About Number 13

7809 Broadway
Galveston, TX 77554
View Larger Map

Welcome to Number 13 the only true Prime Steak and Seafood restaurant on Galveston Island. We pride ourselves on using local businesses to provide our ingredients and supplies and always use the freshest ingredients available.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Teichman Rd. / Exit 1c

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 572-2650

Website:
http://www.number13steak.com/

Entertainment:
We have live entertainment on most weekends. Call for the schedule of events.

Executive Chef:
Eric Nelson

Private Party Contact:
Eric Nelson: 4095722650x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Number 13 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Houston
Scenic View
Houston
Best Overall
Galveston
8 More
Best Food
Galveston
Best Service
Galveston
Best Ambiance
Galveston
Best Value
Galveston
Fit for Foodies
Galveston
Scenic View
Galveston
Special Occasion
Galveston
Most Booked
Galveston
Best Restaurants in Galveston ›

scenic view (34)
special occasion (32)
romantic (26)
See All
notable wine list (20)
fit for foodies (17)
good for groups (16)
great for outdoor dining (12)
hot spot (12)
vibrant bar scene (11)
neighborhood gem (8)
great for brunch (8)
great for lunch (7)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
268 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food and views were amazing; however ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food and views were amazing; however the service was lacking, particularly for such an expensive restaurant. Our waitress (and from what I could tell, the other wait staff) was so inattentive that after our meal we had to track her down to ask for coffee and a dessert menu. And when I accidently knocked over my martini glass, which broke, I was ignored. Some of my drink spilled on the table and dripped into my lap (along with some shards of glass) and no wait staff came to our rescue - unforgiveable for a any dining establishment, but particularly a fine dining restaurant. More training is definitely needed to bring up the quality of the service to the level of the food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Watched the Friday night fireworks. Plac ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Watched the Friday night fireworks. Place was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The lobster bisque was not a traditional ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The lobster bisque was not a traditional bisque, and was bad. The creamed spinach was also not traditional and had no cream.? Very strange. The steaks were good, but way over priced. The service was excellent. Great views and ambiance.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Food is always excellent! The popovers a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Food is always excellent! The popovers are to die for. Highly recommend :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and the service was fantastic, ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food and the service was fantastic, actually beyond fantastic. The steaks were unbeatable, and the dessert was top notch. My only complaint is that it was very hot inside the restaurant.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

The service was excellent. We had a mino ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The service was excellent. We had a minor problem with the food as my steak was overdone. They happily took it back and replaced it with a steak as i ordered it. It is a beautiful place. You can dress casual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our experiences at Number 13 have been ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Our experiences at Number 13 have been hit and miss. I think it depends on the staff on duty. For example, we ordered a lot of food at our last visit for 6. Everything was great until we received our entrées. Our side dishes were great and very hot. Our steaks were actually cold. I have never understood why a high end restaurant serves steaks and other items where the serving temperature demands hot, like steak or eggs on a cold plate. On this last visit we even spaced our order to try and prevent receiving cold food, but the kitchen either did not prepare it timely or the waiter left it sitting before it was served. The building and view is incredible, but many times the food and service is off. We keep trying as there is every potential. It is as if when the owner is on site thing are a little better, but when not, they go South. Price are not too high for the potential, but much to high for cold food. It is difficult to understand how this could happen where someone has made a very nice investment to offer first class dining.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Steak is very very good. Sides are amazi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Steak is very very good. Sides are amazing. Can't recommend enough

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent. Steak was good bu ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was excellent. Steak was good but not outstanding . King Crab and fish were quite good. Not a good value for the four star prices. Limited menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great meal, fantastic steak.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great meal, fantastic steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Our waiter Joshua was non existent. He o ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our waiter Joshua was non existent. He only did the minimum. Never followed up. Never got their trademark popovers. Told the mgr and she couldn't remember the name popover. They gave them to us in our to go box and they were burnt! My Med rare filet was burnt and way over cooked. The potato au gratin was like frozen hash browns with cheese in them. The beet salad was delicious and so was the seared tuna. Basically a terrible meal and we spent over $250. Second time for this to happen so won't be coming back!! We can go to The Steakhouse or Rudy and Paco's for the same money and get a wonderful meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

We were looking for a nice place to go t ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We were looking for a nice place to go that wasn't a chain during our stay in Galveston for my birthday and Father's Day weekend. The reviews we found on Yelp did not disappoint! The restaurant reminds me of a Rusty Pelican or Chart House, with spectacular views, outstanding service, delicious food, and great outside space to have an after dinner cigar and port. There was also someone playing acoustic guitar that played at an appropriate noise level. Couldn't have asked for a better evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! The catch of the day, Mahi ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food! The catch of the day, Mahi Mahi, was outstanding.

Service was attentive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the 4th time dining at number 13 ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

This is the 4th time dining at number 13. Food, as always, was delicious. However, the service was really bad. The previous times j had been it was good, but it was bad that night. Our server Did not come by our table at all after the food runners brought out our appetizer. Thankfully the hostess saw our distress and wrapped our food up and brought our ticket after we waited for 30 mins.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

Galveston has some great restaurants. Nu ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Galveston has some great restaurants. Number 13 is our new favorite!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took my mom here for her surprise bir ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We took my mom here for her surprise birthday dinner. The service, food, and atmosphere was absolutely amazing. Went for a early Sunday dinner, took our 4 year old nephew. Crowd grew as we were there longer, but was never too crowded or loud. Everyone at the table ordered something different and we all shared because it was so delicious!

Chef Nelson came out to our table and introduced himself, and no problems with wait staff-very helpful and friendly and knew the menu and drink selections!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great Galveston find

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Not frequenting the island very often, this was a great find.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Galveston Gem

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Lovely restaurant with great views, live music and nice outdoor patio. We were very happy overall and the food was great. The only thing that was not perfect was that we sat there for awhile before they came to the table with menus and to take drink orders. They were busy because it was a holiday weekend and apparently a Prom night. Will definitely go back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing date spot

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This was beyond my expectations. Amazing food at a reasonable price for the great quality! Literally one of the best steaks I've ever had (14Oz NY strip), cocktails were top notch (TexasMule), side dishes were huge and uniquely delicious! Great spot to celebrate our anniversary, seriously considering making it a tradition. Worth every penny!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dining experience on the Island! E ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Best dining experience on the Island! Exquisite. Absolutely gorgeous. Walk on pier after!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Picture Perfect Dining

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

It is a beautiful, scenic restaurant on the water. The wait staff went above and beyond to make our evening perfect. Food was excellent, yummy and beautiful. It was pricey but worth it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They were out of a good number of things ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

They were out of a good number of things on the menu. From what I have read, this seems to be a consistent problem. I have not experienced this at other fine dining restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Stephen was a great waiter. He said he ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Stephen was a great waiter. He said he worked at Tony's in Houston for 4 yrs. Love Tony's too, and you could tell he had the good experience.

R

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day Brunch- excellent omelet an ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day Brunch- excellent omelet and the seafood section was good. Waiter was a little rude at times. $65 per person seemed a little steep too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Fantastic Find

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our first visit to Number 13 will certainly not be our last. The Galveston Restaurant is located on the feeder road to I-45 as you enter the island. The building is a spacious place to dine with bay views throughout. What a nice touch when the waitstaff comes by with cucumber, lemon, and lime for your water.

Then cocktails are interesting, and wine delicious. My dining companion had the bone in ribeye which was a large and tasty piece of meat dry aged. The green beans (family style) were very good. My dish was a spicy shrimp over grits, really good. It's a comfortable setting, and you don't feel rushed to get in and out. We had an enjoyable evening, hope to do it again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food and service! We loved the ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Wonderful food and service! We loved the live music as well!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First visit

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Arrived early and was seated right away. Waiter was very knowledgeable and the food was outstanding as well as the service. Loved it!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super brunch!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Super brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love dining here! We live 2hrs away a ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We love dining here! We live 2hrs away and have eaten here 3 times and it has always been great! On one occasion we were with a big group and the service and food were out standing!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Are we in Texas??

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

What a wonderful surprise to walk into this sophisticated restaurant in Galveston, Texas and be blown away!!!!!! A beautiful setting for a gorgeous view and a spectacular steak and cocktails. This is the most beautiful restaurant in Galveston, and maybe Houston also. Can't wait to bring clients and friends here. We will certainly be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

EASTER BRUNCH

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Food, ambiance and personnel were excellent! GREAT HOSTESS, WAITRESS, STAFF and CHEF. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best secret ever!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

We had been here for brunch and it was wonderful. And the menu looked really good. So we came here on our way from Houston to the 1894 Grand last week and we have been many places and to many restaurants, this was one of the very best ever! We will do this often from now on and have told friends already!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

We went to Galveston for our anniversary and did not know where to eat. We googled a list our restaurants and just picked one without knowing anything about it. We wanted something different and unique and that is exactly what we got!! It made our anniversary memorable and was an amazing! This was above our expectations!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over priced

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

My husband and I will never go back to Number 13. The food is overpriced and several of the items on the menu were no available. For instance the fish of the day had sold out the day before!! The prices were extremely high for the quality. The service was terrible and we had to ask almost every time to have out water glasses filled. We were definitely disappointed and would not recommend Number 13 to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

respectable food and average service

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We are a couple visiting Galveston and decided to sample Number 13 based on local recs. the appetizers were very good and the entrees solid if not exceptional. Service was slow and the waiter dropped food in my lap with only an "I'm sorry". The waiter was more focused on a large table nearby. it was a very expensive evening.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Capped a nice day on Galveston

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Pleasant ambiance; very good service; wide entree selections on the menu. Came here because of the dry-aged porterhouse steak - but our appetizers were amazing. All-in -all, I'd come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Stupendous food, service and ambiance, but pricey

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

Our server, Kensie, was awesome as usual. New menu, but no caviar?

Food exceptional-fresh, creative and flavorable! Drinks pricey, including water? Great evening

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Best restaurant in Galveston

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

If you want delicious food, a wonderful view, great service in first class surroundings then this is the restaurant for you. Everything was outstanding!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Experience

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

My date and I had a very good time at Number 13. Our waiter, Kenneth, was very good at being there when necessary and not there when appropriate. Atmosphere was quiet for the most part. Decent wine list.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Okay

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Liked the decor and the fact that it was very upscale for Galveston. Nice staff, but slow service. There were several large groups that night and that may have interfered with our service. Food was good, but too many competing flavors in the sides. I would give it another try.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.