About Number 13

7809 Broadway
Galveston, TX 77554
View Larger Map

Welcome to Number 13 the only true Prime Steak and Seafood restaurant on Galveston Island. We pride ourselves on using local businesses to provide our ingredients and supplies and always use the freshest ingredients available.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Teichman Rd. / Exit 1c

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 572-2650

Website:
http://www.number13steak.com/

Entertainment:
We have live entertainment on most weekends. Call for the schedule of events.

Executive Chef:
Eric Nelson

Private Party Contact:
Eric Nelson: 4095722650x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Number 13 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Houston
Scenic View
Houston
Best Overall
Galveston
7 More
Best Food
Galveston
Best Service
Galveston
Best Ambiance
Galveston
Fit for Foodies
Galveston
Scenic View
Galveston
Special Occasion
Galveston
Most Booked
Galveston
Best Restaurants in Galveston ›

scenic view (48)
special occasion (47)
romantic (35)
See All
notable wine list (30)
good for groups (25)
fit for foodies (22)
great for outdoor dining (17)
vibrant bar scene (13)
hot spot (13)
great for brunch (12)
great for lunch (11)
neighborhood gem (11)
kid-friendly (8)
late-night find (5)
Sort By:
Newest
261 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Our experiences at Number 13 have been ...

Dined 4 days ago

Our experiences at Number 13 have been hit and miss. I think it depends on the staff on duty. For example, we ordered a lot of food at our last visit for 6. Everything was great until we received our entrées. Our side dishes were great and very hot. Our steaks were actually cold. I have never understood why a high end restaurant serves steaks and other items where the serving temperature demands hot, like steak or eggs on a cold plate. On this last visit we even spaced our order to try and prevent receiving cold food, but the kitchen either did not prepare it timely or the waiter left it sitting before it was served. The building and view is incredible, but many times the food and service is off. We keep trying as there is every potential. It is as if when the owner is on site thing are a little better, but when not, they go South. Price are not too high for the potential, but much to high for cold food. It is difficult to understand how this could happen where someone has made a very nice investment to offer first class dining.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent. Steak was good bu ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Service was excellent. Steak was good but not outstanding . King Crab and fish were quite good. Not a good value for the four star prices. Limited menu.

food5
ambience5
service3

Great meal, fantastic steak.

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great meal, fantastic steak.

food3
ambience5
service1

Our waiter Joshua was non existent. He o ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Our waiter Joshua was non existent. He only did the minimum. Never followed up. Never got their trademark popovers. Told the mgr and she couldn't remember the name popover. They gave them to us in our to go box and they were burnt! My Med rare filet was burnt and way over cooked. The potato au gratin was like frozen hash browns with cheese in them. The beet salad was delicious and so was the seared tuna. Basically a terrible meal and we spent over $250. Second time for this to happen so won't be coming back!! We can go to The Steakhouse or Rudy and Paco's for the same money and get a wonderful meal!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were looking for a nice place to go t ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We were looking for a nice place to go that wasn't a chain during our stay in Galveston for my birthday and Father's Day weekend. The reviews we found on Yelp did not disappoint! The restaurant reminds me of a Rusty Pelican or Chart House, with spectacular views, outstanding service, delicious food, and great outside space to have an after dinner cigar and port. There was also someone playing acoustic guitar that played at an appropriate noise level. Couldn't have asked for a better evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! The catch of the day, Mahi ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food! The catch of the day, Mahi Mahi, was outstanding. Service was attentive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

This is the 4th time dining at number 13 ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

This is the 4th time dining at number 13. Food, as always, was delicious. However, the service was really bad. The previous times j had been it was good, but it was bad that night. Our server Did not come by our table at all after the food runners brought out our appetizer. Thankfully the hostess saw our distress and wrapped our food up and brought our ticket after we waited for 30 mins.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Galveston has some great restaurants. Nu ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Galveston has some great restaurants. Number 13 is our new favorite!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took my mom here for her surprise bir ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We took my mom here for her surprise birthday dinner. The service, food, and atmosphere was absolutely amazing. Went for a early Sunday dinner, took our 4 year old nephew. Crowd grew as we were there longer, but was never too crowded or loud. Everyone at the table ordered something different and we all shared because it was so delicious! Chef Nelson came out to our table and introduced himself, and no problems with wait staff-very helpful and friendly and knew the menu and drink selections!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A great Galveston find

Dined on May 29, 2016

Not frequenting the island very often, this was a great find.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Galveston Gem

Dined on May 29, 2016

Lovely restaurant with great views, live music and nice outdoor patio. We were very happy overall and the food was great. The only thing that was not perfect was that we sat there for awhile before they came to the table with menus and to take drink orders. They were busy because it was a holiday weekend and apparently a Prom night. Will definitely go back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing date spot

Dined on May 28, 2016

This was beyond my expectations. Amazing food at a reasonable price for the great quality! Literally one of the best steaks I've ever had (14Oz NY strip), cocktails were top notch (TexasMule), side dishes were huge and uniquely delicious! Great spot to celebrate our anniversary, seriously considering making it a tradition. Worth every penny!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Best dining experience on the Island! E ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Best dining experience on the Island! Exquisite. Absolutely gorgeous. Walk on pier after!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Picture Perfect Dining

Dined on May 18, 2016

It is a beautiful, scenic restaurant on the water. The wait staff went above and beyond to make our evening perfect. Food was excellent, yummy and beautiful. It was pricey but worth it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

They were out of a good number of things ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

They were out of a good number of things on the menu. From what I have read, this seems to be a consistent problem. I have not experienced this at other fine dining restaurants.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Stephen was a great waiter. He said he ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Stephen was a great waiter. He said he worked at Tony's in Houston for 4 yrs. Love Tony's too, and you could tell he had the good experience. R

Tags: good for groups, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2

Mother's Day Brunch- excellent omelet an ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day Brunch- excellent omelet and the seafood section was good. Waiter was a little rude at times. $65 per person seemed a little steep too.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Find

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Our first visit to Number 13 will certainly not be our last. The Galveston Restaurant is located on the feeder road to I-45 as you enter the island. The building is a spacious place to dine with bay views throughout. What a nice touch when the waitstaff comes by with cucumber, lemon, and lime for your water. Then cocktails are interesting, and wine delicious. My dining companion had the bone in ribeye which was a large and tasty piece of meat dry aged. The green beans (family style) were very good. My dish was a spicy shrimp over grits, really good. It's a comfortable setting, and you don't feel rushed to get in and out. We had an enjoyable evening, hope to do it again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and service! We loved the ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Wonderful food and service! We loved the live music as well!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First visit

Dined on April 30, 2016

Arrived early and was seated right away. Waiter was very knowledgeable and the food was outstanding as well as the service. Loved it!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Super brunch!

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Super brunch!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love dining here! We live 2hrs away a ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

We love dining here! We live 2hrs away and have eaten here 3 times and it has always been great! On one occasion we were with a big group and the service and food were out standing!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Are we in Texas??

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

What a wonderful surprise to walk into this sophisticated restaurant in Galveston, Texas and be blown away!!!!!! A beautiful setting for a gorgeous view and a spectacular steak and cocktails. This is the most beautiful restaurant in Galveston, and maybe Houston also. Can't wait to bring clients and friends here. We will certainly be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

EASTER BRUNCH

Dined on March 27, 2016

Food, ambiance and personnel were excellent! GREAT HOSTESS, WAITRESS, STAFF and CHEF. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best secret ever!

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

We had been here for brunch and it was wonderful. And the menu looked really good. So we came here on our way from Houston to the 1894 Grand last week and we have been many places and to many restaurants, this was one of the very best ever! We will do this often from now on and have told friends already!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find

Dined on March 17, 2016

We went to Galveston for our anniversary and did not know where to eat. We googled a list our restaurants and just picked one without knowing anything about it. We wanted something different and unique and that is exactly what we got!! It made our anniversary memorable and was an amazing! This was above our expectations!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Over priced

Dined on March 13, 2016

My husband and I will never go back to Number 13. The food is overpriced and several of the items on the menu were no available. For instance the fish of the day had sold out the day before!! The prices were extremely high for the quality. The service was terrible and we had to ask almost every time to have out water glasses filled. We were definitely disappointed and would not recommend Number 13 to anyone.

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

respectable food and average service

Dined on March 12, 2016

We are a couple visiting Galveston and decided to sample Number 13 based on local recs. the appetizers were very good and the entrees solid if not exceptional. Service was slow and the waiter dropped food in my lap with only an "I'm sorry". The waiter was more focused on a large table nearby. it was a very expensive evening.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Capped a nice day on Galveston

Dined on March 12, 2016

Pleasant ambiance; very good service; wide entree selections on the menu. Came here because of the dry-aged porterhouse steak - but our appetizers were amazing. All-in -all, I'd come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Stupendous food, service and ambiance, but pricey

Dined on March 11, 2016

Our server, Kensie, was awesome as usual. New menu, but no caviar? Food exceptional-fresh, creative and flavorable! Drinks pricey, including water? Great evening

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant in Galveston

Dined on March 6, 2016

If you want delicious food, a wonderful view, great service in first class surroundings then this is the restaurant for you. Everything was outstanding!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Experience

Dined on March 6, 2016

My date and I had a very good time at Number 13. Our waiter, Kenneth, was very good at being there when necessary and not there when appropriate. Atmosphere was quiet for the most part. Decent wine list.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Okay

Dined on March 6, 2016

Liked the decor and the fact that it was very upscale for Galveston. Nice staff, but slow service. There were several large groups that night and that may have interfered with our service. Food was good, but too many competing flavors in the sides. I would give it another try.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Anniversary Quality

Dined on February 28, 2016

We were looking for a new upscale restaurant to celebrate out 24th anniversary and had seen this place on the drive in to Galveston every week. Although an anniversary is a once a year occasion and you want it to be special, this year was extra special because we were married on leap year day so it was a true anniversary. This place did not disappoint. I was pleased with the staff, the atmosphere and the food too! I will definitely be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Ok

Dined on February 28, 2016

Place is nice, nothing special. Service was ok, waitress was good but others didn't want to be working on Saturday night. Food/Steaks were just ok, filet was dry but rib eye was ok Drinks are a rip off, totally, by size and strength not to mention a 3 inch Margarita for $20 bucks

food5
ambience5
service5

This is our go to place, we eat here at ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

This is our go to place, we eat here at least once or twice a week‼️. You just can't go wrong here from their appetizers (shrimp Cristini's & oysters Rockefeller are my favorites) to there steaks and there sides (macaroni and cheese with jalapeños, potatoes augratin are our favorites, but all are very good), our favorite dessert is the Apple Pecan Cristini with Blueberry ice cream. We also love their happy hour it's all good. The cocktails are of a Mixology quality. This is a restaurant experience that you do not want to miss, The atmosphere is great by it's self, but the people make it outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better than expected

Dined on February 20, 2016

I made reservations to take my wife to Number 13 for a belated Valentine's Day. When we walked in we could tell it was going to be good. It was quiet and not very busy for a Saturday night compared to most restaurants. But this is no chain restaurant! The bar was full but quiet. We sat at a table near the window overlooking the marina. From the get go I knew it would be a good experience. They brought us warm clothes to clean our hands, offered three different types of water, sparkling, Voss, or cold tap water. The choices on the menu were a la carte. They all looked great! The bread, "popover bread" was the best pre meal bread I've ever had. We asked for an extra loaf just to take it home. We ordered the Seared Yellow Fin Tuna and Ribeye 16oz from Harris Ranch, CA, and the Jalapeño Mac and Cheese. For an appetizer we shared the Wedge Salad. No complaints just excellence! Every employee including owners/ and or managers were very caring and polite. The experience and food was worth the price. Never been there before but will definitely will return. Brunch this weekend and dinner next week.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

$300 for THE WORST SERVICE OF MY LIFE!!!

Dined on February 17, 2016

We recently visited Galveston and were looking for a nice restaurant for a night out during our stay. We selected Number 13. When we first got there, it was quite and has a very lovely atmosphere. Our waiter came over, took our drink order, explained some menu items and we were off to a good start. We got our drinks, ordered appetizers and then waited, for at least 45 minutes for the bread to come out. Then after another 20 minutes or so, our appetizers finally arrived. Another 30 minutes later (as other people who came in after us were finishing dessert and paying their bills), the waiter stopped by our table (our reservation was for 7PM, this is now 8:40PM) - to see if we wanted drink refills - my husband said, "Is everything okay?" and the waiter said, "yes, what do you mean?" my husband then said; "are you sure??" - the waiter finally, got the hint, looks up toward the kitchen, and said, "I think your meals are ready." He ran over to the kitchen brought our entrees (steaks said to have been cooked at 1400 degrees) - they were luke warm at best and said he'd be right back with the sides. He then came back a minute later, and told us two things, that first, he didn't have any record of us ordering sides - when we reminded him what they were, he said, he forgot to tell us that the butternut squash side was sold out - but that he would bring carrots instead prepared by the chef in the same way as the squash (a maple type preparation). 10 minutes later he showed up with green beans - which my husband said, "You said you were bringing carrots - these are green beans - I don't like them - thanks, but please just take them away." The waiter was apologetic, ran around crazy at the end to try and make up for it but it was too little too late. Would have been much better off to just say, 'sorry i completely forgot about you", and offer us the option of getting new steaks or cancelling them.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Number 13 dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife and I went to the Number13 for Valentine's Day. The food was outstanding and the service excellent. Lupe was our waiter and he did a great job. It was a little cool to be out on the terrace, but we will be back for the sunset when it warms up. I would highly recommend the Number 13 restaurant for those people that truly enjoy a fine dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Made rsvp for Valentine's Day and was a ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Made rsvp for Valentine's Day and was a little worried after reading some of the reviews. I'm glad that didn't make me change my mind because this place was A++. We arrived at the restaurant and the moment we walked in the service was amazing. The food was very delicious and the atmosphere was wonderful. This is a very nice place for couples with the scenic view. We will definitely be returning in the future.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.