About Nuovo Cappetto

2711 N. Stanton
El Paso, TX 79902
View Larger Map

With a heritage in El Paso dating back to 1956, Nuovo Cappetto is El Paso’s favorite and most authentic Italian Restaurant. Located in the heart of the Cincinnati entertainment district, Nuovo Cappetto features a full Italian menu serving pasta, pizzas, veal, chicken, beef and seafood. Our Sunday Brunch features unique Italian flavors with a little southwestern flair. Our wine menu is sure to please even the most discriminating palate and we feature a fabulous bar serving all of your favorite spirits. We are open 7 days a week and offer convenient carryout service. For information call us or visit us at our website. And don't forget the Chocolate Incredible!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am- 4:00pm, Sunday: 10:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Cincinnati

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(915) 532-0700

Website:
http://www.nuovocappetto.com/

Entertainment:
Fridays we feature the sounds of April Ticket, a duet playing contemporary English and Spanish sounds. Saturday we feature the progressive Jazz sound of the Sam Barlow band. Music begins at 9:30 pm. both nights.

Catering:
We offer full line catering or drop off catering for parties up to 500. Check out our catering menu at our website.

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking is available in our center as well as free valet parking. We also offer free parking at the Glory Road parking garage one block away.

Public Transit:
Located one block from the Glory Road transfer station.

Executive Chef:
Moses Mendez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Nuovo Cappetto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
El Paso
Most Booked
El Paso
Best Restaurants in El Paso ›

neighborhood gem (7)
special occasion (7)
good for groups (7)
See All
romantic (6)
fit for foodies (4)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
notable wine list (2)
great for brunch (2)
late-night find (1)
scenic view (1)
hot spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
42 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5

Service was great for being triple sat w ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Service was great for being triple sat with big tops

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on May 26, 2016

Was able to make a late reservation. I personally don't like to dine in anywhere close to closing time as for respect to the staff. We arrived approx an hour before closing and we're greeted with open arms. Staff was great and welcoming . Our server was awsome and very tentative. He always made sure we didn't need anything. Atmosphere was different than the original location but was nice and calm. Was very happy with the late dining experience and will definitely be back. Of course the food there is always great!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Gave Capetto's a last chance, but food w ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Gave Capetto's a last chance, but food was worse than last time, when it was terrible. I shall never go back. It is not the restaurant it was for years on Montana. Last time I was there for lunch I asked for a Pork Chop lunch, and server said they were out of Pork Chops. Had Veal and it was worse than an old shoe. Sad, but true.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a Great Experience

Dined on April 27, 2016

We had a group luncheon for Administrative and Professionals Day and our waiter (Leo) provided excellent service. Food was delivered on time and was delicious!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful El Paso tradition with...fabulous food

Dined on March 10, 2016

The menu is expansive including a children's menu. Great variety fabulous food.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Adrian and Lynda Najera

Dined on January 16, 2016

i just have to point out my wife Lynda selected the Spaghetti and artichoke plate, and when she tried it it had too much garlic. I tasted it to be sure and i agreed with my wife. our server and unfortunately i don' t remember her name took it back and they made my wife a new plate. during this time i believe the manager made sure the plate was made in a timely manner and making sure we were ok. My wife got her fresh plate and this time it had less garlic and really good. we really appreciated the time and attention that was given. WE CAN'T THANK YOU ENOUGH and hope to visit soon again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Dinner review

Dined on January 9, 2016

Overall had I had a good time at the place. Only drawback was the wait staff was not very attentive to their guests. I really did not know who our waiter or waitress was. I noticed that some tables had the same thing. One table was trying to pay and finally went to the bar area where the wait staff was hanging around to pay for their meal. I myself finally grabbed someone to pay for my meal. More supervision is probably needed.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great New Year Dining

Dined on January 1, 2016

in spite of New Years Eve, Nuovo Cappetto was not crowded. Our table was ready 10 minites before the reserved time. The service was attentive and Great!! Food was excellent . Sabroso!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and fun staff on a snowy even ...

Dined on December 27, 2015

Great food and fun staff on a snowy evening!

food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday Celebration

Dined on November 18, 2015

We were in a party of 6 and were there to celebrate a special birthday. The service was impeccable and very friendly! In addition, the food was outstanding! This was our first visit but I know that we will be back because the menu was amazing and there was so much more that we want to try. Our waiter was taking such great care of us and allowing us to have a great time that we didn't realize that we were the last customers there and the staff was politely waiting for us to leave so that they could finish what they needed to do before going home. For sure, we will be more cognizant of the time though, but we will go back!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice, romantic evening.

Dined on September 7, 2015

Our server was perfect and the food was excellent. I had lasagna and my husband has the tuna. They were flavorful and rich.

Tags: romantic
food1
ambience1
service3

Disappointing

vip
Dined on June 3, 2015

Appetizers came out of a bag and were put in fryer. Some were still frozen in center and all glopped together . Pasta dish w cream sauce was served luke warm. Way too much sauce for delicate pasta. White wine wasn't served at correct temperature. Very disappointing. Would not return

food1
ambience2
service4

Friendly staff. Awful food.

vip
Dined on April 29, 2015

We ate here on a slow Tuesday evening (only 2 other occupied tables). The waitress was very friendly but inexperienced in serving the wine and timing the drink orders. By the time she found out that they did not have the ingredients for the drinks we ordered, the salads arrived and we opted to just skip the drinks. There was no bread offered. The Mediterranean salad was just weird (very heavy on chopped radishes??? Making it virtually inedible). My fettuccine with homemade Italian sausage was swimming in an extraordinary amount of melted butter, the sausage was unspiced and the whole thing was just extraordinarily greasy, dense and tasteless. My wife's pizza was soggy with very little of a bland tomatoe sauce and the same spiceless sausage. We ate very little and threw the leftovers away as soon as we left the restaurant. Overall, the worst meal we have had in recent memory.

food3
ambience3
service4

Food was ok not great.

Dined on April 18, 2015

I ordered spaghetti and meatballs. There were only two meatballs and the marinara sauce was not very tasty.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious and the environme ...

Dined on December 23, 2014

The food was delicious and the environment was very nice during lunch.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

wonderful night!

Dined on December 21, 2014

Despite the Christmas parties around us the food was excellent and our server Lauren was exceptional. Outstanding wine list and the seafood fettuccine with marinara was to die for. Can't wait to go back

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was fantastic. John took great c ...

Dined on December 21, 2014

Dinner was fantastic. John took great care of us and the chicken picatta was the best anywhere! The lasagne melts in your mouth! A perfect evening to start off the holidays! -123

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Very tasty experience

Dined on November 23, 2014

This place has a large menu with excellent varieties from Chicago deep dish pizza to seafood. Serving sizes where large. We shared some food all around. Prices are a little higher than average. Great service. We would eat here again for a special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service1

Potential

Dined on November 3, 2014

Overall the experience wasn't bad, the service was far from being good but you can tell the Chef put time into the recipes. Sadly the cook who was on over cooked the majority of our meal. The potential was there, but the execution in the kitchen needs to be tuned and the service staff needs to be taught what guest service is all about. On a positive note, the manager on duty was a pleasure to talk to and could easily have the entire house packed any night he is there if he did more table touches.

food2
ambience3
service1

Disappointed

Dined on October 19, 2014

We loved Cappetto's when it was on Montana. We looked forward to trying this new one. We were not pleased and might not come back. The restaurant was empty yet they took almost an hour to get our dinner. Steak was not cooked right, yet due to the fact we were going to a concert we did not want to send it back. Did not have time for dessert.

food5
ambience4
service4

Amazing & Delicious

Dined on October 17, 2014

I liked it the moment I walked in – felt welcomed by the staff right away. Our waiter was very friendly, made great recommendation for the sweet wine and the appetizer, Shrimp Tre Formaggi, was amazing. The Chicken and Green Chile Lasagna Alfredo was delicious, my friend agreed and also enjoyed his Fettuccini Primavera with Chicken, and so was the Tiramisu. Definitely coming back and highly recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Nuovo Capetto's is perfect!!!!

Dined on September 13, 2014

Nuovo Capetto's is perfect for all occasions. From anniversaries to birthdays or just because. The food is delicious and the ambiance is great. The staff is amiable and very attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

Dined on August 26, 2014

The best Fettucine w/seafood & marinara sauce in El Paso

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu is extensive and offers a vast ...

Dined on June 15, 2014

The menu is extensive and offers a vast variety of foods. I have tried many items off the menu and have enjoyed every single one of them. The salad is wonderful...not just the romaine lettuce that most restaurants serve. We only eat at Nuovo Cappetto's when we want Italian food..there is no comparison with other Italian restaurants. We were extremely ecstatic when they reopened.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience1
service4

Not the same!

Dined on June 15, 2014

Food is great but the atmosphere is not the same....I miss the old location and look....

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience3
service3

Great Food, Good Service!

vip
Dined on June 12, 2014

I had a business dinner here on Wednesday evening, and albeit it UTEP's graduation, I found the service a bit slow, BUT the food was very good and the waiter was very nice. He even took off a cup of poblano soup that was delicious, simply too spicy for my palate. He did this without us even asking, which I thought was very nice. We will be back!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5

High end Italian cuisine in El Paso - hi ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2014

High end Italian cuisine in El Paso - highlights wonderful service, excellent Caesar Salad and Cappucino's. Pasta was bland; veal was ok. Great for groups and it was quite crowded and active.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

love the new Capettos

Dined on May 24, 2014

Would always go there when I was a kid and was devastated it closed. Now with this modern Italian restaurant I can enjoy it as an adult!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service3

Overall Excellent

Dined on May 18, 2014

Although the food was excellent and service was adequate, the fact that I'd specifically made a reservation and the table was not ready upon arrival was a tad disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Cappetto's Rejuvenated

Dined on May 15, 2014

Cappetto's has reopened in a stylish setting in the Kern Place entertainment area. The restaurant is sheik with an open view of the kitchen in the back of the restaurant with an open brick oven used for baking pizza. A rectangular full bar is nestled near the entrance Tables are lined along the windows, and a larger dining area is in the rear portion. White table cloths contrast with a dark interior and has an elegant feel. The menu is extensive and features most of the items that Cappetto's has served for generations, accompanied by a nice wine menu. They've added a few zesty specialties with a dash of Hatch chili pepper for a southwest zing. The waitstaff is superb and tends to your wishes throughout the meal. Bon Apetit!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience2
service3

so disappointed

Dined on May 11, 2014

Went for brunch. Our frittatas (we had one of each kind) were no such thing. They were just an omelet cooked a different way. My husband's eggs benedict came out cold and had to be sent back. And overall food was slow to come out. Just in general completely unexciting and disappointing and we wished we had gone somewhere else.

food4
ambience4
service3

Nice relaunch, more modern

Dined on March 27, 2014

Nice relaunch, more modern appearance from ol restaurant from sat I hear. Pleasant experience for 1st visit. Service could use some improvement, short staffed waiting staff

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service2

The food and sevice were not

Dined on March 9, 2014

The food and sevice were not up to par with the reviews left. Overcooked pasta, nasty food overall. You can dine a lot better and cheaper at Olive Garden and I dont like Oive Garden.

food2
ambience2
service5

Quantity over Quality

Dined on March 1, 2014

Same old comfort food. Bread drenched in garlic margarine. The marinara was deep, complex and flavorful- more of a heavier sauce base. Ordered the breaded mushrooms for appetizer. Unfortunately, they appeared to be from a frozen food manufacturer, not good. Shrimp scampi- anemic little shrimp swimming in butter. Lobster ravioli- soggy and lacking flavor. What is the point of having lobster ravioli if the lobster is unrecognizable?! It is what is is. Our waitress was great - attentive and helpful. A little too loud for a quiet, intimate experience. Too dark for several people to be able read the menu without a light source. Made things interesting, I guess. I was expecting something different with creative and lighter, meals.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great All Around

Dined on February 23, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our whole experience and plan to return soon!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great luncheon!

Dined on February 11, 2014

My red hat group met for lunch here. They had our table set up and ready. The House Italian dressing was amazing with the mixed greens salad. So refreshing. Everyone loved their meals. Service was well-timed and very friendly. I definitely will return to try more dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

NewCapp1stvst

Dined on January 24, 2014

Not for romantics, but a relaxed ambience that lends itself to an after-show get together. The service was well-timed, attentive, and engaging Our dish-Pizza Primavera-was the BEST! the accompanying dinner salads were a delicious complement Loved the Scripture (Philippians 4:13) inscribed on the wall above the window.! All staff encountered were very friendly! Will be coming back soon to try the other dishes on a fantastic menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

mom's birthday

Dined on January 1, 2014

We took mom out for her birthday dinner. She suggested the restaurant since I'm from out of town. I didn't know what to expect but I have to say that I was happily surprised. Good food selection, good service, and the food was delicious. I will probably suggest going there again on my next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service5

New Years Eve dinner

Dined on January 1, 2014

My family and I had been spending our New Years Eve out at the old Capettos for years. This year we weren't sure if we wanted to try the Nuovo Capettos. We thought it would be the same taste we knew but a lot more expensive since they had moved to a trendier area of town but we where pleasantly surprised. Same great food, same great service, and no difference in price just a bit further of a drive for us but we will visit this establishment again. Our group was very pleased and got great compliments on the choice. Thank You.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Family Friendly

Dined on December 31, 2013

The food and service were excellent! It's great for any occasion. Portions are huge so entrees may be split if dining with kids. It is family friendly but also great for a date nigh or adult evening out.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.