About Nugget Casino Resort - The Steakhouse Grill

1100 Nugget Ave
Sparks, NV 89431
View Larger Map

The Steakhouse Grill at the Nugget is your spot to enjoy fine dining at an affordable price! We proudly feature beef cut daily at our in-house butcher shop, including Certified Angus Beef.

Come in and please your palate with our delicious, new appetizers, including Petite Lobster Corn Dogs with Sweet Chili Ketchup, Dungeness Crab Cakes or Bacon Wrapped Dates.

Try our Special 32 ounce Steakhouse Signature Long Bone Cowboy Ribeye, a 6 or 9 ounce Filet Mignon, or create-your-own Surf and Turf combination. All entrées include a choice of house salad, soup of the day or fresh vegetables, and your choice of a salt-roasted baked potato, wild rice pilaf or creamy mashed potatoes.

Indulge in our Signature House Meatloaf made with a blend of beef, veal and pork and topped with mushroom gravy, or try the Colorado Rack of Lamb or Sautéed Garlic Prawns.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:


Open Wednesday - Sunday at 5.00pm

(Closed: Monday - Tuesday)

Wednesday, Thursday & Sunday: 5.00 p.m. - 9.00 p.m.

Friday/Saturday: 5.00 p.m.- 10.00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 356-3300

Website:
http://www.nuggetcasinoresort.com/

Parking Details:
We do offer both Valet and General Hotel Parking

Executive Chef:
Michael Norton

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Nugget Casino Resort - The Steakhouse Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
See All
Good for Birthdays (8)
Romantic (8)
Cozy (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Casual (4)
Healthy (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fun (3)
Business Meals (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Family Style (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Authentic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Classic Reno Casino Steakhouse. Had not ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Classic Reno Casino Steakhouse. Had not been there in 20 years and actually got our awesome server Sandy that we had at that time. Food is great and a great value. Wine list is extensive and very fairly priced. Go now before it changes.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great location inside casino. Okay servi ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

Great location inside casino. Okay service with good food,wish it was more menu options but overall good steak!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Made Reservations for Valentines Day, Fe ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 6 days ago

Made Reservations for Valentines Day, Feb. 14, 2017. Overall pretty disappointed with the food and service, the only thing I can say in their defense was that it was Valentines Day and they were very busy, but clearly not prepared to handle the volume that is predictable and customary on Valentines Day. The wait staff was polite and courteous, they tried to resolve issues, but failed. Examples, Ordered three different steaks, all medium. Two were bloody, not medium pink, one diner consumed the steak, the other was sent back. It took 10 minutes for someone to check on us and try to re-cook the steak and 20 minutes to get the steak back, No exaggeration, everyone was done with dinner by the time this was fixed. We were charged for 2 bottles of wine but only ordered/consumed one, this was fixed. The couple sitting next to us ordered a bottle of wine and completely finished it prior to their dinner salads even arriving 30-40 minutes, they got up and left.

Tags: Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Service was great and Alex, our waiter, ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was great and Alex, our waiter, was the best. His recommendations and attention was great.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for daughters 21st birthday (which ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Went for daughters 21st birthday (which is on Valentine's Day). We were a party of ten with six being children (ages ranging from 3-14). The staff was very accommodating. Didn't act like they were above having children in their restaurant. They made sure we had what we needed during the night. The food was good. Nice choices for appetizers.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Due to the fact that John Ascuaga has an ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 6 days ago

Due to the fact that John Ascuaga has an "in" with the Basque and Rancher communities the quality of the steaks and lamb chops is incredibly good. Also, the lobster is the best in town. I wouldn't call this place the "trendy" place to go but I would call this restaurant the best value for the superb quality that we have in Reno/Sparks. It is located in Sparks so your Yelp searches may not bring it up even though it is just 5 minutes from Reno. I recommend this place if you want to talk quietly with family or your romantic partner.

Ask for Sandy, she will give you superb service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great steaks and warm atmosphere. Good ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great steaks and warm atmosphere. Good wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Alex, our waiter, was very attentive and ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Alex, our waiter, was very attentive and made sure everything was done right.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The Steakhouse was a total disapointment ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The Steakhouse was a total disapointment. Cold food.

Dessert portions were patheically small. Left feeling

like we had been totally ripped off. I guarantee we will NOT

be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The appetizer, Escargot, had to be retur ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The appetizer, Escargot, had to be returned. Over cooked/ burned and should have been picked up by the waiter. Other dishes were excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Restaurant was out of lamb shank on Satu ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Restaurant was out of lamb shank on Saturday night January 28th. This was the reason we went there. Waiter said that they ran out Friday night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value5

Great meal! My husband & I both got the ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great meal! My husband & I both got the filet mignon & it was delicious! Service was great as well. Super reasonable prices. I highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not bad, we had the steak, of course, an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Not bad, we had the steak, of course, and it was just as requested.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The baseball steak was tasty, The 10 oz ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The baseball steak was tasty, The 10 oz. cut was more than either of us could eat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not up to par.Sat us in cramped aisle ta ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Not up to par.Sat us in cramped aisle table until we asked to move to a booth. Food was average . Wedge salad had one cherry tomate and a teaspoon of avocado. Lamb shank very dry. Husbands bison steak was delicious. I would order steak next time. Too packed for early New Years Eve dinner.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Went there for New Year's Eve dinner. I ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went there for New Year's Eve dinner. I had my doubts as the last 2 times we went there (once in 2014 and once in 2015) the food and service were subpar from what it used to be prior to those years. Anyway, the ladies had lobster and we guys had the porterhouse steak. Everyone thought the food was great as was the service provided by Matthew.

We will definitely try the Nugget Steakhouse again.

Tags: , Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My fish was over cooked I send it back 2 ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My fish was over cooked I send it back 2 and still was overcooked. Our waitress was awesome and the atmosphere was great I would recommend this to all my friends but just don't eat the seafood. I did spend a lot for our meal and expected more from our meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Service from the matridee. Server ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great Service from the matridee. Server could have been a bit more friendly. Food was a little dry.

Tags: Happy Hour, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent steak and service! Did not dis ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent steak and service! Did not disappoint, will stop in again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good atmosphere and food,nice xmas speci ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Good atmosphere and food,nice xmas special. No espresso at end of evening and also a couple menu items were unavailable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Unfortunately this visit the steak was c ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Unfortunately this visit the steak was cold and the potatoes were yucky. The service was good. I have had much better meals here. The chestnut soup was the best part of the meal.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Our steaks were good but the place is ru ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Our steaks were good but the place is runned down. Tablecloth was soiled and tattered. High dollar wine was served warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Both food and service were great. I wil ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Both food and service were great. I will certainly return to try other dishes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nugget Steakhouse is usually quite excel ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Nugget Steakhouse is usually quite excellent. We went there on Thanksgiving and my soup and main course were tepid temperature though the bowl and plate were hot. The turkey and dressing were roll style which I did not expect, covered with gravy. The dessert was quite good. I expected an excellent special turkey dinner but did not get it. My husband doesn't like a fuss so I said nothing. We were there at 3 pm and were the second party seated for the day. Our drinks were initially forgotten. Not impressive for a Holiday. Won't go there again for such an occasion.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Food was good. My lobster was a bit unde ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was good. My lobster was a bit undercooked. Filet was wonderful. Escargot was wonderful. Service adequate but not personal. When we arrived, the greeter did not seem to have our reservation. After giving him my name, he said he would be right back. When he returned, he was polite, but not welcoming. Our server was kind, but telling him my friend and I were celebrating her retirement he just smiled and hurried off. He didn't seem to care it was a special occasion for her. I couldn't help notice the table next to us got a visit from the head waiter or Maitre D and the chef, but our server didn't even offer anything - even a congratulations to my friend. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone but romantic couples.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was Great, Filet melted in the mout ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was Great, Filet melted in the mouth and Caprese salad was delightful. Wine choices were great, Service on the other hand was a little lack luster. Our server didn't look us in the eye, didn't follow up with how our drink were, didn't offer additional bread or butter when we asked for more bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We used to dine here regularly until the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We used to dine here regularly until the new owners changed the restaurant menu. It has been tweaked but some stuff has been kept. Overall quality is down from where it used to be and none of the old wait staff is around anymore (unless they were working other nights than Saturday). We will probably not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I noticed that when we got our rolls we ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I noticed that when we got our rolls we only got one kind and than I noticed that when I got my onion soup it wasn't in the onion. The waiter told they had a party of 50 they were catering to and where saving the onions and types of rolls for them. Our time was 6:00 so it wasn't like eating at eleven.

Holly Donham

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Music was terrible, but staff and food w ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Music was terrible, but staff and food were good. Very expensive, but that's to be expected with these in-casino steak houses.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We went to a wine pairing dinner at the ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We went to a wine pairing dinner at the Nugget Steakhouse Grille. The food was amazing, the service like none other, always exceptional! The Matre'D, Art, is the hardest working person, warmly welcoming all who come to the restaurant, working with the Chefs, and Wineries to make sure all guests have the finest dining experience possible. I could not recommend any restaurant higher than The Nugget Steakhouse Grille. I have beautiful pictures of the food served, OpenTable App not allowing download. Believe me, the presentation was beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The quality of the meal was outstanding. ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The quality of the meal was outstanding. The server had a hard time explaining some of the menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2

Our experience was ok. The steak and fi ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Our experience was ok. The steak and fish were prepared properly as far as being cooked well, but the sauces, sides and everything else was poor quality and taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

A very nice dinner at this traditional r ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 23, 2016

A very nice dinner at this traditional restaurant. Having not dined here in years went back after a long day traveling. Salmon was wonderful according to my wife and the server recommended New York Steak was excellent. Glad to have made this re-discovery.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was fine. Waiter was nice but the ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Food was fine. Waiter was nice but the service was terribly slow. We were having dinner before the show. We were seated at 6:00, took about 25 mins to get our wine, salads didn't come until after 7:00. Entrees about 7:30. Rushed thru entree, no time for coffee or dessert. For a restaurant in an established a hotel/casino they should be better organized and prepared for crowds on show nights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The Steakhouse at the Nugget has always ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The Steakhouse at the Nugget has always been a family favorite. Even under new ownership it still seems like Mr. Ascuaga is running things. This is truly a compliment. Food is excellent and served beautifully. Staff makes you feel like you are their most important guests of the evening. Well done!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice ambiance. Server was very good. C ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Nice ambiance. Server was very good. Chilled seafood platter was fantastic. Ribeye was a little over done for medium rare. Halibut was good but probably not paired with the best starch. Will definitely give the Nugget Steakhouse Grill another try.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I booked a reservation for eight and was ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 20, 2016

I booked a reservation for eight and was seated. However, service was not as attentive as other restaurants. The food was decent but I expected a steakhouse to know a lot about cooking steaks. I ordered a fillet mingnon to be cooked medium rare turned out to be medium. In addition, the asparagus was over cooked and brown. Overall, the experience was not great due to slow service and the quality of the food and attention to detail.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The server was awesome. She was very at ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 20, 2016

The server was awesome. She was very attentive and kind. She did her job well. BUT.....The food not so good. I had a filet mignon. It was tough - cooked just right yes - but the meat was not worth the money. And my vegetable were a small portion. Compared to other restaurants it is over priced. Very over priced. My father in his mid 80's had to send his filet back because his was tough also. Then it would have taken 20 mins they said to cook a new one. We would have been done eating when he would have gotten it. So he ended getting a bowl of chowder from the seafood restaurant. He did like it. WHY IS THE FOOD PRICED SO HIGH. ? I will not be recommending this restaurant to anyone. I ate my steak but only because I was very hungry. VERY DISSAPOINTED. My friend and I have eaten there last year and were happy....what happened????? Please lower your prices to match the going price around town and get some better quality meat. Thank You

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Steaks were excellent and our wait staff ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Steaks were excellent and our wait staff was very attentive.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent food and service; I am most ap ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent food and service; I am most appreciative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.