About Oak Steakhouse

17 Broad Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Oak Steakhouse presents an exquisite selection of succulent signature cuts of PRIME Certified Angus Beef such as the 24-Ounce Prime Bone-In Ribeye or Prime NY Strip. Seafood specialties include Local Seasonal Market Catch, Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes, Oysters Rockefeller or Oysters on the Half Shell. House Specialties and Vegetarian options: Housemade Pappardelle (Classic Bolognese or Marinara), Grilled Dutch Valley Veal Porterhouse or CAB Prime Niman Ranch Braised Short Rib. Executive Chef Jeremiah Bacon, a native to Charleston S.C., executes the Farm to Table concept sourcing ingredients from local farmers and fisherman for their menu whenever possible. Specialty Crafted Cocktails, Martinis and an extensive wine selection artfully complement the restaurant's unique historical setting located in the quiet South of Broad neighborhood.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday and Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday-Friday 5:00pm-7:00pm @ Bar Only

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-4220

Website:
http://www.oaksteakhouserestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Jeremiah Bacon

Private Party Facilities:
Private and semi private rooms available.

Private Party Contact:
Rachel Wilkins: 8437224220x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Filet Mignon
Roasted Mushrooms
Pickled Shrimp on Lavash
Bread
Dry Aged Rib Eye
Bacon Macaroni And Cheese
Oysters Rockefeller
King Crab Legs
Seared scallop appetizer
Steak Tartare With Quail Egg
Jumbo shrimp cocktail
Deep fried lobster
24 Oz. Bone In Angus Ribeye
Sweet And Spicy
Pan Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras
Trio Of House Made Steak Sauces
Lobster "Mac & Cheese" Orzo Pasta
Caesar Salad
Truffled Pomme Frites
Carpaccio Of Beef
Chef's Dessert Tasting Plate.

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 10:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Oak Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
South Carolina
Best Service
Charleston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

special occasion (128)
romantic (87)
fit for foodies (72)
See All
notable wine list (60)
neighborhood gem (41)
good for groups (40)
hot spot (22)
vibrant bar scene (20)
scenic view (12)
late-night find (7)
great for brunch (4)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1890 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My boyfriend and I went to Oak for his b ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 3 days ago

My boyfriend and I went to Oak for his birthday. They gave us a great seat overlooking the balcony so we got to people watch a little bit. My ONLY complaint about Oak this time around was that it was fairly noisy on the second floor where we were sat. Every other time I've eaten at Oak it's been on the 3rd floor so maybe this was the reason. When we first sat down there was a family with a little girl beside us in a booster seat. She was very well behaved but it took away from our special occasion/romantic evening. Not really oaks fault but somewhat frustrating.

DISREGARDIG those small issues..Oak continues to be my absolutely favorite restaurant in Charleston. If you haven't been here you're missing out. Lobster, steak, everything. Halls chophouse doesn't even come close to how amazing Oak is. I love you Oak!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were referred to Oak steakhouse away ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were referred to Oak steakhouse away from another place for a more intimate place to dine. We eat early so the noise level was low and the restaurant was not crowded. The food was very good and as far as the value goes, we are from Washington DC. A nice place costs us this regularly, so no sticker shock here. The steaks were cooked as ordered and the sides, brussel sprouts and frites, were very good. Highly recommended.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing!! Loved everything

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing!! Loved everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It really wasn't that great. Had reserva ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 7 days ago

It really wasn't that great. Had reservations but delayed 10" had to wait extra 30" at bar. I called ahead to tell them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

The food was delicious and well prepared ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was delicious and well prepared. Service was excellent and attentive to small details. Highly recommend Oak Steakhouse

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak I have ever had, waiter was a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 7 days ago

Best steak I have ever had, waiter was awesome, all around fantastic experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very quiet place to eat. We were sat on ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 7 days ago

Very quiet place to eat. We were sat on the third floor, and the room itself was fantastic. The atmosphere was phenomenal, and out waiter was there for any needs. The steaks were cooked to exactly how we wanted them, and the sides were perfect. We had the asparagus, and another side of mushrooms. For dessert my date had a limoncello, while I decided I had room for the key lime pie.

Overall a perfect dining experience for a special occasion as it isn't cheap. You do get what you pay for though, and I actually had no issue with the price with how perfect everything was. The valet parking out front made it perfect for downtown as well, so I didn't have to look for a place to park.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly warm service and great steaks. ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Friendly warm service and great steaks. Top notch all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's supposed to be a steak place and th ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

It's supposed to be a steak place and the steaks were good, but everything else was remarkable! We plan to go back and do more appetizers and try the seafood! The scallop salad was out of this world and the heirloom tomato salad was so refreshing & tasty! We have told all of our friends they have to try it! We were so full but I really wanted to try to S'mores cheesecake. The waiter GAVE me a piece to go! I didn't get around to eating it for a couple of days but it was delicious! I want another one! The service was very good but it does move a little slow as we were on the third floor so and the bar and kitchen are downstairs so the waiter had to run up and down the stairs for everything! He stays in shape and really earns his tips. Those stair steps are big! If you have any limitations in climbing you should make that clear on your reservation because it is a hike up to the 3rd floor!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed our experience. We tho ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We really enjoyed our experience. We thought the food and wine were excellent. Our server was great. We would recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good but not an exceptional meal. ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Very good but not an exceptional meal. Not on a par with Mortons as to steak quality, but priced similar. Would recommend you try the Broad and Stormy form the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

As soon as we arrived we were corralled ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

As soon as we arrived we were corralled to a bar table rather than to the dining room. Soon after receiving our menus our waiter informed us the kitchen wanted to close so he'd like us to hurry up and decide what we wanted. Also we asked for more bread and were told they were out but would put more in the oven. When it finally came out the bread was cold to room temperature. Overall we felt rushed. If you don't want to give people spending hundreds of dollars full service at a particular hour, then don't accept reservations at that time -- let alone entice them with bonus points.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

We came in from Savannah, Ga. and was lo ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We came in from Savannah, Ga. and was looking for a nice restaurant that we could only find in Charleston and Oak Steakhouse was just that. I had the tenderloin and frites and it was the best steak I have had so far. It was very tender and the truffle frites were amazing as well. They have a great wine selection and the staff really know their stuff when it comes to pairing a wine and steak.

I would love to go back again!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Oak is our "go-to" restaurant for specia ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Oak is our "go-to" restaurant for special occasions. We have always had excellent dining experiences and look forward to returning soon.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had reservations and looked forward t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had reservations and looked forward to this special dining experience for several weeks. Without being notified or consulted ahead of time, we were seated at a table in the bar area on the 1st floor. Very shortly after being seated, bar patrons began to arrive, including a bachelorette party and the noise level/activity was outrageous. Our server could hardly get to our table to serve us. When paying these prices for food, no one should be seated in the bar area without some sort of discount or other accomodations made. What should have been a romantic evening in a beautiful restaurant with delicious food and great service, turned into a big bill and a headache. I wish I had asked to speak to the manager but I didn't so that is on me.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Everything was good but my husbands 90 d ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everything was good but my husbands 90 day aged steak was burnt. We did not say anything to the waiter because it was my birthday and everything else was perfect. We enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Best steak I ever had. Friendly service ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Best steak I ever had. Friendly service from all. Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I dined here for the seco ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My husband and I dined here for the second time, and it was just as wonderful as the first. Great spot for a special date night. Steaks were cooked perfect, and the sides were outstanding. We will be back!

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is fantastic and the servi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food here is fantastic and the services is just as good!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food and presentation, open k ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Incredible food and presentation, open kitchen made for a great experience. Waiters were respectful and very knowledgable of the menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent meal - excellent service. We ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent meal - excellent service. We will go back again and again.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and good food but it is PR ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great service and good food but it is PRICY! Our bill for the two of us was $265. My husband had the ribeye special which ended up being $89 and we had a special crab app and that was $35. For a special occasion it is worth a visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent place for date night or specia ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Excellent place for date night or special occasion. The waitstaff was knowledgeable and courteous the food excellent. A pleasurable experience.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience! Great food and ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great dining experience! Great food and great service. Always one of my favorite places to eat in Charleston.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing service and a wonderful setting ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Amazing service and a wonderful setting for our romantic dinner date.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner at Oak was excellent. Charcuterie ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Dinner at Oak was excellent. Charcuterie platter, dry aged ribeye, roasted potatoes and Brussels sprouts were all prepared and presented wonderfully.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second visit to the restaur ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was our second visit to the restaurant. And I will have say I was disappointed. The "special" steak we ordered was not so special. The flavor was great but it would have been nice to know the price when it was presented to us. The cut of meat was terrible. The meat was so tough that I couldn't eat it. I had to send it to the kitchen to be cut for me!! The waiter claimed it was not a poor cut of meat but that he gave me an old and dull knife. I would liked to have known the "special" steak that I couldn't cut was $90! You could see the veins that ran all through it making it impossible to cut no matter which way I sliced the meat. I have eaten steaks all over the country but never had to have the chef cut it so I could eat it!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Excellent staff & service was profession ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent staff & service was professional. The meal was deliciousnd we hope the this review is helpful in bringing the restaurant back to its full potential. Restaurant appeared to be in need of some general maintenance & cleaning. Ceilings were stained with water spots, chandelier broken & missing pieces, window sills were dusty & dirty, walls covered with dirty finger prints, carpet on stairs appeared worn & dirty. Bathroom doors and stalls were covered in dust. Drapes were dusty & had food spots, Menus were stained from water & food and floors appeared greasy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Outstanding steaks and sides. Salads we ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Outstanding steaks and sides. Salads were very good, not great. Bread was good. Wine was excellent, as was the dessert.

Service was very, very good.

The restaurant is in downtown Charleston, in a very old building that is quaint, but not for everyone, as stairs are involved.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bar far the best steak I ever had. It ev ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Bar far the best steak I ever had. It event beat all the Brazilian Steak Houses I have been to. And I have been to many.

The only thing that was odd was the running up and down the stairs by the staff.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The steak was one of the best we ever ha ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The steak was one of the best we ever had. Cooked perfectly with ample seasoning. The shrimp cocktail was also excellent. My dining partner raved about the Brussels sprouts and Mac and cheese. The mashed potatoes were excellent. Service was phenomenal - worth every cent!! Thank you so much for a wonderful dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Oak Steakhouse is the place to go. Yes, ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Oak Steakhouse is the place to go. Yes, Charleston is known for their seafood, but this steakhouse is a delicious option if you're in the mood for a top notch steak. Try the brussel sprouts and lobster mac and cheese to compliment your steak. The key lime pie is delightful as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding - The table I requested was ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Outstanding -

The table I requested was honored (upstairs by a window).

Our waiter was truly excellent.

My filet was divine.

My husband's Caesar salad was superb. Oak was very generous with the white anchovies.

The oysters Rockefeller were delicious.

Not so good -

My husband ordered the "special" steak - a bone in ribeye. He has had it before, but this time he said it wasn't as good as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

It was the absolute best steak I've ever ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

It was the absolute best steak I've ever ate !!!! I've been to every major chain and many local restaurants but this by far was the best ever !!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to Oak Steakhouse for steak and ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We went to Oak Steakhouse for steak and vegetables and we were not disappointed! The filet mignon was superb. With it we had roasted mushrooms (divine) and roasted brussel sprouts (delicious). A very satisfying dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Outstanding! It was the best meal we had ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Outstanding! It was the best meal we had in Charleston, and that is saying a lot. Everything was spectacular. I can't say enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was very good. Had problem finding ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was very good. Had problem finding address. Service was excellent. Food was very good. Recommended to younger couple we met on tour bus. Preferred different table than booth type

This was our 50th wedding anniversary dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Oak has been a mainstay in our list of f ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Oak has been a mainstay in our list of favorite restaurants in Charleston. Whenever we make the trip down, we always stop by for steak and the lobster mac and cheese. After having our rehearsal dinner there in 2011, it seemed only fitting that we celebrate our 5th anniversary there as well. Consistently delicious with impeccable service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visited for our 16th wedding annivers ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We visited for our 16th wedding anniversary. Our server was knowledgable, able to recommend wines based on our tastes and the wines were excellent. He answered any menu questions we had as well. The food was delicious, especially our S'mores cheesecake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was delicious. Wonderful service! ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Food was delicious. Wonderful service! The waiter was friendly and very knowable of items.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.