About Oak Steakhouse

17 Broad Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Oak Steakhouse presents an exquisite selection of succulent signature cuts of PRIME Certified Angus Beef such as the 24-Ounce Prime Bone-In Ribeye or Prime NY Strip. Seafood specialties include Local Seasonal Market Catch, Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes, Oysters Rockefeller or Oysters on the Half Shell. House Specialties and Vegetarian options: Housemade Pappardelle (Classic Bolognese or Marinara), Grilled Dutch Valley Veal Porterhouse or CAB Prime Niman Ranch Braised Short Rib. Executive Chef Jeremiah Bacon, a native to Charleston S.C., executes the Farm to Table concept sourcing ingredients from local farmers and fisherman for their menu whenever possible. Specialty Crafted Cocktails, Martinis and an extensive wine selection artfully complement the restaurant's unique historical setting located in the quiet South of Broad neighborhood.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday and Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday-Friday 5:00pm-7:00pm @ Bar Only

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-4220

Website:
http://www.oaksteakhouserestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Jeremiah Bacon

Private Party Facilities:
Private and semi private rooms available.

Private Party Contact:
Rachel Wilkins: 8437224220x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Filet Mignon
Roasted Mushrooms
Seared scallop appetizer
Pickled Shrimp on Lavash
King Crab Legs
Bread
Oysters Rockefeller
Dry Aged Rib Eye
Bacon Macaroni And Cheese
Steak Tartare With Quail Egg
Jumbo shrimp cocktail
Deep fried lobster
Trio Of House Made Steak Sauces
Lobster "Mac & Cheese" Orzo Pasta
Sweet And Spicy
24 Oz. Bone In Angus Ribeye
Pan Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras
Caesar Salad
Truffled Pomme Frites
Carpaccio Of Beef
Chef's Dessert Tasting Plate.

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 10:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Oak Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
South Carolina
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
South Carolina
Best Service
Charleston
2 More
Special Occasion
Charleston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Special Occasion (125)
Romantic (87)
Fit for Foodies (64)
See All
Notable Wine List (58)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Good for Groups (32)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Historic (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Scenic View (11)
Business Meals (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Cozy (7)
Authentic (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fun (5)
People Watching (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Healthy (2)
Private Room (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1969 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service and food by far exceeded our ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 2 days ago

The service and food by far exceeded our expectations. Both were hands down amazing. Even with noise level of one big party still overall 10 for perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best steaks in town! Usually like a bak ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

Best steaks in town! Usually like a baked Potato, but the crispy potatoes are even better!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oak is really one of the great restauran ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

Oak is really one of the great restaurants in Charleston. Not only are the steaks great, but They have several other choices from pasta and seafood.

The staff is the best in town. Very professional

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The wait staff is awesome!!! They make u ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 4 days ago

The wait staff is awesome!!! They make us feel special every time we dine with you! The food is delicious and everyone worked with our allergies while preparing the food. This is the third time my friend and I have celebrated our birthdays with you!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Private Room, Healthy, Family Style, Happy Hour, People Watching, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we arrived 10 mins early for our re ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

When we arrived 10 mins early for our reservation, we were told to wait and then three parties were seated before us as outperform reservation time came and went. I feel like the hostess could have been more helpful and friendly. My son has nut allergies and he is a vegetarian and the waiter was very attentive to this fact. I think there could be more choices for people who are vegetarians though. He couldn't eat the bread because there was nuts so that was out too. I think more restaurants need to have more choices for people with anaphylactic food allergies. The waiter was very good and that made all the difference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were frankly disappointed. Ours steak ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We were frankly disappointed. Ours steaks were good, but the side dishes were not stellar. My biggest complaint was that they seated us at a two top table in a corner with no windows, right next to a larger party. There were many other open tables by windows or not directly next to other tables and although some of them filled up in the next hour and half, some never did.

The experience was just very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Loved the atmosphere. The food was sub p ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Loved the atmosphere. The food was sub par compared to most places in Charleston.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

My husband and I went to Oak to celebrat ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My husband and I went to Oak to celebrate our second anniversary and felt like celebrities. The service was excellent, food was amazing and atmosphere was wonderful. I highly recommend Oak to anyone in the Charleston area. Love love love this place!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OVERALL THE EXPERIENCE WAS VERY GOOD. TH ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

OVERALL THE EXPERIENCE WAS VERY GOOD. THE DOWNSIDE WAS THAT THE BATHROOM AND ELEVATOR WERE SUB STANDARD. THE FOOD WAS VERY GOOD AND THE SERVICE VERY GOOD. THIS IS A GOOD PLACE FOR FINE DINING IF YOU WANT AN EXCELLENT STEAK.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great, went during restaurant w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was great, went during restaurant week. Steak was really good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebrated our 49th anniversary in style ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Celebrated our 49th anniversary in style - the entire experience was excellent - food/service/ambiance. Looking forward to our 50th.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From the moment we arrived, the service ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

From the moment we arrived, the service was impeccable, the steaks were wonderful and best of all, the noise level was far better for conversation than other steak houses in Charleston.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time. The food was wonder ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had a great time. The food was wonderful. I don't think I ever had a better steak . Our server, Dave was unbeatable . We will go there again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good food DAvid the server was exce ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Very good food DAvid the server was excellent management very friendly and making sure everything was excellent will be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our food was excellent and our primary w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Our food was excellent and our primary waiter very knowledgeable. I recommend this restaurant for a premium steak and creative ways to acknowledge special events.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have found that Oak is wonderful dinin ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

I have found that Oak is wonderful dining experience with delicious food &ffantastic service!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Limited selection. Loud in s ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great food. Limited selection. Loud in spots. Great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was great the bartender and waiter ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Food was great the bartender and waiter were great. It's a busy place do make a reservation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Oak managed a difficult task during ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The Oak managed a difficult task during restaurant week to make a great experience happen for out of town business guests. Couldn't be more pleased.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Tables to close together. Felt like we w ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Tables to close together. Felt like we were eating dinner w/ everyone. Noisy level very high.

We would have preferred to be in booth downstairs.

Food was very good !!! And waiters were amazing !!!

Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Always a favorite. Never disappoints. Lo ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Always a favorite. Never disappoints. Love Sunday 1/2 price bottles of wine.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We ordered the filet which come with mas ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We ordered the filet which come with mashed potatoes and greens. The mashed potatoes were put on the plate with the greens and filet on top of the mashed potatoes. The potatoes were so salty you could not eat them. I informed the waiter of this and he replied that all the mashed potatoes would be salty he could bring me something else to replace the potatoes. The problem with this was the mashed potatoes was all over the filet and the greens. I have been to oak before with good service and good food but this trip was bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Very nice atmosphere, great food and imp ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very nice atmosphere, great food and impeccable service. The wait staff worked together like a well oiled machine. Great experience and we thoroughly enjoyed the steak. We will go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Oak Steakhouse was great as always. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The Oak Steakhouse was great as always. Great food in a very good atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was great and food was as we ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Our service was great and food was as well. Our group of six went during restaurant week and expected to receive less than normal attention/quality food but at no point was this the case. Boneless rib-eye was phenomenal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service and food! We came to Cha ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Amazing service and food! We came to Charleston to celebrate our 5th anniversary! We were given a table right by the window and an anniversary card! We were able to ask our knowledgable server for recommendations on both the food and wine. We enjoyed a lovely bottle of Coat de Rhone with our ribeyes and fresh crab. AMAZING!!!!!! 5 STARS all around!!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location, excellent service, start ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great location, excellent service, starting with the valet service. Friendly staff, great food, great drinks. We will dine here again.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten at Oak Steakhouse for 6 yrs ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We've eaten at Oak Steakhouse for 6 yrs and never been disappointed. This was our first experience that my steak was prepared incorrectly and the food was just meh. Maybe it was an off night. We were also shocked to see empty tables throughout the restaurant on a Friday night from 7pm-8pm which used to be unheard of. Still one of my faves, but something has definitely changed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Quality food and service. When they cal ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Quality food and service. When they called to confirm reservation they asked if there were any special request. I requested something and they were able to accommodate it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have eaten here before and had great ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We have eaten here before and had great steaks. This time my fillet was rubbery. I should have sent it back. My wife's fillet was fine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

This was one of the best meals I ever ha ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This was one of the best meals I ever had. The filet mignon was excellent! It was a little pricey, but well worth it. I can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best steakhouses in Charlesto ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

One of the best steakhouses in Charleston- best meal we had all Labor Day weekend

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As in the past our dining at the Oak on ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

As in the past our dining at the Oak on Sat. night Sept.2 was another superb experience. The drinks, food and service were all outstanding. We both love a great steak and have dined in many great steakhouses around the country. The Oak remains in our top five favorites.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lobster Mac and cheese was pure heaven! ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Lobster Mac and cheese was pure heaven!

8 oz filet mignon was made to perfection. Best meal I've had ever in a long time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The meal was delicious. Best steak ever ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The meal was delicious. Best steak ever. Service superior. Treated very special for our anniversary. Great selection of drinks. Best chocolate cake ever. It was a little noisy but everywhere is. Very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Historic, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Over-rated especially at this price poin ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Over-rated especially at this price point!

Oak raves about it's dry aged meats and about it's steaks in general. Afterall, it is called 'Oak STEAKHOUSE'. But, no matter the quality of the meat, if it's not cooked properly, it's not worth the price. In our party of 2, two steaks, ordered medium RARE, were delivered to the table medium PLUS. That's a pretty big difference. So, although new steaks were prepared, those whose meals were correct, went ahead and ate while the others waited. Not why we came to a good restaurant. One staff member said the restaurant would comp the two steaks, but we would have preferred that the meal was prepared correctly in the first place.

Also, if there are two different red wines on the table, servers need to be very careful before just filling glasses. We wanted what was in the bottle we were drinking, not a blend of the two.

Not their best night.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We were very pleased with our dining exp ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We were very pleased with our dining experience at Oak Steakhouse. The entire staff was helpful and gracious. The food was superb and we will certainly make plans to return when we visit Charleston again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were seated promptly and efficiently ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We were seated promptly and efficiently at a table for two overlooking the bar which made the noise level quite loud. Our waiter was excellent and tended to our every need. He seemed to, indeed, enjoy his job. The meal was superb and we both enjoyed our choices. Thanks for a lovely evening at Oaks.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service was outstanding! We've ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food and service was outstanding! We've eaten all over Charleston and I think Oak delivers a bang in both service and quality of food without the pretentiousness found at some of the other restaurants downtown. Not cheap, but very happy to get what we paid for.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was an anniversary dinner which th ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This was an anniversary dinner which the restaurant knew. We were seated at a small table thrown in the middle if the upstairs dining room. The most awful table I have sat at in some time. I did the mixed grill. My Mr lamb chops were raw and Brussels sprouts were swimming in sauce. Our appetizer was bland. Really was jot impressed. Of course the staff is impressed with themselves.

I will still probably try the Oak here I Atlanta. Hopefully a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.