About Oak Steakhouse

17 Broad Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Oak Steakhouse presents an exquisite selection of succulent signature cuts of PRIME Certified Angus Beef such as the 24-Ounce Prime Bone-In Ribeye or Prime NY Strip. Seafood specialties include Local Seasonal Market Catch, Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes, Oysters Rockefeller or Oysters on the Half Shell. House Specialties and Vegetarian options: Housemade Pappardelle (Classic Bolognese or Marinara), Grilled Dutch Valley Veal Porterhouse or CAB Prime Niman Ranch Braised Short Rib. Executive Chef Jeremiah Bacon, a native to Charleston S.C., executes the Farm to Table concept sourcing ingredients from local farmers and fisherman for their menu whenever possible. Specialty Crafted Cocktails, Martinis and an extensive wine selection artfully complement the restaurant's unique historical setting located in the quiet South of Broad neighborhood.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday and Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday-Friday 5:00pm-7:00pm @ Bar Only

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-4220

Website:
http://www.oaksteakhouserestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Jeremiah Bacon

Private Party Facilities:
Private and semi private rooms available.

Private Party Contact:
Rachel Wilkins: 8437224220x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Roasted Mushrooms
Filet Mignon
Pickled Shrimp on Lavash
King Crab Legs
Bread
Oysters Rockefeller
Dry Aged Rib Eye
Bacon Macaroni And Cheese
Seared scallop appetizer
Steak Tartare With Quail Egg
Jumbo shrimp cocktail
Deep fried lobster
Trio Of House Made Steak Sauces
Lobster "Mac & Cheese" Orzo Pasta
Sweet And Spicy
24 Oz. Bone In Angus Ribeye
Pan Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras
Caesar Salad
Truffled Pomme Frites
Carpaccio Of Beef
Chef's Dessert Tasting Plate.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 10:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Oak Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
South Carolina
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
South Carolina
Best Food
Charleston
1 More
Special Occasion
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Special Occasion (117)
Romantic (81)
Fit for Foodies (64)
See All
Notable Wine List (54)
Good for Groups (34)
Neighborhood Gem (30)
Hot Spot (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Scenic View (10)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1922 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service, but every other aspect le ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 2 days ago

Great service, but every other aspect left plenty to be desired. Waited 30 minutes past our reservation for table. Food took WAY too long to come out and steaks weren't too tasty...

Hope it was just an off night, we've been a couple other times and it was awesome...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Overall ok, definite sense the staff thi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Overall ok, definite sense the staff thinks the restaurant is great but they cross the line in this assumption opposed to reality. It's just ok...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Service, food, and wine were all great. ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Service, food, and wine were all great. Josh and Chris really made our anniversary dinner great. Will definitely return.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak house that was not. Prime NY Stri ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Steak house that was not. Prime NY Strip was very tough and well bellow grade for price. Sides are good but small. All in all go to Ruth Chris Steak house its a better choice for the high end market.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Great service from start to finish, and ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Great service from start to finish, and a very relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We went with family visiting from out of ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We went with family visiting from out of town. Everyone had a fantastic meal! The staff was very attentive and knowledgeable. Worth every penny!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the best pasta primavera ever! All ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I had the best pasta primavera ever! All the ingredience were so fresh and so tasty. If I lived in Charleston I would eat there once a week. My husband had a bone in rib eye that he raved about. We ate on the third floor and it was much quieter than the second floor dinning or the first floor where the bar was. The service was great and the owner pleasant. My favorite dinner on our trip was here. Kudos to the chef.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous locale, service and food-most m ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Fabulous locale, service and food-most memorable for our family visiting from out of town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Most was good. Only one issue, my steak ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Most was good. Only one issue, my steak was way over cooked. I let the person that delivered it know and I let the person that cleared my table know and there seemed to be no concern.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service and food. The atmos ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Outstanding service and food. The atmosphere is good - while there are no views to the outside, the noise level is good and thus, you can actually engage in a conversation with your partner. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've had better experiences at Oak. It w ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I've had better experiences at Oak. It was a bit disappointing. Especially since I was there to celebrate with my intern team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

The Oak always exceeds our expectations ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The Oak always exceeds our expectations for amazing food and impeccable service!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Some of the most wonderful steaks I have ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Some of the most wonderful steaks I have ever had. Portions were large. Food cooked to perfection. One drawback was the very loud atmosphere. Could not converse with spouse sitting across the table. Still enjoyed the evening. Will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Outstanding service and food in a histor ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Outstanding service and food in a historic and unique atmosphere. Very romantic and truly relaxing and enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We knew the prices are high but the qual ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We knew the prices are high but the quality of the steaks were going to be worth it as they had been a year ago when we were there last. Not the case this time. My friend asked for her steak Pittsburgh medium- came out black and blue. Food was delivered to the wrong people (only a table of 4). My husband asked for his NY strip medium rare- came out medium well. I had to saw at my rib eye which was under-seared and lacked flavor. If you are going to ask top dollar for steak you had better deliver, and Oak Steak House did not. After all the send-backs they should've comped dessert at least. Will not recommend will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Dave is a great waiter. We had a great e ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Dave is a great waiter. We had a great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was absolutely wonderful as was ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was absolutely wonderful as was the service. Will go back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

excellent food. Nice to spend $150. and ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

excellent food. Nice to spend $150. and get $150. in quality food and service.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Oak. The service is impeccable ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We love Oak. The service is impeccable and the room upstairs with the view is just soooo South Carolina. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was excellent. I ha ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food and service was excellent. I have been to many steakhouses over the years but this was one of the best. Whipped potatoes were a little salty but overall I would recommend to anyone looking for a great steak in Charleston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food and service were wonderful but ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food and service were wonderful but the noise level made it difficult to talk.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Every time I come to Oak Steakhouse, I l ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Every time I come to Oak Steakhouse, I leave feeling incredibly satisfied; not only with the amazing food, but also with the outstanding service and lovely ambiance. Our waiter was so kind and knowledgeable. Our food was absolutely delicious. One of my favorite Charleston restaurants! Definitely the best place to get a steak on the Peninsula!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant! Great food, service

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great restaurant! Great food, service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My Wife & I love Oak and how easy it is ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

My Wife & I love Oak and how easy it is to get a table through open table

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent: steaks, lobster, oys ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Food was excellent: steaks, lobster, oysters, king crab, sides. Dave, our waiter, was excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing! We had filet with ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was amazing! We had filet with crab on top along with brussel sprouts. The service was very slow and could have been much better. We waited forever for our checks so my husband finally went to go find the waiter and he was hanging talking with a friend. We just handed him our card to cover the table and skipped dessert because we thought it would take too long.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

We LOVED our date night at Oak. The meal ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We LOVED our date night at Oak. The meals were very simple, leaving room to really enjoy what Oak does well- steak. I enjoyed a filet mignon and my husband a ribeye. Both were seasoned and cooked precisely to temperature. We shared crispy red potatoes and smokey mac & cheese. Both were delightful, and not over-done. We shared a chocolate cake paired with a scoop of coconut ice cream. It reminded me of the german chocolate cakes my grandmother made when I was a child. The entire experience was stellar and we look forward to our next opportunity to visit.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. The music w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent food and service. The music wasn't exactly my favorite. They could find something a little more updated than songs from the 60s. Fantastic dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

My boyfriend and I had the shared specia ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

My boyfriend and I had the shared special of Oysters Rockefeller, chopped salad and 40 ounce porterhouse. All were outstanding and the steak which was ordered medium was cooked perfectly. We also shared a side of bacon Mac and Cheese. It was good but very rich. The valet parking was an added bonus. Service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Dined at Oak the other night. Had the 5 ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Dined at Oak the other night. Had the 5 oz filet which was more than enough for me and at $25.00 that included truffle fries I thought that it was a very good deal. Surprised how casual it was (expecting a little more in atmosphere) but given the overly casual appearance of a lot of its patrons that night guess it must get a lot of tourists. Would have preferred more refinement. However, we would come back again. Service was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Amuststopwhenvisiting Charleston. Foodw ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Amuststopwhenvisiting Charleston. Foodwasandwasimpeccable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited Oak Steakhouse and I will def ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We visited Oak Steakhouse and I will definitely be returning and recommend this place to friends. An upscale gem in the historic part of downtown Charleston. A 7-10min walk from our Inn. I made reservations to celebrate a birthday. It was noisy on the first floor where the bar was. We were lucky enough to be seated on the third floor, at a quiet, quant, table separated from the larger groups. The atmosphere was very romantic! The staff were very pleasant and interactive. The food was hands down amazing. We had a selection of meats for an appetizer, with amazing mixed drinks, LOVED the thyme lemonade! We then had the mixed grill and the New York strip. All the beats were tender enough to almost cut with just wm the fork and cooked perfectly. The smoked bacon Mac n cheese and asparagus were great sides to share. We had a chocolate cake, and I can't remember the name of it, but we didn't leave a crumb! That came with a candle and a happy birthday message on the plate, which was very thoughtful and appreciated. The double espresso was a pleasant ending to our evening as well. We definetly got what we payed for and I was happy with our overall experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I went to Oak for his b ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

My boyfriend and I went to Oak for his birthday. They gave us a great seat overlooking the balcony so we got to people watch a little bit. My ONLY complaint about Oak this time around was that it was fairly noisy on the second floor where we were sat. Every other time I've eaten at Oak it's been on the 3rd floor so maybe this was the reason. When we first sat down there was a family with a little girl beside us in a booster seat. She was very well behaved but it took away from our special occasion/romantic evening. Not really oaks fault but somewhat frustrating.

DISREGARDIG those small issues..Oak continues to be my absolutely favorite restaurant in Charleston. If you haven't been here you're missing out. Lobster, steak, everything. Halls chophouse doesn't even come close to how amazing Oak is. I love you Oak!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were referred to Oak steakhouse away ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We were referred to Oak steakhouse away from another place for a more intimate place to dine. We eat early so the noise level was low and the restaurant was not crowded. The food was very good and as far as the value goes, we are from Washington DC. A nice place costs us this regularly, so no sticker shock here. The steaks were cooked as ordered and the sides, brussel sprouts and frites, were very good. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing!! Loved everything

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Amazing!! Loved everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It really wasn't that great. Had reserva ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

It really wasn't that great. Had reservations but delayed 10" had to wait extra 30" at bar. I called ahead to tell them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was delicious and well prepared ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was delicious and well prepared. Service was excellent and attentive to small details. Highly recommend Oak Steakhouse

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak I have ever had, waiter was a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Best steak I have ever had, waiter was awesome, all around fantastic experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very quiet place to eat. We were sat on ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very quiet place to eat. We were sat on the third floor, and the room itself was fantastic. The atmosphere was phenomenal, and out waiter was there for any needs. The steaks were cooked to exactly how we wanted them, and the sides were perfect. We had the asparagus, and another side of mushrooms. For dessert my date had a limoncello, while I decided I had room for the key lime pie.

Overall a perfect dining experience for a special occasion as it isn't cheap. You do get what you pay for though, and I actually had no issue with the price with how perfect everything was. The valet parking out front made it perfect for downtown as well, so I didn't have to look for a place to park.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly warm service and great steaks. ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Friendly warm service and great steaks. Top notch all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.