Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.44mi
  2. Distance: 0.68mi
  3. Distance: 0.97mi
  4. Distance: 1.39mi

About Number 13

Welcome to Number 13 the only true Prime Steak and Seafood restaurant on Galveston Island. We pride ourselves on using local businesses to provide our ingredients and supplies and always use the freshest ingredients available.

7809 Broadway
Galveston, TX 77554
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Teichman Rd. / Exit 1c

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 572-2650

Website:
http://www.number13steak.com/

Entertainment:
We have live entertainment on most weekends. Call for the schedule of events.

Executive Chef:
Eric Nelson

Private Party Contact:
Eric Nelson: (409) 572-2650

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Number 13 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (36)
Waterfront (35)
Scenic View (32)
See All
Special Occasion (27)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Good for a Date (24)
Romantic (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Business Meals (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Fun (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Modern Decor (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
People Watching (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Healthy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Cozy (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Casual (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Authentic (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
394 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

We were staying in Galveston for the weekend for our anniversary. I had ask several people around the Strand where was a good place to have dinner and 13 Prime was the first recommendation people mentioned. Fantastic steak house on par with Ruth's Chris or Vic and Anthony. We would drive to Galveston just to have dinner at 13 Prime even if not staying there.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

There is much to like about Number 13. The location is great for us and we love the marina overlook. The service is fine and the decor is very pleasant. The menu is ambitious with options for anyone's tastes with an emphasis on steaks. I'm told there is a connection to Killen which gives me high expectations for the quality of the steak. That's where I have been disappointed on more than one occasion. Don't get me wrong, the steaks are good, just not melt in your mouth great the way one would expect a prime steak to be. I'm speaking of the wet aged 16 oz strip and rib eye. I haven't sprung for the dry aged items which are more expensive. I shouldn't have to. The spouse's ribeye was cooked perfectly, but my strip was closer to medium than the medium rare I ordered. I was also disappointed with the poke appetizer. Flavors just weren't quite right. We will likely be back because as I said, there are lots of things to like here. Maybe next time we'll try some non steak items.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Enjoyed a great dinner with my wife, steaks were delicious and perfectly cooked. Oysters were ouststanding

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Out #1 fav in Galveston!! The food, the service, and the view are top notch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Overall good experience but I recommend sticking to the basics - the filet and ribeye were both far superior the special, which was a 30 day dry aged bone-in KC strip with a seafood topper. The sauce wasn't needed, the crab was overdone to the point it was mush, and the steak was very tough, in spite of the temperature being perfect.

Brussels sprouts were very salty and the popover bread was very peppery, but the desserts were on point as was the jalapeño mac n cheese. Wine by the glass options are pretty limited.

The views and service were both fantastic and overall we really enjoyed ourselves. Beautiful restaurant, beautiful location, but don't over dress as we did - its island time at the marina!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

This was my first visit to Number 13 and what a delight. The restaurant design was really cool and nautical. I appreciated the location being at the edge of the island as well but was a little put off all the tables by the window wee "reserved" however I did make a reservation.

Originally I was thinking I wanted to dine outside but upon arriving the bar/patio area is much more causal than the resturant's interior. The view was lovely on this Friday evening although I did note it's probably beautiful at night glaring upon Moody Gardens.

The cold seafood sampler was amazing! Probably the best oysters I've ever enjoyed. This tray had a little of everything jumbo shrimp cocktail, poached lobster, king crab legs, crab fingers, tuna poke, and oysters from Maine, Devine!

My date and I decided to share a steak and sides. We choose the large filet with seard foie gras. While the steak was over cooked from our requested temperature it had a lovely crust. The farmers market veggies we delicious and cooked well.

After dinner we decided to stay for another cocktail on the patio while taking in the views. Even though we are pet/dog lovers we were turned off by the dogs on the patio. While we appreciate the "island lifestyle" just felt this caliber of a resturant would be pet free.

I suggest more cocktail servers or the outside bar to be open for a busy Friday evening service. We had to wait longer than desired when wanting to leave and noticed the other tables slightly agitated as well.

I think this is a great spot for date night, big groups, special events, family outings (12+) and dining alone. The server was present and accommodating, magenment was noticeable and friendly. The restrooms were clean and well stocked.

Overall I thought the value was good for quality of product, service and ambiance of room. The only thing that could make it better was if they were open for lunch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 9, 2017

First time discovery. Pleasantly surprised. Will most certainly go back

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Fun, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Online menu hasn't been updated in a year. Food was mediocre. Service was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great experience in every way. We had martinis and they were perfect. The large seafood appetizer was fresh and well presented. We ordered a very large Poterhouse for two and it was tender, well seasoned and perfectly medium rare. The sides were excellent, with large portions. Finished with molten chocolate and coffee. The beef had been understandibly recommemded, but we are looking forward to going back for the sea food. Finally, our waitress Misty was as good as it gets. Our new go to restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent food and service. Bartender came to the table to discuss the bourbon selection. Pricey...but I don't mind paying for great food and service. We took our time and they did not rush us.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great hostess, waitress, service and food! Awesome view and location! Highly recommend the place and if the steak is to pricey order fish which is priced right...


SF

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Great experiences always‼. The food and service is always fabulous‼. You just can't go wrong here for any occasion💜😎

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Wow! Met friends from out of town here. There were 6 of us total. Waitstaff was wonderful, efficient and helpful. Food was beyond my expectations. It is pricey though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Family vacation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Amazing. Food wonderful; service top notch. Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I've been here on several occasions and it's one of the best restaurants in the area with the best steaks. The service is always 5 star and your needs are anticipated. I've had special requests done with no issue and always to perfection. It's also the only place I know of on the island that does foie gras properly which you can order as it's own appetizer and it melts in your mouth. The view is spectacular and if you come anytime during the summer, be sure to book a window (or really any table) Friday or Saturday night at around 8:30pm so you can catch the fireworks from Moody Gardens across the water. You'll feel like you are in a movie - it's that perfect.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Every time we go to Number 13 the food is always impeccable and the cocktails are top notch! Highly recommend this place for a night out with friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Had a great dinner. Fantastic steak with a side of baked potato. Spouse had the quail and a salad. Wine selection was awesome as well. 5 stars in my book!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Synopsis: Food is good, overpriced, I'm over some of the cutesy touches. The menu comes on very difficult to maneuver boards. Extensive wine list with a decent range of prices and varietals. Cocktails sounded good but weren't - strawberry basil drink was syrupy sweet, orange drink was bitter. King crab appetizer was served with cocktail sauce instead of drawn butter, so the taste was masked.Ordered butternut squash for the vegetarian at the table but it came with (very tasty) bacon/pancetta in it - please put this on the menu so guests are aware! Poke appetizer was good but could have been half the size, shrimp crostini was also Texas-sized and way too much bread to call it crostini; shrimp were well prepared. Snapper was cooked perfectly and allowed to shine with a simple treatment. Steak done to specifications.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Good spot for a nice dinner. We had a dozen James River Oysters on half shell, excellent. Popover bread they offer the table is homemade and really a treat. Well worth the calories. My wife had the grouper special, very nicely presented and delicious. I had an 8 oz. filet , medium rare plus, and it was close to perfect. Atmosphere is comfortable and quite pleasant but nothing special. Overall Expensive but delivered. Service very helpful.

Tags: Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our first trip to Number 13 proved to be an outstanding evening. We choose it to celebrate my husbands birthday. Our appetizers, main course, sides and dessert were all fabulous. Our waiter gave impeccable service as well. The wine menu was extensive but also very expensive. I enjoy a nice glass of wine but not $100+ for a bottle. We settled with the house cab by the glass and were very happy with it. Those that love the adventure of trying new wines, probably won't be taken back by the price of it. Just not a big deal to me.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Waterfront, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Number 13 was Fabulous as Always!!!
We Love everything about this Restaurant,
Food, Service and our Bar tenders are Great!!!
Highly recommend for Special Occasions also.

Tags: Waterfront, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Very Nice Marina Views, Delicious Food, Wonderful Ambience !!!! A must See !!!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

My must go to spot in Galveston. Classy, professional, quality and a great wine list with a view.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We ate here during our trip to Galveston for Mardi Gras. The food was very good, much better than expected. The shrimp was perfectly cooked and seasoned just right. The drinks were fabulous, although the price was a surprise. The drink my wife ordered was listed on the menu as $8 but when the bill came it was $13. The restaurant was nicely decorated. The noise level was bad, way too noisy for this kind of place.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great service and food was exceptional. My husband and I both had steak and they were tender, flavorful, and cooked to perfection. The salads were also phenomenal. Pricey, but it was very very good.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was delicious. Service was not. Our waitress took our food order but did not take our drink order. Not sure if she thought that we were okay with the sparkling water we were originally served by the hostess. Our food was brought out by someone else and our waitress never checked on us until we were done with our meal. Great food. Poor service.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Thought we'd try this restaurant for the first time for Valentine's Day but thumping of the 'music' was jarring and unpleasant, the service was very slow, the average food was expensive. Couldn't wait to leave and don't plan on returning!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was the worst experience I've ever had in a so-called upscale steak house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went here for Valentines Day, fortunately we had made reservations almost a month in advance because they were full, very full. We were seated within 5 minutes and had a lovely table by the window that looked out on the marina. Misty, our server, was there quickly to take drink and appetizer order. There was a special Valentines Day menu but we ordered off the regular menu. The parts of the meal arrived in a timely manner, although it was a bit slower than I would expect on a 'regular' evening. Everything was prepared well and tasted delicious. Only comment to the kitchen would be to use a bit less spinach in the Oysters Rockefeller (kinda overwhelmed the oysters) and to toss in a few more Jalapenos into the Jalapeno Mac & Cheese (a bit too mild for my tastes). They brought my wife, and every other woman, a rose during the meal...nice touch. Wonderful meal, wonderful evening. Certainly will return, certainly recommend it to others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's dinner. Nice location with water setting. Food was excellent but a little pricy. There is a very good selection of wine. Our waiter Bryce was very nice and took the time to introduce us to the restaurant and the menu. It was valentines and I would expect the restaurant to be better prepared. Our 4 course dinner took almost 3 hours, once waiting 45 minutes between a course. They were apologetic and did offer a compensation for our wait. All said we will return to Number 13.

Tags: Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent. This was our best meal thier. Survive was excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We arrived early, there were tables open, hostess told us to return at approximate reservation time (25 min later). We went to the bar, had to stand, eventually were seated at one of the open tables. The other tables remained open the entire time. That was not the best way to start our dinner.

Seafood platter & drinks were amazing.

Steak and sides were average, certainly not up to the standard expected for the price.

Smore dessert was a greatidea, not well executed. It had pudding not chocolate mousse, and the marshmallow was cold inside, though roasted outside. Ice Cream was very good.

We would return for drinks & apps but not for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had the grilled red fish and dry-aged rib eye. Both were excellent. The au gratin potatoes were ok as a side, but they had too many onions for me. Everything else was great. We will return.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing seafood dishes, awesome steak entrees. Well- stocked wine selection.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had high hopes for our Valentine's dinner. But, our waiter seemed to disappear alot, even when drink was empty, we expected more at this fine establishment. Ordered the house specialty dry aged steak that was WAY overly seasoned and salty. Crab cake had as much herb mixture as crab meat, and not worth $28!! Obviously the chefs are trying to be artsy and different (I appreciate that) but it seemed a bit much. Nice location, but our experience wasn't what we had hoped for. I like to feel happy and satisfied when I spend $250.00 on dinner for 2. Our expectations were not met. They do have a very nice patio bar outside for sunset happy hour.

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Always a great experience!! The food is Fabulous as well as the
Service. We love the Bar tenders they make our evening, great
drinks and service!! Can't say enough good things about
Number 13!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great dinner, good service, nice ambiance. Will be back again

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Party of 4 sister enjoyed the ambiance, scenic view, quality of food and endearing service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fantastic bartender, delicious food, and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.