (4)
Private Room (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1768 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

Amazing food and excellent service. The cevivhe was absolutely amazing and the pineapple sorbet sealed the deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 2 days ago

Neighborhood favorite with the best table side guacamole ever. Great Latin fusion food with options for everyone.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined 5 days ago

Oba is always consistently excellent in every way. From the food, to the service, the wide menu selection, the excellent cocktails, all you would ever want.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined 6 days ago

Perfect night! They even brought us glasses of champagne to help celebrate our friends engagement. Can't recommend Oba any more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This was my birthday dinner, waited an hour for a cocktail before being seated, ordered prime rib medium rare, it was well done, they did replace this, but feel that for the price, no excuse for waiting so long for our first cocktail. And not even being told they would comp this after waiting so long.
Overall, wished we would have gone somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our server was great, drinks were just ok. The food was fricken amazing, which made up for the average cocktails.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We really enjoyed our experience, and our server Jeffrey was really good! The cheese appetizer was really good, and the overall price of the meal was worth the experience and quality. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Best margarita north of the border! Swordfish was amazing!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Authentic, People Watching, Modern Decor, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Chose this restaurant based on some reviews. It was quite good. The noise level at the first table was above average, and the hostess re-seated us quickly. Food was very good, service was also very good. The guac was amazing!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 15, 2017

My husband, daughter and I had a great meal at Oba. The dishes we ordered had an interesting blend of tastes that melded together deliciously. Our server and other wait staff were really nice and attentive without hovering. Our only issue was with the noise. The main dining room is so loud the three of us sometimes had trouble hearing our own conversation. This would not have been a good spot for a romantic dinner. We'll go back because we loved the food, but we'll make sure we don't need to have a lot of discussion over dinner when we do.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We had two Groupons for two 4 course menus. The server was great, the food was good. Started off with a queso fundido, one meat, one veggie, and they were decent. The Caesar salads were very good. The entrees were a ny strip or mahi mahi. We ordered two of the mahi mahi and they were both over cooked, but the steak was great. The dessert was good. I'm not sure if the quality was due to the Groupon, but I overall it was a great experience for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Went there with a friend for the first time. I immediately had a good feeling about the place when we arrived...friendly hostess, nice decor and ambience. We had the salmon dinner, Cesar salad with pickled onions, tableside guacomole and beef empanadas. Everything was good but the guacamole was outstanding! I would try a different salad next time as this one was just average. A sweet finish of what were small banana filled dumplings coated with cinnamon and sugar with a small scoop of ice cream. Lovely!!!!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We had planned a Sunday date night to avoid the weekend crowd. We arrived at 7 and were told they were cleaning a table and it would be 5 minutes. We headed into the bar for a cocktail. The Old Fashions are great, friendly bartender. Two drinks later we had not seen the hostess so I went into the dining room. Others had been seated that were waiting in the lobby. Another 5 minutes we were seated, then ignored by the servers. It was not busy in the dining room. I spent 20 years in the business and couldn't see any reason for the non responsive service. When we finally did get approached by the server everything went well. We had the four course Chef's dinner we got from a Groupon promo. Then we find out they automatically add 18% gratuity to the full $100 value. We've been here before and had great service in the bar. Everyone has an off night, but if that would've been our first time I doubt we would go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We sat in a cozy booth celebrating our 37th wedding anniversary. We had the four-course chef's seasonal special and both meals were spectacular (Mahi Mahi & New York strip). The vegetables, rice and potatoes were cooked superbly, and served piping hot. Our waitress helped us with a wine bottle selection that turned out to be fabulous to our tastes. We have eaten here several times in the past and the experience is always one of the best. We can't wait to come back again!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Food is very good, we had a Groupon, but the menus looked like a lot of good options. Our waiter, Mike, was very knowledgeable about the wine selection and picked out a good one to go with our food. The service was a bit slow so let them know if your on a time budget.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We had the Groupon deal and it was worth every penny!
Bar area was very popular and the bartenders were super friendly. Our food tasted excellent, especially the queso fundido! Restaurant was a little warm for us, but otherwise it was a great restaurant. We didn't do the tableside guacamole, but we would next time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I have been here for Happy Hour numerous times and LOVE IT! Dinner was a new experience. The food was good although expensive ( Think over 150$ for two drinks a shared appetizer and dessert and two main dishes) . The service was great. We did fell packed in and it was loud, but our reservation was at 7:15 on a Saturday night so busy is an expectation but for that kind of money I would expect more than 2 feet clearance between tables. Overall it was nice.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The noise level in this restaurant cancelled out all that was good. It wasn't energetic (the only option that Open Table seems to offer for Way Too Loud) -- it was deafening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was very good, only issue was taking 25 minutes to take our food order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Food is amazing. Table prepared guacamole is unbelievable. Amazing drinks. Well done Oba!

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Margs are delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 3, 2017

My friends' steaks were very good, the wine was good, my husband's vegetarian dish was also very good. We especially liked an appetizer as well - the Queso Fundido, I think.
Our server was always right there when we needed her, but not hovering, and the ambiance was fabulous - really lush but somehow spare, because of the deep infused colors, I think. I would absolutely recommend Oba even though my own fish dish was overcooked.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Service was horrible, we sat at the bar, sat there for about 25 minutes before the server came to take our order. After that she was mia, we kept looking for her to order a drink. Food was great. To make thinks worse when we got the bill, an 18% tip had been added to to it. So she got a $25 tip for not doing anything. Not sure I'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Fantastic experience...great food and atmosphere! We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great service, awesome food. You must try this place it's amazing.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This is one of my New Portland Favorites! Great Food, Beautiful Atmosphere. A must if visiting Portland! Sexy Latin food

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Fantastic food but rather expensive to be able to eat there on a regular basis.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Have enjoyed Oba several times and wonder what takes me back. The service was just ok... when we arrived the bar was almost empty. Took a long time to get 3 drinks and 2 of them were wine. (We each had two drinks each while we were there) The appetizers we ordered were good. Bacon wrapped jalapeños, (4) empanada, (1) and beef (2) and chicken (2) street tacos. Our total bill was $158.00. I think that's expensive but maybe not. If I recommend Oba I will tell of this experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Casual, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

My husband and I had a great dinner out. I'd love to go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Special Portland dining program drew us in, food will bring us back. Decor was nice, serice great with pleasant, helpful server, portions perfect (not overmuch, requiring doggy bag), priced reasonably.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 29, 2017

My friend and I went for Portland Dining Month - can't think of a better place to take advantage of a deal like that for. Not only was everything delicious (as Oba always is), but our server Jennica was warm and delightful, which made our celebration all the more enjoyable. The hostess and other waitstaff were wonderful too. This is a fabulous Portland gem that I will always return to.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We dined at Oba and chose the Portland Dining Month fixed menu. The food was delicious, and the ambiance was relaxing. We commented that a restaurant that size is usually noisy, but we were able to have a normal conversation without shouting to one another. The chocolate soufflé had a grainy texture - that was the one low point in an otherwise wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Seasonal, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We had a Groupon for a 4 course meal and it DID NOT disappoint. What a wonderful night my husband and I had, great food, great drinks and great service. We will be back for sure!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We selected Oba for our pre-theatre dinner. It was our first time there. The decor is interesting and the staff is very knowledgeable and polite. The offerings on the menu looked so scrumptious that it was hard to decide which entree to choose. The food, the blend of flavors and the presentation was so delicious we wanted to lick our plates clean...literally. We also enjoyed coffee and dessert, which again, was very satisfying. We shall return.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We took advantage of the Portland Dining Month special and were not disappointed. Wonderful kale salad, delicious carne asada steak and yummy gluten-free chocolate soufflé with ice cream were all fantastic. We left comfortably full and pleased that we ate dinner at Oba!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Wonderful food & attentive servers. We appreciated the time between courses to enjoy what we had just eaten and sip wine or beer. We were glad to sit in the adjoining room as it wasn't as noisy as the main room.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Went here for Portland Dining Month. Food was good, but their timing was off. Waitress was sitting down second course silverware and asked us, "did you not get your salads?"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Delicious food, lovely setting. We had a stellar meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Skirt steak is great! The desert is fantastic! Private sittings. Good for friends' get-together and date. Will go back to check their happy hour menu.

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 23, 2017

A rare night out with just my son (28). We enjoyed Oba very much. Nice vibe, friendly waiter. We started with outstanding, strong margaritas and tasty dinner salads. Next, he had a beef dish; I had mahi mahi; both excellent. ! Dessert was flan, but we decided we were too full and they both went home with son. Definitely will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.