Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

About Nugget Casino Resort - The Steakhouse Grill

The Steakhouse Grill at the Nugget is your spot to enjoy fine dining at an affordable price! We proudly feature beef cut daily at our in-house butcher shop.

Try our Special our signature steaks including Filet Mignon, or create-your-own Surf and Turf combination. .

1100 Nugget Ave
Sparks, NV 89431
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:


Open Wednesday - Sunday at 5.00pm

(Closed: Monday - Tuesday)

Wednesday, Thursday & Sunday: 5.00 p.m. - 9.00 p.m.

Friday/Saturday: 5.00 p.m.- 10.00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 356-3300

Website:
http://www.nuggetcasinoresort.com/

Parking Details:
We do offer both Valet and General Hotel Parking

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Nugget Casino Resort - The Steakhouse Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for a Date (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
See All
Special Occasion (11)
Romantic (10)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Business Meals (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Casual (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Authentic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Cozy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Fun (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Seasonal (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
194 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I have to eat a very limited diet. I asked for the Lobster with no butter, no lemon and no seasoning except salt. I got it all, exactly as ordered and the Lobster was great. My husband had the Filet Mignon and he loved it. This is our 4th or 5th time at the Steakhouse Grill and we have never been disappointed. I don't remember our server's name but she was great!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We always love to dine at the Nugget Steakhouse. Service is excellent (we always ask for Alex who is very attentive), and the food outstanding. Chef Julian prepared a boneless rib eye steak with espresso sauce that was delectable. Art, the manager, suggested we try Roca Red Wine Blend 2011, and we enjoyed every drop. Prices for a first class meal are reasonable, so bring the whole family or go there for a romantic dinner.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 29, 2017

It was my wife's and my 37th wedding anniversary. We looked forward to a nice dinner, a show and we even stayed the night at the hotel. What we got was far less than what we expected in the dining room. First, we sat down and waited for over 10 minutes to see our waiter. Bad omen. When the identity of our waiter was finally revealed, he seemed to have little time to take care of us, so we decided to have our drink, meal and dessert order ready. Time was getting short and we didn't want to be late for the show. Another 15 minutes rolled by without a word from our waiter. Finally the drinks were served and they weren't right. Next the meal. I ordered steak, medium, it was rare. My wife ordered chicken and it was under cooked. She didn't eat it for fear that she would get sick. The sides were terrible and under cooked. Counter to all of this was that the waiter made sure or bill was there quick. I paid $100 for one of the worst meals I've ever had the displeasure to experience. Thus, the terrible rating. Unfortunately, it was an anniversary we can't get back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Steak was perfect, the sides were all delicious and the setting was quite and comfortable.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Had a wonderful dining experience. A little disappointed in my drink, a Moscow Mule, didn't come in a copper cup, and came with a lemon and not a lime. Didn't really taste good at all, but I am not one to send stuff back, so I drank it. Other than that, the food was beyond excellent, and the staff was very nice.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Sandy took great care of us. She has worked at the Nugget for 42 years! Wow! Good people are hard to come by. Food was good. Our order was put in wrong but was corrected. Cappuccino after dinner was the perfect meal ending.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Steakhouse Grill is in serious need of a remodel. Everything about the room is tired and outdated (fabric on the booth seating could easily be from the 1980's it's so worn). Table cloths and napkins were sadly in need of ironing. Staff uniforms were sloppy and poorly fitted. The kitchen is tiny and therefore food service is incredibly slow. Our entree took well over an hour to be served. Although we never complained, our server acknowledged the slow service and offered us a complimentary dessert which was a nice gesture. The best thing about the Nugget - great parking garage!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Salmon had to be returned. It was either under cooked or a questionable piece of fish. Second piece was good. Sandy did a good job serving.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had excellent service but the food presentation and quality has dropped from previous visits. Although we had reservations there would not have been a problem just walking in on a Friday night.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Pretty good restaurant: excellent wine, very good service, the food was pretty good except I didn't like their salads, not sure why. The chicken, the veggies, the potato, filet mignon brushetta were all good. The mac & cheese was good on Friday night cuz it had bread crumbs on top for a nice crunchy coating. But on Saturday, the same dish had no topping and wasn't as good. I would go there again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Maybe it was an off night, but although the taste, flavor, preparation and presentation of the food were all good, most of the food was served lukewarm, which made it less enjoyable for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Friendly staff. Our waitress Sheila was excellent. Husbands steak was wonderful. My lobster was lacking flavor and had to send it back because it was not hot or cooked through. Would not order that again but the 16 oz size was to tempting not to try. Wish I had ordered something else.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Special for the night was an excellent shrimp fettuccine. Sandy provides excellent service.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

I was entirely underwhelmed by my experience at the SteakHouse. We were a party of five and were seated at a table for eight. This made conversation a little difficult. We were given only 1 breadbasket and hardly enough butter for 5 rolls and the rolls should have been more artisan and HOT for the price were paying for the entrees. No one offered to bring more bread. One in our party ordered a Bourbon Presbyterian with Jameson and it came without soda or gingerale. We had to ask if there were any specials for the evening considering it was Easter. There was only one and that was Prime Rib which I didn't think was a good choice for the day. The prices!!!! Considering everything was ala carte I thought prices were a bit high. How much would a baked potato cost to include with the entrée? The food was passble, but that was it Will not be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food, appetizers, good selection of drinks, great desserts.
Great for taking a date or loved one.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Had a nice steak dinner here. We all enjoyed beef steaks. 3 of us had filets and one a rib eye. We did get a salad or soup with the steak, we all had salads.
We were supposed to have a sauce with the steaks, but the waiter did not ask us what kind we would like, so we didn't have a sauce.
They offered a wine special for 40.00, and it was a nice wine.
The room is still very nice there at the Nugget.
And our waiter was friendly.
But it is not the best steakhouse in town.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Most dinner houses have closed up.. things have gone casual..The steak house is the way eating us to be. Great food. Great personal service. Great ambitious. The best of the best.. I drove over 300 miles to eat there..

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We received top notch service from Alex. The food was served promptly and beautifully plated. I really enjoyed the Bananas Foster for dessert that is prepared tableside.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Been going here 25 years. I remember when it was good. It has gone down hill steadily. The whole Victorian Square surrounding this Casino Restaurant is not somewhere to venture out into in general. There is a constantly potential for confrontation.

There are many good steakhouse in the Reno/Tahoe area and the Nugget Steakhouse is no longer passable as one of them. Food arrived cold and under-cooked. Service was slow . Wine list is not what it used to be. There was no decent choice of zinfandel. We were informed they would not serve certain desserts, we assumed because the staff were tipped over by a larger crowd than what they're used to having.

Bartender was a rookie and didn't know how to make a cocktail with the right ingredients. This hotel casino is full of riffraff and the security is lacking. Witnessed people smoking marijuana inside the casino and right out side the Victorian Square entrance in groups. Sparks police were parked where they usually are over by the East entrance, but no officers to be seen. Anyone who knew the way the Nugget used to be knows this place has turned into a dump.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal at The Nugget Steakhouse. The maitre d' brought us our favorite wine, opened it at our table and explained what they are doing at the vineyard. The waiter was very attentive and brought us our meal promptly. We had the daily special, which was superb. Chef Julian came out to ask us how we liked the food, and we complimented him effusively. We recommend The Nugget Steakhouse to anyone who is looking for a fine meal in Northern Nevada.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We have been to this restaurant before and the food and atmosphere is always perfect. I was a little disappointed with the service, it took almost 15 minutes before a waitress asked if we have been help, although we did have water and bread i was disappointed with the wait.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We had a wonderful meal. There were 8 in our group and everyone was very pleased with their meal. The service was impeccable. We will be going back soon.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 12, 2017

As stated below the food was outstanding...great service..quiet atmosphere...cordial lady at the front desk..

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent service, one waiter to 4-6 tables plus two support, quality checks by three staff including manager, superb steaks and accompaniments.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Fun, Authentic, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Service was outstanding! ! Art, Alex, Joe, Jose, and Sam always provide superior service. Brianna and Kyra are superb additions to the outstanding staff. The new menu and Chief have renewed our interest in the Steakhouse. We plan to visit at least once a week. No

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I'm a local of 28 years and it was my first time going to the Nugget Steakhouse. Made reservations online and we walked right in. The service was a bit slow and we didn't see our waiter around for a while. They weren't horrendously busy for a Saturday. Overall, food was decent but not fantastic. If you want sides you order them seperately from your steak. You get soup or salad with a meal, the house salad was actually really good, I ordered mine with vinaigrette dressing.. Steak was dry and flavorless. Honestly, the worst filet mignon I have had. I had high hopes. I ordered the mashed potatoes for my side, those were dry as well. No butter or flavor. The best part was dessert and I ordered the Vanilla Créme Brulée. That was pretty tasty! Overall for a $100 dinner at a Steakhouse I probably wouldn't go there on a date night again. If seemed like casino people and large parties had a better time then we did. Oh well, it was an experience that we needed to check mark off!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was delicious! Great restaraunt but the only complain I have is the wait (extremely long). Other then that, I would go back.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Classic Reno Casino Steakhouse. Had not been there in 20 years and actually got our awesome server Sandy that we had at that time. Food is great and a great value. Wine list is extensive and very fairly priced. Go now before it changes.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great location inside casino. Okay service with good food,wish it was more menu options but overall good steak!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Made Reservations for Valentines Day, Feb. 14, 2017. Overall pretty disappointed with the food and service, the only thing I can say in their defense was that it was Valentines Day and they were very busy, but clearly not prepared to handle the volume that is predictable and customary on Valentines Day. The wait staff was polite and courteous, they tried to resolve issues, but failed. Examples, Ordered three different steaks, all medium. Two were bloody, not medium pink, one diner consumed the steak, the other was sent back. It took 10 minutes for someone to check on us and try to re-cook the steak and 20 minutes to get the steak back, No exaggeration, everyone was done with dinner by the time this was fixed. We were charged for 2 bottles of wine but only ordered/consumed one, this was fixed. The couple sitting next to us ordered a bottle of wine and completely finished it prior to their dinner salads even arriving 30-40 minutes, they got up and left.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was great and Alex, our waiter, was the best. His recommendations and attention was great.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for daughters 21st birthday (which is on Valentine's Day). We were a party of ten with six being children (ages ranging from 3-14). The staff was very accommodating. Didn't act like they were above having children in their restaurant. They made sure we had what we needed during the night. The food was good. Nice choices for appetizers.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Due to the fact that John Ascuaga has an "in" with the Basque and Rancher communities the quality of the steaks and lamb chops is incredibly good. Also, the lobster is the best in town. I wouldn't call this place the "trendy" place to go but I would call this restaurant the best value for the superb quality that we have in Reno/Sparks. It is located in Sparks so your Yelp searches may not bring it up even though it is just 5 minutes from Reno. I recommend this place if you want to talk quietly with family or your romantic partner.
Ask for Sandy, she will give you superb service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great steaks and warm atmosphere. Good wine list.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Alex, our waiter, was very attentive and made sure everything was done right.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Caveat: We went early on a weekday and the restaurant was nearly empty, however as our meal progressed it started to fill up.
Our waiter was very entertaining and attentive. He had difficulty reaching the whole table so we participated in the placement of dishes on the table, lol.
The sommelier was outstanding and a great pleasure to talk to... so much in fact that we made a reservation for a special wine pairing dinner a month out!
The chef was also great to interact with and we learned that the restaurant was undergoing some menu alterations in the very near future.
Atmosphere normal for casino restaurant, not secluded but we had a table near the front... the noise was a touch high for intimate dining.
My wife is temporarily disabled and they accommodated the wheelchair with aplomb.
Food. Delicious, interesting and well presented. Made allowances for gluten-free diners that were not bland and they provided gluten free bread for the table.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The Steakhouse was a total disapointment. Cold food.
Dessert portions were patheically small. Left feeling
like we had been totally ripped off. I guarantee we will NOT
be returning.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The appetizer, Escargot, had to be returned. Over cooked/ burned and should have been picked up by the waiter. Other dishes were excellent.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Restaurant was out of lamb shank on Saturday night January 28th. This was the reason we went there. Waiter said that they ran out Friday night

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great meal! My husband & I both got the filet mignon & it was delicious! Service was great as well. Super reasonable prices. I highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.