Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

About Nugget Casino Resort - The Steakhouse Grill

The Steakhouse Grill at the Nugget is your spot to enjoy fine dining at an affordable price! We proudly feature beef cut daily at our in-house butcher shop, including Certified Angus Beef.

Come in and please your palate with our delicious, new appetizers, including Petite Lobster Corn Dogs with Sweet Chili Ketchup, Dungeness Crab Cakes or Bacon Wrapped Dates.

Try our Special 32 ounce Steakhouse Signature Long Bone Cowboy Ribeye, a 6 or 9 ounce Filet Mignon, or create-your-own Surf and Turf combination. All entrées include a choice of house salad, soup of the day or fresh vegetables, and your choice of a salt-roasted baked potato, wild rice pilaf or creamy mashed potatoes.

Indulge in our Signature House Meatloaf made with a blend of beef, veal and pork and topped with mushroom gravy, or try the Colorado Rack of Lamb or Sautéed Garlic Prawns.

1100 Nugget Ave
Sparks, NV 89431
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:


Open Wednesday - Sunday at 5.00pm

(Closed: Monday - Tuesday)

Wednesday, Thursday & Sunday: 5.00 p.m. - 9.00 p.m.

Friday/Saturday: 5.00 p.m.- 10.00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 356-3300

Website:
http://www.nuggetcasinoresort.com/

Parking Details:
We do offer both Valet and General Hotel Parking

Executive Chef:
Michael Norton

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Nugget Casino Resort - The Steakhouse Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
See All
Romantic (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Authentic (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Casual (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Cozy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fun (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Healthy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
181 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

I was entirely underwhelmed by my experience at the SteakHouse. We were a party of five and were seated at a table for eight. This made conversation a little difficult. We were given only 1 breadbasket and hardly enough butter for 5 rolls and the rolls should have been more artisan and HOT for the price were paying for the entrees. No one offered to bring more bread. One in our party ordered a Bourbon Presbyterian with Jameson and it came without soda or gingerale. We had to ask if there were any specials for the evening considering it was Easter. There was only one and that was Prime Rib which I didn't think was a good choice for the day. The prices!!!! Considering everything was ala carte I thought prices were a bit high. How much would a baked potato cost to include with the entrée? The food was passble, but that was it Will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food, appetizers, good selection of drinks, great desserts.
Great for taking a date or loved one.

Tags: Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Had a nice steak dinner here. We all enjoyed beef steaks. 3 of us had filets and one a rib eye. We did get a salad or soup with the steak, we all had salads.
We were supposed to have a sauce with the steaks, but the waiter did not ask us what kind we would like, so we didn't have a sauce.
They offered a wine special for 40.00, and it was a nice wine.
The room is still very nice there at the Nugget.
And our waiter was friendly.
But it is not the best steakhouse in town.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Most dinner houses have closed up.. things have gone casual..The steak house is the way eating us to be. Great food. Great personal service. Great ambitious. The best of the best.. I drove over 300 miles to eat there..

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We received top notch service from Alex. The food was served promptly and beautifully plated. I really enjoyed the Bananas Foster for dessert that is prepared tableside.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Been going here 25 years. I remember when it was good. It has gone down hill steadily. The whole Victorian Square surrounding this Casino Restaurant is not somewhere to venture out into in general. There is a constantly potential for confrontation.

There are many good steakhouse in the Reno/Tahoe area and the Nugget Steakhouse is no longer passable as one of them. Food arrived cold and under-cooked. Service was slow . Wine list is not what it used to be. There was no decent choice of zinfandel. We were informed they would not serve certain desserts, we assumed because the staff were tipped over by a larger crowd than what they're used to having.

Bartender was a rookie and didn't know how to make a cocktail with the right ingredients. This hotel casino is full of riffraff and the security is lacking. Witnessed people smoking marijuana inside the casino and right out side the Victorian Square entrance in groups. Sparks police were parked where they usually are over by the East entrance, but no officers to be seen. Anyone who knew the way the Nugget used to be knows this place has turned into a dump.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal at The Nugget Steakhouse. The maitre d' brought us our favorite wine, opened it at our table and explained what they are doing at the vineyard. The waiter was very attentive and brought us our meal promptly. We had the daily special, which was superb. Chef Julian came out to ask us how we liked the food, and we complimented him effusively. We recommend The Nugget Steakhouse to anyone who is looking for a fine meal in Northern Nevada.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We have been to this restaurant before and the food and atmosphere is always perfect. I was a little disappointed with the service, it took almost 15 minutes before a waitress asked if we have been help, although we did have water and bread i was disappointed with the wait.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We had a wonderful meal. There were 8 in our group and everyone was very pleased with their meal. The service was impeccable. We will be going back soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 12, 2017

As stated below the food was outstanding...great service..quiet atmosphere...cordial lady at the front desk..

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent service, one waiter to 4-6 tables plus two support, quality checks by three staff including manager, superb steaks and accompaniments.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Business Meals, Fun, Authentic, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Service was outstanding! ! Art, Alex, Joe, Jose, and Sam always provide superior service. Brianna and Kyra are superb additions to the outstanding staff. The new menu and Chief have renewed our interest in the Steakhouse. We plan to visit at least once a week. No

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I'm a local of 28 years and it was my first time going to the Nugget Steakhouse. Made reservations online and we walked right in. The service was a bit slow and we didn't see our waiter around for a while. They weren't horrendously busy for a Saturday. Overall, food was decent but not fantastic. If you want sides you order them seperately from your steak. You get soup or salad with a meal, the house salad was actually really good, I ordered mine with vinaigrette dressing.. Steak was dry and flavorless. Honestly, the worst filet mignon I have had. I had high hopes. I ordered the mashed potatoes for my side, those were dry as well. No butter or flavor. The best part was dessert and I ordered the Vanilla Créme Brulée. That was pretty tasty! Overall for a $100 dinner at a Steakhouse I probably wouldn't go there on a date night again. If seemed like casino people and large parties had a better time then we did. Oh well, it was an experience that we needed to check mark off!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was delicious! Great restaraunt but the only complain I have is the wait (extremely long). Other then that, I would go back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Classic Reno Casino Steakhouse. Had not been there in 20 years and actually got our awesome server Sandy that we had at that time. Food is great and a great value. Wine list is extensive and very fairly priced. Go now before it changes.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great location inside casino. Okay service with good food,wish it was more menu options but overall good steak!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Made Reservations for Valentines Day, Feb. 14, 2017. Overall pretty disappointed with the food and service, the only thing I can say in their defense was that it was Valentines Day and they were very busy, but clearly not prepared to handle the volume that is predictable and customary on Valentines Day. The wait staff was polite and courteous, they tried to resolve issues, but failed. Examples, Ordered three different steaks, all medium. Two were bloody, not medium pink, one diner consumed the steak, the other was sent back. It took 10 minutes for someone to check on us and try to re-cook the steak and 20 minutes to get the steak back, No exaggeration, everyone was done with dinner by the time this was fixed. We were charged for 2 bottles of wine but only ordered/consumed one, this was fixed. The couple sitting next to us ordered a bottle of wine and completely finished it prior to their dinner salads even arriving 30-40 minutes, they got up and left.

Tags: Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was great and Alex, our waiter, was the best. His recommendations and attention was great.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for daughters 21st birthday (which is on Valentine's Day). We were a party of ten with six being children (ages ranging from 3-14). The staff was very accommodating. Didn't act like they were above having children in their restaurant. They made sure we had what we needed during the night. The food was good. Nice choices for appetizers.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Due to the fact that John Ascuaga has an "in" with the Basque and Rancher communities the quality of the steaks and lamb chops is incredibly good. Also, the lobster is the best in town. I wouldn't call this place the "trendy" place to go but I would call this restaurant the best value for the superb quality that we have in Reno/Sparks. It is located in Sparks so your Yelp searches may not bring it up even though it is just 5 minutes from Reno. I recommend this place if you want to talk quietly with family or your romantic partner.
Ask for Sandy, she will give you superb service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great steaks and warm atmosphere. Good wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Alex, our waiter, was very attentive and made sure everything was done right.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Caveat: We went early on a weekday and the restaurant was nearly empty, however as our meal progressed it started to fill up.
Our waiter was very entertaining and attentive. He had difficulty reaching the whole table so we participated in the placement of dishes on the table, lol.
The sommelier was outstanding and a great pleasure to talk to... so much in fact that we made a reservation for a special wine pairing dinner a month out!
The chef was also great to interact with and we learned that the restaurant was undergoing some menu alterations in the very near future.
Atmosphere normal for casino restaurant, not secluded but we had a table near the front... the noise was a touch high for intimate dining.
My wife is temporarily disabled and they accommodated the wheelchair with aplomb.
Food. Delicious, interesting and well presented. Made allowances for gluten-free diners that were not bland and they provided gluten free bread for the table.

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The Steakhouse was a total disapointment. Cold food.
Dessert portions were patheically small. Left feeling
like we had been totally ripped off. I guarantee we will NOT
be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The appetizer, Escargot, had to be returned. Over cooked/ burned and should have been picked up by the waiter. Other dishes were excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Restaurant was out of lamb shank on Saturday night January 28th. This was the reason we went there. Waiter said that they ran out Friday night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great meal! My husband & I both got the filet mignon & it was delicious! Service was great as well. Super reasonable prices. I highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Not bad, we had the steak, of course, and it was just as requested.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The baseball steak was tasty, The 10 oz. cut was more than either of us could eat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Not up to par.Sat us in cramped aisle table until we asked to move to a booth. Food was average . Wedge salad had one cherry tomate and a teaspoon of avocado. Lamb shank very dry. Husbands bison steak was delicious. I would order steak next time. Too packed for early New Years Eve dinner.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went there for New Year's Eve dinner. I had my doubts as the last 2 times we went there (once in 2014 and once in 2015) the food and service were subpar from what it used to be prior to those years. Anyway, the ladies had lobster and we guys had the porterhouse steak. Everyone thought the food was great as was the service provided by Matthew.
We will definitely try the Nugget Steakhouse again.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My fish was over cooked I send it back 2 and still was overcooked. Our waitress was awesome and the atmosphere was great I would recommend this to all my friends but just don't eat the seafood. I did spend a lot for our meal and expected more from our meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great Service from the matridee. Server could have been a bit more friendly. Food was a little dry.

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent steak and service! Did not disappoint, will stop in again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Good atmosphere and food,nice xmas special. No espresso at end of evening and also a couple menu items were unavailable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Unfortunately this visit the steak was cold and the potatoes were yucky. The service was good. I have had much better meals here. The chestnut soup was the best part of the meal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Our steaks were good but the place is runned down. Tablecloth was soiled and tattered. High dollar wine was served warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Both food and service were great. I will certainly return to try other dishes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Nugget Steakhouse is usually quite excellent. We went there on Thanksgiving and my soup and main course were tepid temperature though the bowl and plate were hot. The turkey and dressing were roll style which I did not expect, covered with gravy. The dessert was quite good. I expected an excellent special turkey dinner but did not get it. My husband doesn't like a fuss so I said nothing. We were there at 3 pm and were the second party seated for the day. Our drinks were initially forgotten. Not impressive for a Holiday. Won't go there again for such an occasion.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was good. My lobster was a bit undercooked. Filet was wonderful. Escargot was wonderful. Service adequate but not personal. When we arrived, the greeter did not seem to have our reservation. After giving him my name, he said he would be right back. When he returned, he was polite, but not welcoming. Our server was kind, but telling him my friend and I were celebrating her retirement he just smiled and hurried off. He didn't seem to care it was a special occasion for her. I couldn't help notice the table next to us got a visit from the head waiter or Maitre D and the chef, but our server didn't even offer anything - even a congratulations to my friend. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone but romantic couples.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.