About Nundini Chef's Table

500 N Shepherd Dr
Houston, TX 77007
View Larger Map

The Nundini Chef's Table is Houston's destination for authentic Italian food and products. Nestled in an unassuming warehouse in the Heights, the Chef's Table transports you to the streets of Italy. Get true Italian food in our full-service restaurant, featuring dishes from many regions in Italy. Or take a stroll through our shop, and purchase the very products used to make your delicious meal. Offering a vast selection of wine from every region in Italy, the choice is yours as to what part of Italy you wish to visit today. Indulge in the rich flavors of our Homemade Gelato and Sorbetto. Come to the Chef's Table, where every day is like a trip to Italy with all your friends and family.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Wine Bar, Pizzeria

Hours of Operation:
Lunch:

Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm


dinner:
Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
6th

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 861-6331

Website:
http://www.nundini.com/

Catering:
We do provide

Public Transit:
Bus stop on the corner of North Shepherd and 6th.

Executive Chef:
Giampaolo Nundini

Additional:
Beer, Delivery, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Nundini Chef's Table Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.7

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Houston
Notable Wine List
Houston
Best Restaurants in Heights / Washington ›

notable wine list (20)
neighborhood gem (17)
fit for foodies (15)
See All
romantic (13)
special occasion (10)
good for groups (9)
great for lunch (5)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
173 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service3

Not as good as it once was. Perhaps the ...

Dined 5 days ago

Not as good as it once was. Perhaps the cheif has changed. For many years this kitchen was pitch perfect with itallian cuisine. Tonight the risotto was quite undercooked, the dried mushrooms had twigs that should have been removed and the cheese uses was not parmigiano as was described. Disappointing.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Delicious meal in a nice environment. M ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Delicious meal in a nice environment. Much better than the chain italian restaurants in decor, service and food quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ugly outside, lovely inside

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

We must have driven by Nundini's a zillion times before our weekly dinner group decided to go there. Once inside, the food, service and atmosphere surprised. The place probably has the largest Italian wine list in town...and at very reasonable (almost cheap) prices. The waiter we'd had before was very helpful in sorting through wine options. Don't be put off by the exterior; Nundini's is a great place to have dinner.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Dessert was awesome!! Our waiter George ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

Dessert was awesome!! Our waiter George was phenomenal!!

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Delicious Pizza and Gelato

Dined on April 23, 2016

This was our second time dining here. This time was for an early dinner. We split a pizza as an appetizer, it was delicious! The sauce and cheese were amazing. My boyfriend had lamb chops with potatoes, it was excellent as well. I had the special of the night, snapper with shrimp saffron sauce and risotto. The fish was just okay, but the saffron sauce and the risotto were delicious. We ended it off with gelato, which is always a treat here. My boyfriend says its the best mango gelato/ice cream/sorbet he's ever had! Service is blah. The guy wasn't rude or anything, but seemed new (wasn't well versed with the menu) and didn't come around much. Took our order as "so what do you want" No introduction of his name etc...again, not rude, just not friendly. Our first experience with a different waiter was similar as well. May just be the tone here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

We eat at Nundini's frequently. This tim ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

We eat at Nundini's frequently. This time our server was not good. We ordered an appetizer (bruschetta) and it took about 20 mins to come out, and beef carpaccio is what showed up. We were hungry so we ate it but it was frustrating. We then ordered our meals. Again two of the tree entrees were wrong. Our pizza we ordered without olives and it came covered in them and the second dish was just the wrong dish. We ordered the prosciutto wrapped shrimp and a seafood fettuccine was served. A very frustrating dining experience.

food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Something different

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

In the mood to try something different. The restaurant itself was charming, but overall the service was too slow and the menu selection was limited.

food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Birthday Party Issues

Dined on March 30, 2016

Invited 15 of my wife's and my friends for her surprise dinner party. Our food was brought out at odd times. Our appetizers came fast but entrees were very slow. Several of which were either prepared incorrectly (overdone steaks) or completely the wrong item (salmon pizza instead of carne). They presented my wife with a birthday dessert but didn't inquire what she would like and gave her something to which she was allergic (we could smell the lemon; we didn't discover this the hard way). I'm sure this place is great for 2-4 people. As they are just down the street, we can give them another try.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Love the food..service is harried

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

I continue to go back for the food. The service is friendly, but the wait staff is often distracted and lacking focus. A bit more polish is needed. Example...if a large party comes in (as happened on my last visit) it seems to fluster everyone, including the management (who barks orders at all of the staff). Would love to see challenges taken in stride and handled with professional confidence. It's sometimes hard to enjoy the delicious food when the service is stressed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on March 19, 2016

This is an excellent dining experience from start to finish. Great wine selection and reasonably priced. Nice ambiance and wonderful service. We go there frequently.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

A hidden gem in an industrial park area.

Dined on March 19, 2016

Our recent visit to Nandini's was both a pleasant surprise and minor disappointment. The restaurant portion has increased in size to accommodate more customers as business increases. Unfortunately at the expense of the Grocery portion. Not having been there for some time I was pleasantly surprised by the ambiance, the extensive wine selection ( stored by region and type, helping to make an easier choice.) The restaurant was clean and comfortable. Our waiter was very friendly and informative, explaining the menu and specials of the day. A very good choice of wine was offered and enjoyed. our meals were delivered in a timely manner and were very good, being enjoyed by all. My meal, Spaghetti Allo Scoglio Reef Spaghetti-(Clams / Mussells / Calamari and Shrimps) in a light, fresh Marinara Sauce was delicious. Also enjoyed was the Maialino alle Mele Pork Tenderloin sauteed in EVOO with fresh Apple and Onion Sauce, served with Garlic Rosemary Potatoes. Portions were good and served in adequate portions and straight from the kitchen. All in all and enjoyable visit we would want to repeat in the future.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Hidden Heights Gem

Dined on March 18, 2016

Nundini's dishes out some fabulous Italian food. super wine list.. not to miss! We had a large group and unfortunately, a new waiter.. service was 'ok'...., but it took us an hour to receive our bill, pay it (had to be split) and depart ...very slow.. we forgive them.. but.. with other experienced waitesr standing around, it would have been nice to see them help the new guy... suggestion... .. ask for your bill early and expect long wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

High quality, authentic and delicious

Dined on March 16, 2016

My latest visit to Nundini was a business lunch for 3. We ordered the fritto misto to share as a starter; the fry was light and blond (as it should be). My guest ordered the veal and a pizza; each was very happy. I had the pasta radiatori with sausage and pistacchio/almond cream. The pasta was divine but really too rich to finish at lunch. Service was good, if a bit slow for business hour lunch. For dinner, there is an excellent wine selection featuring the different regions of Italy.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent hidden gem

Dined on February 27, 2016

Nundini Chef's Table has the friendliest service and tastiest Italian comfort food I have found in Houston. It is out of the way in an industrial park but they have a bright sign along Shepherd. Stop in and have a great meal.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great food; great wine!

Dined on February 21, 2016

Great food; great wine!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun Birthday gathering

Dined on February 21, 2016

We had a great time once again at Nundini's. Marisol, our server, is always a delight. She is attentive enough without hovering and does it all with a smile and a laugh. The food is always spot on and the wine selection is expansive and affordable. We love this little gem for special occasions, and will be back again soon.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

50/50

Dined on February 15, 2016

The scene was very romantic for a Valentines day. The food was ok. Their wine was good. But their owner was terrible. He was getting after one of his employees in front of customers making the environment uncomfortable.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2

There for Valentine's Day and the specia ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

There for Valentine's Day and the special menu. Some courses were excellent some were mediocre . Service less than mediocre. After watching parties seated after us being served entrees we asked and were imediately served a luke warm entree. No one inquired about our experience. Server appeared to be inexperienced and neglected us except to share a couple of slightly off color jokes which were not appreciated. We won't be back.

food1
ambience1
service1

If you're trying to have an actual, adul ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

If you're trying to have an actual, adult dinner do not come here. Period. I was so surprised by their inability to sit us in an actual "dining" setting, instead sitting us in a deli by a door opening on to Shepherd Dr. The ambience was of a crowded New York deli without the crowd or the food. What an absolute joke.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's at Nundini's

Dined on February 14, 2016

We love Nundini's. The menu is great and the service is terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

My wife and I only tried their pizza. I ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

My wife and I only tried their pizza. I had the bufala pizza, which was very good. I would recommend it. My wife had the dontes inferno pizza which was also good. There were too many toppings for our liking.

food5
ambience4
service4

Intimate Italian setting, rich dark wood ...

Dined on January 29, 2016

Intimate Italian setting, rich dark wood furnishings, & softly lit. Fantastic wine selection, very knowledgable servers, and absolutely stellar food. Make sure to ask your server about the dish size, as you may want to add a side to some of the nightly specials. Much (if not all) of the pasta is handmade and you can absolutely tell. One of our go-to date spots!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go

Dined on January 23, 2016

Just go. It's out of this world good. There are reviews of a crazy waiter - he wasn't present. The service was great. Super value! Just go and try it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fantastic pasta dishes

vip
Dined on January 19, 2016

My husband and I ordered the Cappelletti stuffed with short ribs and the Radiatori with sausage in an almond and pistachio cream sauce. They were AMAZING! Our waiter recommended them and he was absolutely right.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great Find!

Dined on January 17, 2016

Ate dinner here with a couple friends last Saturday night. Great atmosphere! Food was really good. Great wine list! Desserts were to die for! Had creme brulee, mousse trio (though think it's more like gelato) and cannolli. Shepherd Salad was fresh and perfectly dressed. I ordered the Radiatori con Salsiccia e Pesto di Pistacchi e Mandorle. Don't let the long name scare you! I enjoyed every bite. My friends ordered Cappellitti alla Rostinciana and Bucantini All 'Amatriciana con Polpette (spaghetti and meatballs). Both enjoyed their meals. I'm looking forward to going back and trying one of their paninis. Waiter was a bit odd, but hey, we're all different. That's what makes the world go 'round!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Surprised

Dined on January 16, 2016

We have visited here a few times and have always had a pleasant experience so what I had to decide where to go for a special occasion it was an easy choice. Sadly, this will be the last time I come here for a while. Our waiter appeared to be on something and extremely combative. We asked for a particular wine we have had there a few times and he said they have never had and it even made fun of it and became rude when we expressed that we have had it before at the restaurant. After a few oddly and unpleasant experiences we finally got the owner to help us, who did with out question and a great attitude. While he was trying to help us, the previous waiter came over and ask, "do they have a problem with me" and then started to become combative with him. He was pleasantly trying to dismiss him but not before others in the restaurant noticed what was happening. We waited for ever for our food, that was lackluster to say the least and I think we were checked on maybe twice. I have to be honest, I was a little sad about our experience because we actually bought someone who had never been. Nothing is worse then going on about a place only be to be let down. It will probably be a while before we dine here again.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommended, high-end, yet casual & comfy.

Dined on January 3, 2016

First time visit and we were very impressed. Wine list was made up of entirely Italian wines, sorted by region. Selections were outstanding and prices were set much closer to retail than usual. Very fair pricing! Food was truly Italian made from great ingredients. My table sampled one of the pizzas as an appetizer (HAD to try the pizza!). Pizzas are made fresh, to-order, in full view of the dining room and cooked to crisp crust consistency in their wood-fired oven! Best pizza that I have had in Houston to-date!! We all ordered entrees from the menu with the three of us sampling broadly, one order of lamb chops, one of fish and one of rib-eye steak (a special that evening). The lamb and steak were perfect, while the grouper was just slightly over-cooked. Each entree came with vegetables and starch that were paired nicely with the protein. These accompaniments were uniformly excellent and we all loved the beautiful presentation of the dishes. The kitchen is open and visible from the dining room, adding a little more to the experience. For dessert we shared a trio of chocolate mousses and sampled one of their award winning gelatos (all are house-made). All-in-all a wonderful dinner and a restaurant to which we plan to return often.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great food!

Dined on December 31, 2015

The pasta was fresh and the wild boar sauce was tasty! My daughter thoroughly enjoyed the gelato tasting at the end of the meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5

Great Place to Dine & Visit

vip
Dined on December 15, 2015

The food is great, the ambiance is charming and on the weeknights the crowds are non-existent, allowing for a quiet dining experience. We go here whenever we have friends or business acquaintances with whom we like to leisurely dine and chat.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice place, nice dinner, good service. ...

Dined on December 13, 2015

Nice place, nice dinner, good service. Full service bar and an extensive menu make this a good choice for an evening out.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Neighborhood find

Dined on December 8, 2015

Passed the exterior signs on many occasions noting the Gelato (excellent by the way!) imprimatur but didn't realize a fine restaurant and deli resided within. Casual with attentive and knowledgeable waitstaff and enormous wine selection - a pleasant evening and recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The server was very talkative, but he tu ...

Dined on December 3, 2015

The server was very talkative, but he turned out to be great. He was attentive, friendly, offered some great wine suggestions and was top notch. The food was perfect. Our food was cooked perfectly and was delicious. I can't wait to go back and try some of the other dishes.

food5
ambience4
service5

Good food

Dined on November 25, 2015

Out of the way place, but worth finding in the south Heights area

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4

A Rarity - Proper Italian Food in Houston

vip
Dined on November 8, 2015

So many restaurants claim to be Italian but serve an Americanized version of Italian cuisine. Nundini is the real thing - great pizzas, sandwiches, and appetizers and mains. All offered with a great selection of Italian (I doubt there's anything but Italian) wine. Much of it is a decent value, a rarity in a restaurant. And all divided by region, displayed along the wall. If the owner is there, you can get some decent information about each region and many of the wines specifically. It used to have a much bigger selection of Italian groceries to purchase separately, but they have relegated that to the back corner and much less of it. There's still gelato, which is top quality. Bon Appétit!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Nundinis 10/31/2105

vip
Dined on November 1, 2015

Excellent Authentic Italian Food and generous portions for the prices charged. Wines list is also fairly priced with many Italian varieties. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Place is terrific!

Dined on October 19, 2015

Food and ambiance are great. Staff and chef are very accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Food, Wine and Service. Best Pinot Grigio

Dined on October 7, 2015

Picked for me and my 3 girlfriends for our monthly dinner meet up. We were all pleased, none of us had been here before. The server was so helpful with the wines and even let us taste many. The food was great. I even ordered it to go the next night, called it in and picked it up :)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome find

Dined on September 19, 2015

Great food, wonderful personalized service, amazingly affordable wine list. This might be our new "go to" place. Can't wait to go back

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I have lived in Houston for a very long ...

vip
Dined on September 16, 2015

I have lived in Houston for a very long time and there are some great restaurants but it is often hard to find one that reminds you of the country that you had gone to visit. If you love Italy, then you will love this restaurant and especially the wines and gelato.

food5
ambience4
service5

we had an excellent italian food for sure.

Dined on September 5, 2015

We enjoyed it so much that we are going back to try Pizzas and pastas. One thing I would recommend to the owner is to have the outside sign more appealing or welcoming. When we arrived that night, we were not sure if we came at the right place.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.