Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

About Nugget Casino Resort - The Steakhouse Grill

The Steakhouse Grill at the Nugget is your spot to enjoy fine dining at an affordable price! We proudly feature beef cut daily at our in-house butcher shop.

Try our Special our signature steaks including Filet Mignon, or create-your-own Surf and Turf combination. .

1100 Nugget Ave
Sparks, NV 89431
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:


Open Wednesday - Sunday at 5.00pm

(Closed: Monday - Tuesday)

Wednesday, Thursday & Sunday: 5.00 p.m. - 9.00 p.m.

Friday/Saturday: 5.00 p.m.- 10.00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 356-3300

Website:
http://www.nuggetcasinoresort.com/

Parking Details:
We do offer both Valet and General Hotel Parking

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Nugget Casino Resort - The Steakhouse Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

Noise

Quiet

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Romantic (21)
See All
Quiet Conversation (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Good for a Date (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Business Meals (15)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Cozy (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Casual (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Authentic (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Fun (1)
Sort by
S
250 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined 2 days ago

The special was steak and lobster tail -- so much food we had to split it, and Alex our server was happy to do that for us. Delicious! The steak was so tender, and the Bearnaise sauce was wonderfully made. Fabulous lobster tail, moist and tender. The meal was complemented by Frank Family Vineyard Cabernet Sauvignon. We highly recommend it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 10, 2017

In a word the Steakhouse is Fabulous! We dined there Saturday and enjoyed their special Sea Bass cooked to perfection. It melts in your mouth, accompanied by spinach and the creamiest mash potatoes. Art, the manager, served us a special JLohr Cabernet that was delightful. Our server Alex treated us like family , and we cannot review without noting how wonderful Chef Julian is.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Great food and service we all got something different so we could share we will be back

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 6, 2017

The Service Staff is by far the best in town. Art, Alex, Joe,Jose, and Sam are always efficient and very friendly. The onion soup and seafood risotto are always outstanding !! We always look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 30, 2017

It took a long time for the server to come. I order a filet and it came al la crate and the server did not let me know I needed to added extras. My husband and a friend ordered the bone in filet and it came out frozen in the middle. They took it back and cut off the remaining meat and cooked what was left and brought it back out. They only removed $70 from our bill which was for only one steak. To say sorry they brought out what they said was fine whiskey and it was the worst. So strong and burned when it went down I know good whiskey doesn't do that. I would not recommend this place until they get their act together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Our table was ready, with a special wine hand-selected by Art Mnatsakanyan, the manager. It was fabulous, and we enjoyed every drop. This time we ordered Chateaubriand for two. It was melt-in-your mouth tender and juicy, attentively served by Alex Ibrahim. Even the buss person gave us special service, preparing the box with what I could not finish. It was just as delicious next day for my lunch.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 26, 2017

It was a busy Saturday night, and we were early from our reservation. Yet, Art, the manager, led us to the best available table and brought us a very special bottle of wine, telling us it was the last bottle of that label because the vineyard would henceforth only sell it to their members. We felt so privileged. Alex, our waiter, was running hither and yon, but took extra time with us, made some suggestions and delivered our orders in excellent time. We observed Chef Julian directing the other chefs, as The Steakhouse was at capacity. Such a wonderful experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 26, 2017

We were seated at the time of our reservation. It took 20 minutes to be recognized with water and bread. It took another 25 minutes to place the wine and dinner order. Our wine came quickly, but our dinner did not come until 30 minutes later. Because we were going to a show at the hotel, we had less than 20 minutes to enjoy our dinner and get to the showroom.

The restaurant was understaffed in all 3 categories: bus service, waiter service and chef service.

Although the restaurant provided us with a 1/2 bottle of wine for our inconvenience, we will not be back.

Dick M.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 26, 2017

This was by far the worst dining experience I’ve ever had. Waited over 15 minutes to see if we could add 2 to our original party of 4. (Nugget staff couldn’t tell me over the phone when I called earlier that day and said our extra 2 should just come with us.) When I was finally able to ask the manager, he said he couldn’t accommodate any of us; I had made reservations a month prior! We then waited over 15 minutes at our table in a warm, smoky environment before we had to ask for water and remind them we had 8pm show tickets. We then waited another 10+ minutes before we asked to place our entree order (no time to consider appetizers at that point); woman apologized, made a big deal about comping the bottle of wine I had ordered and said we’d be ‘fine’ because she’d put our meal ‘at the top of the line’ and our show ‘had an opening act so we could be late and still see him’ (Jay Leno). (Never mind that we paid for and wanted to see his opening act, and get drinks prior.) A bottle of wine significantly cheaper than the one I had ordered arrived (would’ve rather paid for the one I ordered), followed by our dressing-drenched salad. Asked about our entrees and reminded staff of our 8pm show several times; at 7:35pm (we had 6:15pm reservations that we had showed up 20 minutes early for!), I asked the hostess (since there was no sign of our server) if I could just pay for what we had eaten because we needed to leave for the showroom. I was again left to wait for the manager. As soon as I talked to him about needing to leave and pay our bill so we could go to the show, he walked over and started yelling at the cooks about rushing a table; didn’t even acknowledge me! I followed him and told him we wouldn’t have time to eat it even if it were ready right that minute. Jay was hilarious, but we all would’ve enjoyed his show much more had we not been so hungry during it. My parents had an incredibly similar experience here years ago during their change in ownership. Never again!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Took half hour for our cocktails to arrive. Had to ask for our waiter multiple times. Appetizers came out the same time as our salads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Delicious steak dinner before a fun concert. Prawn cocktail was great - fresh jumbo prawns with a nice snap. The salad with the house dressing is delicious. The maître d' suggested a perfect bottle of wine to accompany our dinners. We're looking forward to coming back.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 26, 2017

The night we went they were short staffed and many tables were late getting entrees to them. Our reservation was for 6:00 and we left at 7:30 - that was just having salads and entrees (we decided to eat lighter). The entrees are pricey and don't come with any sides - if you want potato or vegetable that is an extra cost. Our waiter was wonderful and very apologetic about the wait after explaining the situation.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2017

We won't be returning. We made dinner reservations a few months prior for a nice dinner before the Jay Leno show. Showed up on time, and got seated butted up against the servers station. Not simply next to, but up against it, so we constantly had people at our side, putting extra glasses and tableware down, grabbing pitchers of water, etc. Then we sat for at least 15 minutes without even being acknowledged by a server, busser, anyone. No water, no bread, no introduction. Fortunately, we were able to grab our own water given we abutted the resting place for the water pitchers. After 15 minutes we got up and left. We still weren't approached by any of the numerous staff members milling around the restaurant. You can be assured we will not return to the Nugget. It's a shame that a long time Sparks favorite has declined so much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Very busy night with Jay Leno appearing. Staff all stepped up their game to meet the demand while keeping the quality at a high level.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 26, 2017

From the minute we arrived were impressed in every way. The wine list was above my expectations, the menu had a wonderful variety. The entire staff was attentive but not overly so. One of the best dining experiences I can remember. The only thing that was not perfect was the temperature, we were both uncomfortably warm. We will be back though! In fact we can't wait.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 24, 2017

I wish there was less than 1 star. I expected so much more from this restaurant. From the start, I ordered a glass of wine that I love but they tried to up sell to a completely other kind of wine by the bottle. No thanks, never heard of it. After that, We were kind of disregarded. My dinner came out 4 times under cooked. Extremely rare & cold. Finally a manager came over and asked my husband what was wrong with his dinner and he said it was my dinner that was the problem. This is supposed to be a steak house and they can't cook a steak??? More worried about selling me some off brand bottle of wine?! First & last time ! Thanks for ruining our Thanksgiving Holiday Dinner...!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 19, 2017

We made a last minute reservation at The Steakhouse on Saturday night, but were fortunate they still had a table for us. Art, the manager, offered us a choice between Rocca Vineyards Cabernet Sauvignon and Miner Cuvee Merlot. Both are delicious, so it was a difficult choice, but we chose the Miner. Art told us that was the last bottle he had (it is very popular), but he assured us he would order a case of a special wine for us. I ordered the Sea Bass and my husband ordered the Halibut, wonderfully prepared by Chef Julian. We told him how much we enjoyed those dishes when he came to our table. Our whole meal was proudly served by Alex arguably the best server at The Steakhouse.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Very good wine list and moderately priced. They have a particularly good half bottle selection. I appreciate a restaurant that puts effort and consideration into that. Since my wife doesn’t drink sometimes it’s challenging to get a good glass or two of wine. The food was good too!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Great food, we eat there frequently and have had better wait service from other members of the staff.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

the food was great,the wine was very good,and the deserts were amazing.

Tags: Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on November 13, 2017

We had a lovely dinner for my husbands birthday. I had one of the best filets I have ever eaten. I think it could have melted in my mouth. Absolutely delicious. We also received a dessert of my husbands choice free of charge. It was a delightful meal and pleasant surroundings.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2017

We were seated promptly and at a very nice, private table. Alex provided top notch service with a friendly smile. The food was amazingly delicious. A very memorable and wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2017

The service was great from the hostess that greeted us and sat us immediately even though we arrived early to our waiter and bus boy whom were very attentive and gave us some space so we could enjoy our cocktail prior to ordering. Our food arrived in a timely manner and was delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and dinner. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 10, 2017

We were greeted warmly by the hostess and led to "our" table, already stocked with our favorite wine: Miner Estate Cabernet Sauvignon Cuvee. Chef Julian told us he still maintained Sea Bass on the menu, which was a relief because previously he had told us it was going out of season. Prepared moist and delicious, perfectly spiced, over spinach and creamy mashed potatoes, we enjoyed every morsel. Alex, our server, and Art, the manager, made us feel both welcome and a part of the family. We highly recommend this restaurant to everyone who enjoys gourmet dining and fine wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 4, 2017

Art, the manager, had our bottle of Miner Cabernet Sauvignon waiting for us at our table when we arrived. He ordered it special for us when he saw that we had made a reservation. Alex, our server, suggested we try Chef Julian's latest creation: Veal Tomahawk. We're glad we did. It was tender and delicious, accompanied by asparagus spears. We recommend this restaurant to anyone with a gourmet palette and appreciation for being spoiled.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Prime rib was best I’ve had-so flavorful! Will go back soon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2017

WE enjoyed the food. The steaks were all cooked as requested, the presentation was good and the service was good. We also enjoyed their wine list.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 19, 2017

We love The Steakhouse. This time we had Chateaubriand, so good it melts in your mouth. It was accompanied by steamed broccoli, spinach, and the creamiest mashed potatoes ever. Art, the manager, suggested Estancia Meritage, and we enjoyed all of it. As always, our server was Alex, he can anticipate what we want but never bothers us when we want to speak privately.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Our frequent visits to the Nugget Steakhouse are always exceptional. The service provided by Art and his staff was outstanding. The Seafood Sampler appetizer and French Onion Soup are the best in town. Our servers, Alex and Joe, along with their assistants, Sam and Jose, are by far the greatest !!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Every time we're at the Nugget we eat here the food is amazing

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Spectacular cuisine from the scallops to the chateau briand carved at the table. Paired with a great cabernet. Fully satiated for sure!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Good was great, Joe or server was wonderful. His wine recommendation was excellent. I'll go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 20, 2017

When we arrived, on the table Art the manager had placed a bottle of the wine we liked, of which he had ordered a case. That is service. We are treated like a king and queen when we arrive, even the bus person knows who we are. This time we ordered the filet mignon, cooked rare as we like it. The quality of the steak is outstanding, and Chef Julian knows just how to cook it. Our server, Alex, is always ready with the kind of salad we like, and to know how to handle our somewhat complicated payment: Some dining credits, some points on our 24-ct cards. We could not recommend this place any more highly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 14, 2017

We dine at The Steakhouse Grill about once a week, and really missed the Chilean Sea Bass, which we had passed up in favor of the special last week. As always, Chef Julian outdid himself in preparing this delicious dish. Art, the manager, offered us Frank Vineyard Cabernet Sauvignon, and Alex, our server, was attentive yet respectful of our privacy. We absolutely love The Steakhouse Grill and recommend it to locals or anyone visiting from outside the Reno-Sparks area.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Fantastic old fashioned steakhouse, the food was spectacular and very reasonably priced for a casino steakhouse. The steak and king crab was very good as we're the cocktails. Good service and very knowledgeable waiters.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Was our 49Th anniversary . Came for the prime rib as is a our way to celebrate and was not
disappointed . Would recommend to anyone

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

We how to send our food back it wasn't prepared right

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Intimate dinner. Great service. Food was excellent. Highly recommended.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Overall our experience was ok. The main issue was that out steak came out cold and we had ordered chateaubriand. I thought it was supposed to be prepared tableside, but all she did was put the food on each plate. The meat was already cooked and cut before it came out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 20, 2017

It was amazing. Much better than the rating suggested!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.