Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

About Nugget Casino Resort - The Steakhouse Grill

The Steakhouse Grill at the Nugget is your spot to enjoy fine dining at an affordable price! We proudly feature beef cut daily at our in-house butcher shop.

Try our Special our signature steaks including Filet Mignon, or create-your-own Surf and Turf combination. .

1100 Nugget Ave
Sparks, NV 89431
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:


Open Wednesday - Sunday at 5.00pm

(Closed: Monday - Tuesday)

Wednesday, Thursday & Sunday: 5.00 p.m. - 9.00 p.m.

Friday/Saturday: 5.00 p.m.- 10.00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 356-3300

Website:
http://www.nuggetcasinoresort.com/

Parking Details:
We do offer both Valet and General Hotel Parking

Additional:
BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Wine

Nugget Casino Resort - The Steakhouse Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

Noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Good for a Date (27)
Notable Wine List (25)
Romantic (25)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Business Meals (20)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Cozy (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Authentic (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Fun (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort by
S
268 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined 7 days ago

It was our 37th wedding anniversary, and we were treated like a king and queen. We were shown to our favorite table. Art, the manager, brought us Rocca Cabernet Sauvignon, of which he said he had only been able to get 3 bottles from the winery. Delicious! Alex, our server, was all smiles, bringing us Oysters Rockefeller, Petit Filets and 1 lb Maine Lobster Tails. Chef Julian even made us a special desert, which we enjoyed immensely. We heartily recommend The Steakhouse and hope you will have the chance to enjoy it too.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 7, 2018

It was a very busy Saturday night at The Steakhouse, but our table was ready for us even though we were early for our reservation. As always, Art the manager greeted us with a smile and opened our bottle of wine, even though he was not feeling well. Alex, our server, was most gracious serving us our Oysters Rockefeller, Prime Rib and Petite Fillet, sumptuously prepared by Chef Julian. Delicious!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Have gone to nugget for years annually and semi annually when lived in California. Now live in Reno. Yes I enjoyed the prime rib dinner entrée. Service was good. Pricey for what you received. Probably will not return wasn't overly impressed.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

Service was fine. Lobster bisque was returned because it looked and tasted like gravy , brussels sprouts were soggy, mashed potatoes tasteless, fillet was prepared properly but lacked taste, glasses of wine served in random table wine glasses not varietal appropriate...

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 1, 2018

dessert menu - unable to order bananas foster, said it was two busy, out of crème brulet on New Years Eve.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Good, but not great. This is our 3rd visit over the last 18 months. All were prior to seeing a concert. The food is good but again not great for a Casino Steak House. Service is slow and there is always an issue with the food. This time the Lobster Bisk Soup was cold. Seriously. Last time they forgot to put the salad dressing on the side and the time before they over cooked the steak. 99.9% of the time we dine out with out ever there being and issue. This is 0 and 3 and I won't make the mistake again. The sad thing is that 5 years ago this was arguable the best Steak House in Reno.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Nice, but casually upscale restraunt. Pleasant atmosphere away from casino bustle. Good American style food, reasonable prices and excellent service made for a very good experience overall. Booked on 2days before new years, got good table, was busy but not overwhelming. Only oddity was restroom was located outside restaurants, in main casino area. Not a big deal, but reminded you that you were definitely still inside a casino...

Tags: Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 31, 2017

We were invited to The Nugget for the New Year's Eve weekend and took that occasion to have dinner at The Nugget Steakhouse, bringing a couple who are our friends and neighbors. They had never been there and enjoyed it immensely. Think we created new regulars for the restaurant. Chilean Sea Bass is hard to get this time of year, but Chef Julian came through so that both I and my friend were able to enjoy it. Art, the manager, brought us another one of his fabulous wines, and Alex, our server, brought us Oysters Rockefeller in addition to what we ordered, not to mention the fabulous peach salad. We are die-hard fans of The Nugget Steakhouse and hope you will give it an opportunity to make you one too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Delicious food, fantastic service. A wonderful restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Food was very good, service exceptional, ambiance typical of old steak houses, good restaurant for all occasions

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 30, 2017

My wife and I always enjoy the Nugget Steak House. The service and food is always excellent. Art the Maitre d' has selected a very comprehensive wine list and has extensive wine knowledge. The bottle prices are a real value for dinning out.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 28, 2017

The food was fantastic- we always come to this restaurant when we visit Reno.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 27, 2017

We always have the best experience and food at the Nugget Steakhouse. The food is tremendous and the service is always spot on!I highly recommend.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 25, 2017

It was Christmas Day, and Chef Julian created the most delicious sea bass dish with wonderful sauce and tender green beans. Art, the manager, served us Miner Estates Cabernet Sauvignon that we savored with every sip. Our server Alex knows just what we want before we even order it and, in fact, he asked Chef Julian to order and prepare the sea bass just for us. We enjoy going to this elegant restaurant because not only is their food and wine the best, but also they treat us like family. Where else can you get that in Northern Nevada?

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Everyone greeted us the hostess, our server and a cook came by as well.
The remodeled Steakhouse Grill has a wonderful atmosphere.
Our meals were delicious. We had the filet mignon, jumbo shrimp,halibut, and the mixed seafood bowl.
I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 25, 2017

Awful. Everything was cooked incorrectly. If the staff cared, they would have known. Steer clear of this fiasco.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Excellent place for family dining and great service! Food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Art, the manager, greeted us and took us to our table, offering us Frank Family Vineyards Cabernet Sauvignon. Delicious! Alex, our server, was most attentive, even though he was busy that night. He even brought us 4 coconut cookies instead of 2. Chef Julian outdid himself with the Divers Scallops dish we ordered. The rest of the staff treated us like family too. We highly recommend the Steakhouse.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 15, 2017

The special was steak and lobster tail -- so much food we had to split it, and Alex our server was happy to do that for us. Delicious! The steak was so tender, and the Bearnaise sauce was wonderfully made. Fabulous lobster tail, moist and tender. The meal was complemented by Frank Family Vineyard Cabernet Sauvignon. We highly recommend it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 10, 2017

In a word the Steakhouse is Fabulous! We dined there Saturday and enjoyed their special Sea Bass cooked to perfection. It melts in your mouth, accompanied by spinach and the creamiest mash potatoes. Art, the manager, served us a special JLohr Cabernet that was delightful. Our server Alex treated us like family , and we cannot review without noting how wonderful Chef Julian is.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Great food and service we all got something different so we could share we will be back

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 6, 2017

The Service Staff is by far the best in town. Art, Alex, Joe,Jose, and Sam are always efficient and very friendly. The onion soup and seafood risotto are always outstanding !! We always look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 30, 2017

It took a long time for the server to come. I order a filet and it came al la crate and the server did not let me know I needed to added extras. My husband and a friend ordered the bone in filet and it came out frozen in the middle. They took it back and cut off the remaining meat and cooked what was left and brought it back out. They only removed $70 from our bill which was for only one steak. To say sorry they brought out what they said was fine whiskey and it was the worst. So strong and burned when it went down I know good whiskey doesn't do that. I would not recommend this place until they get their act together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Our table was ready, with a special wine hand-selected by Art Mnatsakanyan, the manager. It was fabulous, and we enjoyed every drop. This time we ordered Chateaubriand for two. It was melt-in-your mouth tender and juicy, attentively served by Alex Ibrahim. Even the buss person gave us special service, preparing the box with what I could not finish. It was just as delicious next day for my lunch.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 26, 2017

It was a busy Saturday night, and we were early from our reservation. Yet, Art, the manager, led us to the best available table and brought us a very special bottle of wine, telling us it was the last bottle of that label because the vineyard would henceforth only sell it to their members. We felt so privileged. Alex, our waiter, was running hither and yon, but took extra time with us, made some suggestions and delivered our orders in excellent time. We observed Chef Julian directing the other chefs, as The Steakhouse was at capacity. Such a wonderful experience!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 26, 2017

We were seated at the time of our reservation. It took 20 minutes to be recognized with water and bread. It took another 25 minutes to place the wine and dinner order. Our wine came quickly, but our dinner did not come until 30 minutes later. Because we were going to a show at the hotel, we had less than 20 minutes to enjoy our dinner and get to the showroom.

The restaurant was understaffed in all 3 categories: bus service, waiter service and chef service.

Although the restaurant provided us with a 1/2 bottle of wine for our inconvenience, we will not be back.

Dick M.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 26, 2017

This was by far the worst dining experience I’ve ever had. Waited over 15 minutes to see if we could add 2 to our original party of 4. (Nugget staff couldn’t tell me over the phone when I called earlier that day and said our extra 2 should just come with us.) When I was finally able to ask the manager, he said he couldn’t accommodate any of us; I had made reservations a month prior! We then waited over 15 minutes at our table in a warm, smoky environment before we had to ask for water and remind them we had 8pm show tickets. We then waited another 10+ minutes before we asked to place our entree order (no time to consider appetizers at that point); woman apologized, made a big deal about comping the bottle of wine I had ordered and said we’d be ‘fine’ because she’d put our meal ‘at the top of the line’ and our show ‘had an opening act so we could be late and still see him’ (Jay Leno). (Never mind that we paid for and wanted to see his opening act, and get drinks prior.) A bottle of wine significantly cheaper than the one I had ordered arrived (would’ve rather paid for the one I ordered), followed by our dressing-drenched salad. Asked about our entrees and reminded staff of our 8pm show several times; at 7:35pm (we had 6:15pm reservations that we had showed up 20 minutes early for!), I asked the hostess (since there was no sign of our server) if I could just pay for what we had eaten because we needed to leave for the showroom. I was again left to wait for the manager. As soon as I talked to him about needing to leave and pay our bill so we could go to the show, he walked over and started yelling at the cooks about rushing a table; didn’t even acknowledge me! I followed him and told him we wouldn’t have time to eat it even if it were ready right that minute. Jay was hilarious, but we all would’ve enjoyed his show much more had we not been so hungry during it. My parents had an incredibly similar experience here years ago during their change in ownership. Never again!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Took half hour for our cocktails to arrive. Had to ask for our waiter multiple times. Appetizers came out the same time as our salads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 26, 2017

The night we went they were short staffed and many tables were late getting entrees to them. Our reservation was for 6:00 and we left at 7:30 - that was just having salads and entrees (we decided to eat lighter). The entrees are pricey and don't come with any sides - if you want potato or vegetable that is an extra cost. Our waiter was wonderful and very apologetic about the wait after explaining the situation.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Delicious steak dinner before a fun concert. Prawn cocktail was great - fresh jumbo prawns with a nice snap. The salad with the house dressing is delicious. The maître d' suggested a perfect bottle of wine to accompany our dinners. We're looking forward to coming back.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 26, 2017

We won't be returning. We made dinner reservations a few months prior for a nice dinner before the Jay Leno show. Showed up on time, and got seated butted up against the servers station. Not simply next to, but up against it, so we constantly had people at our side, putting extra glasses and tableware down, grabbing pitchers of water, etc. Then we sat for at least 15 minutes without even being acknowledged by a server, busser, anyone. No water, no bread, no introduction. Fortunately, we were able to grab our own water given we abutted the resting place for the water pitchers. After 15 minutes we got up and left. We still weren't approached by any of the numerous staff members milling around the restaurant. You can be assured we will not return to the Nugget. It's a shame that a long time Sparks favorite has declined so much!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 26, 2017

Very busy night with Jay Leno appearing. Staff all stepped up their game to meet the demand while keeping the quality at a high level.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 26, 2017

From the minute we arrived were impressed in every way. The wine list was above my expectations, the menu had a wonderful variety. The entire staff was attentive but not overly so. One of the best dining experiences I can remember. The only thing that was not perfect was the temperature, we were both uncomfortably warm. We will be back though! In fact we can't wait.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 24, 2017

I wish there was less than 1 star. I expected so much more from this restaurant. From the start, I ordered a glass of wine that I love but they tried to up sell to a completely other kind of wine by the bottle. No thanks, never heard of it. After that, We were kind of disregarded. My dinner came out 4 times under cooked. Extremely rare & cold. Finally a manager came over and asked my husband what was wrong with his dinner and he said it was my dinner that was the problem. This is supposed to be a steak house and they can't cook a steak??? More worried about selling me some off brand bottle of wine?! First & last time ! Thanks for ruining our Thanksgiving Holiday Dinner...!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 19, 2017

We made a last minute reservation at The Steakhouse on Saturday night, but were fortunate they still had a table for us. Art, the manager, offered us a choice between Rocca Vineyards Cabernet Sauvignon and Miner Cuvee Merlot. Both are delicious, so it was a difficult choice, but we chose the Miner. Art told us that was the last bottle he had (it is very popular), but he assured us he would order a case of a special wine for us. I ordered the Sea Bass and my husband ordered the Halibut, wonderfully prepared by Chef Julian. We told him how much we enjoyed those dishes when he came to our table. Our whole meal was proudly served by Alex arguably the best server at The Steakhouse.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Very good wine list and moderately priced. They have a particularly good half bottle selection. I appreciate a restaurant that puts effort and consideration into that. Since my wife doesn’t drink sometimes it’s challenging to get a good glass or two of wine. The food was good too!

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Great food, we eat there frequently and have had better wait service from other members of the staff.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

the food was great,the wine was very good,and the deserts were amazing.

Tags: Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on November 13, 2017

We had a lovely dinner for my husbands birthday. I had one of the best filets I have ever eaten. I think it could have melted in my mouth. Absolutely delicious. We also received a dessert of my husbands choice free of charge. It was a delightful meal and pleasant surroundings.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2017

We were seated promptly and at a very nice, private table. Alex provided top notch service with a friendly smile. The food was amazingly delicious. A very memorable and wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.