About Oak Steakhouse

17 Broad Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Oak Steakhouse presents an exquisite selection of succulent signature cuts of PRIME Certified Angus Beef such as the 24-Ounce Prime Bone-In Ribeye or Prime NY Strip. Seafood specialties include Local Seasonal Market Catch, Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes, Oysters Rockefeller or Oysters on the Half Shell. House Specialties and Vegetarian options: Housemade Pappardelle (Classic Bolognese or Marinara), Grilled Dutch Valley Veal Porterhouse or CAB Prime Niman Ranch Braised Short Rib. Executive Chef Jeremiah Bacon, a native to Charleston S.C., executes the Farm to Table concept sourcing ingredients from local farmers and fisherman for their menu whenever possible. Specialty Crafted Cocktails, Martinis and an extensive wine selection artfully complement the restaurant's unique historical setting located in the quiet South of Broad neighborhood.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday and Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday-Friday 5:00pm-7:00pm @ Bar Only

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-4220

Website:
http://www.oaksteakhouserestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Jeremiah Bacon

Private Party Facilities:
Private and semi private rooms available.

Private Party Contact:
Rachel Wilkins: (843) 722-4220

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Filet Mignon - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Chocolate Cake - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Key Lime Semifreddo - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Jumbo shrimp cocktail - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Deep fried lobster - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Trio Of House Made Steak Sauces - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Lobster "Mac & Cheese" Orzo Pasta - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Sweet And Spicy - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
24 Oz. Bone In Angus Ribeye - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Pan Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Caesar Salad - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Truffled Pomme Frites - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Carpaccio Of Beef - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Chef's Dessert Tasting Plate.  - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Pickled Shrimp on Lavash - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
King Crab Legs - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Bread - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Seared scallop appetizer - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Oysters Rockefeller - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Roasted Mushrooms - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Dry Aged Rib Eye - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Steak Tartare With Quail Egg - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Bacon Macaroni And Cheese - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 10:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Oak Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (73)
Special Occasion (69)
Good for a Date (68)
See All
Romantic (54)
Notable Wine List (38)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Historic (34)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Business Meals (30)
Cozy (26)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Authentic (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Fun (11)
Good for Groups (8)
Private Room (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Seasonal (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Casual (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Family Style (4)
Scenic View (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great Beer (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
2224 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Sarah the hostess was amazing, very acco ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Sarah the hostess was amazing, very accommodating and sweet! Our server Brian was wonderful as well, gave us great recommendations and always made sure we were enjoying ourselves. Food was outstanding! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there for Restaurant week, which ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

We were there for Restaurant week, which offered great values. My filet was a great piece of beef and prepared perfectly. My wife had Bolognese Pasta, which she loved and she is a harsh critic of pasta.

Only real complaint was their featured wine was listed as a 2012 Cote de Rhone, but they tried to serve a 2015. "Misprint on the features menu"......totally unacceptable and a pet peeve.

We will return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Very good. Nice atmosphere, excellent s ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

Very good. Nice atmosphere, excellent service! Wine list is a little pricey but overall experience is Great

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We had another great meal at Oak. This ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 5 days ago

We had another great meal at Oak. This restaurant you can count on to deliver on service and food. It's nice to know a place that's consistently very good. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We selected the Oak Steakhouse while vis ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

We selected the Oak Steakhouse while visiting historic Charleston, SC and it did not disappoint. The restaurant is situated in one of the historic buildings on Broad Street in Charleston. Our table was on the 3rd level and the room had great character with its floor to ceiling windows. You could imagine the history of the people that originally used this space, most likely as a private home.

What we did expect and the Oak Steakhouse delivered, was a delicious meal. I had the 14oz Rib Eye and it was as good a steak as any that I have had. The roasted Brussel Sprouts with their special sauce, melted in your mouth.

We each had a couple cocktails and with tip the bill came to just over $100 per person.

If you are in Charleston and looking for fine dinning in an historic setting, this may be a place you would like to try.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak was good. The mask potatoes w ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

The steak was good. The mask potatoes were okay. The spinach was good.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great atmosphere. Service was excellent ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great atmosphere. Service was excellent and very friendly. Bartender does a hell of a job.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Business meal on third floor was lovely. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Business meal on third floor was lovely. Sweet onion bisque I would have usually not tried but server encouraged it and he was correct. Yum. Server paired wonderful wines with our meals and all food was cooked perfectly. The complimentary valet parking was handy and quick, worthy of a nice tip. Excellent steak and the fish my companion chose was excellent she said. Expensive treat, but delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have dined in Charleston many times, ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We have dined in Charleston many times, but the food here was really the best we have had in town. And that is saying something, because Charleston is one of the greatest dining cities in the U.S. The service was excellent also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire dining experience from start ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The entire dining experience from start (reservations) to finish (receiving our check and departing) was excellent. The hostess and servers were welcoming and inviting, and the atmosphere was settle and peaceful. The three servers that were responsible for our table was very attentive and catered to all of our wants and needs. The 3-course meal we received was to die for. Everything was freshly prepared and seasoned to perfection. It was my first time dining here, but it won't be my last.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Fantastic service. Ambia ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Delicious food. Fantastic service. Ambiance and noise level were perfect. We will be back.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Historic, Casual, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for my wife's birthday and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We went there for my wife's birthday and were very pleased with the service (they were able to answer all of our questions) and the food was fantastic! Not a place we could eat daily (it's pricey) but absolutely wonderful for special occasions.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We visited the Oak with some friends who ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 10, 2017

We visited the Oak with some friends who had not been there before. The restaurant is excellent as it has been on prior visits. The steaks are outstanding and salads and deserts are equally well done. Noise level is acceptable and the service is excellent.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two key reasons to visit the Oak: Chef ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Two key reasons to visit the Oak: Chef Jeremiah Bacon and AMAZING steaks!! Service is top-notch in a warm, inviting atmosphere.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Historic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I visited Oak Steakhouse to ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 10, 2017

My wife and I visited Oak Steakhouse to celebrate my birthday during Restaurant Week. Although the event menu was limited, there was a good variety of dishes, making it easy to accommodate different preferences. The filet was great (slight charring on the outside, juicy on the inside). The accompanying sautéed spinach was cooked well, however a little under flavored. This was more than made up for in the two sharable sides we decided to get. The mushrooms and collard greens were seasoned to perfection and really elevated the meal. The wait staff (Christopher) was exceptional (very friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive) and always made us feel like we were welcomed.

With three (qty3) seating levels, Oak can be a great destination not only for couples looking for a romantic evening out on the town, but also a great place to celebrate with friends or even catch a game at the bar (we went during the Alabama / Clemson game).

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This meal was one of the best I've ever ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 9, 2017

This meal was one of the best I've ever had in my life. I was so impressed by literally everything -- the food, our waiter, how we were greeted, etc. 10+ stars!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not a great meal. Steak was butterflied ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Not a great meal. Steak was butterflied because I ordered it medium well. It came out burnt. After reading reviews on here, I see others have had the same negative experience. I normally do not write reviews, but based on the price I paid it was not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5

The ambience was great service was great ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The ambience was great service was great and the food was awesome. It was a lovely first experience and we will be returning

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Cozy, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great customer service from the time you ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great customer service from the time you walk in the door.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The best steak in Charleston! Service is ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The best steak in Charleston! Service is great and the staff is fantastic.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our second time dining here aft ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 5, 2017

This was our second time dining here after moving to Charleston a little over a year ago. In a city filled with great places to eat, it still stands out.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice New Year's Eve experience. A+

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very nice New Year's Eve experience. A+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our Server was wonderful. We sat at a bo ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our Server was wonderful. We sat at a booth bar the bar, and There was a large party of 28 waiting at the bar for their table... Our server was still very attentivive. Food was great as always. We love this place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Management accommodated every request... ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Management accommodated every request...special thanks to Taylor M! Quality of service & food were outstanding.

Noise level on first & second floors is loud. The third floor provides ambiance & atmosphere for conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I made reservations for New Year's eve f ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I made reservations for New Year's eve for 4 of us. The food and service were excellent, my only complaint is I would have liked it if there was 6oz Filet, 8oz is a little too big for me and since we were visiting from out of town I couldn't take home the leftovers. The Brussel sprout side was amazing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Service & food were excellent. 1st & 2nd ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service & food were excellent. 1st & 2nd floors have a moderate noise level. We sat on the top floor tonight & it was nice & quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. Got the mix ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent food and service.

Got the mixed grill, delicious.

The lady got a burger, and it melted in her mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always one of our favorites! We were cel ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always one of our favorites!

We were celebrating 2 birthdays.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal and service. Good wine list. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great meal and service. Good wine list. Amazing steaks.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience! My wife and I s ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great dining experience! My wife and I split the Mixed Grill entree, everything was melt-in-your-mouth perfect. Service was impeccable, our waiter was able to rush our meal when told we were running late for an event. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my go-to Steakhouse. The service ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This is my go-to Steakhouse. The service is superb. The food...just go! Friendly, knowledgeable, serious and fun about the overall dining experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Historic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Cozy, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and staff were awesome, steaks so t ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food and staff were awesome, steaks so tender you Can cut with a fork

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Steaks. The Fillet is to di ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Outstanding Steaks. The Fillet is to die for. The Kansas City New York Strip was one of the best I have ever had.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife had the 8 oz filet and wanted it ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My wife had the 8 oz filet and wanted it well done but not dry.

It was actually butterflyed to facilitate cooking but came chared and so dry it could not be cut by her.

We feasted on my rib eye steak instead.

The chief server did come to our table, but we did not complain about it and cause a sceen since seating is so close.

We will not come back again.

You would think some one would seen the charing before it was served though.

By the way we had the same steak at Hall's prepared well done and it was well done but very juicy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

The food, service and ambience was fanta ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food, service and ambience was fantastic.. If ever in Charleston again, my husband and I would definitely have dinner here again.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our "treat" when we're in charleston. It ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Our "treat" when we're in charleston. It's the total package: great atmosphere, food, and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were seated immediately, a plus. Thi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We were seated immediately, a plus. Things went downhill quickly. My daughter asked about the vegetarian meal and our waiter answered "That's a question that hasn't been asked in 12 years." Off-putting. I ordered a steak medium rare which came rare-rare as in cold in the middle. Politely I asked for it to be cooked a wee bit longer. A steak that was possibly less cooked than the first one was returned to me. Very expensive and a bummer experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The service was outstanding and the food ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The service was outstanding and the food was fantastic. It was a very good dining experience with my girl. The only thing that could use some work is the music was a bit loud.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is always fantastic. They ke ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The service is always fantastic. They keep notes on their repeat customers, so they have a good idea of what you like and make recommendations based on your preferences, and if a particular item you have ordered before is not on the current menu, they will let you know if you can still order it "off menu". The food is always outstanding, and the portions are more than enough! We will definitely keep coming back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Romantic, Cozy, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steaks are delicious. Do not order a ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The steaks are delicious. Do not order a "special", stick to the menu. Ordered a 24oz bone in and it wasn't any larger than the 14oz steaks my wife and daughter ordered. Very disappointed by that.

Sides were great. Service is a bit slow. Noise high because small kids were running loose all over the restaurant...

Overall, at this price point you can do much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.