About Oak Steakhouse

17 Broad Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Oak Steakhouse presents an exquisite selection of succulent signature cuts of PRIME Certified Angus Beef such as the 24-Ounce Prime Bone-In Ribeye or Prime NY Strip. Seafood specialties include Local Seasonal Market Catch, Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes, Oysters Rockefeller or Oysters on the Half Shell. House Specialties and Vegetarian options: Housemade Pappardelle (Classic Bolognese or Marinara), Grilled Dutch Valley Veal Porterhouse or CAB Prime Niman Ranch Braised Short Rib. Executive Chef Jeremiah Bacon, a native to Charleston S.C., executes the Farm to Table concept sourcing ingredients from local farmers and fisherman for their menu whenever possible. Specialty Crafted Cocktails, Martinis and an extensive wine selection artfully complement the restaurant's unique historical setting located in the quiet South of Broad neighborhood.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday and Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Happy Hour: Monday-Friday 5:00pm-7:00pm @ Bar Only

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-4220

Website:
http://www.oaksteakhouserestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Jeremiah Bacon

Private Party Facilities:
Private and semi private rooms available.

Private Party Contact:
Rachel Wilkins: 8437224220x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Filet Mignon - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Chocolate Cake - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Key Lime Semifreddo - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Jumbo shrimp cocktail - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Deep fried lobster - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Trio Of House Made Steak Sauces - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Lobster "Mac & Cheese" Orzo Pasta - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Sweet And Spicy - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
24 Oz. Bone In Angus Ribeye - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Pan Seared Hudson Valley Foie Gras - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Caesar Salad - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Truffled Pomme Frites - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Carpaccio Of Beef - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Chef's Dessert Tasting Plate.  - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Pickled Shrimp on Lavash - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
King Crab Legs - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Bread - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Seared scallop appetizer - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Oysters Rockefeller - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Roasted Mushrooms - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Dry Aged Rib Eye - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Steak Tartare With Quail Egg - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC
Bacon Macaroni And Cheese - Oak Steakhouse, Charleston, SC

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 10:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Oak Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
South Carolina
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
South Carolina
Best Overall
Charleston
2 More
Best Service
Charleston
Special Occasion
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

Special Occasion (80)
Good for a Date (62)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
See All
Romantic (54)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Notable Wine List (38)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Historic (31)
Business Meals (29)
Worth the Drive (25)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Cozy (22)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Authentic (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Bar Seating (11)
Fun (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Casual (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Scenic View (5)
Private Room (5)
People Watching (4)
Family Style (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
2037 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great dining experience. The oysters Ro ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

Great dining experience. The oysters Rockefeller were exceptional and the oysters on the half shell were also very tasty. The steak was cooked to perfection. Overall an excellent restaurant but it is on the high end on prices. The servers were attentive and friendly. we enjoyed the wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and great service.

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

Good food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server Christopher was excellent and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Our server Christopher was excellent and was on top of his game. The atmosphere is a little loud but Christopher made himself heard without shouting. I really enjoyed the beef tartare appetizer which is very difficult to find a restaurant that even serves the dish. My steak was cooked Pittsburgh style exactly the way I like it. They have a good wine list and desserts were excellent. I thought it was a little pricey but then again usually get what you pay for. I would definitely recommend this restaurant and I will be back again when I'm in the Charleston area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding dinner - The food was excell ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Outstanding dinner - The food was excellent (filet) and the wine selection by the server was first-class. We always enjoy eating at Oak, it's our favorite Charleston restaurant. An added bonus is the valet parking.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved it and it was our first time th ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We loved it and it was our first time there! Our waiter Ciro was outstanding!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our family visiting from Los Ang ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We took our family visiting from Los Angeles. The food was amazing as was the service. It was a truly wonderful experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined on the 3rd level on Thanksgivin ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We dined on the 3rd level on Thanksgiving Day. The room was just perfect, the ambience, the service, the food, just perfect. Everyone serving were very intent to our needs. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu offered a variety of selections ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The menu offered a variety of selections - most likely satisfying anyone's taste. The food was excellent. The cocktails and wine were also excellent. You were not rushed even though they were busy and it was Thanksgiving.

The service - by our waiter Ciro - was incredible. Probably the best service we have encountered in a dozen years. He was competent, helpful, knowledgeable, gracious and even added fun to the experience.

Over all a really excellent experience. Not inexpensive - but well worth the price.

Note - that while the restaurant is on three different floors, and we were seated on the third level; there is an elevator for the handicapped or those for whom the stairs present a challenge.

Finally, they have complimentary no-charge Valet parking.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Organic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Usually great food and atmosphere, tonig ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Usually great food and atmosphere, tonight we had the most awful steak, were seated in the bar area (made reservations a week prior) , felt rushed and literally didn't feel welcomed st all. Horrible evening !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5

My friend who was visiting wanted a stea ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 21, 2016

My friend who was visiting wanted a steak and I found Oak Steakhouse on line and had not really been aware of this restaurant before but was impressed with the menu and location so took a chance and we're so glad we did. We will return often. The restaurant is fairly small but what I love is the upstairs loft seating which is more private and a bit quieter. Its delightful ambiance added so much to the enjoyment of our meal. The restaurant sports huge floor to ceiling palladian windows which can be enjoyed from the loft dining room as well. We all had the tenderloin with Bearnaise sauce and it was sensational. While the price was reasonable for the dish at $25, the other dishes we ordered were very expensive. The cheese platter was $14 and very meager and disappointing. drinks are a bit pricey too. We did enjoy the Brussel sprouts and delicious desserts of white chocolate cheese cake and creme brulee. Our meal for three which included cheese platter, 3 entrees at $25 each, 1 glass of wine, 1 rum and coke, 2 sides and 2 desserts was about $180. The service was outstanding and while I loved the food for the most part and the ambiance, I'm still in sticker shock.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Casual, Historic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I ate here for his birthd ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

My husband and I ate here for his birthday. It was spectacular! Everyone we encountered was friendly, from the hostess to all waitstaff. Our server (I believe Kyle was his name) was excellent. He had an expansive knowledge of the menu and made great recommendations. The carpaccio of beef appetizer was delicious, our steaks were cooked perfectly and desserts (the apple crisp and white chocolate cheesecake) were decadent! The staff truly made this occasion special for us. The ambiance was warm and inviting; and not stuffy at all. I can't recommend Oak highly enough!

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and great service !! Bar ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Delicious food and great service !! Bar area can get a bit noisy so I recommend requesting seating upstairs. The top floor room with the hand painted birds on the wall is really cool. I believe the artist adds to it each time she is in town. Each bird represents someone in the artists life.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very good for the price and ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was very good for the price and the service was outstanding. Went for 45th Anniversary and they placed a card on the table wishing us a Happy Anniversary. A very nice touch.

Tags: Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were in Charlestown for our babymoon ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We were in Charlestown for our babymoon and craving steak in a seafood town. We looked at several steakhouses online but kept coming back to Oak because the reviews were so good. Luckily, a reservation opened up on open table and we were there 15 minutes later. The service was very good, and the menu is great - enough to choose from, not enough to overwhelm you. Oysters Rockefeller are a must try, as mentioned in other reviews. I was craving a burger, and it did not disappoint. Probably the best burger I've ever had, and served with a mountain of truffle fries! My husband had the NY strip. Beautiful steak, and perfectly done. The only reason I knocked a star off of our review is the side item he ordered. It was an off menu special. All of the sides were a large carte, and priced at $8-12. The waiter told us about the truffle risotto, and that sounded good, so my husband ordered that. When the bill came, we saw that it was $35!!! We were more than a little surprised, and really felt that the waiter should have mentioned that it was over 3 times more expensive than the other sides. Also, important to note: this is actually part of a "chain". We were under the impression from the website that this was a single restaurant but discovered that there is actually one in our hometown! Not where we would typically choose to eat when we are out of town, so that was disappointing. The menus do very from location to location,but they are similar enough that you can tell it's a chain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was excellent. The music didn't fit ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food was excellent. The music didn't fit the atmosphere. Other than that great experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent atmosphere in a 3 level buildi ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Excellent atmosphere in a 3 level building in old Charleston. Drinks were great and pretty strong. We had the king crab appetizer. A little pricey, but fresh. My wife had a filet and I had a 5oz tenderloin sliced to perfection. The filet was a little dry for my wife's liking even though it was cooked medium. It was pretty hard to cut. I would definitely recommend for a nice evening out in Charleston

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

58 dollars for a steak and NOTHING ELSE! ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

58 dollars for a steak and NOTHING ELSE! Ice burg lettuce in a salad???? Will not go back- will say that the waiter knew his steaks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

The food and service was outstanding. I ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food and service was outstanding. I took my wife for our anniversary. We had a great time.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent for a great classic steakhouse ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent for a great classic steakhouse dinner in Charleston. Classic decor and lighting in downtown. Can't beat the excellent food, service and coffee is perfect with dessert.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a wonderful experience! Would hi ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Always a wonderful experience! Would highly recommend. Steaks are amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal. Thank you.

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent meal. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service and food! Thanks for ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Outstanding service and food! Thanks for a great evening!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal and best service we had in Cha ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Best meal and best service we had in Charleston. It was our last night in Charleston and I'm so gladwesabed the best to last!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and great service. Wish ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent food and great service. Wish I could eat there more often. Definitely worth the price.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very underwhelimg. Food was ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Service was very underwhelimg. Food was good but not special enough to overcome the lousy service. The horseradish and hot sauce requested for the shrimp cocktail (not jumbo, by the way) arrived after the shrimp cocktail was finished (10 minutes of waiting was more than enough). 20 minutes later, our steaks were ready but noone realized our salad course had been skipped. With all the amazing dining options in Charleston, Oak will not be getting a return visit. After prior positive experiences at MacIntosh, this was a real disappointing anniversary meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

The bar was small and it made it difficu ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The bar was small and it made it difficult to order a drink since all the seats were filled. The small amount of wine served for the price was disappointing. The steak was delicious and the sides were good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

4 of us attended for a business meeting. ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

4 of us attended for a business meeting. We all had filet and everyone loved it. I would recommend the Oysters Rockefeller to start your meal. Very flavorful.

Tags: Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went here for my 30th birthday.. had a ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I went here for my 30th birthday.. had a great time our server was amazing... food is pricey but good.... would recommend for special occasions... not all that kid friendly...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Have been to Oak before. Never been dis ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Have been to Oak before. Never been disappointed! Will definitely return again. Service is always superb.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome food prepared correctly! Servic ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Awesome food prepared correctly! Service was outstanding. I highly recommend dining at Oak.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great meal. Pricey. Could use more ligh ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great meal. Pricey. Could use more light. Our waiter, Ciro, was wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always delicious ... a Sunday night favo ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Always delicious ... a Sunday night favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Vegetable options are slightly lacking b ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Vegetable options are slightly lacking but the food was amazing anyway and the Brussels sprouts were amazing. Even without the sauce!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I celebrated our 6th wedding ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 6th wedding anniversary at Oak on Saturday and we had a wonderful experience. We were given a table by the high arch windows as requested and everything from our waiter Oliver to the outstanding food and wine made for an unforgettable night. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my husband's parents to The Oak Ste ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Took my husband's parents to The Oak Steakhouse for their 50th wedding anniversary. Superior service, waiter was very knowledgeable about the entire menu and very helpful with our food and drink choices. Everyone is very attentive. Our steaks were 5 stars and the sides were very fresh and tasty. We have been here once before and will certainly come back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always amazing!! Of purse their steaks a ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Always amazing!! Of purse their steaks are cooked to perfection, exactly as we ordered them. Their soup of the day, parsnip was creamy and delicious. They also have a great selection of wines. The ambience is perfect for a romantic date and the service can't be beat. Our waiter Dave was friendly and had great recommendations. One last thing, coffee...if you're a coffee lover, order the French press. Smooth with good flavor and very hot. I recommend you go here. It's our favorite steak restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

By far the BEST food in Charleston!

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 22, 2016

By far the BEST food in Charleston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything is always great. The food is ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Everything is always great. The food is amazing , great staff, great atmosphere. This is my go to place anytime I want to enjoy a great steak.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal food and wine! Best steak we ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Phenomenal food and wine! Best steak we have ever had hands down! Our waiter was very attentive And friendly. Very cool building and intimate atmosphere. Complimentary valet parking. Best meal experience we had while staying in Charleston!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak I ever had. Excellent service ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Best steak I ever had. Excellent service. A little pricey but a great experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.