About Number 13

7809 Broadway
Galveston, TX 77554
View Larger Map

Welcome to Number 13 the only true Prime Steak and Seafood restaurant on Galveston Island. We pride ourselves on using local businesses to provide our ingredients and supplies and always use the freshest ingredients available.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Teichman Rd. / Exit 1c

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 572-2650

Website:
http://www.number13steak.com/

Entertainment:
We have live entertainment on most weekends. Call for the schedule of events.

Executive Chef:
Eric Nelson

Private Party Contact:
Eric Nelson: 4095722650x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Number 13 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
Houston
Best Overall
Galveston
Best Food
Galveston
5 More
Best Service
Galveston
Best Ambiance
Galveston
Best Value
Galveston
Special Occasion
Galveston
Most Booked
Galveston
Best Restaurants in Galveston ›

Scenic View (40)
Special Occasion (32)
Romantic (29)
See All
Notable Wine List (19)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Waterfront (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Live Music (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (4)
Cozy (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fun (2)
Casual (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Spicy (1)
People Watching (1)
Authentic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
296 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was my first time here to this hidden ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

It was my first time here to this hidden gem on Galveston island. Beautiful decor with a spectacular view of the marina out back made for an incredible sunset. My steak was cooked to perfection, moist and delicious. Great wait staff as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great all around. The food was fantastic ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great all around. The food was fantastic and the service would be hard to beat. They have a decent wine selection and the dry aged steaks are a must try.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

No 13 is one of the best steakhouses we' ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 7 days ago

No 13 is one of the best steakhouses we've ever had the pleasure to enjoy. Superb service, excellent decor, spectacular view, and of course mouthwatering steaks. This restaurant came highly recommended and then not only delivered but actually exceeded our typically finicky expectations. Take the time to go to No. 13 and you, too, will be glad you did. Bon apetit!

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing dining experience. Outstandin ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

An amazing dining experience. Outstanding food, and world class service. Dockside setting. Very inviting ambience.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There was a large group nearest the bath ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

There was a large group nearest the bathroom area that was way too loud for such an establishment. Or, for such an establishment that I'm sure they are striving for. IMO

Tags: Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Cozy, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous! Best meal I have experienced ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Fabulous! Best meal I have experienced in a LONG time! I cannot even recall a better experience. The pop-overs were amazing!

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Live Music, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was very good. My friends and I met in Galveston for the weekend, and we wanted a nice dinner. Number 13 did not disappoint.

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Overall the steak was beyond overcooked ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Overall the steak was beyond overcooked - we ordered medium and it was definitely well done. Took forever to get our food and then the sides came out much later - overall a real disappointment.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

My husband and I dined here for our anni ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

My husband and I dined here for our anniversary. We made reservations requesting a seat by the window. The staff had a beautiful table with a great view of the water ready when we arrived. The dry aged steak was the best steak that I have ever had it melted in my mouth and it is definitely worth every penny. This is not the normal steak you get from a franchise steak house. Order the carrots! I had no idea carrots could taste that amazing! They decorated our dessert plate beautifully for our anniversary. Then the chef came out and shook our hands and thanked us for dining with them. The attention to detail made for an expierence, instead of just another night out grabbing dinner.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Disabled Access, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food selections. A mus ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great service and food selections. A must if you are in Halveston.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The dry-aged steak was not cooked to tru ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The dry-aged steak was not cooked to true medium-rare. It was a little undercooked, but we were very happy with it. The special of the day appetizer (shrimp with cilantro and fennel were underwhelming). The side of mushrooms were outstanding, and the desert (a tort filled with peaches, and dulce de leche with homeade vanilla icecream) was fabulous. The service (Misty) was top notch, and the wet, dirty martini's perfect. I would expand the wine list.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The roasted beet salad was excellent. A ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The roasted beet salad was excellent. A very pleasant dining experience

Tags: Waterfront, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

The host staff was excellent but the wai ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The host staff was excellent but the wait staff fell short of good. My fiancé and I ordered a bottle of wine and 45 minutes later we finally received or bottle after asking about it twice. Food was good but not worth the price. Overall will not make a trip to go again could go to salt grass and have a steak of the same quality

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

This place over looks the bay and Moody ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This place over looks the bay and Moody gardens on the other side. Its actually part of a yacht club so night time is great but weekend days trips are great also. Steaks are fantastic. Service is top notch. I would highly recommend.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is our go-to place, they really go ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This is our go-to place, they really go all out for the customer.

There food is out of this world, from the stakes to the seafood

and the sides are fabulous too. My favorite side is Lobster and

the jalapeño mac and cheese and steak fries to die for. My hubby's

is the Bone in Ribeye of course, the fabulous Wagyu beef.

We love the bar scene also, the drinks are of the mixology

level. There wine selection if phenomenal, as well as

there whiskey's and any other liquor that you might like.

Kudos to the owners and staff for always creating such an

elegant and warm feel for us to meet with family and friends.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Cozy, Waterfront, Quick Bite, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a very unique restaurant in Galv ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is a very unique restaurant in Galveston in that it has a great view but it's not on the beach. Instead you overlook Pelican Nest Marina and all it's yachts and sailboats! Food quality is comparable to Shearns or the Steakhouse and the prices are about the same. They do tend to

use some interesting flavorings though, which sets them apart from the more typical upscale steak/seafood places mentioned above. We've been there twice now and service is a little slow, but I think that is intentional so that you have a "longer dining experience". The homemade bread is to die for, and steaks and seafood is excellent. The inside bar is huge and appears to be a hot spot for locals, as is the outside bar.

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

WE had a lovely dining experience with a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

WE had a lovely dining experience with a knowledgeable waiter and wine suggestions. Enjoyed the entire meal immensely. May need to update the online dessert menu though - was hoping for the Monkey Dessert!

Highly recommended!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is not the steakhouse of your dream ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This is not the steakhouse of your dreams. It just missed on almost everything. Salad was not chilled, popovers were not hot and not seasoned, wine was off and had to be returned, steaks were 'charred' to the point of blackness all over and we were told that is how they do it there. We scraped off the charcoal and ate the steak, which was tasty. Even the creme brûlée was over torched. The worst meal for the most money we have probably ever spent. They need a great deal of improvement. We recommend you eat steak in Houston before you cross the causeway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

One of the very best steaks I have ever ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

One of the very best steaks I have ever had! Food was amazing. Wine selection/pairing was perfect. Service fantastic, and we were a large party. If you don't go here while in Galveston- you are missing out. Our only regret was that we found it on the last night of our conference and not sooner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it!!! Super nice people- food was ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Loved it!!! Super nice people- food was EXCELLENT. Definitely recommend. Great job Number 13!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the ambiance and service, attention ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Love the ambiance and service, attention to detail. Surf and turf very expensive for product. My shrimp risotto was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

This was our first time dining at Number ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was our first time dining at Number 13 and everything was great. The service was fantastic and very helpful. And the food, which we both had the ribeye and it was cooked to perfection. The whole total experience was very satisfying. We will return....

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to Number 13. ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was our second visit to Number 13. This was to celebrate our anniversary, the first was Valentines Day (the service was much better this visit) but also much less busy! The food is sensational. We also got to enjoy the fireworks from Moody Gardens (across the bay.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was very good. The whipped potato r ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was very good. The whipped potato recipe seems to have changed since our last visit but was still good. My steak was a little tough on the outside but tender once you got past the outer edges. It's possible it was how I ordered it (medium-well) because my wife's steak was very tender (medium-rare). All in all, it was very enjoyable. Our first visit for our anniversary last year seemed like everyone was a little more attentive though.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Tourist not welcome - apparently only lo ...

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Tourist not welcome - apparently only locals are entitled to good service. We saved our vacation budget for a "special" steak place and selected Number 13. My two daughters and wife were super-excited about a "great Texas steak" and we made our reservation with high expectations. The food was actually quite good, especially the steak and Wagyu cuts, but the service was equally bad, and sadly ruined the experience. The waiter was more than happy to jump on our order for a bottle of wine, 2 appetizers and 2 out of 4 orders for Wagyu steak. However that was really the last we saw of him. After that, we had food runners serving us and had to tackle our waiter for a second bottle of wine. Our dishes sat for 45 minutes empty before being offered desert, and we sadly watched the Manager/GM work his way amongst the tables of patrons he clearly knew. He stopped by every table around us, and literally made eye contact with my wife as he walked by.

It made me sad to feel so "out of place" even though we were dressed and ready for a big night out. In all we dropped over $600 in food and beverage for 4, and candidly I cannot recall worse service in many years for the dollars spent. I made a point to share my concerns with the manager at the end of the evening, and was equally discarded with a "sorry, it was not intentional". Ironically we read many online reviews prior to our visit that talked about the good food and bad service, but hoped it was a bad streak. To anyone visiting Galveston, I would warn against "13" unless you have unlimited time and enjoy being ignored. There are plenty of others places happy to take half the money required for 13, treat you much better, and seem to appreciate your business.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

It's a steak place but Giant shrimp. Ama ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

It's a steak place but Giant shrimp. Amazing king crab. And the steaks aren't half bad. I.e. Excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic restaurant with outstanding me ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Fantastic restaurant with outstanding menu and a great view.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't wait to be back in Galveston. Will ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Can't wait to be back in Galveston. Will definitely stop in here again. The food was incredible and service was great. We didn't have our kids with us, but I think we would feel comfortable bringing them and will probably try it out next time. Great view right in front of a window too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and views were amazing; however ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food and views were amazing; however the service was lacking, particularly for such an expensive restaurant. Our waitress (and from what I could tell, the other wait staff) was so inattentive that after our meal we had to track her down to ask for coffee and a dessert menu. And when I accidently knocked over my martini glass, which broke, I was ignored. Some of my drink spilled on the table and dripped into my lap (along with some shards of glass) and no wait staff came to our rescue - unforgiveable for a any dining establishment, but particularly a fine dining restaurant. More training is definitely needed to bring up the quality of the service to the level of the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Watched the Friday night fireworks. Plac ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Watched the Friday night fireworks. Place was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The lobster bisque was not a traditional ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The lobster bisque was not a traditional bisque, and was bad. The creamed spinach was also not traditional and had no cream.? Very strange. The steaks were good, but way over priced. The service was excellent. Great views and ambiance.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Food is always excellent! The popovers a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food is always excellent! The popovers are to die for. Highly recommend :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and the service was fantastic, ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food and the service was fantastic, actually beyond fantastic. The steaks were unbeatable, and the dessert was top notch. My only complaint is that it was very hot inside the restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

The service was excellent. We had a mino ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The service was excellent. We had a minor problem with the food as my steak was overdone. They happily took it back and replaced it with a steak as i ordered it. It is a beautiful place. You can dress casual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experiences at Number 13 have been ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our experiences at Number 13 have been hit and miss. I think it depends on the staff on duty. For example, we ordered a lot of food at our last visit for 6. Everything was great until we received our entrées. Our side dishes were great and very hot. Our steaks were actually cold. I have never understood why a high end restaurant serves steaks and other items where the serving temperature demands hot, like steak or eggs on a cold plate. On this last visit we even spaced our order to try and prevent receiving cold food, but the kitchen either did not prepare it timely or the waiter left it sitting before it was served. The building and view is incredible, but many times the food and service is off. We keep trying as there is every potential. It is as if when the owner is on site thing are a little better, but when not, they go South. Price are not too high for the potential, but much to high for cold food. It is difficult to understand how this could happen where someone has made a very nice investment to offer first class dining.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Steak is very very good. Sides are amazi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Steak is very very good. Sides are amazing. Can't recommend enough

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent. Steak was good bu ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was excellent. Steak was good but not outstanding . King Crab and fish were quite good. Not a good value for the four star prices. Limited menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great meal, fantastic steak.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great meal, fantastic steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Our waiter Joshua was non existent. He o ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our waiter Joshua was non existent. He only did the minimum. Never followed up. Never got their trademark popovers. Told the mgr and she couldn't remember the name popover. They gave them to us in our to go box and they were burnt! My Med rare filet was burnt and way over cooked. The potato au gratin was like frozen hash browns with cheese in them. The beet salad was delicious and so was the seared tuna. Basically a terrible meal and we spent over $250. Second time for this to happen so won't be coming back!! We can go to The Steakhouse or Rudy and Paco's for the same money and get a wonderful meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

We were looking for a nice place to go t ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were looking for a nice place to go that wasn't a chain during our stay in Galveston for my birthday and Father's Day weekend. The reviews we found on Yelp did not disappoint! The restaurant reminds me of a Rusty Pelican or Chart House, with spectacular views, outstanding service, delicious food, and great outside space to have an after dinner cigar and port. There was also someone playing acoustic guitar that played at an appropriate noise level. Couldn't have asked for a better evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.