About Oak Steakhouse

17 Broad Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Oak Steakhouse presents an exquisite selection of succulent signature cuts of PRIME Certified Angus Beef such as the 24-Ounce Prime Bone-In Ribeye or Prime NY Strip. Seafood specialties include Local Seasonal Market Catch, Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes, Oysters Rockefeller or Oysters on the Half Shell. House Specialties and Vegetarian options: Housemade Pappardelle (Classic Bolognese or Marinara), Grilled Dutch Valley Veal Porterhouse or CAB Prime Niman Ranch Braised Short Rib. Executive Chef Jeremiah Bacon, a native to Charleston S.C., executes the Farm to Table concept sourcing ingredients from local farmers and fisherman for their menu whenever possible. Specialty Crafted Cocktails, Martinis and an extensive wine selection artfully complement the restaurant's unique historical setting located in the quiet South of Broad neighborhood.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday and Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday-Friday 5:00pm-7:00pm @ Bar Only

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-4220

Website:
http://www.oaksteakhouserestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Jeremiah Bacon

Private Party Facilities:
Private and semi private rooms available.

Private Party Contact:
Rachel Wilkins: 8437224220x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Filet Mignon
Chocolate Cake
Key Lime Semifreddo
Roasted Mushrooms
Pickled Shrimp on Lavash
King Crab Legs
Bread
Oysters Rockefeller
Dry Aged Rib Eye
Bacon Macaroni And Cheese
Seared scallop appetizer
Steak Tartare With Quail Egg
Jumbo shrimp cocktail
Deep fried lobster
Trio Of House Made Steak Sauces
Lobster "Mac & Cheese" Orzo Pasta
Sweet And Spicy
24 Oz. Bone In Angus Ribeye
Pan Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras
Caesar Salad
Truffled Pomme Frites
Carpaccio Of Beef
Chef's Dessert Tasting Plate.

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 10:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Oak Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
South Carolina
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
South Carolina
Best Service
Charleston
2 More
Special Occasion
Charleston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Special Occasion (123)
Romantic (85)
Fit for Foodies (61)
See All
Notable Wine List (54)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Good for Groups (31)
Good for a Date (26)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Historic (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Scenic View (11)
Business Meals (10)
Authentic (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Cozy (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fun (5)
Casual (4)
People Watching (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Family Style (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Private Room (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Healthy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1976 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

If you want a quiet dinner, make sure yo ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 5 days ago

If you want a quiet dinner, make sure your reservation is for the 3rd floor formal dining area. First and second are very noisy if its during a busy night. Otherwise, excellent food, excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

What a disappointing dinner. Drinks at ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 5 days ago

What a disappointing dinner. Drinks at the bar before-hand were good and the oyster Rockefeller appetizer was great but it went down-hill from there. The crispy chicken was not crispy and everything was way too salty! The sides were almost inedible due to the amount of salt. And then there was the wine list...The mark-ups were ridiculous. In some cases, the wines were over 4x the bottle cost. In general, not a good experience and considering the prices, a real disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

so great! I was celebrating with my pare ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 6 days ago

so great! I was celebrating with my parents my recent engagement and they could have not treated us any better. We received a free dessert and outstanding service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food by far exceeded our ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 6 days ago

The service and food by far exceeded our expectations. Both were hands down amazing. Even with noise level of one big party still overall 10 for perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We are new to Charleston and were given ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 6 days ago

We are new to Charleston and were given a gift card by some friends. They said it was so that we could enjoy a special evening and so went in with high expectations. We were thrilled with our experience: the staff, the service, and of course, THE FOOD! I seriously cannot tell you which part of the meal was my favorite as the entree, sides and dessert were equally magnificent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best steaks in town! Usually like a bak ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined 7 days ago

Best steaks in town! Usually like a baked Potato, but the crispy potatoes are even better!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oak is really one of the great restauran ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Oak is really one of the great restaurants in Charleston. Not only are the steaks great, but They have several other choices from pasta and seafood.

The staff is the best in town. Very professional

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It had been many years since i have visi ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

It had been many years since i have visited Oak and we enjoyed immensely. We had reservation and were 5 minutes early and they made us wait in the crowded bar although there were plenty of available tables. This was the only glitch. The waiter was wonderful and very knowing on what to order. He was quite attentive. The food and wine was delicious. It's a bit pricey for everyday, but we thought it was worth the cost.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The wait staff is awesome!!! They make u ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

The wait staff is awesome!!! They make us feel special every time we dine with you! The food is delicious and everyone worked with our allergies while preparing the food. This is the third time my friend and I have celebrated our birthdays with you!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Private Room, Healthy, Family Style, Happy Hour, People Watching, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When we arrived 10 mins early for our re ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

When we arrived 10 mins early for our reservation, we were told to wait and then three parties were seated before us as outperform reservation time came and went. I feel like the hostess could have been more helpful and friendly. My son has nut allergies and he is a vegetarian and the waiter was very attentive to this fact. I think there could be more choices for people who are vegetarians though. He couldn't eat the bread because there was nuts so that was out too. I think more restaurants need to have more choices for people with anaphylactic food allergies. The waiter was very good and that made all the difference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Oak Steakhouse for our first ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

We went to Oak Steakhouse for our first night out on our honeymoon. Our server, Chris, was spectacular. They put us up in the mezzanine and we had the most amazing meal. Service, food, ambiance, everything was incredible. We will definitely be back to Oak next time we come to Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were frankly disappointed. Ours steak ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We were frankly disappointed. Ours steaks were good, but the side dishes were not stellar. My biggest complaint was that they seated us at a two top table in a corner with no windows, right next to a larger party. There were many other open tables by windows or not directly next to other tables and although some of them filled up in the next hour and half, some never did.

The experience was just very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Loved the atmosphere. The food was sub p ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Loved the atmosphere. The food was sub par compared to most places in Charleston.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

My husband and I went to Oak to celebrat ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My husband and I went to Oak to celebrate our second anniversary and felt like celebrities. The service was excellent, food was amazing and atmosphere was wonderful. I highly recommend Oak to anyone in the Charleston area. Love love love this place!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OVERALL THE EXPERIENCE WAS VERY GOOD. TH ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

OVERALL THE EXPERIENCE WAS VERY GOOD. THE DOWNSIDE WAS THAT THE BATHROOM AND ELEVATOR WERE SUB STANDARD. THE FOOD WAS VERY GOOD AND THE SERVICE VERY GOOD. THIS IS A GOOD PLACE FOR FINE DINING IF YOU WANT AN EXCELLENT STEAK.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great, went during restaurant w ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food was great, went during restaurant week. Steak was really good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebrated our 49th anniversary in style ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Celebrated our 49th anniversary in style - the entire experience was excellent - food/service/ambiance. Looking forward to our 50th.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From the moment we arrived, the service ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

From the moment we arrived, the service was impeccable, the steaks were wonderful and best of all, the noise level was far better for conversation than other steak houses in Charleston.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time. The food was wonder ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had a great time. The food was wonderful. I don't think I ever had a better steak . Our server, Dave was unbeatable . We will go there again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very good food DAvid the server was exce ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Very good food DAvid the server was excellent management very friendly and making sure everything was excellent will be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our food was excellent and our primary w ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Our food was excellent and our primary waiter very knowledgeable. I recommend this restaurant for a premium steak and creative ways to acknowledge special events.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have found that Oak is wonderful dinin ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

I have found that Oak is wonderful dining experience with delicious food &ffantastic service!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Limited selection. Loud in s ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great food. Limited selection. Loud in spots. Great service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was great the bartender and waiter ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Food was great the bartender and waiter were great. It's a busy place do make a reservation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Oak managed a difficult task during ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The Oak managed a difficult task during restaurant week to make a great experience happen for out of town business guests. Couldn't be more pleased.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Tables to close together. Felt like we w ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Tables to close together. Felt like we were eating dinner w/ everyone. Noisy level very high.

We would have preferred to be in booth downstairs.

Food was very good !!! And waiters were amazing !!!

Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

As always, the ambiance was perfect for ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

As always, the ambiance was perfect for a date night, and the service was on point. My boyfriend's risotto came out under cooked, and the staff went above and beyond to make it right. Our evening was just as lovely as it would have been without the mishap, perhaps even better. Will be returning for some more of those brussells!

Tags: Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a favorite. Never disappoints. Lo ...

vip
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Always a favorite. Never disappoints. Love Sunday 1/2 price bottles of wine.

Tags: Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We ordered the filet which come with mas ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We ordered the filet which come with mashed potatoes and greens. The mashed potatoes were put on the plate with the greens and filet on top of the mashed potatoes. The potatoes were so salty you could not eat them. I informed the waiter of this and he replied that all the mashed potatoes would be salty he could bring me something else to replace the potatoes. The problem with this was the mashed potatoes was all over the filet and the greens. I have been to oak before with good service and good food but this trip was bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

Very nice atmosphere, great food and imp ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Very nice atmosphere, great food and impeccable service. The wait staff worked together like a well oiled machine. Great experience and we thoroughly enjoyed the steak. We will go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Oak Steakhouse was great as always. ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The Oak Steakhouse was great as always. Great food in a very good atmosphere.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was great and food was as we ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Our service was great and food was as well. Our group of six went during restaurant week and expected to receive less than normal attention/quality food but at no point was this the case. Boneless rib-eye was phenomenal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing service and food! We came to Cha ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Amazing service and food! We came to Charleston to celebrate our 5th anniversary! We were given a table right by the window and an anniversary card! We were able to ask our knowledgable server for recommendations on both the food and wine. We enjoyed a lovely bottle of Coat de Rhone with our ribeyes and fresh crab. AMAZING!!!!!! 5 STARS all around!!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location, excellent service, start ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great location, excellent service, starting with the valet service. Friendly staff, great food, great drinks. We will dine here again.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten at Oak Steakhouse for 6 yrs ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We've eaten at Oak Steakhouse for 6 yrs and never been disappointed. This was our first experience that my steak was prepared incorrectly and the food was just meh. Maybe it was an off night. We were also shocked to see empty tables throughout the restaurant on a Friday night from 7pm-8pm which used to be unheard of. Still one of my faves, but something has definitely changed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Quality food and service. When they cal ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Quality food and service. When they called to confirm reservation they asked if there were any special request. I requested something and they were able to accommodate it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have eaten here before and had great ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We have eaten here before and had great steaks. This time my fillet was rubbery. I should have sent it back. My wife's fillet was fine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

This was one of the best meals I ever ha ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This was one of the best meals I ever had. The filet mignon was excellent! It was a little pricey, but well worth it. I can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best steakhouses in Charlesto ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

One of the best steakhouses in Charleston- best meal we had all Labor Day weekend

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As in the past our dining at the Oak on ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

As in the past our dining at the Oak on Sat. night Sept.2 was another superb experience. The drinks, food and service were all outstanding. We both love a great steak and have dined in many great steakhouses around the country. The Oak remains in our top five favorites.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.