About Oasis Cafe - Salt Lake City

151 South 500 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84102
View Larger Map

The Oasis Cafe specializes in good food that is good for you. We use local fresh produce, sustainable meats and seafood. We at Oasis Cafe offer both indoor and outdoor dining. We have an amazing courtyard that is full of beautiful flowers and vibrant plants surrounding a weeping fountain.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 8:00am - 2:30pm
Lunch: Daily: 8:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 100 and 200 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 322-0404

Website:
http://oasiscafeslc.com/

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is located on the east side of our building.

Executive Chef:
Billy Sotelo

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Oasis Cafe - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (23)
Great for Lunch (22)
Casual (22)
See All
Great for Brunch (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Healthy (21)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Afternoon Coffee (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Fun (14)
Vegan (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Organic (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Cozy (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Authentic (7)
Business Meals (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Romantic (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Family Style (5)
Seasonal (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
People Watching (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
364 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 7 days ago

Four of us come to the Oasis before each SLAC performance. It's always welcoming and efficient. Lindsey is a keeper! The three-course dinner special is a bargain.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had an excellent experience at the Oasis Cafe! The food and the service was fantastic! It was my first time visiting but will not be my last.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good experience getting to try items that we probably would not have ordered all together at one time. Food looked good and tasted good. Cold food was cold and hot food was hot. A positive experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went for Valentine's Day. Have never been before and was extremely happy with the decision. The menu was special for Valentine's Day but the selections were unique and delicious. My husband chose tenderloins & roasted veggies which were cooked perfectly and my halibut was the best I have ever eaten. Oasis is now on our list of places to revisit and to share with friends and family. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Lisa, our server was great. Made our evening fun. Did not rush us and gave us good suggestions on the menu. Food was delicious. We have been there many times and always good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

First Visit at this restaurant and was pleasantly surprised.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Family Style, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The menu is vegan friendly and I absolutely love the patio when the weather is appropriate.

Dinner is a bit pricey for me, but brunch and lunch are reasonable.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Organic, Cozy, Fun, Historic, Vegan, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I got tea, and a gyro. I was different and worth the experience. I would go again for sure and tell others to go.

The waitress was attentive, and very good at her position.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great! Very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Good service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The fish was perfect, with a caramelized bottom. The honey lavender polenta cake that came with the salmon was delicious, as was the lavender Italian soda (though it came with a lot of cream, so I asked for half the cream and half the ice on the second one). The server did a terrific job. They also give a one item 20% discount coupon to the bookstore next door (and in turn they give a coupon to the restaurant).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It's refreshingly away from the bustle of the central district (but within walking distance if you're staying near the center). It doesn't look like too much on the outside, or even after you enter - it looks like a laid-back Oregon coffee shop - not too cozy but clean and modern. The food is outstanding - local, bursting with flavor, generous, fun, and eclectic. We had great service and treated ourselves to a second drink and dessert. Very pleased and it will be in our regular restaurant rotation when in SLC.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fun, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Oasis Cafe is one of our favorite places to eat. We had a $10 off coupon as we bought something at the Golden Braid store which is associated with the restaurant. Our server was prompt with our drinks and bread with olive oil & vinegar. I ordered a glass of wine and my husband ordered a beer. The wine list is limited but I don't think that is their big thing. I then ordered the Mediterannean salad with salmon which was delish! My huz ordered a verde dish that he loved. The only downside was we gave the server the coupon when we sat down but she didnt tell us till she brought the bill that we couldnt use it as my salad wasnt an entree. Would have been nice to know as we ordered! Otherwise, a good evening. If you go to the Oasis Cafe, stop into the Golden Braid. So many fun items there and we did a psychic reading.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The scrambled eggs were over cooked and my breakfast sandwich only had 1 piece of bacon but everything else was good and our waitress was very attentive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our server was amazing, the food was good and no corking fee! Food a bit over priced for NYE but it was really nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Oasis remains a favorite of ours for a few years now!Quality, well sourced food and great service. We will continue to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

So far, best breakfast potatoes anywhere. They use red - they're seasoned well and cooked perfectly. I got the GF grilled cheese & tomato soup. GF bread was good but it had too much char on it but the soup was absolutely delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Oasis is great! They have several vegan options for dishes that other restaurants wouldn't make vegan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Portions too small. No need to skimp on brown rice and vegetables, which are not expensive to serve. A vegan gets hungry like everyone else!

Ambience not what it should be. Draughty. Too dark at table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Always a great experience. Marty took great care of us, feel like we're with family there- oh yeah, the food's great, home...

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We invited some young friends to join us for dinner before a concert. We are always pleased with the Oasis.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Perfect spot for good food and quiet enough to catch up with a friend. I hope to be back.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Wonderful food options. There was something for everyone in our party. We had vegan and gluten free needs and didn't have a problem finding a lot of food options on the menu. One person had a request to change salad for soup, which was not honored. She was very disappointed. When the wait staff realized, there was no attempt to correct the problem. He just told her that someone else could eat her salad. The place is very clean, very urban!! It's a little difficult to get to for a member of our party who recently had knee replacement. I'm sure there may have been an elevator somewhere, but it was not evident.

But, overall I would recommend this place for lunch or gathering!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 28, 2016

I have never had a bad Meal or experience at Cafe Oasis- I would have no problem recommending this restaurant to anyone!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Oasis is a regular haunt for us and usually we are happy. This time was a little frustrating as despite making a reservation, we ended up with almost a half hour wait, and that despite some heavy hassling from my wife. They seemed to have a lot of junior people on the staff, especially the checkin desk, and were not managing the flow well.

I also had my regular brunch favorite--the waffle, but it has shrunk from "Belgian" to "multigrain" and while it might be healthier, it is also scrawny and thin in appearance and taste. For that, the "German buttlemilkw pancake" is a monster, a cake really. It has nothing to do with Germany (according to both me and my German wife) but it packs a pile of calories and was reasonably good.

Overall, Oasis has to step up the game on the sweet dishes. Savory brunch food is excellent but some of like our sweets for breakfast/brunch and you are letting us down.

Don't get me started on the truly awful hot chocolate...

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food, excellent service. Very willing to substitute items on the menu.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Organic, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Fun atmosphere. Good choices on the menu. Great service.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Just ate here for the first time and loved it - excellent food at a great price in a cool environment. We had an omelet and french toast, both great, but the real standout was the breakfast potatoes. All around a great restaurant experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Fun, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food couldn't have been more scrumptious and the service couldn't have been friendlier or more attentive. Lovely way to spend Thanksgiving morning.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The service and food were great. The food selection was very open. Only negative would be that our hot chocolate arrived warm. Eggs benedict was very good, eggs cooked perfect. Side bacon was extra crispy as ordered. Oasis breakfast: scrambled eggs were fluffy. Ranchos was filling. Muffins and Cinnamon roll arrived at the table warm and moist.

Our service are friendly and gave suggestions. She was respectful and attentive, which is a hard balance with all of the tables her had in her section on Thanksgiving day.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Family Style, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Fun place to met friends, we enjoyed the psychic fair then had a great dinner!

Tags: Tapas, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My husband and I went to Oasis for the first time this weekend and the only thing we were upset about was having not discovered this place sooner!! The food was AMAZING, everything was fresh and exploded with flavor! I would consider this a healthy place to eat out if you are trying to be healthy, if not then its still a great place for you. Our waitress had worked there for 28 years, she was lovely! Very kind and knowledgeable. We will be back, can't wait to try the freshly made croissants our waitress told us about!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Wonderful food and great artwork which one you can purchase 👍

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great menu, great service and great ambiance. Perfect Sunday morning?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I choose this restruant for there vegan option. I was not impressed with the options or the taste of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Oasis cafe is a great little neighborhood gem! Michaelann is one of our favorite servers, patio dining is a must!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Three course dinner special is a great deal on any evening but the escolar we had this evening was the best I've ever eaten. Our waiter was Nelson and he's a keeper: great smile, attentive without hovering, and 'timely' service. Since we use the Oasis as a pre-play venue, that's important

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Always a wonderful time with great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Place was recommended by a local and we couldn't have been more impressed. The service was very friendly and the food was excellent! Will definitely visit again when I'm back in SLC.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2016

This was one of the few places open on Sunday in Salt Lake City and was a delicious meal besides.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Love the quality of food and the vegetarian options. The fruit oatmeal cookies are my fave and the croissants are delicious too!

For some reason, our reservation made through opentable did not show up at the Oasis Cafe when we got there. They had a table they quickly gave to us, but wonder if this is some type of computer problem because I did receive an email confirming the reservation had been made.

It also took a very long time for our food to arrive once it was ordered and wish we would've had something to munch on at our table while we were waiting.

Tags: Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Always have a good time at oasis. Delicious food, great service, cute servers. Colton rocks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Casual, Organic, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Excellent Service! Lovely & Charming Ambience! Perfect for dining and conversation! Divinely Delicious Food! Every bite was a flavor sensation. Highly recommend. We will come again.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 27, 2016

May I just say that the Roasted Tomato Fennel Soup was divinely delicious. Ambience was lovely, service was excellent, noise level perfect for a nice normal conversation. I would highly recommend Oasis.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Organic, Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Always our 'go to' spot before SLAC performances. A very nice neighborhood restaurant that never disappoints. The Oasis also has an excellent 'lunch' menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We enjoyed an early Friday night dinner with friends on the patio. The food is creative and fresh. I had the eggplant risotto - perfectly grilled eggplant over creamy risotto. My friends had halibut, fajitas, and Thai noodles. They all raved about their choices. Service was attentive. I love the location next to Golden Braid Books--great food and then shopping!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 31, 2016

We should have known when we walked in at 7:00 pm and there were only a few tables occupied, but we sat down anyway. The food was uninspired, the service indifferent, and we spent most of our time swatting away flying insects. We ate and left as quickly as we could.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 28, 2016

One of my favorite "haunts". I am at Oasis WAY too much for brunch and dessert! Love this place!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I have loved this place for 20 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 14, 2016

I love the Oasis. Every time I go to SLC I make it a point of dining there with some family members or friends. They always have something new to try. This time it was milk oolong tea. Yum. If this restaurant offered franchising I would buy one and set it up in my town in California.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.