About Number 13

7809 Broadway
Galveston, TX 77554
View Larger Map

Welcome to Number 13 the only true Prime Steak and Seafood restaurant on Galveston Island. We pride ourselves on using local businesses to provide our ingredients and supplies and always use the freshest ingredients available.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Teichman Rd. / Exit 1c

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(409) 572-2650

Website:
http://www.number13steak.com/

Entertainment:
We have live entertainment on most weekends. Call for the schedule of events.

Executive Chef:
Eric Nelson

Private Party Contact:
Eric Nelson: (409) 572-2650

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Number 13 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (21)
Scenic View (21)
Waterfront (20)
See All
Good for a Date (20)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Notable Wine List (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Business Meals (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Fun (4)
Cozy (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Casual (4)
People Watching (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Historic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Live Music (2)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
341 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our service at the bar was outstanding! ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Our service at the bar was outstanding! Mike was absolutely fantastic and we will come back to see him! However, the service at our table was VERY lacking. I didn't even catch our server's name. She was clearly overwhelmed by having a large party next to us which really effected the service she gave us. I was so disappointed as I had been bragging about how great Number 13 was. We were so disappointed. We had to actually ask for wine glasses and pour our own wine... we never received the hot towel service either. Service was slow and increased inattentive. Management should be aware. Next time we will just dine at the bar. For these prices service should never be slow, inattentive or lacking.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I want to like this place but this is th ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

I want to like this place but this is the 3rd try and feel the same way from all three times. Some of the food is great (shrimp crostini, chocolate molten dessert), some is not. The wine and drinks are very pricey along with the food. This creates the expectation of a 5* experience and it's not. Plus it creates a situation where islanders might go for a VERY special occasion, but not often. Add some reasonable down home food and cheaper choices for wine and we might be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Not our first dining experience at this ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Not our first dining experience at this restaurant, it has greatly improved. It was running very smoothly and the wine list was remarkable and great prices. It compares to our favorite Houston restaurant and we will return soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for restaurant week and everythi ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We went for restaurant week and everything was delicious (although I do recommend the bread pudding over the chocolate molten cake). Our server was a little on the hyper side, but very friendly and attentive nonetheless.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Restaurant week here was everything we h ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Restaurant week here was everything we hoped for and more from start to finish. It was nice to have a wonderful (exquisite, excellent) at an affordable cost. The ambiance was great and the service was exceptional.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was amazing! My husband and I ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Everything was amazing! My husband and I decided to try this place out based off of the list of restaurants for Galveston Restaurant Week. I'm so glad we did! 13 Rockefeller appetizer was the best! The Harris Ranch Beef Wellington was cooked to perfection! Oh and the bread pudding was very delicious as well! We sat at the bar until our table was ready and the bartender made me a special cocktail with pineapple and jalapeños. It was amazing! That was an off menu cocktail, but the one from the menu I had was the Vitamin Sea, it was also very delicious! The whole experience was great! I will definitely be going back!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit to Number 13. ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was our second visit to Number 13. The first time we had a very positive experience and

offered an excellent review. This time, however, we were somewhat disappointed. It was

just O.K. The restaurant was very busy and we take that into account.

We chose this restaurant on this occasion to enjoy the Galveston Restaurant Weeks menu.

Even though we mentioned that was the purpose of this trip, we were only offered the regular menu and had to ask for the special one.

Overall the food was good. The broccolini, however, was so tough I couldn't cut it. I had to ask

the waiter for a steak knife, which he thought was funny as he shook his head and laughed. It was a serious request, not a joke! Unfortunately.

We were served the appetizer before we had any silverware. We had to ask for bread. And,

dessert was brought to the table before the dirty entre dishes were removed.

Not the best for a restaurant of this caliber.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Need to train staff better. Service was ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Need to train staff better. Service was too fast for the price if the food.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value1

This is our go to place,. The food is a ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 4, 2017

This is our go to place,. The food is always exceptional as well as the service. You just can't go wrong here from the appetizers of, Alaskan King crab , jumbo shrimp oysters Rockefeller and shrimp Cristini‼. The beef Wellington is to die for and of course the ribeyes are out of this world, be sure and try the jalapeño mac & cheese it's one of our families favorites. Their cocktails are out of the mixology Level, and the bartenders are all great to get to know too ‼. We love No 13 for Special occasions and for any night of the week👍

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere was very modern and comfortab ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Atmosphere was very modern and comfortable with a view of moody gardens. Food was beyond expectations. Amuse was well worth it. Tuna poke best in Houston.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our 59th anniversary and we were ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It was our 59th anniversary and we were not disappointed. There was a nice view of the bay and the lighted pyramids. The shrimp were excellent and the steak was good. We dearly loved the popovers. They were a nice touch!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

After a couple of New Year's Eve dinners ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

After a couple of New Year's Eve dinners here, we have decided that this is probably the classiest restaurant and the best food in Galveston. We shared the crab cake appetizer (very good, but $28? really?) and the snapper with chimichuri sauce, which was excellent. We also had the butternut squash side and the brussel sprout side, which were outstanding. We found a very reasonably priced Viognier blend on the wine list, which was served nicely chilled (as white wine should be, but isn't always), which paired very well with the seafood and veggies. We interacted with several staff members, and they were all friendly, professional, and competent. A very pleasant and satisfying experience in every way.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Business Meals, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service, as always. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food and service, as always. My steak was prepared exactly to my liking, the jalapeno mac and cheese.....a special treat. Kevin was our waiter, and was superb. Just the right amount of attention to our needs.

We will return to this fine restaurant many times in the future. It is our new go-to place for special occasions, entertaining friends and out of town company.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff members were spectacular, the ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The staff members were spectacular, the location us very pretty, and the bartender made me an unusual drink which was great, but we are sorry to say that the food was only about a C. We were sad because we hoped that this would be one of our go-to restaurants when wanting something a little special or more upscale than typical dining, but no.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Food was spectacular - really great even ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was spectacular - really great evening overall!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I went for the first time ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My husband and I went for the first time on his birthday. The wait staff was professional and knowledgeable. The food was delicious. The prices are in line with a typical steak house, so it isn't somewhere to go for just any meal. We will be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was top notch. Food was bland an ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Service was top notch. Food was bland and overpriced. Definitely not the dining experience we anticipated.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

We went to celebrate 3 birthdays. Three ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We went to celebrate 3 birthdays. Three of us ordered Prime Rib as it was Thursday. We were served a grilled rib eye that was so tough that we could barely cut it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

This place never disappoints. It is bea ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 17, 2016

This place never disappoints. It is beautiful, the food is great and the service is always spot on!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Romantic, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

It was excellent. We had the cheese and ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 16, 2016

It was excellent. We had the cheese and meat board as an appetizer then the salad. Both were fresh and tasty. The homemade warm popover was a great touch. Our main courses (8 oz filet, catch of the day red fish, shrimp cocktail and 6 oz filet) were enjoyed by all four of us. The meat was a good cut. The gulf shrimp were fine and cocktail saide unique and tangy. We also got the jalapeño mac and cheese and French fries (2 college-age sons) that were too much fur even them! We were too full for dessert but the selection looked lovely. This was our first time for dinner and second time overall (brunch). We Luce the interior and the view of the Galveston harbor. Hope they are in business for years to come!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We go to Number 13 for special occasions ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 14, 2016

We go to Number 13 for special occasions, birthdays and anniversaries. We are never disappointed in service or food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For the price I was not impressed. The ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 3, 2016

For the price I was not impressed. The shrimp were very small. We order the shrimp crostini and were thinking it would come out on small pieces of bread. Instead it was 2 shrimp placed on large loaves of bread. My husband ordered the Oscar topping and was unimpressed that they did not use lump crab meat. Our table was very wobbly and we mentioned it to our waitress and she said she would speak to the manager. Nothing was ever fixed so we sat there holding on to the table so nothing would spill. They do have a nice atmosphere and an extensive wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Made reservations for my girlfriends bir ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Made reservations for my girlfriends birthday. Ordered the Filet and the Ribeye, took 20 minutes just to get our appetizers even though the place was pretty empty. The Filet was OK , not great but just average. The Ribeye was no better than a throw down steak at any chain steakhouse. Actually I have had way better Ribeyes at chain steakhouse. For a $200 dinner it was very disappointing. I have eaten at dang near every top shelf steakhouse in Houston and they were ALL better than 13. I do realize that every restaurant can have an off night, so I may give them a second chance in the future but not anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

We are visiting Galveston for Thanksgivi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 21, 2016

We are visiting Galveston for Thanksgiving holiday. After reading reviews, I have selected 7 restaurants for the seven nights we'd be spending in Galveston. I have made reservations for all. We ate at Number 13 at the first evening.

We enjoyed the ambience (except for a loud and obnoxious woman at the table next to us, totally out of restaurant's control, she increased the acidity of our stomachs for a good while before we could take a deep breath when she left. Peace took over the restaurant, literally).

The servers were on time, attentive (but not pushy and not trying to rush us out of the restaurant), polite, and knowledgeable. We ordered a variety of fish and all of them were made to perfection. We ordered two side dishes and both tasted out of this world.

The wine list was extensive and our glases of red and white wines were lovely. They had a full bar too.

I could see the owner or manager (someone in charger) constantly keeping an eye on the floor to oversee things making sure everyone was taken care of.

It was Sunday evening and more than half of the tables were empty. Our server asked us whether we liked bread before dinner or not (suggested to me this did not come automatically). I did say yes, but we were never served bread. Also before the desserts were served, my father accidentally poured a glass of water on the table. We used all of our napkins to dry the table. When serving the dessert, the server could not have possibly missed a pile of wet napkins at one corner of the table. Yet she did not offer us fresh napkins. These were the two reasons I took a star away.

Overall the food is pricey especially because it does not come with any sides and you do need to order the sides separately. But the sides are large and family style and the table can share.

I do recommend this restaurant and next time I come to Galveston, will go back again. I'd be just more outspoken about my bread and fresh napkins or would not pay 20% tip like I did this time!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is our favorite go to place, we lov ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This is our favorite go to place, we love the people, the food and the service.

The food is fabulous, from the Wonderful Steaks and Seafood, to the great

sides, like Jalapeño Mac & Cheese, and the Fish Taco's & Oysters, you just

can't go wrong here. This is a Fabulous Restaurant to Celebrate Special

Occasions, for a lasting memory too. We love the bartenders and the entire

staff, they make Fabulous Mixology level drinks!!

Thanks Number 13 for a Great Experience, every time!!

Tags: Seasonal, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu on the website is not up-to-dat ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The menu on the website is not up-to-date. We went expecting a brunch with lobster eggs Benedict and they were not one of the three menu choices. That said, we each selected a different option and both were excellent. Fun drink menu! It was a lovely brunch and we will return for the service, food and calming views. Beautiful restaurant in Galveston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Excellent dinner, service, and atmospher ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent dinner, service, and atmosphere. The popovers were a fabulous treat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was outstanding. Ou ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food and service was outstanding. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the history of the restaurant and explained how the restaurant obtained the name #13. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Cozy, Outstanding Value, Wood Oven, Historic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food! Would defini ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Excellent service and food! Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

In Galveston for an event and wanted to ...

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 17, 2016

In Galveston for an event and wanted to go somewhere nice and unique for our 8 yr anniversary. Steak was dynamite! They even wrote 'Happy Anniversary' on the desert plate. The s'more desert is a must! Thank you for such a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my third experience at 13 and i ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

This was my third experience at 13 and it met my expectations for the occasion. I look forward to returning soon!

Tags: Happy Hour, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely ambiance and delicious food. We ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Lovely ambiance and delicious food. We enjoyed everything we had including the Texas Onion soup, Brussels sprouts, tuna, and the molten chocolate dessert. Our glasses were never empty. The wait staff was excellent!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Anniversary experience

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Excellent Anniversary experience

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Historic, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fun, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was great, food was cooked co ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Everything was great, food was cooked correctly, the mix drinks where great.

the outside atmosphere was relaxing and quiet ,

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice, excellent service. Bar select ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Very nice, excellent service. Bar selection was impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

oustanding dry aged steaks.F Bryce was a ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 5, 2016

oustanding dry aged steaks.F Bryce was a GREAT waiter. Good wine at a fair price. Just a great evening. Fried quail was exceptional as well.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Our waiter was great but the bone in rib ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Our waiter was great but the bone in ribeye was uneventful. Not sure how you can present a medium temperature steak that is cooked correctly yet not juicy at all. The Yukon mashed potatoes were the best thing on the table. My wife fillet was better than mine, yet still nothing worth writing home about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

It was my first time here to this hidden ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2016

It was my first time here to this hidden gem on Galveston island. Beautiful decor with a spectacular view of the marina out back made for an incredible sunset. My steak was cooked to perfection, moist and delicious. Great wait staff as well.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great all around. The food was fantastic ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great all around. The food was fantastic and the service would be hard to beat. They have a decent wine selection and the dry aged steaks are a must try.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.