About Nugget Casino Resort - Oyster Bar

1100 Nugget Ave
Sparks, NV 89431
View Larger Map

A favorite among locals and visitors alike, the Oyster Bar has been serving the freshest seafood, chowder, pan roasts and cioppino since 1959.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 Days a week!
Sunday – Thursday – 11.00 a.m. – 9.00 p.m.
Friday – Saturday – 11.00 a.m. – 10.00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 356-3300

Website:
http://www.nuggetcasinoresort.com/

Parking Details:
We do offer both Valet and General Hotel Parking.

Executive Chef:
Michael Norton

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout

Nugget Casino Resort - Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.8

ambience

3.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (7)
Casual (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
See All
Outstanding Value (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Fun (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Historic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Business Meals (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
People Watching (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Healthy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
107 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service was great except orderi ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 2 days ago

Food and service was great except ordering and food was extremely slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

It was just alright for me. I come here ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 5 days ago

It was just alright for me. I come here for the seafood. I've been coming here 35 years. I made reservations and we got there early but got seated right away. They put my fiancé and I right next to a private party that had three tables together. I was looking for a nice seafood dinner with good service and peaceful atmosphere as I have found here in the past. That was not this night. We waited too long for a waitress. Somebody else came and brought us some bread that was colder and harder then I remember, and frozen butter. The party next to us was loud and irritating. My fiancé put the butter in her pocket and thawed it so we could use it. We waited, we waited.......finally a waitress showed up, honestly I was ready to walk out. Imagine that, it was the same waitress for the party. I could hardly understand what she was saying it was so loud there, she took our orders and tried to leave. I could see that I had irritated her by asking for some more bread and butter. I thought she would be happy to get us more since we waited so long. She left abruptly. When she returned we were out of water and she never did ask us if we wanted anything to drink? She dropped off the frozen butter and left. Someone else brought the bread by. We waited, we waited...finally the waitress shows up with some more water. I asked her I could get a drink for my fiancé, and I stated that she had not asked us if we wanted something to drink and she said she thought we just wanted water? It took her too long to get us the beer. I was ready to walk out. Finally about a half an hour later she took our order. The food took way too long, the fries were ice cold, the calamari was too little, and the experience was terrible. I gave her a 15% tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

We always try to have dinner at least on ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We always try to have dinner at least once at John's Oyster Bar when we're in town to visit relatives. It's a classic seafood restaurant with signature New York seafood steamers that John Ascuaga brought to Reno back in the day, for authenticity. Our favorite dish is the lobster pan roast, which is chock full of large chunks of lobster in a creamy tomato sauce that is rich and flavorful. We've tried other dishes over the years and they are all good, but the pan roast is definitely our favorite.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Even though we made reservations for 6:1 ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Even though we made reservations for 6:15pm, we were informed it was a busy night and it would be another 20 minutes or so before we could be seated. Fortunately, we had time prior to the show to be able to wait.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

had dinner at oyster bar..cioppino was q ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 2, 2016

had dinner at oyster bar..cioppino was quite good, pan roast combo had little seafood in it and not much flavor. Bloody Mary oyster shooter was fabulous. After all that we were still hungry ($56) and went out to the bar for a couple of drinks and crab salad sliders. HH was all good and service stellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was very good, mostly seafood a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was very good, mostly seafood as you might imagine! We shared oysters, mussels, bouillabaisse, ceasar salad, and the seafood platter. The wine list is very limited, and the restaurant noisy. The waitress was very nice, but very busy and harried. The service was slo but we did make our 8:00 show.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Pretty hard to give them a good rating. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Pretty hard to give them a good rating. My wife and I showed up for the 9:45pm reservation I made on Open table (there was a 10:00 pm option still showing as well) after a late flight into Reno. They told me they did not have a reservation for me and they were closed.

So I showed the employee my reservation email on my phone. She looks it up by my mane in her system and said it showed I had already dined and Bertha was my server.

Really???? We drive across town to go to this restaurant and this is what we get????

Shame on them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

I ordered a Tito's Martini and they deli ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I ordered a Tito's Martini and they delivered the drink in a regular glass because they were out of Martini glasses. Sent it back. The food is good, but they over work service personal with too many tables. Elaine is a good server and was running around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Loved the service and the food. Had a ni ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Loved the service and the food. Had a nice birthday dinner with my husband and it was an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I go to the oyster bar mainly for the NY ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I go to the oyster bar mainly for the NY style oyster/crab pan roasts. Been coming here every chance I get for the past 15 years and the taste and quality of the pan roast are consistent and excellent. Had their clam chowder too which was pretty good. Got the seafood platter as well as the Caesar salad, both were ok and nothing to write home about. But go for the pan roasts! That is the star of the whole menu. Friendly service as well.

Tags: Quick Bite, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We love John's Oyster Bar! We make it a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2016

We love John's Oyster Bar! We make it a point to dine there every time we visit the Nugget! The service is always great!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seafood is really good - everything is m ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Seafood is really good - everything is made there.

Chowder and Pan Roasts are REALLY good!

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value5

We ordered pan roast and it was deliciou ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 21, 2016

We ordered pan roast and it was delicious. The side salad was good, but a little expensive.

It took a long time to get our check, and then we waited ten minute in line to pay the cashier.

We will come again.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Paying the check is Constant problem.... ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Paying the check is Constant problem.....have to go stand in line like Denny's.. very bad. I took out of town friends last time and they enjoyed it til it was time to pay and they were dissapointed

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

SOMETHING CHANGED? THE FOOD WAS VERY HOT ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2016

SOMETHING CHANGED? THE FOOD WAS VERY HOT AND SPICEY. THE SHELLESS CHIPNIO HAD TO BE SENT BACK AND TONED DOWN. WE HAVE BEEN DINING AT THE OYSTER BAR FOR YEARS.SOME HOW THE FOOD WASN'T WHAT WE HAVE DRIVEN MILES FOR THIS TIME.3 FROM OUR GROUP COMPLAINED TO THE WAITERESS TO HOT AND VERY SPICEY RUINED PAST EXPERIENCES.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been coming to the Oyster Bar fo ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We have been coming to the Oyster Bar for 10 years. We often eat there 4 times a week for lunch and dinner. We take our friends there as we feel it is that special. The wait staff are personable and helpful. Never have had a meal we did not try for a second time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Everything was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our dinner was great. Our server, Elsa, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our dinner was great. Our server, Elsa, was just wonderful. Our dinner was just perfect, including some of the best oysters on the half shell that we've ever tasted! Will be back soon!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Nugget Oyster bar is and has alwayx ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 24, 2016

The Nugget Oyster bar is and has alwayx been the best in Northern Nevada. The pan roasts are so good. So are the salads. They have very friendly servers.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A seafood restaurant inside the casino. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2016

A seafood restaurant inside the casino. The menu does not have any non-seafood alternatives for a guest. There are two "cippino like" entrees on the menu. One with shell fish and one without. The one without shells would get a "C" grade. The sourdough bread is very good and

refreshed regularly. The prices are very reasonable with most entrees in the $20 range. The dessert menu is somewhat limited . The oyster bar had a nice selection but could use a couple of "cooked" items like a rockerfeller oyster dish or fried oysters. Overall grade would probably be a "B-".

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We were a party of 6 and made a dinner r ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 19, 2016

We were a party of 6 and made a dinner reservation. Host was ready for us and the server greeted us promptly. Our various dinners were very very good and the wine/beers were offered throughout our dining. We did order oysters on the half shell that looked good, however there was an unusual texture or film when eaten. We returned them and said they were'nt "bad" just different and we were happy to pay for the ( which we did). Very pleasant keno lady dropped by as well - we had a very nice time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrible service, took almost an hour to ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Terrible service, took almost an hour to get our food, slow kitchen. Food was blah and tasteless. Not servers fault. Used to be better before hotel ownership changed. I wouldn't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value2

The food was amazing!!! Absolutely loved ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 4, 2016

The food was amazing!!! Absolutely loved the lobster roll!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was looking forward to eating here, ho ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 3, 2016

I was looking forward to eating here, however it was a fail the food was more for someone that was on a restricted diet for salt and flavor. My pasta dish had no flavor my husbands lobster roll was soaked on the bottom from fruit they put on plate and dry and hard on top. The bisque however was very good as well as the fresh bread served. The service was good! My daughters ceased salad lacked the flavor it was dry and no ceaser flavor . I think my granddaughters fish and chips however was decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Server forgot my soup, when it came it w ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 3, 2016

Server forgot my soup, when it came it was dripping down the sides of the cup..messy. When server brought the oil and vinegar she threw a couple of "wipee towels" and said you might want to clean the neck of the bottles, they are grungy. YUCK! not my job. Crab salad came it it was a shrimp with a piece of crab, server said, oh, gave you the wrong one..I noticed to server. Lettuce was out of a bag. Coping tasted like a can of soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Always a good experience, EXCEPT for pay ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Always a good experience, EXCEPT for paying !!!! The cashier CAN NOT run the computer, and long lines form. This time, she did 6 debits and still could not get it right. We were there over half an hour while they searched for someone to help her. It takes longer to pay then to get food !!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

This was our third visit and unfortunate ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 28, 2016

This was our third visit and unfortunately it was not as great as the previous times. On all visits it does take quite awhile to order and get drinks. But we realize that now and doubt if that is going to change unless more waitress/waiters are hired. On this particular night there was a large group of men in the restaurant that were very noisy and boisterous and made it an unpleasant atmosphere. My parents did notice the oysters were gritty on this night. We still like the restaurant and will come back again to see if things are better.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

The seafood is always great. You really ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 26, 2016

The seafood is always great. You really get your money's worth. There is a good variety on the menu, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent sea food menu! Many delicious ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent sea food menu! Many delicious items to choose from. Price's are well within reason.

Our service and followup was excellent! We have come to enjoy the happy hour as well! We will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Poor quality food

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Food was cold and my 6 year olds chicken strips came out burned and the waitress asked if we wanted them re done. They never should have left the kitchen!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Food is good. Service is very nice.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Food is good. Service is very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food is always good and consistent and t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2016

Food is always good and consistent and the service is good too! Pleasant, casual experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our table was ready when we arrived.

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 13, 2016

The Oyster Bar is an old favorite of ours. We thought it might change when the Ascuaga's sold the casino, but it seems the same to us with a few exceptions. The Spanish bread is gone - we miss that delicious bread. The seafood salads are served with lettuce that looks like it came out of the plastic bags in the grocery store. We miss the heads of lettuce scooped out with lots of crab and shrimp. There are new things on the menu that are wonderful - seafood extravaganza is delicious; fisherman' mussels are very good; and the fish taco salad is great for lunch. We will dine there for as long as it stays delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not Good

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was tasteless. I don't mind paying more for good quality food. This was not good

food. I ordered the fried oysters for a appetizer. I was told ten minutes later that the deep fryer

had caught on fire and was out of order. I then ordered the lazy man's ciopino. Although it was

filled with a good variety of sea food, the broth was like a can of Campbells tomato soup. My

wife was disappointed with her dinner as well. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Still the standard

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 3, 2016

Menu and cuisine continues unchanged for the many years we have been going to the Nugget Oyster Bar. Very enjoyable, relaxed and appropriate for casual or dress dinning. The Nugget Oyster Bar has always been the 'standard' for a quality experience in seafood stews, pan roasts, chowders, salads and shrimp Louie. Fresh bread and choice drinks. Bar counter seating offers a unique and interesting look at the food preparations.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The Pan Roast as always was EXCELLENT!

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 23, 2016

The Pan Roast as always was EXCELLENT!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ok overall

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 3, 2016

The fried oysters were so strong that they were not eaten. We didn't complain because we didn't want to make our friends uncomfortable. The clam chowder was hot and very good. Otherwise the meal was just OK. We probably will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Ok food and atmosphere

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 20, 2016

Ok food and atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Walked out

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 14, 2016

I arrived on time for my reservation and was greeted by two servers with their backs to me having a private conversation. It took a while for them to realize I was standing there. I was then taken to the bar with the hostess trying really hard to sell it as "the best seat in the house. Then I could watch everything going on." Okay. Fine. Even though I wanted a table I went along with it. It took a few minutes for the server to recognize my existence and when she did she asked if I would like a menu. Um. I'm not psychic so yes. I would like a menu so that I can order. She proceeds to hand me a dirty menu with a sticky substance all over the cover. She came over with a dirty rag to clean it after she saw me trying to clean it myself. After wiping the menu with a filthy rag I watched her grab a hunk of bread with her bare, unwashed hands and place it in front of me. That was the final straw. She handled a filthy rag and then handled my food. DISGUSTING. I immediately walked out and notified the hostess as to why I'm leaving. She tried to apologize and offered to seat me elsewhere but there was no way on earth I was going to have a meal in a restaurant that condones such behavior. I hope the health dept shuts them down after they read the complaint I filed. For your health and safety do not eat here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great Seafood in a Great Casino

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 24, 2016

We take a break from gaming for both lunch and dinner at the Nugget Casino Oyster Bar. Pan roasts and seafood stews are great - the Clam Chowder is my Wife's favorite. My Daughter loves the steamed crab legs. Give it a try - you'll be glad you did.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.