About Nugget Casino Resort - The Steakhouse Grill

1100 Nugget Ave
Sparks, NV 89431
View Larger Map

The Steakhouse Grill at the Nugget is your spot to enjoy fine dining at an affordable price! We proudly feature beef cut daily at our in-house butcher shop, including Certified Angus Beef.

Come in and please your palate with our delicious, new appetizers, including Petite Lobster Corn Dogs with Sweet Chili Ketchup, Dungeness Crab Cakes or Bacon Wrapped Dates.

Try our Special 32 ounce Steakhouse Signature Long Bone Cowboy Ribeye, a 6 or 9 ounce Filet Mignon, or create-your-own Surf and Turf combination. All entrées include a choice of house salad, soup of the day or fresh vegetables, and your choice of a salt-roasted baked potato, wild rice pilaf or creamy mashed potatoes.

Indulge in our Signature House Meatloaf made with a blend of beef, veal and pork and topped with mushroom gravy, or try the Colorado Rack of Lamb or Sautéed Garlic Prawns.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:


Open Wednesday - Sunday at 5.00pm

(Closed: Monday - Tuesday)

Wednesday, Thursday & Sunday: 5.00 p.m. - 9.00 p.m.

Friday/Saturday: 5.00 p.m.- 10.00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 356-3300

Website:
http://www.nuggetcasinoresort.com/

Parking Details:
We do offer both Valet and General Hotel Parking

Executive Chef:
Michael Norton

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Nugget Casino Resort - The Steakhouse Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Tahoe / Reno Area
Special Occasion
Reno

Good for a Date (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Special Occasion (8)
See All
Quiet Conversation (6)
Romantic (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Healthy (3)
Fun (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Casual (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Fireplace (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
144 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our steaks were good but the place is ru ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

Our steaks were good but the place is runned down. Tablecloth was soiled and tattered. High dollar wine was served warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Both food and service were great. I wil ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Both food and service were great. I will certainly return to try other dishes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good. My lobster was a bit unde ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was good. My lobster was a bit undercooked. Filet was wonderful. Escargot was wonderful. Service adequate but not personal. When we arrived, the greeter did not seem to have our reservation. After giving him my name, he said he would be right back. When he returned, he was polite, but not welcoming. Our server was kind, but telling him my friend and I were celebrating her retirement he just smiled and hurried off. He didn't seem to care it was a special occasion for her. I couldn't help notice the table next to us got a visit from the head waiter or Maitre D and the chef, but our server didn't even offer anything - even a congratulations to my friend. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone but romantic couples.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was Great, Filet melted in the mout ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was Great, Filet melted in the mouth and Caprese salad was delightful. Wine choices were great, Service on the other hand was a little lack luster. Our server didn't look us in the eye, didn't follow up with how our drink were, didn't offer additional bread or butter when we asked for more bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We used to dine here regularly until the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We used to dine here regularly until the new owners changed the restaurant menu. It has been tweaked but some stuff has been kept. Overall quality is down from where it used to be and none of the old wait staff is around anymore (unless they were working other nights than Saturday). We will probably not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I noticed that when we got our rolls we ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I noticed that when we got our rolls we only got one kind and than I noticed that when I got my onion soup it wasn't in the onion. The waiter told they had a party of 50 they were catering to and where saving the onions and types of rolls for them. Our time was 6:00 so it wasn't like eating at eleven.

Holly Donham

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Music was terrible, but staff and food w ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Music was terrible, but staff and food were good. Very expensive, but that's to be expected with these in-casino steak houses.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We went to a wine pairing dinner at the ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We went to a wine pairing dinner at the Nugget Steakhouse Grille. The food was amazing, the service like none other, always exceptional! The Matre'D, Art, is the hardest working person, warmly welcoming all who come to the restaurant, working with the Chefs, and Wineries to make sure all guests have the finest dining experience possible. I could not recommend any restaurant higher than The Nugget Steakhouse Grille. I have beautiful pictures of the food served, OpenTable App not allowing download. Believe me, the presentation was beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of the meal was outstanding. ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The quality of the meal was outstanding. The server had a hard time explaining some of the menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

Our experience was ok. The steak and fi ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our experience was ok. The steak and fish were prepared properly as far as being cooked well, but the sauces, sides and everything else was poor quality and taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

A very nice dinner at this traditional r ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 23, 2016

A very nice dinner at this traditional restaurant. Having not dined here in years went back after a long day traveling. Salmon was wonderful according to my wife and the server recommended New York Steak was excellent. Glad to have made this re-discovery.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was fine. Waiter was nice but the ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was fine. Waiter was nice but the service was terribly slow. We were having dinner before the show. We were seated at 6:00, took about 25 mins to get our wine, salads didn't come until after 7:00. Entrees about 7:30. Rushed thru entree, no time for coffee or dessert. For a restaurant in an established a hotel/casino they should be better organized and prepared for crowds on show nights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The Steakhouse at the Nugget has always ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The Steakhouse at the Nugget has always been a family favorite. Even under new ownership it still seems like Mr. Ascuaga is running things. This is truly a compliment. Food is excellent and served beautifully. Staff makes you feel like you are their most important guests of the evening. Well done!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice ambiance. Server was very good. C ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Nice ambiance. Server was very good. Chilled seafood platter was fantastic. Ribeye was a little over done for medium rare. Halibut was good but probably not paired with the best starch. Will definitely give the Nugget Steakhouse Grill another try.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I booked a reservation for eight and was ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 20, 2016

I booked a reservation for eight and was seated. However, service was not as attentive as other restaurants. The food was decent but I expected a steakhouse to know a lot about cooking steaks. I ordered a fillet mingnon to be cooked medium rare turned out to be medium. In addition, the asparagus was over cooked and brown. Overall, the experience was not great due to slow service and the quality of the food and attention to detail.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The server was awesome. She was very at ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The server was awesome. She was very attentive and kind. She did her job well. BUT.....The food not so good. I had a filet mignon. It was tough - cooked just right yes - but the meat was not worth the money. And my vegetable were a small portion. Compared to other restaurants it is over priced. Very over priced. My father in his mid 80's had to send his filet back because his was tough also. Then it would have taken 20 mins they said to cook a new one. We would have been done eating when he would have gotten it. So he ended getting a bowl of chowder from the seafood restaurant. He did like it. WHY IS THE FOOD PRICED SO HIGH. ? I will not be recommending this restaurant to anyone. I ate my steak but only because I was very hungry. VERY DISSAPOINTED. My friend and I have eaten there last year and were happy....what happened????? Please lower your prices to match the going price around town and get some better quality meat. Thank You

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Steaks were excellent and our wait staff ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Steaks were excellent and our wait staff was very attentive.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent food and service; I am most ap ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent food and service; I am most appreciative.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious& well served. Had a ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food was delicious& well served. Had a great time. But when we ordered dessert no coffee was offered.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Best ribeye in town! Melt in your mouth ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Best ribeye in town! Melt in your mouth and buttery!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Every year during Hot August Nights we p ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Every year during Hot August Nights we plan a dinner out at the Steak House. We always have between 6 - 10 people with us and we are accomodated.The wait staff is wonderful. You do not get rushed while you are there. The waiters do not "hover". The setting is elegant. The food is beautifully presented. The flaming dessert at the end is fabulous!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were excellent, din ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food and service were excellent, dining room is lovely, as always.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Asked waitress for more ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was great. Asked waitress for more bread and butter, fifteen minutes later still no bread. Finally asked wine stewart and he brought the bread, but no butter. Five minutes before

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Food value was good! Ordered 4 steak di ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food value was good! Ordered 4 steak dinners, 2 New York's and Filet's and 1 Salmon.

Salmon was tender but lacked flavor. All 4 steak dinners were flavorless. They need to either add seasoning of some kind, even if it's just salt and pepper. Bread was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Filet and lamb shanks were exceptional! ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Filet and lamb shanks were exceptional! Server Sara very pleasant and efficient. Not at all crowded. Lighting well done. Varied menu and daily specials. Would definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The oysters and filet were amazing! Gre ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 10, 2016

The oysters and filet were amazing! Great wine chosen too. We'll definitely go back if we get back to Reno.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been dining at The Steakhouse Grill for ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Been dining at The Steakhouse Grill for at least 20 years. Have never had a bad or even "just average" dinner there. The service there goes "above and beyond " to make sure the guests have a most pleasant dining experience...especially Sam and Jose. We are always welcomed so graceiously by the Manager, Art. The Cherries Jubilee, Raspberry Jubilee and Bananas Foster that Art prepares are to us, the very best of all the Resort Casino's in Reno/Sparks. They are "perfection' . The Chef, Mark, is truly an asset to the Steakhouse!

He's a Food Genious!

All in all, we love going there and love the dedicated and hard working associates that make

It all possible! We thank all of them.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were just wonderful ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food and service were just wonderful. The price was very good especially compared with other local steakhouses. The only con is that we were out for a romantic dinner for my husband's birthday and 10 minutes after we were seated they sat this group of 10 next to us. They weren't rude or disruptive at all just 10 people make a lot of noise. We already had our bread and drinks so I felt weird about asking to move. I would definitely go again though.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Been a customer over 25 years, always a ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Been a customer over 25 years, always a delight. Great place to ear too much!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly staff and attentive. A ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Very friendly staff and attentive. A variety of proteins to choose from. Steak was very tender and done to perfection. Mentioned we were celebrating a move, anniversary and birthday. Brought a complimentry dessert to share. Perfect size for our group. Looking forward to returning in the near future.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We like to ask to sit where Alex is the ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 26, 2016

We like to ask to sit where Alex is the server - he's great and so is the food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy the delicious food and the ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Always enjoy the delicious food and the show when ordering Bananas Foster!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Our server was difficult to understand a ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our server was difficult to understand and took a very long time to respond to our table throughout the meal....for example we did not have a fork when steak entree was served, asked the server for one but finally got up and asked someone else to bring a fork because he took so long. We have had wonderful meals here in the past so hopefully this was just a one off experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

We enjoyed our special dinner at the Nug ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 12, 2016

We enjoyed our special dinner at the Nugget Steak House and Grill. It was my birthday so we were celebrating prior to attending a concert. Our food was prepared perfectly and was served at the appropriate temperatures and the presentation was very good. We ordered the Chateau Briand for two which was fabulous. And although the meat was juicy and tender and did not need the Bernaise or Demi Glace both sauces were very tasty. The accompanying sides were plentiful and delicious as well. The wine list is adequate and, although they did not have the specific wine we wanted from the wine list, they provided an alternate Pinot Grigio that was very fine. We will definitely be going back to this gem.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect For Our 20 Year Anniversary

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Wonderful wine selection, wonderful dining menu choices and h'ordeuvres menu. We ordered the escargot to begin our night. They were cooked wonderfully. My husband ordered the baseball steak, and I ordered the "Filet Tower". The cuts of beef were perfect and tender. The tower came with a marinated portabella mushroom atop mashed potatoes, asparagus spears, the fliet, with a blue cheese demi-glaze! WOW!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was world class. Charcuturie was a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 2, 2016

Food was world class. Charcuturie was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Slow service

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Ambiance was nice but service was slow even though there weren't many customers seated.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

The service was beyond outstanding! Our ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 15, 2016

The service was beyond outstanding! Our Server was very knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mediocre Steakhouse

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Very mediocre, pricing cheap for a steakhouse, but table service matched the pricing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food and service

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 11, 2016

I had a wonderful meal here and would come back again. The waiter was friendly and efficient, there was a nice menu selection, not too large and not too small. I ordered the daily special and was very pleased. It was cooked to perfection and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.