About Oak Steakhouse

17 Broad Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Oak Steakhouse presents an exquisite selection of succulent signature cuts of PRIME Certified Angus Beef such as the 24-Ounce Prime Bone-In Ribeye or Prime NY Strip. Seafood specialties include Local Seasonal Market Catch, Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes, Oysters Rockefeller or Oysters on the Half Shell. House Specialties and Vegetarian options: Housemade Pappardelle (Classic Bolognese or Marinara), Grilled Dutch Valley Veal Porterhouse or CAB Prime Niman Ranch Braised Short Rib. Executive Chef Jeremiah Bacon, a native to Charleston S.C., executes the Farm to Table concept sourcing ingredients from local farmers and fisherman for their menu whenever possible. Specialty Crafted Cocktails, Martinis and an extensive wine selection artfully complement the restaurant's unique historical setting located in the quiet South of Broad neighborhood.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday and Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday-Friday 5:00pm-7:00pm @ Bar Only

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-4220

Website:
http://www.oaksteakhouserestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Jeremiah Bacon

Private Party Facilities:
Private and semi private rooms available.

Private Party Contact:
Rachel Wilkins: 8437224220x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Filet Mignon
Roasted Mushrooms
Pickled Shrimp on Lavash
Bread
Dry Aged Rib Eye
Bacon Macaroni And Cheese
Oysters Rockefeller
King Crab Legs
Seared scallop appetizer
Steak Tartare With Quail Egg
Jumbo shrimp cocktail
Deep fried lobster
24 Oz. Bone In Angus Ribeye
Sweet And Spicy
Pan Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras
Trio Of House Made Steak Sauces
Lobster "Mac & Cheese" Orzo Pasta
Caesar Salad
Truffled Pomme Frites
Carpaccio Of Beef
Chef's Dessert Tasting Plate.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 10:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Oak Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
South Carolina
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
South Carolina
Best Service
Charleston
1 More
Notable Wine List
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

special occasion (126)
romantic (85)
fit for foodies (74)
See All
notable wine list (64)
good for groups (43)
neighborhood gem (43)
hot spot (23)
vibrant bar scene (21)
scenic view (11)
late-night find (8)
great for brunch (5)
great for lunch (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1851 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oak has been a mainstay in our list of f ...

Dined 3 days ago

Oak has been a mainstay in our list of favorite restaurants in Charleston. Whenever we make the trip down, we always stop by for steak and the lobster mac and cheese. After having our rehearsal dinner there in 2011, it seemed only fitting that we celebrate our 5th anniversary there as well. Consistently delicious with impeccable service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We visited for our 16th wedding annivers ...

Dined 4 days ago

We visited for our 16th wedding anniversary. Our server was knowledgable, able to recommend wines based on our tastes and the wines were excellent. He answered any menu questions we had as well. The food was delicious, especially our S'mores cheesecake!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious. Wonderful service! ...

Dined 7 days ago

Food was delicious. Wonderful service! The waiter was friendly and very knowable of items.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, excellent service. Ribey ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service. Ribeye and Brussel Sprouts are world class.

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Torn between which one to try Halls or O ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Torn between which one to try Halls or Oak. Was so looking forward to a Great steak- steak was fine-nothing memorable- mushrooms were too salty for me to eat. Salad was very good. Wish we had picked the other.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and service! Our third ti ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

Very good food and service! Our third time there, and we'll certainly go back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This was our first visit. It was our an ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our first visit. It was our anniversary and we were delighted that on Sunday's, the wine is 50% off for bottles under $80. The Pinot Noir was wonderful as were our filets....cooked perfectly. Our server was polite, knowledgeable and attentive. Wonderful experience.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Father's Day celebration. We were quite ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Father's Day celebration. We were quite pleased with our service and dinner. I had the fish of the day and my husband had the steak. Both dishes were great (his steak was awesome). We will definitely return for steaks in the future. Top steak downtown in our opinion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It was good!

Dined on June 19, 2016

It was good!

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

service was a little slow this trip, but ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

service was a little slow this trip, but food was as good as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed our evening! It was my girlfrien ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Enjoyed our evening! It was my girlfriends first experience there. We had a great time! Service was impeccable!

Tags: romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Downstairs near bar ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Food was excellent. Downstairs near bar was a little loud. Desk very happy to move us upstairs. Perfect setting. Mike our waiter was first class. Very knowledgeable and helpful. He steered us through menu and wine list like a pro. All of his recommendations were spot on. Certainly will go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Chicken great. Veggie plate disgusting ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Chicken great. Veggie plate disgusting .

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We are always pleased at Oak Steakhouse. ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

We are always pleased at Oak Steakhouse. The service is prompt and knowledgeable, and the food is of high quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Dinner started off a little rocky. We we ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Dinner started off a little rocky. We were greeted and had water poured immediately, but after that, it took a few minutes before our server got over to take our drink order. I understand they were teaming the section and we looked like a young couple in a crowd of business men so we might have been put on the back burner. We both used to work at a high end steakhouse so we weren't too upset as we have most likely done the same. Other than that our dining experience was outstanding. Food came out quickly, steak was cooked perfectly and our server seemed to loosen up a bit as dinner went on, which we loved. Obviously the steaks were delicious, the brussels sprouts and oysters rockefeller were amazing as well, but the sticky toffee pudding was the perfect way to end our meal . Thanks for an awesome night.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect experience! We got a special our ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Perfect experience! We got a special our waiter Oliver told us about: $150 for oysters rockefeller, 2 specialty salads, a 32 oz. succulent porterhouse steak, and lobster mac n cheese. He threw a chocolate cheesecake to go because we were absolutely stuffed! Best steak I've ever had on top of Halls and Ruth's Chris. Definitely coming back and recommending to everyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience. Can't wait to go a ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Wonderful experience. Can't wait to go again! My husband's strip steak was cooked perfectly. I ordered the very affordable 5 oz. filet with pomme frites. Beef was delicious and tender. And the fancy French fries were great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

great food outstanding service

Dined on June 10, 2016

The steak I had was perfectly prepared. My husband had a chicken dish that was equally good. The waiter gave great service. The table where we sat was above the first floor at a balcony so it was noisy.

food4
ambience4
service4

Definitely excellent food. Excellent ser ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Definitely excellent food. Excellent service. If I win the lotto, I will go there once a week.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Oak

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

One of our favorites. Great food, service, management keeps an eye on everything.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect pre Spoleto

Dined on June 4, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner prior to a Spoleto event at the Dock Street Theatre. Every bite was delicious!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Oak, not our first second third ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

We love Oak, not our first second third or four meal there & will not be our last👍👍👍

food4
ambience5
service5

Great feel to the place, wonderful servi ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Great feel to the place, wonderful service. I loved my steak, but I think Charleston has more exciting and unique options for sure. But oak steakhouse is very good at what they do.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

kitchen

Dined on May 30, 2016

it took much too long to get our meal. We sat at 8:30 and didn't eat until after 10:00. There were a few large parties, I understand waiting but we waited too long

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2

Nice ambience and great steaks. The sala ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Nice ambience and great steaks. The salads were marginal, The server was out to lunch, the overall experience was very slow. The $80 bottle of wine was marginal. Many other great places in Charleston. Would not go back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of Charleston's Best

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

We've lived in downtown Charleston for over five years and consider Oak Steakhouse to be consistently one of the best restaurants in town. They like the locals as much as tourists (not a common thing in Charleston), but treat everyone well. Food is always excellent (the ONLY good Oysters Rockefeller in town) and consistently prepared on the mark. Seafood is prepared as well as meat. Service is always efficient, but friendly and gracious. All around, it is a 10! A very classy dining experience, without being stuffy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great overall but...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Loved the restaurant, the food was amazing, the waitstaff courteous but had to wait for forty minutes past our reservation time to be seated and had walk-ins seated before us. Plan on a wait even in you have reservations.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Visit success

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

From the moment we entered the restaurant we were greeted, and treated very well. We started with a drink at the bar, the bartender was great. Then we were seated for dinner. The servers were knowledgeable and attentive. The food was some of the best we had our whole trip to Charleston. I would highly recommend a visit to this Establishment when visiting Charleston. Bonus valet parking, so no need for a cab or the hassle of finding a place to park downtown.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Saturday meal

Dined on May 28, 2016

Everything was superb, the mixed grill entree was fantastic and enough for 2. Key lime desser was excellent, having just come from Key West last week, this was every bit as good ,mpossibly better.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent experience!

Dined on May 28, 2016

We were visiting Charleston from Chicago for the holiday weekend and stumbled upon this gem. The service was superb and the food was excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best steaks I've ever had

Dined on May 27, 2016

My husband and I visited Oak Steakhouse recently and were so pleasantly surprised with high quality of each dish we ordered. The oysters rockafeller were amazing, and the steaks were perfection. Slightly crisp on the outside and so tender inside, both my filet and my husband's dry run strip were some of the best cooked steaks we have ever had, easily competing with and surpassing the other big steakhouses in Charleston. Although pricey, as most steak places of this caliber are, the food was worth it. Our server Gregory was friendly with great timing. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I have eaten at Oak in the past and I th ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

I have eaten at Oak in the past and I thought it was quite good. However, I cannot say that my experience was fit for foodies. My hubby and I were celebrating our 43rd anniversary and thought it would be great to eat at Oak. I was not impressed. I ordered a strip steak which I have eaten for the last 50 years and know quite well what a strip steak looks and tastes like. When I received my dinner, the first thing I said to my hubby was I 've never seen a strip steak that looked like this. Upon cutting and tasting the steak I once again said the same thing to my hubby about the taste. I decided to speak to the waiter and all he said was yes it was a strip steak. Never once did he offer to do anything about it. Instead of causing any problems I just took it home. The waiter did make a face when I asked him to wrap it. For the money that was spent I was totally disappointed in my meal. Having that kind of experience I'm not sure I will ever go back there and as far as recommendations I don't think I would .

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband I went to the Oak Steakhouse ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

My husband I went to the Oak Steakhouse for our 20th wedding anniversary dinner. The service, atmosphere and food were perfect. The staff brought us special desserts in celebration of our anniversary, such a kind and uncommon gesture that we greatly appreciated. The food is plentiful and cooked to perfection. We could not have had a better meal. Our steaks were cooked to perfection, tender and juicy. We will definitely enjoy dining at this establishment in the future. The waiter was attentive and quick to serve in every way. The Oak Steakhouse has spoiled us from eating at other "restaurants" serving steaks!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

46th Anniversary

Dined on May 23, 2016

Enjoyed the food, service and special attention given

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steakhouse I've had the pleasure of ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Best steakhouse I've had the pleasure of dining at!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service is amazing!

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food and service is amazing. The service is one of the best in charleston.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I had a wonderful dinner ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

My daughter and I had a wonderful dinner on Friday, May 20. Our waiter, Oliver, was excellent. The food was so extraordinary! Everyone should order the pomme frites in truffle oil...they were divine. Great place to go for a wonderful meal!.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very expensive but great food! The filet ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Very expensive but great food! The filet was the best I've had and cooked to perfection. The service was beyond good.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Oak is my wife's favorite. We go there e ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Oak is my wife's favorite. We go there every year for her Birthday & it never disappoints. The food & service are both always fantastic!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Dinner at Oak Steakhouse

Dined on May 18, 2016

Was in town on a business trip and found this restaurant link on the web from a restaurant search. Food was really good, but a bit pricey. I should have looked at the prices before recommending considering I work for a non-profit organization. Service was top-notch and would definitely recommend for anyone not concerned with price.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.