About Nugget Casino Resort - The Steakhouse Grill

1100 Nugget Ave
Sparks, NV 89431
View Larger Map

The Steakhouse Grill at the Nugget is your spot to enjoy fine dining at an affordable price! We proudly feature beef cut daily at our in-house butcher shop, including Certified Angus Beef.

Come in and please your palate with our delicious, new appetizers, including Petite Lobster Corn Dogs with Sweet Chili Ketchup, Dungeness Crab Cakes or Bacon Wrapped Dates.

Try our Special 32 ounce Steakhouse Signature Long Bone Cowboy Ribeye, a 6 or 9 ounce Filet Mignon, or create-your-own Surf and Turf combination. All entrées include a choice of house salad, soup of the day or fresh vegetables, and your choice of a salt-roasted baked potato, wild rice pilaf or creamy mashed potatoes.

Indulge in our Signature House Meatloaf made with a blend of beef, veal and pork and topped with mushroom gravy, or try the Colorado Rack of Lamb or Sautéed Garlic Prawns.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:


Open Tuesday - Saturday at 5.00pm

(closed Sunday & Monday)

Tuesday - Thursday: 5.00 p.m. - 9.00 p.m.

Friday/Saturday: 5.00 p.m.- 10.00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 356-3300

Website:
http://www.nuggetcasinoresort.com/

Parking Details:
We do offer both Valet and General Hotel Parking

Executive Chef:
Michael Norton

Additional:
Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies)

Nugget Casino Resort - The Steakhouse Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Tahoe / Reno Area
Best Food
Reno
Best Value
Reno
2 More
Romantic
Reno
Special Occasion
Reno

special occasion (18)
romantic (11)
fit for foodies (6)
See All
notable wine list (6)
good for groups (3)
neighborhood gem (2)
late-night find (1)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
119 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Filet and lamb shanks were exceptional! ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined 5 days ago

Filet and lamb shanks were exceptional! Server Sara very pleasant and efficient. Not at all crowded. Lighting well done. Varied menu and daily specials. Would definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The oysters and filet were amazing! Gre ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The oysters and filet were amazing! Great wine chosen too. We'll definitely go back if we get back to Reno.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Been dining at The Steakhouse Grill for ...

 
 (Yosemite)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Been dining at The Steakhouse Grill for at least 20 years. Have never had a bad or even "just average" dinner there. The service there goes "above and beyond " to make sure the guests have a most pleasant dining experience...especially Sam and Jose. We are always welcomed so graceiously by the Manager, Art. The Cherries Jubilee, Raspberry Jubilee and Bananas Foster that Art prepares are to us, the very best of all the Resort Casino's in Reno/Sparks. They are "perfection' . The Chef, Mark, is truly an asset to the Steakhouse!

He's a Food Genious!

All in all, we love going there and love the dedicated and hard working associates that make

It all possible! We thank all of them.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were just wonderful ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food and service were just wonderful. The price was very good especially compared with other local steakhouses. The only con is that we were out for a romantic dinner for my husband's birthday and 10 minutes after we were seated they sat this group of 10 next to us. They weren't rude or disruptive at all just 10 people make a lot of noise. We already had our bread and drinks so I felt weird about asking to move. I would definitely go again though.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Been a customer over 25 years, always a ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Been a customer over 25 years, always a delight. Great place to ear too much!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly staff and attentive. A ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Very friendly staff and attentive. A variety of proteins to choose from. Steak was very tender and done to perfection. Mentioned we were celebrating a move, anniversary and birthday. Brought a complimentry dessert to share. Perfect size for our group. Looking forward to returning in the near future.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We like to ask to sit where Alex is the ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We like to ask to sit where Alex is the server - he's great and so is the food.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy the delicious food and the ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Always enjoy the delicious food and the show when ordering Bananas Foster!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Our server was difficult to understand a ...

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Our server was difficult to understand and took a very long time to respond to our table throughout the meal....for example we did not have a fork when steak entree was served, asked the server for one but finally got up and asked someone else to bring a fork because he took so long. We have had wonderful meals here in the past so hopefully this was just a one off experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

We enjoyed our special dinner at the Nug ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We enjoyed our special dinner at the Nugget Steak House and Grill. It was my birthday so we were celebrating prior to attending a concert. Our food was prepared perfectly and was served at the appropriate temperatures and the presentation was very good. We ordered the Chateau Briand for two which was fabulous. And although the meat was juicy and tender and did not need the Bernaise or Demi Glace both sauces were very tasty. The accompanying sides were plentiful and delicious as well. The wine list is adequate and, although they did not have the specific wine we wanted from the wine list, they provided an alternate Pinot Grigio that was very fine. We will definitely be going back to this gem.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect For Our 20 Year Anniversary

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Wonderful wine selection, wonderful dining menu choices and h'ordeuvres menu. We ordered the escargot to begin our night. They were cooked wonderfully. My husband ordered the baseball steak, and I ordered the "Filet Tower". The cuts of beef were perfect and tender. The tower came with a marinated portabella mushroom atop mashed potatoes, asparagus spears, the fliet, with a blue cheese demi-glaze! WOW!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was world class. Charcuturie was a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Food was world class. Charcuturie was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Slow service

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Ambiance was nice but service was slow even though there weren't many customers seated.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

The service was beyond outstanding! Our ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The service was beyond outstanding! Our Server was very knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mediocre Steakhouse

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Very mediocre, pricing cheap for a steakhouse, but table service matched the pricing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food and service

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

I had a wonderful meal here and would come back again. The waiter was friendly and efficient, there was a nice menu selection, not too large and not too small. I ordered the daily special and was very pleased. It was cooked to perfection and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A classic steakhouse experience. The fo ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

A classic steakhouse experience. The food is great but not exceptional and they have a nice wine list. The onion soup and the ahi tuna were standout dishes. Restaurant is clean, quiet and comfortable but very dated. If you happen to be at the Nugget it is worth going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

So - so and expensive

vip
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

My title says it all. The wait staff was excellent and attentive. The food was not so much.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Great Time

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

The food was good at the Steakhouse Grill. Would recommend this to anyone. Just do not expect the excellent excellent type of ambiance that comes wit this type of restaurant but the quality of food will help you to forget this for awhile.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Lobster was wonderful. Great value. Service was very good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food but way too smokey

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The food was exactly what we expected. The air quality in the other hand was terrible. By the time the food came my sinuses were clogged from all of the smoke and could barely taste the food. Not a bad steak house, if you don't mind a TON of second hand smoke while you eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

Special night

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We had a wonderful time and the food was amazing. We came for a special night and everything g was perfect! Thank you!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing lobster

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Incredible and memorable lobster...must try it. I have eaten many a lobster in San Francisco and this one topped it...very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Evening

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

The Filet Mignon was very tender and one of the best steaks I have eaten. My wife had the Seafood Platter which was covered with crab legs, shrimp, and lobster - the platter was outstanding, especially the crab legs. Our server, Alex, was as good as always and we never had to sit and wait for the next course. Alex is always very friendly and is one of the reasons we return so often to dine at the Nugget Steakhouse. Alex, Joe, Art, Jose, and Sam are by far the best staff I have ever encountered. We look forward to our next visit on Thursday night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Finally! A GREAT steak in Reno!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I live in Reno and have been to them all except this one. This steakhouse is one that I will finally return to over and over again. No more deciding on which sub-standard steakhouse to visit when going out for steak. Very attentive serving staff and VERY reasonable pricing for this grade of food and service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the Signature meal. Prime Rib and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We had the Signature meal. Prime Rib and a16 oz. Lobster Tail.

The prime rib was Choice not Prime, but o.k. The lobster tail looked 16 oz. but was way over cooked. It chewed like rubber. There were discourteous people at the table across from us, but our server Sarah was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Not what it used to be

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Anyone with a bit of history in Reno knows that John Ascuaga built the Nugget on great food and excellent service. After 30 years away, I've recently returned to the area and in the past year I've eaten at three of the Nugget's restaurants. In each case, the food was average at best and the service was slow and sub-par. Sad to see.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The seafood appetizer was the bomb.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The seafood appetizer was the bomb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent food, great experience!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

It's our second time in this restaurant, we were there a year ago, and had amazing dinner both times!

Great food, excelling dining experience, awesome staff, will be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Sandy did a wonderful job of serving. Noise level made conversation difficult.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

We experienced very poor service.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We share dinner at The Steakhouse at the Nugget 4 or 5 times a year....the food has always been excellent and the service attentive.....this time the service was poor...the wait person was over booked.....dinner arrived before the salad plates were taken off the table.....we finally hailed down a person asking them for our check......our dinner plates were still on the table...no offer of coffee or dessert...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

Had High Hopes

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

thoroughly underwhelming. not sure if they were just having a bad day or what, but mistakes were made and satisfactory resolutions were extremely slow to come.my wife and I have sampled many of the steakhouse locations around Reno and this was very clearly at the bottom of the pecking order. just disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Much improved

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Service by Will was perfect. Noise level was down. Seating in the middle to back helps with that.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

The food was excellent, the service good - a bit loud but if you are in a large group, looking for a nice place to dine, this is it. The staff was helpful and friendly.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Colkmr

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Meat / food is done well. Wait staff continually make errors

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Stablizing

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

New menu is working. Bison steak was excellent. Wait staff continues mediocre.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Great Food, Meh Service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

Atmosphere a little dated, but kind of typical for a casino steak house I guess. Food was good. Steaks cooked spot on, with great sides and eye catching presentations. However, service was a bit abrupt. We were greeted by our server with a, "Hello, are you ready to order?" We ordered a bottle of wine from their list, and the server didn't know which wine we were talking about, and asked us to give him the number associated with the wine in the wine list. So we opened the list again and had to show our server which wine and had to read him the number. We ordered the tempura lobster appetizer, followed by caeser salads, which came with a large Parmesan crisp. My boyfriend's crisp was stale and not as fresh as mine. Maybe a day old? We both got filets which were cooked as we had ordered and a side of macaroni and cheese which was excellent. When we finished, our server asked us if we wanted to take our leftovers, to which we replied yes, and he dropped off boxes on our table and left... Um, what? If I'm paying over $100 a person for a dining experience I don't expect to box my leftovers... But okay. Luckily our busser (Jose) was spot on and took better care of us than our server. We ordered bananas fosters for dessert which was amazing. So in summary, food was pretty good aside from stale Parmesan crisp, atmosphere was alright although a little dated, and service was a little abrupt and comparable to a Denny's dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Great steakhouse

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

Reasonably priced. Great service, Art/wine guy -extremely helpful!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Delicious

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

We had a delicious meal on a return visit. The steaks are very tender and excellent quality. Our server, Sandra, helped make our date night very enjoyable!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Sparks Nugget Steak House

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

We have eaten at the Nugget Steak House many times prior, and we were always satisfied. This time, however, the onion soup was Luke warm, and the fillet mignon was only warm at best. My wife's halibut was ok, but the accompanied rice was not tasty and undercooked. The only good news is that the house Cabernet was good, and the service was very good.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.