About Oasis Cafe - Salt Lake City

151 South 500 East
Salt Lake City, UT 84102
View Larger Map

The Oasis Cafe specializes in good food that is good for you. We use local fresh produce, sustainable meats and seafood. We at Oasis Cafe offer both indoor and outdoor dining. We have an amazing courtyard that is full of beautiful flowers and vibrant plants surrounding a weeping fountain.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Daily: 8:00am - 2:30pm
Lunch: Daily: 8:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Between 100 and 200 South

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(801) 322-0404

Website:
http://oasiscafeslc.com/

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is located on the east side of our building.

Executive Chef:
Billy Sotelo

Additional:
Beer, Cafe, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Oasis Cafe - Salt Lake City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Utah
Neighborhood Gem
Utah
Best Value
Salt Lake City
2 More
Great for Lunch
Salt Lake City
Neighborhood Gem
Salt Lake City
Best Restaurants in Salt Lake City ›

neighborhood gem (43)
great for brunch (39)
great for lunch (39)
See All
great for outdoor dining (30)
fit for foodies (28)
special occasion (18)
good for groups (16)
kid-friendly (9)
hot spot (8)
romantic (5)
late-night find (4)
notable wine list (4)
scenic view (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
274 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Very consistent

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Very consistent

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice Place

Dined on May 15, 2016

Nice place, had some sorting on reservations. They said it didn't show up on their system until just before we arrived. But only took a few minutes wait on our table.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place so much! It's been our ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Love this place so much! It's been our go to place to eat since 2007. It's fun, great food, lovely ambience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Veg friendly

Dined on May 9, 2016

Great vegan and vegetarian options, but also great seafood. Perfect for the "modern family"

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day 2016

Dined on May 8, 2016

We all enjoyed the special buffet, really great food for us which combined us Vegans and special diet going on for 4 of us, age 75 to 29. It was noisy however yet table was small and made us close together which helped.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Happy Mother's Day

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

My husband & I arrived on time in a rainstorm. There was a large crowd in the restaurant because of the storm. I stated we had a reservation through Open Table & gave our names but the maitre 'd appeared too busy to register the name or reservation. We were seated by the maitre'd's station & had very good service from Marty. The MD's buffet brunch was vey good & many items were being refreshed when needed. All in all, we will return to this neighborhood gem!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Casual and delicious

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Oasis never fails to provide delicious fritatas, a gorgeous patio for nice days, and stellar gluten free options! Service is a bit hit or miss when it's super busy, but mostly great - highly recommended!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

An old favorite that never disappoints.

Dined on April 17, 2016

This has always been a great place for Sunday brunch or lunch. It is a nice way to spend a relaxing time with friends or family. The patio is wonderful in the spring, summer and early fall. This last trip to oasis was for a large party (nine people) and they easily accommodated us with our open table reservation. Our server Gina was fantastic and bent over backwards to make it a special experience. The food was great as usual. The eggs Benedict is a favorite! To top it off I went home with the most fragrant fresh roasted coffee beans. If you haven't tried oasis or haven't been in a while....time to go.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great for any meal

Dined on April 17, 2016

I had eaten lunch at the Oasis before several times, but never dinner. Took a chance on dinner this time and it was great.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Server was just plain very good at her job/

Dined on April 2, 2016

Food and wine list was very good, my guest was very impressed- first time. Our server, I cannot remember her name. She said she has been there for 8 years. Very professional, friendly and good server. Thanks

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place

Dined on March 26, 2016

Been here many times. Really awesome food and great for vegetarians/ Vegans As well as carnivores! Find your inner hippie at the golden braid connected to Oasis

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for brunch

Dined on March 26, 2016

Great spot for brunch. Food was high quality and so delicious. We tried the frittata of the day and the GF huevos rancheros. Both dishes were delicious! Our server was also a gem. He was attentive, but not overly so, and on top of refilling my coffee cup! The noise level was moderate. Loud enough so other tables couldn't hear your conversation, but not too loud you couldn't hear yourself think. There was a lovely patio that would be great to dine on when the weather warms.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Neighborhood Gem

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

The food at Oasis Cafe is consistent and always tasty. I am so appreciative of the vegetarian options on the menu. Everyone receives a beautiful, delicious meal, regardless of diet preferences/needs. The service is professional, speedy and friendly. Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

No vegetables and the eggplant dinner plate. WHY?

Dined on March 25, 2016

My friends and I had a great evening at your restaurant. We stayed 'til closing. Really like the ambiance, but a little noisy with chatter. Dinners looked great although mine (Eggplant) was disappointing. The plate looked rather sparse. A few veggies would have been nice.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always love going to the Oasis Cafe! ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

I always love going to the Oasis Cafe! When I have out of town company, this is a regular "go to" spot for brunch. They also have a wonderful menu for gluten free eaters and their variety of mimosas are amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

First visit - fantastic food

Dined on March 17, 2016

We were wonderfully surprised on our first visit - we went for lunch on St. Patty's Day - and although busy, the service was still good, and the food was absolutely perfect. Very impressed with the quality of the food preparation - I ordered a breakfast item (omelet) and my husband ordered a lunch item - sandwich - and both were equally fantastic. It is rare I find a restaurant that prepares Omelets perfectly....but this one did! Look forward to going back!

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

I ordered the oasis scramble. I loved ho ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

I ordered the oasis scramble. I loved how potatoes were substituted for a croissant. My kind of dining! The food was absolutely delicious... And let's not forget about the drip coffee! High quality tasting coffee with frequent refills from our waiter. I love it here!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oasis

Dined on March 5, 2016

Delicious chicken! Brunch is good too! The place is super quiet, I'm sure my aunt & I were the loudest people they had all day.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. All around a good experience ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Great food. All around a good experience.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Before Concert

Dined on February 27, 2016

Great choice for a before-concert or sporting-event meal. Fast and friendly service, and a wide variety of meal choices, entrees, and wines. Halibut was nicely done. Salad greens were crispy. I would not advise ordering the appetizer crab cakes, however. They had too much bread and not enough crab. With the book store right next door, you can meander through it if you need to kill time before your concert or event. Parking on the east side of the restaurant was especially convenient. We will return.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Halibut to die for

Dined on February 19, 2016

The halibut came with a mustard sauce that was just the right compliment, paired with a lovely grapefruity-wine. The perfect meal! Everyone in the group got something different and everyone was equally pleased with the food, the presentation and the friendly service. Fabulous!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our 'go-to' spot before SLAC performances

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

Our first visit to the Oasis was for the Portobello mushroom sandwich, served for lunch. We still do that occasionally but dinner before SLAC has now become routine for four of us and we plan to continue that 'forever'. The evening menu is much more robust and 'inclusive' than ten years ago. Now you can get actual meat!! Okay, so that's a slight exaggeration AND I enjoy the seafood and salads as well. In any event I LOVE the three course daily special for $25: there's almost always something in this offering that appeals to me and I get it seventy five percent of the time. The only caveat I have to offer for this restaurant is 'sun' position during dining. Be sure you scope out where the sun 'will be' and not just where it is when you sit down. Oh, and Lindsey & Michaelann are keepers!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fast service, good food.

Dined on February 14, 2016

I took my wife here for lunch on Valentine's Day, and the service was fast. I have eaten here many times, and the food is always good. There was at least 30 people waiting without reservations when I walked in the door at 11:58. I had a reservation for noon and was seated at 12:01. It is always good to have a reservation as they are typically busy.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Valentine's Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

Valentine's Day menu ended up costing us more than we were hoping to spend and much more than we would have spent if we had gone on any other day with a regular menu. Didn't love the dessert options. Otherwise it was nice.

food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Great bisque, okay appetizers and desert.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food, but it seemed expensive for the quantity. My husband left hungry

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Oasis is an oasis

Dined on February 7, 2016

Excellent food, friendly & competent service. The only downside is the noise level. It's hard to keep up with conversation unless you're next to the speaker. But the food & the attached bookstore make up for the noise.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Busy even during a snow storm! This plac ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

Busy even during a snow storm! This place is great. We had the grilled cheese and tomato fennel soup. It was so delicious.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

CONSISTANTLY GOOD

Dined on January 1, 2016

Always a great spot to take our out of town visitors and for our Holiday meals. Their diverse menu satisfies our vegan and vegetarian friends as well. The food was presented well. The staff was very concerned that our needs were met during the entire event. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great breakfast

Dined on December 26, 2015

I had the eggs Benedict and it was cooked exactly how I ordered it. The Canadian bacon was tasty as well. The only negative thought I had was that the hollandaise sauce was thin and the flavor was somewhat bland. The other two dining with me enjoyed their meal just fine. We will come again for sure.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

So good it is becoming a habit. It seem ...

vip
Dined on December 24, 2015

So good it is becoming a habit. It seems that the servers enjoy patrons. Combining that with great food makes nice memories!

food4
ambience5
service5

Great food!

Dined on December 6, 2015

The food was delicious, the only complaint I have was that the chile verde was REALLY salty.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently Great

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

Oasis is possibly one of the most consistent great restaurants In Salt Lake. This has been going on for over 20 years.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5

PrettyGoodFood

Dined on November 22, 2015

Our waiter was very good in answering questions about how food was prepared and in bringing our food in a timely fashion. The four of us agreed that the food was pretty good, but not as good as a recent lunch there. None of us suggested that the food was better than 3 stars out of 5. None was interested in returning for another dinner in the near future.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Oasis has always been lovely. Food is s ...

vip
Dined on November 14, 2015

Oasis has always been lovely. Food is splendid and atmosphere is perfect for a romantic dinner or out with friends

food5
ambience4
service5

Always reliable.....

vip
Dined on October 30, 2015

We do 'The Oasis' before SLAC performances and it never disappoints. Good food, excellent service, and a charming ambiance. MichaelAnn is an excellent server. The 'special' three-course dinner, priced at $25, is a a great value and offers good variety.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance and food

Dined on October 25, 2015

This place is great for brunch, lunch, and dinner. Great coffee too. The outdoor patio is charming and cozy, and it's great they have heat lamps.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service2

Quality has slipped markedly

Dined on October 17, 2015

Very disappointed. Have been coming here 4 - 5 times /year for a couple years. Food and service were always spot-on at any time of day or evening. This visit turned us off. 6 of 9 entrees were simply unacceptable at this price( medium rare steak that was well done instead, pasta that was cooked until gooey, soup that was just bland). My wife and I were in shock...sorry to see Oasis take such a dramatic turn for the worse. Would not recommend anymore.

food5
ambience5
service4

Enjoyable Birthday Dinner

Dined on October 13, 2015

We went to Oasis for my birthday dinner (just my husband, son, and I) and it was so enjoyable! It was a warm night and the patio was filled. We had a lot of space to ourselves indoors (it was a weeknight) and it felt just right. The food was delicious and we enjoyed the whole experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service2

Very Diasappinting

Dined on October 11, 2015

We ordered iced tea but couldn't drink it as it had a nasty taste and it was recalled.I know it was very busy but the service was very slow and poorly planned.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service3

Good meeting place. Healthier food. De ...

Dined on September 29, 2015

Good meeting place. Healthier food. Definitely a different experience for a long time neighborhood OASIS.

Tags: neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.