About Number 13

7809 Broadway
Galveston, TX 77554
View Larger Map

Welcome to Number 13 the only true Prime Steak and Seafood restaurant on Galveston Island. We pride ourselves on using local businesses to provide our ingredients and supplies and always use the freshest ingredients available.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Teichman Rd. / Exit 1c

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 572-2650

Website:
http://www.number13steak.com/

Entertainment:
We have live entertainment on most weekends. Call for the schedule of events.

Executive Chef:
Eric Nelson

Private Party Contact:
Eric Nelson: 4095722650x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Number 13 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Houston
Best Overall
Galveston
Best Service
Galveston
2 More
Best Ambiance
Galveston
Most Booked
Galveston
Best Restaurants in Galveston ›

Scenic View (23)
Romantic (21)
Good for a Date (18)
See All
Waterfront (17)
Special Occasion (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Business Meals (7)
Live Music (6)
Cozy (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Fun (3)
People Watching (3)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Casual (3)
Historic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Authentic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
313 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Made reservations for my girlfriends bir ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Made reservations for my girlfriends birthday. Ordered the Filet and the Ribeye, took 20 minutes just to get our appetizers even though the place was pretty empty. The Filet was OK , not great but just average. The Ribeye was no better than a throw down steak at any chain steakhouse. Actually I have had way better Ribeyes at chain steakhouse. For a $200 dinner it was very disappointing. I have eaten at dang near every top shelf steakhouse in Houston and they were ALL better than 13. I do realize that every restaurant can have an off night, so I may give them a second chance in the future but not anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

We are visiting Galveston for Thanksgivi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We are visiting Galveston for Thanksgiving holiday. After reading reviews, I have selected 7 restaurants for the seven nights we'd be spending in Galveston. I have made reservations for all. We ate at Number 13 at the first evening.

We enjoyed the ambience (except for a loud and obnoxious woman at the table next to us, totally out of restaurant's control, she increased the acidity of our stomachs for a good while before we could take a deep breath when she left. Peace took over the restaurant, literally).

The servers were on time, attentive (but not pushy and not trying to rush us out of the restaurant), polite, and knowledgeable. We ordered a variety of fish and all of them were made to perfection. We ordered two side dishes and both tasted out of this world.

The wine list was extensive and our glases of red and white wines were lovely. They had a full bar too.

I could see the owner or manager (someone in charger) constantly keeping an eye on the floor to oversee things making sure everyone was taken care of.

It was Sunday evening and more than half of the tables were empty. Our server asked us whether we liked bread before dinner or not (suggested to me this did not come automatically). I did say yes, but we were never served bread. Also before the desserts were served, my father accidentally poured a glass of water on the table. We used all of our napkins to dry the table. When serving the dessert, the server could not have possibly missed a pile of wet napkins at one corner of the table. Yet she did not offer us fresh napkins. These were the two reasons I took a star away.

Overall the food is pricey especially because it does not come with any sides and you do need to order the sides separately. But the sides are large and family style and the table can share.

I do recommend this restaurant and next time I come to Galveston, will go back again. I'd be just more outspoken about my bread and fresh napkins or would not pay 20% tip like I did this time!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is our favorite go to place, we lov ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This is our favorite go to place, we love the people, the food and the service.

The food is fabulous, from the Wonderful Steaks and Seafood, to the great

sides, like Jalapeño Mac & Cheese, and the Fish Taco's & Oysters, you just

can't go wrong here. This is a Fabulous Restaurant to Celebrate Special

Occasions, for a lasting memory too. We love the bartenders and the entire

staff, they make Fabulous Mixology level drinks!!

Thanks Number 13 for a Great Experience, every time!!

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu on the website is not up-to-dat ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The menu on the website is not up-to-date. We went expecting a brunch with lobster eggs Benedict and they were not one of the three menu choices. That said, we each selected a different option and both were excellent. Fun drink menu! It was a lovely brunch and we will return for the service, food and calming views. Beautiful restaurant in Galveston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Excellent dinner, service, and atmospher ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent dinner, service, and atmosphere. The popovers were a fabulous treat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was outstanding. Ou ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food and service was outstanding. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the history of the restaurant and explained how the restaurant obtained the name #13. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Cozy, Outstanding Value, Wood Oven, Historic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food! Would defini ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Excellent service and food! Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In Galveston for an event and wanted to ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 17, 2016

In Galveston for an event and wanted to go somewhere nice and unique for our 8 yr anniversary. Steak was dynamite! They even wrote 'Happy Anniversary' on the desert plate. The s'more desert is a must! Thank you for such a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my third experience at 13 and i ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was my third experience at 13 and it met my expectations for the occasion. I look forward to returning soon!

Tags: Happy Hour, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely ambiance and delicious food. We ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Lovely ambiance and delicious food. We enjoyed everything we had including the Texas Onion soup, Brussels sprouts, tuna, and the molten chocolate dessert. Our glasses were never empty. The wait staff was excellent!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Anniversary experience

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Excellent Anniversary experience

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fun, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was great, food was cooked co ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Everything was great, food was cooked correctly, the mix drinks where great.

the outside atmosphere was relaxing and quiet ,

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice, excellent service. Bar select ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Very nice, excellent service. Bar selection was impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

oustanding dry aged steaks.F Bryce was a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 5, 2016

oustanding dry aged steaks.F Bryce was a GREAT waiter. Good wine at a fair price. Just a great evening. Fried quail was exceptional as well.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was great but the bone in rib ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Our waiter was great but the bone in ribeye was uneventful. Not sure how you can present a medium temperature steak that is cooked correctly yet not juicy at all. The Yukon mashed potatoes were the best thing on the table. My wife fillet was better than mine, yet still nothing worth writing home about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

It was my first time here to this hidden ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2016

It was my first time here to this hidden gem on Galveston island. Beautiful decor with a spectacular view of the marina out back made for an incredible sunset. My steak was cooked to perfection, moist and delicious. Great wait staff as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great all around. The food was fantastic ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great all around. The food was fantastic and the service would be hard to beat. They have a decent wine selection and the dry aged steaks are a must try.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

No 13 is one of the best steakhouses we' ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 24, 2016

No 13 is one of the best steakhouses we've ever had the pleasure to enjoy. Superb service, excellent decor, spectacular view, and of course mouthwatering steaks. This restaurant came highly recommended and then not only delivered but actually exceeded our typically finicky expectations. Take the time to go to No. 13 and you, too, will be glad you did. Bon apetit!

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing dining experience. Outstandin ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 23, 2016

An amazing dining experience. Outstanding food, and world class service. Dockside setting. Very inviting ambience.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They need to learn how to wait on single ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

They need to learn how to wait on single women.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

There was a large group nearest the bath ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 17, 2016

There was a large group nearest the bathroom area that was way too loud for such an establishment. Or, for such an establishment that I'm sure they are striving for. IMO

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Cozy, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous! Best meal I have experienced ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Fabulous! Best meal I have experienced in a LONG time! I cannot even recall a better experience. The pop-overs were amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Live Music, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was very good. My friends and I met in Galveston for the weekend, and we wanted a nice dinner. Number 13 did not disappoint.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Overall the steak was beyond overcooked ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Overall the steak was beyond overcooked - we ordered medium and it was definitely well done. Took forever to get our food and then the sides came out much later - overall a real disappointment.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Terrible service

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Terrible service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1

My husband and I dined here for our anni ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 29, 2016

My husband and I dined here for our anniversary. We made reservations requesting a seat by the window. The staff had a beautiful table with a great view of the water ready when we arrived. The dry aged steak was the best steak that I have ever had it melted in my mouth and it is definitely worth every penny. This is not the normal steak you get from a franchise steak house. Order the carrots! I had no idea carrots could taste that amazing! They decorated our dessert plate beautifully for our anniversary. Then the chef came out and shook our hands and thanked us for dining with them. The attention to detail made for an expierence, instead of just another night out grabbing dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food selections. A mus ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great service and food selections. A must if you are in Halveston.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dry-aged steak was not cooked to tru ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The dry-aged steak was not cooked to true medium-rare. It was a little undercooked, but we were very happy with it. The special of the day appetizer (shrimp with cilantro and fennel were underwhelming). The side of mushrooms were outstanding, and the desert (a tort filled with peaches, and dulce de leche with homeade vanilla icecream) was fabulous. The service (Misty) was top notch, and the wet, dirty martini's perfect. I would expand the wine list.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The roasted beet salad was excellent. A ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 22, 2016

The roasted beet salad was excellent. A very pleasant dining experience

Tags: Waterfront, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The host staff was excellent but the wai ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The host staff was excellent but the wait staff fell short of good. My fiancé and I ordered a bottle of wine and 45 minutes later we finally received or bottle after asking about it twice. Food was good but not worth the price. Overall will not make a trip to go again could go to salt grass and have a steak of the same quality

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

This place over looks the bay and Moody ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This place over looks the bay and Moody gardens on the other side. Its actually part of a yacht club so night time is great but weekend days trips are great also. Steaks are fantastic. Service is top notch. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is our go-to place, they really go ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on August 19, 2016

This is our go-to place, they really go all out for the customer.

There food is out of this world, from the stakes to the seafood

and the sides are fabulous too. My favorite side is Lobster and

the jalapeño mac and cheese and steak fries to die for. My hubby's

is the Bone in Ribeye of course, the fabulous Wagyu beef.

We love the bar scene also, the drinks are of the mixology

level. There wine selection if phenomenal, as well as

there whiskey's and any other liquor that you might like.

Kudos to the owners and staff for always creating such an

elegant and warm feel for us to meet with family and friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Cozy, Waterfront, Quick Bite, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a very unique restaurant in Galv ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is a very unique restaurant in Galveston in that it has a great view but it's not on the beach. Instead you overlook Pelican Nest Marina and all it's yachts and sailboats! Food quality is comparable to Shearns or the Steakhouse and the prices are about the same. They do tend to

use some interesting flavorings though, which sets them apart from the more typical upscale steak/seafood places mentioned above. We've been there twice now and service is a little slow, but I think that is intentional so that you have a "longer dining experience". The homemade bread is to die for, and steaks and seafood is excellent. The inside bar is huge and appears to be a hot spot for locals, as is the outside bar.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

WE had a lovely dining experience with a ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 13, 2016

WE had a lovely dining experience with a knowledgeable waiter and wine suggestions. Enjoyed the entire meal immensely. May need to update the online dessert menu though - was hoping for the Monkey Dessert!

Highly recommended!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is not the steakhouse of your dream ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 12, 2016

This is not the steakhouse of your dreams. It just missed on almost everything. Salad was not chilled, popovers were not hot and not seasoned, wine was off and had to be returned, steaks were 'charred' to the point of blackness all over and we were told that is how they do it there. We scraped off the charcoal and ate the steak, which was tasty. Even the creme brûlée was over torched. The worst meal for the most money we have probably ever spent. They need a great deal of improvement. We recommend you eat steak in Houston before you cross the causeway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

One of the very best steaks I have ever ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 9, 2016

One of the very best steaks I have ever had! Food was amazing. Wine selection/pairing was perfect. Service fantastic, and we were a large party. If you don't go here while in Galveston- you are missing out. Our only regret was that we found it on the last night of our conference and not sooner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it!!! Super nice people- food was ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Loved it!!! Super nice people- food was EXCELLENT. Definitely recommend. Great job Number 13!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the ambiance and service, attention ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Love the ambiance and service, attention to detail. Surf and turf very expensive for product. My shrimp risotto was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This was our first time dining at Number ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was our first time dining at Number 13 and everything was great. The service was fantastic and very helpful. And the food, which we both had the ribeye and it was cooked to perfection. The whole total experience was very satisfying. We will return....

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to Number 13. ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was our second visit to Number 13. This was to celebrate our anniversary, the first was Valentines Day (the service was much better this visit) but also much less busy! The food is sensational. We also got to enjoy the fireworks from Moody Gardens (across the bay.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.