About Nugget Casino Resort - Gilley's

1100 Nugget Ave
Sparks, NV 89431
View Larger Map

Gilley's is proud to feature a wide selection of bar-b-que menu items including our award winning barbecue spit roasted items from the rotisserie. Our meats are dry rub marinated prior to smoking or spit roasting and cooked throughout the day. Our three signature sauces feature flavor profiles from the best barbecue regions in the country, Sweet Carolina Mustard, Jack Daniel's Barbecue Sauce and Mesquite Texas Style Sauce.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Barbecue, Burgers

Hours of Operation:


Open: Wednesday - Sunday

5:00pm-10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 648-1177

Website:
http://www.nuggetcasinoresort.com/

Parking Details:
Both Valet and General Parking are offered

Executive Chef:
Michael Norton

Additional:
BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Indoor Smoking Area, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access

Nugget Casino Resort - Gilley's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
See All
Great for Lunch (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
79 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Quite good Texas BBQ, friendly service, ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Quite good Texas BBQ, friendly service, great bannana bread pudding. The only thing missing is Shiner Bock beer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and the service was o ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was excellent and the service was outstanding. Was there for Hot August Nights in Sparks, Nevada

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my company to Gilley's before the ...

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I took my company to Gilley's before the David Nail concert and the ribs we ordered were dry and chewy . I have eaten here often and was bragging to my friends on how good the ribs were and was actually vey embarrassed when we got them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value3

Better to go into restaurant then use op ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Better to go into restaurant then use open table . Plenty of tables at the earlier time. I won't use open table again

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service we sat in t ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Great food and great service we sat in the bar area were you can watch people ride the mechanical bull

It is great fun with really good music and line dancing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The sampler plate was way over cooked sh ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The sampler plate was way over cooked should have been tossed and re made house salad warm and wilted all of the Nuggets restaurants put in new computer system all horrible run the server was to busy talking to the regulars drinking and dancing to do her job the out fits are horrible our server had her hands in her pants then server food will never come back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

No Bull - Gilley's is one of our favorites!

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

Be sure and ride the bull at Gilley's and grab the pan-seared ribeye served with brown butter cilantro dipping sauce. My Wife loves the chicken fajitas, but had the pulled-pork BBQ sandwich the other night and said it was as good as home! We go between 5:30 and 6:00 when it is a little quieter, but see a lot of folks having a great time with country-music and line dancing. Gilley's at the Nugget Resort and Casino is a great fit for Sparks and the Reno area!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and servers

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Wanted a nice place to take wife for good BBQ . Have read reviews and wanted to try the Bacon wrapped meatloaf, wife had the prime rib both were excellent, Service was excellent, price in line with other places . overall a great place , good music and fun surroundings

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great country night

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

If you want good food and good country fun this is the place!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Missing the fun time

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

As good as this experience was it could of been better. It seems that Gilley's has changed quite a bit since our first visit. They have changed their menu some and the ambience as changed as well. When we first visited it was a much more upbeat environment much like you see on the commercials for the one in Vegas. Or last two visits it has been much more subdued nothing like you would expect. We still enjoy going there and the food would just love to see it go back to how it was.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Sports Bar

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on November 23, 2015

It is like a sports bar that is all things country. I had prime rib. It was OK

but the meat seemed to be low quality.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

The reasonably priced food was very tasty

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

The reasonably priced food was very tasty and plentiful. The service was good. If you sit on the bar side of the restaurant be forewarned of smokers. The noise level picks up at 6, but that is what this place is all about.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Wonderful chicken fajitas!

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on November 16, 2015

The employees are very friendly, the restaurant is clean and the chicken fajitas are marvelous! The live entertainment is great while you can watch or join line dancing lessons! Great fun.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food not good with reservations

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

The food was great, our waitress was awesome but the host/hostess did not even know about our open table reservations so that was quite disappointing! Even though there was no problem getting a table because they weren't that busy yet it was still supposed to be a special bday celebration so I had to tell everyone again (while keeping my husband unaware) about it. So I am not happy with that part but since it was still early we got great service and they had to scramble a bit because of no notice.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Country fans take notice

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

Not just a restaurant/bar. Great fun with live country music and dancing. Throw in the fun watching people try to ride the mechanical bull and the servers in their country attire and Gilley's is a country fun place.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a good time

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

Great for a birthday party. Everyone had a good time. Music was good

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

great time!i will spend all my next b-days there.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

Food was great, service was wonderful. It was my 58 birthday the bar, the bull everything was so much fun! I'll do it every year when I come up from SF.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great BBQ!!!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 18, 2015

Really fun place with live western music, line dancing and bull riding in the bar. Fun place for a group and their food is delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Far better than we expected.

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on August 20, 2015

Far, far better than we expected, comfortable, clean and a great deal for the price. Restaurant and buffet prices were excellent and no more expensive than neighborhood dining. The hotel and restaurants are a great value that I would recommend to anyone visiting Reno.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sweet, sweet, and more sweet

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on June 7, 2015

I ordered a half-rack of pork ribs.

The ribs were sweet. The sauce was sweet. Even the baked beans were sweet.

If I want sweet, I'll have ice cream. A place that calls itself "Texas" style should be ashamed. Texas-style isn't sweet; its sauce is hot and thin, not thick and sweet. Meat shouldn't be sweet. Only dessert should be sweet.

Only the mac and cheese was tolerable.

Next time I'll go to a real BBQ place. This place is a fraud.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

"Kid friendly" until 10pm.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

"Kid friendly" until 10pm (opens at 5pm for dinner). Food was really goodamd reasonably priced for a hotel restaurant. Would have liked to seen more counrty style foods (chicken fried steak). Watching the Bull riding was funny. Live band didnt start until late but it's a bar after all in Nevada.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Very fun place with excellent food.

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on March 29, 2015

Very fun place with excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

doesnt live up to the hype

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 27, 2015

I made a reservation at Golleys when I was going to be I. Reno with a friend for a major event where the Nugget was our host hotel. I was disappointed with the entire evening. I found the food mediocre, the service indifferent, and the whole experience of Gilleys was slightly sleazy. Not a place I will ever visit again. The only plus was that my marinated chicken breats were very good (although over salted) but my friend's brisket was very greasy and also over salted. Maybe they out so much salt in their food so it makes you but more drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

BBQ @ Gillie's .

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 21, 2015

Nearly tasteless BBQ - sauces were very forgettable - but service was excellent. The pork was better than the ribs. The sides were terrible. God forbid you want veggies ! Veggies are unknown at Gillie's and if they had them they probably would have come out of a can. Go for the dancing, the music, and the Bull

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Food OK, staff was great.

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on March 15, 2015

I was planning a surprise birthday party for my Mother's 75th birthday. We were all staying at the Nugget and Gilley's was the only place available with the time I wanted. The cocktail waitresses at the bar wore little (it is a casino) the wait staff in the eating area were fully dressed. The staff was very helpful allowing me to bring in a cake and keep it in the kitchen, before my wife "accidentally" brought my mother in. After we ate, the staff brought out the cake and helped us sing happy birthday, then cut and served the cake. The food was OK, nothing to rave about. It is more of a theme bar/restaurant suited for a "wild west" type evening, but the staff made it nice for everyone.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

steak dinner

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on March 14, 2015

Steak was fatty, french fries not very warm, Could not get waitress attention for another drink

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

food was ok dancing was awasome!

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on March 8, 2015

We were a pretty large group and our waitress seem to be a little irritated that we took us awhile to order. Are alcoholic beverages seemed pretty watered down as we ordered 4 different kinds. The wine was the only good thing to drink after awhile. The food menu I feel needs a little more options. The rest of the night was fun with the dancing. I will probably try to eat here again one more time to see if i end up maybe liking it.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

It was Ok

vip
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on March 7, 2015

First off you need to have a stamp for entering. They do a night entertainment there. So not kid friendly after 8(it is a casino anyways why would you have a Kid there) not really a fan of stamps either to just get dinner. the night life area has is mixed entrance with the restaurant We were seated promptly but waited about 10 minutes to order a couple beers. after waiting another 15 minutes to order i ordered the beef brisket and my wife ordered the beef brisket sandwich. took about 20 minutes to receive our food. once arrived it looked like they cut a slab of FAT with some beef in it. I know BBQ and i have never had a beef brisket look the unappealing before. One funny part was the TV's show the dance floor and we got to see people attempting to Line Dance to Lil John haha. but as for food I would say they need to step up their game on it especially in a town that has lots of BBQ spots.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Ten Gallon Dud.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 1, 2015

Gilley's did not live up to the hype, unless you are into sitting in the middle of the wide open spaces of the dining room while being serenaded by the hooting and hollering of the crowd at the mechanical bull. The food is over smoked and the ranch beans are so sweet that you expect to enter diabetic shock after only one bite. Gilley's is more like a bar with food than a restaurant with a bar to drink at.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We got seated right away with good accom ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on March 1, 2015

We got seated right away with good accomidasions. The food was good, the atmousphere was good. My party all seemed to enjoy themselves.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

no dj as advertised

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on February 27, 2015

very sterile environment. Service "too good" No time to linger over glass of wine

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

Gilleys, appealing to all the senses

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

Great food, fun environment., great service, the team there does a great job to keep you involved in everything going on around you. I had brisket and the wife had ribs, both done perfectly, not a big fan of the Mac and cheese but if that's my only issue....I would and have recommended it to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Went there for Valentine's dinner. Food ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

Went there for Valentine's dinner. Food was once again delicious although it seemed that the menu was much smaller than our last visit. Other than that it was perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Entertaining

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Great experience to have with friends. The energy level is high. The live band was awesome. Great place for groups to meet and have a great time. The mechanical bull riding is fun to participate in or just for the entertainment. The service was great and the staff is very friendly. I would definitely go to JA Nugget's Gilleys again and again and again. I had a great time there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food wasn't as good as I expected

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

Probably would only come here again to have a drink and/or check out the dancing

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Just Average

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on January 29, 2015

Clearly Gilley's relies on its reputation for fun, not food.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great casual night out!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on January 24, 2015

Great BBQ food, sensible pricing, and friendly service. Made for a fun night out with co-workers

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was terrible

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on January 11, 2015

The meat was fat riddled and unedible and the service was slow. Coleslaw had little flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Calsual dining with flair

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on January 4, 2015

Excellent casual dining. Typical BBQ, great hamburgers, nice salads. Price level moderate.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Gilleys

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on January 4, 2015

We ordered the St. Louis ribs but they were not very good. The corn bread and beans were excellent but the coleslaw was tasteless. Great service and plenty of food. Cute place but just average on food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.