Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi
  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.54mi
  4. Distance: 0.93mi

About Nugget Casino Resort - Oyster Bar

A favorite among locals and visitors alike, the Oyster Bar has been serving the freshest seafood, chowder, pan roasts and cioppino since 1959.

1100 Nugget Ave
Sparks, NV 89431
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 Days a week!
Sunday – Thursday – 11.00 a.m. – 9.00 p.m.
Friday – Saturday – 11.00 a.m. – 10.00 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(775) 356-3300

Website:
http://www.nuggetcasinoresort.com/

Parking Details:
We do offer both Valet and General Hotel Parking.

Executive Chef:
Michael Norton

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Takeout

Nugget Casino Resort - Oyster Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.8

ambience

3.9

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (7)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for a Date (4)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Authentic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Cozy (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fun (2)
Romantic (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
150 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 2 days ago

We've been coming here for years and always enjoyed dinner and the service. Unfortunately that wasn't the case at our last dinner meeting. Service was slow, the food was terrible. Calamari was under cooked and soggy, the pan roast cream was broken and the shrimp was not fresh. Then we had to stand in line to pay for our check. Waitress would not do it for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Being locals, we often visit the Oyster Bar. While our past experiences have been very good, this time was very disappointing. We repeated had to ask for common things (water, bread plates, extra place setting, etc.), I had to remind the waitress about my soup before dinner even though 2 others in our party received theirs. I had ordered Calamari from the dinner menu with fries as the side. I was the last one to get dinner, and the fries were missing. The Calamari was not very warm, like it had been fried a while ago and left sitting. When I finally got the waitresses attention, she said they forgot to include the fries, but they would be right out. She came back and said the manager was going to take the fries off the bill, even though it should have been included to begin with.

Since we have had better experiences, we will be willing to try it again to see if it was a fluke or this is the new norm.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This is the first time I was disappointed eating here I normally love going to your restaurant. But this time I was kind of shocked I know it was a Friday night but basically it was the food quality. My always stirs were like almost invisible there were two out of six and the others just seem like slime no meat, like it wasn't worth buying. I almost complained about it and asked for for other oysters but didn't want to complain. I normally never ever have anything bad to say about your restaurant but this one trip I went by myself eat by myself and I was disappointed with the salad the oysters especially and the lobster bisque. Dirty dishes dirty dishes were left on my table as I watched a young man walk back and forth back and forth past my table probably 15 times and he wouldn't even look at me even though I pushed all my dirty dishes to the edge I still tipped well I was just disappointed for the first time ever.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

We have eaten at the Oyster Bar several times before, and have always been pleased with the food and the service. This time we celebrated a birthday, and once again the service was great and the food excellent. Always a great place to eat and relax.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The Oyster Bar has wonderful food and is a favorite.
I was amazed by the empty tables since I had tried to book for a party of 7 and Open Table said only at 4:30 and 9:30 were available. When we arrived that clearly was not the case and it was not busy at all. There were only 4 us at dinner since that was all I was able to book for.
So not a restaurant problem but maybe an Open Table problem?!?!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had a lovely meal at The Oyster Bar at The Nugget this past Saturday night. I easily made a reservation for our preferred time on Open Table app. When we showed up we were immediately seated and our drink order was taken by our very friendly and attentive waitress, Elaine. She was as good as the food was! The oyster were sweet and pleasantly arranged. The Bouillabaisse and the Linguini and Clams were delicious with plenty of fresh tasting seafood! We will definitely eat there again!

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Hadn't been here in several years but glad to see it hasn't changed and the seafood is still good! We had good service from our main waitress plus others on the team. Very convenient for seeing events at the Nugget.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

This is a great place to eat with wonderful food from the ocean. I try to eat here once a week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2017

I loved this place. The lady behind the 6 mini steam kettles performed magic. Sometimes 6 different dishes/seafood base and spice mixes at a time. I got the oyster and lobster pan roast and LOVED it- I told her she should bottle her sauce. Seriously it had a cool old school vibe ..... and the pan roast was delicious.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Extremely disappointed! We had reservations for 6:30pm but were seated 5 minutes early. Our waiter finally showed up at 6:45pm we ordered dinner and drinks, waiter returned with drinks and apology at 7:00pm, we did not see him or our food again and decided to leave at 7:35pm since we had a show to see. Food score based on crunchy bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on July 1, 2017

I enjoy the Oyster Bar & Restaurant every time I come to the Nugget. The food is great. I did notice that the menu had changed, and a couple of items were not on the menu, namely the Jerk Shrimp salad. When I asked the waitress about it, she said they would gladly make it anyway. So if you don't see your favorite item on the menu, chances are you can still order it.
They still have a great menu with all the favorites. I'll be back in August for sure.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food took forever to get and we had three salads and a fish and chips. They brought chicken and not fish. Only took $20 off our tab. Not impressed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We had our anniversary dinner here! It was delicious! We will be going back to try some other dishes since we couldn't order everything on the menu! If you love seafood, this place is a Must!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We had a good night for a old friends birthday food as great and the service was soso And the price we reasonable

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 8, 2017

I was very pleased with everything at the Oyster Bar! The service was great the environment was lovely and the sea food was fantastic! I would definitely recommend this place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food is magically delicious!! The service is great too. I would recommend reservations on weekend

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I was afraid the new owners would have ruined this place. The pan roasts are still wonderful.
Lets hope they leave it alone.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Service was outstanding! Thanks to Elsa and everyone else who came by to check on or clear the table.
Food choices were minimal.
Lobster ravioli was lacking in lobster but lobster pan roast was full of lobster chunks.
Unfortunately not enough to get us back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

OK for a quick dinner. Limited menu, with limited appeal if you are looking for something unique. Chowder is quite popular as are seafood platters and oysters on the half shell.
Only one type of oyster is served, Fanny Bay. They appeared to be prepared in advance and lacked the oyster brine that lends to their taste. Not a memorable dining experience.

If you are hungry for seafood, are OK with their limited menu offerings, want a casual meal, and not looking for a Foodie Delight, the Oyster Bar may suit your needs.

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Wonderful pan roast. We've been coming to the oyster bar for years and always enjoy it.
Service was also great. Good price too

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Have been going to the Oyster Bar for many years. Didn't recognize the wait staff tonight. It appears that major staff turnover has occurred. Service was extremely slow with general confusion. When it finally arrived, the food was good. Had our drinks comped for the delays, but would have preferred better service instead.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Very good service , when the staff found out it was a Birthday celebration, we were treated as if we were the only diners in the restaurant.
Very good selection of Sea food, Clams were great, plenty of desserts to pick from.
We love to go to this restaurant when ever we come to Sparks.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

For a "casino" restaurant the Oyster Bar/Restaurant was a nice surprise. The food is great, the prices are very reasonable, and the staff was better than many 5 Star restaurants we've experienced----friendly and very attentive. In three nights we had 3 different members of the staff waiting on us----all were easily a "10". Plus, the hostess and even the cashier could not have been nicer. It's amazing when we as customers treat the staff well---- how easily they reciprocate and make the experience even more pleasurable. A lesson all diners should practice.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Business Meals, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Always a good choice for seafood. Pleasant, attentive staff.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The food didn't taste like it did back in the good old days but I had to pay more for it

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Four of us went prior to a show and the food was very good (Crab Louie, lobster roll, and two had Bouillabaisse) EXCEPT the bread was essentially tasteless. We had reservations (recommended) and our waitress was excellent. Only other minor complaint is that you have to pay at the register which is not convenient because you have to stand in a line to pay.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We've given the Oyster Bar at the Nugget Resort and Casino great reviews in the past. However, the last couple of meals we've had there have been disappointing. Tuesday, Feb 28, the Oyster Bar was the only real option at the Nugget - Gilley's and the Steakhouse were both closed so the Oyster Bar was it. Old favorites are missing from the menu and service was really slow. Once our overly greasy food arrived....that was the last we saw of our server - No water refills - no extra napkins - we finally grabbed the Manager, who was more like an NFL Referee trying to remember her table numbers, to ask for our check. We aren't going back until we hear it's once again become our old favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellant food, great atmosphere. One of our favorite places when we want good seafood

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Our favorite place to go for the wonderful pan roasts. Love the fact that we can now make reservations.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always a favorite local spot for fresh seafood. Great service and very comfortable. Please bring back your jerk shrimp though.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Very disappointed. Wine menu was larger than food menu. Took most of my favorite foods off menu, price not correct on online menu, waitress not friendly and did not listen to requeats.
This was our wedding anniversary dinner and I was left wishing I had gone elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Service was great! We have been to this restaurant many times and the food was subpar. Pan roast was weird and not very flavorful. Many items in the menu have been removed. Disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Waitress was rude and nearly spilled hot food on one guest

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The steamers were not working so any pan dish would be over an hour wait. We ended up with a basket of fried food. Definitely not Christmas fare. The steamers have been broken for a week while waiting on parts. A notification on the web page would have been appreciated.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Waitress was great. Food took very long. Restaurant was out of Newcastle beer. Restaurant was out of cherry stone clams on the half shell though steamed cherry stones were available. Linguine and clams had WAY too much garlic. Manhattan clam chowder looked as if it had been thickened with flour or cornstarch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Kimberly was not a good waitress. She would fill up my water glass but not my girlfriend's glass. Food took forever, had to ask to get my bill, extremely loud inside, certainly not what I am used to at the oyster bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Got violently ill within 2 hours due to the oysters. Sorry but I would not eat here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I ordered the shrimp scampi and it was HORRIBLE!!! So bad I couldn't eat it. One bite and I sent it back. The new owners completely changed the recipe from something that was great to Crap and raised the price. Then I asked for the crab salad sandwich and they took that off the menu all together. We Sparks locals are proud of what was. They keep this up they are going to loose the locals and will only be serving hotel guests. Why mess with what was good and worked for so long? It makes no sense. I've been talking to others and many other locals are agreeing with me so it's not just me! I'll try to find something good but I don't hold much hope. I'll be looking for a new restaurant I'm sure! I ended up going home and making something to eat... very sad!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Absolutely awful. Slowest service ever. 1 hour after we ordered no drinks or food. We got up and left. Anyone who frequents this restaurant,BEWARE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The new owners have made changes. Raising the prices and changing the dish. Definitely not as good as it used to be. I will try again, but our entire party had the same feeling... Not as good as it was and it cost more, sigh!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.