About Nundini Chef's Table

500 N Shepherd Dr
Houston, TX 77007
View Larger Map

The Nundini Chef's Table is Houston's destination for authentic Italian food and products. Nestled in an unassuming warehouse in the Heights, the Chef's Table transports you to the streets of Italy. Get true Italian food in our full-service restaurant, featuring dishes from many regions in Italy. Or take a stroll through our shop, and purchase the very products used to make your delicious meal. Offering a vast selection of wine from every region in Italy, the choice is yours as to what part of Italy you wish to visit today. Indulge in the rich flavors of our Homemade Gelato and Sorbetto. Come to the Chef's Table, where every day is like a trip to Italy with all your friends and family.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm


Dinner:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm


Dinner:
Friday-Saturday:5:00pm-10:00pm

Cross Street:
W. 6th St.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 861-6331

Website:
http://www.nundini.com/

Catering:
We do provide

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet is provided, but self parking is an available option as well.

Public Transit:
Bus stop on the corner of North Shepherd and 6th.

Executive Chef:
Giampaolo Nundini

Additional:
Beer, Delivery, Happy Hour, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Penne ai quattro formaggi
carpaccio
Margherita Pizza
Bruscetta
Tomato Basil Soup
Mussels/cozze
Parma Sandwich w/ tomato & basil
diablo pizza
Tiramisu
Cotolette Di Agnello Scottadito
Panetone
Veggie Panini
Canolli And Tart
Parma Panini
Chedda Beef Panini
Lentil Soup

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Nundini Chef's Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
See All
Good for Groups (7)
Special Occasion (5)
Romantic (5)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Scenic View (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
186 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had the Houston restaurant weeks menu ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

We had the Houston restaurant weeks menu. Our appetizers, the artichoke bottomed, were both warm and cold as if they had not been microwaved long enough. My wife's salmon was over cooked and my veal scallopini was more cubed veal than a scallopini. And it was over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

The lamb chops and the accompanying saut ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The lamb chops and the accompanying sautéed mixed vegetables were fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A regular customer who loves the food an ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

A regular customer who loves the food and the ambiance. Wine is well priced as well. This time the service was terrible. One person ordered vegan and was clear about no cheese - guess what she received? Lamb chops were delicious but waiter never asked how they were to be cooked so that person had to bring him back out to clarify. Owner was informed and he said "sorry it is the waiters fault"

Note to Vegans - they including the owner has no idea what you eat even though their menu clearly stated that they do.

With all this said - I would go again with out a doubt.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Had an excellent experience at Nundini's ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Had an excellent experience at Nundini's. We have driven by for months and always wanted to go in, so glad we finally did. The service was great! The wait staff was attentive, knowledgeable, and did not rush us at all. The food was fantastic!!!! Loved the Risotto al nero di sepia most of all. Everything we had was wonderful-artichoke bottoms, cream of mushroom soup, salmon, and the veal chop. We will definitely return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service is always phenomenal, and th ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The service is always phenomenal, and the restaurant itself is cute and cozy (inside an Italian market and gelateria). My only issue is that the food is very hit or miss. This time around, we had a pizza (wonderful), soup of the day (also wonderful), bucatini amatriciana (terrible - bland sauce, mushy bland meatballs), saltimbocca (delicious but nothing special), various risottos (good flavor, but undercooked), and limoncello cake and gelato (all delicious). Last time I was there, I had pizza (good but not great), bruschetta (amazing), the Girelle pasta (totally mediocre).

If their entrees were more consistent - particularly their pastas - this would be a great place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Poor service and average food. This was ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Poor service and average food. This was my second time dinning with them but the same story; never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The minute my daughter and I walked in t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The minute my daughter and I walked in the aroma was wonderful. We had the Houston Restaurant Week lunch and it was a delicious meal and good value. I live in Clear Lake so I brought a cooler to take home some meat from the counter. We will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Even though we arrived early we were sea ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Even though we arrived early we were seated quickly. Our waiter promptly made sure we had drinks & menus even though we were waiting on a 4th person to arrive. We were never rushed & made to feel quite welcome even though we were the last guests to leave. I can't wait to return! Our waiter was superb, I just wish I remembered his name.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As always Nundini's is never disappointi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

As always Nundini's is never disappointing. Food, value and pricing are A-1.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenominal dining experience ! Every tim ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Phenominal dining experience !

Every time that I dine at Nundinis I am amazed at the exquisite food not to mention the over the top selection of dishes and wines. Everyone from the chefs to the waiters to the free valet are extraordinary and know just how to make the dining experience a joy.

The owner Giampalo is an absolute genius at suggesting just the right wine to go with whatever you are eating if you ask him which is priceless for me.

This wonderful restaurant and deli in an unusual location is a gem and well worth the effort to find and visit

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were incredible!!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Service and food were incredible!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is classic Italian and is beyond in ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Food is classic Italian and is beyond incredible and the wine list of Italian wines is extensive. Has a traditional Italian market look and feel which adds to the ambiance and experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Not as good as it once was. Perhaps the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Not as good as it once was. Perhaps the cheif has changed. For many years this kitchen was pitch perfect with itallian cuisine. Tonight the risotto was quite undercooked, the dried mushrooms had twigs that should have been removed and the cheese uses was not parmigiano as was described. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Delicious meal in a nice environment. M ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Delicious meal in a nice environment. Much better than the chain italian restaurants in decor, service and food quality.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Ugly outside, lovely inside

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

We must have driven by Nundini's a zillion times before our weekly dinner group decided to go there. Once inside, the food, service and atmosphere surprised. The place probably has the largest Italian wine list in town...and at very reasonable (almost cheap) prices. The waiter we'd had before was very helpful in sorting through wine options.

Don't be put off by the exterior; Nundini's is a great place to have dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dessert was awesome!! Our waiter George ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

Dessert was awesome!! Our waiter George was phenomenal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious Pizza and Gelato

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

This was our second time dining here. This time was for an early dinner. We split a pizza as an appetizer, it was delicious! The sauce and cheese were amazing. My boyfriend had lamb chops with potatoes, it was excellent as well. I had the special of the night, snapper with shrimp saffron sauce and risotto. The fish was just okay, but the saffron sauce and the risotto were delicious. We ended it off with gelato, which is always a treat here. My boyfriend says its the best mango gelato/ice cream/sorbet he's ever had!

Service is blah. The guy wasn't rude or anything, but seemed new (wasn't well versed with the menu) and didn't come around much. Took our order as "so what do you want" No introduction of his name etc...again, not rude, just not friendly. Our first experience with a different waiter was similar as well. May just be the tone here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We eat at Nundini's frequently. This tim ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

We eat at Nundini's frequently. This time our server was not good. We ordered an appetizer (bruschetta) and it took about 20 mins to come out, and beef carpaccio is what showed up. We were hungry so we ate it but it was frustrating. We then ordered our meals. Again two of the tree entrees were wrong. Our pizza we ordered without olives and it came covered in them and the second dish was just the wrong dish. We ordered the prosciutto wrapped shrimp and a seafood fettuccine was served. A very frustrating dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Something different

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

In the mood to try something different. The restaurant itself was charming, but overall the service was too slow and the menu selection was limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Birthday Party Issues

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Invited 15 of my wife's and my friends for her surprise dinner party. Our food was brought out at odd times. Our appetizers came fast but entrees were very slow. Several of which were either prepared incorrectly (overdone steaks) or completely the wrong item (salmon pizza instead of carne). They presented my wife with a birthday dessert but didn't inquire what she would like and gave her something to which she was allergic (we could smell the lemon; we didn't discover this the hard way).

I'm sure this place is great for 2-4 people. As they are just down the street, we can give them another try.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Love the food..service is harried

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

I continue to go back for the food. The service is friendly, but the wait staff is often distracted and lacking focus. A bit more polish is needed. Example...if a large party comes in (as happened on my last visit) it seems to fluster everyone, including the management (who barks orders at all of the staff). Would love to see challenges taken in stride and handled with professional confidence. It's sometimes hard to enjoy the delicious food when the service is stressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Excellent

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

This is an excellent dining experience from start to finish. Great wine selection and reasonably priced. Nice ambiance and wonderful service. We go there frequently.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A hidden gem in an industrial park area.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Our recent visit to Nandini's was both a pleasant surprise and minor disappointment. The restaurant portion has increased in size to accommodate more customers as business increases. Unfortunately at the expense of the Grocery portion. Not having been there for some time I was pleasantly surprised by the ambiance, the extensive wine selection ( stored by region and type, helping to make an easier choice.)

The restaurant was clean and comfortable. Our waiter was very friendly and informative, explaining the menu and specials of the day. A very good choice of wine was offered and enjoyed. our meals were delivered in a timely manner and were very good, being enjoyed by all. My meal, Spaghetti Allo Scoglio Reef Spaghetti-(Clams / Mussells / Calamari and Shrimps) in a light, fresh Marinara Sauce was delicious. Also enjoyed was the Maialino alle Mele

Pork Tenderloin sauteed in EVOO with fresh Apple and Onion Sauce, served with Garlic Rosemary Potatoes.

Portions were good and served in adequate portions and straight from the kitchen. All in all and enjoyable visit we would want to repeat in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Hidden Heights Gem

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Nundini's dishes out some fabulous Italian food. super wine list.. not to miss!

We had a large group and unfortunately, a new waiter.. service was 'ok'...., but it took us an hour to receive our bill, pay it (had to be split) and depart ...very slow.. we forgive them.. but.. with other experienced waitesr standing around, it would have been nice to see them help the new guy... suggestion... .. ask for your bill early and expect long wait.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

High quality, authentic and delicious

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

My latest visit to Nundini was a business lunch for 3. We ordered the fritto misto to share as a starter; the fry was light and blond (as it should be). My guest ordered the veal and a pizza; each was very happy. I had the pasta radiatori with sausage and pistacchio/almond cream. The pasta was divine but really too rich to finish at lunch. Service was good, if a bit slow for business hour lunch.

For dinner, there is an excellent wine selection featuring the different regions of Italy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent hidden gem

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Nundini Chef's Table has the friendliest service and tastiest Italian comfort food I have found in Houston. It is out of the way in an industrial park but they have a bright sign along Shepherd. Stop in and have a great meal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food; great wine!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Great food; great wine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fun Birthday gathering

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We had a great time once again at Nundini's. Marisol, our server, is always a delight. She is attentive enough without hovering and does it all with a smile and a laugh. The food is always spot on and the wine selection is expansive and affordable. We love this little gem for special occasions, and will be back again soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

50/50

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The scene was very romantic for a Valentines day. The food was ok. Their wine was good. But their owner was terrible. He was getting after one of his employees in front of customers making the environment uncomfortable.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

There for Valentine's Day and the specia ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

There for Valentine's Day and the special menu. Some courses were excellent some were mediocre . Service less than mediocre. After watching parties seated after us being served entrees we asked and were imediately served a luke warm entree. No one inquired about our experience. Server appeared to be inexperienced and neglected us except to share a couple of slightly off color jokes which were not appreciated. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

If you're trying to have an actual, adul ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

If you're trying to have an actual, adult dinner do not come here. Period. I was so surprised by their inability to sit us in an actual "dining" setting, instead sitting us in a deli by a door opening on to Shepherd Dr. The ambience was of a crowded New York deli without the crowd or the food. What an absolute joke.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Valentine's at Nundini's

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We love Nundini's. The menu is great and the service is terrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I only tried their pizza. I ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

My wife and I only tried their pizza. I had the bufala pizza, which was very good. I would recommend it. My wife had the dontes inferno pizza which was also good. There were too many toppings for our liking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Intimate Italian setting, rich dark wood ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Intimate Italian setting, rich dark wood furnishings, & softly lit. Fantastic wine selection, very knowledgable servers, and absolutely stellar food. Make sure to ask your server about the dish size, as you may want to add a side to some of the nightly specials. Much (if not all) of the pasta is handmade and you can absolutely tell. One of our go-to date spots!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Go

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Just go. It's out of this world good. There are reviews of a crazy waiter - he wasn't present. The service was great. Super value! Just go and try it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic pasta dishes

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 19, 2016

My husband and I ordered the Cappelletti stuffed with short ribs and the Radiatori with sausage in an almond and pistachio cream sauce. They were AMAZING! Our waiter recommended them and he was absolutely right.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Find!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Ate dinner here with a couple friends last Saturday night. Great atmosphere! Food was really good. Great wine list! Desserts were to die for! Had creme brulee, mousse trio (though think it's more like gelato) and cannolli. Shepherd Salad was fresh and perfectly dressed. I ordered the Radiatori con Salsiccia e Pesto di Pistacchi e Mandorle. Don't let the long name scare you! I enjoyed every bite. My friends ordered Cappellitti alla Rostinciana and Bucantini All 'Amatriciana con Polpette (spaghetti and meatballs). Both enjoyed their meals. I'm looking forward to going back and trying one of their paninis. Waiter was a bit odd, but hey, we're all different. That's what makes the world go 'round!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Surprised

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

We have visited here a few times and have always had a pleasant experience so what I had to decide where to go for a special occasion it was an easy choice. Sadly, this will be the last time I come here for a while. Our waiter appeared to be on something and extremely combative. We asked for a particular wine we have had there a few times and he said they have never had and it even made fun of it and became rude when we expressed that we have had it before at the restaurant. After a few oddly and unpleasant experiences we finally got the owner to help us, who did with out question and a great attitude. While he was trying to help us, the previous waiter came over and ask, "do they have a problem with me" and then started to become combative with him. He was pleasantly trying to dismiss him but not before others in the restaurant noticed what was happening. We waited for ever for our food, that was lackluster to say the least and I think we were checked on maybe twice. I have to be honest, I was a little sad about our experience because we actually bought someone who had never been. Nothing is worse then going on about a place only be to be let down. It will probably be a while before we dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Friends' Get together

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

Two of my friends and I wanted to try a local italian restaurant and we decided on here. Upon arrival, there was only 1 waiter who was taking care of all the tables in the restaurant. He seemed flustered and overwhelmed. Service was just ok and the food was fair. Probably would not return.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Highly recommended, high-end, yet casual & comfy.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

First time visit and we were very impressed. Wine list was made up of entirely Italian wines, sorted by region. Selections were outstanding and prices were set much closer to retail than usual. Very fair pricing! Food was truly Italian made from great ingredients. My table sampled one of the pizzas as an appetizer (HAD to try the pizza!). Pizzas are made fresh, to-order, in full view of the dining room and cooked to crisp crust consistency in their wood-fired oven! Best pizza that I have had in Houston to-date!! We all ordered entrees from the menu with the three of us sampling broadly, one order of lamb chops, one of fish and one of rib-eye steak (a special that evening). The lamb and steak were perfect, while the grouper was just slightly over-cooked. Each entree came with vegetables and starch that were paired nicely with the protein. These accompaniments were uniformly excellent and we all loved the beautiful presentation of the dishes. The kitchen is open and visible from the dining room, adding a little more to the experience. For dessert we shared a trio of chocolate mousses and sampled one of their award winning gelatos (all are house-made). All-in-all a wonderful dinner and a restaurant to which we plan to return often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.