Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

About Nugget Casino Resort - Oyster Bar

A favorite among locals and visitors alike, the Oyster Bar has been serving the freshest seafood, chowder, pan roasts and cioppino since 1959.

1100 Nugget Ave
Sparks, NV 89431
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 Days a week!
Sunday – Thursday – 11.00 a.m. – 9.00 p.m.
Friday – Saturday – 11.00 a.m. – 10.00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 356-3300

Website:
http://www.nuggetcasinoresort.com/

Parking Details:
We do offer both Valet and General Hotel Parking.

Executive Chef:
Michael Norton

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout

Nugget Casino Resort - Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

3.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (9)
Special Occasion (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
See All
Happy Hour (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Cozy (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Fun (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Authentic (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Romantic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Historic (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sort By:
S
142 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

I loved this place. The lady behind the 6 mini steam kettles performed magic. Sometimes 6 different dishes/seafood base and spice mixes at a time. I got the oyster and lobster pan roast and LOVED it- I told her she should bottle her sauce. Seriously it had a cool old school vibe ..... and the pan roast was delicious.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 6 days ago

Extremely disappointed! We had reservations for 6:30pm but were seated 5 minutes early. Our waiter finally showed up at 6:45pm we ordered dinner and drinks, waiter returned with drinks and apology at 7:00pm, we did not see him or our food again and decided to leave at 7:35pm since we had a show to see. Food score based on crunchy bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I enjoy the Oyster Bar & Restaurant every time I come to the Nugget. The food is great. I did notice that the menu had changed, and a couple of items were not on the menu, namely the Jerk Shrimp salad. When I asked the waitress about it, she said they would gladly make it anyway. So if you don't see your favorite item on the menu, chances are you can still order it.
They still have a great menu with all the favorites. I'll be back in August for sure.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food took forever to get and we had three salads and a fish and chips. They brought chicken and not fish. Only took $20 off our tab. Not impressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had our anniversary dinner here! It was delicious! We will be going back to try some other dishes since we couldn't order everything on the menu! If you love seafood, this place is a Must!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We had a good night for a old friends birthday food as great and the service was soso And the price we reasonable

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I was very pleased with everything at the Oyster Bar! The service was great the environment was lovely and the sea food was fantastic! I would definitely recommend this place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food is magically delicious!! The service is great too. I would recommend reservations on weekend

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I was afraid the new owners would have ruined this place. The pan roasts are still wonderful.
Lets hope they leave it alone.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Service was outstanding! Thanks to Elsa and everyone else who came by to check on or clear the table.
Food choices were minimal.
Lobster ravioli was lacking in lobster but lobster pan roast was full of lobster chunks.
Unfortunately not enough to get us back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

OK for a quick dinner. Limited menu, with limited appeal if you are looking for something unique. Chowder is quite popular as are seafood platters and oysters on the half shell.
Only one type of oyster is served, Fanny Bay. They appeared to be prepared in advance and lacked the oyster brine that lends to their taste. Not a memorable dining experience.

If you are hungry for seafood, are OK with their limited menu offerings, want a casual meal, and not looking for a Foodie Delight, the Oyster Bar may suit your needs.

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Wonderful pan roast. We've been coming to the oyster bar for years and always enjoy it.
Service was also great. Good price too

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Have been going to the Oyster Bar for many years. Didn't recognize the wait staff tonight. It appears that major staff turnover has occurred. Service was extremely slow with general confusion. When it finally arrived, the food was good. Had our drinks comped for the delays, but would have preferred better service instead.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Very good service , when the staff found out it was a Birthday celebration, we were treated as if we were the only diners in the restaurant.
Very good selection of Sea food, Clams were great, plenty of desserts to pick from.
We love to go to this restaurant when ever we come to Sparks.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

For a "casino" restaurant the Oyster Bar/Restaurant was a nice surprise. The food is great, the prices are very reasonable, and the staff was better than many 5 Star restaurants we've experienced----friendly and very attentive. In three nights we had 3 different members of the staff waiting on us----all were easily a "10". Plus, the hostess and even the cashier could not have been nicer. It's amazing when we as customers treat the staff well---- how easily they reciprocate and make the experience even more pleasurable. A lesson all diners should practice.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Business Meals, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Always a good choice for seafood. Pleasant, attentive staff.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The food didn't taste like it did back in the good old days but I had to pay more for it

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Four of us went prior to a show and the food was very good (Crab Louie, lobster roll, and two had Bouillabaisse) EXCEPT the bread was essentially tasteless. We had reservations (recommended) and our waitress was excellent. Only other minor complaint is that you have to pay at the register which is not convenient because you have to stand in a line to pay.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We've given the Oyster Bar at the Nugget Resort and Casino great reviews in the past. However, the last couple of meals we've had there have been disappointing. Tuesday, Feb 28, the Oyster Bar was the only real option at the Nugget - Gilley's and the Steakhouse were both closed so the Oyster Bar was it. Old favorites are missing from the menu and service was really slow. Once our overly greasy food arrived....that was the last we saw of our server - No water refills - no extra napkins - we finally grabbed the Manager, who was more like an NFL Referee trying to remember her table numbers, to ask for our check. We aren't going back until we hear it's once again become our old favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellant food, great atmosphere. One of our favorite places when we want good seafood

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our favorite place to go for the wonderful pan roasts. Love the fact that we can now make reservations.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always a favorite local spot for fresh seafood. Great service and very comfortable. Please bring back your jerk shrimp though.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Very disappointed. Wine menu was larger than food menu. Took most of my favorite foods off menu, price not correct on online menu, waitress not friendly and did not listen to requeats.
This was our wedding anniversary dinner and I was left wishing I had gone elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was great! We have been to this restaurant many times and the food was subpar. Pan roast was weird and not very flavorful. Many items in the menu have been removed. Disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Waitress was rude and nearly spilled hot food on one guest

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The steamers were not working so any pan dish would be over an hour wait. We ended up with a basket of fried food. Definitely not Christmas fare. The steamers have been broken for a week while waiting on parts. A notification on the web page would have been appreciated.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Waitress was great. Food took very long. Restaurant was out of Newcastle beer. Restaurant was out of cherry stone clams on the half shell though steamed cherry stones were available. Linguine and clams had WAY too much garlic. Manhattan clam chowder looked as if it had been thickened with flour or cornstarch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Kimberly was not a good waitress. She would fill up my water glass but not my girlfriend's glass. Food took forever, had to ask to get my bill, extremely loud inside, certainly not what I am used to at the oyster bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Got violently ill within 2 hours due to the oysters. Sorry but I would not eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I ordered the shrimp scampi and it was HORRIBLE!!! So bad I couldn't eat it. One bite and I sent it back. The new owners completely changed the recipe from something that was great to Crap and raised the price. Then I asked for the crab salad sandwich and they took that off the menu all together. We Sparks locals are proud of what was. They keep this up they are going to loose the locals and will only be serving hotel guests. Why mess with what was good and worked for so long? It makes no sense. I've been talking to others and many other locals are agreeing with me so it's not just me! I'll try to find something good but I don't hold much hope. I'll be looking for a new restaurant I'm sure! I ended up going home and making something to eat... very sad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Absolutely awful. Slowest service ever. 1 hour after we ordered no drinks or food. We got up and left. Anyone who frequents this restaurant,BEWARE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The new owners have made changes. Raising the prices and changing the dish. Definitely not as good as it used to be. I will try again, but our entire party had the same feeling... Not as good as it was and it cost more, sigh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great fresh oysters, fried oysters and oyster pan roast.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Food and service was great except ordering and food was extremely slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 3, 2016

It was just alright for me. I come here for the seafood. I've been coming here 35 years. I made reservations and we got there early but got seated right away. They put my fiancé and I right next to a private party that had three tables together. I was looking for a nice seafood dinner with good service and peaceful atmosphere as I have found here in the past. That was not this night. We waited too long for a waitress. Somebody else came and brought us some bread that was colder and harder then I remember, and frozen butter. The party next to us was loud and irritating. My fiancé put the butter in her pocket and thawed it so we could use it. We waited, we waited.......finally a waitress showed up, honestly I was ready to walk out. Imagine that, it was the same waitress for the party. I could hardly understand what she was saying it was so loud there, she took our orders and tried to leave. I could see that I had irritated her by asking for some more bread and butter. I thought she would be happy to get us more since we waited so long. She left abruptly. When she returned we were out of water and she never did ask us if we wanted anything to drink? She dropped off the frozen butter and left. Someone else brought the bread by. We waited, we waited...finally the waitress shows up with some more water. I asked her I could get a drink for my fiancé, and I stated that she had not asked us if we wanted something to drink and she said she thought we just wanted water? It took her too long to get us the beer. I was ready to walk out. Finally about a half an hour later she took our order. The food took way too long, the fries were ice cold, the calamari was too little, and the experience was terrible. I gave her a 15% tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We always try to have dinner at least once at John's Oyster Bar when we're in town to visit relatives. It's a classic seafood restaurant with signature New York seafood steamers that John Ascuaga brought to Reno back in the day, for authenticity. Our favorite dish is the lobster pan roast, which is chock full of large chunks of lobster in a creamy tomato sauce that is rich and flavorful. We've tried other dishes over the years and they are all good, but the pan roast is definitely our favorite.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Even though we made reservations for 6:15pm, we were informed it was a busy night and it would be another 20 minutes or so before we could be seated. Fortunately, we had time prior to the show to be able to wait.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 1, 2016

had dinner at oyster bar..cioppino was quite good, pan roast combo had little seafood in it and not much flavor. Bloody Mary oyster shooter was fabulous. After all that we were still hungry ($56) and went out to the bar for a couple of drinks and crab salad sliders. HH was all good and service stellar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The food was very good, mostly seafood as you might imagine! We shared oysters, mussels, bouillabaisse, ceasar salad, and the seafood platter. The wine list is very limited, and the restaurant noisy. The waitress was very nice, but very busy and harried. The service was slo but we did make our 8:00 show.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Pretty hard to give them a good rating. My wife and I showed up for the 9:45pm reservation I made on Open table (there was a 10:00 pm option still showing as well) after a late flight into Reno. They told me they did not have a reservation for me and they were closed.

So I showed the employee my reservation email on my phone. She looks it up by my mane in her system and said it showed I had already dined and Bertha was my server.

Really???? We drive across town to go to this restaurant and this is what we get????

Shame on them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.