About Oak Steakhouse

17 Broad Street
Charleston, SC 29401
View Larger Map

Oak Steakhouse presents an exquisite selection of succulent signature cuts of PRIME Certified Angus Beef such as the 24-Ounce Prime Bone-In Ribeye or Prime NY Strip. Seafood specialties include Local Seasonal Market Catch, Jumbo Lump Crab Cakes, Oysters Rockefeller or Oysters on the Half Shell. House Specialties and Vegetarian options: Housemade Pappardelle (Classic Bolognese or Marinara), Grilled Dutch Valley Veal Porterhouse or CAB Prime Niman Ranch Braised Short Rib. Executive Chef Jeremiah Bacon, a native to Charleston S.C., executes the Farm to Table concept sourcing ingredients from local farmers and fisherman for their menu whenever possible. Specialty Crafted Cocktails, Martinis and an extensive wine selection artfully complement the restaurant's unique historical setting located in the quiet South of Broad neighborhood.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday and Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Happy Hour: Sunday-Friday 5:00pm-7:00pm @ Bar Only

Cross Street:
State Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 722-4220

Website:
http://www.oaksteakhouserestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Complementary valet parking

Executive Chef:
Jeremiah Bacon

Private Party Facilities:
Private and semi private rooms available.

Private Party Contact:
Rachel Wilkins: 8437224220x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 5:45PM 9:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 10:00PM - 10:30PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Oak Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
South Carolina
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
South Carolina
Best Service
Charleston
2 More
Notable Wine List
Charleston
Special Occasion
Charleston
Best Restaurants in Downtown Charleston ›

special occasion (127)
romantic (87)
fit for foodies (74)
See All
notable wine list (64)
neighborhood gem (43)
good for groups (41)
hot spot (27)
vibrant bar scene (21)
scenic view (13)
late-night find (9)
great for lunch (8)
great for brunch (6)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1820 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best steaks I've ever had

Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I visited Oak Steakhouse recently and were so pleasantly surprised with high quality of each dish we ordered. The oysters rockafeller were amazing, and the steaks were perfection. Slightly crisp on the outside and so tender inside, both my filet and my husband's dry run strip were some of the best cooked steaks we have ever had, easily competing with and surpassing the other big steakhouses in Charleston. Although pricey, as most steak places of this caliber are, the food was worth it. Our server Gregory was friendly with great timing. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I have eaten at Oak in the past and I th ...

Dined 5 days ago

I have eaten at Oak in the past and I thought it was quite good. However, I cannot say that my experience was fit for foodies. My hubby and I were celebrating our 43rd anniversary and thought it would be great to eat at Oak. I was not impressed. I ordered a strip steak which I have eaten for the last 50 years and know quite well what a strip steak looks and tastes like. When I received my dinner, the first thing I said to my hubby was I 've never seen a strip steak that looked like this. Upon cutting and tasting the steak I once again said the same thing to my hubby about the taste. I decided to speak to the waiter and all he said was yes it was a strip steak. Never once did he offer to do anything about it. Instead of causing any problems I just took it home. The waiter did make a face when I asked him to wrap it. For the money that was spent I was totally disappointed in my meal. Having that kind of experience I'm not sure I will ever go back there and as far as recommendations I don't think I would .

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband I went to the Oak Steakhouse ...

Dined 6 days ago

My husband I went to the Oak Steakhouse for our 20th wedding anniversary dinner. The service, atmosphere and food were perfect. The staff brought us special desserts in celebration of our anniversary, such a kind and uncommon gesture that we greatly appreciated. The food is plentiful and cooked to perfection. We could not have had a better meal. Our steaks were cooked to perfection, tender and juicy. We will definitely enjoy dining at this establishment in the future. The waiter was attentive and quick to serve in every way. The Oak Steakhouse has spoiled us from eating at other "restaurants" serving steaks!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

46th Anniversary

Dined on May 23, 2016

Enjoyed the food, service and special attention given

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steakhouse I've had the pleasure of ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Best steakhouse I've had the pleasure of dining at!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service is amazing!

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food and service is amazing. The service is one of the best in charleston.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter and I had a wonderful dinner ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

My daughter and I had a wonderful dinner on Friday, May 20. Our waiter, Oliver, was excellent. The food was so extraordinary! Everyone should order the pomme frites in truffle oil...they were divine. Great place to go for a wonderful meal!.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Very expensive but great food! The filet ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Very expensive but great food! The filet was the best I've had and cooked to perfection. The service was beyond good.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Oak is my wife's favorite. We go there e ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Oak is my wife's favorite. We go there every year for her Birthday & it never disappoints. The food & service are both always fantastic!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Dinner at Oak Steakhouse

Dined on May 18, 2016

Was in town on a business trip and found this restaurant link on the web from a restaurant search. Food was really good, but a bit pricey. I should have looked at the prices before recommending considering I work for a non-profit organization. Service was top-notch and would definitely recommend for anyone not concerned with price.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Anniversary

Dined on May 14, 2016

Perfect venue to celebrate 35 years of romantic bliss and friendship!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Oliver our waiter was fantastic loved he ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Oliver our waiter was fantastic loved he spirit and energy. When I return I'm asking to be seated in his section. Liked the fact that the manager stopped by to welcome us, very cordial and nice to see that.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak I have ever eaten! The scallo ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Best steak I have ever eaten! The scallops, smoky bacon mac n cheese, and creme brulee were amazing too!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. Service was great. Good ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Excellent food. Service was great. Good ambience. Highly recommended!

food4
ambience1
service1

It's like an hour for us to get to appet ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

It's like an hour for us to get to appetizers the sea scallops were not cook properly nor was the rule popster very disappointing over overly loud lousy experience

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service! Food was amazing!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great service! Food was amazing!

food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Disaster at dinnet

Dined on May 5, 2016

Service weak, one server for six people. Did not have Chevis Regal scotch. Our table was on the second floor over the glass washer where the chlorine was used during out dinner to clean the washer. We complained to our server and he said he could do nothing. By comparison at halls we had two servers,a manager and mr Hall watching over us. This was the next night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Avoid bottom floors - noisy bar scene

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Top floor is by far the best for a dinner where you can hear across the table - everything else top notch

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely early evening dinner

Dined on April 29, 2016

The service was great. Our server was attentive and had a great sense of humor. The meal was delicious as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

The meal was fabulous . Our waiter David was terrific.He made wonderful suggestions the scallop appetizer and foie gras were wonderful as were the steaks and dessert. It was a great meal and experience

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dining experience EVER!

Dined on April 23, 2016

From the moment we walked into Oak we were greeted with friendly, curteous, helpful and professional staff. Oliver, our waiter, was attentive and funny and offered wonderful menu choices. Our wine was fabulous! Our food was honestly the best we've ever had!! The steak was cooked to perfection!! We were even surprised with an anniversary dessert!! It will be worth another visit to Charlston just to dine at Oak again!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Worst seat in the house

Dined on April 23, 2016

The seating situation is bad and it is very loud. Despite making reservations the best table they could give me was a small booth near the bar. Did I say LOUD! At those prices I would not repeat.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience

Dined on April 23, 2016

Dinner was incredible, the wine was amazing, and we loved the service. Over all it was just an amazing night! The only thing we had issue with was a large party in the room created a very loud atmosphere s short way through the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Birthday for my wife.

Dined on April 22, 2016

The entire staff made us feel like royalty. Chris is absolutely wonderful. The food...fabulous! The chocolate cake, I will dream about!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Top 5 in Charleston

Dined on April 22, 2016

Top 5 in Charleston

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

Dined on April 21, 2016

Oak steakhouse lived up to it's highly touted position as one of the best restaurants in Charleston, on our recent visit. The floors are wide plank oak, with the bar on the side, and a very busy bartender, who looked like she knew her stuff. My Chopin martini was excellent, with blue cheese olives, as was my wife's cosmo. We both created our own 'surf and turf' by ordering the petite filet mignon (5 oz.) and her pairing it with 5 ample shrimp, while I chose the crab cake, which was about as big as my head. We split a chopped salad that would have made any Chicago steakhouse (the standard by which we judge steakhouses) proud, and had a side of grits, that were very rich and excellent. The steaks were cooked perfectly, hers medium, and mine medium rare, and served with a side a bernaise, which was a nice addition at no extra charge. We ended our meal with coffees an a piece of their excellent chocolate layer cake. The experience was further enhanced not only by the ambience of the room itself, but by the wonderful service of our waiter, Bryan, who had not only helped with menu suggestions, but also anticipated our every need. This restaurant has three levels, for a deceptively large amount of seating, since each area is intimate. The only negative that I can bring is that the noise level is pretty loud so I wouldn't consider this place for a quiet, romantic dinner. It is vibrant, though, and since you can see the kitchen from where we were seated, I told my wife that all the activity reminded me of the famour LeRoy Nieman painting of chefs and waiters in the kitchen. Overall, it was a truly great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We absolutely loved the food, ambiance a ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

We absolutely loved the food, ambiance and wait staff. Oysters Rockefeller was sublime. Filet mignon was perfectly aged and charred to perfection. Highly recommended.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday at Oak

Dined on April 19, 2016

A mother/daughter dinner to celebrate her 21st. Lovely evening. Special treatment. Grea memory for us both.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as always

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

The food at the Oak is always delicious, you can count on it, but what makes the restaurant great is the people. The managers make old and new customers feel welcomed immediately and check on you throughout the evening. And the staff are amazing, friendly, knowledgeable, attentive without being overwhelming. And if you've been before they will most likely remember if There is something you don't like to eat. The best!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience. Wonderful service.

Dined on April 17, 2016

The services was amazing right from the start. The recommendations on sides was on point, and they included a desert on the house for a birthday. We will be back next visit to Charleston!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service1
value2

Great setting, good food, need to work on service!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Our only complaint is that they must have misplaced our dinner order, after a considerable wait I had to address the issue with the hostess . Our waiter seemed to disappear until we complained. After another wait our food arrived and then the manager came and apologized. When you spend $250 a couple for a meal you really do expect better service. Others were getting served in a timely manner so I think it was a snafu for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful meal!

Dined on April 14, 2016

Wonderful meal for my son's birthday! He said it was the best steak ever!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Experience

Dined on April 10, 2016

Oak Steakhouse was a wonderful host to our first wedding anniversary recently. The food was extremely well cooked, tasted incredible and just the right mix of available entrees/sides. The service was impeccable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and Food was excellent! We will be back

Dined on April 9, 2016

Our waiter was top notch! He explained the menu and also suggested various wines! He was dead on! Everything was great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

exceptional experience!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Our service was excellent - we had an issue with a cocktail that was addressed immediately. The oysters were outstanding and both our steaks were flavorful & perfectly cooked. Expensive but worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Second time there and still a fave in Ch ...

Dined on April 7, 2016

Second time there and still a fave in Charleston!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Don't miss the Brussel Sprouts

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

The restaurant is spread over the three floors. The selection of food was good and the service was equal to the food. It is worth visiting just for the Brussel Sprouts and Bacon Mac and Cheese. I think the prices are a little high for the quality of food received. I was surprised the Ribeye Steak was under seasoned.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

To enjoy conversation, don't dine on the mezzanine

Dined on April 3, 2016

The mezzanine level was noisy because of the noise level from the bar and first floor dining room. That was passable but combined with the outrageously loud 4 top next to us, the noise level rose to an unpleasant level. We left before dessert. I would recommend making reservations for the third floor as that dining room is much better for carrying on conversation. As always, food was great and service was pleasant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing food and knowledgeable staff

Dined on March 26, 2016

Went for dinner when my dad was in town and I got the filet and he got the mixed grill. Both were cooked perfectly. I also recommend the smoked bacon Mac and cheese. Our server was very knowledgeable about the wine list (which is huge) and recommended a wonderful Pinot Noir. Overall highly recommend Oak!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ALWAYS a winner!

Dined on March 24, 2016

Oak is always a great choice. Romantic/Special Occasions or something a little more laid back, that's your go-to. The food is just incredible, the service is A+, and you'll enjoy every bit of the experience. Of course, THE STEAK; but their Oysters on the Half Shell and market fish are always perfect. Oh, and the WHOLE FRIED LOBSTER. Just go there!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.