About Oasis Cafe - Salt Lake City

The Oasis Cafe specializes in good food that is good for you. We use local fresh produce, sustainable meats and seafood. We at Oasis Cafe offer both indoor and outdoor dining. We have an amazing courtyard that is full of beautiful flowers and vibrant plants surrounding a weeping fountain.

151 South 500 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84102
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 8:00am - 2:30pm
Lunch: Daily: 8:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 100 and 200 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 322-0404

Website:
http://oasiscafeslc.com/

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is located on the east side of our building.

Executive Chef:
Billy Sotelo

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Oasis Cafe - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (25)
Healthy (24)
Casual (23)
See All
Great for Lunch (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Afternoon Coffee (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Organic (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Vegan (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Fun (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Special Occasion (9)
Cozy (9)
Business Meals (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Authentic (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Romantic (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Kid-friendly (4)
Family Style (4)
Seasonal (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
People Watching (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Fireplace (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Historic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
371 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 6 days ago

Oasis remains one of our favorite places!! They've never disappointed and the food is excellent. My breakfast favorite is still the burrito-delicious. And the coffee is always great too.

Tags: Organic, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Had a great brunch! Waiter was so nice to turn on the fireplace!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I enjoyed my experience at Ossis except that during my at least an hour and a half brunch I never had my coffee refilled. My friends never had a refill on their soft drinks, and I think our water was refilled once. I asked for some avacado to go with my omelette, but was half way through my omelette before it came. The food is good and I love the location. I like that they take reservations. So aside from the service I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The menu selection is good, offering gluten free, and vegetarian dishes. Prices are reasonable.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our service was great, which made up for the average food. I ordered huevos ranchers I am vegetarian and my meal came with meat. The server had them remake it but when it came out, the eggs were wrong. I ate most of it anyway because my 1 yr old was with us and we couldn't wait any longer. The Chai was pretty good too.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Afternoon Coffee, Gluten Free Options, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Loved the atmosphere of Oasis. Very cute, bright, and open. Great food and service! Will be returning.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We enjoyed the food and wine. This is an easy place to carry on a conversation. Service was prompt and friendly. Good gluten free options.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Four of us come to the Oasis before each SLAC performance. It's always welcoming and efficient. Lindsey is a keeper! The three-course dinner special is a bargain.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Had an excellent experience at the Oasis Cafe! The food and the service was fantastic! It was my first time visiting but will not be my last.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Good experience getting to try items that we probably would not have ordered all together at one time. Food looked good and tasted good. Cold food was cold and hot food was hot. A positive experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went for Valentine's Day. Have never been before and was extremely happy with the decision. The menu was special for Valentine's Day but the selections were unique and delicious. My husband chose tenderloins & roasted veggies which were cooked perfectly and my halibut was the best I have ever eaten. Oasis is now on our list of places to revisit and to share with friends and family. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Lisa, our server was great. Made our evening fun. Did not rush us and gave us good suggestions on the menu. Food was delicious. We have been there many times and always good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 13, 2017

First Visit at this restaurant and was pleasantly surprised.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Family Style, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The menu is vegan friendly and I absolutely love the patio when the weather is appropriate.
Dinner is a bit pricey for me, but brunch and lunch are reasonable.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Organic, Cozy, Fun, Historic, Vegan, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I got tea, and a gyro. I was different and worth the experience. I would go again for sure and tell others to go.
The waitress was attentive, and very good at her position.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great! Very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Good service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The fish was perfect, with a caramelized bottom. The honey lavender polenta cake that came with the salmon was delicious, as was the lavender Italian soda (though it came with a lot of cream, so I asked for half the cream and half the ice on the second one). The server did a terrific job. They also give a one item 20% discount coupon to the bookstore next door (and in turn they give a coupon to the restaurant).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It's refreshingly away from the bustle of the central district (but within walking distance if you're staying near the center). It doesn't look like too much on the outside, or even after you enter - it looks like a laid-back Oregon coffee shop - not too cozy but clean and modern. The food is outstanding - local, bursting with flavor, generous, fun, and eclectic. We had great service and treated ourselves to a second drink and dessert. Very pleased and it will be in our regular restaurant rotation when in SLC.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fun, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Oasis Cafe is one of our favorite places to eat. We had a $10 off coupon as we bought something at the Golden Braid store which is associated with the restaurant. Our server was prompt with our drinks and bread with olive oil & vinegar. I ordered a glass of wine and my husband ordered a beer. The wine list is limited but I don't think that is their big thing. I then ordered the Mediterannean salad with salmon which was delish! My huz ordered a verde dish that he loved. The only downside was we gave the server the coupon when we sat down but she didnt tell us till she brought the bill that we couldnt use it as my salad wasnt an entree. Would have been nice to know as we ordered! Otherwise, a good evening. If you go to the Oasis Cafe, stop into the Golden Braid. So many fun items there and we did a psychic reading.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The scrambled eggs were over cooked and my breakfast sandwich only had 1 piece of bacon but everything else was good and our waitress was very attentive.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our server was amazing, the food was good and no corking fee! Food a bit over priced for NYE but it was really nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Oasis remains a favorite of ours for a few years now!Quality, well sourced food and great service. We will continue to come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

So far, best breakfast potatoes anywhere. They use red - they're seasoned well and cooked perfectly. I got the GF grilled cheese & tomato soup. GF bread was good but it had too much char on it but the soup was absolutely delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Oasis is great! They have several vegan options for dishes that other restaurants wouldn't make vegan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Portions too small. No need to skimp on brown rice and vegetables, which are not expensive to serve. A vegan gets hungry like everyone else!
Ambience not what it should be. Draughty. Too dark at table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Always a great experience. Marty took great care of us, feel like we're with family there- oh yeah, the food's great, home...

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We invited some young friends to join us for dinner before a concert. We are always pleased with the Oasis.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Perfect spot for good food and quiet enough to catch up with a friend. I hope to be back.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Wonderful food options. There was something for everyone in our party. We had vegan and gluten free needs and didn't have a problem finding a lot of food options on the menu. One person had a request to change salad for soup, which was not honored. She was very disappointed. When the wait staff realized, there was no attempt to correct the problem. He just told her that someone else could eat her salad. The place is very clean, very urban!! It's a little difficult to get to for a member of our party who recently had knee replacement. I'm sure there may have been an elevator somewhere, but it was not evident.
But, overall I would recommend this place for lunch or gathering!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 28, 2016

I have never had a bad Meal or experience at Cafe Oasis- I would have no problem recommending this restaurant to anyone!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Oasis is a regular haunt for us and usually we are happy. This time was a little frustrating as despite making a reservation, we ended up with almost a half hour wait, and that despite some heavy hassling from my wife. They seemed to have a lot of junior people on the staff, especially the checkin desk, and were not managing the flow well.
I also had my regular brunch favorite--the waffle, but it has shrunk from "Belgian" to "multigrain" and while it might be healthier, it is also scrawny and thin in appearance and taste. For that, the "German buttlemilkw pancake" is a monster, a cake really. It has nothing to do with Germany (according to both me and my German wife) but it packs a pile of calories and was reasonably good.
Overall, Oasis has to step up the game on the sweet dishes. Savory brunch food is excellent but some of like our sweets for breakfast/brunch and you are letting us down.
Don't get me started on the truly awful hot chocolate...

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food, excellent service. Very willing to substitute items on the menu.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Organic, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Fun atmosphere. Good choices on the menu. Great service.

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Just ate here for the first time and loved it - excellent food at a great price in a cool environment. We had an omelet and french toast, both great, but the real standout was the breakfast potatoes. All around a great restaurant experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Fun, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The food couldn't have been more scrumptious and the service couldn't have been friendlier or more attentive. Lovely way to spend Thanksgiving morning.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The service and food were great. The food selection was very open. Only negative would be that our hot chocolate arrived warm. Eggs benedict was very good, eggs cooked perfect. Side bacon was extra crispy as ordered. Oasis breakfast: scrambled eggs were fluffy. Ranchos was filling. Muffins and Cinnamon roll arrived at the table warm and moist.

Our service are friendly and gave suggestions. She was respectful and attentive, which is a hard balance with all of the tables her had in her section on Thanksgiving day.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Family Style, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Fun place to met friends, we enjoyed the psychic fair then had a great dinner!

Tags: Tapas, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Quick Bite, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My husband and I went to Oasis for the first time this weekend and the only thing we were upset about was having not discovered this place sooner!! The food was AMAZING, everything was fresh and exploded with flavor! I would consider this a healthy place to eat out if you are trying to be healthy, if not then its still a great place for you. Our waitress had worked there for 28 years, she was lovely! Very kind and knowledgeable. We will be back, can't wait to try the freshly made croissants our waitress told us about!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Wonderful food and great artwork which one you can purchase 👍

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.