Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

Nugget Casino Resort - Oyster Bar

3.7
180 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Good for a Date
  • Special Occasion
A favorite among locals and visitors alike, the Oyster Bar has been serving the freshest seafood, chowder, pan roasts and cioppino since 1959.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Open 7 Days a week!
Sunday – Thursday – 11.00 a.m. – 9.00 p.m.
Friday – Saturday – 11.00 a.m. – 10.00 p.m.

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(775) 356-3300
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Michael Norton
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We do offer both Valet and General Hotel Parking.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout
What 180 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.7based on recent ratings
3.8
food
3.5
service
3.6
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Moderate
81% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 11, 2018

On the recommendation of a friend, we ordered fried calamari appetizer, which was excellent.
We enjoyed the delicious Lobster Roll with coleslaw. Our server was attentive and prompt. The menu is a bit limited, but what they have is wonderful. We would certainly recommend The Oyster Bar to anyone who wants a good seafood restaurant.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 8, 2018

I soon I got to the restaurant got a table, took more than 15 minutes to get something to drink, the plate I order, only have 2 small size Shrimp. And maybe 20 really tiny shrimp. The Waiter took so long to get back to the table , to ask for my bill.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Your food is very good but every time I was there your service was bad. Sincerely considering about not going back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 27, 2018

great food as always. Split the Cesar salad it is huge. Love the prices not too high.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Foot at the Oyster Bar is always good and reasonably priced. If you get one of the waitresses who have been there forever, service is fantastic.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Haven't been to this oyster bar for 29 years now. I had a combination pan roast. It seemed fine until I discovered foreign, non-food items in the stew. I think perhaps it was the wrapper that the seafood came in. The waitress ran off looking for a manager that was not located. Then she offered me a free dessert, which I declined. She then directed me to where I could pay my bill.

Years ago I frequented this place. I will not eat here again and will be sure that all of my friends are aware of my experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

As usual our dinner was excellent and our server was outstanding!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 17, 2018

The food was horrible and the service was the same.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Really? They didn't have our reservation. 30 minutes after you sent me a reminder. Sooo bad for Open Table. Not blaming Oyster Bar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great place to spend with your family

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 9, 2018

The combination pan roast is the best available in Reno.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Went to dinner with family (party of 5) prior to attending comedy show at a different casino. We purposely chose oyster bar as prior experience has been great and close proximity to our final destination was convenient. The show started at 8 and thought that a 6:15 dinner reservation would be more than sufficient. Once we placed our order, we waited a half hour for 2 salads that were ordered. By the time 7:30 rolled around we still didn’t have our dinner and had to ask manager about our order and explain we had to leave. We didn’t get to eat and had to take our food to go. The manager was very nice and apologetic and comped our bottle of wine. It was pretty apparent the restaurant was short on wait staff as well as cook staff, but we watched several tables seated after us get their meals. Very disappointing experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 24, 2018

My wife's meal (Pan Roast) was what she has always remembered, I had the stuffed ravioli and it was not cooked throughout with the mushrooms in the sauce very tough. The food server was very pleasant. It was her birthday and since she enjoyed her meal I was satisfied.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 16, 2018

Much better experience than last week. Elsa, our server, knows us and what we like, appearing at the table with water and lemons (we both like to put lemon in our water). We ordered the delicious Seafood Extravaganza, which we totally enjoyed. It arrived in a reasonable amount of time. This is a great place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 13, 2018

We had a reservation, but were shown to a booth in the bar area. Took awhile for the server to come to us, but eventually we were served. We really like the food there, and prices are reasonable.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 6, 2018

Hokey setting, terrible bread, decent enough oysters and mussels, good wedge salad, little seafood apart from shellfish. Won’t go again (hopefully something else at The Nugget is better?)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 1, 2018

New Year's Day with family

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2017

The food is always good. The cooks were a little slower than usual. But well worth the wait.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 31, 2017

We we very disappointed. This was our anniversary dinner and we had high hopes. Will not return to or recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 31, 2017

Food was great. Service was horrible. Understaffed

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 30, 2017

Server was horrible. We had to continue to ask for this or that and bill. Never checked on us

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 26, 2017

The food was good tasting but would have liked bigger pieces of seafood in the cioppino.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 25, 2017

Fantastic dining as always. The pan roast was fabulous and there was something for everyone, even our picky grandson.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 25, 2017

Had the Combination Pan Roast—was very good. Slightly smaller than I remember and the scallops and fish have been removed. Dessert was nothing to write home about... The decor hasn’t been touched since John Ascuaga put it in years ago... kinda kitschy but brings back memories. Noise was fine for not being in a casino. Otherwise a good night out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2017

It was exceptionally easy to set a reservation, even day of, for the Oyster Bar. When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly, helpful hostess who seated us immediately. Our waitress was fantastic and offered us an option of food that fit exactly what we wanted. The food was absolutely delicious and the service was great and timely even for every table being full on a Saturday night. My husband and I will both continue to return to this gem of a restaurant on a frequent basis. Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 25, 2017

We were a bit disappointed with our meal at the Oyster Bar. We have eaten there many times and this evening dining was not the greatest.
I had the seafood Louie salad, and half the ingredients on the top, like egg, olives and asparagus were all missing. And they throw and old canned green bean on top. The shrimp and crab meat was all shredded, not good!
Service very poor that evening.
My husband had the shrimp pan roast and he enjoyed it.
It will be awhile before we return to the Oyster Bar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2017

All I can really say is that for John's Oyster Bar "I'd walk a million miles"!!!!!!!!! It is unquestionably my favorite restaurant in the Reno - Sparks area and way beyond. I NEVER go to Reno without having a minium of one meal at the Oyster Bar during my stay. This time around I had a lady friend with me for her first visit to the restaurant and she was dully impressed with the cuisine as well as the inside of the Bar. It really is one of a kind atmosphere.
I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 1, 2017

Took a long long time after we sat down to have service, the pasta sauce is like thin soup, gumbo was good. Also took a long time to get the bill. If you are short of time dont eat there. Price is not great value for the poor service and lack of ambience. Restaurant looks very dated.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 26, 2017

We had plans for the evening so we decided to have lunch at The Oyster Bar. This time we had lobster louies and bowls of their delicious clam chowder. You certainly don't get out of there hungry, as there is plenty. Our server was attentive, refilling our glasses and giving us more bread when we asked for it. Highly recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 19, 2017

We've been coming here for years and always enjoyed dinner and the service. Unfortunately that wasn't the case at our last dinner meeting. Service was slow, the food was terrible. Calamari was under cooked and soggy, the pan roast cream was broken and the shrimp was not fresh. Then we had to stand in line to pay for our check. Waitress would not do it for us.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on August 26, 2017

Being locals, we often visit the Oyster Bar. While our past experiences have been very good, this time was very disappointing. We repeated had to ask for common things (water, bread plates, extra place setting, etc.), I had to remind the waitress about my soup before dinner even though 2 others in our party received theirs. I had ordered Calamari from the dinner menu with fries as the side. I was the last one to get dinner, and the fries were missing. The Calamari was not very warm, like it had been fried a while ago and left sitting. When I finally got the waitresses attention, she said they forgot to include the fries, but they would be right out. She came back and said the manager was going to take the fries off the bill, even though it should have been included to begin with.

Since we have had better experiences, we will be willing to try it again to see if it was a fluke or this is the new norm.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 25, 2017

This is the first time I was disappointed eating here I normally love going to your restaurant. But this time I was kind of shocked I know it was a Friday night but basically it was the food quality. My always stirs were like almost invisible there were two out of six and the others just seem like slime no meat, like it wasn't worth buying. I almost complained about it and asked for for other oysters but didn't want to complain. I normally never ever have anything bad to say about your restaurant but this one trip I went by myself eat by myself and I was disappointed with the salad the oysters especially and the lobster bisque. Dirty dishes dirty dishes were left on my table as I watched a young man walk back and forth back and forth past my table probably 15 times and he wouldn't even look at me even though I pushed all my dirty dishes to the edge I still tipped well I was just disappointed for the first time ever.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 23, 2017

We have eaten at the Oyster Bar several times before, and have always been pleased with the food and the service. This time we celebrated a birthday, and once again the service was great and the food excellent. Always a great place to eat and relax.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 7, 2017

The Oyster Bar has wonderful food and is a favorite.
I was amazed by the empty tables since I had tried to book for a party of 7 and Open Table said only at 4:30 and 9:30 were available. When we arrived that clearly was not the case and it was not busy at all. There were only 4 us at dinner since that was all I was able to book for.
So not a restaurant problem but maybe an Open Table problem?!?!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 5, 2017

We had a lovely meal at The Oyster Bar at The Nugget this past Saturday night. I easily made a reservation for our preferred time on Open Table app. When we showed up we were immediately seated and our drink order was taken by our very friendly and attentive waitress, Elaine. She was as good as the food was! The oyster were sweet and pleasantly arranged. The Bouillabaisse and the Linguini and Clams were delicious with plenty of fresh tasting seafood! We will definitely eat there again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 4, 2017

Best seafood in Reno,

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 29, 2017

Hadn't been here in several years but glad to see it hasn't changed and the seafood is still good! We had good service from our main waitress plus others on the team. Very convenient for seeing events at the Nugget.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 23, 2017

This is a great place to eat with wonderful food from the ocean. I try to eat here once a week.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 17, 2017

I loved this place. The lady behind the 6 mini steam kettles performed magic. Sometimes 6 different dishes/seafood base and spice mixes at a time. I got the oyster and lobster pan roast and LOVED it- I told her she should bottle her sauce. Seriously it had a cool old school vibe ..... and the pan roast was delicious.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 15, 2017

Extremely disappointed! We had reservations for 6:30pm but were seated 5 minutes early. Our waiter finally showed up at 6:45pm we ordered dinner and drinks, waiter returned with drinks and apology at 7:00pm, we did not see him or our food again and decided to leave at 7:35pm since we had a show to see. Food score based on crunchy bread.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5